TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
693 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 298)

Trevor Harley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Spotfire - A valuable and flexible analytics tool for positive business growth

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire for staff as a cross section of users across the organization. It enables faster, simpler, and more timely reporting and analysis information sharing to those that need it daily and weekly.
  • Easy template spreadsheet reports and chatting for daily consumption
  • Easy deployment of new features to users
  • Easy application updating to users when addressing bugs in the app
  • Ability to leverage emailing reports automatically for staff in office and away
  • Upgrading the product is still clunky.
  • Support website to search is poor. Google is friendlier to find what I need
  • More granularity for permissions to the library
  • Improve web player design to current web standards
For small companies, TIBCO Spotfire is expensive to get into. Other players are more cost-conscious. There is a huge learning curve to start, if it's new to you.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Faster analytics development, better report decision making
Automation services, statistics services, data virtualization tdv, statistical services
Read Trevor Harley's full review
Drew McMinn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

TIBCO Spotfire is incredibly useful!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Spotfire product is being used by a specific department to provide clients with insights into the data that we collect for them. The collected data is customer feedback about their service, we then provide interactive reports via Spotfire to allow our clients to slice and dice the data and compare themselves to competitors.
  • User experience
  • Simplicity
  • Feature abundance
  • Automated report refreshing
  • More intuitive cluster performance information
  • Further administrative/API capabilities
Given the cons, I cannot quite give it a top rating. We've had issues with the cluster that have shown instabilities and no resolution or concrete solutions from TIBCO. Otherwise, it's a great product that our company and our clients enjoy using on a regular basis. It has come a long way since we started using it.
  • Online training
  • no training
Early on we did some online training. Since then it has been hands-on experience and trial/error. The documentation can be cumbersome but allows us to figure things out.
We have integrated with several data warehouse and analytics backends, some of these include:
  • Amazon Redshift
  • Apache Hive
  • Apache Kafka
  • PostgreSQL
  • MS SQL
  • MySQL
This has been a huge benefit and we enjoy this capability to allow future system changes the ability to work with Spotfire on the fly.
Read Drew McMinn's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

Spotfire Handles it All, From Interactive Dashboards to Advanced Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used across the whole organization. We've connected to over 23 data sources with ease and have built corporate dashboards for drilling, completions, operations, geology, and reserves. We've also used Spotfire to build some complex Models. Spotfire Analyst users enjoy using it for slicing and dicing their data.
  • They have an excellent support team. Every one of their support engineers are top quality. You don't have to deal with the dreaded Tier 1, tell me about your problem and then I'll send you to Tier 2 scenario.
  • We're able to quickly build POCs in a matter of days. Spotfire's data wrangling capabilities are amazing, and if you need a little bit more data engineering/data science power, you have the option of using Python or R.
  • Spotfire is very extensible. If there's some advanced visualization that's not available out of the box, we've been able to generate it thru their JSVIZ add-on, which allows us to utilize any JavaScript visualization library (ie. D3, Highcharts, Plotly, Fusioncharts, etc.).
  • They should have a lower price point for users to access the analyst version who don't require advanced capabilities. For example, a lower price if users just need to do some basic slicing and dicing with their data and not have to the data science functionality (ie. K-means clustering, regression modeling, classification modeling, etc.).
  • Currently, you can't change the font type/color on the axis, which I'm sure will eventually be available in the future as they have a Tibco Ideas portal that they're fairly responsive to and act on. I guess at the end of the day, it's about the data and what insights you get from it.
Spotfire is truly an Enterprise BI Solution. We've connected to over 23 data sources in the last 4 years. Types of databases we've connected to include, Oracle, SQL, OsiSoft PI, Rest API's, OData, and Essbase. Spotfire's allows us to cache data so that it's readily consumable for users who just require visual interaction. We've built advanced models because of the built-in R and Python capability. We're able to generate and push PDF reports via their Automation Services.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Spotfire has a wealth of training material on their community website and on Youtube. They have a monthly Dr. Spotfire series, where they dive into basic/intermediate and advanced topics. We also had a local Spotfire partner provide in-person training to our analyst users.
We use Tibco's Data Virtualization, Automation Services, and Statistical Services products. We've been trialing their Tibco Statistica product for advanced analytics and it works really well with Spotfire. When you mark/filter data in Spotfire, that dataset is feed into Statistica for one or more predictive models to run, and the predicted values are instantly returned back to Spotfire so that we can quickly visualize the data and perform analysis. This allows us to run multiple scenarios very quickly. The traditional approach of R or Python programming would require a lot of manually coding to subset the data.
For every ticket I've submitted, I've always received a response back within 8 hours and the support team on the other side is highly knowledgeable with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

A one-stop-shop for all your data analysis and predictions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is widely used in my current, previous, and a few other organizations where I worked as a consultant. It helped the management and various departments to see the overall and detailed picture of their business. It helps to identify the problematic area and make necessary business decisions that help the company to better perform in a cost-effective manner. It is used by several departments. Example: Production Department was able to keep track of the overall daily production. They are able to analyze the declining curve, able to analyze production at pad level, well level, etc. Land Department was able to keep track of the various documents that their department is processing in a day. The accounting department was able to keep track of the LOE. There are several other departments that uses this product to see their overall performance of their departments. This is a great product.
  • Great visualization.
  • Retrieval of data by connecting to various sources like MSSQL Server, Access, Excel, Oracle, Txt file.
  • Handling of many millions of records.
  • Good security features.
  • I see some areas where Spotfire can do an improvement when we do grouping. I see spotfire executes multiple times the same query for the grouping, instead if we can execute onetime get the data will be much more efficient. When executing the same query over and over again for many million rows is time consuming which slows down the performance of Spotfire.
I would say in every company they should use Spotfire to get an overall idea about the business. This is a highly recommended tool. I don't think it is suitable for a very small organization where things can be managed by other tools. This is well suited in an organization with millions of turn overs and high cash flow.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Increases the confidence in me, the way I'm building the dashboards. Learned so many new ways to get things done in short period of time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

TIBCO Spotfire will help you Spot that Fire

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have TIBCO Spotfire connected to on-site databases to create engineering and operations dashboards to drive actions. It is being used by departments such as equipment engineering, process engineering, yield, operations, all taking in data from a variety of data warehouses or databases and sometimes uploaded from Excel sheets where required. TIBCO Spotfire is solving the business problem of helping spot what areas need action.
  • On click actions
  • Python integration
  • More chart options--lots exist, but there are some great ones out that are hard to make currently
I would recommend TIBCO Spotfire anywhere where quick iterations of reporting pages are needed. It really excels at getting the data out there for users to see. One area where I do see it struggle is that once the reports get big, the speed slows down and could be an issue. Maybe it just needed more caching mechanisms.
  • in-person training
Got a good start on our own. We did have a Spotfire consultant on-site to help with training and it was very helpful to have someone to ask questions about Spotfire when we were stuck and did not know a good solution.
If our company used any of the other productions that TIBCO offered I was not aware of it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Easy to use!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is widely used by business analysts at my company for data analysis and data visualization purposes. It would especially valuable for someone who was only using Excel and/or VBA for data analysis.
  • Analytics.
  • Visualization.
  • Automation.
  • Bad documentation.
  • Small user-base.
  • Lack of available training.
The tool is well suited for data analysts or business analysts who only have been using Excel or VBA for data analysis. On the other hand, the tool is not as good as R or Python which have much better analysis capabilities.
  • Online training
  • no training
With the online training that I got, I am able to be more confident to operate the tool without trying to figure out the stuff one by one myself. What is more, the training also give me the ability to make critical modification which helps us to adjust the tool in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Jonathan Tucker | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Spotfire the mighty!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire across multiple departments, though we all have an engineering focus. We use it to address some daily/weekly reporting needs, but also, and more importantly, for data discovery/insights.
  • Cross tables. Most people call them pivot tables perhaps, from the excel version, but Spotfire does them so much better! Easier to build and arrange, and with tons more options than the excel pivot table.
  • Mapping. The improved mapping capabilities of Spotfire along with its ease of use, allow you to build fabulous looking maps very quickly.
  • Aggregation. Spotfire is built to aggregate, and it does this better and faster than anything else I know of.
  • Screen resolution. Spotfire has always struggled a bit with getting everything to fit on the screen and with printing/exporting to other applications.
  • Buttons. The latest version has moved a lot of the most used buttons, and put them into these sliding windows where you can't see them all the time as you could before. To me this is a great dis-service, because now I have to click multiple times to get to common functions.
  • Advanced coding. Spotfire offers a lot of expandability through the Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R, but this requires an insurmountable knowledge of what different objects are called, and of the unique programming language that it uses. They market this feature heavily as one of the best things about Spotfire, but it is so incredibly difficult to use or to get started using.
Spotfire is very well suited to pivoting data, un-pivoting data, quick map making, and for visual inspections of data.
  • Self-taught
The software is made so that very little training is necessary. This is obviously a great cost saver.
We have not integrated with other TIBCO products. We are still a small company and do not have a great many automated processes.
Read Jonathan Tucker's full review
Jenna Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

A Strong Tool to Visualize your Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by every department in my organization, but mainly by our fundraising and operations departments. The software helps us answer important questions about our current donor base and also helps us identify locations and demographics where we could increase our donor base.
  • The location and geospatial analysis tools are excellent and are great at giving a geographical context to our data.
  • If you are familiar with BI tools, TIBCO Spotfire is easy to set up and start using.
  • There are several options to visualize your data in ways that are compelling and tell a story.
  • We are a smaller organization so we always have to justify the cost (it can be a little pricey for smaller organizations).
  • Not a bad thing necessarily, but the software is so powerful that I feel like my organization is only scratching the surface with its capabilities. We need some guidance and help with the more advanced features.
  • We wish there was more robust documentation available online; it seems to be a bit lacking in certain areas.
For mapping and geospatial analysis, TIBCO Spotfire is top-notch. While it does not have all of the capabilities of a complete GIS program, it does allow you to create beautiful looking maps from your data without much time or effort. It is easy to share and publish these maps so that we can use them in our reporting, marketing, etc.
  • no training
We are a smaller organization so we relied on a few key individuals who have backgrounds in data analysis and software to help train the members of the organization that would be using TIBCO Spotfire. It would have been helpful to have some more formalized training, but being so busy, it would have been hard to find the time to wrangle in all the various members and departments using the software.
We have integrated TIBCO Spotfire to TIBCO Cloud. This integration has been immensely helpful, as it has allowed my organization to access our data and information anywhere in the world and when they are out in the field.
Read Jenna Montgomery's full review
Bernardo J Garcia Jr, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2019

An intermediate Spotfire user saving our organization $$ and optimizing business processes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently used TIBCO Spotfire to build a joint interest payout template to help me gauge on which properties had reached paid out the status and required to bring carried interest owners back in the deck. The company was using an antiquated system to prepare payout statements but many of the statements had errors or bad data, and there was no transparency to calculate penalty uplift charges.
  • Report Automation
  • Enforce data integrity.
  • Visual interpretation of data.
  • Guidance on what functions exist in Spotfire desktop version versus Spotfire Cloud version.
  • Create Spotfire desktop version for Mac operating system that is comparable to Windows operation desktop version.
Spotfire is well-suited for combining tables to create metric cross tables. Spotfire does not seem well suited for creating templates that combine cumulative balances from different columns.
  • in-person training
  • no training
I primarily used TIBCO website and TIBCO YouTube channel.
My organization has info links that integrate into our enterprise system (SAP). There are other integration points, but we're not aware of any at this time.
Read Bernardo J Garcia Jr, CPA's full review
Aditya Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire - One of the best BI and Analytical tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using TIBCO Spotfire in life sciences, energy, banking and retail domain and it has always given the best results to the business users.
  • Data Loading from multiple datasources and data connectors especially Information Links.
  • Drill Down, Sharing and collaborating analysis.
  • Support to IronPython, Statistical programming like R-Script, S+, MATLAB and analytical cababilities
  • GeoMapping - WMS layes, TMS Layers, Recommendation Engine, Theme based dashboarding
  • User Interface can be improved.
  • Scope to add new charts like area chart, bubble chart.
TIBCO Spotfire is one of the best product available in the market which is used in all the functional areas addressing all the queries. This will help you to find the hidden insights and create wonderful reports using your data.
TIBCO Spotfire can connect with most of the data sources, data connectors and gives best results to users.
Spotfire gives a very rich and interactive interface for Map Chart using different types of mapping layers like WMS(Web Map Service) and recently included TMS(Tile Map Service). These helps to bring different types of background layers on the existing map chart for any region to show relevant information to the users.
The Spotfire support is quite responsive on the support requests but sometimes the issues(requirements) can't be achieved as those are not available in Spotfire and there is no out of box solution so they ask to raise enhancement request. Also, TIBCO community play a very important role by encouraging users to post their doubts and queries and other users can reply to them.
TIBCO Spotfire is very useful to any of the organization looking to find insights in their data.
Yes - I have upgraded Spotfire environment 10's of times and process was always completed smoothly.
Read Aditya Singh's full review
Brian Loran | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Spotfire for Semiconductor Testing and Data Anaysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to analyze all our electrical test data. One of our most critical use cases is analyzing on wafer data. We build integrated circuits and have "wafers" with thousands of devices on them and each one has 10-15 measurements. We test multiple wafers per lot and this amount of data grows quickly! Spotfire is great to get all the data into the tool and quickly analyze it to determine yields.
  • Pulling in large amounts of data. We used to use Excel and scripts but it struggled to handle so much data.
  • Comparing data every which way you can imagine as well as comparing part to part, lot to lot, etc.
  • Visualizing and displaying the data. We can analyze and compare quickly, then summarize and show visually concise graphs to management so we can make good decisions.
  • The recent interface changes took some time to get used to.
When comparing large data sets with many parameters. Great for determining yields and problem solving. When problem solving you can plot many different parameters against each other to determine correlations and help zoom in as to what is going on.

It is less suited to small data sets and quick post processing. An example would be pulling in a data set of a few parts and then calculating a parameter like PAE or P3dB.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
So far it has been working. We each learn different aspects and share.
Read Brian Loran's full review
John Sanford | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for data analytics across our organization.
  • Ease of use
  • Mapping capabilities
  • Powerful
  • Steeper learning curve vs. other platforms
Does everything we need it to.
  • Online training
The online training format from the Spotfire staff was very effective for us from both a learning and time efficiency standpoint.
Read John Sanford's full review
Franklin Jiménez | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Superb and fun experience with TIBCO Spotfire!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spitfire is being used by my department and it addresses all our internal customer requests by installing and configuring the application for upcoming demos for potential customers.
  • Easy to install.
  • Great user interface.
  • Easy to administer from a technical perspective.
  • Great support team and response time when you need to get answers to questions.
  • At times the node manager installation needs to be reinstalled as the message "no node to trust" comes up the first time. Especially on newer versions.
  • The database updates are sometimes hard to find and you are not sure where these are located, I guess it is on the analyst package but it is annoying to get it.
  • Sometimes Spotfire analyst or portable fails to load because some Microsoft C++ component is missing, TIBCO should list what specific MS C++ component is required to save you time troubleshooting.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for forecasting sales and also demoing database scientific data.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
Our trainer is Ron Wagner and the online training was perfect desing for starters.
We have used TIBCO Spotfire with Attivio and also eNotebook for a more complete solution for our customers.
Read Franklin Jiménez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

A Good Tool For Advanced Data Visualizations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tibco Spotfire is used in my organization for efficient analysis of various market data. It is used to represent a large volume of data in a visual way that enables us to spot new and emerging trends that can impact the bottom line of businesses in the long run. We often use advanced data visualization of Tibco Spotfire for efficient trend or pattern analysis.
  • Data visualizations.
  • Allows data sharing more easily with team members and colleagues.
  • I use the visualized data in PowerPoint for client reference. Using graphics is much easier than words.
  • The navigation within Tibco Spotfire is pretty confusing. The icons within Tibco Spotfire do not seem to be user-friendly.
  • Not very convenient for smaller size data.
  • The analyst version of Tibco Spotfire is quite expensive but since we are utilizing the platform almost fully, the paid is justified.
Tibco Spotfire is convenient for a research analyst or data analyst. Tibco Spotfire works more on quantitative data analysis rather than qualitative. The insights gathered through this software are more on the behavior of data itself hence, Tibco Spotfire is more suitable for pattern and trend analysis.
  • Online training
  • no training
The tutorials on Tibco Spotfire is extremely beneficial for effective navigation within the software. Paid online tutorials helped me to do data analysis and draw insights efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Spotfire is the 'go-to' tool for any and all data analysis.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used across several divisions in the organizations. In the 'unconventionals' division that deals with hundreds of rigs and tens of thousands of wells. It uses Spotfire as its go-to analytics tool. The users range from Technicians, Engineers, Geologist, Scientists, to Business Analysts. The business problems range from corporate benchmarking analyses to engineering & operations efficiency work-flows.
  • It makes it easy for everyone to access data from a centrally managed location.
  • It is able to handle and visualize very large data sets in memory
  • By leveraging its scripting capabilities, authors to create very sophisticated and complex work-flows to easy-to-use solutions.
  • It reduces the need for larger IT organization to support business needs, by allowing business users to become self supporting.
  • Additional out-of-the-box visualizations.
  • Repository/source control.
  • Library to support storing other (non-Spotfire) files in order to have one repository.

If the need to analyze large datasets where users would like to interact with the data and interact with the visualization, Spotfire is the tool of choice. If you want to quickly simplify analytical work-flows to be used by others and have the option to use them on the web, Spotfire is the tool.

If you just want to create simple graphs from data, any tool (including Spotfire) can be used.

  • Online training
  • in-person training
There are many advanced analytical work-flows that are used everyday that leverage the R language.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2019

Spotfire for easy (spatial) data analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our research group is using Spotfire to find relationships between water quality parameters in water well samples taken from shallow aquifers. Spotfire displays the data very quickly, making the data review stage very efficient and allowing for multiple comparisons within minutes. It allows us to determine where we would like to go next in our research.
  • efficient
  • data display
  • ease of use
  • could use more colour options in display
  • data display could be more customizable
  • expensive for individuals or small research groups
Well suited for large data comparisons. Great for spatial data! Very good for the data sorting stage of review where you're trying to determine interesting relationships or non-correlating parameters. Great for oil and gas work flow as well as aqueous geochemistry studies.
  • Self-taught
I would have liked to have had actual training to have been able to get the full functionality of Spotfire but, it's not hard to learn if you're using it for basic visual display and data analysis.
We did not use Spotfire in association with other TIBCO products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire makes data life simple

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to visualize new discoveries in data. It is used by our Data Science team which is lead by the Data and Analytics team at Omnitracs. It allows us to get to actionable insights more rapidly by providing clinical business users throughout the organization with unmatched speed and flexibility to address clinical safety questions.
  • Automated reporting
  • Data Security
  • Visualizing and displaying data
  • Easy to use
  • Slow performance for large data set
  • Too many options , complicated user outfit
  • Not very good user interface
TIBCO Spotfire is one of the best suited product available in the market. It is being used in all the functional areas addressing all the queries. It will help you find the hidden information in your data.
  • Online training
So far so good. Learning and sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Useful data visualization tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is currently being used across the department. It helps in the visualization and analyzing of the production data, which is useful for both internal evaluation and external presentations.
  • Visualizing dataset.
  • Categorizing data.
  • Filtering data.
  • Loglines and log scales need to be an option for the graphs.
  • Titles and names should have more advanced options in a simple manner(no programming needed). Users should be able to specify the content from the table and formating for it.
  • The search for the keyword in the filter needs to be improved.
  • Labeling on the graph needs to be improved as they are not very good.
  • Drawing order needs to be a simple option for line graphs.
Spotfire is a good software when graphing from complex categories and time is needed.
Spotfire is less appropriate when encountering the listed improvement points. Some of the problem data processing/editings may be done by Excel but I wish Spotfire could have simpler ways to solve them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Tibco Spotfire Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses it to analyze data. Data is imported through our database to Spotifre Analyst and Spotfire will conveniently generate graphical visualizations of our data.
  • Visual representations.
  • Data collected.
  • Difficult to find bathes in drop down list.
It's good for data analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Spotfire fits most

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We analyze and visualize our data from our production machines. Currently only selected departments use Spotfire. At the moment we produce a lot data, but do not use it. This will we change by using Spotfire and the Spotfire Server.
  • Nice looking Dashboard
  • Fast browsing though the dashboard with millions of datapoints
  • You can connect almost everything to Spotfire
  • Right now we didn't find anything
Up to know Spotfire wins all points we tested against other tools. We didn't find any negative points, well except the price.
Right now we plan to get an online training by TIBCO. But we had good already good live sessions with TIBCO.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

First use of Spotfire

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to visualize our data from the production facilities at different points and for different roles in the company in the dashboard. Currently, only the QM department is using it.
  • Real-time data steaming
  • Analytical insights
  • Ease of use
  • From my perspective it is perfect for us
In my opinion, Spotfire is well suited when it comes to production line data and the need for statistical functions. It is also good for visualizing real-time data.
  • Self-taught
I started training by my-self and currently we get support with one-2-one sessions on our use cases
Not yet. We plan to use Streambase and Statistica.
Read this authenticated review
Lewis Mervin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Excellent for Cheminformatics Scientists in drug discovery

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a PostDoctoral Research Associate at the University of Cambridge with a speciality in computational chemistry (also known as Chem(o)informatics). I use Spotfire within the Department of Chemistry on an academic license as part of my daily job. It’s an excellent tool for data visualisation for drug discovery. It helps me to quickly share key trends from both chemical and biological data that I generate from my research with colleagues in different groups and departments within the university. The ability to import and process large datasets is essential in my field.
  • Quick to plot complex graphs
  • Capable of loading large data sets
  • Customisable
  • Add functionality for colour map (e.g offered in Seaborn Clustermap function in Python)
  • Add functionality to calculate more cheminformatics-like columns like chemical scaffolds and similarity matrix calculations
  • Improve trellis functionality
  • Add functionality to add chemical structure within heatmap plot
Suitable for even large numbers of data points in both the chemical or biological data domains. Also powerful when calculated columns are to be inserted into tables. The filter and label function is a very powerful feature when subsetting data within one Spotfire project. It is also capable of exporting sheets to PDF format, so it is also convenient to share key findings with others. It is less appropriate for chemical data in less mainstream formats (e.g SDF, MOL2).
Read Lewis Mervin's full review
Josh Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire: Robust, Shareable Data Visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My experience with TIBCO Spotfire occurred within an engineering context. TIBCO Spotfire was used across the entire Medtronic Tempe campus. Spotfire is instrumental in rapidly sharing and analyzing data in a centralized, portable way. Its robust visualization tools allow engineers to rapidly identify trends which indicate either problems to be addressed or improvements which should continue. The automated nature of Spotfire allows analyses to be run on new data sets without any additional hassle.
  • Data visualization: TIBCO Spotfire quickly reveals trends through its robust visualization tools. Many different graphical representations of the data are immediately available and can be used effectively with either default settings or can be tweaked to the specific needs of an audience.
  • Extensibility: TIBCO Spotfire allows for the implementation of just about any data analysis you can think if. If the analysis that you want to run is not already built in, TIBCO Spotfire includes the option to write R or IronPython code to extend its capabilities.
  • Shareability: When you develop a tool or visualization in TIBCO Spotfire, you can publish it in such a manner that your audience only needs a link to view it: they don't even need to have Spotfire installed on their own machine. Web publishing maintains the interactivity of your visualizations and allows users to download data sets for their own use.
  • Feature parity between web publishing and the Spotfire client: some features of Spotfire that work flawlessly in the Spotfire client break when published to the web. In particular, custom JavaScript inserted into the analysis tends not to render well on the web even if it renders perfectly in the client.
  • Lack of thorough documentation: particularly when comparing Spotfire documentation to the documentation for Python, JMP, or Matlab, Spotfire's documentation is lacking. In particular, I remember finding documentation on custom SQL queries being very sparse. Most often I would base my Spotfire solutions on examples found on forums rather than on official TIBCO advice.
  • The execution time of custom R data functions: TIBCO Spotfire uses its own implementation of the R runtime (called TERR, TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R) which I noticed to be significantly slower than the open-source runtime for certain tasks.
  • Error reporting: error reporting by both TERR and IronPython is very opaque and makes debugging very difficult.
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for when you need to develop a data analysis tool to be shared and used among many people. However, it is very difficult to learn how to use on your own, so make sure that somebody at your company has familiarity with the software so that you can ask them questions. From what I remember, TIBCO also offers services and training to help new users get started and advanced users get exactly what they want out of Spotfire.
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
For the most part, I leveraged existing expertise within the company to successfully take advantage of all of Spotfire's features and abilities. Thus, the training provided to my company reached me in an indirect manner, but based on the wealth of knowledge held by some in the company I can only conclude that TIBCO's training programs are effective.
I am not aware of integrations with any other TIBCO products being used at my company.
Read Josh Smith's full review
Navjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Good analytical tool for business and best for oil and gas

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the organizations within different divisions who use it for analytics, API, and scripting. It addresses most of the business decisions and oil wells production and Cost.
  • Scientific data exploration, high performance, statistical integration and SDK.
  • Easy to work with REST API using ADS.
  • Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.
  • Need more manuals for training on the advanced features.
  • Performance of data loading can improve more for a large set.
  • There is no way to identify which DXPs taking up the server disk space it will be created, just one temp file.
  • Import and Export can be improved as well you cannot export multiple objects at the same time.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for quick and direct analysis as it is easy to communicate with most databases which helps Spotfire stand out from other products in the market.
It will be less appropriate in the case you have to load a large chunk of data in which the Spotfire query engine is not efficient to handle.
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Business objects, as it is slow in analysis in BO compare to Spotfire.
Read Navjeet Singh's full review
Soaib Ummar | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Spotfire Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is a nice analytical tool, you can use R Python and other scripts to enhance your reporting. This tool can be used across all your departments. We use the tool across our departments and slowly all the legacy reporting is being migrated to either Spotfire or Power BI, with Spotfire being in demand. We almost add 5-10 new users daily.
  • Web-based tool: you can have the web-based version of the live reports.
  • Report scheduling
  • Usage of R and Python
  • Connecting to Azure Datalake
  • Pulling data from SharePoint online
  • Azure SQL database
Well Suited:
1: Connecting to all of the databases.
2: Easy to create reports and share with users.
3: Easy connectivity to all the databases and supports all the databases.
4: Easy installation and deployment.
5: Affective and experienced support team.

Cons:
Connecting to the Azure SQL Database and SharePoint online, when we moved to SharePoint online we were facing an issue.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
We should have good training available : I think training should be divided in to 3 catogeries.
1: Basic:
Where the target audiences will be end users who need the training to carry on there day to day activities.
2: Moderate/High:
It should have a moderate for the developers with some knowledge on the reporting queries and the other in details for the administrators.
We have only integrated with the TSSS application.
Read Soaib Ummar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (259)
8.5
Report Formatting Templates (226)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (254)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (266)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (193)
8.3
Report sharing and collaboration (240)
8.1
Publish to Web (200)
8.4
Publish to PDF (237)
8.1
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (150)
8.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (272)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (238)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (204)
7.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (209)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (177)
8.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (195)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (154)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (110)
7.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (129)
7.9
REST API (52)
7.9
Javascript API (52)
7.8
iFrames (39)
7.6
Java API (43)
7.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (52)
7.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (45)
7.8

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian