TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGVery nice quality for a small price!Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.,Getting info from several data sources Unlimited quantity of data Interactive dashboarding,Available on Windows only Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure,7,Online training Self-taught,NoSpotfire: the Wild West of BI ToolsWe are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions,Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results. Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data. Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.,Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality. Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.,7,Tableau Desktop and IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We have not intergrated with other TIBCO tools in my current project.,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Slack, Skype for BusinessTransfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye.Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.,Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts. Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.,High-dimensionality data source Near real-time analytics,8,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,We have been using TIBCO Spotfire with another TIBCO product namely TIBCO StreamBase LiveView. We are using both products in our in-house fraud detection platform. We are able to capitalize on Spotfire strong visualization and analytical capabilities to analyze data stream which has been pre-processed by the StreamBase LiveView. Thus, we are able to visualize huge amount of data in near real-time.,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO StreamBase, SAS Business Intelligence,Not SureWhen you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming aheadThe main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.,Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc. As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments. Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs. With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization. Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable. Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.,The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value. For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly. The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement,9,Tableau Desktop,Online training Self-taught,No integration so far. We only use R and SQL databases. with it.,RStudio, PostgreSQL, Bizagi Digital Business PlatformA Young Engineer's Perspective on SpotfireTraditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion,Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas,Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R),10,Self-taught
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
368 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
368 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 368 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 165)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.
  • Getting info from several data sources
  • Unlimited quantity of data
  • Interactive dashboarding
  • Available on Windows only
  • Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size
  • Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources
  • Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure
Spotfire is a nice tool when you want to complete different data sources together; with interactivity when selecting data. Honestly, this seems more marketing and finance oriented, with some weaknesses and limitations with geodata or when you really want to get very deep in data mining. This remains possible but a lot of configuration is needed, and sometimes the result is not that good. But for basics in BI, this is a nice tool, with a very good price!
Read Christopher Belis's full review
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions
  • Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results.
  • Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data.
  • Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.
  • Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality.
  • Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages
  • Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.
Quick and easy access to data, with web portal to share information. being able to take manual reporting out of the equation is really great as well. I have found that while the tool is highly custom, there is less development resources available online, so there is a bit more self solving required with this tool as the community matures.
Read Alex Walton's full review
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.
  • Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts.
  • Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.
  • High-dimensionality data source
  • Near real-time analytics
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for simplifying (preprocessed/cleaned) data aggregation, performing descriptive analytics, and visualization of information in dynamic charts or augment information with geographical information in maps. However, sometimes it might have some problems when trying to handle incomplete data set with a couple of fields containing some null or empty values.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "When you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming ahead"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.
  • Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc.
  • As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments.
  • Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs.
  • With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization.
  • Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable.
  • Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.
  • The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value.
  • For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly.
  • The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement
For me, Spotfire is perfect for situations where analysis must be shared interactively between different areas, geographies, etc. Automation of reports to avoid the trap of "chasing a different rabbit" every month due to different presentations of the data. I'm not sure though if, due to costs, Spotfire would suite a small company.
Read this authenticated review
June 22, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Young Engineer's Perspective on Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Traditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion
  • Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks
  • Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots
  • Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas
  • Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R)
Well suited for rapidly generating helpful visualizations
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is available for all of the employees in my organization, but only about 10% of them use it. I believe the relatively low percentage of users is due to the individual’s need for it, the learning curve, and lack of training available. For the users who do utilize Spotfire in my organization, we have been able to leverage amazing dashboards to gain efficiency and an in-depth understanding of key analytics.
  • Customization
  • Speed
  • Level of Detail
  • Learning curve
  • Difficult to export charts into PPT
  • Screen size effects dashboard appearance
It is well suited for users who work heavily with large data sets, and who want to showcase important KPI’s at a high level of the large data sets to other individuals. It is an amazing tool to streamline reporting, analyzing, and measuring data.

It is not well suited for very small data sets, nor individuals who are not capable of spending 10-15 hours learning how to Use it.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used for real-time tracking. Like other software, Spotfire is more for visualizations. At the same time those visualizations help us in picking out only related data. Currently, it is being used to address supply chain problems that most industries face - assisting them with inventory management and logistics
  • Interface has everything you need to create your desired visualization
  • Upon selecting specific parts of the visualization you get to see which data is responsible for the visuals
  • You can add multiple visuals on one page
  • Concise story telling software
  • For writing a script an additional software is required
Spotfire is well suited for storytelling.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TIBCO Spotfire to develop dashboards for audit-related projects. We also used the product to perform exploratory data analyses on a variety of internal investigations in connection with malicious insider activities.
  • TIBCO Spotfire does a great job helping its users build advanced visualizations with little to no programming involved.
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations and does a good job of letting its users tweak the visualizations to their specific needs.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • Its very strength can sometimes be a weakness. Although it is easy to develop visualizations with this platform, it is often difficult to customize when needed. This is symptomatic of all such dashboarding applications, though.
  • Not an application builder, insanely hard to create a layout that is appealing or to create user controls - possible with some Python but far too hard to create say a button to change the data plotted on an axis etc.
  • Not designed to create end user applications.
It is an excelent tool. I used it as a complement to Excel. It has very nice and complete chart options and allows the user to run complex pivot tables of long and heavy data tables. I work a lot with pivots and Excel crashes if you use pivots of more than 70 columns and 250 MB.

The web option is also great. You can send the attendees of a meeting a link with the report and they access to a "read-only " version of the report. It is not necesary to attach a file to an email, as the link itself is enough.
The context was as follows: a large French football club, wanted to have a map locating the purchasers of the club ticket / product as well as other geolining information for a targeted advertising campaign.

Tibco Spotfire helped us a lot and especially made it easier for us.

Our client was very satisfied
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.
  • Spotfire is still kind of "data pulling" strategy based application, the user defines SQL like data fetching command, and also the refresh rate, the Spotfire tries to periodically re-run those "queries", although it does have some data cache mechanism, for rapidly changing data, this strategy's performance sometimes is bad, especially when the data source is not well designed but with large amount of data (an Oracle Database with big table without too much index while those columns needs be queried). The Spotfire should improve to better connect with the other data stream /data pushing based API/Systems, also allowing the end user to define "basic data query" and the "delta data query" and "what mechanism is used to determine the delta"
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for Historical Data (after fact) analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires to consolidate/visualize the data rapidly changed in the RealTime manner (on the second level)
Read yixiang Shan's full review
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Reporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.
  • It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics.
  • You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users.
  • The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.
  • The scale of colors to be used in graphics could be improved.
  • If you compare with other products such as Power BI, the look'n feel doesn't look as friendly as in Power BI.
  • I really don't know if this is possible, but in our case, it requires local users to be created, maybe it could be synced with Active Directory?
I particularly like TIBCO Spotfire because it is easy to understand how to use it. I learned on my own and didn't take much time. I use it to report KPIs related to Information Security, I add the reference link directly to issues in the different tools, making really easy to consume for leaders who want to understand what issues are contributing to low scores in the report.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
November 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire-ood and bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spofire is used throughout out the company for metrics and KPIS, etc. Spotfire is very helpful, because it can correlate and pull in many data sources to be able to analyze.
  • Providing information on Spotfire training.
  • Examples of ways you can use Spotfire with analytical data.
  • Hard to use for people, because it is not intuitive.
  • Expressions, IF statements, etc. are hard for people to grasp, because they are not like Access, or SQL.
TIBCO is great when pulling data from many different sources, and being able to review and compare together. TIBCO works well with certain data sources, but if you are using Microsoft Access, you have to use an alternative because it does not work well. Also, calculations are somewhat hard to create.
Read Chelsea Philpot's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Honest and Fair"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization, and it encompasses several departments. The product allows us to utilize our current databases to create visualizations to easily depict data.
  • Allows for easy creation and utilization of data visualizations.
  • Easy to setup folders and permissions to allow several users to access data.
  • The ease of use allows for users to access and utilize data to make strategic decisions throughout the organization.
  • Understanding the full benefits of the program takes time and experience.
  • Some SQL language requires different setting/filters/statements than Teradata.
  • Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for use when using "big data" and multiple views of data are needed.

TIBCO Spotfire is not desired for simple data sets that are being used in a single graph.
This is probably my most enjoyed analytical feature the product offers. This has proved to be very useful for me and my team by using geographical points with data sets.
Read Justin Ricker's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "User-friendly, intuitive and easy... What more could you ask for?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used throughout the organization by various teams to analyze data, create workflow and performance management dashboards for leadership, and create easier solutions for regular reporting by the analysts. It addresses Excel's limitations with handling large data sets, performing calculations on those large data sets (quickly), and creating drill-down, interactive charts.
  • Spotfire can ingest extremely large data sets very quickly. We use Spotfire to analyze data sets of 5 million + rows - a feat Excel 2010 cannot handle.
  • It is very easy to join tables and insert columns (VLOOKUP) in Spotfire.
  • Spotfire is very user-friendly, and management loves to see the big picture, but then having the option to drill-down to the granular level of data as well.
  • We would like to be able to automatically reload data for Spotfire Library files for our Consumers, who do not have access to reload the data, without having to purchase another "module" or license.
Spotfire is great for analyzing large data sets with multiple detailed fields for a single row, so you can look at the same rows of data with different views. It is also easy to bin columns to create roll-up fields in order to facilitate this drill-down feature, and join data tables to do this as well. For small-scale analyses where some manual manipulation is required, Spotfire would not be the desired tool.
Read Emilie Wheeler's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Dashboard Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by multiple departments across Norfolk Southern. We have been developing dashboard type front ends for users using other tools for over a year now. TIBCO Spotfire has provided us with a tool that will allow us to deploy our dashboards to many users at one time utilizing the web client.
  • Great visualizations
  • Easy to use once data connection/information links are established
  • Scalable to multiple users via web client
  • Difficult to create data connections using custom SQL
  • Limited support of DB2 connections (DB2 on the mainframe)
  • Limited support of network connected documents on a shared drive
If the data is stored in Teradata and the user wants to create a dashboard with visualizations, TIBCO Spotfire is a perfect product. However, if the data is stored in DB2 on the mainframe, connecting to the data is a little more complicated. I would prefer to write custom SQL that points to DB2 on the mainframe, but this doesn't seem to be possible.
Read Matthew Bass's full review
September 11, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Meets Our Needs, Across the Organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by several departments across the organization. Spotfire provides us with the ability to create visualizations and dashboards from the data that we have collected. In addition, it allows us to build and deploy complex predictive models. The business problems that it solves are: 1) what are the characteristics of our device performance and can we see/understand aberrations in that activity, and; 2) what do our financials look like and how are we as an organization performing, what are the issues we face, and, can we project/forecast upcoming performance and issues.
  • Easy to get data into Spotfire, and to combine data from many sources.
  • Easy to create and edit visualizations to meet the needs of the issue and/or end user.
  • Dashboards can be built that deliver insight along with flexibility to allow end users some capabilities to explore the visualizations or customize the inquiry.
  • Can provide or deploy advanced analytical models.
  • There is a need for additional graph types. The visualization set that comes with TIBCO Spotfire is becoming rather limited.
  • Working with R is rather difficult.
  • There is no ability for text display visualization; a word cloud or similar would be useful.
Spotfire is good for data analytics in a simplified format.

Tibco Spotfire has some geographic capabilities. It has basic mapping, the ability to import maps and the ability to use the functionality of Spotfire on those maps. Additionally, with a bit of effort, it is possible to use some of the geographic analytical functions available in R, or using other functionality available on the net.

However, as it is not a GIS, some of the advanced features and more easy of use capabilities are not really there. Spotfire is fine for simple mapping and presentation, but, for more complex spatial analysis, one would probably look for another package.

In summary, Spotfire is probably suitable for about 90% of geographic uses, if not more. For the high end user, it will probably not work, but, for most people and their needs (including me) Spotfire can easily do what one needs.

Read Tim Daciuk's full review
December 05, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Business Transforming Product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I am able to quickly gain access to data of all types. It is able to dynamically develop visualizations that are both visually appealing and drive business decision making.
  • I have developed many reports and dashboards that display operations performance to operators, managers, and leaders.
  • The variety of available visualizations is vast, and it can satisfy most needs.
  • There are some visualizations that it is incapable of rendering including circular genome maps.
Spectacular at visualizing large sets of data. Not as useful in statistical analysis although it is improving rapidly. I continue to be amazed at the speed of the application though. Much faster than Power BI or Tableau, although the data cleaning and transformation ability isn't as good in Spotfire. If speed of application delivery is your goal, it's hard to beat Spotfire.
The mapping works as expected. You provide underlying data that corresponds to a latitude and longitude, and the visualization is created. The WMS functionality works very well if you would like to layer on some other type of geo-spatial information. My biggest complaint is in the geocoding. Spotfire won't recognize cities, states, or countries unless it is configured at the enterprise level on the server. At our company, it isn't configured, so I have to manually enter coordinates.

The mapping functionality continues to improve in Spotfire with additional features being added at each new release.
Read Peter Wolf's full review
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Great For Data Visuals!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for holistic business analysis. While we lack a centralized system database, Spotfire allows us to connect the right data points for comprehension in ways we would not have otherwise.
  • It helps us visualize and connect data into meaningful relationships quickly.
  • Has the abilities to implement quite complex statistical models or down to just simple charts to help review connected or manually loaded data.
  • Easy to use and learn. Great help topics and training tools available from TIBCO.
  • Could help to have better mobile support for on the go analysis of visualizations.
  • Cloud architect support would be helpful to be able to manipulate and create new visuals when away from my desktop.
  • Would be helpful at times to be able to connect more one-on-one with an individual vs. videos and help documentation.
*Helps take many different databases and connect them into a seamless visual display.
*Allows non-users of data (executives etc.) to be able to quickly grab what's important to them without having to spend a lot of time interpreting.
*Creates dynamic visualizations to allow for on-going update of data without having to "re-run" reports
Read Brett Domeny, MBA's full review
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Eats Excel for Lunch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexen is using Spotfire across the whole organization. We primarily use it to handle large volumes of data and to build visualizations and dashboards. I have also used it extensively in the past to analyze large data sets, build out custom expressions, and use the statistical engines within the software to better understand data relationships.
  • Building data visualizations is infinitely easier with Spotfire compared to Excel.
  • Manipulating data in charts is another huge strength of Spotfire. Trellising data, removing data on the fly and coloring data trends based on different variables is incredibly easy.
  • The mapping feature allows you to build dynamic dashboards. I barely use IHS Accumap anymore now that I have built out my own visual dashboards using the GIS mapping feature.
  • Custom expressions can be cumbersome to learn and are not entirely intuitive.
  • Some simple coding tasks in Excel are a lot harder to do in Spotfire.
  • Not having the ability to set y axis intervals like you can in Excel for charts can be a bit frustrating at times.
Honestly, I use Spotfire whenever I can. It has made my job a lot easier, especially when I have to handle large datasets. I absolutely love the software. The cons I described previously, if improved would make the user experience even better.
Read Zsolt Vigh P.Eng's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Tibco Interview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as a used vehicles rating tool. I integrate and parameter data which are based on Excel files and 14 other colleagues are using it only to see data online, they manipulate a few filters to refine their search.
  • The best part of Spotfire is that we can integrate different kinds of files in order to complete every table
  • Spotfire provides a better view of the inconsistent data and gives us many possibilities to hide or to treat only the correct data
  • Besides displaying classical and representative graphics, we can also configure the project as an online app by adding buttons, by giving the consumers the possibility to switch between different tabs, as with a classical website.
  • It misses the possibility to enter or fill new data manually. We can display new fields but it's not possible to save the information that we fill and that we generate..

Well suited : Integrate files and new data.

Less appropriate : Integrating .XLSX isn't always easy because data types are not recognized.

Read Helene Ear's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire offers flexibility and continues to provide valuable enhancements"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses TIBCO Spotfire to create visualizations for customers using our software.
  • Visualizations can be created in a reasonable amount of time.
  • Customers can create their own unique visualizations.
  • Visualizations can be shared with other users.
  • Our analysis is made up of multiple DXPs. It would be nice if there was an easy way to set a date filter and have it apply to all DXPs. It can be updated on one DXP and shared to the others so customers do not have to constantly change the date. The same applies to filters, but need to have an indicator if a filter is being applied.
  • Very difficult to trouble shoot when I have an issue. Probably will get better the more experience I get with using Spotfire.
  • Enhance the Print (Export to HTML) like the Export to PDF was enhanced.
Spotfire is well suited to report data that is in a data warehouse. Spotfire has not been easy to learn. Education was presented, but I do not believe there are enough examples to fix everyone's use.
Read Melissa Heil's full review
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Efficiency and Analytical Powerhouse in One Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by several technical teams and across all asset divisions to quickly and efficiently conduct data analysis and visualizations.
  • The speed with which the tool can be used to create presentation-grade visuals.
  • Quickly being able to provide insight and derive correlations from large data sets while being able to filter/manipulate data on the fly.
  • Providing a spatial to graphical interface.
  • I think from my team's perspective, trying to find a better means of data storage has been a major issue. Creating databases that include all necessary data yet don't slow the application down so much that it is essentially unusable has been a challenge.
The ease with which one can quickly create visuals for presentations has been one of the biggest strong points in my experience.
Read John Michael Callen's full review
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "We use Spotfire"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire to create a product for our customers that gives them insight into their business operations, on both the clinical and financial perspective. Our use-case is different, because we create and deliver generic dashboards; then when the customer logs in, the information link obtains the data specific to that customer, based on their login. This prevents the wrong customer seeing the wrong data. Given our use-case, I'm not convinced that Spotfire was the right choice as a solution, but we have been able to make it work and I have been impressed with the functionality and flexibility that Spotfire provides.
  • Flexibility - the ability to modify the HTML of text areas and the use of JavaScript and Iron Python
  • Visualization - the number of options available
  • Lack of QA of documentation. Sometimes, the documentation appears to have been written by an engineer, without the end user in mind. Steps are assumed/missing so it makes it difficult to follow and frustrating.
We are deploying generic visualizations so that the data that is shown is based on the customer's login information rather than deploying a Spotfire environment for each customer. As stated previously, Spotfire does not appear to be well suited for this use case; we've been able to make it work, but there are other products that may have a more straight-forward approach. However, if we had a single-threaded approach where we were deploying visualizations for one data warehouse, Spotfire appears to be well-suited for that approach.
Read Tracey Gray's full review
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great product with more great potential!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is a great tool. I didn't use it in my previous role, but I started using it almost 3 years ago when I moved into my current role. All the teams in this organization heavily rely on Spotfire on a daily basis and, from what I hear, it is spreading to more of the organization. We use it from production analysis to research projects.
  • I love that we can connect it straight to our database so that the data is continuously updated.
  • I have used Spotfire to automate some of my repetitive weekly responsibilities and it has given me hours back in my week.
  • There are so many functions that Spotfire can do that I haven't even been able to learn all of them. There are endless possibilities.
  • I wish that there was a way to put a background color to the visualizations. I take screen shots and put them in reports, but it's white on white which doesn't make for a very interesting report.
  • I have tried to do an automated weekly email of visualizations that I put on a report, but I have to open the report and take screen shots because they don't have the same formatting when it comes in the email. Disappointing when you spend a lot of time getting the formatting just right.
  • I wish that there were stacked area charts. That is the only visualization that I have wished to use and been unable to.
We have a database with everything from production to pressures and temperatures to item specific data which all links to Spotfire so that we can run analysis on just about anything, and it has helped us to see unthought of relationships, and change our processes to be more accurate and efficient. I have not found anywhere where it wasn't helpful.
Read Kirk Ashdown's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is an exceptional new analytics tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Spotfire is being used by the Global Sourcing organization with the aim of it being expanded throughout the organization. If it becomes popular enough, it will likely be implemented throughout the company on a more holistic basis. It is used currently for analysis, reporting and strategizing as far as indirect procurement.
  • Easily reads in multiple data formats
  • GUI to alter and customize visualizations is user friendly
  • Having the data cached in memory makes the application very fast
  • Integration with external data analysis tools/languages like R and Python
  • Predictive analytics features like decision trees and Bayesian networks
  • Ability to set up data pipelines to Hadoop clusters
I think that this tool is currently the best on the market for descriptive analytics and reporting. It is exceptionally user-friendly and intuitive when it comes to customizing visualizations and managing data inputs. I would like to see it used in more advanced analytics applications utilizing R and Python with compatibility with Hadoop clusters.
Read David Schuster's full review
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "1st Year of Spotfire"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for both ad-hoc analysis and for creating dashboards that are used at various levels.
  • Pulls in data from a variety of sources
  • Quick and nice looking visualizations
  • Filtering and slicing up data to see different metrics
  • Limited variety of specializations
  • Limited ability to set some preferences (lines on tables, how labels appear, etc.)
  • Some features are buried in non-intuitive places
Excellent for visualizations and analysis.
Read Ross Pate, PMP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.4
Customizable dashboards (135)
8.2
Report Formatting Templates (111)
7.4
Drill-down analysis (136)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (140)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (101)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (127)
7.8
Publish to Web (104)
8.2
Publish to PDF (120)
7.5
Report Versioning (18)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (75)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (141)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (129)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (107)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (114)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (95)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (107)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (82)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (54)
6.2
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (65)
6.7
REST API (4)
6.8
Javascript API (5)
7.0
iFrames (3)
6.7
Java API (3)
6.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (5)
6.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
8.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions