TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSmoke the competition with Spotfire!Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.,Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard. Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool. Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability. The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company. It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.,The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users. Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy. Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.,10,Definitely positive, but I’m not in charge of that.,Self-taught,It was not integrated.,Microsoft 365 BusinessFast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable priceTIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.,Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports Very good technical support Very good price with top performance,Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products Confusing documentation Not very comprehensive user access rights,10,QlikView, Microsoft SQL Server and Tableau Server,TIBCO Spotfire is allowing to get comprehensive information from databases at a real competitive price, with great customer support.,Self-taught,We have not integrated Spotfire with other products from TIBCO,RapidMiner Studio, DISCO,10,3,Integrating in More Departments to help them to have better information,Pharmacy cost control, Oncology actvity (patients taken care, quality control), Geriatrics activity report,We are still in deployment phase but doctors are beginning to see that they can take profit of the date they create everyday,10,6,5,,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,No, the decision was very good,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Although documentation is vast, it's very difficult to know what add-on or package you need to deploy. We install 2 times products not needed loosing a lot of time. Anyway, support is good and helping It was not easy to know what product and options we needed,7,10,Yes,Needed to use forecast predictions but didn't work on server. After providing logs and screenshots, Support engineer gave me the solution in 1 step,Fast and easy creation of new reports, powerful and fast filters. Easy-to-use time series graphic forecasting,Some add-ons are not included and not easy to integrate Time series Forecasting is only available on a graphic basis, not number Possible to integrate with R, but need to spend a lot of time to use scripts,Yes, but I don't use it,9Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualizationTIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.,TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models. TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations. The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.,The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive. Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier. Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.,9,Tableau Desktop, Qlik Sense, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner and Domo,The ROI from Spotfire has generally been positive. After digesting the healthy up front cost, analysts have come to rely on the software more than most any other software product besides perhaps Excel. The initial time spent on Spotfire looked like it might turn out to be a waste of money. But after putting the time in, Spotfire saves analysts time and thereby money. Perhaps the most positive return on investment from Spotfire is the automated reports, eliminating analyst effort.,Online training Self-taught,We have not specifically purchased any other add-on products to Spotfire. With that said, we are considering looking at Spotfire X. In addition, we are thinking of using Spotfire for more data wrangling, location analytics, real-time graphics, and real-time streaming of data. Of these, I think the two most important items that will save time are making the data wrangling tasks more automated and making the real-time streaming of data actually real-time streaming of data. Accomplishing these two tasks is more difficult than what it sounds.,Tableau Desktop, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner, JMP Pro, Domo, Qlik SenseLearned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school.Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.),Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling. Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update. As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.,Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license. The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL. Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.,10,JMP Pro,My role was a little disconnected from this. I don't know but I'd imagine it created a lot of visibility to where money was being lost in manufacturing.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,Have not used anything but Spotfire.,JMP Pro, AnacondaWhy Spotfire?The use of Spotfire is increasing throughout the organization. The reason being, it is a platform that engages both IT savvy and non-IT savvy users. Within the organization, Spotfire is used is various ways, right from basic reporting to complex advanced analytics, everything is done using Spotfire.,Root Cause Analysis - You are able to guide your end users through the analysis in an intuitive manner Fairly Complex visualizations can be easily created without any programming skills Spotfire has amazing ETL capabilities, I have used multiple BI tools and in my opinion Spotfire is leading,Cascading Filters --> the newer BI tools in the market make cascading much easier The responsiveness in text areas --> If you have pictures in your dashboard, currently the developers have to keep all sorts of screen sizes in mind otherwise the users will experience a 'distorted dashboard',8,Tableau Desktop, SAP Analytics Cloud and Microsoft Power BI,Online training,Business Objects SRC, RapidMiner Studio
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
560 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
560 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 560 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 246)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Paul E. Everett profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smoke the competition with Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.
  • Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard.
  • Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool.
  • Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability.
  • The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company.
  • It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.
  • The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users.
  • Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy.
  • Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.
In my experience, it is well suited for data analysis of many petroleum industry challenges where patterns and relationships exist but aren’t always apparent without full analysis.
Read Paul E. Everett's full review
David Baltar Boilève profile photo
December 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Fast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.
  • Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports
  • Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports
  • Very good technical support
  • Very good price with top performance
  • Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products
  • Confusing documentation
  • Not very comprehensive user access rights
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect when you need to make a fast deploy to provide information with very good reports. It's very cost effective and high - performance.
Not using it
Read David Baltar Boilève's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.
  • TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models.
  • TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations.
  • The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.
  • The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive.
  • Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier.
  • Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.
TIBCO Spotfire is perfectly suited for the data scientist and the financial analyst who is willing to go beyond simple accounting visuals. The data scientists get the entire range of job responsibilities, from data exploration to final model building to visualization. The financial analyst with a more technical background gets the ability to present financial data in a more unique way.
Read Thomas Young's full review
David Glennon profile photo
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Learned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.)
  • Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling.
  • Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update.
  • As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.
  • Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license.
  • The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL.
  • Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.
Great for creating the visualizations to go with data, especially if you can already picture how you want to represent it. Not so good if you have to do any actual stats on the data, unless you're going to integrate python scripts.
Read David Glennon's full review
Rajiv Besant profile photo
February 14, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Why Spotfire?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of Spotfire is increasing throughout the organization. The reason being, it is a platform that engages both IT savvy and non-IT savvy users. Within the organization, Spotfire is used is various ways, right from basic reporting to complex advanced analytics, everything is done using Spotfire.
  • Root Cause Analysis - You are able to guide your end users through the analysis in an intuitive manner
  • Fairly Complex visualizations can be easily created without any programming skills
  • Spotfire has amazing ETL capabilities, I have used multiple BI tools and in my opinion Spotfire is leading
  • Cascading Filters --> the newer BI tools in the market make cascading much easier
  • The responsiveness in text areas --> If you have pictures in your dashboard, currently the developers have to keep all sorts of screen sizes in mind otherwise the users will experience a 'distorted dashboard'
It is one of the better BI tools in the market. It is a great tool for descriptive and diagnostics analytics.
Read Rajiv Besant's full review
William Wong profile photo
February 13, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good tool with decent analytic capabilities"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used as an analytics tool for one of my clients. The data source/back end was an older oracle datamart.
  • Drag and drop, ease of use for end users.
  • Deployments to production environments are relatively straight forward.
  • Flexible capabilities on getting data from multiple data sources, however this can be a double edged sword if your enterprise does not have proper governance in place.
  • Datasets can get muddy, architecture wise there needs to be governance in place to identify where the real source of truth is. Otherwise you end up with a spaghetti implementation that has very poor data lineage.
  • It is not as intuitive as other dashboard/visualization tools such as Tableau.
  • Not particularly a problem with Spotfire alone, but lots of analytics tools require you to push specific aggregations and measurements to the data model versus having a citizen developer creating them on the fly.
Licensing and costs aside this is a great tool. Although with Microsoft coming up with their analytic capabilities, it will become increasingly difficult to convince decision-makers to have to pay extra for a tool like this.
Read William Wong's full review
Brandon Doss profile photo
February 08, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Departmental use for analyzing biotech research data.
  • Cloud deployment makes data accessible anywhere.
  • Ability to customize and save visualization formats/templates is very useful.
  • Joining data from multiple tables is simplified in Spitfire vs other platforms.
  • Initial setup of our Team account was very painful.
Spotfire is good for visualizing complete data sets and for joining incomplete data sets for visualization. However, we struggle when mathematical manipulations are required prior to visualizing the data. We find ourselves going to Excel, crunching the numbers, and sending a CSV back to Spotfire.
Read Brandon Doss's full review
James Spender profile photo
February 01, 2019

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for rapid drill-down collaborative data visualisation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used by Trading Analysts for data visualization globally across all Oil and Gas trading teams. It is used for Trade Analytics to support data scientists in modeling fundamentals such as supply and demand, crack spread, dark spread, etc and to perform Energy Trading Risk Management. At another Retail client, it was used for data visualization for customer analytics.
  • Easy to use - can click on any data element to drill down.
  • Quick to annotate and share comments with other users through the toolbar and export/publish.
  • Easy to connect to a wide range of data sources including Hadoop/Hive and SQL RDBMS like SQL Server and Oracle.
  • Self-service business intelligence.
  • Online documentation could be improved.
  • Some licensing options have a subset of features.
  • The alternative Microsoft PowerBI is often free to add to Office licenses.
Good for a broad range of users who need to get started quickly with data visualization and collaborate and share their data. If they are already familiar with Excel or SAS, then they should find it easy to add data visualizations. If they are familiar with Tableau on the other hand, then they are probably better off sticking with that. It is also much more expensive than PowerBI.
Read James Spender's full review
Ricardo Angel Granados López profile photo
January 22, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great results in a short time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started last year looking for a tool to present huge amounts of data in a meaningful way to our investors. As electricity markets generate a lot of data, having a tool that helps to simplify part of the processing of information was one KPI. On the other hand, having a way to create visually appealing reports that are easy to follow and understand was the second main goal. With TIBCO Spotfire, you can create dashboards that plug into the data sources making live reports that update automatically. These can be online for everyone to see or sent via private links with the report of interest. The visuals are stunning and clear to our investors so they can follow up from one report to another. We thought that the price was high at first, but having tried and used the software, we can say it’s worth the price and for a data-intensive job it is a great companion.
  • Easy to use.
  • Great visuals.
  • Data source direct connection.
  • Online services.
  • Mobile device friendly view.
  • The learning curve to be able to use every aspect can be a few months.
  • If you are an academic or non-profit it can be taxing to have a monthly fee.
If you create weekly reports with a lot of data, Spotfire helps you speed up the process and make it easier. If you have a lot of data sources and every one of them has different formatting, you will have to spend a lot of time cleaning the data so Spotfire can read every source and produce the reports.
Read Ricardo Angel Granados López's full review
Abigail Bowden profile photo
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Fresh Way to Present Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is currently only used by myself. I work for a small geophysics start-up and I'm one of 5 employees total. We collect lots of numbers during geophysical surveying and as a result we process lots of data in the office. While half the job is collecting the values and interpreting them, the other half is presentation and explanations of the data we collect and being able to show its relevance to our clients' situations.
  • Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office.
  • Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect.
  • User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.
  • The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.
Spotfire is best suited for creating accurate, well designed data presentation images like graphs, tables, charts, and is especially useful for collaborative work because you can share it with a coworker and both be working on it. The only other alternative I can think of is Google Sheets, but Spotfire is far more advanced and on a professional level.
It is less appropriate for those who don't deal with a lot of data presentation in their work or where the data presentation in graph form is not the key focus.
Read Abigail Bowden's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire primarily as a lab, but it is also used throughout the department for varying purposes. Our use of it in the lab is to create complex, three dimensional statistical graphs that would otherwise require a very specialized and expensive program. Even with the specialized program, TIBCO Spotfire does a much better job at presenting the data and allowing customization.
  • Customization - can change anything about an image from the color to the layout. Much easier than Microsoft products!
  • User friendly - no tutorial or instruction manual necessary.
  • Great data organization - very easy to display even the most complex data in an understandable way.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to import data from things like Microsoft Excel.
  • It would be nice to have multiple different export file types so that Spotfire can be more compatible with more programs.
Very well suited for data that has multiple variables or data categories that need simultaneous display. It can be a little overkill for simple graphing; however, even then it offers more control and customization than other Excel or spreadsheet programs. It is also much better at 3D display than Microsoft Excel.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Julie Sebby profile photo
January 07, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for Mid to Large Enterprises"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by most departments in our company to access enterprise and local data sources. It is connected to over 30 enterprise data sources. It began as a tool for engineers, but anyone who wants to access data may work with the application to create dashboards, workflows, and other tools to aid in decision making and visualization.
  • Users get a better understanding of data when they see it in Spotfire, as opposed to Excel. Spotfire visualizations also have several functions like zoom sliders and hierarchies that are a significant improvement over charting in Excel.
  • Spotfire integrates with coding languages like IronPython, HTML, CSS and R in order to dramatically expand the out of the box functionality.
  • Features like property controls make the application dynamic and interactive in ways that Excel is not. These same features also make the application more efficient.
  • The application is not efficient when building large projects. There are many small features that could make building large projects faster like the ability to add more than one filter or property control at a time. Also, users shouldn't have to expand and collapse every single table in the Filter panel or in the Add filters dialog (when adding filters in a Text Area).
  • TIBCO has been slow to add in features that users have requested for years, like the ability to edit join operations. It's there now, but we waited years for that feature. The information designer hasn't seen an overhaul (or even any new features) in over 5 years.
  • Increasing the release frequency has resulted in a lower quality product. TIBCO lauded the "completely redesigned" user interface of Spotfire 10, but it's not a complete redesign and looks sloppy.
I think Spotfire is a good product, and we'll continue to use it. It is expensive relative to other competitors, and a successful launch will require internal support (support from the company, not just support from TIBCO). Therefore, I don't think it's a good fit for smaller companies. However, it is a good tool for larger enterprises who have many data sources that users need to access to. The combination of Spotfire Server, Automation Services, and Web Player make it a powerful enterprise tool.
Read Julie Sebby's full review
Matthew Thadeio profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simplicity and effectiveness are crucial to data organization!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the TIBCO platform to analyze our Summer Learning Academy testing scores to identify areas of growth and deficit within the program. TIBCO allowed for simplicity in data visualization that were difficult to create through Excel or PowerPoint. The easy-to-understand tables allowed for us to easily identify our progress and help secure funding from grants. Data visualization in education is vital and the simpler it is to understand, the easier it is to explain to those that are unfamiliar with academic testing scores.
  • The user-friendly platform is easy to navigate.
  • Excellent customer service and support as well as tutorials.
  • Easy-to-understand tables that allow you to easily organize complex data sets into something more understandable.
  • Professional development opportunities for education professionals and the capabilities of using TIBCO for improvement.
Sometimes data can be too much and the question has to be asked “why am I analyzing this”. Those in education sometimes prefer the “less is more” approach and TIBCO allows for both less and more. The capabilities of the program are amazing but can be overwhelming for some.
Read Matthew Thadeio's full review
Marco J. Morelli profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Entry level user"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We would like to use TIBCO Spotfire in our Research Centre at the Hospital for a quick visualization and analysis of the data for projects which do not need the development of ad hoc methods, to be used by users without a computational background. The results were okay, although you always need to take into account the cost related to changing a workflow from what people are used to. In particular, those without a technical background were thrilled to be able to run simple analyses without having to learn how to code.
  • Ease of use
  • Visualization
  • Handling of samples. We would have liked something closer to a laboratory information management system, where samples could be tracked before sequencing. Even tracking the position of a vial in a fridge/rack would be useful for us.
  • Documentation
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for environments where data analysis is standard and can be run through automated pipelines: the final results need to be showed to people who can not write or interpret the analysis details, but want to explore the results independently and put them in the context of published data.
Read Marco J. Morelli's full review
Boris Mergold בוריס מרגולד profile photo
February 11, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire for Accelerated Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Spotfire is used by our clients as part of software solutions providing embedded analytics to the end users.
Other companies use Spotfire for self-service analytics, combining data sources.
We also have users from hardware companies where validation engineers use Spotfire for ad hoc data analysis.
  • Data Preparation in Spotfire 10 is combined with an AI engine and makes it very easy for business users to combine data from diverse data sources.
  • Dashboard creation in Spotfire 10 can be done with help of searching without deep knowledge of the tool.
  • Creating analytical applications can be done without scripting or writing code.
  • Ad-hoc data analysis can be done by the untrained user.
  • Embedding new Visualizations can be done with JsVIZ framework but the process is not easy.
  • Integration of community add-ons. The community does not provide add-ons that can be embedded in Spotfire.
  • Marketing of the product. The market is not aware of Spotfire capabilities.
Best case is interactive dashboards or ad-hoc analysis by business analysts. It is great for analytical dashboards and analysis that use R engine.
Read Boris Mergold בוריס מרגולד's full review
Ellie Lock profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Analysis Program Worth Paying For"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only optimisation engineers in countries around the world have access to Spotfire. We use it so analyse drilling trends, identify errors in data and hazardous events that have occurred. I am the only user in Australia for my company.
  • Great marking and colouring options to highlight necessary data. Particularly helpful in scatter plots with segment colouring options.
  • The details visualisation allows quick analysis of multiple parameters to identify trends
  • Adding calculation columns are easy and simple to write if more data is required. Refreshing of data from source is also helpful.
  • I find it difficult to view large scale data on x-y scatter plots where multiple data needs to be viewed on the x-axis. We generally put depth drilled on the y-axis and up to 3 variables on the y-axis but Spotfire does not view this data very well.
  • Ability to auto calculate a trend line by selecting two points of data on x-y scatter plot would be useful for viewing.
  • The print preview button doesnt save the last setting so when printing multiple landscape views I had to change my options every time. Just a bit tedious.
  • Don't really understand trellis options yet but still learning on this.
Great for parameter analysis and range box and whisker plots for drilling formations.
Not good for holistic view of drilling campaigns and presenting data to the customer. Print preview needs to be clearer images and larger definition for power point and word documents.
Read Ellie Lock's full review
Kimberly Bartholomew profile photo
September 26, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Information Systems that students use Spotfire for real-world data analysis."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a college professor. I teach a Healthcare Information Systems Applications course where students work on several small community projects. We asked for an educational license for about two months so students could do some training and then use Spotfire for some analysis on their projects.
None of the students had used Spotfire before that class. They had all used Tableau, SAS, and Excel for reporting and data analytics.
  • Spotfire allows for many different types of data sources.
  • The ability to choose what filters to apply to a chart is a user-friendly way to share the information with stakeholders.
  • The chart types are varied.
  • Liked the ability to tie charts together to the same legend or filters.
  • Would like to see more chart types supported.
  • Would like more tutorials or YouTube video tutorials.
  • The Cloud version menu and navigation were a bit hard to understand.
Well suited for large datasets from most of the popularly used data sources.

Learning curve takes some time. Good for an educational setting.
Read Kimberly Bartholomew's full review
Pablo Lacerda Silva profile photo
January 12, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Data Analytics Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by my organization mainly to analyze geological and oil production data and gain insight in order to address current challenges and make future decisions. It is used across the whole organization on an as-needed basis.
  • Spotfire allows me to integrate multiple sources of data into a single database.
  • Spotfire plotting allows me to look at five variables at the same time.
  • Spotfire allows me to instantly switch between different variables and visualize them.
  • Ternary diagrams are missing, and it currently requires some awkward manipulation of two dimensions using trigonometry to display such a diagram.
  • Displaying photos associated with data points, besides the tooltip, is currently beyond the skills of regular users.
I would recommend and actually have recommended Spotfire to all my colleagues in my profession, who need to regularly analyze geological data and draw insight from correlations.
Read Pablo Lacerda Silva's full review
Mathew Dusharm profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Trust, Automation, Reliance...TIBCO Spotfire."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is an integral tool for data analytics and data wrangling by my organization. Currently TIBCO Spotfire is being used for my professional research interests and has been an integral framework for reiterative tasks. TIBCO Spotfire has been able to handle all of my data wrangling problems with analytical precision with a flexible and responsive user interface!
  • Analytics
  • Wrangling
  • Aquisition
  • Automation
  • EMR Support
  • User feedback
  • Implementation algorithms
  • Task Analysis
When exporting a visualization to an image, an image will now use the visual theme of the analysis, and the image is exported in a higher resolution than before. There are also right-click context menu option to export an image to a .png file, and also to copy the visualization image to the clipboard so it can be pasted into a document or presentation. Great visualization techniques.

Improves clustering algorithm techniques. More agile development.
Read Mathew Dusharm's full review
Kripesh Kutty profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smart, secure enterprise class analytics platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the enterprise. It helps different groups build their own reports and we do build reports which are viewed enterprise-wide.
  • Good user management
  • Good visualizations
  • Easier to lean and share
  • More custom visualization support
  • Something like Microsoft Power BI where they have a whole community from where custom visualizations can be downloaded and used within a few clicks. This is for users to use different visualizations other than what comes out of the box.
  • Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for historical data analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires consolidating the data rapidly changed in a real-time manner.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
Quang-Hoa Hong profile photo
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Oil and Gas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used within only my department to analyze oil and gas parameters pertaining to drilling, completions, and production operations as well as geological attributes. All of these values were poured into Spotfire to try and determine their relationship between well performance. Optimization on all levels of upstream operations was the purpose of Spotfire in this case.
  • Ability to look at multiple types of data at the same graph
  • Ability to post data onto a map to better visually compare them
  • Ease of use when manipulating data on a graph
  • More built-in functions for basic users to manipulate data within the software (sort of like Excel vlookups, match, and index functions)
Like all analytical tools Spotfire is dependent on the quality of data going into it. You can easily spot out discrepancies in data and correct them.
One weakness is becoming caught up in correcting data while hampering your progression.
Read Quang-Hoa Hong's full review
Rajat Wadhwani profile photo
December 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simply Powerful for Data Visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to create dashboards which helps to make business decisions which are data driven across the whole organization. It helps to generate value out of data which otherwise would have been lying around.
  • Great variety of charts/graphs which one can choose to visualize data
  • Platform to code in Iron Python makes it really powerful.
  • Very well integrated with other platforms.
  • Takes great deal of time to understand each and every functionality.
  • The application sometime crashes if a database is huge
  • Need a plugin to export live data and update as the data flows
Data Analysis is a hot topic nowadays and Python is used extensively to analyse data and create visualizations but everyone is not comfortable [with] geting visualizations. Spotfire is really a very powerful tool to create visualizations.
Read Rajat Wadhwani's full review
Dave Williams profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data discovery in minutes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initial use started with quality organization but has expanded to sales, services, manufacturing and procurement.
The speed of development and flexibility of the data presentation capabilities and data ingestion independent of data source makes the time to solution appreciated.
  • Easy to add new JDBC data sources and expose data for analysis
  • Easy to create multiple visualizations and link them between dependent data and filters
  • Easy to extend with Python Scripting
  • Date handling and creating hierarchies very good.
  • Axis scaling is not easy to achieve logical values especially with multiple scales
  • Prompts for data selection inputs to a query is not user friendly and requires work to build into analysis
  • No versioning or autosave exists on creation and library
  • Easy for general analytics and not overly complex data security requirements.
  • Great when users have a good familiarity with the data.
  • More complex when source and row or column level security needs to be applied
Read Dave Williams's full review
John Steinhauser profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Makes Big Data a Little Less Overwhelming"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it in a Petroleum asset development class in the Petroleum Engineering department at Texas A&M University. So far, I have really appreciated how I can use Spotfire to wrangle and evaluate large amounts of data. My team is just in the beginning phase of applying it, but I have used it in the past at other companies and it has been crucial to my work.
  • Handles large data sets.
  • Creates great visualizations.
  • Combines multiple data sets and helps me compare them.
  • Navigating the coding is a bit challenging.
  • Editing data sets in Spotfire would be nice. You can only look at data you input into the program.
  • Exporting visualizations to powerpoint only lets you make a whole slide. Making a well scaled image would be awesome.
Awesome for evaluating large sets of data. Not as much when you're looking at just 1 or 2 relationships in your data.
Read John Steinhauser's full review
Arun Kumar profile photo
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "On the spot"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used for teaching data analytics module to students
  • Visualisations such as scatter plots, density plots, and table manipulation and presentation, are very good and useful
  • Regression analysis: training, evaluation and prediction aspects are presented in a very intuitive manner
  • Ability to creation customised user controls using the text area, and also the filters based on the table content are very good aspects
  • Forecasting: Currently we are not able to download forecasted values, nor are we able to see the values using tooltip. Even Excel is able to do a better job for this particular aspect.
  • Classification Tree: Presently there is no graphical output; possible to use r code, but it's cumbersome
  • Logistic Regression: They need to provide users with the choice to either create one model for a single class (based on user choice,) or create a model based on two models (for both classes) and use of method such as Bayesian posterior probability calculations.
Well Suited: Spotfire analysis models can be used in Streambase for streaming data analysis.
Read Arun Kumar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (210)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (178)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (206)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (215)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (157)
7.8
Report sharing and collaboration (192)
7.9
Publish to Web (161)
8.2
Publish to PDF (189)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (116)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (221)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (193)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (166)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (169)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (140)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (157)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (124)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (87)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (103)
7.2
REST API (31)
6.7
Javascript API (32)
6.7
iFrames (22)
6.6
Java API (25)
6.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (32)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (24)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions