TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGExcellent for Cheminformatics Scientists in drug discoveryI am a PostDoctoral Research Associate at the University of Cambridge with a speciality in computational chemistry (also known as Chem(o)informatics). I use Spotfire within the Department of Chemistry on an academic license as part of my daily job. It’s an excellent tool for data visualisation for drug discovery. It helps me to quickly share key trends from both chemical and biological data that I generate from my research with colleagues in different groups and departments within the university. The ability to import and process large datasets is essential in my field.,Quick to plot complex graphs Capable of loading large data sets Customisable,Add functionality for colour map (e.g offered in Seaborn Clustermap function in Python) Add functionality to calculate more cheminformatics-like columns like chemical scaffolds and similarity matrix calculations Improve trellis functionality Add functionality to add chemical structure within heatmap plot,9,Tableau Desktop,Easy to share data trends with colleagues Meetings are more productive when using interactive Spotfire windows,Self-taught,Tableau DesktopTIBCO Spotfire: Robust, Shareable Data VisualizationMy experience with TIBCO Spotfire occurred within an engineering context. TIBCO Spotfire was used across the entire Medtronic Tempe campus. Spotfire is instrumental in rapidly sharing and analyzing data in a centralized, portable way. Its robust visualization tools allow engineers to rapidly identify trends which indicate either problems to be addressed or improvements which should continue. The automated nature of Spotfire allows analyses to be run on new data sets without any additional hassle.,Data visualization: TIBCO Spotfire quickly reveals trends through its robust visualization tools. Many different graphical representations of the data are immediately available and can be used effectively with either default settings or can be tweaked to the specific needs of an audience. Extensibility: TIBCO Spotfire allows for the implementation of just about any data analysis you can think if. If the analysis that you want to run is not already built in, TIBCO Spotfire includes the option to write R or IronPython code to extend its capabilities. Shareability: When you develop a tool or visualization in TIBCO Spotfire, you can publish it in such a manner that your audience only needs a link to view it: they don't even need to have Spotfire installed on their own machine. Web publishing maintains the interactivity of your visualizations and allows users to download data sets for their own use.,Feature parity between web publishing and the Spotfire client: some features of Spotfire that work flawlessly in the Spotfire client break when published to the web. In particular, custom JavaScript inserted into the analysis tends not to render well on the web even if it renders perfectly in the client. Lack of thorough documentation: particularly when comparing Spotfire documentation to the documentation for Python, JMP, or Matlab, Spotfire's documentation is lacking. In particular, I remember finding documentation on custom SQL queries being very sparse. Most often I would base my Spotfire solutions on examples found on forums rather than on official TIBCO advice. The execution time of custom R data functions: TIBCO Spotfire uses its own implementation of the R runtime (called TERR, TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R) which I noticed to be significantly slower than the open-source runtime for certain tasks. Error reporting: error reporting by both TERR and IronPython is very opaque and makes debugging very difficult.,8,JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SAS,Long-term solutions: the data analysis tool that I built using Spotfire about a year ago is still in use for similar data sets at my company.,In-person training Self-taught,I am not aware of integrations with any other TIBCO products being used at my company.,JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SASSpotfire helps with storytellingUsed across various programs in SMU. Helps to visualize data for better insights and analysis. Spotfire makes use of a very user-friendly interface which helps to make visualizations clear and easy to understand. More users are being introduced to and enjoying Spotfire. The effectiveness of Spotfire helps to simplify data problems.,Easy to use interface. Powerful visualizations and recommendations. A good aid in visual storytelling.,Less well known. Data types supported. Integration with other software.,8,Tableau Desktop,Easy storytelling Difficulty in porting data Good statistical analysis,Self-taught,Unfortunately, have not had the chance to integrate TIBCO Spotfire with other TIBCO products to provide advanced analytics. However, if there was a chance to do so, I believe that my organization would have largely benefited from it. The reason being that TIBCO Spotfire already has good analytics and analysis baked in, thus the synergy with other products will be very useful.,Microsoft 365 Business, Adobe Acrobat DC, IBM App IDAmazing tool for data discovery and analysisThe solution is used by my department for data exploration, data analytics, visualization, and reporting purposes. As data analytic solution providers, we aim to know the tool as much as we can, we use it every day, for various purposes. Our main goal is to explore the different use cases the solution can solve, the various data sources the tool can connect to, and the different variations of analytical and visual methods, the tool can offer to its users. Also, we continuously evaluate the performance of the tool and compare it to other similar solutions so that we can always offer the best solution to our clients.,The fact that R can be implemented and used within Spotfire. Various data connectors that provide seamless connections to a huge number of data sources from Spotfire. An extremely powerful product, yet it's very easy to learn how to use it even on an advanced level. Great user community and customer support.,Performance issues when it comes to very large data sets. Spotfire is quite expensive compared to similar tools on the market. The selection of visualization could be better and bigger.,9,Tableau Desktop, QlikView, Microsoft Power BI and Alteryx Analytics,Less time spent on manual work due to the automation of testing. Better decision making as decisions are based on factual and live data. Drives innovation. Improves internal processes.,Online training Self-taught,Unfortunately, we did not integrate it with other Tibco products, but it is in the pipeline for the year. We did use it with Tableau, and they work pretty well together. Spotfire supports data extraction to Tableau, where you can visualize your data better than in Spotfire. If you use other similar tools you will have no problem with the integration, as Spotfire greatly supports working with other tools.,Tableau Desktop, QlikView, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Power BIGood analytical tool for business and best for oil and gasTIBCO Spotfire is used across the organizations within different divisions who use it for analytics, API, and scripting. It addresses most of the business decisions and oil wells production and Cost.,Scientific data exploration, high performance, statistical integration and SDK. Easy to work with REST API using ADS. Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.,Need more manuals for training on the advanced features. Performance of data loading can improve more for a large set. There is no way to identify which DXPs taking up the server disk space it will be created, just one temp file. Import and Export can be improved as well you cannot export multiple objects at the same time.,8,QlikView and Tableau Desktop,Easy to share and save data into the DXPs. Good to have the AI involved with real-time analysis.,In-person training Self-taught,Business objects, as it is slow in analysis in BO compare to Spotfire.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
618 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
618 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 621 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 276)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Lewis Mervin profile photo
April 02, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent for Cheminformatics Scientists in drug discovery"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a PostDoctoral Research Associate at the University of Cambridge with a speciality in computational chemistry (also known as Chem(o)informatics). I use Spotfire within the Department of Chemistry on an academic license as part of my daily job. It’s an excellent tool for data visualisation for drug discovery. It helps me to quickly share key trends from both chemical and biological data that I generate from my research with colleagues in different groups and departments within the university. The ability to import and process large datasets is essential in my field.
  • Quick to plot complex graphs
  • Capable of loading large data sets
  • Customisable
  • Add functionality for colour map (e.g offered in Seaborn Clustermap function in Python)
  • Add functionality to calculate more cheminformatics-like columns like chemical scaffolds and similarity matrix calculations
  • Improve trellis functionality
  • Add functionality to add chemical structure within heatmap plot
Suitable for even large numbers of data points in both the chemical or biological data domains. Also powerful when calculated columns are to be inserted into tables. The filter and label function is a very powerful feature when subsetting data within one Spotfire project. It is also capable of exporting sheets to PDF format, so it is also convenient to share key findings with others. It is less appropriate for chemical data in less mainstream formats (e.g SDF, MOL2).
Read Lewis Mervin's full review
Josh Smith profile photo
March 07, 2019

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire: Robust, Shareable Data Visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My experience with TIBCO Spotfire occurred within an engineering context. TIBCO Spotfire was used across the entire Medtronic Tempe campus. Spotfire is instrumental in rapidly sharing and analyzing data in a centralized, portable way. Its robust visualization tools allow engineers to rapidly identify trends which indicate either problems to be addressed or improvements which should continue. The automated nature of Spotfire allows analyses to be run on new data sets without any additional hassle.
  • Data visualization: TIBCO Spotfire quickly reveals trends through its robust visualization tools. Many different graphical representations of the data are immediately available and can be used effectively with either default settings or can be tweaked to the specific needs of an audience.
  • Extensibility: TIBCO Spotfire allows for the implementation of just about any data analysis you can think if. If the analysis that you want to run is not already built in, TIBCO Spotfire includes the option to write R or IronPython code to extend its capabilities.
  • Shareability: When you develop a tool or visualization in TIBCO Spotfire, you can publish it in such a manner that your audience only needs a link to view it: they don't even need to have Spotfire installed on their own machine. Web publishing maintains the interactivity of your visualizations and allows users to download data sets for their own use.
  • Feature parity between web publishing and the Spotfire client: some features of Spotfire that work flawlessly in the Spotfire client break when published to the web. In particular, custom JavaScript inserted into the analysis tends not to render well on the web even if it renders perfectly in the client.
  • Lack of thorough documentation: particularly when comparing Spotfire documentation to the documentation for Python, JMP, or Matlab, Spotfire's documentation is lacking. In particular, I remember finding documentation on custom SQL queries being very sparse. Most often I would base my Spotfire solutions on examples found on forums rather than on official TIBCO advice.
  • The execution time of custom R data functions: TIBCO Spotfire uses its own implementation of the R runtime (called TERR, TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R) which I noticed to be significantly slower than the open-source runtime for certain tasks.
  • Error reporting: error reporting by both TERR and IronPython is very opaque and makes debugging very difficult.
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for when you need to develop a data analysis tool to be shared and used among many people. However, it is very difficult to learn how to use on your own, so make sure that somebody at your company has familiarity with the software so that you can ask them questions. From what I remember, TIBCO also offers services and training to help new users get started and advanced users get exactly what they want out of Spotfire.
Read Josh Smith's full review
Jaren Lim profile photo
May 20, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire helps with storytelling"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across various programs in SMU. Helps to visualize data for better insights and analysis. Spotfire makes use of a very user-friendly interface which helps to make visualizations clear and easy to understand. More users are being introduced to and enjoying Spotfire. The effectiveness of Spotfire helps to simplify data problems.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Powerful visualizations and recommendations.
  • A good aid in visual storytelling.
  • Less well known.
  • Data types supported.
  • Integration with other software.
It is good when you have an idea to tell your story. Spotfire is helpful to achieve visual storytelling as it helps to visualize information well. However, it is important for you to check your data type. Because not all are well suited for use in Spotfire, resulting in the slower work process.
Read Jaren Lim's full review
Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA profile photo
May 16, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Amazing tool for data discovery and analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The solution is used by my department for data exploration, data analytics, visualization, and reporting purposes. As data analytic solution providers, we aim to know the tool as much as we can, we use it every day, for various purposes. Our main goal is to explore the different use cases the solution can solve, the various data sources the tool can connect to, and the different variations of analytical and visual methods, the tool can offer to its users. Also, we continuously evaluate the performance of the tool and compare it to other similar solutions so that we can always offer the best solution to our clients.
  • The fact that R can be implemented and used within Spotfire.
  • Various data connectors that provide seamless connections to a huge number of data sources from Spotfire.
  • An extremely powerful product, yet it's very easy to learn how to use it even on an advanced level.
  • Great user community and customer support.
  • Performance issues when it comes to very large data sets.
  • Spotfire is quite expensive compared to similar tools on the market.
  • The selection of visualization could be better and bigger.
Spotfire can be well suited in organizations where there is a demand for continuous analysis and reporting of data (e.g.: pricing analysis of products in different regions), or for interactive management reporting. It can, however, be less appropriate in situations where fancy visualizations and sophisticated BI reports would be required, as Spotfire is not too strong in providing such visuals and reports compared to other similar (BI) products.
Read Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA's full review
Navjeet Singh profile photo
May 09, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good analytical tool for business and best for oil and gas"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the organizations within different divisions who use it for analytics, API, and scripting. It addresses most of the business decisions and oil wells production and Cost.
  • Scientific data exploration, high performance, statistical integration and SDK.
  • Easy to work with REST API using ADS.
  • Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.
  • Need more manuals for training on the advanced features.
  • Performance of data loading can improve more for a large set.
  • There is no way to identify which DXPs taking up the server disk space it will be created, just one temp file.
  • Import and Export can be improved as well you cannot export multiple objects at the same time.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for quick and direct analysis as it is easy to communicate with most databases which helps Spotfire stand out from other products in the market.
It will be less appropriate in the case you have to load a large chunk of data in which the Spotfire query engine is not efficient to handle.
Read Navjeet Singh's full review
Kyle Bland profile photo
May 01, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Product!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the only one who uses it. We do data analysis, wrangling, and data quality spot checks with Spotfire. It also aids us in our quarterly reserves process, where it is necessary to tie in historical costs, profit, forecasts, etc., with forecasts in our reserve database. The 'combine tables' feature is very helpful with this.
  • Combining Tables
  • Filtering Data
  • Graphics
  • Would like to see more GIS capability
Again, Spotfire is great when multiple sources of data need to be compiled. It is less suited for GIS purposes - even though that feature exists within Spotfire.

It is important that Spotfire add more formatting features. We use the charts for presentations but are having a hard time actually formatting adequately.
Read Kyle Bland's full review
Paul E. Everett profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smoke the competition with Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.
  • Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard.
  • Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool.
  • Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability.
  • The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company.
  • It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.
  • The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users.
  • Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy.
  • Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.
In my experience, it is well suited for data analysis of many petroleum industry challenges where patterns and relationships exist but aren’t always apparent without full analysis.
Read Paul E. Everett's full review
David Baltar Boilève profile photo
December 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Fast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.
  • Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports
  • Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports
  • Very good technical support
  • Very good price with top performance
  • Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products
  • Confusing documentation
  • Not very comprehensive user access rights
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect when you need to make a fast deploy to provide information with very good reports. It's very cost effective and high - performance.
Not using it
Read David Baltar Boilève's full review
Parthasarathi Bandyopadhyay profile photo
April 01, 2019

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire: The new gen BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Generally, Spotfire is not used as a standard tool in the organization. However, it is increasingly being used by the individuals within the organization for their presentation and visualization purposes. It is to be noted though that there are other tools too which are also used, albeit less often in the departments too (PowerBI is a prime one). The specific reasons it's being used so far is enhanced visualization and some advanced analysis which would not be intuitive in Excel. However, a lot of features are not being used as of now.
  • Visualization of data split into multitude of levels so that anyone seeing it can get more value out of it. For example, in a database having information about height and weight of all people in the school can be split into sex, ethnicity and/or country in a single screen which can provide a much greater insight
  • View and merge data from multiple sources and show them in one place. It's very easy to add data from SQL servers, Web servers, and local Excel/ASCII files in one place and see it seamlessly.
  • It is possible to make the entire installation on an intranet and access the system from any web-enabled device.
  • Spotfire does limit a lot of its functionality when it comes to linked data (where the data is not imported). I do understand the reasons behind it, but I find this very restrictive.
  • I have faced nagging issues with defining and managing relationships within multiple tables. Sometimes it makes sense, but most of the time it doesn't and the error messages are not at all useful.
  • In case the data is embedded, it takes a while to load. There should be a way to make it better.
Suitable: Complex visualization of data from multiple sources, Presenting multi-variate correlations, Standard BI tools which can be managed easily in an organization.
Less Appropriate: Where the data are simple this is an overkill, Data requiring a lot of calculations - It's a pain to deal with calculations with a linked database.



Read Parthasarathi Bandyopadhyay's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.
  • TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models.
  • TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations.
  • The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.
  • The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive.
  • Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier.
  • Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.
TIBCO Spotfire is perfectly suited for the data scientist and the financial analyst who is willing to go beyond simple accounting visuals. The data scientists get the entire range of job responsibilities, from data exploration to final model building to visualization. The financial analyst with a more technical background gets the ability to present financial data in a more unique way.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Travis Morgan profile photo
March 20, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Product that opens the black box that is your other software programs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Spotfire for every division, including Sales, Operations, and Finance. It has saved many man hours from running manual daily reports. Spotfire has also provided an in-depth look at our operations software, allowing us to track different metrics and evaluate the business at a high and accurate level that we were not able to do before.
  • Show the up-to-date status of operations.
  • Provides excellent visuals to analyze different accounting metrics including accounts receivables.
  • Automated reports in PDF format.
  • The exports to Excel should be formatted better or have the option to remember a set format so they look more professional when in an automated email.
  • Compare different events on the same timeline when the data has different date names. Such as tools shipped date vs tools returned date.
  • The main window when you open Spotfire X needs to look like the previous version 7. With X you cannot read the entire name of the reports and it is just wasted space on the right half of the screen.
Used for showing historical data of tools on a job. You must have an identified date column and cannot have two different date columns for the x-axis of a line graph.
Read Travis Morgan's full review
Haseeb Ahmed Janjua profile photo
March 11, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "An oilfield worker's POV"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used personally by me for the analysis and inferencing of geological data. But the results are shared with everybody in the form of presentation and publication. The interactive console or theme of Spotfire makes it easy for me to present and analyze giant oilfield geological data simultaneously.
  • Solving common problems through Spotfire's ROWID function. In geological data visualization, we often need to access unique values in individual cells, and this can be easily done through the ROWID function.
  • Using TERR or R makes my work very easy in solving the first order differential equations.
  • Performing hierarchical cluster analysis of stratigraphic sequences (Strata that have the same Depth in different fields).
  • Sometimes there are too many options for data visualization. The user outfit should be simple.
  • Spotfire should be easier on a system's memory capabilities. It should take less hard drive space.
  • Based on common life case studies, more training programs should be offered that describe how to use Spotfire more efficiently.
  • If possible, these training programs should be free.
Simultaneous Gigantic data visualization and analysis can only be done in Spotfire.
Read Haseeb Ahmed Janjua's full review
Tarun Sinhal profile photo
March 06, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent for complex & data-intensive requirements"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is not used internally within our organization, but we helped our clients get it implemented within their organization. I would take an example of a client from the Oil & Gas sector to answer this question and rest of the questions. This client used it within the Planning & Strategy department. It was used to create dashboards for their future planning of demand-supply management.
  • As compared to other similar products (Tableau, PowerBI), Spotfire is more advanced when it comes to integrating with programming languages. In this particular project, all the data was processed in R and this processed data was to be used in dashboards. It was well integrated with Spotfire through TERR.
  • The visual aesthetics of the charts/graphs prepared using Spotfire can be improved when compared with other competing products.
  • Also, the user interface is not very intuitive for first-time users. It takes practice before one gets really comfortable using it.
Suited for scenarios with:
  • Higher data complexity.
  • Integration with external data.
  • Experienced users.

Not so much appropriate for:
  • Extra-ordinary visual appeal.
  • One-time users.
Read Tarun Sinhal's full review
sandeep N profile photo
March 05, 2019

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire -- Enter the New Era of Data Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire across the company to calculate and analyze the risk assessment of multiple clients. With the use of this amazing product, we saved our clients almost 80% of their loss due to theft. We also helped them in analyzing their stored data to figure out which store is doing good and which needs attention. Previously, we used other reporting tools, and migrated all our reports to TIBCO Spotfire some four years ago. The main advantage we see is that the reports run faster than other reporting tools, we can connect to multiple databases, calculated columns are cached in the report so that it increases your report speed, and many more.
  • Reports load faster than any other reporting tools, and your data can be cached in the memory to avoid the processing time.
  • It supports almost all the data sources available, which is lacking in other tools.
  • It supports Html, Java, R, and Iron Python coding. That means that you can customize your dashboards in whatever way you want them to be.
  • It can deal with more than 100 million records without a delay in loading.
  • Sometimes, visualizations save the values. For example, if you change the column name in column properties, that affects the axis in visualization, but not the "limit data by expression" in the properties data tab.
  • Like some visualization tools, we need to have detailed visualization in hovering the mouse pointer on the main visualization.
  • We need to have the option to auto-size your Text area UI to whichever device screen you are using. Currently, it is not auto fitting to different screen sizes.
It is well suited if you are working with large sets of data. I would say greater than a million. It is also well suited if you are working with data that refreshes more frequently and data that is not clean enough (so you can create calculated columns and clean on the fly). It is not suited if your data is never going to refresh (better to use an Excel kind of reporting service). It is also not suited if you like to see fancy looking charts like performance meter, donut chart etc. It is suited more if you want to work with predictive analysis using R or Python scripting
Read sandeep N's full review
Ariany Mata profile photo
February 28, 2019

Review: "Sharing my experience with TIBCO Spotfire. One of the greatest analytics platforms in the market today."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product has an analytics module and it is powered by TIBCO Spotfire. We support and train our customers on how to use our analyses and TIBCO.
  • The analyses behaved excellently while working with huge amounts of records. This is one of the strengths for TIBCO Spotfire, the platform allows us to work with a significant amount of data without affecting performance.
  • There are several features that offer us different ways to suit the reports and analytics needs. For example, scheduling the execution of reports to improve performance and email reports on schedules to deliver information right on time. It is able to connect to different data sources and from different types of systems, etc.
  • So easy to use. It is amazing how you can easily develop analyses and reports. It gives you time to be creative instead of facing complex steps or trying to figure out how to do things.
  • It is as simple or as complex as you want. It allows you to add complex code if needed.
  • A very complete list of aggregations and statistics functions.
  • We could improve the Web player for the use of the Business Author users and add some functionalities that are only available to the Analyst today. Like creating markings, working with the filter schemes, etc. Basic functionalities that could be available for the Business Author.
  • Improve the architecture to support different single sign-ons if the customer has to be in a shared environment.
  • Improve the way to add code to the DXP ( java scripts, iron python, HTML, etc.).
  • Improve the text areas and visual theme for the easy personalization of analyses.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for scenarios where multiple data sources from different types of systems, need to be combined. It's so easy to connect to different data sources and map data. Excellent while working with a huge amount of data.
Read Ariany Mata's full review
Rajiv Besant profile photo
February 14, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Why Spotfire?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of Spotfire is increasing throughout the organization. The reason being, it is a platform that engages both IT savvy and non-IT savvy users. Within the organization, Spotfire is used is various ways, right from basic reporting to complex advanced analytics, everything is done using Spotfire.
  • Root Cause Analysis - You are able to guide your end users through the analysis in an intuitive manner
  • Fairly Complex visualizations can be easily created without any programming skills
  • Spotfire has amazing ETL capabilities, I have used multiple BI tools and in my opinion Spotfire is leading
  • Cascading Filters --> the newer BI tools in the market make cascading much easier
  • The responsiveness in text areas --> If you have pictures in your dashboard, currently the developers have to keep all sorts of screen sizes in mind otherwise the users will experience a 'distorted dashboard'
It is one of the better BI tools in the market. It is a great tool for descriptive and diagnostics analytics.
Read Rajiv Besant's full review
Brandon Doss profile photo
February 08, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Departmental use for analyzing biotech research data.
  • Cloud deployment makes data accessible anywhere.
  • Ability to customize and save visualization formats/templates is very useful.
  • Joining data from multiple tables is simplified in Spitfire vs other platforms.
  • Initial setup of our Team account was very painful.
Spotfire is good for visualizing complete data sets and for joining incomplete data sets for visualization. However, we struggle when mathematical manipulations are required prior to visualizing the data. We find ourselves going to Excel, crunching the numbers, and sending a CSV back to Spotfire.
Read Brandon Doss's full review
James Spender profile photo
February 01, 2019

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for rapid drill-down collaborative data visualisation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used by Trading Analysts for data visualization globally across all Oil and Gas trading teams. It is used for Trade Analytics to support data scientists in modeling fundamentals such as supply and demand, crack spread, dark spread, etc and to perform Energy Trading Risk Management. At another Retail client, it was used for data visualization for customer analytics.
  • Easy to use - can click on any data element to drill down.
  • Quick to annotate and share comments with other users through the toolbar and export/publish.
  • Easy to connect to a wide range of data sources including Hadoop/Hive and SQL RDBMS like SQL Server and Oracle.
  • Self-service business intelligence.
  • Online documentation could be improved.
  • Some licensing options have a subset of features.
  • The alternative Microsoft PowerBI is often free to add to Office licenses.
Good for a broad range of users who need to get started quickly with data visualization and collaborate and share their data. If they are already familiar with Excel or SAS, then they should find it easy to add data visualizations. If they are familiar with Tableau on the other hand, then they are probably better off sticking with that. It is also much more expensive than PowerBI.
Read James Spender's full review
Ricardo Angel Granados López profile photo
January 22, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great results in a short time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started last year looking for a tool to present huge amounts of data in a meaningful way to our investors. As electricity markets generate a lot of data, having a tool that helps to simplify part of the processing of information was one KPI. On the other hand, having a way to create visually appealing reports that are easy to follow and understand was the second main goal. With TIBCO Spotfire, you can create dashboards that plug into the data sources making live reports that update automatically. These can be online for everyone to see or sent via private links with the report of interest. The visuals are stunning and clear to our investors so they can follow up from one report to another. We thought that the price was high at first, but having tried and used the software, we can say it’s worth the price and for a data-intensive job it is a great companion.
  • Easy to use.
  • Great visuals.
  • Data source direct connection.
  • Online services.
  • Mobile device friendly view.
  • The learning curve to be able to use every aspect can be a few months.
  • If you are an academic or non-profit it can be taxing to have a monthly fee.
If you create weekly reports with a lot of data, Spotfire helps you speed up the process and make it easier. If you have a lot of data sources and every one of them has different formatting, you will have to spend a lot of time cleaning the data so Spotfire can read every source and produce the reports.
Read Ricardo Angel Granados López's full review
Julie Sebby profile photo
January 07, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for Mid to Large Enterprises"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by most departments in our company to access enterprise and local data sources. It is connected to over 30 enterprise data sources. It began as a tool for engineers, but anyone who wants to access data may work with the application to create dashboards, workflows, and other tools to aid in decision making and visualization.
  • Users get a better understanding of data when they see it in Spotfire, as opposed to Excel. Spotfire visualizations also have several functions like zoom sliders and hierarchies that are a significant improvement over charting in Excel.
  • Spotfire integrates with coding languages like IronPython, HTML, CSS and R in order to dramatically expand the out of the box functionality.
  • Features like property controls make the application dynamic and interactive in ways that Excel is not. These same features also make the application more efficient.
  • The application is not efficient when building large projects. There are many small features that could make building large projects faster like the ability to add more than one filter or property control at a time. Also, users shouldn't have to expand and collapse every single table in the Filter panel or in the Add filters dialog (when adding filters in a Text Area).
  • TIBCO has been slow to add in features that users have requested for years, like the ability to edit join operations. It's there now, but we waited years for that feature. The information designer hasn't seen an overhaul (or even any new features) in over 5 years.
  • Increasing the release frequency has resulted in a lower quality product. TIBCO lauded the "completely redesigned" user interface of Spotfire 10, but it's not a complete redesign and looks sloppy.
I think Spotfire is a good product, and we'll continue to use it. It is expensive relative to other competitors, and a successful launch will require internal support (support from the company, not just support from TIBCO). Therefore, I don't think it's a good fit for smaller companies. However, it is a good tool for larger enterprises who have many data sources that users need to access to. The combination of Spotfire Server, Automation Services, and Web Player make it a powerful enterprise tool.
Read Julie Sebby's full review
Matthew Thadeio profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simplicity and effectiveness are crucial to data organization!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the TIBCO platform to analyze our Summer Learning Academy testing scores to identify areas of growth and deficit within the program. TIBCO allowed for simplicity in data visualization that were difficult to create through Excel or PowerPoint. The easy-to-understand tables allowed for us to easily identify our progress and help secure funding from grants. Data visualization in education is vital and the simpler it is to understand, the easier it is to explain to those that are unfamiliar with academic testing scores.
  • The user-friendly platform is easy to navigate.
  • Excellent customer service and support as well as tutorials.
  • Easy-to-understand tables that allow you to easily organize complex data sets into something more understandable.
  • Professional development opportunities for education professionals and the capabilities of using TIBCO for improvement.
Sometimes data can be too much and the question has to be asked “why am I analyzing this”. Those in education sometimes prefer the “less is more” approach and TIBCO allows for both less and more. The capabilities of the program are amazing but can be overwhelming for some.
Read Matthew Thadeio's full review
Sean (Wen) Xiao profile photo
April 10, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "select_*_from_public"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across the whole organization, for scientific data visualization.
  • Various visualization templates with easy drop-to-show functions.
  • TERR/Infolinks for customized data operation.
  • Library and web player for easy sharing of analysis results.
  • More integration with Python.
  • More support on different column type in database connection, like TSvector in PostgreSQL.
  • Animation of the data, like gif-export of data changing over a given time window.
It's good enough for daily use, more complicated visualization can be accomplished from easily scripting. It did confuse me that there are many products under TIBCO Spotfire, sometimes, I have to explain the differences, but I'm not sure if it is absolutely correct.
Read Sean (Wen) Xiao's full review
Marco J. Morelli profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Entry level user"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We would like to use TIBCO Spotfire in our Research Centre at the Hospital for a quick visualization and analysis of the data for projects which do not need the development of ad hoc methods, to be used by users without a computational background. The results were okay, although you always need to take into account the cost related to changing a workflow from what people are used to. In particular, those without a technical background were thrilled to be able to run simple analyses without having to learn how to code.
  • Ease of use
  • Visualization
  • Handling of samples. We would have liked something closer to a laboratory information management system, where samples could be tracked before sequencing. Even tracking the position of a vial in a fridge/rack would be useful for us.
  • Documentation
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for environments where data analysis is standard and can be run through automated pipelines: the final results need to be showed to people who can not write or interpret the analysis details, but want to explore the results independently and put them in the context of published data.
Read Marco J. Morelli's full review
Boris Mergold בוריס מרגולד profile photo
February 11, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire for Accelerated Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Spotfire is used by our clients as part of software solutions providing embedded analytics to the end users.
Other companies use Spotfire for self-service analytics, combining data sources.
We also have users from hardware companies where validation engineers use Spotfire for ad hoc data analysis.
  • Data Preparation in Spotfire 10 is combined with an AI engine and makes it very easy for business users to combine data from diverse data sources.
  • Dashboard creation in Spotfire 10 can be done with help of searching without deep knowledge of the tool.
  • Creating analytical applications can be done without scripting or writing code.
  • Ad-hoc data analysis can be done by the untrained user.
  • Embedding new Visualizations can be done with JsVIZ framework but the process is not easy.
  • Integration of community add-ons. The community does not provide add-ons that can be embedded in Spotfire.
  • Marketing of the product. The market is not aware of Spotfire capabilities.
Best case is interactive dashboards or ad-hoc analysis by business analysts. It is great for analytical dashboards and analysis that use R engine.
Read Boris Mergold בוריס מרגולד's full review
Pablo Lacerda Silva profile photo
January 12, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Data Analytics Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by my organization mainly to analyze geological and oil production data and gain insight in order to address current challenges and make future decisions. It is used across the whole organization on an as-needed basis.
  • Spotfire allows me to integrate multiple sources of data into a single database.
  • Spotfire plotting allows me to look at five variables at the same time.
  • Spotfire allows me to instantly switch between different variables and visualize them.
  • Ternary diagrams are missing, and it currently requires some awkward manipulation of two dimensions using trigonometry to display such a diagram.
  • Displaying photos associated with data points, besides the tooltip, is currently beyond the skills of regular users.
I would recommend and actually have recommended Spotfire to all my colleagues in my profession, who need to regularly analyze geological data and draw insight from correlations.
Read Pablo Lacerda Silva's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (238)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (205)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (233)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (244)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (175)
7.9
Report sharing and collaboration (220)
7.9
Publish to Web (183)
8.2
Publish to PDF (217)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (133)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (250)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (217)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (187)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (192)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (160)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (178)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (139)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (98)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (117)
7.3
REST API (41)
7.2
Javascript API (42)
7.1
iFrames (30)
6.9
Java API (33)
6.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (40)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (34)
6.9

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian