TrustRadius
Zabbix is an open source network and infrastructure monitoring application.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/fw/TMV43BNHPHIS.pngThe Customizability of Zabbix is AwesomeWhile working at the Comcast headquarters as a Linux Engineer on their Splunk team, I set up Zabbix to monitor approximately one-thousand (1,000) physical servers running Splunk. It allowed us deeper insight into the use and performance of Splunk throughout our infrastructure. It also gave us the ability to prevent small problems (such as hard drive failures) from growing unchecked and leading to serious outages.,Alerts; Zabbix allows deep customization of conditions and alerts giving you the ability to perform nearly any scripted action in a variety of scenarios Inventory; having one place to see a list of all on-going problems and list of servers within your organization is critical Graphs; screens or graphs showing customizable and color-coded historical usage is a necessity in any monitoring software,The first time that you use Zabbix, it may not be immediately obvious where everything is or how to find exactly what you want, but I think that it's UI is constantly improving with each new release. Training is also a great resource to resolve these types of problems. While Zabbix allows in-depth customization of alerts to various applications (such as Slack, HipChat, Mattermost, or even SMS, etc.), I would love to see these options as built-in upon installation. I have personally never found the "Maps" feature of Zabbix incredibly useful as I find it complicated to configure, but I should probably investigate its documentation further.,10,Zabbix simply makes it easier to identify, and subsequently resolve problems quickly Zabbix gives one web page to look at to see a list of all on-going issue in a single place Zabbix can automate response to alerts. For example, Zabbix allows you the customization to take a monitored server out of production rotation if it is identified as unhealthy,Nagios, SolarWinds IPAM, Solarwinds Web Performance Monitor, Splunk Enterprise, New Relic APM, New Relic Infrastructure and Datadog,Nginx, Zend PHP Engine, GitHub, Highcharts, MySQL, Sequel Pro, NamecheapBig fans of Large-Scale Zabbix for a decadeWe are big fans of Zabbix and use it as our core monitoring system for our Chinese MSP business, monitoring thousands of hosts for hundreds of customers across dozens of locations, data centers, and cloud. We've customized it with some UI enhancements, API additions, and DB integrations into ticket and service systems, too.,Template system is really great, making it super easy to add new services and monitoring, graphs, etc. to any server. Security system is very useful for multiple teams, groups, and customers. Very flexible data gathering on a wide variety of protocols.,UI is getting updated, but still dated a bit. Doesn't easily accept unsolicited data like Datadog, Prometheus, etc. can. Everything has to be pre-configured or discovered, making it hard to just send it metrics from code. Integration with AWS, Docker, Java, etc. is via 3rd parties or outside tools, so while the agent is great, it needs more reach.,8,Zabbix has been great for us and our core operations system for a decade.,Datadog, Zenoss Service Dynamics, Nagios, New Relic Infrastructure and InfluxDB,InfluxDB, New Relic APMZabbix Power UsersWe use Zabbix to monitor both the internal IT Infrastructure, as well as the external IT Infrastructure. It was first implemented in 2010 and it has evolved significantly over the years, giving us a single pane of glass for monitoring systems, storage, network and the applications themselves. By implementing a solution that provides us this level of visibility, Engineers only have a single place to look to find the root cause of an issue, rather than jumping from system to system, trying to correlate events. Zabbix is heavily used by Systems, Network and Database Engineers as well as Applications Developers to provide visibility to what is happening in the environment, to notice a problem before our users do. We have implemented Zabbix so that there is a central Zabbix server (hosted in AWS), with Zabbix proxies at each physical location where there is infrastructure. This way if the Zabbix server goes down, no data is lost, as it is cached on each of the proxies until connectivity is restored to the Zabbix server.,Zabbix is able to provide us a single pane of glass for monitoring. It can handle Systems, Database, Network and application level alerts and send those alerts to the appropriate parties. Zabbix graphs all metrics that come in. This means it's easy to spot trends and create alerts based on when those trends cross user-defined thresholds. Zabbix allows for the escalation of issues. If someone sleeps through an alert in the middle of the night, it can easily be escalated to the next tier.,In a busy Zabbix environment, it can easily overwhelm the underlying database. Plan on having SSDs and a significant server infrastructure to keep up with more than a hundred hosts. Building out Zabbix metrics that suit your environment can be very time consuming. When choosing a monitoring platform like Zabbix, expect a steep learning curve and to invest significant resources to make the tool valuable. This is less important than it has been in the past, but current versions of Zabbix still do not handle IPMI checks of hardware very well. We needed to write our own wrapper for IPMI checks rather than using the built in IPMI poller.,9,Zabbix has had a positive impact on uptime of our external facing website. Users don't always call up our Customer Service team to report that something is down - sometimes they just abandon the website all together. By having a monitoring solution that tells us when things are down before customers do, we are able to respond quickly and avoid losing visitors and ultimately sales.,Datadog, SolarWinds Log & Event Manager and AppDynamics,Slack, Microsoft Office 365, Atlassian Confluence, ElasticsearchGreat monitoring platformZabbix is a simple to setup and easy to manage solution. Very little in-depth tech skills needed to deploy initially due to pre-made ISOs and virtual machines, and with the help of a raft of templates available for free online to make it an essential monitoring tool for any business. Support is available if you want it - although from my perspective it looked to be costly if you simply want light email only assistance on your setup.,Keeping an eye on our asset estate via SNMP is easy Single Pane view Wealth of plugins available to then customise for alerting,User interface is a little cumbersome, but it looks like newer versions are looking to resolve the menu system issues i found If you really delve in, you should be ready for some coding and tweaking,9,Ability to pre-empt issues and stop business-critical outages has been amazing and well needed Ease of reviewing trends to help budget on space and network usage Very helpful to identify any possible network slow-downsZabbix - A must have tool in your infrastructureOur operations team uses Zabbix to monitor our company's physical and virtual infrastructure. Zabbix monitors our servers, network gear, CPU performance data and application uptime. We have integrated Zabbix alerts with PagerDuty to get pinged when an issue arises.,Monitoring performance indicators like CPU, memory, network, disk space and processes can be done easily with Zabbix agent, which is available for Linux, UNIX and Windows platforms. Zabbix can gather stats like disk failures, temperature and voltage from hardware through IPMI, thus ensuring uptime and reduces risk. Zabbix lets you integrate it with your custom checks. You can write your own check scripts in Bash, Python or Perl and integrate it with Zabbix.,Zabbix has a steep learning curve and doesn't have a very intuitive and user-friendly interface. Zabbix is resource hungry. It uses a DB to store all the stats and configuration and this can grow exponentially depending on the number of hosts you are monitoring. Zabbix doesn't have a very thorough documentation, so you have to search for issues and ask the Zabbix community at times.,7,By integrating Zabbix with Rundeck, we have been able to auto-resolve issues in our infrastructure which means lesser on-call alerts. Zabbix and PagerDuty let us response to business critical issues instantly. Zabbix dashboards and screens let us get an insight into the status of our infrastructure visually.,Nagios,Amazon Web Services, Catchpoint, Datadog
Unspecified
Zabbix
53 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zabbix Reviews

Zabbix
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 53 vetted Zabbix reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Eric O'Callaghan profile photo
July 24, 2018

Review: "The Customizability of Zabbix is Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While working at the Comcast headquarters as a Linux Engineer on their Splunk team, I set up Zabbix to monitor approximately one-thousand (1,000) physical servers running Splunk. It allowed us deeper insight into the use and performance of Splunk throughout our infrastructure. It also gave us the ability to prevent small problems (such as hard drive failures) from growing unchecked and leading to serious outages.
  • Alerts; Zabbix allows deep customization of conditions and alerts giving you the ability to perform nearly any scripted action in a variety of scenarios
  • Inventory; having one place to see a list of all on-going problems and list of servers within your organization is critical
  • Graphs; screens or graphs showing customizable and color-coded historical usage is a necessity in any monitoring software
  • The first time that you use Zabbix, it may not be immediately obvious where everything is or how to find exactly what you want, but I think that it's UI is constantly improving with each new release. Training is also a great resource to resolve these types of problems.
  • While Zabbix allows in-depth customization of alerts to various applications (such as Slack, HipChat, Mattermost, or even SMS, etc.), I would love to see these options as built-in upon installation.
  • I have personally never found the "Maps" feature of Zabbix incredibly useful as I find it complicated to configure, but I should probably investigate its documentation further.
Zabbix is a great solution when monitoring a majority of Linux servers, in my experience. I have never personally used it with Microsoft Windows servers and I'm not sure that I would recommend doing so based on my lack of familiarity with doing so.

In any case, I find Zabbix incredibly useful if you want a clean UI that lets you monitor absolutely anything that you could possibly imagine. The ability to set up "Templates" and "UserParameter"s within Zabbix are easily my favorite features.
Read Eric O'Callaghan's full review
Steve Mushero profile photo
July 25, 2018

Review: "Big fans of Large-Scale Zabbix for a decade"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are big fans of Zabbix and use it as our core monitoring system for our Chinese MSP business, monitoring thousands of hosts for hundreds of customers across dozens of locations, data centers, and cloud. We've customized it with some UI enhancements, API additions, and DB integrations into ticket and service systems, too.
  • Template system is really great, making it super easy to add new services and monitoring, graphs, etc. to any server.
  • Security system is very useful for multiple teams, groups, and customers.
  • Very flexible data gathering on a wide variety of protocols.
  • UI is getting updated, but still dated a bit.
  • Doesn't easily accept unsolicited data like Datadog, Prometheus, etc. can. Everything has to be pre-configured or discovered, making it hard to just send it metrics from code.
  • Integration with AWS, Docker, Java, etc. is via 3rd parties or outside tools, so while the agent is great, it needs more reach.
Very well suited to traditional IT and Internet monitoring, with servers, VMs, databases, etc.

Less-suited to highly dynamic environments, heavily in the cloud, with serverless, Docker, Lambda, etc.
Read Steve Mushero's full review
No photo available
July 25, 2018

User Review: "Zabbix Power Users"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zabbix to monitor both the internal IT Infrastructure, as well as the external IT Infrastructure. It was first implemented in 2010 and it has evolved significantly over the years, giving us a single pane of glass for monitoring systems, storage, network and the applications themselves. By implementing a solution that provides us this level of visibility, Engineers only have a single place to look to find the root cause of an issue, rather than jumping from system to system, trying to correlate events.
Zabbix is heavily used by Systems, Network and Database Engineers as well as Applications Developers to provide visibility to what is happening in the environment, to notice a problem before our users do.
We have implemented Zabbix so that there is a central Zabbix server (hosted in AWS), with Zabbix proxies at each physical location where there is infrastructure. This way if the Zabbix server goes down, no data is lost, as it is cached on each of the proxies until connectivity is restored to the Zabbix server.
  • Zabbix is able to provide us a single pane of glass for monitoring. It can handle Systems, Database, Network and application level alerts and send those alerts to the appropriate parties.
  • Zabbix graphs all metrics that come in. This means it's easy to spot trends and create alerts based on when those trends cross user-defined thresholds.
  • Zabbix allows for the escalation of issues. If someone sleeps through an alert in the middle of the night, it can easily be escalated to the next tier.
  • In a busy Zabbix environment, it can easily overwhelm the underlying database. Plan on having SSDs and a significant server infrastructure to keep up with more than a hundred hosts.
  • Building out Zabbix metrics that suit your environment can be very time consuming. When choosing a monitoring platform like Zabbix, expect a steep learning curve and to invest significant resources to make the tool valuable.
  • This is less important than it has been in the past, but current versions of Zabbix still do not handle IPMI checks of hardware very well. We needed to write our own wrapper for IPMI checks rather than using the built in IPMI poller.
Zabbix is well suited in an environment where connectivity is possible between all hosts in the network. Zabbix agents need to be able to "phone home" to the Zabbix server or a proxy. If connectivity is not possible between the agent and the server (typically the server is going to live in the "trust" section of the network, rather than a DMZ), Zabbix may not be a good fit. Zabbix is also appropriate in a cross-platform environment.
Zabbix is also highly appropriate in shops that are interested in building their own monitoring infrastructure, rather than using a service. These services are obviously not free, but the time that you invest in Zabbix may make up for that monthly spend.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 19, 2018

Zabbix Review: "Great monitoring platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zabbix is a simple to setup and easy to manage solution. Very little in-depth tech skills needed to deploy initially due to pre-made ISOs and virtual machines, and with the help of a raft of templates available for free online to make it an essential monitoring tool for any business. Support is available if you want it - although from my perspective it looked to be costly if you simply want light email only assistance on your setup.
  • Keeping an eye on our asset estate via SNMP is easy
  • Single Pane view
  • Wealth of plugins available to then customise for alerting
  • User interface is a little cumbersome, but it looks like newer versions are looking to resolve the menu system issues i found
  • If you really delve in, you should be ready for some coding and tweaking
This is our core monitoring platform, used to monitor all servers and perimeters for any issues in the network. We utilize it to alert the team on any low disks, failed devices or loss of ping to certain aspects of the network. It also monitors flow and other metrics via SNMP with a single pane view for easy management.
Read this authenticated review
Deepshikha Gandhi profile photo
March 27, 2017

Review: "Zabbix - A must have tool in your infrastructure"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our operations team uses Zabbix to monitor our company's physical and virtual infrastructure. Zabbix monitors our servers, network gear, CPU performance data and application uptime. We have integrated Zabbix alerts with PagerDuty to get pinged when an issue arises.
  • Monitoring performance indicators like CPU, memory, network, disk space and processes can be done easily with Zabbix agent, which is available for Linux, UNIX and Windows platforms.
  • Zabbix can gather stats like disk failures, temperature and voltage from hardware through IPMI, thus ensuring uptime and reduces risk.
  • Zabbix lets you integrate it with your custom checks. You can write your own check scripts in Bash, Python or Perl and integrate it with Zabbix.
  • Zabbix has a steep learning curve and doesn't have a very intuitive and user-friendly interface.
  • Zabbix is resource hungry. It uses a DB to store all the stats and configuration and this can grow exponentially depending on the number of hosts you are monitoring.
  • Zabbix doesn't have a very thorough documentation, so you have to search for issues and ask the Zabbix community at times.
Zabbix is great for monitoring protocols like HTTP, FTP, SSH, SMTP, SNMP, etc. It also has great features like visual analysis, customizable dashboards and system "templates". Features like auto-discovery and auto-registration let us manage infrastructure on the fly. The auto-registration function is very handy for automatic monitoring of a new AWS host. When a new cloud host is spun up, Zabbix will automatically start collecting performance and availability data of that node. On the other hand, Zabbix tuning can take a bit of time. You have to learn by experience. It could also improve its agent's footprint on machines. Zabbix is less appropriate if you have a huge, constantly changing infrastructure such as autoscaling. Application level monitoring is better done by other tools out there like Datadog.
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
Josh Quint profile photo
April 24, 2017

Zabbix Review: "Fantastic OpenSource alternative to Nagios! Much cheaper than SaaS alternatives."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zabbix organization-wide to monitor several environments in AWS. Use of the Zabbix proxy allows us to manage many environments from a centralized location. We can graph and alert on all separate environments in a monolithic fashion. Zabbix's new trending and forecasting allow us to model performance based on trends in each environment.
  • Allows for centralized monitoring of many separated environments.
  • Out-of-the box templates for many operating systems.
  • Auto discovery and confirmation allows new environments to be added quickly and easily.
  • The web frontend isn't always intuitive, can be hard to find things that you know you saw somewhere!
  • Zabbix expressions require somewhat of a steep learning curve.
  • Documentation not always as complete as it could be for some options.
Larger environments that are spread across different networks and physicalities play well with Zabbix with the use of Zabbix Proxy. It isn't very useful in things like AWS AutoScaled environments as IP addresses of the nodes constantly change and there's no good way to maintain the ephemeral nature of that type of environment in Zabbix.
Read Josh Quint's full review
Nishanthi Mohan profile photo
April 12, 2017

User Review: "Zabbix is Overall a good tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. It's used to monitor the server parameters, application URLs, logs etc.
  • Server monitoring
  • URL availability
  • We write custom application monitoring scripts and send the data to Zabbix.
  • Ability to authenticate to a webpage and monitor, just like keynote.
  • The web scenarios doesn't work well with REST end points. No feature to read the response header.
Zabbix is a good monitoring tool for servers and availability, but it needs to be used with other tools to achieve the required monitoring. There are some lacking features like browser synthetic monitoring, application performance monitoring etc..but overall it's good.
Read Nishanthi Mohan's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2017

Review: "Zabbix - The Monitoring Swiss Army Knife"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zabbix is being used for data collection and monitoring sections of our network. We use its information to plot out future resource bottlenecks, plan hardware upgrades, identify unusual usage patterns, failure rates, uptimes and execution of maintenance scripts.
  • Alerting, while it can be difficult to initially learn, Zabbix's alerting system allows you fantastic control over how and when each of your team members receives alerts. This has caused a large decrease in "Friendly Fire" spam, preventing our staff members from getting complacent when they see a alert come through.
  • In a couple of clicks, you can turn any monitorable data into a graph, which can then be deployed to any number of systems. Its ease of use makes it a fantastic tool.
  • Zabbix makes adding new devices for monitoring very easy due to its template system.
  • Due to its complexity, there is a pretty major learning curve for new users. However, after you get the concepts on which it relies down, it's a very easy to use system.
  • Many plugins require SSH access to install their dependent scripts. This is not a big deal in some situations, however it limits who can work on adding new device types.
  • Zabbix's documentation is robust, almost all answers you could ever need can be found on their website. However it's not really arranged in a way that speeds people in to the basic uses of the platform. They could really use a simplified "Get Started" guide.
Zabbix is an open source platform and because of that, support is lacking and flexibility is high. Zabbix is well suited for an environment with budget constraints, or the need for a monitoring platform with unlimited customization. I also found the template system to be extremely easy to work with, allowing for the near instant deploying of device types that were already configured. Making Zabbix a good fit in environments where devices come and go with regularity.
Read this authenticated review
Nadir Wade profile photo
December 11, 2015

User Review: "Zabbix just works"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company was using a very old version of Nagios at the time. I created a pro/con list for my manager on which monitoring application to switch to. Zabbix ended up being the winner based on features. It is specifically used to monitor EMR servers to ensure they are readily available for Office use at all times. We also used the software to notify support staff if there is an issue. The on-call person will receive the alarm and solve it as needed.
  • Nice graphing for non-technical personnel
  • Good monitoring system
  • Versatile for custom scripts
  • Nice options for notification if problems arise
  • There was a bit of a learning curve for creating custom scripts, if my script returns a 1 or 0, Zabbix should accept it no matter what and be able to work with it for an alarm
I think it will work well in just about any environment where monitoring is necessary
Read Nadir Wade's full review
No photo available
December 01, 2015

Zabbix Review: "Open source products can mirror more expensive technology with some ingenuity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zabbix is a preferred option for our organization based on its open-source nature and versatile functionality. The Zabbix sender and trap features allow us to set up adhoc alerts based on specific criteria, such as log grepping for error frequency. We also use Logstash in tandem with Zabbix to generate alerts based on Logstash queries.
  • Zabbix is capable of true customization. I personally recommend starting with a narrow scope, and broadening Zabbix to monitor more granular activities. Doing a bulk discovery and mass deploying alerts will cause a lot of false positives which are not actionable initially, so it can be a struggle to sift through the noise and find the alerts you really want to act on.
  • Zabbix is easy to deploy, and has a robust feature set.
  • Zabbix is easy to link up to services like PagerDuty, which are beneficial for on-call engineers.
  • Zabbix could benefit from integrating with Logstash in a more formalized way. Utilizing these two open-source services compares to the much more expensive Splunk.
  • I think it's important to deploy Zabbix to core systems first, then build more granular monitoring as false alarms are minimized. If you mass deploy Zabbix to all servers with very granular alert thresholds, you will have a hard time sifting through all the noise to get to the actionable alerts you really wanted to see.
Zabbix is best suited for companies keeping the open-source mindset. If you're on a budget and want a robust and customizable monitoring system, Zabbix is a winner. Using Zabbix in tandem with Logstash (also open-source) and PagerDuty (nominal monthly fee) can open the potential and real-time alerting capability which will help responsiveness of network operations center (NOC) team members.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2015

Review: "Zabbix gives you flexibility, but there's a cost associated with it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zabbix is currently in place monitoring servers and network hardware across the entire organization. We're using it to monitor service availability as well and have made attempts to use it for hardware monitoring as well, but the SNMP Trap support is lacking at best and very clunky to implement.
  • Service Availability Monitoring.
  • Disk Space Monitoring.
  • Host Availability Monitoring.
  • SNMP Traps.
  • Better documentation, detailed documentation seems to get lost/shuffled between versions.
  • Initial Usability (There's a pretty steep learning curve).
I've had great experiences in small to medium business where I've managed Zabbix to monitor all of our hosts/services, however in a larger environment it seemed that other parties involved felt that there were better more scalable solutions when it came to monitoring 50,000+ servers. Given my previous experience with Zabbix in smaller environments I think it could be done, but it would require a pretty significant time and money investment to get it going at the larger scale and there were other solutions that required less of an investment at this scale.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2015

Review: "Zabbix 2.4 in a fairly large environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zabbix is used to monitor about 5000 network devices, 1000 servers and other services totaling 8000 hosts. Our IT department is deploying Zabbix to replace older monitoring services, to expand and modernize monitoring and alerting. Alerting is being automated and alerts are to be distributed to the responsible parties and even automate recovery where possible. Zabbix also stores a lot of useful "normal state" performance metrics for reference during problems.
  • Supports many different devices and server platforms
  • Customization of alert thresholds and notification actions
  • Automatic resolution of problems via remote commands
  • High level management always wants a "dashboard", while Zabbix can provide several different views, there seem to be third party products to provide alternatives. Maybe a best of breed dashboard could be added to the base product.
  • Zabbix performance largely depends on the performance of the underlying database, it takes planing and good infrastructure to support large environments.
  • It is possible to break things accidentally when making configuration changes, using Update when you meant to Clone, maybe a few strategic "are you sure you want to change this" prompts would help.
Zabbix is probably less powerful when dealing with Windows server, but that could just be our platform knowledge.
Read this authenticated review

Zabbix Scorecard Summary

About Zabbix

Zabbix is an open source network and infrastructure monitoring application.

Zabbix Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No