TrustRadius
PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Rj/Me/K090D78RJ9P1.pngPRTG Makes IT EasyPRTG is used across the entire organization. We are a small IT department of 3 people, and have 16 remote sites. PRTG keeps tabs on those sites' connections and servers. We always have up to date information on uptime, status, bandwidth utilization, and protocol usage. PRTG makes it easy to have a one stop shop for site status.,PRTG performs an intial search of your network and automatically adds devices it finds, creating sensors on the fly. This is great for new users. PRTG has a free version which offers 100 free sensors. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to use PRTG. It offers a free, non-limited trial of the software for an indefinite time. Giving people the chance to play, and tweak - really getting to know the ins and outs. Email alerts are great for those of us on the road. We can get up to the minute notifications if a site is down or having potential issues. The Android app works very well. Keeping me in the know while on the go.,PRTG updates a LOT. When the server updates, the client needs to update. It's not a huge inconvenience but certainly puts a quick stop to the day when the notification takes focus. It's hard to gauge what resources PRTG needs sometimes. Looking at the system requirements and giving said requirements to the VM running PRTG doesn't always solve the problem. Many times, PRTG will report that the probe is using all resources allocated and having problems because there is nothing more to give. Adding more RAM or CPUs to the VM doesn't always fix the problem. It can be perplexing at times.,10,PRTG puts me at ease knowing I can just look over at the screen and get a quick idea of site status. Netflow monitoring helps us determine who is using what and to what extent. The constant updates are truly a pain.,BMC Track-It!, Lansweeper, LogMeIn Central, Ceridian Dayforce, G SuiteThe true big brother for your systems!!!Monitoring multiple network devices and servers all over the country. Have used multiple monitoring tools in the past 15 years and this is the best.,Monitors huge range of systems Hierarchical device view summarizes performance data and alerts at every level. QR codes corresponding to a particular device or sensor can be printed out and attached to physical hardware for quick monitoring from a mobile app while in the data center. Reporting capabilities are a highlight, both in terms of canned reports and the ability to customize to your individual needs,Some functionality in Enterprise Console redirects you to the web console.,10,Full of sensors that control everything Rapid ROI for the utility and favors optimization of time Many options to access to the systems health,Nagios and Zabbix,Nagios, Zabbix, Wayk Now, Remote Desktop ManagerPRTG Network Monitor - Good value solid monitoring.PRTG was used for infrastructure monitoring, system availability, and proactive monitoring. We relied on PRTG for our out of hours alerting. It allowed us to easily deploy and use a powerful and simple, yet cost-effective monitoring tool that suited our business needs. Pricing was important to us but more important was ease of use, and although perhaps not as powerful as some of its competitors, PRTG handles large infrastructures well, and is particularly quick and easy to deploy, without the need for complex client installations.,Rapid real time monitoring Great price performance Ease of implementation and deployment Very easy to configure and add / amend / remove nodes and alerts. Good level of support from the vendor. Highly customisable. Ease of deploy,ent to different skill sets - i.e. HD usage, etc.,More refined SNMP support - Little bit too technical and hands on to use as fully as you want to. Built in native support of more manufacturers Ability to run the console on a MAC, without using a browser.,10,Very rapid response to issues. Proactive alerting means lower downtime overall. Graphical nature of product leads to wide uptake Pricing structure means you only pay for the monitoring you need.,HP OpenView, SolarWinds Log & Event Manager and SolarWinds Network Configuration ManagerBest Network Monitoring Software for the PriceOur IT department has been using PRTG for the past two years. We use it as a way to be proactive to network communication and server issues. PRTG sends us notifications based on deployed sensors to infrastructure devices and server services. PRTG has helped us react quicker to resolve potential issues before being notified by users of the problem.,PRTG has many built in network sensors for most brands of infrastructure equipment and network servers. Very easy to setup a sensor for a device or service. Customizing sensors for specific thresholds or items to monitor is easy and quick. PRTG has very good network reports and maps built into the system to give you a dashboard like look for quick access.,I would like to see integration with existing ticketing systems. PRTG should be able to create trouble tickets in thrid party applications. Device layout is not very friendly. Layout should be geared more toward sites and subnets,10,PRTG has allowed our organization to reduce the amount of time we spend on a weekly basis manually checking infrastructure for issues or potential problems. The overall cost is minimal when looking at paying a service provider or other members of your IT staff to monitor your systems. PRTG has alerted us to several issues in the past the would have kept our systems down for hours or days causing huge downtime for our company.,WhatsUp GoldDive into the TrafficCurrent use is within our infrastructure group. I am a networking engineer and am always looking for a better way to monitor net-flow, SLA and SNMP information. Current use has been net-flow traffic out of several of our locations where we have had bandwidth issues. We've been able to tell who the big users are, times, etc., basically what you get from net-flow. The benefit has been the graphical interface that PRTG presents the information.,The graphical interface has been excellent in determining bandwidth issues. The ease of setup between Cisco equipment and the PRTG. Setup itself was particularly easy, I believe I had everything up and running within 10 minutes.,Granular formatting would be nice. Though I can narrow down several layers, it doesn't allow me to get to the nitty-gritty. Security accessing the interface needs to be better. Able to limit access via certain users. Template changing.,8,The bandwidth issue was a big one. By resolving this issue we increased the production level of our users. Less calls from level 1 by giving them access to traffic usage at our locations.,WhatsUp Gold and Splunk Light,WhatsUp Gold, Splunk Light
Unspecified
PRTG Network Monitor
65 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

PRTG Reviews

PRTG
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 65 vetted PRTG reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Metalios profile photo
September 24, 2018

User Review: "PRTG Makes IT Easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PRTG is used across the entire organization. We are a small IT department of 3 people, and have 16 remote sites. PRTG keeps tabs on those sites' connections and servers. We always have up to date information on uptime, status, bandwidth utilization, and protocol usage. PRTG makes it easy to have a one stop shop for site status.
  • PRTG performs an intial search of your network and automatically adds devices it finds, creating sensors on the fly. This is great for new users.
  • PRTG has a free version which offers 100 free sensors. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to use PRTG. It offers a free, non-limited trial of the software for an indefinite time. Giving people the chance to play, and tweak - really getting to know the ins and outs.
  • Email alerts are great for those of us on the road. We can get up to the minute notifications if a site is down or having potential issues.
  • The Android app works very well. Keeping me in the know while on the go.
  • PRTG updates a LOT. When the server updates, the client needs to update. It's not a huge inconvenience but certainly puts a quick stop to the day when the notification takes focus.
  • It's hard to gauge what resources PRTG needs sometimes. Looking at the system requirements and giving said requirements to the VM running PRTG doesn't always solve the problem. Many times, PRTG will report that the probe is using all resources allocated and having problems because there is nothing more to give. Adding more RAM or CPUs to the VM doesn't always fix the problem. It can be perplexing at times.
Small IT departments without a lot of money and resources can greatly benefit from PRTG. It's not just used for communication monitoring, but devices as well. We monitor server status with it. It pings each of our DCs every now and then, and reports if a unit doesn't reply. It helps us get a jump on impending issues.
Read Michael Metalios's full review
Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ profile photo
April 12, 2018

PRTG Review: "The true big brother for your systems!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monitoring multiple network devices and servers all over the country. Have used multiple monitoring tools in the past 15 years and this is the best.
  • Monitors huge range of systems
  • Hierarchical device view summarizes performance data and alerts at every level.
  • QR codes corresponding to a particular device or sensor can be printed out and attached to physical hardware for quick monitoring from a mobile app while in the data center.
  • Reporting capabilities are a highlight, both in terms of canned reports and the ability to customize to your individual needs
  • Some functionality in Enterprise Console redirects you to the web console.
PRTG can monitor anything from servers, switches, routers and NAS appliances to Hyper-V and VMware hosts plus a vast array of popular cloud services, apps and storage providers. Big or small enterprises can benefit from it. The PRTG web console keeps your systems neatly organized with hierarchical groupings.
Read Carlos Daniel Casañas Bertolo ஃ's full review
Jon Stephenson profile photo
April 11, 2018

Review: "PRTG Network Monitor - Good value solid monitoring."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PRTG was used for infrastructure monitoring, system availability, and proactive monitoring. We relied on PRTG for our out of hours alerting. It allowed us to easily deploy and use a powerful and simple, yet cost-effective monitoring tool that suited our business needs.

Pricing was important to us but more important was ease of use, and although perhaps not as powerful as some of its competitors, PRTG handles large infrastructures well, and is particularly quick and easy to deploy, without the need for complex client installations.
  • Rapid real time monitoring
  • Great price performance
  • Ease of implementation and deployment
  • Very easy to configure and add / amend / remove nodes and alerts.
  • Good level of support from the vendor.
  • Highly customisable.
  • Ease of deploy,ent to different skill sets - i.e. HD usage, etc.
  • More refined SNMP support - Little bit too technical and hands on to use as fully as you want to.
  • Built in native support of more manufacturers
  • Ability to run the console on a MAC, without using a browser.
  • Small and medium to medium large enterprises.
  • Organisations with highly mixed environments.
  • Those looking for great value.
Read Jon Stephenson's full review
Brian Munn profile photo
March 16, 2018

PRTG Review: "Best Network Monitoring Software for the Price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department has been using PRTG for the past two years. We use it as a way to be proactive to network communication and server issues. PRTG sends us notifications based on deployed sensors to infrastructure devices and server services. PRTG has helped us react quicker to resolve potential issues before being notified by users of the problem.
  • PRTG has many built in network sensors for most brands of infrastructure equipment and network servers. Very easy to setup a sensor for a device or service.
  • Customizing sensors for specific thresholds or items to monitor is easy and quick.
  • PRTG has very good network reports and maps built into the system to give you a dashboard like look for quick access.
  • I would like to see integration with existing ticketing systems. PRTG should be able to create trouble tickets in thrid party applications.
  • Device layout is not very friendly. Layout should be geared more toward sites and subnets
I think PRTG is well suited for any IT shop from large to small. PRTG has developed a licensing model that is very easy to understand, has great price points and is easy to upgrade as needed. PRTG is easy to setup and a system admin can get up and running in minutes not days.
Read Brian Munn's full review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

PRTG Review: "Dive into the Traffic"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Current use is within our infrastructure group. I am a networking engineer and am always looking for a better way to monitor net-flow, SLA and SNMP information. Current use has been net-flow traffic out of several of our locations where we have had bandwidth issues. We've been able to tell who the big users are, times, etc., basically what you get from net-flow. The benefit has been the graphical interface that PRTG presents the information.
  • The graphical interface has been excellent in determining bandwidth issues.
  • The ease of setup between Cisco equipment and the PRTG.
  • Setup itself was particularly easy, I believe I had everything up and running within 10 minutes.
  • Granular formatting would be nice. Though I can narrow down several layers, it doesn't allow me to get to the nitty-gritty.
  • Security accessing the interface needs to be better. Able to limit access via certain users.
  • Template changing.
Ease of implementation when you are needing a quick and dirty. I mentioned earlier I had it up and running within 10 minutes and was able to narrow down bandwidth usage at multiple locations. Though I could do this manually at each location, having a single window to view and compare the data made it easy to fix. Only con I really have is the lack of AD integration to create security roles in PRTG since we would like to leave this up as a first look window when issues occur.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 05, 2018

User Review: "How We Use PRTG"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We monitor temperatures, both from on-premise ethernet thermometers and also remote. The IT infrastructure is monitored with PRTG. PRTG is an open monitoring system that is very flexible, almost everything can be monitored by the way the sensor system is designed. The departments have their own view to only see their sensors and warnings and they can quickly react when something is out of scope.
  • temperatures; by using a combination of PRTG and HWG-ste ethernet monitors
  • system health; by using sensors with multiple channels, if one channel is giving a warning, the sensor will be in a warning state and the problem can be addressed as soon as we see it happen.
  • historical data; it helps with planning when extra systems/capacity is needed to see how the growth has been through a specific period of time
  • software suppliers should create more pro-actively sensors, that will help to monitor specific product based processes
  • couldn't think about any more improvements, really like the product how it already is.
PRTG is like a swiss army knife, if you combine it with some scripting skills, like PowerShell you can almost do anything with it. PRTG could team up with suppliers by presenting itself as the de facto standard and get more default product/service based sensors or even sensor chains that will trigger logical warnings, based on how a service/product/application should work and when it's not behaving like it should.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 07, 2018

PRTG Review: "Fast Help by a low price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently replacing another monitoring tool, as it is easier to deploy, came with a free option, and I may upgrade if we decide to keep the product later. It helped us to quickly start to monitor our environment, and it is faster and with lots of other benefits, such as discovering servers that were not under our control.
  • Network Scan
  • Plugin Library, fast and easy to deploy
  • Running in minutes.
  • If I need to add a sensor, I must define a device, even if I don't know which device it should be connected to.
  • Asks for SSL even in internal environments and bothers us all the time.
  • I'd like to use the dashboard, but not watch all the explanation on how to use it. I think it could be faster to create new dashboard instead.
Well suited:
  • You don't know your environment, don't have documentation of any type, and need to begin to work.
Less Suited:
  • If you wish to monitor only a few stuff as internal URLs you need to remember to associate using the main device, or you may need to restart a machine (that you associated the monitoring) and temporarily lose your monitoring because of it.
Read this authenticated review
Godwin Arigbonu profile photo
November 22, 2017

"My PRTG Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PRTG Network Monitor is used by my organization to monitor network uptime and downtime of deployed infrastructures including Local Area Networks (LAN), Wide Area Networks (WAN), servers, websites, applications, enterprise servers, SaaS deployments, PaaS deployment, and IaaS deployments. Another important offering of PRTG to my organization is the PRTG alerts. This feature has helped us discover warnings and unusual metrics by enabling us to write our own notification scripts by using PRTG advance API.
  • Accurate bandwidth monitoring
  • Easy to use monitoring capability
  • Powerful API integrations
  • While PRTG allows you to create maps of your network, it doesn't seem to automatically link devices together.
  • Some functionality in the Enterprise Console redirects you to the web console.
  • Sensor allocations can get used up quickly.
PRTG provides hierarchical device view and summarizes performance data and alerts at every level. PRTG is very easy to install; my organization had PRTG loaded on a Windows 7 host system in less than ten minutes. The handy configuration wizard guides you through initial network discovery, and runs through a basic tutorial of the web console, highlighting points of interest.
Read Godwin Arigbonu's full review
No photo available
October 12, 2017

"PRTG Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PRTG is currently monitoring all network devices for our enterprise clients. We have 2 clients being monitored, but have multiple sites with several hundred devices being monitored. We are specifically monitoring from the ISP/MPLS connection, all the way down to the switch and all devices in between.
  • Alerting is pretty accurate. Rarely are we getting a false alert due to ping or packet loss.
  • Real time bandwidth usage monitors are pretty easy to deal with and being able to see back 365 days is nice.
  • Having both a web based UI and fat client is great.
  • Well the only issue I have had personally is that the fat client tries to load the previous view point you have been looking at after you closed it last, making the application lock up. This could be due to our implementation of it, so I don't really view this as a con.
  • Nothing else to add.
From the way we use it currently, it is just superior to other tools. We are also using Auvik on some of our smaller clients and used PacketTrap previously. Between those previous tools and others that I have had access to, PRTG seems to be very efficient. As I mentioned before, there are no issues with false alerts and the tool is easy to use, so I would recommend it over Auvik or PacketTrap.
Read this authenticated review
Bill Artinger profile photo
May 22, 2017

Review: "PRTG - YOUR Network & Device Monitoring Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PRTG to monitor many VPN tunnels to our clients' sites from ours and in between client sites themselves. We also use PRTG for disk usage/free space in addition to keys Dell server metrics. Its software and e-mail alerts make sure you KNOW what's going on when it's happening. The customization and ease of use are what sold us on PRTG for our company!
  • Alerting you to changes in statuses
  • Customization and granular tweaking
  • Installation and setup is a breeze
  • Maintaining and growing PRTG is super easy
  • Sometimes there is A LOT of information to digest
  • Sometimes finding out how to name your alerts/metrics is tough
  • More followup/personal touch from PRTG sales
MSPs can greatly benefit from PRTG. Turning information into action or upsells is crucial to the success of an MSP. A home user or end user group would not have much use for PRTG as it is A) more geared toward professionals who know what they're doing and B) the cost would be tough to justify. PRTG is also well-suited for in-house management and monitoring of small to medium to large businesses wanting to gather their own info or do their own monitoring of equipment and services
Read Bill Artinger's full review
Philip D profile photo
April 04, 2017

Review: "PRTG Network Monitoring from the college classroom to the field"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PRTG is used a classroom environment to acclimate students in using the product before they enter the field. Our students are required to take on an internship before graduation and using the products in the classroom transitions them directly to the employer to hit the ground running with industry tools. PRTG is used in a sandbox lab that is running various intrusion testing. The student has no fear of breaking an environment to analyze incidents that can happen in real time. PRTG is also run on the classroom VLAN which also monitors vSphere traffic of over 1000 virtual machines. These machines can be monitored for events and incidents that a demo could rarely perform. The plethora of data interpretation makes the incidents and events a real time situation.
  • Excellent graphs and eye candy.
  • The software can be used on small footprints like devices on the Pine64.
  • There is very little overhead on the product. You install out of the box and do a walk-through configuration.
  • I would like to see labs done where actual real alarms could be observed.
  • Although they have mapping software for dashboards, it doesn't look as easy as it should.
  • There is a huge learning curve to interpret everything you are seeing.
When you want to do network monitoring quickly PRTG has the way to do it quickly. This would be well suited for a NOC situation where an analyst could focus their time on the product and learn the ins and outs of monitoring.
Read Philip D's full review
Troy Smith profile photo
March 20, 2017

User Review: "PRTG Really Monitors Network"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PRTG to monitor all of our critical systems (firewalls, routers, switches, and servers). All the employees in the IT department have the program up all day and monitor it for issues. This helps us get in front of any issues and get resolutions in place and the network back up quicker.
  • Monitoring different types of devices.
  • Wide range of sensors available.
  • Works well with a lot of the mainstream equipment in the market.
  • Does a good job giving warnings based on the history of a sensor.
  • Setting up specific alarms (example - high CPU usage) is very hard. Most times the alarms cause more work than just monitoring the PRTG GUI.
This is a great product if you want to monitor a wide range of network related devices. Easy to break them into specific groups (servers, firewalls, etc.). Credentials can be configured for the group or for individual devices. You're able to set up multiple layers of users.
Read Troy Smith's full review
Jamie Imms profile photo
June 10, 2016

PRTG Review: "Good balance between UI and functionality."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PRTG to monitor major backhaul telecommunication links, over 10,000 devices deployed in over 30 points of presence, and a multi-tenanted virtual environment. PRTG provides us event monitoring, alerting to responsible staff and end users, capacity management and uptime reporting. It is a critical piece of infrastructure that allows us to produce metrics for our OLAs and SLAs.
  • Clean, sleek interface
  • Easy to understand from a user perspective
  • Good permission functionality, able to provide 'ringed-fence' logins for external users
  • Tree interface allows settings and permissions to inherit their way down the tree
  • Flexible notification/threshold functionality
  • Lots of monitoring options to deploy
  • Very easy to update, deploy new probes, move and clone sensors
  • Has a 'Library' function that allows you to restructure existing sensors without duplicating them
  • PRTG does not protect itself from its own configuration. If you are creating ping sensors that attempt to ping too often that it can collect the results, it can have repercussions, such as grinding the entire system to a halt. PRTG also has a matrix about how many of certain types of sensors you can create on a probe - however the system doesn't have any kind of tracking for it, so the only real way of telling that the probe is overloaded is that it starts slowing down - and this impacts the data collection. The higher importance of your PRTG installation, you will have to have a keen eyed administrator.
  • Although PRTG is capable of scaling upwards, once you start to manage thousands of sensors, you need to start rigorously planning your probe deployment. The probe limitations may prevent you from logically grouping your sensor groups at a top level. And you won't notice performance problems until your data collection is already being impacted.
  • Our internal users use AD authentication. PRTG has a control that if there are too many failed logins in quick succession, then it delays all logins to protect itself from brute forcing. Unfortunately this does more harm than good when someone's password expires and PRTG is still running on a device somewhere (this happens quite often).
  • You can set a desired availability percentage in your settings, which applies to reports. Unfortunately, it's one setting for your entire environments - we want to monitor different availability levels for different services that we monitor!
PRTG is great for pretty much any monitoring scenario for any ICT shop. After exploring the market after installing PRTG, we ended up right back with them.
Read Jamie Imms's full review
No photo available
June 01, 2016

User Review: "PRTG Rocks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using PRTG to monitor all network equipment across 5 locations. I monitor: bandwidth, internet uptime, server performance including, CPU, RAM, disk space and bandwidth utilization. I also use the NetFlow/Sflow and remote sensor features. I've also used PRTG to import custom MIBs for UPS and PDU systems. Some of the more common sensors are the WMI Multi Disk sensors, Ping, Bandwidth and uptime sensors.
  • PRTG appears to be plain and simple and you can use it that way if you want. But it has power under the hood and can be used to monitor anything you can think of. I like the fact that it's simple to use, it's truely as easy as auto discover, tweak and forget (or wait until you get PRTG notices via email).
  • Alarms are easy to use and you can set them to be granular by error or by group/users.
  • PRTG upgrades are a snap with auto update.
  • I've set up PRTG in a cluster so that we don't have to log when we take the server down for maintenance for reporting on uptime, etc. Cluster setup is very easy.
  • In a previous job, I posted public pages to our IT intranet page so employees could see if there was a server outage. Again, very easy and a nice idea.
  • Reporting isn't as nice as I would like it to be. Nothing specific really, but depending on the report it can take quite a bit of time to generate, more time than expected. I think it would also be nice to make it more granular with more presentation options.
  • The Desktop application is not as easy and nice as the web interface. I'm a big fan of the web interface and I would consider not even deploying it.
  • I really like the notifications, but fine tuning it so that you get reports too often or not enough can take some time. I think the defaults don't work for everyone and making sure you are aware of that can prove embarrassing if you are not on top of it or prepared to explain the notices to everyone you send them to... e.g. IT director.
  • The maps have improved greatly over the years. I think there is still room to make them even better. I wish they had a grid view and a way to select all objects and size them equally and alighn them or snap to grid.
PRTG is an all around great network monitoring tool. The biggest competitor to PRTG in my book is Spiceworks. This is purely due to price and the market they are competing for. There are a ton of other network monitoring tools and I've used plenty of them and I find myself going back to PRTG everytime.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2016

Review: "PRTG - Network Monitor - Dashboards - Reports"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PRTG Network Monitor across the whole organization to visualize the status of all our branch offices (ping, net flow, metroEthernet). We also use it to monitor service applications, Windows applications, and to create reports and dashboards.
  • Excellent Dashboards and Tree Maps.
  • If a service stops working, PRTG can automatically restart it without having you to go to the VM or turn on your computer. You can enjoy your day off.
  • Set Alerts for everything - ping down, high load, out of space.
  • Top ribbon menu. It's hard to click when you have a few subcategories.
  • Bigger and different fonts, would help a lot.
Good scenario: you are on your day off and a printer spooler service stopped. PRTG would be able to re-start the service if for some reason after a few tries it doesn't come up. It will send you a notification.

Less appropriate: if you would like to show the graphs to a non-tech person. They won't appreciate all the information that PRTG provides.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 29, 2016

User Review: "Use PRTG? Why not; it's free!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have recently made network changes which we have seen affecting our link states between our corporate location and our remote office. We were noticing the link going down from the provider end. With PRTG we were able to asses this very quickly and determine it was a service provider issue. Once we found out what was going on we were also able to determine we were getting the "paid for" bandwidth on that link. Through continual monitoring we were able to make this link more stable.
  • Easy to implement. It almost sets itself up through guidance from you to get you quickly monitoring your network.
  • We were able to easily find a communications problem through the sensor which was deployed.
  • 100 sensors are included free for life. Why not implement this product just to have this ability.
  • Sometimes the areas to add / remove sensors can be a bit confusing.
  • It is hard to find where to move a monitored device from one group to another. I had to look this one up in their documentation.
  • Better AD integration for use in establishing security roles with PRTG. It is hard to verify it is working properly.
I can see where it is extremely beneficial to have PRTG installed just to monitor the critical links in your network. With 100 included free sensors why not deploy to your network to see what you may be missing. You never know it can help you find a potential problem before it becomes one.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 16, 2016

User Review: "PRTG for Remote Server Monitoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use PRTG to monitor our servers in an off site data center. We currently use it to monitor all the web, database, and application servers at the remote site. It works great at giving us real time performance data on our servers. What I personally like about network monitor are the custom alerts that can be configured for it. It has been a great tool for our organization.
  • It has an easy to use interface, that requires no training to use.
  • A user can create custom reports and alerts for each server being monitored.
  • The system requires little maintenance to keep working properly.
  • The web interface can be a little slow to work with.
  • It can be difficult to find specific settings needed to configure different nodes.
  • There are multiple interfaces, and it can be hard to change into the interface that is best for each user.
I have found that it works great in a remote setting. One of the primary uses is to monitor a VPN connection, and to notify me that all servers are still alive and working properly if the VPN connection fails. In this setting the system excels and does a fantastic job with the status reports when a failure does occur.
Read this authenticated review

PRTG Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (14)
8.3
Network monitoring (17)
9.5
Baseline threshold calculation (15)
8.0
Alerts (17)
8.8
Network capacity planning (10)
7.0
Packet capture analysis (9)
6.4
Network mapping (11)
7.9
Customizable reports (14)
7.6
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (12)
8.2
Hardware health monitoring (16)
8.7

About PRTG

PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more. It also includes free VoIP monitoring software.

PRTG Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No