TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/EQ/3c/ETK1DMRR9VQJ.JPEGStoryline - Good overall, but needs more video featuresWe use Storyline for internal training courses, both soft skill and product training. It addresses all kinds of topics, from compliance to promotions to product walkthroughs and best practices. Our team uses it for the employees, and another training team uses it for New Hire programs. We haven't used it for any external audiences at this time.,Intuitive. It works similar to PowerPoint in terms of slides and structure. Adding assets and narration is fairly straightforward. They have a good stock library. Also, you can add different characters in a variety of poses for added effect. Lots of flexibility in navigation and buttons. Variables and basic scripting makes it easy to customize.,Animations are lacking. Limited to real basic types of movement and animations, which can look dated and not as profressional. Lacks a time feature (how much time is used, how much time is left). I know that can't always be accurate due to interactive navigation, but the option to put one in would be nice. Customization of the player is limited.,8,We've been able to save time in creating effective courses, and the quizzing feature helps us with courses that need to have assessments for completion (compliance, company policies, etc). A classroom effectively translated to a Storyline course can save many hours (and scheduling headaches) for employee training. Travel is also lessened which makes for more savings. The learning curve isn't too steep, which can save hours training employees how to use the software.,Camtasia, Articulate Studio, Adobe Illustrator CC, WordPressStoryline 2. Great for professionals on the go.Articulate Storyline is being used here in both the Business Development Unit and People and Organisational Resources. It is a valuable resource to educate often time poor legal professionals in core systems and skills required in their profession. Using the HTML features means that they can learn on the go, and the usual "dead" time waiting at court can now be a time to learn new skills.,Being able to simulate our business systems makes the learning experience that much more effective. Mobile friendly production lets lawyers learn on the go. Versatile course creation tools means that you can have a polished and professional course up in literally minutes.,Some minor resolution issues with screen recording don't detract from an overall positive experience.,9,Increased engagement of learners. Wider deployment of learning via tablets,Implemented in-house,8The All-in-One Training Module PackageArticulate Storyline is used to create a series of technical training modules for our business. It allows us to provide an asynchronous self-paced training program with minimal use of a live instructor and therefore maximize efficiency and use of resources. Currently it is used across the whole organization with customized module content depending on the department.,Articulate Storyline is especially adept at providing interactive training modules with the ability to add in various learning paths with animations and button selection. When done correctly it can be highly engaging for the user. It is very easy to add voice over, screen shot, and screen capture video to your modules with the recording software built right into the program. This instantly eliminated our need for external software to fill these roles and was a huge time saver. As we use multiple methods for module delivery, Articulate's publishing options are first rate. You can burn to a CD, publish as a SCORM package for a LMS, publish to a website, or even as a Word doc if you need to pass around just the content for review. This versatility serves all our needs.,One very time consuming process in creating a slide is synching up animation with a voice recording. I find I spend a lot of time dragging markers, sorting through layers, and having to constantly fine tune each second of the slide. The tools are fine, and I am not sure how this could be made faster, but a more efficient way of doing this task would be a big time saver. In the adult training world it is important that end products look professional and are able to reflect the style of the business using them. Although Articulate Storyline offers many options in its characters, animations, etc., it can sometimes be a challenge to avoid a juvenile feel to the training. Sometimes those characters are downright comical, and frustrating to work with when you're trying to provide a polished technical training module. When I first approach a new training project it can be overwhelming thinking about how each slide should look and function, how I want the material to flow, and how the user will transition from one topic to the next. I would love to see a brainstorming/ slide layout/ or rudimentary storyboard function. Maybe something which could be published and shared with team members for everyone to provide feedback and ideas on before development begins on the actual module slides.,7,We have been able to bring our training development in-house with Articulate Storyline. This has reduced the cost substantially of module development from about $120,000 annually to less than $50,000. It is now possible for the subject matter expert to work directly in Articulate Storyline rather than have to work with a third party and try to explain what needs to be developed as far as content. Articulate Storyline has a bit of a learning curve and not everyone takes to it quickly, so although the training development has been brought in-house, there is now a back-log of work for those who use the software!,Articulate Studio,Microsoft Office 2016, Adobe Connect, Adobe Acrobat DCBest eLearning software on the marketArticulate Storyline is one of a few e-learning development tools we use as a company. It's the top choice for most IDs due to the fact that it is intuitive, fast, and robust in functionality.,Interactive job aids. It goes far beyond the traditional "click-next-to-continue" e-learning style. Scenarios. Articulate Storyline is the best at organizing and branching slides. Traditional e-learning.,While AS is very user-friendly, with that comes a loss of control in being able to script things in a customized way.,9,My business does not look at ROI or business objectives when developing training solutions.,,Adobe CaptivateMy Story of Storyline...Storyline is one of the tools used in our organization to develop meaningful learning experiences for our clients and their customers. It allows our elearning professionals to efficiently and effectively transform technical content into relevant training deliverables.,SL provides a very robust and versatile tool, with a very short learning curve to learn how to use it. Articulate provides excellent community and technical support. You can expect a personal response and action from their team. Articulate manages the updates and 'fixes' in a responsible way - not bombarding their users with endless updates and fixes.,It would be very helpful to have a media library, to re-use an images in multiple locations without having to insert a duplicate image on different slides/scenes. The ability for global changes to text/font would be helpful,9,We have experienced very positive impact on our ability to develop and delivery high quality elearning programs!,,Microsoft Access
Windows
Articulate Storyline
164 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

Articulate Storyline Reviews

Articulate Storyline
164 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 164 vetted Articulate Storyline reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 91)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Bloom profile photo
May 23, 2018

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline - Good overall, but needs more video features"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Storyline for internal training courses, both soft skill and product training. It addresses all kinds of topics, from compliance to promotions to product walkthroughs and best practices. Our team uses it for the employees, and another training team uses it for New Hire programs. We haven't used it for any external audiences at this time.
  • Intuitive. It works similar to PowerPoint in terms of slides and structure. Adding assets and narration is fairly straightforward.
  • They have a good stock library. Also, you can add different characters in a variety of poses for added effect.
  • Lots of flexibility in navigation and buttons. Variables and basic scripting makes it easy to customize.
  • Animations are lacking. Limited to real basic types of movement and animations, which can look dated and not as profressional.
  • Lacks a time feature (how much time is used, how much time is left). I know that can't always be accurate due to interactive navigation, but the option to put one in would be nice.
  • Customization of the player is limited.
It's great for creating some basic eLearning tools. The video capability is so-so, though. You can create things rapidly, which is nice. And it does have some power and flexibility. It's good especially for courses where you need to break it out in sections. Quizzing is nice because you can separate it throughout the course, and then it can be tallied together. I'm not as big a fan of external audiences, since those are more video-focused and it doesn't have as many editing capabilities as I'd like.
Read Chris Bloom's full review
Todd Wheeler profile photo
June 21, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline 2. Great for professionals on the go."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is being used here in both the Business Development Unit and People and Organisational Resources. It is a valuable resource to educate often time poor legal professionals in core systems and skills required in their profession. Using the HTML features means that they can learn on the go, and the usual "dead" time waiting at court can now be a time to learn new skills.
  • Being able to simulate our business systems makes the learning experience that much more effective.
  • Mobile friendly production lets lawyers learn on the go.
  • Versatile course creation tools means that you can have a polished and professional course up in literally minutes.
  • Some minor resolution issues with screen recording don't detract from an overall positive experience.
Articulate is fantastic for soft skills and scenario generation....lawyers love "What if?" scenarios and contextual examples. The software simulation is great. The trigger system is quite easy to use and can produce some great effects to make a course more engaging. It is very handy for compliance courses where initial interest levels are often very low.
Read Todd Wheeler's full review
Anika Hansen profile photo
April 11, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "The All-in-One Training Module Package"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is used to create a series of technical training modules for our business. It allows us to provide an asynchronous self-paced training program with minimal use of a live instructor and therefore maximize efficiency and use of resources. Currently it is used across the whole organization with customized module content depending on the department.
  • Articulate Storyline is especially adept at providing interactive training modules with the ability to add in various learning paths with animations and button selection. When done correctly it can be highly engaging for the user.
  • It is very easy to add voice over, screen shot, and screen capture video to your modules with the recording software built right into the program. This instantly eliminated our need for external software to fill these roles and was a huge time saver.
  • As we use multiple methods for module delivery, Articulate's publishing options are first rate. You can burn to a CD, publish as a SCORM package for a LMS, publish to a website, or even as a Word doc if you need to pass around just the content for review. This versatility serves all our needs.
  • One very time consuming process in creating a slide is synching up animation with a voice recording. I find I spend a lot of time dragging markers, sorting through layers, and having to constantly fine tune each second of the slide. The tools are fine, and I am not sure how this could be made faster, but a more efficient way of doing this task would be a big time saver.
  • In the adult training world it is important that end products look professional and are able to reflect the style of the business using them. Although Articulate Storyline offers many options in its characters, animations, etc., it can sometimes be a challenge to avoid a juvenile feel to the training. Sometimes those characters are downright comical, and frustrating to work with when you're trying to provide a polished technical training module.
  • When I first approach a new training project it can be overwhelming thinking about how each slide should look and function, how I want the material to flow, and how the user will transition from one topic to the next. I would love to see a brainstorming/ slide layout/ or rudimentary storyboard function. Maybe something which could be published and shared with team members for everyone to provide feedback and ideas on before development begins on the actual module slides.
Articulate Storyline is very well suited for customer service type training or other sort of flashy demonstrations as it offers a lot of human character options and interactivity features. We use Storyline for our more technical training, however we only utilize about 20% of the program's features because the characters or animations are quite out of place in our modules. We need a much more academic look and feel in our material.
Read Anika Hansen's full review
Elise England profile photo
April 14, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "Best eLearning software on the market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is one of a few e-learning development tools we use as a company. It's the top choice for most IDs due to the fact that it is intuitive, fast, and robust in functionality.
  • Interactive job aids. It goes far beyond the traditional "click-next-to-continue" e-learning style.
  • Scenarios. Articulate Storyline is the best at organizing and branching slides.
  • Traditional e-learning.
  • While AS is very user-friendly, with that comes a loss of control in being able to script things in a customized way.
Scenarios where it is well suited are: click-next- to-continue trainings, interactive job aids, and scenario trainings. I haven't encountered a training yet where it would be less appropriate.
Read Elise England's full review
Michael Grady profile photo
April 11, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "My Story of Storyline..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Storyline is one of the tools used in our organization to develop meaningful learning experiences for our clients and their customers. It allows our elearning professionals to efficiently and effectively transform technical content into relevant training deliverables.
  • SL provides a very robust and versatile tool, with a very short learning curve to learn how to use it.
  • Articulate provides excellent community and technical support. You can expect a personal response and action from their team.
  • Articulate manages the updates and 'fixes' in a responsible way - not bombarding their users with endless updates and fixes.
  • It would be very helpful to have a media library, to re-use an images in multiple locations without having to insert a duplicate image on different slides/scenes.
  • The ability for global changes to text/font would be helpful
The only scenarios where SL may not be well suited, would be where extremely in depth simulation is requested. Our experience shows that it is more effiecient and effective to develop natively (HTML, C#, C++, etc).
Read Michael Grady's full review
Gregory Morrison profile photo
April 10, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "The #1 Tool for any Instructional Desiger"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, I am the sole instructional designer for a workforce of 10K+ employees. I use Storyline2 and 360 to create engaging pieces of content from training, to interactive employee handbooks, to mandatory compliance assessments and reviews.

These programs allow me to convert boring PDFs, videos, and multiple choice quizzes into genuine learning experiences, which help with overall effectiveness and retention. Plus, since we have the luxury of gamifying our content, our employees don't view training as a punitive activity anymore.
  • One of Storyline's greatest attributes is its versatility. Although you can use the basic templates, more advanced users will savor the ability to bring their ideas to life using the blank canvas to transform their ideas into powerful pieces of training.
  • I really like the ability to create branching scenarios, which turn a linear story into a multifaceted experience.
  • Storyline also works seamlessly when adding custom interaction and various media types, from audio, to video, to web objects. The combination of these elements helps designers appeal to audiences of varying learning styles.
  • I've always wished that storyline allowed a designer to organize triggers in collapsible folders. Anyone who has used 10 or more triggers all on varying objects throughout the slide knows how difficult it can be to find what you're looking for. Cleaning this area up would do wonders.
  • It would also be helpful if you could delete the result slide variable if you indeed delete the result slide itself. Currently, if you are experimenting with four different result slides and decide to only use one, the variables (points and percent) stay in the project and can never be removed. This can be confusing later on.
  • This really isn't a major problem, but more of a suggestions, but it would be cool if you could manipulate the size and shape of a marker. So if I wanted a large marker or even a rectangular one that looked like a button but had the characteristics of a marker, that would be pretty cool.
With Storyline, your only limitation is your imagination. This program is so powerful, and with new additions like Articulate Review, there is nothing else like it on the market. I would advise new users to take their time to understand the various features and navigation so that you know exactly where to go and for what, but after that, the limit to the software will only be capped by your ability or inability to think.
Read Gregory Morrison's full review
Luke Benfield profile photo
April 06, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline - Best thing since sliced bread!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All members of our instructional design team utilize Articulate Storyline to build courses and assessments. We have built a variety of corporate, clinical, and IT courses in SL2 including attestations, pre and post assessments for ILT programs, scenario-based and choose your own adventure courses, PowerPoint conversions, and compliance programs. Storyline allows our development team to produce fast, high quality courses that meet our ever changing and growing needs of the business. We chose Storyline over other rapid-authoring tools because of its user-friendliness, community support, training opportunities, and access to free templates and resources.
  • Support - The Articulate staff is extremely responsive and helpful. The E-Learning Heroes Community is, IMO, the absolute best user driven support community in the e-learning space.
  • Scalable functionality - You can use SL to quickly convert powerpoint files to interactive e-learning programs, or you can create complex learning experiences with SL's variables and javascript features.
  • User Friendliness - The menu bars and overall UX design mirrors Microsoft Office, so it's relatively easy to operate.
  • I would like to see more graphics functionality similar to powerpoint within Storyline. Some examples are - Merging shapes, removing backgrounds from images, and blurring images. If some of these basic things were added, I would be able to do almost all my graphics work within the tool itself.
  • The feedback masters of Storyline 2 are inconsistent in applying the master formatting to layers. Button states are not accurately applied, which means going in to each slide and layer to make individual changes. This can make the QA process quite cumbersome.
  • Fullscreen functionality for videos through a button or some other means would be a great value add as well.
  • Storyline could be even better and improve user-workflow if there were more options to set defaults for the program. Examples including setting a default Story size (program defaults to 4:3, but all my projects are 16:9, so I have to change that every time I start a new project), and setting the default font and paragraph formatting.
Well suited: Quick assessments and knowledge checks, simple interactive videos, choose your own adventure and scenario-based courses, software simulations, and interactive game-based courses. Overall, if you are looking to develop high quality courses with short development time, Storyline is your tool.
Less Appropriate: If the business needs are either simple, narrated PowerPoints, or complex projects involving actual coding.
Read Luke Benfield's full review
Dorothy Mocalis profile photo
March 31, 2017

Review: "Calling all creatives! Articulate Storyline is for training developers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The training development team uses Articulate Storyline to create compliance and process training. It was easy for the staff to learn and get used to for those who have never used it before. We have created templates to keep our trainings looking the same and we love the tool.
  • Storyline is great for customizing your training activities. If you can think of an activity, you will be able to create it in Storyline. It is like a blank canvas, great for creative people.
  • Storyline is very forgiving. If you have an issue or something isn't working the way you want it, there are more than one ways to do something. I love finding Storyline loopholes for my colleagues to ease the stress off of their shoulders.
  • It is easy to turn boring PowerPoints into an interactive work of art. You just have to think about the story you want to tell and what the learner should be able to do by the time they finish the training.
  • It would be nice to enter PDF type documents. There are ways to display documents, but you have to know the work-arounds to make it look good.
  • Storyline should be able to edit images better. For example, if I want to use an image that doesn't have a transparent background, I need to open Adobe Photoshop to delete the background. PowerPoint 13' has this functionality.
I was the initial employee to propose the purchase of Articulate Storyline. Storyline is great for getting out information fast to a large audience. It works nicely with any LMS I have ever used.
Read Dorothy Mocalis's full review
Anthony Deardorff profile photo
March 28, 2017

Review: "Easy e-Learning with Articulate Storyline"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Articulate Storyline to create e-Learning that helps address the needs of the business.
  • It's easy to create interactive quizzes in Articulate Storyline 2.
  • The Storyline interface is easy to use. The defaults are usually spot on or close to what I would select as part of an e-Learning project.
  • The best part about using Storyline is the support community, "E-Learning Heroes" which is maintained by Articulate. Questions are quickly answered and some awesome content is available for free download.
  • It would be great if it was possible to create consistent background music in Storyline.
Storyline is well suited to quickly create standalone e-Learning for uploading to an LMS.
Read Anthony Deardorff's full review
Brooke Schepker profile photo
December 01, 2016

Review: "Create eLearning has never been easier with Articulate Storyline"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is without a doubt the most robust yet easy to use tool in the e-Learning authoring tools market. We chose Articulate Storyline because of the tools' robust power, the backing of the award-winning community of experts, and ease of use. Our customers use Articulate Storyline because the interfaces seem familiar and straightforward...all the tools offer designers and developers everything they could ever need...all in one place.

Creating e-Learning has never been so easy with Articulate Storyline!
  • Articulate's community is just a click and email away...support when you need it. The amount of free templates, storyboards, ideas, and graphics is absolutely amazing. We all share information, issues, and resolutions together, making for a true "community" of e-Learning professionals.
  • Articulate's Storyline tool enables you to import a PowerPoint and add engagement through built-in interactions, or you can start from scratch and build the same look and feel.
  • Easy enough for beginners, robust enough for programmers.
  • This is harder to define because Articulate is amazing at taking feedback and requests from its community and adding it to the roadmap for the product. We are awed by the sheer number of enhancements provided in their updates to the product.
Articulate Storyline is the perfect tool for any type of e-Learning. If you design and develop e-Learning, you need to have the Articulate Storyline tool in your arsenal. It provides a one-stop shop for all things e-Learning, including but certainly not limited to: interactive branching with scenario-based learning, responsive design, upgraded HTML5 compliance, system simulations with the built-in screen recording tool, sliders, motion pathing for animation purposes, and so much more.
Read Brooke Schepker's full review
Destery Hildenbrand profile photo
November 28, 2016

Review: "Articulate Storyline 2: The Everyone Authoring Tool for e-Learning"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an organization we are moving to Articulate 360 as our full eLearning development suite. We have used Articulate Storyline as our rapid prototyping instructional design tool in the past but with the additional options now being offered with the 360 suite we are moving towards using it exclusively for our eLearning development needs. Full course development, short bite-sized learning nuggets, and for just in time job-aid development, and now responsive design and real time review of projects are tools we will be working with to better serve our customers.
  • The best part of all of these tools is that they stay true to what I loved about Storyline and that's a low learning curve to get started. Anyone can sit down and with a little trial and error start using these tools right away.
  • Articulate 360 offers an all in one suite of programs and services that meet all of your elearning development needs. From rapid prototype creation with the Preso App to the content library with ready to use templates and characters for scenario creation the 360 suite provides the tools you need to develop quality elearning for your clients and customers.
  • As a suite you can now receive updates to the software and features as they are made without buying a new version. One price for each licence gives you access to all of the 360 programs and services.
  • Responsive authoring tools are available on your machine and in the cloud with Storyline and Rise. You can effectively tailor your training to fit any device or screen with ease. Rise ios a cloud based development tool that allows for ease of use and creation.
  • eLearning Heroes has been the gold standard for community outreach and support for a software. This community is populated with all users and skill levels to provide ideas and support. Now included in 360 Articulate offers Live. Live webinars by the Articulate gurus themselves offing ideas and instruction on how to use 360 better.
  • Pricing is more straight forward but I would have liked to see a monthly alternative similar to Adobe. The one size fits all may be too much for everyone. An a la carte option again similar to Adobe (Photoshop and Lightroom for a price) might be helpful in this case as well. (Storyline and Content Library for a price).
Articulate 360 really excels as an all in one elearning suite. Everything you need to be successful in developing eLearning from a technology standpoint is here and ready to go. It's ne responsive development tools and cloud options allow for development for any device or screen and any computer with an internet connection gives you access to their cloud development software. From prototype, design, review, and release 360 offers tools to support all steps. This suite offers tools for just about every scenario sans direct web design. You will also need additional image and video editing tools. Articulate offers limited options in those regards.
Read Destery Hildenbrand's full review
Mark Campbell, M.A. profile photo
April 13, 2017

Articulate Storyline: "AS 2017 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for online course development for our clients across campus.
  • Raises the level of engagement
  • Simple implementation process
  • Works will with an LMS
  • I would like to see more "free templates" that offer more plug and play like Articulate 360
Storyline is more suited for presentations, online assessments (affirmation of learning) and demonstrations.
Read Mark Campbell, M.A.'s full review
Bo Folkmann ✔ profile photo
December 14, 2016

Review: "Articulate Storyline 2 the best eLearning software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Storyline 2 to develop and produce eLearning and blended learning for our customer.
  • It’s easy to use
  • It’s fast to produce and develop eLearning.
  • The supports from the community are excellent.
  • The down side of it is poor animation possibilities.

The key questions to ask during the selection process for eLearning tools are:

  • How easy is it to use the product?
  • How is the support, and how fast is it?
  • How is the design possibility? Does it have a possibility for moderns design?
  • Do I have access to different template I can use, and are the design modern? It’s fast to produce and develop eLearning.
  • In areas of quiz and scenario is Articulate Storyline 2 well suited?
Read Bo Folkmann ✔'s full review
Sam Sternman profile photo
November 28, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline - Organic, Fast Development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Storyline for all of our online softskills courses (within Human Resources). Our Education Services team also uses Storyline for many of their consumer products. Storyline assists me with a more rapid, fluid development cycle (vs. Captivate) and allows me to move quickly through the ID process as well as any changes that result from drafts/reviews.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Triggers (actions) are much easier to create than in Captivate.
  • The characters, particularly the additional bundles, offer a diverse range of photo characters that are great for a global company like ours. You can enhance the images by creating your own characters (they must be ready to scale, though) or purchase third-party characters from companies such as eLearning Brothers.
  • The support on the Community site is far superior to anything that Adobe has/will offer in the future...the amount of tutorials, examples and freebies is staggering.
  • More animation/movement options should be found in later releases of version 2 (let's not see another full release for a while).
  • There are some funky type issues with Storyline 2 - awaiting some bug fixes. Type, when paired with some animations, can be unruly and misbehave.
  • It would be great to have access to more characters (the cost is high for this software and there is no "cloud" version to save on upgrades) included.
  • Version 2 release seemed more like a patch than a full upgrade. Hopefully, the R&D costs will be recovered with this version so that Storyline 3 really has some new stuff that adds to the already organic interface.
Probably not the best for software training - use Captivate or Camtasia for that. I'd make sure that you enlist the help of a trained graphic designer (not self taught) when using Storyline - while a non-graphic user can create content, it's what you do with the screens that will set you apart.
Read Sam Sternman's full review
No photo available
April 18, 2017

Articulate Storyline Review: "Easy to Use Rapid Authoring Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a team of dedicated developers who work in multiple platforms. One of our main tools used with multiple clients is Storyline. We often recommend Storyline for ease of use and versatility. Using this tool allows us to reach a high level of fidelity and be able to turn over the work to the client for their own on-going maintenance.
  • Great for rapid authoring of e-learning modules.
  • Can be used as a simulation or prototyping tool.
  • Great for creating e-learning that leverages variables for personalized learning experiences.
  • Some functionality is quirky. For example Arial font renders strange kerning issues that cannot be overcome.
  • Image compression can be unpredictable. It is hard to include clean screenshots that require high-detail.
  • Player control customization can be limiting.
Great for building e-learning quickly and easily.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 23, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Articulate 360"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Storyline since version 1. With the advent of the subscription-based Articulate 360, I have an all in one solution to all my training needs. I use the suite of tools to develop all kinds of training, testing, and demonstrations. This is used across my facility and I have shared many of my developed courses with other affiliated facilities.
  • Automatic scaling of HTML5 content
  • Easy to share content with SMEs
  • Integrated large and growing content library
  • Resource intensive
  • Video authoring capabilities could be enhanced
If you need a rapid elearning tool, Articulate 360 is your best bet. It comes with all the programs in the Articulate family, course starters, review tools, and the easiest interface in the business.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Watson profile photo
October 10, 2016

Review: "Create, Design, and Deliver your Stories with Articulate Storyline!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Articulate Storyline as the primary element on nearly all of the projects I work on. Its flexibility to customize interactions allows me to use it in designing/delivering soft skills training as well as healthcare and technical-related projects. Although I use other tools, having a single tool that can deliver at so many levels helps increase my proficiency with the tool which reduces the overall time to design and deliver quality products.
  • If you can dream it, you can most likely create it in this product. It is very flexible and intuitive.
  • By using triggers, variables, and states, you have the ability to harness design capabilities that would otherwise require a high level of programming expertise.
  • Integrating audio, video and animations into a module/course is very simple.
  • Its interface is very easy to use and understand.
  • I think they are working hard on this area but there is still some room for improvement in the HTML 5 to ensure it works consistently across multiple browser platforms and mobile devices.
  • Provide more options for the look/feel of the player. Include a built-in option for a "transparent player" instead of having to go in and change the transparency settings to achieve a transparent player effect.
  • The ability to edit graphics (since it is integrated with PowerPoint) from within Storyline itself would be a nice addition.
  • A more robust audio editing tool which allows you to edit (cut/paste, fade in/fade out audio, etc.) in a more intuitive way.
Customizing interactions is one of its strongest points. Again, if you can dream up the interaction, there is probably a way to use triggers, variables, conditions and states to achieve it. Although the initial learning curve is a little steep, if you put in the time, you can really get the power out of the tool to accomplish some really great things! Their community is a great place to shorten the learning curve quickly.
Read Richard Watson's full review
Andrew Watling profile photo
November 08, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Great product and easy to use."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Storyline to create trainings for staff to complete online, usually from home. It allows us to get our content to our staff who all work at different times and locations without having to adjust their schedules.
  • It is very easy to learn and use, you can start creating great projects from day 1.
  • It allows me to give computer based training that is very technical to staff who have limited computer skills.
  • It is customizable to every situation I need and can be made to look and feel different from project to project if you desire.
  • The timeline function and ability to reorder objects can be a little difficult to navigate.
  • The files it creates are large and saving can be time consuming, a save as you work function would be helpful.
  • I have had some issues with HTML5 working correctly.
If you need to create a course quickly and don't have programming skills if fills in the gaps to make your work look very professional.
Read Andrew Watling's full review
Valorie Engholm profile photo
October 03, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline is must-have for e-Learning designers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Storyline to create e-Learning courses for staff training purposes as well as for licenses renewal requirements for massage therapists. Storyline is the main software I use to create these courses, and I have found it to be an invaluable tool for this department. We needed software that created professional e-Learning courses that was also easy to use, and Storyline met that need.
  • It's easy for a new user to learn.
  • It provides a lot of versatility, leaving room for seemingly unlimited creativity.
  • Articulate provides great user support.
  • Slides in story view need to be able to be rearranged by clicking and dragging on them.
Articulate Storyline is well-suited to anyone who needs to create e-Learning courses for any subject. It can also be used to create engaging and informative presentations as an alternative to boring PowerPoint slides. It can also be used to create explainer videos or interactive tutorials for a company trying to sell its service or product.
Read Valorie Engholm's full review
Nick Elkins profile photo
August 31, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Go with the best!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in the learning and performance team to create experiences that help build better performers across the organization.
  • Animations are smooth, easy.
  • Quizzing is easy and fast.
  • User interface is the best in class for e-learning development tools.
  • Support and community are second-to-none.
  • Wouldn't mind seeing additional audio and video editing tools within the software.
I haven't found anything yet that I can't use Storyline for...and I've been using it since the day it came out.
Read Nick Elkins's full review
Diane D'Amico profile photo
March 16, 2016

User Review: "LOVE LOVE LOVE Articulate Storyline"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department is responsible for providing training to our clients on the use of our software products. Over the past 5 years, I have continued to develop more and more of our e-Learning On Demand programs and our clients have both embraced this technology and keep requesting more topics. Last year, we hit an all-time high by processing over 3,000 registrations for our programs. By using Articulate, we have taken our training to a whole new level of professionalism and easy access by also utilizing Articulate Online to host all of our programs. Our senior management team is extremely pleased with the positive comments we have received from our clients and going in this direction has definitely been the right decision. I am now seriously considering the expansion of our library for e-Learning On Demand programs so that our customers can fulfill their training needs anytime, anywhere. Thanks you for such a great product and for the strong community of users.
  • Articulate Storyline allows you to easily integrate interactivity into your program
  • Articulate Storyline allows you to create a professional and effective eLearning product
  • Articulate Storyline has grown a strong community of users who are always available for input and sharing
  • Articulate is easy to learn and the more features you use, the more enhanced your learning experience can be
  • I would like Articulate to provide some stock graphics that are specifically designed for this use
It is easy to use, professional, and interactive. Those are key qualities for a product in this category.
Read Diane D'Amico's full review
Enes Karahasanovic profile photo
March 16, 2016

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline before all"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Articulate in order to meet two important aspects of the employee training process. Those are: quick effective training that is cost saving. Articulate is perfect for this because eLearning saves money and time in respect to classroom training.
  • User friendly even for inexperienced elearning administrators
  • Easy to use
  • Creates all kinds of published content (applicable for mobile and desktops)
  • Content interaction with user
  • Able to use all sorts of multimedia
  • More animation options
  • Better internet explorer compability of published content
  • More publishing options
  • Better preview options
Articulate is well suited when you're on a tight schedule and need to produce quick eLearning content. It is possible to create simple presentation content in couple of clicks. It is less appropriate when trying to create content with advanced animations because the tool does not provide enough animation options.
Read Enes Karahasanovic's full review
Jackie Van Nice profile photo
March 16, 2016

Review: "Articulate Storyline: An Ideal Combination of Reliability + Ease of Use + Depth"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Articulate Storyline to create e-learning for my clients. It's the one development tool I've chosen to specialize in. It's relatively easy to use; yet gives me enough depth to create a wide variety of effective training pieces.
  • Easy to learn. The learning curve to get going with Articulate Storyline and produce something usable is very short. But once you're ready for more depth - it's there.
  • It's stable. I can rely on it to be there when I need it and don't spend time having to deal with support issues.
  • It's a product that comes with its own community of users who are always offering up great ideas, free course assets, and great peer interaction. Is the community built into the software itself? No. Does using the community help you make far better courses in Storyline because it helps you be a better designer? You bet.
  • It would be great to have more than one Storyline file open at once. You can technically do it, but it involves opening an additional instance of the program for each additional Storyline file you want open simultaneously. Not a big deal, but it would be a nice feature to add.
As with any e-learning development tool, you'd want to establish the intended output before choosing it. If I had a particular device or environment I was going to launch it in, I'd do a test to be sure my result was going to be what I expected.
Read Jackie Van Nice's full review
Guido Roessling profile photo
March 16, 2016

Review: "Articulate Storyline: try it out, and you will stick with it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Articulate Storyline for training my students in various areas - using the editor they will be using for developing software, explaining basic programming concepts, and others. Another somewhat different and highly interactive course addresses how a teaching assistant or teacher can deal with a case of plagiarism.
  • Storyline is highly flexible, regarding its support for layers, the powerful yet easy to use concepts of triggers and helpful interactive elements such as lightbox slides and markers. These make creating interactive and attractive content easy and even fun!
  • The use of variables allows for another great deal of freedom in designing a course. Whether you only want to store the user's name and gender, or want to keep track of decisions or score is up to you. Storyline also lets you modify the content of slides based on the values of the variables, so you do not have to duplicate content but can simply vary it (hiding, showing, or modifying content) based on the value of some variable(s).
  • The integrated photographic character (more can be bought) and the sketched characters are highly flexible, provided in different poses and facial expressions. Adapting them to look as you want them to is done in a snap - and can, again, be changed based on a variable that tracked what the user has done before.
  • The main drawback for me personally is that there is no Mac OS X version of Storyline, forcing me to start up a VM (which slows down the computer) whenever I work on my content. I understand that developing a Mac version would be a lot of work - but having one would make my life that much easier.
Windows (native or in a VM) is required and thus a hard criterion. If you are interested in developing e-learning content - or showcasing your product - with ease, high flexibility, the chance for relevant interactivity, check out Storyline's three day demo and its huge support including tutorials and free content on their web page.
Read Guido Roessling's full review
Louisa Fricker profile photo
November 16, 2015

Articulate Storyline Review: "Storyline - best tool for interactive educational content"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Storyline to deliver learning material for flipped classrooms in a post secondary institution. The purpose is to deliver content in an interactive and engaging way online, then bring students into the classroom for group work and hands on activities. This reduces the amount of classroom time needed, and makes that classroom time more productive.
  • Storyline is incredibly flexible. It incorporates a wide range of media formats (images, videos, etc), if you want to add a quiz you have a wide range of question formats (drag and drop, text, etc), and the Triggers and States features let you customize what happens based on the user's actions. You can basically build a choose-your-own-adventure activity.
  • The basics of Storyline are easy to learn. When you open Storyline for the first time, you can immediately start building simple activities with minimal training. That said, you'll want to refer to the online video tutorials to learn the advanced features.
  • Once you've created an activity, you can publish it in multiple formats, including web format, mobile, SCORM, and Word. I usually publish an activity to both web format and Word (which I then convert to PDF). The Word/PDF version serves as a transcript of the interactive version for people with auditory disabilities.
  • Learning the more advanced features of Storyline does take some time. When I was learning Storyline, I was able to set aside about 45 minutes at the beginning of each day to watch 1 or 2 tutorial videos and then practice what I had just learned. I got up to speed very quickly this way! And once you have some advanced skills with Storyline, that's where the fun really begins!
  • Some of the output options aren't ideal. For example, you can publish an activity to a DVD, but the output is an exe file, which some computers won't run. Also the Word doc output is fairly terrible looking. (Although, if you have a little skill with Word styles, you can easily fit it up.)
Do you want to create an interactive learning activity? Are you prepared to rework your content into a format that allows users to take the reins and decide how they want to move through the content (rather than you giving them the content in a linear fashion)? Do you have time to invest in learning how to use the advanced features of this software? If yes, then I would highly recommend Storyline.
Read Louisa Fricker's full review

About Articulate Storyline

Articulate Storyline 2 is designed to make it easy to create any interactive e-learning a user can imagine. The vendor’s value proposition is that it’s simple enough for beginners yet powerful enough for experts.

Articulate Storyline 2 is sold as a perpetual license. The latest version of Storyline is continuously updated with new features. The vendor offers a free 30-day trial.

Articulate Storyline Features

Has featureGet started building courses right away, without any training. Storyline is so intuitive to use, even beginners ramp up quickly.
Has featureCreate engaging interactivity, easily. If you can imagine an interaction, you can easily build it with Storyline. Let learners click, hover over, or drag any object to trigger any action. Build engaging interactions in minutes with buttons, sliders, markers, and hotspots. And create dynamic, personalized interactivity with intuitive variables—no programming required.
Has featureBuild immersive, engaging learner experiences with video and simulations. Record screen activity, add screencasts from Articulate Replay, and import any type of video. To create software simulations simply record your screen once, then edit whenever and however you want.
Has featureAssess learners any way you want. Turn objects on your slide into a decision-making activity–or use 25 different question types to create quizzes quickly. You can test throughout your course to get a clear view of performance, and combine results from multiple quizzes for a final score.
Has featureMake it easy for every learner to access your content. Storyline supports right-to-left languages and double-byte character sets and includes Section 508 and WCAG support.
Has featureReach learners on virtually any device with HTML5 and Flash publishing options (Storyline 2) and a fully responsive player (Storyline 360 only).
Has featurePublish for learning management systems with Tin Can API 1.0, SCORM, and AICC support.

Articulate Storyline Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Articulate Storyline Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

Articulate Storyline Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android