Cohesity Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Scott Noel | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Overall Satisfaction with Cohesity

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
  • Make adding items to be backed up easy.
  • The search feature for file restore is quick.
  • The restore process is quick.
  • Improvement in the accuracy of their documentation.
  • Remove the amount of times you need to log in to view support info.
They are always friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The support is easy to reach and the reaction times are on point. Several times I had called with my system being down and the person who answered the call would require a support rep call me back. Some of these call backs would be 1-2 hours later. When needed, the support will scale up to deliver the right support for the right cases. When asking for detailed information about a problem they always help you to understand the problem and the underlying causes better.
Read Scott Noel's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

I'll buy Cohesity again

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 4 units spread across several data centers and on-premise locations. Two units used as a File Server and 2 units used as a repository for backups.
  • Intuitive user Interface.
  • Good reporting and metrics.
  • Setup was not very easy, not intuitive.
  • Ability for multi-tenant (VLAN) was not quite there yet.
Very good for File Server applications. Maybe not so good for only a repository, at least not yet.
Support is very good. Especially the technical sales rep. Always helping us along the way.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Easy data protection!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is currently being used on our environment for backup and recovery of structured and unstructured data. We also use the replication feature to replicate all data off-site for disaster recovery. We use Cohesity to backup Microsoft SQL databases as well and have given our DBA's ability to backup and restore databases for themselves. It's currently only used within our technology department but could be used in the future by other admins throughout the district to restore data on their own, thus alleviating this task from our department. We were using EMC networker and backing up data to Datadomain, and I can tell you had the backup and recovery software and storage all is one is easier to manage.
  • Cohesity restores data well.
  • It can de-duplicate data very well.
  • The alerts sent out could be more descriptive.
  • It would be nice to be able to restore Active directory objects.
Cohesity is well suited to use for backing up and restoring all data. It's also useful for deploying CIF shares that would be used for storing secondary data like analytical information. I really can't think of any scenarios where this would be less appropriate.
Cohesity support is incredible. Every time I've had to call them with an issue, the first person I spoke with was able to solve my issue. They also have an excellent support library of white pages. They also, proactively, keep you up to date with any patches to the appliance or the client software.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
Joshua Van Camp | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

A swiss army knife for your data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity was brought into our organization as a replacement for traditional magnetic tape backups. We also were looking for a replacement for legacy NAS devices for the storage of unstructured data like home and user drives across the organization.
  • Backups - Cohesity makes it very easy to backup our VMware environment. They also have specialized backups for Active Directory, SQL, O365 Email, and legacy storage devices.
  • File services - Cohesity allows us to easily provision new SMB file shares.
  • Replication performance - We needed support to provide some customizations in order to get our replication to work properly to another offsite cluster. We have been told that this issue is fixed in the newest general release.
  • Support - I would characterize the support as very good, but in a few instances I could tell my support agent needed to go higher up his chain to get clarification on features. I believe Cohesity is rapidly growing their support infrastructure as they put more hardware in the field.
Cohesity does a great job with VMware backups and NAS backups. Once configured and running, we are backing up nearly 80 VMs and 30+ TB of logical data in less than 2 hours on 10GB links. File services are quick and easy to provision. Cohesity has a lot of tools and is working to add additional value to the functions it performs. We are now able to back up our O365 mailboxes via Cohesity which was a nice feature we didn't even know we were getting. I am not sure where this product would struggle. Our setup is probably on the smaller side so I can vouch for operations at scale, but all of the other reading I have done in my research indicates this has not been an issue for others.
Good support organization that feels like they are rapidly scaling.
Read Joshua Van Camp's full review
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Cohesity offers reliability - finally!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Cohesity is only being used by IT. We are working on the ability for end-users to log into the portal to be able to restore files that they own (primarily in their own user profile). This product is our backup and recovery solution and it has been a fantastic improvement over our previous utility. IT has been able to eliminate the use of tapes in our environment and speed up the restoration of files due to the elastic search function.
  • The elastic search function allows us to find the files we need to restore even when the user can't remember.
  • The back ups are reliable and do not need hand holding.
  • I would like to see an easier filtering mechanism on the elastic search.
We are an all on-prem shop. This solution will allow us to back up our cloud-based servers once we move in that direction. I have tested all of the features and functionality in terms of back up and restores. I'm thrilled with the product. It even helped us during the Server 2008 migration as it allowed us to move databases between servers and it even had backups of the servers that we could restore to in an instant if necessary.
Not very many implementations are smooth. I have had quite a few conversations with support on various issues (most pertaining to SQL and my lack of understanding). The support team at Cohesity is engaging and driven to find solutions. They actually seem to care about my situation and my environment, which is in stark contrast to products that I've used before.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Modern backup with single pane of glass management and great data reduction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity in our organisation mainly as a backup product. This is for backups of vmware vcenter environments, Office 365 mailboxes, SMB and NFS file shares, Oracle and SQL. It is used to replicate our backup data to our remote site as well as archive to the cloud when required.
  • Data reduction
  • Replication
  • Integration with vcenter
  • NFS file shares
  • SMB file shares
Cohesity is particularly well suited to backups of vcenter and physical server environments. It falls a little short in provision of 'views' or shares to be used by appliances to carry out backups. e.g. you can provision an NFS share 'view' in Cohesity but Cisco Firepower will not accept it as a backup location.
Pre-sales support in particular was great. On-going support has been up and down depending on the type of issue.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

A great value for our enterprise!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Cohesity as our primary data backup, archival/restore platform, BUT, we have also incorporated this platform as part of our enterprise NAS (secondary NAS). So far, things are going well, but we do have a learning curve that we are trying to get through and utilize this technology to its fullest capability. Backups are primarily SQL databases, file level backups and all our VM backups (as Cohesity replaced the previous VM backup system).
  • Extremely streamline admin controls for our SAs.
  • Excellent account team and backend support.
  • Competitive pricing.
  • Data platform/encryption is solid.
  • Would like to see a broader analytics offering, including data management & security offerings.
Cohesity is scalable enough to be a larger enterprise storage solution and flexible enough for a mid-sized organization like us.
Technical support is spot on!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Great Product That Does What It Is Supposed To

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our experience with the Cohesity DataProtect Platform has been overwhelmingly positive as we been able to manage our 500+ VMs and physical servers with only a few backup policies. Backups: VMs are currently being added to jobs automatically through tagging. But, we also manually add VMs to jobs at times as we need to split up the load of VMs to multiple backup jobs. We try to keep a ratio of 15 VMs to 1 job. After getting a Cohesity Agent on a SQL server and syncing it with Cohesity, it is simple to set a backup/retention schedule for Log, Incremental, and Full backups based on policy. We utilize the Cohesity APIs to produce daily reports on jobs that have succeeded, failed, paused, etc. We send an email to our Systems team with this information and log it in a .csv. This allows us to give a timeline to backup auditors as well as let us know when something isn't going right. Restores: We have used Cohesity to restore granular files as well as restore SQL databases. VM's restore to vSphere directly. VM's typically restore quite quickly and work right away as long as they're restored to the original vSphere they came from. Individual files can be searched on multiple VM backups and downloaded locally or placed back on source machine. SQL Databases can be restored to any SQL server instance, not only the original. As long as the SQL versions match. *We have had some luck restoring databases from older SQL versions to newer SQL versions.
  • Intuitive user Interface.
  • Good reporting and metrics.
  • Cohesity restores data well.
  • Replication performance - We needed support to provide some customizations in order to get our replication to work properly to another offsite cluster. We have been told that this issue is fixed in the newest general release.
  • Support - I would characterize the support as very good, but in a few instances I could tell my support agent needed to go higher up his chain to get clarification on features. I believe Cohesity is rapidly growing their support infrastructure as they put more hardware in the field.
Reliable backup solution with many options and friendly/logical backup/restore infrastructure.
Cohesity has been very responsive to support requests and resolved issues in a timely manner. They openly assist in filling in knowledge gaps about the application. So far they have been a great company to work with and the appliance has had the least number of errors in backup and restore when compared to the other POCs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Cohesity: Great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our primary initiative was with the Cohesity Data platform, and we used it as a SaaS solution tied to our Amazon cloud. It has consolidated all of our applications, containers, backups, etc. onto a single pane of glass for super simple management, remediation, and repair if it's needed. We love it.
  • Consolidation
  • Data management
  • Pricing
  • Automation
We really like the simplification, consolidation, and ease of management that the Cohesity solution we went with provides to us. It's a great way to save time, money, and effort, freeing up our resources for other things. The consolidation and right-sizing of the solution in the cloud are also really nice and help save lots of money.
I can't really complain about the Cohesity support and maintenance that we've received so far. Everything has been great, and when we have had small issues, we've always gotten a quick response from the support team, and have never had an issue extend more than 6 hours up to this point.
Read this authenticated review
Carl Holzhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Cohesity - It just works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cohesity across 7 locations to backup and replicate our data. Cohesity allows us to have several copies of our data in different data centers.
  • We use replication heavily to get data from one site to another, letting us get data out of areas that are more subject to natural disasters.
  • The user interface for Cohesity is simple and easy to use; folks that don't use it often have no problem picking it up quickly.
  • We attempted to use the archive feature to copy data to AWS, but this hasn't really worked out well for us.
  • I wish they would run a mailing list that informed of new versions or problems that others are seeing with the product.
Cohesity works well if you're attempting to consolidate your data center or if you're trying to get the most out of your investment because of their focus on hyper-convergence.
It used to be a little lacking, but it's getting much better.
Read Carl Holzhauer's full review
Pranav Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

The best hyperconverged secondary storage in the market!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It all started with one Cohesity box, and currently we have 8 fully populated systems across locations. Cohesity is a blend of cost-effective storage designed for secondary or archival data, and integrates well with a number of other systems like Vmware, PureStorage, or AWS with its large array of APIs available to the user. We are using it for backing up VMs, indexing data, and restoring data, and it's lightning fast. At the same time the data compression and dedup is robust and best among the products we came across.
  • Backing data (VMs , physical servers, NFS volumes, Pure storage volumes, etc.)
  • Running splunk cold buckets.
  • FIles and folder level restoration.
  • Disaster recovery planning and replication.
  • Support.
  • Stable releases.
  • Bug fixes.
It's perfect for handling your secondary and archival data. It can replace the legacy backup solutions and tape libraries, and integrate with and leverage most of the available public clouds. Also, they have a virtual cloud edition for AWS, which you can use to take maximum advantage of a hybrid kind of environment. You can also use it to offload snapshots from your costly tier 1 storage like Pure.
Initially, support was not very proactive, and there were a lot of issues with the first few releases. Being an early adopter we had to go through the evolution phase of this product, which was at times painful. There were very frequent releases and bug fixes, but with time, support has improved considerably and is on par with most of the other vendors.
Read Pranav Sharma's full review
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

A great value for Data Protection with many bonuses that weren't expected!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is now being used across the organization for two primary purposes and several secondary uses. The main use was originally as our secondary storage and data protection. It is fully utilized for this. We also now use it increasingly for file services, moving old NAS units to Cohesity workloads. Finally, we also take advantage of our Cohesity units for file analytics via the Marketplace apps.
  • Indexed dedup while staying compressed and encrypted at rest and in-transit.
  • An easy interface for my non-admin IT staff to be able to work with the system.
  • We've seen a drastic reduction in our replication traffic for off-site data protection.
  • Seamless archival to Azure blob storage.
  • Short backup windows compared to our previous software.
  • More apps for the Marketplace are needed!
  • While it is great that they offer many backup options for cloud offerings, I would like to see some more, like Teams.
This is a great solution for a company working to get off of tape and into the cloud for data archival. They offer options for starting out connecting to tapes, but make it very easy to move those workloads to a cloud replication in small increments, so that no databox or similar services are needed to forklift data into the CSP.
They are also very good for Hyper-V, and my company found hard to find a good vendor for this need. They seamlessly support Hyper-V 2016, with support for clusters, VMM, and many other scenarios.
We have had consistently quick and attentive support. Their engineering has developed new features and fixes for us many times, without much wait. New features are coming out consistently, and support has always been ready to support them out of the gate, which is unique among the DP vendors I have worked with. Ultimately the relationship with a DP vendor is only as good as the support you get, and Cohesity's has been great so far!
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

The backup solution and secondary storage device we were looking for!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was easy to implement and do a POC. After it was shown to be the superior product it was easy to flip to production.
Issues have been dealt with promptly or put on the roadmap for a future release. Backup and restore became as easy as they're supposed to be.
  • The various ways to quickly reover data. Cloning and instant volume mounts (Exchange restores) have been great options.
  • Ability to use it as secondary storage for VMDK's that don't need to be on Tier 1.
  • Using it as a NAS device.
  • Ability to backup Isilon!
  • Mainly cosmetic stuff that is currently being addressed.
  • Expiration times for clones.
Well suited for backups of an entire virtual environment with an agent to catch any physical server. Using as a NAS/filer to store your data and protect it at the same time. Replicating data for DR off-site has worked great. The option to use a clone to test or verify settings without bringing a VM back fully online is great.
There have been bumps, especially as they have grown. But they have handled them very well and I believe are behind them now. It's easy to get someone that can help and resolve the issues. If it's something that needs a system change, they have worked through that and submitted to get it taken care of; along with interfacing with the engineering team to get that done.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Miranda de Wilde | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Cohesity works for Fundaments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a cloud provider and have two Cohesity clusters. In these clusters, we have a total of 20 nodes (hardware C2500 and C2505) with a total of 24.5 TB Storage Capacity for Metadata. Our customers have protection jobs with their
own storage domain.
With this, we provide our customers with a reliable backup solution. Customers can restore backups themselves, both on file and VM levels. Backups for O365 are also slowly getting there. Even when it is in the cloud, customers still want this environment to be backed up 'locally'.
We ourselves make internal use of all the above functions and the Active directory backup option. We are very satisfied with this.
  • Backing all kinds data (VM, O365, NFS volumes, etc.)
  • Restoring data to vCenter
  • Make faster releases on the outcome of new products (e.g. update of VMware)
  • Backup other product like Sharepoint
As a cloud provider for customers, but also for your own environment, it’s suitable for most of your use cases. At the moment, except for Sharepoint, I can't think of anything we need that we can't back up as a cloud provider.
Support is fast and is always willing to help you get the product work as it is needed. They will not stop until they get you the solution.
Read Miranda de Wilde's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Cohesity is a polished backup solution which keeps improving and expanding capabilities.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity as our primary backup solution as well as leveraging the native cloud capabilities for DR purposes. We have a small cluster with room for a fourth node to grow in the future. Thus far it has really sped up our backup and restore times, as well as enabled us to increase our backup frequency. We did not need to increase our retention, although we more than likely could given the great dedupe and compression we are seeing with the solution. It mainly addressed the issue of costly collocation fees for offsite backup. Replacing our old solution with Cohesity and cloud blob storage has been a monetary benefit.
  • Instant spin up of test and dev machines is pretty amazing. Our last solution claimed to do this but the backing storage was much too slow t be of use.
  • Uploads to the cloud are simple to set up and you can leverage low cost blob storage.
  • The cluster nature of the solution makes upgrades seamless with zero downtime.
  • The entire cluster fits in 2U of space -- we are saving 8U in our main datacenter and all 6U we previously had offsite.
  • Reporting is still a little rough around the edges. The current release is 6.1; the next release of 6.3 is supposed to address this.
  • Software update schedules seem to slip. I suppose this is better than releasing buggy code, though.
  • I'd like better visibility as to which workloads were contributing what to storage space, especially cloud storage space which can be assessed a specific cost.
  • The runbook functionality that is coming will need to be very capable in order for us to adopt it. No cost tie in to Helios are critical for this to work as sales has outlined it.
Cohesity is best suited for a highly virtualized environment, although they do have agents for bare metal. But who runs non-virtualized workloads these days anyhow? Not any organization which would invest in best class backup, anyhow.

We find that the search features make file-level restores so much easier -- now a partial filename is all we need to get going, and we can see a file's change history by date so we no longer have to hunt for the last changed version. You will want 10GB network capability for this solution to really shine -- each node has dual SFP+ connections for data.
On the East coast I am used to getting support from the other side of the globe when I arrive in the morning, which is always a bit tough. With Cohesity, I speak to someone in Ireland who knows the product well and whose accent is not a hindrance to communication. At midday support shifts to North Carolina, where the agents are equally knowledgeable. I've always been able to rely on them for solutions to issues, even if it is a small patch until the next release comes out.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Cohesity: A better backup solution than a file solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
  • Make adding items to be backuped easy.
  • The search feature for file restore is quick.
  • The restore process is quick.
  • Improvement in the accuracy of their documentation
  • Remove the amount of times you need to log in to view support info
I enjoy Cohesity as a backup solution. When it works it does a great job at providing a backup solution. If there is ever a need to engage with the support staff they are very knowledgeable and eager to assist. Finding files or VMs is quick and easy to locate the item to restore and the speed of restore is quick. I would score them higher but the documentation that they provide you will isn't always accurate. They have provided me with knowledge base articles in an attempt to easily resolve my issue only to find that there were steps missing.
The support staff is knowledgeable and eager to help. I would have rated them higher in support but several times I had called with my system being down and the person who answered the call would require a support rep call me back. Some of these call backs would be 1-2 hours later.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Good Product, Poor Support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is backing up all of our NAS shares, SQL data, and VMs. The only complaint I could have is that the Support team is slow to respond to significant issues. The product itself is great, as long as you can get answers from Support when needed. I would recommend this product to other administrators.
  • Backing up all of our NAS shares.
  • Backing up all of our SQL data.
  • Backing up all of our VMs.
  • Support team is lacking in response times.
  • Account team doesn't step in until or offer assistance until customer gets frustrated.
Cohesity backups are great, though when things don't work it is a significant issue. Upgrades are really easy to perform and can be done at any time. That is a nice feature, as our previous backup solution involved an entire day's worth of upgrade. It was really really terrible. This is much nicer.
Support is slow to respond on major issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Impressive product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to backup VMware environment, SQL and Exchange servers. We have two clusters that replicate to each other; this process is also very fast. GUI is simple and very responsive. Implementation took only a few hours and backups begin the same day it has been physically racked.
  • Instant mass restore
  • Cloud archiving
  • Incremental forever
  • Very easy to operate
  • Helios Cloud
  • Have more storage vendor compatibility
  • O365 One Drive backups (but it is coming)
If you have may VM's to restore, Cohesity is the product to use. You can recover VM's in a few minutes. Cloud archiving is very easy too. DR is great too. I am replicating to another cluster in my DR center and the transfer speed is very fast.

If you want to take the "snapshots" at the storage level instead of VMware, it is only compatible with Hyperflex and Pure Storage.
Support is great. They answer kindly and quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Cohesity our solution to Back-up as a Service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP in the Netherlands. We use Cohesity to back-up all our own systems and a lot of systems of our customers. We offer back-up as a service for our customers with Cohesity. The interface and scalability makes it very easy for us to provide back-up as a service.

For either ourselves or our customers it helps in the business continuity and disaster recovery. We can restore files/folders/VM's very quickly when needed.
  • Easy to learn
  • Scalability
  • Folder/File Restores
  • Support
  • In the first few years the software parts could use some improvement, it is getting better with every update though.
  • The layout of how to implement Cohesity needs to be thought of before hand. Changing it after implementation is time consuming.
  • It is very well suited for back-up on a large scale. Also scaling and growing the Cohesity cluster with time is very easy.
  • It is not as fully developed yet as Veeam as an allround backup solution but it's getting there.
Support for us has been very good. Every support ticket (even just general questions) is answered very quickly and to full extent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2019

Cohesity: backup for your virtual environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a managed service provider (MSP) in the Netherlands that were the first adopters of the product in our country. We use it for backing up all our client's virtual machines throughout data centers in the Netherlands. We run the Fundaments Cloud and deliver Infrastructure as a service. Cohesity delivers a multi-tenant portal for the backups and provides a plugin for vCloud Director. It can backup thousands of virtual machines without scaling issues.
  • Backups of virtual machines with VMware products.
  • Scale-out storage, no more issues with running out of disk space with your backups.
  • Multi-tenant possibilities that help us solve the issue of letting clients be in control of their own backups as a managed service provider.
  • Further adopting managed service providers.
It's well suited when you need a scale-out storage system that scales with a growing organization. When running a small environment, however, with a few hosts and a few VMs for an office environment the investment is steep.
Support is quick and understanding and technically skilled in fixing your issues. The response time is good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Backup and archive at a glance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is used to replace our older backup and archive solutions because they are too old and expensive.
We currently mainly use it to back up our VMWare virtual desktop and server environment. We are also archiving our Microsoft Exchange email environment to the Cohesity cluster. It could also be a potential solution in the future for file server archiving.
  • Easy setup of backup policies within the UI
  • Creation of backup jobs is very straightforward with all necessary options but without being overloaded
  • Grouping of backups to backup groups makes admins live much easier
  • Restore of files and VMs is very easy
It's a very good solution for backups, restores and archiving. That's where it is meant to be and for me, that's what Cohesity fulfills.
The support from Cohesity is done from real engineers. Very often you get a solution response at the first contact. I have, until today, never seen that a case has been opened by "log a route" without any useful feedback. They have 24/7 support and if necessary you can reach a support engineer within a very short time.
The resolution time and quality are awesome!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Cohesity - Great and cool product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cohesity is being used by our engineers to manage our data and storage. We use Cohesity to separate different clients and to give them storage as a service and backups with this as well. It addresses multiple problems we faced before like management of backups and different kinds of storage. Also it fixes our management skills as a reseller.
  • The support of Cohesity is very good.
  • Cohesity is very good at marketing and has a strong brand.
  • Cohesity has a great insightful, easy-to-learn product.
  • Some security features could be implemented better.
When managing different data stores and clients Cohesity comes in perfectly. It manages all the data from different clients with an insightful dashboard as to were other products are not likely to have this. Also the backups functionality and the different options offered here are great for reselling the storage as an MSP.
They are always friendly and helpful. The support is easy to reach and the reaction times are on point. When needed, the support will scale up to deliver the right support for the right cases. When asking for detailed information about a problem they always help you to understand the problem and the underlying causes better.
Read this authenticated review
joey diniz | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

All in one backup solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity to backup our entire VMWare environment.
  • Cohesity is a well packaged all in one backup solution.
  • Being able to back up to another Cohesity cluster and/or to the cloud for redundancy is nice.
  • Being able to use storage not being used by backups for simple file shares is an added bonus.
  • Setting up protection jobs can use a little work.
  • Updating can be a little tedious as you have to go to a web page to pull the latest update instead of being able to update from within the UI.
If you want a versatile backup solution that can handle your backup needs. With added features that are not available with other solutions, i.e. creating shares from the cluster, apps that look into your backup data for compliance and more.
Read joey diniz's full review
Mike O'Rourke | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2019

Easy to implement and use. Set it up and practically forget about it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is being used across the entire organization for data backups, protection, and part of our disaster recovery options. We replicate backups across sites and archive to the cloud. It is also used for temporary development and test environments.
  • The user interface is very easy to learn and operate
  • Deployment of the platform takes about an hour from unboxing, racking, to setting up your first backup jobs.
  • Tech support is very responsive and follows through
  • The physical device agent is a bit quirky but has come a long way and improvements are being made all the time
I am sure there are some areas where this may not be well suited but I am not aware of them. This product provides data protection and NAS storage that is indexed and searchable. Its fast and has a small rack footprint.
Read Mike O'Rourke's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Sometimes New Really is Better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is currently being used for data protection and secondary storage. It will expand to disaster recovery in 2020. It is being used for our corporate datacenter and thus protects us organization wide. It addressed low backup job success rates and offloading secondary storage onto cheaper disk. In addition we will implement its analytics capability for archive, GDPR compliance checks, and PII identification.
  • Data protection has been rock solid.
  • Support and customer service is responsive and knowledgeable as well as courteous.
  • Secondary storage (SMB/NFS) work as advertised and save us money.
  • The web UI still needs a little refining especially around the wording in alerts and messages to users.
  • International sales resources in APAC.
Using Cohesity for data protection is amazing. They are the Uber of the data protection world. Setting up sources and targets is so simple. The backup procedures are crisp, and the results speak for themselves. 99%+ success rate since install.
Less appropriate would be backing up really old legacy apps that need specialized plugins or agents. i.e. Lotus Nnotes or something like that.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (40)
8.9
Live recovery (42)
9.1
Recovery verification (37)
8.4
Business application protection (40)
7.8
Multiple backup destinations (41)
8.5
Incremental backup identification (42)
8.9
Backup to the cloud (34)
8.6
Deduplication and file compression (44)
9.3
Snapshots (40)
9.5
Flexible deployment (40)
8.7
Management dashboard (44)
8.6
Platform support (44)
8.7
Retention options (44)
9.3
Encryption (41)
9.2

About Cohesity

Cohesity DataProtect is a comprehensive data backup and recovery software product from Cohesity, an enterprise software company based in San Jose, California, focused on eliminating mass data fragmentation and consolidating silos.

DataProtect utilizes Cohesity’s DataPlatform service which is designed to consolidate secondary storage and associated workflows, to provide users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

Key Features

● Hyperconverged data protection eliminates need for separate backup software, target storage, proxy and media servers, and cloud gateways

● Unified user interface for managing and provisioning data protect services, connected via core to cloud and edge

● Policy-based automation; users can assign policies to one or all jobs globally to automate operations and meet business SLA requirements


Categories:  Data Center Backup

Cohesity Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No