Hubstaff Reviews

12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Mary Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Indispensable for a distributed team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hubstaff is being used across the whole organization to track employees' time. We have a distributed team. People who work remotely often are in different time zones, so we needed a reliable and straightforward way to track their time at work.
  • Works even offline, then sends data to the server once internet access is restored.
  • Allows time tracking from different devices (but not simultaneously, of course!)
  • It seems to be optimized for Windows. Our devs had problems with it on Ubuntu.
  • Sometimes freezes after updates, and no time is saved.
- Allows you to monitor employee activities during work hours
- Shows detailed statistics
- Allows to select project
- Doesn't track time when there is no activity
Read Mary Cooper's full review
David Judge | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

How Hubstaff saved me 22k in the first year

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

When we first started using Hubstaff we were running teams out of India and the Philippines and about 6 years ago transitioned to just the Philippines. We started with about 20 people in the office and as of right now employ just over 200 people with it growing every week. We have team leaders, HR managers, admin that all use Hubstaff for different purposes.


Hubstaff has helped improve the way we invoice clients, it’s allowed the support team to flag any concerns with the teams they manage, it’s helped us to better understand time benchmarking through external integrations and most importantly has given us a controlled method to continue to scale a business that is running across multiple countries as if they are all in the one space.
  • Support - Each time we've had an issue the people in support have been able to identify an issue and then work with us to resolve.
  • Roll out of features - Throughout the years we've been using Hubstaff they have continued to roll out 'add-on' features that support time tracking.
  • I know this is something they are working on but will mention here. There is a function in Hubstaff where you can enter a person's start and finish time. If a person is 30 mins early (as an example) it doesn't adjust the start time of the person from when they actually started. This means if they start 30 mins early and finish 30 mins early it that team member is flagged as abandoning shift.
Hubstaff is good for tracking the time and performance of a person or a team of people. I have started looking at how we can use Hubstaff across Australian and Philippines teams and having the Australian team install the app on their devices and tracking their location and job they are working on. This is while the staff in the Philippines are working on their local machines with Hubstaff tracking their local tasks. This can all be connected to third party project management software (Via API) and the tasks from the management software show in the Hubstaff tracker allowing you to see how much time the staff across 2 countries are spending on tasks each week.
Read David Judge's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Hubstaff for all your employee monitoring needs!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization, Hubstaff is used by various contractors across different firms to help more efficiently track their productivity and workflow. Most full-time employees use in-house solutions to this, but out-sourced employees very often use Hubstaff.
  • Workflow management - Hubstaff makes it super easy to track your workflow and make changes. With an easy to use UI, this whole process is streamlined as a result of increased organization.
  • Time tracking - With Hubstaff, users don't have to take the time to enter when they start and stop working manually. Hubstaff tracks this automatically with great accuracy, so the user doesn't have to worry about mistakes or to take the extra time to do it themselves.
  • Price - Hubstaff is more expensive than some other competitors. There are some advantages to it, but the price is still always a factor.
  • Project dashboard - Hubstadd lacks here because it doesn't have this feature at all. It's not required, but it does make things nicer to look at.
Hubstaff is perfectly suited for budget planning, workflow management, time tracking, and internet monitoring. It's excellent anywhere from large companies down to individual freelancers. An instance where Hubstaff might not be the best is if you value having a project dashboard, to-do lists, or tags.
Read this authenticated review
Eligreg Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

A wonderful and affordable app to track your time

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hubstaff is the ultimate tool for remote teams. Our employers are very happy with the service since it allows them to track all of our activities and see from our own POV the process we're following to accomplish our goals. It allows us to keep track of the exact time and the activity percentage we're performing as employees.
  • Track time
  • Track activity
  • Manage tasks
  • Measure activity even when still - sometimes you're watching a video, reading or having a video call.
  • Have better compatibility with WIN 10.
  • Set working time (in case we forget to press play).
Remote employers love this software: You can track your employees' time while seeing what they're up to and how they're achieving their goals. Remote workers... not so much. Maybe, sometimes it can be a little overwhelming. It's nice to be able to track your time precisely but having to be active at the keyboard or mouse all the time can even be detrimental to your health. To be able to reach an activity level above 90% people should be really active all the time and a lot of employers don't understand that people aren't always clicking, sometimes it's just enough to be thinking about what you're doing.
Read Eligreg Lopez's full review
Rohit Langde | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Solid and Effective Time Tracker

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hubstaff is used by the whole organization (apart from administrators) as a time tracking tool. Having remote employees, it helps us to keep track of the working hours and patterns of employees. With Hubstaff in place, they don't have to report to us about what are they working on and how much they did. It also solved our problem of attendance and payments thanks to inbuilt modules.
  • Includes Productivity Percentage in Daily Reports
  • Affordable Pricing
  • Inbuilt Payment Tracking Option
  • Cannot have Custom Number of users like 4 or 7. You have to choose from the set given.
  • Admin even though not tracked is billed.
  • Cannot set inactivity nag/reminder for user.
Hubstaff is well suited for almost any size of businesses whether small or big. We are using it for tracking our remote employees but should be applicable as well as for the in-house team. However, the features given like Hubstaff Talent, Tasks and Payment, it is more suited to remote team management company.
Read Rohit Langde's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Hubstaff - visibility into your workforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a fully remote agency organization and that sounds like it could be hard to manage. But, with Hubstaff it's actually pretty easy. Hubstaff allows us to break down our time to make sure we're allocating it correctly to different clients and projects, and it helps us ensure that people are held accountable for the work they do. We tie it in with our HR platforms so everyone who is hourly is also accurately paid, down to the second. Hubstaff addresses the issue that we have of ensuring everyone from top to bottom is on task when you can't physically walk up to them and check in. It also measures activity, so we understand as a business that works on computers every day for every task, if you're just sitting there with the screen pulled up or if you're actively working.
  • Time tracking -- it tracks your time, and time across various projects (and even down to a task level), down to the second, so every moment of the workday is accounted for
  • Screen shots and activity - when you're actively tracking time, it measures your activity with your computer. It also takes screenshots every 3 minutes, so we can see if you had 98% activity that you weren't just playing a computer game.
  • Reporting - it's really clear to get reports on activity, on individual users, departments, certain tasks, certain projects, etc.
  • I wish it had some sort of way to denote "away from desk" work. It drops your activity to zero, it tells you you're idle if you're using the desktop agent and tries to take that time away, it would be helpful for those times where you're maybe in a meeting or on a call or something without a computer.
  • The reporting isn't real time. There's about a 15 minute lag between the reports and the desktop app. The desktop app and phone app don't really talk to each other so if you clock time on the phone app for a wihle and then move to the desktop app, the desktop app really doesn't sync, so you're forced to check time in a report
  • I wish there was a little more role based permission customization. Like, I'd love for someone to be able to manage a client and run that client's time, but not see my screenshot activity when billing to that client.
It's really great for agencies, remote workers, companies with hourly employees, but very specifically works best if those employees spend their day working on a computer, or where the majority of their tasks are computer based. I wouldn't recommend it for jobs where the worker is not actively on a computer (i.e. construction, etc). Contractors with multiple clients can also plug into their client's Hubstaff instance, which can be extremely helpful if you have a lot of hourly contractors you work with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

Cool tool to use for tracking time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hubstaff to track the time our contractors/consultants are spending on our projects. It is mostly used by the IT department.
  • Customer support
  • The reporting is a bit complicated.
  • There is some bug for the sync up between the Mac App and the web app. Sometimes the time is getting lost temporary which causes uncertainty for the contractors.
It is appropriate for IT teams where you can track the time. Not really appropriate for creative work, though.
Read this authenticated review

About Hubstaff

Easy time tracking software with features like screenshots, activity monitoring, automatic payroll, advanced reports, real time tracking and GPS. Both online and offline tracking capabilities. Also available for Apple, Windows, Linux and iOS. Integrates with 30+ popular tools, like Trello, Asana, Podio and PayPal.

According to the vendor, Hubstaff is ideal for remote teams, SMBs and consultants/freelancers. It is trusted and used by over 8,000 remote teams. No matter how many projects or different teams you have, they can all be under the same account, in separate projects. Also, different employees can have different settings and permissions.

Hubstaff Features

Has featureTime tracking
Has featureApp / URL tracking
Has featureInvoicing
Has featurePayroll
Has featureScreenshots
Has featureGPS

Hubstaff Screenshots

Hubstaff Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Hubstaff Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
20%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
70%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
0%

Hubstaff Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Hubstaff Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Google Chrome
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android