TrustRadius
Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool developed by 37signals and launched in 2004. The Ruby on Rails framework was extracted from the Basecamp project. Basecamp offers to-do lists, wiki-style web-based text documents, milestone management, file sharing, time tracking, and a messaging system. It also offers integration with 37signals' own Campfire product.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/zg/Dh/I80OEOGARRD3.PNGBasecamp: A great hub for your projects, campaigns and moreBasecamp was used as our companies main hub for project management. Anything from marketing campaigns to design requests were conducted through Basecamp in an effort to have a record of conversations, history, edits, and access to the appropriate materials across our whole organization. This platform specifically made it easier to keep everyone in the loop whenever necessary.,Easy-to-use Great UX Files were readily accessible Supports integration with other systems,Some frustrations with API limitations.,8,Allowed our company to quickly receive and gather feedback on any projects. Served as a cloud-based service for access to documents and files outside of the office. Cut down on the amount of time necessary to keep others in the loop during every step of a project.,Salesforce.com,Salesforce.comBasecamp for small team managementI used Basecamp for the first time when doing a collaboration with an external agency. I really liked it, then we started using Basecamp for our internal small team. We found the biggest use case in design, where multiple people had to give feedback and also track the progress. It was used to collect feedback, pass the project from Graphic Design, UX design, UI design, and finally, management approval.,User interface is very intuitive. It doesn't have tones of features, like Jira, which is the good part, it doesn't complicate the product. It has great project management. Everything is covered.,Mobile app is not up to par. The notifications are not configurable. The limited features can be annoying.,8,Eased the design process, got feedback quickly. Eased the marketing flow, helped get approvals quickly.,JIRA Software and AsanaBasecamp Project Management -- a lot of management for a small priceWe use Basecamp to manage all projects and clients in the company. Once a client is signed on, a project is set up in Basecamp, and Tasks, To-Dos, and Discussions are created and assigned to the appropriate person or department. Once a task is completed, it is checked off and marked as completed. Any team member can add to the project or reassign tasks as needed, whether it is a review of the task, or required additional information.,Easy project set up. Templates can be created for redundant projects or projects with similar tasks or set up. You can easily add users to a project or send messages to collaborators on a project.,A task or To-Do can not be assigned to multiple people. One task can only be assigned to one person. It's not too easy to get a round up of tasks or jobs that one person has, or exporting tasks or reassigning them in bulk. There is no rating system to Prioritize tasks or To-Dos.,9,Breaking out projects into tasks, and assigning them to the right person, has helped eliminate tasks falling through the cracks and finding out too late that something was not completed. Time is money and time management is money management -- being able to save time with good project management software helps save money and improves ROI.,,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Facebook for BusinessBasecamp Is The Core To SuccessWe use Basecamp internally with team members and external clients. It is being used and has been used company wide as it addresses two key problems that existed before we moved to Basecamp. First is keeping everyone up to date—the information is kept in one place. The second is when someone joins a team or project, Basecamp allows them to catch up without the need to send copies of emails and files as the newcomer can find all the information, discussions and files in one place.,File sharing Notes Ability to add or drop members,Deeper Google Drive integration Integration with Slack Better search,9,Basecamp has saved us time. The big benefit is reviewing progress on projects by external teams.,Trello,UberConference, Dialpad, Slack, G Suite, Zoom, Skype, Expensify, QuickBooks OnlineMy experience using BasecampBasecamp is being used in our organization as a tool to have the team communicate files, deadlines, and other items for large scale projects and during events. Basecamp is also used to add items into our Outlook calendars. It was used among our department on campus, but as of right now it is not being used. I am also not sure if other departments on campus are using it.,Nice to have all the information in one place. It's good to have all users able to see progress on a project. It's great to have certain files uploaded on it.,Having fewer places to add so many details. Having it be more user-friendly, and knowing how to use it without a long tutorial. More options to link Basecamp to Outlook.,7,Not sure, since I did not purchase the software myself.,Trello,Blackbaud NetCommunity, The Raisers EdgeAn easy to use project management tool!We used Basecamp to keep our start-up organized. Our company is a bag company for pet owners. We used Basecamp to keep our designs and materials organized by storing images within Basecamp. We were able to know exactly where we were and to keep track of our designs.,Allows you to organize scanned documents. Makes it easy for all team members to access all the necessary information. Provides an easy to use communication tool. Keeps track of due dates.,Minor issues with uploading.,10,Helped our employees stay in sync. Helped us avoid spending too much time looking for documents or information. Gave us an easy way to communicate in one place.,Asana,Asana, DropboxBasecamp Keeps Projects RollingWe use Basecamp across our entire organization to manage our various projects. Our company has over 200 clients, with 50+ projects ongoing at any given time, and a team of around 15 people. Basecamp has allowed our project managers to easily manage time, from ensuring that each employee is on track with assigned projects to also making sure no employee's workload is unmanageable. The biggest problem Basecamp solved for us was helping get every assignment out and to the client on time.,Easy to Use: managers can easily look at each person's assignments or things due on a particular day, and users can quickly see what's on their plate and notify project managers of updates, etc. People and Date Assignments: this feature and its ease of management were critical in our choice to use Basecamp. Daily Email Reminders: again, keeping up with assignments is made easy for the whole team with email updates in your inbox first thing each morning.,They have a team feature that we love that allows an entire team to communicate. The only downside is that projects cannot be assigned to a team, but rather you have to assign the project to each individual on the team.,10,We went from about 20% of projects taking longer than quoted to less than 5% within the first few months. On-time work = happy clients = continuing work for those clients.,QuickBooks Pro, Agorapulse, Google Ads (formerly AdWords)Basecamp - project management for everyone elseBasecamp is an all round project management tool that includes project management, chat functions and team collaboration tools. I use Basecamp primarily to manage remote teams for content marketing clients, though it has many other use cases. My teams collaborate on web projects and content for various clients and can easily check in and update tasks and assignments that are assigned to them.,Basecamp is a good team collaboration tool for managing media content and projects. You can share edits and comments on projects from within Basecamp and work with other team members and see what tasks they are working on. You can also share tasks and calendars all within the tool. Basecamps' check in feature is very valuable and interactive. If you run a team, you can get a daily summary of the tasks or activities your team members were up to. This can be automated and sent at a specific time. It is a great way to see what everyone has been working on. Basecamp's all in one suite one price is genius. Paying one price to get chat, storage, calendar, document editing and project management all for one price is a winner in my books. Basecamps' ability to integrate and work with other apps and tools is another valuable feature. This makes it a great hub for project management if say, you use another tool for communication, you can link it to your Basecamp and have full integration both ways in some instances. Basecamp does project management well, with reports and a feature called Hill Charts, you have a bird's-eye view on whether your projects are moving along well. This information is helpful to project managers and team members especially if you work on projects that have tight deadlines.,While Basecamps' all in one integration is great, some features feel a bit redundant. For example, in storage, you can find that you download a different version of a document, since it archives all versions of the same. In this case, using Google drive or dropbox would be best to give you the latest version of a document. Basecamp has a bit of a learning curve so you need your team to be vested into its features otherwise you may not get all your monies worth. While the all in one price is great, it would be good to see another price point option for say teams that are smaller and want to pay $50 or have some features removed. It is useful to have all the features at your disposal but if you do not use them all, you may feel it is a bit of a waste.,7,Basecamp has allowed my remote teams to work efficiently to complete projects on time. With a good overview of a project and the necessary reminders, everyone involved is able to add their part to a Basecamp project. Basecamp has also made personnel management easier with the Check In feature which has allowed my teams to provide detailed summaries of what the are working on.,JIRA Software, Trello and mondayBasecamp - the best camp you've ever seenBasecamp is used across the whole organization, linking HR or marketing departments with people from the board or IT department. Thanks to its features, it is much easier to manage some projects all together and notify about the progress of a particular process. It also solves problems with uploading files or their storage.,Files storage - you can access your files easily and in no time Notifications - there is no way to miss anything Task delegating - projects are managed in a clear, transparent way,Better mobile app - sometimes it doesn't work properly and mobile apps are important factors to me More functionalities in Campfire section Dashboard easy to customize,10,Basecamp helped save some time on delegating tasks, less e-mails are sent and everything is in one place Thanks to Basecamp we were able to resign from 3 other tools and now we have only this one Projects are managed smoothly,Teamwork Projects, Asana and Trello,Asana, Google Drive, Canva, Trello, Teamwork Projects, WordPressBasecamp - Great for holding teams accountable but does require creating a processCurrently, our entire organization uses Basecamp, however an emphasis is put on client-facing individuals using this tool. We have a separate project within Basecamp for each client, and then within each project we upload relevant documents and assign out to-dos. We also have some internal projects that we use for internal marketing and so that employees can access any internal documents like letterhead. Basecamp ensures that we all are on the same page about a project, and makes it easy to organize next steps and ensure that everyone is held accountable.,Helps maintain accountability - if everything is put within Basecamp, it's very easy to see when things are done and follow up on next steps. You can upload templates within Basecamp, so if you always have a series of to-dos for a new client or project, it can all very easily be automated. Encourages collaboration - you can easily tag people in a post and very clearly see within a thread what work has been done.,It would be nice if when creating a to-do for multiple people, it created a separate to-do for each person. Right now, if one person checks the to-do as 'done,' it's marked as completed for everyone. Sometimes the search leaves something to be desired - it will often have items come up that aren't super relevant to the search query. It would be nice if there were some more customization views for certain aspects (like to-dos) sometimes things can look very busy and it would be nice if there were a quicker and easier way to sort my all outstanding to-dos for everyone on that project, for example.,9,While it's difficult to put a specific ROI number to Basecamp, it's evident from our team's productivity and utilization rate that Basecamp has seriously helped. We didn't always utilize the to-dos as much as we do now, and that has greatly impacted efficiency and accountability.,FreshBooks, Slack, HarvestBasecamp is good for beginner users of Project Management toolsBasecamp is used by our non-profit organization to organize monthly and long term projects.,Messaging groups of people with project updates Many means of access- through mobile and desktop applications Easy to use,It's so easy for one project to turn into a jumble of many smaller pieces No hierarchy for projects No timeline. It's hard to keep timelines of project components clear,4,Basecamp has been a great place to work on monthly projects where the team members change over time. The archive feature is great and gives access to years of our projects all in one system. The free features are really wonderful for people just wanting to try it out, or for projects with no budget.,JIRA Software, Microsoft Project and Trello,Trello, JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence,No,Prior Experience with the Product,Starting a project and inviting people to join is a very smooth and easy process The mobile and desktop versions make the project easy to access The email digest feature works very well.,It is very difficult to keep the individual elements of a project organized. Inevitably three or more items of creative are discussed in the same message thread and approvals and files get mixed up.,Yes, but I don't use it,7When it comes to project management, it's hard to top Basecamp.Basecamp is used throughout the whole company. We're aggressively growing and acquiring new properties. We need to keep track of layouts, photos, logos, and more. Basecamp helps us do that. The construction, investments, finance, and marketing teams all have access and it's a great tool for us.,It's great for collaboration. When we acquire a new property, we need to consolidate all of its digital assets into one space. Multiple departments need to be able to access these assets. We have teams in 12 states and various timezones. Basecamp allows us to work together even though we're hundreds of miles apart. We recently updated our website, turning it into a huge corporate site with several microsites. When building this out, Basecamp was an essential tool working with external agencies. They would upload new wireframes and we could make comments and suggestions. It's a great project management tool. When you're working with internal and external stakeholders on multiple projects, Basecamp allows all of us to stay on target and work together.,Bulk download of files. Upload files larger than 10GB. Easier UX. The layout can be confusing, especially to those who are new to the platform.,8,Basecamp has reduced man-hours spent on projects. Basecamp has reduced my email inbox. Basecamp has reduced the number of platforms I need to be on.,Asana,AsanaBasecamp is Easy to UseWe use Basecamp to organize our client projects. It is our go-to project management software. It solves our need to manage many action items for 50+ different projects across team members.,Easy to use. Always innovating. Clear workflows.,Easier paths between versions of Basecamp.,10,It's been our go-to solution since day one for project management. It's had a positive impact on our ROI!,Zapier, Liquid-WebTry Basecamp first, you won't regret it.We use Basecamp across our whole organization, but it is key for our Development team. We manage over 20 individual apps: Windows, Web, Mobile. We run separate Basecamps for each application to track individual development tasks through ideation, coding, testing, debugging and release. We have used other apps in the past and looked at competitors, but the simplicity and unique approach provided by the Basecamp team suits our needs best in our agile workflow.,No nonsense pricing. I don't have to worry about adding seats or projects and paying more. Simple to use and customizable for each project. Keeps my inbox clean because I can track all our workflow without email and constant chat messages.,Some of our tasks lists are big, and the drag and drop reordering is a little glitchy sometimes. Most tools can be turned off if not needed, but I wish I could disable the Pings function also.,10,The simple pricing allowed us to use Basecamp in all parts of our organization. The cost of the app is low when compared to alternatives. The ease of use means we don't have to spend a lot of time training.,JIRA SoftwareBasecamp ReviewOrganization of project material and communication across multiple teams within the business.,Collaboration, file management, timekeeping.,9,Time savings.,25,5,We use this product as our main project management tool.,10,Implemented in-house,7,Self-taught,easy to learn - absolutely self explanatory,8,No,8,9,10,9,salesforce, rallyBasecamp will keep your team organized and on track!We've been using Basecamp for about 4-5 years now as a project management tool. The entire organization uses it to manage all of the various projects we have going at any given time. It's honestly made a huge difference in our ability to keep up with timelines, deadlines, notes, and documentation for each and every project. I 100% believe it has made our company more effective.,Allows for the creation of groups of To Do's under one project. The Activity Feed allows for a great overview of what's happening to be able to quickly see where things are Anyone can create a to do and assign it to anyone, so people are empowered to take ownership over projects. Is pretty easy and straightforward to get started and creating To Do's and Projects,No dependencies! I wish so much that dependencies were an option. So often we have to remember to manually assign the next To Do to someone after something has been completed and it's easy to forget this. So that this human error can be avoided, dependencies would help with this greatly. It took a long time for us to figure out how best to fit Basecamp into our work flow, who was responsible for what and how our processes would best work. It's great now but it probably took us a solid year before we got to the point where we had smoothed out the rough edges and felt like our processes worked perfectly within Basecamp. You sometimes have to be careful about where you are placing information: in the comment v. the note v. commenting on the list v. commenting on the To Do. Depending on who has been checked to received a notification, not everyone will receive the information. This isn't necessarily an issue; it just means you have to be very careful about where you are placing information and double-checking that the people you want to be notified will receive it.,9,We have far less meetings! Which is great. I think this has made us far more efficient, wasting time with meetings and getting more done. We are able to keep track of notes and progress on a project much more easily. I feel like things stay on track much better than before we had Basecamp. I think timelines and deadlines are kept very clear and everyone has clear expectations. This means people know exactly what they need to work on at any given time (and know what they will be working on next too). As bad as it sounds to say, I think before we had Basecamp, deadlines and timelines weren't very clear sometimes.,LOVE Basecamp!We are using Basecamp across the whole organization to facilitate communication internally and within clients while keeping track of everything in one place. This includes conversations, files, to-do lists and more. Overall, it helps us be more organized and efficient. It always us to stay on top of our to do list, reminds us when something is due and makes it easy for everyone to stay on top of client initiatives.,Easy to use Lots of great tools within one platform Increases accountability Efficient communication Keeps everyone in the loop internally and externally (employees/clients),Basecamp improves its platform often but there isn't always an easy way to upgrade from a version to another. For example: upgrading from Basecamp 1 to Basecamp 2 to Basecamp 3. In Basecamp 3, the thread with the latest update does not go to the top. The order stays depending on when the first message was sent so for big projects that last a long time, it is not easy to find the thread unless you have the latest response in your inbox. I miss the functionality in Basecamp 2 where you could see all of the to-do (assignments or not assigned) by clients. I wish we could use this for Basecamp 3. Instead when we go through weekly initiatives as a team, we need to make sure that to-dos are assigned and review it by employee rather than overall company.,10,We are more efficient and organized so overall Basecamp has a positive impact on our return on investment It allows for easy transition between account managers Makes it easy to stay on top of our to-do list Everyone is in the know of what is going on and everything is recordedGreat Client Project Management SystemI'm do mostly freelance graphic design and my clients use it to send me projects and relay other information in an organized and simple fashion. They send me each assignment in its own project and all communication for that project stays within that discussion. It makes it very easy to refer back to what was said or needed on each particular assignment. We also use the calendar feature for important dates and to add vacation time.,Keeps information organized and easy to refer back to because all information for each project is stored in one place. Helps with assigning projects and makes sure everyone knows their job and what assignments they have due because you can assign with project to specific people and add due dates. Sends notifications and alerts when projects are updated and/or need attention. It's nice to get the emails a few days ahead of when something is due in case something was forgotten or needs to be changed to fit a new schedule.,Sometimes it can send WAY too many update emails and it gets a little confusing to open that many basecamp tabs and check each one. It can be a bit overwhelming and confusing to figure out the best way to set up to meet your business' needs, but once it's set up, it runs smoothly. It is a little on the expensive side for a project management system, but very powerful.,9,It's made project edits more quick and efficient for me instead of scrolling back through past emails with multiple people, saving me time and money. I currently don't pay for basecamp as my clients have added me to their own programs, but it is a bit pricey if you don't use it often enough. Makes it quick and easy to check back in with clients on edits and new projects so I don't have to rely on myself to remember.,Asana and Trello,Adobe Illustrator CC, G Suite, Accounting by WaveBasecamp, the Tool You Need for Client + Team CollaborationOur digital marketing agency uses Basecamp primarily on client services and occasionally for internal company projects for the purpose of keeping everyone in communication and aligned on tasks that need to get done for particular projects. We particularly enjoy is how it serves as a repository for collaboration; we are able to look back on what's said and make sure no one's flipping on words.,Project management not only among your team internally, but for clients as well for tasks. UI/Design of the product in intuitive Like the email alerts so we aren't missing anything if outside of the platform,Mobile version could use some improvements Wish there was more ability to customize the interface.,8,Limits to file uploads and storage can be quite annoying, especially if you are working with design files which can get quite large Day to day communication replacement with clients has been a life saver,,VWO, TallieBasecamp - Keep on Track by Getting Back to BasicsWe were using Basecamp for the marketing department only, while we utilized their service. It really helped in keeping everyone on our team on the same page. Making to do lists and assigning tasks was clear and easy to follow. Personally, I am a goal oriented person so it was great to be able to have a visual representation of tasks I had accomplished in a day. It was a pleasure to be able to check tasks off my list as I completed them each day. So for me, not only was it a useful tool, it made work a bit more gratifying as well.,It is a great way to keep a task list. Everyone has their own assigned tasks but there is also a larger calendar view where you are able to see your teammates tasks and where they're at with things in a given project. Basecamp is simple and easy to use. I wouldn't say it's no frills because there are some great features but it's not a difficult program to dive into. You can pick up how to use it really quickly unlike some larger, more complex task tracking programs I've used. Basecamp makes communication easy. You can add notes for your teammates and it helps to keep everyone on the same page and on track.,There were a lot of instances where I would come into work in the morning, I'd log in to Basecamp, and I'd have to find out from my colleagues if it was just me or if Basecamp was down again. It seemed like the program was crashing or under construction quite a bit, definitely more than I would like. I love that Basecamp is simple and easy to use but perhaps Basecamp is too simple sometimes. There were a lot of times where one teammate would assign a task to another teammate and it's get lost somewhere in the program. I'm not sure how but things would get assigned the wrong way and it would leave us trying to figure out what had gone wrong.,7,To a point, Basecamp was very useful in keeping our team on track so I'd say it'd have to be a positive impact.,monday (formerly dapulse),monday (formerly dapulse), SlackIncrease your productivity in the simplest wayIn our advertising agency we use Basecamp to manage our projects in an organized and efficient way, particularly those that require public work in social networks and digital marketing. We organize work teams in the different areas that involve the creative and administrative work of each advertising account achieved through this simple and easy-to-use tool.,Simple and easy to use. Makes the work much more productive by having everything organized on a platform. You can be attentive to the fulfillment of your tasks what makes you an effective collaborator in the project. You have a personal agenda, you can indicate reminders of dates or meetings that are pending. You can integrate your email and receive the alerts you schedule in your tasks.,The platform does not allow to distinguish between tasks completed and those that are missing by visually fulfilling colors, everything is worked under a basic and classic interface. It does not have a calendar, which makes it difficult to follow up on compliance with projects.,8,Productivity, keeps all the team attentive to the fulfillment of their assigned tasks. Efficiency, you manage to organize yourself in such a way that you meet the dates guidelines. You save money, which is good for business. Helps detect critical points in time that delay projects, act on time and change to continue.,Trello,Trello, Wrike, ZoomBasecamp for team growthBasecamp is one of the best project managing software and tasks without any hurdles. Easy to use. Basecamp has more than 18 years of experience in managing projects and they have used all their experiences in building this simple tool. It simplifies problems that work perfectly even for the most complex and difficult projects. Using it, project managers can monitor the flow of projects making sure that the project completes on time. Customer support is also available anytime to help with your problems and give training properly. We use Basecamp to centralize everyone and on what we are working on. We spread news on basecamp in our organization on updates of our product, any new features that are introduced, new notifications, events, to-do lists, client meetings schedule notification etc. It has helped us managing workflow, managing meetings, sending messages from one team to another that may not be at the same location. It can be accessed from anywhere and at any time.,Project management is the big pro. Basecamp helps you manage a project without any difficulty. Can be used to communicate, share ideas and proposals which makes sure that all team members get notifications of any changes in a project. It also manages documents. You can share with a team member who can comment on tasks.,Reporting of project management should have different ways to check the flow of how the project is being executed.,8,Managing software and completing tasks on time. Managing documents and getting it on time whenever required.,Asana,Asana, Atlassian Confluence, Aha!Basecamp, a good tool for project management.I am using Basecamp as my project management software to enable our team to track short term and long term projects. The ability to assign tasks, comment on those tasks, and most importantly, assign due dates, is great. The low point of entry too is something that allows you to get this cloud based solution in place quickly. One of the features I most like is the direct integration with Google Drive. You can link files in Google Drive instead of having to upload them. I would rather manage files in Google Drive, so this makes it easier. The newer feature of allowing vendor/clients limited access is a great add on. I would suggest for those that are going to go the Basecamp route to take a look at the great videos that the Basecamp company provides. In addition, there are a ton of other products that directly integrate with Basecamp.,Direct integration with Google Apps. Allows you to link files instead of uploading them (why upload a 1GB video files into another system when it is already in Basecamp) Allows assignment of multiple people for a task in the newest version of Basecamp Easy on-boarding of additional users, being that it is cloud-based. As long as they have a browser you can send them an invite Limiting access to client/vendors. This allows you to use the same project without worrying about clients seeing items they should not.,Tasks. If you could assign tasks to multiple people and assign a sub task to each person it would be great. Such as make a logo, then a week later, have a sub task of replace logo on website. Right now you have to create two tasks or fiddle with dates Improve the calendar or task date view (depends on if you're using 2 or 3.) I had issues with it being hard to navigate. Their pricing structure is good for what you get, but I wish they offered an education discount.,8,Sped up the process of adding a variety of tasks into a timeline (for example, ads for a following year.) You can put them in and know you will get notified of upcoming due dates I like to use Basecamp to add ideas for the future, with due dates several months out. It allows my team to implement those ideas without them being lost Google Apps integration has saved so much time, no more guessing on what version is the latest. One negative: I wish the import from one version to another was better,Microsoft Project,Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Illustrator CC, Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Windows ServerGreat organizational tool for a project managementThis platform is a great organizational tool that helps you create and assign projects within a range of coworkers. You choose who to include in a task or assignment. We use it mainly for projects to keep an organized way of working during the time of execution. This tool is used all along the company, sometimes it's spread through 5 or more departments, and it surely helps keep and track each assignment to be delivered on time.,It organizes task in a project, by assigning a task to people involved Very simple and easy to use, no extended training is needed if you have basic computer skills It tracks dates, tasks and future assignments by reminding the person involved to complete or work on a task A great feature that helps a lot is the instant messaging,Notifications are repetitive even when a task has been completed You cannot create an additional task to a sub task in a project Design might be a little updated in the area of the dashboard, could be more interactive,8,For a business, its great for the value, $99 a month with everything included, its worth it It keeps from hiring additional human resource for tracking and organization It increases productivity and delivery times and projects are more precise,monday (formerly dapulse), Asana and Wrike,Five9 Virtual Contact Center, Google Analytics, FortiClient,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,Something that we evaluated was the performance or reviews from the platform, but something that would've been great to have was a trial with an internal tutorial. The platform is a great platform overall, but this aspect was important to not risk our purchase process, it did great when we used it.BasecampingBasecamp is used throughout the entire department. We use it for project management and ensure the marketing team has access to info for all programs. It ensures all documents, information, timelines etc are housed in one place.,Information storage Easily accessible form anywhere Communication for all members is streamlined,Can't think of any,8,Has helped meet deadlines Has helped streamline communication,Microsoft Project,GoToWebinar, Pardot, Constant Contact
Unspecified
Basecamp
849 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Basecamp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Basecamp
849 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 849 vetted Basecamp reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 88)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brandon Mitchell profile photo
July 10, 2019

Review: "Basecamp: A great hub for your projects, campaigns and more"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp was used as our companies main hub for project management. Anything from marketing campaigns to design requests were conducted through Basecamp in an effort to have a record of conversations, history, edits, and access to the appropriate materials across our whole organization. This platform specifically made it easier to keep everyone in the loop whenever necessary.
  • Easy-to-use
  • Great UX
  • Files were readily accessible
  • Supports integration with other systems
  • Some frustrations with API limitations.
Basecamp is well-suited for any business looking to keep track of assignments, projects, and campaigns.
Read Brandon Mitchell's full review
Prashant Mahajan profile photo
July 05, 2019

User Review: "Basecamp for small team management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Basecamp for the first time when doing a collaboration with an external agency. I really liked it, then we started using Basecamp for our internal small team. We found the biggest use case in design, where multiple people had to give feedback and also track the progress. It was used to collect feedback, pass the project from Graphic Design, UX design, UI design, and finally, management approval.
  • User interface is very intuitive.
  • It doesn't have tones of features, like JIRA, which is the good part, it doesn't complicate the product.
  • It has great project management. Everything is covered.
  • Mobile app is not up to par.
  • The notifications are not configurable.
  • The limited features can be annoying.
Basecamp is very good if you have a small team. It is mainly suited for a Design or Marketing team. I have used it with both. It is more for feedback and collaboration. It doesn't include roadmap, sprints and other things needed for engineering.
Read Prashant Mahajan's full review
John Kobel profile photo
June 28, 2019

Review: "Basecamp Project Management -- a lot of management for a small price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Basecamp to manage all projects and clients in the company. Once a client is signed on, a project is set up in Basecamp, and Tasks, To-Dos, and Discussions are created and assigned to the appropriate person or department. Once a task is completed, it is checked off and marked as completed. Any team member can add to the project or reassign tasks as needed, whether it is a review of the task, or required additional information.
  • Easy project set up.
  • Templates can be created for redundant projects or projects with similar tasks or set up.
  • You can easily add users to a project or send messages to collaborators on a project.
  • A task or To-Do can not be assigned to multiple people. One task can only be assigned to one person.
  • It's not too easy to get a round up of tasks or jobs that one person has, or exporting tasks or reassigning them in bulk.
  • There is no rating system to Prioritize tasks or To-Dos.
Copying a template to a New Project is easy, once a template is created. Tasks and To-Dos can be assigned to people quickly. A project can be viewed quickly to see what is left to do, but there is no prioritizing system within a project or by individual projects. It also is not so easy to review projects by the due date.
Read John Kobel's full review
Andy Abramson profile photo
June 05, 2019

User Review: "Basecamp Is The Core To Success"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Basecamp internally with team members and external clients. It is being used and has been used company wide as it addresses two key problems that existed before we moved to Basecamp. First is keeping everyone up to date—the information is kept in one place. The second is when someone joins a team or project, Basecamp allows them to catch up without the need to send copies of emails and files as the newcomer can find all the information, discussions and files in one place.
  • File sharing
  • Notes
  • Ability to add or drop members
  • Deeper Google Drive integration
  • Integration with Slack
  • Better search
Basecamp is great for teams. It is really useful for teams that work in multiple locations. The mobile access has been improving over time and has gotten to the point where 95% of my use is able to be done on mobile. Email of notices is great but It is less appropriate for people who prefer to live outside of email and need to be aware of what is happening. Notifications in-app help, but they can become annoying.
Read Andy Abramson's full review
Maryam Qureshi profile photo
May 28, 2019

User Review: "My experience using Basecamp"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is being used in our organization as a tool to have the team communicate files, deadlines, and other items for large scale projects and during events. Basecamp is also used to add items into our Outlook calendars. It was used among our department on campus, but as of right now it is not being used. I am also not sure if other departments on campus are using it.
  • Nice to have all the information in one place.
  • It's good to have all users able to see progress on a project.
  • It's great to have certain files uploaded on it.
  • Having fewer places to add so many details.
  • Having it be more user-friendly, and knowing how to use it without a long tutorial.
  • More options to link Basecamp to Outlook.
It is suited when you are trying to share very large files. It is also very useful when you are trying to see what other co-workers have done as far as a task when it comes to a large project, so communication is easier that way. It is not very useful if everyone is not updating it, and it can be time-consuming updating all the information on it.
Read Maryam Qureshi's full review
Sarah Roscoe profile photo
May 23, 2019

Basecamp Review: "An easy to use project management tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Basecamp to keep our start-up organized. Our company is a bag company for pet owners. We used Basecamp to keep our designs and materials organized by storing images within Basecamp. We were able to know exactly where we were and to keep track of our designs.
  • Allows you to organize scanned documents.
  • Makes it easy for all team members to access all the necessary information.
  • Provides an easy to use communication tool.
  • Keeps track of due dates.
  • Minor issues with uploading.
Basecamp is a great place for off-site teams to stay organized. Using it as a project management tool is great.
Read Sarah Roscoe's full review
Matthew Jackson profile photo
May 14, 2019

User Review: "Basecamp Keeps Projects Rolling"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Basecamp across our entire organization to manage our various projects. Our company has over 200 clients, with 50+ projects ongoing at any given time, and a team of around 15 people. Basecamp has allowed our project managers to easily manage time, from ensuring that each employee is on track with assigned projects to also making sure no employee's workload is unmanageable. The biggest problem Basecamp solved for us was helping get every assignment out and to the client on time.
  • Easy to Use: managers can easily look at each person's assignments or things due on a particular day, and users can quickly see what's on their plate and notify project managers of updates, etc.
  • People and Date Assignments: this feature and its ease of management were critical in our choice to use Basecamp.
  • Daily Email Reminders: again, keeping up with assignments is made easy for the whole team with email updates in your inbox first thing each morning.
  • They have a team feature that we love that allows an entire team to communicate. The only downside is that projects cannot be assigned to a team, but rather you have to assign the project to each individual on the team.
My only use of Basecamp has been in a marketing agency, so my experience in scenarios is limited, but I have a hard time imagining a job where Basecamp wouldn't be useful. We manage techs, writers, designers, developers, photographers, videographers, and generalists all working in their areas of expertise as well as on team projects and Basecamp handles it seamlessly.
Read Matthew Jackson's full review
Nathan Sichilongo profile photo
May 13, 2019

Review: "Basecamp - project management for everyone else"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is an all round project management tool that includes project management, chat functions and team collaboration tools. I use Basecamp primarily to manage remote teams for content marketing clients, though it has many other use cases. My teams collaborate on web projects and content for various clients and can easily check in and update tasks and assignments that are assigned to them.
  • Basecamp is a good team collaboration tool for managing media content and projects. You can share edits and comments on projects from within Basecamp and work with other team members and see what tasks they are working on. You can also share tasks and calendars all within the tool.
  • Basecamps' check in feature is very valuable and interactive. If you run a team, you can get a daily summary of the tasks or activities your team members were up to. This can be automated and sent at a specific time. It is a great way to see what everyone has been working on.
  • Basecamp's all in one suite one price is genius. Paying one price to get chat, storage, calendar, document editing and project management all for one price is a winner in my books.
  • Basecamps' ability to integrate and work with other apps and tools is another valuable feature. This makes it a great hub for project management if say, you use another tool for communication, you can link it to your Basecamp and have full integration both ways in some instances.
  • Basecamp does project management well, with reports and a feature called Hill Charts, you have a bird's-eye view on whether your projects are moving along well. This information is helpful to project managers and team members especially if you work on projects that have tight deadlines.
  • While Basecamps' all in one integration is great, some features feel a bit redundant. For example, in storage, you can find that you download a different version of a document, since it archives all versions of the same. In this case, using Google drive or dropbox would be best to give you the latest version of a document.
  • Basecamp has a bit of a learning curve so you need your team to be vested into its features otherwise you may not get all your monies worth.
  • While the all in one price is great, it would be good to see another price point option for say teams that are smaller and want to pay $50 or have some features removed. It is useful to have all the features at your disposal but if you do not use them all, you may feel it is a bit of a waste.
I have found that Basecamp is best suited to teams that work on media related content and share a number of files. This means content management teams, and media producers can find a lot of use for Basecamp. Other people may not have the same results. For example, IT professionals would look at something like JIRA and maybe admin executives may use Trello.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Kinga Odziemek profile photo
May 07, 2019

Review: "Basecamp - the best camp you've ever seen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is used across the whole organization, linking HR or marketing departments with people from the board or IT department. Thanks to its features, it is much easier to manage some projects all together and notify about the progress of a particular process. It also solves problems with uploading files or their storage.
  • Files storage - you can access your files easily and in no time
  • Notifications - there is no way to miss anything
  • Task delegating - projects are managed in a clear, transparent way
  • Better mobile app - sometimes it doesn't work properly and mobile apps are important factors to me
  • More functionalities in Campfire section
  • Dashboard easy to customize
Basecamp will work wonders for advertising agencies, graphic designers, HR departments or even an IT environment. Wherever you have a lot of people to manage, and a lot of projects to be done, and a lot of tasks to delegate, Basecamp will put it all together and let you think about your business rather than about how to get your business organized. I can't think of an example where Basecamp wouldn't play a crucial role.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
Laura Cain profile photo
April 29, 2019

Review: "Basecamp - Great for holding teams accountable but does require creating a process"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our entire organization uses Basecamp, however an emphasis is put on client-facing individuals using this tool. We have a separate project within Basecamp for each client, and then within each project we upload relevant documents and assign out to-dos. We also have some internal projects that we use for internal marketing and so that employees can access any internal documents like letterhead. Basecamp ensures that we all are on the same page about a project, and makes it easy to organize next steps and ensure that everyone is held accountable.
  • Helps maintain accountability - if everything is put within Basecamp, it's very easy to see when things are done and follow up on next steps.
  • You can upload templates within Basecamp, so if you always have a series of to-dos for a new client or project, it can all very easily be automated.
  • Encourages collaboration - you can easily tag people in a post and very clearly see within a thread what work has been done.
  • It would be nice if when creating a to-do for multiple people, it created a separate to-do for each person. Right now, if one person checks the to-do as 'done,' it's marked as completed for everyone.
  • Sometimes the search leaves something to be desired - it will often have items come up that aren't super relevant to the search query.
  • It would be nice if there were some more customization views for certain aspects (like to-dos) sometimes things can look very busy and it would be nice if there were a quicker and easier way to sort my all outstanding to-dos for everyone on that project, for example.
Basecamp is definitely a useful tool if there is a lot of collaboration among team members and/or across departments. If you work at a company where everyone is relatively autonomous, this wouldn't be necessary, but for situations where multiple team members are touching a project this is absolutely necessary.
Read Laura Cain's full review
Yosa Addiss profile photo
June 05, 2019

Review: "Basecamp is good for beginner users of Project Management tools"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is used by our non-profit organization to organize monthly and long term projects.
  • Messaging groups of people with project updates
  • Many means of access- through mobile and desktop applications
  • Easy to use
  • It's so easy for one project to turn into a jumble of many smaller pieces
  • No hierarchy for projects
  • No timeline. It's hard to keep timelines of project components clear
Basecamp is suited to individual small tasks to collaborate with others. It is a free tool and that can make it an excellent gateway into the world of project management tools. I recommend it as an option for people just starting out.
Read Yosa Addiss's full review
No photo available
April 24, 2019

Review: "When it comes to project management, it's hard to top Basecamp."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is used throughout the whole company. We're aggressively growing and acquiring new properties. We need to keep track of layouts, photos, logos, and more. Basecamp helps us do that. The construction, investments, finance, and marketing teams all have access and it's a great tool for us.
  • It's great for collaboration. When we acquire a new property, we need to consolidate all of its digital assets into one space. Multiple departments need to be able to access these assets. We have teams in 12 states and various timezones. Basecamp allows us to work together even though we're hundreds of miles apart.
  • We recently updated our website, turning it into a huge corporate site with several microsites. When building this out, Basecamp was an essential tool working with external agencies. They would upload new wireframes and we could make comments and suggestions.
  • It's a great project management tool. When you're working with internal and external stakeholders on multiple projects, Basecamp allows all of us to stay on target and work together.
  • Bulk download of files.
  • Upload files larger than 10GB.
  • Easier UX. The layout can be confusing, especially to those who are new to the platform.
Basecamp is a terrific project management tool. It's one-stop shopping, a platform to share and store assets, schedule projects, message boards, and group chat. If you're looking for a platform where your internal and external stakeholders can collaborate efficiently, then Basecamp is it. The layout can be a bit confusing to newcomers so there is an adjustment period. There is also the baffling inability to bulk upload and download. But overall, I would highly recommend Basecamp. Once you get into it and use it on a consistent basis, you'll be hooked.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 06, 2019

User Review: "Basecamp is Easy to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Basecamp to organize our client projects. It is our go-to project management software. It solves our need to manage many action items for 50+ different projects across team members.
  • Easy to use.
  • Always innovating.
  • Clear workflows.
  • Easier paths between versions of Basecamp.
It's well suited to web freelance and agency business who are managing multiple projects.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

Review: "Try Basecamp first, you won't regret it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Basecamp across our whole organization, but it is key for our Development team. We manage over 20 individual apps: Windows, Web, Mobile. We run separate Basecamps for each application to track individual development tasks through ideation, coding, testing, debugging and release. We have used other apps in the past and looked at competitors, but the simplicity and unique approach provided by the Basecamp team suits our needs best in our agile workflow.
  • No nonsense pricing. I don't have to worry about adding seats or projects and paying more.
  • Simple to use and customizable for each project.
  • Keeps my inbox clean because I can track all our workflow without email and constant chat messages.
  • Some of our tasks lists are big, and the drag and drop reordering is a little glitchy sometimes.
  • Most tools can be turned off if not needed, but I wish I could disable the Pings function also.
If you need to manage tasks for a team of any size, I would highly recommend Basecamp. Read their blogs about how they run their company and you will find some very interesting ideas as well.
Read this authenticated review
Jessica Meadows Rich profile photo
December 17, 2018

Review: "Basecamp will keep your team organized and on track!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Basecamp for about 4-5 years now as a project management tool. The entire organization uses it to manage all of the various projects we have going at any given time. It's honestly made a huge difference in our ability to keep up with timelines, deadlines, notes, and documentation for each and every project. I 100% believe it has made our company more effective.
  • Allows for the creation of groups of To Do's under one project.
  • The Activity Feed allows for a great overview of what's happening to be able to quickly see where things are
  • Anyone can create a to do and assign it to anyone, so people are empowered to take ownership over projects.
  • Is pretty easy and straightforward to get started and creating To Do's and Projects
  • No dependencies! I wish so much that dependencies were an option. So often we have to remember to manually assign the next To Do to someone after something has been completed and it's easy to forget this. So that this human error can be avoided, dependencies would help with this greatly.
  • It took a long time for us to figure out how best to fit Basecamp into our work flow, who was responsible for what and how our processes would best work. It's great now but it probably took us a solid year before we got to the point where we had smoothed out the rough edges and felt like our processes worked perfectly within Basecamp.
  • You sometimes have to be careful about where you are placing information: in the comment v. the note v. commenting on the list v. commenting on the To Do. Depending on who has been checked to received a notification, not everyone will receive the information. This isn't necessarily an issue; it just means you have to be very careful about where you are placing information and double-checking that the people you want to be notified will receive it.
If you have a lot of different projects that run concurrently and have a lot of moving parts, I think Basecamp is especially beneficial to help not only the project manager keep track of progress, but for everyone in the group to understand where they are in the process and to make sure goals and expectations and deadlines are clear. It has meant that we have less meetings, which has made us much more efficient.

I think if your projects really depend on dependencies, you'll need another program, however. And perhaps if you work at a very granular level, this may not have the level of detail you need.
Read Jessica Meadows Rich's full review
Laure Helemski profile photo
December 14, 2018

User Review: "LOVE Basecamp!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Basecamp across the whole organization to facilitate communication internally and within clients while keeping track of everything in one place. This includes conversations, files, to-do lists and more. Overall, it helps us be more organized and efficient. It always us to stay on top of our to do list, reminds us when something is due and makes it easy for everyone to stay on top of client initiatives.
  • Easy to use
  • Lots of great tools within one platform
  • Increases accountability
  • Efficient communication
  • Keeps everyone in the loop internally and externally (employees/clients)
  • Basecamp improves its platform often but there isn't always an easy way to upgrade from a version to another. For example: upgrading from Basecamp 1 to Basecamp 2 to Basecamp 3.
  • In Basecamp 3, the thread with the latest update does not go to the top. The order stays depending on when the first message was sent so for big projects that last a long time, it is not easy to find the thread unless you have the latest response in your inbox.
  • I miss the functionality in Basecamp 2 where you could see all of the to-do (assignments or not assigned) by clients. I wish we could use this for Basecamp 3. Instead when we go through weekly initiatives as a team, we need to make sure that to-dos are assigned and review it by employee rather than overall company.
I think that if you are working with teams and clients, Basecamp is ideal to remain effective and organized. It really helps with clear communication, making sure that work gets done and that everything gets recorded so that everyone is aware of what is going on.
Read Laure Helemski's full review
Megan Ronecker profile photo
December 14, 2018

Basecamp Review: "Great Client Project Management System"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm do mostly freelance graphic design and my clients use it to send me projects and relay other information in an organized and simple fashion. They send me each assignment in its own project and all communication for that project stays within that discussion. It makes it very easy to refer back to what was said or needed on each particular assignment. We also use the calendar feature for important dates and to add vacation time.
  • Keeps information organized and easy to refer back to because all information for each project is stored in one place.
  • Helps with assigning projects and makes sure everyone knows their job and what assignments they have due because you can assign with project to specific people and add due dates.
  • Sends notifications and alerts when projects are updated and/or need attention. It's nice to get the emails a few days ahead of when something is due in case something was forgotten or needs to be changed to fit a new schedule.
  • Sometimes it can send WAY too many update emails and it gets a little confusing to open that many basecamp tabs and check each one.
  • It can be a bit overwhelming and confusing to figure out the best way to set up to meet your business' needs, but once it's set up, it runs smoothly.
  • It is a little on the expensive side for a project management system, but very powerful.
I think this program is great when you have multiple projects with multiple people that you need to organize and assign tasks. It helps keep them all organized and easy to go over everything that needs to be done. You can have multiple projects for each client you work with and then discussions within that for each assignment you work on together. It's nice that you can just add each client or freelancer to your own Basecamp and they don't need to pay for a separate account. It's nice that they have reusable templates that you can keep reusing for this purpose. If you're wanting a project management tool just for yourself and not to share with others, this may not be the best one for you though.
Read Megan Ronecker's full review
Christine Austin profile photo
December 10, 2018

Review: "Basecamp, the Tool You Need for Client + Team Collaboration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our digital marketing agency uses Basecamp primarily on client services and occasionally for internal company projects for the purpose of keeping everyone in communication and aligned on tasks that need to get done for particular projects. We particularly enjoy is how it serves as a repository for collaboration; we are able to look back on what's said and make sure no one's flipping on words.
  • Project management not only among your team internally, but for clients as well for tasks.
  • UI/Design of the product in intuitive
  • Like the email alerts so we aren't missing anything if outside of the platform
  • Mobile version could use some improvements
  • Wish there was more ability to customize the interface.
Using Basecamp to collaborate amoung your team and clients is a great way to keep everyone aligned, it's also a great alternative to emailing several people, and then, finding someone wasn't on the thread to begin with! I think the tool worked better for small/medium size companies with groups of 10.
Read Christine Austin's full review
Kelly Reumann profile photo
August 08, 2018

Review: "Basecamp - Keep on Track by Getting Back to Basics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Basecamp for the marketing department only, while we utilized their service. It really helped in keeping everyone on our team on the same page. Making to do lists and assigning tasks was clear and easy to follow. Personally, I am a goal oriented person so it was great to be able to have a visual representation of tasks I had accomplished in a day. It was a pleasure to be able to check tasks off my list as I completed them each day. So for me, not only was it a useful tool, it made work a bit more gratifying as well.
  • It is a great way to keep a task list. Everyone has their own assigned tasks but there is also a larger calendar view where you are able to see your teammates tasks and where they're at with things in a given project.
  • Basecamp is simple and easy to use. I wouldn't say it's no frills because there are some great features but it's not a difficult program to dive into. You can pick up how to use it really quickly unlike some larger, more complex task tracking programs I've used.
  • Basecamp makes communication easy. You can add notes for your teammates and it helps to keep everyone on the same page and on track.
  • There were a lot of instances where I would come into work in the morning, I'd log in to Basecamp, and I'd have to find out from my colleagues if it was just me or if Basecamp was down again. It seemed like the program was crashing or under construction quite a bit, definitely more than I would like.
  • I love that Basecamp is simple and easy to use but perhaps Basecamp is too simple sometimes. There were a lot of times where one teammate would assign a task to another teammate and it's get lost somewhere in the program. I'm not sure how but things would get assigned the wrong way and it would leave us trying to figure out what had gone wrong.
I think Basecamp is well suited to small companies or departments. It is really easy to get the hang of so there is no training required. It just starts to get a little fussy when you have too many people on the platform. This is the reason we recently left Basecamp. We wanted to be able to utilize a program that we could extend past our marketing department and into other larger departments. It just isn't as practical on a larger scale.
Read Kelly Reumann's full review
Elizabeth Torres profile photo
November 05, 2018

Basecamp Review: "Increase your productivity in the simplest way"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our advertising agency we use Basecamp to manage our projects in an organized and efficient way, particularly those that require public work in social networks and digital marketing. We organize work teams in the different areas that involve the creative and administrative work of each advertising account achieved through this simple and easy-to-use tool.
  • Simple and easy to use.
  • Makes the work much more productive by having everything organized on a platform.
  • You can be attentive to the fulfillment of your tasks what makes you an effective collaborator in the project.
  • You have a personal agenda, you can indicate reminders of dates or meetings that are pending.
  • You can integrate your email and receive the alerts you schedule in your tasks.
  • The platform does not allow to distinguish between tasks completed and those that are missing by visually fulfilling colors, everything is worked under a basic and classic interface.
  • It does not have a calendar, which makes it difficult to follow up on compliance with projects.
If you handle several projects this tool is ideal. In the field of advertising projects tend to make difference, for example: projects linked to social networks are constantly monitored, those related to social media in general are projects that require more time and the intervention of various creative and administrative areas. Relying on a tool like Basecamp facilitates your work by organizing your team in one place and with a single objective to meet the deadlines.
Read Elizabeth Torres's full review
No photo available
January 08, 2019

User Review: "Basecamp for team growth"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is one of the best project managing software and tasks without any hurdles. Easy to use. Basecamp has more than 18 years of experience in managing projects and they have used all their experiences in building this simple tool. It simplifies problems that work perfectly even for the most complex and difficult projects. Using it, project managers can monitor the flow of projects making sure that the project completes on time. Customer support is also available anytime to help with your problems and give training properly. We use Basecamp to centralize everyone and on what we are working on. We spread news on basecamp in our organization on updates of our product, any new features that are introduced, new notifications, events, to-do lists, client meetings schedule notification etc. It has helped us managing workflow, managing meetings, sending messages from one team to another that may not be at the same location. It can be accessed from anywhere and at any time.
  • Project management is the big pro. Basecamp helps you manage a project without any difficulty.
  • Can be used to communicate, share ideas and proposals which makes sure that all team members get notifications of any changes in a project.
  • It also manages documents. You can share with a team member who can comment on tasks.
  • Reporting of project management should have different ways to check the flow of how the project is being executed.
Basecamp is well developed, lets you manage project easily without any problems. It has multiple categorizations so that team members can work on an individual category without any clashes with other members. Easily manages tasks, you can move one task from one category to another if you have placed it in the wrong category. It is the easiest conversation saver in order to stay on track and maintain the flow of project sharing messages back and forth. It also helped us by saving our documents and client files on a central location so that we can get any file whenever we require.

It is easy to use and compatible with many devices.

It has great features like :
  • Interactive Gantt charts
  • History checker
  • Messaging
  • Task management
  • Set priorities of tasks
  • Calendar
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

Review: "Basecamp, a good tool for project management."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Basecamp as my project management software to enable our team to track short term and long term projects. The ability to assign tasks, comment on those tasks, and most importantly, assign due dates, is great. The low point of entry too is something that allows you to get this cloud based solution in place quickly. One of the features I most like is the direct integration with Google Drive. You can link files in Google Drive instead of having to upload them. I would rather manage files in Google Drive, so this makes it easier. The newer feature of allowing vendor/clients limited access is a great add on. I would suggest for those that are going to go the Basecamp route to take a look at the great videos that the Basecamp company provides. In addition, there are a ton of other products that directly integrate with Basecamp.
  • Direct integration with Google Apps. Allows you to link files instead of uploading them (why upload a 1GB video files into another system when it is already in Basecamp)
  • Allows assignment of multiple people for a task in the newest version of Basecamp
  • Easy on-boarding of additional users, being that it is cloud-based. As long as they have a browser you can send them an invite
  • Limiting access to client/vendors. This allows you to use the same project without worrying about clients seeing items they should not.
  • Tasks. If you could assign tasks to multiple people and assign a sub task to each person it would be great. Such as make a logo, then a week later, have a sub task of replace logo on website. Right now you have to create two tasks or fiddle with dates
  • Improve the calendar or task date view (depends on if you're using 2 or 3.) I had issues with it being hard to navigate.
  • Their pricing structure is good for what you get, but I wish they offered an education discount.
If you require project management in the general sense, to better organize your workflow, this is the software for you. A few great uses of Basecamp include: to share with a photographer, so they can upload assets for your projects; to type it into your design work with InDesign; to plan out a schedule of advertisement for a year.

Where Basecamp is not good is if you need more of a flow chart model, where there is step 1, then 2, then 3. Basecamp cannot handle that easily. You end up making a lot of tasks and they are not linked, so you have to manually move dates if one task is not completed in time.
Read this authenticated review
Horacio Carcamo profile photo
July 09, 2018

Basecamp Review: "Great organizational tool for a project management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This platform is a great organizational tool that helps you create and assign projects within a range of coworkers. You choose who to include in a task or assignment. We use it mainly for projects to keep an organized way of working during the time of execution. This tool is used all along the company, sometimes it's spread through 5 or more departments, and it surely helps keep and track each assignment to be delivered on time.
  • It organizes task in a project, by assigning a task to people involved
  • Very simple and easy to use, no extended training is needed if you have basic computer skills
  • It tracks dates, tasks and future assignments by reminding the person involved to complete or work on a task
  • A great feature that helps a lot is the instant messaging
  • Notifications are repetitive even when a task has been completed
  • You cannot create an additional task to a sub task in a project
  • Design might be a little updated in the area of the dashboard, could be more interactive
Basecamp becomes very useful whenever you have a project that will include a lot of personnel; it keeps an organized structure, keeping errors on a low scale. On the other hand, if it's a small project or for personal use, this platform could be a waste of money or not useful at all. There could be other platforms better for personal organization.
Read Horacio Carcamo's full review
Eric Yen profile photo
March 15, 2018

User Review: "Basecamping"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basecamp is used throughout the entire department. We use it for project management and ensure the marketing team has access to info for all programs. It ensures all documents, information, timelines etc are housed in one place.
  • Information storage
  • Easily accessible form anywhere
  • Communication for all members is streamlined
  • Can't think of any
Programs and projects where there are many team members and many hands in the project.
Read Eric Yen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (61)
8.9
Resource Management (52)
8.4
Gantt Charts (23)
7.6
Scheduling (54)
7.9
Workflow Automation (39)
7.3
Team Collaboration (62)
8.8
Support for Agile Methodology (23)
7.9
Support for Waterfall Methodology (22)
7.7
Document Management (57)
8.3
Email integration (48)
8.3
Mobile Access (52)
7.2
Timesheet Tracking (25)
7.7
Change request and Case Management (31)
8.1
Budget and Expense Management (22)
7.8
Quotes/estimates (17)
8.1
Invoicing (14)
7.9
Project & financial reporting (18)
8.2
Integration with accounting software (12)
7.2

About Basecamp

Basecamp is a web-based project-management tool developed by 37signals in Chicago and launched in 2004. The Ruby on Rails framework was extracted from the Basecamp project.

Basecamp offers features standard to project management platforms, including to-do lists, wiki-style web-based text documents, milestone management, file sharing, time tracking and a calendar, and a messaging system. Mobile accessibility is supported. Notably, it supports unlimited users. It also offers integration with 37signals' own Campfire product, which expands the group messaging functionality of the core platform. Customization, accessibility, and functionality are extended further by the broad range of apps available for free from 3rd parties. A 2-month free trial is available. Pricing is dependent upon space requirements and the number of concurrent projects, not the number of users.

Basecamp Integrations

Basecamp Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Basecamp Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No