TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

259 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 112)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
August 30, 2019
Brian Baley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides a great API with control over all of its Jasper server functionality allowing automation and external management and maintenance and deployment.
  • Very easily integrated reporting engine into Java applications. Very easy to integrate with external applications using the API for the server component and libraries for standalone.
  • The purely XML based report definitions make automation of generating report source very easy.
  • Handles a huge range of data sources out of the box and is very easy to develop custom data sources. It is fairly easy to find code examples for developers.
  • The documentation for users, admins, and developers is very good.
  • Extremely easy to deploy internally or cloud-based.
  • Provides a wide range of output and visualizations, not just typical "reports".
  • The JasperSoft Studio (Eclipse + plugins) is not always a joy to use. The choice of using Eclipse as an IDE base is understandable, but it comes with the issues and difficulty of Eclipse. The Eclipse integration lacks any useful debugging features and the error messages are vague and it makes it difficult for non-developers to determine what is actually wrong with the JRXML source in many instances.
  • The Jasper Server component (CE anyway) is difficult to brand and customize the web GUI.
  • Sub-report data sources can be quirky and overly complicated to define and get "right". Combing multiple data sources with multiple sub-reports is not easy.
  • How report variables work, specifically the increment types and reset types combined with where they get used in report bands, is very difficult for the average report writer to grasp.
Jaspersoft is most well-suited in an enterprise environment where a common reporting and BI framework is needed complete with end-user support. It's also well-suited for integration with other applications using the API and Java libraries. It would be way too complicated and overkill for a small business that just wants to generate and run a few reports, with only one person developing and managing those reports (quite common).
Read Brian Baley's full review
October 01, 2019
Tom Walder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Single sign-on works seamlessly.
  • The server is easy to manage.
  • Visualizer.js is excellent.
  • Not as glossy as Tableau.
  • Training materials are spread all over the place.
  • Not enough video training materials.
For embedding anything into a web application, it is excellent. Its open-source routes make it easy to administer. I feel it needs more attention in building/designing reports and implementing a high visual impact.
Read Tom Walder's full review
November 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • AdHoc views are really useful when you want to implement self service reporting for your customers.
  • Support is absolutely amazing. Generally they will update a case within an hour or less.
  • Our customers love the freedom to create custom reports and being able to export in the format that they want.
  • I was not impressed with the sales process specially our Account Manager. He was rude and very unwilling to bend or negotiate.
  • There are some features that would be helpful in our setup. For example we have issues not being able to remove duplicates based on the dataset in the view itself. So you cannot do a select distinct in an adhoc view.
  • We stuggle with adding a filter on an aggregate totals. There is no option for the over partition function.
We did a lot of research when selecting Jaspersoft because we have unique needs. In our case we needed to replace Oracle Discoverer so we need to give our customers an Adhoc experience. This does it well whereas other similar products are only focused on Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It's easy to use when creating a report or dashboard using Jasper studio.
  • Adhoc reporting allows for more dynamic reporting.
  • Can use custom themes based on your needs.
  • Ad-hoc reporting can be improved further. The custom styling features in adhoc report could be included.
  • Need more culture (locale-based) included for Jasper reports. For example, it does not have locale for the Netherlands.
Fast development with wide sets of data sources and good support. It is easy to create dashboards and multiple levels of reporting. The only problem is we need to create a report for each drill down separately.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Custom reporting
  • Dashboards
  • Easy to access
  • User interface isn't the easiest to navigate
  • Requires developers to pull reports
Jaspersoft has been helpful for us in pulling certain segments of data that are not easily reportable in other applications.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Can easily build reports from predefined tables or derived queries.
  • Can schedule reports to run and send to an ftp server.
  • Can easily customize the report server with your own skin.
  • Too many hotfix releases cause issues with having to reapply your customization over and over.
  • Hard to diagnose issues that arise without turning on debugging mode which generates way too much information.
  • Takes about 2 minutes to start up.
Well suited for businesses who need enterprise-level reporting, dashboards, exports with scheduling capabilities, or for creating "pixel-perfect" reports. Also, for embedding reports and dashboards into your own application. This is not for things you can do easily in Microsoft Word or Excel, this is an intuitive scalable application.
Read this authenticated review
November 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy development and deployment.
  • Low cost compared to other competitive products.
  • All in one kind of program with embedded features.
  • Professional level support.
  • Improved version for microservices-based architectures.
  • Desktop direct printing solutions.

It is suited for transactional reports to run a large number of reports with fewer pages.

It is not suited for reports with thousands of pages, but they'll still work with more memory and CPU.

Read this authenticated review
October 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The XML file created is reliable and portable.
  • It's relatively easy to drag the data elements to its corresponding fields in the report
  • Counting pixels - extremely manual and time consuming activity. It should be a drag and drop function.
  • Aligning fields manually - time consuming.
  • The product has some bugs. Have to close the application and open it again to see my updates.
Well suited for very simple reports with only a few data elements. Not well suited for large reports. For large reports with a large number of data elements, it's very difficult to design the report or especially update the designed report. For example, once a data element has to be inserted in the middle of a report, a tedious pixel renumbering has to be done for the entire report.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides a great REST API with control over all of its Jasper server functionality allowing automation and external management, maintenance, and deployment.
  • Very easily integrated reporting engine into Java applications. Very easy to integrate with external applications using the API for the server component and libraries for standalone.
  • Handles a huge range of data sources out of the box and is very easy to develop custom data sources. It is fairly easy to find code examples for developers.
  • The documentation for users, admins, and developers is very good.
  • Extremely easy to deploy internally or cloud-based.
  • UI is not customized as per our wish and need.
  • Complex reporting or dashboards cant be worked out with the TIBCO.
  • Memory optimization is not efficient.
  • Application performance isn't good with larger reports.
It suited well for TABLE format reports and lightweight dashboards. It is very easy for the deployment team to plug and play with the product. Easy to integrate with client applications with hand ready REST APIs.

Read this authenticated review
September 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Generating reports over web services enables distributed reporting capabilities with authentication.
  • Inbuilt features of Jasper Server help in designing reports as required by the customer.
  • Jasper Server is capable in using with many data adapters like Oracle, PostgreSQL and NoSQL stores.
  • Jasper Server needs some improvements further on its performances in generating reports.
  • Customers claim some security violations on numerous plain text passwords appearing inside the source code.
  • Jasper Server needs automated purging mechanisms on its scheduled reports.
A well suited feature of Jasper Server is the distributed functionality in generating reports over web services which enables the decoupling components in a better way.
They are trying to resolve customer issues as much as they can.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
You may need to study this product to getting the things done.
Yes - Security updates on APIs made some issues on the existing reporting features.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2019
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The implementation of the reports with Jasper Studio is very friendly and allows us to be more productive.
  • It is also an essential aid in the management decisions of our clients with their BI tool.
  • We can guarantee quality attributes such as scalability, security, and confidentiality in the presentation of information with TIBCO.
  • The implementation of security with Visualize.js took us a long time due to the lack of documentation on the subject.
TIBCO has become an ally for the presentation of information and the generation of reports in the applications of our company.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
March 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft allows you to embed reports into your own application, which gives users the feeling they are using a single product.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft Studio allows for more advanced report development, such as adding subreports, drilldown to detail reports, images, page headers, page footers, maps, and more.
  • TIBCO's Jaspersoft Domain Designer is very easy to use and navigate.
  • Ad-hoc views and reports don't allow for the capability to enter or modify SQL being used. Users always have to rely on how the domain is built.
  • Ad-hoc views and reports don't have the functionality to automatically remove duplicate rows.
  • If a domain is extremely large and contains several derived tables, slowness is a big issue. Not only is there slowness in the domain designer, but there is slowness when using said domain as the data source of an ad-hoc view.
TIBCO Jaspersoft is well suited for users who are not too technical. These users are able to easily drag and drop domain fields from their database to create friendly table reports. Users can easily add filters to their reports which allows for reusability. On the other hand, if a user is looking to add information that has many-to-many relationships, duplicates will appear. Having duplicates in an ad-hoc view and not being able to easily remove them is a big issue for many of our clients.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2018
Ashley Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Modern looking reporting - (many other products are still archaic looking in their default selections)
  • Quick time-to-market turn-around from concept to reality when creating a report
  • Listens to customer feedback for future features - this, I believe, has greatly shaped some of the upgrade features we have seen of late that have brought the level of usefulness up for Jaspersoft and ease of use for non-developer users
  • Full customization of reports with scheduling and many different formats available (I mention this because some other products had limited export format options)
  • If you do not have a proper hardware set up, report run-time can be slow and take up a lot of resources in a shared stack. You must fine tune a lot of set up for DB servers in order to get that perfect runtime for end users
  • Users with very slow connections/not close to runtime locale of reporting server can have very slow experiences with reports
  • It is a large learning curve to gain that best-practice knowledge of using DB. This is understandable for most products. I wish that Jaspersoft had better documentation for this in the form of more shared examples in order for users to gain better business practice-use of the product. We struggled with many trial and error methods until finding those perfect solutions.
Well suited for formatting needs and specific export types.
Great for creating static scheduled reports because they are easily editable by non-developers.

Less suited for non-developer level users if looking for an ad hoc tool as I believe they still need to do more work in making the ease-of-use of their ad hoc tool so that it is more accessible to entry-level users to reporting software.
They have a great customer support ticketing system in which they always respond same-day. They offer conference calls with srcreensharing as well in order to better understand your issues.
I wish that the lower level support access came with more than just 12 cases per year though as this makes us less likely to reach out for questions on things that we then instead try to solve ourselves which results in loss of time in trying to acquire new features and or solve a problem.
  • In-person training
Hands on training really helped stream-line the process as we did not have to stop and wait for feedback or support every time we ran into an issue. Setting up the database and report servers as well as the first ETLs was made easier with the guidance of the training. I think that the UI navigation of the product was still something that we really did not have a handle on until at least a year of using it daily to understand all the capabilities.
Read Ashley Lee's full review
March 08, 2018
Gerald Meachem | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Support is excellent - very quick response time and good information.
  • Report server seems to run quickly and reliably without much attention.
  • Training material readily available.
  • Significant ability to customize the product
  • I would like to see an administrator dashboard in the report server tool to monitor report generations, report failures, currently running reports with ability to kill long running reports, etc.
  • GUI access to the many, many settings that can be added/tweaked on the report server.
  • I would like to see easier access to add functions within the report without writing an external jar file. we don't use java on a day to day basis so I found the process of adding a custom library of functions a little awkward. We also allow our users to make copies of our reports to customize on their own. Since they are non-technical, the process of writing a function for themselves is usually over their heads.
  • Our customers are very much missing the ability to select specific fields from a print-ready report display and export to Excel. Our previous product had it and we hear it from everyone as we replace it. Current export of a print-formatted report to Excel tries to render it so it looks visibly the same, but it just ends up unusable for any sort of normal spreadsheet usage.
I found Jasper to be quite flexible. Many ways to do things. The server side seems pretty robust. I found it to be a little on the complex side for developing reports. Some of the expression language has unexpected behavior that a more polished product likely would not have. Unless you are a developer or technical by nature, Studio report designer may not be for you. The tables work quite well though.
Support has been very responsive, and very helpful in my experience. They are quick to respond initially and quick to respond to followup questions/information. They provide solutions or workarounds quickly. If the answer is a "working as designed" sort of response, they provide a very thorough reason why. The support portal is easy to use.
Read Gerald Meachem's full review
March 02, 2018
Craig LaValle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Flexibility. TIBCO Jaspersoft is extremely flexible. We use the embedded report engine to crank out thousands of static reports in PDF and Excel format. We use JasperServer to serve up HTML and javascript based dynamic reports and dashboards through visualize.js. We also use JasperServer directly for working with data in an ad hoc fashion. There are even ETL capabilities (though we haven't really explored those much).
  • There is also flexibility when it comes to connecting to different data sources, defining security, etc.
  • Within reports you aren't even limited to the libraries that JasperSoft provides! We've done some very rich and complex visualizations through JasperSoft using third party libraries like D3.js. Really, the sky is the limit.
  • I haven't run into a data presentation problem yet that I can't solve at least in part by using Jaspersoft.
  • Report creation tools. Jaspersoft Studio is extremely powerful. It is also a very familiar environment for folks coming from other report creation tools. This is important to us because we have to train dozens of report writers across our clients every year. For those that come from Crystal Reports, Jaspersoft Studio feels very intuitive very quickly.
  • Pixel perfection. We have a lot of standardized reports from the IRS and other government entities. Jaspersoft makes it easy to put a very visually complex form together quickly and accurately.
  • Power. I have yet to run into a reporting problem Jaspersoft cannot solve.
  • Excel defaults. When designing a report for PDF then exporting to Excel, Jaspersoft, in an effort to maintain pixel perfection, makes the excel version a bit unusable. It is possible to mitigate some of that with some intelligent directives but it would be easier if some things -- getting rid of extraneous rows and columns, for example, would behave a bit more intuitively without intervention.
  • More intuitive security on JasperServer. Much of the security features on Domains and Ad Hoc reporting require either direct manipulation of SQL, XML, or repository placement. I'd like to see some intuitive screens for setting up security in a more visual and intuitive manner.
  • More flexible security on JasperServer. I'd also like to see security down to the data source layer. Going through Domains is not always viable.
  • Better automatic validation up and down the Datasource to Domain to Ad Hoc chain when there is a change to a datasource or domain.
Jaspersoft seems extremely well suited to creating reports against large, complicated, RDBMS systems. It is also well suited in organizations that have technical expertise, particularly in Java.

It does require some expertise to get at most of the real power of the system. For a smaller system with an organization that doesn't have technical expertise, I think JasperSoft may be overkill. A smaller organization with a simple data set may get some use out of domains and ad hoc reporting but much of the real advantages of JasperSoft would go to waste in that environment.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Both the online and In-person training have been excellent. JasperSoft's documentation is second-to-none. There has been constant and continuous care from JasperSoft to train and retrain our own people as well as our clients on using the JasperSoft product.

The in-person training was done in our office and was very hands on. It lasted for two days and they asked plenty of questions to tailor the training to our needs (the original, stock, training is three days but we really didn't need the security bit since we embed JasperSoft into our own product which has its own security).

In short, they have been fantastic.
They have been very responsive to our questions and concerns. Sometimes, though, I feel like they ask for a bit too much information for the problem at hand.
Read Craig LaValle's full review
May 29, 2018
Davide Marzucco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to integrate perfectly with our custom business application.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft has a valuable designer to let the end users design their own tailored reports based on a selection of data provided in application design phase.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to manage multi-tenancy for our end users, allowing for the segregation of duties and data isolation.
  • It requires a lot of resources to provide a good end user experience, especially in terms of memory.
  • The management of custom domains to define the users and properties is hard to manage, causing a tree-structure with too many leaves.
  • The integration between TIBCO and SQL Server should be improved since its installation and maintenance is currently not as easy as the integrated database solution.
The scenario where TIBCO Jaspersoft is perfectly fitting is the integration with a custom business application, where end users are required to use a custom designer to define their personal reports, tailored to their needs, based on a specific set of data information, which can be identified in the application design phase. This allows the designers to limit the scope of the data, but allows the user the freedom to design the look and feel of their reports.
We have been several times in the need of support from Tibco, mostly to setup and fine tune the production environment, and every time their support was always willing to help. Whenever the issue was complex, and eventually due to customizations done by us at their software, we can anytime reach to our Customer Success Manager, who is available to enter and contribute into our internal discussions with all our teams, so to be involved in our product implementation roadmap, and connecting back to Tibco support team, to provide clarity on our needs and deadlines. The result is our requests get resolved brilliantly.
  • Online training
Training has been done getting access to the extensive knowledge base TIBCO is making available to any partner. This is a valuable resource for learning and implement this very flexible solution, and whenever we need further explanation, we can always get back to TIBCO Support. Our dedicated Customer Success Manager is also offering some on-site workshops, but at a separate cost.
Read Davide Marzucco's full review
May 22, 2018
Rahul Goswami | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Pixel perfect reports
  • Multi-tenancy
  • Jaspersoft Studio - a powerful tool for designing reports and publishing them seamlessly to the server
  • SSO (Single Sign-On)
  • Affordable BI stack
  • Dated UI. Definitely not Web 2.0!
  • Multi-tenant row level security and data domains are not easily implemented without consultants.
  • Learning curve. Training and documentation drives success, even for technical folks.
  • Lack of sample reports/templates for the education vertical.
  • Server config/license management should be web accessible for the superuser.
Well Suited:
  1. Organizations with technical staff (db,web,Java,Linux,etc.).
  2. Multi-tenant SaaS vendors
  3. Broader strategy support as in Basic Analytics to Enterprise BI level scaling.
Less Appropriate:
  1. Basic Analytics
  2. Lack of dedicated technical resources. Impacts on deployment models. E.g. Data Warehouse.Y/N?
  3. Jaspersoft Studio needs in enterprise multi-tenant environments
Average quality given my experience with them.
  • Online training
Not really but it did help understand the underlying concepts. 3 days of all day training wasn't enough even for a technical audience (sql,web,analytics experience).
Read Rahul Goswami's full review
May 22, 2018
Eva Donaldson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Adhoc domain structure is flexible and robust. It puts quite a lot of power into the hands of our power users and enough simplicity into our other users' hands to get them most often what they need.
  • Datasource connectivity. We have easily been able to connect to multiple data sources to produce reports which has been critical for us. The ease of use of this was part of our selection of Jaspersoft as our BA product.
  • Ease of use and extensibility of visualizations. Having HTML5 charts available with all the available options means we can EASILY make data pretty and usable for pretty picture people.
  • Dashboards. They are easy to build and flexible. Wonderful feature.
  • Performance on some of the way adhoc domains work. So for example, we have to set the default aggregation on all fields to NONE otherwise it calculates them ahead of time, causing delays. This is mostly because of the size of data we are dealing with. Having to set that default to NONE means we need more educated users to use the tool. Not a show stopper, but could be better.
  • We purchased JaspersoftETL. Just don't bother. There is no TIBCO support for that product and after this experience, I wouldn't recommend the underlying product at all.
Internal reporting when you need everyone to have access to big data! PowerBI is nice and all, but you can't put all that data on PCs. So much better to make it available via Jaspersoft. Report presentation in general. Dashboards you want to embed into your application. Really, presentation of data? It doesn't get better than Jaspersoft.
They respond quickly. Depending on the rep you get service can vary between amazing and "meh" but by the end you get what you need. It is just a matter of how many times you might have to clarify for the "meh" folks.
  • Self-taught
Self-taught is only partially true as I had come from an organization that had the on-site training. In general though, the documentation is very strong and training is generally too high-level to be truly useful.
Read Eva Donaldson's full review
September 06, 2018
Suresh Regonda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft Reports are more flexible to use
  • It should be a more independent reporting tool for users to develop their own reports based on the their requirements
Easy to understand; learning this tool will not take much time if you're good at SQL Query also.
Read Suresh Regonda's full review
May 08, 2018
Peter Larabell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • This may not be an obvious one, but the installer is well done. A lot of these products that are somewhat of a combination of other "back-end" components can be a pain to install. The fact that TIBCO/Jaspersoft bundles everything required into ONE installer is a huge blessing to any IT person wanting or needing to do an installation.
  • Jasper makes upgrades VERY easy. Since the entire reporting repository can be exported in a few clicks of a mouse (or via the shell/command-line) and imported AS-IS into a newer version is a major win.
  • The configuration files for Jasper's reporting server are all XML. Human readable. That's a big plus for people used to being forced into using proprietary software with closed-format binary configurations.
  • Documentation. While *using* Jasper Reports server is super simple and probably doesn't need much in the way of documentation, the overall quantity of documentation regarding some of the smaller details is severely lacking.
  • The reports editor. JasperStudio is OK. We use it, we make loads of reports with it, it's 100 times better than what we used before. But, the documentation for the report editor is terrible, and it seems as if some things just don't make sense. For example, no quick way to signify that you just want columns of data in a delimited file, no formatting, no special spacing, no anything other than straight data. There IS a way to do that in JasperStudio, but it's time-consuming, and it's very "repeatable" in the sense that it COULD be automated fairly easily, but just isn't.
  • Virtual Data Sources. This is one of the coolest and most useful things Jasper can do, but it's crippled and no explanation is given as to WHY it is that way. Crippled in what way, you may ask? The VDS system works in the Jasper Server, but NOT in the report editor. :/ As such, you can't test a report in the editor which needs data from a VDS then import that report into Jasper and use it. You can kinda fake it with datasets and connection parameters, but it just isn't what it COULD be with a little extra development.
If your organization needs reports in PDF, XLSx, CSV, or one of many other supported formats, and you want some of them auto-scheduled and sent to various FTP servers or email addresses, Jasper does that very well. [It's] Easy to install, easy to add a user account, and easy for end users. For any small technical things someone can say they wish Jasper did better, there are a LOT of things Jasper does REALLY well.
I am giving it a 10 because I like Jaspersoft. However, I really haven't had a need to "get support". Never really had a problem with it. :) I've made hundreds of reports, including ones with sub-reports. We've done schedules, dashboards, ad-hoc, manual JRXML editing and all that. We've been through a handful of version upgrades as well. Never needed to get tech-support. :/
  • Self-taught
None. I didn't need any training. The install was very easy. Using Jasper reports in the browser is so easy you don't need directions. Using JasperStudio took a little longer to figure out, but it wasn't THAT hard that I needed someone to train me. Even getting input controls to work and sub-reports and such... it isn't SUPER easy, but it certainly isn't hard if you've worked with a lot of other software.
Yes - Yes. No.
Read Peter Larabell's full review
July 14, 2018
Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Adhoc Report Builder : It helps creating new reports on the fly without the need of code change
  • Handling big volume of Data: In the event of multiple pages report output, it show the first page very quickly and keeps on loading the pages in the background
  • Report Export : All the reports can be exported in Word/Excel/PDF formats
  • Reports auto schedule: All the reports can be auto scheduled to run at defined intervals and can send the output in a email attachment
  • Dashbaord: Dashboard need to be made Interactive with drilldown capabilities
  • Report output should be seamless on any screen size

Adding Jaspersoft to your enterprise application works well with SSO and spring security. Enterprise applications should focus on their core business and leverage 3rd party software like Jaspersoft for Report building capabilities

If your Enterprise application is not JAVA based , then it may not be suited

Read Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP's full review
March 03, 2018
Milan Paunovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Charts are very good looking. It has dynamic and easy built reports
  • For developers it is very easy to learn and develop nice looking reports very fast, even without any Java background.
  • Adhoc reports are very useful.
  • It is easily embedded into any web application
  • Jasper server works very fast, and you can easily organize it and use it for several clients (by splitting organizations)
  • Intuitive and easy administration for managing reports and permissions
  • Deployment of jasper reports is not good. Especially if you are planning some automatic deployment.
  • Jasper studio Integration with TFS
  • Most of configuring of Jasper server is mostly done in config files. There should be an option to do it on a server. i.e. email configuration.
  • Database authentication is complex, needs to be documented better
  • Logging errors needs to be improved.
Jasper is good in scenarios were clients needs ability to create ad hoc reports themselves. If you don't have a large BI development team it is perfect, because even without experience it is very easy to develop nice reports, and clients can create reports themselves. Complex and large reports, subreports and generic reports are hard to develop and very slow. I have used some other solutions and was more satisfied. Don't like how tables are built, it is making process of building reports far more complex then it should be. Creating tables on reports should be easiest thing.
If clients are more oriented on official reports with simple static structure there less expensive solution and reports are easier to build. So I suggest that you create some basic jasper reports features package which would be less expensive and would provide much simpler process of creating reports, like wizards, less controls for reports, and simplified jasper servers without tenants.
It is good to use in scenario where you have multiple clients which uses same solution and you just need to split organizations(tenants) and split reports by organizations and then host everything on one jasper server. This very much simplifies deployment and maintenance for us.

  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Training allowed us to more quickly learn how to develop good looking and complex reports really fast. Training were good organized, and material used for training was useful. Just I had a lot of questions during and after training but the feedback was bad, since i didn't get to much answers.
Good looking reports are hard to develop, I personally didn't have problems with learning but I see that other had those problems and they are developers that are more used to Microsoft products, and didn't have experience with Eclipse. Not satisfied totally with support we had few problems, and questions after training, but didn't have answers and feedback. Community is not that big, you will not be able to find solutions for your problems.
Read Milan Paunovic's full review
October 13, 2017
Andreas Evagorou | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Excellent easy process of embedding Jaspersoft into a website.
  • Easy process of working with Jaspersoft elements through Visualize.js
  • Helpful Community if you take into consideration the communities of other BI similar products
  • Community is quite large but it would be much more helpful if more experts could answer our questions
  • Their API is not that well documented
  • I would prefer some of the Pro features to exist on community edition as well, like for example HTML5 Charts
First of all I need to clarify that this is my first reporting tool so i do not have that much experience to compare. What i can think of is that Jaspersoft as I have worked with it is great for developing reports and dashboards which can be easily be embedded to any website or web app. There are various options for single-sign on processes and authentication. Also code customization is quite straightforward when you know what you are doing.
Read Andreas Evagorou's full review
May 31, 2018
Charles Cochran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Jaspersoft implements easily with a number of infrastructure configurations.
  • Reports are always easy to schedule.
  • Ad-hoc design is simple and quick.
  • Custom reports are easily published through Jaspersoft Studio
  • Management of templates could be easier.
  • Simplify queries to work more easily for troubleshooting.
  • Implement report designer into Jaspersoft reporting to enhance report aesthetics.
  • Remove dashboard and create modular cells.
Jaspersoft really excels in delivering data on a scheduled basis by being easy to create automatically recurring reports delivered to the customers' inbox. Jaspersoft could be improved from the novice user perspective by being more user friendly for those with minimal exposure.
Read Charles Cochran's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (81)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (82)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (79)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (82)
7.7
Formatting capabilities (90)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (74)
8.1
Publish to Web (69)
8.9
Publish to PDF (93)
9.0
Report Versioning (54)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (76)
7.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (57)
8.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (67)
7.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (50)
7.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (88)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (86)
9.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (82)
9.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (68)
9.1
Responsive Design for Web Access (54)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (24)
6.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (39)
7.1
REST API (75)
8.5
Javascript API (58)
7.8
iFrames (51)
8.5
Java API (50)
8.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (53)
8.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (55)
8.7

What is TIBCO Jaspersoft?

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

TIBCO Jaspersoft Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages