TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngEmbedded BI for AllWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Modern looking reporting - (many other products are still archaic looking in their default selections) Quick time-to-market turn-around from concept to reality when creating a report Listens to customer feedback for future features - this, I believe, has greatly shaped some of the upgrade features we have seen of late that have brought the level of usefulness up for Jaspersoft and ease of use for non-developer users Full customization of reports with scheduling and many different formats available (I mention this because some other products had limited export format options),If you do not have a proper hardware set up, report run-time can be slow and take up a lot of resources in a shared stack. You must fine tune a lot of set up for DB servers in order to get that perfect runtime for end users Users with very slow connections/not close to runtime locale of reporting server can have very slow experiences with reports It is a large learning curve to gain that best-practice knowledge of using DB. This is understandable for most products. I wish that Jaspersoft had better documentation for this in the form of more shared examples in order for users to gain better business practice-use of the product. We struggled with many trial and error methods until finding those perfect solutions.,8,It has made some of our applications stand out from competitors as our reporting engine offerings are much more advanced.It has allowed us to use our developers for our main products and not have to share with the BI requests. Now all of our reporting requests have gained in demand and we are making ourselves as a company more sought after with our reporting edge.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases),As a software company, we have to deal with a lot of changes within the industry tools in terms of upgrades and changes in support for products. Jaspersoft is perfect in that there is not a single way to use/implement which allows us to spend less time working on the integration.,Privacy is of the utmost importance for our clients and so we value the security offerings in the application which allows us to host many clients in a shared environment. This brings down our cost and maintenance support of the clients and their interaction with the application.,7,TIBCO professional services,9,In-person training,8,If a user has no idea on the architecture of their database then use, I think jaspersoft is hard to understand how to use from a business user to admin level user. It involves an understanding of relationships of tables in order to create domains from which to make ad hoc views and reports. The concepts as a business user are not too hard to grasp in terms of being in an ad hoc environment and navigating the palette selections. Selecting which fields to use and so on is fairly simple with the drag and drop. What I did find was that the calculated measures and fields section to not be for beginner users and something that had to be advanced level in that I was not familiar with the syntax needed and had to make my own cheat sheet as the guidance in the ad hoc tool and online training guides was not enough. I really appreciated the jaspersoft community as a source of open questions on the product. I myself opened a few issues to see if the community could answer my question. There is a lot of knowledge in the shared experience of other users on the quirks of jaspersoft and so it remains a good place to "google" questions related to the product. When we were training I used the community page frequently to help with small things like chart formatting to browser related issues.,None/Don't Know/OtherTIBCO Jaspersoft leads to the convergence of informationWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers,The implementation of the reports with Jasper Studio is very friendly and allows us to be more productive. It is also an essential aid in the management decisions of our clients with their BI tool. We can guarantee quality attributes such as scalability, security, and confidentiality in the presentation of information with TIBCO.,The implementation of security with Visualize.js took us a long time due to the lack of documentation on the subject.,10,We have many clients with many reporting requirements. With Jaspersoft, we have been able to deliver them in a much shorter time.,Jaspersoft Premium Support (No annual case limit) Jaspersoft Community,It allows the convergence of information since in one place we can see information in multiple formats in order to make decisions.,As I say before, in one place we have all the information for each one of our clients, this functionality requires high infrastructure resources and obviously built-in multi-tenancy capability.,Oracle Analytics Cloud Day by Day and Microsoft BITo Jaspersoft or not to Jaspersoft? That is the question!We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,TIBCO Jaspersoft allows you to embed reports into your own application, which gives users the feeling they are using a single product. TIBCO Jaspersoft Studio allows for more advanced report development, such as adding subreports, drilldown to detail reports, images, page headers, page footers, maps, and more. TIBCO's Jaspersoft Domain Designer is very easy to use and navigate.,Ad-hoc views and reports don't allow for the capability to enter or modify SQL being used. Users always have to rely on how the domain is built. Ad-hoc views and reports don't have the functionality to automatically remove duplicate rows. If a domain is extremely large and contains several derived tables, slowness is a big issue. Not only is there slowness in the domain designer, but there is slowness when using said domain as the data source of an ad-hoc view.,7,In the reporting world, we moved from Business Objects and Oracle Reports to TIBCO Jaspersoft reports. In doing so we have noticed improvements in styling and functionality, however there are several things that can't be done in Jaspersoft that clients always ask about. Compared to Business Objects and Oracle Reports, Jaspersoft can't remove duplicate rows, hide and unhide input controls on the parameter screen passed on the value of another input control, and have multiple tabs/forms on the parameter screen just to name a few. On the positive side of things, Jaspersoft ad hoc is easy to use for non-technical users.,Jaspersoft Premium Support (No annual case limit) Jaspersoft Community,Is is very important that TIBCO Jaspersoft supports our needs and works seamlessly within our application. We want our users to feel like they are using a single application, which is why embedded reports using REST API is a must. In using the many areas of TIBCO Jaspersoft, we frequently have questions which TIBCO Support usually knows the answer to.,When integrating TIBCO Jaspersoft to our application is was very important to have built-in multi-tenancy. We have several clients with their own custom databases. We want to have the ability to give our clients the custom functionality they need that may be different from another tenant. Multi-tenancy allows for custom reports and domains to be used by specific clients without worrying another client, who has not paid for this custom work, can access it.,Exago BI and Business Objects SRCExcellent Reporting featruesWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Jaspersoft has an excellent self-service module that allows ad hoc report creation and can be easily worked by non-technical users as well. Using this tool, it doesn't matter if you are viewing the report on a desktop screen or smaller mobile screens, the experience is seamless.,One of the issues we found during our implementation was that the reporting software would work faster for certain data sources and not the others. Extracting CSVs and XML was slower in comparison to JSON in our experience. Jaspersoft Studio was the main IDE we used for development. Built atop the Eclipse IDE, we found that the tool was really resource intensive and generally take long time to initialize.,8,Overall we've had an excellent experience with the reporting features of this product.,Jaspersoft Community,We had a wide variety of different data sources being used at the university like Salesforce CRM, Oracle databases, MySQL server etc. We did not have any integration issues with them.Jaspersoft Reporting ReviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,The reports are exactly as they are designed in Jaspersoft Studio. It allows for pixel-perfect editing, so we can be sure the reports our customers get look great. We have a number of different data stores for our different products, and Jaspersoft has connectors for all of them. No matter where our data is, Jaspersoft allows us to access it easily, and transform it into a great looking report. Once the reports are uploaded to the Jaspersoft Server, it is very easy to generate the reports. Be it passing parameters via the URL, using the REST api, or embedding using Visualize.js, generating the reports is a breeze.,The UI on the report designer, Jaspersoft Studio, looks a little outdated. I think that Studio as a whole could use a facelift. Additionally, Jaspersoft Studio tends to slow down over time, requiring a restart of the program. There is a bit of a learning curve with all of the intricacies of Jaspersoft Studio, it's kind of overwhelming when trying to learn it from nothing. One functionality that seems to be missing, that would help our use-case, would be the ability to parameterize a JSON URL as a data source. For example, if there was a call to a set of JSON data, it has to be a static URL. But in many cases, APIs that return JSON take parameters via the URL. Jaspersoft does not support that.,8,Jaspersoft has had a great impact. It allowed us to shut down our locally hosted reporting server, and gave us much more customization of our reports. The report designer lets us create great looking reports, with relative ease. Thanks to this, we can create, and supply to our customers, more reports than ever. Plus, they look much better. Additionally, if a report needs an adjustment, it's easy to make a quick fix.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases) Jaspersoft Community,It's very important. At our company we use a great deal of different data sources and architectures. Jasper has been able to work in every single scenario that we have had for it so far. Plus, knowing all the features of Jasper, I'm confident that it will continue to work for everything that the future may hold.,This is very important to us. We have many customers that may be generating reports simultaneously, so multi-tenancy was probably the biggest feature that we were looking for when researching reporting engines. Our customers certainly appreciate the fact that there is nothing holding them back from generating a report at any given time.,Tableau Server and Sisense
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
239 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Jaspersoft
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 239 vetted TIBCO Jaspersoft reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ashley Lee profile photo
December 05, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Embedded BI for All"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We use Jaspersoft primarily as our embedded reporting module within our own SaaS offerings.

The major benefit we found as a company when choosing to license a third party reporting system was that Jaspersoft gives us greater opportunity to focus on our own product growth. The reporting offered through Jaspersoft allows us to use them within our own applications so that we do not have to use resources to develop our own suite of reporting offerings. We had many client requests for pixel perfect reporting as well as ad hoc use of their own data and not enough resources to expend on the effort; Jaspersoft fulfills both of these requests. For my own work, the Jaspersoft domain and ad hoc abilities allow me, a non-developer, to be able to analyze data without the middleman help of a developer to get me the information. My own support level has increased as I am abler now to better service clients due to the greater expose and ease I am able to gather client data and give feedback.
  • Modern looking reporting - (many other products are still archaic looking in their default selections)
  • Quick time-to-market turn-around from concept to reality when creating a report
  • Listens to customer feedback for future features - this, I believe, has greatly shaped some of the upgrade features we have seen of late that have brought the level of usefulness up for Jaspersoft and ease of use for non-developer users
  • Full customization of reports with scheduling and many different formats available (I mention this because some other products had limited export format options)
  • If you do not have a proper hardware set up, report run-time can be slow and take up a lot of resources in a shared stack. You must fine tune a lot of set up for DB servers in order to get that perfect runtime for end users
  • Users with very slow connections/not close to runtime locale of reporting server can have very slow experiences with reports
  • It is a large learning curve to gain that best-practice knowledge of using DB. This is understandable for most products. I wish that Jaspersoft had better documentation for this in the form of more shared examples in order for users to gain better business practice-use of the product. We struggled with many trial and error methods until finding those perfect solutions.
Well suited for formatting needs and specific export types.
Great for creating static scheduled reports because they are easily editable by non-developers.

Less suited for non-developer level users if looking for an ad hoc tool as I believe they still need to do more work in making the ease-of-use of their ad hoc tool so that it is more accessible to entry-level users to reporting software.
Read Ashley Lee's full review
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica profile photo
February 07, 2019

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft leads to the convergence of information"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • The implementation of the reports with Jasper Studio is very friendly and allows us to be more productive.
  • It is also an essential aid in the management decisions of our clients with their BI tool.
  • We can guarantee quality attributes such as scalability, security, and confidentiality in the presentation of information with TIBCO.
  • The implementation of security with Visualize.js took us a long time due to the lack of documentation on the subject.
TIBCO has become an ally for the presentation of information and the generation of reports in the applications of our company.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
No photo available
March 15, 2019

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "To Jaspersoft or not to Jaspersoft? That is the question!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We use TIBCO Jaspersoft to allow our company and clients to access and analyze their fundraising data. We use ad-hoc domains and reports, as well as, the more advanced Jaspersoft Studio reports. By building standard domains, our clients are able to create their very own custom ad hoc reports with table, crosstab, and chart visualizations. For those more complex use cases, we are able to create more advanced reports with Jaspersoft Studio.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft allows you to embed reports into your own application, which gives users the feeling they are using a single product.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft Studio allows for more advanced report development, such as adding subreports, drilldown to detail reports, images, page headers, page footers, maps, and more.
  • TIBCO's Jaspersoft Domain Designer is very easy to use and navigate.
  • Ad-hoc views and reports don't allow for the capability to enter or modify SQL being used. Users always have to rely on how the domain is built.
  • Ad-hoc views and reports don't have the functionality to automatically remove duplicate rows.
  • If a domain is extremely large and contains several derived tables, slowness is a big issue. Not only is there slowness in the domain designer, but there is slowness when using said domain as the data source of an ad-hoc view.
TIBCO Jaspersoft is well suited for users who are not too technical. These users are able to easily drag and drop domain fields from their database to create friendly table reports. Users can easily add filters to their reports which allows for reusability. On the other hand, if a user is looking to add information that has many-to-many relationships, duplicates will appear. Having duplicates in an ad-hoc view and not being able to easily remove them is a big issue for many of our clients.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Excellent Reporting featrues"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
At my previous role at a large public university we were faced with a requirement of producing live, interactive and visually appealing reports to be used by senior management at various stakeholder meetings going all the way up to the board of governors. We decided to use TIBCO Jaspersoft Reporting software to help satisfy that need. We leveraged the software for reporting on various student data as well as financial well being of the different university departments.
  • Jaspersoft has an excellent self-service module that allows ad hoc report creation and can be easily worked by non-technical users as well.
  • Using this tool, it doesn't matter if you are viewing the report on a desktop screen or smaller mobile screens, the experience is seamless.
  • One of the issues we found during our implementation was that the reporting software would work faster for certain data sources and not the others. Extracting CSVs and XML was slower in comparison to JSON in our experience.
  • Jaspersoft Studio was the main IDE we used for development. Built atop the Eclipse IDE, we found that the tool was really resource intensive and generally take long time to initialize.
TIBCO Jaspersoft is an excellent reporting tool that makes creating live interactive reports and dashboards very easy. These graphically rich reports can be embedded in our application, emails or simply printed out without any additional hassle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Reporting Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We use Jaspersoft as our reporting server to supply reports to the customers of our SaaS product. Our product uses data collected from our street signs, including speed, volume, etc., which is then uploaded to the cloud. Once this data is uploaded to the cloud, our customers can run a number of different reports on this data. Jaspersoft hosts all of these reports, and all we have to do is provide the parameters and serve it up to the customer.
  • The reports are exactly as they are designed in Jaspersoft Studio. It allows for pixel-perfect editing, so we can be sure the reports our customers get look great.
  • We have a number of different data stores for our different products, and Jaspersoft has connectors for all of them. No matter where our data is, Jaspersoft allows us to access it easily, and transform it into a great looking report.
  • Once the reports are uploaded to the Jaspersoft Server, it is very easy to generate the reports. Be it passing parameters via the URL, using the REST api, or embedding using Visualize.js, generating the reports is a breeze.
  • The UI on the report designer, Jaspersoft Studio, looks a little outdated. I think that Studio as a whole could use a facelift. Additionally, Jaspersoft Studio tends to slow down over time, requiring a restart of the program.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve with all of the intricacies of Jaspersoft Studio, it's kind of overwhelming when trying to learn it from nothing.
  • One functionality that seems to be missing, that would help our use-case, would be the ability to parameterize a JSON URL as a data source. For example, if there was a call to a set of JSON data, it has to be a static URL. But in many cases, APIs that return JSON take parameters via the URL. Jaspersoft does not support that.
I think that Jaspersoft lends itself very well to scenarios in which a company has a set of static reports that are going to be generated frequently. Whether it is internal reports, or external customer facing reports, Jasper does the job and does it well. In scenarios where reports need to be more dynamic, such as changing columns, it is less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft--Power, Flexibility and Simplicity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We have recently begun the national roll-out of a newly designed system to manage a significant portion of the business. For the first time ever, this new system allows users to produce real-time reports. Jaspersoft is the perfect technology for providing this reporting solution. Jaspersoft enables us to seamlessly embed reports into our web interface and allows us to control nearly every aspect of reporting for the end-user. By using Jaspersoft, users can produce high quality reports, save those reports for future execution, schedule reports and export the output into PDF, Excel or CSV format. Having experience with other reporting solutions throughout my career, I am confident that Jaspersoft provides the greatest flexibility in a high quailty tool.
  • Jaspersoft can be seamlessly embedded into web applications.
  • Jaspersoft is easily customized allowing nearly complete control over the reporting environment.
  • Jaspersoft is scalable allowing it to grow to meet the needs of our growing user base as our deployment rolls out across the country.
  • Jaspersoft is easy to learn for the report developer.
  • Jaspersoft Studio is a little "buggy" having to be closed and re-opened periodically throughout the day.
  • Multi-select queries return and load the entire query result set rather than allowing "lazy-loading" of records as a user scrolls. This results in slow loading report parameter screens as the lists are loaded.
  • It would be great to have source control (such as Version One or Git) better integrated into Jaspersoft.
  • Version 6.4.3.final of Jaspersoft Studio has some bugs where some button on the main toolbar simply do not function (such as "Publish the file on JasperReports Server.")
Well Suited: Jaspersoft is the optimum solution for embedded reports. It allows this to be done seamlessly where a user would assume you wrote the reporting directly into the web page rather than embedding a tool.

Less Appropriate: I would not recommend native Jaspersoft as an ad-hoc reporting tool for the end-user. Because it provides so much flexibility, it is probably a bit too complex for the end-user.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Just a brief review of Jaspersoft after using it for 10 years"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • The need for a generic pixel-perfect reporting and charting solution for our application
  • To provide ad-hoc reporting capability for our implementers of our solution
  • Need flexibility in deployment options in terms of types of database and application servers
  • Seamless integration with our html5/Java-based product
  • Role-based data-level security support
  • Easy to use ad hoc reporting capability, which can be used by end users without technical/programming knowledge
  • Very customizable in terms of UI look and feel and report generation through Java/scripting
  • Responsive customer support and great UpShift program that offers useful implementation/integration help to developers
  • Can be quite CPU/memory intensive, especially when multiple users are running larger reports at the same time.
  • Ad hoc report cache tuning can be tricky to balance between better performance and having more current data, especially when different reports have different needs.
It is well suited for scenarios like:
  • Integrating with other business products to provide pixel perfect reporting/charting
  • A general/stand-alone reporting platform for BI specialists
Less appropriate for:
  • Reporting real-time data
  • As a replacement of a search and display result screen, as it can be less efficient due to rendering overhead
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good solution for those requiring tight integration or near-open source flexibility."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
BI visualilsation for SaaS product
  • Flexible visualisation
  • Deep integration with wider software product
  • Highly customisable
  • Not as polished as higher end BI solutions
  • Product development and support responsiveness can be sluggish
  • Commercial/account management contacts dont add value
A good BI visualization solution where you need a balance between powerful functionality and detailed customization. Good breadth of functionality (canned reports, self-service etc).
Read this authenticated review
Davide Marzucco profile photo
May 29, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft to ease tailored reporting needs for end users"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
The business application was initially designed to use the reporting solution provided by Microsoft, that is Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services. We decided to move to TIBCO Jaspersoft because it is much more powerful, and most of all, it provides the ability to let our end users design their own reports within our custom business application. This is valuable plus ends in a further selling point for our business application. Users are really happy with the ability to design their own reports, considering each one would like to have a personalized customization. Before switching to TIBCO, such requests where being managed by developers, with a very high cost in terms of time, resources, and ROI. So TIBCO is also helping with ROI.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to integrate perfectly with our custom business application.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft has a valuable designer to let the end users design their own tailored reports based on a selection of data provided in application design phase.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft is able to manage multi-tenancy for our end users, allowing for the segregation of duties and data isolation.
  • It requires a lot of resources to provide a good end user experience, especially in terms of memory.
  • The management of custom domains to define the users and properties is hard to manage, causing a tree-structure with too many leaves.
  • The integration between TIBCO and SQL Server should be improved since its installation and maintenance is currently not as easy as the integrated database solution.
The scenario where TIBCO Jaspersoft is perfectly fitting is the integration with a custom business application, where end users are required to use a custom designer to define their personal reports, tailored to their needs, based on a specific set of data information, which can be identified in the application design phase. This allows the designers to limit the scope of the data, but allows the user the freedom to design the look and feel of their reports.
Read Davide Marzucco's full review
Rahul Goswami profile photo
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Top heavy but worth it in the end!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
[It] Fills a gap in our product for an enterprise grade embedded analytics and BI tool.
  • Pixel perfect reports
  • Multi-tenancy
  • Jaspersoft Studio - a powerful tool for designing reports and publishing them seamlessly to the server
  • SSO (Single Sign-On)
  • Affordable BI stack
  • Dated UI. Definitely not Web 2.0!
  • Multi-tenant row level security and data domains are not easily implemented without consultants.
  • Learning curve. Training and documentation drives success, even for technical folks.
  • Lack of sample reports/templates for the education vertical.
  • Server config/license management should be web accessible for the superuser.
Well Suited:
  1. Organizations with technical staff (db,web,Java,Linux,etc.).
  2. Multi-tenant SaaS vendors
  3. Broader strategy support as in Basic Analytics to Enterprise BI level scaling.
Less Appropriate:
  1. Basic Analytics
  2. Lack of dedicated technical resources. Impacts on deployment models. E.g. Data Warehouse.Y/N?
  3. Jaspersoft Studio needs in enterprise multi-tenant environments
Read Rahul Goswami's full review
Eva Donaldson profile photo
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Presentation is 90% of the BI Battle"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Other
We use the adhoc reporting structures for massively complex analytical reporting. We use the prepared reporting features to deliver reports to our internal and then via representatives, external clients.
  • Adhoc domain structure is flexible and robust. It puts quite a lot of power into the hands of our power users and enough simplicity into our other users' hands to get them most often what they need.
  • Datasource connectivity. We have easily been able to connect to multiple data sources to produce reports which has been critical for us. The ease of use of this was part of our selection of Jaspersoft as our BA product.
  • Ease of use and extensibility of visualizations. Having HTML5 charts available with all the available options means we can EASILY make data pretty and usable for pretty picture people.
  • Dashboards. They are easy to build and flexible. Wonderful feature.
  • Performance on some of the way adhoc domains work. So for example, we have to set the default aggregation on all fields to NONE otherwise it calculates them ahead of time, causing delays. This is mostly because of the size of data we are dealing with. Having to set that default to NONE means we need more educated users to use the tool. Not a show stopper, but could be better.
  • We purchased JaspersoftETL. Just don't bother. There is no TIBCO support for that product and after this experience, I wouldn't recommend the underlying product at all.
Internal reporting when you need everyone to have access to big data! PowerBI is nice and all, but you can't put all that data on PCs. So much better to make it available via Jaspersoft. Report presentation in general. Dashboards you want to embed into your application. Really, presentation of data? It doesn't get better than Jaspersoft.
Read Eva Donaldson's full review
Suresh Regonda profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft Commander"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft Reports are more flexible to use
  • It should be a more independent reporting tool for users to develop their own reports based on the their requirements
Easy to understand; learning this tool will not take much time if you're good at SQL Query also.
Read Suresh Regonda's full review
Peter Larabell profile photo
May 08, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports is a great piece of software for reporting."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
The Electronics Recycling Division of Veolia North America currently uses Jasper Reports to provide print ready reports, reports not-for-print (we just need the data in a CSV or similar format), and for automatic emailing of reports. Without a solution like Jasper in place, the tremendous strain on our customer service reps and managers would be a hinderance to our daily productivity.
  • This may not be an obvious one, but the installer is well done. A lot of these products that are somewhat of a combination of other "back-end" components can be a pain to install. The fact that TIBCO/Jaspersoft bundles everything required into ONE installer is a huge blessing to any IT person wanting or needing to do an installation.
  • Jasper makes upgrades VERY easy. Since the entire reporting repository can be exported in a few clicks of a mouse (or via the shell/command-line) and imported AS-IS into a newer version is a major win.
  • The configuration files for Jasper's reporting server are all XML. Human readable. That's a big plus for people used to being forced into using proprietary software with closed-format binary configurations.
  • Documentation. While *using* Jasper Reports server is super simple and probably doesn't need much in the way of documentation, the overall quantity of documentation regarding some of the smaller details is severely lacking.
  • The reports editor. JasperStudio is OK. We use it, we make loads of reports with it, it's 100 times better than what we used before. But, the documentation for the report editor is terrible, and it seems as if some things just don't make sense. For example, no quick way to signify that you just want columns of data in a delimited file, no formatting, no special spacing, no anything other than straight data. There IS a way to do that in JasperStudio, but it's time-consuming, and it's very "repeatable" in the sense that it COULD be automated fairly easily, but just isn't.
  • Virtual Data Sources. This is one of the coolest and most useful things Jasper can do, but it's crippled and no explanation is given as to WHY it is that way. Crippled in what way, you may ask? The VDS system works in the Jasper Server, but NOT in the report editor. :/ As such, you can't test a report in the editor which needs data from a VDS then import that report into Jasper and use it. You can kinda fake it with datasets and connection parameters, but it just isn't what it COULD be with a little extra development.
If your organization needs reports in PDF, XLSx, CSV, or one of many other supported formats, and you want some of them auto-scheduled and sent to various FTP servers or email addresses, Jasper does that very well. [It's] Easy to install, easy to add a user account, and easy for end users. For any small technical things someone can say they wish Jasper did better, there are a LOT of things Jasper does REALLY well.
Read Peter Larabell's full review
Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP profile photo
July 14, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good BI tool for Web based JAVA applications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We are an Identity and Access Governance software [company]. Embedded Jaspersoft Reports helps in creating reports for various business needs and compliance requirements. The ad-hoc report builder feature is heavily used as audit requirements change all the time.
  • Adhoc Report Builder : It helps creating new reports on the fly without the need of code change
  • Handling big volume of Data: In the event of multiple pages report output, it show the first page very quickly and keeps on loading the pages in the background
  • Report Export : All the reports can be exported in Word/Excel/PDF formats
  • Reports auto schedule: All the reports can be auto scheduled to run at defined intervals and can send the output in a email attachment
  • Dashbaord: Dashboard need to be made Interactive with drilldown capabilities
  • Report output should be seamless on any screen size

Adding Jaspersoft to your enterprise application works well with SSO and spring security. Enterprise applications should focus on their core business and leverage 3rd party software like Jaspersoft for Report building capabilities

If your Enterprise application is not JAVA based , then it may not be suited

Read Yogesh Ailawadi, CISSP's full review
Charles Cochran profile photo
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft Going Forward"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
We use Jaspersoft as a BI solution both internally and to our customers. Jaspersoft is a multifaceted B.I. solution that allows me to provide my customers with access to their data in a manner that is useful and meets their needs.
  • Jaspersoft implements easily with a number of infrastructure configurations.
  • Reports are always easy to schedule.
  • Ad-hoc design is simple and quick.
  • Custom reports are easily published through Jaspersoft Studio
  • Management of templates could be easier.
  • Simplify queries to work more easily for troubleshooting.
  • Implement report designer into Jaspersoft reporting to enhance report aesthetics.
  • Remove dashboard and create modular cells.
Jaspersoft really excels in delivering data on a scheduled basis by being easy to create automatically recurring reports delivered to the customers' inbox. Jaspersoft could be improved from the novice user perspective by being more user friendly for those with minimal exposure.
Read Charles Cochran's full review
Reza Norouzi profile photo
May 18, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Jasper allows our customers to quickly develop reports to address the company's reporting needs.
  • While user-friendly, the error reporting could provide more detailed feedback. Primarily in regards to editing domains.
Jasper is well suited for users who already have an understanding of the database schema. I wouldn't recommend it for users who are on the UI side who are not familiar with the database.
Read Reza Norouzi's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
May 14, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft for BI comfort"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Jaspersoft for simple and straightforward processed of Analysis of Data, data presentation and Bussiness Inteligence as a whole, at mobile (iOS, Android) and web environment to meet the requirements that my clients request in our Project. Since I am a freelance developer, we could say that we used Jaspersoft across the whole organization.
  • Analysis of Data
  • Bussiness Inteligence
  • Data Presentation
  • It could use more elaborate reporting.
  • Would like to see a community version.
  • If you aren't subscribing to Jaspersoft, it could be a bit hard to learn.
Jaspersoft is good for reporting if you are suited to iReport or Jasper. If you use Java it's great. If you are not suited to them, you would probably need to cross through a learning curve. Jaspersoft for reporting could be a little problematic for responsive environments. Everything else regarding business intelligence is great and recommended.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Shaun Plumb profile photo
May 08, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Jaspersoft"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We needed a reporting system and we use jaspersoft.
  • Report ready software, pixel perfect is nice.
  • Dashboards and charts are useful in designing the way you would like.
  • Open source so everything is able to be customized.
  • Report generation is highly inefficient with memory usage in generating exports.
  • Support doesn't assist with AWS setups although they provide the infrastructure and setup for AWS Server setups.
  • They do not operate very well with clustering / load balancing. Things work however regular errors are unavoidable and hard to determine legit errors on servers and troubleshooting.
It has its ups and downs; it all depends on your organization and what you may need to integrate with in regards to SAML/OAuth or any other login system.
Read Shaun Plumb's full review
No photo available
July 25, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Try checking out a 4 year users review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We are a storage company, we do provide unified storage reporting for the set of appliances we provide to the customer. We ship TIBCO Jaspersoft report server to our end user. This provides authentication and authorization to the end user based on the out of the box authentication user spring framework TIBCO Jaspersoft provides on a multi-tenant environment.
  • Ease and adaptability to rebrand it according to your needs. UI is the most feasible to add new pages.
  • The help docs on the community site and support are always prompt. The high charts and its features are really great to provide better visualization.
  • The report studio provides ease to design the reports and implement styles according to the needs.
  • Implementing out of the box authorization for domain more easily. Now we need additional expertise on groovy to accomplish this.
  • Upgrades to be much easier and require less manual work to update all configurational changes.
Jasperserver best suits when the use is for multiple customers, say an MSP customer wants all his clients accesss their own reporting in that case jasper server suits the best. It also known for its vivid range of graphs/elements available and the option to embed the plugin if necessary.
Your own script for anything to be done on runtime.

Jasper doesn’t support point in time reporting, say I need a scheduled report for every hour for the list of events happened over that hour, I can’t get only get information. Jasper’s default date range doesn’t support that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper Reports Server needs work with authencation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
Use Jasper Reports Server to make reports available to end users in a timely manner as opposed to having to wait for a new web application release for each new report.
  • Reports are easy to access/use for end users.
  • User rights are easy to see how they break down for each user.
  • Jasper Reports Server really needs support for CAC (common access card) authentication or at least allow external authentication to authenticate internal users. My goal is to put a unique identifier, found on each CAC, as an attribute on each internal Jasper Reports Server accounts. I then want to authenticate users by making reference to this attribute then logging the users in as an internal user. I currently have my setup working with externally defined users, but it is a pain and I am trying to move to internally defined users.
The main issue is authentication configuration. If someone can get past the complexity of that, Jasper Reports Server is a good option for reporting needs. If someone doesn't have a lot of time on hand to fool with very difficult authentication configuration, I would not recommend Jasper Reports Server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Reporting made easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We use Jaspersoft for reporting module in our product and embedded jasper in our application. From 2013 we replaced SSRS with Jaspersoft for the flexibility it provides to the end users.
  • Jaspersoft provides flexibility to create new domains dynamically instead of enforcing the need pre-defining them prior to launch of the product.
  • Easy to integrate with any application
  • Enhanced mobile app will make it handy to use jaspersoft even when we are not at home.
  • We have a default RowLimit of 200K set in the application at server level. We do not have an option to make it tenant specific.
  • Few customers on a shared machine will want it to increase it to 500K but with this limitation it'll be applied for all other customers sharing the same server and that might affect performance.
  • Error screens
  • Jaspersoft shows the complete 200+ lines of stack trace in an error screen in the UI. We can have better error handling applied while displaying in UI..
  • In the application logs, it is better to include the tenant info as well. Otherwise, it is confusing to debug issue of one tenant while other tenants are being used.
  • Tenant level auditing.
  • As per jaspersoft, enabling auditing will have performance hit on the server. As we do not have option to enable tenant level auditing, it is enabling auditing on all tenants and causing performance issues.
1. I like the flexibility of creating own domains & ad-hoc views to creating reports.
2. I like the option to provide multiple file types in a scheduled report output.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 17, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Quick review on Jasper Server"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We have embeded Jasper Server and Jasper ETL distributions with our Telco product.
  • Generating reports over web services enables distributed reporting capabilities with authentication.
  • Inbuilt features of Jasper Server help in designing reports as required by the customer.
  • Jasper Server is capable in using with many data adapters like Oracle, PostgreSQL and NoSQL stores.
  • Jasper Server needs some improvements further on its performances in generating reports.
  • Customers claim some security violations on numerous plain text passwords appearing inside the source code.
  • Jasper Server needs automated purging mechanisms on its scheduled reports.
A well suited feature of Jasper Server is the distributed functionality in generating reports over web services which enables the decoupling components in a better way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "A Visually Great Tool to Produce Great Visuals"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We have a need to provide analytics and reports to clients. We want to present information, which can be complex, in a way such that it is easy to read, useful, and relevant. Clients are then able to use this information to understand how their business is performing and make better short and long term decisions.
  • Providing various methods of embedding visual components in our application. For instance, either via iframe, or directly.
  • Jaspersoft Reporting tool provides some wonderful visual components.
  • Every time I have contacted Jaspersoft customer support to addition assistance, I have been pleased with the level of support I have received.
  • My biggest issue is with the TIBCO ETL tool which I have used to transform data into a data warehouse. Specifically project files, which are stored in a SVN repository, save information about that SVN repository. This becomes a problem when backing up / restoring / transferring projects between repositories.
In our case it is well suited for displaying visualizations to our clients. The reporting tools are well serving us very well. We are also using TIBCO ETL tools to transform and add our data to a data warehouse. While ETL tools require a learning curve and are not for the average user - we have found it fairly easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "From Jaspersoft Reports Server Community Version to Professional Version"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We needed to upgrade our reporting servers. TIBCO Jaspersoft provided a robust and scaleable way to upgrade. The price to upgrade vs creating our own software was much cheaper and the time to implement was extremely fast.
  • Create a reporting environment extremely quickly.
  • Easily create dashboards to display information with a nice look and feel.
  • Migrate older versions of reports to the new version with ease.
  • N/A
  • N/A
  • N/A
We used the community version of the reports for a couple years. The time to create dashboards and provide a UI for our clients to view their data was the reason for moving to the professional version. The ease of setting up the environment and migrating older reports was a plus for us. It is a very cost effective platform as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 12, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Fast and Useful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • Simple to use with excellent performance
  • The tool could have a management of report versioning feature
The tool is simple with full functionality for the development area.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (72)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (72)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (69)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (75)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (81)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (66)
7.3
Publish to Web (63)
7.9
Publish to PDF (83)
8.5
Report Versioning (47)
6.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (67)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (50)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (60)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (45)
6.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (79)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (77)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (73)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (61)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (48)
7.2
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (35)
6.7
REST API (68)
7.7
Javascript API (53)
7.5
iFrames (45)
7.5
Java API (45)
7.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (46)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (49)
7.6

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages