TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0B/5S/BO3CRT62CHQ7.JPEGRobust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easyWe use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.,Scales well Fully integrated marketing features Very strong API layer Many out-of-the-box integrations available,Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set Support for their partners can be better Pricing can be confusing,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,It takes some time along with trial and error to setup and configure but once ironed out, the DEC allows for the organization to gain insights into the user journey and tailor content specific to their behavior and preferences. It's also possible to use the DEC with other external systems such as CRM.,WordPress and Sitecore Web Content Management,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pages,Building elements or modules that can be reused Open API Scalability,eCommerce very limited Need a person or firm very well-versed in Sitefinity and .NET to build properly,Yes,9Sitefinity reviewIn 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.,Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content. Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved. Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform. They continue to update the platform with new features,We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team. I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way. It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Joomla!,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesProgress Sitefinity is a great option for Content Management!Progress Sitefinity is being used in our department for the purpose of web content management. It has been a great solution that is user friendly and intuitive to use. The personalization options are terrific and have been very valuable in our strategy. I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market.,Progress Sitefinity is user friendly. It is easy to get on-boarded with Progress Sitefinity. Managing your web content is made much easier.,No complaints here!,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey,WordPress,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesGood solid product with great supportWe use Sitefinity to deliver content to our clients and receive their questions and our answers through a blog.,Sitefinity provides an simple way for our content developers to update our website without worrying about the mechanics. It is a simple mechanism for creating and maintaining a blog. The software is straightforward to implement in our MVC application.,For our application Sitefinity has all the capability we need. We are a small company but we have not needed more than the application provides. Their training is good and their support is fantastic.,10,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Our web sites and customer experience sites are hosted in the cloud. Sitefinity works well in this environment.,,Developer,100-1,000 pagesFlexibilty to suit any need. Also re-usability if you program your custom items correctly.We use Sitefinity for marketing purposes in order to provide prospective students a knowledge of who we are and what we do for our community. Sitefinity is also a platform to gather information from those same prospective students so we can contact them in a more personalized method. Sitefinity has given us the ability to create custom widgets and forms to grant extra content based on who has applied to the school and who has paid a deposit.,Sitefinity Technical Support is always responsive and ready to help. I have even gotten follow ups at night and on weekends. Sitefinity is designed to be flexible. No matter the requirement, there seems to be a way to achieve it. Out-of-the-box items can satisfy a great deal of the needs, but never get in the way of customization's I create.,I was trying to set up a new app and the online documentation hadn't been updated. However, I contacted support and they got back to me quickly with the correct instructions.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,Intranet Connections,Developer,100-1,000 pages
Windows
Progress Sitefinity
189 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Progress Sitefinity Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Progress Sitefinity
189 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 190 vetted Progress Sitefinity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 142)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mike Fus profile photo
November 23, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Robust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.
  • Scales well
  • Fully integrated marketing features
  • Very strong API layer
  • Many out-of-the-box integrations available
  • Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set
  • Support for their partners can be better
  • Pricing can be confusing
Sitefinity is a great fit for medium to enterprise level websites that require a robust WCM solution that can integrate with other systems, be customized to meet business requirements and can scale as needed. Implementation will require a partner or individual that is well-versed in Sitefinity. If implemented correctly, managing content for non-technical and business users is very simple and straightforward.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Either internally or through our client implementations we have achieved all of the above with success. The Sitefinity Digital Experience Cloud (DEC) makes is possible to get insight to the full customer journey and customize content based on behavior and preferences.
Read Mike Fus's full review
Dave Johnson profile photo
October 15, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.
  • Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content.
  • Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved.
  • Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform.
  • They continue to update the platform with new features
  • We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team.
  • I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way.
  • It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.
Ideal for companies who are a Microsoft shop, and are small to medium sized businesses. But if you want all kinds of cool design possibilities and you have your own web designer, you may be better off with an open source product like Joomla.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Increase customer engagement
Our ability to get content onto our site and published has increased tremendously and that was our primary goal. It's easy enough to use to get other employees to comply with using it. We do not have an in-house web designer, and this platform still allows us to do most things without hiring an outside resource (after initial implementation).
Read Dave Johnson's full review
Matt Graf profile photo
January 22, 2019

Review: "Progress Sitefinity is a great option for Content Management!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Progress Sitefinity is being used in our department for the purpose of web content management. It has been a great solution that is user friendly and intuitive to use. The personalization options are terrific and have been very valuable in our strategy. I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market.
  • Progress Sitefinity is user friendly.
  • It is easy to get on-boarded with Progress Sitefinity.
  • Managing your web content is made much easier.
  • No complaints here!
Any situation in which you need to manage web content, Progress Sitefinity can prove to be a useful and worthwhile investment. It will make your life easier and give you better results. Digital commerce is another strength of the services that Progress Sitefinity offers to its clients. It is highly recommended.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Not having a lot of technical experience in web content management, we were looking for something that would help us out without being too confusing. Sitefinity helped us out tremendously. It is user friendly and allows us to improve everything without taking a ton of time to learn the ins and outs ourselves.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Gaylord Wingate profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Good solid product with great support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity to deliver content to our clients and receive their questions and our answers through a blog.
  • Sitefinity provides an simple way for our content developers to update our website without worrying about the mechanics.
  • It is a simple mechanism for creating and maintaining a blog.
  • The software is straightforward to implement in our MVC application.
  • For our application Sitefinity has all the capability we need. We are a small company but we have not needed more than the application provides.
  • Their training is good and their support is fantastic.
There may be applications where Sitefinity does not fit but for us it is just fine. The application works well with our web site in the cloud and it is easy to scale.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
We use Sitefinity to distribute information to our clients without technical staff involvement. The product works well for that. We also use the product for our question and answer capability through a blog. The product also works well for that.
Read Gaylord Wingate's full review
Kevin Bloomquist profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Flexibilty to suit any need. Also re-usability if you program your custom items correctly."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity for marketing purposes in order to provide prospective students a knowledge of who we are and what we do for our community. Sitefinity is also a platform to gather information from those same prospective students so we can contact them in a more personalized method. Sitefinity has given us the ability to create custom widgets and forms to grant extra content based on who has applied to the school and who has paid a deposit.
  • Sitefinity Technical Support is always responsive and ready to help. I have even gotten follow ups at night and on weekends.
  • Sitefinity is designed to be flexible. No matter the requirement, there seems to be a way to achieve it.
  • Out-of-the-box items can satisfy a great deal of the needs, but never get in the way of customization's I create.
  • I was trying to set up a new app and the online documentation hadn't been updated.
  • However, I contacted support and they got back to me quickly with the correct instructions.
Sitefnity is great at reusable templates and creating a single unified look and feel across an entire site while giving the ability to have custom content so every page doesn't look like a copy and paste. This keeps end users engaged in specific content on the page while having the structured framework.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
I still engage with Sitefinity on a regular basis but I have been able to pass some of the extra requests over to the marketing department to handle content changes and form updates. Of course I will never get away from it completely because of the new ideas that people would like to see enabled.
Read Kevin Bloomquist's full review
Tony Giruzzi profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Connections that just work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is our member website backbone and connector to our database. It allows seamless control and security of our website and database. We are also using DevCraft UI for our latest database work on another platform. We are happy that two different vendors suggested using Sitefinity when asked.
  • Standardized user interface
  • Wide array of system interfaces
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of installation
  • I'd like to see a packaged installer, as opposed to installing each module separately
Interfacing our websites with our databases and used to develop web based apps and forms.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
All outcomes have been realized. Interfaces with database work well.
Read Tony Giruzzi's full review
Nabeel Qaisar profile photo
November 09, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company.

Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).
  • Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes.
  • Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level.
  • The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.
  • Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version.
  • The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks.
  • By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal.
  • Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.
Sitefinity is recommended to be used for websites which have large number of pages and rich content. Also, if you have enough budget, then better to go for the Marketing or Enterprise edition to utilize features like Personalization feature, Audit Trail.

Not recommend for any campaign based website, which last for short period of time.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
The personalization feature is being used by some of our websites which have a lot of
content. There, we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time
etc. Here, Sitefinity plays an important role in identifying our target audience. If the user has visited a certain section of the website, we can track the user behavior and show the relevant product or services, thus increasing the number of leads generated by the website user.
Read Nabeel Qaisar's full review
Scott Whiting profile photo
November 07, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLC"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.
  • It provides an excellent library management package
  • It is extensible
  • It is progressive on its use of technology
  • Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage.
  • Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.
Sitefinity is not suited for the small enterprise that does not have its own IT department with staff familiar with Sitefinity.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Read Scott Whiting's full review
Darrell Wehlmann profile photo
October 19, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Realistic Look at Sitefinity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.
  • Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity.
  • Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit.
  • Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.
  • Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses.
  • Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.
It's suited for bigger, more sophisticated projects that have adequate budget. It is not suited for smaller websites and projects as it is cost-prohibitive.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have improved workflow for clients by setting up custom workflows for content authoring, content review and subsequent publishing. We have also engaged customers better by offering advanced website features/touchpoints.
Read Darrell Wehlmann's full review
Sean Patterson profile photo
October 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Robust and Powerful CMS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.
  • Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content.
  • Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository.
  • Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations.
  • Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.
  • Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed.
  • Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort.
  • Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.
For those that need a CMS solution that is easy to manage and quick to get going, Sitefinity provides a great platform to fit these needs. If you require a solution that requires heavy customization, such as special blog post types or custom modules that function more as a web application, then Sitefinity might not be the best fit.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
With the projects I have worked on and the clients I have engaged with, Sitefinity has met our primary needs of getting a site up and running that doesn't require a full IT team to keep running. Additionally, the custom modules and custom APIs that were built allowed my clients to integrate their third party platforms into the site without a huge development undertaking.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Dan Eckles profile photo
September 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity meets our needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is the provider for our website NVAR.org. It is used by the general public, more specifically by our 17,000 Realtors across Nevada. Sitefinity gives us an online platform to disseminate news and information about our association. It is a valuable tool for our staff to share information with our members and for members to interact with staff.
  • Sitefinity offers a platform that is user friendly. The ease gives us a better tool to reach members. More members use our website because it operates quickly and is easy to follow.
  • Sitefinity boasts a service staff that is easy to chat with and prompt. My emails are often answered within 24 hours. Next, after issues are discussed, follow-up work is prompt to find solutions.
  • Sitefinity's back-end for administrators is logical. It is easy to follow and makes sense. I am basically self taught and did so with relatively few frustrations.
  • While service staff is quick to respond, it is not real clear who should be our first point of contact, account leaders, techs who have helped us before.
  • I have had some frustrations with Sitefinity's analytics module. It will not work for us and I've been told the issue lies with our third-party vendor. That may be the case, however a Sitefinity programmer helped with a 'workaround.'
  • A few times, I've dealt with service staff who seemed to use English as a second language. When you are asking for an issue to be addressed, you don't want something to be lost in translation.
As the builder and provider of our website, Sitefinity has been well suited to our needs. We have either been able to meet our needs by changes made by our administrators or by working with service staff to address changes. I have yet to find a scenario where Sitefinity wasn't well-suited to handle it.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Sitefinity helps us achieve these outcomes, but this is always a process. We are always looking to improve workflow. We always want to maintain our website with as little work as possible since time is a valuable resource. Additionally, we never want to be satisfied with customer engagement. That is always evolving.
Read Dan Eckles's full review
Richard Peterson profile photo
September 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "SiteFinity Delivers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress SiteFinity for three brand websites globally and four children of two of the three brand websites. It provides an intuitive user-friendly CMS that I can easily train people to add content to their sections. I like the module builder tool that allows me to build my own widgets. Really a great time saver over having my digital agency to it.
  • I like the Module Builder feature where I can build my own widgets and reduce the need for coding content.
  • I appreciate the different levels of access that I can grant as the administrator so I can maintain control over the sites but have other SMEs add content.
  • I use the approval sign-off process to quickly get new content approved and live on the sites.
  • The videos need to be shorter and to the point on one topic. Don't need to set through five minutes of How-To to learn that one thing I am looking for.
  • We have difficulty at times updating older versions (3.7 and 4.1) to the latest platform.
SiteFinity seems to be more admin focused instead of developer focused and that is fine with me. SiteCore and Kentico are also strong CMS packages but I feel they require more constant developer involvement in the day-to-day site maintenance and I can concentrate on adding new content instead of working with developers just to create new pages.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
We have an older version so our expectations are above what our version of the product can deliver. With new version of the software came stronger capabilities in being mobile friendly, which we were behind on for this upgrade. SiteFinity helped me get up to speed faster and the Google Analytics reports showed such.
Read Richard Peterson's full review
Eugene Seegers profile photo
August 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Enterprise-level control and Search Engine Optimisation CMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at the University of the Free State (UFS), and we use it across all departments (approx. 150 web admins, supervised by my line manager and me). She and I are the quality assurers for web content at the university. Sitefinity has a high level of user-friendliness, and an intuitive graphical user interface. Users with a basic level of technological skills are able to quickly assimilate the basics of Sitefinity and start building a web page, while advanced users rarely run out of new ways to present their content. However, it is difficult to implement customisations and then maintain these over progressive iterations (updates/upgrades).
  • Drag-and-drop GUI: HTML can be very intimidating to new web users or web admins. Sitefinity GUI and drag-and-drop functionality allow one to build a page using a pre-selected template. This process is intuitive and easy to master.
  • Consistency: By creating department-specific templates for home pages and content pages, users are able to simply populate the template with their text, images, designs, videos, and other digital content. The template keeps the pages looking consistently the same while allowing a measure of freedom to the user.
  • Corporate Identity: Sitefinity allows web admins to adhere to the Corporate Identity guidelines of our company.
  • We would like to be able to customise the features of the software more, but this presents issues when these customisations are not carried over to the following version of the software.
  • Integrations with other software and/or API are not clearly identified or communicated.
  • Customer support and service is often lackadaisical or sluggish.
Enterprise-level scalability; User-friendliness; Ease-of-use
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
1. Workflow and efficiency has certainly improved
2. Less technical expertise is required of the uploader
3. Our IT department handles development
4. We would like more freedom to customise and personalise content
5. It is not as easy to track customer engagement in SiteFinity as it is with Google Analytics or Google Web Console
Read Eugene Seegers's full review
Kat Nagasawa profile photo
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our CMS tool. It is integrated with our iMIS (our AMS). We have roles set up in iMIS that translate to Sitefinity.
In addition, a select number of our members have access to update their microsite pages
  • Various roles for access to back pages.
  • Ease in creating pages and content.
  • Integration with our AMS
  • Wiki page for help on how to do things
  • Ensuring customers are up-to-date on versions
  • Differentiating between users who have back end access to a couple of pages vs true admins who have access to all pages.
The cost for more than 13 admins is ridiculously high.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have been able to increase our customer engagement when we redesigned our website to include microsites for our academies.
Read Kat Nagasawa's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall I'd highly recommend, but make sure you have someone implementing it with a strong technical background."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity for our external public facing website as well as our internal company intranet site. The external sites serves as an information source for our customers and the internal sites serves as an information/document portal for our employees.
  • The technical support is pretty good. They generally get back to support requests within 24 hours. There is also a "knowledge base" site which 9 times out of 10 has an answer to your support question already.
  • The product is constantly being updated - almost weekly - so you are constantly getting improvements and new features.
  • The product allows the end users to build their own page layouts while still maintaining a mobile first approach. You are not restricted to building pages using only 2 or 3 page templates. You can drag/drop with any kind of configuration you want.
  • The biggest, and probably most problematic thing is the built in forms. If you require ANYTHING other than a simple name, phone number and email kind of form, then do not use this product. You cannot build dynamic fields or customize the email generated from the form. I think this is the single biggest downfall of this product.
  • They need to manage feature requests better. There are a number of features users have been requesting that don't seem to get addressed. There is also no road map available for us to see if the features are going to be included in the foreseeable future.
Sitefinity is best suited for information based sites. If you want the ability for non-technical people to update content, this product is perfect. If you want the site to perform a specific function other than displaying information, that might be trickier. While the product can easily be customized using MVC, there are some limitations there. Also, if you need feature rich forms or really any kind of form other than a simple name and email kind of thing, then this isn't the product for you.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
The biggest thing we needed was for our communications department to be able to update the site themselves rather than requiring IT to do it. This has achieved this. As non-technical users, they find it really simple and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 27, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity CMS, a powerful, extensible system that is easy to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Sitefinity internally to power our own corporate website. Additionally, we are a Sitefinity partner, so we implement Sitefinity sites for customers around the United States. Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is easy to use, while at the same time is easy to extend and integrate into other systems.
  • Out of the box support for news, blogs, forums, forms.
  • Out of the box ability to point and click to create new, custom content types as needed.
  • Rich API for developers to use in implementing solutions.
  • Extensible platform to allow for integration with other systems.
  • Improved startup time after developers makes coding changes.
Sitefinity works well for sites/systems that need real content management capabilities. For example management of users, groups and roles, content approval workflows, multi-language support. If you are creating a custom line of business application that has no need for content management, this CMS might not be needed.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Sitefinity has an easy-to-use administration area that makes it easier for non-technical content editors to manage content of all kinds. We are currently using the Progress Digital Experience Cloud to track and analyze customer journeys from anonymous user to known customer. We use the build in segmentation and personalization features to provide specific content to users based on location and other characteristics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A powerful CMS for small and large company needs."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is our content management system for our school district website and over 70 campus websites in addition to our internal website. We have multiple departments and every campus utilizes Sitefinity on a regular basis. Sitefinity drives our website related communications needs.
  • Documentation, community forums and communication from the company is helpful and thorough.
  • Support is very timely and effective.
  • A couple years ago Sitefinity made a choice to change the architecture of their CMS to be MVC. This was a massive improvement in my opinion. It makes development a lot more enjoyable.
  • I think Sitefinity's documentation is great. And there are plenty of code samples to pull from on github. But if they have to improve something I would put down a more active user community.
If you are looking for a .NET-based, enterprise-ready CMS that is powerful and customizable, then Sitefinity is a good choice. I needed a CMS that was affordable and could support unlimited users and that is what lead me to them.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
I'm a long time Sitefinity user. We needed something that I could open up to many users with the ability to lock down many different options and create custom content items. All of this was achieved with Sitefinity. No only can you create custom content types but you can create custom options on how to manage them on a page. There are very few scenarios that can't be accomplished with Sitefinity and we only use a fraction of its abilities.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity does the job well!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used enterprise-wide to create content for the website. We are planning to use many of the features that we have not used yet in 2019. Solid software with great ease of use.
  • Content creation and publishing
  • Integration with CRM system and third party tools
  • Digital asset management
  • Taxonomy
  • Search capabilities
Progress Sitefinity assists in creating a dynamic website fast. We have had good success using Sitefinity to work with our CRM software as well as some other third party tools. We also have been able to use Sitefinity to create mobile experiences for our customers.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
We have been able to use Sitefinity as an enterprise-wide software tool to create and publish content. We also have been able to integrate Sitefinity with our CRM tools for single sign-on. Sitefinity plays well within the context of system and data integration with third-party tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

"Director of CX's review of Progress Sitefinity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It hosts the static site for the organization. It's the hub that moderates our business.
  • Easy to make on the go changes.
  • We can personalize messages based on a number of factors such as, location, times visited, etc.
  • Affordable.
  • We can make directional changes for the business without assistance from IT.
  • Client engagement is low. Ensuring that you get the latest and greatest version doesn't happen as often as I'd like. When you ask a question, you are usually referred to a SOW and not the actual services you paid for.
  • There is no Client Success Director to ensure we are properly using the product.
  • We could use training and that is not offered.
Sitefinity is well suited for an organization that does not want to wait on IT releases to make changes to their website. The product works well managing our digital content and users can easily pick up the basics. The product would be much better if the organization continued to communicate with our business to ensure we are successful and using best practices.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Would love the opportunity to understand how we can improve our SEO campaigns and gain more analytics on the customer journey.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Basic CMS that gets the job done"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's the digital content management tool we use to host our website for a particular part of the business and region. It holds our Americas materials website and we do not use it to generate leads but more to provide overview and insight for shareholders and interested parties into our organization.
  • Content management
  • Ease of use
  • Layout of back end
I think that Progress Sitefinity is well suited for a stable website. If you are having a website that gets little traffic and is not generating leads then Progress Sitefinity is great. I am not sure if the tool integrates with Pardot or Hubsport or even Salesforce, so I cannot speak to that capability. If it does integrate well, I think the tool may be competitive to other leading CMS platforms...
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 06, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Intuitive and easy to use product, integrates well with .Net stack. Good pricing with some drawbacks."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity was selected to support a smaller public site we have been tasked with supporting. The goal is to enable content to be managed easily by teams within the organization. We were looking for a product to blend well with our existing .Net tech stack and bring ease of use to the developers and marketers.
  • Intuitive and user-friendly interface
  • Great fit for existing .Net tech stack
  • Good pricing options
  • Rich API
  • More advanced functionality in the menus (can be flat and hard to navigate).
  • Templates can be difficult to locate as there are many storage locations.
  • Having support for MVC and legacy webforms can lead to confusion
Sitefinity is a good fit for organizations looking for an enterprise solution that will integrate with an existing .Net tech stack. If you are tech agnostic you should cast a wider net when evaluating competitors.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Implementation is ongoing, will need to revisit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall good product with great support community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used] Mostly by the marketing department, but other users will be added to admin roles from other departments as needed. Employees will have access to customize their page.
  • Drag and drop features
  • Dashboard content accessibility
  • Support community and forums
  • Visual organization of Content vs. Layout editing
  • More HTML options for sections
  • Easier access to CSS
It has worked great for our situation.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Have yet to deploy. Forms to personalize the user's experience and content outcome.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Wouldn't even think of using anything else!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity to update our website. The Marketing/Communications department is the main user but other departments use it as well to make changes to pages associated with their knowledge base. It's made the website update process much easier because of the ability to share tasks.
  • Sitefinity is very user-friendly. If I'm not able to figure out how to do something, their knowledge base is very detailed and easy to understand.
  • The standard components of Sitefinity make it very easy to add new modules to our website. For instance, blogs, general news, and events.
  • The online account is very nice. One login/location for me to access my license, renew the service and ask questions.
  • I would like to see an easier to use image solution. This could be active in the upgraded versions, but I'm not currently able to upgrade.
  • I do wish there weren't so many steps to activate a new module (I may be using the wrong term here).
I am very happy with Progress and Sitefinity. Our old solution was very manual but this CMS puts everything in one place and allows tasks to be shared across several departments. The support and help features of Progress's knowledge base and staff are very, very helpful and simple to use.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
We've achieved all the outcomes we hoped for when we first started using Sitefinity. Workflow is smooth, shared and efficient. Everyday users don't need to know code to update rates or simple copy. It's a breeze to create a new blog or event calendar. And we LOVE that our visitors are easily able to find what they're looking for and more.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity User's Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our web content management system. It is used across the whole organization by more than 150 users. We bought Sitefinity because it is more user-friendly, has descriptive URLs, works well for SEO and has responsive functionalities. It is much easier to train our web users on Sitefinity and we found that they upload and change their content more often.
  • Responsive functionalities - easy to apply and your website is beautiful on all devices
  • Better for SEO - descriptive URLs, Alt text fields, meta tag fields, and description fields
  • Very user-friendly content management system
  • We cannot seem to change the colors and font used on the events calendar.
Well suited: for a big organization where a big group of people need to upload and change content on a website. Users that do not necessarily have experience in a web environment. It is very easy to train them on Sitefinity; it's very user-friendly. Users find it very easy to work in Sitefinity.

Also very good for web SEO.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
Improve workflow and overall efficiency: It is now much easier for our web users to change and upload content on the website. They change content and send through for approval through a workflow system, where we check layout, branding, and language before we publish the pages.

Maintain the site with less technical expertise: Web users working on the website does not necessarily have web experience. They find it very easy to learn how to work in Sitefinity. This means that we spend less time training and re-training our web users.
Build new tools and site features: Sitefinity makes it possible, and easy, for us to change features on our website.

Increase customer engagement: If we have more web users working in Sitefinity, uploading and updating their content, we will have more people visiting our website and staying on our website for longer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

Review: "Progress Sitefinity is an affordable, quality CMS."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity as our external facing website. It represents our entire organization.
It addresses marketing, communication, enrollment management and serves as an internal employee web portal.

Our ability to tie into our active directory of users, to quickly get users up and running and allow for multiple editors across our organization is invaluable. The publishing workflows that Sitefinity allows for, gives us the web governance control we need, while allow our content experts the ability to generate content that can be moderated before being live.
  • The content publishing workflows in Sitefinity are easy and work very well.
  • The editing interface is my favorite. The layout widgets, in conjunction with content widgets make creating any number of content layouts in just a few minutes a piece of cake.
  • Access rights and permissions are easy to set up; and more importantly, give you the ability to be very granular (person or role).
  • The upgrade process for updating the system is lacking. While there is a "simple" upgrade installer, many times, the assembly references are broken or point to older versions.
  • I typically wait until an X.1 version before I upgrade our system. Each "new version" of Sitefinity comes with quite a few bugs and usually aren't resolved until the X.1 update.
  • The ability to control the HTML editing control is not as easy as it used to be in older versions.
Sitefinity is great if you have a larger website or many content editors. If you are a one-man show, the feature set may be overkill.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
We have achieved improving editing/publishing workflows and overall efficiency with updating our website. We have built several custom tools and integrations with our CMS that have become mission critical. We have also been able to put hooks in place to track our customers and their journey through our website.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (135)
9.0
API (113)
7.6
Internationalization / multi-language (83)
7.3
WYSIWYG editor (134)
8.0
Code quality / cleanliness (126)
8.2
Admin section (141)
8.0
Page templates (139)
7.9
Library of website themes (87)
5.1
Mobile optimization / responsive design (128)
7.8
Publishing workflow (125)
7.9
Form generator (116)
7.5
Content taxonomy (130)
8.6
SEO support (125)
8.2
Bulk management (100)
7.6
Availability / breadth of extensions (107)
6.2
Community / comment management (102)
7.3

About Progress Sitefinity

Progress Sitefinity is a content management and customer analytics platform. Progress Software acquired the product from Telerik.

Progress Sitefinity Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Progress Sitefinity Screenshots

Progress Sitefinity Integrations

Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), SharePoint Case Management System (SCMS), Salesforce CRM

Progress Sitefinity Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Progress Sitefinity Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Sitefinity Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No