TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0B/5S/BO3CRT62CHQ7.JPEGSitefiniySitefinity is used to allow employees from different departments to manage their own web departments web content. This solves the problem of having to have a dedicated employee just for web updates. Sitefinity allows for faster web posts and more timely information to our stakeholders.,Sitefinity allows people with little of no development skills to publish content to a webpage Provides a way to manage email lists. Allows for feedback from our stakeholders,Sitefinity has been very well designed for our need (though our needs are small),9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,,Developer,10-100 pagesRobust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easyWe use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.,Scales well Fully integrated marketing features Very strong API layer Many out-of-the-box integrations available,Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set Support for their partners can be better Pricing can be confusing,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,It takes some time along with trial and error to setup and configure but once ironed out, the DEC allows for the organization to gain insights into the user journey and tailor content specific to their behavior and preferences. It's also possible to use the DEC with other external systems such as CRM.,WordPress and Sitecore Web Content Management,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pages,Building elements or modules that can be reused Open API Scalability,eCommerce very limited Need a person or firm very well-versed in Sitefinity and .NET to build properly,Yes,9Great solution for those without technical skills and for those with technical skills. Could improve on security and APIs.We have a few users within our marketing and IT departments that use Sitefinity as a CMS for our website. Sitefinity has made it easy to publish, maintain, and edit content on our website for our clients to find information and access online banking.,Ease of use. Content items are easy to add to the page and make edits. Customization. Standard content items are available but there is also the ability to make more advanced customization by embedding code and scripts. Well structured interface. Easy to navigate within the Sitefinity console.,Availability of an easy to add on two-factor authentication for logging into the CMS.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Haven't used this product.,,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesSitefinity reviewIn 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.,Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content. Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved. Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform. They continue to update the platform with new features,We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team. I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way. It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Joomla!,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesThe best Windows CMS on the market.We developed a website for our client, to transition them from the lack of security and database integration that they were experiencing with their current web platform. We wanted stability and scalability, and Sitefinity fit the bill. We were also pleased to see that the support offered by Progress was top-notch.,Dynamics database integration Customization of the platform Ease of training,Extendability with off-the-shelf modules Better SEO tools More options for social media integration,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior,WordPress,Developer,100-1,000 pages
Windows
Progress Sitefinity
193 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Progress Sitefinity Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Progress Sitefinity
193 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 193 vetted Progress Sitefinity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 146)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Wayne Dixon profile photo
February 21, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefiniy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used to allow employees from different departments to manage their own web departments web content. This solves the problem of having to have a dedicated employee just for web updates. Sitefinity allows for faster web posts and more timely information to our stakeholders.
  • Sitefinity allows people with little of no development skills to publish content to a webpage
  • Provides a way to manage email lists.
  • Allows for feedback from our stakeholders
  • Sitefinity has been very well designed for our need (though our needs are small)
Sitefinity works great when you need a way for people without development skills to interact with the web. Sitefinity may not be needed if you are a very small company or individual looking for only a static webpage. Sitefinity does take time to develop, setup, and build forms for lots of content.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Workflow has been improved because we no longer need to wait to have someone post content to the internet so stakeholders get better more timely information. With the feedback tools Sitefinity provides has allowed us to have better stakeholder feedback and improve the site biased on their needs giving a level of feedback we have never had.
Read Wayne Dixon's full review
Mike Fus profile photo
November 23, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Robust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.
  • Scales well
  • Fully integrated marketing features
  • Very strong API layer
  • Many out-of-the-box integrations available
  • Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set
  • Support for their partners can be better
  • Pricing can be confusing
Sitefinity is a great fit for medium to enterprise level websites that require a robust WCM solution that can integrate with other systems, be customized to meet business requirements and can scale as needed. Implementation will require a partner or individual that is well-versed in Sitefinity. If implemented correctly, managing content for non-technical and business users is very simple and straightforward.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Either internally or through our client implementations we have achieved all of the above with success. The Sitefinity Digital Experience Cloud (DEC) makes is possible to get insight to the full customer journey and customize content based on behavior and preferences.
Read Mike Fus's full review
Clarke Walker profile photo
February 20, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great solution for those without technical skills and for those with technical skills. Could improve on security and APIs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a few users within our marketing and IT departments that use Sitefinity as a CMS for our website. Sitefinity has made it easy to publish, maintain, and edit content on our website for our clients to find information and access online banking.

  • Ease of use. Content items are easy to add to the page and make edits.
  • Customization. Standard content items are available but there is also the ability to make more advanced customization by embedding code and scripts.
  • Well structured interface. Easy to navigate within the Sitefinity console.
  • Availability of an easy to add on two-factor authentication for logging into the CMS.
Ease of use. Good solution for those needing an easy to use CMS with the ability to further customize.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Read Clarke Walker's full review
Dave Johnson profile photo
October 15, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.
  • Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content.
  • Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved.
  • Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform.
  • They continue to update the platform with new features
  • We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team.
  • I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way.
  • It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.
Ideal for companies who are a Microsoft shop, and are small to medium sized businesses. But if you want all kinds of cool design possibilities and you have your own web designer, you may be better off with an open source product like Joomla.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Increase customer engagement
Our ability to get content onto our site and published has increased tremendously and that was our primary goal. It's easy enough to use to get other employees to comply with using it. We do not have an in-house web designer, and this platform still allows us to do most things without hiring an outside resource (after initial implementation).
Read Dave Johnson's full review
Patrick King profile photo
February 06, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "The best Windows CMS on the market."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We developed a website for our client, to transition them from the lack of security and database integration that they were experiencing with their current web platform. We wanted stability and scalability, and Sitefinity fit the bill. We were also pleased to see that the support offered by Progress was top-notch.
  • Dynamics database integration
  • Customization of the platform
  • Ease of training
  • Extendability with off-the-shelf modules
  • Better SEO tools
  • More options for social media integration
If your CMS or donor management system works in a Windows environment, you need to use this CMS. Also, if you have a broad team of contributors and each has a varied level of sophistication, Sitefinity does a great job in making training and access easy to set. Finally, it's written for people to understand, unlike other CMS platforms that seem to be written only for developers.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
These are the reasons we chose Sitefinity, and it delivers. Our client has a range of content contributors and we need to be able to simply add users and set their limitations. We also want to individualize the experience for certain market segments. Sitefinity works like a charm in collaboration with our marketing automation platform.
Read Patrick King's full review
Matt Graf profile photo
January 22, 2019

Review: "Progress Sitefinity is a great option for Content Management!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Progress Sitefinity is being used in our department for the purpose of web content management. It has been a great solution that is user friendly and intuitive to use. The personalization options are terrific and have been very valuable in our strategy. I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market.
  • Progress Sitefinity is user friendly.
  • It is easy to get on-boarded with Progress Sitefinity.
  • Managing your web content is made much easier.
  • No complaints here!
Any situation in which you need to manage web content, Progress Sitefinity can prove to be a useful and worthwhile investment. It will make your life easier and give you better results. Digital commerce is another strength of the services that Progress Sitefinity offers to its clients. It is highly recommended.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Not having a lot of technical experience in web content management, we were looking for something that would help us out without being too confusing. Sitefinity helped us out tremendously. It is user friendly and allows us to improve everything without taking a ton of time to learn the ins and outs ourselves.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Gaylord Wingate profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Good solid product with great support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity to deliver content to our clients and receive their questions and our answers through a blog.
  • Sitefinity provides an simple way for our content developers to update our website without worrying about the mechanics.
  • It is a simple mechanism for creating and maintaining a blog.
  • The software is straightforward to implement in our MVC application.
  • For our application Sitefinity has all the capability we need. We are a small company but we have not needed more than the application provides.
  • Their training is good and their support is fantastic.
There may be applications where Sitefinity does not fit but for us it is just fine. The application works well with our web site in the cloud and it is easy to scale.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
We use Sitefinity to distribute information to our clients without technical staff involvement. The product works well for that. We also use the product for our question and answer capability through a blog. The product also works well for that.
Read Gaylord Wingate's full review
Kevin Bloomquist profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Flexibilty to suit any need. Also re-usability if you program your custom items correctly."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity for marketing purposes in order to provide prospective students a knowledge of who we are and what we do for our community. Sitefinity is also a platform to gather information from those same prospective students so we can contact them in a more personalized method. Sitefinity has given us the ability to create custom widgets and forms to grant extra content based on who has applied to the school and who has paid a deposit.
  • Sitefinity Technical Support is always responsive and ready to help. I have even gotten follow ups at night and on weekends.
  • Sitefinity is designed to be flexible. No matter the requirement, there seems to be a way to achieve it.
  • Out-of-the-box items can satisfy a great deal of the needs, but never get in the way of customization's I create.
  • I was trying to set up a new app and the online documentation hadn't been updated.
  • However, I contacted support and they got back to me quickly with the correct instructions.
Sitefnity is great at reusable templates and creating a single unified look and feel across an entire site while giving the ability to have custom content so every page doesn't look like a copy and paste. This keeps end users engaged in specific content on the page while having the structured framework.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
I still engage with Sitefinity on a regular basis but I have been able to pass some of the extra requests over to the marketing department to handle content changes and form updates. Of course I will never get away from it completely because of the new ideas that people would like to see enabled.
Read Kevin Bloomquist's full review
Tony Giruzzi profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Connections that just work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is our member website backbone and connector to our database. It allows seamless control and security of our website and database. We are also using DevCraft UI for our latest database work on another platform. We are happy that two different vendors suggested using Sitefinity when asked.
  • Standardized user interface
  • Wide array of system interfaces
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of installation
  • I'd like to see a packaged installer, as opposed to installing each module separately
Interfacing our websites with our databases and used to develop web based apps and forms.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
All outcomes have been realized. Interfaces with database work well.
Read Tony Giruzzi's full review
Nabeel Qaisar profile photo
November 09, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company.

Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).
  • Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes.
  • Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level.
  • The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.
  • Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version.
  • The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks.
  • By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal.
  • Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.
Sitefinity is recommended to be used for websites which have large number of pages and rich content. Also, if you have enough budget, then better to go for the Marketing or Enterprise edition to utilize features like Personalization feature, Audit Trail.

Not recommend for any campaign based website, which last for short period of time.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
The personalization feature is being used by some of our websites which have a lot of
content. There, we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time
etc. Here, Sitefinity plays an important role in identifying our target audience. If the user has visited a certain section of the website, we can track the user behavior and show the relevant product or services, thus increasing the number of leads generated by the website user.
Read Nabeel Qaisar's full review
Scott Whiting profile photo
November 07, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLC"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.
  • It provides an excellent library management package
  • It is extensible
  • It is progressive on its use of technology
  • Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage.
  • Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.
Sitefinity is not suited for the small enterprise that does not have its own IT department with staff familiar with Sitefinity.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Read Scott Whiting's full review
Darrell Wehlmann profile photo
October 19, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Realistic Look at Sitefinity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.
  • Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity.
  • Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit.
  • Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.
  • Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses.
  • Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.
It's suited for bigger, more sophisticated projects that have adequate budget. It is not suited for smaller websites and projects as it is cost-prohibitive.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have improved workflow for clients by setting up custom workflows for content authoring, content review and subsequent publishing. We have also engaged customers better by offering advanced website features/touchpoints.
Read Darrell Wehlmann's full review
Sean Patterson profile photo
October 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Robust and Powerful CMS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.
  • Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content.
  • Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository.
  • Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations.
  • Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.
  • Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed.
  • Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort.
  • Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.
For those that need a CMS solution that is easy to manage and quick to get going, Sitefinity provides a great platform to fit these needs. If you require a solution that requires heavy customization, such as special blog post types or custom modules that function more as a web application, then Sitefinity might not be the best fit.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
With the projects I have worked on and the clients I have engaged with, Sitefinity has met our primary needs of getting a site up and running that doesn't require a full IT team to keep running. Additionally, the custom modules and custom APIs that were built allowed my clients to integrate their third party platforms into the site without a huge development undertaking.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Kat Nagasawa profile photo
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our CMS tool. It is integrated with our iMIS (our AMS). We have roles set up in iMIS that translate to Sitefinity.
In addition, a select number of our members have access to update their microsite pages
  • Various roles for access to back pages.
  • Ease in creating pages and content.
  • Integration with our AMS
  • Wiki page for help on how to do things
  • Ensuring customers are up-to-date on versions
  • Differentiating between users who have back end access to a couple of pages vs true admins who have access to all pages.
The cost for more than 13 admins is ridiculously high.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have been able to increase our customer engagement when we redesigned our website to include microsites for our academies.
Read Kat Nagasawa's full review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity is a good product"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work with a 3rd party vendor to implement Sitefinity CMS to host our organization website. The 3rd party does the development for us and we manage the content on a day to day basis.
  • Sitefinity is a stable environment. We don't have many issues with crashes etc.
  • Sitefinity has a good organizational structure.
  • On the front end, Sitefinity is fairly easy to use.
  • We aren't able to do customization on our own. The 3rd party vendor controls the back end code. This limits our ability to always do what we would like to do without calling in a 3rd party.
  • It might be helpful to have a "plugin" system, kind of like WordPress, that allows users easier access to a wider variety of functions without programming knowledge.
If you want to hire a third party to set things up and you want to just manage content or if you have people on staff who can do the heavy lifting with the programming languages involved, Sitefinity could be a good match. If you want to be able to do more than just manage content, but don't have the programmers to handle the languages involved (Microsoft), Sitefinity might be limiting.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall I'd highly recommend, but make sure you have someone implementing it with a strong technical background."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity for our external public facing website as well as our internal company intranet site. The external sites serves as an information source for our customers and the internal sites serves as an information/document portal for our employees.
  • The technical support is pretty good. They generally get back to support requests within 24 hours. There is also a "knowledge base" site which 9 times out of 10 has an answer to your support question already.
  • The product is constantly being updated - almost weekly - so you are constantly getting improvements and new features.
  • The product allows the end users to build their own page layouts while still maintaining a mobile first approach. You are not restricted to building pages using only 2 or 3 page templates. You can drag/drop with any kind of configuration you want.
  • The biggest, and probably most problematic thing is the built in forms. If you require ANYTHING other than a simple name, phone number and email kind of form, then do not use this product. You cannot build dynamic fields or customize the email generated from the form. I think this is the single biggest downfall of this product.
  • They need to manage feature requests better. There are a number of features users have been requesting that don't seem to get addressed. There is also no road map available for us to see if the features are going to be included in the foreseeable future.
Sitefinity is best suited for information based sites. If you want the ability for non-technical people to update content, this product is perfect. If you want the site to perform a specific function other than displaying information, that might be trickier. While the product can easily be customized using MVC, there are some limitations there. Also, if you need feature rich forms or really any kind of form other than a simple name and email kind of thing, then this isn't the product for you.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
The biggest thing we needed was for our communications department to be able to update the site themselves rather than requiring IT to do it. This has achieved this. As non-technical users, they find it really simple and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 27, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity CMS, a powerful, extensible system that is easy to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Sitefinity internally to power our own corporate website. Additionally, we are a Sitefinity partner, so we implement Sitefinity sites for customers around the United States. Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is easy to use, while at the same time is easy to extend and integrate into other systems.
  • Out of the box support for news, blogs, forums, forms.
  • Out of the box ability to point and click to create new, custom content types as needed.
  • Rich API for developers to use in implementing solutions.
  • Extensible platform to allow for integration with other systems.
  • Improved startup time after developers makes coding changes.
Sitefinity works well for sites/systems that need real content management capabilities. For example management of users, groups and roles, content approval workflows, multi-language support. If you are creating a custom line of business application that has no need for content management, this CMS might not be needed.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Sitefinity has an easy-to-use administration area that makes it easier for non-technical content editors to manage content of all kinds. We are currently using the Progress Digital Experience Cloud to track and analyze customer journeys from anonymous user to known customer. We use the build in segmentation and personalization features to provide specific content to users based on location and other characteristics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A powerful CMS for small and large company needs."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is our content management system for our school district website and over 70 campus websites in addition to our internal website. We have multiple departments and every campus utilizes Sitefinity on a regular basis. Sitefinity drives our website related communications needs.
  • Documentation, community forums and communication from the company is helpful and thorough.
  • Support is very timely and effective.
  • A couple years ago Sitefinity made a choice to change the architecture of their CMS to be MVC. This was a massive improvement in my opinion. It makes development a lot more enjoyable.
  • I think Sitefinity's documentation is great. And there are plenty of code samples to pull from on github. But if they have to improve something I would put down a more active user community.
If you are looking for a .NET-based, enterprise-ready CMS that is powerful and customizable, then Sitefinity is a good choice. I needed a CMS that was affordable and could support unlimited users and that is what lead me to them.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
I'm a long time Sitefinity user. We needed something that I could open up to many users with the ability to lock down many different options and create custom content items. All of this was achieved with Sitefinity. No only can you create custom content types but you can create custom options on how to manage them on a page. There are very few scenarios that can't be accomplished with Sitefinity and we only use a fraction of its abilities.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity does the job well!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used enterprise-wide to create content for the website. We are planning to use many of the features that we have not used yet in 2019. Solid software with great ease of use.
  • Content creation and publishing
  • Integration with CRM system and third party tools
  • Digital asset management
  • Taxonomy
  • Search capabilities
Progress Sitefinity assists in creating a dynamic website fast. We have had good success using Sitefinity to work with our CRM software as well as some other third party tools. We also have been able to use Sitefinity to create mobile experiences for our customers.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
We have been able to use Sitefinity as an enterprise-wide software tool to create and publish content. We also have been able to integrate Sitefinity with our CRM tools for single sign-on. Sitefinity plays well within the context of system and data integration with third-party tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

"Director of CX's review of Progress Sitefinity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It hosts the static site for the organization. It's the hub that moderates our business.
  • Easy to make on the go changes.
  • We can personalize messages based on a number of factors such as, location, times visited, etc.
  • Affordable.
  • We can make directional changes for the business without assistance from IT.
  • Client engagement is low. Ensuring that you get the latest and greatest version doesn't happen as often as I'd like. When you ask a question, you are usually referred to a SOW and not the actual services you paid for.
  • There is no Client Success Director to ensure we are properly using the product.
  • We could use training and that is not offered.
Sitefinity is well suited for an organization that does not want to wait on IT releases to make changes to their website. The product works well managing our digital content and users can easily pick up the basics. The product would be much better if the organization continued to communicate with our business to ensure we are successful and using best practices.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Would love the opportunity to understand how we can improve our SEO campaigns and gain more analytics on the customer journey.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Basic CMS that gets the job done"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's the digital content management tool we use to host our website for a particular part of the business and region. It holds our Americas materials website and we do not use it to generate leads but more to provide overview and insight for shareholders and interested parties into our organization.
  • Content management
  • Ease of use
  • Layout of back end
I think that Progress Sitefinity is well suited for a stable website. If you are having a website that gets little traffic and is not generating leads then Progress Sitefinity is great. I am not sure if the tool integrates with Pardot or Hubsport or even Salesforce, so I cannot speak to that capability. If it does integrate well, I think the tool may be competitive to other leading CMS platforms...
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 02, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as the CMS for two public facing websites. It replaced an existing custom, in-house solution.
  • Easily scalable
  • Lost of templates publicly available
  • .NET based
  • Support could respond faster
If you have developers that are primarily Microsoft based developers, then this is the platform to use.
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
We are more able to customize our website to allow visitors to engage with the organization and custom build applications into it. For example, we have a number of applications that come into the organization and we have built a workflow for this process and integrated that into the website. Further, we can allow others who are not in IT to do most of the content management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 08, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity continues to be the right tool for us and our clients"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a solutions provider, so we are typically creating a turnkey solution which includes Sitefinity websites for clients. We have been using Sitefinity since version 3 and have always found it to be the best solution for clients looking for a CMS that is powerful and robust, yet easy to understand and easy for us to teach.
  • The UI is clean and user friendly. From experience, the granular permissions make it easy to customize the security to fit the client's needs.
  • The built in widgets provide the majority of the functionality we need, but the extensibility also allows us to create our own widgets to fill in the gaps where needed!
  • Support has been difficult to get at times, with us having to rely on year old forum posts. Or email support, which takes some time.
  • While not directly involved with the process, I know that upgrades frequently break things, especially if you have customized Sitefinity in any fashion.
Sitefinity is an easy to use back end for most intermediate and beginner users. There is a lot of room for expansion. End user training is easy and it is a great tool if you have large amounts of content to manage. Great for .NET based environments. Handles everything we've thrown at it.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Yes, Sitefinity is extremely easy for our staff and our business customers to understand and use. Non-technical users can pick up on the UI, allowing users to drag and drop widgets into their pages and the familar text editor removes any learning curve.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Content authors first"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement Sitefinity solutions for our customers. These can be multi-site and/or multilingual.
In some cases, we also author and manage content for the sites.
  • Easily create pages & site structure.
  • Creating page content using the drag & drop widgets is very intuitive.
  • A lot of customization is possible
  • Documentation (especially for advanced concept) & support could be better.
  • Site start-up time.
  • Encountered several bugs during development.
Sitefinity is a very good solution for small to medium sized CMS solutions.
It's fairly quick to setup and content authors will find the UI/UX intuitive.

However, if you are looking for large enterprise solutions, scalable environments and/or a lot of integration with third-party software, Sitefinity might not really be what you're looking for.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Functional CMS"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Love the widget and module builder tools
  • Allows me to quickly and easily build new pages without having to pay our digital agency to do so.
  • Our business has reduced its out of pocket costs to our digital agency to develop pages.
  • Not a fan of the inability to easily find and replace site content.
  • The CMS stores all of the data in a database, so replacing specific lines of text is a chore to say the least.
  • Upgrading from one version to the next is also painful. It is worse then a new install.
  • Back office is not user friendly
  • Pages loading too long, overall bad performances
  • No extensive plugin base
  • No state of the art web dev tools and integrated libraries
  • Preheating solution not integrated and very long and heavy
  • Recompilation mandatory even for minor changes, causing availability issues
  • Template handling not practical
  • No quick support
  • Very expensive for a CMS I judge inferior to open source free solutions of the market
  • Bad integration with Azure Cloud Solutions
Not as many as we had hoped. The WYSIWYG doesn't make it so that non-coders can update content. We still need to have HTML knowledgeable people making the updates.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (139)
9.1
API (116)
7.6
Internationalization / multi-language (85)
7.4
WYSIWYG editor (136)
8.1
Code quality / cleanliness (128)
8.3
Admin section (144)
8.0
Page templates (142)
8.0
Library of website themes (90)
5.2
Mobile optimization / responsive design (131)
7.9
Publishing workflow (128)
8.0
Form generator (118)
7.6
Content taxonomy (133)
8.7
SEO support (128)
8.3
Bulk management (102)
7.8
Availability / breadth of extensions (108)
6.3
Community / comment management (104)
7.4

About Progress Sitefinity

Progress Sitefinity is a content management and customer analytics platform. Progress Software acquired the product from Telerik.

Progress Sitefinity Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Progress Sitefinity Screenshots

Progress Sitefinity Integrations

Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), SharePoint Case Management System (SCMS), Salesforce CRM

Progress Sitefinity Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Progress Sitefinity Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Sitefinity Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No