TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/0B/5S/BO3CRT62CHQ7.JPEGSitefiniySitefinity is used to allow employees from different departments to manage their own web departments web content. This solves the problem of having to have a dedicated employee just for web updates. Sitefinity allows for faster web posts and more timely information to our stakeholders.,Sitefinity allows people with little of no development skills to publish content to a webpage Provides a way to manage email lists. Allows for feedback from our stakeholders,Sitefinity has been very well designed for our need (though our needs are small),9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,,Developer,10-100 pagesGreat for the money but don't believe what you readWe use Sitefinity as a CMS for our corporate website etap.com and several sub-domains for development. When we purchased the software in 2015, we found that we needed quite a bit of customization of which we rolled back a considerable portion because of our own learning curve of what you can do with Sitefinity. We tried to implement multiple-site replication for our Chinese office and other places, but found that the cost for multi-site licenses is expensive and we couldn't find the development and support staff to work with. Languages was another area where we struggled since workflows didn't work with language roles. Otherwise we have been using the CMS across the company with Marketing being the driving force for content and development.,Depending on the usage, it is pretty easy to work with page templates and build content widgets Content syncing with SiteSync works great Implementation of languages works well Personalizing page with persona, country or other specific content works well,We are using release 9.2 right now and are in the process of updating. Using mail templates with forms is a important missing piece. Better connectivity of the Digital Experience Cloud with the site content. E-commerce, biggest disappointment! Apparently new integration with 3rd party available, but we specifically purchased Sitefinity to have an integrated e-commerce platform. MVC page templates User guides are very often not very user-friendly for non-developers.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement Other,DEC is a great idea and I have been "playing" with it for over two years now. It looks like a cool marketing automation toll, but it is missing many important features, including internal notification when contacts reach a score, direct connectivity with the marketing package, which we bought for that reason. Apparently Sitefinity is working on many of these items, but at the moment it is not a usable tool. In addition, the price tag for additional leads is vastly overpriced compared to functionality.,Sitecore Web Content Management, Kentico and Ektron Web Content Management System (Discontinued),Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesGreat solution for those without technical skills and for those with technical skills. Could improve on security and APIs.We have a few users within our marketing and IT departments that use Sitefinity as a CMS for our website. Sitefinity has made it easy to publish, maintain, and edit content on our website for our clients to find information and access online banking.,Ease of use. Content items are easy to add to the page and make edits. Customization. Standard content items are available but there is also the ability to make more advanced customization by embedding code and scripts. Well structured interface. Easy to navigate within the Sitefinity console.,Availability of an easy to add on two-factor authentication for logging into the CMS.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Haven't used this product.,,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesThe best Windows CMS on the market.We developed a website for our client, to transition them from the lack of security and database integration that they were experiencing with their current web platform. We wanted stability and scalability, and Sitefinity fit the bill. We were also pleased to see that the support offered by Progress was top-notch.,Dynamics database integration Customization of the platform Ease of training,Extendability with off-the-shelf modules Better SEO tools More options for social media integration,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior,WordPress,Developer,100-1,000 pagesProgress Sitefinity is a great option for Content Management!Progress Sitefinity is being used in our department for the purpose of web content management. It has been a great solution that is user friendly and intuitive to use. The personalization options are terrific and have been very valuable in our strategy. I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market.,Progress Sitefinity is user friendly. It is easy to get on-boarded with Progress Sitefinity. Managing your web content is made much easier.,No complaints here!,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey,WordPress,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesProgress Sitefinity has remained our solution to solve our client's diverse needsWe employ Sitefinity on behalf of our client who has multiple websites and development needs for state-run programming. We are contracted to host, maintain and develop this platform on our client's behalf through our technology division, our research, and evaluation division and our communications department.,Technical Support Account Management Solution Architecture,The CMS portion of Sitefinity can be updated with more current objects for customization. Additional ease of use for entry level developers. Automated licensing updates.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,Developer,10-100 pagesGreat for Financial InstitutionsSitefinity provides our financial institution customers with an easy-to-use content management platform. Our customers can make all of their day-to-day website edits, and Sitefinity's built-in "revision history" feature helps them to meet their unique financial compliance and regulatory needs. In addition, Sitefinity integrates well with online banking and application vendors, which is a must for financial institutions. Most of our customers do not have web designers or developers on staff and rely heavily on third-party relationships which can be costly. Sitefinity CMS makes the website management process easy, and to the point where they can manage their website independently of third-party relationships.,Closed-Source Updated Regularly Easy Drag and Drop Style Editing,Expensive for Smaller Organizations.,10,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Sitefinity's DEC provides our customers with actionable insights that otherwise would not be available to them. Using these insights and tools, organizations are able to personalize their customer's journey by engaging them with unique and personalized content.,WordPress,Developer,10-100 pagesSitefinity as a Friendly CMSCurrently, it is being used by the Digital Marketing department and in the future, the goal is to have this as a source of images and content for on-board data. It helps solve the need for marketing to create and update landing pages in real-time and see a preview of their page using a "what you see is what you get" manner.,User-Interface Customization Support,Duplicate URLs Redirects Architecture,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features,Content Author / Administrator,1,000-10,000 pagesSitefinity is a good productWe work with a 3rd party vendor to implement Sitefinity CMS to host our organization website. The 3rd party does the development for us and we manage the content on a day to day basis.,Sitefinity is a stable environment. We don't have many issues with crashes etc. Sitefinity has a good organizational structure. On the front end, Sitefinity is fairly easy to use.,We aren't able to do customization on our own. The 3rd party vendor controls the back end code. This limits our ability to always do what we would like to do without calling in a 3rd party. It might be helpful to have a "plugin" system, kind of like Wordpress, that allows users easier access to a wider variety of functions without programming knowledge.,7,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,WordPress,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesGreat productWe use it as the CMS for two public facing websites. It replaced an existing custom, in-house solution.,Easily scalable Lost of templates publicly available .NET based,Support could respond faster,8,Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Increase customer engagement,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesRobust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easyWe use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.,Scales well Fully integrated marketing features Very strong API layer Many out-of-the-box integrations available,Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set Support for their partners can be better Pricing can be confusing,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,It takes some time along with trial and error to setup and configure but once ironed out, the DEC allows for the organization to gain insights into the user journey and tailor content specific to their behavior and preferences. It's also possible to use the DEC with other external systems such as CRM.,WordPress and Sitecore Web Content Management,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pages,Building elements or modules that can be reused Open API Scalability,eCommerce very limited Need a person or firm very well-versed in Sitefinity and .NET to build properly,Yes,9Sitefinity reviewIn 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.,Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content. Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved. Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform. They continue to update the platform with new features,We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team. I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way. It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Joomla!,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesGood solid product with great supportWe use Sitefinity to deliver content to our clients and receive their questions and our answers through a blog.,Sitefinity provides an simple way for our content developers to update our website without worrying about the mechanics. It is a simple mechanism for creating and maintaining a blog. The software is straightforward to implement in our MVC application.,For our application Sitefinity has all the capability we need. We are a small company but we have not needed more than the application provides. Their training is good and their support is fantastic.,10,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Our web sites and customer experience sites are hosted in the cloud. Sitefinity works well in this environment.,,Developer,100-1,000 pagesFlexibilty to suit any need. Also re-usability if you program your custom items correctly.We use Sitefinity for marketing purposes in order to provide prospective students a knowledge of who we are and what we do for our community. Sitefinity is also a platform to gather information from those same prospective students so we can contact them in a more personalized method. Sitefinity has given us the ability to create custom widgets and forms to grant extra content based on who has applied to the school and who has paid a deposit.,Sitefinity Technical Support is always responsive and ready to help. I have even gotten follow ups at night and on weekends. Sitefinity is designed to be flexible. No matter the requirement, there seems to be a way to achieve it. Out-of-the-box items can satisfy a great deal of the needs, but never get in the way of customization's I create.,I was trying to set up a new app and the online documentation hadn't been updated. However, I contacted support and they got back to me quickly with the correct instructions.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,Intranet Connections,Developer,100-1,000 pagesConnections that just workSitefinity is our member website backbone and connector to our database. It allows seamless control and security of our website and database. We are also using DevCraft UI for our latest database work on another platform. We are happy that two different vendors suggested using Sitefinity when asked.,Standardized user interface Wide array of system interfaces Ease of use Ease of installation,I'd like to see a packaged installer, as opposed to installing each module separately,10,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,Joomla! and WordPress,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesOne of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company. Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).,Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes. Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level. The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.,Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version. The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks. By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal. Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Umbraco CMS,Developer,1,000-10,000 pagesSitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLCWe adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.,It provides an excellent library management package It is extensible It is progressive on its use of technology,Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage. Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.,7,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey,DNN Platform,100-1,000 pagesA Realistic Look at SitefinityI have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.,Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity. Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit. Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.,Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses. Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,NA,Concrete5 and Umbraco CMS,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesRobust and Powerful CMSI use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.,Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content. Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository. Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations. Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.,Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed. Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort. Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.,7,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features,WordPress,Developer,10-100 pagesSitefinity meets our needsSitefinity is the provider for our website NVAR.org. It is used by the general public, more specifically by our 17,000 Realtors across Nevada. Sitefinity gives us an online platform to disseminate news and information about our association. It is a valuable tool for our staff to share information with our members and for members to interact with staff.,Sitefinity offers a platform that is user friendly. The ease gives us a better tool to reach members. More members use our website because it operates quickly and is easy to follow. Sitefinity boasts a service staff that is easy to chat with and prompt. My emails are often answered within 24 hours. Next, after issues are discussed, follow-up work is prompt to find solutions. Sitefinity's back-end for administrators is logical. It is easy to follow and makes sense. I am basically self taught and did so with relatively few frustrations.,While service staff is quick to respond, it is not real clear who should be our first point of contact, account leaders, techs who have helped us before. I have had some frustrations with Sitefinity's analytics module. It will not work for us and I've been told the issue lies with our third-party vendor. That may be the case, however a Sitefinity programmer helped with a 'workaround.' A few times, I've dealt with service staff who seemed to use English as a second language. When you are asking for an issue to be addressed, you don't want something to be lost in translation.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey Increase customer engagement,I'm not sure what the digital experience cloud is, so I cannot answer this question accurately.,,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pages,Ramco EAM on Cloud,Our Nevada Association of Realtors is a non-profit agency so we weren't looking to Sitefinity to make us money but rather serve as a member engagement tool. It has done that. Sitefinity helps us disseminate information to our 15,500 members statewide and promote our association to both members and the general public As the business world grows more digital you need a tool that embraces different technology. Sitefinity allows our website to promote with video and host widgets that showcase our social media avenues. These are proving invaluable for member engagement.SiteFinity DeliversWe use Progress SiteFinity for three brand websites globally and four children of two of the three brand websites. It provides an intuitive user-friendly CMS that I can easily train people to add content to their sections. I like the module builder tool that allows me to build my own widgets. Really a great time saver over having my digital agency to it.,I like the Module Builder feature where I can build my own widgets and reduce the need for coding content. I appreciate the different levels of access that I can grant as the administrator so I can maintain control over the sites but have other SMEs add content. I use the approval sign-off process to quickly get new content approved and live on the sites.,The videos need to be shorter and to the point on one topic. Don't need to set through five minutes of How-To to learn that one thing I am looking for. We have difficulty at times updating older versions (3.7 and 4.1) to the latest platform.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey,n/a,Kentico and Sitecore Web Content Management,Content Author / Administrator,1,000-10,000 pagesEnterprise-level control and Search Engine Optimisation CMSI work at the University of the Free State (UFS), and we use it across all departments (approx. 150 web admins, supervised by my line manager and me). She and I are the quality assurers for web content at the university. Sitefinity has a high level of user-friendliness, and an intuitive graphical user interface. Users with a basic level of technological skills are able to quickly assimilate the basics of Sitefinity and start building a web page, while advanced users rarely run out of new ways to present their content. However, it is difficult to implement customisations and then maintain these over progressive iterations (updates/upgrades).,Drag-and-drop GUI: HTML can be very intimidating to new web users or web admins. Sitefinity GUI and drag-and-drop functionality allow one to build a page using a pre-selected template. This process is intuitive and easy to master. Consistency: By creating department-specific templates for home pages and content pages, users are able to simply populate the template with their text, images, designs, videos, and other digital content. The template keeps the pages looking consistently the same while allowing a measure of freedom to the user. Corporate Identity: Sitefinity allows web admins to adhere to the Corporate Identity guidelines of our company.,We would like to be able to customise the features of the software more, but this presents issues when these customisations are not carried over to the following version of the software. Integrations with other software and/or API are not clearly identified or communicated. Customer support and service is often lackadaisical or sluggish.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Content Author / Administrator,More than 10,000 pagesSitefinity ReviewWe use Sitefinity as our CMS tool. It is integrated with our iMIS (our AMS). We have roles set up in iMIS that translate to Sitefinity. In addition, a select number of our members have access to update their microsite pages,Various roles for access to back pages. Ease in creating pages and content. Integration with our AMS,Wiki page for help on how to do things Ensuring customers are up-to-date on versions Differentiating between users who have back end access to a couple of pages vs true admins who have access to all pages.,7,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesOverall I'd highly recommend, but make sure you have someone implementing it with a strong technical background.We use Progress Sitefinity for our external public facing website as well as our internal company intranet site. The external sites serves as an information source for our customers and the internal sites serves as an information/document portal for our employees.,The technical support is pretty good. They generally get back to support requests within 24 hours. There is also a "knowledge base" site which 9 times out of 10 has an answer to your support question already. The product is constantly being updated - almost weekly - so you are constantly getting improvements and new features. The product allows the end users to build their own page layouts while still maintaining a mobile first approach. You are not restricted to building pages using only 2 or 3 page templates. You can drag/drop with any kind of configuration you want.,The biggest, and probably most problematic thing is the built in forms. If you require ANYTHING other than a simple name, phone number and email kind of form, then do not use this product. You cannot build dynamic fields or customize the email generated from the form. I think this is the single biggest downfall of this product. They need to manage feature requests better. There are a number of features users have been requesting that don't seem to get addressed. There is also no road map available for us to see if the features are going to be included in the foreseeable future.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise,MS SharePoint,Developer,100-1,000 pagesSitefinity CMS, a powerful, extensible system that is easy to useWe use Sitefinity internally to power our own corporate website. Additionally, we are a Sitefinity partner, so we implement Sitefinity sites for customers around the United States. Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is easy to use, while at the same time is easy to extend and integrate into other systems.,Out of the box support for news, blogs, forums, forms. Out of the box ability to point and click to create new, custom content types as needed. Rich API for developers to use in implementing solutions. Extensible platform to allow for integration with other systems.,Improved startup time after developers makes coding changes.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior,We have created personas in DEC that map to our real world target customers. Then we generated content for these personas and use DEC to score visitors to determine if they are hitting the various touch points that might tell us they are for sure one of the personas. We also can track anonymous users from the first visit until they convert by completing a form on the site.,Umbraco CMS, Kentico and Sitecore Web Content Management,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pages
Windows
Progress Sitefinity
206 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Progress Sitefinity Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Progress Sitefinity
206 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 206 vetted Progress Sitefinity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 150)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Wayne Dixon profile photo
February 21, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefiniy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used to allow employees from different departments to manage their own web departments web content. This solves the problem of having to have a dedicated employee just for web updates. Sitefinity allows for faster web posts and more timely information to our stakeholders.
  • Sitefinity allows people with little of no development skills to publish content to a webpage
  • Provides a way to manage email lists.
  • Allows for feedback from our stakeholders
  • Sitefinity has been very well designed for our need (though our needs are small)
Sitefinity works great when you need a way for people without development skills to interact with the web. Sitefinity may not be needed if you are a very small company or individual looking for only a static webpage. Sitefinity does take time to develop, setup, and build forms for lots of content.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Workflow has been improved because we no longer need to wait to have someone post content to the internet so stakeholders get better more timely information. With the feedback tools Sitefinity provides has allowed us to have better stakeholder feedback and improve the site biased on their needs giving a level of feedback we have never had.
Read Wayne Dixon's full review
Thomas Noack profile photo
May 30, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great for the money but don't believe what you read"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as a CMS for our corporate website etap.com and several sub-domains for development. When we purchased the software in 2015, we found that we needed quite a bit of customization of which we rolled back a considerable portion because of our own learning curve of what you can do with Sitefinity. We tried to implement multiple-site replication for our Chinese office and other places, but found that the cost for multi-site licenses is expensive and we couldn't find the development and support staff to work with. Languages was another area where we struggled since workflows didn't work with language roles. Otherwise we have been using the CMS across the company with Marketing being the driving force for content and development.
  • Depending on the usage, it is pretty easy to work with page templates and build content widgets
  • Content syncing with SiteSync works great
  • Implementation of languages works well
  • Personalizing page with persona, country or other specific content works well
  • We are using release 9.2 right now and are in the process of updating. Using mail templates with forms is a important missing piece.
  • Better connectivity of the Digital Experience Cloud with the site content.
  • E-commerce, biggest disappointment! Apparently new integration with 3rd party available, but we specifically purchased Sitefinity to have an integrated e-commerce platform.
  • MVC page templates
  • User guides are very often not very user-friendly for non-developers.
  • Straight forward websites without e-commerce and a few languages - great.
  • You can develop your own modules/widgets and get most work done without needing a developer. You will need a consultant or developer for the initial setup and deployment.
  • Sites like ours, etap.com, with dynamically generated pages via API, languages, event management, etc. difficult.
  • E-commerce is so basic that it is hard to do any sort of customization. basic e-commerce tools are missing.
  • Release 12.0 however looks promising.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
  • Other
Most items from the above list are in the software, but we only managed to get all of them about 50%-60% implemented. Missing feature and bugs in our current release 9.2 prevented us from going to 80-100% implementation. Other issues were also related to 3rd party extensions and our own internal challenges.
Read Thomas Noack's full review
Clarke Walker profile photo
February 20, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great solution for those without technical skills and for those with technical skills. Could improve on security and APIs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a few users within our marketing and IT departments that use Sitefinity as a CMS for our website. Sitefinity has made it easy to publish, maintain, and edit content on our website for our clients to find information and access online banking.

  • Ease of use. Content items are easy to add to the page and make edits.
  • Customization. Standard content items are available but there is also the ability to make more advanced customization by embedding code and scripts.
  • Well structured interface. Easy to navigate within the Sitefinity console.
  • Availability of an easy to add on two-factor authentication for logging into the CMS.
Ease of use. Good solution for those needing an easy to use CMS with the ability to further customize.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Read Clarke Walker's full review
Patrick King profile photo
February 06, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "The best Windows CMS on the market."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We developed a website for our client, to transition them from the lack of security and database integration that they were experiencing with their current web platform. We wanted stability and scalability, and Sitefinity fit the bill. We were also pleased to see that the support offered by Progress was top-notch.
  • Dynamics database integration
  • Customization of the platform
  • Ease of training
  • Extendability with off-the-shelf modules
  • Better SEO tools
  • More options for social media integration
If your CMS or donor management system works in a Windows environment, you need to use this CMS. Also, if you have a broad team of contributors and each has a varied level of sophistication, Sitefinity does a great job in making training and access easy to set. Finally, it's written for people to understand, unlike other CMS platforms that seem to be written only for developers.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
These are the reasons we chose Sitefinity, and it delivers. Our client has a range of content contributors and we need to be able to simply add users and set their limitations. We also want to individualize the experience for certain market segments. Sitefinity works like a charm in collaboration with our marketing automation platform.
Read Patrick King's full review
Matt Graf profile photo
January 22, 2019

Review: "Progress Sitefinity is a great option for Content Management!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Progress Sitefinity is being used in our department for the purpose of web content management. It has been a great solution that is user friendly and intuitive to use. The personalization options are terrific and have been very valuable in our strategy. I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are in the market.
  • Progress Sitefinity is user friendly.
  • It is easy to get on-boarded with Progress Sitefinity.
  • Managing your web content is made much easier.
  • No complaints here!
Any situation in which you need to manage web content, Progress Sitefinity can prove to be a useful and worthwhile investment. It will make your life easier and give you better results. Digital commerce is another strength of the services that Progress Sitefinity offers to its clients. It is highly recommended.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Not having a lot of technical experience in web content management, we were looking for something that would help us out without being too confusing. Sitefinity helped us out tremendously. It is user friendly and allows us to improve everything without taking a ton of time to learn the ins and outs ourselves.
Read Matt Graf's full review
No photo available
July 02, 2019

Review: "Progress Sitefinity has remained our solution to solve our client's diverse needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We employ Sitefinity on behalf of our client who has multiple websites and development needs for state-run programming. We are contracted to host, maintain and develop this platform on our client's behalf through our technology division, our research, and evaluation division and our communications department.
  • Technical Support
  • Account Management
  • Solution Architecture
  • The CMS portion of Sitefinity can be updated with more current objects for customization.
  • Additional ease of use for entry level developers.
  • Automated licensing updates.
Since we first evaluated this product, Progress has been very supportive from a relationship and account perspective as well as a technical perspective. We have not had a challenge or situation where they have responded in a way that created challenges. The Progress team is very solutions-oriented and the account staff is always close by to handle requests and provide opportunities.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
The Sitefinity platform has enabled us to publish, analyze and update in a constant improvement cycle to increase customer engagement. We have also built many tools based on what we have learned from the analytics included that creates site features in efficient ways.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 02, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great for Financial Institutions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sitefinity provides our financial institution customers with an easy-to-use content management platform. Our customers can make all of their day-to-day website edits, and Sitefinity's built-in "revision history" feature helps them to meet their unique financial compliance and regulatory needs. In addition, Sitefinity integrates well with online banking and application vendors, which is a must for financial institutions. Most of our customers do not have web designers or developers on staff and rely heavily on third-party relationships which can be costly. Sitefinity CMS makes the website management process easy, and to the point where they can manage their website independently of third-party relationships.
  • Closed-Source
  • Updated Regularly
  • Easy Drag and Drop Style Editing
  • Expensive for Smaller Organizations.
Sitefinity is great for those organizations without designers and programmers on staff, as the platform helps non-developers to quickly and easily manage their websites.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Sitefinity's Digital Experience Cloud allows our financial institution customers to personalize the content on their site based on specific personas, behaviors, and actions. This helps them to increase engagement on their site, and move their customers further into their sales funnel.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity as a Friendly CMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is being used by the Digital Marketing department and in the future, the goal is to have this as a source of images and content for on-board data. It helps solve the need for marketing to create and update landing pages in real-time and see a preview of their page using a "what you see is what you get" manner.
  • User-Interface
  • Customization
  • Support
  • Duplicate URLs
  • Redirects
  • Architecture
If you need to use geo-IP to serve a popup to users in a specific area, this can be done through development. If you need to create widgets that marketing can use, this can be done through development. If you need to share content across multiple areas of the site, this can be done through development.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
Using Sitefinity to create landing pages that are personalized to meet the needs of paid media has increased our paid media online conversion. Using Sitefinity to utilize shared content has created efficiency across the website. Utilize Sitefinity to create video pages using a video gallery widget customized by our developers. Using the WYSIWYG editor to create pages and see how they will look prior to display.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 08, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity is a good product"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We work with a 3rd party vendor to implement Sitefinity CMS to host our organization website. The 3rd party does the development for us and we manage the content on a day to day basis.
  • Sitefinity is a stable environment. We don't have many issues with crashes etc.
  • Sitefinity has a good organizational structure.
  • On the front end, Sitefinity is fairly easy to use.
  • We aren't able to do customization on our own. The 3rd party vendor controls the back end code. This limits our ability to always do what we would like to do without calling in a 3rd party.
  • It might be helpful to have a "plugin" system, kind of like WordPress, that allows users easier access to a wider variety of functions without programming knowledge.
If you want to hire a third party to set things up and you want to just manage content or if you have people on staff who can do the heavy lifting with the programming languages involved, Sitefinity could be a good match. If you want to be able to do more than just manage content, but don't have the programmers to handle the languages involved (Microsoft), Sitefinity might be limiting.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 02, 2019

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as the CMS for two public facing websites. It replaced an existing custom, in-house solution.
  • Easily scalable
  • Lost of templates publicly available
  • .NET based
  • Support could respond faster
If you have developers that are primarily Microsoft based developers, then this is the platform to use.
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
We are more able to customize our website to allow visitors to engage with the organization and custom build applications into it. For example, we have a number of applications that come into the organization and we have built a workflow for this process and integrated that into the website. Further, we can allow others who are not in IT to do most of the content management.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Fus profile photo
November 23, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Robust, fully integrated solution with open API that makes integrations easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it internally and are also a solutions partner that implements Sitefinity for our clients, should the solution meet their requirements. On a whole, the Sitefinity product comes with a large tool kit and can handle many business requirements with out-of-the-box functionality. Its open API makes it easy to integrate with other systems as well.
  • Scales well
  • Fully integrated marketing features
  • Very strong API layer
  • Many out-of-the-box integrations available
  • Their eCommerce add-on has a very limited feature set
  • Support for their partners can be better
  • Pricing can be confusing
Sitefinity is a great fit for medium to enterprise level websites that require a robust WCM solution that can integrate with other systems, be customized to meet business requirements and can scale as needed. Implementation will require a partner or individual that is well-versed in Sitefinity. If implemented correctly, managing content for non-technical and business users is very simple and straightforward.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Either internally or through our client implementations we have achieved all of the above with success. The Sitefinity Digital Experience Cloud (DEC) makes is possible to get insight to the full customer journey and customize content based on behavior and preferences.
Read Mike Fus's full review
Dave Johnson profile photo
October 15, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.
  • Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content.
  • Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved.
  • Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform.
  • They continue to update the platform with new features
  • We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team.
  • I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way.
  • It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.
Ideal for companies who are a Microsoft shop, and are small to medium sized businesses. But if you want all kinds of cool design possibilities and you have your own web designer, you may be better off with an open source product like Joomla.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Increase customer engagement
Our ability to get content onto our site and published has increased tremendously and that was our primary goal. It's easy enough to use to get other employees to comply with using it. We do not have an in-house web designer, and this platform still allows us to do most things without hiring an outside resource (after initial implementation).
Read Dave Johnson's full review
Gaylord Wingate profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Good solid product with great support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity to deliver content to our clients and receive their questions and our answers through a blog.
  • Sitefinity provides an simple way for our content developers to update our website without worrying about the mechanics.
  • It is a simple mechanism for creating and maintaining a blog.
  • The software is straightforward to implement in our MVC application.
  • For our application Sitefinity has all the capability we need. We are a small company but we have not needed more than the application provides.
  • Their training is good and their support is fantastic.
There may be applications where Sitefinity does not fit but for us it is just fine. The application works well with our web site in the cloud and it is easy to scale.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
We use Sitefinity to distribute information to our clients without technical staff involvement. The product works well for that. We also use the product for our question and answer capability through a blog. The product also works well for that.
Read Gaylord Wingate's full review
Kevin Bloomquist profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Flexibilty to suit any need. Also re-usability if you program your custom items correctly."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity for marketing purposes in order to provide prospective students a knowledge of who we are and what we do for our community. Sitefinity is also a platform to gather information from those same prospective students so we can contact them in a more personalized method. Sitefinity has given us the ability to create custom widgets and forms to grant extra content based on who has applied to the school and who has paid a deposit.
  • Sitefinity Technical Support is always responsive and ready to help. I have even gotten follow ups at night and on weekends.
  • Sitefinity is designed to be flexible. No matter the requirement, there seems to be a way to achieve it.
  • Out-of-the-box items can satisfy a great deal of the needs, but never get in the way of customization's I create.
  • I was trying to set up a new app and the online documentation hadn't been updated.
  • However, I contacted support and they got back to me quickly with the correct instructions.
Sitefnity is great at reusable templates and creating a single unified look and feel across an entire site while giving the ability to have custom content so every page doesn't look like a copy and paste. This keeps end users engaged in specific content on the page while having the structured framework.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
I still engage with Sitefinity on a regular basis but I have been able to pass some of the extra requests over to the marketing department to handle content changes and form updates. Of course I will never get away from it completely because of the new ideas that people would like to see enabled.
Read Kevin Bloomquist's full review
Tony Giruzzi profile photo
December 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Connections that just work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is our member website backbone and connector to our database. It allows seamless control and security of our website and database. We are also using DevCraft UI for our latest database work on another platform. We are happy that two different vendors suggested using Sitefinity when asked.
  • Standardized user interface
  • Wide array of system interfaces
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of installation
  • I'd like to see a packaged installer, as opposed to installing each module separately
Interfacing our websites with our databases and used to develop web based apps and forms.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
All outcomes have been realized. Interfaces with database work well.
Read Tony Giruzzi's full review
Nabeel Qaisar profile photo
November 09, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company.

Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).
  • Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes.
  • Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level.
  • The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.
  • Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version.
  • The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks.
  • By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal.
  • Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.
Sitefinity is recommended to be used for websites which have large number of pages and rich content. Also, if you have enough budget, then better to go for the Marketing or Enterprise edition to utilize features like Personalization feature, Audit Trail.

Not recommend for any campaign based website, which last for short period of time.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
The personalization feature is being used by some of our websites which have a lot of
content. There, we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time
etc. Here, Sitefinity plays an important role in identifying our target audience. If the user has visited a certain section of the website, we can track the user behavior and show the relevant product or services, thus increasing the number of leads generated by the website user.
Read Nabeel Qaisar's full review
Scott Whiting profile photo
November 07, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLC"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.
  • It provides an excellent library management package
  • It is extensible
  • It is progressive on its use of technology
  • Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage.
  • Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.
Sitefinity is not suited for the small enterprise that does not have its own IT department with staff familiar with Sitefinity.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Read Scott Whiting's full review
Darrell Wehlmann profile photo
October 19, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Realistic Look at Sitefinity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.
  • Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity.
  • Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit.
  • Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.
  • Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses.
  • Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.
It's suited for bigger, more sophisticated projects that have adequate budget. It is not suited for smaller websites and projects as it is cost-prohibitive.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have improved workflow for clients by setting up custom workflows for content authoring, content review and subsequent publishing. We have also engaged customers better by offering advanced website features/touchpoints.
Read Darrell Wehlmann's full review
Sean Patterson profile photo
October 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Robust and Powerful CMS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.
  • Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content.
  • Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository.
  • Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations.
  • Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.
  • Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed.
  • Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort.
  • Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.
For those that need a CMS solution that is easy to manage and quick to get going, Sitefinity provides a great platform to fit these needs. If you require a solution that requires heavy customization, such as special blog post types or custom modules that function more as a web application, then Sitefinity might not be the best fit.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
With the projects I have worked on and the clients I have engaged with, Sitefinity has met our primary needs of getting a site up and running that doesn't require a full IT team to keep running. Additionally, the custom modules and custom APIs that were built allowed my clients to integrate their third party platforms into the site without a huge development undertaking.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Dan Eckles profile photo
September 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity meets our needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is the provider for our website NVAR.org. It is used by the general public, more specifically by our 17,000 Realtors across Nevada. Sitefinity gives us an online platform to disseminate news and information about our association. It is a valuable tool for our staff to share information with our members and for members to interact with staff.
  • Sitefinity offers a platform that is user friendly. The ease gives us a better tool to reach members. More members use our website because it operates quickly and is easy to follow.
  • Sitefinity boasts a service staff that is easy to chat with and prompt. My emails are often answered within 24 hours. Next, after issues are discussed, follow-up work is prompt to find solutions.
  • Sitefinity's back-end for administrators is logical. It is easy to follow and makes sense. I am basically self taught and did so with relatively few frustrations.
  • While service staff is quick to respond, it is not real clear who should be our first point of contact, account leaders, techs who have helped us before.
  • I have had some frustrations with Sitefinity's analytics module. It will not work for us and I've been told the issue lies with our third-party vendor. That may be the case, however a Sitefinity programmer helped with a 'workaround.'
  • A few times, I've dealt with service staff who seemed to use English as a second language. When you are asking for an issue to be addressed, you don't want something to be lost in translation.
As the builder and provider of our website, Sitefinity has been well suited to our needs. We have either been able to meet our needs by changes made by our administrators or by working with service staff to address changes. I have yet to find a scenario where Sitefinity wasn't well-suited to handle it.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Sitefinity helps us achieve these outcomes, but this is always a process. We are always looking to improve workflow. We always want to maintain our website with as little work as possible since time is a valuable resource. Additionally, we never want to be satisfied with customer engagement. That is always evolving.
Read Dan Eckles's full review
Richard Peterson profile photo
September 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "SiteFinity Delivers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress SiteFinity for three brand websites globally and four children of two of the three brand websites. It provides an intuitive user-friendly CMS that I can easily train people to add content to their sections. I like the module builder tool that allows me to build my own widgets. Really a great time saver over having my digital agency to it.
  • I like the Module Builder feature where I can build my own widgets and reduce the need for coding content.
  • I appreciate the different levels of access that I can grant as the administrator so I can maintain control over the sites but have other SMEs add content.
  • I use the approval sign-off process to quickly get new content approved and live on the sites.
  • The videos need to be shorter and to the point on one topic. Don't need to set through five minutes of How-To to learn that one thing I am looking for.
  • We have difficulty at times updating older versions (3.7 and 4.1) to the latest platform.
SiteFinity seems to be more admin focused instead of developer focused and that is fine with me. SiteCore and Kentico are also strong CMS packages but I feel they require more constant developer involvement in the day-to-day site maintenance and I can concentrate on adding new content instead of working with developers just to create new pages.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
We have an older version so our expectations are above what our version of the product can deliver. With new version of the software came stronger capabilities in being mobile friendly, which we were behind on for this upgrade. SiteFinity helped me get up to speed faster and the Google Analytics reports showed such.
Read Richard Peterson's full review
Eugene Seegers profile photo
August 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Enterprise-level control and Search Engine Optimisation CMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at the University of the Free State (UFS), and we use it across all departments (approx. 150 web admins, supervised by my line manager and me). She and I are the quality assurers for web content at the university. Sitefinity has a high level of user-friendliness, and an intuitive graphical user interface. Users with a basic level of technological skills are able to quickly assimilate the basics of Sitefinity and start building a web page, while advanced users rarely run out of new ways to present their content. However, it is difficult to implement customisations and then maintain these over progressive iterations (updates/upgrades).
  • Drag-and-drop GUI: HTML can be very intimidating to new web users or web admins. Sitefinity GUI and drag-and-drop functionality allow one to build a page using a pre-selected template. This process is intuitive and easy to master.
  • Consistency: By creating department-specific templates for home pages and content pages, users are able to simply populate the template with their text, images, designs, videos, and other digital content. The template keeps the pages looking consistently the same while allowing a measure of freedom to the user.
  • Corporate Identity: Sitefinity allows web admins to adhere to the Corporate Identity guidelines of our company.
  • We would like to be able to customise the features of the software more, but this presents issues when these customisations are not carried over to the following version of the software.
  • Integrations with other software and/or API are not clearly identified or communicated.
  • Customer support and service is often lackadaisical or sluggish.
Enterprise-level scalability; User-friendliness; Ease-of-use
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
1. Workflow and efficiency has certainly improved
2. Less technical expertise is required of the uploader
3. Our IT department handles development
4. We would like more freedom to customise and personalise content
5. It is not as easy to track customer engagement in SiteFinity as it is with Google Analytics or Google Web Console
Read Eugene Seegers's full review
Kat Nagasawa profile photo
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our CMS tool. It is integrated with our iMIS (our AMS). We have roles set up in iMIS that translate to Sitefinity.
In addition, a select number of our members have access to update their microsite pages
  • Various roles for access to back pages.
  • Ease in creating pages and content.
  • Integration with our AMS
  • Wiki page for help on how to do things
  • Ensuring customers are up-to-date on versions
  • Differentiating between users who have back end access to a couple of pages vs true admins who have access to all pages.
The cost for more than 13 admins is ridiculously high.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have been able to increase our customer engagement when we redesigned our website to include microsites for our academies.
Read Kat Nagasawa's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall I'd highly recommend, but make sure you have someone implementing it with a strong technical background."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity for our external public facing website as well as our internal company intranet site. The external sites serves as an information source for our customers and the internal sites serves as an information/document portal for our employees.
  • The technical support is pretty good. They generally get back to support requests within 24 hours. There is also a "knowledge base" site which 9 times out of 10 has an answer to your support question already.
  • The product is constantly being updated - almost weekly - so you are constantly getting improvements and new features.
  • The product allows the end users to build their own page layouts while still maintaining a mobile first approach. You are not restricted to building pages using only 2 or 3 page templates. You can drag/drop with any kind of configuration you want.
  • The biggest, and probably most problematic thing is the built in forms. If you require ANYTHING other than a simple name, phone number and email kind of form, then do not use this product. You cannot build dynamic fields or customize the email generated from the form. I think this is the single biggest downfall of this product.
  • They need to manage feature requests better. There are a number of features users have been requesting that don't seem to get addressed. There is also no road map available for us to see if the features are going to be included in the foreseeable future.
Sitefinity is best suited for information based sites. If you want the ability for non-technical people to update content, this product is perfect. If you want the site to perform a specific function other than displaying information, that might be trickier. While the product can easily be customized using MVC, there are some limitations there. Also, if you need feature rich forms or really any kind of form other than a simple name and email kind of thing, then this isn't the product for you.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
The biggest thing we needed was for our communications department to be able to update the site themselves rather than requiring IT to do it. This has achieved this. As non-technical users, they find it really simple and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 27, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity CMS, a powerful, extensible system that is easy to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Sitefinity internally to power our own corporate website. Additionally, we are a Sitefinity partner, so we implement Sitefinity sites for customers around the United States. Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is easy to use, while at the same time is easy to extend and integrate into other systems.
  • Out of the box support for news, blogs, forums, forms.
  • Out of the box ability to point and click to create new, custom content types as needed.
  • Rich API for developers to use in implementing solutions.
  • Extensible platform to allow for integration with other systems.
  • Improved startup time after developers makes coding changes.
Sitefinity works well for sites/systems that need real content management capabilities. For example management of users, groups and roles, content approval workflows, multi-language support. If you are creating a custom line of business application that has no need for content management, this CMS might not be needed.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Sitefinity has an easy-to-use administration area that makes it easier for non-technical content editors to manage content of all kinds. We are currently using the Progress Digital Experience Cloud to track and analyze customer journeys from anonymous user to known customer. We use the build in segmentation and personalization features to provide specific content to users based on location and other characteristics.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (143)
9.2
API (119)
7.9
Internationalization / multi-language (89)
7.5
WYSIWYG editor (140)
8.2
Code quality / cleanliness (132)
8.5
Admin section (148)
8.2
Page templates (144)
8.1
Library of website themes (92)
5.3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (135)
8.0
Publishing workflow (132)
8.1
Form generator (122)
7.7
Content taxonomy (137)
8.9
SEO support (132)
8.6
Bulk management (106)
8.2
Availability / breadth of extensions (112)
6.4
Community / comment management (108)
7.6

About Progress Sitefinity

Progress Sitefinity is a content management and customer analytics platform. Progress Software acquired the product from Telerik.

Progress Sitefinity Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Progress Sitefinity Screenshots

Progress Sitefinity Videos (2)

Progress Sitefinity Downloadables

Progress Sitefinity Integrations

Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), SharePoint Case Management System (SCMS), Salesforce CRM

Progress Sitefinity Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Progress Sitefinity Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Sitefinity Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No