TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0B/5S/BO3CRT62CHQ7.JPEGGreat CMS for a variety of applicationsSitefinity is used by our organization as the CMS of choice for both of our corporate sites. It allows our marketing team to make needed changes to pages in an easy to manage way. Further, it is also used in our suite of products because of its ease of use.,Page and template creation is managed very well. Document management has good taxonomy abilities. Very flexible branding and editing capabilities. Multi-site management tools are very helpful for managing several sites.,SEO capabilities could be stronger. Emailing capabilities are poor, although there is integration with leading emailing platforms. Staging development environments and going live with sites can be cumbersome.,9,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesSitefinity ReviewSitefinity houses our company extranet and it is used by our customers, vendors, suppliers, and their prospects.,Sitefinity provides branding ability to put unique characteristics at our company website. This gives the company a strong sense of identity internally and externally.,Sitefinity can improve their pricing negotiation process. It took us a couple of weeks longer than expected to reach a mutually agreeable price for our multiple year renewal.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement Other,Sitefinity provides the customer journey as we expected. Sitefinity is a tool to build our own website, and all the basic elements are offered to us with great flexibility.,,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesSitefinity ReviewI build and deploy Sitefinity based websites for my clients. It provides a simple interface for them to manage their website. It does not require much training for them to grasp how the tool works.,It does not require a high level of expertise to manage a website. Simple layout templates and modules. Vast amounts of Documentation.,It is an expensive system. Depending on your implementation, upgrades can be tedious.,7,Maintain the site with less technical expertise,DNN Platform and WordPress,Developer,10-100 pagesContent management and SitefinityWe use Progress Sitefinity to integrate content management for our web application. It's being used across our entire organization and is robust enough for seasoned developers and easy enough for casual users.,Content Management Mobile integration Email lists,Previewing capabilities while working on a page are basic and does not allow visualizing how a widget will be rendered.,9,Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior,Developer,10-100 pagesSitefinity is a good product that should be considered when considering a CMSSitefinity is used as our public facing web content management system.,Sitefinity is a good content management system, is scales well and has good support. Sitefinity has enabled end users to build their websites quickly and easily, with little support from IT.,Upgrades to the application can be tedious. They use their own upgrade tool which often does not work the on first attempt.,5,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Other,Drupal,Developer,1,000-10,000 pages
Windows
Progress Sitefinity
151 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

Progress Sitefinity Reviews

Progress Sitefinity
151 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 151 vetted Progress Sitefinity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 114)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great CMS for a variety of applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by our organization as the CMS of choice for both of our corporate sites. It allows our marketing team to make needed changes to pages in an easy to manage way. Further, it is also used in our suite of products because of its ease of use.
  • Page and template creation is managed very well.
  • Document management has good taxonomy abilities.
  • Very flexible branding and editing capabilities.
  • Multi-site management tools are very helpful for managing several sites.
  • SEO capabilities could be stronger.
  • Emailing capabilities are poor, although there is integration with leading emailing platforms.
  • Staging development environments and going live with sites can be cumbersome.
A very strong solution for mid-to-enterprise level corporate customers. The scalability of the different packages offers a wide range of appropriate scenarios. It is less appropriate for e-commerce scenarios unless a third party is used.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
We have achieved some of the business outcomes by using Sitefinity as the technology foundation for our web presence. Other tools fit into the process, but Sitefinity is the backbone. Our marketing department can maintain the site with little technical direction unless significant changes are needed.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
May 09, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity houses our company extranet and it is used by our customers, vendors, suppliers, and their prospects.
  • Sitefinity provides branding ability to put unique characteristics at our company website.
  • This gives the company a strong sense of identity internally and externally.
  • Sitefinity can improve their pricing negotiation process. It took us a couple of weeks longer than expected to reach a mutually agreeable price for our multiple year renewal.
Sitefinity provides the flexibility to work with third-party vendors to create a customized website. The integration goes seamlessly. On the other hand, companies need to be discreet in selecting any third-party vendor to implement their websites.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
  • Other
We use Sitefinity for our extranet. It is used by our customers, vendors, suppliers. It is very crucial that our website has a strong sense of company branding element. I consider that Sitefinity fit the bill to a tee.
Read Yen Liu's full review
May 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I build and deploy Sitefinity based websites for my clients. It provides a simple interface for them to manage their website. It does not require much training for them to grasp how the tool works.
  • It does not require a high level of expertise to manage a website.
  • Simple layout templates and modules.
  • Vast amounts of Documentation.
  • It is an expensive system.
  • Depending on your implementation, upgrades can be tedious.
I feel that this software is perfect for a staff of non-technical users. I think it is simple to edit and modify content.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Sitefinity has made it simple for users to manage content.
Read Jason Honn's full review
May 02, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Content management and Sitefinity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity to integrate content management for our web application. It's being used across our entire organization and is robust enough for seasoned developers and easy enough for casual users.
  • Content Management
  • Mobile integration
  • Email lists
  • Previewing capabilities while working on a page are basic and does not allow visualizing how a widget will be rendered.
Sitefinity is an easy enough tool that our content managers have total ownership of their respective pages taking the onus of time and content responsibility away from the site's developers and testers.
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
We would like to see some additional tools added to track and analyze the customer journey. We've always appreciated Sitefinity's new tool and features.
Read Spike Silvernail's full review
March 22, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity is a good product that should be considered when considering a CMS"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used as our public facing web content management system.
  • Sitefinity is a good content management system, is scales well and has good support.
  • Sitefinity has enabled end users to build their websites quickly and easily, with little support from IT.
  • Upgrades to the application can be tedious. They use their own upgrade tool which often does not work the on first attempt.
As a content management system for end users Sitefinity is a good tool. Our users enjoy how easy it is to build their web sites. But, like any system, we had to build functionality that was missing and customize to some extent.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Other
Our main goal was to have end users be able to build sites with little to no technical experience and we have met that goal.
Read Anthony Colli's full review
May 22, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity if you're looking for customization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a marketing front-end as well as to manage a registered user base. We have installed several different instances to take on different roles. As far as marketing is concerned, it's great to leverage the built-in SEO and forms for lead generation capturing. For managing registered users, we customize Sitefinity to fit our business model which was straight-forward to do.
  • Progress Sitefinity does a great job of staying on top of new and ever-changing IT security threats and patching for it.
  • Progress Sitefinity has great support for people interested in customizing their instances with a vast knowledge base that includes videos and white papers.
  • Progress Sitefinity is great at communicating and following up on any opened support tickets.
  • Creating an out of box cloud deployment experience to ease the deployment burden.
  • Improve on their developers using source control and automated deployment experience.
  • Go back to their upfront pricing as opposed to having to speak to someone.
At the current price point, Sitefinity is too expensive for a simple brochure or lead generation website. There are a ton of great options out there for this use case. It is great if your website will include various integrations to third parties or user management that requires complex scenarios that need to be accounted for.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
In our specific case, we were looking for an increase in customer engagement. Sitefinity was great to use as a membership management tool where we then leveraged the dynamic modules to keep track of user content. We then were able to easily configure Sitefinity to provide an interactive gaming component to engage our users even more.
Read this authenticated review
April 25, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Huge Improvement From Our Old CMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity helped us leave behind our outdated website for a much easier to manage and much more robust template. The platform was purchased mostly just to give our site a much-needed facelift, but it's allowed us to do a lot more on the backend as well. We now have a much more robust content marketing strategy, have embraced using responsive templates (finally!), and more directly and effectively manage our SEO and quality control.
  • Day-to-day activities are easy to learn and easy to do
  • A lot of flexibility for building more advanced functions
  • Tools for maintaining image and link quality control
  • Sometimes flexibility comes at the expense of directness. Certain advanced features are confusing.
  • Forms are buggy and overly complicated to create.
For us, Sitefinity was the least expensive option that still provided all the features we wanted and needed. It's been a huge relief to us to not have to have our hands tied when we want to do something new, even if there are some cheaper options out there that probably would have been good enough. For a smaller company and a smaller website, it probably wouldn't be worth the cost. For larger companies, we can't speak to the Enterprise-level functions. (We're currently running the Professional version of the product.) But for us, Sitefinity hit the sweet spot.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
Our primary goals in using Sitefinity -- increasing customer engagement, adopting responsive templates, increasing our output of content, modernizing our brand -- have all been successful. We're currently looking at what new goals we can set with the platform's capabilities and whether or not that will require upgrading to an enterprise version of the product.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Where designers and content editors meet in one product."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by multiple users within our organisation. We wanted a simple CMS that can be used by business users responsible for specific content. These users should have simple edit function while designers still would be able to use the full functionality.
  • Sitefinity is simple to use while still full of features.
  • All content including documents/images can be stored in a database instead of the file system.
  • Small design changes on the layout are also easy for content editors.
  • All documentation and training material is online. Sometimes you want your users to start with a book like a dummies book for example.
  • The features vs license is a complex one. You need technical assistance to understand the different versions when exploring to your functional wishes.
  • The page locking can make users a little bit frustrated.
If you want a fully database driven CMS, Sitefinity is one of the few solutions on the Windows platform. However, it's not cheap or free even for the most simple use cases.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Our users can archive more than with the previous CMS. That was important for our decision to start with Sitefinity. Also, the non-technical users are now enabled to change content.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity CMS is a great tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used by the marketing department to update current content and create brand new content. It is our Content Management System of choice. It has allowed us to drastically reduce the time it took to make website updates because we no longer have to go through our IT department.
  • Sitefinity makes it easy to create a new page - either from a new template or an existing one.
  • Sitefinity makes it very easy to update current content on pages.
  • Sitefinity is great because there is no limit to how many things you can sync at once. We did a website audit and published all the content updates we had at once.
  • I do not like that if I visit a page but make no edits to it, when I leave that page it asks me if "I am sure that I want to leave the page because all edits will be lost."
  • The sync feature can be finicky. Occasionally, something fails to sync, but it does not tell you exactly why or if it does, it is in very technical terms that make it hard to understand.
  • I wish I had more news on the product's roadmap.
It is very well suited for a marketing team that may not have an in house web designer because it is very simple to use. The down side is that as the website design becomes more complicated, it becomes necessary to get a web designer because it can become very burdensome on someone who does not have that expertise.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Yes, Sitefinity has helped improve our site by making it easier and quicker to make content updates. Previously, all updates had to go through IT and it took several days, if not weeks. Now, we can make edits the same day. It also has allowed us to track how customers are moving through our site which has helped us to optimize our site with maximum impact.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the best CMS products available."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Sitefinity for all of our websites, we currently have around 8 websites that are all managed through Sitefinity, it is the perfect solution for us since it allows us to give access to our users to update sections of the websites that belong to them and from an IT perspective it works great in our environment since we are a Microsoft only shop.
  • Deployment is easy.
  • The product is highly customizable.
  • Ease of use for end-users.
  • Customer support could be a little quicker.
Sitefinity is great for getting something done quickly and without a lot of hassles. Deployment is very simple and all the documentation available makes this product a breeze to support. The only drawback that some might see (I don't) is that it is limited to only the Microsoft platform, but other than that it is great for prototyping.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
The built-in workflows and roles that Sitefinity has, allow us to keep end users focusing on making additions and edits to our websites without having to worry about back-end code or responsiveness of the website. All they have to do is make sure the content is up to date and let our developers worry about the more technical aspects of the sites.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great Experience"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently using Sitefinity to service clients that I work with. My client required a CMS that supports multi-language and is easy to use to allow the global team members to be able to manage and update their versions of their site autonomously and with ease. The CMS has been well received and learning has been straightforward.
  • Ease of page creation
  • Simple to understand
  • Intuitive
  • Built in tutorials would be great
  • Allowing duplicated content to be treated as unique content
  • Image and media management structure could be refined
Sitefinity has strengths surrounding template management, document management, and page creation. The drag-and-drop capabilities are very useful and are easy to brand with HTML and CSS. Our client uses this CMS for their website and uses multi-site management to switch from each site. If you are managing multiple websites, this is a great feature.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
The main objective for our client was to update their existing website with a new look and feel and with a CMS that is easy to use and manage. Sitefinity achieves this in every way as it is simple to use for those users who are not particularly tech savvy.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Simple out-of-the-box settings to get you up and running quickly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used to empower digital marketing teams with the tools and capability allowing them to create and manage engaging, responsive websites with minimal reliance on IT.
  • It's easy to get up and running quickly with lots of sensible options set by default. There's also lots of options for advance configurations.
  • Interface is fairly intuitive for both content editors and site administrators.
  • Technical and Account Management support is very good: they are responsive and quick to resolve any issues or queries raised.
  • Getting the site to work in a highly resilient and fault tolerant manner takes some effort. The options and documentation is there, but it's not as straight forward as one would hope.
  • Make sure you understand the licencing models in order to select the most appropriate for your needs. If your business spins up and tears down lots of sites it can get expensive as domain licences are non-transferable.
  • Good for traditional information, brochure-ware, portal and retail sites.
  • Sites requiring federated authentication can be a bit tricky to get working but doable with a bit of customisation.
  • Not particularly good for single page apps.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
Sitefinity allows our digital teams to build and manage sites without so much reliance on IT and it has a fairly comprehensive set of tools to create engaging websites that work well on all desktop and mobile devices.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity to produce a richer web experience for our 'customers' and so that we can better understand their online activity and as a result the issues facing their business. It is used by 2 or 3 'super users' in our organization, though the information that is gleaned from the system is used across the organization.
  • The system is easy to use by relatively inexperienced users
  • The system gives us a good insight into our customers
  • The system integrates well with other packages
  • A relatively expensive system
  • There is some functionality that we expected would be provided by Progress Sitefinity but isn't (eg mass emailing)
Good content management system and provision of customer insight. Not so good at email marketing.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Our online presence has been significantly improved using Sitefinity. The richness of the content on the site and the fact that it is tailored to individuals means that we have far more people visiting the site and staying on it for longer. The team managing the site have relatively low iT expertise but are able to do so with relative ease.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Very happy Sitefinity User"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by our client to improve their customer journey analysis, by its excellent optimisation and personalisation.
  • SEO optimisation
  • Video Management
  • Images Management
  • When a bug is found, sometimes we need to wait for the next upgrade to fix - which can take quite a long time
Sitefinity CMS is fantastic for multilingual websites - it allows users to localise their sites in as many language versions as required. They will be able to use content items, taxonomies, etc. in order to easily target an international audience.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Since our clients have started using Sitefinity to increase customer engagement we have seen a spike in website traffic and in ROI.

Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Good and effective CMS tool for the price."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity as our primary website CMS. the site was developed by a third party developer, but our internal team manages the tool and updates our site daily via Sitefinity.
  • relatively easy to use
  • stable platform
  • customer support
  • load speed
It is an effective tool. competitively priced. support has been a challenge. not overwhelmingly good or bad.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Increase customer engagement
We've simplified our site update process and significantly increased engagement with our website.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Very complete and easy to use CMS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Progress Sitefinity is being used by our organization as a CMS for our corporate website.
  • Very robust CMS
  • User-friendly, intuitive to use.
  • I think the price is quite high.
  • More external templates and modules should become available.
All types of websites for small businesses and large enterprises.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by the marketing department as our online website platform.
  • Great communication from the Sitefinity team
  • Fairly user-friendly interface
  • Constantly has updates available for anyone looking to keep their web platform up to date
  • I find the site finicky when there are multiple admin users making edits, locks pages easily, 'crashes' site if it doesn't link the action you do... Could be a bit smoother to allow the everyday user who isn't we savvy to have more confidence
Great for a company that doesn't necessarily have a web developer on staff that can create an HTML based website. Has much more than just website capability, it can be your whole CMS system if you choose, we do not.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "So happy with Sitefinity!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by our web department only. We have two full-time users and two occasional users. All web content is filtered through our department for review and posting.

We upgraded from Ektron and it feels as though we've launched 100 years into the future. We used Sitefinity to become mobile responsive as well.
  • It's very user-friendly. If our organization wanted to move to a workflow system, I'm confident every person here could be comfortable with Sitefinity with little training.
  • Updates are quick and easy. I like the drag and drop modules.
  • Our previous system didn't give us CSS access; it's nice to be able to edit literally any part of the site on our own without going through our web vendor.
  • I really like being able to upload multiple images or files at once.
  • It doesn't work well in Chrome. When we first implemented it, our vendor told us to only use Chrome, but there are so many things that don't work in Chrome that we no longer can use it.
  • I wish Sitefinity had an in-text editor. When I'm making a really small update, it'd be nice to click an edit button on a page and either fix it right there, or at least use that button to open that page in Sitefinity (old Ektron had that!).
  • Our department hates when we're editing a page, finish, and go back into the Pages menu and the menu we were working in is closed, or a different one is open. It'd be really nice if our place was saved.
  • I wish there was a way to keep the WYSIWYG editor open to full size all the time.
I'm really happy with how Sitefinity functions for our website. It's easy to edit and we've been able to create some custom microsites easily as well. We have some custom integrations that Sitefinity seems to struggle with. It's hard to know if it's Sitefinity or the integration created by our vendor.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
We've been able to do everything except track and analyze the customer journey and personalize site content. Both of these are due to our web vendor. We plan to prioritize both in the coming year.

We've seen tremendous improvements in staff efficiency and are able to devote more time to strategic operations rather than daily updates. We've been able to create new tools with Sitefinity to both improve the user experience and improve staff efficiency.
Read Erin Hasinger's full review
September 25, 2017

Progress Sitefinity: "Trellist Reviews Sitefinity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Trellist uses Sitefinity for our own website at trellist.com and we recommend and implement Sitefinity solutions for our clients. Sitefinity has proven to be an easily extensible solution that serves well for mid-size and large companies that have robust website requirements. Its combination of out-of-the-box features and robust API provides the right balance of price, core capabilities and ease of customization by extending or creating widgets. Sitefinity's intuitive interface, and ability to create custom designers, reduces the learning curve for content owners.
  • We use Sitefinity's module builder for managing a lot of custom data types--think database tables but you get an interface for free. The modules come with widgets for common basic functionality and customizable widget templates, but for complete control, we often build custom widgets that utilize the API to access and manage the data.
  • The MVC page templates and layout designers are a really nice feature. The page templates are hierarchical and each child inherits all the capabilities and layouts of its parent. The page layouts provide an easy way to implement bootstrap responsive layouts while making it easy for content owners to drag and drop widgets into content place holders.
  • If you know .Net, Sitefinity's API is intuitive and doesn't require programmers to learn new languages or frameworks. This reduces the learning curve for developers and provides practically limitless options for writing code to meet project objectives. Sitefinity also offers a Visual Studio extension called Thunder that aids in creating Sitefinity components. Although it's not strictly necessary, it's use does reduce some of the tedious development tasks, especially around creating custom widget designers, which can be created to provide content owners with niceties like an image or page picker.
  • We implemented a multisite solution for one of our clients and although the ability to share templates and content is extremely powerful, setup wasn't as intuitive as it could be and documentation was lacking a bit. We also ran into a couple bugs which we'll be reporting when things slow down a bit. Permissions was one area where some trial and error was necessary and workarounds needed.
  • eCommerce and the Marketing modules need some maturity. They are not robust enough or easy enough to use to supplant more mature products.
For Trellist and our clients, Sitefinity has been well suited for web development projects for mid-sized and large companies. Startups and small companies will typically prefer a free open source solution, even though the Sitefinity Standard Edition is relatively inexpensive given the out-of-the-box capabilities and ease of development. Sitefinity is well suited for website projects whose requirements include pages that need to display related content like news or documents or for projects that require functionality that manipulates data because of its built-in capabilities and robust API. Sitefinity is also an excellent option if ease of use for content owners is a requirement, because of the intuitive drag and drop administration interface, role-based permissions, 2 or 3 phase workflow and the ability to create custom widget designers.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
For our clients using Sitefinity and for Trellist internally, we are very satisfied with the solution's ability to meet the project objectives. Typically clients are interested in ease of use and the ability for non-IT staff to update and maintain content on a timely basis. Sitefinity allows us to strike a nice balance between the flexibility of free form content and the structure of form based content. Also, some clients require that the production environment be locked down, so Sitefinty's SiteSync feature enables content to be updated in staging then automatically pushed to production. A lot goes into meeting project objectives, especially how the solution is architected. Sitefinity doesn't get in the way of implementing that solution.
Read Paul Immediato's full review
September 08, 2017

Progress Sitefinity Review: "If you are looking at Sitefinity as your CMS, read this."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as the CMS for our main website with 3 languages and we also use it for 2 subsidiary websites. We chose Sitefinity for its security and localization ability so that we could have one site with multiple languages that could be easily translated through the platform.
  • If Sitefinity is correctly implemented, the ease of use for multiple users is great. We have had multiple companies helping us with the design of the site over the years and when we used a Sitefinity partner, the set up was great. I can trust multiple people to be able to add things to the website without breaking any code.
  • Localization was a huge factor in our continued use of Sitefinity. We like being able to click a button to send text to a translator.
  • The platform interface. The UX design of the CMS is great. We can easily know where to go and how to do things.
  • We have had huge issues with problems in the code from the versions of Sitefinity. When we launched our new site it was delayed over a month because there was a huge bug in their code. It took them over a month to figure it out which cost us a lot of money. When they fixed that bug, it wasn't in future releases so when we went to upgrade we couldn't do that either.
  • Support. Their support is not great. I don't think I have found many companies with great tech support anymore but I see it as a definite problem.
  • You have to use a Sitefinity partner if you want the site set up correctly. If you don't use a partner, and they don't know how SItefinity works, be ready to work in the code for any updates to text.
I honestly don't have a good scenario where to use Sitefinity. We've had so many issues with the CMS over my 6 years of using it, that I regret building our current site on the platform. Here is why:

  • You can't easily hire a designer/coder to help you with the site. If you want the site built to where other people in the company to easily use it, you have to use someone who had a lot of experience with Sitefinity.
  • We've had so many issues with problems in their own code. We spent months trouble shooting and spending our own money finding issues with Sitefinity code, then had to wait for them to fix it. Once they did fix it, they didn't keep that fix in future releases (which is bad business). So when we went to upgrade we had the same problem and had to have them issues yet another patch their their code. After they did that, we still found issues.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
We liked that Sitefinity had the ability to be set up so that any user in our organization could easily update the site and add resources. We have a large resource library and we needed to be able to have our writers access the site and add content without a lot of technical capability. It is great being able to trust that things are getting done correctly, and we don't have to have a web support person do all the work.
Read Kristin Haynes, MSM's full review
September 08, 2017

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefiniy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used to allow employees from different departments to manage their own web departments web content. This solves the problem of having to have a dedicated employee just for web updates. Sitefinity allows for faster web posts and more timely information to our stakeholders.
  • Sitefinity allows people with little of no development skills to publish content to a webpage
  • Provides a way to manage email lists.
  • Allows for feedback from our stakeholders
  • Sitefinity has been very well designed for our need (though our needs are small)
Sitefinity works great when you need a way for people without development skills to interact with the web. Sitefinity may not be needed if you are a very small company or individual looking for only a static webpage. Sitefinity does take time to develop, setup, and build forms for lots of content.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Workflow has been improved because we no longer need to wait to have someone post content to the internet so stakeholders get better more timely information. With the feedback tools Sitefinity provides has allowed us to have better stakeholder feedback and improve the site biased on their needs giving a level of feedback we have never had.
Read Wayne Dixon's full review
September 22, 2017

Progress Sitefinity Review: "School CMS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We promote our business through our website that we created using Sitefinity. We, as a school, allow parents to create accounts and log in to the website to manage their kids' data. We integrated e-commerce and other school-related features such as reports, newsletters and calendar. We also linked our iPhone and Android apps to the website through a dedicated API.
  • CMS
  • Desktop/Mobile view management
  • Integration of ASP.NET and AJAX
  • Easily management of users and data through API
  • Performance on low hardware specs
  • Upgrading from one version to another is not as smooth as it should be
Promoting your business, eCommerce, integration of ASP.NET and other custom code.

Not suitable for simple blogs and sites (other less expensive alternatives are available).
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Very easy integration of APIs such as Google Analytics. It's also easy to apply a third-party component to the default page template and so it applies to the whole site.
Read Mohammad Elsheimy's full review
September 21, 2017

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity and Beyond"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have implemented Sitefinity for 3 different industries for their websites. One implementation was for a college website, one was for a large investment bank, and the last was in the business of product manufacturing consumer facing and intranet. It addresses the need for a CMS that is mid priced.
I really don't have any faith in the product anymore as it has caused quite a few issues with web development and has hurt client relationships. I would not recommend it to someone that is looking to build on a CMS, based on my experiences.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
As mentioned this product has fallen short in many of the areas that we had hoped it would excel at.
Read Drew Pasler's full review
September 20, 2017

Progress Sitefinity: "Hands on Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses two Sitefinity web systems for the content management of the website. The content is developed by less than ten employees but is published for a public facing website. We use Sitefinity to organise various project resources such as developed documents and training resources. We also develop custom.NET controls for various web function within the CMS framework.
  • Organize website
  • Common built-in features
  • Current updates
  • Upgrades are tedious
  • Heavy framework means loading is slow
  • Options for budget users
Sitefinity is a great CMS if you need all its features but could be too much for a budget user.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
The most useful achieved outcome is that less tech-savvy users can manage content [without] the need to consult with other employees. Currently there are only two developers in the organization so it is important that project administrators be able to manage the content for their projects. This allows developers to be focused on tasks that utilize their skills.
Read Aaron Piercefield's full review
September 19, 2017

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity - One stop solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity for all of our corporate websites. Sitefinity allows us to quickly spin up new sites, make changes and use custom features for all of our sites. We are able train new business users easily and give them the power to make content updates as needed. Sharing content and functions across our sites is also a big benefit.
  • Contains built in features and functions out of the box
  • Shares content well with all sites in multi-site
  • Easily sync content changes from test environments to production
  • Always seems to be some items with bugs or not working 100%
  • Offer more training videos and various certifications for all types of users
  • Improve documentation, help within the application itself
The site sync feature is one of my favorite functions. The ability to easily publish content from dev to test and to production is extremely valuable. No need to depend on a database restore to publish content. The built in functions are also a great item so that we do not have to custom build every feature nor do we have to attempt to find a useful function online from third parties and depend on them to update. Due to the cost of the higher versions, it is not feasible for smaller companies or websites to use.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
We are able to efficiently update our websites currently. We are also in our second phase of updating the website and adding additional features from Sitefinity. We are looking into using more of the personalization and customer journeys within Sitefinity to improve the user experience. We are also in the process of building new tools and an API for third parties to connect to our site and sell our plans.
Read Bart Welch's full review

Progress Sitefinity Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (107)
7.5
API (87)
7.1
Internationalization / multi-language (62)
7.3
WYSIWYG editor (110)
7.0
Code quality / cleanliness (99)
6.8
Admin section (113)
7.3
Page templates (111)
7.0
Library of website themes (68)
5.5
Mobile optimization / responsive design (101)
6.9
Publishing workflow (99)
7.0
Form generator (91)
6.2
Content taxonomy (104)
7.1
SEO support (100)
6.9
Bulk management (80)
6.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (83)
6.1
Community / comment management (81)
6.1

About Progress Sitefinity

Progress Sitefinity is a content management and customer analytics platform. Progress Software acquired the product from Telerik.
Categories:  Content Management

Progress Sitefinity Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Progress Sitefinity Screenshots

Progress Sitefinity Integrations

Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), SharePoint Case Management System (SCMS), Salesforce CRM

Progress Sitefinity Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Progress Sitefinity Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Sitefinity Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No