TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0B/5S/BO3CRT62CHQ7.JPEGSitefinity reviewIn 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.,Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content. Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved. Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform. They continue to update the platform with new features,We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team. I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way. It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.,9,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Joomla!,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesOne of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company. Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).,Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes. Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level. The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.,Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version. The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks. By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal. Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior Increase customer engagement,Sitecore Web Content Management and Umbraco CMS,Developer,1,000-10,000 pagesSitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLCWe adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.,It provides an excellent library management package It is extensible It is progressive on its use of technology,Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage. Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.,7,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features Track and analyze the customer journey,DNN Platform,100-1,000 pagesA Realistic Look at SitefinityI have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.,Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity. Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit. Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.,Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses. Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.,8,Improve workflow and overall efficiency Build new tools and site features Increase customer engagement,NA,Concrete5 and Umbraco CMS,Content Author / Administrator,10-100 pagesRobust and Powerful CMSI use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.,Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content. Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository. Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations. Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.,Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed. Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort. Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.,7,Maintain the site with less technical expertise Build new tools and site features,WordPress,Developer,10-100 pages
Windows
Progress Sitefinity
179 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Progress Sitefinity Reviews

Progress Sitefinity
179 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 180 vetted Progress Sitefinity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 134)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dave Johnson profile photo
October 15, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 2012, I moved our organization from being reliant on outside vendor for all content additions/changes to using a content management system (CMS). Sitefinity was the best choice for our company because I wanted a CMS that was .NET based for integration with other Microsoft platforms, was a proprietary system for a predictable and stable platform, was inexpensive, and was easy to use.
  • Makes it easy for an administrator to assign roles for others in the organization to contribute content.
  • Easy for administrators to know when new content has been created and is ready to be reviewed and approved.
  • Its licensing model makes it very affordable for small and medium sized business to adopt the platform.
  • They continue to update the platform with new features
  • We have created a Chinese version of our site. I do not read or speak Chinese; however, I cannot create a role for one of our Chinese employees to be an administrator of the Chinese portion of our site. They must either be an Administrator for the entire site, or an editor for the entire. This creates additional effort / hassle for the team.
  • I have what I believe to be a simple question for the owners of Sitefinity. I wanted to see about using Sitefinity with AWS. Our web agency says that we cannot ask the owners a question, because they will only respond to an "issue". Because we cannot get an answer from Telerik, we are trying to figure this out on our own....and spending a lot of money along the way.
  • It is difficult to find one agency that understands both the front end design capabilities and the back-end technology capability of the platform.
Ideal for companies who are a Microsoft shop, and are small to medium sized businesses. But if you want all kinds of cool design possibilities and you have your own web designer, you may be better off with an open source product like Joomla.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Increase customer engagement
Our ability to get content onto our site and published has increased tremendously and that was our primary goal. It's easy enough to use to get other employees to comply with using it. We do not have an in-house web designer, and this platform still allows us to do most things without hiring an outside resource (after initial implementation).
Read Dave Johnson's full review
Nabeel Qaisar profile photo
November 09, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the most 'user friendly' CMS (if implemented correctly)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used to manage the website for some of our clients who have relatively large websites with large number of pages, and with many rich features. It's being mostly used by the marketing department to promote the products, offers, and services offered by the company.

Personalization is the key important feature for any new website. Sitefinity offers a simple but effective mechanism to make any page or content within the page personalized. We are using this feature for some of our websites where we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time etc. Here, Sitefinity play an important role to achieve our target audience. It provides many out of the box widgets, like News, Events, Cards, Rich text editor, and Image Gallery, which can be easily dragged and dropped on the page, and within minutes you can create a new page using any existing template. Also, for developers, it provides the flexibility to build custom modules and utilities API, which can be consumed by any frontend medium (mobile app, website).
  • Easy to use drag and drop widget, which allows CMS users to create new pages within minutes.
  • Easy to implement Personalization on any page or content within the page level.
  • The support Sitefinity provides plays an important role in achieving project target date. It especially helps during development; in case one faces any technical issues, their support team is highly responsive and guides you with best possible solution or workaround.
  • Not easy to upgrade to the latest version. If by mistake one deploys the latest version DLL, it changes the database and you cannot rollback to the old version.
  • The Export/Import feature is not advanced enough and randomly breaks.
  • By default Sitefinity stores some of the changes like labels, messages, and search index on the ‘File System,’ which causes issues when you have a load balance environment. There, you have to manually sync the file on all environments, which is not ideal.
  • Reporting. Currently Sitefinity does not seem to have native support for tracking website analytics; rather, it integrates with Google Analytics for showing website analytics in CMS, which creates dependency on 3rd party service. If there is any change in 3rd party service, it would directly impact the reporting in Sitefinity CMS.
Sitefinity is recommended to be used for websites which have large number of pages and rich content. Also, if you have enough budget, then better to go for the Marketing or Enterprise edition to utilize features like Personalization feature, Audit Trail.

Not recommend for any campaign based website, which last for short period of time.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
The personalization feature is being used by some of our websites which have a lot of
content. There, we need to target users based on their behavior, location, time
etc. Here, Sitefinity plays an important role in identifying our target audience. If the user has visited a certain section of the website, we can track the user behavior and show the relevant product or services, thus increasing the number of leads generated by the website user.
Read Nabeel Qaisar's full review
Scott Whiting profile photo
November 07, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity offers alot "under the hood" but requires TLC"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted the Sitefinity software back when it was in version 3.x and have continued to expand our Sitefinity portfolio. Sitefinity is not a lightweight package and therefore does have its challenges, but these challenges primarily involve changes to the "out-of-the-box" package. Progress has done an excellent job to keep abreast of the changing technology. The community is a very vibrant one with lots of support.
  • It provides an excellent library management package
  • It is extensible
  • It is progressive on its use of technology
  • Documentation lacks. There is no mapping of database fields and usage.
  • Some custom features are lacking completeness. However this can be corrected with expert programming.
Sitefinity is not suited for the small enterprise that does not have its own IT department with staff familiar with Sitefinity.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
Read Scott Whiting's full review
Darrell Wehlmann profile photo
October 19, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Realistic Look at Sitefinity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Sitefinity on multiple projects that require more sophistication and the ability to scale with client's needs. We have used for a large equipment manufacturer/retailer to manage the company's external website as well as the company's Intranet. In addition, we have developed several custom applications in dot.net technology that have been integrated into these implementations. We have also synced with the company's Active Directory for single sign on/authentication as well as made customer inquiries from the external website flow directly into Microsoft Dynamics - the customer's CMS.
  • Scalable: As new needs arose we were able to manage and integrate/use Sitefinity.
  • Customization: It does take knowledgeable programmers, but you can customize quite a bit.
  • Flexibility: Allows for changes in site structure very easily.
  • Expensive. Sitefinity did away with their small business edition some time back and the time of this writing, it takes around $3,000 to get a license. That rules out Sitefinity for a lot of small to small-medium sized businesses.
  • Complex: You can do almost anything with it, but it will require knowledgeable programmers to make that happen.
It's suited for bigger, more sophisticated projects that have adequate budget. It is not suited for smaller websites and projects as it is cost-prohibitive.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have improved workflow for clients by setting up custom workflows for content authoring, content review and subsequent publishing. We have also engaged customers better by offering advanced website features/touchpoints.
Read Darrell Wehlmann's full review
Sean Patterson profile photo
October 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Robust and Powerful CMS"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sitefinity with clients now to provide them a CMS solution that has a good user interface and a wide variety of features available "out of the box." I also use their available libraries and platform to add custom components or integrations for my client's unique needs. For those that need a .Net based proprietary CMS solution, I find it the best option available for the most reasonable price.
  • Intuitive and user friendly interface for creating and editing content.
  • Easy to implement additional features, such as a blog, news feed, or document repository.
  • Powerful library to extend your site with custom integrations.
  • Powerful ability to build customized templates and user controls for reuse on multiple pages.
  • Solution code does not play well with a standard source control mechanism such as Git. A few changes will be needed.
  • Creating custom widgets that are non-trivial takes additional time and effort.
  • Upgrading the platform can be problematic if the default tool doesn't work.
For those that need a CMS solution that is easy to manage and quick to get going, Sitefinity provides a great platform to fit these needs. If you require a solution that requires heavy customization, such as special blog post types or custom modules that function more as a web application, then Sitefinity might not be the best fit.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
With the projects I have worked on and the clients I have engaged with, Sitefinity has met our primary needs of getting a site up and running that doesn't require a full IT team to keep running. Additionally, the custom modules and custom APIs that were built allowed my clients to integrate their third party platforms into the site without a huge development undertaking.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Dan Eckles profile photo
September 18, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity meets our needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is the provider for our website NVAR.org. It is used by the general public, more specifically by our 17,000 Realtors across Nevada. Sitefinity gives us an online platform to disseminate news and information about our association. It is a valuable tool for our staff to share information with our members and for members to interact with staff.
  • Sitefinity offers a platform that is user friendly. The ease gives us a better tool to reach members. More members use our website because it operates quickly and is easy to follow.
  • Sitefinity boasts a service staff that is easy to chat with and prompt. My emails are often answered within 24 hours. Next, after issues are discussed, follow-up work is prompt to find solutions.
  • Sitefinity's back-end for administrators is logical. It is easy to follow and makes sense. I am basically self taught and did so with relatively few frustrations.
  • While service staff is quick to respond, it is not real clear who should be our first point of contact, account leaders, techs who have helped us before.
  • I have had some frustrations with Sitefinity's analytics module. It will not work for us and I've been told the issue lies with our third-party vendor. That may be the case, however a Sitefinity programmer helped with a 'workaround.'
  • A few times, I've dealt with service staff who seemed to use English as a second language. When you are asking for an issue to be addressed, you don't want something to be lost in translation.
As the builder and provider of our website, Sitefinity has been well suited to our needs. We have either been able to meet our needs by changes made by our administrators or by working with service staff to address changes. I have yet to find a scenario where Sitefinity wasn't well-suited to handle it.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Sitefinity helps us achieve these outcomes, but this is always a process. We are always looking to improve workflow. We always want to maintain our website with as little work as possible since time is a valuable resource. Additionally, we never want to be satisfied with customer engagement. That is always evolving.
Read Dan Eckles's full review
Richard Peterson profile photo
September 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "SiteFinity Delivers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress SiteFinity for three brand websites globally and four children of two of the three brand websites. It provides an intuitive user-friendly CMS that I can easily train people to add content to their sections. I like the module builder tool that allows me to build my own widgets. Really a great time saver over having my digital agency to it.
  • I like the Module Builder feature where I can build my own widgets and reduce the need for coding content.
  • I appreciate the different levels of access that I can grant as the administrator so I can maintain control over the sites but have other SMEs add content.
  • I use the approval sign-off process to quickly get new content approved and live on the sites.
  • The videos need to be shorter and to the point on one topic. Don't need to set through five minutes of How-To to learn that one thing I am looking for.
  • We have difficulty at times updating older versions (3.7 and 4.1) to the latest platform.
SiteFinity seems to be more admin focused instead of developer focused and that is fine with me. SiteCore and Kentico are also strong CMS packages but I feel they require more constant developer involvement in the day-to-day site maintenance and I can concentrate on adding new content instead of working with developers just to create new pages.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
We have an older version so our expectations are above what our version of the product can deliver. With new version of the software came stronger capabilities in being mobile friendly, which we were behind on for this upgrade. SiteFinity helped me get up to speed faster and the Google Analytics reports showed such.
Read Richard Peterson's full review
Eugene Seegers profile photo
August 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Enterprise-level control and Search Engine Optimisation CMS"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at the University of the Free State (UFS), and we use it across all departments (approx. 150 web admins, supervised by my line manager and me). She and I are the quality assurers for web content at the university. Sitefinity has a high level of user-friendliness, and an intuitive graphical user interface. Users with a basic level of technological skills are able to quickly assimilate the basics of Sitefinity and start building a web page, while advanced users rarely run out of new ways to present their content. However, it is difficult to implement customisations and then maintain these over progressive iterations (updates/upgrades).
  • Drag-and-drop GUI: HTML can be very intimidating to new web users or web admins. Sitefinity GUI and drag-and-drop functionality allow one to build a page using a pre-selected template. This process is intuitive and easy to master.
  • Consistency: By creating department-specific templates for home pages and content pages, users are able to simply populate the template with their text, images, designs, videos, and other digital content. The template keeps the pages looking consistently the same while allowing a measure of freedom to the user.
  • Corporate Identity: Sitefinity allows web admins to adhere to the Corporate Identity guidelines of our company.
  • We would like to be able to customise the features of the software more, but this presents issues when these customisations are not carried over to the following version of the software.
  • Integrations with other software and/or API are not clearly identified or communicated.
  • Customer support and service is often lackadaisical or sluggish.
Enterprise-level scalability; User-friendliness; Ease-of-use
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
1. Workflow and efficiency has certainly improved
2. Less technical expertise is required of the uploader
3. Our IT department handles development
4. We would like more freedom to customise and personalise content
5. It is not as easy to track customer engagement in SiteFinity as it is with Google Analytics or Google Web Console
Read Eugene Seegers's full review
Jerry van Dalen Jr. profile photo
July 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great CMS for a variety of applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by our organization as the CMS of choice for both of our corporate sites. It allows our marketing team to make needed changes to pages in an easy to manage way. Further, it is also used in our suite of products because of its ease of use.
  • Page and template creation is managed very well.
  • Document management has good taxonomy abilities.
  • Very flexible branding and editing capabilities.
  • Multi-site management tools are very helpful for managing several sites.
  • SEO capabilities could be stronger.
  • Emailing capabilities are poor, although there is integration with leading emailing platforms.
  • Staging development environments and going live with sites can be cumbersome.
A very strong solution for mid-to-enterprise level corporate customers. The scalability of the different packages offers a wide range of appropriate scenarios. It is less appropriate for e-commerce scenarios unless a third party is used.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
We have achieved some of the business outcomes by using Sitefinity as the technology foundation for our web presence. Other tools fit into the process, but Sitefinity is the backbone. Our marketing department can maintain the site with little technical direction unless significant changes are needed.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall I'd highly recommend, but make sure you have someone implementing it with a strong technical background."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity for our external public facing website as well as our internal company intranet site. The external sites serves as an information source for our customers and the internal sites serves as an information/document portal for our employees.
  • The technical support is pretty good. They generally get back to support requests within 24 hours. There is also a "knowledge base" site which 9 times out of 10 has an answer to your support question already.
  • The product is constantly being updated - almost weekly - so you are constantly getting improvements and new features.
  • The product allows the end users to build their own page layouts while still maintaining a mobile first approach. You are not restricted to building pages using only 2 or 3 page templates. You can drag/drop with any kind of configuration you want.
  • The biggest, and probably most problematic thing is the built in forms. If you require ANYTHING other than a simple name, phone number and email kind of form, then do not use this product. You cannot build dynamic fields or customize the email generated from the form. I think this is the single biggest downfall of this product.
  • They need to manage feature requests better. There are a number of features users have been requesting that don't seem to get addressed. There is also no road map available for us to see if the features are going to be included in the foreseeable future.
Sitefinity is best suited for information based sites. If you want the ability for non-technical people to update content, this product is perfect. If you want the site to perform a specific function other than displaying information, that might be trickier. While the product can easily be customized using MVC, there are some limitations there. Also, if you need feature rich forms or really any kind of form other than a simple name and email kind of thing, then this isn't the product for you.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
The biggest thing we needed was for our communications department to be able to update the site themselves rather than requiring IT to do it. This has achieved this. As non-technical users, they find it really simple and easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Basic CMS that gets the job done"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's the digital content management tool we use to host our website for a particular part of the business and region. It holds our Americas materials website and we do not use it to generate leads but more to provide overview and insight for shareholders and interested parties into our organization.
  • Content management
  • Ease of use
  • Layout of back end
I think that Progress Sitefinity is well suited for a stable website. If you are having a website that gets little traffic and is not generating leads then Progress Sitefinity is great. I am not sure if the tool integrates with Pardot or Hubsport or even Salesforce, so I cannot speak to that capability. If it does integrate well, I think the tool may be competitive to other leading CMS platforms...
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity if you're looking for customization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a marketing front-end as well as to manage a registered user base. We have installed several different instances to take on different roles. As far as marketing is concerned, it's great to leverage the built-in SEO and forms for lead generation capturing. For managing registered users, we customize Sitefinity to fit our business model which was straight-forward to do.
  • Progress Sitefinity does a great job of staying on top of new and ever-changing IT security threats and patching for it.
  • Progress Sitefinity has great support for people interested in customizing their instances with a vast knowledge base that includes videos and white papers.
  • Progress Sitefinity is great at communicating and following up on any opened support tickets.
  • Creating an out of box cloud deployment experience to ease the deployment burden.
  • Improve on their developers using source control and automated deployment experience.
  • Go back to their upfront pricing as opposed to having to speak to someone.
At the current price point, Sitefinity is too expensive for a simple brochure or lead generation website. There are a ton of great options out there for this use case. It is great if your website will include various integrations to third parties or user management that requires complex scenarios that need to be accounted for.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
In our specific case, we were looking for an increase in customer engagement. Sitefinity was great to use as a membership management tool where we then leveraged the dynamic modules to keep track of user content. We then were able to easily configure Sitefinity to provide an interactive gaming component to engage our users even more.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 06, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Intuitive and easy to use product, integrates well with .Net stack. Good pricing with some drawbacks."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity was selected to support a smaller public site we have been tasked with supporting. The goal is to enable content to be managed easily by teams within the organization. We were looking for a product to blend well with our existing .Net tech stack and bring ease of use to the developers and marketers.
  • Intuitive and user-friendly interface
  • Great fit for existing .Net tech stack
  • Good pricing options
  • Rich API
  • More advanced functionality in the menus (can be flat and hard to navigate).
  • Templates can be difficult to locate as there are many storage locations.
  • Having support for MVC and legacy webforms can lead to confusion
Sitefinity is a good fit for organizations looking for an enterprise solution that will integrate with an existing .Net tech stack. If you are tech agnostic you should cast a wider net when evaluating competitors.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Implementation is ongoing, will need to revisit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Overall good product with great support community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used] Mostly by the marketing department, but other users will be added to admin roles from other departments as needed. Employees will have access to customize their page.
  • Drag and drop features
  • Dashboard content accessibility
  • Support community and forums
  • Visual organization of Content vs. Layout editing
  • More HTML options for sections
  • Easier access to CSS
It has worked great for our situation.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Have yet to deploy. Forms to personalize the user's experience and content outcome.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Wouldn't even think of using anything else!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity to update our website. The Marketing/Communications department is the main user but other departments use it as well to make changes to pages associated with their knowledge base. It's made the website update process much easier because of the ability to share tasks.
  • Sitefinity is very user-friendly. If I'm not able to figure out how to do something, their knowledge base is very detailed and easy to understand.
  • The standard components of Sitefinity make it very easy to add new modules to our website. For instance, blogs, general news, and events.
  • The online account is very nice. One login/location for me to access my license, renew the service and ask questions.
  • I would like to see an easier to use image solution. This could be active in the upgraded versions, but I'm not currently able to upgrade.
  • I do wish there weren't so many steps to activate a new module (I may be using the wrong term here).
I am very happy with Progress and Sitefinity. Our old solution was very manual but this CMS puts everything in one place and allows tasks to be shared across several departments. The support and help features of Progress's knowledge base and staff are very, very helpful and simple to use.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
We've achieved all the outcomes we hoped for when we first started using Sitefinity. Workflow is smooth, shared and efficient. Everyday users don't need to know code to update rates or simple copy. It's a breeze to create a new blog or event calendar. And we LOVE that our visitors are easily able to find what they're looking for and more.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity User's Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our web content management system. It is used across the whole organization by more than 150 users. We bought Sitefinity because it is more user-friendly, has descriptive URLs, works well for SEO and has responsive functionalities. It is much easier to train our web users on Sitefinity and we found that they upload and change their content more often.
  • Responsive functionalities - easy to apply and your website is beautiful on all devices
  • Better for SEO - descriptive URLs, Alt text fields, meta tag fields, and description fields
  • Very user-friendly content management system
  • We cannot seem to change the colors and font used on the events calendar.
Well suited: for a big organization where a big group of people need to upload and change content on a website. Users that do not necessarily have experience in a web environment. It is very easy to train them on Sitefinity; it's very user-friendly. Users find it very easy to work in Sitefinity.

Also very good for web SEO.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
Improve workflow and overall efficiency: It is now much easier for our web users to change and upload content on the website. They change content and send through for approval through a workflow system, where we check layout, branding, and language before we publish the pages.

Maintain the site with less technical expertise: Web users working on the website does not necessarily have web experience. They find it very easy to learn how to work in Sitefinity. This means that we spend less time training and re-training our web users.
Build new tools and site features: Sitefinity makes it possible, and easy, for us to change features on our website.

Increase customer engagement: If we have more web users working in Sitefinity, uploading and updating their content, we will have more people visiting our website and staying on our website for longer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

Review: "Progress Sitefinity is an affordable, quality CMS."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Progress Sitefinity as our external facing website. It represents our entire organization.
It addresses marketing, communication, enrollment management and serves as an internal employee web portal.

Our ability to tie into our active directory of users, to quickly get users up and running and allow for multiple editors across our organization is invaluable. The publishing workflows that Sitefinity allows for, gives us the web governance control we need, while allow our content experts the ability to generate content that can be moderated before being live.
  • The content publishing workflows in Sitefinity are easy and work very well.
  • The editing interface is my favorite. The layout widgets, in conjunction with content widgets make creating any number of content layouts in just a few minutes a piece of cake.
  • Access rights and permissions are easy to set up; and more importantly, give you the ability to be very granular (person or role).
  • The upgrade process for updating the system is lacking. While there is a "simple" upgrade installer, many times, the assembly references are broken or point to older versions.
  • I typically wait until an X.1 version before I upgrade our system. Each "new version" of Sitefinity comes with quite a few bugs and usually aren't resolved until the X.1 update.
  • The ability to control the HTML editing control is not as easy as it used to be in older versions.
Sitefinity is great if you have a larger website or many content editors. If you are a one-man show, the feature set may be overkill.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
We have achieved improving editing/publishing workflows and overall efficiency with updating our website. We have built several custom tools and integrations with our CMS that have become mission critical. We have also been able to put hooks in place to track our customers and their journey through our website.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Great content management tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Progress Sitefinity is being used to update and maintain our company's internal and external website. I maintain the site using this product. It ensures our content is up-to-date and relevant. It also gives an ease of use for quick corrections or changes to company information, and drives brand consistency.
  • Good technical and community support
  • Great ease of use
  • Overall solid product
  • Fewer glitches when using the back end in other browsers
  • Pre-existing limitations on some functionality (templates, content blocks, links)
Progress Sitefinity is suited for websites requiring high or low content management in one place. The ease of use is great for code/website beginners.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
  • Increase customer engagement
Many of these outcomes have been achieved. We integrated Google Analytics for site tracking, worked with a vendor to build several tools to better customer/visitor site navigation, and have maintained the site more efficiently since using the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Progress Sitefinity: "Sitefinity Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sitefinity as our CMS tool. It is integrated with our iMIS (our AMS). We have roles set up in iMIS that translate to Sitefinity.
In addition, a select number of our members have access to update their microsite pages
  • Various roles for access to back pages.
  • Ease in creating pages and content.
  • Integration with our AMS
  • Wiki page for help on how to do things
  • Ensuring customers are up-to-date on versions
  • Differentiating between users who have back end access to a couple of pages vs true admins who have access to all pages.
The cost for more than 13 admins is ridiculously high.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Increase customer engagement
We have been able to increase our customer engagement when we redesigned our website to include microsites for our academies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Where designers and content editors meet in one product."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is used by multiple users within our organisation. We wanted a simple CMS that can be used by business users responsible for specific content. These users should have simple edit function while designers still would be able to use the full functionality.
  • Sitefinity is simple to use while still full of features.
  • All content including documents/images can be stored in a database instead of the file system.
  • Small design changes on the layout are also easy for content editors.
  • All documentation and training material is online. Sometimes you want your users to start with a book like a dummies book for example.
  • The features vs license is a complex one. You need technical assistance to understand the different versions when exploring to your functional wishes.
  • The page locking can make users a little bit frustrated.
If you want a fully database driven CMS, Sitefinity is one of the few solutions on the Windows platform. However, it's not cheap or free even for the most simple use cases.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Our users can archive more than with the previous CMS. That was important for our decision to start with Sitefinity. Also, the non-technical users are now enabled to change content.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 08, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity continues to be the right tool for us and our clients"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a solutions provider, so we are typically creating a turnkey solution which includes Sitefinity websites for clients. We have been using Sitefinity since version 3 and have always found it to be the best solution for clients looking for a CMS that is powerful and robust, yet easy to understand and easy for us to teach.
  • The UI is clean and user friendly. From experience, the granular permissions make it easy to customize the security to fit the client's needs.
  • The built in widgets provide the majority of the functionality we need, but the extensibility also allows us to create our own widgets to fill in the gaps where needed!
  • Support has been difficult to get at times, with us having to rely on year old forum posts. Or email support, which takes some time.
  • While not directly involved with the process, I know that upgrades frequently break things, especially if you have customized Sitefinity in any fashion.
Sitefinity is an easy to use back end for most intermediate and beginner users. There is a lot of room for expansion. End user training is easy and it is a great tool if you have large amounts of content to manage. Great for .NET based environments. Handles everything we've thrown at it.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
Yes, Sitefinity is extremely easy for our staff and our business customers to understand and use. Non-technical users can pick up on the UI, allowing users to drag and drop widgets into their pages and the familar text editor removes any learning curve.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Sitefinity CMS is a great tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sitefinity is being used by the marketing department to update current content and create brand new content. It is our Content Management System of choice. It has allowed us to drastically reduce the time it took to make website updates because we no longer have to go through our IT department.
  • Sitefinity makes it easy to create a new page - either from a new template or an existing one.
  • Sitefinity makes it very easy to update current content on pages.
  • Sitefinity is great because there is no limit to how many things you can sync at once. We did a website audit and published all the content updates we had at once.
  • I do not like that if I visit a page but make no edits to it, when I leave that page it asks me if "I am sure that I want to leave the page because all edits will be lost."
  • The sync feature can be finicky. Occasionally, something fails to sync, but it does not tell you exactly why or if it does, it is in very technical terms that make it hard to understand.
  • I wish I had more news on the product's roadmap.
It is very well suited for a marketing team that may not have an in house web designer because it is very simple to use. The down side is that as the website design becomes more complicated, it becomes necessary to get a web designer because it can become very burdensome on someone who does not have that expertise.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Increase customer engagement
Yes, Sitefinity has helped improve our site by making it easier and quicker to make content updates. Previously, all updates had to go through IT and it took several days, if not weeks. Now, we can make edits the same day. It also has allowed us to track how customers are moving through our site which has helped us to optimize our site with maximum impact.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "Content authors first"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement Sitefinity solutions for our customers. These can be multi-site and/or multilingual.
In some cases, we also author and manage content for the sites.
  • Easily create pages & site structure.
  • Creating page content using the drag & drop widgets is very intuitive.
  • A lot of customization is possible
  • Documentation (especially for advanced concept) & support could be better.
  • Site start-up time.
  • Encountered several bugs during development.
Sitefinity is a very good solution for small to medium sized CMS solutions.
It's fairly quick to setup and content authors will find the UI/UX intuitive.

However, if you are looking for large enterprise solutions, scalable environments and/or a lot of integration with third-party software, Sitefinity might not really be what you're looking for.
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "A Functional CMS"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Love the widget and module builder tools
  • Allows me to quickly and easily build new pages without having to pay our digital agency to do so.
  • Our business has reduced its out of pocket costs to our digital agency to develop pages.
  • Not a fan of the inability to easily find and replace site content.
  • The CMS stores all of the data in a database, so replacing specific lines of text is a chore to say the least.
  • Upgrading from one version to the next is also painful. It is worse then a new install.
  • Back office is not user friendly
  • Pages loading too long, overall bad performances
  • No extensive plugin base
  • No state of the art web dev tools and integrated libraries
  • Preheating solution not integrated and very long and heavy
  • Recompilation mandatory even for minor changes, causing availability issues
  • Template handling not practical
  • No quick support
  • Very expensive for a CMS I judge inferior to open source free solutions of the market
  • Bad integration with Azure Cloud Solutions
Not as many as we had hoped. The WYSIWYG doesn't make it so that non-coders can update content. We still need to have HTML knowledgeable people making the updates.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Build new tools and site features
  • Track and analyze the customer journey
  • Personalize site content based on visitor persona and/or behavior
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 24, 2018

Progress Sitefinity Review: "One of the best CMS products available."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Sitefinity for all of our websites, we currently have around 8 websites that are all managed through Sitefinity, it is the perfect solution for us since it allows us to give access to our users to update sections of the websites that belong to them and from an IT perspective it works great in our environment since we are a Microsoft only shop.
  • Deployment is easy.
  • The product is highly customizable.
  • Ease of use for end-users.
  • Customer support could be a little quicker.
Sitefinity is great for getting something done quickly and without a lot of hassles. Deployment is very simple and all the documentation available makes this product a breeze to support. The only drawback that some might see (I don't) is that it is limited to only the Microsoft platform, but other than that it is great for prototyping.
  • Improve workflow and overall efficiency
  • Maintain the site with less technical expertise
  • Build new tools and site features
The built-in workflows and roles that Sitefinity has, allow us to keep end users focusing on making additions and edits to our websites without having to worry about back-end code or responsiveness of the website. All they have to do is make sure the content is up to date and let our developers worry about the more technical aspects of the sites.
Read this authenticated review

Progress Sitefinity Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (127)
8.7
API (105)
7.0
Internationalization / multi-language (78)
7.4
WYSIWYG editor (127)
8.0
Code quality / cleanliness (118)
8.0
Admin section (133)
7.6
Page templates (131)
7.5
Library of website themes (81)
5.3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (121)
7.3
Publishing workflow (117)
7.4
Form generator (108)
6.9
Content taxonomy (122)
8.2
SEO support (118)
7.9
Bulk management (94)
6.2
Availability / breadth of extensions (99)
5.5
Community / comment management (97)
6.7

About Progress Sitefinity

Progress Sitefinity is a content management and customer analytics platform. Progress Software acquired the product from Telerik.

Progress Sitefinity Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET

Progress Sitefinity Screenshots

Progress Sitefinity Integrations

Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), SharePoint Case Management System (SCMS), Salesforce CRM

Progress Sitefinity Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Progress Sitefinity Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Progress Sitefinity Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No