TrustRadius
ServiceDesk Plus is free help desk software from ManageEngine, a division of Zoho Corporation.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/rC/Sk/R2ZF7Q9F78UE.pngServiceDesk is great for tracking tickets and managing SLA'sIt is being used by a subset of our IT and Media department to handle tickets and manage incidents. We also use it for SLA's,Meeting SLA's which help us better serve our customers Manage tickets from when they are opened by customers up until they are resolved Helps in streamlining the change management process,A better UI/UX, compared to similar tools it isn't as intuitive Limited in features and functionality compared to similar tools It takes long for feature requests to be developed into the tool Their search feature isn't as useful and takes a while to find what you are looking for. With other tools searching is a breeze.,6,Has increased efficiency within our IT department Our staff spend less time looking for tickets and tracking customer requests People being on vacation or out sick does not affect the resolution of tickets like before since all tickets are in a central place and can be picked up by any staff member.,Zendesk,Smartsheet, Authorize.Net, Google Data Studio, Canva, Canvas, MailChimp, Emma,25,5,Tracking tickets from inception to resolution Reporting on issues and open tickets from our customers so we can better serve them Determining frequently asked questions or noticing a trend in the type of issues being reporting within the organization,Been able to customize the email notification/communication sent to outside vendors so the emails have a more personalized feel Using it to quantify the amount of work being done per department, and reporting it to supervisors Measuring customer satisfaction especially after ticket resolution and helping support staff improve on how they deal with customer tickets,Sending daily/weekly reports automatically to supervisors showing the number of open tickets closed tickets, and problems or incident tickets Automatically escalating problem tickets in a timely fashion to supervisors to prevent bad customer satisfaction Integrating it with JIRA and smartsheet which are the project management and task management tools that our developers use,6This is the ITSM software that will fullfill your needs.ServiceDesk plus was used not just as a tool to resolve and keep track of our IT issues, it was used to have a complete working knowledge base of common issues and how to fix them. The inbuilt purchase module helped us to keep track of the life-cycle of old and new assets and their depreciation period. It was also a great helping to the existent skilled rules, that assigned to incidents to certain technicians in order to give priority to some request changes and problem solutions, an approval requests.,On-Premise or SaaS. Service Catalog. Asset Management. Multiple Add-ons. Intuitive interface,Custom fields or request forms. Admin panel is a bit confusing. Self Service portal needs more content Dashboards are very restrictive.,10,Directory Self-Update & Corporate Search Password Policy Enforcer Password self-service,Track IT, SysAid and Spiceworks,BMC Track-It!, EasyVista IT Service Manager, Freshdesk, FreshserviceService Desk Plus: Just the right fitWe use ServiceDesk for end user support, asset management, and for reminders/checklists. End users are all able to submit and view tickets for themselves. They may either use the web interface or simply email an internal email address that will automatically create a ticket for them. Asset management is probably the most robust feature the software provides. We are able to do absolutely everything we need with over 2000 IT assets in the company. Finally, we use the recurring ticket feature and templates to assist the IT department with day to day tasks such as onboarding/offboarding, inventory reminders, health checks, etc.,Makes it very easy for end users to submit tickets. They don't need to fill out forms or get discouraged after being unable to find a link/login credentials. All they have to do is send an email and continue on with their day. Asset management is extremely robust. Every possible data point you could need is available for an IT asset. We have our entire phone, PC, laptop and server equipment inventory in ServiceDesk. Tracking/scanning is very easy and reliable. Easy to integrate and deploy. Setting it up was an overnight process and it was seamlessly integrated with active directory. We have even run test instances for other departments that wanted to evaluate the product for themselves.,Timers for technicians are hard to keep track of if you're working on multiple tickets. There's no dashboard or control panel that will tell you that you left a timer running anywhere. It takes a good bit of diligence to not forgot about those if that's something your company wants to use. Updates are frequent and sometimes there are a lot of small changes that may seem insignificant but greatly impact your comfort level. For instance, we had a minor upgrade that also changed how the search function worked on some pages. Typing in a ticket number in the search field used to automatically bring the ticket, afterward it does a search even if there's only one result. Leaving a window open long enough will result in a timeout that has to be refreshed or reloaded. If you try to log back in it creates a window in a window that is not possible to fix. There should be an option to stay logged in. It's no different from the already existing "remember me" option.,8,It's enabled us to more accurately and easily track our assets, preventing loss and managing asset lifecycles in a proactive manner. Time tracking has allowed management to measure workloads and weigh the case for more personnel. The ease of use has saved us countless hours.,JIRA Service Desk and Spiceworks,Veeam Backup & Replication, Egnyte, VMware ESXiService Desk PlusServiceDesk Plus (SDP) is used in our IT department for incidents, services, and projects. We also use the Purchasing, Knowledge Base and change modules. We are slowly integrating into the purchasing department.,SLA management Knowledge Base Update releases,Simplified reporting Better built in help Quicker feature development lifecycle,4,Anything entered (tickets, changes, projects) is tracked Tough to get meaningful reports out Incidents or Service Requests are documented,Samanage and SysAid,SpiceworksManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus ReviewedWe started using ServiceDesk Plus in one of our divisions. Since then, we upgraded to the MSP version and are now using it globally with in our enterprise. We use most of the features with in ServiceDesk Plus, including the Purchasing, CMDB, Asset Management, and Change Management features. We are looking to use the help desk feature to replace our current solution.,Discovery of assets Reporting Integration with other ManageEngine products,Scheduled asset scans based on IP segments,9,ServiceDesk Plus has met all of our objectives in meeting our needs and providing better service to our end users. I can not speak regarding the financial investment in the product.,ManageEngine Desktop Central, Trend Micro OfficeScan, Malwarebytes
Windows, Linux, Mac
ServiceDesk Plus
42 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

ServiceDesk Plus
42 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 42 vetted ServiceDesk Plus reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
October 29, 2018

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "ServiceDesk is great for tracking tickets and managing SLA's"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a subset of our IT and Media department to handle tickets and manage incidents. We also use it for SLA's
  • Meeting SLA's which help us better serve our customers
  • Manage tickets from when they are opened by customers up until they are resolved
  • Helps in streamlining the change management process
  • A better UI/UX, compared to similar tools it isn't as intuitive
  • Limited in features and functionality compared to similar tools
  • It takes long for feature requests to be developed into the tool
  • Their search feature isn't as useful and takes a while to find what you are looking for. With other tools searching is a breeze.
Works great for sorting by order of attribute, simple ticket resolution, assigning tickets to different staff members, and setting up and configuring the tool to meet your companies needs. Not the best for project management, robust reporting, or companies looking for an intuitive user-friendly interface for non-tech savvy employees.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel Nuñez profile photo
March 12, 2018

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "This is the ITSM software that will fullfill your needs."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceDesk plus was used not just as a tool to resolve and keep track of our IT issues, it was used to have a complete working knowledge base of common issues and how to fix them. The inbuilt purchase module helped us to keep track of the life-cycle of old and new assets and their depreciation period. It was also a great helping to the existent skilled rules, that assigned to incidents to certain technicians in order to give priority to some request changes and problem solutions, an approval requests.
  • On-Premise or SaaS.
  • Service Catalog.
  • Asset Management.
  • Multiple Add-ons.
  • Intuitive interface
  • Custom fields or request forms.
  • Admin panel is a bit confusing.
  • Self Service portal needs more content
  • Dashboards are very restrictive.
Any kind of IT management should use this tool since is easy to use and it has good value for its price. Large Companies that have many IT groups with many services to administrate are well suited. Large companies that have several branches can benefit from this kind of software as it is multi-portal.
Read Miguel Nuñez's full review
Randy Munroe profile photo
November 10, 2017

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Service Desk Plus: Just the right fit"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceDesk for end user support, asset management, and for reminders/checklists.

End users are all able to submit and view tickets for themselves. They may either use the web interface or simply email an internal email address that will automatically create a ticket for them.

Asset management is probably the most robust feature the software provides. We are able to do absolutely everything we need with over 2000 IT assets in the company.

Finally, we use the recurring ticket feature and templates to assist the IT department with day to day tasks such as onboarding/offboarding, inventory reminders, health checks, etc.
  • Makes it very easy for end users to submit tickets. They don't need to fill out forms or get discouraged after being unable to find a link/login credentials. All they have to do is send an email and continue on with their day.
  • Asset management is extremely robust. Every possible data point you could need is available for an IT asset. We have our entire phone, PC, laptop and server equipment inventory in ServiceDesk. Tracking/scanning is very easy and reliable.
  • Easy to integrate and deploy. Setting it up was an overnight process and it was seamlessly integrated with active directory. We have even run test instances for other departments that wanted to evaluate the product for themselves.
  • Timers for technicians are hard to keep track of if you're working on multiple tickets. There's no dashboard or control panel that will tell you that you left a timer running anywhere. It takes a good bit of diligence to not forgot about those if that's something your company wants to use.
  • Updates are frequent and sometimes there are a lot of small changes that may seem insignificant but greatly impact your comfort level. For instance, we had a minor upgrade that also changed how the search function worked on some pages. Typing in a ticket number in the search field used to automatically bring the ticket, afterward it does a search even if there's only one result.
  • Leaving a window open long enough will result in a timeout that has to be refreshed or reloaded. If you try to log back in it creates a window in a window that is not possible to fix. There should be an option to stay logged in. It's no different from the already existing "remember me" option.
I would recommend this if you need the ability to track assets and have an end user facing help desk. If you need one or the other, there may be better options. There are some features that are lacking when compared to JIRA, like the ability to integrate with GitHub, making it a poorer choice for some teams.
Read Randy Munroe's full review
Jason Dupuis profile photo
November 09, 2017

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Service Desk Plus"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceDesk Plus (SDP) is used in our IT department for incidents, services, and projects. We also use the Purchasing, Knowledge Base and change modules. We are slowly integrating into the purchasing department.
  • SLA management
  • Knowledge Base
  • Update releases
  • Simplified reporting
  • Better built in help
  • Quicker feature development lifecycle
No set IT budget would be perfect for SDP deployment. Install everything available and prune out what you do not need. All options/add-ons are pricey and most 'integrated options' have only menus integrated and not actual tools.
Read Jason Dupuis's full review
Tom Parker profile photo
November 29, 2017

"ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviewed"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using ServiceDesk Plus in one of our divisions. Since then, we upgraded to the MSP version and are now using it globally with in our enterprise. We use most of the features with in ServiceDesk Plus, including the Purchasing, CMDB, Asset Management, and Change Management features. We are looking to use the help desk feature to replace our current solution.
  • Discovery of assets
  • Reporting
  • Integration with other ManageEngine products
  • Scheduled asset scans based on IP segments
It is well suited for a large company with many assets. I would not recommend this product for a small company.
Read Tom Parker's full review
No photo available
November 16, 2017

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Win with ServiceDesk"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceDesk extensively for our ticketing and inventory of computer equipment. The entire organization uses it to submit tickets to our IT team and this helps with unnecessary calls to the Helpdesk. Users are able to submit a ticket along with the errors they are experiencing. We can quickly reply back with a resolution or triage the ticket. The system also allows us to set levels of importance to the tickets so high priority items are addressed quickly.
  • Opening service requests
  • Tracking service requests and allowing you to search for previous requests
  • Allowing the end users to see open tickets and request status updates
  • Searchable solutions database
  • Asset tracking
  • Preventative maintenance tasks
  • They now have the ability to track your time on a ticket, but not being able to see what tickets you have timers running on is a disadvantage. I've had ticket timers running for days before I knew they were running.
  • The interface sometimes hangs when trying to add time
In a help desk or ticketing environment, this is a great product. It allows notes, attachments, work logs, a solutions database, inventory tracking and much more. We also use it to track preventative maintenance tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2017

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Has what you need but it's rigid"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceDesk Plus is being used across the entire organization. It allows each department to report issues and functions as a help desk. It also provides some reporting capability in order to improve our service to the organization. We also used to use it to manage all of our software contracts and expirations.
  • Does well in functioning as a help desk software.
  • It has e-mail alerts and can be set up for specific groups for specific types of tickets.
  • It allows a round-robin style of ticket assignment
  • Can manage software contracts with alerts on renewals/expiration
  • The interface is sort of clunky
  • The reporting is not flexible and hard to do if using ad-hoc.
  • The mobile app is confusing.
It is well suited for a corporate environment and has a multi-site component for companies with multiple locations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Service with a smile"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It] logs and manages service calls; provides solutions for troubleshooting. Users submit the tickets and they can be picked up by a technician or assigned to a technician. Solutions are posted to the call and to a solutions section.
  • Shows metrics of service calls completed or overdue to the technicians and management so they can see the areas that need help.
  • Allows a call to be assigned to a technician and passed off as needed to the proper person with the necessary skills to complete the call.
  • Keeps solutions to known issues, searchable by keywords and they can be grouped by solution type.
  • Screen changes/refreshes are slow at times, takes forever to send an update to the requester.
  • Need a better way to keep and track attachments, they appear to the right of the main call but can be buried in a conversation.
  • Can't easily close a resolved call unless missing fields are entered, sometimes involving multiple saves, based on needs.
[It does a] good job of company help desk management, emails are forwarded to the tech assigned, private notes can be left on the call or sent to the call requester (selectable). [It's] hard to figure the exact category unless the setup has been done correctly.
Read this authenticated review
Norman Chambers profile photo
March 25, 2016

User Review: "ServiceDesk Plus Rocks!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Servicedesk plus is currently being used by both the Desktop Support Team and the Application Support Team. It replaced Jira as our primary ticketing software in the IT department. Other departments are observing our use, and are strongly considering converting. We use it primarily as an incident and service request tracking system, as well as managing problems.
  • It is very easy to create business rules that automatically route email tickets to the correct department and apply templates to correctly categorize the incident.
  • The technician auto-assign function allows email tickets to be fairly apportioned using a round robin technique. We do not cuurently use the load balancing technique which is also available.
  • It is very easy to bulk edit requests to correct miscatergorization by Analysts. (i.e. Incidents vs. Service Requests)
  • Coordinating communications and notifying ticket holders when a network or application event is resolved is very simple.
  • We would like to see the ability to schedule technician auto-assign based on shifts. Presently we have to manually select technicians after close of business Friday for the weekend shift each week.
  • When managing a problem, it is difficult to extract a list of attached Incidents for use elsewhere. I must add that it is very easy to bulk add Incidents during an event. The only small issue with the bulk add is that the window only shows you 5-10 incidents at a time, and you must scroll through to select Incidents. We'd like to be able to see a full page view of the list.
  • When editing a request, the history is graphically & textually very verbose. Too much so in many cases. For example if a user has included screen shots, the entire email string is repeated for each change. For example an email forwarded to Helpdesk, repeats even though the only change made was to update the requestor from the person forwarding to the actual requestor.
  • It is not currently possible to update a problem automatically using special characters in the subject line, like we are able to do in a request. We overcome this by always creating a root incident for each problem that collects all the email communication of the resolution.
ServiceDesk Plus is very easy to configure at the start, and then adjust the categories and rules as the implementation is refined. Its greatest strength is the ability to program without requiring a full time administrator. There is very little jargon involved. Reporting not so much. The canned reports are useful but do not always cover some of the basics. Fortunately, the user groups freely share report definitions so one could springboard from something close to your desired result.
Read Norman Chambers's full review
Kayla Streeter profile photo
May 14, 2016

ServiceDesk Plus: "Admin Assistants Review"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use ServiceDesk Plus for placing all orders for our department (IT). I also process tickets, run reports and track assets. It is being used organization wide for placing tickets for IT issues, asset tracking and multiple reports and projects. It has helped with streamlining our purchase requests and making it all electronic.
  • Purchase orders are processed quicker and with less paper.
  • Tickets are tracked and people are held accountable for not processing them on time.
  • Ticket surveys are helpful to our department because it helps us pinpoint issues on IT tickets.
  • Asset tracking duplication causing us to run out of licenses too quickly
  • When you receive an item in the purchase order, you arent allowed to edit what the cost of the item was actually bought for without resubmitting the req.
Read Kayla Streeter's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2016

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Says it can do a lot - but try it first."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceDesk Plus MSP to run our incident, request, problem and change management. We provide managed network and cloud services to multiple external customers, and need a system that can handle managing multiple customers with multiple services, whilst adhering to multiple SLAs.
  • Clean request interface
  • Contains a lot of the basic functionality you need to run a service desk
  • A lot of customisable notification features
  • Individual accounts can be mapped against technician groups, SLAs, etc (in MSP version).
  • Although the configuration allows 'walled garden' approach to accounts, for example, allowing certain technician groups, departments and solutions to be assigned to certain accounts, managing a large number of accounts can result is an unsustainable amount of administration.
  • Although SDP has a large range of functionality, you can tell it hasn't been developed in depth. Although it does the operation on paper, day-to-day use can end up being frustrating.
  • Design can be a bit ugly - windows not sizing correctly, incorrect English, HTML breaking preview windows etc.
  • Support operates in India Standard Time.
  • Functionality can often just break.
Not suited for shops that are heavily ITIL reliant - as the application tends to fall down once you get into the nitty gritty.

More suited towards a service desk managing simple incident/request ticketing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 01, 2016

ServiceDesk Plus Review: "Excellent Ticketing System"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceDesk Plus is a great ticketing system for IT departments. It helps keep all service requests neat and organized, and also gives you the ability to search past issues for resolutions on reoccurring issues. The user management is very easy and a breeze to work with. I have used many ticketing systems throughout my IT career (Zendesk, ServiceDesk Plus, Outlook Email, etc.,) and ServiceDesk Plus is for sure my number one. I would recommend this product to any IT Department of any size company.
  • Managing and organizing service requests.
  • Easy search feature to look up past tickets.
  • Reporting feature gives you the ability to see how your techs are doing on a weekly or monthly basis.
  • Branding specific to the company.
  • Custom reports.
  • Email integration.
ServiceDesk Plus will work great in any IT environment, no matter the size.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (12)
8.0
Expert directory (9)
7.0
Service restoration (12)
6.9
Self-service tools (11)
5.9
Subscription-based notifications (9)
7.7
ITSM collaboration and documentation (10)
6.9
ITSM reports and dashboards (11)
7.2
Configuration mangement (9)
7.6
Asset management dashboard (9)
7.1
Policy and contract enforcement (6)
6.7
Change requests repository (8)
7.3
Change calendar (6)
7.5
Service-level management (7)
8.6

About ServiceDesk Plus

ServiceDesk Plus is ITIL-ready help desk software with integrated Asset and Project Management capabilities. The vendor says due to its advanced ITSM functionality and easy-to-use capability, ServiceDesk Plus helps IT support teams deliver world-class service to end users with reduced costs and complexity. It comes in three editions and is available in 29 different languages. Over 100,000 organizations and 750,000 technicians, across 185 countries, trust ServiceDesk Plus to optimize IT service desk performance.

Additionally, the vendor says this solution is fully integrated and easy to set up - without extensive customization or integrations. It has rich automation that helps eliminate pesky manual processes for quicker ticket resolution and higher end user satisfaction. Furthermore, the Standard Edition is FREE forever for both the on-premise and on-demand models! The vendor offers a 30-day free trial.

ServiceDesk Plus Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

ServiceDesk Plus Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ServiceDesk Plus Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Languages: Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Russian, Serbian, and Vietnamese