BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) Reviews

167 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) is used organization-wide. It is used as the only ITSM for users across the company. Support management with the CMDB option is best as more than 50% of issues faced by our users can be resolved via CMDB suggestions. Tracking users' Incidents and managing them is far easier with BMC Helix ITSM. We also have integrated change management and knowledge-base. It's great to have a single platform for support and change management. And the Dashboards are COOL.
  • User-friendly and customizable user experience.
  • CMDB to build knowledge base
  • Ready templates for easy customization
  • Integration with other solutions ( Operation management and monitoring solutions)
BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) solution for support portal and solution management is well suited where IT admin staff are below average. BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) is useful to reduce support calls and has an option to record resolutions to common issues. We appreciate the knowledge-base option to record the solution to a user's reported issue at any level (i.e. at user's end as well as at backend, which is usually solved by vendors/ administrators).
The support is good in overall resolving the issues and even in the deployment phase. We are able to use it in production without any trained in-house engineer as the support team gets the job done. We can say that experts completed the deployment for us, and now it is functional.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Helix is used across our organisation as our ticket management system. We are using it for Incident Management, Change Management, Request Management, Knowledge Management and Asset Management. It allows to have a range of ticket types across ITSM in the one tool.
  • The ability to customise the tool to suit business needs.
  • The range of options available within each ticket to relate others tickets, CI's and knowledge articles.
  • Service Level Management console does not allow us to configure all SLA's in our complex environment.
  • Reporting and dashboards could have additional options.
It is well suited to managing Incidents, Requests, Changes, Knowledge and Assets. It is not well suited to detailed reporting so additional tools are required to use for BMC Helix ITSM reporting.
The forum is helpful and support tickets raised with BMC are generally answered in a timely fashion.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2020
Kevin Lintner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remedy is used across the whole organization. We have two call centers. One is in Oklahoma City, OK and the other is in Niceville, FL. Remedy is the ticketing system help desk agents use to open service requests for our contacts. I use Remedy every workday and multiple times a day. I gather data on help desk performance metrics and on outages that may occur. The Smart Reporting console has made my work life so much easier as I no longer have to use the SQL command line to pull data.
  • Create report templates in Smart Reporting Console for faster access to data.
  • Quickly and easily search for incidents.
  • Larger reports take a long time to complete and even longer to export.
  • The smart reporting database fails over, but that's on the server and not a problem with the software.
Remedy offers a speedy and intuitive GUI for help desk agents to create and/or search incidents. The templates feature makes creating incidents that are part of an outage or heavily used feature much quicker so the agent can move on the next contact. I don't feel Remedy would be a suitable ticketing system for a small company. The cost and the myriad of features could easily be overwhelming to a novice user.
Remedy support is always quick to reply. When difficult situations occur their agents have no issue working without internal support teams to help "remedy" the situation as fast as possible. The Remedy online support system is a massive undertaking and allows end-users to search for answers without opening a trouble ticket with support.
Read Kevin Lintner's full review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used and consulted on Remedy for the last 15 years. The system has gone a long way though this time.The latest cloud release - Helix ITSM is the finest incarnation. Taking away the hosting headache, while providing a good User Experience (UX) and scalability - this is what a medium to large companies need in the ITSM sphere. This allows them to focus on the process design and compliance. And this is also where Remedy shines.
Small companies - steer away from Remedy products - they are designed with the bigger companies in mind.
  • ITIL Process OOtB
  • Process compliance
  • Scalability
  • Integration with Event Management and Infrastructure Monitoring
  • Zero Downtime Upgrades
  • CMDB UI
  • Reporting
Helix ITSM is an excellent product for medium to large organisations that want to effectively manage their ITIL processes in the cloud. It provides an OOtB pure ITIL implementation available in the cloud. The only configuration required is the Service Catalogue and the Org structure.
Having said that - every company should check if they have this information or know how to get it before deciding on any ITIL solution.
The deployment requires customer involvement and management sponsorship.

I have seen (previous versions of) this tool sold to small organisations (below 200 IT staff).
Deployment and administration was a challenge for them and the ROI (for the on-prem version) was hard to find.
It is possible that the new cloud release improves that but it remains to be seen.

As with any BMC product, to get to the competent people in their support, you need to get though the L1 support. This can be tricky and may take time. Once you are dealing with the L2, you are in the good hands. As for the product releases - the product management is listening to the market trends and customer feedback. The new features are being added reasonably fast.
Read this authenticated review
November 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some issues it addresses include:

  • Logical access requests.
  • Network resource request.
  • E-mail access request/issues.
  • Quotation requests.
  • Create/amend distribution list.
  • Mailbox size issues.
  • General faults and requests.
  • User-interface and operations can be defined as per your companies requirement.
  • Request/response time is faster and the whole ticket status can be viewed and modified at any point in time.
  • End-to-end tracking and follow up makes it easy for the user to prioritize the incident.
  • Duplication of incidents/requests.
  • Stage by stage updates should be provided to the incident raiser.
This is well suited for medium and large scale organizations and this can be a powerful tool if used in the service industry. It may not be appropriate for small scale businesses as the number of users will be less and additional resources would be required. This could cause more overhead for the organization.
Support is good when we need it.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2019
Timothy Sawah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the organization I work for, BMC Remedy is primarily used by the Division of Information Technology. The main usage scenario is incident management, work orders, and change requests. Remedy facilitates the flow of approvals through the organization hierarchy. Remedy integrates the change management calendar and workforce load. KPI (key performance indicators) are easily exported from the Remedy system.

The system includes a notification system to issue email and SMS alerts based on the level of criticality. We integrated Remedy with other IT monitoring system, where alerts are translated to work orders and assigned to the specific team.
  • Integration with monitoring software like SolarWinds. where Remedy can transform notifications to work orders and assign to respective teams.
  • Detailed Customization capability to fit the exact needs of the organization.
  • Change management calendar, which integrates change orders from all organization departments and facilitates the scheduling process of project managers.
  • It can be offered as a cloud-based service, where you don't need to worry about server maintenance or database backup.
  • Customization can be lengthy due to the numerous features included in the software.
  • New staff members require some sort of hands-on training to get to know all the use capabilities.
  • The analytics can be improved to include forecasts and trend analysis.
  • Expensive compared to competitors.
The BMC remedy perfectly fits the need of an IT department following the ITIL service management standards in any industry. It can also be used in facilities management and operations management.

I do not recommend it for managing banking and financial institution operations or supply chain and logistics operations.

I have personally used it at 2 different large scale IT departments operating in the higher education sector.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
May 01, 2019
rahul garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy is a powerful and amazing tool which is used by the whole organization. It is one of those critical applications on which operations run. Each and every activity is tracked and managed by the Remedy tool. IT and Non-IT operations are carried by this tool. It is widely used software across the IT Industry.
  • Remedy tool is used for incident management and there are several categories bound with SLAs(Service level agreement) which ensures the closures.
  • It is also used for change management across the organization for different environments which make sure all the processes are followed.
  • It has a knowledge article section where KBs are generated for known issues which are handy for Business as usual.
  • Sometimes it is hard to mention details when several other activities are happening and we need to refresh the page as by that time we lost the data we entered.
  • It could use a light version like Angular JS or React JS so the server load gets reduce.
  • There is no chat facility provided, if it is possible,I reckon it will better facilitate the incident management.
BMC Remedy tool is best-suited for a mid to large scale organization. Once it is successfully established and all the departments are using it efficiently then its benefits have no limit. All IT operations, I guess, can be managed by BMC Remedy and Outlook. No other tool is necessary. It can be used for incident management, change management, knowledge articles, and problem management.
Read rahul garg's full review
April 01, 2019
Ankit Parikh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have BMC as an IT service manager ( ITSM), it is used for ticketing purpose. It is used by our service desk team and the entire organization uses it for any help on IT services. It helps us in effective service desk management and also categorizes tickets while following the standards of ITIL. It maintains a proper hierarchy and keeps KPIs and best practices intact! Certainly one of the most used tools around.
  • It helps in reduce ticket volume and faster resolution of tickets with a lot of integration
  • It helps create proper hierarchies and helps categorize the tickets properly
  • It helps take advantage of all of our existing best practice reports, KPIs, and other artifacts
  • I have found it to be a little slower in performance with some minor glitches sometimes
  • Configurations can be complicated and to use it to the max, very good knowledge of tool integration is needed
  • Support can be better at times (but has been good mostly)
For large companies, large ticket volumes are handled properly with good dashboards and data analysis. Compay's with a mall infrastructure and IT presence are not best suited for this software.
Read Ankit Parikh's full review
February 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using BMC remedy for service management. We are leveraging automated assignments and redirecting the tickets, reducing the manual effort.
  • Automated assignments are very helpful.
  • Reporting is very good.
  • I don't see any major improvements, but having more flexibility in ticket auto assignments would help.
It is well suited for service ticket management and the auto-assignment of tickets for faster resolution of tickets. If you need a lot of customization, this is not the product.
Read this authenticated review
November 27, 2017
Mallesh Kanakam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using BMC Remedy to manage Incidents (Tickets), Service Requests, Change Requests, Tasks, and Problems. All of our businesspeople and salespeople are used to creating support issues within BMC remedy tickets. We are using Remedy force for our ticketing system for Salesforce technical related issues, Aspect product issues, and Apttus related issues.
  • I like the auto update, the information in the ticket when we respond to the email looks and feels really good. And there are many different sections like, Incident details, Client details, Status details, Assignment details, date details and so on, which you can go to directly instead of searching within the whole page.
  • It is easy to implement our business requirements In BMC Remedy.
  • On the integration side, the implementation of the REST api has simplified integration to other systems like Salesforce CRM and Apttus CPQ...
  • There is no advanced case management in BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite, like auto closer and escalation process like we have in Salesforce, which needs to improve.
  • BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite is missing some key features that would make life easier, such as being able to more easily copy tickets and search for tickets.
  • Technology is slow.
The product is actually quite flexible. This can provide many benefits to multi-site organizations where communication can be a challenge. We have many departments in our company which are using this BMC Remedy with positive feedback.
Read Mallesh Kanakam's full review
March 16, 2018
Antonio Acosta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ITSM Suite was implemented to cover incident, problem and change process aligned to ITIL best practices. The Service Request Management solution was implemented also, to cover many of the requests manage across the entire organization.
  • Applications aligned to ITIL best practices with many of the most common needs covered out of the box.
  • Integration between applications (Incident, problem and change management) makes it really easy create the relationships between these entities.
  • Using the Action Requests (AR) system the application is highly customizable , assuming an appropriate level of knowledge of developing applications using AR System.
  • In Remedy you can do many things but you need to built them first. Many of the Integrations depend on external components and the architecture used to implement the solution.
  • The cloud-based solution should be improved to work in the same way as the on-premise solution.
  • To accomplish minor changes on the appearance of the forms you need a lot of training.
Companies that can't use cloud-based solutions for legal reasons. The on-premise solution in on of the best on the market. It's an expensive solution though for small and medium companies.
Read Antonio Acosta's full review
November 07, 2017
Martin Rockwell &quot;Rocky&quot; | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC ITSM is currently used across the US by more than 10 regions. The whole toolset helps in ease of use (email ticket submissions), identifying trouble areas and tracking work and customer communications/trending report automatically sent to customers through email. Managers can easily track who is working on what problem(s).
  • Notification of new ticket, group notifications and individual are of great helps to support personnel. Depending on ticket volume notifications need to be tweaked with a simple config change to reduce the amount.
  • Ticket visibility/tracking by management/group leads for trending or volume down to groups or individual.
  • Ease of modification of any ITSM module on the needs of the company or group or between modules for any functional need.
  • Ease of integration with most third party vendors and external databases.
  • Ease of creating standalone BMC applications for application need within extremely tight schedules.
  • Part of the setup for Asset and CMDB is hard and time-consuming. But, is worth it.
  • Most companies do not use the tool correctly as they do not want to go through the steps to set up CMDB, they say it is too hard and takes resources.
  • Because of the openness of the system, it allows you to not use the system correctly. Example, many companies I have dealt with only want to use the Asset/CMDB as a placeholder for Assets, sort of like an expensive Excel document. BMC allows this.
  1. Documenting issues relating to Incident, Work Orders, Changes, Assets is the best.
  2. Tracking issues and identifying trends based on this tracking is extremely helpful to companies to reduce lost time. Tracking can be across Incidents, Work Orders, Changes, and Assets.
  3. Capability of access data from other databases and treating that data as local.
  4. Its adherence to ITIL standards, almost to a fault.
  5. Ease of customization. If it is desired to veer off the ITIL standards, it is a simple task. This is both a pro and a con.
  6. Interfacing to third-party applications and the open API is a strong bonus.
  7. Creating custom standalone applications in the BMC environment is fast and easy. Applications built within BMC be integrated with any BMC ITSM application. Once these applications are built almost anybody can maintain them and make changes to them.
Read Martin Rockwell "Rocky"'s full review
March 30, 2017
Jim Coryat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using BMC Remedy ITSM for Service Desk, Change Management, Problem Management, Service Request Management and CMDB. It addresses the problem of providing an easy method for customers to report service outages as well as providing support personnel a tool for resolving service outages. The tool also is integrated to our monitoring service and creates incidents as alerts are raised. It is also center in our strategy to provide an easy way to request services from the IT department. The CMDB is central in our discovery strategy.
  • For service request management, we use the SRM product which gives a common interface for our customers to request services. We are able to easily add the services to the catalog and configure how the created request will be routed to the appropriate group for delivery. This has shown to reduce churn in the request process and reduce cycle time in delivery.
  • Incident management has show to be effective at routing cases to the appropriate support group for resolution.
  • Change management has proven to provide the mechanism for a change control process for organizing those changes and having affected stakeholders discuss the changes before implementation. This has headed off potential service outages from collisions.
  • The quality control on the product from the vendor needs improvement. While upgrading to newer versions (9.1) has provided additional features which have been beneficial, the cycle of product defects uncovered and worked through to resolution has been tiring. Having this product without a good support agreement is not advisable.
  • Technology is slow to evolve. The product is just now exposing mobile and REST interfaces, something the market has adopted some time ago.
  • User interfaces that do not embrace effective bulk management. Most of the interfaces are driven from a manual perspective. When used in a global company with sites around the world, this becomes burdensome.
The product is actually quite flexible. Not well suited for small companies, I would target this for medium to large companies with a substantial IT investment. This can provide many benefits to multi site organizations where communication can be a challenge. The service desk and MyIT offerings can close the gap in being able to reach and support your customers in a organization that is geographically diverse.
Read Jim Coryat's full review
April 04, 2017
Jared Fields | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Asset Management to track user / client hardware, certificates, and contracts.
  • Owner / other relationship values for hardware
  • Great integration into the CMDB, Discovery, and other CI tools
  • Audit log for hardware and configuration changes
  • Poor interface, takes multiple clicks to manage simple things, looks like it was designed in late 90s
  • CMDB takes years to learn / master, not a great amount of training available online (poor documentation on vendor site)
Great for users who already own CMDB, Discovery and other Remedy modules. Integrates well with these other software pieces. I would not suggest using this module if you don't already own the other modules.
Read Jared Fields's full review
July 28, 2017
Rosa Gracia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by IT department to process incidents
  • Incident reporting
  • Incident reassignment
  • Easy incident creation
  • Incidents track
  • Capability of being adapted
  • Price
  • Usability
Well suited if you work in a second level support service desk, able to interact with monitoring and server management (IM).

Not so easy if used as first point of entry to incidents from end users, I think usability has to be improved.

Is also good for a development team, as is easy to interact with third party software
Read Rosa Gracia's full review
March 27, 2017
Shaun Field | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage all of our ITSM needs including change and problem management. We use it because it follows the ITIL process but is flexible enough for the company to make the processes their own.

We have in one of our companies used SMART IT and MYIT out of the box and it works great so far. We will be looking into Smart Reporting in the next few weeks to see what that can offer.
  • Integrate well with other systems
  • MYIT is a fantastic new interface for users
  • I really enjoy SmartIT as the tool of choice for incident management
  • Very robust system
  • The ITSM suite has some really poor screens compared to the new SmartIT suite
  • Upgrades could be a lot easier I think with a wizard type method used
I think the medium to large enterprises with regulatory requirements would benefit this product. That said I think a business of all sizes could use various modules of the whole like MyIT and SmartIT they really perform well and look good.
Read Shaun Field's full review
April 04, 2017
Shaun Smit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BMC Remedy IT Service Management to bridge the gap between our customers/internal users and the different services that we offer, be it to get something fixed or request something new and have full control and visibility of what is getting rolled out. BMC Remedy IT Service Management has given us a lot of room to customize to the businesses needs and allowed us to do things no other application would let us do.
  • .Very customizable
  • Based on ITIL so correct processes are there OOTB.
  • Easy enough to implement with very little effort.
  • Support can be a little slow at times.
  • Some errors are very vague.
  • Still very clunky look and feel but this is slowly being rectified with SmartIT.
[BMC Remedy is well suited for] Companies with a lot of department or complex environments.
Read Shaun Smit's full review
March 27, 2017
Crystal Crenshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company purchased BMC's Remedy ITSM Suite in hopes of standardizing processes and visibility of tickets.
  • Visibility of tickets is key. All support staff users can see tickets in consoles they have access to.
  • Remedy is a tool which empowers the company to streamline processes and implement a framework, such as ITIL in the case of Remedy.
  • Some consoles are not built out as much as others. We do our own development and these bugs are more visible to us.
It is well suited in all areas. We have defined processes but also Remedy assisted us in defining others. It brings to light issues that would typically go unnoticed.
Read Crystal Crenshaw's full review
July 13, 2016
Dave Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Remedy for several things. We use it to manage incidents, work orders, change requests, problem management, known errors, and for the CMDB for asset management. There are plans to use it also for release management but have not gotten to that point yet. With the CMDB it allows us to have a central asset management point that we can use to leverage how incident are assigned. Remedy also gives us an out of the box way to deal with our change request process which is very helpful.
  • Remedy integrates very well with many products so you can have incidents coming from many sources directly into Remedy.
  • Service requests are something that Remedy does well. Once setup a user just has to answer some pre-determined questions and a work order/inicident/change request will automatically be created and populated based on the answers provided so business end users do not need a lot of training in order to open requests.
  • Incident/problem management is a strong point in the Remedy system. Users can open problems directly from the incident ticket with the click of a button and it allows users to track incidents against problems fairly well.
  • Service request creation needs some work. Some areas of service request creation like dealing with complex approvals need to be done better in future versions. Also, dealing with formatting of the service request screen needs to be improved.
  • I found that reporting is a little lacking. For example, we have people requesting reports based on the audit log and we seem to be unable to do it as we did in a previous version of Remedy
  • We also found that it is not easy to correct things once mistakes have been made. For example, if somebody happens to close an incorrect task there is no easy way to just go and open up the closed task.
I believe it is well suited to deal with problem management and incidents. It is very easy to open problem tickets from the incidents and easy to see the relationships between the incidents and the problems. Our company also found that if you come up with a standardized way of naming the problems it makes it easier to search.
Read Dave Campbell's full review
April 14, 2016
Mark Arbuthnot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT organization uses Remedy to manage our incidents, work requests and changes. In addition our business partners use Remedy Change Management and Work Orders to manage business processes. The processes and workflow in Remedy allow us to build repeatable IT and business processes but also provide us the tools and flexibility to modify and improve those processes over time.
  • Rigid enforcement of processes rules and the ability to audit and report on them.
  • Out of the box alignment with ITIL processes.
  • Remedy is easy to customize to meet specific business needs.
  • It is much better today, but I still think there is room to improve the upgrade and installation--it just seems to take forever.
  • I'd like to see BMC provide more real world configuration out of the box. It is a little overwhelming to someone who is new to the system to have to configure it from scratch.
The Remedy ITSM Suite is a very mature, capable, scalable and customizable tool that can be readily adapted to suit just about any organization's needs. It does take a certain level of ITSM process maturity to implement because it is closely aligned with ITIL. Smaller organizations that are experiencing rapid growth may find that they are constantly having to change some of the foundational data just because they are changing so frequently. If you can get ahead of that, however, the Remedy ITSM Suite will help you to stabilize your IT processes and you will become a better business partner as a result.
Read Mark Arbuthnot's full review
April 13, 2016
Shayne Froelich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We currently use it just for our IT for change, incident, work order, problem and asset management. However, we are shortly rolling out MyIT for non-IT users to be onboarded for self service applications.

We are able to use it to tie in with our service vendor for changes and incident management via web and email services.

  • Enterprise level configuration and power. Very customizable and adapts very well to changes in our infrastructure.
  • Flexible ITIL solution. With the ability to customize rules and configurations, we can make it work well with how we currently implement ITIL in our corporation.
  • Self service management. By using Atrium Integrator and Atrium Orchestrator, it can help reduce the amount of workload on the IT Service Desk.
  • Custom applications can be made but they require a lot of work to maintain.
  • You must take care when adding custom roles to the application. When you install things like Virtual Chat, it has pre-defined role IDs, which if you have inadvertently used, it overwrites your own roles. There is no comprehensive list of used role IDs, so it's "buyer beware" when you use them.
Remedy ITSM is well suited in any business that is trying to help manage their ITIL processes (even if they don't know or have ever heard of ITIL). The power of being able to control and monitor your entire change process also helps to guide a company in proper change management practices.
Their tech support is top notch. They respond and get back to us, even on lower level incidents and issues, very quickly. It is rare that we deal with a support technician who does not know what they are doing.
Read Shayne Froelich's full review
July 22, 2016
Sam Figueroa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Remedy Asset Management is used by our whole company to track all PC's, tablets, and cell phone assets. It allows us to always keep and up to date database of all our assets, either deployed, spare or end of life devices. It also allows us to properly track change control requests.
  • Asset Management
  • Integration with other software
  • Easy to use interface
  • The layout design of the interface could use upgrading
  • The ability to generate alerts would also be nice
  • The reporting system is now old and needs and easier way to write IFTTT scenarios
It is well suited for any business to track and organize assets. It works for companies with Enterprise size or even small business. It would not be appropriate for a home user to use. Home use could be more utilized with a simple database created for asset management of devices used at home.
Read Sam Figueroa's full review
June 13, 2016
Fairooz Habeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It's being used throughout the organization. It helped reduce the number of applications for service support and operation within the organization. We have a single console as well as single tool to create workflows. It also reduced the operational cost of other applications by automating certain processes.
  • Best aligned ITIL process - we were able to align our own process without much customization. Tight integration with all modules reduces the data redundancy and duplicate work.
  • We can perform any kind of actions and intelligent work to be carried out by the tool such as validation, and enforcing the policies to be followed etc.
  • You can develop any application on ARS platform which is an advantage.
  • Users should be able to customize their home page as per their need.
  • There are so many fields not being utilized properly. We need to understand the tool deeply to explore certain capabilities. Most of the valuable features and how to configure those are not available freely.
  • When a customer purchases the application, there is a need for an expert team to come and do the implementation. There should be a possibility for customers to use features like pre-stack implementation with customer data so that it will reduce the implementation time line as well as enable certain features when required.
  • Upgrade path should be configured as a wizard where all required steps should be followed with the upgrade utility. Current process is too complex.
Tracking the whole conversation within the ticket helps most of our customers to work efficiently as well as on time.
Read Fairooz Habeeb's full review
May 27, 2016
Dinesh Chowdary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use BMC remedy across the organization. It basically coveres our service management portfolio activities:


  • Working with customers and suppliers to reduce unnecessary ticket volumes
  • Simplifying and standardizing processes, and rolling out best practices globally
  • Streamlined organisation structure and operating model
  • Deploying a toolset and supporting inventory that puts our organization ahead of the competition, and provides a faster, more automated journey for customers and radically reducing the cost base
  • Can be easily implemented for huge organizations
  • Scalability and simplification of processes
  • Hassle free usage for end users
  • Maintenance and operating costs are less
  • Increase the flexibility for integration with external products
  • Enhancing the UI
  • Simplification of process w.r.t modules like Change and Release management
  • Proactively managing service - through incident, problem, capacity, configuration and change management
  • Continuously monitoring service - preventing failures and rapidly identifying those that do occur
  • Reactively managing customer contact - ensuring resolution of incidents and service requests
  • KCI - Keeping our customer fully informed at all times
Read Dinesh Chowdary's full review
April 18, 2016
Pedro Cardoso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Remedy ITSM Suite helps us with control. It has out-of-the-box functionalities and processes to aligns us with best practices for incidents, problems and change management. It also allows you to create new workflows, and new applications to match your organization’s procedures and needs.


We use BMC Remedy IT Service Management Suite in two major ways:


  • Support our final customer with Remedy
  • Internal requests between departments: 1.Our customers enter an online request management page where they select the request type, and the request goes to the defined support group where they review and answer our customer needs. They document this in the same Remedy system to notify the customer. 2. When someone needs helps with computers and systems they open a request.
  • ITIL alligned process
  • Web based
  • Easy to install, easy to confiugre
  • High computer resources needed, specially RAM
  • Not easy to customize. A simple configuration method to enable a few of new fields would be great.
  • There are always bugs, should test a little lot more.
A mid size to enterprise sized company should use it. For a smaller business just you think to grow to enterprise and in that case Remedy can grow up with you.
Read Pedro Cardoso's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (37)
9.1
Expert directory (25)
7.7
Service restoration (32)
9.1
Self-service tools (37)
8.0
Subscription-based notifications (28)
7.8
ITSM collaboration and documentation (36)
7.4
ITSM reports and dashboards (36)
8.2
Configuration mangement (33)
8.5
Asset management dashboard (33)
8.3
Policy and contract enforcement (25)
7.5
Change requests repository (36)
8.8
Change calendar (34)
8.8
Service-level management (35)
8.4

What is BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy)?

BMC Helix ITSM combines the latest in digital and cognitive automation technologies to transform best-practice ITSM principles on a cloud-native platform, enabling users to provide superior service management across multi-cloud environments that is intelligent and predictive.

BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) Integrations

BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) Competitors

BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No