TrustRadius
Zendesk is a cloud-based software solution that offers help desk ticketing, issue tracking, and customer service support. It integrates with dozens of content management systems, customer relationship management tools, and web apps. Features include hosted support email-ticket integration, online forums, RSS and widgets. Pricing starts at $1 per agent, monthly, featuring email ticketing and a knowledge base. The $25 Regular edition includes communities and surveys, and a custom domain. The recommended $59 per agent, per month Plus edition includes time tracking, custom reporting and dashboards, and an additional internal knowledge base; this edition's features represent the free trial configuration. Beyond this, the $125 Enterprise and $195 Enterprise Elite (per agent, per month) feature support and training, multibrand support, and other perks. Zendesk, Inc in San Francisco was bootstrapped from its founding in 2007 to June, 2008, when it received its first round of funding. In May 2014 Zendesk went public. The company now employs over 800 people and supports over 51,000 customer accounts.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uP/79/M1ENTDBQMJ5X.PNGA highly configurable, easy to use ticketing systemWe are using Zendesk across a couple of main business units. I use it personally to handle IT support requests as well as administering it for our Customer Service team who use it to service our external customers. Previously, both teams were managing all requests out of inboxes using Outlook which was inefficient and lacked ownership of tasks.,Ownership: Assigning tickets to agents and allowing them to follow through the entire process from end to end. Organization: Multiple teams can be in the same instance and tickets can be assigned between teams depending on which stage of the process it is up to. Ease: For both end users and agents. The end users can either just send an email to a designated email address or go in and use a preconfigured template in the landing page.,Reporting: There are some additional purchases that can be made to increase reporting, however, I would like to see some more reporting out of the box. Statuses: It would be good if we could make our own Statuses as not everything fits into the preconfigured categories Add ons: There are plenty of add ons in the store but some of the more highly adopted should be rolled into the core build by default.,10,Tasks are all being handled by the same agent which gives us ownership right the way through All interactions of the tasks are kept together in one place Tasks can be easily reassigned to another more suitable agent, escalated or progressed once one part of the task has been completed.,JIRA Software,LastPass, Genesys PureCloud, Sophos Endpoint ProtectionZendesk the most complete customer support tool that existsZendesk is being used throughout the company. It works as a support ticket solution aimed at the client, allowing users to send tickets for service requests. It allows integrating all communication channels used by companies to communicate with their customers. It can integrate without interruptions for a large number of communication channels in one place. It supports integrating self-help tools in your customer service platform. With Zendesk the company has managed to reduce the hard work of customer service, making it much simpler, easier and more proactive.,The integration with multiple platforms for communication makes this a complete and effective tool. It has an excellent interface with tabs to view several tickets at once, with a design that is quite intuitive and works well in almost any browser. Provide real-time support to your clients and proactively initiate talks with visitors to your website. It has effective built-in telephone support for communication with customers.,Price plans for Zendesk are expensive. Your analysis tool can be a bit complicated to use. You do not have the possibility to change the code that delivers the support.,9,Zendesk, with its efficiency and quality, has allowed us to increase the productivity of the company. Communication with customers is much more efficient.,Asana, Adobe Acrobat DC, Oracle DatabaseAn Honest, End-User Review of ZendeskZendesk is used by 3 teams in our organization: Customer Success, Support and Product. It acts as a customer-facing support ticketing solution, enabling customers to submit tickets for specific service requests. Customer Success often leverages it as a tool to both engage with customers regarding support requests, and as a way to submit internal support requests or to report product bugs to the Product team. The Support team uses Zendesk to interact with customers regarding their support requests, and the Product team primarily uses Zendesk to manage bug or other product requests submitted by the CS team.,It is a great support ticket management system, and is fairly easy to use via direct ticket submission via the platform, and the ability to forward customer emails directly to the support queue is extremely helpful. The ability to track ticket progress (last touch, etc) and communicate both internally with other departments and externally with the ticket requester within the same interface makes it easy to keep all relevant information in one place. Zendesk's JIRA integration makes the bug management process very seamless for our organization.,One of the biggest issues we have with Zendesk is the lack of insight into customer history within their ticket profile. We often have difficulty getting context about the tickets that are submitted and unfortunately that increase handle time as we often have to dig through the customer's ticket history to get the full story. It would be great to have a better feel for overall customer sentiment based on their support history and other account factors (e.g. product usage, etc), but without a "customer profile" within the platform, it's nearly impossible to get the 360 view that would really empower us to proactively solve their issues. The ability to automate certain workflows (specifically those regarding internal tasks) would be fabulous, but without access to many actionable integrations, it makes this even harder.,7,The ability to track progress on customer support requests in one ticket reduces time spent with back and forth communications. Unfortunately the lack of historical insight increase handle time, which negatively impacts overall service time.Is Zendesk What You're Looking For? Try a Demo and see is what I say.I have worked in multiple fields and have held two jobs at a time, therefore, I have had the opportunity to work with various software. Zendesk is good for smaller companies. It's a good way to keep in contact with customers, they have great chat options and really help to create a seamless communication between your company and the customer. The ticketing software is great it provides detailed information regarding the tickets and a sort of history which is important because you can follow what has been handled, what needs to be handled and what had already transpired, which speaks for itself.,Ticketing works great Following chat and email Few glitches in the system and great customer service when and if there is a problem.,Adding admins to the software can be a bit of a hassle when bringing someone else on or taking someone off, I would prefer an easier way. The help center can be designed a little better. Especially with the chat indicator.,8,Overall Zendesk is a relatively positive software and is easy to use CRM It had again created that communication bridge between customer and agent which is pertinent in running a well-oiled ship.,Salesforce Commerce CloudRR Zendesk ReviewIt is being used by our IT help desks to address customer issues and concerns. It is used by our department, as well as a couple of other departments on campus. It addresses our core mission of serving our customers and allows us to send satisfaction surveys to our customers once the service has been provided. It is easy to implement and use, and allows us to address whatever deficiencies we have in our customer service area.,Management of requirements or requests. The tool is customizable and easy to implement and use. We can automate our responses to our customers. Great flexibility in purchase packages.,Should add response time according to the type of requirements or requests. Develop graphs by type of incident Have notifications every time you are consuming the time of a ticket Have video calls.,9,Improved customer service ratings for our department since the implementation Faster responsiveness to customers greater survey data on customer satisfaction,Jira Service Desk,Skype, Dropbox, MailChimp
Unspecified
Zendesk
456 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zendesk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Zendesk
456 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 456 vetted Zendesk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 82)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sam Othman profile photo
March 30, 2019

Zendesk Review: "A highly configurable, easy to use ticketing system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zendesk across a couple of main business units. I use it personally to handle IT support requests as well as administering it for our Customer Service team who use it to service our external customers. Previously, both teams were managing all requests out of inboxes using Outlook which was inefficient and lacked ownership of tasks.
  • Ownership: Assigning tickets to agents and allowing them to follow through the entire process from end to end.
  • Organization: Multiple teams can be in the same instance and tickets can be assigned between teams depending on which stage of the process it is up to.
  • Ease: For both end users and agents. The end users can either just send an email to a designated email address or go in and use a preconfigured template in the landing page.
  • Reporting: There are some additional purchases that can be made to increase reporting, however, I would like to see some more reporting out of the box.
  • Statuses: It would be good if we could make our own Statuses as not everything fits into the preconfigured categories
  • Add ons: There are plenty of add ons in the store but some of the more highly adopted should be rolled into the core build by default.
We have been slowly using it to try to migrate mailboxes out of Outlook and into Zendesk to allow for better and easier management of support. It is great for small tickets but not so good for project management. We use it in conjunction with JIRA. If someone submits an issue that is bigger than a quick fix, we use Zendesk to create a JIRA task and handle the rest of the project through that. We can then link all other Zendesk instances of the problem to the same JIRA task.
Read Sam Othman's full review
James Michael Wood profile photo
February 27, 2019

Review: "Zendesk the most complete customer support tool that exists"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is being used throughout the company. It works as a support ticket solution aimed at the client, allowing users to send tickets for service requests. It allows integrating all communication channels used by companies to communicate with their customers. It can integrate without interruptions for a large number of communication channels in one place. It supports integrating self-help tools in your customer service platform. With Zendesk the company has managed to reduce the hard work of customer service, making it much simpler, easier and more proactive.
  • The integration with multiple platforms for communication makes this a complete and effective tool.
  • It has an excellent interface with tabs to view several tickets at once, with a design that is quite intuitive and works well in almost any browser.
  • Provide real-time support to your clients and proactively initiate talks with visitors to your website.
  • It has effective built-in telephone support for communication with customers.
  • Price plans for Zendesk are expensive.
  • Your analysis tool can be a bit complicated to use.
  • You do not have the possibility to change the code that delivers the support.
The company's relationships with customers are essential for productivity. Zendesk allows you to integrate self-help tools into your customer service platform, These Zendesk self-help solutions reduce the resolution time, increase the efficiency of the users and improve the customer experience. In addition, you can have your entire website and social networks communication by email and in one place.
Read James Michael Wood's full review
Carmen Johnson profile photo
October 30, 2018

"An Honest, End-User Review of Zendesk"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used by 3 teams in our organization: Customer Success, Support and Product. It acts as a customer-facing support ticketing solution, enabling customers to submit tickets for specific service requests. Customer Success often leverages it as a tool to both engage with customers regarding support requests, and as a way to submit internal support requests or to report product bugs to the Product team. The Support team uses Zendesk to interact with customers regarding their support requests, and the Product team primarily uses Zendesk to manage bug or other product requests submitted by the CS team.
  • It is a great support ticket management system, and is fairly easy to use via direct ticket submission via the platform, and the ability to forward customer emails directly to the support queue is extremely helpful.
  • The ability to track ticket progress (last touch, etc) and communicate both internally with other departments and externally with the ticket requester within the same interface makes it easy to keep all relevant information in one place.
  • Zendesk's JIRA integration makes the bug management process very seamless for our organization.
  • One of the biggest issues we have with Zendesk is the lack of insight into customer history within their ticket profile. We often have difficulty getting context about the tickets that are submitted and unfortunately that increase handle time as we often have to dig through the customer's ticket history to get the full story.
  • It would be great to have a better feel for overall customer sentiment based on their support history and other account factors (e.g. product usage, etc), but without a "customer profile" within the platform, it's nearly impossible to get the 360 view that would really empower us to proactively solve their issues.
  • The ability to automate certain workflows (specifically those regarding internal tasks) would be fabulous, but without access to many actionable integrations, it makes this even harder.
Zendesk is a really good ticketing platform, but if one of your primary goals with a support solution is to better understand and connect with our customers, Zendesk may not be the best solution. The difficulty with getting historical context about the tickets that are submitted, and the lack of a customer profile to really provide real-time insight into how customers feel about their support experience or just overall sentiment about the organization, are a few of the reasons you may want to consider a more robust solution.
Read Carmen Johnson's full review
Kenyata Garner profile photo
January 15, 2019

Review: "Is Zendesk What You're Looking For? Try a Demo and see is what I say."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have worked in multiple fields and have held two jobs at a time, therefore, I have had the opportunity to work with various software. Zendesk is good for smaller companies. It's a good way to keep in contact with customers, they have great chat options and really help to create a seamless communication between your company and the customer. The ticketing software is great it provides detailed information regarding the tickets and a sort of history which is important because you can follow what has been handled, what needs to be handled and what had already transpired, which speaks for itself.
  • Ticketing works great
  • Following chat and email
  • Few glitches in the system and great customer service when and if there is a problem.
  • Adding admins to the software can be a bit of a hassle when bringing someone else on or taking someone off, I would prefer an easier way.
  • The help center can be designed a little better. Especially with the chat indicator.
Zendesk is good for startup companies and mid-sized companies in my personal opinion. It provides the tools needed to ensure the customer is taken care of. It even provides a history of what pages your customer has visited on your site prior to chatting, etc., which is the perfect guide to customer service as it bridges the gap between the questions asked and the answers needed. This lowers the frustration and miscommunication on both ends.
Read Kenyata Garner's full review
Ron Rothstain profile photo
January 11, 2019

"RR Zendesk Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our IT help desks to address customer issues and concerns. It is used by our department, as well as a couple of other departments on campus. It addresses our core mission of serving our customers and allows us to send satisfaction surveys to our customers once the service has been provided. It is easy to implement and use, and allows us to address whatever deficiencies we have in our customer service area.
  • Management of requirements or requests.
  • The tool is customizable and easy to implement and use.
  • We can automate our responses to our customers.
  • Great flexibility in purchase packages.
  • Should add response time according to the type of requirements or requests.
  • Develop graphs by type of incident
  • Have notifications every time you are consuming the time of a ticket
  • Have video calls.
  • Zendesk does a great job at constantly improving their product, listening to their customers, and releasing new features to make their customer's jobs easier and better. From their basic ticketing support, to live chat, talk, and even guides, they really have it all under one roof. They have good tutorials and a pretty active community to get help from if you need it. While support typically consists of straight-forward communication, there are times when incorporating additional agents in real-time would be helpful in more of a live chat setting as opposed to the "email" template where most communication takes place. That's not to say collaboration in ZenDesk is impossible, as that's not the case at all, but it's not always easy to determine whether another agent is acting upon a support request (can only tell when they are viewing a ticket).
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
Andrew Murphy profile photo
January 11, 2019

Review: "Zendesk is incredible for small teams managing many customers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk as our customer support Hub. It is used by our customer support team and it helps us address customer needs in a timely manner. We can engage with our customer from any point in the buyer journey as well as with post-purchase support needs. We love Zendesk!
  • Support ticketing
  • Pre-sales communication
  • Post-sales
  • Installation support
  • Internal UI
  • CRM integrations
  • Pricing structure
Zendesk works really well for eCommerce. When talking with potential customers or actual customers, Zendesk lets us address their needs quickly and effectively. I have also used it for hardware products and it is amazing for creating installation guides and resources for use-case examples etc. for customers.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
Alan Gadbois profile photo
March 12, 2019

Zendesk Review: "A great helpdesk solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This was mainly used for support tickets but was also used as a knowledge-base and alert system. It was used company-wide.
  • Great organization of tickets.
  • Great customization.
  • Easy to use knowledge base and alerts.
  • I was very satisfied coming from an end users standpoint.
  • I have no complaints or suggestions for improvements, really.
It's appropriate for any IT service desk or support team.
Read Alan Gadbois's full review
Kris Lambert profile photo
November 05, 2018

User Review: "Zendesk is a great ticketing system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create internal API's with our SaaS products to integrate with Zendesks ticketing action. The ticket allows us to track communications during a task/issues lifecycle. Tags help us to determine patterns with tickets. The Autoresponse feature is great because it serves as the first level of response to your client that you have received and are working on their request.
  • Autoresponse provides immediate confirmation to clients that you have received the request.
  • Lifecycle tracking for requests.
  • Easy to integrate with other software products.
  • Login can get hung at times.
  • More options with contacts.
  • The ability to see in-use API keys instead of needing to create a new one.
This is a great ticketing system for support. This software needs more focus on contacts and sales flows to be a full fledge CRM.
Read Kris Lambert's full review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Zendesk Review: "A great tool for small to medium-sized companies who want a robust tool to offer multi-channel support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk at our small ecommerce company to support our customers via email, in-app submissions, Facebook, and Twitter. Zendesk was the right choice for us because it's relatively easy to implement, allows us to quickly create and update our help center/FAQ, has multiple integrations for the other tools that we use (i.e. Shopify), and it scales appropriately with our small setup. I've set up and used Zendesk at three separate companies and I highly recommend it for those expecting fewer than 1500 tickets/week. The robust tools they offer will allow you to create a CRM from scratch, customize it to your liking, and offer great support right off the bat.
  • Instead of using a developer's time to create a landing page for your FAQs, you can quickly and easily implement and update your FAQ/help center through Zendesk's Guide tool.
  • Quickly and easily customize your customer's experience when interacting with your organization's support team. For example, you can update the automated response received upon ticket creation and the design of that email sent to customers from Zendesk's portal.
  • Out of the box analytics for key KPIs. If you don't have much experience with this Zendesk's pre-built analytics will help you get an idea of how your support team is performing. If you want more robust reporting you can build it out with Zendesk's free Goddata analytics tool.
  • The pricing is a tad high. Considering that they're a larger company I wish they'd offer the same account levels at lower prices.
  • Their analytics infrastructure is good for basic reporting but I wish they had more robust options for advanced users, looking for more insight into their customers' inquiries.
Zendesk is great for small- to medium-sized companies that expect fewer than 1500 tickets/inquiries per week. It's especially great for small startups looking to create an out-of-the-box solution to offer customer support at an affordable price. Zendesk doesn't do very well when you have over 1500 tickets/inquiries a week. But once you get to that many inquiries, your company will be larger and ready to evaluate other solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2019

Zendesk: "CSM Review of Zen Desk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk as our support portal. This is the central place for our customers to open a support ticket either by logging in or sending an email to our support address. It is used by all of Support and Customer Success.
  • Keeping Track of Users in the system
  • Keeping track of all of the tickets a customer has opened, sent in, or have been opened by a CSM for them
  • Keeps a complete history of information regarding the tickets (which is extremely helpful when we have to research a ticket for a customer)
  • The search function needs some help. It brings back too many returns
If you need a support hub, Zen Desk could work wonderfully for you. It has worked well for us as our support hub, where customers can either log in and look at the history of their tickets or just enter a new ticket. We couldn't function as well as we do without it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 10, 2019

User Review: "Zendesk -Good CRM Starting Point"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used by several departments at my company: customer service, IT improvements and international inquiries. It helps us manage globally and stay on top of different projects and improvements. It also helped us set up a good workflow on processing warranty claims for our company globally. In general, we wanted to manage our customer issues in a better fashion and also stay on track with needed website improvements
  • It helps several users go in and see progress on different customer issues.
  • It helps us tag and track issues to report back on different problems.
  • It integrates well with our Google form warranty claim and allows us to process and solve our cases in an efficient manner.
  • There isn't a good way to pass long Zendesk emails outside to non-Zendesk users.
  • The tagging and sorting isn't the best - we need to do it by country and there's not a super easy way to do this.
  • When we integrated Facebook chat, every time we would respond in Zendesk, Facebook wouldn't acknowledge it, making our response times suffer. We ended up disconnecting and continuing to respond directly.
Zendesk is great for small businesses looking to start a CRM system. It's easy to learn and manage with a small team. It works well internationally and most of the integrations work well. If you are a larger company, you may want to look into a more robust platform as the integrations and larger team management features are limited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

User Review: "Zendesk manages varied requests"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our internal tools team uses Zendesk to manage IT and Salesforce requests. This addresses the need for an organized request system, instead of internal colleagues walking up to each others' desks to ask questions. A customer-facing team also uses it to solve help tickets submitted about our product, and the right processes to take to solve their needs. This allows us to organize requests by client and topic.
  • Organize by topic you care about
  • Triage tickets to different team members
  • Determine time and number of touches to resolution
  • If a customer responds to the ticket, Zendesk reopens it. Ideally Zendesk could bucket responses that only say "thank you," and similar non-urgent replies
  • The UI could be more joyful and fun to use. I'd like to see a gamification option.
Well suited for high volume requests on a range of topics. For example, our internal tools teams use it for over a dozen tools we use, where the requests need to be routed to different groups within the company. It it less appropriate for 1-1 communication between the same party on the same topics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2019

Zendesk Review: "Nearly perfect customer management software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All customer emails come through Zendesk. It provides an easy line of communication between our policyholders and us.
  • Organizing and prioritizing emails.
  • Merging customer data.
  • Reporting trends.
  • Integration with third-party phone providers.
  • Intuitive reporting tools.
  • Customer surveys.
Great for small to medium-sized businesses. I haven’t used it in a larger company. Not great if Zendesk is your sole reporting software.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 31, 2019

Review: "Zendesk is great at tracking and managing requests"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used as a request and intake point for tasks, projects, and bugs. This helps us track volume of incoming requests and we can assign priority.
  • Easy to manage requests
  • Easy to assign tasks
  • Easy to manage communication
  • Needs a smoother transition between admin view and submitting a ticket
  • A way to view what a non-admin user is seeing
  • Show preview of attachments if possible
Zendesk is well suited for managing requests and tasks with different internal tools.
Read this authenticated review
Nikhil George profile photo
October 10, 2018

Zendesk Review: "One of the best support desk apps money can buy"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk is our customer support desk. Customers can raised support tickets within our application or via email which is sent to Zendesk. Our support team respond to queries from Zendesk. Other departments such as finance, sales and product can view support tickets and post internal comments to resolve queries. Zendesk helps us manage customer queries in a timely manner while ensuring no queries get lost.
  • Customisable ticketing engine - you can specify what fields should be filled on each ticket, if they are mandatory and customise what type of data needs to be entered. This ensures the right data is captured to assist resolve the query. It also means reports can be run from these fields.
  • Reporting and analytics - you can run reports based on the ticket data. This helps you understand what product features need to be improved or added, what new help content needs to be created, if particular macros need to be setup, efficiency of support team and more.
  • Integrations - Zendesk integrates with billing, CRM and other platforms so customer data is available in-app. This information assists the support team give the right information to the customer.
  • Make reporting easier - the reporting engine in Zendesk is very powerful, but at the same time, complicated to use. Would be good if they made creating reports easier.
  • Pricing - the pricing plans for Zendesk are quite expensive. There are a range of other systems which provide base level features that match Zendesk.
Zendesk is great for large organisations. It has all the large and enterprise features that might be required such as SSO, white-labelling and data management. It's a great product what will scale with a business and very reliable. Downtimes are very rare. Smaller businesses could likely get by using other support desk tools which are much cheaper.
Read Nikhil George's full review
Lou Gallo profile photo
August 28, 2018

Review: "Zendesk is our hub for knowing our customers and being customer driven in our business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk to manage our inbound technical support, account support, technical services and requests from our contact page for communicating with users. We gather how to, bug reports and improvement requests from our users and are able to solve issues and track requests through a variety of systems we have integrated with. It is the central hub of how we interact with our customers when they reach out. In addition to traditional ticketing, we use to to tag users for early visibility testing in various areas of our product as well as a portal to our entire company to view and see tickets related to issues we may be solving in other areas of our business. Management, Development, Customer Success, Sales, Marketing, Quality Assurance, and even with our trusted partners, Zendesk is how we measure and organize all of our communications from our free, paid and educational users.
  • Integration is amazing due to the number of partner add ins they offer with pre-built integrations to common tools like, JIRA, Slack, Salesforce, Hubspot, ChurnZero.
  • Extensibility into so many other areas of our business. Allowing us to build targets to accept triggered responses in a number of data formats from custom recipes allows us to make Zendesk update and notify other systems on demand in realtime avoiding costly polling automation scripts.
  • API and App frameworks are also very well implemented and provide a framework to build custom applications to call our Zendesk account to perform automation and updates as well as build specific tools right inside the product while our agents are working. This can be very helpful since they have a marketplace that allows many other services to also integrate here.
  • They tend to move slowly to integrate new options to the API but overall are pretty responsive.. Understanding the API is a far less used part of their platform as a whole.
  • We were grandfathered into the unlimited light agents.. but I think that access has been limited as of today.
From the small to large business, there is very little I have found that is not possible with Zendesk. If there are tools you need to integrate with, they have it and what they might not (which is rare) you can build it either right inside of the Zendesk platform or use the API to extend it into every corner of the business. The biggest part of integrating a support tool is making sure that it does the basics very well and allows you to expand into where you are going. From supporting one single use case to multiple business segments and keeping it all tied together so integration to other platforms that are in use is all there. I also like the fact they have a nice low end package that allows for ticket sharing which can be a great way to get your partners to have an option to share tickets with them when you have shared customers.
Read Lou Gallo's full review
Nathan Sichilongo profile photo
August 22, 2018

Review: "The Pros and Cons of Zendesk - A Manager's Perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed an all in one support desk tool that would allow us to handle communication with clients from different platforms. We use Zendesk across the organization to maintain all communication with all our clients, both potential and existing.

Zendesk solved 3 big problems for us

1) System-wide accountability - being able to know who was working on a support ticket at any time and who it was assigned to. Previously, we had to rely on manual communication for this.
2) All in one communication - we are now able to have all our communication channels in one place, whether it be a website, email or social communication.
3) Customer resolutions - with Zendesk, the amount of time it took to resolve and address customer queries has been cut in half, we are now more efficient and able to handle queries better.
  • With Zendesk we are able to have a holistic view of which customers have been attended to. Zendesk's easy to use Inbox feature makes this easy for anyone to join the team and start working in support.
  • The integration with multiple platforms for communication makes this the goto Support Desk tool. We are able to have all our website, social media and email communication come into one location for all support staff to handle and see
  • Zendesk apps and plugins increase usefulness. Being able to add apps to our Zendesk makes it easier for us to do things like measure productivity, conduct surveys and share customer communication on channels like Slack
  • The ability to build your own Knowledgebase and have it on hand when answering customer queries is a life send. This alone is worth the monthly fees. As you can build up a Knowledgebase overtime and link to it on a website or through different communication channels.
  • Social media functionality is limited for example with Facebook, you cannot upload images (whether this a Facebook API limitation or Zendesk it leaves much to be desired. Also syncing between social media messages and Zendesk takes a bit of time.
  • Duplicate messages are frustrating when the ticket system is open and not assigned. While Zendesk does show all messages in an inbox, you have to constantly refresh the inbox to get the most up to date inbox messages. If there was a way to show when someone is selecting a message (in an open ticket setup), it would make Zendesk 10x better.
Zendesk is a great support tool for handling support tickets for small to medium size service-oriented organizations. It is more suited towards email and web with limited functionality for social media. If you run a small support team (say 3-15 people) Zendesk is worth the money. There are some features that may work for larger organizations but the need for customization and apps make it difficult to justify unless your profit per supported user is higher than the cost.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Jesse Brightman profile photo
August 01, 2018

User Review: "Zendesk is the best."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is the central source of issue reporting for our enterprise customers. We use this for helpdesk ticket responses, which also allows us to report on customer health and time to resolution.
  • Simple and easy to use
  • Good reporting metrics which allow us to track all sorts of operational metrics
  • Integrations with JIRA, among many other integrations
  • There are currently two data dashboards, sometimes they do not match up
Zendesk is the industry standard in helpdesk/bug/ticketing resolution for customer service and experience. It is easy to implement, and even easier to use. There is a strong emphasis on data for my team, and Zendesk allows us the reporting functionality to look at our current metrics and how we can improve.
Read Jesse Brightman's full review
Yaron Lavi profile photo
July 16, 2018

Zendesk Review: "good ticket management option; pricey and somewhat cluttered"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk as customer success framework. Communication with customers starts, and usually ends, there. Customers open tickets, describe their issues, and so on. Than a customer success rep. takes it from there - he either helps them or routes the issue to an R&D member for further classification or observation.
  • Nice GUI
  • Easy filtering
  • Easy to see how a certain issue was handled and communicated to the customer
  • I'd like to immediately see "my issues" on top
  • i'd like it to auto-remember where I left it
  • GUI still little clustered.
Zendesk is a good at collecting issues from customers, and handling them as conversations.
it's less good in helping you focus on new items, or only "your" cases.
Read Yaron Lavi's full review
Chris Barretto profile photo
July 13, 2018

Zendesk Review: "Best scalable support solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as the primary form of support for our publishing platform. It appears on all of our pages and we get a wide range of questions from publishing to overall use of the site. It is also used to uncover bugs found by our internal team.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of integration
  • Ticketing system
  • Navigation in the web view is a little tricky
  • Customization of FAQ section
  • Feature for auto-replies based on keyword search of question
I think this fits for any small or large company. It fulfills the need for support without much development on the application. It scales well with the size of the business and is easy to add/remove agents.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
Daniel Coburn profile photo
July 10, 2018

Review: "Zendesk top contender for your business!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Zendesk is being used] In order to support 3 million active users of a classified system. Originally all support was done through email or phone calls and things would get lost and not followed up on. It was also impossible to have any type of SLA. Using Zendesk gave the group the ability to track all customer inquiries, added accountability and gave our customers a more reliable way to see where their requests were and what was happening. It also gave us the ability to grow our team and meet the of ever-growing demands of our customers.
  • Organize help tickets
  • Keep customer up-to-date
  • Allow experts in different fields to handle certain clients
  • Integration into SFDC could be better
  • While you could have canned responses the ability to easily share was not clear at the beginning in order to share best practices if they were personal responses vs. public.
Larger support organizations can benefit from Zendesk. But for many something like Zoho One with their help desk solution would suffice. If you are a larger business and want a dedicated help desk solution Zendesk is a must look at option for you. If you are a smaller startup or just getting started with CRM etc., look at Zoho One as well.
Read Daniel Coburn's full review
Bridgette Reynolds profile photo
September 12, 2018

User Review: "Zendesk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a software company so our users email us all the time through our platform into Zendesk. Without Zendesk our email inboxes would be extremely full and messy!
  • Being able to assign different tickets to different users on Zendesk
  • Being able to write private messages before making them public to the person requesting
  • Being able to cc users on tickets
  • Seeing the cc'd ticket in your queue
  • Better mobile functions - while I love having the app on my phone, I feel there could be additional features that are on the desktop version added to the mobile version, but I am aware that's a huge task!
  • Load time is sometimes long for tickets - could be my browser but i've noticed lately it's a little slower.
Zendesk has been a lifesaver! When I first started my job I wasn't sure what we would use to speak to clients and this has been awesome.
Read Bridgette Reynolds's full review
Farah Noor profile photo
May 11, 2018

User Review: "Zendesk helps!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to do service requests such as updating data sheets, gathering data, technology issues, and changes needed to Salesforce etc. The whole organization uses it and it is something that is becoming the way we can get things fixed through our HQ. Since we work at regional sites--it's hard to get answers right away from HQ. Zendesk helps with the requests that HQ can help with.
  • Clear platform
  • Sends a direct email when you create one
  • Has drop down menus
  • Mobile device
  • The emails with replies can be hard to understand
  • Amount of emails
It is well suited when you are working at an organization that has sites across America. It helps because our HQ houses the main data technology people and so when we have requests it can streamline the way we get our requests answered. I feel like it would not be suited for an organization that does not have many people or where it's so small that you can just talk to the person who can help you.
Read Farah Noor's full review
James Mcbride profile photo
August 07, 2018

"Zendesk Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zendesk to help us manage our tickets for our customers. It has helped being able to have a streamlined interface to be able to use. This helps us when we are helping customers because all the access is right there and we can get any data we need to help the customer now.
  • Tickets
  • Email Integration
  • Ticket Complete
  • Tickets
  • Sometimes can be cumbersome when entering in data
  • Initial Data Sync
It is well suited for a company with a customer base that will frequently call/email in. It helps organize the tickets and great place to find the information you might need. It is great to be able to pull up a customer and see their past complaints, who worked them, and if are they resolved or not.
Read James Mcbride's full review
Jamin McBain profile photo
July 13, 2018

Zendesk Review: "Great Introduction for anyone with an online Retail Store"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as an order management system for a retail clothing brand. We also used it to keep up with requests from customers.
  • It worked seamlessly with my email account.
  • I was able to mark whether or not an order was fulfilled or pending.
  • I was previously only handling requests via email, Zendesk helped put things in order for me.
  • Notification feature to your email when something hasn’t been addressed that you may have missed.
  • The support ticketing can sometimes get confusing at first glance if you are new to a this kind of program.
  • I do not enjoy when others in the organization were able to interrupt or answer a customer. I think roles should be able to be assigned and only designated to the person who is helping accisplercumless otherwise said.
As far as setup, Zendesk is very user friendly. If this is the first program to use as an administrator I do not forsee you running into much trouble roc set your team up with an account & teaching them best practices.
Read Jamin McBain's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (44)
8.9
Expert directory (27)
7.7
Subscription-based notifications (33)
8.1
ITSM collaboration and documentation (33)
7.8
Ticket creation and submission (45)
9.3
Ticket response (45)
9.1
External knowledge base (38)
8.3
Internal knowledge base (34)
8.1
Customer portal (34)
8.5
IVR (15)
8.0
Social integration (25)
8.0
Email support (43)
9.0
Help Desk CRM integration (31)
8.4

About Zendesk

Zendesk is a cloud-based software solution that offers help desk ticketing, issue tracking, and customer service support. It integrates with dozens of content management systems, customer relationship management tools, and web apps. Features include hosted support email-ticket integration, online forums, RSS and widgets.

Pricing starts at $1 per agent, monthly, featuring email ticketing and a knowledge base. The $25 Regular edition includes communities and surveys, and a custom domain. The recommended $59 per agent, per month Plus edition includes time tracking, custom reporting and dashboards, and an additional internal knowledge base; this edition's features represent the free trial configuration. Beyond this, the $125 Enterprise and $195 Enterprise Elite (per agent, per month) feature support and training, multibrand support, and other perks.

Zendesk, Inc in San Francisco was bootstrapped from its founding in 2007 to June, 2008, when it received its first round of funding. In May 2014 Zendesk went public. The company now employs over 800 people and supports over 51,000 customer accounts.

Zendesk Integrations

Zendesk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Zendesk Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No