SolarWinds AppOptics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
37 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Pavan Joshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Its good and easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds AppOptics for application monitoring. Compared to other monitoring tools, AppOptics' GUI is the most simple and any layman can understand the functionality of it. Latency monitoring between the application or the components is easy. Integration with the application is also easy.
  • Best GUI.
  • Detailed view of latencies.
  • Application integration is easy.
If you are using microservice architecture in your company to monitor microservices, AppOptics will be useful to monitor the latencies between the applications and other services.
We are 150 microservices integrated with AppOptics.
Read Pavan Joshi's full review
Arun Sundaresan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Detect bottlenecks in your application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by the department to detect performance issues like response time in the application. This helps us detect the bottlenecks in our application. This includes remote calls, database queries, cache calls. It also helps us determine the different layers in a request made. This helps in identifying ones that can be removed.
  • Average response time.
  • Average request rate.
  • Tracing different layers in a request.
  • Detection of slow queries.
  • More data can be added, however, it could also be that we haven't set it up fully.
It is best for the detection of bottle necks in the application. It gives an idea of the different layers the application spends time in. The average response time and request rate give us a rough idea of what we are doing. Transaction details help in determining finer points in the application. It could do better with a lot of server performance stats as well. Maybe we need to set it up.
Our application has millions of unique visitors every day. It's critical for us to render data as fast as possible to the end-user. Hence, we use the application to optimize the flow, remove unnecessary calls, and optimize the queries, thus leading to a smaller response time by the application.
Read Arun Sundaresan's full review
Dave Costantino | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Good value for cloud infrastructure monitoring!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds AppOptics to monitor infrastructure running in our production SaaS environment running on AWS. It is used by the entire engineering team. If a system fails or is exhibiting performance problems, we are alerted nearly instantly and can respond before our customers even notice there is an issue.
  • Simple installation and configuration
  • Easy to use UI
  • Good value
  • Many integrations with third-party software
  • Better cluster support: identify and group all related hosts automatically based on name
SolarWinds AppOptics is well suited for monitoring an environment with a diverse set of infrastructure, due to its wide variety of integrations supporting third party software and services. It is especially suitable for cloud environments (AWS, Google Cloud, etc.) where infrastructure is more dynamic in nature.
We switched from a competitor to SolarWinds AppOptics, saving us significant monthly cost and providing us an easier to use product at the same time.
Read Dave Costantino's full review
Greg Smethells | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

Works okay for Python but needs work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by both DevOps and by Tech Support. We use it to track down source code-level issues and to monitor response time and service level stats.
  • Distributed tracing.
  • Basic hardware monitoring.
  • Application transaction stats/details.
  • Support for celery in Python.
  • Overall better Python support.
  • Backwards compatibility.
Any web app that needs distributed tracing and transaction monitoring is well suited for this product. Python support for Gunicorn is good. Python support for celery tasks has been broken for some time. Releases of the Python language binding are infrequent. There is no GitLab or GitHub project to submit tickets to which would help with issue tracking for users.
Read Greg Smethells's full review
Prashant BHolane | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics provides great enterprise-level visibility

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The My.Appoptics is a great tool that provides in-depth analysis of end-to-end implemented infrastructure. I would like to see especially with SQL Server options that provide SPID. This helps to backtrack from database side .Secondly, only a part of a bigger SQL query is captured. I would like to see SPID or all of the SQL query to be provided. Otherwise, it is still a problem to solve performance related issues. One good thing I like is that AppOptics at higher level pinpoints the performance issue if it is at a database level, CPU level, etc. Once it is determined that the query needs to be tuned. So a SPID or all of the longer SQL query needs to be displayed.
  • Pinpoints the area of concern
  • Provides most of the database-level details
  • Good graphical presentation
  • Database-level details SPID
  • Provide a notepad file for longer SQL Code
  • Google Chrome new window open gets stuck sometime
1) Scenarios related to a web application and IT firing queries to Database.
2) Only database queries
3) Big data queries
4) Performance tuning stored procedures. Very important when users complain about a long-running query. Queries can be sorted by the highest wait statistics and can help to know the number of requests as well.
The company has benefited by providing a good service to their client. Especially when a third party is involved. Consulting firms can focus more on developing relations and preserving the bridges those may burn due to less experienced clients. A less technical user can be presented with a clear picture of their entire system.
Read Prashant BHolane's full review
Jeremy Rammalaere | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

AppOptics helps us to validate software changes in production

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AppOptics as a performance bench marking tool for changes that we are making to our internal web applications.
  • Easy to use.
  • Clean UI.
  • Simple setup.
  • I think that it could use a little bit more work in the event correlation feature.
We are only using it in a very limited capacity at the moment. I think that there will be a lot of potential for us to move forward and start to use more of the features.
AppOptics was the best product in our price range.
Read Jeremy Rammalaere's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

AppOptics: A must-have for a startup

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an early-stage startup, we were looking for a solution that offered the following:

  • Automated alerts
  • Performance monitoring
  • Request tracing
  • Monitor 3rd party services

AppOptics provides all of this functionality at a much lower price than its competitors such as NewRelic or Instana. We have been using them for over a year to monitor our application and AWS infrastructure. We have been very satisfied with their product. It has helped us identify various performance issues, resource bottlenecks, and issues with downstream services. In case of issues in our infrastructure or downstream services, it has helped us resolve the issue with low turnaround times. We have given access to this tool to our entire engineering team. Additionally, we have set up automated alerting and configured it to notify us through OpsGenie.
  • Request tracing with code profiling.
  • Automated alerting on latency and response codes for each API.
  • Low resource overhead while collecting data from our application servers.
  • Highly performant dashboard that enables us to make progress rapidly.
  • Very resilient. We have not seen a downtime in their service in the entire year that we have used them.
  • Monitoring and alerting for downstream services can be improved significantly.
  • They can make it easier and faster to setup alerts for the infrastructure and application.
  • They should support SSO login.
With the current set of features, AppOptics is a great option for startups that do not depend on downstream external services for their product. I have already recommended it to some friends working at other startups. I am rating it 8/10 instead of 10/10 because its monitoring of downstream services is inadequate. In our company, we have a monolithic application. So, we don't have an opinion on how it would operate in a service-oriented architecture.
AppOptics has helped us identify bottlenecks in our application ranging from incorrect thread pool configuration to memory leaks to sub-optimal database queries. Based on these insights, we have made appropriate fixes which helped us better utilize our AWS infrastructure and thereby, lower our operational expenses. The continuous monitoring and automated alerting has also helped us significantly reduce our turn around times in case of issues. That has been key in reducing the business lost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Monitoring is Now More Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AppOptics for our application monitoring across the whole infrastructure. AppOptics provides a very deep-dive and point to point metrics and alerts for the various microservices which help to track and identify various issues which may/could cause the instability in our application flow. So if I need to check my latency stats from one microservice to another, and if latency rate is higher than usual, we can easily trace the number of facts with the help of AppOptics like:
1) Current response code from the API.
2) Number of DB connections.
3) Queries requested from app to DB.
4) Queries that track latency.
5) Failing APIs.
  • Easy to integrate with an application stack. Supports many. In my case, I just need the AppOptics client and client key to start integration with my application stack.
  • Provide real-time metrics like DB connection, query analysis, latency in API calls and other connections, response codes for various API's, etc.
  • We can also set thresholds based on use-cases and set up the alerts and publish one across various suitable channels.
  • It would be good if could get some sort of dynamic report generation functionality base on historical trends. The rest is good.
As I already mentioned in the use case section, AppOptics provides a very deep-dive and point to point metrics and alerts for the various microservices which help to track and identify various issues which may/could cause the instability in our application flow. So if I need to check my latency stats from one microservice to another, and if latency rate is higher than usual, we can easily trace the number of facts with the help of AppOptics like:
1) Current response code from the API.
2) Number of DB connections.
3) Queries requested from app to DB.
4) Queries that track latency.
5) Failing APIs.

Currently, we are using more than 100 hosts, which are important for our applications and many more are added on the requirement basis. And we are happy with the results.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

How AppOtics make our life easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mostly use AppOptics to monitor our website performances, response time, status code, etc. How is the loading time distributed between servers, databases, and caches? Is one of our services spiking for some reason? We use it to focus our attention on pages that need to be optimized to improve the user experience. It also helps us to focus on what needs to be optimized.
  • Monitoring services.
  • Detect service failures.
  • Helps pinpoint problems in our website.
  • The only thing that I would add is the possibility to display every single query our servers receive to eventually analyze them and query through them. We could also generate nice visualizations from that. Right now I believe we can only see averages.
Here is one scenario where AppOptics is well suited: when we deploy a new release. When you work on big projects, it is sometimes hard to evaluate all the impacts that our new release will have on our production environment. AppOptics allows us to monitor very easily the release behavior on production. Another scenario: when we'd like to optimize our website. AppOptics shows us what page is the most used and which one takes the most time to load and how the loading time is distributed between servers, database, and cache. That is very useful to focus our efforts on what's is important for our users.
In our company, we monitor a lot of internal services and public websites. AppOptics allows us to monitor all of them in the same place, which is very useful. Using AppOptics, we're able to monitor a lot of metrics on all our services in just one place. As far as I know, there isn't a lot of products that do the same.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

AppOptics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in multiple departments of our organization. It is being used to control response time, error rate, and drill down into multiple paths of the website and 95th percentile.
  • Markers: Drill down into specific logical blocks of the execution timeline.
  • Remote services: Possibility to track external API calls separately from the main stack.
  • Alerting: Possibility to receive alerts as soon as a certain threshold was reached.
  • Get to the errors from the dashboard graphs.
  • Custom-selected Nth percentile.
  • Auto-refresh option for close to live-monitoring.
I like to have it open with the last 60 minutes of data, especially during our deployments to monitor changes in the load of the website infrastructure. The only annoying thing is that I have to constantly refresh it myself to see the change.
I did not. It's too expensive. When it comes to containerized applications, skyrocketing expensive. We're using AppOptics for sampling, basically.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

The best-priced performance APM solution in our industry

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds AppOptics is one of the successful tools used to closely follow our web applications. A tool that helps us see response times and errors of our web applications. It is used by DevOps team in our company in test, staging, and production web applications. It is a service that we use to monitor healthy working environments and provide information by helping in debugging the bug when we encounter an unusual event.
  • SolarWinds AppOptics has an easy to use and fast interface. Thus, you can use time more efficiently.
  • SolarWinds AppOptics has as many details as you want. So you only display deep details when you want.
  • SolarWinds AppOptics already has many plugins. So you can easily connect with your other services.
  • The number of plugins should be increased.
  • The number of warning methods should be increased.
If you have a web application and present it to others using remote servers, all the scenarios you have are eligible to use SolarWinds AppOptics. But there are of course some conditions. For example, to speak for SolarWinds AppOptics APM, the language you use in your web application will affect whether you use the SolarWinds AppOptics APM service.
Cost is a critical issue for most DevOps teams. You have to use your limited budget as efficiently as possible. The application fees of advanced Application Performance Monitoring services at the level offered by SolarWinds AppOptics are quite high and therefore we have not used similar services 24/7 before. Thanks to the low cost offered by SolarWinds AppOptics, we can now monitor our web applications 24/7 without interruption.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics: Must-try application

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds AppOptics in one project. We are providing engineering services to one US-based organization and we have integrated SolarWinds AppOptics in their application for performance monitoring. AppOptics helps us to create monitoring dashboards and configure alerts if some operation crosses the threshold response time to meet SLAs. Our project is based on the healthcare domain so real-time data is very important for this and AppOptics is useful to track database response time, communication time between two services, etc.
  • Provides default dashboards for all your services and we can create custom dashboards as well
  • We can configure alerts on API response times and can configure multiple notification channels
  • It tracks everything including infrastructure, database response, communication between different micro-services
  • Sometimes I have faced issues while creating custom dashboards
  • A few metrics do not provide accurate results
  • Documentation can be improved
SolarWinds AppOptics is a great tool to monitor the health and performance of micro-services. Nowadays, every big organization is using distributed architecture, and application monitoring is an essential part of that. So SolarWinds AppOptics is providing almost every feature which is required to monitor a large distributed system.
We are able to monitor different testing and production environments using SolarWinds AppOptics. It helps us to generate performance load reports as well. The main benefit is that we get alerts immediately if any API is not meeting SLAs. This thing saves a lot of our money. Also, customers are happy when they use application which loads data quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Great tool for application monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds AppOptics is being used to help engineers debug issues within the entire application stack, from the API call all the way down to the actual database. It's a very powerful tool to isolate latency and reliability issues that you can't typically find in logs or metrics, unless you make those very granular.
  • Full application stack trace
  • Measuring latency
  • Providing historical map of calls
  • It's confusing sometimes to dig into a trace, like certain levels don't have much info. AppOptics just says this level occupies 95% of the call time.
  • It would be nice to have AppOptics identify if the root cause of an issue was caused by a dependency, e.g. another service it calls. It would be great to chain them together.
  • Not very intuitive, if you don't know what you're doing or know what to look for.
SolarWinds AppOptics is a great tool if you want to debug latency or go deep into a specific endpoint to investigate the full stack call. However, when looking at the overall health of your service and its dependencies, it won't give you the overview you're looking for. We use SignalFx to provide us with the view of the "forest" and SolarWinds AppOptics to provide us a view of a "tree." It would be great if AppOptics suited both situations, so you didn't have to switch between tools.
We use SolarWinds AppOptics to monitor several services within our company, from large services that handle 50k requests/s to smaller ones that handle much less. It has greatly reduced the time it takes to isolate a production issue and at least point to the application layer that causes the issue. Without AppOptics, we would have to spend more time and resources building out and maintain a custom application level tracing software, or at the very least, rebuilding our existing software to have more detailed logs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics is a Breeze

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the IT department to monitor the performance of our web applications and help track down bottlenecks and inefficiencies.
  • The time frame options help track peak hours and compare impact of improvements.
  • The detailed breakdown of traces requests helps track down the source of slowness in applications.
  • The database queries tracked help find most used tables and help decide where indexing is needed.
  • The exceptions graph on the overview screen can be misleading as not all exceptions are high priority.
  • Could use more customization on the overview screen. Would like to change what graphs are shown for each service.
AppOptics is great for monitoring how your service is performing, and can help with finding where you can speed it up.
This has been helpful for monitoring multiple web applications all within one account. The home screen even allows for quickly determining which service is getting the most traffic or performing fastest.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

AppOptics gives us insight into how our apps *actually* perform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AppOptics is used to help maintain the availability, efficiency and functionality of our public facing web applications and APIs - these are business critical platforms upon which internal customers, clients and suppliers all rely.

AppOptics is an invaluable tool in diagnosing problems at an early stage, and gives our development team deep insight into the context of problems as they arise, as well as providing proactive monitoring of resource usage and error rates across multiple endpoints.
  • Deep insight into the ASP.NET pipeline, allowing drill-down into individual requests.
  • Intuitive dashboards with the ability to slice by time give a good overview of real-world endpoint performance.
  • Ability to drill into individual queries executed during the lifetime of an IIS request provide excellent intelligence for targeted optimization of SQL bottlenecks.
  • Extending visualization into the asp.net processing pipeline would be really helpful - the ability to see which handler/piece of middleware did what, and when would be great.
  • The ability to capture parameters for certain SQL queries - possibly based on a filter.
  • The ability to describe the relationship between requests and users - so being able to see all requests submitted in a particular session (by cookie, http header value, etc) would be most useful.
In our experience, AppOptics is most suited to ASP.NET Applications or APIs running on IIS, using SQL Server as a persistence layer.

AppOptics gives a good visualization of each request, and crucially how that individual request interacted with SQL Server. This enables to us monitor the effectiveness of our in-app caching as well as the impact of cache misses on performance and responsiveness of our apps.

In addition, capturing of exceptions is detailed and intuitive, providing mostly complete stack traces where problems occur. This is invaluable to our development team, who can use the wealth of information provided about a problematic request to in many cases reproduce the issue without having to seek additional information from the customer. This expedites the fact-finding portion of our support activity, leading to more timely fixes being deployed to production.
We use AppOptics to monitor only a handful of our public-facing applications, however given the eminently reasonable licensing model we feel this represents an excellent value proposition even if only taking into account the developer time saved by providing comprehensive information about application performance, issues and availability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

AppOptics is an awesome APM with great cost-to-value ratio

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Monitoring infrastructure in production. We also use it to track AWS usage and its APM capabilities.
  • Whenever there's an exception or slow performance in production we use AppOptics.
  • Drilldown to slow transactions in DB or server-side code.
  • General visibility of usage vs. spending on AWS.
  • Quick view to usage statistics in AWS, instead of going to CloudWatch (for example, SNS messages).
  • Easy to integrate.
  • No need to instrument code.
  • Full visibility.
  • Better python instrumentation.
  • Monitoring AWS lambda.
Great for monitoring infrastructure and APM + DB.
I found AppOptics to be a good balance between cost and value, so given a good ROI we went with it vs. other options (like NewRelic and AppDynamics). So far we're happy with the decision.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

AppOptics has become the cornerstone for discovering latency improvement steps on my team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AppOptics is being used across the whole organization, but the way teams rely on it can vary. On my team we rely on it to understand how requests to our services are performing and to identify bottlenecks, in order to determine an action plan to address any latency issue we might be facing.
  • Easy navigation between services.
  • Traced requests order by endpoint, average response time, http code returns, etc.
  • User-friendly visibility on layered calls done to provide a response to a service request.
  • Zoom in/out functionality when looking at a traced request over time could be easier.
  • Time range filter for requests could be more visible.
  • When looking at a traced request, the details tab has been moved from a previous version and it's not straightforward to find it now.
AppOptics is great to understand how requests to services are performing and to identify bottlenecks.
My team has hundreds of deployables. We monitor all of them and gain deeper analysis of their performance through AppOptics.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

A Great Product for an Affordable Price.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize SolarWinds AppOptics for both infrastructure and application performance monitoring. We mainly use it to see application errors, and locate any issues that cause other than optimal performance in the application. We provide the information gathered from SolarWinds AppOptics to our application support/development/configuration management and database administration teams to take corrective action on what may be causing the errors or other than optimal performance. SolarWinds AppOptics is an affordable solution to monitoring your application's performance.
  • Identifies errors experienced by our end users.
  • Locates application errors.
  • Provides insight into our end users' overall application experience.
  • Allows us to know that our application performance monitoring solutions is in good hands.
  • Not applicable.
  • SolarWinds AppOptics is a solid, affordable product on par with other APMs I've used in the past.
SolarWinds AppOptics provides our Monitoring Team with full visibility into our end users' overall application experience while using our application. Our application is our product provided to our clients, so having the ability to keep a close watch on errors, slow performance, etc. are vital to our company as a whole. It is a great product and quickly identifies areas of need in our application to better assist our technical resources with correcting issues and providing a better product and service to our clients.
Prior to utilizing SolarWinds AppOptics, we utilized another vendor's product that I will not name, but is well known as a top product in the APM world. It was a great product. It was very similar to what we get from SolarWinds AppOptics. Everything we used from that product, we get/use from SolarWinds AppOptics accept one item: the price. We utilize ~26 agents and were paying around 4-5 times as much per agent per month for the other product. This brought a cost savings of around $2,000 per month. That savings has been reapplied to continue to better our organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Fast and simple way to see application performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds AppOptics to gather high-level information on bottlenecks and quickly drill down into problematic requests and identify things I can fix.
  • Aggregate info to show problems
  • Show layer by layer overview of where time is spent
  • Might be related to our setup but correlating info between different apps is not possible.
I love the ease with which SolarWinds AppOptics allows me to get information about our web services.
Using SolarWinds AppOptics, I've been able to track down some strange dependency issues that would have been very hard to spot otherwise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Very Happy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for most of our products. We use it for many things, but to me, the main use is when we do our deployments to monitor for changes in performance. We have also been able to see what part of the applications/stack is slow so that we can further improve things.
  • Shows each layer of application.
  • Code tracing.
  • Easy to visualize where the issues are.
I think it's useful for any and all applications.
We use it everywhere and it has helped us identify bottle necks several times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Use SolarWinds AppOptics to see what you don't.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SolarWinds AppOptics for a while. Its agent is monitoring all of our servers we run in Amazone and in Azure cloud. It is very useful when combining the dashboards and for alerting. The only thing we miss is SMS support for alerts. Also when on the Infrastructure page I notice I could find useful like "merge" function. So I can select a couple of instances and see Host details for those selected.
  • Compact monitoring
  • Tracking of transactions, requests, etc.
  • Its simplicity of usage. Less is more.
  • Its SMS gateway for notification, so we don't need to use a third party.
  • On Infrastructure page, select multiple choices and see Host details for all of them
  • Better organization of metrics
If your application requires detailed monitoring, alerting, and metrics all of kind, SolarWinds AppOptics would be a great fit for your organization. I have been using multiple APM tools but SolarWinds AppOptics is the best one so far.
We are using SolarWinds AppOptics to monitor our servers, our services running on those servers, mostly docker, NGINX, and PHP. It's been super useful when it comes to stack traces, error reporting, and all kinds of request tracking (external, database, errored requests). Also its alerting system is very simple to set up and use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds AppOptics is solving various APM issues for our microservices production environment.
As our infra is very huge so we haven't implemented it in the whole organization. But still, we are using it for most of the critical services. Pinpointing the issues becomes very easy during production downtimes.
  • Alerting
  • Trace debugging
  • Remote calls detection
  • flexibility of configuration
  • Linked graph of microservices can be included
SolarWinds AppOptics is very well suited for all kinds of APM needs like transaction tracing, remote calls, request status codes, stack trace debugging. It is less appropriate for a need like central logging solution.
We have a wide range of microservice environments and SolarWinds AppOptics provides flexibility to have a single APM tool for all kinds of applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

AppOptics - Effective Application Performance Monitoring Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using AppOptics for Application Performance Monitoring and helping to optimize for better performance.
  • Application Performance Monitoring.
  • DB Monitoring.
  • Network Monitoring.
  • API level check.
  • Running application box stats.
  • Consumed memory stats.
Well suited for on-cloud running application and can find out multiple performance monitoring stats.
Able to really monitor our production applications - java based, database, caching, and very helpful in each aspect. Thanks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are having issues with our Cloud. SolarWinds AppOptics is being used by engineering to monitor a few cloud/web servers. It allows us to keep accurate track of the load on our servers.
  • Graphing of server metrics
  • Dashboard creation
  • Plugins for NGINX and MariaDB
  • I can't get some of the charts from the services page into my dashboards.
  • Can't get the chart types from infrastructure page into my dashboards.
When making changes to our servers we can create charts that show both servers for easy comparison.
SolarWinds AppOptics allows us to see if we are getting better or worse.
We currently are monitoring 5 servers in one platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

SolarWinds AppOptics Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Engineering uses SolarWinds AppOptics to monitor performance bottlenecks in JVM applications.
  • API
  • Library
  • Integration
  • Interface
  • Speed
  • Documentation
Out of the box functionality of SolarWinds AppOptics is limited. It's good if you're willing to set up custom monitors in code.
We monitor different components of our running code and get some insight into the performance on a per request basis.
Read this authenticated review

SolarWinds AppOptics Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (26)
8.1
Database monitoring (24)
7.4
Threshold alerts (22)
7.4
Predictive capabilities (10)
5.9
Application performance management console (22)
7.5
Collaboration tools (11)
7.0
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (16)
7.2
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (14)
7.2
Virtualization monitoring (11)
7.6
Server availability and performance monitoring (19)
8.1
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (13)
7.2
IT Asset Discovery (6)
7.0

About SolarWinds AppOptics

SolarWinds® AppOptics™ is presented by the vendor as a SaaS-based simple, powerful and affordable Infrastructure & Application monitoring for custom on-premises, cloud, and hybrid systems.

  • Full-stack visibility – Monitor the health and performance of custom on-premises and highly distributed cloud applications across services, hosts, containers, and platforms down to the code.

  • Reduce MTTR – Monitoring infrastructure and application metrics side-by-side reduces the time it takes to identify what part of the stack is failing, so you can quickly get to the root cause.

  • Auto-instrumented Root Cause – Quickly pinpoint issues; Automatically presents the most likely cause of a performance problem. Takes the guesswork out of troubleshooting.

  • Simple Setup – Up and running in minutes, easy to use and a minimal learning curve for IT professionals.

  • Integration that matters– Cohesive end to end monitoring that enables maximum observability from metrics, to traces, and down to logs.

  • Align your performance goals with business goals – Incorporate custom metrics to combine business metrics side-by-side with system metrics. See and measure the impact infrastructure and application performance has on your business performance.

  • Highly scalable – Cost-effectively scale as your business scales with analytics and trend reporting, providing you with insights into short- and long-term changes to performance and resource utilization.

SolarWinds AppOptics Screenshots

SolarWinds AppOptics Video

SolarWinds AppOptics Downloadables

SolarWinds AppOptics Integrations

SolarWinds AppOptics Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds AppOptics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds AppOptics Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: .Net, Go, Java, PHP, Python, Scala, Node