ScienceLogic SL1

ScienceLogic SL1

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.7 out of 100
Top Rated
ScienceLogic SL1

Overview

Recent Reviews

Review

8 out of 10
March 17, 2022
We use it for Infra monitoring. We have some pros and cons with this tool. Customer expectation is high! They need APM, AIOPS within SL …
Continue reading

All in one AIOps solution

8 out of 10
March 03, 2022
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert …
Continue reading

My view on ScienceLogic SL1

6 out of 10
December 13, 2021
We use EM7 and Integration server from Sciencelogic SL1 and applied it across 100+ customers across different sectors and would continue …
Continue reading

Good product!

7 out of 10
November 30, 2021
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just …
Continue reading

My ScienceLogic Review

10 out of 10
May 19, 2021
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a …
Continue reading

Technical opinion

9 out of 10
May 17, 2021
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of ScienceLogic SL1, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.sciencelogic.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $7.50 per month per node

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Features

  • Supported: Infrastructure Monitoring (Cloud, Container, Server, Storage, Agent-Based, Network, Application, Database, UC/Video, Synthetic)
  • Supported: Closed-Loop Automations (Digital Experience Monitoring, CMDB & Inventory, Incident & Notifications, NetFlow, Configuration and Change Management, Troubleshooting & Remediation
  • Supported: Topology-Driven Event Correlation
  • Supported: Full-Stack Topology Mapping
  • Supported: Business Service Monitoring
  • Supported: Behavioral Correlation (Events, Changes, Anomalies, Topology)
  • Supported: Analytics - ML-Based Anomaly Detection
  • Supported: Incident Automation - Event Forwarding & Email
  • Supported: Dynamic Baselining Analytics
  • Supported: Manage Workflow Health & Endpoints
  • Supported: Dashboards and Reporting
  • Supported: Log Collection
  • Supported: 400+ Pre-Built Monitoring Integrations

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

Application to infrastructure mapping with APM toolsVMWare Docker SwarmAWS Availability Zones and RegionsNative Application Monitoring and MappingMulti-Cloud Business ServicesBusiness Services Impact Dashboard

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

  • Kubernetes
  • Cisco HyperFlex
  • Nimble
  • Hyper-V
  • MySQL
  • Dynatrace
  • New Relic
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google Cloud
  • IBM Cloud
  • Aliyun
  • CloudStack
  • OpenStack
  • etc.
  • Cloud Services – Amazon EKS
  • ECS
  • Fargate; Azure AKS; etc.
  • Containers – Docker
  • etc.
  • Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco
  • VMware
  • etc.
  • Network - Cisco
  • F5
  • Juniper
  • Meraki
  • Riverbed
  • Aruba
  • Avaya
  • Fortinet
  • HP
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • HPE
  • Hitachi
  • Nutanix
  • Pure Storage
  • etc.
  • Hypervisors – VMware
  • Xen
  • KVM
  • etc.
  • Operating Systems - Unix
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Business Applications
  • Databases - Microsoft
  • SAP
  • Office 365
  • MS SQL Server
  • Oracle
  • IBM DB2
  • etc.
  • APM - AppDynamics
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • Pure
  • HP/Nimble
  • etc.
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google
  • IBM
  • Aliyun
  • Openstack
  • etc.
  • Applications -Microsoft
  • SAP
  • etc.
  • Compute -VMWare
  • Microsoft Hyper-V
  • KVM
  • Linux
  • Unix
  • Converged -Nutanix
  • Unified Communications and video - Cisco
  • Polycom
  • Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)0%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

How much does ScienceLogic SL1 cost?

ScienceLogic SL1 starts at $7.5.

What is ScienceLogic SL1's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses ScienceLogic SL1?

The most common users of ScienceLogic SL1 are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 151)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 23, 2022

SL1 - Early Adopter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is used as the primary observability platform to monitor the health of infrastructure and applications in our Corporate Data Centers and Market locations. An integration using SL1 PowerFlow, with ServiceNow has allowed us to automate Incident escalation in a fine-tuned manner, ensuring events get escalated to the correct teams and individuals. This automation has allowed us to minimize NOC staffing requirements, essentially adopting a lights-out posture and only requiring staff to manage/maintain the product. As an early adopter of SL1, the product has played a vital role in our business for years, giving us the confidence we need in observability.
  • ITSM workflow automation and monitoring
  • Seamless Integration with other observability platform tools
  • Provides context between infrastructure, application, and business services relationships
  • The elimination of on-premises collectors
  • Improve out-of-the-box reporting capabilities
  • Allow for more robust dashboards
SL1 is well-suited for a complete out-of-the-box IT infrastructure monitoring and AIOPS platform that functions well for environments of all sizes, including large-scale implementations requiring multi-tenancy. In areas where it is less appropriate, APM, for example, integrations are straightforward and therefore not a problem. The product is easy to use and intuitive. The auto-discovery feature allows you to realize value out of the product in days/weeks, not months.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is used as a strategic monitoring tool for hybrid cloud environments, compute, middleware and database. More recently we have expanded into network device monitoring to provide a holistic monitoring platform for multiple user groups. We have a mix of hosted and SaaS platforms across all geographies. SL1 is deployed in an agentless mode which reduces the administrative overhead associated with legacy tools that were reliant on one or more agents to perform similar functions.
  • VMware vSphere stack monitoring
  • Linux operating system monitoring (ssh)
  • Historical performance data gathering and presentation
  • Consolidation of functionality into a single PowerPack. e.g. Microsoft: Windows Server
  • Search feature for historical events. Currently have to check individual devices.
  • Need the ability to template thresholds on Linux devices based on Organization and filesystem name.
SL1 is perfectly suited to customer environments that have little deviation across monitored devices (e.g. consistent build, standard thresholds). Customization of thresholds can be cumbersome. Lots of customers with particular monitoring requirements have found it hard to accept that SL1 doesn't do it "like other tools". Requirements for more than two thresholds on a single metric have proven challenging. Individual platforms have a maximum device count of ~35K - 40K. Scaling beyond that number involves multiple stacks. ScienceLogic has improved collector performance drastically with concurrent collection methods, requiring less investment in infrastructure. SaaS deployments are very convenient, reducing administrative overhead and responsibility.
March 17, 2022

Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for Infra monitoring. We have some pros and cons with this tool. Customer expectation is high! They need APM, AIOPS within SL when it is on On-prem.
  • Installation of Appliances is simple
  • UI is good
  • It supports many Protocols
  • APM is required
  • Agent should be available for On-Prem solution
  • AIOPS functionalities should be available for On-Prem solution
As I mentioned earlier, it has some good features and fails in a few. We need agent-based methodology when it is on-prem.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is being used in our organization to manage and support the proactive monitoring of Datacenter devices and applications of the National Railway of Belgium. The scope of SL1 is quite wide as our customer's inventory is spread across 3 huge datacenters (2 on-premise and 1 public cloud). We monitor more than 3000+ servers, 2000+ databases, 200+ Network devices, and 300+ applications. In TCS, we have gone beyond the Out-of-Box monitoring and built our own custom DAs and RBAs to support our customers. The best feature about the tool is its auto-discovery mechanism which has helped us to build an advanced CMDB showing the relationship between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices and also with underlying databases. A few business problems which we have across during implementations were 1. A very limited number of reports and that too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have a business and not business hour feature and even does not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance). 2. Every small customization or help required from experts is treated as PS work and PS is very costly. 3. Sciencelogic Support engineers does not support and even does provide any suggestions on issues on customized DA even if the issue is because of the built-in ScienceLogic functions are a lot of internal Dynamic Apps (Like for filesystem, services, processes, availability, etc) where there is no visibility on the logic of how alerts are configured. 4. It is not possible to put only a few metrics (like DB services) in maintenance for a certain period. The entire server has to be put in maintenance mode and due to which even the OS-related alerts get suppressed.
  • Auto-Discovery feature is very good which helps us in building relationships between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices. Also, it helps in building the relationship with MSSQL Databases.
  • Ability to perform bulk discovery and update in ScienceLogic.
  • Flexibility to clone the Dynamic Applications and do custom modifications.
  • Flexibility to create custom RBA's and do several automations.
  • OOB Reports (Availability and Capacity) are not very user-friendly and also do not fetch correct data most of the time or even show blank reports a lot of time. A very limited number of reports and that too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have a business and not business hour feature and even does not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance)
  • Dashboards do not have a lot of widgets and are hence are not able to create complex dashboards. There should be the flexibility of adding an additional column on dashboards through Custom attributes.
  • Not possible to put only a few metrics (like DB services) in maintenance for a certain period. The entire server has to be put in maintenance mode and then even OS alerts get suppressed.
  • The audit logs page does not get loaded and gives "504 Gateway Time-out" most of the time
  • Every small customization is treated as PS work and PS is very costly.
  • The SL1 support team does not support and even does provide suggestions on issues on customized DA even if the issue is because of the built-in ScienceLogic functions. There are a lot of internal Dynamic Apps (Like for filesystem, services, processes, availability, etc) where there is no visibility on the logic of how alerts are configured.
Auto-Discovery feature is very good which helps us in building relationships between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices. Also, it helps in building the relationship with MSSQL Databases. This feature has helped us a lot in building CMDB relationship diagrams. We found SL1 less appropriate when it comes to dashboarding and reporting. Dashboards do not have a lot of widgets and are hence are not able to create complex dashboards. There should be the flexibility of adding additional columns on dashboards through Custom attributes. Out-Of-Box Reports (Availability and Capacity) are not very user-friendly and also do not fetch correct data most of the time or even show blank reports a lot of time. There is a very limited number of reports that are too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have business and nonbusiness hour features and even do not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance).
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an SME in HCL Technologies for the ScienceLogic SL1 monitoring tool and have five ScienceLogic SL1 customers in a shared environment. There was scope to manage the entire 60 customers from HCL Tech, but because the scope is limited and not advanced, many customers opted out for ScienceLogic SL1 as a tool.

Scope of use cases - each PowerPack should be tested properly for alerting. With the help of the application team, the DB alerts should be tested. They should consult with the DB team and ask what alerting is required and how relevant it is with the PowerPack that ScienceLogic SL1 offers, and accordingly, this should be enhanced.
  • Ping monitoring and polling reports are very good. Customer-first looks for this feasibility and how closely it can monitor that is well defined in ScienceLogic SL1.
  • Collectors' connectivity with SL DB is very stable. We hardly see issues of any connectivity failing. Agentless is far better and easy to handle and use than other tools. The best part is plug and play type.
  • CDM monitoring, it really does well and has wise poll reporting.
  • The dashboard is really awesome. We use and showcase to customers their servers as a whole, and for one server, a lot of details can be checked under the performance graph.
  • Bulk Onboarding/Offboarding is so good in ScienceLogic SL1. Search criteria are matchless. ScienceLogic SL1 has such a beautiful, organized field.
  • Suppression alerts, FS is so well defined, easy and quick to use.
  • ScienceLogic SL1 has improved so much in defining license consumption, which shows license consumed against all items.
  • Log monitoring and event monitoring should be defined and should not be enabled with event ids. We have to create a duplicate Dynamic App if different events ids are to be enabled as per application. More visibility and descriptions should be included in the Log and Event id monitoring description.
  • Database monitoring should be enhanced, and more advanced features should be added, such as replication, DB mirroring, DB Sync, Log Shipping, etc. So far, with the Dynamic app, we can't monitor DB status. The same goes with virtual server addition, we don't get DB status alerts which is deadly required. The same goes for all the DB like Oracle, Postgres, MySQL, and others. Numerous features and capabilities should be there. You may take the example of CA UIM, which has more than 75 parameters to enable against DB. ScienceLogic SL1 is lacking badly in this area.
  • UNIX servers cluster monitoring is not that good, we can only monitor cluster nodes' status, but there are more that can be captured as part of features.
  • TOP 10 processes and services should be captured for CPU and Memory. We don't have such things yet that can be enabled or found in a server.
  • HADR, AS400 are majorly asked for by customers but till now it's not available.
  • Application deep level monitoring is very limited in scope, such as HTTP, DNS, AD, and others.
  • ScienceLogic SL1 reports don't work so well. They need to be worked on it for internal troubleshooting purposes.
  • Hardware, Backup, and Storage monitoring are very limited in scope, which should be increased.
  • Traps based monitoring should be encouraged more from ScienceLogic SL1.
  • Monitoring with advanced features of Active Directory, DNS servers, Exchange servers, etc., should be more in scope.
  • The most important thing, PowerPack, which is in ScienceLogic SL1, should be tested well and should be released only with the consent of the Application/DB team.
  • There should be a team who should work on Community PowerPack so that if the customer wants to make it and use it via general availability should be available.
  • Customer support and follow-up have gone down over the past two years as if they don't bother, which has a negative impact. Customer is big or small. SMEs who work ideally send out messages to other organizations about how good a tool is or how bad its support system is.
  • A quarterly training session should be organized, as in real terms, your ScienceLogic SL1 is driven by SMEs who work on your tool, and many of the wrong impressions are sent due to SMEs' ignorance even if the tool is good.
  • I see the big scope of ScienceLogic SL1 as a monitoring tool provided 10% of ScienceLogic SL1 product is improved. The demand for 10% is so much, and it's not good that it's the main reason your 90% good things are sidelined.
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited for all the environments, provided what you have in the ScienceLogic SL1 portal should work with taking today's advanced features in mind. ScienceLogic SL1 has great scope for a shared support environment, but customers are not opting in due to its limitations. ScienceLogic SL1 should focus, and thorough discussions should be organized, with SMEs for more to add as part of advanced features.
So far, it's good as part of my overall experience, except for a couple of use cases. The support team is well knowledgeable, has technical sound, and is efficient. When support escalates to engineering, the issue gets stuck and takes months to resolve.
Easy to access and easy to make anyone understand.
March 11, 2022

Cognizant Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance.
  • On prem Monitoring
  • Cloud monitoring
  • customization option available to explore solutions that are not available out of the box
  • Integration Options
  • Integration Options
  • License flixibility
  • PS cost
  • Frequency to release new cloud service support
It is more appropriate when we plan the entire landscape monitoring from a single tool. It does monitoring and also performs event management like deduplication and correlations. This won't fit if customers looking for low-cost monitoring solution and looking for sole network device monitoring like Routes, Switches, loadbalensers, Firewalls, Security devices, etc...
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert management, and auto incident creation into the ITSM platform. It helps to address ITOPS problems. A couple of use cases server operating system performance, database performance, network devices performance monitoring. Discovery of all IT devices and update the CMDB.
  • Discovery of IT devices and update the CMDB
  • Network device performance monitoring
  • Event correlation of IT Devices
  • SL1 uses remote monitoring technology for server device monitoring, using PowerShell, WMI, and other protocols which are cumbersome to deploy required lots of effort to open the ports and start initial monitoring
  • Remote monitoring technology brings some challenges such as a number of devices to be monitored per collector.
  • Procuring remote monitoring pre requisites are time consuming and error prone
  • Log monitoring & management required significant improvement
  • Data analytics & management required significant improvement
When the requirement of monitoring parameters are limited and the client is looking for remote monitoring kind of tool, then it is one best tool. For deeper monitoring and where the client has limited options to open network ports this product struggles.
Trent Kenelly, DTM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses ScienceLogic EM7 as our primary ticketing platform for our IaaS data centers. We also use ScienceLogic to monitor our events and also our managed services, such as servers, switches, and other network appliances. We also utilize ScienceLogic as our bandwidth billing platform, utilizing 95% billing rates on the greater of ingress and egress of network traffic.
  • Event logging
  • Event escalation
  • Monitoring of applications
  • Collection of data
  • Ticketing platform is being deprecated
  • UI not intuitive for most users
  • SL1 is not complete in functionality
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great monitoring platform for service providers.
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great eventing platform with custom escalation levels.
ScienceLogic EM7 does a good job at the collection of data.
ScienceLogic EM7 allows client based portals and the setting of specific roles based on the client's administrative level.
ScienceLogic EM7 ticketing platform is being deprecated and is not available in the SL1 platform at this time.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EM7 and Integration server from Sciencelogic SL1 and applied it across 100+ customers across different sectors and would continue to expand the deployment with upcoming customers too.
  • Escalation support for EM7 product
  • Flawless handover between support engineers during a P1
  • Online Training
  • Service desk support needs improvement. I would love to get minimal questions from SD agent during a critical P1 support call when [the] customer is referring a case number
  • Support engineer knowledge on IS product needs improvement
  • Delay in Engineering teams support during public holidays and weekend support
  • Percona support and response needs improvement during crisis
November 30, 2021

Good product!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just use ScienceLogic API to get the respective details mentioned above.
  • UI is good.
  • Alerts feature has been beneficial.
  • API makes it easy to pull data for developers.
  • API are not robust since they fail sometimes due to multiple requests.
  • API documentation could be bettered.
  • UI is a little slow and dodgy sometimes.
Specially suited for monitoring and retrieving device related data in various teams, specifically network services teams.
It is an org level visibility.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic for monitoring our Managed Service customers, providing in-depth analysis on a range of hardware and software components in the data center. We also sell, deploy, and configure the application to any of our customers that require a monitoring solution for IT environments. Typically it is deployed across all departments.
  • Powerful monitoring capability, can ingest data from a lot of sources
  • Good multi-tenancy features
  • Extensible - can write your own powerpacks/code snippets
  • Built-in automation features
  • Business Services
  • The interface - it is out of the 1980s. Version 8.14 is current and I believe a new version is coming with a new interface. UPDATE - the new interface is much, much better.
  • Community - not a huge user group like you have with other software. i.e. - very few blogs on features/how-tos etc.
  • Monitoring items in VMware is a bit cumbersome, You need to monitor the vCenter endpoint. It will drag in all components relating to it. If you wish to see metrics for particular machines, you also need to create and manage a discovery for that machine--something as simple as file space usage.
  • Powerpack support. If you use a powerpack that is community-built, getting support for this is tough.
  • Support does not have a chat option, however it is typically good.
I would recommend ScienceLogic SL1 in environments where there is a mix of technologies. For us, that means VMware, Hyper-V, Citrix, IBM Mainframe, and all hardware relating to that (i.e. Servers, SANs, Switching Fabric, Network, etc.). Specifically, where you wish to monitor/build up a service-designed view, it is an excellent tool.
Yes, absolutely. ScienceLogic has good features for discovering items in any environment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 used [...] across [the] organization to manage the infrastructure environment to address monitoring issues, [and] perform automation against manual interventions to resolve issues, [and] ticket creations.
  • Discover the whole environment
  • Getting granular details about the nodes in the environment
  • Dynamic alignment of monitoring applications
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Understanding the inbuilt Maria DB schemas and data structure
  • Details on the Dynamic Applications Snippets and the associated core Python scripts created on the servers
  • Changing any details on the backend [via Database] not reflected in front end [GUI]
  • Single tools for monitoring, event management, notification & ticketing
  • Cost-effective for small & medium-sized companies
  • Easily scalable for large enterprise / based on load
  • Agentless monitoring
Yes. Automating [the] discovery of granular details within the environment brings more details/awareness on the environment.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a ticket in hornbill for the incident.
  • It monitors our devices and reports on the detections we have created.
  • Most of the things I can think of have now been addressed in this new release.
This is well suited for medium to large business and not really needed for small companies.
ScienceLogic was implemented before I started 4 years ago, I don't know what they had before that.
May 17, 2021

Technical opinion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In some cases, it is helping us to generate our report for our customers, i.e. when a customer migration happens.
Also, we create some intelligence about alarming, so the service is better monitored.
  • Accurate monitoring.
  • Monitoring automation.
  • Alarm reporting.
  • Hardware requirements too high.
  • Tracing tool.
  • Professional reporting tool.
As an alarming tool it is really powerful.
As a reporting tool using Layer X needs to improve.
In one screen we can see if there is any issue in the service.
May 17, 2021

Just the beginning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're still in pilot phase to see if we can get the same efficiencies as other organisations have through their deployments.
  • Increased speed and efficiency of onboarding new environments.
  • Contextual troubleshooting with IT and Business Services.
  • Consolidation of toolsets.
  • Requires deep knowledge of the product, time to upskill.
  • Do not assume everything works straight out of box, be prepared to develop code.
  • Business resistance to change and expenditure.
Ideal where an organization has a central point for operations centres (NOC, TOC) etc.
Yes but we're still in early use cases.
May 17, 2021

SciLo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 as our modes of monitoring of our devices within the company. We use multi vendor platform that are enrolled in SciLo. We use this platform to schedule maintenance window when we have activities, change, and other tasks. We also use it to monitor certificates and uptime of the devices.
  • You can integrate automation.
  • Monitoring devices for outages.
  • Scheduling for device maintenance window.
  • Modernized display or GUI.
  • Additional tools for monitoring.
  • Device logging.
When it comes to device monitoring, SciLo is doing a great job. You can monitor the device 24/7, and you can also monitor expired certificates, up down of the device. You can schedule maintenance window to override alerts that can alarm your customer or Network Operations Center personnel. You may call it advance NMS.
We can easily monitor devices and alerts us users if we need to take actions. We can also use this to schedule maintenance windows so it will not alarm or notify other Engineers that a specific device is down. It made monitoring devices easy by use of scripts and automation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScieLo is very useful, especially to us engineers, it makes our life easier and efficient as the automation from monitoring (networks and certificates validity) and integration to Snow ( ticket creation for any alert/error).
  • The automation of monitoring
  • The integration to ticketing tools
  • Can change schedules and automate the maintenance schedule of the device to prevent alerts
  • For now, I can't see any problem with ScienceLogic SL1, however, I think it's good to put an option or settings with the TimeZone, since our office is in AU but we're working in the PH.
ScienceLogic SL1 is really good as you can focus on your BAU, [and] once a change ticket is raised you can simply start your activity from snow, and it will automatically set a maintenance schedule to the device.
So far NO, not yet experienced to modify my level in ScienceLogic SL1.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using SL1 for some years for infrastructure and application capacity monitoring and we've been satisfied with the tool. The SaaS, agentless, open/customized tool brought us the opportunity to monitor our customer devices with power packs (some good, others not so much) and create our own monitoring collections, presentations, and monitors, which was good. The quick data warehouse and report/dashboard capabilities are a plus for the tool as well, for simple purposes they can fulfill what is required.
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Capacity monitoring
  • Cloud capacity monitoring
  • General integration through snippets/api/RBA
  • Development documentation is still required.
  • Out of the box integration with event management tools.
ScienceLogic is very well suitable for overall capacity monitoring, for the operational system, application or cloud and is very nice if quick information intervals are required for analysis (the tool is not a data warehouse). The dashboards and reports are very nice as well, since out of the box, you can have enough views required for a first analysis. The less appropriate scenario is the usage of ScienceLogic as an APM substitute and deep down dashboard/report tool.
The capability of ScienceLogic to deliver out-of-the-box reports and dashboards (according to the maturity of the required/technology powerpack) changed the visibility across the infra, application, and services overall. Now, the customer and service provider, have, without the necessity of spending time developing easy and quick reports and dashboards.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multi-tended customer and internal managed service provider monitoring. Used across the company by technology owners and developers. Addresses inventory and network monitoring system servicing to CDW and its clients.
  • Dynamic Applications: Able to build custom applications which makes us more scalable.
  • CMDB population: Automatic CI population of assets and attributes provides excellent inventory reporting and helps with billing.
  • Dashboards: Excellent ways to build custom views of devices and graphs helps to get a good view of the health of a customer's system.
  • Upgrades: Looking forward to the new Yum deployment.
  • Interface management: I want to be able to disable/not discover certain interfaces. Filters by type, device class, ifDescr, org, etc. would be lovely.
Good UI interface. You can build custom applications to provide a new monitoring feature without relying on the vendor. With regards to functionality, ScienceLogic would be a great fit for any sized organization. Billing would possibly be the only barrier for smaller organizations.
We were able to provide greater visibility to the client using the discovery applications and component build-outs.
Support seems to continue to kick the ticket back with either some sort of weak answer or we go in the back and forth of questions and answers in this sorry of excuse support portal.
I'm overall a happy guy with the product, especially compared to other that I've used.
May 11, 2021

Just a try

Mickey Mehta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using ScienceLogic for one of our accounts as it is a rich platform and it connects so many technologies.
  • Correlation
  • Incident reduction
  • P1 Outage handling
  • Dashboards
  • On your website, please include a doc for the offline upgrade if it is not there, as I didn't find one.
  • ITSM testing with ServiceNow.
  • PerconaCluster.
It is a good, rich platform, and it connects so many technologies in one place.
NA
Andy Roughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Science Logic SL1 as our monitoring and event-based automation tool to help manage our managed service customers networks and infrastructure. We also offer a Monitoring as a Service proposition, where our clients can just purchase a monitoring and automation service only.

ScienceLogic helps solve a number of problems:
  1. Monitoring of status and performance of assets and services.
  2. Displays and views via dashboards and Business Service views of the overall health/risk and performance of key higher-level services.
  3. Event-based automation. ScienceLogic is a great platform to launch automated actions from. It comes with a large number of pre-build infrastructure specific scripts, which are easy to customize (with basic knowledge of Python).
  4. Integration with other IT deliver tools such as ITSM tooling & CMDB.
  5. Auto-generation of network maps that show asset dependency.
ScienceLogic is a great tool to bring together aspects of service operations and lead a customer from a reactive firefighting position towards a more mature operational model. The industry buzzword, AIOps, is a good one and ScienceLogic will start the journey to automating support and operations functions.
  • Status and performance monitoring with great de-duplication of events.
  • Event-based automation.
  • Easy integration with ITSM tools for CMDB, Incident Management and Change Enablement.
  • Dashboards and Business Service views.
  • Network dependency mapping.
  • One of the strengths of ScienceLogic is its investment in the roadmap and development.
  • SL always listen to ideas on how we think we can improve the product.
I have been working with monitoring solutions for 20 years and ScienceLogic is, in my opinion, the best tool. It covers all the functionality you would expect in a monitoring and performance managing tool and does it as well as any other tool and in many cases better than competitive products. On top of that functionality, SL offers a highly configurable automation platform whereby events trigger code snippets to do specified actions.
When applied with the 'correct philosophy' it can deliver a great reduction in effort and efficiency in supporting an IT environment. The SL marketing material makes some bold claims about the efficiency and reduction in MTTR that can be achieved. I agree that these efficiencies can be achieved in the real world when applied looking at the whole IT Support processes.
SL1 has much-improved visibility of and our ability to manage our customer environments.
This has improved as SL1 offers deeper levels of monitoring and also easier management of the platform (Ease of management is important as changes are more likely to get done. If I make an improvement to a monitoring method, I can easily apply that update to all of those monitored devices across multiple customers).
The Business Service views mean that I can easily create views into the monitoring data that are applicable to different levels within an organization. For example, an overview of business services for director level and a lower level performance view of assets for engineer level of employee.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use ScienceLogic across the organization to monitor both our infrastructure and the health endpoints of services, and have found it gives us great visibility of system health. We are currently exploring moving away from competent level dashboarding and moving to dashboarding that will display the business services and show the impact a component failure has on that service as well as any other services dependent or linked to it.

In 2020 we carried out a migration to ScienceLogic’s SaaS platform to remove the requirement of both hosting and managing onsite DBs and this has also opened up new opportunities we are exploring within ScienceLogic.

  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Good level of detail/information captured from the monitoring.
  • Great engagement from account managers, CSM’s and support teams.
  • Reduce the time it takes to fix support requests.

We have a great relationship with ScienceLogic and always find them very helpful and engaging if we are faced with an issue or require assistance with a problem.

We have recently started testing ScienceLogic’s automated restart features which so far have proved [to be] a great feature and fits in with our automation vision.

When moving to ScienceLogic we gained a deeper insight into our infrastructure, its functionality and health alongside providing us with a more in-depth dashboarding tool-set.

We are also hoping with the move to service orientated dashboarding this will provide us with better visibility of service functionality, the impact a service issue has on other services, and also allow us to provide the business with dashboards to be able to view their service health.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining our company website's health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability. We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
  • Deep monitoring across infrastructure components and with 8.12 across application layers
  • Device discovery which builds infrastructure components
  • ServiceNow Integration for CMDB driven device discovery as well as event-to-incident integration and automation
  • Runbook Automation controlling notification as well as leading to remediation capabilities
  • Event richness enabling detection of leading events which occur prior to a failure
  • 12 introduces #multitenancy support which enables Enterprise with many Organizations to share (read-only) properties and performance data across Organizations without compromising credentials with inappropriate access. This is the first release of this feature and we are only now evaluating the well-communicated delivery against our requirements. This has been communicated as only being applicable via the new UI.
  • Monitor thyself. We have found data gappiness issues which stem from incomprehensible / non-actionable system messages. The system is unable to communicate SIGTERM when used as a timeout (implying capacity issues) and SIGTERM when actually used as a fault (implying something non-actionable). The advisory services team is going to help, but this needs to be productized and shipped rather than be made available by customer success manager engagement. Things that SHOULD have results but do not should throw a under-collected event by the type of collection which is under reported. This should have a dynamic part of the event giving specific numbers not bland / generic statements that have to be interpreted. The platform team should immediately recognize the fault because the numbers are relevant. These events should be actionable, either referencing KB articles or some other specific remediation plan.
  • Data collector load v. capacity planning in both a vertical (cpu, memory, disk) and horizontal (more collectors). The data collector specs are very stale. 4x24G is recommended for 1000 devices but customers frequently view that as individual devices, not the DCM trees found during discovery. Those tend to be my expect N (<= 1000) devices + M (which are barely understood records and which are typically treated as zero, when in fact these devices are what blow through the assumed 4x24G capacity spec). Need a horizontal-infra-scaling event as well as a vertical-capacity-limit event to be thrown when more collectors are needed.
  • Actionable events. My end users barely understand the events. Referencing a KB article by URL might help users and admins in remediation. If you already understand the events they are obvious. If you don't, such as timeouts, having an article which helps people identify standard remediation steps will help close outages faster. Most events are contextual. Pointing users at that context will help.
Regardless of the product or solution, all monitoring systems encourage coding. ScienceLogic enables those coding skills to be leveraged across an ever growing list of technologies if one codes inside the Science Logic platform. Coding monitoring solutions outside of the ScienceLogic platform will tend to collect more technical debt and decay faster than it otherwise would if the code is embedded inside the ScienceLogic platform. For large, enterprise use cases, ScienceLogic (alone) is not as appropriate (6-digit volumes). Here, their integration with ServiceNow turns that gap into a benefit.
We forced a common view to be rendered in ScienceLogic so that the vast majority of our 2200 users could see where they were supposed to go based on droplets of our IT culture which we sprinkled across the ScienceLogic legacy user interface. 80% of our customers will use ScienceLogic without really using ScienceLogic. 20% of our customers will deeply use ScienceLogic PowerPacks, etc. Everything has changed, but our core structure is visible throughout. If anything, the new structure is now more inline with our recently updated CMDB (ServiceNow) structure as opposed to our legacy CMDB (EMAN) structure. (These have been multi-year change cycles.) ScienceLogic IT Services are how our IT culture currently renders Host Clusters, Application Clusters and Application endpoints (regardless of lifecycle). We will be working with ScienceLogic on the 8.12 view of Application Management (which as configured won't match our model or requirements). We expect sometime in the 8.13 or 8.15 release cycle that we may have something usable which we will move our Application Monitoring and Service health monitoring onto Business Services and Application Health. For now, we will continue to use IT Services though Host Clusters will slide down into Device Services. It is unclear if we will move Application Clusters will move up to Business Services. We need more discussions to determine how we will interact with Business Services since our IT Management wants Application Monitoring, but we can't consume it because our view of an application isn't supported by ScienceLogic's definition that it is rooted by a process in memory on a given box. (We run many applications through the same nginx / apache process... Exactly which application is up and which is down?)
Our deployment model is vastly different from product expectations.

Our global / internal monitoring foot print is 8 production stacks in dual data centers with 50% collection capacity allocated to each data center with minimal numbers of collection groups.

General Collection is our default collection group.
Special Collection is for monitoring our ASA and other hardware that cannot be polled by a large number of IP addresses, so this collection group is usually 2 collectors).

Because most of our stacks are in different physical data centers, we cannot use the provided HA solution. We have to use the DR solution (DRBD + CNAMEs).

We routinely test power in our data centers (yearly).

Because we have to use DR, we have a hand-touch to flip nodes and change the DNS CNAME half of the times when there is an outage (by design). When the outage is planned, we do this ahead of the outage so that we don't care that the Secondary has dropped away from the Primary.

Hopefully, we'll be able to find a way to meet our constraints and improve our resiliency and reduce our hand-touch in future releases. For now, this works for us and our complexity. (I hear that the HA option is sweet. I just can't consume that.)
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
We are working through the reproducibility cost-of-entry issues. There is room for improvement, but I also clearly want to commend the support team for their responsiveness and remediations when our stacks have significant problems.
The core functions are there. The complexity is due to the complexity of the space. The score is based on comfort (I no longer notice the legacy UI) and the promise that I see in the 8.12 Unified UI (a vast improvement). It is also based on the fact that with 8.12, you can now do everything in the new UI but you still have the legacy UI as a fallback (which should now be unnecessary for new installations).
Yes
I stepped in to take over the platform upgrades (8 stacks of 2 baremetals in dual data centers). We have a huge deployment. Your times will be far smaller.
Previously, the two minor upgrades seemed to take a long time and seemed to have lots of problems.

At our 8.5.1.2 to 8.9.0 upgrade, we quantified for ScienceLogic the number of pain points required to upgrade and regain a measure of stability.
We suggested that use of RPM under the hood would ease their upgrade problems.
These were painful at 8-10 hour days per stack with a fair amount of cascading problems after the upgrade.

We worked with ScienceLogic to prepare for the 8.12 upgrade and had them verify our upgrade procedures.

At our 8.9.0 to 8.12.0.1 upgrade, we still had problems, but the overall stress of 8-10 hour days was replaced by a leisurely 4-6 hour days where one could take an hour out for lunch away from the desk.

Our upgrade process is now:
1. Install and upgrade on a vagrant - write the procedure.
2. Upgrade our non-prod environments.
3. Upgrade our prod environments.
4. Consult with ScienceLogic on upgrade challenges when complete.

March 19, 2021

SL1 - review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as the AIOps platform to do the proactive monitoring. In addition to that, we are also tied into our ServiceNow. It is used by the department and expanding to BU. The main focus of the ScienceLogic is to provide monitoring in a relationship, this gives the team the opportunity to quantify a lot of gaps that we had before.
  • Flexible
  • Expandable
  • Service provider level
  • Very detailed
  • Complicated
  • Lack of support from SL1
  • Support sucks
  • PS team sucks
  • No SLa on support, it’s a joke
ScienceLogic does not have a direct product with NetFlow. It requires a lot of development to meet various use cases that are part of the ServiceNow. In addition to that, SL1 does not support the Dynamic APPS that they have created on the GOLD level package which requires lots of attention from the customer to modify and maintain. Flexibility comes with the cost of complexity.
Yes we have changed due to a unified view of the data. This is now the big data for us. We are still under deployment at this moment as we are very new in the game within Canada. At this point, I cannot tell you if that is the case, but we do see some progress on it already.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using ScienceLogic for the past 2 years now and have seen significant improvement in the tool. It is a highly flexible tool and works efficiently for monitoring the entire IT infrastructure from hardware to software to cloud, application and synthetic monitoring. The tools has open snippet codes, which gives you the flexibility to adapt to any type of environment.
  • Server monitoring
  • Network monitoring
  • Application URL monitoring
  • Database monitoring
  • Dashboard customization process needs to be improved
  • Reporting part requires improvement
  • Agent-based monitoring needs to be improved
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited where customers are ready to go with out-of-the-box features and for a customer looking for lots of customizations and with highly complex environment, it can be more challenging for ScienceLogic SL1 to meet the customer's expectations and their requirements. However, ScienceLogic SL1 can be used with a bit of automation effort.
i am working as tools consultant with more than 8 years of experience in the industry and has worked on many infra monitoring tools such as UIM, spectrum, solarwinds and now sciencelogic as well. starting with support to teh implementation teams, i am now being part of COE team wherein we provide recommendations to our new customers.
the Support dont have any SLA defined. more over for some actual high critical issues, it take them days to provide 1st response and even with the 1st response, it is never any solution but just another bunch of queries. whatever the criticality, support don't call you for troubleshooting and try to reply with mail trails and you have to seek and ask for webex sessions quite a lot times to get one. though engineer are polite but responce time is very poor.