ScienceLogic SL1 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
215 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 133)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

In a world of shiny objects and hip new projects, ScienceLogic is a blast from the past.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to monitor servers, network, and application. It is mainly used by IT only. Application monitoring proved to be difficult, so most of that has been written in-house or leverages other monitoring tools and events are sent to ScienceLogic.
  • The platform has been relatively stable. As far as I know no outages outside of upgrades.
  • The platform has good out of the box support for common enterprise platforms like VMWare and Pure Storage.
  • It provides a nice event viewer for a single page displaying all events happening in your environment.
  • The point in time nature of the data points can be misleading. The data would be more valuable in some cases if the 5 minute polling interval was an average value of the previous 5 minutes, not point in time when the collection happens.
  • Container and Kubernetes monitoring is poor. Granted we are a few months behind of upgrades, so haven't been able to try out the latest versions.
  • Snippet development within the platform is not ideal. There really needs to be a way to source snippets from Git repositories, so code can be versioned and tested outside of the platform.
  • Testing snippets outside of the platform can be challenging. We would really like to have some mock test framework we could pull into our testing suite so unit testing complex snippets is easier.
This product may be well suited for a telco or large company where they simply use exiting power packs. Developing your own power packs for custom application monitoring is not an enjoyable experience.
No change/No improvement
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

ScienceLogic SL1 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ScienceLogic SL1 to perform infrastructure monitoring for my customer. It addresses the following business problems: (1) We use separated monitoring tool in server & network environment before and use different method to monitor. We choose to monitor server & network devices in one tool. (2) Auto-scanning for inventory is what we like to use.
  • Auto-scanning for inventory registration
  • Write your own powerpack and can use in all similar environments
  • No agent installation required to perform monitoring
  • Need Python skill
  • Remote connection method for monitoring may be blocked by security compliance control
  • Each server or monitoring target will require credentials stored in SL1. If different devices use different credentials, they may cause trouble.
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited for the more standard monitoring environment. SL1 will be well suited due to being able to write once and apply to many. This can save us much implementation time.
It's less appropriate for the more complicated and less standard (customized) environment, each monitoring target will require different customized environment. It will need to customize in SL1 and cost us lots of monitoring implementation schedule.
We used a traditional monitoring tool like Nagios before. After using ScienceLogic SL1,
(1) the agentless function is different from the traditional one and supports rapid deployment with the standard platform.
(2) Event handling function is different from traditional tool and can prevent duplicate alert and prevent mass tickets (after integrating with ITSM tool for auto-ticketing)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

ScienceLogic SL1 Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using ScienceLogic for the past 2 years now and have seen significant improvement in the tool. It is a highly flexible tool and works efficiently for monitoring the entire IT infrastructure from hardware to software to cloud, application and synthetic monitoring. The tools has open snippet codes, which gives you the flexibility to adapt to any type of environment.
  • Server monitoring
  • Network monitoring
  • Application URL monitoring
  • Database monitoring
  • Dashboard customization process needs to be improved
  • Reporting part requires improvement
  • Agent-based monitoring needs to be improved
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited where customers are ready to go with out-of-the-box features and for a customer looking for lots of customizations and with highly complex environment, it can be more challenging for ScienceLogic SL1 to meet the customer's expectations and their requirements. However, ScienceLogic SL1 can be used with a bit of automation effort.
i am working as tools consultant with more than 8 years of experience in the industry and has worked on many infra monitoring tools such as UIM, spectrum, solarwinds and now sciencelogic as well. starting with support to teh implementation teams, i am now being part of COE team wherein we provide recommendations to our new customers.
the Support dont have any SLA defined. more over for some actual high critical issues, it take them days to provide 1st response and even with the 1st response, it is never any solution but just another bunch of queries. whatever the criticality, support don't call you for troubleshooting and try to reply with mail trails and you have to seek and ask for webex sessions quite a lot times to get one. though engineer are polite but responce time is very poor.
Read this authenticated review
Rob Duram | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

SL1 Shines

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP providing monitoring and analytics services to audio/video and UC customers. We use SL1 to monitor customers' audio / video integrated rooms and UC endpoint-enabled rooms including Poly, Cisco and LifeSize devices. We have a 24/7 customer support operation centered around receiving customer device events from SL1, auto-generating tickets into our ITSM platform and providing real-time analytics and trending report analysis through SL1 collected data. This data and analytics help customers make business decision surrounding the use and optimal deployment of their conferencing and enriched media services to their internal teams.
  • Automation engine - easy to take scripted action on specific device events.
  • Automation action open source - the platform allows you to custom build snippet actions with Python to remediate any unhealthy event detected on devices.
  • Manager of managers - the platform has several ways of receiving inbound alerts and alarms not only from directly monitored devices but from 3rd-party solutions in the form of traps, emails and REST API connections.
  • Built-in Reporting - the reporting engine that comes with the platform is woefully inadequate to perform most of any report request that is not a very simple and basic output of data.
  • Continuous Integration/Continuous Deployment support - the platform is bound by Power-Packs for deployment of monitoring solutions for specific device types. These are great when first starting out using the platform as they allow you to on-board several types of device support, but when you mature and start building your own actions and monitoring solutions, they are cumbersome to work with.
  • Current Platform Architecture - the main CDB design requires lots of memory and CPU to handle the load of all the threaded processing of even a few thousand monitored devices. To scale up to several thousand or tens of thousands if devices becomes a pricing hurdle. Also, in a cloud deployment strategy, this processing power comes at a hefty price for cloud resources, not including the pricey SL1 license costs as well.
  • Custom development support - when you start developing your own snippet actions for monitoring custom devices or solutions, ScienceLogic only provides a pay-for Professional Services resource to assist you in even the smallest of development questions. The product customer support desk will not spend time discussing development solutions and providing development support. This has been an issue for SL from the beginning and the company needs to put together a development support arm.
Great for enterprise deployments where there is a single standard of devices and monitoring practices in place. Managed Service Providers have a harder time deploying the solution across multiple customers due to constantly changing customer requirements, device types and monitoring and security requirements and scenarios.
Being a Managed Service Provider, we have greatly increased our visibility into customer networks and devices using SL1. It provides a solution that allows us to not only be alerted to customer events and issues, but through the single pain of glass design and multi-tenancy of the application, we can safely and securely offer customers visibility to the dashboard to see their events and our team responses as well.
Read Rob Duram's full review
John &quot;Frotz&quot; Fa'atuai | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

ScienceLogic - Enterprise Considerations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining cisco.com health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability.

We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
  • Deep monitoring across infrastructure components and with 8.12 across application layers
  • Device discovery which builds infrastructure components
  • ServiceNow Integration for CMDB driven device discovery as well as event-to-incident integration and automation
  • Runbook Automation controlling notification as well as leading to remediation capabilities
  • Event richness enabling detection of leading events which occur prior to a failure
  • 12 introduces #multitenancy support which enables Enterprise with many Organizations to share (read-only) properties and performance data across Organizations without compromising credentials with inappropriate access. This is the first release of this feature and we are only now evaluating the well-communicated delivery against our requirements. This has been communicated as only being applicable via the new UI.
  • Monitor thyself. We have found data gappiness issues which stem from incomprehensible / non-actionable system messages. The system is unable to communicate SIGTERM when used as a timeout (implying capacity issues) and SIGTERM when actually used as a fault (implying something non-actionable). The advisory services team is going to help, but this needs to be productized and shipped rather than be made available by customer success manager engagement. Things that SHOULD have results but do not should throw a under-collected event by the type of collection which is under reported. This should have a dynamic part of the event giving specific numbers not bland / generic statements that have to be interpreted. The platform team should immediately recognize the fault because the numbers are relevant. These events should be actionable, either referencing KB articles or some other specific remediation plan.
  • Data collector load v. capacity planning in both a vertical (cpu, memory, disk) and horizontal (more collectors). The data collector specs are very stale. 4x24G is recommended for 1000 devices but customers frequently view that as individual devices, not the DCM trees found during discovery. Those tend to be my expect N (<= 1000) devices + M (which are barely understood records and which are typically treated as zero, when in fact these devices are what blow through the assumed 4x24G capacity spec). Need a horizontal-infra-scaling event as well as a vertical-capacity-limit event to be thrown when more collectors are needed.
  • Actionable events. My end users barely understand the events. Referencing a KB article by URL might help users and admins in remediation. If you already understand the events they are obvious. If you don't, such as timeouts, having an article which helps people identify standard remediation steps will help close outages faster. Most events are contextual. Pointing users at that context will help.
Regardless of the product or solution, all monitoring systems encourage coding. ScienceLogic enables those coding skills to be leveraged across an ever growing list of technologies if one codes inside the Science Logic platform. Coding monitoring solutions outside of the ScienceLogic platform will tend to collect more technical debt and decay faster than it otherwise would if the code is embedded inside the ScienceLogic platform. For large, enterprise use cases, ScienceLogic (alone) is not as appropriate (6-digit volumes). Here, their integration with ServiceNow turns that gap into a benefit.
As Cisco IT, we forced a common view to be rendered in ScienceLogic so that the vast majority of our 2200 users could see where they were supposed to go based on droplets of Cisco IT culture which we sprinkled across the ScienceLogic legacy user interface.

80% of our customers will use ScienceLogic without really using ScienceLogic.
20% of our customers will deeply use ScienceLogic PowerPacks, etc.

Everything has changed, but our core structure is visible throughout. If anything, the new structure is now more inline with our recently updated CMDB (ServiceNow) structure as opposed to our legacy CMDB (EMAN) structure. (These have been multi-year change cycles.)

ScienceLogic IT Services are how Cisco IT currently renders Host Clusters, Application Clusters and Application endpoints (regardless of lifecycle).

Cisco IT will be working with ScienceLogic on the 8.12 view of Application Management (which as configured won't match the Cisco IT model or requirements). We expect sometime in the 8.13 or 8.15 release cycle that we may have something usable which we will move our Application Monitoring and Service health monitoring onto Business Services and Application Health. For now, we will continue to use IT Services though Host Clusters will slide down into Device Services. It is unclear if we will move Application Clusters will move up to Business Services. We need more discussions to determine how Cisco IT will interact with Business Services since Cisco IT Management wants Application Monitoring, but Cisco IT can't consume it because our view of an application isn't supported by ScienceLogic's definition that it is rooted by a process in memory on a given box. (We run many applications through the same nginx / apache process... Exactly which application is up and which is down?)
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
We are working through the reproducibility cost-of-entry issues.
There is room for improvement, but I also clearly want to commend the support team for their responsiveness and remediations when our stacks have significant problems.
Yes - I stepped in to take over the platform upgrades (8 stacks of 2 baremetals in dual data centers). We have a huge deployment. Your times will be far smaller.
Previously, the two minor upgrades seemed to take a long time and seemed to have lots of problems.

At our 8.5.1.2 to 8.9.0 upgrade, we quantified for ScienceLogic the number of pain points required to upgrade and regain a measure of stability.
We suggested that use of RPM under the hood would ease their upgrade problems.
These were painful at 8-10 hour days per stack with a fair amount of cascading problems after the upgrade.

We worked with ScienceLogic to prepare for the 8.12 upgrade and had them verify our upgrade procedures.

At our 8.9.0 to 8.12.0.1 upgrade, we still had problems, but the overall stress of 8-10 hour days was replaced by a leisurely 4-6 hour days where one could take an hour out for lunch away from the desk.

Our upgrade process is now:
1. Install and upgrade on a vagrant - write the procedure.
2. Upgrade our non-prod environments.
3. Upgrade our prod environments.
4. Consult with ScienceLogic on upgrade challenges when complete.

Read John "Frotz" Fa'atuai's full review
Scott Landrum | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

Future-proof IT operations platform that is always looking forward.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ScienceLogic SL1 in a multi-tenant environment with our central database in the AWS Gov Cloud. The benefits of the ScienceLogic SL1 platform for us and our customers is the ability to provide access to our customers and their technical staff to use beyond just a monitoring solution but as an operations management platform as well providing insights into the operating environment.
  • The ability to mix collection methods makes ScienceLogic SL1 particularly flexible.
  • Built-in device-specific dashboards provide a one-stop place to see everything associated with a monitored device. It's good to see the new UI has continued this with the device investigator.
  • API access to pull from or push to the SL1 platform is a powerful aspect of the integration capabilities of ScienceLogic SL1.
  • Easily adding new data points makes it easy to expand the scope of the collected data and the importance of the ScienceLogic SL1 platform in the enterprise.
  • Reporting: The reporting mechanism is too complex for the average user. An easier method to query the underlying data would be very beneficial.
  • UI inconsistencies. The new UI appears to resolve that.
  • Documentation: while there is a vast amount of documentation, examples that are applicable to the real world would go a long way towards the adoption of more features of the platform.
Outside of the reporting complexities, I don't have any areas that I would say are less appropriate for ScienceLogic SL1. I think that enhancing the ticketing mechanism to a more robust ITSM standard. As is now, the adoption of an enterprise-scale will be hard to do. I think it's close. Most users would use an integrated tool rather than an external tool such as ServiceNow.
Yes. The ability to bring in multiple components of the IT or business service provides a holistic view of what's actually happening. Based on that, we can quickly get to the root of many problems that may be occurring in the environment. We are now beginning to look at the components of applications that can include Server/OS, Network, processes running, and other points of collection. That is a powerful aspect of the platform that will be extremely beneficial going forward.
Read Scott Landrum's full review
Brian Vinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2020

Fantastic Modular Monitoring Solution with Great Enterprise Level Support

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is being used as a monitoring tool for our managed services and managed hosting customers. It's being used mainly to monitor things such as network equipment, servers, and storage. We have a team of engineers that help to manage ScienceLogic SL1 but it's used across multiple departments in our organization. Our NOC engineers and account managers have varying levels of access to the tool depending on their job function. We have the alerting feature of ScienceLogic SL1 integrated into ServiceNow, which we use for our CMDB and ticketing purposes.
  • Modularization; ability to add monitoring to new technologies via downloadable "power packs"
  • Customization and granularity of alerting
  • Big potential for automating processes for those with developer-like knowledge
  • Reports are confusing and crafting new ones is very tedious
  • Some basic functionality lacking in alerting (ex: cannot keep a dynamic list if one item is removed from it).
  • Web console and menus can be overwhelming for those without training.
ScienceLogic SL1 is a great solution if you're interested in a solution like Nagios that has a lot of features out of the box but is constantly being improved upon with additional technologies being supported on an ongoing basis. You get the support of an enterprise company that usually exceeds that of an open source solution. However, due to the cost of the tool, smaller/less complex environments might be better suited to an open source tool.
Our NOC now has much better visibility into the critical issues across our organization. We work hand in hand with the NOC to ensure only the important event bubble up to the top and show up on the wall. ScienceLogic SL1 does a fairly good job of allowing customized suppressions of events deemed unimportant by the NOC or one of our customers.
Read Brian Vinson's full review
Raphael Eyum | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Great Monitoring Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is used by the whole organization. It's used to monitor both internal devices like core network devices, servers, and customer devices such as virtual firewalls. Performance and availability are measured regularly and reduce outages due to the alerts that are being created before any outage.
  • SL1 can be used to monitor any kind of devices both physical and virtual including cloud systems.
  • SL1 gives you the ability to automate tasks using simple pre-define templates.
  • SL1 uses AIOPS, which is one of the best practices for this modern times for any tool.
  • Better user interface.
  • API integration with other tools.
  • Message collector for syslog should be incorporated, not an option.
SL1 is a great tool for device monitoring and can be used to monitor almost any device one can think of.
Read Raphael Eyum's full review
Aakanksha Narang | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

Single Solution Platform for IT

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is using ScienceLogic as an aIops monitoring platform for our customers. Currently, it's being used by a department. It is addressing the problem of a management and monitoring solution for customer's requirements, with actionable insights to resolve the problems.
  • Real time discover
  • Analytics/machine learning
  • Data lake
  • Real-time context
  • AIOps
  • Derive relationships
  • Applications, infrastructure, cloud, and IoT
  • IT operations
  • Refine data
  • Real-time context
  • Distributed architecture
  • Network
Well suited for event management, monitoring, automation and discovery. A good tool for cloud and application monitoring. Well suited for hybrid architecture.
Currently, we are using one tool for event monitoring, another one for event management, and yet another one as an ITSM solution. We need to integrate them. ScienceLogic is an all-in-one solution when added to an AI/ML-driven solution.
Read Aakanksha Narang's full review
David Grindstaff | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

ScienceLogic SL1 - THE monitoring tool going forwards!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is being used across the entire organization. Throughout our implementation we were able to work with both Professional Services as well as support to work through some minor issues. I have always felt that working with our vendors as a partner is more beneficial for all parties. We are able to get access to more enginering resources which in turn help to move the product into a more beneficial direction for both us as a customer as well as a product for ScienceLogic.
  • There is no other platform on the market that offers the flexibility as ScienceLogic.
  • If you have a clear vision of where your organization wants to go, ScienceLogic gives you the platform and tools to make that happen.
  • The rich feature set out of the box is excellent, and the customizations available through powerpacks and snippet data collection is extremely powerful.
  • The lack of clear communication on upcoming features and additions to the product can be a little confusing at times, but they are working to improve this.
  • The UI is a bit rough, however this is being addressed in an upcoming release.
Know what you are looking to achieve organizationally. This platform can take you many places so make sure you know where you want to go. Start small and simple. You can always expand into the more complex areas once you better understand the underpinnings of your business.
With other monitoring products, it has to be used with a client to view the current status of the infrastructure and not everyone could use it. With ScienceLogic SL1 everybody can access our monitoring portal via browser and customize all the needed views, reports and dashboards to their specific needs.
Read David Grindstaff's full review
Andy Winters | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

SCILO is the COOLLIE O

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole Org. We use it to monitor our keys systems and our customer's systems. Providing performance data and event data.
  • Eventing
  • Reporting
  • Dashboards
  • Need more PowerPacks for large vendors.
  • Can take some time to get PowerPacks updated.
  • Better application monitoring.
ScienceLogic provides outstanding service. They truly care about partnerships with their customers. SL1 provides us a full realtime view of our environment and helps us to proactively identify issues before they can become an outage.
We are in the process of deployment of business services. However, I am excited to see how this will change the way we view monitoring and SLAs.
Read Andy Winters's full review
Robert Gruener | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

A very flexible platform to cover many different requirements

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple deployments of ScienceLogic SL1 within Telstra are used to monitor many thousands of internal and customer based devices and services and alert different assurance and support teams of issues.
  • Robust platform able to be easily upgraded
  • Great support
  • Not locked into vendor monitoring solutions - you can create your own
  • Able to scale up to many thousands of devices
  • The remote monitoring of devices using distributed collectors
  • Better guides are needed on how to implement various features, particularly writing code snippets
  • It takes a lot of work to bring a new system up to speed and better out of box functionality is needed.
  • Release notes can be limited and often do not describe new features
We have found ScienceLogic SL1 well suited to both MSP and Enterprise monitoring at scale and where a high degree of integration with other systems or customization of monitoring approaches is required. It might, however, be overkill for smaller enterprises where the requirements are more straightforward.
We have been able to build many business service definitions to represent multiple infrastructure and application elements and represent these to stakeholders.
Read Robert Gruener's full review
Derik Carswell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

A decade with ScienceLogic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is being used as the enterprise monitoring, reporting, and alerting tool for several of our customers. It is integrated with Service Now for incident and CMDB synchronization to quickly automate scheduled outages, full systems life cycle including commissioning and decommissioning automation, and helpdesk integration. It is also used to monitor Cloud resources, and tie back into the billing system via its API capabilities.
  • Easy dashboards
  • Highly flexible monitoring
  • Extensible architecture
  • Documentation completeness and accuracy
  • QA of new features
  • Pricing
As an enterprise monitoring and alerting tool, ScienceLogic SL1 is an all-in-one solution that can be extended for any need in the company. It is extremely extensible as long as you have trained developer staff who know SL1, Python, and SQL, but is still very usable out of the box. Like most modern IT companies they want to move to a subscription model that needs to be evaluated to verify it is the best model for your organization.
If implemented holistically, e.g. if it has an IP it's in SL1. The tool provides unprecedented visibility into every level of the OSI Model. The true challenge becomes working with SMEs for each device or application to determine what KPI they want to monitor and alert on.
Read Derik Carswell's full review
Nicolai Sally | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

SL1 for the world

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a provider of managed services SL1 is our preferred choice and has been our centralized monitoring platform for several years. We adopted SL1 both for our own Datacenters and for our Customers when delivering managed services, cloud, data center, storage, network.
  • Short time to market, quick intuitive deployment and standard based on standard powerpacks and consolidation of monitoring parameters.
  • Ease of use and comprehensive presentation of monitoring data in standard or customized dashboards.
  • Integration with ServiceNow (this architecture and features could well be enhanced).
  • Integration with ITSM, ServiceNow in particular, reference architecture, best practice, user group.
  • Interoperability with Azure - how to apply SL1 monitoring on Azure.
  • Interoperability with Cisco UC - how to apply SL1 monitoring on Cisco UC.
As a full stack provider of managed services, SL1 is the obvious choice when building solutions and serving large scale public and enterprise Customers, several of which are responsible for critical societal services.
I believe visibility and transparency have improved considerably. Also and more importantly than the question perhaps seems to indicate: SL1 has been a great platform for actually improving monitoring capabilities, say from two dimensional dead or alive monitoring towards scenario/service based monitoring thus improving quality of managed services and business continuity and laying the ground for DevOps and CSI work.
Read Nicolai Sally's full review
silvia morini | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Feedback from SL migration over ITM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL is being used as the monitoring tool for some of the accounts we support. We are exchanging Tivoli tool to SL tool for device monitoring.
  • Helpful dashboards.
  • Agent-less - easy to implement.
  • Easy to add collectors or increase the number of device monitored.
  • Good support.
  • Customization on monitoring needs.
  • Facilitate the credentials process.
It is very good for cloud environment and very adaptable to customer's needs.
I was the project manager running the deployment of the tool across one of our accounts, so I received the feedback from supporting teams, and even though they are still in the learning curve, they are happy with results and willing to take advantage of the tool.
Read silvia morini's full review
Sahaj Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

So far so good

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are currently using SL1 for the Managed Service business.
  • Power packs
  • User Friendly
  • Vendor relationship
  • Dynamic applications
  • BGP monitoring
  • Windows monitoring as a whole (Asynchronous collections)
Deployment makes it easier for us. Our industry requires constant movement with adds and removes. ScienceLogic SL1, compared to previous products, makes it easier. Deployment is less appropriate in a large Windows environment.
ScienceLogic SL1 not only provides visibility internally but also helps customers understand what their environment looks like today and helps them evaluate for future demands/requirements that the business will need--to start thinking in a proactive way rather than reactive.
Read Sahaj Patel's full review
Mickey Mehta | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Just a try

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using ScienceLogic for one of our accounts as it is a rich platform and it connects so many technologies.
  • Correlation
  • Incident reduction
  • P1 Outage handling
  • Dashboards
  • On your website, please include a doc for the offline upgrade if it is not there, as I didn't find one.
  • ITSM testing with ServiceNow.
  • PerconaCluster.
It is a good, rich platform, and it connects so many technologies in one place.
Read Mickey Mehta's full review
Mark Cramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

ScienceLogic SL1 Review from a Solution Architect

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 to monitor devices nationwide and to alert on outages. In addition, we monitor the server health to determine if additional resources are needed and if failure has occurred.
  • Flexibility in how you can code your specific monitoring needs
  • Graphql
  • AIOPs
  • Patching and support
  • Fixing built-in power packs
  • Making the system more efficient--collectors can't handle 1000 devices without issues
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited for monitoring and displaying solution health.
Access to devices across the nation
Read Mark Cramer's full review
Daryl Egan | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

ScienceLogic SL1 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ScienceLogic SL1 to monitor our whole network infrastructure across the world. It is used by multiple departments so that we have a single monitoring solution.
  • Dynamic Applications are a huge plus. This allows for flexibility to track custom items.
  • Reporting is somewhat lacking on some data rollup functions.
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited for performing latency checks across MLPS links and alerting when necessary. The ability to add python-driven dynamic applications gives us the flexibility to track these things and be able to give our customers the best network possible.
Read Daryl Egan's full review
Charles Wood | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

10 Years through thick and thin.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic across our organization for monitoring and asset management. As an MSP, ScienceLogic gives us the insight needed to ensure a quick response to issues arising on critical infrastructure that would affect us internally as well as our customers.
  • ScienceLogic is generally quick to respond to issues we find.
  • ScienceLogic provides very detailed monitoring solutions for the major product vendors.
  • QA does not test the product to the scale that some customers may use it leading to potentially revenue impacting outages.
  • Documentation around some of the power-packs released for public consumption.
  • Certain things have been broken in the existing UI and have gone overlooked while developing the "new" UI.
ScienceLogic is well suited as a monitoring platform. Asset management is built-in but could use some improvement.
ScienceLogic has given us very detailed visibility across our infrastructure.
Read Charles Wood's full review
sahaj patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

Initial thoughts on ScienceLogic SL1

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ScienceLogic SL1 for our managed services business. It is used to manage and monitor all internal infrastructure as well. As of yet, we haven't addressed any milestones from our previous monitoring tool. COGS are a first-hand business problem that it has addressed.
  • User friendly
  • SNMP monitoring
  • Powerpacks
  • Dynamic applications features
  • BGP monitoring
  • Improve Windows monitoring
Scalability is easy and ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited in the managed services industry.
Not yet. This is too early for us to look into this particular topic. ScienceLogic SL1 was deployed in Dec 2019. Currently, we are going through a lot of fixes and functionality that we need to incorporate/enable/change so we adhere to SLAs.

We see it has significant value to the question here, however, we have not had time to quantify and evaluate.
Read sahaj patel's full review
Pavan Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Better monitoring with in Budget

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ScienceLogic SL1 for infra and network monitoring for one of our clients. It's been enabled for all IT environments of the client organization. It helped the client to forward alerts to SNOW and getting alerted to the minor and critical issues.
  • Easy integration with SNOW
  • Multi protocol / services monitoring
  • Multiple power packs for different vendor devices
  • Out-of-box reports are not useful; need paid support for any modification.
  • Normal incident takes more time to resolve from SL1 support.
  • Bugs left unaddressed
ScienceLogic SL1 is the best choice for better monitoring on a budget.
Previously my client didn't have any monitoring in place. ScienceLogic SL1 helped in quick setup and integration with Servicenow. Multiple run-book actions helped us create multiple alerts with different types of alerting sources. It offers an easy way to suppress low-level alerts or events. It helps us to monitor multiple services in infra like AD, DNS, and hyper-v, etc.
Read Pavan Kumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

Tremendous one stop AIOps solution if you need something that works and is not highly specialized in any particular area.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are deploying the SL1 for our customers. This product is typically used by organizations driven by the DevOps model. IT allows them to harness the elements of AI into the infrastructure monitoring and IT Service Management. Surprsiningly, it also has a simple ticketing system built-in. However, in most cases, the customers decide to integrate with their existing ticketing systems. While I have seen IT using it, the business hardly ever gets more than a dashboard to see which services are up.
  • Quick Infrastructure discovery.
  • Correlation of the discovered events to the services they affect.
  • Automated baselining.
  • Short deployment time.
  • Low price when compared to the competitors.
  • Integration with other systems (ticketing, change, etc.).
  • Compliance with the industry standards (ITIL).
  • Ticketing system could be improved.
  • User interface can be confusing to the new users.
An answer as to whether this is the right system for you greatly depends on several factors:
1) Your budget
2) Governance in your organization
3) Whether you are willing to invest in education

If your budget is below the leader's quadrat, but you are looking for a versatile infra management tool with AI built-in and have a limited time to deploy, my suggestion would be to consider SL1. Do bear in mind that investing in the user and admin training is essential.
In the case I have described, it was not exactly the change invisibility. It was a unification. Instead of having two separate products, the customer ended up with one holistic view of the entire infra (network, server, and application levels). Because literally anyone with an AD account was able to log into the system, the administration was simple and straight forward.
Very friendly and educated people on th eother side. What more can one ask for?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

SL1 Automation: AI ops is the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is being used for a Fortune 500 client as a means for network and server monitoring. It is being used by a particular BU at the client and is not rolled out throughout the whole organization. SL1 addresses our needs for network monitoring and alerting to the NOC for resolution.
  • Flexibility to customize almost everything, thresholds (per device), access, etc.
  • Amount of data in product, closest to single pane of glass.
  • Ease of use, navigating product is simple. New UI is great.
  • Ability to utilize Downstream Suppression within different organizations. Monitoring multiple organizations requires an all or none with downstream suppression.
  • Access and hooks to the product can be cumbersome and almost too granular.
  • No configuration management or Netflow data. These additions could be game-changers for the product.
SL1 is well suited for monitoring small to large scale networks of devices. It is also well suited at handling multi-tenants within one SL1 product through the breakout of organizations. The issue with the organizations is that it needs to be more granular in some cases. Downstream suppression being one area where multi-tenants have to make a sacrifice and choose one option or the other. Some polling cycles could benefit from having organization standards instead of global standards.
Our level of visibility with the use of SL1 has remained constant. With SL1 we have been able to increase the number of alerts and events and allowed our organization to become more proactive instead of reactive. When we are able to fully integrate AIOps we will become an automated solution for any network issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

SL1 allows you to monitor more, with less noise.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We utilize SL1 to enable and empower our customer to monitor their IT estate and services and drive down their MTTR's.
We are give them unparalleled visibility into their most critical business service, to reduce event noise, utilize event correlation and look at key metrics thus enabling them to quickly and effectively diagnose, root cause, identify resolution groups to remediate the incident and reduce the costly downtime.
  • Event correlation.
  • Solid architecture.
  • IT Service monitoring.
  • Complex.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Dated UI.
SL1 is very good at having your services mapped out to enable root cause in the event of an incident.
It's able to cover a large amount of devices so in essence it provides broad coverage and it's extensible as well, however it's not doesn't necessarily goes as deep as some purpose built tools. This may not be a bad thing as it allows them to focus more on the functionality as opposed to the nuance of every single device, but where it then makes up for this is to be able to ingest other data sources and still give you IT/Business service visibility.
This would be best answered by our customers, but I do honestly believe that they have managed to gain valuable insights into their estate through proper implementation of the SL1 product.
Read this authenticated review

About ScienceLogic SL1

SL1 enables companies to digitally transform by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 collects and analyzes millions of data points across IT to help make sense of it all. It automatically provides a complete inventory, tracks dynamic relationships between technologies, notifies about issues needing immediate attention, and enables corrective actions–all in real time.


With SL1 the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components within enterprise–standard and unique–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect and store a variety of data in a clean and normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping, artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights–understand relationships between infrastructure, applications, and business services. Use this context to gain insights.

  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate actions at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Features

Has featureAny Infrastructure, Any App: SL1 is one platform to monitor, map, alert, and automate operational actions across the network, storage, server, cloud, and application teams. Consolidate existing tools and benefit from a single clean data lake for modern IT operations management.
Has featureAutomate IT Ops: SL1 provides real-time, contextual data to automate the steps to find and fix customer and business-impacting problems caused by IT infrastructure.
Has featureITSM Integration: Keep the CMDB accurate, automate incident management, change management, and other ITIL processes.
Has featureHybrid and Multi-Cloud Ready : With SL1, it doesn’t matter if infrastructure and apps are running on-premises, in the cloud, or both. SL1 brings them all together with in-depth operational support for cloud platforms including AWS, Azure, Google, OpenStack, IBM Cloud, Alibaba, VMware Cloud for AWS, and more.
Has featureTrue Multi-Tenancy: Whether for an MSP needing a multi-tenant solution or an enterprise supporting a shared services model.
Has featureService-Centric Visibility: SL1 isolates the root cause of poor app performance caused by shared infrastructure. It automatically maps infrastructure and applications to provide service-level visibility – key for any customer-focused organization.
Has featureReal-Time Continuous Discovery: SL1’s patented, continuous discovery reveals IT infrastructure and applications in real time—whether on-premises or in the cloud.
Has featureAny Technology, Any Vendor: SL1 offers pre-built integrations for numerous technologies and applications—both old and new—that include best practice monitoring policies, and pre-configured dashboards.
Has featureData Lake Powered by Context: SL1’s patented PowerMap technology applies ML to automatically map and track dynamic relationships, dependencies, and behaviors within and across clouds, infrastructure, apps, and business services.
Has featureFuture-Proof the Business: SL1’s patented PowerSync technology allows easy access to data and removes barriers to doing business. Bring any data in and act on it. Push the data out to promote a unified ecosystem.

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos (4)

Watch Boost Your ServiceNow Investment With Real-Time CMDB Accuracy

Watch ScienceLogic SL1: Bring Context to AIOps

Watch ScienceLogic SL1: Integrations for AIOps

Watch AIOps: ScienceLogic's Guide to Operational Readiness

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

VMware NSX, Cisco HyperFlex, AppDynamics, New Relic, Dynatrace, FlexPod, Network -Cisco, Meraki, Juniper, F5, etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, Pure, HP/Nimble, etc., Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, Aliyun, Openstack, etc., Applications -Microsoft, SAP, etc., Compute -VMWare, Microsoft Hyper-V, KVM, Linux, Unix, Converged -Nutanix, Unified Communications and video - Cisco, Polycom, Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

Moogsoft, Dynatrace, LogicMonitor, Solarwinds, Broadcom CA, BMC, IBM, MicroFocus/HP, ServiceNow ITOM, Splunk ITOM, Zenoss

ScienceLogic SL1 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SL1 Infrastructure Health$0per device
SL1 Application Health$0per node
SL1 Service Health$0per device
SL1 Incident Automation$0per device

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
0%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Success Managers
Online Training / eLearning

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC
Supported Languages: English