ScienceLogic SL1

ScienceLogic SL1 Reviews

Customer Verified
Top Rated

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(1-25 of 252)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Chetan Gavade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 monitors the IT platform softwares in a perfect way. It covers emails, CPU monitoring, server management. It provides the best in the class customizable dashboard which gives a [variety] of information and management tools under one interface. It provides solutions to multiple dashboards. It helps to gain more productivity.
  • Server management
  • More productivity
  • CPU monitoring
  • User interface
  • Costly
  • Tech support
ScienceLogic SL1 detects the flaws in the network and gives the exact node point on which issue is persisting. It helps to provide complex monitoring in very simple ways. Its user interface is very much flexible but missing some features. For us, it manages all the IT assets very well.
ScienceLogic SL1 provided better productivity across the organization due to its auto management systems. It provides real-time faults in the system. It also updates the changes needed in the server or system according to the requirements. It uses machine learning and artificial intelligence very perfectly to perform its tasks.
November 30, 2021

Good product!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just use ScienceLogic API to get the respective details mentioned above.
  • UI is good.
  • Alerts feature has been beneficial.
  • API makes it easy to pull data for developers.
  • API are not robust since they fail sometimes due to multiple requests.
  • API documentation could be bettered.
  • UI is a little slow and dodgy sometimes.
Specially suited for monitoring and retrieving device related data in various teams, specifically network services teams.
It is an org level visibility.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic for monitoring our Managed Service customers, providing in-depth analysis on a range of hardware and software components in the data center. We also sell, deploy, and configure the application to any of our customers that require a monitoring solution for IT environments. Typically it is deployed across all departments.
  • Powerful monitoring capability, can ingest data from a lot of sources
  • Good multi-tenancy features
  • Extensible - can write your own powerpacks/code snippets
  • Built-in automation features
  • Business Services
  • The interface - it is out of the 1980s. Version 8.14 is current and I believe a new version is coming with a new interface. UPDATE - the new interface is much, much better.
  • Community - not a huge user group like you have with other software. i.e. - very few blogs on features/how-tos etc.
  • Monitoring items in VMware is a bit cumbersome, You need to monitor the vCenter endpoint. It will drag in all components relating to it. If you wish to see metrics for particular machines, you also need to create and manage a discovery for that machine--something as simple as file space usage.
  • Powerpack support. If you use a powerpack that is community-built, getting support for this is tough.
  • Support does not have a chat option, however it is typically good.
I would recommend ScienceLogic SL1 in environments where there is a mix of technologies. For us, that means VMware, Hyper-V, Citrix, IBM Mainframe, and all hardware relating to that (i.e. Servers, SANs, Switching Fabric, Network, etc.). Specifically, where you wish to monitor/build up a service-designed view, it is an excellent tool.
Yes, absolutely. ScienceLogic has good features for discovering items in any environment.
Andy Roughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Science Logic SL1 as our monitoring and event-based automation tool to help manage our managed service customers networks and infrastructure. We also offer a Monitoring as a Service proposition, where our clients can just purchase a monitoring and automation service only.

ScienceLogic helps solve a number of problems:
  1. Monitoring of status and performance of assets and services.
  2. Displays and views via dashboards and Business Service views of the overall health/risk and performance of key higher-level services.
  3. Event-based automation. ScienceLogic is a great platform to launch automated actions from. It comes with a large number of pre-build infrastructure specific scripts, which are easy to customize (with basic knowledge of Python).
  4. Integration with other IT deliver tools such as ITSM tooling & CMDB.
  5. Auto-generation of network maps that show asset dependency.
ScienceLogic is a great tool to bring together aspects of service operations and lead a customer from a reactive firefighting position towards a more mature operational model. The industry buzzword, AIOps, is a good one and ScienceLogic will start the journey to automating support and operations functions.
  • Status and performance monitoring with great de-duplication of events.
  • Event-based automation.
  • Easy integration with ITSM tools for CMDB, Incident Management and Change Enablement.
  • Dashboards and Business Service views.
  • Network dependency mapping.
  • One of the strengths of ScienceLogic is its investment in the roadmap and development.
  • SL always listen to ideas on how we think we can improve the product.
I have been working with monitoring solutions for 20 years and ScienceLogic is, in my opinion, the best tool. It covers all the functionality you would expect in a monitoring and performance managing tool and does it as well as any other tool and in many cases better than competitive products. On top of that functionality, SL offers a highly configurable automation platform whereby events trigger code snippets to do specified actions.
When applied with the 'correct philosophy' it can deliver a great reduction in effort and efficiency in supporting an IT environment. The SL marketing material makes some bold claims about the efficiency and reduction in MTTR that can be achieved. I agree that these efficiencies can be achieved in the real world when applied looking at the whole IT Support processes.
SL1 has much-improved visibility of and our ability to manage our customer environments.
This has improved as SL1 offers deeper levels of monitoring and also easier management of the platform (Ease of management is important as changes are more likely to get done. If I make an improvement to a monitoring method, I can easily apply that update to all of those monitored devices across multiple customers).
The Business Service views mean that I can easily create views into the monitoring data that are applicable to different levels within an organization. For example, an overview of business services for director level and a lower level performance view of assets for engineer level of employee.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use ScienceLogic across the organization to monitor both our infrastructure and the health endpoints of services, and have found it gives us great visibility of system health. We are currently exploring moving away from competent level dashboarding and moving to dashboarding that will display the business services and show the impact a component failure has on that service as well as any other services dependent or linked to it.

In 2020 we carried out a migration to ScienceLogic’s SaaS platform to remove the requirement of both hosting and managing onsite DBs and this has also opened up new opportunities we are exploring within ScienceLogic.

  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Good level of detail/information captured from the monitoring.
  • Great engagement from account managers, CSM’s and support teams.
  • Reduce the time it takes to fix support requests.

We have a great relationship with ScienceLogic and always find them very helpful and engaging if we are faced with an issue or require assistance with a problem.

We have recently started testing ScienceLogic’s automated restart features which so far have proved [to be] a great feature and fits in with our automation vision.

When moving to ScienceLogic we gained a deeper insight into our infrastructure, its functionality and health alongside providing us with a more in-depth dashboarding tool-set.

We are also hoping with the move to service orientated dashboarding this will provide us with better visibility of service functionality, the impact a service issue has on other services, and also allow us to provide the business with dashboards to be able to view their service health.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a managed services provider, we use ScienceLogic internally as well as in support of our customers for monitoring. We utilize it for availability and performance monitoring across all customers and internally. The data gathered is also used for sizing/re-sizing, application requirements planning, and continuous improvement cycles. We utilize the platform for automation for remediation and alerting/ticketing.
  • Flexibility and coverage for the full spectrum of device types and use cases.
  • Robust automation and event management interaction.
  • Ability to write custom snippets for various actions/collections creates high customization ceiling for solving problems.
  • HA/DR requires dedicated physical hardware to my knowledge.
Monitoring for any vendor I can think of is easy to build along with support for various customers. The multi-tenancy can be used in an enterprise capacity as well as MSPs. Monitoring/alerting and performance metrics are easily gathered and maintained to guide improvements in any ecosystem. The flexibility of snippets being written in python can solve unique use case scenarios for customers, such as gathering and alerting on extremely specific aspects of a system.
The only problems that aren't solved tend to be defects that get assigned to engineering to be addressed in future builds. Sometimes non-urgent issues can take a long time to be properly addressed, but anything causing us impact to our ability to provide for our customers is taken care of by support rather quickly.
March 02, 2021

SL1 Shines

Rob Duram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP providing monitoring and analytics services to audio/video and UC customers. We use SL1 to monitor customers' audio / video integrated rooms and UC endpoint-enabled rooms including Poly, Cisco and LifeSize devices. We have a 24/7 customer support operation centered around receiving customer device events from SL1, auto-generating tickets into our ITSM platform and providing real-time analytics and trending report analysis through SL1 collected data. This data and analytics help customers make business decision surrounding the use and optimal deployment of their conferencing and enriched media services to their internal teams.
  • Automation engine - easy to take scripted action on specific device events.
  • Automation action open source - the platform allows you to custom build snippet actions with Python to remediate any unhealthy event detected on devices.
  • Manager of managers - the platform has several ways of receiving inbound alerts and alarms not only from directly monitored devices but from 3rd-party solutions in the form of traps, emails and REST API connections.
  • Built-in Reporting - the reporting engine that comes with the platform is woefully inadequate to perform most of any report request that is not a very simple and basic output of data.
  • Continuous Integration/Continuous Deployment support - the platform is bound by Power-Packs for deployment of monitoring solutions for specific device types. These are great when first starting out using the platform as they allow you to on-board several types of device support, but when you mature and start building your own actions and monitoring solutions, they are cumbersome to work with.
  • Current Platform Architecture - the main CDB design requires lots of memory and CPU to handle the load of all the threaded processing of even a few thousand monitored devices. To scale up to several thousand or tens of thousands if devices becomes a pricing hurdle. Also, in a cloud deployment strategy, this processing power comes at a hefty price for cloud resources, not including the pricey SL1 license costs as well.
  • Custom development support - when you start developing your own snippet actions for monitoring custom devices or solutions, ScienceLogic only provides a pay-for Professional Services resource to assist you in even the smallest of development questions. The product customer support desk will not spend time discussing development solutions and providing development support. This has been an issue for SL from the beginning and the company needs to put together a development support arm.
Great for enterprise deployments where there is a single standard of devices and monitoring practices in place. Managed Service Providers have a harder time deploying the solution across multiple customers due to constantly changing customer requirements, device types and monitoring and security requirements and scenarios.
Being a Managed Service Provider, we have greatly increased our visibility into customer networks and devices using SL1. It provides a solution that allows us to not only be alerted to customer events and issues, but through the single pain of glass design and multi-tenancy of the application, we can safely and securely offer customers visibility to the dashboard to see their events and our team responses as well.
Platform support is great. Development support if you are developing your own dynamic apps (like the product is touted for) is non-existent without paying for PS time.This is something that SL has needed to address for years but has not.
Several major features need improvement, as mentioned earlier in this review.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 used [...] across [the] organization to manage the infrastructure environment to address monitoring issues, [and] perform automation against manual interventions to resolve issues, [and] ticket creations.
  • Discover the whole environment
  • Getting granular details about the nodes in the environment
  • Dynamic alignment of monitoring applications
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Understanding the inbuilt Maria DB schemas and data structure
  • Details on the Dynamic Applications Snippets and the associated core Python scripts created on the servers
  • Changing any details on the backend [via Database] not reflected in front end [GUI]
  • Single tools for monitoring, event management, notification & ticketing
  • Cost-effective for small & medium-sized companies
  • Easily scalable for large enterprise / based on load
  • Agentless monitoring
Yes. Automating [the] discovery of granular details within the environment brings more details/awareness on the environment.
May 17, 2021

SciLo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 as our modes of monitoring of our devices within the company. We use multi vendor platform that are enrolled in SciLo. We use this platform to schedule maintenance window when we have activities, change, and other tasks. We also use it to monitor certificates and uptime of the devices.
  • You can integrate automation.
  • Monitoring devices for outages.
  • Scheduling for device maintenance window.
  • Modernized display or GUI.
  • Additional tools for monitoring.
  • Device logging.
When it comes to device monitoring, SciLo is doing a great job. You can monitor the device 24/7, and you can also monitor expired certificates, up down of the device. You can schedule maintenance window to override alerts that can alarm your customer or Network Operations Center personnel. You may call it advance NMS.
We can easily monitor devices and alerts us users if we need to take actions. We can also use this to schedule maintenance windows so it will not alarm or notify other Engineers that a specific device is down. It made monitoring devices easy by use of scripts and automation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScieLo is very useful, especially to us engineers, it makes our life easier and efficient as the automation from monitoring (networks and certificates validity) and integration to Snow ( ticket creation for any alert/error).
  • The automation of monitoring
  • The integration to ticketing tools
  • Can change schedules and automate the maintenance schedule of the device to prevent alerts
  • For now, I can't see any problem with ScienceLogic SL1, however, I think it's good to put an option or settings with the TimeZone, since our office is in AU but we're working in the PH.
ScienceLogic SL1 is really good as you can focus on your BAU, [and] once a change ticket is raised you can simply start your activity from snow, and it will automatically set a maintenance schedule to the device.
So far NO, not yet experienced to modify my level in ScienceLogic SL1.
Matthew James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 will be used to bring order from the chaos. Before ScienceLogic SL1, we had numerous stand-alone monitoring systems and all alerted on their own. With ScienceLogic SL1, we are working towards a single pane of glass and allow our NOC to look at one screen instead of twenty seven different monitors.
  • Reduce event alert noise
  • Allow trending and better identify problem areas
  • Combine numerous monitoring platforms into one platfrom
  • Improved integrations (expanding beyond the numerous ones already)
ScienceLogic SL1 is good at combining numerous monitoring platforms. Additionally, they have great integrations with ticketing systems such as ServiceNow and Cherwell. Also, the AI functions of the platform will allow for great event noise reductions. The platform is available as SaaS and standalone servers to be deployed in your data center.
ScienceLogic SL1 allows for better monitoring and visibility to the entire enterprise. Honestly, nothing is more visible than it was before however it is easier to be aware of the bigger picture and harder to miss critical problems. This platform will allow for more work to be done by each NOC tech if less time is spent on looking at numerous different monitors.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multi-tended customer and internal managed service provider monitoring. Used across the company by technology owners and developers. Addresses inventory and network monitoring system servicing to CDW and its clients.
  • Dynamic Applications: Able to build custom applications which makes us more scalable.
  • CMDB population: Automatic CI population of assets and attributes provides excellent inventory reporting and helps with billing.
  • Dashboards: Excellent ways to build custom views of devices and graphs helps to get a good view of the health of a customer's system.
  • Upgrades: Looking forward to the new Yum deployment.
  • Interface management: I want to be able to disable/not discover certain interfaces. Filters by type, device class, ifDescr, org, etc. would be lovely.
Good UI interface. You can build custom applications to provide a new monitoring feature without relying on the vendor. With regards to functionality, ScienceLogic would be a great fit for any sized organization. Billing would possibly be the only barrier for smaller organizations.
We were able to provide greater visibility to the client using the discovery applications and component build-outs.
Support seems to continue to kick the ticket back with either some sort of weak answer or we go in the back and forth of questions and answers in this sorry of excuse support portal.
I'm overall a happy guy with the product, especially compared to other that I've used.
May 17, 2021

Just the beginning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're still in pilot phase to see if we can get the same efficiencies as other organisations have through their deployments.
  • Increased speed and efficiency of onboarding new environments.
  • Contextual troubleshooting with IT and Business Services.
  • Consolidation of toolsets.
  • Requires deep knowledge of the product, time to upskill.
  • Do not assume everything works straight out of box, be prepared to develop code.
  • Business resistance to change and expenditure.
Ideal where an organization has a central point for operations centres (NOC, TOC) etc.
Yes but we're still in early use cases.
May 11, 2021

Just a try

Mickey Mehta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using ScienceLogic for one of our accounts as it is a rich platform and it connects so many technologies.
  • Correlation
  • Incident reduction
  • P1 Outage handling
  • Dashboards
  • On your website, please include a doc for the offline upgrade if it is not there, as I didn't find one.
  • ITSM testing with ServiceNow.
  • PerconaCluster.
It is a good, rich platform, and it connects so many technologies in one place.
NA
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ScienceLogic SL1 for our managed services business. It is used to manage and monitor all internal infrastructure as well. As of yet, we haven't addressed any milestones from our previous monitoring tool. COGS are a first-hand business problem that it has addressed.
  • User friendly
  • SNMP monitoring
  • Powerpacks
  • Dynamic applications features
  • BGP monitoring
  • Improve Windows monitoring
Scalability is easy and ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited in the managed services industry.
Not yet. This is too early for us to look into this particular topic. ScienceLogic SL1 was deployed in Dec 2019. Currently, we are going through a lot of fixes and functionality that we need to incorporate/enable/change so we adhere to SLAs.

We see it has significant value to the question here, however, we have not had time to quantify and evaluate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining our company website's health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability. We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
  • Deep monitoring across infrastructure components and with 8.12 across application layers
  • Device discovery which builds infrastructure components
  • ServiceNow Integration for CMDB driven device discovery as well as event-to-incident integration and automation
  • Runbook Automation controlling notification as well as leading to remediation capabilities
  • Event richness enabling detection of leading events which occur prior to a failure
  • 12 introduces #multitenancy support which enables Enterprise with many Organizations to share (read-only) properties and performance data across Organizations without compromising credentials with inappropriate access. This is the first release of this feature and we are only now evaluating the well-communicated delivery against our requirements. This has been communicated as only being applicable via the new UI.
  • Monitor thyself. We have found data gappiness issues which stem from incomprehensible / non-actionable system messages. The system is unable to communicate SIGTERM when used as a timeout (implying capacity issues) and SIGTERM when actually used as a fault (implying something non-actionable). The advisory services team is going to help, but this needs to be productized and shipped rather than be made available by customer success manager engagement. Things that SHOULD have results but do not should throw a under-collected event by the type of collection which is under reported. This should have a dynamic part of the event giving specific numbers not bland / generic statements that have to be interpreted. The platform team should immediately recognize the fault because the numbers are relevant. These events should be actionable, either referencing KB articles or some other specific remediation plan.
  • Data collector load v. capacity planning in both a vertical (cpu, memory, disk) and horizontal (more collectors). The data collector specs are very stale. 4x24G is recommended for 1000 devices but customers frequently view that as individual devices, not the DCM trees found during discovery. Those tend to be my expect N (<= 1000) devices + M (which are barely understood records and which are typically treated as zero, when in fact these devices are what blow through the assumed 4x24G capacity spec). Need a horizontal-infra-scaling event as well as a vertical-capacity-limit event to be thrown when more collectors are needed.
  • Actionable events. My end users barely understand the events. Referencing a KB article by URL might help users and admins in remediation. If you already understand the events they are obvious. If you don't, such as timeouts, having an article which helps people identify standard remediation steps will help close outages faster. Most events are contextual. Pointing users at that context will help.
Regardless of the product or solution, all monitoring systems encourage coding. ScienceLogic enables those coding skills to be leveraged across an ever growing list of technologies if one codes inside the Science Logic platform. Coding monitoring solutions outside of the ScienceLogic platform will tend to collect more technical debt and decay faster than it otherwise would if the code is embedded inside the ScienceLogic platform. For large, enterprise use cases, ScienceLogic (alone) is not as appropriate (6-digit volumes). Here, their integration with ServiceNow turns that gap into a benefit.
We forced a common view to be rendered in ScienceLogic so that the vast majority of our 2200 users could see where they were supposed to go based on droplets of our IT culture which we sprinkled across the ScienceLogic legacy user interface. 80% of our customers will use ScienceLogic without really using ScienceLogic. 20% of our customers will deeply use ScienceLogic PowerPacks, etc. Everything has changed, but our core structure is visible throughout. If anything, the new structure is now more inline with our recently updated CMDB (ServiceNow) structure as opposed to our legacy CMDB (EMAN) structure. (These have been multi-year change cycles.) ScienceLogic IT Services are how our IT culture currently renders Host Clusters, Application Clusters and Application endpoints (regardless of lifecycle). We will be working with ScienceLogic on the 8.12 view of Application Management (which as configured won't match our model or requirements). We expect sometime in the 8.13 or 8.15 release cycle that we may have something usable which we will move our Application Monitoring and Service health monitoring onto Business Services and Application Health. For now, we will continue to use IT Services though Host Clusters will slide down into Device Services. It is unclear if we will move Application Clusters will move up to Business Services. We need more discussions to determine how we will interact with Business Services since our IT Management wants Application Monitoring, but we can't consume it because our view of an application isn't supported by ScienceLogic's definition that it is rooted by a process in memory on a given box. (We run many applications through the same nginx / apache process... Exactly which application is up and which is down?)
Our deployment model is vastly different from product expectations.

Our global / internal monitoring foot print is 8 production stacks in dual data centers with 50% collection capacity allocated to each data center with minimal numbers of collection groups.

General Collection is our default collection group.
Special Collection is for monitoring our ASA and other hardware that cannot be polled by a large number of IP addresses, so this collection group is usually 2 collectors).

Because most of our stacks are in different physical data centers, we cannot use the provided HA solution. We have to use the DR solution (DRBD + CNAMEs).

We routinely test power in our data centers (yearly).

Because we have to use DR, we have a hand-touch to flip nodes and change the DNS CNAME half of the times when there is an outage (by design). When the outage is planned, we do this ahead of the outage so that we don't care that the Secondary has dropped away from the Primary.

Hopefully, we'll be able to find a way to meet our constraints and improve our resiliency and reduce our hand-touch in future releases. For now, this works for us and our complexity. (I hear that the HA option is sweet. I just can't consume that.)
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
We are working through the reproducibility cost-of-entry issues. There is room for improvement, but I also clearly want to commend the support team for their responsiveness and remediations when our stacks have significant problems.
The core functions are there. The complexity is due to the complexity of the space. The score is based on comfort (I no longer notice the legacy UI) and the promise that I see in the 8.12 Unified UI (a vast improvement). It is also based on the fact that with 8.12, you can now do everything in the new UI but you still have the legacy UI as a fallback (which should now be unnecessary for new installations).
Yes
I stepped in to take over the platform upgrades (8 stacks of 2 baremetals in dual data centers). We have a huge deployment. Your times will be far smaller.
Previously, the two minor upgrades seemed to take a long time and seemed to have lots of problems.

At our 8.5.1.2 to 8.9.0 upgrade, we quantified for ScienceLogic the number of pain points required to upgrade and regain a measure of stability.
We suggested that use of RPM under the hood would ease their upgrade problems.
These were painful at 8-10 hour days per stack with a fair amount of cascading problems after the upgrade.

We worked with ScienceLogic to prepare for the 8.12 upgrade and had them verify our upgrade procedures.

At our 8.9.0 to 8.12.0.1 upgrade, we still had problems, but the overall stress of 8-10 hour days was replaced by a leisurely 4-6 hour days where one could take an hour out for lunch away from the desk.

Our upgrade process is now:
1. Install and upgrade on a vagrant - write the procedure.
2. Upgrade our non-prod environments.
3. Upgrade our prod environments.
4. Consult with ScienceLogic on upgrade challenges when complete.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization for monitoring the network devices availability and performance. It is used to monitor the devices on various parameters and get the case logged automatically in case of some issue for the appropriate team to look into and get it fixed before the impact becomes huge. From packet drops on interfaces to availability of the device all are being very well taken care by the ScienceLogic.
  • Monitor the large set of network devices very well.
  • Gives a detailed analysis of system performance in terms of graphs which makes it easy to read and understand.
  • Nice GUI to facilitate all the required options in the front without missing the deep dive options in case if someone wants to look into details.
  • Placement of the options are in such a way that it is very convenient for the engineers to look into the information they are seeking.
  • Taking the auto backup of the devices will be one feature I would like to see in it.
  • Running the script on the devices feature will be very useful.
  • Firing the command on set of devices will be an added advantage.
ScienceLogic is highly recommended if someone wants to monitor the device availability and its performance. Device CPU and packet drops are something which impacts the network a lot, ScienceLogic can handle it very well giving us an understanding that at what time a certain thing happens and up to what extent. It can be also used to intelligently log the case for the appropriate team to look into the issue in case the threshold increases.
Yes it has definitely changed the level of visibility, now it gives us more insight into the network performance. Interface error and discards across the interfaces help us to troubleshoot the latency issue of the applications. Bandwidth utilization of the device helps us to decide if it's the best time to increase the number of links, thus helping in maintaining the smooth performance of the applications.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using SL1 for some years for infrastructure and application capacity monitoring and we've been satisfied with the tool. The SaaS, agentless, open/customized tool brought us the opportunity to monitor our customer devices with power packs (some good, others not so much) and create our own monitoring collections, presentations, and monitors, which was good. The quick data warehouse and report/dashboard capabilities are a plus for the tool as well, for simple purposes they can fulfill what is required.
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Capacity monitoring
  • Cloud capacity monitoring
  • General integration through snippets/api/RBA
  • Development documentation is still required.
  • Out of the box integration with event management tools.
ScienceLogic is very well suitable for overall capacity monitoring, for the operational system, application or cloud and is very nice if quick information intervals are required for analysis (the tool is not a data warehouse). The dashboards and reports are very nice as well, since out of the box, you can have enough views required for a first analysis. The less appropriate scenario is the usage of ScienceLogic as an APM substitute and deep down dashboard/report tool.
The capability of ScienceLogic to deliver out-of-the-box reports and dashboards (according to the maturity of the required/technology powerpack) changed the visibility across the infra, application, and services overall. Now, the customer and service provider, have, without the necessity of spending time developing easy and quick reports and dashboards.
March 19, 2021

SL1 - review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as the AIOps platform to do the proactive monitoring. In addition to that, we are also tied into our ServiceNow. It is used by the department and expanding to BU. The main focus of the ScienceLogic is to provide monitoring in a relationship, this gives the team the opportunity to quantify a lot of gaps that we had before.
  • Flexible
  • Expandable
  • Service provider level
  • Very detailed
  • Complicated
  • Lack of support from SL1
  • Support sucks
  • PS team sucks
  • No SLa on support, it’s a joke
ScienceLogic does not have a direct product with NetFlow. It requires a lot of development to meet various use cases that are part of the ServiceNow. In addition to that, SL1 does not support the Dynamic APPS that they have created on the GOLD level package which requires lots of attention from the customer to modify and maintain. Flexibility comes with the cost of complexity.
Yes we have changed due to a unified view of the data. This is now the big data for us. We are still under deployment at this moment as we are very new in the game within Canada. At this point, I cannot tell you if that is the case, but we do see some progress on it already.
March 05, 2021

Solid Monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We uses SL1 to monitor computer systems for availability and performance metrics. It is used for all necessary monitoring needs across the company. SL1 allows us to very quickly respond to outages as well as making informed decisions with performance metrics.
  • SNMP Monitoring
  • MIB Importing
  • OID Mapping
  • WMI Monitoring
  • RBAC
  • Dashboards
  • Device Mapping
ScienceLogic is well suited for doing SNMP monitoring for most device classes. Service monitoring via the SNMP protocol works well and is very intuitive. There are cases where some Windows devices are requested to be monitored via WMI and it is possible but just not very nice to do. The very best part about ScienceLogic is its ability to do so much if you are willing to put the work in. It excels as a platform and can be modeled to help achieve goals.
With ScienceLogic we have the ability to scale visibility to our needs. It allows for help desk operations to get a quick and easy look into infrastructure and applications that they do not have other access to in order to more quickly address issues. Sometimes the ability to show something that looks correct can quickly determine who can notice if something does not look correct.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic as our proactive monitoring platform for our core infrastructure devices, including our VMs, as well as all the devices for our managed customers. The monitoring notification system allows us to notify the key stakeholders, by email of any potential issues before it becomes critical. The flexibility of ScienceLogic is allowing us to tailor the monitoring of each device differently.
  • Versatile
  • Integrated with our existing environment
  • Customize
  • Expensive
  • No standard template
ScienceLogic is well suited for standard monitoring of devices. The "Discovering" mode is great when we onboard new devices, physical or virtual devices, and capture the device name, type, and IPs from the getgo. We find that ScienceLogic is not as versatile when it comes to incorporating it with our different ticketing systems. We, unfortunately, have several ticketing systems still in production and used by different teams. We are trying to move it toward ServiceNow.
ScienceLogic has allowed us to have a holistic view of our entire infrastructure. We definitely have an hybrid infrastructures, comprising internal data centers, private clouds and public cloud service. We have increased the number of devices, companies since we started using ScienceLogic. ScienceLogic has provided provide us with more flexibility and the potential for carving out the perfect environment for a company’s multifarious needs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As we are a large company we have many different requirements and due to the way ScienceLogic works we are having to spend a lot of time creating standards and disabling some features from the product that may impact on our customer's requirements. Regarding tool the specifically, it seems to be a very powerful tool but as the famous phrase from Spiderman says, with great power comes great responsibilities. The level of knowledge from the maintainers must be on a higher level than the previous tools required.
  • Flexibility through scripting.
  • Easy installation and upgrade.
  • Wide community on the internet.
  • Unwanted automation that causes rework like the auto alignment monitoring.
  • Database monitoring on a full spectrum.
  • Old GUI still connected with Nagios.
Personally, I believe ScienceLogic requires more management than the usual monitoring tools. Due to that, the management required on huge environments may be a problem. However, it would fit well with small and medium companies and it would be viewed as a strong ally to IT departments.
Still too early to tell, in the next months we will have a better understanding on this topic.
  • Online training
  • no training
The cases I opened took some time to be solved but the the personal support is a good point.
System still has an interface correlated with Nagios which is not a good thing.
Yes
We had two scenarios, big environment were way more complicated.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a ticket in hornbill for the incident.
  • It monitors our devices and reports on the detections we have created.
  • Most of the things I can think of have now been addressed in this new release.
This is well suited for medium to large business and not really needed for small companies.
ScienceLogic was implemented before I started 4 years ago, I don't know what they had before that.
May 17, 2021

Technical opinion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In some cases, it is helping us to generate our report for our customers, i.e. when a customer migration happens.
Also, we create some intelligence about alarming, so the service is better monitored.
  • Accurate monitoring.
  • Monitoring automation.
  • Alarm reporting.
  • Hardware requirements too high.
  • Tracing tool.
  • Professional reporting tool.
As an alarming tool it is really powerful.
As a reporting tool using Layer X needs to improve.
In one screen we can see if there is any issue in the service.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using ScienceLogic for the past 2 years now and have seen significant improvement in the tool. It is a highly flexible tool and works efficiently for monitoring the entire IT infrastructure from hardware to software to cloud, application and synthetic monitoring. The tools has open snippet codes, which gives you the flexibility to adapt to any type of environment.
  • Server monitoring
  • Network monitoring
  • Application URL monitoring
  • Database monitoring
  • Dashboard customization process needs to be improved
  • Reporting part requires improvement
  • Agent-based monitoring needs to be improved
ScienceLogic SL1 is well suited where customers are ready to go with out-of-the-box features and for a customer looking for lots of customizations and with highly complex environment, it can be more challenging for ScienceLogic SL1 to meet the customer's expectations and their requirements. However, ScienceLogic SL1 can be used with a bit of automation effort.
i am working as tools consultant with more than 8 years of experience in the industry and has worked on many infra monitoring tools such as UIM, spectrum, solarwinds and now sciencelogic as well. starting with support to teh implementation teams, i am now being part of COE team wherein we provide recommendations to our new customers.
the Support dont have any SLA defined. more over for some actual high critical issues, it take them days to provide 1st response and even with the 1st response, it is never any solution but just another bunch of queries. whatever the criticality, support don't call you for troubleshooting and try to reply with mail trails and you have to seek and ask for webex sessions quite a lot times to get one. though engineer are polite but responce time is very poor.

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

Application to infrastructure mapping with APM toolsVMWare Docker SwarmAWS Availability Zones and RegionsNative Application Monitoring and MappingMulti-Cloud Business ServicesBusiness Services Impact Dashboard

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

  • Kubernetes
  • Cisco HyperFlex
  • Nimble
  • Hyper-V
  • MySQL
  • Dynatrace
  • New Relic
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google Cloud
  • IBM Cloud
  • Aliyun
  • CloudStack
  • OpenStack
  • etc.
  • Cloud Services – Amazon EKS
  • ECS
  • Fargate; Azure AKS; etc.
  • Containers – Docker
  • etc.
  • Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco
  • VMware
  • etc.
  • Network - Cisco
  • F5
  • Juniper
  • Meraki
  • Riverbed
  • Aruba
  • Avaya
  • Fortinet
  • HP
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • HPE
  • Hitachi
  • Nutanix
  • Pure Storage
  • etc.
  • Hypervisors – VMware
  • Xen
  • KVM
  • etc.
  • Operating Systems - Unix
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Business Applications
  • Databases - Microsoft
  • SAP
  • Office 365
  • MS SQL Server
  • Oracle
  • IBM DB2
  • etc.
  • APM - AppDynamics
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • Pure
  • HP/Nimble
  • etc.
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google
  • IBM
  • Aliyun
  • Openstack
  • etc.
  • Applications -Microsoft
  • SAP
  • etc.
  • Compute -VMWare
  • Microsoft Hyper-V
  • KVM
  • Linux
  • Unix
  • Converged -Nutanix
  • Unified Communications and video - Cisco
  • Polycom
  • Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

ScienceLogic SL1 Pricing

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)0%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

What is ScienceLogic SL1's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses ScienceLogic SL1?

The most common users of ScienceLogic SL1 are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.