SolarWinds NPM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
457 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 136)

Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Customer Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

To my knowledge we have created one complex alert function, and that is to report when a particular links' utilization drops to 0. This link never goes "down" at the physical interface, but our Carrier may have an outage downstream that cause this particular link to "drop". By creating this report which measures utilization we are still able to track and report on connectivity issues in a complex environment.
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

The best set of tools for your network monitoring needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The alert manager has been a resourceful tool within NPM for alerting. With the proper dependencies set to the network devices and the ability to set up conditional alerts and trigger actions, it has benefited my email inbox during router outages by reducing the amount of alerts received for all of the devices that sit behind the router during the outage.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
Ted Sadler | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network "Magnificent Performance" Monitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

Our company has made great use of the alert conditions and trigger conditions available in NPM. Our infrastructure consists of installations with 4-10 devices at each, connected through a single layer 2 switch. By enabling the advanced alerting features, we can limit unnecessary notifications by creating parent-child relationships between each device and its relative switch, and by creating those same relationships between sites and routers.
Read Ted Sadler's full review
Matthew A. Osmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2020

A mature, customization monitoring solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

We have spent a lot of time customizing our alerting to fit our organization. The pre-built alerts work fine, but making use of Custom Properties has helped us scale up. Basically, we set the alert thresholds, priority, schedules, and recipients be based on Custom Properties. The Cust Props are set either by automation, or in some cases manually. Then, we have a limited number of alerts, which fire based on Custom Properties.
We have also added a lot of detail to the alerts, to save the on-call the time of having to look things up. For example, does this node's downtime affect compliance? When as the last known good poll? Alerting is very flexible.
Read Matthew A. Osmond's full review
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

My SolarWinds Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

Before SolarWinds NPM, our organization used more traditional alert systems like Perfmon and some traditional Windows monitoring tools which send alerts when there is an unusual activity across the network or servers. Those sometimes give generic email alerts which cannot describe what is causing the issue and which device causing it. It takes hours to troubleshoot and pinpoint issues. After installing SolarWinds NPM, our organization saved a lot of time as this monitoring services give the exact location, device information, how and why it has occurred, and what are the remedies to be taken to eliminate it.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
Keith Gulledge | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds NPM is the bomb!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

We totally depend on the alerting part of NPM. We get an email when a switch goes down along with the name and IP of the switch. We also get an email when there is a routing change in our network. We also get an email when the device comes back up.The alerting is why we have it.
Read Keith Gulledge's full review
Alessandro Piras | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

An irreplaceable tool for complex networks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

Too many alerts means no alerts. It is critical to filter and to reduce the number of unnecessary alerts that NOC and network operators receive. SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor helps to create very accurate alerts and this helps us focus only on very critical issues.
Read Alessandro Piras's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

SolarWinds Network Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

We currently are heavily utilizing the alerting feature for NPM. We are utilizing up to 5 different methods at a time to alert and create responses to network events. We have found that utilizing external scripting programs like PowerShell greatly increases our ability to manipulate and modify information in order to present it in the most easily understandable format. This method also allows us near limitless abilities to integrate with 3rd party solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All the information you need to diagnose your network in one place.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

I have found the configuration of alerts to be quite challenging. We have a requirement to provide different levels of alerting, with customized messaging depending on the technical ability of the intended audience for the specific alert.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Solarwinds NPM - Well worth your time

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The dependancy functionality within the npm product helps us not warn on alerts if a single interface on a switch goes down, only when connectivity is truly lost to said devices. This lets me know what is a real priority, and what can truly wait. Secondly, I only get one alarm for a down site instead of 50. This makes "death by alert" a thing of the past.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds simply works!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

We use predefined alerts. It simplifies the setup and enforces the standard across the systems. Meanwhile, it offers flexibility to customize alerts as needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

SolarWinds themselves say "do not use the predefined alerts" so having them there is misleading. Yes, we use alerting in highly complex ways, and whilst I would say this is one of its strengths, it is also a major weakness. The logic is overly complicated, even if you want to do something as simple as "If 'X' happens, then do 'Y'; If not, do 'Z'" and the more elements you consider, the more conviluted it becomes. Additionally, it doesn't help that the integration to our 3rd-party ticketting tool is baffling, but I can't pin this one on SolarWinds.

The major downside in alerting for me, is the inability to edit (or create) an alert without it alerting on pre-existing (aka current) alerts. I should be able to craft an alert logic, see that it would trigger and against what, and enable it live without it actually triggering on historic issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2020

A highly recommended network management tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The alerting, straight out of the box, offers a lot of help on immediate setup. You can get started right away with a basic setup like email addresses etc. Where the alerting in SolarWinds NPM really shines, though, is in the customization. Though it can be daunting and take time to get right, it can really be worth it and offer exactly what you're after.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The alert feature in SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor has always been very useful for us. It allows us to be able to get real-time notifications on triggers we define in our network and address these concerns before they cause an outage. They are very useful when having a small team and several sites so it allows us to prioritize where we allocate time during critical times.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 09, 2020

SolarWinds NPM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The alerting tools and ability to create complex alert definitions have been quite helpful. We have been able to tune out many unnecessary alerts based on related events being present or not. We have also customized alerts to only alert on the highest level severity issue. If a core switch goes down, it will create one critical event, not one event for the core switch and additional unnecessary events for the 250 downstream devices. This speeds up response and troubleshooting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2020

Review of SolarWinds NPM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The ability to modify and especially turn off alerts is very useful. It allows us to remove unnecessary chatter from the Orion home page and focus on exactly what we need to see. I have made several custom alerts to deal with issues specific to our organization and it has worked well every time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

NPM for a medium size business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

All of the alerts my company utilizes are the predefined alerts that NPM provides. We simply turn on the ones we want. They have worked great. It made the setup easy. After testing we would turn some off and leave others on. We have even edited some of these predefined alerts slightly to fine-tune our alerts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

SolarWinds NPM: Good, but not great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

Alerts are one of the strong points of NPM. I believe it is the most important page that a network team should be glancing at to identify issues. When nodes or routing adjacencies go down, and when hardware environmental have issues, they will show up on this page. The customization of alerts is also very good. We have nodes that we monitor that are OCONUS and have higher latency. The standard alert would trigger the latency alerts. But with a custom version, they won't show up unless there is a real problem. We also leverage the alerts and forward them to our DevOps team so they have visibility into certain alerts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

The best network management software money can buy, if you need it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds NPM Advanced Alerting

The alerts system is very well thought out and allows you to specify simple conditions you want to know about. It is also very powerful, allowing you to filter all sorts of criteria, and it even allows you to include SQL in the definition.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (171)
8.7
Network monitoring (190)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (167)
8.4
Alerts (189)
9.3
Network capacity planning (150)
7.7
Packet capture analysis (105)
7.5
Network mapping (156)
7.7
Customizable reports (174)
8.4
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (122)
7.7
Hardware health monitoring (176)
8.8

About SolarWinds NPM

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) delivers comprehensive network fault monitoring and performance management that scales and expands with a company's network monitoring needs. Users can collect and view availability, real-time and historical statistics from routers, switches, firewalls, servers, and any other SNMP-, ICMP-, or WMI-enabled devices directly from a web browser.

The vendor states that SolarWinds users can get a full NPM installation up and running the same day they download, and that implementation does not require a team of consultants. NPM provides visibility into the health of network devices and servers on the network, ensuring that users have needed real-time information to keep their network running at peak performance.

Network Performance Monitor helps IT Pros:

  • Quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues and avoid downtime
  • Respond to multiple condition checks, correlated events, and device dependencies
  • Automatically calculate capacity exhaustion dates using customizable thresholds based on peak and average usage
  • Streamline network troubleshooting with an easy-to-use Web interface
  • View paths to critical business services hop-by-hop, even into the cloud, with the NetPath™ feature
  • Get deeper visibility into complex network devices with Network Insight™ features for Cisco ASA firewalls, Cisco Nexus switches, and F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features
Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureBaseline threshold calculation
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork capacity planning
Has featurePacket capture analysis
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports
Has featureWireless infrastructure monitoring
Has featureHardware health monitoring
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-vendor device support for any router, switch, firewall, VPN concentrator, wireless access point and other devices that support standard protocols
Has featureIntelligent alerts for correlated events, sustained conditions, and complex combinations of device states
Has featureInsight on hardware health by monitoring, alerting, and reporting on the state of key device sensors
Has featureNetPath for hop-by-hop monitoring of critical business services, on-premises or into the cloud
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco ASA firewalls
Has featureNetwork Insight for Cisco Nexus switches
Has featureNetwork Insight for F5 BIG-IP load balancers

SolarWinds NPM Screenshots

SolarWinds NPM Video

Network Performance Monitor overview

SolarWinds NPM Downloadables

SolarWinds NPM Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds IP Address Manager (IPAM), SolarWinds NetFlow Traffic Analyzer (NTA), SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager (NCM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD), SolarWinds User Device Tracker, SolarWinds VoIP & Network Quality Manager

SolarWinds NPM Competitors

ManageEngine OpManager, Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, DX Infrastructure Manager (formerly CA Unified Infrastructure Management), Micro Focus Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager), Paessler PRTG

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SolarWinds NPM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds NPM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Windows® Server 2016; SQL Server 2016 SQL Server 2016 SP1 SQL Server 2017 (including installations on Linux)
Mobile Application:No