LogicMonitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
137 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 94)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 13, 2020
Collin Thoman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor solely within our IT department currently. However, we are exploring creating limited status dashboards for other departments to see the high-level status of our systems. We implemented LogicMonitor to gather more information regarding our servers and appliances with far less configuration compared to previous laborious and custom solutions.
  • Auto discovery of Datasources and Datapoints for every added device
  • Custom visual dashboards and many pre-configured rich dashboards
  • Broad support and continual expansion of new devices and manufacturers
  • After-hours alert management is lacking. 3rd party solutions are still recommended
  • Updating DataSources can be time consuming if you need to edit the original DataSource.
LogicMonitor is well suited for any size organization that wants to not
have to "worry" about what to configure when choosing to monitor an
environment. LogicMonitor auto finds and associates the DataSources and
other types of data with the devices you add to LogicMonitor. We monitor
primarily Windows servers in a VMware environment with no in-house
custom apps. LMLogs has just been introduced and we have not used it.
Prior to that I would have said LogicMonitor may not be appropriate for
log monitoring.
Hands down the best support we have received from any vendor. Same top tier experience at any time of the day whether it is a simple question or a complex issue. They listen to feedback and do their best to implement feedback on problems that are discovered. Support is always providing references and material to learn more about what you are asking in a non-condescending manner which is appreciative. When LogicMonitor tells you their support sells the product that is the truth.
Read Collin Thoman's full review
December 11, 2020
Zack Dietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor as our infrastructure monitoring platform across our 7 plants, 7 logistics facilities, 50 remote sites, and AWS/Azure hybrid cloud environments. LogicMonitor gives us a single pane of glass to view all of our infrastructures; from legacy hardware to bleeding-edge cloud resources. LogicMonitor also provides excellent default thresholds and alerting behavior, giving us huge gains in time for resolution compared to our previous toolset.
  • Cloud native service monitoring: Easy to setup and just works. Any service, any public cloud.
  • Legacy hardware monitoring: Just as good at monitoring that 25-year-old ERP HP-UX system as the latest cloud-native tool, all in one pane of glass.
  • Redundant collectors out of the box allow us to perform maintenance and not lose monitoring insight.
  • Support is outstanding. Just top notch.
  • The UI is not always consistent, particularly the enforcement of the 'better' alerts pane.
  • Spend even more time on your 'troubleshooter' data sources to identify monitoring collection issues; granted this has come a long way in the last year.
  • SSO integration using AD groups is not easy, requires custom integration work.
Well suited for orgs using a hybrid cloud model. Really shines in the 100-5000 device realm. Too expensive for smaller shops. Fully documented API allows for custom integrations with CMDB or external ticketing tools, which makes IT management much easier. Customizable data sources allow you to collect any arbitrary metric and action appropriately. This has business use.
This isn't even worth talking about. LM support is outstanding and always has been. Their team is based in the first world and can rapidly understand, troubleshoot, and resolve extremely complicated issues. They are clearly engineers of the tool, not just a support department. I cannot remember a time a support incident was not resolved on the first contact.
Read Zack Dietz's full review
December 11, 2020
Jason Neton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is used by our Client Services and Support department for our managed services programs. We use it for proactive monitoring of critical application platforms as well as internal networks. By providing managed services, we employ LogicMonitor to watch all of the critical processes, services, and functions of an application in a client's environment. LogicMonitor being cloud-based and full-featured is crucial to our program not only for monitoring the technical applications, but also for it's impressive alerting architecture with different types of communication alerts for our on-call engineers.
  • Flexible so that you can easily define the service, application, process or any other critical function that is essential to successful operation. Works with so many different types of systems
  • Robust alerting mechanism and easy configuration and setup. Allowing for phone, SMS, and email alerting.
  • Has technology for watching almost any part of a technical environment. Great network hooks and tools, as well as configurable for most applications. Also, some really great new ways to monitor and deal with logs.
  • Easy to use interface for configuration and ongoing use.
  • Can always be more improvements in predictive monitoring and trending. Perhaps employing AI for some of the trending decision needs.
  • Reconsidering pricing on the entry-level side so that smaller organizations can get into these sophisticated tools more easily.
  • Possible pre-baked integrations with cloud platforms and services would be very nice.
LogicMonitor has been fantastic for monitoring premise applications and networks as one has access to all of the data and monitoring points easily. However, with the advent of cloud applications, would love to see potentially something that can monitor network connectivity to cloud services. Also, since browser performance is so critical to success with cloud applications, would be nice to see some hooks to individual workstations and browsers that could help identify issues to end users now that everyone is working from home.
Have had consistent and regular follow up by our account management team, and also have had great interactions with our technical consultants and support personnel that have assisted us when we have called in for assistance. On a product development front, we have seen oodles of different enhancements and new features added to the product since we started using it.
Read Jason Neton's full review
December 11, 2020
Andrew Rigby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was deployed by the IT Infrastructure department and is now being expanded to application support teams and other specialized groups. We have deployed it extensively to monitor physical and virtual servers, critical workstations, production services, all network equipment, and some security appliances so far. We are now implementing it to monitor application servers and services, databases, and webservices for uptime and performance. I've also been able to leverage it to give me thorough visibility into my SDWAN performance.
  • Alert rules
  • Performance monitoring
  • Escalation chains
  • Netflow monitoring
  • API integrations such as Meraki
  • Network mapping
I recommend LogicMonitor for ease of implementation and the simplicity to maintain the tool and database. Since the console is hosted in the cloud it was straightforward to stand up and add collectors inside our network. It doesn't have all possible features developed at this point but if you are looking for a good tool with a great team behind it to grow with your monitoring needs LogicMonitor is a solid option that is easy to use.
We haven't required much support as the tool has met all our needs so far but when there is a question or issue it is resolved promptly. We have a great account management team and support compliments that well. No matter who I reach out to I seem to get timely and valuable responses/solutions.
Everything about the tool has been easy and straightforward from implementation to discovery scans, adding users, setting permissions, creating alerts and escalations, accessing devices and their gathered information, and maintaining the database of systems being monitored. The UI is intuitive and simple to learn. The features and use of them are well thought out. The capabilities are complex such that you can highly customize the system if you would like to.
Read Andrew Rigby's full review
December 10, 2020
David Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Infrastructure monitoring. We have it deployed for our IT manufacturing systems deployed at plants, cloud and datacenter locations, and networking teams to replace SCOM. We like LogicMonitor for agentless server monitoring, its SaaS based, thresholds and its ability to autodiscover. We find LM lacking severely in website, network, and cloud monitoring, as well as automation as they are no longer supporting their ansible modules. When we first started with them, they had a marketing slide about PowerBi, that my manager was keenly interested in. It turned out that was not an actual feature and have since removed the graphic.
  • Server monitoring
  • Baselining performance
  • Simple alerting method
  • Easy to use interface
  • Forward thinking
  • They need to support automation like ansible, puppet, chef.
  • The collector agent is extremely insecure and they are making no effort to improve this design.
  • They only support a few collector sizes that are unable to keep up with number of devices we have.
  • They do not support load balancing collectors.
  • They are terrible at notifying when datapoints are dropped or missing.
  • They are not good at network equipment monitoring and aren't able to tell the difference between weighted BGP interfaces intelligently understanding traffic patterns.
  • They're ML story is a lie, its all based on what they call dynamic thresholds that don't really work at scale and still require manually configuring the settings.
  • They released LM Cloud but scoped its use case too narrow causing a really good feature to be blind to other possible uses of that feature.
  • It is WAY too easy for datapoints team to be messed with and broken.
LogicMonitor is great for small shops or MSPs. Their ability to autodiscover devices and datapoints is awesome. There is a measure of flexibility in LM's ability to monitor and for that reason we like to say, if it can be scripted, we can monitor it.

I wouldn't use it for monitoring websites, NPM, APM, or Configuration management. Its just not well-developed in these areas. Website monitoring doesn't support synthetic logins or transactions. They actually told us we had to write our own groovy code to do this. Why should we as a customer have to learn a new programming language to attempt to login to a website? Our networking team likes LM's ability to backup the config on the networking equipment globally, but there is no ability to push the config, which almost makes it pointless according to them. NPM with LM is like pulling hair, there is no consistency and the requirements we need to get to where it is stable is daunting where SolarWinds would work right off. LogicMonitor's ability to autodiscover data is another feature that is sorely undervalued. There is a great opportunity to capture specific equipment details that they do not do out of the box and also has to be scripted.
Their support team is pretty good and only a chat away.
Read David Ward's full review
December 10, 2020
Alex Boyle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor for network and system monitoring. The information and data provided by the tool helps influence decisions across the company as well as with our customers. We do standard network and systems monitoring to address issues actively as well as proactively. LogicMonitor provides a platform to deal with customer infrastructure issues, as well as the ability to predict and notify of trends, so our other teams can proactively predict future issues and deal with them before they happen. The ability to customize reports and dashboards is key as an MSP, because we can present custom tailored dashboards to our customers on request.
  • Present data in an easily digestible way.
  • Open communication with account representative for things like bug reports and feature requests to further customize our experience.
  • Platform Integration with ticketing systems is very good out of the box, with support for custom integrations.
  • Anything that can be measured can be monitored in LogicMonitor.
  • New features are often lackluster on first deployment, but usually are patched within an expected timeframe.
  • Support tickets could be worked faster.
  • Out of the box data sources are sometimes irrelevant and need to be customized.
The best monitoring solution I have used compared to Solarwinds, Nimbus, HP SiteScope.
LogicMonitor is great for monitoring up/down status of network and system devices. The tool works great for anything we can throw at it, whether it be application/website/device monitoring. There are few scenarios where LogicMonitor is not the right choice as a monitoring platform; in fact I cannot think of any where LogicMonitor was the issue.
LogicMonitor has a support button accessible from anywhere inside the webpage. There is also LogicMonitor certifications offered through their training portal, which helps understand what is going on backstage. Support response is quick and there is open communication with their account representatives, which can also drive successful support opportunities. I have nothing bad to say about the support for LogicMonitor. Great to work with.
Read Alex Boyle's full review
December 10, 2020
Jason Besner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize LogicMonitor to provide us real-time monitoring and alerting of our public-facing production ERP system, FTP, and Network. We are able to monitor Azure Cloud Services, Netflow data from our NexGen Firewalls, Website uptime, SQL Services, and trends as well as a variety of other tools.
  • Very easy GUI to understand and read.
  • Lots of great ready to use dashboards.
  • Easy integration with Azure.
  • Lots of great out of the box services, the SQL tools in particular are outstanding.
  • Enhancements to the product have been great while using it.
  • Mobile App is essentially non-existent other than being in the app store.
  • Possibly more templates that are very specific and then allow a picklist (easy checkboxes) of resources instead of typing in more resources or creating a new group.
I am very happy with the product and don't have many negative comments to relay to a potential customer. I recommend the product for monitoring your network and traffic. There are tools that may be more specific for a certain project but for the price point, you get what you need and much more. I would happily purchase again.
The support has been extremely helpful thus far. I only rate it a 9 out of 10 because it is primarily chat, which can be a little sluggish. Most techs were very helpful and patient. They were attentive and followed up afterward. I would recommend their support.
Read Jason Besner's full review
December 10, 2020
Rich Russo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor across the whole IT dept. This includes teams from network, voice, servers, firewalls and applications. We have dashboards for all of them to quickly monitor their systems. It enables everyone to look at their own equipment from high level or dig into the individual metrics. Having the collectors distributed across the country is very useful. Each one monitors devices close to it and provides rapid notification when something goes wrong.
  • Distributed collectors
  • Web based admin/dashboards
  • Very diverse monitoring platforms
  • Root Cause Analysis
  • Auto Balanced Collector Group
  • Better report generation
I love having many collectors spread out all collecting data to send up to the cloud. Our previous platform was a single server in the data center. It was often overloaded and didn't notify us in a timely manor. The web based admin is great. Not having to install software to manage is great. Also being cloud based is great for checking alerts/devices when not at my desk. There is room for improvement with the RCA feature. Our old platform used to only send one notice when a site went down. With [LogicMonitor] the feature is not quite there yet to only tell me the router is down. Instead I get many emails that the router and all the gear behind it is down when we lose an mpls link.
Only a few times have I gotten a tech from logicmonitor who didn't quite help out as well as others have done in the past. Some technicians though go above and beyond the call of duty and really helped us out with issues. Even providing additional solutions that made the platform much better for us.
Read Rich Russo's full review
December 09, 2020
Ramsin Gabriel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [LogicMonitor] for our OPs team to quickly determine an issue with our many customers. LogicMonitor has made resolution so much quicker with its Alerting, Dashboard and other tools to keep an eye on your environment. Out of Box monitoring for almost all devices is quite impressive. No software to install on Nodes, just using SNMP or WMI and you are set.
  • RDP, SSH and HTTPs built in support helps when needing to gain access to a machine.
  • Web functionality makes it easier to do your job from anywhere. Even your phone.
  • Root Cause Analysis is a must have if you have many network devices that flap.
  • More out of box monitoring for Juniper Devices
  • Apache web 60 minute time outs
If you want to improve your OPs team ability to react to issues quickly than you need [LogicMonitor] in your arsenal of tools. [LogicMonitor] does it all, alerting, logs, remote access. Both on prem and cloud. VMWare, HyperV, Nutanix, does not matter, you see all CPU, memory and disk usage. Its amazing.
Help desk is very knowledgeable when it comes to any question I have posed. Their help desk makes me look like I am very good at my job.
Read Ramsin Gabriel's full review
December 09, 2020
Karl Rosander | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Managed Services Provider, so LogicMonitor is being used across multiple customers to give us real-time monitoring and alerting proactively for all of our customers infrastructure and Cloud resources on a 24x7x365 basis.
  • Has great and easy to use reporting and dashboards
  • Already has direct connectivity to and monitors all our clients' current infrastructure
  • Has API connectivity for more workflows, automations, etc. to many different popular systems (i.e. ITSM, knowledgebases, etc.)
  • Easier to understand licensing
LogicMonitor is SaaS-based, which means no updating, patching, or maintaining our own infrastructure to support it and redundancy/high-availability is built-in. It is great for multi-tenancy for Managed Services Providers. It is easy to use and add-on after initial setup. LogicMonitor is committed to staying current with both the latest technologies as well as listening to the needs of the industry to add features/functionality that is useful and value-add.
The onboarding was not only helpful and informative, they continued with bi-weekly meetings for a couple months after onboarding was complete just to answer new questions as they came up. They care about adoption and want to help make sure we understand and use the product to its' full potential. The few questions we have had for support outside of onboarding were answered promptly and left us feeling like we can always count on LogicMonitor support in a bind.
Read Karl Rosander's full review
September 10, 2020
William Guertin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is used by a majority of our IT Support team as well as our software engineering teams. Each team has their own systems and modified data sources set to their standards and preferences. The Engineering teams use LogicMonitor for historical performance information and troubleshooting application issues. The IT Support team primarily leverages LogicMonitor as an alerting tool for critical events and secondarily as a performance/metrics tool to troubleshoot server/network issues. We monitor both our on-prem environments as well as Cloud all in one tool. Our management teams use LogicMonitor to determine uptime SLA as well as the health our all of our various software products and underlying critical infrastructure.
  • LogicMonitor data sources allow you to monitor practically anything. If you can convert it to data, LogicMonitor can be modified to ingest and alert on it. There are a large number of out of the box data sources that cover pretty much everything standard you want to monitor, there is a large community of users who have also published their data sources and there is the flexibility to create your own. Data sources are limited only by your imagination.
  • LogicMonitor offers the ability to monitor a broad range of devices and environments with great detail and precision. We struggled to find a software package that offered the ability to monitor both our Cloud and on-prem environments, with the detail we were looking for and at the price that we were offered. We have grown by acquisition so we are in all the Clouds as well as running a diverse set of hardware and software environments and LogicMonitor was out of the box ready to handle a vast majority of our environments.
  • LogicMonitor customer support is very responsive and willing to work on any issues that we are experiencing. Their first level support handles most of our questions and is able to quickly escalate directly to the developers for any bugs that are discovered.
  • When thinking about monitoring we have two major pieces. Performance metrics and logging. LogicMonitor covers the first very well but currently, it was not in the log monitoring sector. They are currently working on making up ground in that area but have a lot of work to do to get to the level of ELK or Splunk.
  • Intelligent alerting is still a bit young. Knowing how devices are connected to what and alerting only on the device that's having issues is in its infancy. There are ways to configure this but it takes a lot of manual configuration to get it where you want it and needs to be maintained with any changes. We don't normally have a cascade of alerts due to devices failing but in certain environments, it has happened.
When it comes to monitoring and metrics its not so easy to think of where LogicMonitor would be less appropriate. There is logging which LogicMonitor is trying to make up ground in but isn't ready for prime time and there is application monitoring but I don't know enough about that aspect to speak intelligibly about it. I do think that LogicMonitor could be adapted to handle most application monitoring just due to the flexibility offered by the ability to create just about any data source but it would probably be a lot of work compared to buying one specifically suited for that task. LogicMonitor in my view is very well suited to monitor infrastructure: Operating Systems/hardware/Cloud services in either the cloud or on-prem. Memory, disk, power, temperature, CPU. Out of the box, it can handle thousands of devices. We currently have it configured to automatically scan networks for devices, determine what they are, configure them based on their name, put them in their appropriate logic monitor folder structure, and start collecting data. There is really nothing we have to do and it was fairly easy to configure with the property sources that LogicMonitor offers.
We have yet to have an issue that is outstanding and not resolved, even a small one. I can't really think of any situation that we had that took more than a week to resolve and most in a couple of days at most. They are very responsive and knowledgeable even on the first level support. You are not going to be talking to someone following a script but someone who seems to have the experience of having used the product themselves. Finally, if there are real issues or new bugs that are found, it seems like they are sitting right next to the developers in terms of their ability to escalate and get things working again.
Read William Guertin's full review
September 10, 2020
James Deaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor in an MSP environment to monitor over 30 customers' internal environments and generate alerts and notifications based on their unique requirements and escalation paths. Due to its extensibility and flexibility of configuration, we are able to meet customer requirements that are not out-of-the-box. By aggregating the information monitored we are able to more effectively set standards that allow us to meet the majority of customer needs and provide an easy-to-access interface for them through dashboards and alert notifications.
  • Extensibility - this allows us to create unique data sources and monitor unique capabilities
  • Flexibility - this allows us to establish dashboards and alert notifications to meet customer needs
  • Additional data sources
  • More granular user access
Services monitoring and network monitoring are both very good with LogicMonitor. Its security monitoring needs improvement.
Support has almost always been able to help resolve any issues. Especially since we have gone to Enterprise, we have had very good support.
Read James Deaton's full review
December 25, 2020
Mark Pote | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We required a product to help us monitor our customers Azure environment. The in built Azure reporting was not up to the full requirement of what we needed.
  • The Dashboards are a very useful feature for wall boards in the office
  • Email notifications to warn of targets being hit
  • Large variety of alerting options
  • Can seem very complex to begin with due to the amount of configuration options
LogicMonitor has managed to inform us of issues with customers sites before the customer was aware of the issue themselves.
Read Mark Pote's full review
December 18, 2020
Joe Carey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [LogicMonitor] to monitor servers (real and virtual) and network devices etc. It makes it simple to have our eyes on everything at once.
  • Tells us if a server is down.
  • Tells us if a network device is down.
  • Tells us if a CPU is near 100% utilization (or any level we define)
  • Tells if disk space is running low.
  • I haven't got any complaints, it's quite robust.
[LogicMonitor is] great for keeping an eye on infrastructure at a small scale (office-wide) or large scale (planet-wide).
They respond very quickly and have good documentation. What more can one ask for?
Read Joe Carey's full review
December 14, 2020
Erik Metzler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor to monitor client systems and send alerts for those system to our PSA for remediation as needed. We deploy it also to monitor downtime for sites and to let us know if a system is offline.
  • System monitoring.
  • Offline status alerts.
  • Overall alerts to our PSA.
  • Can be a bit hard to filter out noise.
We are overall happy, but don't use it extensively. We use it to monitor various systems and servers, and to let us know if a site has gone offline. We specifically implemented it recently for letting us know if a site has lost connectivity, or that we lost contact with a firewall.
I have not personally interacted with their customer support.
Read Erik Metzler's full review
December 14, 2020
Joe Jacir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a managed services IT staff and use LogicMonitor to support our clients and our own infrastructure. We sell monitoring as a service and Logic Monitor serves a critical role in that service. It helps us monitor everything from Network infrastructure to Windows/Linux Servers to Cloud Resources like AWS and Azure.
  • Very powerful views for Ops teams that need to find root causes quickly.
  • Customizable alerts thresholds and Escalation Chains that work well.
  • Website Monitoring is very robust.
  • Supports Modern Authentication options.
  • Customizable Customer access for Managed Service Providers.
  • Reporting is somewhat difficult to work with to get what you need.
  • Most scripting options requires learning Groovy (might be a pro for some).
  • Web UI can sometimes require refreshing for changes to show up which can be annoying.
Bulletproof monitoring when implemented properly. Always accurate and timely. Making changes to the out of the box settings is easy enough and can be rolled out how you like in terms of thresholds, alerts, and communications. Very broad native monitoring vendor support. Others can be implements without much fuss. Support is very helpful and prompt.
Support is very prompt and helpful. They resolved an issue I had with one email submission and 30 minute Zoom call for an issue that was somewhat complex regarding VMware Horizon. Community support is also good but isn't as mature as other vendors in this space. Built in help and documentation is excellent.
Read Joe Jacir's full review
December 14, 2020
Andy George | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is being used by a department, to monitor and provide analysis to companies seeking remote support capabilities. It helps to view and create in-depth analysis of systems and issues arising that cannot be found from bare troubleshooting. Clients require monitoring support and LogicMonitor provides that edge to thoroughly check network, systems services and databases.
  • In-depth database reporting on mount points, luns, etc.
  • Networking reporting. Get alerts on network degrading.
  • Server reporting on server health and status. Uptime.
  • Website links reporting when it is down.
  • Robust app not just for viewing alerts.
  • Additional connectors to work with a wide range of software for automation.
  • More user friendly reporting for end users to understand.
One scenario is monitoring a client network and server infrastructure, LogicMonitor is perfectly suited for this. Also, based on the times we are in, remote monitoring is a must and it allows employees to work from anywhere utilizing cloud based services to view alerts and troubleshoot accordingly. The app also proves a great tool.
So far, no major issues with regards to support. Support have been prompt and issues rectified. Techs are knowledgeable and can easily understand the issue at hand and what to do in order to have it resolved. LogicMonitor is easily understood and knowledge base is a great guidance for any problems come across.
Read Andy George's full review
December 14, 2020
Sam Kemp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is currently being used across our entire organization. Since we are an MSP this is a critical component to our business. Monitoring and alerting is difficult across any organization let alone multiple ones.
  • Their supported device base is second to none, 9 times out of 10 you probe the device and it knows it.
  • Remote access through the platform is a big one for us as it simplifies access to devices without having to log into VPNs or opening them up to the internet.
  • API integration. This was imperative as we needed to be able to manage and track alerts through our paging and ticket system. Their integrations were easy to set up.
  • I think they could continue to improve the API integration allowing us to attach alerts to a particular customer in our PSA.
This is a product you need to dedicate a lot of time to. Without that you're not going to get huge returns. This product can do so much for so many scenarios but without the time it will go to waste.
Every question I have ever asked of them they have answered, stepped me through and followed up. They have been absolutely fantastic.
Read Sam Kemp's full review
December 10, 2020
Jamison White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is being used in our datacenters to provide an in depth overview at a glance and also granular alerting to specific events within our environments.
  • Great granularity.
  • Robust monitoring for all types of devices.
  • Easy to understand dashboards.
  • On-boarding is cumbersome.
  • Steep learning curve compared to other products.
  • Ease of use is not even considered.
LogicMonitor is great for network monitoring, providing in depth reports on all aspects of a firewall.
LogicMonitor support has never failed to accommodate a request, or helped our organization overcome an obstacle in our monitoring.
Read Jamison White's full review
December 10, 2020
Jeff Aiken | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a MSP and we utilize the product to monitor and alert us for both our customers as well as our internal network devices and servers. The application is integrated with our ticketing system and allows us to quickly respond to alerts. It also allows for two way communication between our ticketing system and Logic Monitor.
  • Monitors a wide variety of equipment.
  • Integrates with multiple platforms.
  • Allows you to monitor multiple devices in a single view to give you a better idea of overall application performance.
  • Needs a better integration with Connectwise CMDB.
  • Would love to see a focus on MSP centric applications such as IT Glue and BrightGauge.
  • Pricing is a little hard to swallow.
If you are using Auvik today you should switch to LogicMonitor, the pricing is about the same - actually cheaper if you are using Netflow from Auvik, and Logic Monitor provides so much more. If you don't need two-way communication with your ticketing system another solution may fit your needs.
We have opened only a few support cases, but every support case we've opened has been resolved within a matter of minutes. They have 24/7 support and a chat feature that allows you to interact with support engineers that really know the product inside and out. Support tis one of the best things LogicMonitor has going.
Read Jeff Aiken's full review
December 10, 2020
John Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is being used across our IS department to monitor our infrastructure as well as our applications. It helps us address any issues that come up immediately and keeps our systems running as expected. It allows us to quickly see the health of our applications as well as our infrastructure at all times and helps us isolate issues when they do come up.
  • It allow us to monitor our traffic across our MPLS and DIA links.
  • It monitors our switch ports and alerts us to any issues with our uplinks as well as our access ports.
  • It alerted us to expiring certificates on our network equipment which allowed us to avoid downtime.
  • We are able to create custom monitoring to tailor the software to our particular needs.
  • We had issues with netflow working properly with our Cisco Nexus gear.
  • We have had issues with SNMPv3.
  • The ability to easily browse thru resources is a little clunky.
LogicMonitor is perfectly suited for smaller IT teams that are required to monitor larger deployments. It provides a single pane of glass that gives you pretty much any information needed to maintain and monitor infrastructure and applications.It's ease to use interface and the ease of customizing datapoints to monitor makes it extremely useful. The one area where we found lacking was Netflow.
They are constantly improving the product and they are easy to contact if there is an issue. Their technicians and engineer are very knowledgeable and helpful.
Read John Berry's full review
December 09, 2020
Michael Moffatt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Synoptek uses LogicMonitor to monitor our own and our customers infrastructure world wide. Aside from monitoring, we also use LogicMonitor as a key tool in our capacity planning and problem management processes.
  • Alarm distribution - being able to route different alarms or alarm types to different teams allows for more distributed management of the infrastructure.
  • Being flexible and allowing customers to write monitoring data sources that meet their own needs is extremely valuable.
  • Extending that flexibility to hosting a community where Logic Monitor users can share their custom data sources is a huge time saver. you are never the first person to encounter a particular problem, so being able to leverage other users' output to solve a similar problem is great.
  • Billing - My pet peeve is that LogicMonitor does not yet support a "utility model" for billing. this is an antiquated billing model and while it provides stability and certainty for LogicMonitor, I'm far more concerned about spending dollars on licenses that I may or may not get to use.
The only place I find that LogicMonitor does not really shine is with user experience monitoring. this is where monitoring is going with users accessing distributed infrastructure from a myriad of end user and consumer platforms. measuring that user's experience is key to success long term.

For everything else the LogicMonitor mantra of "we monitor everything" is pretty apt.
Always helpful. could do better with proactive follow up - but steadily improving and certainly sufficient.
Read Michael Moffatt's full review
December 09, 2020
Thomas Hagaman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [LogicMontior] to monitor our large call center and network devices. We have several MPLS links, and LogicMonitor provides usage analysis so we can easily tell if there is a network problem.
  • Monitor Cisco Call Manger
  • Network Devices
  • Firewall Monitoring
  • You have to pay extra for the really cool functions but that is the case with every cloud solution.
[LogicMonitor] really works well for us so we don't have to have someone monitor out network devices, and spend more time implenting solutions and less time fixing problems.
Very knowledgeable, and quick to respond.
Read Thomas Hagaman's full review
November 07, 2020
Scott Ruoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP with clients that are very diverse, ranging from defense contractors to unions to hospitals. LogicMonitor allows us to monitor all the servers very easily and create dashboards that add value to the customer. It has been a game changer for our monitoring needs.
  • Automatic recognition of devices
  • Allows custom datasources with our own scripts
  • Easy to deploy collectors and get monitoring up and running in minutes
  • Allow return of data to include strings, not just integers; this is a pain point
  • Allow other types of scripts to run besides PS and groovy
  • Better LM Cloud datapoints, not everything is included for Azure; I know this is limited to the APIs that Azure allows
LM can monitor almost any device, with very few exceptions. It makes our monitoring easy and is integrated with our ticketing system. It creates tickets based on error and critical alerts and makes sure our engineers are notified immediately.
Every time I have contacted support, which is very rare since their support documentation is fantastic, I have had almost an immediate response and get an engineer who knows the product very well.
Read Scott Ruoff's full review
September 29, 2020
Matthew Wray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is used across our company to monitor our IT infrastructure.

Our department/team specialise in automating MSP account setups via the API, saving time and resources for each company.

We are also partnered with LogicMonitor and a number of us are certified Professional Service Engineers which take on LogicMonitor's customers to explain the features that the product has to offer and best practices in the setup.

We also have our own products for our internal business group, Daisy, where we cherry pick relevant information on LogicMonitor and display it to them either simplified or with additional visualisation of the recorded data.






  • Visualisation - dashboards provide a great at-a-glance view of resource performance.
  • Reporting - LM logs a comprehensive amount of data that can be generated into reports.
  • API - the thing we appreciate most, it's extremely useful and well documented.
  • Reporting - would be nice to add device properties to reports (currently only available for alert reports).
  • Searching - being able to search by object id would be useful.
LogicMonitor was built to monitor data centers. This has now expanded to include websites, cloud resources and virtual machines. So almost any IT infrastructure is eligible for comprehensive monitoring.

Only smaller infrastructures are ones where I would say it is less appropriate.
The documentation is exceptional.

The live chats are not as useful sometimes as the engineers aren't suited towards specific technical questions.
Read Matthew Wray's full review

What is LogicMonitor?

LogicMonitor is a cloud-based IT infrastructure monitoring platform that helps teams reduce time to resolution, optimize application performance, and gain true observability over complex technology stacks. With automated deployment and configuration, pre-built integrations library, and 24x7 support, the vendor aims to help teams rapidly optimize their tech stack for their end-users and customers.

With over 2000 pre-built monitoring integrations, the platform monitors the entire IT infrastructure stack, including:

  • Networks and physical networking gear
  • On-premises and cloud-based servers
  • Cloud and container resources (including Kubernetes)
  • Websites and synthetic transactions
  • Virtualized environments
  • Configuration and CMDB monitoring
  • Applications, operating systems, storage, databases, and more!

LogicMonitor consolidates everything into one monitoring platform. This is to reduce complexity and the staff time required to effectively monitor complex IT infrastructures — whether physical, virtual, or in the cloud. The tool comes with advanced monitoring features, such as:
  • Automated deployment and configuration
  • Dynamic topology mapping for networks, servers, containers, and more
  • Alert escalation chains and dynamic thresholds for alerting
  • Machine learning and AIOps that includes anomaly detection and root cause analysis
  • Customizable dashboards and pre-built dashboard templates
  • 24x7 live support with real technical engineers

LogicMonitor Features

Has featureHybrid Infrastructure Performance Monitoring
Has featureTopology Mapping
Has featureCustomizable Dashboards
Has featureAlert Escalation Chains
Has featureAIOps Features (Dynamic Thresholds, Root Cause Analysis, Anomaly Detection)
Has featureCloud and Container Monitoring
Has featureIntegrations Library
Has featureForecasting
Has featureReporting
Has feature24x7 Live Technical Engineer Support

LogicMonitor Screenshots

LogicMonitor Videos (4)

LogicMonitor Integrations

LogicMonitor Competitors

LogicMonitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro (up to 199 devices)Contact sales team
Enterprise (200+ devices)Contact sales team
Website MonitoringContact sales team

Our platform is broken down into Pro and Enterprise Pricing. Pro includes monitoring for all of your cloud, hybrid, and on-premises infrastructure. Our Enterprise package includes all of this, plus our AIOps and Machine Learning functionality that provides dynamic thresholds, root cause analysis, anomaly detection and more! LogicMonitor only charges by the device. What is considered a device? A device is anything with an IP address that you want to monitor, including a physical device or a cloud resource. This means multiple data sources under the same IP address can be monitored for the same price. Unlike some monitoring platforms. we don’t charge per node, interface, or metric.

LogicMonitor Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
29%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
41%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

LogicMonitor Support Options

 Free Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

LogicMonitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web