LogicMonitor Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Philip Bubel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Excellent Enterprise Monitoring System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor as our main enterprise monitoring system. We monitor servers (virtual and physical), applications, storage and network equipment. It gives us a single pane of glass view into our internal and external cloud hosted systems, allowing us to monitor uptime, performance and ensuring we are meeting our SLAs.
  • Supports a wide range of devices from servers to storage and network equipment from a wide range of vendors.
  • Easy to add devices to monitoring and get them quickly up and monitored.
  • Lack of support for custom SMTP MIBS.
  • The new UI has some room for improvement (although it is growing on me).
LogicMonitor is well suited to monitoring your windows and Linux based servers along with other supporting infrastructure either on premises or in the public cloud.
LogicMonitor is also well suited to application monitoring. We use it to monitor all of our hosted websites both the ones we host and those that are hosted externally.
Read Philip Bubel's full review
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

A wonderful cloud monitoring solution for all your needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT staff uses LogicMonitor to monitor our critical infrastructure and alert us if something is wrong. The fact that we do not need to deploy an agent to each resource we want to be monitored is genuinely a boon. Because it is so extensible out of the box, we can rely solely on LogicMonitor to be a one-stop monitoring solution.
  • LogicMonitor supports multiple device vendors and services out of the box, including NetApp, Nimble, Cisco, Citrix, VMware, Exchange.
  • Flexible alerting helps us get notified via a dashboard, email, text message, or phone call.
  • Like most monitoring products, alerts can be noisy when you first set up.
  • Mobile app needs some added features and support.
I would recommend LogicMonitor for any environment that needs monitoring, from small to large. Since all information is available on a public website, you can easily monitor your servers from anywhere. I wouldn't recommend to companies who are paranoid about an external website containing information on their monitored environment (you know who you are).
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

Excellent monitoring tool with a great support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our entire infrastructure, including network devices, servers, etc. for statistics and monitoring.
  • Monitoring
  • Statistics
  • Support
  • SNMP support
  • Documentation
  • Scripting
It's perfect for monitoring all the infrastructure in general, but it needs to improve on specific tools, like BGP monitoring, route path, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Chad Lauterbach | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

LogicMonitor: A Superior SNMP/sFlow/NetFlow Monitoring System for your MSP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We've evaluated and used a lot of remote management and monitoring tools as a Managed IT Services provider. LogicMonitor was the first tool that truly met our needs for SNMP (and sFlow/Netflow) collection across multiple clients easily. Sure there's other products out there, but LogicMonitor has a "just works" aspect too it that makes all the difference for us. It's obviously a tool for technologists so I wouldn't call it "easy", but it's the best in class and easiest tool we've found for getting at this data and report/dash-boarding it for our team.
  • SNMP Monitoring
  • sFlow/Netflow data Monitoring
  • Built-in MIB's and Alerting Out of the Box!
  • Easy to build Widgets and Dashboards
  • It's not "easy", but it's the "easiest" of all the tools we've used
  • One of our main products, Ubiquit Unifi, wasn't supported out of box like others were
  • No integrations with IT Glue, Autotask Configuration Items, Warranty Master or other MSP Tools
Hands down the best tool I've used for monitoring server bare metal, switches, firewalls, access points, power equipment, and anything else you might hit with SNMP that's not an operating system. Getting at the data below the operating system and easily reporting/dash-boarding it is key. Giving client access to see the data is easy.

The alert tuning is fairly easy and straight forward which lets you get to the data you really want relatively quickly.
Read Chad Lauterbach's full review
Scott Harkless | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

LogicMonitor - device monitoring done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor for our IT department to help us monitor devices, printers (toner), switches, firewalls, SAN and websites. It helps us see where a problem is happening and also sends emails to open tickets for our help desk people. We also use LogicMonitor to run reports for uptime and usage for our managers, VPs, and CEO.
  • Does a great job of monitoring uptime and when things go down on your network.
  • You can dig way down into a system and get custom dashboards and reports per device.
  • Alerting is great on LogicMonitor and you can have it where if the first person does not acknowledge the alert it will go to the next after so many minutes.
  • Getting some of the reports could be easier but you can email support and they have been great to work with on things like that.
  • When you update datapoints it will overwrite what you have changed, which is not great.
If you need a system to monitor your network or devices, LogicMonitor does an awesome job at doing just that.
Read Scott Harkless's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Easy to configure montioring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is being used to monitor all of our infrastructure and servers, it is just used by the IT department. It allows us to proactively respond to issues, with LogicMonitor alerting us via email and sms alerts. We also use the Dashboard feature of LogicMonitor to allow us to display at a glance reports of how the network is doing.
  • Great support
  • Easy to create dashboards
  • Many networking devices supported
  • Can be quite expensive, but its worth it
  • Microsoft Exchange Datasource out of the box needs some work when using a DAG environment
It is specifically well suited to allow IT teams to report and view network status, it also does a very good job and logging historical data to see when events happen, and the trends around them. We also use it to monitor server status, even done to print queues.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Emery | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

The logic of LogicMonitor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is primarily used by IT and operations groups for network monitoring as well as system monitoring and other useful metrics, application performance, availability etc... Our goal is to be aware of problems before our customers or employees are impacted and LM helps us achive that.
  • LogicMonitor does a great job of finding and configuring dynamic or virtual "things" - load balancer VIP's, hypervisor VM's etc... No more fuddling through MIBs to find OID's and make manual configuration updates to the monitoring solution.
  • The dashboards are extremely flexible and useful to create top level views to track utilization and performance.
  • Other monitoring is also extremely flexible and useful - for example we had a service that only exposed hundreds of stats through a web status page. LM helped us parse this data and display and track it over time.
  • The alerting is fairly difficult to manage and configure. While it is possibly very flexible, you can't just go to a device or group and get some alerts. You have to define multiple layers of alert rules and escalation chains to make an alert show up somewhere. The default config is not horrible, but if you have a lot of users, groups or complex alerting rules it is very confusing.
  • As a long term user I have to say support is not as good as it used to be but they are making some slow improvements. I still miss the original "Chat with Engineer" button for support option and support is generally much less helpful than it used to be when it comes to customizing certain monitors. But they are very responsive, their response is often sure you can do that - good luck.
It is especially well suited to monitoring virtual services such as load balancers and hypervisors. The reason is because of the incredible mechanism they have of datasources and instance abstraction. I also love the fact they use distributed collector model and include external monitoring of services and AWS.
Read Jason Emery's full review
John Predmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

LogicMonitor-Hosted IT monitoring done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor for two primary purposes. The first is monitoring of our NetApp systems. This was the original need that drove us to LogicMonitor. In my opinion the NetApp monitoring is exceptional. We are able to get alerts on things that the NetApp tools we had at the time could not. The second purpose is for a hosted backup monitoring solution. Several years ago we experienced a severe outage that stopped our primary (on-prem) monitoring system from sending any alerts out. LogicMonitor now gives us monitoring that can alert from the cloud in case of a datacenter or internet outage.
  • Redundancy-LogicMonitor's capability to have multiple on-prem collectors and have them automatically failover to each other ensures that monitoring keeps going through multiple different types of outages that may impact a single collector.
  • NetApp Monitoring- This may be a niche, but for us it was important. The breadth of monitoring was a key for us.
  • Ease of Use-Adding new devices is simple.
  • Escalation-The idea of escalating alerts is well executed. From portal to email to text as needed.
  • Support-Tech support is not something we've needed often but they've always been prompt, courteous and willing to assist with simple 'How do I' questions.
  • The licensing structure changed and that hurt us as we were using it on a small scale. The lowest tier available is more than we are using.
I believe LogicMonitor is well suited to almost any environment. It monitors most modern IT systems and has flexible alerting options.
Read John Predmore's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

LogicMonitor - The Good and Bad

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our Technical Operations department mostly. Sales and Marketing use it occasionally. It addresses the problem of monitoring. We using it to monitor physical and virtual infrastructure on all levels.
  • Lightweight. The web interface is fairly simple once it is set up.
  • Good cost structure. Not nickel and diming for every ping or sensor.
  • Cloud based. No need to keep up with resources on a local server.
  • Customizable dashboards are great.
  • Web interface can get pretty busy. Pretty sure this can be customized though.
  • Adding sensors is not that intuitive.
  • Email alerts need to be a little more readable.
  • Context menu (Right click).
Very well suited for client self monitoring. Specific clients can be set to only see their data and can customize the dashboards to see specific sensors and devices.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
David Scott, MCSE | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2016

LogicMonitor Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is being used by the IT department. It helps us be more proactive and also allows to be immediately identified of problems.
  • It provides useful information without too much white noise.
  • The monitoring is fast and it updates quickly so you if a problem is cleared, you aren't still seeing the alert.
  • It is easy to add devices and it automatically detects and monitors based on the device type.
  • We have some older switches and the monitoring of those could be better.
  • It can't monitor external services such as a dns.
  • integration with Spiceworks would be nice.
Logicmonitor would be good for medium to large environments but maybe not necessarily for a small environment with a few servers.
Read David Scott, MCSE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

LogicMonitor - Trash the rest. Get the best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor replaces our current solution by adding a comprehensive look into our environment. From the business side it saves by not utilizing CapEx and allows for money to be used elsewhere.
  • Implementation - the trial can be set up in 15 minutes.
  • Excellent pre-sales staff. They listen to your challenges and provide a complete solution.
  • Cloud services, text alerts without additional setup.
  • Make it easier to configure dashboards.
  • Reporting needs an upgrade.
  • I would like to see LogicMonitor take an alert and react to it, i.e. shut a service down, run a program. While this can be done it's not something they advertise.
Any business could use LogicMonitor, this software is easy to configure and set up. It may be less suited for a larger enterprise with a dedicated monitoring staff. LogicMonitor fills the role of several admins allowing one person to completely monitor their systems. It integrates well into any monitoring style.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2016

Monitoring without worrying about the monitoring system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LogicMonitor is our network monitoring system for our private cloud. It monitors all components in our infrastructure and alerts to a centralized network operations center that remediates the issue at hand. Consumers of LogicMonitor include our Cloud Operations team, Developers, QA, DevOps and Customer Support. The business problem it addresses is to try to catch customer impacting issues and remediate them before the customer even knows about them.
  • Huge inventory of pre-built templates for monitoring things from Power PDUs to blade servers.
  • Robust groovy scripting language that would enable administrators to add monitoring that is specific to your company.
  • Uptime, uptime, uptime, uptime =). In the close to four years that we have used LogicMonitor, they have had one or two incidents of downtime.
  • Eat to set up. The collector install takes minutes to install. I literally added hundreds of hosts within a day.
  • Missing robust support for some fundamental things like SNMP traps.
  • Support team is going through some growing pains. The people and coverage is growing but product expertise and customer experience is degrading. I am sure they will fix this though.
  • They are in the middle of transitioning to a new UI. It looks better but is a lot harder to use for people that have been on the old UI for a long time. Probably just an issue with legacy customers.
We have a small monitoring team. LogicMonitor has allowed us to grow our infrastructure monitoring from 1000 to 2000 to 3000 without needing to spend a lot on headcount to maintain a traditional monitoring system. They should work for a lot of companies given they can monitor anything from 10 devices to 10000 devices across all technology stacks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2016

LogicMonitor - monitor your diverse infrastructure, fairly quickly and easily!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LogicMonitor within the IT group to monitor all servers, network devices, and other various equipment. The main business problem this software solves is providing a single pane of glass to monitor every critical device within our environment, mainly via SNMP.
  • Supports a large set of devices
  • Technical support is fairly responsive and helpful
  • Web GUI is fairly well designed and there is an app to go with it for mobile access (service is cloud-based)
  • Click and drag graph zoom in and out
  • Certain types of monitoring and dashboard graphs are a bit confusing to get working and require some extra effort
  • Better syslog monitoring and alerting functionality, as they drop anything less critical than warning
Good for monitoring of the entire IT infrastructure, at least for any devices that support SNMP. Organizations with smaller IT infrastructure teams would benefit the most as the collectors are fairly easy to set up, making global deployment fairly easy and fast compared to traditional onsite deployments of other platforms. Organizations that require very deep and customize-able/specialized monitoring might want to go with separate, platform specific or custom monitoring platforms.
Read this authenticated review

About LogicMonitor

LogicMonitor provides an agentless SaaS-based monitoring platform. The platform offers automated hybrid infrastructure monitoring and analytics. The platform offers over 1,500 integrations out of the box and an open API designed to integrate with disparate monitoring systems across users’ networks. LogicMonitor enables monitoring across networks, servers, applications, websites, and containers, including cloud-based environments. The platform also supports predictive alerts, trend analysis, and performance reports from multi-source data for rapid reports and insights.

LogicMonitor Integrations

Ansible, Terraform, Slack, Datto Autotask PSA, ConnectWise Manage, Kubernetes, BigPanda, HipChat, PagerDuty, ServiceNow, Stride, Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation)

LogicMonitor Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starter$15per device
Pro$18per device
Enterprise$23per device

What is considered a device? A device is anything with an IP address that you want to monitor, including a physical device or a cloud resource. We don’t charge per node, interface, or metric.

LogicMonitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No