SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
497 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 171)

Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

SolarWinds makes your life easier and your network more efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

SolarWinds automated discovery is a godsend. It quickly finds new nodes and accurately predicts exactly what would you want to be monitored. When making new monitors and alerts the program is able to find the corresponding network path in no time. Our organization would be far less capable and a lot less effective at troubleshooting without the program.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
Bret Brutlag | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

be prepared to roll up your sleeves

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

We use the relationships along with the dependencies. The the only way to get the meaningful dashboards. The built-in views all provide the meat and potatoes of the info but the relationships it all together for RCA. Building out those relationships takes some work. The bigger and more complex the more work. If you don't do the footwork its all very functional with the relationships it discovers. But pulling it all together with App specific dashboards if where I get the most value.
Read Bret Brutlag's full review
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Works well to see performance and generate alerts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

The automated discover is a good feature but in almost all the case if you want more detailed information you have to install the agents server by server, because when you send from the console sometimes fail the deploy. For the network, elements are fantastic because you don't need to install an agent, the information that you get is enough. The correlation of the application most of the case you have to do it manually, but if you have the agents installed will work excellent
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
Odysseas Basdekis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2020

Monitors, Alerts, Solves

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

Yes, but this benefit would be so much bigger if we had the ability to monitor the HA adapter (the connection between hosts and storage). We had a lot of performance issues and the problem had to do with this specific connection.
Read Odysseas Basdekis's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

A cost-effective solution for your small or enterprise business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

Our company has definitely benefited greatly from Solarwinds ability to automatically scan certain subnets to pick up new objects on the network; add them to Solarwinds, and even categorize them for us as well. This saves our admins a lot of time so they can focus on other things.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

We did benefit from these features as we had inherited a poorly documented and constructed infrastructure. Also, for staff that was issued numerous devices, it made it easier to track staff and departmental systems/applications. Easy to use, easy to implement, and we started seeing rewards of tracking assets that we had inherited and are not often used in numerous locations.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL) | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

Infrastructure at a glance with DB as a side note

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

I don't have direct feedback on its value, but worked with 'App Dynamics,' which was a great product to monitor application trends. If SolarWinds has performed at the same level, it should be an invaluable toolset.
Read ZAREH OHANIAN (MSM, CISSP, ITIL)'s full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor benefit our company by pinpointing the areas that are having issues. Instead of wondering if a root cause of a problem is the server, network, hardware, or application, SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allows us to show with proof to the different areas of the company where the problem lies.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Just starting . .

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

Network discovery is always good if you don't have a great grasp on inventory so in that respect we definitely benefit from that capability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

SolarWinds makes sure we're in control!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

In our organization, the relationship between networks, applications, and servers were already clear upfront, hence we didn't specifically focus on these features. However, for example, the feature for discovering new nodes in a network is very powerful and has saved us a lot of time when setting up monitoring. The option to define a relation between monitored servers and applications is very convenient in case of troubleshooting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

SolarWinds SAM - one stop shop for monitoring your enterprise

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

On initial installation of the SolarWinds product, the bulk of the applications were automatically detected and added. From there it made manually tweaking each app and corresponding thresholds that much easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

We don't use any of the mapping features in Orion today. The legacy versions of mapping required too much ongoing maintenance that they became useless. We haven't tried the new mapping technology in 2018.x yet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

I am a new user with great power in his hands.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

Because most of our application are homemade and unothodox, the automated discovery wasn't useful for us for that point.

But in the case of the servers, it added the new servers flawlessly with, in my opinion, too much details. I had to remove some non-useful information that were monitored for our likes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Overall Satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

The discovery and visualization ability of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is decent. It helps us to see how and what network and host data are connected. The integration of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor with a web-base mapping tool is outstanding. with that, we can have a much clearer overview.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor: a must have tool for IT departments everywhere.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

The use of Application Dependency Mapping has been a great and very useful addition to SAM. Being able to get a quick look at the communications between servers and clients has helped with troubleshooting. While it does not take the place of dropping a packet sniffer on the line, it does provide an easy way to begin investigating more easily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

SolarWinds Assessment -- Can we monitor the monitoring system?

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds SAM Discovery and Visualization

There are many capabilities that SolarWinds Server and Application
Monitor, as well as other SolarWinds products, have that we have only scratched the surface in regard to capabilities. One tool we have
provided to our PC techs is Device Tracker. It is used by the Network
Engineers and PC techs can use IP addresses and hostnames to find device locations.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
8.0
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.8
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.8
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (170)
8.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English