TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGTIBCO Spotfire - Simple, but Advanced.TIBCO Spotfire is used widely in our company as a platform for creating reports not only for a single use, but also as large projects with scheduled updates. In our company, a colossal emphasis is made on data analytics and Spotfire is a significant wire in this large system.,Bulding interactive dashboards. Wide range of connection options both JDBC and ODBC. Building custom extensions (C#, IronPython ...),The documentation some times needs more details, because on average I found answers on TIBCO Community pages, but not directly at the documentation. Administration panel could be improved in a way, so that fewer direct interactions with servers are needed (by that I mean connecting to the server and making changes manually).,7,IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We integrate TIBCO Spotfire mostly with PerkinElmer's products who are in agreement with TIBCO. Their extensions help a lot with clinical and chemical analysis in our company.,PyCharm, RStudio, Microsoft Visual Studio Team SystemTIBCO Spotfire "Fires" on all cylinders!TIBCO Spotfire is being used by my entire organization to get insight into our data analytics. We use it primarily to gather and analyze data within our business.,The learning curve is very shallow and we are able to get valuable results with minimal amounts of training. Spotfire is very configurable and allows us to customize it to our business needs. Support for this product is done very well and really helps us solve our business challenges.,I'd like to see some better documentation and help features. I feel those are lacking! I think the GUI looks a bit dated and I'd love to see a new look and feel to it.,8,AppDynamics,Right now, we have just started running TIBCO Spotfire, so I will have to get back to you on this item.,Self-taught,Right now, TIBCO Spotfire is new to our company and we haven't integrated it anywhere.,Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service, IBM Analytics Engine, IBM B2B Cloud ServicesBasic review of TIBCO SpotfireI am using Tibco Spotfire on my own for some of the biological data analysis. I was first introduced to it at a biotech company I was involved with and since then, have on and off again used Spotfire for data analysis when Excel just won't do wither for graphic representation or analysis.,Excellent visualization of data in different formats Strong data analysis tools beyond basic graphing and functions,The user interface can be overwhelming at times Training and tutorials on the site can be improved by adding a more beginner section,8,,Self-taught,We have not use any other Tibco products, at this time the Spotfire data analysis has been sufficient.,MATLABTIBCO Spotfire for the Energy IndustryIt's used across the company for visualization and analytics.,Easy integration with open source R and Tibco's R. Web and mobile capable. Interactivity between visualizations is well designed.,Integration with open source Python. Built-in visualization variety falls behind competitors.,9,Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop and QlikView,Ease of data exploration. Ease of integrating in-house models. Ease of deploying end to end projects.,Online training Self-taught,No. TIBCO's other products are too inflexible for some of our needs and require dedicated support.,Microsoft BI, RStudioSpotfire - Grad Student PerspectiveIndividuals are using Spotfire to make more complicated plots and graphics. It is not used in a business setting.,Spotfire is easy to use. It is simple to upload data and make graphs. Spotfire allows you to make complicated graphs without too much trouble. These graphs would be much more difficult to make in Excel or Prism.,Spotfire has limited text options. Graphics look slightly less professional than using other software.,8,Microsoft Office 365,We have not used Spotfire in the business setting.,Self-taught,We haven't used any other TIBCO products.,Microsoft Office 365Spotfire is the bestIt is being used internally by our department, but the results generated are used throughout the organization. We are using Tibco Spotfire to generate visualizations, that helps our oil & gas engineers in the field to make better decisions.,Data Visulization Customizable Creating Data functions, which you can integrate with your visual maps.,Lacking embedded BI and production reporting. If you don't have code correct it would jamm onto backend rather than giving errors. Sometimes acts funky when you work with SQL Server.,9,,Online training,Terr Hadoop integration with Spotfire native data helps analysis on big data.,TIBCO Spotfire, Tableau Online, Microsoft Power BIExcellent Visualization ToolWe use SPOTFIRE to track key business metrics across the organization. As we become more data-driven and become more versatile at putting data into context I expect us to use to use more and more of Spotfire's Data Analytics functionality. I am currently enrolled in a postgraduate course in Data Analytics and aspire to add value to my role using my Data Analytics skills and SPOTFIRE,Data Visualisation Data Summaries Data contextualisation,Provide the ability to add tags and metadata to time series data in order to establish latent relationships and dependencies,9,Self-taught,No integration yet. We are at the beginning of our analytics journeyTibco Spotfire is a gamechanger!I use it to analyze all of our financials and well as to monitor how well our operations are performing on a day to day basis.,Visualizations are incredible You can easily manipulate the date to where it makes the most sense. Easily adjustable to adapt to what you need to get out of the data.,Need more support in learning the platform It's overwhelming to learn at first.,10,,It has helped us see where we need to get better and we have. Creating more value for our company.,Self-taught,Not integrated,Microsoft 365 BusinessStudy for a client who already use TIBCOTIBCO Spotfire is being used by Supply Chain Management Department to increase process visibility from the supplier until the consumer.,Integration with R Flexibility to data visualization Flexibility to data treatment,Integration with other systems,9,Microsoft Power BI,Positive return, since we recommended the client keep TIBCO as its solution for BI,Self-taught,The organization I worked or had lower levels of integration, but they were investing more effort in this topic.Spotfire is like a diamond on a land mineTIBCO Spotfire is being used broadly in our client's organization. As we support the client in most of their challenges, that means that we use the software within our organization too. We are a very lean company and do not have corporate department silos, so every employee uses it. The software addresses all problems related to visualisations, reporting and big data analytics.,Efficient with analysing milions of rows of data Very logical user interface Heavily customizable Supports many programming languages,The UI is not very intuitive The charts are just not as aesthetically appealing as in PowerBI There's no easy way of creating dashboards viewable on mobile devices,10,,Self-taught,We have not integrated Spotfire with other TIBCO products .... yet,Microsoft Office 365, RStudio, Microsoft Power BITIBCO software reviewI support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.,Visualizing data Simple tool to analyse and show UI Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.,They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.,10,Tableau Desktop,Used to improve business process Helps to understand growth Modern UI makes everyone ready to analyse quickly,,We use to integrate with SharePoint where data resides and more powerful with connectivity and visualize live data.Great Tool! Some improvements are still possibleWe use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.,Easy visualization Importing data is easy Can code and make changes,Better visualization More user modification functionality Better connectivity with different datasets,7,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,Not yet used,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BIGreat Data Visualization SoftwareIt is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.,Visualizing your data--there's no better platform Building custom dashboards to view your data,Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.,10,Helped save downtime costs Helped screen deals to maximize ROI,Self-taught,NoneOverall a very good product with potential improvementsI used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.,Easy chart creation Very good recommended charts Easy storytelling function,UI design Data preprocessing features,9,Tableau Desktop,Online trainingSpotfire New UserSpotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.,Data Visualization Data Analytics Mobile access, Multiple Platforms,Lacking embedded BI and production reporting,7,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,No we have not,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft AccessVery nice quality for a small price!Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.,Getting info from several data sources Unlimited quantity of data Interactive dashboarding,Available on Windows only Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure,7,Online training Self-taught,NoSpotfire: the Wild West of BI ToolsWe are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions,Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results. Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data. Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.,Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality. Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.,7,Tableau Desktop and IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We have not intergrated with other TIBCO tools in my current project.,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Slack, Skype for BusinessTransfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye.Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.,Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts. Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.,High-dimensionality data source Near real-time analytics,8,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,We have been using TIBCO Spotfire with another TIBCO product namely TIBCO StreamBase LiveView. We are using both products in our in-house fraud detection platform. We are able to capitalize on Spotfire strong visualization and analytical capabilities to analyze data stream which has been pre-processed by the StreamBase LiveView. Thus, we are able to visualize huge amount of data in near real-time.,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO StreamBase, SAS Business Intelligence,Not SureWhen you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming aheadThe main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.,Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc. As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments. Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs. With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization. Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable. Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.,The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value. For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly. The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement,9,Tableau Desktop,Online training Self-taught,No integration so far. We only use R and SQL databases. with it.,RStudio, PostgreSQL, Bizagi Digital Business PlatformA Young Engineer's Perspective on SpotfireTraditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion,Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas,Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R),10,Self-taughtSpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analyticsSpotfire is available for all of the employees in my organization, but only about 10% of them use it. I believe the relatively low percentage of users is due to the individual’s need for it, the learning curve, and lack of training available. For the users who do utilize Spotfire in my organization, we have been able to leverage amazing dashboards to gain efficiency and an in-depth understanding of key analytics.,Customization Speed Level of Detail,Learning curve Difficult to export charts into PPT Screen size effects dashboard appearance,9,Microsoft Access,Self-taught,We integrate it with Access, Excel, Nintex, and a few more. I am going to look into How to use it with AdWords.,Microsoft Application Server, AirtableTIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made betterTIBCO is currently being used for real-time tracking. Like other software, Spotfire is more for visualizations. At the same time those visualizations help us in picking out only related data. Currently, it is being used to address supply chain problems that most industries face - assisting them with inventory management and logistics,Interface has everything you need to create your desired visualization Upon selecting specific parts of the visualization you get to see which data is responsible for the visuals You can add multiple visuals on one page Concise story telling software,For writing a script an additional software is required,8,SAP Lumira and Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,SAP Lumira, Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop,Heat Map Trendlines Chart customizations,8Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysisWe used TIBCO Spotfire to develop dashboards for audit-related projects. We also used the product to perform exploratory data analyses on a variety of internal investigations in connection with malicious insider activities.,TIBCO Spotfire does a great job helping its users build advanced visualizations with little to no programming involved. It offers a large variety of visualizations and does a good job of letting its users tweak the visualizations to their specific needs. It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.,Its very strength can sometimes be a weakness. Although it is easy to develop visualizations with this platform, it is often difficult to customize when needed. This is symptomatic of all such dashboarding applications, though. Not an application builder, insanely hard to create a layout that is appealing or to create user controls - possible with some Python but far too hard to create say a button to change the data plotted on an axis etc. Not designed to create end user applications.,7,,Self-taught,Jenkins, Elasticsearch, Oracle Java SE,10Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT GuruTIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily,It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required. It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data. It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.,Spotfire is still kind of "data pulling" strategy based application, the user defines SQL like data fetching command, and also the refresh rate, the Spotfire tries to periodically re-run those "queries", although it does have some data cache mechanism, for rapidly changing data, this strategy's performance sometimes is bad, especially when the data source is not well designed but with large amount of data (an Oracle database with big table without too much index while those columns needs be queried). The Spotfire should improve to better connect with the other data stream /data pushing based API/Systems, also allowing the end user to define "basic data query" and the "delta data query" and "what mechanism is used to determine the delta",8,Tableau,Oracle Database, TIBCO Enterprise Message Service, Oracle WebLogic Application Server,Online training Self-taughtReporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.,It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics. You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users. The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.,The scale of colors to be used in graphics could be improved. If you compare with other products such as Power BI, the look'n feel doesn't look as friendly as in Power BI. I really don't know if this is possible, but in our case, it requires local users to be created, maybe it could be synced with Active Directory?,8,,Splunk Enterprise, Microsoft Power BI,Online training,No,Product Features Product Usability Third-party Reviews,I would focus more on agility and the ability to automatically gather data from different type of sources. In our case, we are just importing excel files, we still have to try if we can automatically feed the tool with the data. I think agility is a key differentiator in these times where everything is dynamic.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 630 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (101-125 of 280)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 10, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Simple, but Advanced."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used widely in our company as a platform for creating reports not only for a single use, but also as large projects with scheduled updates. In our company, a colossal emphasis is made on data analytics and Spotfire is a significant wire in this large system.
  • Bulding interactive dashboards.
  • Wide range of connection options both JDBC and ODBC.
  • Building custom extensions (C#, IronPython ...)
  • The documentation some times needs more details, because on average I found answers on TIBCO Community pages, but not directly at the documentation.
  • Administration panel could be improved in a way, so that fewer direct interactions with servers are needed (by that I mean connecting to the server and making changes manually).
Appropriate: build a reporting system for your company based on some project data.

Less appropriate: if your data set is somewhat small, then I wouldn't recommend using something as advanced as Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire "Fires" on all cylinders!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by my entire organization to get insight into our data analytics. We use it primarily to gather and analyze data within our business.
  • The learning curve is very shallow and we are able to get valuable results with minimal amounts of training.
  • Spotfire is very configurable and allows us to customize it to our business needs.
  • Support for this product is done very well and really helps us solve our business challenges.
  • I'd like to see some better documentation and help features. I feel those are lacking!
  • I think the GUI looks a bit dated and I'd love to see a new look and feel to it.
In my company, I think TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for analyzing my data and discovering patterns and emerging trends in our business environment. TIBCO Spotfire would allow us to visualize the data in easy to use visuals and graphs/charts to help us grow our business. TIBCO Spotfire fits well into our enterprise data management suite and would be a very valuable asset!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

"Basic review of TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Tibco Spotfire on my own for some of the biological data analysis. I was first introduced to it at a biotech company I was involved with and since then, have on and off again used Spotfire for data analysis when Excel just won't do wither for graphic representation or analysis.
  • Excellent visualization of data in different formats
  • Strong data analysis tools beyond basic graphing and functions
  • The user interface can be overwhelming at times
  • Training and tutorials on the site can be improved by adding a more beginner section
Tibco Spotfire may be well suited in the case that you have large amounts of data to go through and you want better visualization than the graphics excel or graph-pad can offer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for the Energy Industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the company for visualization and analytics.
  • Easy integration with open source R and Tibco's R.
  • Web and mobile capable.
  • Interactivity between visualizations is well designed.
  • Integration with open source Python.
  • Built-in visualization variety falls behind competitors.
For those looking to blend custom analytics and useful variety of off the shelf visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Grad Student Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Individuals are using Spotfire to make more complicated plots and graphics. It is not used in a business setting.
  • Spotfire is easy to use. It is simple to upload data and make graphs.
  • Spotfire allows you to make complicated graphs without too much trouble. These graphs would be much more difficult to make in Excel or Prism.
  • Spotfire has limited text options.
  • Graphics look slightly less professional than using other software.
Spotfire is good when trying to make sense of multiple variables in a complicated dataset. It is not the first software I would use to make a publication-quality image.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used internally by our department, but the results generated are used throughout the organization. We are using TIBCO Spotfire to generate visualizations, that helps our oil & gas engineers in the field to make better decisions.
  • Data Visulization
  • Customizable
  • Creating Data functions, which you can integrate with your visual maps.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting.
  • If you don't have code correct it would jamm onto backend rather than giving errors.
  • Sometimes acts funky when you work with SQL Server.
Best suited for real-time integration monitoring. Helps in immediate decision making. Least suited- When you don't have to make complex visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Visualization Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPOTFIRE to track key business metrics across the organization. As we become more data-driven and become more versatile at putting data into context I expect us to use to use more and more of Spotfire's Data Analytics functionality. I am currently enrolled in a postgraduate course in Data Analytics and aspire to add value to my role using my Data Analytics skills and SPOTFIRE
  • Data Visualisation
  • Data Summaries
  • Data contextualisation
  • Provide the ability to add tags and metadata to time series data in order to establish latent relationships and dependencies
Good for static data sets, would like to learn more about analytics on time series data
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2018

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire is a gamechanger!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to analyze all of our financials and well as to monitor how well our operations are performing on a day to day basis.
  • Visualizations are incredible
  • You can easily manipulate the date to where it makes the most sense.
  • Easily adjustable to adapt to what you need to get out of the data.
  • Need more support in learning the platform
  • It's overwhelming to learn at first.
I think its well suited for every aspect of our business. I use it every single day.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Study for a client who already use TIBCO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by Supply Chain Management Department to increase process visibility from the supplier until the consumer.
  • Integration with R
  • Flexibility to data visualization
  • Flexibility to data treatment
  • Integration with other systems
If the company doesn't have a good data structure, you'll probably face challenges (with any solution, not only TIBCO).
TIBCO is easy to use and it's a powerful tool, even for beginners.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is like a diamond on a land mine"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used broadly in our client's organization. As we support the client in most of their challenges, that means that we use the software within our organization too. We are a very lean company and do not have corporate department silos, so every employee uses it. The software addresses all problems related to visualisations, reporting and big data analytics.
  • Efficient with analysing milions of rows of data
  • Very logical user interface
  • Heavily customizable
  • Supports many programming languages
  • The UI is not very intuitive
  • The charts are just not as aesthetically appealing as in PowerBI
  • There's no easy way of creating dashboards viewable on mobile devices
Spotfire is best suited for companies with a mature data analytics capability. For organisations beginning their data-driven journey, the high barriers of entry may prove too high. However, organisations who are mature (analytics wise) will be able to unleash the immense potential of the software and drive insights limited only by the imagination of responsible analysts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO software review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.


  • Visualizing data
  • Simple tool to analyse and show UI
  • Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.
  • They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Tool! Some improvements are still possible"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.
  • Easy visualization
  • Importing data is easy
  • Can code and make changes
  • Better visualization
  • More user modification functionality
  • Better connectivity with different datasets
Better integration with different data types
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Data Visualization Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.
  • Visualizing your data--there's no better platform
  • Building custom dashboards to view your data
  • Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.
Appropriate any time you are looking at data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Overall a very good product with potential improvements"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.
  • Easy chart creation
  • Very good recommended charts
  • Easy storytelling function
  • UI design
  • Data preprocessing features
Sales and finance visualization
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire New User"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.
  • Data Visualization
  • Data Analytics
  • Mobile access, Multiple Platforms
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
Generally good for visualization and reporting, but not practical for Qlik users.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Belis profile photo
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.
  • Getting info from several data sources
  • Unlimited quantity of data
  • Interactive dashboarding
  • Available on Windows only
  • Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size
  • Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources
  • Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure
Spotfire is a nice tool when you want to complete different data sources together; with interactivity when selecting data. Honestly, this seems more marketing and finance oriented, with some weaknesses and limitations with geodata or when you really want to get very deep in data mining. This remains possible but a lot of configuration is needed, and sometimes the result is not that good. But for basics in BI, this is a nice tool, with a very good price!
Read Christopher Belis's full review
Alex Walton profile photo
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions
  • Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results.
  • Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data.
  • Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.
  • Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality.
  • Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages
  • Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.
Quick and easy access to data, with web portal to share information. being able to take manual reporting out of the equation is really great as well. I have found that while the tool is highly custom, there is less development resources available online, so there is a bit more self solving required with this tool as the community matures.
Read Alex Walton's full review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.
  • Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts.
  • Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.
  • High-dimensionality data source
  • Near real-time analytics
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for simplifying (preprocessed/cleaned) data aggregation, performing descriptive analytics, and visualization of information in dynamic charts or augment information with geographical information in maps. However, sometimes it might have some problems when trying to handle incomplete data set with a couple of fields containing some null or empty values.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "When you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming ahead"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.
  • Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc.
  • As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments.
  • Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs.
  • With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization.
  • Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable.
  • Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.
  • The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value.
  • For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly.
  • The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement
For me, Spotfire is perfect for situations where analysis must be shared interactively between different areas, geographies, etc. Automation of reports to avoid the trap of "chasing a different rabbit" every month due to different presentations of the data. I'm not sure though if, due to costs, Spotfire would suite a small company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 22, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Young Engineer's Perspective on Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Traditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion
  • Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks
  • Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots
  • Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas
  • Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R)
Well suited for rapidly generating helpful visualizations
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is available for all of the employees in my organization, but only about 10% of them use it. I believe the relatively low percentage of users is due to the individual’s need for it, the learning curve, and lack of training available. For the users who do utilize Spotfire in my organization, we have been able to leverage amazing dashboards to gain efficiency and an in-depth understanding of key analytics.
  • Customization
  • Speed
  • Level of Detail
  • Learning curve
  • Difficult to export charts into PPT
  • Screen size effects dashboard appearance
It is well suited for users who work heavily with large data sets, and who want to showcase important KPI’s at a high level of the large data sets to other individuals. It is an amazing tool to streamline reporting, analyzing, and measuring data.

It is not well suited for very small data sets, nor individuals who are not capable of spending 10-15 hours learning how to Use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used for real-time tracking. Like other software, Spotfire is more for visualizations. At the same time those visualizations help us in picking out only related data. Currently, it is being used to address supply chain problems that most industries face - assisting them with inventory management and logistics
  • Interface has everything you need to create your desired visualization
  • Upon selecting specific parts of the visualization you get to see which data is responsible for the visuals
  • You can add multiple visuals on one page
  • Concise story telling software
  • For writing a script an additional software is required
Spotfire is well suited for storytelling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TIBCO Spotfire to develop dashboards for audit-related projects. We also used the product to perform exploratory data analyses on a variety of internal investigations in connection with malicious insider activities.
  • TIBCO Spotfire does a great job helping its users build advanced visualizations with little to no programming involved.
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations and does a good job of letting its users tweak the visualizations to their specific needs.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • Its very strength can sometimes be a weakness. Although it is easy to develop visualizations with this platform, it is often difficult to customize when needed. This is symptomatic of all such dashboarding applications, though.
  • Not an application builder, insanely hard to create a layout that is appealing or to create user controls - possible with some Python but far too hard to create say a button to change the data plotted on an axis etc.
  • Not designed to create end user applications.
It is an excelent tool. I used it as a complement to Excel. It has very nice and complete chart options and allows the user to run complex pivot tables of long and heavy data tables. I work a lot with pivots and Excel crashes if you use pivots of more than 70 columns and 250 MB.

The web option is also great. You can send the attendees of a meeting a link with the report and they access to a "read-only " version of the report. It is not necesary to attach a file to an email, as the link itself is enough.
The context was as follows: a large French football club, wanted to have a map locating the purchasers of the club ticket / product as well as other geolining information for a targeted advertising campaign.

Tibco Spotfire helped us a lot and especially made it easier for us.

Our client was very satisfied
Read this authenticated review
yixiang Shan profile photo
January 12, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.
  • Spotfire is still kind of "data pulling" strategy based application, the user defines SQL like data fetching command, and also the refresh rate, the Spotfire tries to periodically re-run those "queries", although it does have some data cache mechanism, for rapidly changing data, this strategy's performance sometimes is bad, especially when the data source is not well designed but with large amount of data (an Oracle Database with big table without too much index while those columns needs be queried). The Spotfire should improve to better connect with the other data stream /data pushing based API/Systems, also allowing the end user to define "basic data query" and the "delta data query" and "what mechanism is used to determine the delta"
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for Historical Data (after fact) analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires to consolidate/visualize the data rapidly changed in the RealTime manner (on the second level)
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Patricio Santirso profile photo
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Reporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.
  • It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics.
  • You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users.
  • The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.
  • The scale of colors to be used in graphics could be improved.
  • If you compare with other products such as Power BI, the look'n feel doesn't look as friendly as in Power BI.
  • I really don't know if this is possible, but in our case, it requires local users to be created, maybe it could be synced with Active Directory?
I particularly like TIBCO Spotfire because it is easy to understand how to use it. I learned on my own and didn't take much time. I use it to report KPIs related to Information Security, I add the reference link directly to issues in the different tools, making really easy to consume for leaders who want to understand what issues are contributing to low scores in the report.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (242)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (209)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (237)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (248)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (179)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (224)
7.9
Publish to Web (187)
8.3
Publish to PDF (221)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (137)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (254)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (221)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (191)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (196)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (164)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (182)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (141)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (100)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (119)
7.4
REST API (44)
7.3
Javascript API (44)
7.2
iFrames (32)
7.0
Java API (35)
7.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (43)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (37)
7.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian