SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
22 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Billy Votta | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

DRE is a phenomenal addition to anyone using SolarWinds for their helpdesk!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it company wide as our Samanage helpdesk (another SolarWinds product) integrates nicely with it.
  • The ability to send ad hoc links to a Samanage ticket allows users to be helped even if they're on their home computer and need assistance logging into our VPN was essential for us in the COVID-19 transition to an at home workforce!
  • The methods of deployment are nice and easily managed through GPO.
  • The interface of seeing waiting sessions and options to collaborate with other technicians is nice and user friendly.
  • When the end user doesn't have admin rights (most don't on work PCs or within VDI) and they click to run the downloaded exe given to them from the helpdesk ticket, the exe isn't smart enough to realize there's already an agent installed (which DOES allow admin rights) so what ends up happening is the technician becomes hampered and unable to even see the screen when admin rights are requested forcing us to adopt an ever changing password tempadmin user that we give to the end users (but even then we can't see what they're seeing and our session goes into an infinite loop). DRE is supposed to request and even give credentials for admin access but it simply doesn't work in practice when within a VDI environment.
  • I'd like the ability for all technicians to be logged in even if we don't have the licenses, we pay for concurrent sessions not users, it shouldn't require us to leave the application totally logged off, that's silly.
  • Given the robustness of the integration with the Samanage helpdesk (saves session history so we know there was a technician who helped that ticket, etc) we really wish it was smart enough in the inventory integration to know what agents already exist and are operating and allow us to give a link to leverage that user's agent on the known inventory item, like if there was a dropdown in Samange for known inventory PCs associated with that user and based on the user's ticket see which have the agent installed allowing our technicians to simply click to connect to that rather than putting our user through downloading and running an exe.
  • An interface showing all known inventory items akin to how TeamViewer does it with their address book would alleviate some unknowns and allow for better management of unattended remote access needs rather than us hunting for it and/or resorting to other means of access not DRE (like vCenter spying on a session which messes up users with multiple monitors, RDP which takes over user sessions with our own, or VNC which doesn't work through the internet).
I think for ANY environment it's worth taking it out for a test drive. It's very powerful, especially when using the agent to connect to sessions where the end user doesn't need admin rights but when not in a VDI environment it likely would perform better with its built in functionality to ask for elevation.
It is really powerful, even with the ability to run command line scripts without the user seeing (kind of a built in psexec) and it does work with Mac and Linux to some degree too so it really is worth trying out regardless of your environment. It may be just what you're looking for and the sales folks at DRE are not pushy at all, at least in my experience, and give great advice even at the expense of selling less licenses!
Read Billy Votta's full review
Sara Fair | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Look no further than Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) is being used to support all users when they are away from the office. It's also utilized when I'm away from the office and need to assist a user.
  • Easy installation for the users.
  • Easy to use from a support role.
  • Nothing. I'm very happy with SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE).
SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) is well suited for our environment as it does not require an on-prem server. It's easy to use from both users and support. It has been a lifesaver while employees have been at home.
Read Sara Fair's full review
Tyler Gibb | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Great Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dameware Remote Everywhere to support our customers remotely and it helps us drive down costs but increase response times. We use this fantastic program not only to support our customers but as a tool to assist each other for the ones in the field as well. Program is great when it comes to giving a 3rd party an option into a system as well to provide additional support when need.
  • Quick Response Time - Don't have to drive to customer sites as frequently for small issues.
  • Easy to use and install.
  • Rich Features - Command Line behind the scenes, FTP Uploads, etc.
  • We have found it can be intensive memory usage on systems.
  • Not a huge fan of the End-User connections using Google Chrome Extensions, a little complex for some users.
We find it well suited for all our scenarios, either for support or for one on one training.
Read Tyler Gibb's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Easy to use, intuitive, and stable

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use it on the "IT" side of things. Technically though, anyone who needs to physically remote into a machine can get access and use SolarWinds DRE.
  • Maintains session information for multiple reconnects
  • Supports multiple authentication types
  • Multiple options for connecting (RDP, MRC Viewer, VNC Viewer, etc.)
  • Cannot multi-select saved hosts (for mass deletion)
  • Sometimes randomly seems to "reset" saved connections
SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere is very well-suited to corporate environments where bandwidth is not an issue. I can remote into anyone's machine anywhere to assist them, and the faster their network connectivity, the faster I can get the job done. Dameware is ill-suited to slow bandwidth areas. Satellite offices or VPN users in bad mobile service areas have a hard time, especially if the service has not already been installed and configured. Damware will do this on its own at the first connection, but it can be slow and troublesome over these networks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Easily and Quickly Manage Users and Computers!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DRE is being used by the entire organization. I use DRE on all machines to manage and assist users, along with managing servers and VMs. DRE is helping greatly in these new days of heavy remote working.
  • Manage users remotely.
  • Manage computers remotely.
  • Names of computers in DRE should mirror the actual computer name in AD and not have nicknames. We adjust laptop and desktop names according to their location. If the DRE name isn't manually updated, it can make a lot of confusion.
It is well suited for managing users across many issues. I'm a single user and manage anywhere from 300 to 500 users at multiple sites, and without the remote capabilities of DRE, it would be near impossible.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

DRE is a game changer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have devices throughout North and South America, so after researching several options we found that Dameware Remote Everywhere was the best solution for us. We can manage devices that are outside of our domain which is very helpful since right now during the COVID-19 pandemic a lot of our users are working remotely, so we are still able to help them with DRE.
  • Works great with devices that are outside of the organization's network.
  • Console can be used via the app or web based.
  • DRE works with Windows, MAC, and Linux.
  • Maybe have the capability of working on mobile devices.
The best thing is that it can be used to provide support to devices that are outside of our domain. With the current pandemic, this has been very helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2020

Solarwinds DRE. Great for the new normal.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in the IT department to address remote work support. This has been a critical item for the past couple of months and has filled in a gap in support.
  • Ease of use.
  • Well documented and supported.
  • No need for user interaction.
  • Can be jittery depending on connection.
  • Generic installer creation is not straightforward.
Having a remote workforce where you need a solution that isn't dependent on VPN.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere...Remote Access for Everyone and Everything

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere is a remote access software used exclusively in our organization. It provides secure remote access for our technology team to access servers and workstations in all of our locations securely. SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere allows us to disable the insecure RDP protocol on our network, and also provides central administration and control to log and record who is using it, and what systems are being remoted to.
  • Central administration and control of users and permissions
  • Secure access to Windows-based machines using the default or custom ports
  • SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere is a robust software package that allows access to all systems. There is nothing I currently feel it could do better.
SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere is an excellent remote access and control software for use in any scenario. Whether the technical support team is located in the same building or office as the users, or off-site in another remote location, SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere is a robust system for any situation.
Our team also uses it for remote access to servers, when that server is locked in a location with no physical access. By using encryption and randomized ports, we can be sure that the connection is secure with minimal chances of interception.
Read this authenticated review
Cameron Council | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Lives up to its name!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is being used by the IT department to support them in house companies within the organization as well as 3 satellite office off-network. Dameware Remote Everywhere allows us to seamlessly connect to endpoints no matter where they are as long as the user has a network connection.
  • Connect to a user no matter if they are on or off-network.
  • Ability to run PowerShell remotely through the client.
  • File transferring through the client.
  • Full visibility of system info with intruding onto the user's computer and impact their productivity.
  • It can have issues reconnecting if the connection is lost.
  • Changing a computer name does not automatically change the name associated with the remote agent client.
  • Small inconsistencies, sometimes the background changes to black, sometimes it doesn't.
When you need to remotely connect to a client in order to troubleshoot it resolve and issue while the client has a network connection this software is a lifesaver. If the network connection is spotty you can run into latency issues and delayed screens that don't match what the user is seeing.
Read Cameron Council's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

SolarWinds Dameware gives you the access you need - when you need it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dameware Remote helps us stay plugged into issues with our hosts throughout the region/network. When we need to address a problem or issue we can remote into any machine necessary. This allows our Directors and regional employees to support sites within their region. Without this we'd be forced to spend extra time and money traveling and supporting these facilities.
  • Allow remote access to important systems.
  • Securely setup connections to host.
  • The size of the remote access screen is sometimes small.
  • Ability to chat with users on the connected host could be better.
Perfect for setting up remote access that is secure and quick and painless. Allowing employees to access systems that need immediate attention. It's not so great if you needed a larger view of a system, i.e. if a system has multiple screens or lots of data, it is sometimes hard to read due to the size of the window for remote access.
Read this authenticated review

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (10)
8.7
File transfer (10)
8.6
Instant message (9)
7.4
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (7)
7.4
Over-the-Internet remote session (10)
8.0
Initiate remote control from mobile (6)
6.2
Remote management of servers & workstations (9)
8.7
Centralized management dashboard (9)
8.3
Session record (7)
7.4
Annotations (5)
6.5
Monitoring and Alerts (6)
6.2
Multi-platform remote control (8)
6.8

About SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE)

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere provides help desk technicians a simple, cloud-based, remote-support solution to easily access endpoint devices. It features diagnostic and troubleshooting tools to help resolve issues more quickly.

Using a laptop or a mobile app users can access end-device details, running sessions, and deep registry editing capabilities. The user can record sessions, add notes, view reports, and create customized surveys for additional end-user feedback.




Categories:  Remote Desktop

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Features

Remote Administration Features
Has featureScreen sharing
Has featureFile transfer
Has featureInstant message
Does not have featureSecure remote access with Smart Card authentication
Has featureAccess to sleeping/powered-off computers
Has featureOver-the-Internet remote session
Has featureInitiate remote control from mobile
Has featureRemote management of servers & workstations
Does not have featureRemote Active Directory® management
Has featureCentralized management dashboard
Has featureSession record
Has featureAnnotations
Has featureMonitoring and Alerts
Has featureMulti-platform remote control

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Screenshots

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Dameware Remote Everywhere (DRE) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android