Cohesity Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity allowed us to backup data more effectively and restore the data fast. We have less issues in Hyper-v and Vmware compared to other products. Also the addition of Helios and marketplace add new options that other products can not provide.
  • Helios added additional report and management of two or more clusters.
  • The schedule reports is handy to have and setup to ensure backups are running without erros.
  • We had issues with Hyper-v. But that was windows issue not really cohesity issue.
[Cohesity] works great with VMWare. You can created protected folders in VMWare and allow then to sync over to Cohesity, Any server in that folder will automatically be backed up.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2020
Surender Vangala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity for in-house backup solution for our entire Infrastructure which earlier was outsourced to 3rd party vendor. Mainly we have vSAN && traditional VMware infrra with Windows, Linux which is hosting MSSQL, ORACLE, SAP HANA & SAP BASIS application. We are able to use lots of improvements in both performance and RPO.
  • Infinitely node scalable - Able to increase our cluster capacity based on our needs by adding nodes online
  • Faster backup & RTO
  • Non-disruptive upgrades - No Service downtime as Cohesity upgrades one node at a time and entire cluster is available during the upgrade
  • Test/Dev - Great feature
  • Advance Storage Analytics - Will give more insights on storage trend and performance
  • OS backup compatibility for new releases of RHEL & OEL to be improved.
  • Multi-tenancy has limited scope and looking for support of multi-tenancy across all platforms on Cohesity.
  • Documentation - Sometimes support matrix is not up to date on their docs portal.
Cohesity is best for VMware and faster NAS backups. They are working on lots of improvements that were not available in most of the backup products.
Cohesity SRE's are always reachable via Support Center Calling and we can have direct contact with support engineers to provide a clear understanding of our issues. Kudos to Cohesity Support.
Read Surender Vangala's full review
June 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Cohesity as our primary data backup, archival/restore platform, BUT, we have also incorporated this platform as part of our enterprise NAS (secondary NAS). So far, things are going well, but we do have a learning curve that we are trying to get through and utilize this technology to its fullest capability. Backups are primarily SQL databases, file level backups and all our VM backups (as Cohesity replaced the previous VM backup system).
  • Extremely streamline admin controls for our SAs.
  • Excellent account team and backend support.
  • Competitive pricing.
  • Data platform/encryption is solid.
  • Would like to see a broader analytics offering, including data management & security offerings.
Cohesity is scalable enough to be a larger enterprise storage solution and flexible enough for a mid-sized organization like us.
Technical support is spot on!
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our experience with the Cohesity DataProtect Platform has been overwhelmingly positive as we been able to manage our 500+ VMs and physical servers with only a few backup policies. Backups: VMs are currently being added to jobs automatically through tagging. But, we also manually add VMs to jobs at times as we need to split up the load of VMs to multiple backup jobs. We try to keep a ratio of 15 VMs to 1 job. After getting a Cohesity Agent on a SQL server and syncing it with Cohesity, it is simple to set a backup/retention schedule for Log, Incremental, and Full backups based on policy. We utilize the Cohesity APIs to produce daily reports on jobs that have succeeded, failed, paused, etc. We send an email to our Systems team with this information and log it in a .csv. This allows us to give a timeline to backup auditors as well as let us know when something isn't going right. Restores: We have used Cohesity to restore granular files as well as restore SQL databases. VM's restore to vSphere directly. VM's typically restore quite quickly and work right away as long as they're restored to the original vSphere they came from. Individual files can be searched on multiple VM backups and downloaded locally or placed back on source machine. SQL Databases can be restored to any SQL server instance, not only the original. As long as the SQL versions match. *We have had some luck restoring databases from older SQL versions to newer SQL versions.
  • Intuitive user Interface.
  • Good reporting and metrics.
  • Cohesity restores data well.
  • Replication performance - We needed support to provide some customizations in order to get our replication to work properly to another offsite cluster. We have been told that this issue is fixed in the newest general release.
  • Support - I would characterize the support as very good, but in a few instances I could tell my support agent needed to go higher up his chain to get clarification on features. I believe Cohesity is rapidly growing their support infrastructure as they put more hardware in the field.
Reliable backup solution with many options and friendly/logical backup/restore infrastructure.
Cohesity has been very responsive to support requests and resolved issues in a timely manner. They openly assist in filling in knowledge gaps about the application. So far they have been a great company to work with and the appliance has had the least number of errors in backup and restore when compared to the other POCs.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Scott Noel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
  • Make adding items to be backed up easy.
  • The search feature for file restore is quick.
  • The restore process is quick.
  • Improvement in the accuracy of their documentation.
  • Remove the amount of times you need to log in to view support info.
They are always friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The support is easy to reach and the reaction times are on point. Several times I had called with my system being down and the person who answered the call would require a support rep call me back. Some of these call backs would be 1-2 hours later. When needed, the support will scale up to deliver the right support for the right cases. When asking for detailed information about a problem they always help you to understand the problem and the underlying causes better.
Read Scott Noel's full review
February 22, 2020
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is currently being used on our environment for backup and recovery of structured and unstructured data. We also use the replication feature to replicate all data off-site for disaster recovery. We use Cohesity to backup Microsoft SQL databases as well and have given our DBA's ability to backup and restore databases for themselves. It's currently only used within our technology department but could be used in the future by other admins throughout the district to restore data on their own, thus alleviating this task from our department. We were using EMC networker and backing up data to Datadomain, and I can tell you had the backup and recovery software and storage all is one is easier to manage.
  • Cohesity restores data well.
  • It can de-duplicate data very well.
  • The alerts sent out could be more descriptive.
  • It would be nice to be able to restore Active directory objects.
Cohesity is well suited to use for backing up and restoring all data. It's also useful for deploying CIF shares that would be used for storing secondary data like analytical information. I really can't think of any scenarios where this would be less appropriate.
Cohesity support is incredible. Every time I've had to call them with an issue, the first person I spoke with was able to solve my issue. They also have an excellent support library of white pages. They also, proactively, keep you up to date with any patches to the appliance or the client software.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
December 09, 2019
Pranav Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It all started with one Cohesity box, and currently we have 8 fully populated systems across locations. Cohesity is a blend of cost-effective storage designed for secondary or archival data, and integrates well with a number of other systems like Vmware, PureStorage, or AWS with its large array of APIs available to the user. We are using it for backing up VMs, indexing data, and restoring data, and it's lightning fast. At the same time the data compression and dedup is robust and best among the products we came across.
  • Backing data (VMs , physical servers, NFS volumes, Pure storage volumes, etc.)
  • Running splunk cold buckets.
  • FIles and folder level restoration.
  • Disaster recovery planning and replication.
  • Support.
  • Stable releases.
  • Bug fixes.
It's perfect for handling your secondary and archival data. It can replace the legacy backup solutions and tape libraries, and integrate with and leverage most of the available public clouds. Also, they have a virtual cloud edition for AWS, which you can use to take maximum advantage of a hybrid kind of environment. You can also use it to offload snapshots from your costly tier 1 storage like Pure.
Initially, support was not very proactive, and there were a lot of issues with the first few releases. Being an early adopter we had to go through the evolution phase of this product, which was at times painful. There were very frequent releases and bug fixes, but with time, support has improved considerably and is on par with most of the other vendors.
Read Pranav Sharma's full review
February 19, 2020
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity in our organisation mainly as a backup product. This is for backups of vmware vcenter environments, Office 365 mailboxes, SMB and NFS file shares, Oracle and SQL. It is used to replicate our backup data to our remote site as well as archive to the cloud when required.
  • Data reduction
  • Replication
  • Integration with vcenter
  • NFS file shares
  • SMB file shares
Cohesity is particularly well suited to backups of vcenter and physical server environments. It falls a little short in provision of 'views' or shares to be used by appliances to carry out backups. e.g. you can provision an NFS share 'view' in Cohesity but Cisco Firepower will not accept it as a backup location.
Pre-sales support in particular was great. On-going support has been up and down depending on the type of issue.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Cohesity as a network file solution, however that has changed and now we us it as a backup solution. Currently it is being used in all 3 of our locations. The backup solution is being used to backup SQL and Oracle databases, File level backups, and VM backups.
  • Make adding items to be backuped easy.
  • The search feature for file restore is quick.
  • The restore process is quick.
  • Improvement in the accuracy of their documentation
  • Remove the amount of times you need to log in to view support info
I enjoy Cohesity as a backup solution. When it works it does a great job at providing a backup solution. If there is ever a need to engage with the support staff they are very knowledgeable and eager to assist. Finding files or VMs is quick and easy to locate the item to restore and the speed of restore is quick. I would score them higher but the documentation that they provide you will isn't always accurate. They have provided me with knowledge base articles in an attempt to easily resolve my issue only to find that there were steps missing.
The support staff is knowledgeable and eager to help. I would have rated them higher in support but several times I had called with my system being down and the person who answered the call would require a support rep call me back. Some of these call backs would be 1-2 hours later.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2019
Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was easy to implement and do a POC. After it was shown to be the superior product it was easy to flip to production.
Issues have been dealt with promptly or put on the roadmap for a future release. Backup and restore became as easy as they're supposed to be.
  • The various ways to quickly reover data. Cloning and instant volume mounts (Exchange restores) have been great options.
  • Ability to use it as secondary storage for VMDK's that don't need to be on Tier 1.
  • Using it as a NAS device.
  • Ability to backup Isilon!
  • Mainly cosmetic stuff that is currently being addressed.
  • Expiration times for clones.
Well suited for backups of an entire virtual environment with an agent to catch any physical server. Using as a NAS/filer to store your data and protect it at the same time. Replicating data for DR off-site has worked great. The option to use a clone to test or verify settings without bringing a VM back fully online is great.
There have been bumps, especially as they have grown. But they have handled them very well and I believe are behind them now. It's easy to get someone that can help and resolve the issues. If it's something that needs a system change, they have worked through that and submitted to get it taken care of; along with interfacing with the engineering team to get that done.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
April 20, 2019
joey diniz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cohesity to backup our entire VMWare environment.
  • Cohesity is a well packaged all in one backup solution.
  • Being able to back up to another Cohesity cluster and/or to the cloud for redundancy is nice.
  • Being able to use storage not being used by backups for simple file shares is an added bonus.
  • Setting up protection jobs can use a little work.
  • Updating can be a little tedious as you have to go to a web page to pull the latest update instead of being able to update from within the UI.
If you want a versatile backup solution that can handle your backup needs. With added features that are not available with other solutions, i.e. creating shares from the cluster, apps that look into your backup data for compliance and more.
Read joey diniz's full review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is backing up all of our NAS shares, SQL data, and VMs. The only complaint I could have is that the Support team is slow to respond to significant issues. The product itself is great, as long as you can get answers from Support when needed. I would recommend this product to other administrators.
  • Backing up all of our NAS shares.
  • Backing up all of our SQL data.
  • Backing up all of our VMs.
  • Support team is lacking in response times.
  • Account team doesn't step in until or offer assistance until customer gets frustrated.
Cohesity backups are great, though when things don't work it is a significant issue. Upgrades are really easy to perform and can be done at any time. That is a nice feature, as our previous backup solution involved an entire day's worth of upgrade. It was really really terrible. This is much nicer.
Support is slow to respond on major issues.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is currently being used for data protection and secondary storage. It will expand to disaster recovery in 2020. It is being used for our corporate datacenter and thus protects us organization wide. It addressed low backup job success rates and offloading secondary storage onto cheaper disk. In addition we will implement its analytics capability for archive, GDPR compliance checks, and PII identification.
  • Data protection has been rock solid.
  • Support and customer service is responsive and knowledgeable as well as courteous.
  • Secondary storage (SMB/NFS) work as advertised and save us money.
  • The web UI still needs a little refining especially around the wording in alerts and messages to users.
  • International sales resources in APAC.
Using Cohesity for data protection is amazing. They are the Uber of the data protection world. Setting up sources and targets is so simple. The backup procedures are crisp, and the results speak for themselves. 99%+ success rate since install.
Less appropriate would be backing up really old legacy apps that need specialized plugins or agents. i.e. Lotus Nnotes or something like that.
Read this authenticated review
April 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity is used as the backup application across all entities in the group. It replaces a legacy application with a lot of servers—vApps—that does not scale very well. Our application had many bugs and required constant upgrades to fix issues. Unfortunately, these new releases had bugs each time. With Cohesity, it was really easy to deploy the cluster, in a few hours, the first cluster was deployed and ready to take backups.
  • Easy to set up in just a few hours.
  • Upgrades are done online, you can still do backups and restore when the cluster is upgrading.
  • Restores are really easy to perform and fast.
  • No support for Windows clustering but this should be released in a few weeks or months.
  • No Windows BMR without third-party add-ons.
If you have an environment using VMs, it will be great. If you require physical server backup, you will need add-ons. Cohesity can be used for many other things like storing archives (using the embedded WORM feature). It can be used as NAS too. There is also an app store but this is new so I am hoping to see more applications in the coming months.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2018
Adam Rasner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially purchased Cohesity as a data protection product to displace Microsoft Data Protection Manager that was undersized for our environment. This was leading to poor performance, failed backup jobs, and a generally unreliable backup system. Later, we expanded our use case to land tier 2 (lower performance) applications data on the Cohesity, saving us up to 60% versus using traditional high performance storage area network.
  • User interface
  • Easy of implementation
  • Ability to scale, "pay as you grow"
  • The architecture could be better designed so you can put more nodes in a cluster
  • Some of the initial purchased equipment is already close to end of life
  • You can't mix and match generations of Cohesity equipment in the same enclosure
It's a great data protection product and secondary storage target, and it integrates well with the cloud.
Read Adam Rasner's full review
November 06, 2018
Erik Butler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cohesity to backup our entire infrastructure as well as replicate to our DR location. The ability to use it for secondary storage in an emergency outage was a major plus to the purchase. Our current staff is pretty small, and being able to train someone to do a file restore in 20 minutes was a blessing in and of itself. Great product, and support has been top notch.
  • Low management overhead
  • Smooth and consistent backups
  • Being able to look at a dashboard and see all relevant information
  • Upgrades are painless and can be done even during a backup window
  • KB is limited.
  • Support for 3rd party SANS is also pretty small
I think anytime you need a robust backup solution it would fit. The only downside I could see would be price if you are an SMB space. The price though is comparable to any of the top tier vendors.
Read Erik Butler's full review
October 10, 2018
Jason Stallings | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were backing up about 160 TB to tape per week. We are still moving over to Cohesity, however, we will not have the need to have the hardware related to tapes next year. Also, the money we spend on new versions of tapes is not going towards more clusters. In Cohesity, my backups are running faster and I have more frequent crash consistent data.
  • Cohesity will save us money, time, and manpower.
  • We will have quick redundancy to AWS for our Cohesity node.
  • This tool is very straightforward and clean. The menus are not over complicated or cluttered.
  • Cohesity is working on this, however, I would like to see a more expanded KB section.
We were backing up about 160 TB to tape per week. We will be able to eliminate our off site tape storage, and all expenses related to that. This will save us time and money each day. I have not come across any areas that we could not use Cohesity.
Read Jason Stallings's full review
May 10, 2018
Kurt Pritchett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Cohesity for our primary backup/data protection solution. We have a VMware virtual infrastructure and all of our production servers are getting backed up with Cohesity.
  • Cohesity is great at finding files for day to day restore operations. It's like a "Google search tool".
  • Cohesity is great at cloning a VM into a test environment. The whole process only takes a couple min.
  • Cohesity is great at making it clear which servers are a which servers are not getting backed up.
  • Cohesity's Auto protect feature is great. Your servers get backed up as they are created.
  • I would like to see Cohesity have the ability to do a file level restore from a server using a dynamic disk.
  • Cohesity needs a way to backup SQL databases without an agent.
  • Cohesity cannot run a backup of a single VM.
Cohesity is well suited for simple backup and restores and in a DR situation. It really solves all secondary storage problems with a very simple user interface.
Read Kurt Pritchett's full review
April 25, 2018
Brian Critchlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Cohesity for about 4 months now and it has already saved us a tremendous amount of headache and time doing file, VM and SQL restores.
  • SQL Backup & Restore
  • Test & Dev Clones
  • Deduplication & Compression
  • BMR backups would be better if the client did it natively instead of Cristi integration
  • Some items in the dashboard should be hotlinked
Cohesity does everything we need to backup VMs, physical servers, SQL, and NAS. We also replicate to Azure which is seamless.
Read Brian Critchlow's full review
April 20, 2018
Etienne Jacquot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use cases for Cohesity include secondary storage of file shares and backups for our environment. We are also doing some test and dev, but the secondary storage and backups are superb; would give a very high recommendation for anyone looking into hyper-converged secondary storage!
  • Pulling backups of files, VMs, and other services couldn't be simpler. Very intuitive and customizable!
  • We are using profile redirection and Cohesity handles this well, glad to make use of efficient network storage!
  • Dedup & compression have time, energy, resources, and lower overall costs while raising quality of service!
  • Could be simpler to do Test & Dev
  • Looking forward to a mobile application
  • Analytics are nice, could be more straight forward
Well suited for small or large environment, easy to add nodes and increase hardware capacities, tremendous flexibility in backup and secondary storage.
Read Etienne Jacquot's full review
December 19, 2017
Kris Olson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cohesity for our Test virtual servers and a handful of production servers today. In the near future, we will be rolling out our replication cluster and will be moving many production servers to it. It's really the easy button for virtual backups. For us, it gave us a simple UI, encryption at rest and in flight as well as easy backup/restore and easy replication.
  • The user interface is extremely simple and easy to use.
  • Backup and restores are intuitive and just work.
  • Easy -Replication.
  • Easy - Cloud replication.
  • Easy - Encryption in flight and at rest.
  • File-based restores (directly back to the server) require that UAC is turned off.
  • Needs more customized reporting capability.
  • I would love to be able to create reports that are emailed regularly.
It is well suited for highly virtualized environments that backup over the network. When many people play a hand in backup and recovery it works well due to the simplicity of the interface. It will not work well for environments who are utilizing SAN based backup as Cohesity does not support Fiber Channel backup.
Read Kris Olson's full review
December 04, 2017
Ben Price | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After first day of running proof-of-concept (POC), the IT infrastructure team was confident that Cohesity was the ideal solution to address their secondary storage requirements. The decision was made to replace university’s legacy, fragmented solution (CommVault, Tegile and Nimble) with Cohesity, a unified hyperconverged secondary storage platform. Cohesity’s native cloud integration allowed the team to seamlessly replicate and archive their production data offsite to Microsoft Azure, AzureGov for protecting police videos and AWS.

The IT team could now provide a single solution for all 13 departments to consolidate their backups on one platform, and scale-out as required. Setup and ongoing management dramatically simplified with Cohesity, and the users could now see their backup and recovery jobs, external sources, monitoring and alerting, all in one place.
  • Simplified backup solution with data replication in the Cloud
  • Performance and CJIS compliance for use with police car/body cam video capture and storage
  • Predictable pricing that did not limit future expansion
  • Simplified multi-tenant setup
UCSB drastically simplified their data backup and recovery process. With Google-like global search capabilities, they could get more granular and retrieve the file quicker. Native cloud integration with Microsoft Azure, AzureGov, and Amazon Web Services, ensured that the data was protected and instantly available when needed. The team saw instant capacity optimization with economies of the cloud. [It] Reduced OpEx by over 50% the resulted from eliminating multiple point solutions and overheads to manage a fragmented environment. [The] Team could focus on more critical stuff and get innovative, rather than spending time going through various trainings.
Read Ben Price's full review
October 11, 2017
Eirik Toft | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cohesity was originally purchased to be secondary storage. The price per GB was far lower than a traditional storage array. It met the requirements for our secondary storage, including off-site replication.
We later expanded our use to include VM backups and expanded it into other business units.
We also use it to spin up test virtual machines based on existing images that we can easily test out ideas on complicated VMs. It's provided more features than we originally needed and has met business needs we didn't realize we needed.
  • Cheap secondary storage. For us, we were able to get storage at almost half what a typical storage array was quoted at for the same space.
  • Off-site replication. Extremely easy to setup and use.
  • VM backups and restores. Simple, yet powerful interface that allows limitless options to how and where backups are stored and protected.
  • Support from Cohesity is far above the bar set by major hardware vendors. They will solve your issue, even if it turns out an issue you have isn't their product. Clearly, their support is motivated to make you as a customer value their assistance and feel confident with their products
  • Very small physical footprint for the amount of storage provided.
  • Extremely resilient hardware capable of running fully even with bad nodes or disks.
  • There could be better documentation on designing custom workbench applications to work with Cohesity (workbench apps allow you to search and process reports from the data saved to the device).
Cohesity is very well suited for any environment that requires secondary storage, or a good applicance for backing up either VMs, physical servers, or SQL servers. While originally designed to backup VMs through VMWare, their ability to use a client and backup both Windows and Linux machines is very useful and nice to have.

Cohesity is not well suited to be used as a primary storage device.
Read Eirik Toft's full review
April 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cohesity in central IT to protect the servers (both physical and virtual) in our data center. Cohesity has reduced the amount of time it takes to backup our servers and also to send a second copy offsite to the cloud. Cohesity has also made it much easier to recover both entire systems and individual files. We can manage which systems our teams have access to recover, as well as the retention of both on site and off site copies. We are also piloting using a virtual instance of Cohesity to perform backups of servers that are located within departments that are not in our data center.
  • Cohesity integrates very well with VMWare. This integration enables us to protect and recover thousands of virtual machines seamlessly.
  • Cohesity allows you to connect to a Cloud storage external target for archiving snapshots to the Cloud for offsite data protection. This allows us to not need to purchase a second Cohesity unit and replicate data to it for offsite backups.
  • Cohesity support is top notch! Their support system is designed to get you the answers you need in as little time as possible. I usually get an answer to my problem in less time than most other vendors respond to my question.
  • Cohesity needs to add a page in their web GUI that will show all currently running and queued Archive tasks. Currently, you would need to click through each Protection job to see what is running or queued.
  • The Windows physical agent needs to add the ability to skip directories or files. Currently, with a Windows agent, you backup an entire drive or skip an entire drive.
Cohesity is best suited in the virtual environment (specifically to my knowledge, VMWare). The system is really designed for protecting snapshots (virtual machines).

Where Cohesity would have trouble is in a case where you have Cohesity bound to your Active Directory, protect Windows servers that are not bound to the same Active Directory, and then attempt to perform file-level recoveries. Cohesity will attempt to SMB mount to the Windows server, and since the domain is different, it will fail to mount. This is currently not supported by Cohesity.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (43)
9.0
Live recovery (44)
9.2
Recovery verification (40)
8.6
Business application protection (41)
8.1
Multiple backup destinations (44)
8.9
Incremental backup identification (45)
9.2
Backup to the cloud (35)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (47)
9.3
Snapshots (42)
9.6
Flexible deployment (43)
8.8
Management dashboard (47)
8.7
Platform support (47)
8.6
Retention options (47)
9.2
Encryption (43)
9.4

What is Cohesity?

Cohesity DataProtect is a comprehensive data backup and recovery software product from Cohesity, an enterprise software company based in San Jose, California, focused on eliminating mass data fragmentation and consolidating silos.

DataProtect utilizes Cohesity’s DataPlatform service which is designed to consolidate secondary storage and associated workflows, to provide users with end-to-end protection for virtual and physical workloads, databases, applications, and storage with a single web-scale solution.

Key Features

● Hyperconverged data protection eliminates need for separate backup software, target storage, proxy and media servers, and cloud gateways

● Unified user interface for managing and provisioning data protect services, connected via core to cloud and edge

● Policy-based automation; users can assign policies to one or all jobs globally to automate operations and meet business SLA requirements


Categories:  Data Center Backup

Cohesity Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No