TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/q2/hq/368H68PEPCLC.JPEGPerspective from a long-time SciQuest SupplierAs a Supplier, Promega uses the SciQuest applications to provide product and price information to our customers in the Academic, Biotech and Pharmaceutical industries. Integration with the SciQuest platform enables us to accomplish procure-to-pay in a seamless manner. Users in multiple departments and locations are able to access SciQuest in the cloud to support our global customer base.,The Supplier portal is superior to all others in the industry, providing the Supplier with the tools and information to manage their catalogs and prices, as well as reporting capabilities that facilitate good business practices. SciQuest's enablement and support teams work closely with the customer and supplier to configure and manage an efficient transaction process. Their people are well informed and do a good job in communicating with stakeholders. The SciQuest Spend Director interface allows customers to find the products in a well-designed shopping environment and provides procurement/sourcing staff with tools and options to manage their supplier relationships.,As a global supplier, SciQuest's footprint is predominately in the USA with some presence in Europe. We confront a very complex landscape of supplier portals when working with global customers and wish SciQuest could make stronger inroads especially in Europe. Though reporting is good for the supplier, some aspects of the reporting tools could be improved to facilitate the dialog between supplier and customer such as spend history, prioritized exception handling and document exchange via the portal.,8,Enhanced relationships between supplier and procurement/sourcing as we work through optimization of our mutual business processes. Greater visibility of our products in the customer marketplace, resulting in increased sales and improved dialog focused on the organization's priorities. Improved customer service and lower cost of manual intervention through the management of valid catalog numbers, prices, addresses and remittance processes.,,8,7,9How to solve your contract management worriesSciQuest is being used for creation and management of all vendor contracts. We will be implementing it for our provider contracts as well. It has provided transparency to all contracts and helps us manage expiration and renewal of contracts.,Implementation - Product was installed ontime and on budget. Product Development - solicits feature enhancements from its clients. Client Focus - User Groups - Annual Forums and client partners.,Reporting - Currents report functionality is manual and lacks comprehensive data elements. Contract Creation - SciQuest needs to port over the functionality of Contract Director more rapidly to be considered best in class. They are working towards that but not quite there.,10,SciQuest has given us true transparency into our contracts. We are now able to search our database for key words and find the contract we were looking for!!!,Perfect Commerce,8,10SciQuest UserOur entire campus is using SciQuest to procure items and services. Also we store and maintain our purchased contract services using the Contract Compliance Manager and process invoices with a sync to Ellucian Banner, using the AP Director. Entering receipts in the system creates a three way match that will allow accounting to release payment.,Punch Outs Document Search Contract Tracking,Reduce price,10,,7,10SciQuest - One Stop ShoppingSciQuest is used across the organization for decentralized purchasing. Some of the workflow as its built in SciQuest presents problems with operating with our current approval policy within the organization.,The workflow works great for routing requisitions to the appropriate approvers. It's also very customizable to adapt workflow to fit our current policies. SciQuest pushes requisitions straight into our ERP, eliminating the need for duplicate data entry. Punchouts are a great time saver for our end users to compare pricing within the same system.,Bypassing workflow approvals removes the original approver from the viewing access. Sometimes we need to bypass approval while the approver is out of the office, and then they lose visibility into the history of the order.,8,SciQuest has allowed us to push more spend to our PCard program, resulting in higher rebates. SciQuest has given the purchasing office more visibility into our ordering process, helping us prepare for year end expenditures that we might not have known about previously.,IBM Cognos, Microsoft Access, GoToMeetingSciQuest - great product, great customer serviceSciQuest is used here at University Hospital in Newark, NJ for ALL purchases that go to outside vendors. In addition, we also use the supplies manager module for our in-house warehouse, which is used to bring consumable supplies to the various nursing stations throughout the hospital, and also to the OR. We also store our contracts within the system, and use the Spend Director module to keep track of our spend against our various contracts. All of our approvals, at the department, budget and purchasing levels, are done within SciQuest. It addresses the whole procure-to-pay cycle in an exemplary manner. We are in the process of renewing our deal with them.,Supplier relationships, in terms of setting up supplier catalogs and keeping them up-to-date, are handled by SciQuest in an exemplary fashion. The approval process, using Advanced Dynamic Workflow (ADW), is extremely powerful and allows you to create approval workflows which will exactly match your needs. The Compliance Tracker module, part of Spend Director, is a great tool for capturing spend under contract. It is also a very good tool for storing contract information and documents, and tracking and disseminating through email notifications information such as expiration date and contract budgets. SciQuest customer service is, overall, excellent. We have always had a good working relationship with the company and feel as though they listen to us as we voice our needs and wants.,Unable to directly access SciQuest data through a report writing tool such as Crystal Reports or MS Access, so we have to build a shadow database if we want to run any ad-hoc reports (reports that are not part of the "canned" SciQuest package). This is, by far, my biggest gripe with the SciQuest product. Would be nice for users (especially very knowledgeable users) to be able to upload a worksheet into the system and create a requisition from it. Our users who order for the OR frequently get a spreadsheet with a long list of items. They then have to manually enter those items, one by one, into the system. The Supplies Manager module is fairly rudimentary.,9,Much faster approval times Far better tracking of contracts and spend under contract Easier communication with users,Oracle iProcurement,Lexmark Perceptive Enterprise Content Management,300,2,Creating requisitions to be turned into purchase orders Managing contracts and recording spend against them Approvals of requisitions by department, budget office, and purchasing,tracking contract creation,Receiving invoices electronically into our AP system Contract creation,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability,Although we would have liked to have had more than two vendors respond to our RFP, I don't think we would have changed much if anything of the whole process. We felt we saw at least one other similar product, and SciQuest was cheaper, had more features, more functionality, and was easier to use than the competition.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Setting up approval queues; more specifically, converting existing approval queues from our old purchasing system to the new one. Getting a handle on, and creating and importing, contract data. Our old system did not keep track of contracts in any fashion.,10,10,Yes,We implemented the Supplies Manager (inventory) module in 2011. When we went live, we found that some of the reports were wrong, or were based on faulty logic. SciQuest worked with us to understand the issues we were seeing, and worked to resolve them in a timely fashion. Similarly, in the same module, there were at least two occasions where we felt an improvement was needed to make the software work in a fashion we deemed acceptable, and again SciQuest was able to bring in those feature requests in the next upgrade.,Using vendor catalog to shop Approvals Attaching quotes or other documentation to orders,applying or changing commodity codes setting up contracts creating ad-hoc reports,Yes,9
Unspecified
JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest)
50 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Reviews

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest)
50 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 50 vetted JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 34)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Roderick (Rick) Smith profile photo
March 06, 2017

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "Perspective from a long-time SciQuest Supplier"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Supplier, Promega uses the SciQuest applications to provide product and price information to our customers in the Academic, Biotech and Pharmaceutical industries. Integration with the SciQuest platform enables us to accomplish procure-to-pay in a seamless manner. Users in multiple departments and locations are able to access SciQuest in the cloud to support our global customer base.
  • The Supplier portal is superior to all others in the industry, providing the Supplier with the tools and information to manage their catalogs and prices, as well as reporting capabilities that facilitate good business practices.
  • SciQuest's enablement and support teams work closely with the customer and supplier to configure and manage an efficient transaction process. Their people are well informed and do a good job in communicating with stakeholders.
  • The SciQuest Spend Director interface allows customers to find the products in a well-designed shopping environment and provides procurement/sourcing staff with tools and options to manage their supplier relationships.
  • As a global supplier, SciQuest's footprint is predominately in the USA with some presence in Europe. We confront a very complex landscape of supplier portals when working with global customers and wish SciQuest could make stronger inroads especially in Europe.
  • Though reporting is good for the supplier, some aspects of the reporting tools could be improved to facilitate the dialog between supplier and customer such as spend history, prioritized exception handling and document exchange via the portal.
SciQuest's platform is ideally suited for a larger institution where a wide range of disciplines and supplier preferences exist. This includes Academic, Government, Biotech, Pharmaceutical and similar entities that have a high percentage of indirect spend and lengthy list of vendors. Their offerings work well in combination with a variety of "back-end" financial systems and they combine in-house and consultant expertise to implement the platform in complex environments. Although they have some customers with much smaller user bases and vendor lists, the solution may be overkill for these institutions.
Read Roderick (Rick) Smith's full review
John L Doyle profile photo
January 19, 2017

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "How to solve your contract management worries"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is being used for creation and management of all vendor contracts. We will be implementing it for our provider contracts as well. It has provided transparency to all contracts and helps us manage expiration and renewal of contracts.
  • Implementation - Product was installed ontime and on budget.
  • Product Development - solicits feature enhancements from its clients.
  • Client Focus - User Groups - Annual Forums and client partners.
  • Reporting - Currents report functionality is manual and lacks comprehensive data elements.
  • Contract Creation - SciQuest needs to port over the functionality of Contract Director more rapidly to be considered best in class. They are working towards that but not quite there.
SciQuest offers the features and functionality of applications that are priced well above the price point. As the product matures, it will be a "total solution" for our business.
Read John L Doyle's full review
No photo available
November 17, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest User"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire campus is using SciQuest to procure items and services. Also we store and maintain our purchased contract services using the Contract Compliance Manager and process invoices with a sync to Ellucian Banner, using the AP Director. Entering receipts in the system creates a three way match that will allow accounting to release payment.
  • Punch Outs
  • Document Search
  • Contract Tracking
  • Reduce price
SciQuest is well suited for organizations that have multiple users who purchase similar items. It is less appropriate for a small business.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Miller profile photo
July 13, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest - One Stop Shopping"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used across the organization for decentralized purchasing. Some of the workflow as its built in SciQuest presents problems with operating with our current approval policy within the organization.
  • The workflow works great for routing requisitions to the appropriate approvers. It's also very customizable to adapt workflow to fit our current policies.
  • SciQuest pushes requisitions straight into our ERP, eliminating the need for duplicate data entry.
  • Punchouts are a great time saver for our end users to compare pricing within the same system.
  • Bypassing workflow approvals removes the original approver from the viewing access. Sometimes we need to bypass approval while the approver is out of the office, and then they lose visibility into the history of the order.
SciQuest takes the guesswork out of when an approval is needed, and how to get the requisition to the appropriate approver. The requisitioner also has visibility into the progress their order is making through its approvals.
Read Aaron Miller's full review
Larry (W) D'Ambrosa profile photo
January 22, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest - great product, great customer service"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used here at University Hospital in Newark, NJ for ALL purchases that go to outside vendors. In addition, we also use the supplies manager module for our in-house warehouse, which is used to bring consumable supplies to the various nursing stations throughout the hospital, and also to the OR. We also store our contracts within the system, and use the Spend Director module to keep track of our spend against our various contracts. All of our approvals, at the department, budget and purchasing levels, are done within SciQuest. It addresses the whole procure-to-pay cycle in an exemplary manner. We are in the process of renewing our deal with them.
  • Supplier relationships, in terms of setting up supplier catalogs and keeping them up-to-date, are handled by SciQuest in an exemplary fashion.
  • The approval process, using Advanced Dynamic Workflow (ADW), is extremely powerful and allows you to create approval workflows which will exactly match your needs.
  • The Compliance Tracker module, part of Spend Director, is a great tool for capturing spend under contract. It is also a very good tool for storing contract information and documents, and tracking and disseminating through email notifications information such as expiration date and contract budgets.
  • SciQuest customer service is, overall, excellent. We have always had a good working relationship with the company and feel as though they listen to us as we voice our needs and wants.
  • Unable to directly access SciQuest data through a report writing tool such as Crystal Reports or MS Access, so we have to build a shadow database if we want to run any ad-hoc reports (reports that are not part of the "canned" SciQuest package). This is, by far, my biggest gripe with the SciQuest product.
  • Would be nice for users (especially very knowledgeable users) to be able to upload a worksheet into the system and create a requisition from it. Our users who order for the OR frequently get a spreadsheet with a long list of items. They then have to manually enter those items, one by one, into the system.
  • The Supplies Manager module is fairly rudimentary.

As a purchasing app, it is excellent. I cannot speak to its usefulness in the AP area. it may be less useful in a different environment, such as manufacturing. For research and healthcare use, it is excellent.


Also, we use Banner as our ERP. SciQuest is well versed with integrating with Banner. Users with a different ERP may experience less pleasant results.

Read Larry (W) D'Ambrosa's full review
Monica Mooberry profile photo
January 25, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest is a great stride in e-commerce"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
SciQuest is being used across the whole organization of state agencies in two environments. We are using PCard Marketplace (also open to municipalities and the universities) and eCatalog in conjunction with ERP PeopleSoft. It addresses the use of contracts and reporting on spend.
  • Technical support on enablements: check in and updates to keep projects on track. I have enjoyed working with both Larry Eckerlin and Khalil Ali.
  • Varied reporting capabilities in the dashboards to give up to the minute spend.
  • Michele Young is very responsive to emails and requests for information, she is friendly and wants to help.
  • Wish list: A module in the application for documenting an enablement's process or a partnership with a project management software to facilitate communication. Project management and communication with the parties to fast track enablements. This would make them faster, more successful and improve sales.
SciQuest is well suited for commodities; have not tried services.
Read Monica Mooberry's full review
Steven Hoover profile photo
January 21, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest, worth a look!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used in conjunction with our current ERP system, Ellucian's Banner. We do not have it implemented into our entire organization, for we have been bringing departments online one at a time. We currently have around 10 departments using the system, with IT, Facilities and Athletics being our highest purchasing departments.

The best part about SciQuest is being able to punch-out to a supplier, purchasing an item, and then have it create a PO in our ERP system.... it's really one stop shopping. Also, the workflow/approval process is very easy. We can usually get the approvals needed in a day or less, and this has been a huge improvement over our ERP system.
  • I think the layout of the application is done well. Things are very easy to find and intuitive. End users have no problem searching for recent POs or creating reports to download into Excel.
  • I also like SciQuest's support. They are very knowledgeable and get back to you very quickly. Being integrated with a third party system, can have some support teams pointing to the other guy as the problem. However, Sciquest support works well with our IT department and does whatever they can to troubleshoot a problem.
  • I like that SciQuest is a cloud hosted solution. This makes upgrades easier for our IT department and leaves the responsibility on the end user for testing.
  • Our biggest challenge with SciQuest is order consolidation. One of our departments would like to hold all the orders until the end of the day and place one big order for that company. This would help to reduce shipping costs. I *think* SciQuest has a consolidation option, but it does not work for us for some reason.
I really like the workflow piece, and having multiple forms give you so many options. The sky is the limit to any workflow or process that requires approvals.
Read Steven Hoover's full review
Stacey Templeman profile photo
January 06, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "End to End Procure to Pay solution that works"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is the end to end procure to pay solution at our organization. It is used by all staff to purchase goods and services through catalogs and forms and route requests for purchases and payments through the University's workflow process. We also use Sourcing Director to manage our requests for proposal processes.
  • The user interface is easily customized and user friendly.
  • Workflow routing can be as complicated or simple as needed in Spend Director and Accounts Payable Director.
  • Sourcing Director has room for improvement in search capabilities.
  • Sourcing Director has room for improvement in email customization.
SciQuest is well suited for a procure to pay solution. As a simple to use P2P solution, I would give it a 9. It is not as well suited as a sourcing solution. If all you are looking for it a sourcing solution, I would look elsewhere. As a standalone sourcing solution, I would only rate Sourcing Director as a 5.
Read Stacey Templeman's full review
John Bishop profile photo
January 06, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest eProcurement"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is being implemented across our whole organization. SciQuest has upgraded our purchasing processes and we have leveraged their technology to improve efficiency.
  • The ability to pull data from the system is user friendly and powerful. You have the ability to create your own templates to pull just the data you need. Reporting is a strength of the system.
  • SciQuest has great flexibility to create custom forms for your organization. As a client you can also network with other SciQuest clients to develop best practices and share forms already being used and working well.
  • Customer Support is responsive to our needs and have been a valuable resource during our implementation.
  • We would have liked more admin training during the building of our system. We had to learn the ins and outs of the system as we were training users and this was challenging at first.
SciQuest offers a lot of flexibility so it can fit well with a simple or complex procurement model. The key is to build the system right upfront to work well with your organization's procedures.
Read John Bishop's full review
Lloyd Tiamfook profile photo
February 01, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SciQuest for all of our e-procurement on campus.
  • Easy user interface.
  • Great customer support.
  • Continuous system improvements.
  • Listens to customer feedback and use that information to make improvements.
  • UI still not the same across the board as far as product offerings [go].
SciQuest is very well suited for one-stop shopping needs for users. Our only wish is that every vendor could have a level 2 punchout.
Read Lloyd Tiamfook's full review
Joel Hood profile photo
June 03, 2015

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "4 year experience with SQ"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The university I work for uses it as a central hub for procurement. We use punchouts, hosted catalogs, and non catalog PO's. We also use use it for creating check requests. Our P2P process interfaces with Oracle as our ERP.
  • Contract enforcement with punchout suppliers.
  • Technical support from SQ is very good
  • Ease of use for end users
  • SQ has so many options, some of our end users get overwhelmed with the options
  • SQ provides options for embedded help functionality, but it would be nice if it were more interactive.
  • When SQ was implemented, there was minimal assistance helping us define our training needs.
SQ works very well with larger vendors that have experience creating B2B relationships. Our vendor list includes not only business vendors, but Mom&Pops, and individuals for reimbursement. Managing the differences between vendor type is challenging. Using SQ for all the one-off payments can be challenging.
Read Joel Hood's full review
Adriane Hausher profile photo
March 10, 2015

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest.... Yes or No?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used by our purchasing department to streamline our PO purchases. The software it being used across the whole Tulsa Community College organization. This helps rein in each department's spending to an organized and detailed collection.
  • Punch-out's will automatically enter the commodity code that is needed for the specific product you have selected. This helps keep mistakes to a minimum.
  • SciQuest has your "profile" information saved so each purchase will be delivered to the exact name and address you ship to regularly.
  • SciQuest is very user friendly. Your "homepage" can be manipulated to show or hide items to appeal to your visual stimulation.
  • You can move items from one cart to another draft cart if you are unsure about your purchase.
  • SciQuest allows you to shop with multiple vendors and once you are ready to finish your REQ it will separate each vendor to produce a separate REQ.
  • Sometimes the site just will not connect to the punch-out vendor
Do you have multiple accounts to sort through?
Do you have multiple employees making purchases?
Would you like to lessen your companies accounting mistakes?
Read Adriane Hausher's full review
Randy Henry profile photo
March 14, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest Modules, Relatively Easy Set-up, Efficient Processing and Effective Spend Control"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the SciQuest applications across the entire organization. It allows users who do not have access to our financial ERP to shop for products and assign them to others who do have the access to the financials. We use the SciQuest applications to guide our users towards using contracts with suppliers with whom we have strategic relationships. The applications also help automate and streamline purchasing and payment activities, making them more efficient with a reduction in errors that are experienced with manual entry.
  • SciQuest does a very good job with content management and helping provide easier configuration and set-up activities with punchout suppliers. At the time that we implemented our ERP, it made sense to work with a group who had the expertise to do the integration as opposed to using our resources that were really needed elsewhere.
  • The Settlement Manager has worked well with electronic invoicing. The two-way match adds an effective validation checkpoint before we bring the information into our payables module.
  • Using an electronic marketplace has greatly enhanced the purchasing experience for our users as well as giving us the opportunity to guide users in a very decentralized purchasing environment towards preferred suppliers, helping to reduce maverick spend.
  • Their existing pricing model for the number of Suppliers onboarded or removed has been a little disappointing as there are times when suppliers do have to be switched out.
  • They have greatly helped in making UNSPSC updating easier, but I would like to be able to get an extract with a delta that would make it easier for us to update our ERP as this information needs to be stored on both sides.
The SciQuest application helps guide users toward preferred suppliers. The efficiencies experienced in both sending out orders to suppliers as well as bringing back invoices helps our users maintain their inventories as well as allowing them to better understand the condition of their budgets and spend because of the quick turnaround.
Read Randy Henry's full review
Anthony M. Agliardi, PMP profile photo
March 20, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest Spend Director"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is managed by our Procurement department, and used by budgetary lead appointed purchasing representatives from each department. All purchases orders begin as purchase requisitions, generated by those reps. All contracts are managed in SciQuest with key information identified including dates, stakeholders, renewal review questions, and related documents. SciQuest allows our Procurement department to focus on sourcing and cost avoidance strategies while still having oversight of all purchases, and enables the departments to channel their requisition efforts into creating the purchase order itself.
  • Customer Service - They provide quarterly account reviews on how to optimize your configuration.
  • Development - They continually add and optimize.
  • Supplier Relationships - They are big enough that many suppliers already work with them.
  • Integration - It has limitations integrating with Great Plains.
  • Administrator Interface - It seems very manual to make certain types of configuration changes for accounting codes and rules.
  • Reference Material - They don't make it, but they can likely get you someone else's.
Are you big enough to where you want to enable end users to draft their own purchase orders? Are your suppliers willing to participate? What is your ERP, and what SciQuest modules are you looking at? Do you have the resources required for the implementation? Do you have many contracts to manage?
Read Anthony M. Agliardi, PMP's full review
Melissa Tula profile photo
March 14, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "Keeping up with the times"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SciQuest as our eProcurement system University-wide. The product streamlines purchasing processes across multiple departments, ensures competitive pricing, simplifies the purchasing process with 'one-stop' shopping and significantly cuts down on paperwork and man-hours from pricing research and order-tracking through the accounting end. Additionally, the risk of human error is greatly decreased as automation takes the place of 'pen and paper'.
  • SciQuest eliminates paper. Obviously, this is good for the environment, saves time and money.
  • SciQuest ensures the University is receiving the best pricing available from our vendors.
  • SciQuest has processes in place to ensure goods are received and invoices are paid with very little error.
  • I would like to eventually include all in-house requisitions as part of the automated process.
  • I would like to include an internal 'general store' where offices may purchase items from other departments which may have excess (i.e. furniture, cleaning products etc).
  • Many of us within the university purchase items for other departments. I feel this process could be simplified so individuals could have 'limited access' to outside dept. purchasing when necessary.
The university was in need of a common purchasing vessel without centralizing the process. Very useful in a university setting where purchasing occurs on differently levels in multiple departments. For a smaller business, where purchasing is conducted typically through the Amazon-type sites, this product may not be suitable as vendors may not be willing to invest their time and efforts into updating their portion of the site.
Read Melissa Tula's full review
Melissa Ritland profile photo
March 21, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest): "sciquest review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sciquest is being used to purchase items needed for labs. It is being used across whole organization. It makes it easier to purchase items and quickly get a purchase order.
  • Sciquest gives many options when searching for an item
  • Gives the option of looking up items from low to high cost
  • It also gives you the option of looking up things from specific vendors
  • More products added since "item not found" can take more time
it is well suited when trying to check prices.
Read Melissa Ritland's full review
Rita Gordon profile photo
March 21, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest Makes Purchasing and Procurement Straightforward"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It aggregates spending and allows the institution to leverage our spend.
  • Web-based portal
  • Defined process
  • Spend reporting
  • Clearer email notices
  • More intuitive punch outs
  • Intuitive online help / FAQs
I think the product is scalable for any size organization. It is most successful in an institution where clearly articulated policies are incorporated into the use of the system.
Read Rita Gordon's full review
Cheryl Penn profile photo
March 18, 2014

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest): "SciQuest review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used by the whole organization. It addresses about 80% of every department's shopping needs.
  • Collaborative shopping tools - sharing shopping carts and sharing favorite folders
  • These are a huge asset to the academic environment whose staff and faculty want to work together on everything.
  • The ability to view some product availability
  • Images and simple search results layout is easy to read
  • We asked for collaborative shopping tools 2 years ago. Their response time was slow and they did not reach out directly to us and let us know that our needs would be addressed.
If you are using Oracle or Legacy you should ask specific questions about integration.
Read Cheryl Penn's full review
No photo available
September 20, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "My 7-year-experienced-based Opinion on SciQuest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest Spend Manager was used by the whole university campus for contracts, purchases, punchout suppliers, central invoicing, payment, and interfaced with our ERP financial system. We had it running smooth as silk. But the powers that be at central headquarters, made the decision to bring in another product and rolled it out to all of the campuses system-wide. We were very satisfied with SciQuest, but we did not get a vote down at the university level, even though at the flagship campus it was running great.
  • Source to settle: Although we did not purchase all the new applications in the suite SciQuest made, what we did use, worked and worked nicely. With SciQuest you can get a turn-key system.
  • I love the way SciQuest rolls out changes, measuring customer feedback, and rolling out major changes 3 times a year. Like clockwork you know what to expect ahead of time, deciding whether or not you need a particular enhancement (if optional), having plenty of time to make adjustments in business processes if needed, and/or user-base announcements.
  • I was always astonished to see both clients and potential clients come to the conferences. SciQuest would allow the "mixing" of clients and potential clients, apparently unafraid of any negative commentaries the potential clients might get. That has always been impressive to me as a techie myself.
  • In the beginning the technical help desk was great, fixing problems quickly. But as we got down the road a bit I feel there was not enough management of outstanding tasks as there should have been. Please do not misunderstand: I would still give their support help an 8 out of 10. But I just feel they lost their edge a bit in the support area as they began to grow. This also could have been due to emerging products that grew out of the initial offerings where focus was more put on the former.
  • I did not like the idea that they were going after the gambling industry in some way, personally speaking. I did not think it was a professional decision. I understand related markets: education, scientific, pharma, health, etc. But gambling?...not so sure it did much for their image, and I think it will eventually hurt them rather than help them.
SciQuest is well suited for a bigger institution. Where I think they are lacking is being able to offer a stripped down version of their offerings to make it affordable for the smaller customers, e.g. community or private colleges.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 11, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest use at a large university"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used for computerized online shopping, automated requisitions, automated POs, automated e-invoices plus scanned and manually entered invoices. SciQuest interfaces with the back end payment generation and financial systems.
  • SciQuest has a fairly robust process for vendor and item selection and subsequent purchase authorizations and PO generation. Subsequent E-invoicing and hardcopy invoice entry are established processes.
  • Customer support from SciQuest is very good.
  • Software updates from SciQuest are average.
SciQuest works especially well automating invoice delivery & payment processing with our larger, tech savvy vendors that are cXML proficient and that have established e-procurement/selling processes (= 40% of our vendors). Some vendor-caused cXML invoice rejection and accuracy issues are to be expected during their start up one to six months. This is especially true if the vendor doesn't pay attention to the automatically generated file Reject messages that SciQuest sends the vendor when the vendor sends misconfigured files. After the vendor start-up period of one to six months the files flow quickly and payments can happen in one day. Our start-up phases for onboarding cXML vendors is now one to three months. The 60% of vendors that are small or local and without cXML also flow well and are semi-automated with scanning instead of direct cXML e-invoice synchronization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "10 years with SciQuest and still going strong!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is the university's only e-procurement requisitioning tool. We offer our users and online catalog from contracted suppliers.
  • Customer Service and using customer feedback to improve their solutions
  • Troubleshooting technical issues
  • Staying current with technology
  • Provide better training material
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest): "SciQuest Review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is currently being used by our procurement services department here at our university. Although not all of our vendors are currently linked as Sciquest vendors, we continually add these as we are able. SciQuest currently allows our procurement users to choose from select vendors, items in which they may create requisitions in our PeopleSoft product.
  • Manages one's vendor catalogs.
  • Integrates with third party systems in an attempt to accommodate one's chosen business process.
  • Offers an up to date interface.
  • More accomodating integration which would allow customers to maintain current business processes.
The punch out functionality to choose items for requisitions works well enough (sandwich model).
Attempting to replace one's entire customizable ERP business processes with a SaaS solution may be too much to ask for the customer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 06, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest): "SciQuest review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used primarily by the legal and contracts team. It provides for a contract repository as well as a formal approval process that is easily accessible.
  • Provides a repository where contracts are in a single place.
  • Provides for a comprehensive contract review framework based on user-defined queries and departmental approvals.
  • Much of the upkeep is done by the user, which can be good and allows for quicker processing of updates to the contract management process, but difficult to manage if you have a number of changes over time.
It appears that SciQuest Total Contract Management can be used by both large and small companies in various industries.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 06, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest - A great Procure to Pay tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SciQuest is used across the whole organization encompassing the complete procure to pay system. The software was chosen to help automate a manual and at times redundant processes at the university. SciQuest is now the only way to procure and pay for goods and services on campus. Manual processes have been completely changed and streamlined.
  • The shopping experience is one that users can identify with as it takes on a Amazon-like shopping experience.
  • The workflow system, while it takes some time to tweak and refine, works particularly well, especially with former manual signatures being done electronically now.
  • The audit trail and history tabs are very useful for knowing who did what when and who did the approvals. This process was, at times, challenging under our old system.
  • Sciquest and Banner have some issues with invoice adaptors. Manual workarounds need to be undertaken which can prove to be time consuming and laborious for AP.
  • Sciquest and Banner need to address the Canadian tax system quickly. It's complex and neither system handles it very well.
  • It would be helpful for administrators to be able to see draft carts when clients call for help.
The culture of the institution must be ready for the migration to this type of system. Without top level buy-in and a mandate to implement fully, the system would not be used to its full potential. Universities who cannot handle the full on implementation should not implement. SciQuest Science catalogue is not useful in the Canadian context and I regret purchasing the module.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2016

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Review: "SciQuest user for 3 Yrs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sciquest is being used across the organization as an e-procurement system. The system helps faculty and staff get state contracted prices for goods purchased for research and administrative purposes.
  • Sciquest integrates well with vendors and POs get dispatched to vendor quickly which helps in faster delivery of goods.
  • cXML interfaces with Vendors for Invoices
  • Enforces state contracts
  • Less manual intervention
  • Sciquest's reporting tool needs some improvement
  • Sometimes Vendors with multiple locations causes orders and payments going to wrong locations
  • There can be some improvement on item searches.
SciQuest Select Site is a good B2B system with friendly user interface. The system is easier to use for catalog, hosted and punch out vendors. Integrations with other systems (financials) may become a challenge during upgrades to your in house systems or SciQuest upgrades.
Read this authenticated review

About JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest)

Categories:  Procurement

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Competitors

JAGGAER (formerly SciQuest) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No