TrustRadius
Mailgun is a transactional email API service which was owned and supported by Rackspace (acquired in 2012) and then spun off in 2017 as an independent and standalone entity.A Solid Choice ... Just Waiting for More FeaturesWe used Mailgun in a pair of web applications and also in a database-driven software package. It was the sold provider of sending transactional emails for these three pieces of software for our company. Sign up emails and even bulk sends on behalf of our customers were handled by Mailgun. It takes the pain and hassle out of developing a sending service for your transactional and bulk emails. You can get things going rather quickly with Mailgun.,Good API that is easy to implement Good Documentation of the API and its features Fast Development Pricing is straightforward and relatively inexpensive Dashboard UI is easy to use,No built-in templating features (This was a bit sad after coming from Mandrill which excelled at this) Dashboard UI (although easy to use) is a bit dated in appearance Logs are cumbersome compared to Mandrill Setting up TLD (top level domain) names (things like .online or .church) that are not common require an email to tech support (this is annoying) Sometimes can be slow in delivery Shared IP addresses can be SPAM filtered or delayed (requires an email to support to have a new one assigned - Note: this can be mitigated by buying a dedicated one for a monthly fee),8,Helped us get integrated outgoing email into our desktop software quickly Helped us get to market faster because we didn't have to overthink email sending with our web apps,Mandrill, SparkPost, SendGrid Transactional Email and Amazon Simple Email Service,Mandrill, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service),No,Price Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,I wouldn't change anything in my selection because it worked well for our needs. But if I had to make a suggestion to Mailgun it would be to add some templating features like Mandrill offers out of the box. The ability to call up a template stored on their server and merge in variables from the request is very useful.,UI is easy Library support for coding languages API and Documentation,Filtering and Querying logs Adding new domains that aren't commonly used like .online (requires email to support since they get flagged),7Mailgun: Generous Free Tier and Good Performance + ReliabilityMailgun is the transaction email provider for my company, Flights Machine. We send out large volumes of transaction emails to our user base, everything from: - Post signup welcome emails - Purchase confirmation emails - Password reset emails - Cancellation confirmation emails - Upsell emails All of these emails are essential to the proper functioning of a website, and Mailgun handles them reliably.,Email deliverability has been very high with Mailgun Customer Support (when we had a problem, they resolved it in under 24 hours) Easy to use website and Ruby API,Error reporting (we were silently failing to deliver email to any Hotmail users for a few weeks until we noticed it ourselves) Pricing (after you go beyond the free tier it gets expensive quickly) Reporting is very limited,8,Cancellation upsell transactional emails reduced our churn Welcome emails increased our inbound customer contact substantially Password reset emails keep our customer support burden low,Mandrill, SendGrid Transactional Email and MailjetMailGun: The Right choice for a small-medium SaaS for emailsMailGun is being used across our entire organization. We made a switch initially from SendGrid and are very happy with it. It solves the business problem of managing IPs for >1M emails a month and sending messages with great speed and deliverability. We have been very happy with this switch and the quality of customer support we get from MailGun.,Very cost effective Great support Easy to set up dedicated IPs Excellent Logs,Webhooks for parsing could be better and easier to use,10,A Little cheaper than SendGrid Great deliverability,Sendgrid Transactional Email,Slack, DigitalOcean3+ years review of MailgunMailgun is used in all the websites owned by our organization. Also, we recommend it to our clients and have implemented Mailgun for them too. Mailgun effectively resolved the issues of email delivery. We don't have to rely on [our] hosting server's mail server. Some of our clients had a serious issue of email delivery since they were hosted with popular shared hosting companies like GoDaddy, Bluehost etc. The best thing about Mailgun is that we can track all emails and if they fail to be sent, a detailed reason is displayed in the log.,Emails are delivered instantly and there is an option to queue thousands of emails. It's a big plus if you want to send bulk mail to a large number of users (e.g newsletter subscribers, marketing email to clients etc.). Using its tools like domain verification, there are more chances of successful email delivery and that the email will unlikely go to spam/junk folder. The log & reports section of Mailgun is really impressive. It gives details about performance of each email sent and if an email couldn't be delivered successfully, exact reasons are shown. Knowing the reason helps us to resolve the issue sometimes.,Mailgun's WordPress plugin can be improved. More features should be added to it. Although our volume of emails is not high, still we would prefer a dedicated IP address for sending emails. The cost for a dedicated IP is too high and it should be less. Email delivery to Hotmail/Outlook.com should be improved. Emails are delivered but mostly they go to junk/spam folder.,10,By not investing in our mail server, we have saved huge amount of money and time. For configuration and installation of an email server on Linux-based server, we would have to hire a network administrator. If email delivery is an issue in a hosting provider, another solution is to switch the hosting. Fortunately with Mailgun, we didn't need to try different hosts and experiment which one works best for emails. We can stick to our existing web hosting provider and would not need to change it just for the sake of improving email deliverability. The pricing of Mailgun is very cheap and straightforward. First 10K emails are free every month and that's a big advantage for our organization because our volume of emails is rarely more than 10K per month.,Dropbox, Google Analytics, Google Charts, Google Drive, UpworkEasy and keeps us productiveMailgun provides us with an easy to set up SMTP server and also makes it easy to implement a webhook to receive email, which we know is a use case coming up for us.,Connect domain to the SMTP server Incoming email webhook Email activity logs,UI is outdated,8,Major cost reduction on time to implement automated emails Cheaper per email sent,Sendgrid Transactional Email and Amazon Simple Email Service
Unspecified
Mailgun
19 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Mailgun Reviews

Mailgun
19 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 19 vetted Mailgun reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joshua Weaver profile photo
August 14, 2018

Mailgun Review: "A Solid Choice ... Just Waiting for More Features"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Mailgun in a pair of web applications and also in a database-driven software package. It was the sold provider of sending transactional emails for these three pieces of software for our company. Sign up emails and even bulk sends on behalf of our customers were handled by Mailgun.

It takes the pain and hassle out of developing a sending service for your transactional and bulk emails. You can get things going rather quickly with Mailgun.
  • Good API that is easy to implement
  • Good Documentation of the API and its features
  • Fast Development
  • Pricing is straightforward and relatively inexpensive
  • Dashboard UI is easy to use
  • No built-in templating features (This was a bit sad after coming from Mandrill which excelled at this)
  • Dashboard UI (although easy to use) is a bit dated in appearance
  • Logs are cumbersome compared to Mandrill
  • Setting up TLD (top level domain) names (things like .online or .church) that are not common require an email to tech support (this is annoying)
  • Sometimes can be slow in delivery
  • Shared IP addresses can be SPAM filtered or delayed (requires an email to support to have a new one assigned - Note: this can be mitigated by buying a dedicated one for a monthly fee)
Even with the list of negatives, Mailgun is still a great solution for how easy it is to work with and how ubiquitous it is to find examples and libraries out there on the internet. The company has great support and are usually quick to address and fix things. I do think they have some room for improvement with the lack of templates and the outdated UI log handling/filtering.
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
Ben Gelsey profile photo
October 30, 2018

Review: "Mailgun: Generous Free Tier and Good Performance + Reliability"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailgun is the transaction email provider for my company, Flights Machine. We send out large volumes of transaction emails to our user base, everything from:

- Post signup welcome emails
- Purchase confirmation emails
- Password reset emails
- Cancellation confirmation emails
- Upsell emails

All of these emails are essential to the proper functioning of a website, and Mailgun handles them reliably.

  • Email deliverability has been very high with Mailgun
  • Customer Support (when we had a problem, they resolved it in under 24 hours)
  • Easy to use website and Ruby API
  • Error reporting (we were silently failing to deliver email to any Hotmail users for a few weeks until we noticed it ourselves)
  • Pricing (after you go beyond the free tier it gets expensive quickly)
  • Reporting is very limited
When looking for a transactional email vendor, Mailgun does the job well. Overall, Mailgun has been very reliable, other than having a problem delivering to certain Hotmail users. However, after getting in contact with support, they resolved the issue within 24 hours. Ultimately, there isn't much differentiation between Mailgun and its competitors, which is why I don't rank it higher than an 8.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Michael Pierce profile photo
July 18, 2018

Review: "MailGun: The Right choice for a small-medium SaaS for emails"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MailGun is being used across our entire organization. We made a switch initially from SendGrid and are very happy with it. It solves the business problem of managing IPs for >1M emails a month and sending messages with great speed and deliverability. We have been very happy with this switch and the quality of customer support we get from MailGun.
  • Very cost effective
  • Great support
  • Easy to set up dedicated IPs
  • Excellent Logs
  • Webhooks for parsing could be better and easier to use
Fantastic company and product that I would recommend to any SaaS company.
Read Michael Pierce's full review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

"3+ years review of Mailgun"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailgun is used in all the websites owned by our organization. Also, we recommend it to our clients and have implemented Mailgun for them too. Mailgun effectively resolved the issues of email delivery. We don't have to rely on [our] hosting server's mail server. Some of our clients had a serious issue of email delivery since they were hosted with popular shared hosting companies like GoDaddy, Bluehost etc. The best thing about Mailgun is that we can track all emails and if they fail to be sent, a detailed reason is displayed in the log.
  • Emails are delivered instantly and there is an option to queue thousands of emails. It's a big plus if you want to send bulk mail to a large number of users (e.g newsletter subscribers, marketing email to clients etc.).
  • Using its tools like domain verification, there are more chances of successful email delivery and that the email will unlikely go to spam/junk folder.
  • The log & reports section of Mailgun is really impressive. It gives details about performance of each email sent and if an email couldn't be delivered successfully, exact reasons are shown. Knowing the reason helps us to resolve the issue sometimes.
  • Mailgun's WordPress plugin can be improved. More features should be added to it.
  • Although our volume of emails is not high, still we would prefer a dedicated IP address for sending emails. The cost for a dedicated IP is too high and it should be less.
  • Email delivery to Hotmail/Outlook.com should be improved. Emails are delivered but mostly they go to junk/spam folder.
Mailgun is ideal for SaaS apps because email delivery is very important in them. Missing a crucial email (e.g activation email) may lose customers. Mailgun saves cost so that we don't need to host and manage our own mail server.

Mailgun may not be suitable for those websites that are hosted on those servers that are already equipped with a reliable email server. If you are not experiencing email delivery issues even with high volume of emails, in that case a service like Mailgun may not be necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2018

Mailgun Review: "Easy and keeps us productive"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailgun provides us with an easy to set up SMTP server and also makes it easy to implement a webhook to receive email, which we know is a use case coming up for us.
  • Connect domain to the SMTP server
  • Incoming email webhook
  • Email activity logs
  • UI is outdated
Great for hardcore development organizations that need email on many domains.
Read this authenticated review
Alexandru Cristian Stanese profile photo
December 21, 2017

"Mailgun Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailgun is used across the whole organization. Its purpose is to notify our customers about offers and updates of the services we provide.
  • Fast delivery
  • Strong platform
  • Free tier
  • The platform still has some bugs
  • It would be great to implement a newsletter feature with variables directly in the UI
  • Well Suited - for email campaigns for technical people
  • Not Suited - email campaigns for non-technical people
Read Alexandru Cristian Stanese's full review
No photo available
January 19, 2018

User Review: "Dependable Mailgun"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mailgun is used by the Email Marketing team to send emails to prospective students for our Education clients.
  • The deliverability is solid.
  • Easy to use.
  • Very helpful customer support.
  • The UI could be more advanced.
It is has solid open rates and deliverability. However, the UI is not the best. The UI could be more user friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Ulm profile photo
February 27, 2017

Mailgun Review: "Works fine, until it doesn't."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were sending out transactional emails for our online proofing system which requires back and forth communication between us and the customer. It was being used by our graphic designers to correspond directly to customers during their proofing process prior to printing their artwork.
  • Easy Setup
  • Works until IP pool gets blacklisted
  • Reporting data was detailed
  • Customer Service - Customer Support is some of the worst I've ever seen. Over 24 hours to respond to a ticket, no real answers, puts the problem on you, the user.
  • IP Pool blacklisting - We were delivering e-mails perfectly fine for 4 or 5 months with bounce rates of about ~2% daily. All of the sudden we were moved to a different IP pool citing our bounce rate was above the 5% threshold. Checking the logs, our bounce rate was fine until we were moved to a different pool, where we were seeing bounce rates of 15%-40% daily.
  • Did I mention Customer Service? Asked to be switched to a different IP pool, no response. Asked for a dedicated IP, 36 hours later, a response moving us to a stable IP while we discussed Dedicated IP talks. In the 36 hours it took them to respond I found a different ESP, setup the server, and started sending mail through them.
If you have the perfect IP pool, with the perfect sending reputation, this could be a good fit. From my experience with them they will not help you with getting your emails to send out properly.
Read Andrew Ulm's full review
Itai Roded profile photo
February 22, 2017

Review: "Senior software engineer's Mailgun experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a senior web engineer, I got exposed to many different technologists, those technologists are there to solve business needs. Every company I have worked for has different business needs, but a few of them stay the same. One of the pain points every company has is to validate email addresses, you can go with a simple regex solution, but every small company knows it's not enough. Using mailgun address that exact business issue. And it's being used by me personally to validate email addresses. Since I don't have access/input on all the web projects in the company, it was not used company wide.
  • For one it's looking at the domain, and making sure that the email address the user has provided actually correlates with domain rules. For example, Gmail has a rule that before the @ sign you have a minimum of 6 chars.
  • Mailgun is great since it's doing all this validation client side, therefore giving the user a better user experience, preventing him from submitting an invalid form.
  • Mailgun also gives great "did you mean" suggestions, when you have a typo.
  • At the time I was using it, their basic example on how to use it was a little short, more documentation is always welcomed, but honestly it was enough to get started, and do what I needed it to do, which is to validate user email on the client side.
Mailgun is suited when an engineer has more input on how to validate the email users have entered, or where all the other fields in the form are being validated client side.

When a company already has "their way of doing things", and validates other input fields server side, only having the email being validated client side might be a bit weird for a new user.
Read Itai Roded's full review
Rahul Chaudhary profile photo
February 20, 2017

User Review: "Mailgun - To use it or not to?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My Business Requirement
My web-product helps users sell digital content to their customers. I need emails for various things:
1. Transaction.
2. in-house messaging.
3. Notices.
4. Birthday greetings.
5. Mass email marketing.
6. Letting users know when their wishlist item is on sale.
Mailgun is required to send thousand of emails in all above scenarios.
  • Mailgun offers 10K emails for free per day, for any small or medium business, which is more than enough. Plus if you have more customers, you can send rest of the emails next day. That is just good decision on mailgun's part.
  • It's easy to use and deploy and have a clean website. What more do you want for free?
  • Time to deliver a mail is super-fast, so you are not compromising on anything really.
  • Mailgun as a standalone service is very good. If you compare with other similar services, mailgun would probably win. But if you compare it with AWS solution, since AWS has other services that my architecture is tightly coupled with, I chose the AWS solution over mailgun.
  • The instructions for deployment seemed a bit difficult given that I did not know a thing about sending emails when I started doing this. There should be a "sending emails for dummies" kind of tutorial. But no issues, I did found several tutorials on YouTube.
  • Moreover, I would like them to create an API to "send more beautiful emails". It is not kind of their domain, but I would love them to take some action on this front.
  • I also think they should support "preview" of emails on different devices and mail clients. If they build this, imagine what the devs can do with it. They will have all the tools to design and send emails, all from one place.
Good scenarios
1. If you just want a mail service, go for mailgun.
2. Mailgun has been around for long, so it has support for all languages.
3. If you have to send emails through multiple accounts, they have a pretty good UI to make it easier.
4. Mailgun is a trusted sender, so your emails won't likely end up in junk section.

Bad scenarios
1. If your other architectural components are in other place, like AWS, there is no reason to chose mailgun because you don't want your application to hop out of your VPC just to send emails. Plus being with same provider means using the same API and getting same service support.
2. Price is not competitive. Other services are more or less same. For me other service made more sense, hence I switched easily. There was nothing really compelling for me to stay.

Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
Tom Davies profile photo
February 17, 2017

Mailgun Review: "Powerful, reliable, emailing."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mailgun to send all of our system generated emails out of our SaaS system. We send around 1000 emails a day for things such as user sign up, password reset, action and reminders for all of our users. Mailgun plugs into our system and seamlessly handles all of our email requirements.
  • Tracks all email activity in a searchable interface
  • Manages all of our system emailing across the board
  • Detailed error reporting
  • The UI could be more flexible and allow for custom dashboarding
  • Can't seem to change the sorting in a number of areas
It's excellent for a SaaS service that has enterprise level demand for system generated emailing. It's the perfect tool for our company as it is flexible enough to be customized to what we need as an organization but can also handle varying levels of volume without an issue. I can't think of a situation where this tool would not be useful.
Read Tom Davies's full review
Lianmeng Liu profile photo
February 28, 2017

Mailgun Review: "Best email service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use mailgun to send email to customers, including email verify, password reset and other email stuff. Also we can use it for our newsletter.
  • Stable and easy to use
  • Cheap, it's even free if you don't have enough emails to send
  • Can receive email from customers
  • It [would be] cool if it supported email template design.
[It's well suited to] send email and receive email.
Read Lianmeng Liu's full review
No photo available
February 20, 2017

Review: "Mailgun is my go to transactional email provider"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Mailgun to provide transactional email services for a recruiting services startup we had developed. It was part of our core infrastructure, serving all emails (sign up, password resets, notifications, etc.) required for our application to operate. It allowed us to easily implement these features within our Ruby on Rails app without having to worry about things like servers, deployments, and configuration.
  • Fantastic API and developer experience.
  • Easy to set up and maintain.
  • Reliable service with fantastic reporting.
  • The web UI could've been better in places.
Mailgun is great for software startups looking for a way to implement transactional emails. Their API is fantastic, and they provide official libraries in several common programming languages, making implementation a breeze. Their pricing is also extremely competitive giving you a lot of bang for the buck when cash flow might be tight. The only reason not to recommend Mailgun might be if you have very particular email delivery requirements that extend beyond their (very robust) services.
Read this authenticated review

About Mailgun

Mailgun is a transactional email API service which was owned and supported by Rackspace (acquired in 2012) and then spun off in 2017 as an independent and standalone entity.
Categories:  Transactional Email

Mailgun Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No