MIP Fund Accounting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
619 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 315)

Paul Wetterholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Import of accounting entries of all types.
  • Managing allocations of costs.
  • Integrations are limited but MIP has partnered with specific businesses to allow for some integration.
  • Some may say it doesn't have a nice user-friendly feel because it is not Excel-based, but I have come to like the user interface and product.
Read Paul Wetterholm's full review
Eris Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks budget amounts and availability very smoothly and the reports are easy to read and utilize.
  • The encumbrance tracking is excellent and makes staying on budget much easier.
  • The general ledgers are easy to access and read.
  • Information by funding source is easy to track and access.
  • Like the 1099 coding functions.
  • Payroll module is too complex and requires too much duplication of information input. This is the most confusing system I have ever utilized. It needs to be streamlined and duplications removed. Some information has to be entered in 2-3 locations, much too time consuming and easy to overlook.
  • The payroll tax reporting is very much outdated-have worked with much cheaper software that did a much better job of processing tax returns and W-2/W-3's.
  • While we like the accounting, we would certainly like to switch the payroll system for something better.
  • Drill-down ability on the GL would be nice.
Read Eris Tanner's full review
Daniel Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The first thing Abila does particularly well is allocations, it is excellent for slicing and dicing transactions across multiple cost centers for grant or department tracking purposes. We currently break our transactions down into Funds, Regions, Grants and of course GLs. This level of granularity is optimum for our multi-location, multi-grant organization.
  • MIP also has excellent security administration. Administrative privileges are detailed enough to effectively administrate appropriate segregation of duties.
  • MIP reports are very customizable and we are able to obtain an effective level of transparency by drilling down into whatever level of detail we need to research a particular issue or provide reporting for executives, the board, grant administrators, auditors, etc.
  • There are several areas of improvement for Abila MIP. First of all, too much of the software is 'moduled' for additional costs. We want solutions that are comprehensive without additive fees for necessary functionality such as bank recs, payroll, and other modules.
  • The membership invoicing is an extreme pain point for us, with a membership base in excess of 6000, processing invoicing can shut down our system if not completed carefully. It would be great if we could also integrate payment processing to be automated between our credit cards and the Abila software.
  • A lot of the transaction processing is very onerous, particularly when certain transactions need to be reversed or when we are applying prepayments, this is mostly in the membership invoicing areas, but even needing to move a transaction across cost centers can prove challenging.
Read Daniel Davis's full review
Jon Dize, CFRE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Interface is easy to understand. It is a typical accounting system. Not as intuitive as I would want, but the accountant loves it better than Quickbooks.
  • As far as accounting software, it appears to be a powerful solution. Yes, it does. Again, the accountant loves it.
  • In our area, it is widely used. Lots of MIP users, yes.
  • Creating reports is not easy. Not the best with reports. Not intuitive.
  • Integration with sister product FR50 is horrible. They may be owned by the same company, but the interfaces, reports, etc. are not at all similar.
  • How we use it for scholarship management is less than desirable. We had to "make it work".
Read Jon Dize, CFRE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Jackrabbit

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Recurring Entries: very helpful for those transactions that happen on a regular basis. The entries are already set up and the list is a reminder that this needs to get done.
  • Entering cash receipts: it asks enough details to clearly distinguish different transactions.
  • I would like to see the ability to add a 1099 classification to an entry after it is posted.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MIP has the ability to be customized to your specific GL needs.
  • MIP has grant tracking abilities.
  • MIP lets you have record retention right at your fingertips.
  • Bank rec is not a user-friendly operation, it lacks the ability for ease of use and clarity.
  • MIP needs a better platform for credit card statements and reconciliation. Right now, we have to manipulate the system so we can have these accessible.
  • Reporting tool needs to be upgraded. It isn't user-friendly and requires lots of training and trial and error.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Simple but effective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Run comparative financial statements (budget versus actual).
  • The ability to drill into report lines to find out more details about the entries.
  • Automate the recurrent transactions and reduce manual entries.
  • Customize reports.
  • Integration with other software.
  • The ability to reverse posted transactions.
  • More user-friendly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customizing reports makes it easier to meet the needs of the reviewers before posting.
  • Submitting a 1099 is very user-friendly.
  • The AP module is very easy to navigate. Easy vendor set up. Cutting checks is very easy as well.
  • Running AP/AR aged reports are not able to pick unposted transactions which can be time-consuming at times to wait for an AP batch to be posted.
  • Reviewing and printing from the vendor/customer activity screen is painful—you have two option print a summary, that is easy but not detailed and once you choose the detailed option and you highlight the entries, it doesn't pick them all.
  • Printing preferences are sometimes a pain to set up, we recently hired a new employee and we had to contact the MIP support line because none of the obvious settings were not helping her printing reports in landscape or every time she turned off her PC, the settings will be changed again.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MIP is user-friendly and enables efficient data entry. For example, as an accountant, I often see purchases that need to be paid with multiple lines of code. Often the amount of coding lines reaches over 100 lines of code. For these purchases, the budget department does not code the purchase and as an accountant with many bills to pay, I appreciate that MIP provides shortcuts like F6 to copy a whole line under the one above or F5 which allows me to copy down only one field if needed. It saves me a lot of time to copy data versus having to re-key information.
  • MIP provides options to run quick reports on orders and purchases. With few clicks of a button, I can run a report on the encumbrance status (i.e. the funds set aside for purchases) and see if an encumbrance has been previously used up whenever I am unsure that an invoice has been paid. I can also run reports on past years funding information to see how a particular contract or purchase has been paid years prior when old staff used old processes.
  • MIP offers an "Excel export" and "PDF export" option for payment reports. This option often saves a lot of time, particularly when I have to make an entry for a transaction that has 100 lines of funding code and I am looking for where I made an error in my entry of debits. I am often off by only a few pennies in my entries and the ability to export my file into excel allows me to run a pivot table and find my error easily. This way, I save time and work smarter.
  • The MIP software often freezes in the middle of my line entries or it will freeze up when I run a report. That said, I often deal with documents that have over a hundred lines of code and this may be the reason why the software takes a minute or two to load properly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

New User

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MIP provides import capabilities for payroll and labor so that it doesn't have to be manually entered. This in turn provides reporting for yearly audits.
  • MIP's General Ledger reporting function provides a way to pull specific information on accounts, which in turn makes it easier to review accounts for reconciliation and correction when needed.
  • MIP provides Bank reconciliation, which makes the monthly reconciliation more efficient and effective in discovering discrepancies.
  • It would be nice if MIP worked more like an Excel spreadsheet, where lines could be easily added to entries and the entries could be sorted on more than one heading.
  • It would be nice if the MIP didn't keep you from accessing other programs (Excel, Word) when in the report module.
Read this authenticated review
Bruce Emmerling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The interface and operations of Abila MIP Fund are fairly easy to utilize and learn.
  • It offers some excellent tools for managing a non-profit operation.
  • The software makes it easy to streamline operations into one system without dealing with separate departments working with different systems.
  • Sometimes support can be a bit off and challenging to get by phone.
  • Some of the reporting tools are not as robust as some competing products.
  • Vendor training costs can be high if needed by an organization.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Bob Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of installation and upgrades.
  • SQL database back end. Makes for easy integration.
  • Easily set up test company for testing new features.
  • Full active directory group integration.
  • Support for an Application server (file share) on a different server than the database server.
Read Bob Jones's full review
Kayla Klinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

I recomend Abila!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Abila MIP Fund Accounting has great support, they are always quick to respond and always find a solution or at least an answer. They also have a feature to easily request product enhancements.
  • They give the user the ability to modify reports which is extremely helpful to be able to tailor reports to specific needs.
  • Help and Support! If you are unsure of a feature the system has a great diagram for how the process works, click on a picture in the diagram and it opens up that feature. Once that window is open there is a Help button on just about every screen that, once clicked, takes you to an extensive library of procedures, descriptions, tips and important information.
  • They put on a great annual training.
  • The Budget Worksheet isn't the simplest to use and understand how the outcome will reflect. It took me some trial and error, and writing my own in-house procedures to feel comfortable with the budget worksheets.
  • There are so many modules that Abila offers that it can be frustrating to learn that in order to obtain a certain feature you have to purchase another module, which may come with way more than you need or want. For example, with the Payroll Module you can select Direct Deposit for an employee but without the Direct Deposit module I can't access the feature to email the pay stub vouchers to those employees with Direct Deposit.
  • There are so many reports available that it can be hard to remember where the report you need is located. Some reports don't include Unposted Transactions and some don't allow the same level of customization.
Read Kayla Klinger's full review
Diane Angell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating disbursement codes to share expenses across departments
  • Ability to create your own financial statement formats for various reports
  • Drill down in reports for easy access to detailed data
  • Awesome customer support is always there to help you
  • I would love to be able to have my GL codes print in alphabetical order by name in the Profit and Loss report
  • Print GL Codes alphabetically in P&L
  • My only complaint Print GL codes alphabetically in P&L report
Read Diane Angell's full review
Cesar A Siso L | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Good for accounting, we manage a lot of projects at the same time, and the app help us to keep on track of each one, also we can make reports about the accounting for the communities or government.
  • Excellent budget tools, you can manage the budget with high precision and detail, you can add activities, expenditures, costs, personal involvement in the project and set the budget for each one.
  • A perfect interface, it has a friendly and nice interface, you can create graphics and tables easily, and you can watch in your computer or devices all the information at the same thing, to have a better explanation of the project.
  • It is a little expensive for small companies, to personal use or startup, because of that many people prefer to use a free software or with GNU license instead of Abila.
  • It demands high professional profile, it is not for any kind of professional, the people who is going to work with the app requires certain level of knowledge in accounting and administration.
  • It can be difficult to use in some cases, especially the ones related to the opinion of the community where the changes happen too fast, so you need to creat all the tables and graphics again and again until the people be agree.
Read Cesar A Siso L's full review
David Gerber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Abila is extremely easy to use and migrate through the system.
  • We are able to create separate financial statements to match each grant's reporting requirements.
  • End users have real-time access to information.
  • I would like to see a grand total at the end of page breaks. Currently you are able get a total on each page break but you need to manually add each one for a grand total.
  • On the 990 reporting it is not required for a segment to be restricted. We should be able to identify a program or gl code within a segment if something is restricted.
  • Enhance reporting to allow all end users to adjust reports unlike Drill Reports where only one user has the ability to create reports.
Read David Gerber's full review
John Petty | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

MIP in the Open

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cost allocation. Allows great flexibility in the setup of cost pools and receipient centers.
  • Multiple dimension coding structure. Allows complex accounting setups for multi-faceted organizations.
  • Reporting. Allows many different report configurations.
  • Exporting. Ease of exporting reports to PDF and Excel formats.
  • Bank reconciliation. Exceptionally outdated and inefficient process for clearing checks.
  • Accounts payable. New vendor setup process could be so much easier, especially for vendors who are already employees.
  • Credit card puchases. Badly needs improved functionality in the posting of transactions to actual vendors.
Read John Petty's full review
Joan A. Cox, CMA CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

MIP Saved The Day!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MIP export to MS Excel functionality is so easy to use and helps us to quickly begin research and/or analysis.
  • The reporting features allow us to pick and choose which columns/fields we would like to see on reports.
  • The option to include or exclude unposted transactions provides a good mechanism for what-if scenarios as it relates to financial statement amounts.
  • The year-end adjustment feature is new for us however it saves valuable time when reviewing transactions/reporting in preparation for our annual audit.
  • I'd like a better way to forecast expense that allows me to use a different multiplier or factors to augment individual line items.
  • I would like the ability to develop the budget within the software so it would be easier for variance analysis between current budget and new budget or current actuals vs proposed budget
Read Joan A. Cox, CMA CPA's full review
Arthur Knowles | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Abila MIP just works

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Abila MIP provides detailed customization to fit your organization rather than force you to use an out of the box configuration that may not suit your needs.
  • Abila MIP is easy to set up and uses industry standard SQL Server back-end so backups and restores are easy.
  • Abila MIP has good reporting options with simple customizations.
  • Abila MIP support is always available.
  • More customized reporting so data exports to products like GrantVantage could be accomplished by the end-user rather than Database administrator.
  • Official support for application virtualization like Microsoft App-V or VMware Thin-App so deployment is easier.
  • MSI packaging for installation and updates through group policy.
  • No local administrator access to install or configure application.
  • Integration with Active Directory.
Read Arthur Knowles's full review
Louise Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Track like a Pro

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting is a great asset.
  • Cost allocation to different funds through payroll is a breeze with this system.
  • I like that you can choose who can perform different functions, and restrict access on an as needed basis.
  • I would like to be able to pick and choose which entries to post within a batch.
Read Louise Johnson's full review
Joselito Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The AP system has invoice control to avoid duplicate invoices.
  • Abilia MIP also has the flexibility to print 1099 statements for subcontractors.
  • As with any other Fund Accounting software Abilia MIP can track all the funds in separate trial balance
  • Entering budgets is relatively easy
  • Although Abilia MIP has strong reports, there a few that can improve, i.e. cost center report in Proforma, P &L report by funding Proforma.
  • Abila MIP has recently added the features to handle credit memos but it still needs improvement, as there are some aspects where an invoice is entered against a credit and there is another entry created not in the payment register.
Read Joselito Perez's full review
Jean KOLESZAR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • reports - easy to filter information
  • easy to enter data into the software
  • great technical support
  • instructions for added features that are available are not clear, ie attaching invoices to AP entry
Read Jean KOLESZAR's full review
Chanette Oeser | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Abila - One Stop Shop

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The modules work well together making all necessary information available in one place.
  • The Payroll module interacts with our Accounting module making financial information much quicker to analyze.
  • The financial reports are easy to create and use.
  • The reporting available in the HR Module is substandard compared to the Accounting modules.
  • All fields are not available for all reports, causing the need to export information to combine certain fields.
  • The formatting of reports is cumbersome and not user friendly.
Read Chanette Oeser's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (122)
8.5
Benefit plan administration (87)
6.4
Direct deposit files (103)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (93)
7.3
Reimbursement management (72)
6.7
API for custom integration (76)
7.3
Plug-ins (50)
7.9
Single sign-on capability (221)
8.9
Role-based user permissions (268)
9.1
Dashboards (152)
7.4
Standard reports (289)
8.2
Custom reports (282)
8.1
Accounts payable (301)
8.5
Accounts receivable (211)
8.3
Cash management (193)
8.0
Bank reconciliation (269)
8.5
Expense management (214)
8.5
Time tracking (79)
6.8
Fixed asset management (127)
7.8
Multi-currency support (31)
7.9
Multi-division support (118)
8.8
Regulations compliance (91)
8.7
Electronic tax filing (143)
8.4
Self-service portal (91)
7.7
Standardized Processes (16)
7.2
Inventory tracking (1)
7.3
Automatic reordering (1)
1
Location management (2)
7.7
Manufacturing module (1)
1
Pricing (50)
6.4
Order entry (51)
7.3
Credit card processing (2)
2.5
Cost of goods sold (2)
2.7

About MIP Fund Accounting

MIP Fund Accounting™ is a configurable fund accounting solution that allows you to report and track information that is most important to you, your board and your supporters. According to the vendor, the solution can change and grow with you through your most difficult of fund accounting, human capital management and payroll decisions alike.

MIP Fund Accounting™ exclusively serves the financial management and fund accounting needs for thousands of nonprofits and government agencies. MIP™ has received the Campbell Award for several years in a row. The company focuses on your long-term needs, and allows you to custom design your system to enable you to manage effectively, get timely information, streamline processes and provide strong controls.

MIP™ is a fully integrated system with comprehensive functionality including fund accounting, procurement, budgeting, payroll, human resources, timekeeping, fixed asset management, grant management, dashboards, and more. The flexible structure enables you to manage and report on multiple cost centers at the general ledger level including multiple organizations, funds, projects, grants, programs, departments, locations, etc. The product can be deployed on-premise, in the cloud or self-hosted. Separately, you choose whether you would like to purchase/own the system or if you would like to pay by subscription.

MIP Fund Accounting Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Does not have featureCredit card processing
Does not have featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Does not have featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail

MIP Fund Accounting Screenshots

MIP Fund Accounting Competitors

MIP Fund Accounting Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MIP Fund Accounting Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No