MindManager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 100)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Excellent and Useful Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primary use is for pedagogical purposes in concept mapping. Secondary use is for concept mapping and planning for administrative tasks.
  • Concept mapping for book chapters, lecture outlines, PowerPoint Slides
  • To-Do Lists
  • Modified flow-charting
  • The older versions of MindManager had simpler construction of maps than the current version.
I use MindManager for mapping chapters of books in preparation, for writing lectures, for presenting content in an easily understandable fashion in PowerPoint and other presentation software. The uses to which I put the software work well. I have not used it for any other purposes, so anything less appropriate for its use is unknown to me.
Presenting complex information to colleagues and students is facilitated by MindManager, especially with increased functionality in the ability to add multiple sub-branches and showing relationships between ideas.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Start using MindManager, it will make sense of your business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MM Enterprise is the foundation of the whole organization. Tracks complex program progress, HR objectives, and achievements, and acts as a data repository. Allows visual management of the whole enterprise.
  • Enter once, use many: Map roll-up feature gives many options to analyze inputs.
  • Gantt Pro feature gives just the right amount of detail to track progress without having to use the awful MS Project.
  • Ability to format in native maps (blue) and flowcharts (green) has added to the utility greatly. Supporting material can be added or linked easily (though SP environment best to ensure link continuity)
  • It's simple to use: no more difficult than PowerPoint.
  • As maps get big, it gets very slow. Often a result of updating links or feeder maps. Improve processing engine— make it multi-core?
  • Ability to electronically sign and control maps would be good. Passwords ok, need sigs.
  • Multiple screen use has some anomalies like tooltips appearing on the next screen.
  • Flowchart variants (green boxes) need to have version update and revision number capability as base maps (blue) have.
Team sharing of knowledge, program progress or data in general. Visual front end for new arrivals linking everything needed in one place. Remove the need to understand a document directory structure (taxonomy)— the dreaded MS Windows Explorer.
We use a map to share concerns about specific areas of the business. We review as a team. Easy to follow what the issues and potential issues are going to be. Task progress for objectives lets managers track completion. Roll-up of percentage complete gives an overall for both the individual and the team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

MindManager is great for using in company workshops for ideating

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used just by me in preparation for workshops where we need to brainstorm and validate a variety of topics.
  • Ease of use on the fly when a group is working live.
  • Nice aesthetics such that maps can be shown in final deliverables.
  • The right amount of functionality.
  • Pop-up tips as you go.
  • Format options that change everything to a pre-defined format.
  • Remove the constant pop-up reminders to upgrade.
MindManager is very well suited for scenarios where you are attempting to organize categorical information, present it to a group, and then subsequently engage in group brainstorming to determine next steps. The response is typically very positive and people want to know what software is being used so they can use as well.
In a recent project, we had to design a digital playbook for a sales force. To do so we wanted to capture a set of key strategic initiatives that buyers care about. In the process of discovery interviews, we began using MindManager to capture hierarchical topics. Then, during a live workshop, we were able to elaborate upon the list and re-organize on the fly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Slick tool for brainstorming!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mind Manager is used by a small group of people, but they're very dedicated to it. Mostly used for brainstorming and/or getting a handle on big-picture ideas in a very simple way. The total product is simple to use and quick to note ideas down on. Although it is a licensed product, there is a free reader version if you need to keep license costs down.
  • Different way to note ideas down, but very powerful.
  • Easy to use.
  • Easy to read other user's mindmaps.
  • Licensed product.
  • No viewer for all platforms.
  • New version yearly.
Well suited to brainstorming or distilling big problems down to smaller parts to make it more easily manageable. It is actually fairly effective as a project planning tool. A downside is it can be difficult to share these files if users don't have (or know of) a viewer for the product.
Recently we've been going through a project to replace all of our mobile devices. We are able to use MindManager to build 'user stories' and what their requirements, then build a project around this to meet all of these needs. This is easy to explain and justify to management, allowing the project team to focus on implementing the projecting rather than justifying it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2019

Very good product but can use improvement to be universal

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is primarily used by IT to outline processes and steps. It helps visual people understand what we are doing.
  • Shows process steps
  • Works well on Macs and Windows
  • Brainstorming
  • Works well with MS project
  • Lack of integration with MS Teams or Slack
  • Not very useful for KanBan
  • Limited templates compared with other products
  • Not easy to share (with exception of cloud) with people who use other products.
MM is good for brainstorming and showing processes. It is not good at showing how processes can be improved, for instance, if you look at some systems thinking by Peter Senge you can show the process but it is hard to show how one step is substituted for another.
Quicker process summaries and feedback before and after being precise. Can start with the big picture processes and steps then drill down to implications and deviations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Amazing business improvement tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager to facilitate discussions about improvement activities as well as for mapping out individual work streams of projects. It is extremely helpful to be able to just "dump" out all our thoughts or activities onto the Mind Map and then arrange them as needed. It helps us avoid going down a rabbit trail and losing out on key activities or ideas of others.
  • It is so easy to use to quickly capture and arrange information.
  • It does a good job representing lots of ideas and concepts so people can see and understand them.
  • It exports the information into others tools well when needed.
  • Past editions have had a few challenges in how the information is formatted when exported, but that continues to improve.
It is a great tool for continuous improvement or business improvement efforts as well as for general product/initiative brainstorming.
We had a recent significant business improvement effort where multiple individuals would be leading different workstreams. MindManager helped all the various leaders see what others were doing quickly and find ways to align efforts that a different area may not have known was going to take place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

MindManager for Brainstorming

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly used in the Technology Centre for capturing projects with multiple activities. It is not widely used; mainly used by technical managers. MindManager is a great tool for getting ideas and structures onto a single sheet. One common use is to capture ideas from "brainstorm" type meetings where multiple ideas and paths are discussed and need to be captured.
  • Structured approach to recording brain storming sessions due to ability to have multiple paths on the map.
  • Easily able to get complex situations mapped onto a single page.
  • Allows activities to be dragged and dropped to different sections of the map.
  • Good visual approach to knowledge management.
  • Formatting options could be improved.
  • More templates would be useful.
MindManager is particularly useful for capturing information and knowledge in brainstorm type situations. I am finding it useful for mapping all the required activities for a particular task to get everything visible on a single page. The ability to expand and hide sections lets users determine the level of detail they wish to present to other team members.
In brainstorm-type sessions, information can easily be categorised based on the paths created in the map. This easily allows different ideas and information to be compartmentalised which allows information to be put in the correct place. Also, the expand and hide functions allows the user to decide the level of detail they wish others to see depending on the audience it is being presented to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

MindManager for L&D Teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Learning and Development department uses MindManager to:
  • Brainstorm ideas for new e-learning courses, training guides, and tutorials.
  • Plan learning and certification programs.
  • Document department processes and procedures.
  • Prioritize development of learning content.
  • Ability to share, version control, and check in/out MindMaps among team members through SharePoint.
  • Ability to drag and drop topics/sub-topics to re-arrange them.
  • Ability to see the big picture and drill down into the details.
  • Ability to schedule and prioritize tasks.
  • Slow response time and 'hanging' when opening maps stored in SharePoint.
  • Brainstorming learning content ideas.
  • Organizing and prioritizing tasks for learning content development.
  • Documenting learning and development department processes and procedure.
We have used it successfully to:
  • Brainstorm ideas for learning and development content.
  • Document learning and development processes and procedures.
  • Plan and organize tasks for learning content development.
  • Plan and organize the structure for Certification paths.
  • Plan and organize the structure for Learning paths.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

PhD = almost done!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a PhD student, acting both as an independent research investigator and as a research assistant for my advisor's projects. I use MinManager to model relationships between concepts as I discover them in the scholarly literature, and to construct concept maps for presentations and publications.
  • Many formats of maps available
  • Reasonably intuitive to "play around" with and figure out
  • I'd like to see a function where finalized maps can have all white space in the map be automatically reduced or minimized (good for use when sharing the map in print format)
MindManager is well-suited for academics who wish to map out the breadth of evidence in their research area, and visually depict/identify what is particularly well- or under-researched.
Read this authenticated review
Brad Batten | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

MindManager Review - Great for organizing thoughts and visualizing an argument

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager to better communicate work flows and processes, document decision-making, and think through a variety of scenarios. We also use it to outline content before creation.
  • Excellent at helping to brainstorm ideas
  • Outlining an argument or research piece before constructing it
  • Makes it easier to weight various scenarios and options in a decision making process
  • Some of the formatting could use improvement
  • Make some of the controls more user-friendly
Well suited for brainstorming, weighing pros and cons, decision making, and process mapping.
Allows you to better visualize an argument as you are constructing it. Helps to visualize a workflow or business process. Also helps to visualize and organize thoughts in a brainstorm session or in the decision making process.
Read Brad Batten's full review
Benjamin Brogdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Manage Your Mind (and the minds of others) with MindManager

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use it for action mapping sessions to determine course learning objectives, business goals, etc. Subject matter experts would, on their own, say that learners need to "just know XYZ," but action mapping enables us to facilitate a discussion that leads these subject matter experts to realize that learners need to "be able to do XYZ" instead. This software enables us to have this conversation.
  • Very easy to drag and drop map elements to quickly reorganize and reorient topics.
  • The interface is insanely intuitive. Even a novice user can be up and running in minutes.
  • The ability to open maps in IE for folks who don't have MindJet installed on their machines is a critical feature.
  • A cloud version that enables collaboration on any device by any user would be welcome.
  • Tighter integration with Google Docs, MS Office, etc. would be a great bonus.
  • I'd love to see a tablet optimized version for on-the-go mind mapping.
Best suited for brainstorming ideas. A wonderful collaboration tool for you to use with a group to organize thoughts. Less appropriate for someone delivering a presentation. Maps have to be manipulated and exported for use in presentation software. The software is not suited to folks who live in the cloud; you need to be tethered to a single computer for the tool to work.
I was able to map out the course content and learning objectives of a suite of courses that I had developed. I then was able to use the map to illustrate redundancies in the current courses and make recommendations for tighter course redevelopment. MindManager enabled me to better articulate my value proposition to key stakeholders.
Read Benjamin Brogdon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Great project management application!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is slowly being adopted as a helpful kickoff tool for new projects. We are able to identify the goals of the project and the attributes needed at a high level.
  • Project planning, being able to quickly identify tasks.
  • Solutioning across multiple departments at a high level.
  • Process flow visualization.
  • Workflow creation functionality.
Great for project kick off meetings, project planning meetings, cross organizational projects.
We were able to quickly and easily identify tasks and user stories that would need to be put into a formal agile format.
I've never needed it.
Great product and super easy to use.
Easy to use for multiple purposes.
Read this authenticated review
Jason Everett | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

I don't understand all of those words and lines, give me a picture!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager for large scale projects to create a "40,000 foot" view to easily see what's going on. From there we can navigate to a subproject to discuss or get a visual of what needs to happen. They say a picture is worth 1,000 words, this is what we use to create our picture. Bringing a large detailed gantt chart just gets blank stares and little understanding. Bringing a visual presentation from MindManger to a meeting allows everyone to easily see what's going on or verify that everything is accounted for.

We also use it on a smaller scale to help with brainstorming during meetings. It's so much easier and faster to use it than trying to write on a board. Adding priority and catagorizing on the fly with a nice looking clean interface is great.
  • When there's too much going on we'll use MindManager to create a list of things that need to be done, categorize them, prioritize them and assign. When anyone asks what or how we're doing we can SHOW them. It's so much easier for them to see what's going on but when they see the map they can see that we're organized and our approach is well thought out.
  • Editing views is a lot easier than other programs we've used. I've sat for countless hours trying to get the right shapes to fit right or to get the lines to go where I want them to go.
  • I like the themes. Instead of taking a blank, boring view each time and trying to dress it up later I can start with something appropriate and it looks nice from the start without any extra effort.
  • The interface is intuitive. It's easy to navigate and it looks nice. I don't like using programs that look 20 years old.
  • More shapes and themes. It has a lot, but more is always better.
It's perfect for brainstorming, organizing and prioritizing when we are feeling overwhelmed. With MM I feel like the meeting is so much more productive for me everyone. When everyone has too much to do a meeting without it is a waste of time because we each state what we need to do and try to pay attention while listening to someone's long list and ramblings. With MM we focus better and prioritize on the fly. It's better for me to see what someone needs to do in a nice chart than to see a list. After the meeting we can print the images and mark them off when we're done.
We are very visual. MindManager helps us create those visualizations quickly and easily. Without MM it would take too much time to create something of value. These visualizations make all the difference in the world for us. It's hard to imagine not having these images or how we operated before. It's like a cell phone, you thought you didn't really need it before but now you can't live without it.
Read Jason Everett's full review
Marcus James | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2018

Taking the complex and making it simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager mapping is used primarily by the board to map complex and/or lengthy proposals/reports to create more concise and logical communications for the consumption of other board members, partners and employees. The maps allow a focus on the pertinent aspects to enhance speed and effectiveness of decision making regarding strategy and allocation of resources.
  • Easily facilitates organization of thoughts in a visual manner. The visual mapping triggers additional ideas and questions to be pursued to assist with creating a more holistic approach to strategy development or prioritization.
  • MindManager provides multiple avenues for quickly converting maps to different media such as powerpoint or word documents to best present the pertinent information to whatever audience necessary if map presentation itself is not the most effective approach.
  • Ability to link to other media/documents within the maps and apparently unlimited ability to "nest/link" to other maps allows management of fairly complex and intertwined strategic and tactical components in a logical fashion that allows whatever level of simplification is required for targeted audiences.
  • MindManager support personnel make themselves available for tech support and offer visits to your site to assist with making the most of the tool without being a nuisance by repeatedly contacting if you do not need the support. However they drop an email once a quarter or so to let you know they are available if needed. Good approach.
  • Able to save maps as a .PDF to minimize file size for sharing digitally.
  • Biggest problem has been not being able to allow other board members and/or staff without mindmanager software on their computers to edit existing documents. Typically have to save as pdf and forward to larger team for view and comment. Nowhere near a show stopper but would be great if software was as universal as powerpoint or excel.
  • I do dislike the "MindManager upgrade" message I tend to receive over and over. My existing version of the software is more than adequate - one reminder each year that a new version is available is sufficient.
It is very well-suited for introducing topics and concepts e.g. taking a 200 page study and reducing it to a single map with key concepts and key data for initial discussion with a team interested in working on that topic. Good for a small group discussion (less than 15 members).

Not so well suited for discussion with a larger group (too much detail) but the "one-button" translation of maps to powerpoint works well with the larger groups.
One example: Had reliability responsibility for 30 to 50 facilities globally. Used MindManager to capture all critical systems located within the facilities, past performance, present issues, opportunities to improve. The visual approach of the maps allowed this to be done even in areas where there may have been some language difficulties. Also the visual approach greatly facilitated sharing learnings from one facility to another and from country to country. Once facility-specific maps were in place and validated they were easily used to make spending and budgetary decisions and serve as basis for prioritizing resources across the grid.
Read Marcus James's full review
Erik Freeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2018

Excellent software for Creative non-business types.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is not a tool that is being adopted by my whole organization, but my use of it to give visuals that correlate with data is what has prompted my department to adopt this tool for a pilot program. Being one of the largest departments in the state of MN the biggest problem we have is getting new employees up to speed with how all the government organizations/programs interact with one another. Using MindManager has made this much easier.
  • MindManager allows me to plead my case for more resources, show when there is scope creep, illustrate how complex a topic is, or to present high-level documentation that can be expanded to give the most granular steps/details.
  • MindManager can be leveraged to take the detailed notes of an analyst inside the basic visual overview that upper management cares about.
  • MindManager can export all the diagrams you build into HTML maps that will contain all the documents, images, graphics, and structure created in the tool. This eliminates the requirement of a proprietary tool needed by the recipient of the mind map to see your exports. Anyone can see the maps in the same way you built them.
  • MindManager is excellent in purveying complex scenarios in easy to understand diagrams.
  • Dashboard Wizard - There is a bit of a skill set required and knowledge of conditional formatting. A wizard would help you set this up with examples and guided questions to get the content you want on the map.
  • New sheet from a topic - Xmind has the ability to have a topic open in another tab as a central topic. All the maps in Xmind are within the same file, no linking to external maps. MindManager allows you to import a map as a topic but with it you need to either import the content from the map which will be forced to take on the attributes of the parent map, or just link to the other map. Multi Tab maps in MM would be awesome. It is one of my most used features in Xmind and keeps everything in one place.
  • Re-Ordering of topics in a flowchart for presentation in HTML5/PowerPoint/Word export - One item, in particular, that would put this product over the top is being able to re-order the topics in a process flow so it can be used more effectively in a presentation. Process flows are constantly changing when you get new information. If you edit the map by adding or putting a topic in between two earlier topics the presentation mode will not focus on that topic until the end of the presentation. If you put a topic at the end of the flow the presentation will jump ahead and then go back. It would be nice to omit parts of the flowchart from the presentation as well. Additional export types for the output of a flowchart would also be handy. The export to HTML5 is excellent, and so long as you manually click from topic to topic it is functional and impressive. But it is lacking the fine-tuned polish and sub-features that would really put it over the top and make it useful for distribution to people other than those intimately familiar with the material.
  • More documentation on how to create Macros.
  • Outlook HTML formatting support without a plugin. The reformatting of email in MM can make things more confusing.
  • Record or attach audio to a topic. – Sometimes training or narration need to be a part of a map. Many tools implement this natively nowadays.
  • Play video from within a topic or in an integrated window. – Video is also commonly used now to eliminate the need for documentation. It would be nice to watch and add notes or just include in a map.
  • SnagIt Support – I thought I remembered this in earlier versions. I cannot seem to create a link between MM and SnagIt anymore.
  • Start with a truly blank map (a sandbox) and be able to place any type of topic on the screen and build anything. Xmind Zen is essentially doing this now.
  • Filter using images/icons.
  • Create image/tag/color legend on map. When legend item is clicked focus on the topics that have the Legend item properties. Would be great in HTML5 output.
  • Un-filter a filtered HTML5 export using a toggle on the HTML Map. When sending out a couple example maps to people unfamiliar with the usage they did not know that there was more content available and made assumptions based on only what they saw. An alert notifying the map is filtered would be nice on the output.
  • Flowchart to Visio Export
  • Exporting to Word/PowerPoint - If you could bring the same level of control to these exports that you did to your HTML5 exporter you would have all the bases covered. Unless I define my own word template the output from a map to work has a messy feel. I really like to do business analysis with maps. I bring in map parts when defining evidence types, scope statements, and requirements. I drag the map parts to the map and define all the info my branches ask for when I include evidence. I would love to be able to export my maps to Microsoft Word and have a great output for my Issue Analysis, Requirement Documents, Traceability Matrix, etc. While I have found ways to make this work and quicker for me I have talked to others that would like to see things perfectly laid out on export that do not have the time to do the tricks and tweaks I have become used to over the years with word templates. It would be nice to have strong export support for Word and PowerPoint documents. Something more visual perhaps that lets a user preview how their export will look before they execute it.
MindManager is best suited to make a picture tell a thousand words especially in front of large groups. I don't have trouble finding appropriate uses for this software in every conceiveable scenario. It is a sandbox that with enough imagination can be used to streamline nearly any scenario.
The majority of my work is analyst based, and I constantly try to show my superiors/coworkers how I can leverage MindManager to take the detailed notes of an analyst inside the basic visual overview that upper management cares about. They can choose to expand any details they care about and ignore the rest. My notes and research are all contained within the topics ready to use. It is also an excellent way to purvey a status. Anyone that understands mind maps knows that the messier and larger the map the greater amount of information and/or chaos there is. I use mind maps to plead my case for more resources, show when there is scope creep, illustrate how complex a topic is, or to present high-level documentation that can be expanded to give the most granular steps/details. I find a ton of uses for these tools when it comes to communicating complex scenarios so people can more easily consume the information.

Read Erik Freeman's full review
Jeff Kearns CD, rmc, PEng, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

MindManager. Simply indispensable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is really good at the project brainstorming and planning stage. Its visual nature is ideal for creating a work breakdown structure and enabling the team to see the entire project at a glance. I use the org chart map layout to design that.

Compare that to a dedicated project management tool like Microsoft Project. I’ve seen project managers open it up and start entering rows of project tasks into the program’s Excel-like spreadsheet. As a result, team members see the tasks but not the context. That’s lost in the endless rows of project data.

That’s one of the real advantages of MindManager: You can see tasks in the context of the overall project – the forest AND the trees, if you will. Once the tasks are defined, information regarding task duration, resources, and dependencies can be added in MindManager. Finally, the project design can be exported to another tool such as Microsoft Project for finalization of the plan.

  • Creating a Work Breakdown Structure. It is easy and fast. Then, using the Gantt Pro tool, one can manage the project and assign resources and dates to work packages.
  • MindManager's drag and drop functionality offers the possibility of combining multiple projects into one program and can even help you perform resource leveling across multiple projects.
  • Stakeholder Management. MindManager has many built-in templates but one I like to use if the Stakeholder identification template. It makes identifying, classifying, and managing stakeholders as easy as it gets.
  • Brainstorming. There is nothing as convenient as a mind map tool for simple brainstorming of ideas. Mindmanager excels at this.
  • Turning a map into a written document. I used MindManager to brainstorm, plan and compose an entire white paper, complete with graphics. Then, all I had to do was export the document to MS Word. Formatting was all taken care of.
  • If it had a more comprehensive project management capability that allowed for a complete replacement of MS Project, that would be great.
  • Better integration with Evernote; my other productivity tool.
  • Updates to the old cloud-based Mindjet Files feature at vision.mindjet.com that I first purchased in 2012 would be greatly appreciated. If I am using a client's computer without MindManager, I want to be able to access and render newer format files seamlessly. This would involved continued support for Flash Player, but I think it is warranted.
MindManager is really good at the project brainstorming and planning stage. Its visual nature is ideal for creating a work breakdown structure and enabling the team to see the entire project at a glance. I use the org chart map layout to design that.

Compare that to a dedicated project management tool like Microsoft Project. I’ve seen project managers open it up and start entering rows of project tasks into the program’s Excel-like spreadsheet. As a result, team members see the tasks but not the context. That’s lost in the endless rows of project data.

That’s one of the real advantages of MindManager: You can see tasks in the context of the overall project – the forest AND the trees, if you will. Once the tasks are defined, information regarding task duration, resources, and dependencies can be added in MindManager. Finally, the project design can be exported to another tool such as Microsoft Project for finalization of the plan.
I use MindManager to visualize my client base. I take advantage of its many features to identify opportunities with existing clients and track completed work.

In addition to its many work-related features, MindManager has been a great tool for vacation planning and other personal projects.

One type of project I do is manage complex proposals. MindManager allows me to have all proposal documentation available within the single mind map and execute the proposal project, along with the structure of the proposal itself, with its visual Gantt chart.
Read Jeff Kearns CD, rmc, PEng, PMP's full review
Tom Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2018

Visualization, Collaboration, and Ease of Use - The Triple Play

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MindManager in our department. We have several use cases for MindManager in our group. 1) Process Flow: We use MindManager to collaborate across our North American team to build, collaborate, and publish new processes designed for our channel organization. 2) Presentations: I use MindManager when collecting my thoughts on a presentation. I can visualize the topics, the flow, and put it all together before going to a presentation tool. 3) Meeting Notes: I use MindManager to capture my notes and organize them following the meeting. It is easy to identify To Dos, next steps, and plans. It is easy to share these with the extended team. Overall, it allows us to share information much more effectively than with paper, Word docs, and other docs that do not allow easy collaboration.
  • Collaboration- MindManager allows our North American team to collaborate on process flows and To Dos across multiple time zones and any hour someone wants to access files.
  • Visualization- It is easy to see all relevant information on a single pane of glass. Before MindManager, I was always toggling between applications or flipping through multiple pages of a virtual document to find the information I was looking for. Now, I can see it in one place.
  • I would like to see feature parity between Windows and Mac. Macs are prevalent in most organizations and the lack of parity causes issues between users.
MindManager is well suited for collaboration, visualization, and ideation. A key component is the ability to see everything on a single screen. I have not found it to be best suited for project management activities. In our case, part of it is the number of employees that do not have access to the tool.
Read Tom Simmons's full review
Ian Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

MindManager keeps your focus on constructive and creative outcomes, not on how to use the application!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is used by a few users in the Corp/ICT team but I'm the primary user. Once others see the simplicity and effectiveness of the product, it often drives adoption elsewhere. MindManager is used in a number of capacities, often commencing as a brainstorming tool, followed by planning, and as the plan matures it becomes a project monitoring and management tool. It is also used for process flowcharts, org charts and the like.
  • Simplicity - 'Enter', 'insert' and 'drag and drop' go a long way in MindManager. Achieving basic user competence is very easy and once the user is 'hooked' they will seek out more advanced functions.
  • Visualisation - templates, guides and examples. This is not unique to MindManager but it looks impressive from the time of opening to the finished product.
  • Perspective - MindManager has the ability to provide different views of the same information to easily undertake reality check and priority reviews.
  • Project management - The Project Management features are useful, especially the integration of Gantt Charts etc.
  • Gantt Charts could be more customisable and easier to use. It doesn't always display as intended and some manipulation can be required.
  • More advanced features can be a little fiddly (but this may be more related to the user).
  • Cannot Save as PDF currently so printing to PDF is required. Not a major issue but a deficiency.
MindManager can be used effectively for a wide range of purposes. In its simplest form, it can be a virtual 'White Board' capturing key information from a discussion or a brainstorming session. Drag and drop ideas and concepts and never run out of room. Then, without manually transposing the info, it can be refined and represented to the group. This then leads into planning and project management and many other applications.

Process re-engineering is easy and can be done on the fly. It is extremely flexible and versatile and ideal for where MS Project and Visio would be overkill but core functions are needed. As for mind mapping, MindManager is in a class of its own. I've watched it develop over 12-13 years and it's still the first tool I turn to anytime there is something new to understand, do, achieve, plan for etc.
Making a start is often the hardest step in working through an issue, solving a problem, creating a strategy or documenting a project. I often say that I don't think from the top left of a page to the bottom right and this is where MindManager excels. Just start with whatever comes into your head. It will lead to the grouping of related concepts and items. Then drag and drop them together. Keep the process going and apparently from nowhere the path begins to emerge. Thinking is not linear (for me anyway) but this is where bringing strategic and process oriented people together can be so effective. It's a great feeling to see something emerge from nothing, chaos become order, clarity emerge from the 'noise' etc.

The start is just another part of the puzzle and it may emerge quite late in the process. Clearly some of this is related to mind mapping rather than the specific application but MindManager is a great tool to assist and document the outcomes.
Read Ian Simpson's full review
Miquiel Banks | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

MindManager is the Ultimate Visual and Virtual Assistant

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager (MM) is not being used professionally in our organization (team-wise). However, I use it for process mapping, org charts, and other data-driven infographics to help the engineering supervisor, leads, and team operate more efficiently. MM is invaluable for working on the ECN process, mapping out projects, recording meeting minutes, and helping to distill information across an entire team and/or department.

MM solves several business problems, ranging from project management, project requirements, task management, meeting minutes, SharePoint mapping, presentations, documentation, and seeing the big picture and small picture. It provides executives, team leads, supervisors, and employees [a way] to assess a situation accurately, manage that assessment, and provide visual feedback to other employees.
  • MM is particularly suited for Corporate and Business Mapping because it taps into a person's visual understanding and its power to standardize learning and education is unparalleled.
  • MM is an all-in-one Productivity Tool, possibly the first of its kind. In its early days, it was cited as the sixth member of MS Office and that was a well-stated idea. Imagine being able to visually map out data and content, update it visually, exporting it to MS Word/Excel/Powerpoint, interact with MS Outlook, and interact/work with MS Sharepoint? This is the perfect tool if you use Windows, MS Office, MS Sharepoint, or MS Outlook!
  • MM is a personal (Virtual) assistant for me, it allows me to focus on creative thinking, brainstorming, and ideation so I can compete in the Marketplace. I use it to create Worksheets and Cheat Sheets to remember data, crunch numbers, and assess any situation with the most informed decisions.
  • The only problem I see with MM is learning how to create Templates and change the "visual" aspects of how a map looks.
Well Suited - Presentations, Meeting Minutes, Gathering Project Requirements, Project Management, Documentation, Technical Writing, Scheduling, Sharepoint/Site Mgmt, Visual/Task integration with MS Outlook.
I benefit from organizing information, structuring content, and developing strategies.

I have used it for infographics, structuring data for an executive presentation, and many other scenarios.

I used it for building a presentation and corporate mock-ups for AT&T, Dell SecureWorks, Jabil, and Verizon.
Read Miquiel Banks's full review
Mark Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

MindManager streamline my day to accomplish my dreams.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in all aspects of management, organizational overview, and ministry processes and planning.
  • Organizational Layout.
  • Processes and procedures.
  • Long and short range planning.
  • None that I can think of.
I find that MindManager works well in the nonprofit sector. I use it for organizational charting, long-range planning, and process diagramming. It works much better in our environment to visualize positions and processes. It is very easy for everyone in my church from the layperson to the leader to see the process.
I used MindManager to visualize many processes in the church such as visitor greeting and followup. I also use it for implementing strategy determined at the board level. I have used MindManager to visualize my discoveries and applications from studying the Bible for preaching and teaching.
Read Mark Martin's full review
Dwayne Peckham | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Great for the Professional and for the student to keep track of everything in life.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is being used by me personally. My company does not use the software.

I use it to lay out diagrams of books that I study for certification exams that are a part of the job I do teaching. It helps give me a good picture of everything I need to know to pass these exams.
  • It lays out information in a hierarchy that makes it easy to understand.
  • Colors and designs make presentations quite pleasant to look at.
  • It has great exporting features to export to HTML so everyone can view a map at their convenience.
  • In the org chart, I have not figured out (if possible) to add a side bar (e.g. the president's secretary reports to the president, but vice presidents don't report to her).
  • Better printing functionality (I know it's difficult with large maps, but more than 2 page height would be good).
  • Sorry, no other complaints. Program is excellent for my uses.
In education, very appropriate to lay out courses. You can lay them out by chapter, topics, or any other breakdown you choose. Within them, you can put details you need to cover in each one, and then break them down as far as you want. It is a great map for the entire course that grows as much as you need it to (no width or height restrictions). You can be as detailed as you want to be.
I have used MindManager extensively for studying for both certification exams, and for preparing presentations for work. It gives me:
  • an orderly view of everything I need to accomplish
  • it opens and closes different branches as necessary
  • allows me to design maps that are easy to read and share with others
It is a great solution!
Read Dwayne Peckham's full review
Koustubh Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Great tool for increasing productivity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager extensively to develop annual plans, concepts, ideas and monitor progress across the year. The recent tools such as Gantt chart and time-tracking are very useful even though one would wish it to add more functionality in visualization and navigation.
  • Our minds work best when you think visually. MindManager helps create a visual network of ideas, processes and concepts.
  • I find the ability to use branching, subordination and networking options in the Mindmaps. These simulate neural networks that make it easy to understand and follow through complicated issues during planning.
  • Keeping a track of annual goals, objectives and activities while assigning resources is one of the most productive aspects of MindManager that helps keep a track of progress during the year.
  • Need better functionality when using Gantt charts.
  • Adding and managing resources is a little cumbersome.
  • Sharing and collaborating on maps is still a bit complicated and I have not been able to achieve it with single-system licenses. In the times of cloud computing, this level of collaboration should be made available to everybody irrespective of a specific type of license.
I find it most suitable for planning, conceptualizing and tracking projects, be it scientific articles, reports, activities or wildlife research. I find it most suitable for situations where we need to develop ideas as visual representation and easy capability of moving around boxes makes it productive and efficient. The only place where we have not found Mindmaps useful in its current form is when trying to build things collaboratively as most of our team members are spread in different parts of the world and the collaborative tools probably need further refinement and functionalities.
We have been using mindmap for project management and country program planning, reporting and management for our research and conservation programs. We also use it extensively to develop and discuss ideas, plan publications, and keep a track of tasks assigned to team members. We find however that the files get too slow to work on with several nodes, and there can at times be substantial lags especially in the presentation modes. Otherwise, sharing
Read Koustubh Sharma's full review
David Booth | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Easy-to-use way to capture, organise and share ideas, with useful additional functionality

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager to capture and organise ideas: it enables me to set these out in a logical structure, and the visual representation is helpful in giving an overview perspective. The ability to export maps in formats that can be shared with others - and 'walked-through' as presentations - is very useful (e.g. summarising workshop outputs).

The functionality of MindManager has developed significantly over the past 2-3 years (the 'training webinar' programme is helpful in introducing these). There are opportunities to continue to develop the application further (e.g. more intuitive, Help function) for a simpler user experience, and this might require more of a step-development than steady improvement - but this is a possible direction for the future rather than a limitation of the current version.
  • Enables clear, logically-structured visual articulation of ideas, with easy re-sorting of the structured visualisation
  • Tags and flags are useful in categorising and filtering information
  • Task management is good, e.g. linking (and synching) tasks with Outlook, Gantt charts, progress reports), so MindManager is useful in organising and implementing non-complex projects
  • More intuitive menus / functions
  • Better Help function (more fully integrated within the application)
  • Capturing and organising ideas / outputs from workshops
  • 'Walk-through' presentation of ideas / arguments
  • Brainstorming sessions (particularly write-up of ideas - might not be as quick/spontaneous to capture ideas during the discussion compared to whiteboard, flipchart or paper
  • Sharing maps with others
  • Managing tasks in a structured way (including link with Outlook)
  • Useful templates (e.g. matrix)
  • Organising and managing simple projects (not well suited to more complex / extensive projects)
Capturing and sharing workshop notes and ideas from brainstorming sessions
Read David Booth's full review
Gaston Grenier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Strategic analysis and work breakdown made easy!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is used by many people across the entire organization. Within my area, it's used for requirements analysis, software feature breakdown, product development, strategy analysis, to-do lists, and some project planning.
  • Integration with Microsoft Office. I can import emails easily and I can export maps in multiple formats to PowerPoint and Word. It works great as an outline building tool for Word documents, as it is a more visual way to work.
  • Presentation mode is great. I can walk through a map easily and communicate to my audience more interactively. Livens up presentations.
  • Map linking to other maps. This helps greatly in work decomposition so that I can maintain a master map that links to other more detailed maps. Good way to organize my work and still provide a good overview of the entire project.
  • Adding icons and tags is very easy, and MM provides a good list of built-in icons to use.
  • Free-style layouts would be nice. I'd like to move sections of my map around freely to create a less symmetrical map (i.e. not-balanced).
  • Integration with Visio beyond just image export. Many of my colleagues create diagrams in Visio and it would be useful to exchange information without having to resort to exporting a static image. Useful when using some of the new types of diagrams available in MM, such as flowcharts and venn diagrams.
Great for strategic thinkers and for planning work, such as when brainstorming and collecting everyone's ideas. It has really good integration with most of Microsoft Office products and MingManager (MM) makes it very easy to share information to other non-MM users with interactve html maps. I use it mostly for breaking down all the various aspects of a new initiative or business problem. It's a great way to share complex information in an organized and logical, drill-down style.
One benefit was in creating product road maps. The tool allowed me to quickly setup and communicate to stakeholders the vision and strategy our products would take on. The addition of business diagrams to the new version of the tool is very useful as this expands the audience for my maps beyond my immediate peers.
Read Gaston Grenier's full review
Mark Rudoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

True Believer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So far as I am aware, I am the only person in my unit who uses MindManager. I have shown maps during meetings and presentations. Some colleagues express interest, none enough to follow up with me about whether and how they are using mind maps in their work. Which is, IMHO, too bad.
  • MindManager is my go-to first step for any serious writing I do. It is the best tool I have for keeping track of how my thinking evolves over the life of a piece of work.
  • Excellent tool for organizing and delegating discrete tasks in a meeting.
  • I use argument maps in seminars.
  • Arms are too rigid. Would like to be able to move connections around more easily.
  • More flexibility in hierarchies.
  • I would prefer less predetermined formats.
I find MindManager most useful for:
(1) Planning my own projects
(2) Brainstorming ideas for myself or in a group, and
(3) Creating graphic depictions to parse complicated topics.

Less appropriate: At least in its current design, does not build effective flow charts. ESPECIALLY when
trying to plot long-term projects in a group. Page formatting constraints make it too clumsy. (OF COURSE, it could just be I don't know how to use the package properly).
I am primarily a university teacher who gives instruction in music performance. I have a library of Mindmaps that I share with students that allow us to explore technical and musical concepts. This technique lets me focus lesson time on actual playing. More important, the students have a set of heuristic tools that enable them to learn independently--and they frequently come back with ideas to add to the maps.
Read Mark Rudoff's full review

About MindManager

MindManager helps individuals, teams and enterprises do the right work, faster and better, by simplifying the way they capture, process and share information. Transforming unstructured ideas and data into dynamic visual maps, MindManager says it gives people a clearer understanding of and greater control over their time, work and world.

The vendor says that MindManager’s flexible, intuitive design supports freeform thinking, fluid organization and holistic understanding; its cross-platform functionality and third-party integrations enable a more streamlined, seamless work experience. Millions of users across thousands of global organizations brainstorm ideas creatively, plan and execute projects efficiently, communicate knowledge effectively, and drive more positive, profitable business outcomes with MindManager.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

- Creativity & Problem Solving
- Boosting Productivity
- Information & Knowledge Management
- Task & Project Management
- Business Planning
- Process Management
- And much more

MindManager Features

Additional Features
Has featureInformation Visualization
Has featureInformation Management
Has featureInformation Capturing
Has featureInformation Presentation
Has featureKnowledge Management

MindManager Screenshots

MindManager Video

Uncover possibilities, unite teams and unleash productivity with MindManager 2019. Empower yourself or your team with the most robust, customizable visualization software available, FREE for 30 days at www.mindmanager.com/MyFreeTrial

MindManager Downloadables

MindManager Integrations

Zapier, MS SharePoint, MS Outlook

MindManager Competitors

Xmind, iMindMap, iThoughts

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MindManager Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MindManager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Chinese