MIP Fund Accounting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
620 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 315)

Donavan Lam, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

Abila - a great segment reporting tool.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP is currently being utilized by the finance department to facilitate the day to day accounting needs of the organization. It helps the organization address our fund accounting needs in addition to fostering an environment of proper nonprofit accounting and reporting. MIP is currently being used for Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Journal Voucher Transactions, an other day to day accounting needs.
Read Donavan Lam, CPA's full review
Gwendolyn Ball Julien | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2020

Trusty MIP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP is our day to day accounting software. We use the general ledger, bank reconciliation, AP, AR and budget modules. It handles invoicing and all day to day activities. We process checks, reconcile bank statements and prepare budgets using it.
Read Gwendolyn Ball Julien's full review
Ellen DiGiacomo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2020

Abila MIP Fund Accounting keeps us paying our bills and paying our employees!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Abila MIP Fund Accounting for all of our accounting and payroll across our organization. We also use the HR Management Module with Abila MIP Fund Accounting. We are a non-profit organization that supports four public charter high schools. Our employee count is approximately 175 which includes teachers and staff.
Read Ellen DiGiacomo's full review
Arthur Knowles | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

Abila MIP just works

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Abila MIP is used by the finance, procurement, and payroll departments. It is used to track all company expenditures and grant - both public and private - reconciliation.
Read Arthur Knowles's full review
Chanette Oeser | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

Abila - One Stop Shop

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our agency uses MIP Fund Accounting for our Financial, Accounting, Payroll, and Human Resource operations. Our entire organization uses EWS for time and attendance, our HR Department uses the HR Manager and Payroll modules, and our Accounting Department uses all remaining aspects of Fund Accounting with the exception of Forms Designer and DrillPoint.
Read Chanette Oeser's full review
Tim Frederick | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

review of Abila from a tech standpoint

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Abila MIP Fund Accounting is being used by our financial department. We use Abila MIP Fund Accounting to maintain clear and concise control over our finances. We also integrate this software to our timekeeping program to ensure correct payment for hours worked.
Read Tim Frederick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2020

Newbie's Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MIP strictly in the finance department. We use it for all internal accounting. Most of us are relatively new users (less than 3 years), so we're constantly finding new ways to use the program. At year-end, it makes our 1099 generation process much simpler. For my purposes (accounts payable) now that I've worked with the program for a while, it's really quite easy to find just about anything I need (even going back several years).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

What You Should Know About Abila MIP Fund Accounting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's used by the accounting department. We use it to maintain our general ledger, process accounts payable and produce financial statements. We produce financial statements for the board of directors, departmental reports for managers, and revenue and expense analyses for upper management. We use the budgeting module, but mostly as a reporting tool - we do the actual nitty gritty budgeting work using Excel. We also use MIP almost as a job cost accounting system. We're a public broadcasting organization with 7 different stations. We have to allocate expenses not only between funds but between stations, departments, activities and restrictions, and MIP gives us the flexibility to do all of that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2020

MIP is a customizable and sensible tool for your financial needs.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MIP in our Finance and Accounting Dept only. We are a non-profit but we are an FQHC so we provide medical care and dental care at our facilities and MIP is not functional across our entire organization.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Wetterholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

An excellent accounting product for any non-profit!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize MIP for our full-cycle accounting system
and it is able to satisfy payment issuance, vendor file maintenance, cash
application, financial reporting, etc. One of the great benefits we have in the system is the
ability for it to generate ACH payment files and send automated payment
notifications to vendors when payments are issued. We previously used MIP for our payroll and budgeting processes as well. The accounting and
finance staff are the only users of MIP.
Read Paul Wetterholm's full review
Lora Zygman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Good for mid to large size organizations

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used to run all front end and back end accounting functions, as well as budgeting. People are given access based on their organizational level. I was specifically using Abila to pull reports, EGL, payment information and client information. It is also used for all the check input and payments (AP and AR) in the organization.
Read Lora Zygman's full review
Eris Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Great for Non-Profits!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize MIP Fund accounting for all of our accounting needs. We are a program based company, so we track revenue and expenses per program and general funds. All of the accounting/finance department currently utilizes the entire program and we are starting to make limited access budgeting available to program managers. . Upper level management utilizes the financial statements. We use the budgets, encumbrances, expanded GL reports, and monthly financials to prepare monthly reports for each of the program managers. This packet enables them to track their progress on fund spending, expense tracking, and available funds after encumbrances. Extremely useful for them. As we are a non-profit functioning on grants and contracts, the ability to track by fund is extremely useful. We definitely utilize the budgets to track progress on each fund, and to compare incoming expenses to fund availability. This helps keep the funds on track and to keep them within their budget limits. Cannot overemphasize the benefits of the budget comparison availability and ease of tracking. We also use the payroll function, and web time sheets. While we really like the Accounting modules, the payroll is not our favorite. While it links well to the accounting module, the payroll system truly needs streamlined and simplified.
Read Eris Tanner's full review
Daniel Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2019

Grant and Membership Funded Nonprofit Member's Review.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MIP Fund Accounting as our primary financial management application. We record all company transactions through Abila, complete financial reporting processes including bank reconciliations, vendor payment processing, membership billing (receivables) invoicing, and produce our financials through the use of Abila related reports. It is only used by the fiscal department. It is excellent at addressing the need to produce reports and for tracking a multitude of different grants our nonprofit administers.
Read Daniel Davis's full review
Jon Dize, CFRE | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2019

We're OK with MIP; it was our only option.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP is our accounting and scholarship system. We keep track of all donations, scholarship distributions, and write all invoices and checks from MIP as well. Our accountant then uses it for reconciliation and adjustments/Journal Entries.
Read Jon Dize, CFRE's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Jackrabbit

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP Fund Accounting is used by our Finance Department: controller, accountant, accounting assistant, and A/P. We use the A/P module, the basic transactions; JEs, cash disbursements, cash receipts & recurring entries. We use it for bank reconciliations (13 accounts) and to check account balances. We are able to customize and save reports to run on a recurring basis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Simple but effective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company has been using Abila MIP since 2008. It is being used by the Finance department only. We do all the journal entries in MIP, import invoices from our AP software, import our depreciation from the FA software, run financial statements and general reports through the MIP software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

Very user-friendly and great online support

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by the Accounting department only. We use the AP module and partial AR module for budgeting purposes and we distribute financial reports to other departments and our Board of Directors Committee.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

An A/P Accountant Perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP is being used across the finance department. It is being used for financial reporting purposes. It is intended to track payment information for orders placed by the purchasing department. The budget department creates entries that set aside funds for particular purchases, in which the budget officer enters the estimated funds needed along with the fund coding information. It is also used as a user-friendly option for accountants to enter payment/funding information so that the data can be turned into a static file and transmitted to the uniform standard accounting system used by the State of Texas Comptroller's office among all state agencies. The MIP interface is more user friendly to the accountant and the data fields required for particular categories of purchases/payments are easier to view because of the one-line, white space table. Also MIP allows shortcuts to address the problem of multiple or even hundreds of coding lines that need to be copied for a particular category of payments, allowing for saving time and resources in order to record a payment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

New User

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MIP is being used by the Accounting department for General ledger entries, Budgeting, Payroll accounting and Accounts Payable. It is the organization's accounting system for all areas in the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Bruce Emmerling | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2019

A well packaged solution for smaller non-profit organizations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Abila MIP is used as a comprehensive accounting package for the whole organization. It offers a wealth of services tailored to non-profit organizations and their particular needs. The software provides support for payroll, membership activities, business operations, and more. It offers a number of reporting tools and is fairly easy to use, especially for regular end users.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Bob Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Abila MIP Fund Accounting across the whole organization as our primary budget and financial accounting software.
Read Bob Jones's full review
Kayla Klinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

I recomend Abila!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Abila MIP Fund accounting is currently being used by the fiscal department and by the executive director. We use it to address business problems such as budget management, payments to vendors including the electronic payment feature, payroll including managing employee information, payroll taxes, direct deposits to employees, accounts receivables and billing, bank reconciliations, and tracking program revenue and expenses.
Read Kayla Klinger's full review
Diane Angell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

Fund Accounting made Easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Abila MIP fund accounting for our general government and enterprise funds tracking information not only by fund, but department as well. We used to use QuickBooks and switching to Abila enabled us to track shared expenses across funds and the financial reporting ability has been extremely helpful in preparing year end financial statements for our auditors.
Read Diane Angell's full review
Cesar A Siso L | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

The best for accounting and administration in your organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is an amazing software for accounting, you can do a lot of things to manage your budget, prices, and more. The interface is awesome and the support has great quality. In our institution, we use Abila to follow and keep the track of our budget and expenses, for example if we work with a community we can set their needs, create and projects, a follow the expenditure in each topic of that project. The software also helps us to have reports quickly about our activities and finances.
Read Cesar A Siso L's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (122)
8.3
Benefit plan administration (87)
6.4
Direct deposit files (103)
8.8
Salary revision and increment management (93)
7.4
Reimbursement management (72)
6.9
API for custom integration (76)
6.7
Plug-ins (50)
7.7
Single sign-on capability (221)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (268)
9.1
Dashboards (152)
7.8
Standard reports (290)
8.1
Custom reports (282)
8.0
Accounts payable (301)
8.6
Accounts receivable (212)
8.2
Cash management (194)
8.0
Bank reconciliation (269)
8.7
Expense management (214)
8.4
Time tracking (79)
6.8
Fixed asset management (129)
7.8
Multi-currency support (31)
8.0
Multi-division support (118)
8.8
Regulations compliance (91)
8.9
Electronic tax filing (143)
8.6
Self-service portal (91)
7.8
Standardized Processes (16)
7.1
Inventory tracking (1)
7.3
Automatic reordering (1)
1
Location management (2)
7.7
Manufacturing module (1)
1
Pricing (49)
6.5
Order entry (51)
7.5
Credit card processing (2)
2.5
Cost of goods sold (2)
2.7

About MIP Fund Accounting

MIP Fund Accounting™ is a configurable fund accounting solution that allows you to report and track information that is most important to you, your board and your supporters. According to the vendor, the solution can change and grow with you through your most difficult of fund accounting, human capital management and payroll decisions alike.

MIP Fund Accounting™ exclusively serves the financial management and fund accounting needs for thousands of nonprofits and government agencies. MIP™ has received the Campbell Award for several years in a row. The company focuses on your long-term needs, and allows you to custom design your system to enable you to manage effectively, get timely information, streamline processes and provide strong controls.

MIP™ is a fully integrated system with comprehensive functionality including fund accounting, procurement, budgeting, payroll, human resources, timekeeping, fixed asset management, grant management, dashboards, and more. The flexible structure enables you to manage and report on multiple cost centers at the general ledger level including multiple organizations, funds, projects, grants, programs, departments, locations, etc. The product can be deployed on-premise, in the cloud or self-hosted. Separately, you choose whether you would like to purchase/own the system or if you would like to pay by subscription.

MIP Fund Accounting Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Does not have featureCredit card processing
Does not have featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Does not have featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail

MIP Fund Accounting Screenshots

MIP Fund Accounting Competitors

MIP Fund Accounting Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MIP Fund Accounting Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No