WatchGuard Network Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
176 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 111)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 05, 2021
Darren Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use WatchGuard at all four of our sites. We use the BOVPN to create a network for all the sites to use and share data encrypted and safe across the sites. We also utilise the Basic security sweet and its webblocker abilities to keep our employees safe online. We also utilise WatchGuard AuthPoint to provide secure working from home with Covid19.
  • Comes with a variety of Security packages to suit business needs.
  • Built in SD-WAN can be utilised.
  • Provides outstanding network security from the www.
  • Web blocker and the SSL striping could be a lot simpler to roll out.
  • The single pain of glass management could be made simpler.
  • Ability to deploy VPN clients automatically as an msi.
An absolutely amazing product that looks good in the rack. The use of the WatchGuard is simple and can be done two ways, one for more advance users and one for more "fresh" users. I would recommend having a FireCluster set up at each site which is amazing, as upgrading the Firmware is a lot simpler and quicker to do.
We worked with Galtec Solutions as our partner, they helped us spec the right Firebox for all our separate sites and then help us pick the right license to put on them to allow them to preform the best for what we need them for. They also helped us configure the more advance features to help us protect our network.
Read Darren Clarke's full review
December 24, 2020
Chris Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard currently provides our hardware and firmware appliance to protect our small business network. It serves as a super reliable firewall that scans our internet connectivity as well as our spam and email control. It also allows for VPN pass through for a number of different applications that is easily controlled and modifiable.
  • Excellent internet connectivity.
  • Always on log management and review.
  • Rich set of filter controls for internet content.
  • Cataloging their product features & "how-to's" from one easy location on their site; currently very hard to dive in with all the feature-set options.
It provides a really secure connection point for our size business (about 25) and does not seem to be over-burdened by our pass-through or current filters. It may be over-kill for a company of a smaller size though, because there are so many configuration options. That said, they have a really great support staff who are always very willing to help with any situation.
We have worked with Virtual Graffiti as our purchase company and provider. I have always had a lot of success with them until this year where I made the choice to work through their online sales to renew and upgrade our services. Everything worked out in the end but the online rep was really hard to work with. I was told by their phone sales to not use online sales in the future because of miscommunications.
Read Chris Johnson's full review
December 19, 2020
Chris Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Port security.
  • External IP addresses.
  • I would like to be able to change ports with a firewall rule on the fire.
I like the way I can block websites. Especially Facebook, Amazon, Twitter, shopping sites, porn and other social sites. I really allows us to increase worker productions. But yet, I can still allow certain sites into the organization. It's really easy to these types of tasks. WatchGuard is really cool. It has a nice user interface.
Yes, I work directly with WatchGuard for recommendations.
WatchGuard has great GUI. And it is easy to learn, or better put, guess!! lol
Read Chris Hill's full review
December 13, 2020
David Hyde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three interconnected sites in 2 counties sharing Network drives and have VPN access for 120 remote users. We also have up to 3 fibre connections per site so need a stable traffic management system.
  • Internet failover
  • Easy stable VPN
  • Multi factor Authentication at a reasonable price would be nice
[WatchGuard Network Security] has worked well for the multi site integration and with COVID we were able to send our entire workforce home and work remotely.
Wizard-IT in Auckland New Zealand set up and have tweaked our setup. Brilliant people and great service.
Read David Hyde's full review
December 10, 2020
Dario Vedovati | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I use it for my costumer security network environment.
  • User friendly.
  • High quality software.
  • Configuration granularity.
  • Configuration access point.
  • App for mobile VPN SSL.
One specific scenario is if I want to protect my network towards internet.
I work with WatchGuard as a partner for purchase and implementation, I think WatchGuard is one of the best UTM I have known, because the quality of the products and the service support are very valid.
Read Dario Vedovati's full review
December 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard Network Security is being used locally and at remote office locations for the following functions: General firewall protection for email and Internet traffic, Branch Office VPN, Remote client VPN, DMZ for eCommerce and mobile sales force websites and applications. There are content filters in place to prevent certain higher risk files from being downloaded.
  • The solutions provide effective protection to the business.
  • Fairly simple administration with an in depth knowledge base for solutions.
  • Top notch customer support regardless of whether it's hardware of software related.
  • High reliability and up time of all WatchGuard equipment.
  • Have been able to complete any and all configuration requirements of the business through knowledge base or support staff.
  • Ease of upgrading and migrating configurations.
  • Possibly more detail in knowledge base articles.
  • Longer life cycle of products - they don't fail, they just ending being dropped from support in too short of time.
  • I find this company to be an exceptional solution and service provider and can't think of more ways to improve. I wish all companies were this responsive to customers.
For the size of businesses that I am involved with, the WatchGuard products are an excellent fit in terms of pricing, capacity, performance and reliability. The products are scaled for both main office or branch offices or warehouses. I have yet to not be able to come up with the correct solution for businesses. The pre-sales staff has excellent product knowledge and has always made the right recommendations.
We work with Tallgrass Technologies as the business partner. We're happy with the reselling services and contract renewals but always use WatchGuard staff for implementation and configuration assistance or hardware/software support.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 2 WatchGuard Clusters. One for segmenting the internal VLANs and one additional in front of our internal Network for managing the external traffic and the DMZ access.

We just started to implement the WatchGuard AD SSO feature to build user-based policies and maybe migrate our existing Hardware webproxy solution to the Fireboxes.
  • DNS Watch.
  • Dimension.
  • AD SSO.
  • Support.
  • Read/write access splittable.
  • WOL not working, because ARP entries will not be saved for enough time.
  • Guided review of configuration after upgrade to new fire os (when something is changed).
The hardware is stable and have enough power for the security features.
The security features are also stable and give us a good feeling.
The Logging via Dimension is great. We are able to look for errors or blocked packages in the past and filter them well.

Something we are missing is that WatchGuard isn't interested to get certified by the "BSI." For this reason we will have to buy an extra firewall for a specific VLAN that needs special security requirements.
We bought our Fireboxes at Netzplan.
We also have a support contract with them.
They are checking the boxes and the logs once a week for everything unnormal operation or unseen attacks.

Netzplan also did the initial Firebox installation some years ago.
The migration from the old boxes to the new boxes was done by ourselves.
There was nothing I got no answer for.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using a Watchguard firewall in a complex small office setup to provide network security and protect sensitive data.
  • Combines easy setup and management with strong small office security
  • Strong wireless security when paired with Watchguard wireless access points
  • Excellent management reporting
  • Options for sending logs to external servers could be improved
  • Easier setup of critical notifications from key functions such as intrusion protection
[WatchGuard Network Security is] very well suited for small and midsize offices where onsite support may be limited.
Purchased products on Amazon from the WatchGuard Store. Otherwise I did not use a reseller.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [WatchGuard Network Security] as our primary firewall at 2 locations and the means for connecting our remote user base over VPN.
  • Easy interface
  • Quality updates
  • Price
  • Not industry leader
  • Occasionally have bugs that linger
[WatchGuard Network Security is well suited for] small and medium businesses where you may want a firewall device that will handle multiple functional roles.
CDW sold us the devices.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has 4 productive sites around the world, all protected with Watchguard [Network Security] systems. Many services are active in all locations including: application control, apt blocker, web blocker, etc.
  • Easy to configure and use
  • Good protection
  • Problem of System manager with Windows 10
  • I think the integration with the active directory logon needs to be improved
I am not aware of any scenarios where Watchguard Network [Security] solutions cannot be applied
Yes, i work with a Watchguard partner, SEC di Zelaschi & c. Srl and i'am happy
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2020
James Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use all WatchGuard Network Security firewalls for our main office and all remote offices. We needed a solution that would allow us to connect all current and future offices together as well as with remote employees. WatchGuard accomplishes this by using its branch office VPNs for the offices and IPsec VPNs for our remote employees. We also needed a solution that would let us take advantage of crowd-based intelligence and advanced security services. The Geoblocking of any country that we don't do business with and reputation-enabled defense take care of these needs. As any next-gen firewall solution should have, the WatchGuard firewalls also support A/V scanning of all incoming traffic.
  • Easy to set up and get running
  • Excellent support
  • Easy to manage
  • Branch Office VPNs can sometimes be difficult to establish.
  • Easier way to capture packets for analysis
  • Better filtering in the traffic monitor screen
I have personally installed hundreds of WatchGuard Network Security firewalls in businesses ranging from 2- to 3-person operations to hundreds of employees, across many different business types from real-estate to finance to plumbing. For any business that needs a cost-effective solution for a next-gen firewall/remote office connection/integrated wifi, WatchGuard will work wonderfully. If you have hundreds of locations, a cloud-based solution may work a little better than WatchGuard, but they have their drawbacks as well.
I was a WatchGuard Network Security partner in past employment, however, since then I purchase them through resellers and install them myself. They are very easy to work with and the few times where I had an issue the support that WatchGuard provided was able to help me out quickly and get the problem solved.
I first started using WatchGuard firewalls about 20 years ago and found them easy to pick up and learn. Since then I have had experience with many other types--Sonicwalls, Palo Altos, and Cisco Meraki, just to name a few--and I still find the that WatchGuard is the easiest to deploy and work with. I still use the management software (vs. the newer web interface) and it's just very easy to find what I need and to make changes.
Read James Graham's full review
September 04, 2020
James Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We utilize WatchGuard's Total Security Suite (TSS) to protect our networks from all current threats. We use WatchGuard firewalls with TSS across our entire organization with all protection features enabled, including Reputation Enabled Defense, Threat Detection and Response, Geolocation filtering, web blocking with content filtering, and a nice, new feature known as DNS Watch.
  • Threat Detection and Response to defend against active malware and viruses as well as zero-day threat protection.
  • Web blocking with content filtering is used to prevent employees from going to websites where they will be less productive.
  • DNS Watch is used to prevent employees from accidentally going to websites that could insert a virus onto their computer.
  • I can't think of any at this time.
WatchGuard Network Security is well suited for all business environments containing up to approximately 8,000 devices. When used in conjunction with AuthPoint MFA and the Trusted Wireless Environment with Wireless Intrusion Prevention we keep our clients networks secured.

We have found the solutions provided by WatchGuard to fit every industry vertical that we work in, from health care, insurance, banking, distribution, all the way over to long term care.

For one of our distribution clients we have taken them from a basic network with moderate security standards up to NIST CSF compliance standards by primarily utilizing WatchGuard's products, as well as some well designed compliance management specific SaaS offerings.
We worked with WatchGuard support directly on purchase and implementation Stellar support all around. We have been Gold partners going on 4 years, and are enjoying the relationship. Support is always available when we need them, and our sales team support has been amazing.
It is complex, but anything of this nature will be. The basic setup was simple. The complexity comes in when implementing network security features. WatchGuard support was able to give us much needed help in getting these items implemented in a way where we feel our network is very well secured.
Read James Chapman's full review
August 26, 2020
Montie Hennard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I leverage WatchGuard Network Security to my customers. It's the perfect Network Security product I recommend to end users.
  • It's manufacturer-agnostic and can be seamlessly incorporated with existing devices.
  • Ease of support and quick response turnaround time
  • Price not listed as the quantity for coterms
Enterprise customers who want additional functionality would be a less appropriate scenario for WatchGuard Network Security. A well suited scenario would be provision of enterprise grade security for SMB clients. As a powerful solution, it helps exceed smaller seat-count companies' expectations in an economical manner.
Joseph is our Insight Renewals Rep and is the best resource to utilize in not only taking care of renewals but also excellent at educating how to position WatchGuard Network Security to customers who aren't currently using it.
Read Montie Hennard's full review
August 10, 2020
Jason Lim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using WatchGuard as our VPN to allow our software sales and software services team access to our internal servers whilst on the go and whilst working from home, be it from locations locally in Singapore, or regionally as we do have staff working from their homes in neighboring countries.

It allows us to operate without interruption in spite of COVID measures preventing us from working in the office or commuting between countries for work. Without WatchGuard upgraded and in place, we would definitely have been severely handicapped.
  • Access security
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of management
  • No areas as I am currently very happy with the solution as is.
WatchGuard Network Security is well suited to allow secure remote access to company servers

It's less appropriate for companies that do not have on-premise assets to access, i.e. where most of their assets (servers & services) are being served from the cloud.
We worked with Biz-Era.Net Pte Ltd for our recent upgrade. Very happy with their service and technical know-how.
From actual experience using it as I have had to help with the implementation and management of the solution.
Read Jason Lim's full review
September 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard firewalls across our district. It is used at all our sites to provide internet as well as access to our internal network. Initially, these were used to connect sites with a residential internet connection as well as a Layer 2 connection to our main office. This was done to provide cheaper and faster internet through the residential connection and using a slower Layer 2 connection. Recently we have been moving to VPN from our schools to the main office and dropping the expensive Layer 2 connections.
  • Provides plenty of computing power and bandwidth for the price
  • Fairly simple to add new policies
  • Really simple setup for WatchGuard to WatchGuard VPN
  • No policy grouping/looks messy with large number of policies
  • Difficult to access/read logs
  • Support is not easily obtained/wait for support can be long
A WatchGuard Network Security firewall is well suited for any business with a dedicated IT person/team. It does allow you to do most configurations needed in any business, however, quite a bit of technical knowledge is needed to properly configure the devices.
We worked with CDW Canada on purchasing the right devices and had some help with the initial setup. The help with basic support in implementation saved a lot of time by helping with configuration issues.
The WatchGuard Network Security Device is intuitive, configured fairly easily with knowledge of the product and settings. It is not something you can configure without knowledge of the WatchGuard system or the specific device configuration.
It can take multiple days to resolve what WatchGuard considers low severity issues. Advanced exchange replacement can take two weeks to arrive.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We user the M470 as our company Firewall. We are able to see what is going on in real time with the Firebox System Manager. We can quickly block abnormal activity. We can view our bandwidth usage, get a status report, see you is connected via VPN, and meny meny more insites to DMZ.
  • The Geolocation service keeps us secure from unwanted intrusion from countries of our choice.
  • The Webblocker save us money and time because we don't have to but another specially device for that one function.
  • The firewall rules (policies) are easy to setup and configure.
  • Costs can be high even for the lower end fireboxes.
  • A new WG IPsec VPN would be good instead of paying a third party.
It is well suited as a company firewall. It has everything a you would need to secure your companies data.
Overall usability is what I like best in the product. I can see what is happening now instead of running reports later.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using WatchGuard Network Security as our main firewall across the whole organization. We have (3) locations across the country. We are also utilizing the WatchGuard VPN to securely connect to our shared resources.
  • Provides firewall to our multiple locations, using it for VOIP and http access.
  • Interactive realtime reporting and monitoring using WatchGuard Dimension
  • WatchGuard VPN client, to securely connect to our network, is especially useful now that everyone will be working from home.
  • We are interested to learn more about WatchGuard and its SD Wan services.
WatchGuard Network Security is very helpful in making web policies for our users. It's been very good to toggle traffic when one of our ISPs are down. Reporting and monitoring are some of its great features.
Yes, Design Studios. We are happy with them. They've always accommodated our requests.
Easy and understandable to configure and analyze
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two locations and utilize WatchGuard firewalls at both locations. They are great at being able to filter out a lot of unwanted traffic and autoblocking probing attempts. Linking the stores is easy and super reliable. It greatly reduces our exposure to malware and phishing attempts.
  • Easy, intuitive configuration
  • Reliable
  • Easy troubleshooting with great easy to read logs
  • Secure
  • Great performance
  • SUPPORT - Their Support is spot on and easy to reach. Extremely knowledgeable.
  • Spam-filtering review--admin can't review spam for lazy users
  • Whitelisting/Exclusions in one area might be helpful
  • Don't change much. It is a great product.
  • Adding some configuring to the spam filtering on what to catch could be a lot easier.
I recommend WatchGuard Network Security for almost every firewall situation. The only place I haven't is maybe for a home user on a tight budget with zero PC knowledge. They need protection, but can't afford it.
Worked with CTG of Amarillo for purchase. I program the firewalls myself since I'm really familiar with them. The reseller has always done a great job of getting me the right equipment for the situation and the right licensing.
My favorite to work with by far! Better than Cisco, pfSense, Linksys, Netgear, Cyberoam, and Fortinet.
Read this authenticated review
August 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use WatchGuard products in-house, and recommend, install, monitor, and manage them for our clients.

Not one infection or successful attack behind our well configured, up-to-date, industry-leading firewall and network security solutions.

WatchGuard is a Godsend for small business security.
  • Visibility and control of network traffic in and out.
  • Malware detection and elimination BEFORE it gets into the network.
  • Forward-thinking/looking/acting to improve the solutions to stay ahead of the threat curve posed by ever-changing attack vectors and methods.
  • Certifications require experience and thorough training.
  • Minor annoyances in configuration interfaces could be improved.
  • Completely integrate the portals used in cloud services (this is underway)
WatchGuard solutions range from single-person offices to global operations with many offices. Throughput with full inspection and encryption is best-in-breed (Gartner) offering excellent performance for the money. Larger operations can rely on high-availability solutions in active/passive or active/active modes with seamless failover to keep the internet connection working if one device were to fail.

Many franchises deploy these products using ship-n-plug self-configuration for franchise locations, connecting to VPNs in the corporate office(s).

While network security is not a simple matter, WatchGuard does an excellent job of delivering security that is easy to implement and manage.
We are a WatchGuard Silver Partner.

At least 95% of our customers stay with us for more than 10 years. At our recommendation, nearly all of them have deployed a WatchGuard firewall and have not asked for an alternate solution.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the WatchGuard Firewalls ai perimeter firewall and thus secure our company. Since we started using the WatchGuard Firewall, the administration of the firewall has become easier for the colleagues from the admin team. Things are done faster. Detection rates are very good.
  • The systems are very easy to administer and the existing tools help a lot in the case of troubleshooting.
  • The communication between manufacturer and end customer works very well and quickly brings me, as a customer, to my destination.
  • The firewalls are very reliable and stable.
  • Just little things like create a network alias while I'm already creating a firewall rule.
The WatchGuard Firewalls are well suited as perimeter Firewalls with up to 10 GBit Throughput with full UTM features enabled. Not suited as an internal firewall with high throughputs 40G +. But as far as I know, new hardware is nearby. Also, the management server with auditing and versioning and drag and drop VPN is very good. I had environments before with 300+ Firewalls managed from one server
I did implementation by myself but in the background, there was a strong WatchGuard Partner with much know-how. BOC IT Security GmbH helped us with all our questions.
WatchGuard Products do have a very good usability. If you are fit in other firewalls you don´t need much training to work with a WatchGuard Firebox
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Miguel Letona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard is in use across the whole organization which spans 6 different countries creating a wide area network using Branch Office VPNs. We use various security modules like Anti-spam, Web Filtering, IPS security, Botnet detection, etc. We have remote workers and the easy of use of VPNs let them execute their work without problem. Also, we have an external DataCenter and access it with BOVPNs, the connection was very easy to set up.
  • Use of web categories.
  • Easy rule creation.
  • Live logs.
  • Custom protocol definition.
  • Geolocation allow/block access.
  • Application control.
  • Quarantine server needs improvement, old design.
  • Dimension reports needs more filtering and selection options.
  • Dimension needs to show actual data, some reports lacks real data.
  • Policy Manager needs to improve its front-end.
  • Options in Policy Manager seem outdated.
  • Better integration with Active Directory, sometimes fails to authenticate users correctly.
Well configured, is appropriate for most scenarios but needs improvement over mail management and anti-spam; also, needs improvement for web server publishing forwarding request to many internal web servers.
Partner provided good start and implementation, now we work without their help. Partner is NAS de Guatemala.
Accessing devices is easy, one has two different options, desktop app or web app. Creating and modifying rules with desktop app is very easy, with web app is a little cumbersome. Getting results with Dimension reports is easy but lacks report diversity; also, some report data doesn't match with real data. Have to improve report filtering options.
Read Miguel Letona's full review
April 14, 2020
Mauro Biefeni | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used WatchGuard firewall hardware solution as the first line of defense for incoming and outgoing data traffic on our network in order to protect the entire organization. WatchGuard provided us with protection against intrusion and attacks from malicious endpoints, or hack attempts, and allowed us to add applications to the appliance in order to enhance security.
  • Easy to deploy. One does not have to have knowledge of their CLI structure to deploy it which makes it easier for a wider range of people.
  • Traffic analysis
  • Very easy branch to branch VPN setup
  • Powerful reporting
  • Expensive. Adding apps to the appliance can get quite costly. As well, discontinuing an application can cause disruption of service without warning.
  • LOTS of configurations that you can tweak to get the job done. Yes this is a CON too. There are so many things you can change that it can be a bit cumbersome at times.
  • Often required a reboot as traffic would stop for no (known) reason.
WatchGuard Network Security may be well suited for companies who have a decent budget for IT, need decent protection options and reporting capabilities, and are willing to deal with the quirks.

WatchGuard may not be well suited for smaller environments where there is not a big budget available as you will need to settle for a less robust appliance and the apps can be quite expensive as well.
We did not work with a WatchGuard Network Security partner as we have an in-house Network Security Administrator who knows his stuff quite well. He was able to set up and keep the appliance working, add domains, open ports as required, etc. The only issue we had was with the actual performance of the appliance itself.
The WatchGuard interface was actually fairly intuitive and even though we had a dedicated network admin, quite possibly a technically savvy user would be able to administer most of the required functions of the firewall. Again, the only issue to me would be the catch-22 when you discontinue certain add on applications, this can cause serious problems without explanation as it just blocks all data flow.
Read Mauro Biefeni's full review
December 14, 2019
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Watchguard was used as a firewall appliance for our small to medium businesses we provided consulting services for. It was used at the edge of the network to provide basic and next-gen firewall services. We deployed Watchguard at our own offices, as well as our datacenter and in our customer networks.
  • Easy to deploy. Does not require specific CLI knowledge to implement.
  • Traffic analyzer tools.
  • policy based routing with dual WAN can require some fine tuning
  • more in depth CLI for troubleshooting would be a nice to have for when its needed
WatchGuard has a ton of features for a very reasonable price. We utilized it as a simple edge firewall, but also in a more complex environment with dual WAN, policy-based routing, SIP gateway, next-gen features, etc. You would pay a lot more money with some other providers for similar features.
Diamond Technologies is a Watchguard Network Security partner and who I worked for. As an implementer all of our customers were happy with the cost of the appliance, the implementation of the solution, and the features with which they obtained. All of my clients were satisfied knowing their network was protected by a quality firewall.
The overall usability gets a good rating as the WatchGuard firewalls are fairly easy to deploy. One does not have to have knowledge of their CLI structure to deploy it which makes it easier for a wider range of people. I would prefer to have a more in-depth CLI myself, however, the lack of requirement to use it for deployment, in my opinion, makes the usability easier for more people.
Read Steve Davis's full review
December 03, 2019
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard devices in our main and satellite office with the network security enabled on both via their Total Security package. They are vital for monitoring traffic coming and going from both sites and ensuring that users are kept safe while doing their jobs and (hopefully) prevent any outages.
  • Feature-rich.
  • Constant development.
  • Great support.
  • Firmware upgrades are currently manual (cant be "set and forget")
  • Takes some learning
  • The web interface still doesnt quite have everything the application offers
I came to my role with WatchGuard already in place and originally planned to drop them and go with another solution. This quickly changed as I learned the features they had, and how it all worked. They have a great feature set and the network security features are phenomenal. We now buy total security suite to ensure we have access to all the various features and, after a little wrangling to get it all enabled and working, it has been a great investment.
No, purchased through our reseller and then implemented ourselves, using online guides and WatchGuard support. They were great when we had a few teething issues.
The feature set you get is fantastic, and there has been a great investment in various areas to cover all angles. I was blown away by various features on offer, and after getting it set up, a few more acquisitions were made by WatchGuard and as we had total security suite we got to enable them on our devices.
Read James Martin's full review
December 23, 2019
Tom Leutritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Watchguard in all our offices in the US. First as a BOVPN network to connect to all resources at are 2 server racks at 2 locations. Then we use it to protect against unwanted access and attacks. We use the virus scanning and webblocker features for this purpose.
  • BOVPN works very well and no drops at all
  • Virus updates are automatic saving IT resources
  • Sometimes unblocking a legitimate web site is hard to figure out why it's being blocked and how to permanently unblock.
The Watchguard appliances are well suited for small 1 location offices up to medium multi office companies. For financial institutions I believe it would be good as a secondary system to a point to point between offices.
I use PCM formerly PC MALL. I was very happy with the upgrade selection help from them.
I would give it a 10 but if an IT person does not have at least a year experience with them it is hard to figure out some feature setup.
Read Tom Leutritz's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (80)
8.4
Visualization Tools (88)
7.2
Content Inspection (94)
8.3
Policy-based Controls (97)
8.7
Active Directory and LDAP (82)
8.1
Firewall Management Console (95)
8.9
Reporting and Logging (93)
7.3
VPN (93)
8.1
High Availability (78)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (85)
8.2
Proxy Server (62)
7.8

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard has been in the cyber security technology space for over 20 years. The vendor sees itself as a pioneer in the space, and aims to deliver easy-to-deploy and easy-to-manage solutions. WatchGuard offer a comprehensive advanced network security platform that puts IT security professionals back in charge of their network with widely deployable, enterprise-grade security and threat visibility tools suitable for an organization, regardless of budget, size or complexity. In addition to network security, WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services. The vendor says this is important because the cyber security landscape is constantly evolving, and new threats emerge each day. WatchGuard's goal is to make enterprise-grade cyber security technology accessible for every company. The vendor reports that WatchGuard serves more than 80,000 small and midsize enterprises around the globe and is headquartered in Seattle, Washington, with offices throughout North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, and Latin America.
Categories:  Network Security,  Firewall

WatchGuard Network Security Features

Firewall Features

Has featureIdentification Technologies
Has featureVisualization Tools
Has featureContent Inspection
Has featurePolicy-based Controls
Has featureActive Directory and LDAP
Has featureFirewall Management Console
Has featureReporting and Logging
Has featureVPN
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureStateful Inspection
Has featureProxy Server

WatchGuard Network Security Screenshots

WatchGuard Network Security Videos (4)

WatchGuard Network Security Downloadables

WatchGuard Network Security Integrations

Review Product Integrations: www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard Network Security Competitors

WatchGuard Network Security Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

WatchGuard Network Security Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

WatchGuard Network Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Chinese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WatchGuard Network Security?

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services designed for SMB’s.

What is WatchGuard Network Security's best feature?

Reviewers rate Firewall Management Console highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses WatchGuard Network Security?

The most common users of WatchGuard Network Security are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.