WatchGuard Network Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
140 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 92)

Miguel Letona | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Use a no-hassle security device

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard is in use across the whole organization which spans 6 different countries creating a wide area network using Branch Office VPNs. We use various security modules like Anti-spam, Web Filtering, IPS security, Botnet detection, etc. We have remote workers and the easy of use of VPNs let them execute their work without problem. Also, we have an external DataCenter and access it with BOVPNs, the connection was very easy to set up.
  • Use of web categories.
  • Easy rule creation.
  • Live logs.
  • Custom protocol definition.
  • Geolocation allow/block access.
  • Application control.
  • Quarantine server needs improvement, old design.
  • Dimension reports needs more filtering and selection options.
  • Dimension needs to show actual data, some reports lacks real data.
  • Policy Manager needs to improve its front-end.
  • Options in Policy Manager seem outdated.
  • Better integration with Active Directory, sometimes fails to authenticate users correctly.
Well configured, is appropriate for most scenarios but needs improvement over mail management and anti-spam; also, needs improvement for web server publishing forwarding request to many internal web servers.
Read Miguel Letona's full review
Mauro Biefeni | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

WatchGuard Network Security Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used WatchGuard firewall hardware solution as the first line of defense for incoming and outgoing data traffic on our network in order to protect the entire organization. WatchGuard provided us with protection against intrusion and attacks from malicious endpoints, or hack attempts, and allowed us to add applications to the appliance in order to enhance security.
  • Easy to deploy. One does not have to have knowledge of their CLI structure to deploy it which makes it easier for a wider range of people.
  • Traffic analysis
  • Very easy branch to branch VPN setup
  • Powerful reporting
  • Expensive. Adding apps to the appliance can get quite costly. As well, discontinuing an application can cause disruption of service without warning.
  • LOTS of configurations that you can tweak to get the job done. Yes this is a CON too. There are so many things you can change that it can be a bit cumbersome at times.
  • Often required a reboot as traffic would stop for no (known) reason.
WatchGuard Network Security may be well suited for companies who have a decent budget for IT, need decent protection options and reporting capabilities, and are willing to deal with the quirks.

WatchGuard may not be well suited for smaller environments where there is not a big budget available as you will need to settle for a less robust appliance and the apps can be quite expensive as well.
Read Mauro Biefeni's full review
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

WatchGuard - Protecting your network doesn't need to break the bank.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Watchguard was used as a firewall appliance for our small to medium businesses we provided consulting services for. It was used at the edge of the network to provide basic and next-gen firewall services. We deployed Watchguard at our own offices, as well as our datacenter and in our customer networks.
  • Easy to deploy. Does not require specific CLI knowledge to implement.
  • Traffic analyzer tools.
  • policy based routing with dual WAN can require some fine tuning
  • more in depth CLI for troubleshooting would be a nice to have for when its needed
WatchGuard has a ton of features for a very reasonable price. We utilized it as a simple edge firewall, but also in a more complex environment with dual WAN, policy-based routing, SIP gateway, next-gen features, etc. You would pay a lot more money with some other providers for similar features.
Read Steve Davis's full review
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

A great solution for small and medium-sized businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard devices in our main and satellite office with the network security enabled on both via their Total Security package. They are vital for monitoring traffic coming and going from both sites and ensuring that users are kept safe while doing their jobs and (hopefully) prevent any outages.
  • Feature-rich.
  • Constant development.
  • Great support.
  • Firmware upgrades are currently manual (cant be "set and forget")
  • Takes some learning
  • The web interface still doesnt quite have everything the application offers
I came to my role with WatchGuard already in place and originally planned to drop them and go with another solution. This quickly changed as I learned the features they had, and how it all worked. They have a great feature set and the network security features are phenomenal. We now buy total security suite to ensure we have access to all the various features and, after a little wrangling to get it all enabled and working, it has been a great investment.
Read James Martin's full review
Tom Leutritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Watchguard used by my company 18 years and counting.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Watchguard in all our offices in the US. First as a BOVPN network to connect to all resources at are 2 server racks at 2 locations. Then we use it to protect against unwanted access and attacks. We use the virus scanning and webblocker features for this purpose.
  • BOVPN works very well and no drops at all
  • Virus updates are automatic saving IT resources
  • Sometimes unblocking a legitimate web site is hard to figure out why it's being blocked and how to permanently unblock.
The Watchguard appliances are well suited for small 1 location offices up to medium multi office companies. For financial institutions I believe it would be good as a secondary system to a point to point between offices.
Read Tom Leutritz's full review
iftikhar hussain | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

Experience Has Taught Me Well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard is our firewall to filter the network traffic. It is being used by the whole organization. Our broadband lines are directly connected to WatchGuard & we set up the policies to filter the traffic.
  • Filter traffic as per policies.
  • Full log history for all users browsing websites.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Good customer service.
  • More tech support representatives required.
Read iftikhar hussain's full review
Chad Shirley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

WatchGuard Network Security Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using WatchGuard as the firewall to my network. It also manages my VPN. It has made it easy for my users to remote in.
  • Security
  • Spam Blocking
  • Ease of setup
  • Extended support for older boxes
  • I hate having to upgrade every few years
  • Local support
it works well if you have multiple locations and setup a firebox at each location.
Read Chad Shirley's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2020

Great product with many features

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our contracted IT firm recommended WatchGuard for our entire organization. It has been very helpful in keeping our network secure at a reasonable price point. The best way to know a security program is working is to not have to think about it when it works quietly in the background keeping your company protected.
  • Anti-virus protection
  • Firewall services
  • Spam filtration
  • Occasional hiccups with VPN connections forcing restart.
  • False positive spam filtering.
  • URL blocking of legitimate sites can be frustrating.
Being the end-user and not, a tech expert, I'm not sure I can answer this question. It does work well for our organization on the front end and has served our needs well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

WatchGuard Firewalls are robust, secure, and stable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a technology firm with around 20 engineers who have access to client servers, code, and credentials. We use WatchGuard to lockdown our network and ensure that no unauthorized users gain access to our systems. We also use it to provide a VPN connection point for all users on the go to securely connect back to home base and ensure that they are as secure while traveling as they are while in the office.
  • Intrusion Protection Service (IPS)
  • Ease of VPN Setup
  • Robust Firewall Policies
  • Fast Interface
  • Complex UI
  • Hard to visualize where traffic is coming from within the network
  • Hard to apply limit to individual users
We use WatchGuard Network Security as our firewall and router to protect our entire network from the outside world as well as provide VPN connectivity. It controls and protects our access to the internet. It would be very good at preventing access to websites we don't want our users visiting as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Would Recommend!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WG is used as our edge UTM router at our primary, as well as satellite offices. We also use WG for our VPN appliance.
  • Easy to deploy and manage.
  • Good customer support.
  • Competitive price point.
  • There is a slight learning curve for terminology and methodology.
  • GUI interface is nice, but many power users are more familiar with CLI.
WG hardware is great for small and large organizations looking for powerful, yet easy to configure/manage devices. In large installations, they can be implemented in combination with other hardware, but having all your routing equipment be WG simplifies management and training. WG provides excellent support, and there are examples/tutorials available to help get first-time users up to speed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

WatchGuard - great firewall choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WatchGuard Network Security is used by our organization to secure the network perimeter. It's also used as a Zero Trust tool to limit both internal and external access to required resources by using ACLs, policies, etc.
It's used by our entire organization, and we use the full suite of next generation security, including Intrusion Prevention, Gateway and Intelligent AV, Data Loss Prevention (compliance for PCI & HIPAA), Threat Detection and Response, Web-blocker/content filter, etc.
  • Very easy to manage compared to competing products
  • Relatively simple to troubleshoot
  • Device factory resets if you downgrade firmware (must have config backups)
For most businesses in the 1 - 1,000 employee range, WatchGuard Network Security is a great tool. When compared to competing products (we've used Cisco ASA, Cisco Meraki, SonicWall, Sophos, and others) none can compare for simplicity of configuration and deployment--but simple does not mean worse. It is every much as powerful and feature-rich.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2020

Not the best for all, but for most

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The whole organization is using Watchguard Firewall Appliances. We use it for Network-Protection, Mail-Scan, and VPNs. I'm the main technician for these products.
  • SSL VPN
  • Deep Inspection
  • Configuration
  • More on-premise tools
  • On-premise WIFI-Security
  • More technical webinars, not only selling and promotion
WatchGuard Network Security is well suited for external connection for employees with VPN and to make restricted policies for access to devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Happy Customer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the entire organisation, at all of our 7 sites. Used for security services, WiFi, VPN, all features. The range of available security features are fully utilised. Also used to enable VPN failover for our network. Dimension is a great management/reporting tool.
  • Security services.
  • WiFi.
  • Support.
  • Access portal not available on all models.
  • Not being able to filter search/filter the firewatch facility to find specific connections.
Having worked with WatchGuard products for around 10 years, and having made the initial purchase decision, I would recommend the WatchGuard products. (I even have a personal unit at home).
Read this authenticated review
Tracy Atwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Watchguard Security as MSP solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Currently, we utilize WatchGuard Network Security as the key component for both of our offices. We also resell and recommend WatchGuard to our clients and support approximately 50-60 deployed scenarios as the solution for network protection and security, through hardware and the integrated security such as DPI, AV, Webblocking and so much more.
  • URL Filtering: Extremely effective for blocking of questionable content and protecting from phishing sites.
  • Antivirus: Our clients have seen far fewer active threats when a WatchGuard Network Security Device is in place.
  • Data Loss Prevention: A valuable tool for our clients who require more security when it comes to metadata and personal data leaving the network.
  • It would be great to have a migration tool to HELP between competitor products to attempt to migrate a configuration so that time and client money is saved when moving into a WatchGuard Network Security deployment.
  • Remote deployment is inconsistent i.e. setting a configuration ahead of time for the device to implement when it powers on and dials home. Would like to see this developed more and with more capability for complexity.
I have and will continue to recommend WatchGuard Network Security to clients large and small. Our business has had no opportunity to say, " You're too small or simple to not benefit from this level of security." WatchGuard has a solution we can confidently offer to even our smallest client with confidence and know we can convey the peace of mind having a WatchGuard Network Security appliance.
Read Tracy Atwood's full review
Greg College | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

WatchGuard Network Security offers worry-free setup, protection, and management of critical networks.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We utilize WatchGuard equipment and their Security Suites in our main office, as well as deploying it on-site for all of our IT customers. Our primary role is working with criminal justice agencies, and WatchGuard products serve many of the appropriate needs. Their firewalls are FIPS 140-2 compliant and offer a full range of services that will maintain compliance with federal CJIS and state policies regarding the access and transmission of criminal justice information (CJI).

Their assortment of proxy policies and security services ensure that our criminal justice networks are safe, secure, and controlled. They utilize multiple layers of threat detection to protect their critical/sensitive data. And with many criminal justice networks requiring two-factor authentication for mobile devices, WatchGuard now offers their integrated AuthPoint service, which can easily provide this service to agencies without requiring them to invest in third-party tokens/services to make it happen.
  • WatchGuard AuthPoint allows CJIS-compliant MFA for mobile devices.
  • Layered security services can easily block threats from several different angles.
  • Easy-to-use system manager makes building policies and interpreting them very easy.
  • WatchGuard Cloud features have room to grow. I would love to see it fully replace the need for Dimension or WatchGuard Server Manager.
  • AuthPoint support for third-party tokens (for agencies that already own them) would be a nice addition.
WatchGuard Security Services are very well-suited for our customer environments (criminal justice networks). They're very easy to centrally manage (we have about 45 that we handle). It would, perhaps, be less well-suited for very small environments. Although WatchGuard does provide smaller/less-expensive units, they may be overkill for very small environments or those that do not have to be concerned with regulatory needs.
Read Greg College's full review
Felicia King | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2019

10+ yrs experience with hundreds of Fireboxes, WatchGuard review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a network security architect, it is my job to design NIST SP-800 cybersecurity framework hardened network layer security solutions. These strategies are combined with a comprehensive cybersecurity kill chain plan inclusive of email, network, phone, printer, cloud, server, and endpoint layered defense strategies. As part of the design decision, technologies that consistently have extremely high efficacy while having a low TCO are absolutely essential for this solution to be manageable, effective, and affordable. WatchGuard has been our choice for network layer protection for more than 10 years. We also use their endpoint protection agent technologies and authentication solutions. In doing so, we have been able to deliver high levels of security effectiveness at an affordable price to organizations ranging from one user to 500 users.
  • WatchGuard System Manager and centralized management is the key to low TCO
  • Security solution efficacy is critical. A solution that is only 95% effective is not good enough.
  • Partner support is good and enables us to be able to deliver quality solutions that are consistently functional
  • Partner enablement. WG focuses on the channel as they know that the skill of the integrators is what makes the difference between a default appliance and an effective security solution
  • Partner communications on technical issues. For example the undocumented feature of SDWAN hidden route. There is still no documentation on that.
  • Too infrequent communications about high incidence technical support issues. We do not want to have to be encountering known issues and then having outages or problems that we then have to put in tickets about.
  • Pay attention to your most highly technical partners, not just those that sell a lot of equipment. The highly technical partners can and do provide very usable feedback that can make the products better.
  • WG wants partners to build relationships with people inside WG so we can drive solutions to problems, but too frequently, we get no response to emails sent to the proper internal resources about legitimate issues.
I do not recommend Fireboxes for network layer security in a situation where you cannot run a Firebox as the core network router for all subnets/VLANs because the network is simply too large to be accommodated on a single Firebox appliance. In that case of a network that is too large, I run a network layer security solution on every single Extreme switch in an environment and possibly also at the WAP layer. The Extreme solution is not as good or as flexible, but it does scale larger. The Extreme solution is also too expensive for any environment of less than 500 users. This statement would also be true of any Cisco, Checkpoint, Aruba, or HPE Networking solution. All of those solutions have a very high cost of implementation and maintenance, but they do scale to the size of 10,000+ endpoints.
Read Felicia King's full review
Joshua Churchwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

WatchGuard makes managing complex security solutions easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard firewalls across the entire organization for all of our clients as a tool in troubleshooting but also much much more. Their Traffic Monitor tool shows real-time network traffic to help us troubleshoot connectivity, security threats, and do general monitoring. I can search in real-time the logs for username, IP address, ports, or even websites. It also shows allowed, blocked or dropped packets in real-time. No more packet captures! This is just one of their amazing tools built into their Total Security Suite stack. Another great tool for us is DNS Watch which checks DNS queries to block malicious sites and redirects those users to educational videos. DNS Watch solves the problem of users clicking on things they shouldn't and also saves us time on not having to educate the end-users on security best practices. Easy of use and their amazing tech support is the icing on the cake. I can't tell you how many times I get into other firewalls and had to dig and dig to find a setting or re-engineer the wheel to fix something simple. Everything is where it intuitively should be in my humble opinion and also their tech support rocks!
  • Layer Security Stack
  • World Class Amazing Tech Support
  • Complex Solutions made to be easily managed
  • The ability to add identification of applications through some type of submission process on the Application Control feature.
WatchGuard can support anything from an SMB to Enterprise. I don't believe there is any business, regardless of size, that shouldn't have a WatchGuard firebox protecting them. You can set up the firewall policies to be as locked down as you want or to allow most things and still remain protected.
Read Joshua Churchwell's full review
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Why WatchGuard? Because.......

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy WatchGaurd solutions to many of the customers we manage and monitor, from end to end, for their network infrastructure. The single-pane glass of management via the web portal is a priceless feature, which makes troubleshooting issues a lot easier.
  • Ease of configuration.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Ease of management.
  • It would nice to have CLI access through the web GUI.
WatchGuard solutions fit into any environment due to all the options of hardware and virtual they provide. No matter how big or how small, you can, with confidence, deploy a WatchGuard solution.
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Laine Kohama | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

WatchGuard has my back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is currently being used across the entire organization. We have the reporting feature that is set up. We also have the policies on the firewall set up. The business problem that it addresses is making sure that our network is safe and secure. We have reporting to verify what is happening in our network. Also, it can limit the network bandwidth per user as well as show where users transverse on the network and in the Internet. That way we can do things like be proactive with helping them if they click on the wrong websites that might exploit their computer.
  • Their training is phenomenal.
  • The support for their partners is excellent. One of the best companies that I've been involved with to support us.
  • The product is amazing. I've been a partner with other security companies and by far WatchGuard has excellent technology and it's easy to use. Not only is it easy to use but it makes sense when you configure it.
  • Their customer service team is awesome. I recently have to call in and everyone was very professional and very friendly.
  • The training is great. I know they are updating their training videos. I did like how the networking certification had videos that were broken up and condensed into a smaller video instead of a large one. The wireless training had long videos and if it was broken up it would have been easier.
  • Having the coursework ready for the certification.
  • For the training certifications to have the video easier to rewind 10 seconds back or 15 seconds back. Right now there is no button that allows us to rewind the video in that fashion.
I believe that WatchGuard is really good in scenarios where it is a small or medium-sized business. It does a great job in monitoring wireless security as well as internal network security and external network security.
Read Laine Kohama's full review
Paul Rose | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

WatchGuard - the Linus security blanket you always wanted - and need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use WatchGuard Network Security both internally and for corporate clients. The range of security services, product range, configuration flexibility and ROI makes WatchGuard an outstanding choice.
  • Sufficient product range for SMB through large Gov't / Corporate
  • Easy to configure and maintain, reasonable ongoing subscription costs with flexible support options
  • Product availability - in stock or withing days for delivery
  • Top tier support when you need them.
  • Built in wireless devices have occasionally been problematic (ex T35-W series)
  • # 1 would be the ability to copy a base configuration easily from one device to another (policies)
  • Would like to see technical re write exams elongated, three years currently is just to short - min 5 yr would be reasonable, with all the certifications by other vendors this places undue/un-needed burden on the reseller. demand upkeep webinars instead.
In today's quickly evolving security (risk) environment the need for active, secure firewall management and threat protection is really a must in all corporate and small business environments and WatchGuard has a sufficient product range to suit budget and need. About the only place it may be overkill is home based users, unless WatchGuard comes up with a basic home version under $150 USD.
Read Paul Rose's full review
Randall E | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

WatchGuard Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it currently in our own organization as our primary firewall, wireless, and VPN solution. We are also using them for some of our clients with managed services.
  • Enterprise level security.
  • Price-point accommodating for small to medium-sized businesses.
  • Ability to have integrated 2-factor authentication platform.
  • More traditional-style ACL list for firewall rules.
WatchGuard is very well suited to provide true next-gen quality protection for businesses. We also are using it for some of our high-end residential customers to provide visibility to what is taking place over their network. The downside is that they focus specifically on network-security products and do not have other networking devices (switches/routers/etc).
Read Randall E's full review
Michael Ritsema | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

WatchGuard Firebox's Single Pane of Glass Dashboard Improves Perimeter Protection

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
i3 Business Solutions is a technology managed services and security provider in West Michigan. We are a WatchGuard partner using the WatchGuard Dimension Dashboard to monitor or manage over 100 Fireboxes for our clients. The Dimension Dashboard single pane of glass allows us to improve and tighten cybersecurity for clients in a standardized, consistent, and efficient manner.
  • The WatchGuard Firebox flags and prevents bot attempts on clients' network.
  • The WatchGuard Firebox provides layers of protection using best of breed partners to protect clients perimeter.
  • The WatchGuard Firebox can be centrally managed on a single pane of glass or dashboard allowing for centralized and efficient updating of security profiles.
  • With the proliferation of IoT and VoIP, managing network traffic priority and access can be a challenge due to the WatchGuard Firebox' tight security.
The WatchGuard Firebox is excellent for small to medium-size businesses who are looking for a clean user interface and user-friendly UTM - unified threat management to protect their network perimeter.
Read Michael Ritsema's full review
Simone Upham | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Why WG and Me?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller and we use it as our first line firewall in all our clients as a security and firewall/router.
  • Very intuitive GUI.
  • Dimension server for managing the client's activities and logs is simple and responsive.
  • WatchGuard support both from a re-seller information perspective and from a technical support perspective. We, as Advanced Office Solutions, feel very well supported.
  • Although Dimension Server is great, it is simple. More reporting, more in-depth capabilities, and functions would be helpful. Added trouble reports that are automated and sent to the support agent as an example.
I feel that based on the suites of products that WatchGuard has that there is really no place that does not fit. Cost may be a catalyst for a smaller client, however, we, even then, recommend the investment as no one business escapes Cyber attacks/ers.
Read Simone Upham's full review
Rob Drickl | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Watch over me

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
- Multiple SMB's. We recommend, manage, and install security (and other) solutions for businesses throughout Western Canada.
- WatchGuard security addresses the current Canadian Federal Government standards for businesses that handle personal client information.
  • Intrusion Detection: Cloud-based and very responsive. It helps stop malicious activity from getting within the small business Local Area Networks.
  • Intrusion Prevention: TDR is a very advanced prevention system that I have not seen an equivalent for with any other vendor.
  • Dimension-based BoVPN: it's very easy to configure, set up, and monitor.
  • Dimension needs to include features that were available in the Management server!
  • The Access Points need to have the ability to manage from the command line (for instance, in the event of firmware update failure from cloud management).
  • When there is an issue with a Firebox update, better communication of that issue would be appreciated (i.e. v12.4 had some issues with Policies not working properly, and we only found this out when experiencing the issue and opening a Case for it).
The configurations required for heavily filtered environments are vastly more complex than for the configurations (in the same environment) for untangling NG. Except for those environments, there are no other scenarios that it would not be suited for.
Read Rob Drickl's full review
Greg Merideth | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

WatchGuard Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As an IT consultant for many organizations, deploying WatchGuard gives me the centralized control, access and reporting I need to keep my clients as secure as possible. Dimension Control allows me to centrally control all of my clients border protection devices while also providing me a global view of each endpoint through TDR and Authpoint. Their MSP tools are improving on each release.
  • Centralized management of the entire WatchGuard infrastructure through Dimension control and reporting.
  • Integration of two-factor authentication for both domain and VPN logins.
  • WatchGuard technical support has always been a key point in using their devices.
  • Collective MSP reporting for clients has always been an issue. A more generalized view of an end-user's activity is often called for by my clients for a given end-user. A report that has the ability to remove "background traffic" like Windows updates. My clients would like to see a report along the lines of "user a was on facebook.com for 88 minutes, Spotify for 90" etc...
  • On initial deployment, the free-ware based wireless access points were problematic to the point we threw them away in lieu of another product. To this day, my clients do not want to use/trust WatchGuard wireless AP's. Tying a license to an AP, like Cisco, is why they will never be deployed. The ones in place work, don't need to be reset, and don't have a license tied to them for all of the services offered.
Given the range of devices from simple XTM30 models through M300 and upwards, there are few areas where WatchGuard Network Security as a border protection system is not well suited.
Read Greg Merideth's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (64)
8.3
Visualization Tools (73)
6.6
Content Inspection (77)
8.4
Policy-based Controls (79)
8.8
Active Directory and LDAP (68)
7.9
Firewall Management Console (78)
8.5
Reporting and Logging (75)
8.1
VPN (77)
8.5
High Availability (61)
8.1
Stateful Inspection (67)
8.5
Proxy Server (50)
7.5

About WatchGuard Network Security

WatchGuard Network Security is a network security and firewall software. WatchGuard has been in the cyber security technology space for over 20 years. The vendor sees itself as a pioneer in the space, and aims to deliver easy-to-deploy and easy-to-manage solutions. In addition to network security, WatchGuard includes secure Wi-Fi, multi-factor authentication, and network intelligence products and services. The vendor says this is important because the cyber security landscape is constantly evolving, and new threats emerge each day. WatchGuard's goal is to make enterprise-grade cyber security technology accessible for every company. The vendor reports that WatchGuard serves more than 80,000 small and midsize enterprises around the globe. WatchGuard is headquartered in Seattle, Washington, with offices throughout North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, and Latin America.
Categories:  Network Security,  Firewall

WatchGuard Network Security Features

Firewall Features
Has featureIdentification Technologies
Has featureVisualization Tools
Has featureContent Inspection
Has featurePolicy-based Controls
Has featureActive Directory and LDAP
Has featureFirewall Management Console
Has featureReporting and Logging
Has featureVPN
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureStateful Inspection
Has featureProxy Server

WatchGuard Network Security Screenshots

WatchGuard Network Security Videos (3)

WatchGuard Network Security Downloadables

WatchGuard Network Security Integrations

Review Product Integrations: www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard Network Security Competitors

Cisco Meraki, SonicWall, Fortinet

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

WatchGuard Network Security Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

WatchGuard Network Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Chinese