WatchGuard AuthPoint

WatchGuard AuthPoint

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
WatchGuard AuthPoint

Overview

Recent Reviews

Needed Add-On

9 out of 10
June 14, 2022
We carry cyber insurance to further protect our business, employees, and investors. A new requirement was that we have MFA enabled on all …
Continue reading

quick and easy

10 out of 10
June 06, 2022
All of our employees use WatchGuard AuthPoint to log into our computers every day, as part of a requirement of our cyber security …
Continue reading

Simple and Fast.

10 out of 10
May 01, 2022
WatchGuard Authpoint provides solutions for Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA). With Watchguard Authpoint we can secure our other …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of WatchGuard AuthPoint, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is WatchGuard AuthPoint?

WatchGuard AuthPoint is a multi-factor authentication (MFA) service that helps companies keep their assets, information, and user identities secure. Multi-factor authentication solutions can enable organizations to close security gaps that leave companies vulnerable to breaches by adding a layer of…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.watchguard.com/wgrd…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

16 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Azure Active Directory?

Microsoft Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) is a cloud-based identity and access management (IAM) solution supporting restricted access to applications with Azure Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) built-in, single sign-on (SSO), B2B collaboration controls, self-service password, and integration with…

What is Cisco Secure Access by Duo?

Cisco Secure Access, by Duo is a two-factor authentication system (2FA), acquired by Cisco in October 2018. It provides single sign-on (SSO) and endpoint visibility, as well as access controls and policy controlled adaptive authentication.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is WatchGuard AuthPoint?

WatchGuard AuthPoint is a multi-factor authentication (MFA) service that helps companies keep their assets, information, and user identities secure. Multi-factor authentication solutions can enable organizations to close security gaps that leave companies vulnerable to breaches by adding a layer of security beyond just a username and password – without creating a disruptive user experience. AuthPoint’s mobile app makes it easy for users to approve or deny login attempts, according to the vendor, with just a single touch right from their smartphone. WatchGuard’s AuthPoint solution is managed via the Cloud, meaning there’s no expensive hardware to deploy, and can be managed from anywhere using WatchGuard Cloud’s intuitive interface.

WatchGuard AuthPoint Features

  • Supported: Cloud-based Management
  • Supported: User database synchronization (LDAP/AD)
  • Supported: Multi-token support
  • Supported: Windows and macOS secure login
  • Supported: Secure Single-Sign On (SSO)
  • Supported: 3rd Party Integrations
  • Supported: Mobile App
  • Supported: Offline Authentication (with QR codes)

WatchGuard AuthPoint Screenshots

AuthPoint app - tokensCloud management - dashboardAuthPoint app - push notificationAuthPoint - TokensAuthPoint Sign-In ScreenAuthPoint UsersAuthPoint DashboardAuthPoint Configuration ScreenAuthPoint Activation Screen

WatchGuard AuthPoint Video

WatchGuard AuthPoint Downloadables

WatchGuard AuthPoint Integrations

  • Search Product Integrations: https://www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard AuthPoint Competitors

WatchGuard AuthPoint Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web, Any smart phone
Supported CountriesAll
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Japanese, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Thai, Korean

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WatchGuard AuthPoint's best feature?

Reviewers rate Vendor pre-sale and Vendor post-sale highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses WatchGuard AuthPoint?

The most common users of WatchGuard AuthPoint are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 157)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint as MFA for logging into our AD server, file server, and remote work/VPN. This adds another layer of security for logins so we know that the user is at their computer. It also allows us to prevent unauthorized use if a laptop is stolen or accessed by someone who should not be doing so.
  • Security for logins
  • MFA
  • Administration of the system takes very little time to add/change/delete
  • The installation was difficult. Step-by-step instructions were old and did not work. I needed to get on with the support rep to get it installed.
  • I wish they had more case studies and reviews about using the hardware tokens instead of mobile phone apps. We would not have bought any tokens because they didn't suit our mission. All but a few are sitting on the shelf unused.
  • Wish we didn't have to connect to the cloud to do this. It seems like a security flaw in the making. I have to stress that nothing has happened yet, I'm just not thrilled about the chance it has for issues to come up.
This is great if you're running an A/D setup and want to add MFA to your mix. It doesn't add an extra layer of passwords or config, so that helps the users. Once installed, it communicates quickly with the necessary components and hasn't left us hanging yet. It is reliable and comes with pretty good user instructions.
Benefited yes, because we just log into the system and administer it. That access still makes me nervous because of basic hacking. Someone will be able to get into it and mess with our systems, and that's just the nature of cloud work. I hope the pendulum swings back soon to make it feel more secure.
June 14, 2022

Needed Add-On

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We carry cyber insurance to further protect our business, employees, and investors. A new requirement was that we have MFA enabled on all VPN connections to the main office. Having the option to enable AuthPoint and seamlessly integrate it with our VPN client made it the obvious choice. It was only moderately difficult to configure and deploy and the end-user experience is extremely simple, which keeps it from being an item that has to be addressed, along with the normal IT issues.
  • consistently works
  • no complicated end-user interaction
  • straight forward
  • The entire setup process is at times confusing. Multiple how to videos from watchguard that don't mesh with each other makes it more confusing.
  • Provide a single updated how to guide and/or video for backend setup
WatchGuard Authpoint is well-suited for existing WatchGuard users and those heavily dependent on VPN connection. The app is easy to use and set up on iPhone and Android devices. We use a Firebox M370 and have had zero issues in the deployment or the daily use of WatchGuard AuthPoint. Everything works well and we have had zero issues after initial implementation.
We have a local firebox and if that isn't working then the VPM isn't working and as such MFA doesn't matter. So having this in the cloud vs on the WatchGuard device has zero benefits for us. In fact, it would have been preferred to just have it in WSM and not have to build out a cloud connection.
June 06, 2022

quick and easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our employees use WatchGuard AuthPoint to log into our computers every day, as part of a requirement of our cyber security insurance policy. We were not all that excited about another layer of complexity in our everyday lives, but it has proved to be quite painless and easy to use.
  • Provides another layer of security and additional roadblock from possible hackers
  • is very quick to use in combination with our cell phone to verify authentication
  • I can't think of anything. It is truly simple, easy, and fast to use. And I can't say I have ever said that before about software before.
We only use it to authorize/verify access to our computers, so that's all I can speak of.
computer log on verification. that is all
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint as our MFA solution for remote VPN, as well as local and RDP desktop, laptop, and server logon. It integrates directly with our local AD. We also use it to secure some web applications using SAML.
  • Easy active directory integration
  • Well documented web application integration
  • Desktop, laptop, and server MFA application
  • Sometimes the logon app pushes authentication attempt to the wrong user
  • Sometimes the logon app pushes authentication attempt without having the correct password
I have only used it with WatchGuard hardware to secure multiple offices and remote systems, but I believe it does a very good job in these situations.
The benefit of having AuthPoint in the cloud is that the mobile apps and computer apps do not require significant configuration or management to work properly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard Authpoint to secure our VPN (WatchGuard Mobile VPN) group and our servers. There are 100+ users that have VPN access as needed. This secures that connection with its multi-factor authentication ensuring that the employee is the user connecting to our resources. It provides MFA for our server access too. There are only 3 users with access to our servers but it alleviates any concerns of a rogue individual gaining access.
  • Relatively easy to set up from the end user side
  • Utilizes cell phone technology
  • Allows employees options - code, push, hardware token, etc.
  • Syncs with AD
  • End-User setup - When finished it should highlight it was successful and they can close the app. Many left it open and thought it was not setup
  • Initial IT setup is a little involved but WG support / sales was helpful
It works very well to secure our VPN and our servers. We utilize Microsoft 365 and chose to keep the M365 MFA turned on rather than route it via WatchGuard AuthPoint. It seemed a little patched together to get it to work. Also, we did not want to leave all our eggs in one basket. If there are issues with Authpoint at any time users will still be able to access their Microsoft 365 services with the Microsoft MFA.
We can access the administrative console whether in the office, on mobile, or at home. This is beneficial when a user may have an issue so we can review the portal to see if everything is set up correctly. Typically, new users wait too long to verify the activation email that is sent so there are times we need to jump on the portal to resend that email. The only hardware required to be deployed is if a user or users do not have a smart cell phone or prefer to not use their personal cell phone. We issue Watchguard Authpoint Hardware tokens in these situations. The cloud portal makes these easy to set up and issue along with providing information on the user along with the ability to deactivate.
Ramiro Hercilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product works fantastic as an extra layer to manage access on websites and even on windows 10, the problem I had was to activate the Authpoint on windows 11, the push access is not working. We informed them of the issue and they are aware of it.
  • Websites
  • Windows 10
  • Office 365
  • Windows server 2016
  • Improve push access on windows 11.
  • Add the option to configure on open CRM´s like Suite CRM.
  • The option to local bankings.
Best scenarios definitely are easy to access to web sites and to keep the security access on windows 10 computers besides the time we gain to use the app as the access management Still, I think they need to improve the access for windows 11 computers.
The easy access from the cloud management and the real-time information on how the security inside our company in one unique dashboard is one of the most useful features we have using Watchguard.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using WatchGuard AuthPoint to allow users to authenticate and use VPN. Once the VPN is connected they can use LAN. The type of the VPN is IKve2, we originally tried to integrate it with our Radius server and LDAP AD, but it did not work, so we ended up choosing Authpoint as the authentication server. After the setup all the users are running smoothly, and nobody has a problem yet.
  • The Authpoint Cloud portal is easy to use and navigate
  • It integrates well with the Firebox and gateway
  • Promptly sends 2FA request onto the user devices
  • Its very easy to re-activate token on a new device if the device is lost or stolen
  • Troubleshooting logs are available to figure out whats wrong if a user cannot authenticate
  • Integration with on-premise AD is not working, even after speaking with the support team, it could not get resolved. There is no better documentation on this topic as well
  • Integration with Azure AD is not supported without the presence of on-prem AD
  • Logs information is not precious, it provides a generic code in some cases, making it harder to troubleshoot.
  • The Watchguard AuthPoint App in AppStore has some issues, after it's activated there is no approval request being sent to the phone, and there is no way to troubleshoot this, the only way to make it work is by uninstalling the app and reinstalling it again.
Scenarios, where it's best suited, are when the number of users is 100 or less or has an On-prem AD, if the userbase is more than that and you would like to sync it with Azure AD in the cloud, it doesn't work. The setup guide doesn't cover all aspects of the setup and its slight confusion, the video format of the setup guide is nowhere to be found.
Yes, this is one of the best features and very simplistic design and is easy to use. We are always and constantly using the cloud portal, in there we can see all the connected devices, and look at the notifications and alerts. Apply firmware upgrades and much more.
Lawrence Tan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it internally and also deploy it to our clients. One of the problems we are facing currently is that Carbon Black blocks the software because of the fact that it uses PowerShell Script to generate geo-coordinate data back to WatchGuard AuthPoint. I've been liaising with WatchGuard support for help on this issue, but no luck so far.
  • Simplicity to setup
  • Easy implementation
  • No fuss setup with software token
  • Azure AD sync works well
  • Support
  • App sometimes takes longer for it to boot
  • Change the way it sends out geo-coordinate (Not using PowerShell)
License implementation can be a problem sometimes, and support doesn't seem to know much when there is an issue.
We use AzureAD to sync users, so that eliminates the need to deploy a gateway server in-house. This is particularly good for clients with no servers in their environment.
Matt Jurcich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our cyber liability insurance has started requiring MFA for just about everything.

We use WatchGuard AuthPoint for MFA for logging into local Windows desktops and laptops.
  • Reliable authentication process between the WatchGuard Cloud and end devices
  • Integration to local Active Directory is superb
  • WatchGuard Cloud interface is mostly intuitive
  • Agent software installation is very straightforward and works the first time
  • More flexibility in designating which local AD users participate in MFA or not
  • The ability to designate which users have a license and which ones don't
  • Easier admin bypass for local desktop login
It is excellent for adding MFA to local desktops and laptops (on and off the LAN).
Integrates to Office 365 for a login provider--has some caveats though.
Integrates with WatchGuard firewalls for MFA on VPN connections.
Cloud deployment is definitely a good thing. The fewer the servers to manage the better. The agents communicate well, no firewall adjustments need either.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The company's insurance provider required them to have some 2FA in place to protect them. I worked with the company and provided a solid solution for WatchGuard AuthPoint. The customer was happy with how easy it was to use and get their team on board and using this product. Once AuthPoint was implemented the customer has not had any issues with employees logging in at all.
  • The product is very easy to set up. This took less than two hours to implement.
  • We were able to assist get the users all set up and onboard using the product in less than 20 minutes for their users.
  • The phone app for this is very easy to use and was free.
  • While the set up was easy to do the instructions could use a little more details.
  • It would be useful to be able to tell how many users are at the firewall level instead of going out to the cloud to look for it.
For anyone needing 2FA at a firewall level, this is a great product. I would look more into the licensing aspect of this as I had to set this up in a hurry for a customer and I was not able to look into this too much. I really can not think of any reason it would be less appropriate to use this product if you need 2FA.
The company was easily able to get their users set up using the cloud set up and they are very happy with managing this product via the cloud. They have found that it was very easy to add and remove users and license counts.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint is our multi-factor authentication solution when connecting to our corporate network via VPN. We're a WatchGuard shop, so AuthPoint is a natural fit.
  • Multi-Factor Authentication - push and rotating key options.
  • Integration with WatchGuard Firebox.
  • We haven't encountered any issues or deficient areas; it works exactly as expected.
I'd definitely recommend WatchGuard AuthPoint for organizations that use WatchGuard Firewalls and need MFA for their VPN. It was easy to set up (although we ran into an installation-blocking issue with the gateway software which took some time to solve,) easy to manage, and seamlessly integrates with the Firewall. We use LDAP-based authentication, however, it connects with other directory services. We have not used it for other scenarios.
While it's designed as a cloud service which certainly makes it easier to manage from anywhere, we needed to install a gateway on an on-premises server to connect the WatchGuard AuthPoint cloud service with our LDAP directory. The gateway software is lightweight and hasn't impacted server performance in any meaningful way. This most likely won't be needed for cloud-based directory services.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We utilize Watchguard Authpoint for Multi-Factor Authentication for client sites to SSLVPN into their networks. Authpoint is a stress-free way to handle multi-factor authentication within the WatchGuard umbrella. Authpoint is perfect for our clients as we can trust the multi-factor authentication provided by the same vendor that supplies our firewalls.
  • Encryption
  • Push Notifications
  • Security
  • Pop-up boxes on the application feel outdated
  • Could be more streamlined to implement
  • Web instructions for setting up can be hard to follow
Authpoint is the perfect solution for small businesses to implement a multi-factor authentication service without having to identify a seperate vendor. Being able to trust Watchguard with both the Multi factor authentication and the physical firewall is a easy service to push to clients. Once the MFA is set up, it is very easy to use.
Once the software is configured, it is very easy to use and instruct clients how to use it. However, the setup process can be misunderstood and difficult to complete. If there was an easier setup process with less steps that would be ideal. Besides that, we have had no complaints.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint as one of our primary MFA solutions that we sell our customers. For the most part, we implement WatchGuard AuthPoint only for SSLVPN connection MFA, but we have a couple of customers that also leverage Windows login MFA via WatchGuard AuthPoint. WatchGuard AuthPoint is generally the solution we recommend in environments where we are unable to implement the NPS server role with Azure extensions as the MFA RADIUS server.
  • Easy to setup the licensing and gateway components
  • Simple for end-users to use
  • Integrates well with WatchGuard firewalls
  • Java/OpenJDK components hog memory for the AuthPoint gateway server
  • Push notifications to need to have a number matching/login context (i.e. login location map screenshot) to discourage users from just pressing approve without paying attention
  • The process for adding/extending license counts is clunky and has to be updated in 2 areas manually
  • Unable to use text message/phone call option when implementing MFA for WatchGuard SSLVPN client (more of an issue with VPN client software)
  • Windows login MFA could use some improvements
Works well if a simplistic MFA solution is needed for VPN. Easy to get users onboarded. Not as suitable for users that do not own smartphones. Less desirable for environments that are trying to go all-in on single sign-on via Azure AD. Can be challenging to set up user sync if the active directory is not populated with email addresses
Yes. Our engineers are able to manage AuthPoint licenses from the cloud portal without having to remote into a client network or install any new hardware. We also can easily assign other administrators or operators from the cloud portal. It is convenient having all customer AuthPoint accounts visible from a single partner portal.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We currently use AuthPoint for Network Login MFA on our computers. We also use it for VPN access for remote access to network resources. This ensures that even if passwords are compromised, access to our network is protected. In addition, it provides MFA for access to our Office 365 accounts.
  • Protects again unauthorized access to our computers and network.
  • The mobile phone app is great for handling tokens for other platforms like banking.
  • Installation and rollout for users is very easy and Watchguard provides very detailed setup instructions for getting the most out of using MFA.
  • Currently, users logging into their computers with a Microsoft account cannot use the Authpoint Logon App.
  • The initial setup of the token on a mobile device has been a challenge for some non-Tech savvy users who do not know what a QR Code is for activation.
Providing extra protection to company computers and networks even when a user's password has been compromised. Helps prevent email spoofing and unauthorized forwarding rules by protecting login to Office 365 accounts. Secures connections from remote VPN users.
We have benefited by the Cloud nature of the setup and maintaining of users. Being able to help other companies roll out Authpoint without having to be connected to their networks makes setup very easy.
May 01, 2022

Simple and Fast.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WatchGuard Authpoint provides solutions for Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA). With Watchguard Authpoint we can secure our other WatchGuard appliances and 3rd party programs that support radius authentication service. Authpoint is very easy to use in that scope after buying all you need to do is activate and you can manage your products from cloud porta. We currently use it to secure our VPN connections.
  • Watchguard VPN 2FA.
  • Sync between Microsoft Windows Server Active Directory.
  • Radius Authentication Sync.
  • There can be APIs that support 3rd party message services for Time Password (OTP).
Our current use cases are mostly for Watchguard Firewall VPN solutions but with WatchGuard Authpoint. We can add 2FA to multiple services that require radius or active directory authentication in that way Watchguard Authpoint is mostly used under its full potential. As a minus it's not compatible with web-based 2FA it can be hard to configure.
In our organization, we already host our systems in the cloud, and vendors that provide on-prem service has no chance in our organization so with this product we can directly integrate it into our systems in a much more simple way. And that's a good point for us.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use WatchGuard AuthPoint as it is one of the leading products for 2FA and we also are using the WatchGuard Firewalls. So it made sense to try their MFA product during our initial research and tests of MFA products. AuthPoint worked out well. We have a mixed Apple & Windows environment and employees traveling worldwide. AuthPoint works well with Apple Mac OS which was important to meet. Not every MFA provider works with Mac OS. Many of our staff travel and do not always have internet available so the Offline MFA option with a QR code is a great feature as well. Another business problem is that we need an easy process to get staff logged in if they forget their mobile phone or if they switch phones. Let's say they upgrade their phone overnight. They need to log back in in the morning and AuthPoint is quite easy to work with to provide them a new token to register or provide them an exception by the user sending a code to an Administrator to provide the code back. It has been easy to work with. Watchguard support team is always available to help. I have received the phone and email support and have been quite happy with the process.
  • Compatibility with Mixed Apple & Windows Environment.
  • Various authentication methods.
  • Fast authentication time.
  • Flexible setup.
  • Sync user accounts with Azure AD or LDAP.
  • Support cases response time could be improved. It is good to support, but I would like to see this time improve.
AuthPoint is well suited for: a mixed Mac & Windows environment a company that is already using WatchGuard products a company looking for a flexible and very secure MFA solution.
Having this as a cloud service just makes sense. With traveling staff, we need a service that is 100% reliable and managed. We are a small business with staff wearing many hats, so if this was only self-hosted we could run into trouble if our network would go down or if there were other server issues on our network. Having this in the cloud reduces complexities and we know it is taken care of.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
These are the MFA products we use for VPN SSL, IKE, and resources like 365, Vcloud.
  • Clean in notification.
  • AppleWatch apps.
  • Setup by phone number/sms
  • Security of the device (jailbreak etc).
Besides the Microsoft authenticator, Authpoint seems to be really more integrated and clean. But with Duo, it lacks functionality in the device deployment.
If you have a WatchGuard on-premise, it's an easy win. If you had another brand, forget the integration of Authpoint, too hard.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Secure access to RADIUS/VPN, Terminals via remote desktop.
  • User management.
  • Granular Policy management.
  • RDP connections.
  • Securing VPN access.
  • A little bit more detailed Training videos.
Where basic Microsoft MFA solution is not enough. Watchguard is a more universal and complete solution for securing any MFA access.
Cloud management and functionality is a key to admins and also users comfort. Push notification is a great way to fast, comfortable and secure MFA.
Support is knowledgeable and i usually get a quick help. Sometimes it takes longer to react to bug reports or if there is a more complex issue. Watchguard automatically escalates cases to engineering if needed.
it is very useful. Helps you secure all types of access.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint for users to access company network resources through mobile VPN or through the WatchGuard Authentication Portal. Security and user management are both very important issues that WatchGuard AuthPoint handles for us easily by integrating seamlessly with the current infrastructure.
  • Set and forget. Once initial setup is done, there's little to nothing that needs fixing or maintaining.
  • Onboarding and offboarding users is quick.
  • Easy to monitor and troubleshoot but I very rarely ever have to.
  • User interface could use some work. While I've gotten used to it, none of my support techs know how to navigate the site and even I stumble around until I get to the control I need.
  • *Every* single end-user when they initially set up the app, complains about the app "constantly downloading". I now preemptively tell users that it's not downloading anything and that is the timer for the 6 digit code. Change the interface so it doesn't look like a progress bar.
- WatchGuard AuthPoint supports several different MFA systems from different companies (Microsoft, Netsuite, etc.) that users love having a single app for all their MFA accounts. - Because there's a per-user recurring subscription, not every company is interested, especially when they have limited use for it (ie. Mobile VPN only).
Being a cloud based service allows us to easily manage users remotely and securely as it requires the same MFA to connect to the management system. The only requirement is a gateway service that can be installed on any server (or client workstation even). Setup is straightforward and management is a breeze.
I would give a 10 but initial response can be a hit or miss. Sometimes they respond very quickly and other times it takes several hours. I have never had an issue go unresolved though and it is almost always resolved very quickly. Support is always helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable.
After initial setup, it practically runs itself. Onboarding new users is fast and easy as it should be. The AuthPoint mobile app is small and simple to use. The only reason I do not give it a 10 is that I frequently get complaints from end users that the AuthPoint app is "constantly downloading". In fact, it's not downloading anything and that what the users are seeing in the app is a timer for the 6-digit code that changes every minute.
Ryhlen Schoeberl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Watchguard Authpoint to enforce Multi-Form Authentication for all our VPN users when they are attempting to connect to the corporate VPN. It adds extra security for our remote workforce by requiring them to MFA every time their credentials are used to connect to the corporate VPN.
  • Integration with M365.
  • integration with a Radius Server.
  • managing user access.
  • Would like to see the road to have it be used for MFA applications for other products.
  • More in depth documentation on the capabilities of authpoint.
Authpoint is great for using in conjunction with your WatchGuard firewalls in order to add an extra layer of security to your user's VPN login requirements by requiring MFA upon login. I have only really used it for setting up MFA on VPN logins so I do not have any information on if it works with other firewall VPNs but I doubt it does.
We have benefitted greatly by not having to deploy another piece of hardware. It integrates with our current WatchGuard firewalls when the cloud feature is enabled on them. there are 2 options you can manage the firewalls on the device itself or in the cloud as well. For security, we manage all our WatchGuard firewalls on-prem with their GUI interfaces.
i only had to contact 1 time during setup and we were able to resolve the issue on first call
I was able to setup and start testing in 1 day, there was an issue where when i approved the MFA it was not working, but when working with support (They were very responsive and fast to assist) it turns out that my conditional access policy was blocking it so i had to exclude the application from using mfa in my single sign on environment.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to provide secure access to our WatchGuard SSL VPN system - namely MFA on top of the SSL VPN system built into our M440 Firebox. It is used across the whole organization by almost all employees (excluding those working in picking/packing roles). It addresses my need for heightened security across the organization, and this became hugely important once the pandemic hit and almost all office employees began working remotely and required access to our on-prem network via the WatchGuard VPN SSL client.
  • Ease-of-use. Important given the wide range of "tech-savviness" across the org.
  • Effective visualization into the system's operation. Important for me and my IT team given the vast number of systems that we are supporting - particularly in remote conditions.
  • Ease of setup. While I didn't like the use of Java, the setup process was relatively simple and is easy to understand how it is working.
  • Remove the use of Java. I didn't like the dependence and it caused problems early on prior to me realizing what was happening.
  • The addition of "operators" could be streamlined. I should be able to easily select an existing AuthPoint user to be added as an operator (i.e., one of my IT staff).
  • The timeout graphic/visualization on the mobile app sometimes confuses users who think that something is wrong even after approving the notification.
Obviously it is well suited to securing access to VPNs configured on existing WatchGuard infrastructure. That is the primary use case I employ. The environment for MFA apps is fairly diverse at this point, and so I've opted to use Microsoft's own MFA tool for securing use to that just for simplicity of setup and maintenance. I do not envision changing that in the near term.
Yes. I do not like adding to systems overhead - particularly via hardware. So AuthPoint has helped keep costs down in that regard and the simplicity is important given the added complexity of managing in a remote environment (primarily from all the added variables from users' home network/internet connections).
April 23, 2022

MFA the Easy Way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use WatchGuard AuthPoint for MFA requirements for VPN access, RADIUS implementations, and various SAML implementations, and we're testing the API capabilities for use with specific applications.
  • Easy to use for end users
  • Implementation is simple and quick to do
  • Overall management isn't a huge learning curve for admins or developers
  • The iOS app should be licensed by device instead of user, so it's more easily deployed using MDM solutions.
From our experiences, WatchGuard AuthPoint ties in very well with WatchGuard VPN appliances. We also find this solution to work very well with smaller applications that utilize RADIUS authentication.
As a WatchGuard customer adding AuthPoint was a simple add-on to their other products and a seamless learning curve for the admins.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint to secure our accounts with MFA. We needed something to add MFA to VPN and PC Logon and this adds that feature. We like the notification via the app.
  • Easy setup
  • App Notifications
  • Great Support / Documentation
  • Add feature to inherit token to ad user
  • Customize App Notifications
  • Lower Cost
I'd recommend WatchGuard AuthPoint if you need a solution to secure computer logons, VPN, or other resources with MFA. The logging provides great details. WatchGuard AuthPoint is compatible with many cloud services already.
Deployment can be completed in as little as a few hours. Not waiting on hardware with the current shortages is a huge benefit. While we can use WatchGuard tokens if we choose, there are 3rd party options available and supported.
Jens Skov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I use AuthPoint to provide flexible and versatile MFA solutions to my customers. Especially during Covid, when many organizations had to scale up on remote working it's proven to be easy to adopt and scale solutions to securing VPN connections.
  • Provice easy to use muti factor authentication
  • Supports a wide range of products
  • It fully integrated in the Watchguard Cloud portal
  • It would be nice to have better logging and monitoring options when using the AD/Radius Gateway
AuthPoint is a great solution for MFA. It works really well with the whole WathGuard ecosystem but also integrates very well with other systems and vendors.
Being a cloud solutions makes it easy to roll out to new customers.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to improve the security of our VPN solution by implementing MFA. We were already long-term users of WatchGuard products (15 plus years) and it seemed a natural choice to use WatchGuard AuthPoint. We investigated and trialed a number of other MFA options, but for a specific case where all the network traffic is passed through the VPN tunnel, the WatchGuard solution was most appropriate.
  • It works consistently
  • Integrates with existing WatchGuard firewalls
  • Management interface makes user management simple and straightforward
  • Set up instructions are poor
  • Lack of help setting up product which is very complex with many different components
  • I failed to set up the IPsec protocol so in the end gave up using this connection method
  • Predominantly can only be used as a phone app, token support is limited
If you already have a WatchGuard firewall and are prepared to go through a little pain setting it up and all your users are happy to use an app on their phones, then AuthPoint is a robust solution for MFA which is relatively cost effective.
It is a cloud product, but requires a gateway server to be installed on-prem. We tried with WatchGuard support to link this to our Azure AD and it failed, so the solution was to use our on-prem AD server. I would question the entirety of it being a cloud solution.