WatchGuard AuthPoint Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Tyler Fannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

AuthPoint Review from a SMB MSP View

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint is being used across the whole organization. We currently don't use any cloud-based solutions that would require MFA. Currently the problems it addresses are ensuring account integrity with logging into company workstations/web-based email (on-prem Exchange) and RemoteApps that are hosted within the company to ensure no rogue logins from our company cell phones.
  • AuthPoint works well with how the MFA process works, setting it up for push, OTP, QR code is excellent for our needs.
  • AuthPoint provides any easy to use interface for deployment needs for new clients.
  • There have been some issues we've had with deployment, for instance, removing a PC from the domain then does not let you log in as a local user - this is more of an inconvenience considering this application should be removed prior to domain removal (lesson learned).
  • Have noticed some times the push requests are slow to come through and the timeout period needs to be adjusted to make sure you can log in - not huge impact.
WatchGuard AuthPoint is well suited for environments that need MFA but not necessarily physical tokens. [It's] The overall cheapest solution I can find on the market and a great product for any size company to provide an additional layer of security without a huge commitment in costs. With the ease of deployment, many companies could have this up and running with just reading the knowledge base articles and would not need a dedicated staff IT employee to get this added security setup for their organization.
Read Tyler Fannon's full review
Scott Morin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

A long overdue solution.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are currently using it internally to simplify multifactor authentication of several cloud-based applications. We also have clients that have implemented AuthPoint to address compliance requirements. Most recently a banking client implemented AuthPoint to add multi-factor authentication to their WatchGuard Mobile SSL VPN deployment. This was in response to a deficiency identified during a compliance audit.
  • The AuthPoint Cloud Dashboard Streamlines the implementation of MFA across multiple platforms.
  • As a Managed IT Services company, it is a huge time savings, that all AuthPoint clients can easily be managed for a single logon to the WatchGuard cloud.
  • Although the management dashboard is not difficult to work with once you learn your way around. However, it is far from intuitive.
  • The documentation is disjointed and at times very difficult to follow. For example, acronyms are used extensively in the AuthPoint Quick start Guide. Many of these acronyms are not clearly explained and assume the user has a relatively high level of preexisting knowledge.
WatchGuard AuthPoint is an excellent addition to the SSL Mobile VPN allowing the addition of MFA. Recently, we have seen banks that use the Mobile SSL VPN for remote access without MFA flagged for non-compliance. If a WatchGuard firewall is already in place, the addition of AuthPoint enables a business to quickly and easily meet the MFA requirements.

Cloud-hosted electronic health record solutions have become the norm. Unfortunately, this has changed the scope of security ePHI. AuthPoint is a great aid in preventing staff from attempting to inappropriately access ePHI. I have worked with several small medical practices that use EHR systems that lack the ability to impose and significant endpoint controls. Sadly, I am aware of several instances where staff members have attempted to inappropriately access ePHI from outside the medical practice. By implementing AuthPoint and only installing the mobile app on practice controlled devices, this issue can effectively be addressed. If the safe locations are configured for the medical practice, AuthPoint can be implemented with virtually no impact on the uses.

No solution is perfect and on the negative side, much of my business is done in rural areas with less than spectacular cellular coverage. Although it hasn't been a significant issue, push notifications can be delayed. This isn't necessarily a show stopper, but to less technically savvy users, it can be a source of angst.
Read Scott Morin's full review
Calvin Engen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Affordable MFA for the Masses!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AuthPoint throughout our entire organization from endpoints, notebooks and desktops, and to remote servers. We needed a solution to enable multi-factor authentication within our environment for identity management. WatchGuard was able to provide the complete solution from RDS servers to endpoints.
  • One Solution (Cloud Apps, EndPoints & Servers).
  • Ease of Use -- Cloud Management.
  • Inconsistent Push Notifications.
A great solution whether it is for single use case or multiple, like Cloud App integration. This product really shines when you start to use it across multiple platforms. It's easy to use and maintain, and is fairly reliable.
Read Calvin Engen's full review
William Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

AuthPoint Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using AuthPoint for select remote users, across the organization, who do not have a stationary fixed IP connection. It allows us to have added confidence that the connection into our secure business network is the employee, and only the employee.
  • Add's additional hardware/software to be in the hands of the employee at the time of connection.
  • Reduces risk of easily compromised passwords and user IDs.
  • We had some minor issues in the beta phase, but the current product has no issues with our usage model.
We have no issues with AuthPoint. However, any MFA implementation may increase some complexity for low tech users. It also requires the device to handle the 3rd piece of the authentication.
Read William Hammond's full review
Kyle Strink | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

WatchGuard AuthPoint is a great product with room for improvement.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint to lockdown remote access into our network and have had great success with the software. We have used multiple other MFA software(s) and so far AuthPoint has been the most reliable and easiest to set up for end users. We re-sell to our clients and have easily been able to push out the AuthPoint deployment with great success.
  • Easy end user setup
  • Reliable push notification
  • Management interface could use improvement to make it more intuitive.
  • We would like to see the ability to initiate an authentication push to the app to verify the user's identity.
WatchGuard AuthPoint works great to lockdown remote access for corporate networks. The IDP login portal also make SSO integration to common applications easy.

If you are like us and service other clients, it does not work as a method to verify users' identity. It would be great to add the feature like Duo has to verify identity for support teams.
Read Kyle Strink's full review
Tristan Colo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

AuthPoint - The future for MSPs that deploy MFA

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint is being used as our MFA product that we resell to clients.

The biggest issue this product addresses is having a MFA product that is simple to manage multiple clients (tenants) with. It allows us to configure/troubleshoot client MFA issues without needing to text some random person in the company to get in.
  • Multi-tenant Management
  • Simplicity to deploy
  • License procurement process could use some work for clients who are existing in the cloud portal. If you don't manually create the client in the cloud portal you are unable to assign licenses from Master provider account.
  • Needs some work on allowing the ability to MFA certain users on certain products, but not all users. Most AuthPoint integrations currently only support an all-or-nothing scenario.
Recommended Scenarios:
  • Client looking for basic MFA deployment that can be AD integrated
  • Client looking for a MFA product that works with legacy devices/ authentication methods
  • MSP looking for a MFA product that can be easily managed by a Service Desk

Not recommended Scenario:
  • If you have MFA deployed to various SAML resources, but want to be in control in exactly who and what gets MFA
Read Tristan Colo's full review
Richard Perlstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

AuthPoint MFA: A winning solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have deployed AuthPoint for several customers: some small companies with less than 10 users and some large companies with 500+ users. Most companies deploy AuthPoint to be used for remote MuVPN access. I ave a few customers that tie this into the desktop office computers and require MFA to use their desktop. It provides these customers with logs necessary for access control.
  • Most customers like the availability of OTP, Push, or QR Codes.
  • They can use AuthPoint App for other tokens.
  • It has all the features that I find useful and they added hardware tokens as well.
  • They could change the logon app. It caused a bit of confusion when installing.
A user's credentials can be phished. The only way a user won't give up his credentials is if he doesn't know them. It is essential to not expose your company to hackers through phishing, vishing, or smishing. They have even taken precautions to ensure that the hacker can't clone the user's phone and still be able to access the app.
Read Richard Perlstein's full review
Greg Merideth | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

WatchGuard Authpoint: a great product with room to improve.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We've implemented AuthPoint across our organization to provide secondary authentication for domain logins, SSL/VPN access and implemented AuthPoint on AWS. A number of issues were identified and hammered out during the beta launch of the product and while a few minor issues are still present we have begun implementing AuthPoint for a number of our clients.
  • SSL/VPN authentication.
  • Domain authentication with both code and push challenges.
  • Reporting/tracking through WGC are great.
  • Implementing AuthPoint for AWS/Office 365 were a challenge.
  • Spotty cellular areas can cause repeated account lockouts.
  • Notification of delivery delays are critical.
Securing our traveling agents access to the local network is not only a good idea but increasingly being required by financial regulatory organizations such as FINRA, the SEC and New York State. Combined with mobile-device management, we can get a better "top-down" view of who is attempting to access our network and the means behind it. By quickly removing a user from an AuthPoint AD group, access can be instantly prevented when mobile devices are reported lost or stolen.
Read Greg Merideth's full review
Mike Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

WatchGuard AuthPoint MFA/.Cyber Crime is on the RISE, so don't be caught without it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our technicians use it to log into our systems while working remotely.
  • Multiple ways of logging into your network using Authpoint with Push/QR/OTP.
  • Great simplicity and ease of use.
  • I can't think of any.
Remote workers absolutely need this for a more secure login. Cyber crime is on the rise, so the more layers of protection you have for your network, the better you will be.
Read Mike Hernandez's full review
Mike Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

AuthPoint for Everyone

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint is used company-wide, helping to improve security. This helps us to make sure that client and company data is secure.
  • Integrations with SSO for websites.
  • Integrations with LDAP.
  • The ability to allow a department (IT Support) a general MFA for multiple users.
  • Navigation on the cloud to be easier.
AuthPoint is very admin and user friendly. Someone gets a new phone it is easy to re-setup. The ability for the APP to replace other APPs so the end users doesn’t have multiple MFA APPs on their phones. The settings for group management are easy to control, and that it is cloud based for management is even better.
Read Mike Smith's full review
Mike Lofaro | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Love product and looking forward to passport

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Most of our AuthPoint is being used for SSL VPN. it is used for the entire organization. We also have set it up for AWS.
  • Push notifications.
  • Don't need proprietary devices like keychain passcode generator.
  • Love to see some help with Wordpress 2FA.
  • Current ad and SSL with AuthPoint not working.
2FA for our banks.
Read Mike Lofaro's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

If you don't have MFA, you're doing it wrong. Do it right with AuthPoint.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using it to secure login to several of our office computers. Now, it's deployed to several key techs as a test. Implementation has gone well, and we have plans to roll it out across the company. As an MSP, it's critical to have our own systems secured to protect the systems our clients use.
  • WatchGuard Authpoint's push notifications are really easy to use
  • Migrating 3rd party tokens was really easy when getting a new mobile device
  • The online portal seems a little confusing - specific pre-requisites seem like they could be removed or resolved differently, i.e., having the windows username match the username in WatchGuard AuthPoint.
Works well in the usual office scenarios, I haven't had much occasion to use the offline authentication with the QR Code, but when I did need it, it worked well. One situation that it could improve is by supporting/integrating with hardware authentication tokens. This may be counter to the whole "Multiple factor" concept, but we have lots of users that are asking for password-less sign-in select situations (exam rooms, etc.)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

AuthPoint - a great MFA/SSO solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization. Every capable device has WatchGuard AuthPoint installed and configured.
It primarily addresses security and access control to company devices and provides an additional layer of security and peace of mind that data/access is further protected. This helps ensure that in addition to device encryption, in the event of an attempted breach or lost device, unauthorized users have an additional layer of security to defeat.
  • Desktop MFA.
  • SAML integration with solutions/systems.
  • Still limited integration compared to other MFA providers.

1. It’s well-suited for scenarios where you’d like to implement workstation/server MFA/2FA solutions.

2. It’s well-suited for scenarios where you’d like SAML or SSO capabilities along with MFA/2FA, so long as it falls within it’s (growing) list of compatible sites and services.

3. It’s well-suited for the “zero trust” security framework where users can be given access only to the products, solutions, or devices they should have access to, as you can create those groups, including auto-enrollment in groups based on Active Directory membership.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

WatchGuard AuthPoint First Implementation Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We were in the process of implementing WatchGuard AuthPoint to one of our clients after internal testing. The implementation with that client was put on hold after issues with Office 365 were encountered immediately following implementation. It is still in use for my personal testing environment for Office 365 and Windows Login MFA.
  • MFA for Office 365 **Without shared mailboxes and calendars**
  • MFA for Windows logon
  • The initial portal setup for MSPs is cumbersome and not well documented.
  • There are issues with Office 365 integration, specifically shared calendars and mailboxes.
Based on my experience with WatchGuard AuthPoint, it is best suited for Office365 scenarios where calendar and mailbox sharing is not present. It functions well for Windows Logon and SSL VPN protections. I have not tested with other SAML based applications yet, so I cannot speak to its functionality there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Solid MFA solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We're implementing for the whole organization. It helps secure our organization by requiring an additional factor of authentication when logging in, preventing stolen credentials from being as big of an issue.
  • Integrated with WatchGuard firewalls.
  • Integrates with Active Directory.
  • Integrates with Windows Logins.
  • Integration with WatchGuard's IKEv2 VPN does not work with Active Directory/RADIUS authentication, where it does work with SSL VPN.

It is well suited for customers that have WatchGuard firewalls already.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

WatchGuard AuthPoint. Does the job.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using AuthPoint to ensure 2FA for SSL VPN. We also utilize AuthPoint to ensure 2FA access to the WatchGuard partner website. This has substantially increased our security against intruders while keeping the annoyance to our end users to a minimum.
  • 2FA
  • AD password sync
  • Additional logging for troubleshooting.
  • Better guidelines for setting up with WatchGuard SSL VPN including timeouts.
As described in previous questions, it's great for SSL VPN.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Does AuthPoint work for me?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
All tech with access to the WatchGuard portal are required to have MFA enabled for their account. The MFA client used is AuthPoint. This allows us to secure our account. We are also starting to use this to secure our remote access through VPN and Terminal servers. The platform is very easy to set up and use.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to use
  • Would like to see it work on my watch
  • Accepted by other vendors (one MFA APP)
If you use WatchGuard as a Firewall and security appliance, using this is a no-brainer. It seamlessly integrates with remote access and is simple to deploy. Support is great if you have any issues with deployment or post deployment. Their response time is great, and they are always willing to help out.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

AuthPoint to secure mobile computers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use AuthPoint for select departments in our organization. We needed a way to secure mobile devices for sales and support staff that were being taken offsite. As a MSP we are connected to many clients and want to be able to protect our equipment from unauthorized access.
  • Easy setup
  • Simple user experience
  • Cloud management is hard to find where settings are
Great for organizations already invested in the WatchGuard devices and looking for a way to roll in 2FA.
Read this authenticated review

About WatchGuard AuthPoint

WatchGuard AuthPoint is a multi-factor authentication (MFA) service that helps companies keep their assets, information, and user identities secure. Multi-factor authentication solutions can enable organizations to close security gaps that leave companies vulnerable to breaches by adding a layer of security beyond just a username and password – without creating a disruptive user experience. AuthPoint’s mobile app makes it easy for users to approve or deny login attempts, according to the vendor, with just a single touch right from their smartphone. WatchGuard’s AuthPoint solution is managed via the Cloud, meaning there’s no expensive hardware to deploy, and can be managed from anywhere using WatchGuard Cloud’s intuitive interface.

WatchGuard AuthPoint Features

Has featureCloud-based Management
Has featureUser database synchronization (LDAP/AD)
Has featureMulti-token support
Has featureWindows and macOS secure login
Has featureSecure Single-Sign On (SSO)
Has feature3rd Party Integrations
Has featureMobile App
Has featureOffline Authentication (with QR codes)

WatchGuard AuthPoint Screenshots

WatchGuard AuthPoint Video

Watch See a live demo of AuthPoint!

WatchGuard AuthPoint Downloadables

WatchGuard AuthPoint Integrations

Search Product Integrations: https://www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard AuthPoint Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

WatchGuard AuthPoint Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

WatchGuard AuthPoint Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web, Any smart phone
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Japanese, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Thai, Korean