WatchGuard AuthPoint Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 12, 2021
Eddie Naoum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the organization for all remote workers to authenticate for various application including VPN. It is used for more than 10 applications by users and more by the Information Technology Team. It addresses our security concerns especially since we work with private health information and sensitive data.
  • Super fast.
  • Ease of use.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Push notifications are nice.
  • The user interface.
  • The loading screen.
  • Third party logos for 3rd party tokens.
I think WatchGuard AuthPoint is well suited for all applications that require Multi Factor Authentication. It very user friendly and easy to use.
Scenarios are really all applications that contain sensitive information or apps that have access to secure resources that might be compromised with only one factor sign ins.

Scenarios where it is less needed is applications that are don't contain any valuable data. That will just add more tokens and will make it hard to find...
Being able to manage from the cloud is really good. Anytime we had an issue, it was fixed from anywhere.
AuthPoint is simple and gave us more control over the users and our environment.
Read Eddie Naoum's full review
March 19, 2021
Darren Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently are using AuthPoint to protect our WatchGuard VPN, we use it for all department and for a group of companies, It currently addresses a area of cyber security which is protecting remote access into the site. It also works with Office 365 and RD Web applications which we are investigating.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Flexibility and range of resources you can protect.
  • Granular Group selection for Office 365 is not supported turns on for the whole site.
  • Auto update of gateway to latest version.
  • Set up guides a little easier to follow.
AuthPoint works very well with the WatchGuard Fireboxes and there forms of Virtual Private Networks that it supports. I would recommend using it for most types of VPN and even from other vendors. I would recommend it for its easy of use and administration, it is one of them products that you can set up and leave to run in the background.
Our business had moved towards a hybrid way of working, we have both equipment on premise and in the cloud, we have got use to using SaaS and AuthPoint pretty much fit this area. The all round simplicity of AuthPoint is amazing, the portal is so easy to manage the WatchGuard portfolio. It has saved us as an IT team a lot of time with the automated reports we know what is going on without checking it ourselves.
Read Darren Clarke's full review
June 05, 2021
michael mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Added multifactor to our VPN solution.
  • Provided MFA through Radius.
  • Documentation is out of date.
  • One trick pony - doesn't add value outside its purpose or replace other tools.
  • 12-hour outage with no explanations.
You want the cheapest radius MFA, sure.

If you want more functions see someone else.
Still need a local service to support your on premises identity service.
Read michael mason's full review
February 06, 2021
Ryan Snelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Authpoint not only across our own estate but implement this for multiple customers as the primary MFA services within the businesses. This is protecting everything from servers, VPN to enterprise software solutions. It is a great tool to protect companies from all types of password hacks/threats such as phishing and hacked website.
  • Great licensing model. One License protects everything you could need.
  • Easy of use to setup. Takes minutes to setup from scratch to protect nearly anything.
  • The user-friendly interface makes it easy for even the most IT novice user to not only use but setup.
  • Lacks a direct integration with Azure AD for Office 365 use yet, but is in development.
  • Make it easier to sync users from the front screen.
Watchguard Authpoint is well suited for most situations where you want to protect systems with MFA. It's great for protecting anything in an Active Directory environment. VPNs/access portal integration is so easy and simple to configure and maintain. User management also has great ease of use to it. Highly recommend for the simple but effective option compared to other far more complex setups available.
For me, the simpler security can be the better. Obviously without compromising on the security. As we actively resell this product, we want it to be as simple and easy to maintain as possible. We have spent minutes setting up Authpoint, which would normally take hours with Duo. No complex server layouts, TXT files. Just one installer and a great management console to configure it all from. Plus, the walkthrough guides are great.
Read Ryan Snelson's full review
January 15, 2021
Frank McCattrall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I use AuthPoint to secure several web-based systems that use SAML authentication. The whole organization uses it for this purpose. This tightens up security for the whole firm.
  • Push notifications are easy to use.
  • Device DNA feature is nice.
  • End-user set up experience is simple.
  • Can only secure Microsoft 365 if the 365 tenant is in a hybrid cloud/on-premises configuration, as AuthPoint uses the on-premises Active Directory to reference user accounts.
  • As an MSSP, licensing AuthPoint is fiddly and unintuitive.
AuthPoint is great for securing many services, particularly web-based services that use SAML authentication protocols. AuthPoint is simple to configure with these types of services. AuthPoint secures Microsoft 365 well enough but is only compatible with certain configurations of Microsoft 365.
I manage many, many user endpoints and servers. It would be very time consuming and difficult to deploy and continually update authentication software on every device. The cloud-based nature of AuthPoint is key to its usefulness.
Read Frank McCattrall's full review
December 23, 2020
Oliver Mark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use WatchGuard AuthPoint to secure our customer systems and our own VPNs and AzureAD.
We use it to protect our Office 365 data and our customers' accounts.

We also like that we can easily secure our customers' notebooks and depending on the location or policy, we can secure the devices.

The accesses can be automatically synced and so it becomes very easy to create new accounts. It is completely automatic to set up new users and very well explained. The users love the simplicity and yet high security of the system.
  • Secure login to Windows and Mac clients.
  • Securing VPN connections with RADIUS protocol.
  • More supported languages.
  • Active directory (ldap) proxy service.
  • Deeper azure ad integration.
With a mixture of different services.
Windows and Mac as well as different cloud services are easy to integrate and there are many good integration guides available.
We find it good to move many of our services to the cloud because we work distributed. Employees are at several office locations and at home and mobile working must also be possible.
We can work from anywhere at any time and have secure access. It's easy to make the settings in the browser and there are no complicated services.

We got fast and accurate support.
The support is reliable and friendly.
It is not so complicated to start, we can integrate easy and fast multiple vendors and cloud services to our idp and AuthPoint Portal.
Read Oliver Mark's full review
December 19, 2020
Michael Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint, along with our WatchGuard APs and FireBox, provides our business with an exceptional and assured level of cyber security.
Straightforward to implement and extremely easy to use it gives us great confidence when accessing our systems and applications.
  • Simplifies adoption of secure authorised access
  • Complements WatchGuard firewall
  • Quick and easy to use
  • None to my knowledge.
Granting access to business systems for users outside the corporate office.
Yes in regard to its speed of deployment.
Read Michael Hart's full review
June 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for the whole company to provide MFA for VPN and other websites that support SAML. It is not used for Office365 because of limitations that cause it to prompt for every Office app use. IOS and Android apps work well and are easy to install.
  • Quick MFA point on cell phones.
  • Integrates with WatchGuard SSL VPN.
  • Does an OK job with SAML.
  • Poor documentation for SAML with popular sites.
  • Will not accept past user ID from 3rd-party site to AuthPoint login. This is a major downfall and causes users to enter their user ID twice. For example, if you enter your email into Tableau Online and then it brings you to the user ID prompt for AuthPoint, you have to enter your email address again.
  • SAML login page customization does not work most of the time. If you pick a pre-configured SAML setup (which you must do if AuthPoint knows the site), it will strip all customization. You cannot provide your users any company branding. Microsoft does this customization correctly for their MFA product, AuthPoint is lacking.
It does work. Customization/branding is terrible, even though they can easily see what competitors are doing correctly. This product is not receiving much development, so do not expect enhancements. If you have a WatchGuard firewall and use their VPN, then there is a reason to buy it. If you do not fall into this category, then look elsewhere.
WatchGuard was somewhat helpful in config. A lot of questions always have to be sent to level 2 support and you cannot talk to them directly. You burn a lot of time trying many config options in AuthPoint and the 3rd-party to find a match that will work.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It kinda works, but consists of buggy java server application to be installed in customer's server infrastructure which then talks to somewhere in the cloud to send the authentication messages. During the pandemic the authentication server in the cloud was not coping with the increased load and whole system was completely unusable.
  • MFA support.
  • Multiple mobile platforms are supported.
  • Requires local server application to be installed.
  • The local server application is not too reliable. Ideally I'd like to live without it.
  • The WatchGuard servers are not too reliably delivering the authentication requests.
  • The authentication requests don't provide a unique identifier so that I could be 100% sure that it is me who originate the request and not an attacker.
Where MFA is required.
This isn't fully true as a local server application needs to be installed. The added complexity and the Watchguard cloud service inoperability has not proven too reliable.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AuthPoint for our entire organization.

My organization uses Office 365 and it not only protects the Office 365 accounts, it also authenticates VPN users via radius and windows domain login with the MFA. It is fairly easy to set up and the user guides provided online are more than enough for an average Joe to set it up as compared to some of the other MFA solutions I have tried.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Convenient.
  • Cost-effective.
  • Supports multiple authentication methods.
  • Gateway agent depends on Java.
  • Causes windows login to "load" for awhile sometimes.
  • Setting up new users might be an issue if require MFA.
I feel that AuthPoint is able to adapt to any environment. However I do face certain issues federating domain to AuthPoint from Office 365. From what I understand, it seems to be a limitation by Microsoft on third party MFA provider. Users should be synced from an on-prem Active Directory to Microsoft 365 in order to "unlock" the full potential of AuthPoint.
By removing the need for hardware appliance, we reduce the risk of hardware failure or having the need to purchase extra for availability. Also, this will also mean that there is one less item to update and maintain. You need to, however, install an agent for the communication between the cloud and the Active Directory. Overall, we are happy with going cloud.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it across the whole organisation for 2FA

"Terrible
product, hard to deploy, lack of decent management, lack of push notification,
lack of integration and just poor UI and user experience."

  • Pricing
  • Limited Features
  • Capability
  • Outdated
  • Unreliable
  • Much better options out there for a 2FA solution
I wouldn't recommend going with this solution. [WatchGuard AuthPoint is a] terrible product, hard to deploy, lack of decent management, lack of push notification, lack of integration and just poor UI and user experience. The alternative options are way better, user friendly, powerful, features with integration, control and easier management
Yes, it's a Cloud service that does work however it's not great and not a mature/competitive product
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WatchGuard as our primary VPN authentication. Installation and use is very easy and we were able to link the authentication to our existing network user accounts. Connections are generally very fast and strong, the ability to auto-reconnect is useful.
  • Ease of use.
  • Ability to authenticate with network accounts.
  • Simple install.
  • A more visible reminder of connection status.
Perfect for today's remote workforce, this is an excellent way to authenticate and connect over a VPN to an internal network.
We switched from our previous VPN deployment to this in a weekend, easiest deploy ever.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it internally to protect our whole organisation. We also use it to enhance the security posture of our clients. It allows us to safely access and provide access to VPN’s. Clients like it because they feel safer knowing that even if a password is conpromised they are still safe
  • Easy to set up.
  • User friendly.
  • Reasonably intuitive.
  • Cost effective.
  • Very good for smaller businesses.
  • Not very clear when a user mistypes their password.
  • Error codes not user friendly.
It is well suited for small/medium size businesses who need to have data stored on premise and need to be able to access it on the go or working from home.

It’s not well suited for clients who are not security concerned as it adds another barrier to entry.
Being an MSP we are able to manage a large number of tenancies very quickly. If the product relied on on-prem we would have to spend a lot more time making changes. This means that we can easily access a large amount of client data in one place. The MSSP model allows us to also scale it very effectively.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for 2FA software to improve security for our remote workers. We use WatchGuard as firewall. Therefore we came across WatchGuard AuthPoint and it meets our 2FA needs well.
  • 2FA for VPN - Safe and easy to manage.
  • LogonApp - 2FA verification when logging in outside the company.
  • Gateway connection problems.
  • Overall service quality.
We can manage our on prem systems from anywhere at any time.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WatchGuard AuthPoint is used to provide MFA for VPN connections to our corporate office. It is also used to provide MFA for internal RDP connections. WatchGuard AuthPoint solves the problem of single factor authentication.
  • Easy to use.
  • Provides adequate security.
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Affordable.
WatchGuard AuthPoint is very easy to use and provides appropriate security.
WatchGuard AuthPoint provides a software token. This is an improvement over hardware tokens since they aren't a physical device to be issued and tracked, and can be issued by sending an email.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for remote desktop as well as on laptops and PCs to ensure security of the external network.
  • Authentication.
  • Radius.
  • Connectivity to cloud at times.
  • Slower than other MFA clients.
  • Sometimes has errors that are irrecoverable.
Well suited for remote desktop servers exposed to the internet.
Well suited when someone wants to leave open ports instead of VPN to remote servers.
Yes we are using the cloud version, using the MS 365 Azure AD to sync with the cloud rather than a radius server.

Setup was simple.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Allows 2FA being easily managed to whole organization.
  • AD integration.
  • Easy managing.
  • Needs 3rd party Radius.
  • Need SW components instead of running 100% on Firewall.
Microsoft AD Integration works quite well.
Not easy to manage if not skilled about Radius solution.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole company uses AuthPoint as an extra layer of security for MFA when logging into their VPN client remotely. It addresses security concerns for weak passwords.
  • Simple setup.
  • Simple end user usability.
  • MFA compatibility with Android and iOS.
  • MFA app could work better, sometimes needs to be re-installed to work.
  • Better logging for MFA issues such as user sync, and reasons to why users can't login.
Very well suited for MFA in small to medium sized business for security. Not well suited where users aren't worried about security.
Yes, we benefited from this setup because we didn't have to setup any equipment to use it. This saves on maintenance cost and is very simple to set up.
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2020
Shameer Shahab | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses WatchGuard AuthPoint for two factor authentication into our workstations which authenticate using Active Directory. It is being used across our entire company. AuthPoint solves the problem of ensuring security and compliance.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to use.
  • Approval using push notification is a big plus. Makes it easy to authenticate without opening the app, or from an Apple Watch..
  • It's a pain as an administrator to get into a local account when AuthPoint is installed.
  • I believe it's bypassed when launching Windows in safe-mode.
It is well suited within an organization of any size using an Active Directory environment.

It is less appropriate when an organization has external IT as it can be a pain for the external IT to get in to an AuthPoint locked workstation.
Our organization has benefited from that simplicity. Being able to manage it from anywhere is a big plus.
WatchGuard phone and online support has always been excellent. Every issue I've ever had reaches resolution within a reasonable time. Their representatives I have worked with have almost all been very knowledgeable and helpful.
AuthPoint is easy to use and set up.
Read Shameer Shahab's full review
October 04, 2020
Nathan Rayburn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it for 2-factor authentication for our internal tools (i.e. Microsoft 365, IT Glue, etc.). We prefer it over the Google Authenticator due to AuthPoint's ability to be centrally managed (blocking users, revoking keys, re-sending deployment emails). For our clients, it's main use is with Office 365 2-factor authentication and authenticating VPN connections.
  • Easy to use
  • Fast to set up
  • Simple licensing model
  • Professional look and feel of the application
  • More SAML integrations would be awesome
  • The ability to have the app offer to auto-fill 2 factor codes on mobile
  • Windows Store-based app
AuthPoint is well suited for a centrally managed alternative to an app like Google Authenticator. SAML integrations can be tricky, but if it's well supported, WatchGuard has excellent documentation for SAML integrations.
The only scenario I can think of where AuthPoint wouldn't be a good option would be if it's for an organization that cannot afford the application.
I can't imagine a scenario where AuthPoint would require hardware on-site. If this was a hardware-based deployment, it would cost us and our clients hours of time and resources to deploy and maintain. Having it in the cloud makes maintenance a non-issue, and it being in the cloud means we can deploy this solution anywhere in the world.
WatchGuard support is always top-notch. They respond quickly and concisely, and don't treat you like a fool. We know that if we engage WatchGuard support our problems will be resolved quickly with a person who actually knows what they are doing, and speaks English well enough to be easily understood.
For the end-user, it's very simple to use. From activation to actual use, AuthPoint makes it simple. When activating, it guides the end-user in a way that nearly everyone can understand and do on their own, saving us time and money.

For the person managing AuthPoint, we don't have to re-train our staff to learn how to use another tool. WatchGuard Cloud is already used in our organization, so training is a snap.
Read Nathan Rayburn's full review
October 02, 2020
William Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using AuthPoint for select remote users, across the organization, who do not have a stationary fixed IP connection. It allows us to have added confidence that the connection into our secure business network is the employee, and only the employee.
  • Add's additional hardware/software to be in the hands of the employee at the time of connection.
  • Reduces risk of easily compromised passwords and user IDs.
  • We had some minor issues in the beta phase, but the current product has no issues with our usage model.
We have no issues with AuthPoint. However, any MFA implementation may increase some complexity for low tech users. It also requires the device to handle the 3rd piece of the authentication.
We can have our advanced IT techs manage the cloud site and very quickly add/remove or suspend access by the remote employee or in the case of any lost 3rd factor device. Not requiring additional hardware made the roll-out so easy.
We have had quick access to technical support when we did find an early bug and they were able to quickly resolve it.
Read William Hammond's full review
September 30, 2020
Daniel Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Tik-Security we help other companies secure their networks and information in a multi-layered and holistic perspective, so WatchGuard AuthPoint comes in handy as a very powerful and useful tool whenever you want to add this extra security as Multiple Factor Authentication for users in an effective way. It's real simple to use and provides a wide range and variety of integrations within WatchGuard's Technology Partner Ecosystem, and also without, such as third party tokens, works great whenever you want to protect access to a computer or server, remote access, active directory users, Mobile User VPN access and even API integration for your own In-House Software Development. Also in hand with WatchGuard Access Portal it protects and consolidates every access point you ever need to protect. Personally I love having several options to authenticate such as my smartphone via push and qr, or also using hardware tokens via OTP! Everything is thought of and taken care of according to your needs, AuthPoint management at WatchGuard Cloud is as simple as it gets, so you can secure and control user access to your corporate resources as you see fit, anytime and anywhere.
  • Secure Windows, macOS and Linux login.
  • Secure Active Directory authentication.
  • Secure SAML integrations.
  • Work with third party tokens.
WatchGuard AuthPoint is well suited for several scenarios, whether or not you have a WatchGuard Firebox.

Some of the scenarios I've tested include:

Firewall Management
MUVPN
Dimension
WatchGuard Cloud
LogonApp
Active Directory Authentication
Access Portal
SSO Third Party Applications
Linux PAM
RESTful API Client
Third Party Tokens

WatchGuard has a wide range of possibilities that adjust to your necessities and provide MFA to every access point.
As a Sysadmin I found WatchGuard Cloud to be the perfect place to configure and monitor WatchGuard AuthPoint, manage the company resources and user tokens for authentication as needed. So, even if I'm traveling around the world, I can make any configuration and manage users, tokens, resources, and access policies, or simply audit logs and reports to check that everything is running smoothly.
WatchGuard Support Team always works as efficiently as possible to provide continuity to the service and resolve any encountered issues. So even if you are at an impasse, whether it is a configuration problem or something else, rest sure you can count with a team of professionals to assist you and work alongside you to solve anything that comes along the way.
WatchGuard AuthPoint provides several authentication methods according to you needs, users can authenticate through hardware tokens via OTP, or they can also use their own smartphones to do so, via push, OTP or QR code. Both options are quite friendly and simple to use, and if you chose the smartphone app, you can even add your personal touch to your tokens.
Read Daniel Lopez's full review
September 30, 2020
José Moya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
AuthPoint is used across the complete organisation. AuthPoint is being used to access to the WatchGuard partner portal, for access to our SaaS application Autotask, for access to Awingu solution, this is a solution for remote working, while making connection through the web browser instead of using a VPN connection for example. It is also implemented in the SSO of the MS365, but that I'm not sure of.
  • Adds extra security to different logins.
  • Easy to use because it's on the smartphone.
  • Use one application to secure different logins at different levels.
  • Not expensive at all!
  • Layout of the application.
  • Installation of the application.
  • Use of the application.
AuthPoint is not only the best solution to protect the access to your workstation, MS365 environment, VPN access from outside the network and all of the company applications, whether in on premise or in the Cloud, but it can also protect your own personal logins like from Facebook, Gmail or Dropbox. This makes the application easier to adopt by the employees of the company.
The big advantage over other similar solutions is that it works as an app on the smartphone, usually nowadays everyone has a smartphone of his own or from the company. Everyone has his smartphone close to him, so this solution is always at hand. Even if you should forget your smartphone, it is possible to have access thanks to the support of AuthPoint helpdesk provided by the reseller. With the hardware tokens solutions it is always an extra piece of hardware you have to carry along to work, home or client.
When I had problems using the WatchGuard AuthPoint solution, I first contacted our own helpdesk and when they could not solve the problem, they contacted the WatchGuard AuthPoint helpdesk and within an hour, so I had a reply very quick and the problem was solved and I could get into the application I needed at that time. So I'm very happy with the support I received.
WatchGuard AuthPoint is very useful for protecting the organization at different levels in the IT environment. It is one solution that can be implemented at different types of access. The first protection is the local access to your workstation, then you can protect access to the MS365 environment, with all the important office applications and mailbox, then it can protect your access to the different company application, whether they are deployed in the Cloud or on premise and it can also protect you VPN connection when working remotely. At last but not least, it can also protect your personal applications like Facebook, Google Gmail and other.
Read José Moya's full review
September 30, 2020
Mike Smoak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use AuthPoint as a value add to our clients and prospects. It is positioned as an added layer of security.
  • The QR code feature can only be decrypted specifically by the AuthPoint app, making it a high security authentication option.
  • Push notification allows users to ensure that no one is accessing their accounts or files other than them due to the unique code.
  • OTP allows for optimal password security.
  • I believe it is a top-notch option in the MFA space.
Could be implemented into colleges and universities. At my university we used Duo mobile but the interface was less attractive and effective than WatchGuard.
The remote work landscape is now a very real part of Corporate America due to COVID. The idea of Cloud services in general is attractive to customers. Given that 53% of businesses are using some form of Cloud service, it adds to our value proposition.

All of the remote work nowadays plays to the strength of AuthPoint being able to be accessed anywhere.
I have not run into any issues where i needed WG support.
User friendly, intuitive, effective.
Read Mike Smoak's full review
August 21, 2020
Courtney Cowling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AuthPoint is implemented for our clients that use remote access technologies such as VPN or Remote Desktop Access as well as Office 365 services. It helps to secure our clients' data with a single application.
  • Once configured, AuthPoint just works!
  • The configuration guides for AuthPoint services could use some fleshing out to make them much clearer to follow. For those who have not implemented AuthPoint before they can be incredibly confusing.
Onsite Exchange services are really annoying to protect with AuthPoint whereas Office 365 tenants are nice and easy. Configuring AuthPoint on Terminal Servers is a particularly easy way of configuring that additional security layer for user access both internal and remote.
In general, the support for WatchGuard AuthPoint has been very good. I've only had one subpar support case which involved setting up AuthPoint with SSL VPN as the technician wasn't able to explain clearly what he meant in regards to ports in use.
Read Courtney Cowling's full review

What is WatchGuard AuthPoint?

WatchGuard AuthPoint is a multi-factor authentication (MFA) service that helps companies keep their assets, information, and user identities secure. Multi-factor authentication solutions can enable organizations to close security gaps that leave companies vulnerable to breaches by adding a layer of security beyond just a username and password – without creating a disruptive user experience. AuthPoint’s mobile app makes it easy for users to approve or deny login attempts, according to the vendor, with just a single touch right from their smartphone. WatchGuard’s AuthPoint solution is managed via the Cloud, meaning there’s no expensive hardware to deploy, and can be managed from anywhere using WatchGuard Cloud’s intuitive interface.

WatchGuard AuthPoint Features

Has featureCloud-based Management
Has featureUser database synchronization (LDAP/AD)
Has featureMulti-token support
Has featureWindows and macOS secure login
Has featureSecure Single-Sign On (SSO)
Has feature3rd Party Integrations
Has featureMobile App
Has featureOffline Authentication (with QR codes)

WatchGuard AuthPoint Screenshots

WatchGuard AuthPoint Video

Watch See a live demo of AuthPoint!

WatchGuard AuthPoint Downloadables

WatchGuard AuthPoint Integrations

Search Product Integrations: https://www.watchguard.com/wgrd-partners/technology-partners

WatchGuard AuthPoint Competitors

WatchGuard AuthPoint Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

WatchGuard AuthPoint Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

WatchGuard AuthPoint Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web, Any smart phone
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Japanese, Chinese (Simplified and Traditional), Thai, Korean

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WatchGuard AuthPoint's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses WatchGuard AuthPoint?

The most common users of WatchGuard AuthPoint are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.