Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
123 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 67)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 21, 2021
Angel Woodard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Planful is currently used by our Technology Group, an overhead department in the company. Additionally, Kiewit Business Services, another overhead department utilizes the tool. Another overhead department used it for 1 year, and yet another is looking to use the tool. We use Planful for workforce planning, budgeting, forecasting, dashboards, and reporting. Kiewit's use of this program is unique in the sense that we do not use Planful for income statements and balance sheets. As an overhead department, we do not utilize all of its features.
  • Workforce planning is amazing. We can personalize each record, and updating is very simple.
  • The ability to have a rolling forecast is very useful for us in an overhead department. It enables us to pull up information on what we are forecasting for company IT costs for the upcoming years.
  • The flexibility of the program and the reporting has been extremely helpful for us.
  • Dashboards need improvements. They are not easy to use for an overhead department using the tool.
  • Additional dashboard training opportunities would be helpful and would greatly improve this feature.
  • Data load rules can, at times, be complicated. We have 3rd party support, which makes this easier for us to use, but it is difficult to understand the consequences or downhill effects of what you are loading.
I am constantly talking about Planful and the benefits of using the system. I have been on numerous calls for Planful with possible clients, and I am always honest about how well the program works and how happy we are. Planful is flexible, and when changes are needed to our environment, Planful developers are always happy to help and walk us through all necessary scenarios.
Read Angel Woodard's full review
May 18, 2021
Glenn Snyder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FP&A leverages Planful for monthly financial reporting, budgeting, forecasting, modeling, and various ad-hoc projects and analysis. We also use workforce planning.
  • Client service
  • Product Innovation
  • Ease of use for end-users
  • Flexibility in set-up for various dimensions
  • Excel add-in is not very intuitive, it's more like a pivot table
  • Workforce planning reporting
I've had nothing but positive experiences with Planful.
Read Glenn Snyder's full review
May 17, 2021
Jennie Rush | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Planful (formerly Host Analytics) at a department level here for budgeting and forecasting our department costs. It is helping us manage our workforce as well as stay on budget for the year.
  • Listen to their customers on improvement suggestions to the tool
  • Support has increased significantly since we started four years ago
  • They are able to be used on Cloud
  • Need to make some manual processes automatic
We have already recommended it to other departments and they are using it now. I work a lot in the workforce planning section and they have made huge strides to the manual way it was when I started using it.
Read Jennie Rush's full review
May 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The Dynamic Planning area has been incredibly useful for us as a professional services firm. We've been building models to use for our planning and forecasting purposes.
  • Sales / Revenue Planning
  • Consolidations
  • Financial Modeling
  • Reporting
  • Dashboards
  • Planning
  • Forecasting
  • Operational Planning
  • Driver Based Planning
  • Financial Automation
  • We haven't really had any problems
If you are doing anything with numbers anywhere, Planful can help.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Planful (formerly Host Analytics) within our FP&A and financial reporting teams. Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is used to input our budget scenarios, monthly forecasts (including workforce planning), and long-term models. We replaced SAP BPC system, which would take 3+ hours to pull new GL data. Now, using Planful (formerly Host Analytics), we have GL data refreshing every 30 minutes during close.
  • Customer support
  • Product updates
  • UI design/ease of use
  • User feedback
  • Wages--actuals vs forecast reporting
  • Workforce--reporting number of employees with the same role
  • Scenario management--folders/grouping
Pros:
  • The Planful (formerly Host Analytics) application is well suited for workforce planning. It's easy to manipulate the employee roster to make changes.
  • Planful support is extremely responsive and typically able to resolve most basic issues within a few hours.

Cons:
  • We've been able to configure the system to load actual wages by employee, but it's a very clunky monthly load process.
  • Reporting by employee position is difficult, as we aren't able to select a single role. If 20+ employees have the same role, we'll see that selection duplicated 20+ times.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Planful (formerly Host Analytics) to consolidate 60+ entities Trial Balances on a monthly basis. We also use the system to complete our Annual Operating Budget.
  • Consolidation
  • Planning
  • Reporting
  • Spotlight XL can be glitchy/finicky
  • Our users never seem to be able to reset their passwords using the Forgot Password link, so a system admin has to send the reset e-mails
  • Planning seems to run slowly in Microsoft Explorer vs. Google Chrome
Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is well suited for Consolidation purposes. The finance team uses the system it to quickly consolidate 60+ entity trial balances each month and report monthly financial results to our management team.
Support can be hit or miss with Planful (formerly Host Analytics). Some of the help desk employees are extremely helpful in troubleshooting our tickets, while others are less than helpful and require a ton of back and forth before the issue is solved.
We have users throughout the organization that use Planful (formerly Host Analytics) and most everyone finds it easy to navigate and use.
Read this authenticated review
November 29, 2020
Mike Petrauskas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Planful (formerly Host Analytics)] to do our quarterly forecasting, budgeting and financial reporting. It is used across the whole organization. It has eliminated much of the time we previously spent consolidating Excel spreadsheets. It has saved our plant controllers, corporate controller and myself hours of time each month.
  • Many different fields to use for complex reporting - location, market, product line (in our case). Able to handle complex reporting
  • Budget/forecast templates are flexible and relatively easy to set up, easy to use. Our plant controllers have varying levels of technical acumen and Planful is very easy to use for all of them, particularly since it is based in Excel.
  • I recently became familiar with the Spotlight add-in. This has been a revelation for us. It makes reporting so much more easier due to it's flexibility. Our reporting can be quite complex and it is so much easier to do in an Excel environment.
  • On the capital expenditure templates, when i bring over information from a previous forecast, I wish it would not for these templates. Once those months are done, you really no longer need those capital expenditures in there. My controllers always forget that they are in there and they get calculated again.
  • On the payroll templates, I wish you could do a combination of salary increases by employee type or individually. It is currently one or the other for the entire organization.
We have really only scratched the surface as to what Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] can do for us, due to limited resources. However, we are adding dynamic planning and dashboards, so plan on really leveraging the value we can get out of it in 2021. I think the user interface is probably the biggest selling point for me. It is very easy to use for the average person.
Read Mike Petrauskas's full review
November 29, 2020
Noel Vandever | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] to report our financial results to our managers, Advisory Board, creditors, and employees. We are able to forecast to better understand how the year is evolving and plan/adjust for the future. Provide a reporting package quickly with Spotlight. Am working on updating our revenue forecasting with Spotlight/modeling which will help us understand our revenue components easier and help our managers forecast easier. The software helps us adapt quickly to many changes in our product offering, department reorganizations and expense allocation methodology. We are able to proforma changes before we implement them to better understand their impact.
  • Dynamic organization - able to have multiple reporting hierarchies - can go back in time to display how it was and see how it is today.
  • Forecasting - able to create templates to mirror your revenue recognition processes/splits
  • Able to schedule jobs in the evening to sync data with your general ledger system and process expense or other allocations
  • Professional reports are easily updated to publish current results timely
  • With Intacct not being set up with a separate net income account needed to get creative with consolidation module to enable retained earnings to roll
  • Would like to be able to drill down on actuals in forecast reports too not just actual reports only
  • Sometimes headers take up too much real estate on certain reports - wish there was a way to update the font size
Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] works in most scenarios for me. We needed to be able to forecast to blend actual with projections and then easily budget/forecast into next year. We needed a tool that was cloud based that enabled the managers to get data daily to give them information on their business and a way to predict/merge with Salesforce their customer future revenue.
Read Noel Vandever's full review
November 29, 2020
Lauraleigh Gould | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The corporate accounting group uses Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] for consolidation of +/- 15 companies across 6 currencies and several ERP systems. All financial management and external public reporting requirements come from the data in Planful and a mix of standard reporting and "Spotlight" reporting. The FP&A group uses the Structured Planning module for annual expense budgeting in conjunction with CapEx and Workforce Planning pieces. Dynamic Planning is utilized for detailed sales budgets. Dynamic Planning is also used to model sales analytics.
  • Consolidation is easily implemented as the business intelligence exists pre-built.
  • Reports are easily built and manipulated
  • The financial data blends seamlessly with budget, forecast, etc.
  • Dynamic Planning is fantastic but does have a steep learning curve. Training covers the basics, but don't expect to build detailed models at the onset.
Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] works best in an environment where users are willing to break from spreadsheets and are open to new technology. A dedicated "super user" in house is very helpful if there are plans to roll out to different departments. Consolidation can be completely managed within the accounting group without IT support, however really getting the benefit from the forecasts, dashboards, etc requires a bit more daring.
Read Lauraleigh Gould's full review
November 13, 2020
Niru Irukulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated from a spreadsheet based budget process to Host Analytics. Data integrity, version control and having single source of truth were issues we encountered with spreadsheets and that is now something we do not have to worry about. I agree with some of the other users in that the interface may not be the best, especially for those of us who have used Hyperion products in the past but it does the job. You will not need IT involvement in maintaining the tool, implementation was fast and cost effective.

We now have budget, actuals and forecast data in one system rather than numerous spreadsheets. There is more time for analysis, as opposed to checking and re-checking data in excel files. The finance team can finally be partners to the business and provide data in a timely and consistent manner. Host Analytics customer support is excellent, and overall very attentive to customer feedback on features and product enhancements. In fact, they released some features in workforce planning that we had asked for.
  • Workforce Planning. The ability to plan payroll taxes, benefits and merit at the employee level. Important for SW company where headcount is major cost driver.
  • BI like tool for reporting; takes some getting used to but powerful once you get the hang of it.
  • Data load rules, allows ease of uploading data such as headcount or GL data. Set up the rule once and just reuse it.
  • Dynamic planning; offers excel like interface and more flexibility than structured planning
  • Takes a lot of clicks to complete tasks
  • If you use structured planning as well as dynamic planning it does feel like i am managing 2 systems. would be nice if it was one integrated platform
  • Templates with calculations, reference accounts and history data can be slow to open
  • Workforce reporting cube is not intuitive
  • Lots of focus on bells and whistles type of features such as AI, machine learning. worry that they may lose focus on core functionality.
  • Dynamic planning is very flexible, with that comes the woes of having an open canvas to design models. Can be tricky to trouble shoot issues.
  • Would love to have usage report concept in all parts of the application including dynamic planning
It's a good option for any company looking to get off Excel budgeting. Companies of any size or industry can benefit from Host Analytics.
The team is very responsive when cases are opened. Additionally, we have 1:1 support when rolling out more complex enhancements and that has been valuable.
Workforce planning and reporting functionality is excellent. Dynamic planning (aka Spotlight, modelling) is powerful too as well. However, learning curve can be a little steep initially.
Read Niru Irukulla's full review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Planful to manage our overhead forecasts + headcount (+$50M annually) and monthly reporting of the overhead costs to the department heads. It resolved a problem of multiple spreadsheets being emailed to the end users and back to finance team. It provided accountability at the end user side and the finance side with a single source for the truth.
  • Headcount tracking and cost
  • Reduced cycle time on forecasting from spreadsheets
  • Tracking of where the end user is in the forecast process
  • SpotlightXL (the Excel Add-in) makes reporting easier in Excel
  • The Reporting module is not intuitive for end user and finance admin team plus very limited in formatting
  • Admin tools for setting up end users is challenge - many different areas to go to set someone up on the system
I think Planful has a lot potential and the Planful team is actively working on improving it. We use it just for overhead forecasting and reporting. It was a perfect tool to move us from a spreadsheet process with errors and single sources for the truth. We had a well defined process, so it was easy adapt into the Planful system.
Read this authenticated review
November 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Planful (formerly Host Analytics)] is mostly being used by Finance group to report monthly financial results. Have built our Budget in the modeling scenario, but we are not finalized tweaking the results of this. Being our first full year on Planful are still learning how to do some setup and making it work for us.
  • Able to have entire budget and actual results in one tool.
  • Fast results that can be trusted. No worry of excel links being broken.
  • Results from current system can be directly interfaced into Planful
  • Need to take more time up front to fully understanding client’s processes
  • Wish the models would automatically sum up better rather than having to enter an aggregation step
  • Previous model results don’t always clear themselves. Need to make sure you include clear steps, but it’s not always clear when and where you should do this
The workforce planning tool works very well and is quite easy to setup and maintain. Wish there was a way for each model to use the same set of data, for example customers, products, etc. you need to build each in each model.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is primarily [used] within the Financial Planning department for creating an annual plan, maintaining a current forecast, preliminary review of numbers with accounting and reporting of financial information for various internal and external constituents.
  • Dynamic reporting is very intuitive and plug and play
  • Structure planning makes for a quick implementation and a low level of administration going forward
  • The admin back-end for user management and structured HR can be clunky and frustrating to remember how to do a simple task
  • The process for transferring data between dynamic planning and structured planning is not very good
Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is great for quick implementations. More advanced dynamic planning has a bit of a learning curve, but it is very powerful.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Host Analytics is being used by our organization to improve the month end/quarterly consolidation/close process. It is mainly being used by our accounting and finance departments and has helped us reduce the number of days it takes to close each month. The Host application allows us to store all of our data in one cloud-based database as opposed to a huge Excel workbook with many, many spreadsheets. Additionally, anyone in our organization can access the real-time data in Host from any location since all of the data is stored in the cloud.
  • The Host Analytics Cloud EPM Suite does a great job keeping all of our actual, forecast, and budget data together in one place. Loading new data into the application is fairly straight forward and allows us to quickly provide reports and analyses to our senior leadership team each month/quarter.
  • The Host Analytics Excel-Add In Tool is helpful for users who are more familiar with building and creating reports in Excel. While the reporting module in the core application is very easy to use and navigate, often times our team will utilize the Excel add-in tool to build more complex reports using the data from Host as we tend to have more experience with Excel based reporting.
  • Using Host has allowed us to drastically reduce the number of days it takes to close each month. We quickly load data via the data load rule, use the consolidations module to input any top side journal entries, and from there we are able to jump right into financial reporting.
  • The speed of the application has sometimes been a bit slow, particularly at year end. We've found that when we use Host in Chrome as opposed to IE, our speed improves, however Host currently has limited functionality when used in Chrome.
  • We would love to see a more user-friendly report wizard in the future.
The Host Analytics Cloud EPM Suite would be well suited for an organization that is currently closing and consolidating in Excel each month. Additionally, it would be great for an organization that is growing quickly and acquiring new entities on a regular basis.
Sometimes we get great help when using Planful's support team and other times we don't. In particular, there is one person that often responds to our support tickets who is less than helpful, hence the reason for the 5 out of 10 rating. As a result, most of the time we reach out to our Planful consulting group as they provide faster and better support.
For the most part, the system is extremely usable. The consolidation and reporting modules are straight-forward and easy to use as long as everything is set-up properly during implementation. The one module that can be somewhat difficult to use is the Workforce Planning module of Structured Planning. Additionally, the reports that come from Workforce Planning aren't as robust as we need them to be.
Read this authenticated review
November 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today Host Analytics is being used just by the finance team -- it helps us scale our financial planning from zero to one. Huge boost for team productivity.
  • Excel integration via Modeling Cloud
  • Robust out-of-the-box feature set, particularly in terms of payroll
  • Easy connection to your Accounting ERP via boomi connection
  • No size limitations (# of scenarios, model complexity size)
  • User interface could be more attractive and approachable
  • Better visualization tools within the application (e.g. charts, tables, etc)
  • Overall system speed -- particularly in terms of switching between templates
Well suited: investment planning, compensation planning, excel integration, planning for organizations < 10k employees, planning at startups

Less appropriate: revenue modeling, planning for organizations > 10k employees, planning for organizations with > 20 Finance team members actively using the system
Once we found the right support members my team has had relatively good experience customer service with Planful support. Fairly responsive and helpful. They would partner with us to notify of platform downtime which was important in our tight planning cycles.
Robust platform that can be tailored to your teams needs...not the best user interface...but it still gets the job done. The out of the box compensation planning was refreshing.
Read this authenticated review
November 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Planful is used to prepare Budgets and Forecasts. It is also used to prepare financial reports with budget and forecast data and actual GL data. The GL data is integrated with Dell Boomi product.
  • User Friendly
  • Web based makes it easily accessible
  • Workforce Planning does not allow for employee level actual data
Great for Budgets and Forecasts. Consolidation module was not great and we discontinued its use in Planful.
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Paul Boerema | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across our entire organization for our budgeting process to effectively create our consolidated budget with dynamic budget templates that we have built. We also use it for financial reporting throughout the year, bringing in our financial data from Microsoft GP (both at the summary and transaction level).
  • Familiar Excel-style interface for entering data into budget templates
  • The capabilities provided by the budget templates allow for a dynamic, consolidated budget that can be easily be put together and verified.
  • Being able to integrate with the accounting system makes Host the perfect resource for Budget vs Actual reporting and tracking during the year.
  • The tables and other visuals in dashboards are pretty stagnant and not flexible in terms of formatting (we have moved to Tableau for visual reporting).
  • It would be helpful to be able to edit budget templates even if there is data entered (having to un-map and re-map new templates that may need to be tweaked after budget data has been entered can become time-consuming).
  • There could be a mobile-friendly version.
Host Analytics is perfect for any organization where the dynamic budget is put together by several budget owners across the organization, as the budget templates (which can be customized to your organization's needs), are perfect for budget consolidation. This budget data can then easily be used in financial reports within the application. Host would be less appropriate for a smaller organization with a straightforward budget that is only owned by a single person or entity. I also would not recommend strictly Host for an organization that is more reliant on visual reporting, but it serves as a great complement.
Read Paul Boerema's full review
May 16, 2019
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only our Financial Analysts and the financial execs use Host Analytics directly. The primary purpose is budget forecasts.
  • I often hear from my users, "the best thing about Host Analytics is the export to Excel feature so we can do our work there."
  • I'm struggling to come up with things it does "particularly well," so I think it would be a disservice to readers to make up something
  • User interface, while not bad, really could take some cues from basic interfaces. Strange to navigate. Perhaps its method of often requiring double-clicks is smart, but it's not consistent with most web interfaces
  • Their newly touted native NetSuite integration is techncially GA, but really needs more time to bake. Documentation for this new feature is improving but still is confusing.
  • It's surprisingly configurable, perhaps overly so for a point solution. "Surprising" also because it's hard to navigate and find the configurations.
  • When there are problems with data loads, my experience is its challenging to find the problem (weak error messages and reporting), and fixing the problem often means deleting entire periods of data and reloading again.
  • While a lot can be done with reporting, the way to generate custom functions is...uncommon. I forget the name of the query language.
If you can use their provide Boomi integration, you may have a better experience because they say they'll have greater insight to data loads than we seem to have with our own Boomi integration. I also consider that we have had Host Analytics for several years and think we would benefit from a reimplementation (a somewhat common scenario with systems (or cars or girlfriends): "that system looks much more attractive, I'm ditching this... or maybe I should consider revisiting some basics")
Read Joshua Henke's full review
January 19, 2018
Monica Seaney, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by my organization for financial planning & forecasting as well as management reporting. It is used to not only host financial data but non financial metrics to create dynamic reports and budgets that can be utilized for a variety of cases. The cloud based platform makes collaboration between the teams effective and efficient.
  • Cloud based platform enhances collaboration
  • Dynamic models increase efficiency
  • user friendly
  • can always be more user friendly
  • ability to calculate without creating custom report template
Host Analytics Cloud EPM Suite is well suited for financial planning and management reporting. The dynamic cloud based capabilities make it very useful in those instances. A scenario when it may be less appropriate is for financial reporting done by the accounting team as that requires linkage to invoicing and purchasing system.
Read Monica Seaney, CPA's full review
September 25, 2017
Mary McLaughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Host Analytics is being used by myself for budgeting, financial reporting and product gross margin reporting. The resulting reports are used by other executives within the organization.
  • I have a large amount of product data that Host has helped me organize into something I can use in my business.
  • I can get several financial reports with the push of a button each month.
  • As I use the software I realize there are more things I can do.
  • The Host customers for life team is always there to help me when I explore these possibilities.
  • It can be difficult to set up a report templates. Once set it is good and there are no worries. It would be nice it the report setup was easier to use.
  • It has a large learning curve, but I am unsure how this can be improved upon. To understand the details of how it works is a time consuming endeavor.
Financial reporting is a wonderful use. It can take the raw data and enable you to present it in almost any format you can imagine. Budgeting in Host is also a wonderful use of the software. I find that it is so much easier to look back at a budget and see "where the numbers" came from. The other major thing we use Host for is our product information - this was a monster of an Excel workbook each year and we were unable to combine time periods the way we can in Host.
Read Mary McLaughlin's full review
March 27, 2017
Lauren Bissell, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Host Analytics initially as a consolidation and reporting tool, which helped to automate the consolidation of multiple entities on different ERPs across the globe. Six months after implementation, we automated the feed from our domestic ERP into Host Analytics (integration), allowing end users to see GL account level information nearly real-time in the application. Six months after the integration, we implemented budgeting for operating expense and workforce planning relating to our corporate departments. We are currently in process of rolling out the budgeting application to our different businesses for their own use. Currently, only finance and accounting personnel at corporate and our business locations have access to the application, which will likely expand to operational individuals once businesses start budgeting in the application. Through the implementation of Host Analytics, we are now able to measure performance on a constant currency basis, and saves time in the preparation of financial information, allowing for more analysis to be able to be performed.
  • Customer service and ongoing customer support
  • Soliciting feedback from customers and incorporating ideas into their release / update schedules
  • Facilitating one source of the truth that can be accesses by all end users with varying degrees of security
  • Minor application quirks in the use functionality.
  • Updates are pushed to your application during specified maintenance windows, allowing for immediate use of the new functionality whether you were prepared or understood the changes or not. Any significant changes are clearly communicated ahead of time.
Host Analytics is well suited for our business as we operate on multiple ERPs in different currencies, thus allowing us to have a single source of the truth for financial reporting. Relating to budgeting, we also have many different ways our individual businesses currently budget, thus efficiencies are able to be gained when our businesses can leverage what others are doing as they can all budget within the application in a similar manner depending on the nature of their business. It is hard; however, to fully automate the financial reporting process within Host Analytics, as the current data visualization capabilities are complex and heavily reliant on MDX language.
Read Lauren Bissell, CPA's full review
June 15, 2017
Lauren Mazzone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We keep Host within our finance department to load the data and create reports to push out to the rest of the company. We also use it for planning.
  • Reporting is very quick and easy to consolidate information.
  • The planning and HR modules slashes the time to create forecasts and plans tremendously.
  • They could offer more dimensions because 13 make it very limiting.
  • It was frustrating converting some report books, which they deprecated, to report collections because of the 10 tab limit. If they could find a way to work around this that would be great.
  • The new report sets are a great feature but could use some more work with the precedence columns. It is always a guess and check and when using both a row and a column set, you don't always get what you want for formatting.
Well suited: Reporting and planning
Read Lauren Mazzone's full review
August 25, 2016
Mike Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our firm currently uses Host Analytics for our financial planning and reporting. The accounting department is the primary user of the application. Other departments [have] limited exposure to the application during our budgeting and forecasting processes.
  • Reporting is a huge strength in Host. It's extremely easy to build aesthetically pleasing reports for your company. In addition, dynamic reports make it easy to build ad hoc reports quickly.
  • The planning module helps simplify budgeting and forecasting. It's highly beneficial having it all in Host and moving away from the problems we were experiencing with maintaining our budget in several giant Excel spreadsheets linked together.
  • The learning curve isn't steep with Host. Any users that are familiar with Excel will feel comfortable with building templates in no time.
  • The HR planning module is frustrating to use. I found that making a ton of changes to the payroll budget is extremely time-consuming. For any new users, I'd recommend simplifying your payroll budget to minimize use of this module.
  • The formatting capabilities are a bit limited in the reporting module. It would be nice to have formatting near the same level of Excel.
I'd recommend Host Analytics to companies looking to improve their planning process. A lot of the problems that are associated with preparing budgets in Excel (e.g. version control, user access, crashes, etc.) are mitigated in Host.
Read Mike Johnson's full review
August 11, 2016
Lee Johnston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Host Analytics has dramatically reduced the time it takes to produce a forecast. Before we implemented Host Analytics, we struggled to complete a single mid-year forecast each year that was already outdated by the time it was published. We are now completing quarterly forecasts and higher level monthly "flashcasts". By 2017 we will be on a monthly rolling forecast schedule.
  • Eliminates the risk associated with version control
  • Provides ability to slice and dice data across multiple dimensions and scenarios very quickly
  • Provides a single source of truth for planning and reporting
  • Host Analytics is constantly making improvements. Other than the relatively new Modeling (SpotlightXL) functionality which is still in it's infancy, I can't think of anything in desperate need of improvement.
Host Analytics has proven to be particularly useful during the budget process - specifically related to the generation of multiple iterations. For me, it has always been very important to provide a trail or bridge from one iteration to the next. People become comfortable with the current iteration and need to fully understand what changed before they can support the current version. Host Analtytics provides the ability to lock the current scenario and create a new one in minutes and then quickly compare the two iterations across dimensions via reporting. It's a great way to check for reasonableness and ensure nothing major was missed.
Read Lee Johnston's full review
July 15, 2016
Lee Starr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are new users to Host. We implemented the reporting tool then the planning tool. Our intention is to use it across the entire organization. We brought Host in to give non-financial users an easy self-service tool to manage their department. Non-financial users will participate in the planning phase by entering forecast into templates and reviewing reports. They are pulling reports on monthly activity also in order to provide commentary to Board members on results. Finance department is moving the numerous spreadsheets over to Host in order to shorten close time and reduce redundancy in labor. We are currently building our 2017 plan in Host.
  • Host reporting has already proven to be a time saver. Even in the early stages of use, I was able to build a report for management that compared actual to forecast and then report on various departments.
  • One of the biggest challenges we had was managers taking ownership of their budgets. In the past, they would pass off the data to Finance and then cast blame when the results were not favorable. This year, they are in charge in entering and approving data. VPs now have to approve and all of this is completed in Host. Elimination of extra steps for Finance to rekey and potential errors.
  • I really love the community feature. This allows you the ability to ask other users how they are handling an issue. We have solved a great many problems with this.
  • As with all software packages, we would love to have an undo button.
  • One of the best features is also a feature that is hard to adjust to at the beginning. The Row sets and Column sets make building new reports quick but when your Column contain various formulas, you have to add exceptions. Exception formulas within cells are not very forgiving. They do not let you make changes to your report once you create them. This is making us rethink how our old reports are designed.
Everyone is very responsive and is willing to jump on a call to help. We set up weekly calls with our CFL representative during the first month of Go-Live. This really helped us solve problems before they got out of hand. When using the Community, I also see representatives on there answering questions.
Read Lee Starr's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (3)
7.6
Customizable dashboards (7)
7.1
Report Formatting Templates (6)
8.2
Drill-down analysis (12)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (14)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (13)
8.2
Publish to Web (2)
9.1
Publish to PDF (8)
8.4
Report Versioning (4)
9.2
Report Delivery Scheduling (4)
9.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (3)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (2)
8.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
8.1
Role-Based Security Model (15)
8.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (15)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (11)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (9)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (5)
8.0
Long-term financial planning (52)
7.7
Financial budgeting (58)
8.3
Forecasting (54)
8.4
Scenario modeling (44)
8.8
Management reporting (57)
8.1
Financial data consolidation (36)
9.8
Journal entries and reports (26)
9.2
Multi-currency management (27)
7.6
Intercompany Eliminations (25)
3.2
Minority Ownership (12)
9.1
Local and consolidated reporting (32)
9.8
Detailed Audit Trails (26)
6.7
Financial Statement Reporting (48)
8.5
Management Reporting (56)
8.3
Excel-based Reporting (56)
8.5
Automated board and financial reporting (40)
7.2
XBRL support for regulatory filing (3)
7.1
Personalized dashboards (25)
7.2
Color-coded scorecards (18)
7.4
KPIs (20)
7.7
Cost and profitability analysis (20)
7.7
Key Performance Indicator setting (14)
8.4
Benchmarking with external data (8)
3.1
Flat file integration (38)
8.0
Excel data integration (48)
8.7
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (31)
8.4

What is Planful (formerly Host Analytics)?

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) provides a Continuous Planning platform that empowers finance to automate and accelerate FP&A activities, drive faster and more agile planning and decision-cycles, and elevate the financial IQ of the organization so that everyone is making smarter decisions more frequently. Planful is a complete end-to-end platform for financial planning, consolidation, and reporting & analysis.

STRUCTURED PLANNING Structured Planning with Planful automates labor-intensive planning activities in a complete cloud-based platform – giving your finance team control, consistency, and confidence in corporate financial plans, budgets, and forecasts.

DYNAMIC PLANNING Dynamic Planning with Planful enables flexible, high-frequency, data-driven planning, modeling, and decision-making so users in every corner of the organization can analyze, plan, and make confident decisions at the speed of business.

FINANCIAL CLOSE & CONSOLIDATION Financial Close & Consolidation with Planful empowers finance to accelerate month-end close and reporting cycles by automating data aggregation, journal entries, intercompany eliminations, minority interest, entity consolidation, currency conversion, and financial reporting.

FINANCIAL REPORTING Reporting with Planful provides a robust library of reporting formats and delivery options, enabling finance and business users to produce a wide range of interactive financial and management reports leveraging one source of truth.

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featurePredictive Analytics

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Screenshots

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Videos (8)

Watch Annual Operational Planning

Watch Cash Flow Forecasting

Watch Workforce Planning

Watch Financial Reporting

Watch Monthly Close & Consolidation

Watch Plan, Budget & Forecast

Watch Rolling Forecasts

Watch Scenario Analysis

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Downloadables

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Integrations

SAP ERP, Sage Intacct, NetSuite ERP, Oracle ERP, Microsoft Dynamics ERP

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Competitors

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
ModulesPricing DetailsTerms
Host Analytics Planning
Host Analytics Consolidation
Host Analytics Modeling

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
65%

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:We have customers in 90 countries
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Planful (formerly Host Analytics)?

Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

What is Planful (formerly Host Analytics)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Financial data consolidation and Local and consolidated reporting highest, with a score of 9.8.

Who uses Planful (formerly Host Analytics)?

The most common users of Planful (formerly Host Analytics) are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.