Articulate Storyline Reviews

195 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-100 of 116)

Ryan Parish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an eLearning development and consulting firm that produces both client-facing work, as well as products geared toward corporate and healthcare end users. Our company is a content and product creation entity, so everyone who works at Inception Labs has to get familiar with (and proficient at) Storyline and the associated product suite. Everyone on the team has some role in the development process-- whether it is content creation, editing, scripting, or storyboarding, all of our work is done in the Storyline interface when we are developing for eLearning.

For us, one of the biggest business problems that Storyline addresses is in streamlining our workflow. Now, rather than scripting in Microsoft Word, storyboarding in PowerPoint, and developing in Storyline, our team uses the Storyline interface to build rough mockups of what the final products will look like. Using Storyline Template files, we are able to combine everyone's work into one central course.

Versus our previous product experience with Adobe and Lectora products, Articulate Storyline has saved us about 30% of our time, and even more in budget from needing to hire additional developers. We love the product.
  • Creation of Flexible Situations: Articulate Storyline allows you to store unique bits of information in variables, which offers huge flexibility in the creation of interactions. When other platforms try to do this, things break or take all day. Storyline makes interactions with content the default, rather than the exception to the norm.
  • Dockable Panels: Articulate Storyline allows you to undock certain parts of its interface so that you can use multiple screens to find a nice layout for improved workflow. We love this feature because Storyline doesn't assume it knows how you like to work.
  • Publishing Options: Articulate publishing is frightently easy, and I have yet to have any issues with publishing to any SCORM or AICC format. There is no worry about multiple SCO's, or any of that. Storyline makes it easy to publish your course to a variety of different platforms.
  • I'd like to see a more centralized storage solution for states and layers-- logic that can be ready by all states in certain situations. Right now, all of this information is held on the slide level.
  • The timeline can be a bit finicky at times, although this seems to be improved with each update.
  • Zoom regions are only available on the base layer of a slide, and must be ended prior to the slide's conclusion or learners are stuck with a zoomed view for the rest of the course.
I'd say that if you're developing courses for compliance only, and want a simple solution that allows you to create courses from existing PowerPoint presentations, you'd be better off going with Articulate Studio. On the other hand, if you want to build highly engaging, scenario based training courses, you can't go wrong with Articulate Storyline. While the price may be a bit steep for some buyers, the 30-day free trial helps sell the business case.
Read Ryan Parish's full review
Christien Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2015

Great product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Storyline 2 to create compelling e-learning materials for language learners, especially to recreate the look and feel of major language proficiency tests taken by non-native speakers for university matriculation and immigration purposes.
  • Great interactivity
  • Easy to use
  • Great support
  • Friendly community
  • Advanced scripting does not work on all devices
  • Ribbon interface can be counter-intuitive
  • Somewhat expensive (not relative to other programs, but in actual terms)
For most situations, Storyline 2 works well. It doesn't always work well if one is trying to recreate the look and feel of existing online content.
Read Christien Lee's full review
Jason Adaje | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2015

A Captivating Storyline

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
E-learning presents an exciting opportunity to meet the evolving training and development needs of an ever changing and diverse workforce. Storyline is showing itself to be a powerful and reliable tool for doing this, allowing the for the production of courses that meet and exceed customers expectations.
  • Accuracy of screen capturing. (it captures subtle animations in software very well)
  • Relatively easy to pick up and start using
  • Scenes make it easy to collate and manage a variety of course resources.
  • Screen captures can take a very long time to save
  • Sometimes the connection s between slides between scenes are not always clear
  • Captivate hides the windows tool bar at full screen
Screen capturing is well done in the end but the process can be very long compared to other software options. This is a key consideration if you are trying to simulate a software application or web page.
Read Jason Adaje's full review
Marti Stemm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use their software to create e-learning modules that are accessed via our LMS.
  • Articulate allows users that have a basic knowledge of PowerPoint to create some professional content with minimal training.
  • The support network is outstanding
  • The extra's available like Articulate re-play make video work easier.
  • There are a few areas where the software is moving more toward capabilities in Microsoft programs, such as graphic editing, but they are not totally there yet.
I think the mobile app is not totally [there yet] so if you are moving to mobile training you may want to look at this area closely. It is not an issue for me currently.
Read Marti Stemm's full review
Kimberly Bourque Valliere | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2015

Long live Storyline

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is used to create elearning for audiences internal and external to my company on financial investment products. After the implementation of my new LMS is complete, the elearning courses will be utilized by the entire organization of 160+ individuals within various departments. The business problem is addressed through the ability to offer more interactive training than is available currently through other means.
  • Ease-of-use: Since it models the layout of PowerPoint, the learning curve is shorter for Storyline than that of another product that will remain nameless.
  • Community: This is a major selling feature to me. The Articulate community is not only extremely talented, the members are always willing to lend a helping hand to beginners or even those of us that are just stuck.
  • Creating software simulations is one of the areas that could be improved.
Articulate Storyline is suitable for most scenarios, except for perhaps software simulation because other products are a bit more advanced in this area. Future users should download the software for the 30-day trial and experiment with one of the weekly challenges to get a more unbiased feel for the software.
Read Kimberly Bourque Valliere's full review
Refugio &quot;Gio&quot; Jones | M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate's Storyline in the Learning & Development department of our organization. We implement training programs across the entire organization by using eLearning courses created with Storyline. We then either implement the courses on a secure website or our Learning Management System. The eLearnings he us maximize learner time and minimizing cost by letting us roll-out short and effective eLearning courses.
  • Articulate's Storyline allows for fast conversion of a PowerPoint training file into an interactive eLearning course.
  • The products enable fast integration of audio and video into eLearning lessons which in-turn improve the variety in eLearning courses.
  • Storyline allows for the most easy to use eLearning authoring tools when creating courses from original design concepts
  • Articulate could include responsive design capabilities into their products so that a single eLearning course or video product can work across all computing platforms.
  • Replay could use some improvement to keep up and perhaps surpass competitor products like Camtasia with the capability to edit video and audio while adding graphics.
  • It would be nice to include an integrated image capture/editing function into Storyline, which would make easier to integrate graphics into courses.
  • Right now Storyline does not allow for exporting of images. It would be useful to do so sometimes.
It's well suited when creating eLearning courses either from concept or from a template or an imported PowerPoint presentation where you want interactivity. Storyline is not a competitor for MS PowerPoint. PowerPoint is useful for presentation software. Articulate Replay is useful for simple editing of video, but if you are looking to create complex multi-screen videos you might need to look elsewhere.
Read Refugio "Gio" Jones | M.A.'s full review
Derek Hollingshead | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate is currently being used within a division of the training department. It addresses the issue of creating interactive non-linear e-learning quickly and effectively.
  • Ease of use.
  • Low learning curve.
  • Adaptability.
  • SCORM compliance.
  • Lower price point.
Articulate is a great product for both new e-learning authors and veterans.
Read Derek Hollingshead's full review
Veronica Budnikas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I run a small e-learning business and I use this software almost exclusively to build e-learning for my clients, which include corporates, not-for-profits and the university sector. Many organisations outsource their e-learning development needs and that is what we do at Storyline Developer. We provide bespoke solutions for clients and help them bridge both their capacity and capability gaps. We also offer customised training in using the software to those clients who wish to eventually maintain or develop their own e-learning products.
  • Easy-to-use and learn quickly. For any learning designer who has used PowerPoint, Articulate Storyline will be a breeze to learn. You can very quickly learn how to create a simple e-learning interaction that will run in and be tracked by an LMS, and as you become proficient, you can take it to the next level of complexity and sophistication.
  • User community that is second to none. I have never been a part of such an active user community. The support and generosity with knowledge is incredible. Any help a newbie might need is just a forum post away, the e-learning heroes always provide help!
  • Customer service and support. Articulate pride themselves in putting customer service and support at the forefront. Whenever I have had to contact support, the response has been not only super prompt, but also comprehensive.
  • Extending the software. You can build great e-learning interactions very quickly, but if you want to take a few steps further, Storyline lets you add Javascript to produce some really unique interactivity.
  • States, layers and variables. Using a combination of states, variables and layers allows a developer to build almost anything, like games, branched learning and more.
  • Articulate are working hard to improve their HTML5 compatibility. While it is possible to publish for HTML5 and view content on non-Flash devices, not all features work perfectly in HTML5. I see this as Articulate's current big challenge, and I have no doubt they will rise to it.
  • Added functionality to the Articulate Mobile Player (AMP). The player is great, but if you want assessment to be tracked by your LMS, you have to publish to Tin Can as the AMP does not currently support SCORM.
  • The release of Storyline 2 saw added animation capability and motion paths which was just great; if one was to be greedy, this is an area that can always be added to so developers can have more options and get really creative!
Articulate Storyline is probably the best tool on the market for e-learning developers. It allows newbies to get started right away with a very short learning curve, and allows expert developers to get very fancy. It is certainly very well-suited for an organisation looking to develop their e-learning in-house, even if just to create their 'basic' compliance training. Organisations spend lots of money on compliance so a tool like Storyline would allow organisations to create compliance training quite quickly, and more importantly, keep track of it through an LMS ensuring their people are always, well, compliant.
Read Veronica Budnikas's full review
Mike MacDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2015

Storyline 2 review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The contract I work on uses Storyline 2 as part of their training for all staff. It is used as part of or for the entirety of learning modules covering a vast array of areas including corporate training and specialised training.
  • It is perfect for creating interactive quizzes. There are lots of options such as multiple choice and hot spots. I personally find the drag and drop quizzes particularly fun for learners.
  • It's great for creating vibrant and engaging courses. It's a very open platform meaning you can create exactly the type of course you want.
  • It's great for reporting. Our courses are uploaded to our LMS and we are able to gather detailed feedback and anaslysis from Storyline 2
  • It would be great if the quizzes had more options for scoring by answer rather than by question. This would give more options for quizzes.
  • Multiple drag and drop options on a quiz.
  • More animations and transitions would be great
I find it great for all sorts of training courses. I like to use it for quizzes but I also really enjoy using it for creating scenarios.The zoom option is really helpful for giving your work a glossy feel.
Read Mike MacDonald's full review
Teg Griffiths | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Why I like Storyline 2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline 2 is used by the training and development team. It is a flexible tool that helps develop not only technical training but also soft skills. It is important that we develop proficiency with a single tool as opposed to trying different tools for different scenarios.
  • When recording technical training I love the ability to edit individual slides to show what you want.
  • The ability to develop in layers provides great flexibility as to the amount of options that you can provide on a single slide.
  • Triggers and variables allow you to control the user experience and display content/navigate based on the users responses. Leading to much richer solutions.
  • Editing a movie can be a little labor intensive and slow at times especially when there are a lot of slides to edit
The only issue I have currently is that it does not have an adaptable option. If this is important to you then you should not use it.
Read Teg Griffiths's full review
Jacinta Penn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an outsource agency we have been using Storyline from the day it was released for creating elearning modules for a variety of corporate and government clients. It freed us from the constrictions of most authoring tools to customise interactions to suit our clients and their learners. We can do interactions which developers used to be needed for, rapidly and at low cost. Its also reliable, and if there are problems Articulate is mostly brilliant at addressing them.
  • Ability to create custom interactions using freeform so it works with the elearning and is as relevant to real life as possible
  • Ability to use variables and triggers to create some amazing effects, including reflections that can be used later, or information showing dependent on previous actions
  • It can be used by beginners but as they learn, they can then begin to use more and more advanced features
  • It allows me to do complex things without involving a separate developer
  • I found that in New Zealand's poor internet situation, the completion can be unreliable unless extra triggers are added into the success and failure layers or the exit button (then it works perfectly)
  • It's a shame there aren't easier ways to grab the variable data into an external source, or enter data from external sources into Storyline
  • It doesn't work overly well on smartphones but they are working on a mobile responsive player for later this year
The only situation where it might not be suited at this time is if the training has to be on smartphones, just because the player doesn't fit the screen well.
Read Jacinta Penn's full review
Angel Nazir | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2015

Well Articulated!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had to find a tool that allows you to create and publish to the LMS in one package. We found all these perks with the Articulate Studio.
  • Robust Tools that provide a great way to publish your course.
  • Robust Support from the Articulate Community.
  • I wish they would support older versions of the tool.
This tool does not support simulations.
Read Angel Nazir's full review
Courtney Peeler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate to develop elearning modules to assign to our staff. We started out only using this software in Learning & Development, but now have encouraged other departments to use this software to develop their training. By using this software to develop our organizational training, it is helping us meeting regulatory requirements as well as meeting the criteria for certifications.
  • Articulate's user interface is very similar to Microsoft Office PowerPoint, so it is very easy to learn and get started. Most of our users needed a limited hours of training before utilizing.
  • Articulate's published products display great professional quality that will make your efforts look wonderful.
  • Articulate allows for quick and easy development as well as advanced and complicated development of training.
  • I wish Articulate came with a packaged review software that could be utilized to send a draft to your client to preview and provide comments and feedback on each page.
  • Articulate has already started doing this, but it would be great if they could provide more packaged animations and transitions.
Articulate is best suited for developing elearning and on-demand presentations. It is versatile enough to where you can post it on a webpage or import into a learning management system. I believe it is less appropriate when developing communication or a single video. Also, it does not have prepackaged animations that could be used to develop scenarios.
Read Courtney Peeler's full review
Matthew Guyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Articulate Storyline 2 to develop content for our clients.
  • Easy to use
  • Powerful features to create amazing eLearning
  • Awesome community of users
  • Include more character packs
It has lots of applications - course/module development, software simulations, assessments, surveys, scenarios and games!
Read Matthew Guyan's full review
Macaulay Trenchard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My challenge over the last year has been to find the perfect authoring tool for our team. It had to be easy to use so that new employees at entry level positions could pick it up; our courses had to be fully customisable and above all it had to be able to create engaging and interactive eLearning. Storyline for us ticks all those boxes and more, I really do think it's the best authoring tool on the market.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Import/export text, which is great for translations!
  • Provides an easy way to create states, which if you've come from a background using Dreamweaver or something similiar, is easy to use!
  • Not a fault on Articulate but eLearning as a whole needs to be more mobile friendly.
Read Macaulay Trenchard's full review
Jeff Kortenbosch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've got two jobs where I use Articulate Software. Part time I run my own company. I am a e-learning consultant and I train professionals in other companies, from multinationals to e-learning agencies how to use Articulate Storyline. I also develop templates and training materials.
In my full time job I am the Senior e-learning specialist for the Global L&D department for a multinational with approximately 50.000 employees. We use Articulate Storyline thoughout the company to enable L&D professionals and Subject matter experts to design and develop their own online learning materials. We've been doing this for 5 years now and saved the company millions of euros by in-sourcing our e-learning development.
  • Very intuitive interface; you'll get started in a flash
  • Simple yet powerful; Articulate Storyline is the first tool that I feel grows with my experience. Whether you're a beginner or a seasoned professional Storyline fits like a glove
  • Create anything you can imagine! From basic informational e-learning to software simulations and learning games. If your mind can conceive it, your hands can create it
  • Tap into the fast Articulate Community to learn how the software works, download amazing free templates, practice your skills with the weekly elearning challenges and connect to 1000's of amazing peers.
  • Articulate could do a better job at sharing their plans for the future: a roadmap would be really nice
  • It would be great if I could do more advanced video editing and audio editing in Storyline. The current options are quite basic and as an experienced developer I would really love to have more options to edit and clean up audio and video that I record in Storyline.
  • HTML5 is still wonky but that's just how HTML5 is as it is still in development.
Articulate Storyline is the best, most mature, authoring tool on the market. It's being used globally by all the serious agencies and is clearly a market leader. I truly believe almost anything can be achieved using Articulate Storyline.

A generic remark: If your focus is on building online learning for mobile devices and you're dependent on HTML5 you might want to check out older tools that publish to DHTML. However I'd suggest downloading a free trial at the Articulate website and give it a try before doing so.
Read Jeff Kortenbosch's full review
Michael Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Articulate Storyline on the Instructional Design Team within our Learning and Organizational Development.

We use the software address the business problem to create high quality training solutions that are engaging and interactive while reducing development time and expenditures for third-party contractors. Using Articulate Storyline, we have able to solve all of those problems; creating much higher quality training materials in a fraction of the time with drastically reduced expense to the organization
  • Extremely versatile and powerful
  • Smallest learning curve with the lowest amount of bugs/errors with the software.
  • Excellent Customer Service
  • Invaluable user/staff community that promotes the sharing of knowledge and helping others to be successful with the software.
  • Only issue I have with the software is that I didn't hear about it sooner in my career.
After trying all three of the major eLearning Authoring Tools available on the market, Storyline is the most versatile and empowering solution that I've found. The quality of the software is drastically improved by the high-caliber user community known as the eLearning Heroes Community. I'm confident that if you give this program a chance, you will be hard pressed to find a reason why it shouldn't be the number one tool in your eLearning development toolbox.
Read Michael Jones's full review
Przemyslaw Hubisz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create e-learning content for the whole company. Storyline help us to deliver onboarding training and management training. We also create our internal software simulations. On the other hand Storyline helps us deliver e-learning quickly and efficiently. We use the software for testing purposes (personality tests only for the user).
  • Rapid prototyping because you can show your e-learning blueprint very quickly.
  • Animations when you don't have any programming skills.
  • Interactivity is as easy as selecting a few options and you can deliver stunning and engaging training.
  • Great community.
  • I think that no SAAS option is a big downfall for large teams.
  • No OSX version.
  • No other localization (Polish language).
Is your team large? You have to buy licenses for every member.
Read Przemyslaw Hubisz's full review
Ashley Chiasson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Articulate software on a daily basis, primarily to address client needs in terms of developing high-quality courses with a strong degree of audience engagement and satisfaction. When I'm not developing e-learning projects, I use Articulate in screencast demos and blog posts to help users out with getting to know their software's innate abilities and how they can build upon the features that are available out-of-the-box.
  • E-Learning Authoring - I've used many different authoring tools, and Articulate Storyline is HANDS DOWN my favourite because of it's easy-to-use interface and built-in features and functionality
  • Providing support - Articulate has one of the most active communities I have ever been a part of, and between the community users and the sheer volume of tutorials the Articulate Team have developed, they are a one-stop-shop for questions and answers.
  • Allowing for customization - You can customize almost anything within Articulate Storyline, including the player and its attributes. This makes it incredibly easy to create custom looking courses for each and every client.
  • Cross-product integration - Articulate's cross-product integration abilities allow you to easily import content from Articulate Studio, leveraging the full suite of Articulate products.
  • Price - this is really the only area wherein I see some folks balking; however, once you start developing courses for clients, it very quickly pays for itself.
- Articulate Storyline is SCORM/Tin Can API conformant, and you can easily integrate your e-learning project into pretty well any Learning Management System.
- You can easily create branching scenarios without worrying about the complexity of the process.
- The built-in templates and functionality allow you to take some of the guesswork out of design elements, because Articulate already has many of the options you would consider covered (e.g. buttons, markers, motion paths, slider functionality).
Read Ashley Chiasson's full review
yanay zaguri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Learning and Development Department used Articulate Storyline to provide training to all of the organization. We used Articulate to create e-learning courses and learning games. It is the one of the best solutions to handle the transfer of knowledge and skills as an eLearning tool and to create fun learning content and engage learners.
  • Very easy to use.
  • You can create almost any interaction.
  • Strong community developers with a large free material that helps to create elearning in on time.
  • There is not the richest selection of figures in the default Articulate.
Key questions:
Can any instructional designer use the product without a lot of training?
Can I create games with the product?
Can I create any type of interaction?
Can I create an assessment of learning?
Read yanay zaguri's full review
Phil Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Articulate Storyline 2 to develop various methods of learning. I love that it can do whatever I need it to do. I can make learning as simple or as complex as I need it or want it to be. I can do simple click through learning or very complex scenario based learning using variables and custom navigation. As our learning model is shifting to include more and more just in time, scenario based, and other online learning, this gives us a way to build in house content that is quickly and easily editable and a reasonable cost.
  • I love that it is easy to use. I was able to start using it the day I got it. The interface is familiar. If you can use office products you'll be able to use this.
  • Articulate support is awesome. Not just support from the company, which by the way is always timely in my experience and I don't have the platinum plan, but from the community also.
  • The Software is easy to use but powerful. You can include just about anything you want in your learning. I think my favorite aspect is being able to set up triggers for actions, based on clicks, hovers, timeline placement of objects, variables, and so much more. This lets me make learning that my learners can truly engage with.
  • The software is still fairly new, only a few years old. I think it still has room to grow and get better. Initially the software was buggy. Over time It has gotten better and continues to get better all the time.
  • I wish there were still more things that were customizable. I'd like to be able to control more of the "canned" interface without purchasing the developer kit or building external modules flash integrations.
  • I'd like to continue to see more options for animation and movement of objects on the screen. Articulate added more with it's Storyline 2 release, but it is still not to the point I'd like to see it.
If someone doesn't need an authoring tool, they don't need Storyline. If you are only doing quizzing, or recording software demos this isn't the tool for you, but if you want to make truly engaging learning that your users can interact with get Storyline. You won't be disappointed.
Read Phil Wilson's full review
Angie Bloomfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline 2 is being used by myself for the development of a Professional Development Center designed with Loan Originators in mind. By using an in house authoring tool, we are saving time, money and other development costs. We have several Subject Matter Experts in house, so having the ability to take their knowledge and turn it into true online, self-paced eLearning just sweetens the pot.
  • Pretty quick learning curve. Can be up and running with eLearning creation within a matter of hours after install.
  • Loads of included effects, transitions and other bells and whistles to enhance the learner's experience.
  • Contains audio and video editing ability, therefore limiting how many other programs you need to own or open while creating.
  • Loads of resources online to give you inspiration!
  • I'd like to have them add a snap-to grid feature for specific items (such as for lining up the titles) providing for a seamless flow when they are fading in and out. You can manually line them up, but sometimes it takes a while.
When looking at authoring tools, the user must decide what type of eLearning they want to create. 'Pull' interactive learning with basic gamification elements, you'll want to go with Articulate Storyline 2. If you are limited to the need of quick - PowerPoint based learning, then you can use another Articulate tool such as Replay or Studio.
Read Angie Bloomfield's full review
Brett Rockwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2015

Articulate Storyline

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Storyline is being used more and more by the organization as we develop more and more sophisticated eLearning training. It provides the kind of flexibility that just doesn't exist in competing projects which allows us to create an astonishing variety of projects from a single tool.
  • It can be a blank canvas where your creativity may be the only thing holding you back.
  • The ability to use variables, triggers and layers adds a powerful dimension to what can be produced.
  • As an elearning tool, it has probably the best text handling capabilities of anything on the market including sophisticated use of OpenType features.
  • I would really like to see some sort of table building function. Currently, nothing is supported here.
  • While text handling is much better than the competition, I wish that is had proper tab support and paragraph styles that could be implemented across a project.
  • It could really use some sort of certificate of completion mechanism where students could print out completion certificates at the end of a course.
Clearly it's made for developing eLearning content. While you may use it in live presentations, there are better tools for doing that. If you are looking for a lot of built in templates for creating cookie cutter projects, Storyline is probably not the tool for you. While templates do exist, it's strong point is in providing a blank slate to create.
Read Brett Rockwood's full review
Michelle Wescott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Articulate Storyline is being used throughout my company to create engaging and interactive eLearning courses. It solves the problem of dull, boring courses and the problem of costly, hard-to-use, inflexible templates AND the problem of high-cost, low impact custom tools and development. It puts eLearning in the hands and under the control of the designer.
  • Storyline is user friendly. It enables you to quickly and easily create beautiful and functional content.
  • Storyline has no limits outside of your imagination.
  • Storyline is an inexpensive and cost-effective way to create dynamic training.
  • Storyline is an accessible tool that does not require special skills or knowledge to use.
  • I wish it were easier to automatically customize quizzes.
If you want to create dynamic, engaging, interactive eLearning, Storyline is the tool for you. If you need to create page-turners, or text-based job aids, there are other tools better suited to the job.
Read Michelle Wescott's full review
Alison Woodage | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2015

Storyline Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Storyline mainly to develop regulatory and compliance training.
  • Easy for novices - powerful for experts.
  • Publishes for a variety of outputs - flash, tablets.
  • When developing complex interactions, there is no way to hand code, making it time consuming to create loop - type conditional statements.
It is well suited to developing traditional eLearning modules. It is also highly customisable and can be developed to develop modules that are not so traditional in nature.
Read Alison Woodage's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (24)
8.8
Course catalog or library (12)
8.2
Player/Portal (23)
8.4
Learning content (17)
8.2
Mobile friendly (24)
7.8
Progress tracking & certifications (19)
8.2
Assignments (11)
7.9
Compliance management (13)
8.4
Learning administration (11)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (15)
7.6
Social learning (9)
8.6

About Articulate Storyline

Articulate Storyline 2 is designed to make it easy to create any interactive e-learning a user can imagine. The vendor’s value proposition is that it’s simple enough for beginners yet powerful enough for experts.

Articulate Storyline 2 is sold as a perpetual license. The latest version of Storyline is continuously updated with new features. The vendor offers a free 30-day trial.

Articulate Storyline Features

Has featureGet started building courses right away, without any training. Storyline is so intuitive to use, even beginners ramp up quickly.
Has featureCreate engaging interactivity, easily. If you can imagine an interaction, you can easily build it with Storyline. Let learners click, hover over, or drag any object to trigger any action. Build engaging interactions in minutes with buttons, sliders, markers, and hotspots. And create dynamic, personalized interactivity with intuitive variables—no programming required.
Has featureBuild immersive, engaging learner experiences with video and simulations. Record screen activity, add screencasts from Articulate Replay, and import any type of video. To create software simulations simply record your screen once, then edit whenever and however you want.
Has featureAssess learners any way you want. Turn objects on your slide into a decision-making activity–or use 25 different question types to create quizzes quickly. You can test throughout your course to get a clear view of performance, and combine results from multiple quizzes for a final score.
Has featureMake it easy for every learner to access your content. Storyline supports right-to-left languages and double-byte character sets and includes Section 508 and WCAG support.
Has featureReach learners on virtually any device with HTML5 and Flash publishing options (Storyline 2) and a fully responsive player (Storyline 360 only).
Has featurePublish for learning management systems with Tin Can API 1.0, SCORM, and AICC support.

Articulate Storyline Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Articulate Storyline Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

Articulate Storyline Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android