TrustRadius
Dropbox Business expands on the company's cloud storage service by providing additional features, such as lost file recovery for an extended period, integration with popular office suites (e.g. Office 365), the Dropbox Paper collaboration extension, two-factor authentication (2FA) and single sign-on (SSO), tiered administrator controls and granular permission sharing, remote device wipe, API, and other features of use to larger groups and businesses.Dropbox: ¿Is there any other way to store your files?In our organization, we use this software as one of the main programs to store information. We work in an institution that finances projects and we need a large amount of storage that is effective and safe. Dropbox has given us the service we want. Currently,y our entire institution uses this software, with the difference that some departments use it more than others. There is a department that tracks projects and they use this software more often because they need to keep project reports, photos, videos and coordinates of everything they have done. This has allowed us to have all our information stored in one place, in a secure way, and that is what we are looking for because it is confidential information,I like we can have a chat support 24 hours, and you do not have to register for a specific time The storage space is 2TB. It's a good amount I can easily synchronize it with the oficce 365 program,When you have a long time without using your account, you run the risk of losing it If you are a victim of hacking, you do not have the ability to recover your information. I think they should work more on a proposal to solve that problem if that happens Everything you save is in the cloud. If your password is not good, you can lose everything,8,The information of the projects that we finance is supported in the Dropbox servers The 2TB plan is an excellent return on investment,Google Drive,Google Drive, Apple iCloud, EvernoteThe go-to for organizational file storageFile storage, content management, project management, file sharing, collaboration. It's definitely helpful to have the most recent version of each file in the same place. Business subscription is great for document collaboration and the new "paper" feature is a really great add-on. Good for storing logos and templates in one place for the organization.,Document backup Collaboration Project management Saves space,The home panel isn't well-organized It doesn't always sync every time Syncing can take a while,9,Streamlining editorial processes Better organization of commonly used files Uses less hard drive space,Google Drive, Apple iCloud and OneDrive,LastPass, SalesOutlook CRM, Honey,7,1Boxing DropboxWe use it across the organization. It is a good backup with history support and helps me easily share content with different team members in my organization and/or clients.,It has top-notch security, which is highly appreciated by my clients. The history feature saved us numerous amounts of time from re-doing work. Ability to track who made changes to a document, and comment on it helped us with keeping content organized and avoiding conflicts. Recently we started integrating Dropbox into other product management and communication tools such as Slack and Monday. Works really good.,Once we had a major problem where one of the employee accidentally deleted lots of data and had to restore. It appears that this mechanism work much less effective than restoring a group of files. Eventually it took Dropbox about 2 months with resolving the issue, and us additional 2 weeks of cleanup afterwards. Dropbox is getting very expensive and there are today some alternatives that have better price to value ratio.,6,When we had to restore a large portion of our database, it took Dropbox about 2 month to handle the problem, and eventually we got a very huge mess. Some of the files were never restored, and we lost money and reputation. Dropbox, on their part, did not do but the bare minimum to help us with this, nor they took responsibility for their inability to supply us with the backup and restore features they were committed to.,Google Drive, OneDrive and Copy,monday, Trello,6,6,Share content with clients Backup Organize the content to be easily reachable to my team members from anywhere,We used Dropbox comments to review content with our clients Also used Dropbox to get content we needed to work on, when we were working abroad Some business meetings were saved because some very important content that was unreachable, was eventually retrieved from Dropbox,We are currently exploring Paper and its functions,5,Yes,Price Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product,Probably not. For the period we've been using Dropbox, we still think it is the most convenient product there is right now. I am very upset that the price per user is so high in Dropbox, thus forcing us to look for alternative, because otherwise, we would probably have stuck with this product for a very long time.,4,No,Sadly noDropbox so that you don't drop the ball!Our entire company uses Dropbox Business for file storage, folder management, and organization purposes. We are avid users of Dropbox Paper, and we use this product for almost all of our collaboration docs and drafts. Dropbox has helped us iterate quickly on new ideas and share those widely throughout the organization.,Allows for efficient collaboration Easy to use UX Auto-saves (Paper) and everything in the cloud,Not always easy to find docs A bit messy and easy to get disorganized or cluttered Not always a smooth log-in / sign-in experience,7,Definitely a positive impact overall on our business to help us scale Ability to easily create docs and folders to share widely Negative impact in terms of staying organized and keeping the docs data clean and concise,Box and Quip,Greenhouse, Slack, GustoDropbox Business ReviewDropbox Business has been used with my company to share assets for multiple brands of ours both in house and third parties. A lot of third parties share their information to our in house team which makes it very easy to access and download even though they are in different countries and different time zones. It is very easy to use and very accessible.,Accessibility Easy To Use Mac and Desktop Friendly,Sometimes long load times for big files,10,The only thing ROI that we use for DropBox business is downloading our brands monthly ROI reports from another application in the system. However, they are very easily accessible and easy to download.,Libris,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator CC, Google Analytics
Unspecified
Dropbox Business
384 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Dropbox Business Reviews

Dropbox Business
384 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 384 vetted Dropbox Business reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 49)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 18, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox: ¿Is there any other way to store your files?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use this software as one of the main programs to store information. We work in an institution that finances projects and we need a large amount of storage that is effective and safe. Dropbox has given us the service we want.

Currently,y our entire institution uses this software, with the difference that some departments use it more than others. There is a department that tracks projects and they use this software more often because they need to keep project reports, photos, videos and coordinates of everything they have done. This has allowed us to have all our information stored in one place, in a secure way, and that is what we are looking for because it is confidential information
  • I like we can have a chat support 24 hours, and you do not have to register for a specific time
  • The storage space is 2TB. It's a good amount
  • I can easily synchronize it with the oficce 365 program
  • When you have a long time without using your account, you run the risk of losing it
  • If you are a victim of hacking, you do not have the ability to recover your information. I think they should work more on a proposal to solve that problem if that happens
  • Everything you save is in the cloud. If your password is not good, you can lose everything
The world we live in is digital. All the jobs you can find need storage in the cloud. That's where Dropbox helps you because you can save your information on the company's servers in an easy and secure way (if you have a good password) Now, the paid version of 2TB is to store a lot of information. I think there should be a paid version with less capacity. let's say 500Gb. Sometimes 2TB is a lot for one person
Read Miguel Brito's full review
March 22, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "The go-to for organizational file storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
File storage, content management, project management, file sharing, collaboration. It's definitely helpful to have the most recent version of each file in the same place. Business subscription is great for document collaboration and the new "paper" feature is a really great add-on. Good for storing logos and templates in one place for the organization.
  • Document backup
  • Collaboration
  • Project management
  • Saves space
  • The home panel isn't well-organized
  • It doesn't always sync every time
  • Syncing can take a while
Most useful for accessing documents on the go, or to back up files when switching to a new computer or other devices. The business subscription is great for sharing documents with co-workers, storing commonly used files (such as logos and templates), and for collaboration. Doesn't have all the features of other project management software, but for document sharing, it has everything I need. The recent updates to the platform are helpful in providing quick access to files. Also, I really like that you can link your personal and business accounts.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review
January 31, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Boxing Dropbox"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization. It is a good backup with history support and helps me easily share content with different team members in my organization and/or clients.
  • It has top-notch security, which is highly appreciated by my clients.
  • The history feature saved us numerous amounts of time from re-doing work.
  • Ability to track who made changes to a document, and comment on it helped us with keeping content organized and avoiding conflicts.
  • Recently we started integrating Dropbox into other product management and communication tools such as Slack and Monday. Works really good.
  • Once we had a major problem where one of the employee accidentally deleted lots of data and had to restore. It appears that this mechanism work much less effective than restoring a group of files. Eventually it took Dropbox about 2 months with resolving the issue, and us additional 2 weeks of cleanup afterwards.
  • Dropbox is getting very expensive and there are today some alternatives that have better price to value ratio.
It is very good for small organizations or very large organizations. Everything in between may have problems with the sheer cost of maintaining the users' costs. Also, it is not recommended if your company has a huge amount of data as currently, Dropbox lowered the amount of storage they're offering for small businesses.
Read Oran Bar-Tal's full review
February 05, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox so that you don't drop the ball!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses Dropbox Business for file storage, folder management, and organization purposes. We are avid users of Dropbox Paper, and we use this product for almost all of our collaboration docs and drafts. Dropbox has helped us iterate quickly on new ideas and share those widely throughout the organization.
  • Allows for efficient collaboration
  • Easy to use UX
  • Auto-saves (Paper) and everything in the cloud
  • Not always easy to find docs
  • A bit messy and easy to get disorganized or cluttered
  • Not always a smooth log-in / sign-in experience
Dropbox Paper is well-suited for a small organization to immediately begin collaborating and iterating on different topics and subjects and come to a conclusion to can be implemented and referred back to. It is very important for companies early on to start documenting and recording everything for future reference and learnings.
Read Andy Lutz's full review
February 01, 2018

"Dropbox Business Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox Business has been used with my company to share assets for multiple brands of ours both in house and third parties. A lot of third parties share their information to our in house team which makes it very easy to access and download even though they are in different countries and different time zones. It is very easy to use and very accessible.
  • Accessibility
  • Easy To Use
  • Mac and Desktop Friendly
  • Sometimes long load times for big files
Dropbox Business is well suited for companies that have a lot of large files in different formats because it allows 2TB. Once you share folders with others you never know how many files they are putting in as well, but I have never had to worry about space with Dropbox Business.
Read Rebecca Powell's full review
January 23, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox does its Share"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business for our construction jobs. From bidding to throughout the project. This enables us to share drawings, and documents without the need to buy NAS devices for all our job sites. We use the file request feature to get files from our subs and owners without the need of them also having a Dropbox account.
  • Dropbox Business makes file sharing with those outside of the company much easier, especially larger files or even folders.
  • User management is quite easy with dropbox.
  • It is easy to get files from people outside the company.
  • Sub folder sharing is still wanky. It should be easier to share a folder within a folder and to have a share hierarchy.
  • Updating should be easier for companies that use a software restriction policy. Even with exceptions we need to use a third party software deployment solution to keep our dropbox clients updated.
  • Single Sign On should be easier to find when logging in on the mobile and desktop applications.
When sharing non-sensitive documents it is well suited. If you are not sharing financial, medical or personal data Dropbox is a great tool. However, if you are using Dropbox in those scenarios there is really the need for third-party plugins to give more control and governance around the data. Third party tools will scan documents and make sure they are not being shared inappropriately and even further encrypt sensitive data.
Read Jon Gabriel Bolland II's full review
February 26, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Easy Backup and Fast"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DropBox Business is very easy and to efficient use when you have data that you need to backup or have available to you on the fly.
  • The App sits on the desktop. You move a file to it and it will store your data very fast and effectively with folders that can be customed by users.
  • Downloading data is easy as well just right click and select the file and it will download for you easy.
  • They were the first before Microsoft and others copied the format but Dropbox is also on Amazon servers a plus.
  • As the internet pipes get bigger data will backup faster and bigger files as well, so we grow together.
  • Make improvements in the app's ability to move on the desktop.
  • Keep going.
  • VR/AR software developments
  • Big data processing
  • CAD design firms
  • Agile projects
Read Sean Randle's full review
December 07, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Storage at its best!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox is simple, easy to use, and doesn't get too complicated. It manages our entire record keeping system. Documents, pictures, media, and trip planning items! Although we use Salesforce as our operating database system, obviously, it can't keep a hold of all of our team processes and various internal procedures. This is where Dropbox comes into play! It's used across the whole organization (which is a rather small team) and has sought to address the main issue of internal document sharing.
  • Syncs quickly
  • Can handle sizable files
  • Affordable
  • Missing strong document collaboration with team
  • Missing documents (a sync error issue)
  • Web/desktop interface
Well suited for any size team, but does have more of it limits. I'd recommend exploring all the various cloud based storage systems to know where your needs are the strongest. For us, we're a relatively small team, not technology focused, so the simplicity and strength of Dropbox was just what we needed. I think if you're a leading organization in the tech space, this might not make the most sense.
Read Kelsie Hamilton's full review
January 18, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox for our Business has worked great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox for Business is being used across the whole organization to share important documents. It addresses two main issues: easy access to documents on the go, and not using up so much space on our desktops.
  • Easy access for multiple users
  • Collaboration for all users in and out of the office
  • Stores large amounts of information without taking up space on computer
  • Wish there was more space to type in information about the documents you are reviewing
We rely on Dropbox for Business to share large photos and videos with those that work remotely. It is an easy way to share information on a broad spectrum without having to send so many emails, especially for photos.
Dropbox for Business might not be well suited for information that is confidential as it can be easily shared.
Read Sydney Graczyk's full review
January 15, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox for Business has helped organize our organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox has helped our business organize all of our internal assets. Everything from product shots to print ads to presentation files. Although certain departments use Dropbox on a much more regular basis (e.g. marketing) the entire company has access to the tool and uses it for different purposes on occasion.
  • The user interface is very intuitive and easy to use. You really don't need much training to get up to speed on how to successfully navigate the tool.
  • Selecting and downloading files from anywhere that I have internet access has proven valuable time and time again. This freedom with files allows business travel to be that much easier.
  • Setting up folders and organizing files is simple and intuitive. Even when reorganization is needed, the process is relatively simple.
  • When moving files from folder to folder it would be nice to be able to find where you'd like things placed in a quicker fashion than what is currently offered.
  • A branded experience within the tool to match our companies aesthetic would be a nice touch.
If you are a company that has thousands of files to store in a cloud like environment I would highly recommend this tool. Because of the intuitive nature of the tool you don't feel bogged down when faced with storing tens of thousands of files.

If you are looking for a more immersive branded experience for your organization tool, I may recommend looking elsewhere.
Read Jeff Williamson's full review
December 20, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Business essential with great file sharing capabilities"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a central server for all team members and clients. All our projects are stored on Dropbox and accessed on a daily basis for all project work. Our Dropbox space is separated into a section for all and a management only section. This allows us to use one technology platform for all files.
  • Sharing files.
  • Allowing online and offline access.
  • Managing access control.
  • File history does not work very well which is a great shame.
  • Some conflicts with online and offline access by different people are not managed very well.
  • Folders are being duplicated sometimes which is massively inconvenient.
With teams being spread around the globe it is essential to have shared resources like Dropbox to have access to the same information. Also working in the design and branding space we have very large files which cannot be stored in the cloud only otherwise access takes way too long each time we download a file. This is where Dropbox excels.
Read Christoph Geppert's full review
December 07, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Good for backup, bad for collaboration."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox is used for file sharing and backup within our organization, across all departments, including remote staff. It allows us to securely share files and collaborate (sort of- more on that later). It also allows us to back up our work to a secure environment to protect against data loss due to malfunctions on individual computers.
  • Makes it easy to back up files from your machine
  • Attractive web UI
  • The desktop app has some really terrible edge cases that can result in lost data
  • Collaboration isn't really possible, as you have to all save different versions- not at all an alternative to, say, Google Docs
Good if you're looking to backup, or just to share files- timesheets, completed documentation, etc. Bad if you're looking to collaborate since you have to create separate versions to save what each person is doing. It's not really collaboration software despite billing itself that way. Its best use is as a backup system- though you've got to be careful there too. Another admin deleted a user I was trying to back up for, but Dropbox didn't require authentication before allowing me to drag-and-drop all her files to her Dropbox folder...and those files all disappeared from her machine but also didn't make it to Dropbox. Really rough edge case that Dropbox support basically said "oops, can't do anything about it".
Read Valerie Cabral's full review
January 15, 2018

"Dropbox Business Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have been using DropBox for our company for several years now. In some capacity Dropbox is used by all of our employees. Dropbox is a great tool for many reasons, including but not limited to backing up files and sharing documents amongst our staff and clients. Dropbox allows our staff to access documents without the need to connect to a terminal server, VPN etc. The controls available within Dropbox are very robust in regards to file sharing as well.
  • Automatic sync of files when updated
  • File sharing w/ expirations
  • Reasonably priced
  • Integrations with other products
  • Can be bandwidth intensive
Dropbox is well suited if you don't have a central office and/or servers. In addition the document sharing features are very robust. One of the best features with Dropbox is also one of the worst, in that it has the ability to sync ALL files to your local hard drive. If your system is encrypted it's a non-issue, but in most cases if a laptop were stolen and not encrypted then the person with the system would be able to access all of the files on it.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "100% adoption, 50% of the effort!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox across our organization as the single storage solution for all files, folders, and media. As a company running over 100 events worldwide per year, being able to access, share and collaborate on documents on the go is crucial. Dropbox handles versioning brilliantly while notifying users when others are viewing/changing the same file.
  • Versioning - specifically preventing versioning from happening. five copies of the same excel spreadsheet are ultimately useless!
  • File Requests - ability to have external parties load files directly into folders of your choosing. Cuts out the middle man and saves a significant chunk of time and bandwidth
  • Dropbox Paper - A great collaboration and note taking tool. Getting better every month
  • Support is very poor! Really hard to get hold of someone, support only knows the very basics and can't really help troubleshoot there and then. Everything just gets escalated. Thankfully we don't need it too often
  • Permission levels aren't as granular as box.com
Dropbox is great as a cloud-based file server, giving rich functionality above and beyond what any on-premise solution can offer. I think for those companies who require greater levels of regulatory compliance there are going tobe some gaps that it doesn't fill, but it has to be the solution of choice for any startup.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox for data and document sharing for small groups"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox in our group to upload and share documents between people involved in the same projects with different overlaps. As a research lab, we only share amongst ourselves. Different solutions are being used as well by other groups within our institution. The main and most important issue being addressed here is data sharing between collaborators. But also sharing with collaborators outside of our institution.
  • The best features of Dropbox for us is the ability to share among our groups, with a different subset of people according to the project they are involved in.
  • A free version is available, although, with a limited storage capacity, it can still be enough for someone needs.
  • The desktop app makes it for a very easy integrated interface with your local file system. No need to go through the webpage to access/upload and interact with your documents on DropBox
  • The free version has quite a limited storage space. You have to pay to get to a more substantial amount of storage space.
  • Simultaneous editing of files (e.g. 2 persons writing on the same word document at the same time) is not highly optimized and lead to a lot of conflicting versions etc. There is some improvements to bring there.
In a collaborative environment over a project with collaborators outside of your institution and its internal file system, you can share, and edit common files.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "DropBox for Business - Easy Powerful Fast"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DB for Business to share and store documents of various types, internal, external, etc.
  • Easy to access, share, store, edit, send, copy information. You aren't tracking down your inbox for an email with attachments.
  • None.
Central repository of shared, collaborative, readily available information and documents. Great tool.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Just Drop it in the Box!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox in multiple Departments at my organization. Currently, my team and I use Dropbox for projects our business contracts out as well as using it for transferring our weekly sermons to Vimeo. We have revolving projects with contracts that consistently have new assets going into Dropbox for our contractors as well as finalized files coming back to us through Dropbox. The ability to sync Dropbox to our computers makes the whole process much simpler!
  • My favorite thing about Dropbox? It's simple. No 5 step process to get things where I need them to go, just drop it in the box.
  • Shared Folders. I like that if I share folders with other people on my team that it doesn't take up space on multiple accounts.
  • So far I have no complaints with Dropbox. My use of it is basic file sharing as well as uploading/downloading, just on a large scale. Things have always run efficiently which is why I continue to use it!
In my experience, I think Dropbox is extremely well suited for file sharing when working on collaborative projects. It removes the headache of "sending" files through third party systems or using external hard drives. You get updated files the moment a contractor makes adjustments. It is great for storage but I wouldn't recommend it to store high security information.
Read Rebekah Madonia's full review
February 27, 2017

Dropbox Business: "Dropbox for Business Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization uses Dropbox for Business to support file sharing and work across all departments. It's helped us to keep users from losing data when switching computers or in case of device loss or damage.
  • Sync
  • Speed
  • Backups
  • Price
Dropbox for Business works great if you have a distributed workforce. It's especially useful if you remap user folders to Dropbox so they are automatically backed up.
Read Shannon Brooks's full review
February 13, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Easy for Virtual Project Management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to manage files multiple people used from different locations. It was a great way to make sure everyone had the most recent version of spreadsheets, logos, brochures, images, etc. We also had some people on our team that weren't as tech-savvy and they were able to use it easily, too.
  • Easy access, both from desktop and mobile
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Drag and drop file uploading
  • Some users lost their invites and we couldn't just resend it to them, we had to delete them and then re-invite them.
It provides a lot of storage for file-sharing across a wide range of industries. It's well-suited for a lot of scenarios!
Read Emily Sidley's full review
February 24, 2017

Dropbox Business: "Dropbox for Business, New User's Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As of right now we are just using it to store files that will be utilized by all of our employees.
  • Stores files that can be used by all employees
  • All employees can view files in one location
  • You can decide who has authorization over the dropbox, so you can decide who can edit or maintain the files
I just like it because it gives our company a secure location where all our employees can log in and retrieve files or view files that we all utilize.
Read Heather Keene's full review
March 27, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Real benefits of online storage"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox for business to share documents between team members who work on projects across the country. Having the ability to get multiple teams on the same folder with the most current documents, helps to keep everyone working on the same page. Dropbox also relieves capacity issues that we deal with from a local server.
  • The syncing of Dropbox is very efficient and very quick.
  • The only downside is that any folders synced to a local desktop will count against local storage capacity.
Anyone that has multiple offices, or works with separate teams can benifit from Dropbox for business. Anyone who thrives on collaboration can leverage the benefits of Dropbox.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2017

Dropbox Business: "Dropped a review in this box."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When it comes to storing files such as SQL queries, PowerPoint presentations and/or images, I use Dropbox instead of storing them on my PC. Although file security has gotten better for PCs, I still worry about crashes, wares, and viruses. Dropbox allows me to retain important files I would otherwise lose in extreme events.
  • Security: I feel my files are safe when I upload them to Dropbox.
  • Pricing: For the amount of space necessary, Dropbox has the most competitive pricing.
  • Accessibility.
  • The navigation could use a refresh to make file retrieval better.
  • Doesn't allow folder locking.
When dealing with out of town clients that need files download ready and I'm not near a computer, I use Dropbox to download what I need and email them from my mobile device.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2016

Dropbox Business Review: "Don't drop on Dropbox. It's a great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically, I use Dropbox to save work-related files privately on the cloud. I think it's one of the safest options. Other colleagues in the company also use Dropbox (a few also use Box, me too 100% for work) to save files in the cloud.
As most of the work happens online a tool like Dropbox helps in working in a collaborated manner. It enables me to give and receive feedback on files etc.
  • It works very well for sharing folders
  • Seamless way of writing comments and posting reviews
  • It also has good amount of storage for a middle size company
  • Great way to do do file recovery and to check version history
  • It gives a great overview of the activity per staff member on a timeline
  • Dropbox can apparently increase the limit on the users who can potentially use the platform
  • The fact that online editing needs a Microsoft account is often cumbersome
  • A small point but the free trial needs payment information
If you are a medium or large size team, dropbox for Business would help you in collaborating within the teams and will also provide different features in order to make the work seamless (for instance features like user management, version history, unlimited deletion and a suite collaboration tools. One thing I really like is If you operate a non-profit organization or own a very large enterprise, Dropbox offers a discounted rate which is always great.
Read Rahul Agarwal's full review
October 13, 2016

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox is ideal for easy sharing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox to share files and work on projects with our clients and suppliers. We also send backups of our websites to clients using Dropbox shared folders.
  • Easy sharing of folders and files.
  • Multiple user access to folders and files.
  • Securing and backing up of vital files to offsite locations.
  • Scheduling of synchronisation time to limit demand on broadband.
Dropbox is ideal for collaboration between clients and suppliers. The ease at which you can share files makes it quick to use.

If you're looking for an easy way to share large files or large quantities of files then Dropbox is ideal.
Read Russell Davies, Digital Marketing Expert's full review
September 26, 2016

Dropbox Business Review: "DropBox - great alternative for Google Drive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DropBox in our company for a plethora of different employees. As I work on the Channel side, it is very helpful to use DropBox as some outside sales reps are unable to use our Google Drive, Slack, etc., areas where we share files and work with each other. DropBox is a great way to share large files and edit them online, with people who do not use our typical channels.
  • Ability to share large files
  • Ability to share files with anyone - does not have to already be in your network
  • Ability to edit files in real time
  • Can be confusing to operate for first time users
  • If more than one person is editing at the same time, two versions will be saved which can cause confusion
  • Limited amount of storage with free account
Best suited for scenarios where you are interacting with co-workers or reps or clients who are outside of your typical network (won't have a company email/be a part of your Google Drive, etc). Also best in scenarios where you will be sending large sized files or videos that are too large to be sent over email. Less appropriate in scenarios where you would be able to use Google Drive, Slack, or another company-instituted network in place of this.
Read Shannon McNamara's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (37)
7.6
Video files (43)
8.1
Audio files (40)
8.0
Document collaboration (43)
7.4
Access control (47)
8.2
File search (48)
7.6
Device sync (46)
8.1
User and role management (45)
8.4
File organization (46)
8.7
Device management (38)
8.6
Performance (48)
8.7
Reliability (48)
9.0
Storage Reports (31)
8.6

About Dropbox Business

Dropbox Business expands on the company's cloud storage service by providing additional features, such as lost file recovery for an extended period, integration with popular office suites (e.g. Office 365), the Dropbox Paper collaboration extension, two-factor authentication (2FA) and single sign-on (SSO), tiered administrator controls and granular permission sharing, remote device wipe, API, and other features of use to larger groups and businesses.
Categories:  Collaboration,  Cloud Storage

Dropbox Business Integrations

Dropbox Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No