TrustRadius
Dropbox Business expands on the company's cloud storage service by providing additional features, such as lost file recovery for an extended period, integration with popular office suites (e.g. Office 365), the Dropbox Paper collaboration extension, two-factor authentication (2FA) and single sign-on (SSO), tiered administrator controls and granular permission sharing, remote device wipe, API, and other features of use to larger groups and businesses.Dropbox Business: Cloud Storage PlatformWe use Dropbox Business to share large video files with customers. We are a media company and some of the end products that we produce are explainer videos and video advertisements which are too large to send through email. Dropbox gives us the flexibility of controlling who can access specific files both internally and externally.,Cloud storage of large files. Makes for easy sharing and downloading. Activity tracking allows us to see when files were downloaded and by which users. Able to sync files across devices, so when updates are made they can be pushed to desktop, laptop, etc.,If you sign up to Business Advanced plan with unlimited storage you still start out with 3TB of storage. You must ask support to increase your current limit before hitting 3TB to take advantage of the extra storage. Editing files with their Office 365 integration requires purchasing a separate license for the 365 software. Minimum business package requires three licenses. Dropbox is already the more expensive option compared to GoogleDrive and OneDrive and this may not work for small businesses.,8,Dropbox allows us to share files internally and externally with employees and customers. It's definitely a useful tool that contributes to overall productivity. Version control allows us to make sure we are sharing the most up to date files.,OneDrive and Google Drive,8,9DropBox Business - the Industry Standard.DropBox Business is currently being used by the Executives in our company - mostly for remote file sharing with outside teams. We have been working with many outside teams towards a project involving a new brick and mortar retail store, and it proved important to have a method by which to share files with the outside world that did not compromise internal security. Since most of the people we deal with had DropBox in some form already, we decided to go with the Business version for our own use.,File and folder sharing is obvious - if they didn't do this well - they'd be out of business. Notifications - who did what and when as well as when new files are posted, new folders are shared, and when files are updated. Intuitive notifications that don't disturb your workflow. Teams - internal - controlling users and their access to files under a single portal - enhances the administration abilities for an IT department.,Linking of personal and Business accounts - free or paid individual - works, but confusing, to say the least. Files/folders shared with me should not count against my data limits.,9,Solved the security requirement of having a platform dedicated to remote file sharing. Placed us in sync with external teams - we adapted to use their app which made connectivity and collaboration simple. The business version cost is on par with the rest of the industry, and we've gotten a fair ROI on the investment.,Box, OneDrive, MS SharePoint, Google Drive and Apple iCloud,Box, OneDrive, Microsoft Office 365, NCR Counterpoint, Magento Open Source,9,9Dropbox for Business - powerful and efficient, but expensive and support leaves a lot to be desired.I use Dropbox for a number of my clients, and for most it's on the basic level of simply being able to store files both in the cloud and on the computer locally, as well as to easily share files and folders with other Dropbox users. One of my clients uses Dropbox extensively throughout the organization for a plethora of reasons. Many users in the organization have both a laptop and a desktop, and Dropbox allows them to keep their files in sync b/w the two computers. In addition, Dropbox is integrated with a Windows Server machine with what I call a "master" Dropbox account. On the server, their are shared folders for each user in the organization - for select users, these user folders are also linked to their Dropbox account. This allows for select users to have access to Dropbox, while still storing files on the server for non-Dropbox users to access.,Dropbox is one of the best tools to sync files b/w multiple computers. It's easy to install and integrates nicely with both macOS and Windows based system, as well as Linux systems (though it is a bit more complicated of an install process). Dropbox has a an intelligent and easy to understand conflicted file system. If one file is opened in two locations at once, Dropbox automatically creates a duplicate of the file entitle "[filename] [computer name] conflict copy [date]" - wherein the [filename] is the name of the file, the [computer] name is the name of the computer that generated the conflicted copy, and the [date] is the date the conflicted copy was made. This an invaluable tool to prevent information from being lost or over written. Dropbox has a versioning system, wherein pervious versions of a file can be accessed via the web interface. Version history also includes the ability to recover accidentally delete files. Both version history and file recovery stores files for 120 days. A unique aspect of Dropbox for Business (not found in the consumer version) is "Smart Sync." Smart Sync allows for you entire Dropbox folder to be visible on your computer at all times, but files are downloaded intelligently downloaded to save space on the local drive. If a file is stored in the cloud, but no not he computer, the minute you open the folder on the computer the file will download. Smart Sync also allows you to select files and folder to mark them as always local - meaning they will always be available both in the cloud and locally. Smart Sync is an invaluable tool when a users Dropbox folder contains more data than the local hard drive can handle. Dropbox has a fairly robust admin console, wherein you can manage users, add users, delete users, and even temporarily login as a user to view their Dropbox data without needing to know their password (or having to reset it). Dropbox supports two factor authentication, which can be enforced on a per user basis as well as organization wide basis, greatly increasing security. Dropbox provides integration with Microsoft Office, allowing for more than one person to be accessing an Office file simultaneously, and thus able to collaborate directly with the file. Team folders is a great feature that allows you to create a specific folder for a department or team within an organization. Dropbox members can be added to a specific team, and immediately have access to the team folder without it needing to be manually shared with said member. In addition, folders within a Team folder can be shared with other members outside of the team.,Dropbox support, while relatively responsive, is not always the most helpful. Often times, support will simply link you to knowledge base files without digging more into the issue. When you can elevate your issue further, it often times tech support multiple days to respond to your inquiry. Dropbox is not technically supported on Windows Server machines. While it installs and appears to work just fine, if any issue occurs with it, Dropbox support won't help you. I have never be given a real reasons as to why Dropbox is not officially supported. Dropbox recently raised their prices rather substantially and created a two tiered business option. Originally, Dropbox for Business was $10/user/month (with a minimum of 5 users), and provided access to all the admin features that were available at the time. However, now the two tiers are Dropbox for Business Standard and Dropbox for Business Advanced. Standard is now $12.5/user/month with a minimum of 3 years and Advanced is $20/user/month with a minimum of 3 years. While Standard is not that much more expensive than the previous price, Standard includes substantially less features than what were originally available. If you want all of the advanced features that were previously available, you must purchase the Advanced tier - which is double the price of what it used to be. Dropbox's auto-update feature is extremely frustrating. You have ZERO control over how or when Dropbox updates. There is no option to manually check for updates, and there is no option to turn auto-updates off. On more than one occasion, an update has caused Dropbox to close and NOT re-open. Often times, users don't realize Dropbox has quit until they notice Dropbox no longer syncing. When a sync error occurs with Dropbox, finding the underlying issue isn't always easy. Often times the Dropbox notification icon will simply state that a file can't sync do to "Access Denied." The file name is given, but not the path to the file name, nor the underlying reason of the "access denied" error. One of the biggest frustrations with Dropbox is that you can't create a shared folder within an existing shared folder. For example, you have a folder "shared_a" that you have shared with a number of people within your organization. Inside of "shared_a" is a folder "shared_sub_a" that you would like to share with a number member of your organization. You would like this person to be able to see "shared_sub_a" but not "shared_a." Unfortunately, this is currently not possible to do. You can create a completely separate folder and share that with multiple people - but that is a far more cumbersome way to do things. Team folders help to alleviate this issue somewhat (see the Pros section), but it is far from an ideal experience.,7,ROI for Dropbox is a difficult thing to measure. For some small organizations I manage, say 3-4 users, it has been easier to simply user Dropbox than implementing an in-house system. While an in-house system may cost less in the long run, one of the benefits of Dropbox is a certain amount of peace of mind of not having to deal with the technical back end. For a large organization, cost becomes a major consideration. One organization I manage currently has 15 Dropbox users. The organization is using the Advanced tier for Dropbox of Business (and the tiers are an all or nothing thing - you can not have some users on the Standard Dropbox for Business and others on the Advanced - it's either all Standard or all Advanced) - which comes out to $3600/year, a not unsubstantial amount. In-house systems (using either a central server with VPN access, or other software such as GoodSync) will typically cost more initially, but for a large organization, lifetime costs will often be less - even factoring in potential downtime and tech support needs. The main thing you or your organization needs to consider when looking at Dropbox is are the features, benefits, ease of implementation, and overall peace of mind worth the rather large monthly and yearly fees vs. implementing a different system. This is not an easy question to answer. However, if a cloud-based syncing solution must be used, Dropbox is one of the best options out there.,Apple iCloud, OneDrive, Box, Google Drive and GoodSync,8,8Dropbox is key to our oganizationI use Dropbox Business for a multi-location organization in order to conveniently store and access various types of files from simple PDFs to 40GB media files. No other solution has provided the cost-effectiveness that Dropbox Business does.,Cost-effectiveness is fantastic. Being able to have the storage space that we need for such a low cost is imported. Dropbox Business file version history and restore features are a life-saver. The ability to manage users and their access to shared organization directories helps us keep a handle on security. The Desktop app (with selective sync) is key. Being able to choose which files/folders are synced locally is necessary with the Terabytes of storage we're using.,I wish Dropbox had better features for supporting/navigating multimedia files. The single local folder sync is unfortunate. We have to use special system symlinks (Mac) to sync content in that has to live in other locations on local computers.,8,The affordability of Dropbox is what allows our organization to use it. Dropbox enables us to have a multi-site operation at a reasonable cost.,SugarSync,9,8Dropbox Business Saves Everything, Including TimeWe use Dropbox Business to store all of our company files. This includes files accessible to all employees, files only accessible to the administrative staff, and files each employee can store for use at home. We have electronic copies of all of our records now and I am able to track changes as well as undo unwanted changes. Any files that are deleted by accident can be stored easily and there is more than enough space to store all of our files.,Easily restrict file access for users Restore deleted files Track changes and restore previous versions of files Large amount of storage,You have to use the website to remove files from the shared company folder, even if you are an Admin The default settings produce a notification every time a file is edited When using mobile, the app defaults to a preview mode rather than opening the file with Word, Excel, etc.,10,It is less expensive than the previous file storage system we used. We can also downgrade the number of users and thus our payments easily. The amount of time I've saved not having to reproduce files that we inadvertently saved over is hard to measure but it has been quite a bit. Terminated employees can have their access to files rescinded quickly and remotely, saving me time and the potential hassle of losing files or having to restore deleted files.,SmartVault,Microsoft Office 365, SharpSpring, Bento for Business, RUN Powered by ADP,10,10
Unspecified
Dropbox Business
458 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Dropbox Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Dropbox Business
458 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 458 vetted Dropbox Business reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 67)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Justin Roodman profile photo
February 21, 2019

Review: "Dropbox Business: Cloud Storage Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business to share large video files with customers. We are a media company and some of the end products that we produce are explainer videos and video advertisements which are too large to send through email. Dropbox gives us the flexibility of controlling who can access specific files both internally and externally.
  • Cloud storage of large files. Makes for easy sharing and downloading.
  • Activity tracking allows us to see when files were downloaded and by which users.
  • Able to sync files across devices, so when updates are made they can be pushed to desktop, laptop, etc.
  • If you sign up to Business Advanced plan with unlimited storage you still start out with 3TB of storage. You must ask support to increase your current limit before hitting 3TB to take advantage of the extra storage.
  • Editing files with their Office 365 integration requires purchasing a separate license for the 365 software.
  • Minimum business package requires three licenses. Dropbox is already the more expensive option compared to GoogleDrive and OneDrive and this may not work for small businesses.
Dropbox is well known in the cloud storage industry. It has been around for years and has a relatively good reputation. The interface is easy to use and it makes sharing files relatively painless. The price point for the business version may be too high for small businesses, so they may want to consider a different version or competitive pricing with products like GoogleDrive or OneDrive.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
Vin Campbell profile photo
February 19, 2019

Review: "DropBox Business - the Industry Standard."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DropBox Business is currently being used by the Executives in our company - mostly for remote file sharing with outside teams. We have been working with many outside teams towards a project involving a new brick and mortar retail store, and it proved important to have a method by which to share files with the outside world that did not compromise internal security. Since most of the people we deal with had DropBox in some form already, we decided to go with the Business version for our own use.
  • File and folder sharing is obvious - if they didn't do this well - they'd be out of business.
  • Notifications - who did what and when as well as when new files are posted, new folders are shared, and when files are updated. Intuitive notifications that don't disturb your workflow.
  • Teams - internal - controlling users and their access to files under a single portal - enhances the administration abilities for an IT department.
  • Linking of personal and Business accounts - free or paid individual - works, but confusing, to say the least.
  • Files/folders shared with me should not count against my data limits.
DropBox is the industry standard for cloud file storage and cloud file sharing. The platform is well suited for all of the creative industries due to the general large file sizes in play. Cloud platforms like DropBox are also well suited for any company wishing to break away from the server workstation model and/or have the ability to take all your files "with you" wherever you go without taking up your entire hard drive. Specifically - DropBox Business is not suited for the individual user - if you don't have multiple users that you need to manage, then go with the Individual plans.
Read Vin Campbell's full review
Aaron Pinsker profile photo
February 14, 2019

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox for Business - powerful and efficient, but expensive and support leaves a lot to be desired."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Dropbox for a number of my clients, and for most it's on the basic level of simply being able to store files both in the cloud and on the computer locally, as well as to easily share files and folders with other Dropbox users. One of my clients uses Dropbox extensively throughout the organization for a plethora of reasons. Many users in the organization have both a laptop and a desktop, and Dropbox allows them to keep their files in sync b/w the two computers. In addition, Dropbox is integrated with a Windows Server machine with what I call a "master" Dropbox account. On the server, their are shared folders for each user in the organization - for select users, these user folders are also linked to their Dropbox account. This allows for select users to have access to Dropbox, while still storing files on the server for non-Dropbox users to access.
  • Dropbox is one of the best tools to sync files b/w multiple computers. It's easy to install and integrates nicely with both macOS and Windows based system, as well as Linux systems (though it is a bit more complicated of an install process).
  • Dropbox has a an intelligent and easy to understand conflicted file system. If one file is opened in two locations at once, Dropbox automatically creates a duplicate of the file entitle "[filename] [computer name] conflict copy [date]" - wherein the [filename] is the name of the file, the [computer] name is the name of the computer that generated the conflicted copy, and the [date] is the date the conflicted copy was made. This an invaluable tool to prevent information from being lost or over written.
  • Dropbox has a versioning system, wherein pervious versions of a file can be accessed via the web interface. Version history also includes the ability to recover accidentally delete files. Both version history and file recovery stores files for 120 days.
  • A unique aspect of Dropbox for Business (not found in the consumer version) is "Smart Sync." Smart Sync allows for you entire Dropbox folder to be visible on your computer at all times, but files are downloaded intelligently downloaded to save space on the local drive. If a file is stored in the cloud, but no not he computer, the minute you open the folder on the computer the file will download. Smart Sync also allows you to select files and folder to mark them as always local - meaning they will always be available both in the cloud and locally. Smart Sync is an invaluable tool when a users Dropbox folder contains more data than the local hard drive can handle.
  • Dropbox has a fairly robust admin console, wherein you can manage users, add users, delete users, and even temporarily login as a user to view their Dropbox data without needing to know their password (or having to reset it).
  • Dropbox supports two factor authentication, which can be enforced on a per user basis as well as organization wide basis, greatly increasing security.
  • Dropbox provides integration with Microsoft Office, allowing for more than one person to be accessing an Office file simultaneously, and thus able to collaborate directly with the file.
  • Team folders is a great feature that allows you to create a specific folder for a department or team within an organization. Dropbox members can be added to a specific team, and immediately have access to the team folder without it needing to be manually shared with said member. In addition, folders within a Team folder can be shared with other members outside of the team.
  • Dropbox support, while relatively responsive, is not always the most helpful. Often times, support will simply link you to knowledge base files without digging more into the issue. When you can elevate your issue further, it often times tech support multiple days to respond to your inquiry.
  • Dropbox is not technically supported on Windows Server machines. While it installs and appears to work just fine, if any issue occurs with it, Dropbox support won't help you. I have never be given a real reasons as to why Dropbox is not officially supported.
  • Dropbox recently raised their prices rather substantially and created a two tiered business option. Originally, Dropbox for Business was $10/user/month (with a minimum of 5 users), and provided access to all the admin features that were available at the time. However, now the two tiers are Dropbox for Business Standard and Dropbox for Business Advanced. Standard is now $12.5/user/month with a minimum of 3 years and Advanced is $20/user/month with a minimum of 3 years. While Standard is not that much more expensive than the previous price, Standard includes substantially less features than what were originally available. If you want all of the advanced features that were previously available, you must purchase the Advanced tier - which is double the price of what it used to be.
  • Dropbox's auto-update feature is extremely frustrating. You have ZERO control over how or when Dropbox updates. There is no option to manually check for updates, and there is no option to turn auto-updates off. On more than one occasion, an update has caused Dropbox to close and NOT re-open. Often times, users don't realize Dropbox has quit until they notice Dropbox no longer syncing.
  • When a sync error occurs with Dropbox, finding the underlying issue isn't always easy. Often times the Dropbox notification icon will simply state that a file can't sync do to "Access Denied." The file name is given, but not the path to the file name, nor the underlying reason of the "access denied" error.
  • One of the biggest frustrations with Dropbox is that you can't create a shared folder within an existing shared folder. For example, you have a folder "shared_a" that you have shared with a number of people within your organization. Inside of "shared_a" is a folder "shared_sub_a" that you would like to share with a number member of your organization. You would like this person to be able to see "shared_sub_a" but not "shared_a." Unfortunately, this is currently not possible to do. You can create a completely separate folder and share that with multiple people - but that is a far more cumbersome way to do things. Team folders help to alleviate this issue somewhat (see the Pros section), but it is far from an ideal experience.
If all your organization needs is an easy to setup and reliable way to sync files and folder b/w multiple computers, Dropbox sync engine is second to none. In addition, if you primarily work with other users, both within and without your organization, Dropbox makes it extremely easy to share files and folders with other users. There are some well designed and easy to use admin and management tools that make managing your organization fairly easy to do. Compared to other services (such as Microsoft's OneDrive or Box), the admin center is well laid out and easy to understand.

When used within a small organization - maybe a dozen employees - implementing Dropbox and scaling it out to your users is a fairly easy thing to do. However, in larger organizations, especially in an organization that is already using a centralized server for file sharing, implementing Dropbox is a far more time consuming tasks - and can take a certain amount of trial and error to implement it in the most effective way possible.

In addition, cost is a major consideration. At $12.5/user/month or $20/user/month (both if billed yearly - $15/month or $25/month if done a month-to-month basis), costs can add up quickly.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
Cameron Renfro profile photo
February 13, 2019

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox is key to our oganization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Dropbox Business for a multi-location organization in order to conveniently store and access various types of files from simple PDFs to 40GB media files. No other solution has provided the cost-effectiveness that Dropbox Business does.
  • Cost-effectiveness is fantastic. Being able to have the storage space that we need for such a low cost is imported.
  • Dropbox Business file version history and restore features are a life-saver.
  • The ability to manage users and their access to shared organization directories helps us keep a handle on security.
  • The Desktop app (with selective sync) is key. Being able to choose which files/folders are synced locally is necessary with the Terabytes of storage we're using.
  • I wish Dropbox had better features for supporting/navigating multimedia files.
  • The single local folder sync is unfortunate. We have to use special system symlinks (Mac) to sync content in that has to live in other locations on local computers.
Dropbox is great for companies that need to share access to files (and entire folders) both inside and outside of their organization. Dropbox is great for always having the latest version of a file available for all who need it. Dropbox is not well suited as a Digital Assets Management solution for media.
Read Cameron Renfro's full review
Daniel Ledbetter profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Dropbox Business Saves Everything, Including Time"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business to store all of our company files. This includes files accessible to all employees, files only accessible to the administrative staff, and files each employee can store for use at home. We have electronic copies of all of our records now and I am able to track changes as well as undo unwanted changes. Any files that are deleted by accident can be stored easily and there is more than enough space to store all of our files.
  • Easily restrict file access for users
  • Restore deleted files
  • Track changes and restore previous versions of files
  • Large amount of storage
  • You have to use the website to remove files from the shared company folder, even if you are an Admin
  • The default settings produce a notification every time a file is edited
  • When using mobile, the app defaults to a preview mode rather than opening the file with Word, Excel, etc.
If you need to store a large number of files that need to be backed up and inaccessible to some employees, but not others, Dropbox Business is great. If you don't have a lot of files and your organization is small, you probably don't need to pay for this service with its per-user pricing. If you are using very large media files, the storage space might fill up too fast compared to text files and PDFs.
Read Daniel Ledbetter's full review
Matt Graf profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Dropbox Business is fantastic for file sharing!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses Dropbox Business for sharing files with each other and with our clients. It is hugely beneficial to be able to quickly and easily share files back and forth. It has helped us to speed up not only delivering final files to clients, but also sending previews to clients -- speeding up our review/editing process.
  • A quick and easy way to share files.
  • Simple to use -- very little chance of clients being confused trying to use Dropbox.
  • Sharing is very easy.
  • I'm always up for cheaper, but you get what you pay for. The extra storage space with Business accounts is definitely worth it for sharing large files.
If you are sharing a lot of large files with team members or clients, Dropbox Business could work wonders for you. There are only a handful of ways to share large files online and Dropbox is one of the simplest and easiest ways to do so. I highly recommend it for the headache it will take away!
Read Matt Graf's full review
Alexander Palma Ibarra profile photo
December 19, 2018

Review: "Communication and secure storage with Dropbox Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox Business makes it easy to share large files that are too large to send via email. With Dropbox Business, I have solved business problems by sharing and updating documents in real time. Communication and access to files has now become very easy since all critical information is stored in the cloud safely, Dropbox Business streamlines our workflow because all collaborators can instantly modify and synchronize.
  • Dropbox Business centralizes and stores your files securely.
  • Dropbox Business has an excellent integration with other platforms and tools, which increases its functions and capabilities in performance.
  • The folders in the cloud are protected with permission of access to users, granting an extra level of security in the network for its control and management.
  • In Dropbox Business, remote device erasure is a bit complex to execute and complete.
  • Authentication of two factors (2FA), sometimes of a problem of access to the tool.
  • The Dropbox Business team can improve the quota of the monthly calls that are made through this tool.
I would highly recommend Dropbox Business to all those people or companies that are looking for a solution that can satisfy their needs for secure storage and file sharing in the network, since it has all the fundamental characteristics for this service.
Read Alexander Palma Ibarra's full review
Ron Rothstain profile photo
December 14, 2018

User Review: "Why I love Dropbox Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I can only speak for our department, but it is being used by our 20 employees as a means of uploading documents, sharing content and collaborating on feedback. It enables us to centrally locate our documents and files and have anyone, anywhere, within our department view those files. It increases our productivity and is incredibly convenient. Enables us to be productive remotely.
  • Easy access to files, as well as, simple sharing either via shared folders or links.
  • Extremely user-friendly. Easy to establish an account and start saving files. Love the compatibility with Microsoft applications.
  • Smart Sync is an innovative way to manage thousands of files easily on any device.
  • I am not a big fan of attempting to switch users to paid plans. Their initiatives to do that are very intrusive.
  • You have to manage the upload speed so it doesn't burn out the modem.
  • Occasionally, there are technical glitches that need to be addressed.
I think Dropbox Business is the best cloud sync storage pro for file storage and sharing, I can not think of a better application out there. Why would anyone want to use Google Drive, when it is so easy and efficient to use Dropbox Business? I can't think of a scenario where I would not choose Dropbox Business for my department.
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
Heather Neisen profile photo
December 14, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Great cloud storage solution for remote team that travels often"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business for all our document cloud storage. We have folders for every client and project and have organized it in ways that allow all our team members to access files in a structured way. We also use it to store frequently used documents like marketing assets, logos, letterhead, or stationary.
  • Syncs accross mobile, desktop and web browser in real-time.
  • Works with PC and Apple operating systems.
  • Allows for admin recovery of deleted files.
  • Sometimes the user experience for PC vs. Apple users can be different (PC doesn't support certain symbols or file name length)
  • If a user uses the desktop app and unselects folders, they can have a hard time finding them later.
  • Would like an easier way to limit folders to 'read-only' if necessary
For a small, remote team like ours that is often on the road, Dropbox is great because it can be accessed by anyone anywhere. The mobile app is really nice and handy in client meetings to pull up documents.
Read Heather Neisen's full review
Angelo John Lewis profile photo
December 10, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "The solution for cloud storage simplicity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a solopreneur that collaborates frequently with others. In the process of collaboration, I frequently must exchange documents and other files and have those files be available for editing by others.
  • As one who produces podcasts, I routinely save my recordings to Dropbox. Unlike some of its competitors, Dropbox has an audio player that I can use to listen to the raw podcast prior to editing.
  • As a trainer, I've posted training scripts I've created and invited my collaborators to weigh in and make changes.
  • As a writer, I've frequently uploaded drafts on Dropbox and allowed others to edit or respond to them.
  • It could allow the ability to search within particular files, as opposed to needing to search by title only.
  • Dropbox has a feature called "Paper." I suppose it's useful, but I'd like a better understanding of its utility.
Dropbox is useful for anyone engaged in the process of collaboration, particularly involving documents.
Read Angelo John Lewis's full review
Ann M. Frank profile photo
February 16, 2019

Review: "Dropbox Business helps us keep projects moving along"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business for sharing files internally, with clients and with vendors. It's especially helpful for those who don't have access to our servers. It's also the best for sharing very large files.
  • Share large files
  • Share video files
  • Share audio files
  • Share files with those located internationally
  • Limited options and space on the free version
  • Some users lost their invites to join
Dropbox Business works great for sharing large files, especially videos and audio files. We find it's the best option for sharing internationally. It is not appropriate for sharing smaller sized files you can just link to or attact— it becomes more work than you need.
Read Ann M. Frank's full review
No photo available
February 26, 2019

"Dropbox Business Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used between our creative and account departments. This is our hub of creative content where we store all our PSDs (raw or working files) but also the final files that we share with clients. We are able to either download the raw asset or share a Dropbox link with our clients.
  • Sharing content
  • Uploading and downloading content
  • Organizing multiple files in different folders
  • Workable files (unlike Google Drive)
  • User-friendly appearance
  • Security
I do think that Dropbox is an appropriate platform for storing large creative files that may be PSDs or other Adobe files. However, it is unfortunate that you can not edit documents (like excel or word documents) through this platform. It would facilitate a lot of product management, especially when there are multiple edits to a creative file.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 16, 2019

Dropbox Business Review: "Good enough for casual work"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business to synchronize, transfer and store data in our daily studio work. We use it when working with freelancers if we need quick results from them. We also use it for paperwork with our customers. Sometimes it is used by studio employees working from home if it is not possible to use VPN.
  • Dropbox works great in conjunction with Google Mail, Microsoft Office 360.
  • Simple authorization system as well as administration.
  • Service is present on all platforms (Windows, Linux, iOs, Android)
  • Works in background mode and does not overload the operating system by synchronizing updated files on the fly.
  • Dropbox saves the files history and it often helps to avoid errors just retrieving backup versions of the document.
  • The system of protection of files stored in the cloud space is not very clear, so there is no certainty that the data is completely safe. Therefore, we use mainly to store data that does not require increased privacy.
  • There is a limit of two to three TB
  • The price of the service is high for small businesses compared to Resilio Sync
  • English is preferred when communicating with customer support for a faster result.
  • There were problems in synchronizing files with a large size (more than 1 GB), which did not contribute to efficiency.
For small businesses to exchange documents, a cheaper option would be Recilio Sync or the free version of Dropbox. For a medium-sized company, Dropbox is suitable for exchanging and storing non-confidential documentation. At first, it's easier to start with a standard business plan. Perhaps the existing functions(options) would be enough, and if not, there is always an opportunity to update plan.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 15, 2019

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox: Sharing Made Easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox is used by our organization as well as myself for my personal work. It's a really great product for file storage and sharing between multiple users. Most of the features were not known until I was using for myself, but when I was a part of a team in my organization that used Dropbox for file sharing I came to know about its features.
  • Sharing between systems is really done well by Dropbox.
  • If a file is modified by any user on one system it sends notifications to others about the same.
  • Integration with many different products around the globe.
  • I faced some syncing issues in the Linux system (Linux Mint distros) while using the desktop application for Dropbox.
If any team is using any same shared folders for documents and files, then anyone can share files with everyone within seconds. We can just move our files to a Dropbox folder on our system and it will sync automatically, and notifications will be sent to other users about the modification or addition of file. Then another person can open the Dropbox folder in their system to access files. No need for hard drives or pen drives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

Review: "Dropbox Business is the best file sharing tool for your company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our full-time and temp-staffing executive search arm, we've been using Dropbox Business so that it will facilitate file sharing. It is very helpful for us because we are a firm where team members are telecommuting or working from home, some are located in Asia and the US, and a file sharing tool that will facilitate sharing and collaboration is badly needed, so that is the reason why we used Dropbox Business.
  • Creation of mother folder and sub-folders to make it easy for us categorize things.
  • You can use the web if you are using a new computer and the dropbox is not installed there.
  • Facilitates collaboration with the firm, and gets you notified if someone changes something in the project folder.
  • Whenever two people are opening the same file and putting some edits, it will get conflicted copies.
  • Notifications pop up easily.
  • I really hate the Dropbox Business badge because it is annoying and it is hard to set-up the icon so that it will not show up again.
It is well suited for a company where people are spread around the globe. It is also good for companies that make people collaborate to meet the results for every project. Lastly, it is easy to use and you don't need to be tech-savvy to know everything you can do in Dropbox Business.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 02, 2019

Dropbox Business Review: "Powerful and Effective for Media Management"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox Business is used across our organization to manage large files and work collaboratively on projects. It allows those with access to easily find and use files and Dropbox's SmartSync feature allows us to download only the files we need, saving valuable hard drive space. We use this as our central hub for all media-related projects.
  • Fast sync speeds
  • Flexible user management
  • SmartSync allows you to selectively sync files and folders to your hard drive
  • Can get expensive with a lot of users
  • Background syncing of files other users are adding can slow down computer
  • Can be confusing to link and break existing accounts when converting them to a business account
I find Dropbox Business particularly well suited as a media and file management tool for growing teams that have large files that need to be accessed by team members that may work out of different offices or remotely. It is a key tool for internal collaboration as well as sharing with external partners and collaborators. I would imagine it is not as helpful for less collaborative teams.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

"An honest review of Dropbox Business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our business unit mainly to share Excel files. We use the Google suite for just about everything else. We might share PowerPoint files as well however that is much less common. Other parts of our organization use it as well however I do not have much insight as to how.
  • File sharing
  • Syncing with computers
  • Alerting you as to when files are updated
  • You cannot beat the real time collaboration tools that the Google productivity suite provides
  • Some times versioning gets complicated when multiple people are looking at a file at the same time and even trying to save it
  • The web UI is not great however the sync with computer is wonderful
Dropbox is great if you need to share Microsoft documents and do not need real time collaboration. It also works great if you want to share any other types of files with other people. Where it is lacking is in document collaboration. I understand that is not the core use case however I find myself not using Dropbox often because I need to document collaboration features Google offers.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel Brito profile photo
July 18, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox: ¿Is there any other way to store your files?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use this software as one of the main programs to store information. We work in an institution that finances projects and we need a large amount of storage that is effective and safe. Dropbox has given us the service we want.

Currently, our entire institution uses this software, with the difference that some departments use it more than others. There is a department that tracks projects and they use this software more often because they need to keep project reports, photos, videos and coordinates of everything they have done. This has allowed us to have all our information stored in one place, in a secure way, and that is what we are looking for because it is confidential information
  • I like we can have a chat support 24 hours, and you do not have to register for a specific time
  • The storage space is 2TB. It's a good amount
  • I can easily synchronize it with the oficce 365 program
  • When you have a long time without using your account, you run the risk of losing it
  • If you are a victim of hacking, you do not have the ability to recover your information. I think they should work more on a proposal to solve that problem if that happens
  • Everything you save is in the cloud. If your password is not good, you can lose everything
The world we live in is digital. All the jobs you can find need storage in the cloud. That's where Dropbox helps you because you can save your information on the company's servers in an easy and secure way (if you have a good password) Now, the paid version of 2TB is to store a lot of information. I think there should be a paid version with less capacity. let's say 500Gb. Sometimes 2TB is a lot for one person
Read Miguel Brito's full review
Ashley N. Baker profile photo
March 22, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "The go-to for organizational file storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
File storage, content management, project management, file sharing, collaboration. It's definitely helpful to have the most recent version of each file in the same place. Business subscription is great for document collaboration and the new "paper" feature is a really great add-on. Good for storing logos and templates in one place for the organization.
  • Document backup
  • Collaboration
  • Project management
  • Saves space
  • The home panel isn't well-organized
  • It doesn't always sync every time
  • Syncing can take a while
Most useful for accessing documents on the go, or to back up files when switching to a new computer or other devices. The business subscription is great for sharing documents with co-workers, storing commonly used files (such as logos and templates), and for collaboration. Doesn't have all the features of other project management software, but for document sharing, it has everything I need. The recent updates to the platform are helpful in providing quick access to files. Also, I really like that you can link your personal and business accounts.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review
No photo available
July 25, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Just put it on Dropbox"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox business is used company wide as an integrated service with Office 365, the simple take away from this is that it makes file sharing and access a much simpler task. While there is a file server in use it doesn't allow for our remote support users to access Company Data such as Job Cards, etc. which is why Dropbox Business was implemented.

Dropbox business is also utilized when on-boarding Clients, site photos are uploaded to Dropbox and as such are immediately accessible from Head Office instead of needing to wait for someone to return with a flash drive or send them via email
  • Dropbox business can be integrated with Office 365, the simple take away from this is that it makes file sharing and access a much simpler task.
  • Dropbox business makes file access a breeze, whether on a desktop at the office or on mobile on the go you can access all the files you need at any time.
  • Dropbox business has improved security features over the standard free-to-use drop box.
  • The higher level packages can be quite pricey
  • Dropbox Business is entirely cloud-based, so no on-premise storage or hybrid implementations can be set up
  • Files can easily end up being duplicated as many users can edit a file simultaneously
Dropbox Business is perfectly suited for basic file sharing within an organization or company, or at times where one needs to share a file with an external entity, the files can be password protected so only the approved person can access the data.

It is less appropriate for Provider/client interaction, for example, I would not use Dropbox as a service to send deliverables to a client, such as reports or quotations.

It is also not suited for companies that demand stringent security measures such as banks or other financial institutions.

Read this authenticated review
Oran Bar-Tal profile photo
January 31, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Boxing Dropbox"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization. It is a good backup with history support and helps me easily share content with different team members in my organization and/or clients.
  • It has top-notch security, which is highly appreciated by my clients.
  • The history feature saved us numerous amounts of time from re-doing work.
  • Ability to track who made changes to a document, and comment on it helped us with keeping content organized and avoiding conflicts.
  • Recently we started integrating Dropbox into other product management and communication tools such as Slack and Monday. Works really good.
  • Once we had a major problem where one of the employee accidentally deleted lots of data and had to restore. It appears that this mechanism work much less effective than restoring a group of files. Eventually it took Dropbox about 2 months with resolving the issue, and us additional 2 weeks of cleanup afterwards.
  • Dropbox is getting very expensive and there are today some alternatives that have better price to value ratio.
It is very good for small organizations or very large organizations. Everything in between may have problems with the sheer cost of maintaining the users' costs. Also, it is not recommended if your company has a huge amount of data as currently, Dropbox lowered the amount of storage they're offering for small businesses.
Read Oran Bar-Tal's full review
Kelsie Hamilton profile photo
December 07, 2017

Dropbox Business Review: "Storage at its best!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox is simple, easy to use, and doesn't get too complicated. It manages our entire record keeping system. Documents, pictures, media, and trip planning items! Although we use Salesforce as our operating database system, obviously, it can't keep a hold of all of our team processes and various internal procedures. This is where Dropbox comes into play! It's used across the whole organization (which is a rather small team) and has sought to address the main issue of internal document sharing.
  • Syncs quickly
  • Can handle sizable files
  • Affordable
  • Missing strong document collaboration with team
  • Missing documents (a sync error issue)
  • Web/desktop interface
Well suited for any size team, but does have more of it limits. I'd recommend exploring all the various cloud based storage systems to know where your needs are the strongest. For us, we're a relatively small team, not technology focused, so the simplicity and strength of Dropbox was just what we needed. I think if you're a leading organization in the tech space, this might not make the most sense.
Read Kelsie Hamilton's full review
Andy Lutz profile photo
February 05, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox so that you don't drop the ball!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses Dropbox Business for file storage, folder management, and organization purposes. We are avid users of Dropbox Paper, and we use this product for almost all of our collaboration docs and drafts. Dropbox has helped us iterate quickly on new ideas and share those widely throughout the organization.
  • Allows for efficient collaboration
  • Easy to use UX
  • Auto-saves (Paper) and everything in the cloud
  • Not always easy to find docs
  • A bit messy and easy to get disorganized or cluttered
  • Not always a smooth log-in / sign-in experience
Dropbox Paper is well-suited for a small organization to immediately begin collaborating and iterating on different topics and subjects and come to a conclusion to can be implemented and referred back to. It is very important for companies early on to start documenting and recording everything for future reference and learnings.
Read Andy Lutz's full review
Rebecca Powell profile photo
February 01, 2018

"Dropbox Business Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dropbox Business has been used with my company to share assets for multiple brands of ours both in house and third parties. A lot of third parties share their information to our in house team which makes it very easy to access and download even though they are in different countries and different time zones. It is very easy to use and very accessible.
  • Accessibility
  • Easy To Use
  • Mac and Desktop Friendly
  • Sometimes long load times for big files
Dropbox Business is well suited for companies that have a lot of large files in different formats because it allows 2TB. Once you share folders with others you never know how many files they are putting in as well, but I have never had to worry about space with Dropbox Business.
Read Rebecca Powell's full review
Jon Gabriel Bolland II profile photo
January 23, 2018

Dropbox Business Review: "Dropbox does its Share"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dropbox Business for our construction jobs. From bidding to throughout the project. This enables us to share drawings, and documents without the need to buy NAS devices for all our job sites. We use the file request feature to get files from our subs and owners without the need of them also having a Dropbox account.
  • Dropbox Business makes file sharing with those outside of the company much easier, especially larger files or even folders.
  • User management is quite easy with dropbox.
  • It is easy to get files from people outside the company.
  • Sub folder sharing is still wanky. It should be easier to share a folder within a folder and to have a share hierarchy.
  • Updating should be easier for companies that use a software restriction policy. Even with exceptions we need to use a third party software deployment solution to keep our dropbox clients updated.
  • Single Sign On should be easier to find when logging in on the mobile and desktop applications.
When sharing non-sensitive documents it is well suited. If you are not sharing financial, medical or personal data Dropbox is a great tool. However, if you are using Dropbox in those scenarios there is really the need for third-party plugins to give more control and governance around the data. Third party tools will scan documents and make sure they are not being shared inappropriately and even further encrypt sensitive data.
Read Jon Gabriel Bolland II's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (51)
8.2
Video files (60)
8.4
Audio files (57)
8.5
Document collaboration (60)
7.5
Access control (64)
8.7
File search (65)
8.0
Device sync (63)
8.5
User and role management (62)
8.6
File organization (64)
8.8
Device management (55)
8.5
Performance (66)
9.1
Reliability (66)
9.1
Storage Reports (46)
8.8

About Dropbox Business

Dropbox Business expands on the company's cloud storage service by providing additional features, such as lost file recovery for an extended period, integration with popular office suites (e.g. Office 365), the Dropbox Paper collaboration extension, two-factor authentication (2FA) and single sign-on (SSO), tiered administrator controls and granular permission sharing, remote device wipe, API, and other features of use to larger groups and businesses.
Categories:  Collaboration,  Cloud Storage

Dropbox Business Integrations

Dropbox Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No