TrustRadius
Halogen Software offers a cloud-based talent management suite that reinforces and drives higher employee performance across multiple talent programs, including recruiting, performance management, learning and development, succession planning and compensation. Halogen Software aims to help organizations build workforces that are aligned, inspired and focused on delivering results. Halogen Sofware solutions also include industry-vertical editions.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/dq/25/GG169383UI1D.JPEGHalogen - Great Performance Product; Needs Improvement on FunctionalityWe currently use Halogen to manage our Performance Management cycle for our organization. We also utilize the Learning Management module of Halogen to allow our employees to take their career to the next level through learning. It is being used across the whole organization for our staff-level positions. The business problems that it addresses is training needs and feedback needs for our employees.,It is a tool that promotes continuous feedback. I like that Halogen has a lot of different processes that can be used for any stage of the Human Resources lifecycle like onboarding, performance, compensation, etc.,The functionality of the system definitely needs to be improved. For example, just from looking at Saba Cloud it looks like it is a more well-rounded system that is more modern than Halogen is. The learning curve of Halogen is one of the cons of the system. Anytime we have someone come onboard with our HR team, it takes a long time for someone to become comfortable with the system. Customer Service should be easy to be reached. Chat features, more responsiveness from Client Success Managers, etc.,5,The negative impact has been the way the pricing has been set up for additional licenses being needed. We would love to as a company extend Halogen to our Non-Staff associates, instead of just staff. However, we know the cost would be very expensive. We have about 3000 Non-Staff employees compared to the almost 150-200 Staff employees that we have.,PaycomHalogen TalentSpace up to parWe use Halogen TalentSpace throughout our entire organization, from our CEO, to our lab technicians. It allows everyone to continuously track progress, feedback and team activities for our company.,We are able to complete our monthly safety compliance requirements by creating our learning courses in the LMS. We use the 1:1 sessions to record followup on outstanding topics and compliment one another on outstanding job performance. We use the 360 multirater to get additional perspective from those in our company for annual reviews.,I would like to see the performance review document to actually be an online process instead of it looking like a paper document. It seems antiquated. It would be a huge benefit if we could add some of the functionality and/or features from SABA to Halogen if we chose to. It is a shame to have the companies merge and not be able to use all of the benefits of both.,8,It has had a positive impact by allowing our employees to view their goals and manage their performance throughout the year. The negative is that there are some modules we pay for that we have never used.,,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, HubSpotHalogen from a new employee perspectiveIt is currently being used across the company for all appraisals and performance reviews. We are also slowly bringing in learning.,Set up for a form/appraisal Per-filled/customizable answers Able to compare previous years,Customization to the home page Learning can be more intuitive (please upgrade more like Saba) Easier customization to forms,8,Reports are easy and trackable - company is able to see trends Notifications reminders are fantastic, save managers time,Saba and Oracle PeopleSoft HCMHalogen ReviewWe use Halogen across the entire organization for Job Descriptions, eLearning, and appraisals. We use it to record feedback, provide an easy-to-use platform for administering our review process, and also as a vehicle for tracking compliance for annual required education and tracking/monitoring certifications for the BOH. Recently we have updated our job descriptions in Halogen, and hope to use that information to help develop succession plans which will allow us to be more strategic in the way we approach training and development.,Halogen is very customizable and it allows for the possibility of utilizing processes in creative ways. I like the integration of feedback with appraisal processes. Halogen also allows for creating development plans that leverage many of its components.,I would like to see the eLearning platform be more robust and user-friendly. I would like to see other types of processes available. It would be great to be able to categorize the documents import area.,7,It has provided a way to efficiently monitor and report development progress It has also created a need for a position that primarily focuses on Halogen administration.,,ADP Enterprise eTIME, ADP Workforce NowHalogen is a First Rate Product with Outstanding Service for Clients!Our entire company uses Halogen TalentSpace. We implemented the solution to provide an easy transition from annual Performance Review feedback to regular coaching, goal-focused conversations between managers and their employees on a monthly basis. Halogen allows managers and employees to easily track goals, feedback, development, and other important conversations in one place that can be easily accessed and referenced.,1:1 agendas are easy to create, add comments to and prompt excellent conversation flow on the topics that truly matter to the manager and the employee. The system can be easily customized to reflect your company's language and culture. We did this in several areas of the platform (goals, development, learning), and it made a world of difference in the understanding and adaptation of our users. One example is that in each learning module, we added 3 questions in the course description so that managers would be automatically prompted to ask to follow up / learning transfer questions when their employees enroll and take a learning course. Halogen support is outstanding. Any question I have had has been answered upon the first contact or within 24 hours.,The e-appraisal processes can be tricky to create and navigate on the admin side. I find that testing each process using the test users that Halogen provides within the system is critical to ensuring the process and the form is operating as I intended it to prior to releasing a process to our organization. The succession module works backward from how we currently approach our succession/Talking Talent process and unfortunately it's not customizable to be able to accommodate our process. This was disappointing to hear and therefore we are not currently using this module to its full capacity.,10,Consistent goal setting and monthly 1:1 conversations across our entire company - especially as it relates to our sales teams. Consistent 1:1 dialogue and process has driven a more focused coaching conversation for a positive impact on our sales pipeline and close rate. This has been the biggest impact we have realized from the system. On-demand learning availability for all employees. We partnered with LinkedIn Learning for content that is easily searchable and viewable by all employees at any time through the Learning platform in Halogen. Employees engaging in learning activities has significantly increased.,Cornerstone OnDemand,ADP Workforce Now, Jobvite
Windows, Linux, Mac
Halogen TalentSpace
75 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Halogen TalentSpace Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Halogen TalentSpace
75 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 75 vetted Halogen TalentSpace reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 49)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jenise Brown profile photo
August 23, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen - Great Performance Product; Needs Improvement on Functionality"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Halogen to manage our Performance Management cycle for our organization. We also utilize the Learning Management module of Halogen to allow our employees to take their career to the next level through learning.

It is being used across the whole organization for our staff-level positions.

The business problems that it addresses is training needs and feedback needs for our employees.
  • It is a tool that promotes continuous feedback.
  • I like that Halogen has a lot of different processes that can be used for any stage of the Human Resources lifecycle like onboarding, performance, compensation, etc.
  • The functionality of the system definitely needs to be improved. For example, just from looking at Saba Cloud it looks like it is a more well-rounded system that is more modern than Halogen is.
  • The learning curve of Halogen is one of the cons of the system. Anytime we have someone come onboard with our HR team, it takes a long time for someone to become comfortable with the system.
  • Customer Service should be easy to be reached. Chat features, more responsiveness from Client Success Managers, etc.
It is well-suited because it has a lot of different processes, forms, and competencies that can be used. However, the functionality of the system is very old and it should be more modernized.
Read Jenise Brown's full review
No photo available
August 23, 2018

User Review: "Halogen TalentSpace up to par"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen TalentSpace throughout our entire organization, from our CEO, to our lab technicians. It allows everyone to continuously track progress, feedback and team activities for our company.
  • We are able to complete our monthly safety compliance requirements by creating our learning courses in the LMS.
  • We use the 1:1 sessions to record followup on outstanding topics and compliment one another on outstanding job performance.
  • We use the 360 multirater to get additional perspective from those in our company for annual reviews.
  • I would like to see the performance review document to actually be an online process instead of it looking like a paper document. It seems antiquated.
  • It would be a huge benefit if we could add some of the functionality and/or features from SABA to Halogen if we chose to. It is a shame to have the companies merge and not be able to use all of the benefits of both.
Halogen, like all systems has its limitations. The learning portion is quite amazing, however, the DDI courses are not impressive. The competencies are simply built into the Learning, yet not designed around any path. Each path has to manually be created.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 17, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen from a new employee perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used across the company for all appraisals and performance reviews. We are also slowly bringing in learning.
  • Set up for a form/appraisal
  • Per-filled/customizable answers
  • Able to compare previous years
  • Customization to the home page
  • Learning can be more intuitive (please upgrade more like Saba)
  • Easier customization to forms
I would definitely recommend for appraisals but not for learning.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Bryant, PHR profile photo
April 17, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace: "Halogen Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen across the entire organization for Job Descriptions, eLearning, and appraisals. We use it to record feedback, provide an easy-to-use platform for administering our review process, and also as a vehicle for tracking compliance for annual required education and tracking/monitoring certifications for the BOH. Recently we have updated our job descriptions in Halogen, and hope to use that information to help develop succession plans which will allow us to be more strategic in the way we approach training and development.
  • Halogen is very customizable and it allows for the possibility of utilizing processes in creative ways.
  • I like the integration of feedback with appraisal processes.
  • Halogen also allows for creating development plans that leverage many of its components.
  • I would like to see the eLearning platform be more robust and user-friendly.
  • I would like to see other types of processes available.
  • It would be great to be able to categorize the documents import area.
I think it's a good platform for tracking and monitoring goals, feedback, and development. We don't use the 1:1 meeting feature, however, I can see how that would be valuable for many organizations. I do like that it is very customizable, however, that also presents problems in that sometimes forms and/or processes can be a bit challenging to create easily and quickly.
Read Eric Bryant, PHR's full review
Bonnie Van Epps profile photo
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace: "Halogen is a First Rate Product with Outstanding Service for Clients!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses Halogen TalentSpace. We implemented the solution to provide an easy transition from annual Performance Review feedback to regular coaching, goal-focused conversations between managers and their employees on a monthly basis. Halogen allows managers and employees to easily track goals, feedback, development, and other important conversations in one place that can be easily accessed and referenced.
  • 1:1 agendas are easy to create, add comments to and prompt excellent conversation flow on the topics that truly matter to the manager and the employee.
  • The system can be easily customized to reflect your company's language and culture. We did this in several areas of the platform (goals, development, learning), and it made a world of difference in the understanding and adaptation of our users. One example is that in each learning module, we added 3 questions in the course description so that managers would be automatically prompted to ask to follow up / learning transfer questions when their employees enroll and take a learning course.
  • Halogen support is outstanding. Any question I have had has been answered upon the first contact or within 24 hours.
  • The e-appraisal processes can be tricky to create and navigate on the admin side. I find that testing each process using the test users that Halogen provides within the system is critical to ensuring the process and the form is operating as I intended it to prior to releasing a process to our organization.
  • The succession module works backward from how we currently approach our succession/Talking Talent process and unfortunately it's not customizable to be able to accommodate our process. This was disappointing to hear and therefore we are not currently using this module to its full capacity.
Halogen has been transformative for us in how we approach the manager and employee performance conversations, goal setting and feedback. The 1:1 module and performance processes have provided an incredible platform for tracking, reporting and standardizing the way our company approaches these performance areas while still allowing flexibility for the manager and employee. The system worked so well for us because we did not have a process in place and our implementation team was able to help us create our process for this using the system capabilities.
Read Bonnie Van Epps's full review
L Bednar, Learning and Development Guru profile photo
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Great product!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Halogen companywide. We use if for talent recruitment, orientation, performance review, and coaching. I find the modules user-friendly, easy to manage and use. Our managers are especially pleased with the product because it makes performance management and coaching an easy process. They like having the ability to keep all records in one place.
  • The coaching piece is great because we personalize it with our values and branding.
  • We have customized the feedback piece with our own visuals and branding. It makes it easy for our managers to give and track feedback.
  • We use if for onboarding pieces. I like that it sends automatic reminders.
  • I think the ability to track training other than e-Learning would be a huge improvement
  • I would like the ability to customize some of the training trackings
I like the Halogen platform. It is easily customizable and easy to use for the most part. I like the ability to track things and the automated messages. My favorite thing about Halogen is the performance management piece. I like that it is so varied and that our managers can learn to use it without a lot of training. I would like to see the recruitment management piece become easier to use. It is a little clunky.
Read L Bednar, Learning and Development Guru's full review
Janice R. Love profile photo
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Simple Performance Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We currently use Halogen for building Job descriptions and for Performance Management. We have been using the system approximately five years now. I really appreciate the features that allow for feedback and ongoing performance management all year long.

The system is being used consistently throughout the organization not just for managers and supervisors. Associates use the system to manage their own performance by being able to track their objectives and being able to document activities including steps toward reaching their performance objectives. Those who use the system correctly are able to cut back on the time to complete the annual appraisal.

We also use Halogen to do additional processes that were typically done on paper such as exit interviews, performance improvement plans, onboarding, completing the conflict of interest form, communicating salary changes, fitness subsidy, and tuition reimbursement. I am constantly searching for paper processes that can be moved over to Halogen for improved compliance and reporting.

  • The Outlook Feedback Plugin is a perfect way for managers and associates to provide quick feedback to others. Being able to access Feedback in Outlook makes it easier and quicker to keep the conversations going.
  • The Job description feature is great as we can assign job description s upon hire and have a sign-off process that the associate has read and acknowledged receipt of their JD. The employee can also access the job description whenever they want to.
  • Halogen prices based on users and if an associate leaves the organization we cannot replace the license. If an employee leaves within their first 90 days we still have to pay for the license they have used.
  • I like to do different processes in Halogen that have nothing to do with appraisals. However, the word appraisal cannot be taken out of the process. So when I want to assign a task to read a form, the system will only allow the terminology to read, "read the appraisal."
For the annual performance appraisal, Halogen is the best. They understand performance management and have all of the tools you need to carry out the intermittent or the annual performance appraisal. I really like the ability to add a due date to performance objectives and then have the ability to send reminders that the objective is due soon. I can set up the schedule the way that I want to.
Read Janice R. Love's full review
Jennifer Vedrani profile photo
April 24, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "1:1 and Feedback Changed our Organization!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the system for onboarding and learning and have been very fond of the 1:1 module as well.
  • 1:1 is fantastic
  • Learning content is easy to upload and manage.
  • The performance module is great, but it can be challenging to train on.
  • 1:1s are very functional
  • Feedback can be great - we use it to deliver training snippets.
Read Jennifer Vedrani's full review
Sandra Neal profile photo
April 20, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Confessions of a Construction Industry Administrator"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen company-wide for annual performance appraisals. It documents our employees' progress from one year to the next and helps supervisors incorporate peer feedback into their employees' reviews.
  • As an administrator of our processes, I love Halogen's support team. I call on them often leading up to and during a process. In the rare case that they can't resolve my problem right away, they work on it quickly to get back to me with a solution.
  • Halogen has a robust feature set and is highly customizable. It can be overwhelming to a process administrator the first time through (if the process is complex), but it's nice to know the platform can do just about anything I ask of it.
  • The user interface has gotten a lot nicer in the past few versions. That's important as our users are shifting more toward mobile devices.
  • The flip side of such a robust platform is learning curve for administrators. If you have a complex process, it can take many hours and mistakes for the process to get set up just right and executed smoothly. If the organization isn't patient, or if the administrator can't focus on running a complex process, it may be hard to maximize the investment from the people side.
Halogen is great if you need to run a complex process, get multi-rater feedback, and/or collect succession information from managers. Like any tool, it will NOT solve your people/culture problems. If your people don't like the current appraisal process, don't feel like they get good feedback from their managers, etc... address these BEFORE adding Halogen to the mix.
Read Sandra Neal's full review
Sean Pratt   CHRP profile photo
April 13, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "A Nice Simple Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen is being used company-wide. All employees use Halogen for a) compliance learning, and b) performance management. It's allowed us to manage the flow of our performance management cycle by monitoring who's completed their tasks, who needs to receive those reminder notifications, and it allows us to archive past appraisals for review if need be.
  • It's a simple interface, both for administrators and end users
  • Support has always been very efficient in getting back to me
  • It's still being updated, new versions released with improvements
  • There are some obvious gaps in functionality. Features that feel intuitive are just missing
  • Browser compatibility has been an issue with us, but that may just be an internal disconnect
I would say for an employee base that all have similar goals, it'd be a really good tool. For example, we have about 1000+ employees who all share performance metrics data and their goals are based on that. I think Halogen is a great tool for that because it allows really easy administration of setting up goals, monitoring and comparing employees, and auditing final appraisal results.Corporate employees who are more focused on development and not necessarily goals that are measurable, I feel like Halogen may not have the same type of impact in these situations.
Read Sean Pratt CHRP's full review
Abby Steele profile photo
April 12, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen Talent Space, great customer service"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen Talent Space is used by the entire company as the main source of performance appraisals and feedback between management and employees. Using the software uniformly allows for greater tracking and reporting ability on the progress of each step in the appraisal process. We are currently trying to implement additional functionality of Halogen Talent Space, including the job description builder and the competency library.
  • The tracking aspect of determining what status a performance appraisal is in for each employee is very useful.
  • The ability for anyone in the organization to provide feedback to another co-worker using the Feedback Central Halogen link in Outlook is truly great.
  • It is also nice, from the administrator side, to be able to set up a New Years evaluation process for every employee and know that the process will be tracked and started based on the time frame that we have established upfront.
  • The navigation from the administrator side is not the most intuitive feature. Some of the programming is very different from other similar software suites that have been used in the past, there is a great learning curve.
  • I wish there were greater connectivity capabilities between Halogen Talent Space and our HRIS system. It would make data integration much less work, and easier to do throughout the year when we add staff to our headcount.
When there are large enough companies to where manually tracking performance evaluations is no longer possible, Halogen Talent Space offers a pretty remarkable solution. Also, I think the system does a great job of aligning the appraisal process for all of our managers, even though some of them are in very different and varied roles.
Read Abby Steele's full review
Jennifer Keith profile photo
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace: "Halogen review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen is used across our company to manage reviews, learning management, compensation, and for onboarding policy sign-offs. All administrative employees have access and are required to use the system for some of these things, depending on their roles. Performance reviews are all completed in Halogen, which helps us keep track of who has received a performance review and when. Before Halogen, our completion rate of reviews was much poorer.
  • Performance Reviews
  • Compensation Module
  • End User experience for TalentSpace
  • Learning is definitely Halogen's weakest arena. It is somewhat difficult to navigate and interact with.
  • The back end of admin is clunky and dated.
Halogen is great for Talent Management. It is just learning that I would recommend they look somewhere else (their partner/owner company, Saba, has an amazing learning platform). Halogen also works very well for compensation. There is a tiered approach to giving raises that go up the chain of command that lets managers control over raises, but makes sure higher-ups get to confirm and sign off.
Read Jennifer Keith's full review
Melanie Griffin profile photo
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Great for performance tracking"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Halogen throughout our whole organization. We are a library system with eleven locations across our county, and everyone uses Halogen for at least one process per year, in our annual appraisal process. Everyone is added into Halogen in their first week as an employee, and we encourage individual usage of it as much as the user finds useful, which varies widely across our jobs. It mainly addresses our appraisal and pay for performance raise system as implemented at the end of each year. We are also using it for our executive director's annual assessment and bonus discussions.
  • Halogen TalentSpace is great for individual tracking of performance. You can add goals directly to the profile, add documents such as emails, and update anything at any time. That is super helpful.
  • Halogen TalentSpace is also super useful for performance tracking on an HR level. We apply raises that depend on annual review scores each year, so to have all those scores in one place in the same process is a lifesaver. We also love how easy the reporting aspect is.
  • Halogen TalentSpace has gotten noticeably easier for our employees to use from year to year. We have a lot of employees who have been with us for decades and were used to our old paper process and so were reluctant to move to an electronic process. But Halogen is easy to both teach and tweak every year so we can get everybody comfortable with us, and we've had a noticeable drop in technical issues calls (to our office for internal help) over the past five years.
  • I am sticking with the old view of reports for Halogen TalentSpace because although the new view gives you more details, it's hard to set up so that you see exactly what you need to.
  • I wish I could adjust the wording/coding more on the admin side because some of the labels Halogen uses for sections are different than what we use but I can't change them and that is sometimes confusing to users, especially supervisors.
  • Nobody really likes the updated home page view, including myself, because it adds extraneous information but hides details that used to be available with a quick glance.
It's very appropriate and well suited for talent management processes. We use it for our probationary processes - our employees go through three in their first six months, and it's very easy to move them through the processes. I appreciate the options of either a rolling process based on anniversary dates or a scheduled annual timeframe. We use both, and both work well. The annual process is our best utilization for TalentSpace, because I can see everybody's progress, pull reports on scores, and adjust managers/employees as we go along. The 360 module is also great for our executive director's appraisal process because we had been trying to find a way to pull together all her raters' answers for years and this makes it really easy.
Read Melanie Griffin's full review
Ashley O'Roark profile photo
April 09, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Super User Friendly Software with great Trainers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Halogen Software as a performance management solution throughout the campus. This has helped us track and ensure that performance appraisals are being completed throughout the organization.
  • Customization. Halogen can be configured to the needs of our organization.
  • Training. The training provided by Halogen on the software and soft skills need to successfully use the software is exceptional.
  • Ease of Use. The software is extremely user friendly even for those who are not computer savvy.
This software can be used in many different scenarios: performance appraisals, new employee checklists, employee surveys, etc.
Read Ashley O'Roark's full review
Nicole Waterbury profile photo
April 17, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "You Got This"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across our Organization as its performance management tool. We also use Halogen to create and store our job descriptions. We implemented Halogen based on feedback from a culture survey taken by our team members to gain more feedback about their performance. Previous to Halogen, we did not have a formalized process or system in place to capture performance.
  • Their Support Team is amazing
  • They offer a wide variety of modules
  • Performance management is their niche
  • I think an updated reporting tool would be beneficial
  • How Saba can help more of the mid to lower size companies
Performance management is their niche. I think Halogen could benefit from Saba to increase their functionality experience and knowledge in other modules like compensation, learning management.
Read Nicole Waterbury's full review
Gurinder Kaur CHRP, MBA (Pursuing CHRL) profile photo
April 16, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Our Performance Manager"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Streamlining our performance management process.
  • It's customizable
  • Support is readily available if you are stuck at a process
  • Great training provided
  • More training for administrators as this product is very extensive
  • Users need to have basic knowledge of HTML knowledge
Halogen is very customizable but needs full focus to achieve the desired result. It's definitely helpful to have a dedicated resource to manage this product in your organization.
Read Gurinder Kaur CHRP, MBA (Pursuing CHRL)'s full review
Dan Hamann, SPHR, SHRM-SCP profile photo
April 12, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Powerful Talent Management Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen throughout the majority of our firm to assist with performance evaluations and goal setting processes.
  • First and foremost, the support is outstanding.
  • Halogen maintains a great audit trail within the software that tracks each process and individual interaction.
  • Halogen listens to their customers. Unique requests or concerns are helpful in forward thinking and the continual evolution of the product.
  • I am always looking to see more functionality for professional services clients. Tremendous changes in the last few upgrades that address multiple managers rather than just direct-line reporting.
We have not regretted moving to Halogen and continue to enjoy the benefits. We came from paper processes and the integration team made things very easy. I highly recommend it to those wanting to automate their performance evaluation, goal setting, etc.
Read Dan Hamann, SPHR, SHRM-SCP's full review
Dedra Ambriz profile photo
April 11, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Rave"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen is used across the whole organization. It eliminated the need for home grown programs and added more flexibility for leaning needs.
  • Evaluations
  • Online Job Description Library
  • Learning
  • Job Description Builder
  • Initial implementation
  • Reports
Allows us to develop evolutions based on the job descriptions, which helps with consistency.
Read Dedra Ambriz's full review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Great Customer Service Team!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen TalentSpace is used by the whole company to manage our performance management process. Last year we implemented the 1:1 Exchange module which was the basis for our "Check-ins" program which encourages our employees to have monthly goal-setting and quarterly development conversations with their managers. These meetings replace the conversation between employees and managers at the end of the year to discuss performance. We believe that these ongoing conversations throughout the year help employees stay on track with their goals throughout the year and managers are able to provide timely feedback and support.
  • I think their Support Center is great! All of their Customer Service Representatives are knowledgeable, friendly, and able to troubleshoot any and all issues I've had in the past. I am very impressed with the breadth of knowledge that each representative has - every time I've called them, they were able to resolve my problem.
  • Halogen's dashboard is very user-friendly. The dashboard allows the user to sort, filter, and manipulate data in order to create compelling reports.
  • Version 18 of Halogen looks very sleek and is user-friendly. With simple instruction, employees are able to log in, enter their goals, and review their performance using the navigation menu on the left. Also from an administrator's perspective, it is very easy to navigate on the back-end.
  • My organization does not use all of the functions/modules that Halogen offers, but I find that those modules still appear on the Halogen main page. I think a great area for improvement is to hide these functions so as not to confuse employees.
Halogen TalentSpace is a great tool for both administrators and the end-user. I think the best part about being a Halogen client is that their Support Center is 10/10. The wait times are very short, and the customer service representatives are polite, friendly, knowledgeable, and always able to resolve my problems. While on the phone with one of their representatives recently, they took me step by step on the site to show me how to troubleshoot an issue, and followed up with an e-mail and summarized the solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 13, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen (Appraisals and Learning modules)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen globally for performance appraisals, goal-setting, and just rolled out learning as well.
  • Technical support is great. They generally know what they're talking about and are available 24 hours a day.
  • They're quick to help you understand what upgrading to the next version will do for you, and want you to get the most out of your product.
  • Reporting is a bit clunky and took some getting used to.
  • You can get pretty in-the-weeds quickly with some of the processes. It's a catch-22. It's nice to have a feature to change/adjust so much, but it's easy for a new user to get confused by everything.
We love the global functionality and language packs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

Review: "If you want to fall in love with an HR Tech provider, choose Halogen TalentSpace!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen TalentSpace is a wonderful software to have your back for all HR functions. We currently use it for performance management and talent management at the company and are extremely happy with the product functionality and service. It is used in all our group companies currently and has been a seamless solution. As the account manager, I can safely recommend it to all users!
  • Goals Administration
  • Feedback Management
  • Customer Service
  • All of it is really built well.
  • The KPI section can further improve, although it is a great one even now.
  • Training plans have been improving and we would love to see it going ahead.
Halogen TalentSpace is best-suited for all performance management and e-appraisal functions and projects.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Great product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen was used for doing annual and engagement reviews for our staff.
  • Great customer service!
  • Easy setup for reviews
  • Able to customize reviews to meet our needs
  • There are some technical glitches that we run into from time to time.
This is a great tool for our annual reviews. It is a very streamlined process that is easy to use for everyone involved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Customer Service"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Halogen across the organization for training (which I am not involved with) as well as performance management.
  • The customer support is great. Very short wait times, no language barriers, and knowledgeable associates. They always follow up with an email as well, which I find helpful.
  • The appraisal side is user-friendly for employees and administrators.
  • You do have a dedicated CSM in addition to the general support line
  • I constantly receive notifications that I am already logged in and need to sign out. This is very frustrating and the #1 complaint I receive from employees.
  • Additional customization could be helpful.
  • I have heard that the training side could be improved, but I am not involved and do not know specifics.
If customer service is important to you, I would definitely recommend Halogen. They are extremely helpful and thorough in their explanations. We have not had any significant issues with the performance management side of things. We use it for training as well, and I have heard that it could improve in that area.
Read this authenticated review
Karen Blalock profile photo
July 15, 2016

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen to the rescue! Your One-Stop-Shop for On-boarding, Development, Learning and More!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization implemented Halogen across the organization 2 years ago. Halogen allows us to address development issues, Succession issues, form consistency issues, and provides one central location to store the data.
  • Halogen makes it easy to connect with your employees around Goals and Development plans. As a Leader, you are able to enter and/or assign Development Activities whether it is an external activity or a Learning Activity that has been setup in Halogen.
  • Halogen allows you to give and receive feedback, which is a crucial component to Development. By utilizing Feedback Central you can easily attach these items received throughout the year to any Evaluation process that you have created ... eliminating the need to re-type!
  • Halogen's Learning Module allows you to purchase of variety of e-Learning content and assign these course to specific competencies within your organization. You can also create Instructor Led Learning Activities and have employees Enroll.
  • Learning Paths are another great way to get everyone within a department or the organization on the same training page (New Employees, Department Specific, etc.) Learning Paths are various Learning Activities that you group together and can assign to individual employees or entire groups. You can add prerequisites, documentation, url's, or SCORM compliant data to test th knowledge of your employee once they have completed the course.
  • When creating Evaluation Processes the limitations around the number of Goals that will push over to the form can be frustrating to some departments/positions. Only the first 10 will automatically come over.
  • The ability to attach any Documents that you have saved within Halogen should have a way to link to any Feedback that is entered in through Feedback Central.
  • The file size of and media that is attached to a Learning Activity or Path could be increased to accommodate more elaborate videos/presentations.
I love the benefits of Succession Planning that Halogen provides. The succession questions appear at the bottom of your evaluation processes and really takes the guess work on your high potentials, low performers and those who are approaching retirement.
Read Karen Blalock's full review
Sarah Redmond profile photo
July 19, 2016

Halogen TalentSpace Review: "Halogen works for us!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Halogen was introduced as part of a broad talent program at Schiavello. It started with performance reviews, then we are movig on to KPI setting and regular performance conversations throughout the company.
  • Easy navigation - what they have to do comes up front and centre.
  • Uncluttered - Keeping the important things and getting rid of the annoying parts of so many talent systems.
  • Modularised - people know what they are focussing on when they go in.
  • White Labelling - would be nice to have some more opportunity for branding internally
Halogen is well suited where you have a disparate workforce and need a tool that covers a lot of different skillsets, technology levels and role types. It's possibly not best suited to high tech or somewhere that has a much younger demographic.
Read Sarah Redmond's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Corporate goal setting (19)
7.4
Subordinate goal setting (18)
7.3
Individual goal setting (21)
7.5
Line-of sight-visibility (20)
6.6
Performance tracking (21)
7.3
Performance plans (17)
8.0
Plan weighting (5)
8.7
Manager note taking (3)
7.6
Performance improvement plans (18)
7.3
Review status tracking (20)
8.1
Rater nomination workflow (5)
7.8
Review reminders (21)
8.1
Workflow restrictions (5)
8.1
Multiple review frequency (17)
7.5
Reporting (21)
7.9

About Halogen TalentSpace

Halogen, now a part of Saba Software, offers an organically built cloud-based talent management suite — Halogen TalentSpace™ — that reinforces and drives higher employee performance across all talent programs — whether that is recruiting, performance management, learning and development, succession planning or compensation.

Halogen TalentSpace™ provides end-to-end, fully integrated applications that were designed to organically support optimal employee performance. Each module works together to streamline talent management operations, while also aligning a company's workforce with their business strategy. The software offers industry-specific solutions to address the unique requirements and challenges of mid-size companies in healthcare, professional services, manufacturing, the public sector and more.

With countless features, Halogen TalentSpace™ is a comprehensive performance management software offering a consistent and user-friendly interface. The powerful, yet simple-to-use solutions are used by organizations that want to build a world-class workforce that is aligned, inspired and focused on delivering exceptional results.

Halogen TalentSpace Features

Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Does not have featurePlan weighting
Has featureManager note taking
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Does not have featureRater nominations
Does not have featureRater nomination workflow
Has featureReview reminders
Does not have featureWorkflow restrictions
Does not have featureReview transfer
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Has featureReporting
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureSubordinate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Does not have featureNon-hierarchical goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Additional Features
Has featureInstant, social feedback and recognition: Use Halogen Feedback Central™ to capture in-the-moment coaching tips, feedback and recognition from managers, peers, HR teams. Convert emails into feedback entries and share feedback anytime, anywhere using your mobile phone or tablet.
Has featureDetailed employee appraisals: Managers have quick fingertip access to all the information they need — from feedback, results from self-evaluations, multirater assessments and past appraisals, talent profiles, employee goals and development plans, to Halogen 1:1 Exchange™ meeting minutes. Halogen Performance comes with nearly 5,000 preconfigured performance comments and coaching tips to modify, or you can create your own.
Has featureCompetency management: Easily evaluate your employees' demonstration of key competencies, build your competitive advantage and help define your culture — your way. Use our extensive competency library (which includes Lean competencies), yours, or one of the third-party libraries available with Halogen Performance.
Has featureGoal management: With Halogen Performance, link individual goals to the organizational goals they support, so employees have 20/20 vision into the value and relevance of their work. Then easily track and communicate progress on goals at every level
Has featureCareer and development planning: Create career and professional development plans as part of your employee performance management process whenever you identify a learning need. Tie development plans and activities directly to competencies, for greater context, or set them independently to support career aspirations and/or goal performance.
Has featureInstant view of your organizational structure: Halogen Talent View™ uses dynamic filtering and highlighting to provide the critical indicators that matter to your business — across all your talent management programs.
Has featureReal-time reporting: You can also pinpoint the status of every appraisal, track progress on goals, identify development needs across the organization, compare and calibrate performance ratings, identify top performers and those at risk, and more.

Halogen TalentSpace Screenshots

Halogen TalentSpace Integrations

Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Halogen TalentSpace Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Halogen TalentSpace Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

Halogen TalentSpace Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Halogen TalentSpace Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android