Cornerstone OnDemand Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
330 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 194)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 23, 2020
Jennifer Goodwin, SPHR, SHRM-SCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Cornerstone OnDemand enterprise-wide to create one unified space where employees can go for learning, performance, resources, and online forms. We have created custom electronic forms with workflows to eliminate a lot of our paper HR processes as well as tracking and reporting on performance and learning. This tool is great because it can serve our employees across the world as well as those who are out on the street all day and only access via mobile.
  • Mobile app.
  • Tools for content creation - Playlists, Curriculum, Learner Home, Featured Training, etc.
  • Customization! Almost every element can be changed to exactly how we want it.
  • There are a lot of resources for help, which is great, but there are a mix of locations to find them. It would be nice if they were all in one central location.
  • The HR Suite product is very basic. I am hoping the new merger with Saba will help improve this tool.
  • They don't have a way to roll up changes in the pilot portal into the production portal, so when you test changes, you then have to manually made those updates in production. I've worked with software elsewhere that they can just push those changes into production.
Cornerstone is the #1 Learning Management System for a reason. The Learning Management and Performance Management tools are amazing. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a talent platform. They have room to grow in the recruiting space. I believe that the new tools on the roadmap look promising, however, we ended up removing this tool from our contract and going with another vendor. Cornerstone is not nearly as experienced in the talent acquisition space as it is in talent management.
Previously we had a trainer for each business unit and each had their own way of tracking (or not tracking) training and attendance. Now we have a unified platform where all training is tracked and managed, where we can ensure that a unified message is being shared across the organization and that all employees are getting the training resources that they need. We are not just using the LMS to track learning and compliance, but we are also using it to track the effectiveness of our trainers and training programs.
Read Jennifer Goodwin, SPHR, SHRM-SCP's full review
September 22, 2020
Chelsea Polette, M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone OnDemand is being used by our entire system of over 40,000 employees and contractors. It is both our learning management system and our learning experience platform. Being in healthcare, we need to make sure all of our employees are compliant, but in addition to compliance we are using Cornerstone OnDemand to ensure that our employees have the tools and resources they need to succeed in a constantly changing environment.
  • LMS database has condensed our catalog into a manageable library.
  • LXP allows for a great user interface that is visually pleasing and easy to use.
  • Reporting has been more flexible than any other LMS.
  • There is so much customization, it can be unwieldy for admins.
  • The test engine is confusing to use.
  • Reporting 2.0 can be difficult to get used to.
Cornerstone OnDemand is best suited for large organizations with a lot of content that needs to be managed automatically. If you're a small company or you don't need to store much content, I would suggest a smaller LMS. This one is perfect for 10k+ organizations with a lot of compliance. It's not going to mimic an academic environment, but it will be a great experience for your employees.
We currently only use Cornerstone OnDemand's Learning module. It is used primarily for compliance but we are shifting into a "pull" model where our employees search for training that they are interested in for their own personal and professional development. With the "Netflix-like" Learner Home, it is easy to suggest courses to our employees.
Read Chelsea Polette, M.A.'s full review
September 22, 2020
Stephanie Dorsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the learning platform only within our hospital. I am very pleased with the depth of options within learning that are able to utilize with our employees. We use Cornerstone across the whole organization for new employee onboarding, on the job training, on the spot learning, new skills training, Annual Mandatory training, and much, much more. Cornerstone allows us to provide online learning in a huge variety of formats and also track learning for compliance.
  • Help documents for learning
  • Training on products
  • Flexibility of products
  • Observation checklists can be tricky to navigate
  • Updating content and how that affects Curriculum/re-versioning
  • Certification management can be frustrating for expired users
  • Removing content for terminated employees could be easier, instead of removing content item by item, would be nice to be able to remove all content from active transcript to removed transcript
Cornerstone is well suited for providing a one-stop-shop for all things learning, engaging users in a multitude of different avenues. I wish I had a team to assist me in implementing all the amazing things that you can utilize in Cornerstone. I am a team of 1 - so the great benefits and features sometimes take me much longer to implement than I would like.
We, like many others this year, had to quickly transition our onboarding program for new employees to a 100% online format. We were able to use the many features that Cornerstone provides to wrap a comprehensive program for self-study to allow our employees to safely access the content that they needed to onboard as new employees and also complete their mandatory compliance training. It was not ideal for us to create hours of content in the space of a few weeks, but Cornerstone enabled us to then wrap it into an easy program for employees to navigate and provide a connection to our hospital in a new way.
Read Stephanie Dorsey's full review
September 22, 2020
Jessica Bussey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cornerstone Learning across our entire organization. We use it to implement training initiatives for things like safety, sales, leadership, and compliance. With 18,000 + employees, it is important for us to be able to track each individual's learning progress, and the Cornerstone LMS helps us with this business problem.
  • User friendly and attractive website design.
  • It offers the ability to do online training, or also track face to face, on the job training.
  • It's continuously improving with new features to keep up with the growing demand for online learning.
  • Rather simple admin interface.
  • Some things are too intricate to set up. Emails, for example, are very time-intensive when you are trying to set up 20 reminder emails for training, and you have to do each one individually, instead of copying and pasting.
  • Missing functionality of being able to merge employee files, and include any documents you attached in one of the files. This is a big hardship for us.
  • I wish users could assign training using a checklist type page. Many people want to be able to assign things in bulk.
We are creating content like crazy and it's so nice to have a place where we can publish all videos and trainings with ease. People can look for what they need or what they want to assign with ease. Tracking and reporting analytics are also great and they are making great strides with their new Reporting 2.0 functionality. You cannot track to make sure videos are watched to the very end, which I feel would be helpful, especially compliance wise.
Read Jessica Bussey's full review
November 13, 2020
Anne Crawford-Nutt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

As the Cornerstone Systems, Learning and Performance administrator,
I have been able to provide a wide variety of both learning and performance
solutions to our organisation.



In the performance space we have created Observation
Checklists to assess technical competencies, and also for Quarterly Performance
Reviews using role-related competencies. Managers love the structured format
and the ability to add observation notes on an ongoing basis.



In a nutshell, Cornerstone has enabled us to grow and develop
our people at the same time as fulfilling management reporting and audit
requirements!

  • The ability to easily track the assignment and completions of all the tasks, and the ability to produce real-time reports has revolutionised our training and performance management areas. It is now a simple and easy process to provide reports for auditors and for management reporting. This has enhanced manager’s ability to keep track of their team’s progress.
  • In the learning space, we have created in-house training, uploaded SCORM files from external providers to create online courses and created materials which link to external training websites. All the training assignment and completion is easily tracked and reported on. The users find the access through Cornerstone easy to use.
  • It would be great if the Performance module had the same reporting features as the Learning Module. I find I have to design my own reports using Reporting 2.0, whereas I just use the Standard Reports in Learning, as they have everything I need.
  • Again, it would be nice if assigning the Performance Tasks had something like the Learning Assignment Tool where you can easily assign and track assignments.
  • I find the Custom Reports difficult to create and the on-line help is not very helpful in this area!
In
the learning space, we have created in-house training, uploaded SCORM files
from external providers to create online courses, and created materials which
link to external training websites.
For example we have created job role specific inductions. These are made up of a variety of materials, including: videos, policies and procedures, notes, tests, checklists.
We have created online courses using the Content Uploader to utilise SCORM files purchased from external providers.
We track progress and completion of all learning modules for management reporting and audit purposes.
Managers can now track exactly what training each of their staff have completed and still have to completed, improving performance management.
We have created materials which provide access to external websites for the completion of mandatory training. This allows us to track and report on completion rates.
Support Central / Global Support provides a high level of support once you get used to how it works. It's good because it forces you to think through problems yourself, provide screenshots to illustrate the issue. There are good help articles available.
I find online help very useful in most areas except for Custom Reports.
On occasion I have used the local mobile number to solve urgent issues - bear in mind you need to have opened a case and have a case number before you call,
It took me a while to teach myself but with the combination of the on-line training, on-line help and global support I have mastered what I need. I am constantly learning and attending the webinars and discussions offered.
For our users - especially those not very computer literate, and for whom using a PC is a small part of their work, I create very detailed training guides which include screenshots with arrows pointing where to click. The training you provide to users must be at their level of understanding, and this will set you up for successful implementation of Cornerstone in your organisation. This applies especially in the Performance module which can be a bit trickier than the Learning module.
Read Anne Crawford-Nutt's full review
September 29, 2020
Jennifer Clouser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented Cornerstone with the intent that it would be a University wide system. We currently are using it for professional development and tracking compliance.
  • The email notifications are wonderful. They remind folks of training and notify them of assignments.
  • Allowing us to track compliance for the University and our volunteers.
  • Allowing managers to manage employee learning.
  • The use of interest lists has been a struggle for us. There is no email address so that we can communicate with those on the interest list.
  • The evaluation reports are not great. There should be more robust reports and functionality in the evaluation portion.
  • The cost is fairly high.
It is well suited for in-person and eLearning and tracking training and compliance. It is not a good place to manage a conference or meetings. It is getting better but still not the best use case.
We have utilized almost all of the learning suite options. We have eLearning, ILT (Instructor Lead Trainings), Videos, Tests, Evaluations and integrations with Skillsoft and LinkedIn Learning.
Read Jennifer Clouser's full review
September 24, 2020
Casey Ogden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization is using CSOD and it is beneficial for all of our new hires and safety training, especially continuing education as necessary.
  • Onboarding new hires.
  • Tracking training through individual transcript.
  • Reporting on training.
  • Help with look and feel of homepage.
  • Presenting the best options of training for learners.
  • Having best reports built out, ready-made.
This is a great tool to use for onboarding a new hire and presenting all company information in one place. I love that the training can be set up as a punch list where you have to complete training in order and if you want to go back to review something, you have the option to do so in your transcript.
We use CSOD to launch our learning, all new hire, role training, safety training and sales. We are now launching product changes, systems changes and process changes trainings in CSOD and it is so helpful to create and load in CSOD and launch on the spot for our employees. We are happy with CSOD Learning.
Read Casey Ogden's full review
September 24, 2020
Wendy Brodnick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CSOD is being used for the entire Placer County employee organization. We use it for our compliance training, ILT management, eLearning content library, and is the data system of record. The CSOD system has an API integration with our HR system, Workday. Additionally we have several large departments that use the system heavily to track very specific qualifications and certifications as well as provide training to our client base that is required by contracts held with the State of California.
  • SSO ease of access for employees is awesome, in particular with a small team to manage it.
  • Securities are great so that we can have Department Administrators be the super admin for their specific department training.
  • We were able to brand it and make it look personalized to our County.
  • Use of email administration to set up reminders and also notifications has alleviated a huge manual workload issue.
  • Robust system and really required dedicated staff time to implement and launch. It would have been helpful to know this at the get go.
  • Integration with MS Teams would really help our organization.
  • Focused training with a live person at the beginning of implementation.
I really love the functionality, security, and the ability to use the system in a way that fits our needs. Our Sheriff Office is using Observation Checklist and OJT to manage rifle qualifications. The Calendar is awesome and we use it constantly and got great feedback from employees love to see the offerings at a glance.

Our eLearning created through Storyline looks great and is easy to upload SCORM to the system and "curate" for the learner with appropriate.
We use CSOD for all our mandatory compliance training: HIPAA, AB 1825, Policy Acknowledgment, Driving Safety, and other department specific mandatory trainings.
Read Wendy Brodnick's full review
September 24, 2020
Rebecca Brink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Synchrony uses Cornerstone across the whole organization. As a financial organization this provides compliance training to all employees as well as functional courses for specific roles, as well as being able to schedule and track leadership training
  • User experience.
  • Admin tools are quick and easy to use.
  • Platform works to promote learning strategies.
  • Finding some compatibility issues with IE that tech team is unable to explain or help with.
  • Exam functionality is not sophisticated.
  • Acknowledgement courses have too many steps for users - could be streamlined.
In meeting with different LMS vendors Cornerstone continues to meet the needs for the company for users as well as admins.
The platform is vital for all new employee training with the use of dynamic assignments. We are able to set up the assignment groups to a granular level that allows us to automate all assignments and not have to rely on any manual manipulation. We have a new training structure for all tenured employees and this we do process manually but looking for better solutions in the future.
Read Rebecca Brink's full review
September 24, 2020
Mary Letson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone is being used across the whole organization. It is being used to house learning content, track completions and scores and push compliance content to employees as necessary. We are also looking to begin to use it as a social platform for learning cohorts as part of their guided learning journey to post on discussion boards, etc.
  • Very easy from an admin perspective to build curriculum.
  • Has some very good standard reports that assist with collecting data.
  • Easy navigation from a learner's perspective.
  • Communities is a little challenging adding the learning and discussions boards - lots of clicking around to get where you want.
  • More question type capabilities in the exams.
  • Evaluations - if I change the Likert scale the report defaults back to the standard and I have to manually edit the report to show the actual scale.
Cornerstone OnDemand is well suited to building curriculum with multiple parts and it is easy to edit even when there are registered learners. Other platforms I have used before does not allow for that which becomes problematic if you are mid-cohort and find an error.
A more seamless social capabilities tied to learning activities would be great. As mentioned there are lots of clicks to get where you need to be if you have a learning object in a community and then the learner needs to respond to a post.
We have created our new hire learning in a manner that a manager can at a glance see where their new hire is with their online learning by combining their curriculum into one and organizing it so they have to complete one section before moving on to the next. This allows us to more readily see who is not keeping up with the schedule.
Read Mary Letson's full review
September 24, 2020
Elisse Basque | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone Learning is a very powerful and useful system with what seems like endless possibilities. I particularly love the customer success centre. This resource has been a lifesaver when navigating the new system. I feel Cornerstone does a great job of providing their customers with tons of resources and tools.
  • User experience.
  • Automating compliance requirements.
  • Built-in test function.
  • The back end feels a bit old school, but they are working diligently to make improvements.
I think Cornerstone Learning is great for larger organizations working to streamline and improve their learning experience. I do find the information available on the success center can be a bit overwhelming for someone new to learning management systems. Thus, some of my direct reports do find it a lot. However, If you have team members who are comfortable with technology and accessing information in this manner it should not be an issue!
We have leverage Learning to improve our new hire training for our external Sales Reps. It has also made it easier to assign training and providing reporting. Additionally, we are excited about implementing a new learning catalog. The Playlist functionality with offer our learnings and leader and opportunity to curate their own learning experiences for their own departments instead of relying on L&D every time they require training.
Read Elisse Basque's full review
September 23, 2020
Jess Foster | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cornerstone OnDemand company-wide at UKG (formally Kronos). It's used for compliance training by our global HR and IT teams, company-wide training, down to team/department training. The system is leveraged to track progress on training and compliance and add in annual goals. We also use the system to provide soft skills training and development for our teams.
  • Robust admin capabilities.
  • Ease of use both administratively and for our end-users.
  • Reversioning with reporting - it's a bit clunky to have agile-type training where we expect learners to go through training more than once. Reporting becomes a lot more manual in these scenarios.
  • Reporting is tricky - there's a learning curve to understand how to get the right information. I know work is being done in reporting 2.0 but I would love to see more template reports for common reports your customers use.
I really like the usability with Cornerstone compared to other LMS's I've used. I think the system is a little behind on looks/modernization. Also, support seems to take a while to troubleshoot issues sometimes. Otherwise, I've enjoyed using this system.
We use the learning platform heavily and use [Cornerstone OnDemand] for compliance, role training, and soft skills training. We use reporting 2.0 and dashboards so that we can track completion and allow our managers to easily access important content tracking.
Read Jess Foster's full review
September 23, 2020
Shirley Wu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using CSOD across the entire organization and have decentralized so that each division may use customized features applicable to their needs. It addresses mainly delivery of training, reporting and compliance. I personally am a fan for its reporting capability. I find it to be superior than the other Learning Management Systems I've used or received demos with.
  • Reporting.
  • Continuous product improvement.
  • Connecting with clients.
  • Innovation.
  • Training offerings.
  • Ticketing turnaround.
  • Responsiveness, globally.
  • Uniformed UI.
It's well suited if you want to have a powerful LMS and produce all kinds of different metrics to measure success. It's not suited if you don't really have a compliance requirement and don't care too much about basic metrics. Reason being, there's so much you can do with Cornerstone OnDemand, but if you don't have reason, resources, and time to use all the features. It would be a waste and you'll be better off with a simpler learning management system. Ultimately, know what your organization needs on the short term and in the long run before you purchase an LMS.
I find the learning assignment tool and all its associated learning tools (learning update tool and learning removal tools) and to the extent of transcript management features, really help us improve our compliance program. We are able to have accurate and successful assignment and tracking, also utilizing groups, customized email management, email digests, and dashboards to really help with managing the entire compliance cycle journey for both the learner, their managers, and administrators. Ultimately, keeping the organization compliant and ready for internal and external audits any time.
Read Shirley Wu's full review
September 23, 2020
matt wlodarski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire organization in all departments. I work within the Learning platform, however, we also utilize the Recruiting and Performance platforms as well. Within Learning, we heavily rely on the system to push compliance training and others alike. Additionally, we have created hundreds of in-house training which are included in our new hire training.
  • Allows you to upload your own content.
  • Allows you to customize to your own needs.
  • Maintains relevance with quarterly updates.
  • Versioning online classes.
  • Adding additional reporting and analytics fields.
  • Revamp of Communities/Connect.
As I have mentioned before, the LMS platform has allowed us to load out in-house training and customize our own platform to meet the needs of our organization. We also host numerous ILT events and sessions for internal continuing education, so having those features available all in one place makes it a valuable tool for the organization.
Yes. We heavily use the Learning module for our company. We primarily rely on our own, in-house, developed courses and content as well. We use the platform for our annual compliance training, where we have a certificate of completion that is automatically proved to each staff in their user profile upon successful completion of the training.
Read matt wlodarski's full review
September 22, 2020
Carlee Arellanes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cornerstone across our company (about 500 employees). Using Cornerstone has taken a lot of effort out of what used to be manual tasks and has eliminated our use for paper.
  • Evolving System
  • Customization
  • Lots of Resources
  • Difficult to learn the system (takes time)
  • I appreciate the customization, but the natural interface could be a little better
  • More 1:1 training opportunities with Cornerstone Admin
Cornerstone has improved how we do business, and I appreciate that the company is always taking the feedback of it's customers and making the platform better.
In the past, one of our employees would track all of our training attendance, registration, and interest on a piece of paper and through email. The system has saved us so much time and eliminated clerical errors when it comes to our learning strategy.
Read Carlee Arellanes's full review
September 22, 2020
Marcey Gaughan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BCU implemented Cornerstone three years ago to all BCU employees (permanent, temporary) to distribute and track compliance training that we report on annually.
  • Reporting - able to quickly pull reports and share with shareholders.
  • Notifications - employees receive initial notification and reminders before and after a due date.
  • Instructor-Led Sessions - employees can view all available ILTs and register for the session that best suits their needs.
  • Easily identify and deactivate outdated material.
Learning allows managers to assign development events to their direct reports and create development for mentees, direct reports as well as open it to the entire organization. Learners can select topics (subjects) they are personally interested in and the system will recommend training based on their needs.
Our New Hire onboarding program that is the first 90 days of an employee's journey is now in our LMS and we are hoping the completion rate will increase with the learner having it in the LMS.
Read Marcey Gaughan's full review
September 22, 2020
Alex Hurtado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are huge users from an LMS standpoint. We create content that we even sell to other similar pet care industries or users. We are always on the leading edge of beta testing and using the latest functionalities that CSOD produces. Our hospitals are in constant need of training whether it is for current knowledge or for career development and we use the Performance module in combination to further make that happen.
  • Intuitive for users.
  • Constantly updating their system on a quarterly basis.
  • Strong community of people.
  • Certain areas have not bee updated since launch.
  • Faster response time for submitted questions.
  • Not removing what works well with new features. Add on vs removing.
They are great when it comes to LMS. Now that they purchased Saba that means they truly lead in that field. Their performance module works fantastic for your needs and plays extremely well with LMS.
As a healthcare company, we take certification seriously and use the LMS to help develop our staff and help them reach their professional needs.
Read Alex Hurtado's full review
September 22, 2020
Heather Hicks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily utilize Cornerstone for Learning and Tracking of Learning. All of our state government uses it as the primary LMS. It's always used for compliance tracking but also more recently we've been expanding it to include elective learning with a full library of courses.
  • A lot of companies use Cornerstone so there is a wide scope of users to refer to and learn from.
  • It tracks training and learning well.
  • Newer features are more user friendly.
  • Large base of resources and training to learn functionality.
  • Not always the most intuitive to use (recent updates have made some improvements to that.
  • Most updates are for end user so the admin side is a bit more clunky.
  • Previously service time has been slow (haven't had any recent issues).
  • This doesn't have an interactive meeting platform within it you need to purchase one to integrate.
  • There isn't a location to put vILT (virtual instructor led training) info such as a meeting link that you could copy and paste in. You have to have some integration and each cost money per year.
  • limited budgets for Cornerstone are not the best. They have so much functionality but each piece is an additional amount of money. We only have one.
  • The certifications do not function as they're supposed to. I was told by a rep not to use them.
The learning assignment tool is well designed and functions well. It works well to implement and track training programs. I think in general (partial speculation as we don't have the HR pieces) it seems to do well with data and less on connectivity and interaction. We don't have forums or an interactive platform for students to meet. I also prefer easier to use gamification though they do have badges. It definitely manages data and holds all of our eLearnings. There is no way that I have found successfully to make a conference where you can choose only one session that occurs at a specific time including no good work around.
In my opinion if you have the money for all the units and the add ins or have some team in house that can do that sort of thing it's a very thorough product, but without all the extras it's lacking.
We have worked to modernize our training practices, move to blended learning models, and track varying pieces, assign trainings at specific intervals, monitor compliance, and more. It has functioned for those needs in an average/suitable capacity. We also purchased a learning library to enhance the availability of elective learning. We are working on developing marketing strategies and garnering leadership support and perhaps incentives to enhance engagement and gamification.
If you have the money for the additional integrations and tools Cornerstone also interacts with a myriad of various virtual classrooms and catalogs of content.
Read Heather Hicks's full review
September 22, 2020
Brett Hotze | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization Cornerstone is used as a global user learning tool. Training objects are made available to users based on their location and functional role within the organization. Both compliance and development training is managed in this single instance of the Learning system. Base on the users metadata it is incredibly flexible and easy to tailor the user experience navigating and making content accessible.
  • User management - Constraints and Permissions
  • Numerous Learning Objects - Online, Events, Material, Videos, more...
  • Reporting - Both Standard and Custom reporting options
  • Admin - Menu Navigation
  • Bulk Management of training completions
For the connected users (front office, users with email) the system works great and is very manageable. For the disconnected user (like hourly users on the production line) there is not a clear, simple solution to manage training completions.
Read Brett Hotze's full review
September 22, 2020
Ryan Mattiuzzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using CSOD for our learning management system. Prior to partnering with CSOD, we had a very unorganized learning management system that did not have a lot of functionality. We have since used CSOD to track and report learning as well as integrate online learning content. WE have cultivated a whole new learning culture with the help of CSOD LMS.
  • Makes it easy for users to find learning opportunities.
  • Makes it easy for administrators to track and report on learning.
  • Becomes a one-stop shop for learning in the organization.
  • Reporting capabilities and functionality.
  • UX for some of the functions that are still lacking.
CSOD is best used in an organization with centralized learning governance. For organizations without a centralized learning governance can become troublesome with maintenance issues. Allowing multiple system admins with different levels of access and no reporting control has many drawbacks. The system is great for managing training and offerings but can be harder when there are multiple admins adding content and training events.
Read Ryan Mattiuzzo's full review
September 22, 2020
Elke Meurs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone OnDemand is used by the whole organization, which contains around 26000 employees. We were not using any digital learning options before using Cornerstone Learning. Now we can offer our employees all the tools they need to further develop their knowledge and wellbeing and give them the opportunity to keep on learning, even in this daunting time.
  • User friendly interface
  • A lot of reporting options
  • A lot of different possibilities for reporting
  • Reporting 2.0 is to complex to set up with all the different permissions
  • Questions for support always take a lot of time
  • There are a lot of ways for doing 1 particular action, for example creating a training
Cornerstone is very well suited for online training! There are a lot of different ways to offer online learning, for example via videos, e-learnings and materials. There is also a very good opportunity to report on the use of online trainings by employees. This is very interesting, because it allows us to improve the online learning further within the company.
Read Elke Meurs's full review
September 17, 2020
Candace Goldstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cornerstone across our entire organization. Mostly for completion of Compliance and Regulatory training.
  • Makes learning easily accessible.
  • Allows learning to be accessed onDemand.
  • Personal platform engages learners.
  • Admin features.
  • Not happy with outsource of GPS.
  • More customization of admin features and layout.
Well suited to make access to learning easy.
Library of learning in one place.
Moved out live New Hire Orientation to a curriculum in our portal. Now all employees have the same and engaging new hire orientation. Its now ondemand so the learners can complete when it is convenient for them.
It offers so many options.
Read Candace Goldstein's full review
October 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cornerstone OnDemand as our enterprise-wide employee training LMS. This addressed our desire to streamline the number of sites and applications our employees needed to use to complete training. The biggest assistance having an enterprise-wide solution provides is the ease of pushing out and tracking training for our very large employee base.
  • Permissions - Almost everything within the tool is permissionable, which allows us to show only needed pieces to employees.
  • Releases - The quarterly release cycle is communicated very well with enough supporting documentation to gain knowledge of what is happening and prepare your org prior to upgrades.
  • Flexibility - The system is very flexible to meet many needs of a diverse organization. There are built-in pieces that can be adapted to fit a need and fill gaps.
  • Groups - You have the ability to create tailored groups of people for use across the system but the groups interface is very cumbersome to use.
  • Pulling information from System - there are some gaps with information you can pull back from the system overall. This includes reporting on some information such as group criteria and permissions/roles applied to users. To get this information you have to do a project/work order which takes time and money.
  • Administrator Functions Menus - The menus are deep and hard to navigate because the placement of items does not always seem consistent.
Cornerstone OnDemand is well suited for having a single or almost-single source of training for a very large organization. The ease of putting a course into the system and making it available across the enterprise or pushing it out as an assignment with a due date is great. It also handles the ability to push out large amounts of training to users through assignments pretty well, although sometimes it does take a while to process.
Cornerstone Learning has helped streamline our training offerings across the enterprise by serving as our solution for all employee learning. We are utilizing the module to push out our enterprise-wide compliance training and provide reporting to administrators across all levels that need to track compliance. We also are able to utilize external connectors and APIs to feed completion information for compliance training to other systems for consuming and green lighting our users for access to various things that require a training completion first.
Support is good but shaky at times. We have developed a very good relationship with support, which I think enhances the experience but it did take a bit of time. I do find that overall there is receptiveness to feedback and a desire to understand the needs/desires of the clients. Building up the support relationship is important and really does seem to dictate some of the experience you will have with them.
The system is huge so, even after using it as an administrator for a few years, I still find there are lots of pieces and things I do not know. Some of the more everyday tasks have cumbersome user interfaces that you become accustomed to but would be greatly helped by a redesign. The availability of assistance articles and the new knowledge bank help greatly with usability as you have a quick place you can go to for help with figuring out how to do various tasks.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone OnDemand is being used org-wide at our company. Cornerstone has been able to address many business needs such as: managing our overall compliance training program, ILT and (more recently) virtual ILT or vILT for many of our business partners such as Recruiting and Product training, learning content curation and beginning stages of self-interest in professional development.
  • Access to a huge community of training resources training webinars and social communities. Cornerstone does a great job with providing administrators with the tools and people to get connected on utilizing the product.
  • Ability to load or upload files of data. I used Cornerstone with a smaller company and now I'm with a company with a larger employee group. Cornerstone's ability to load certain data for specific features saves administrators time and effort when carrying out tasks and projects.
  • Access to permissions and constraints. This allows us to either centralize or de-centralize tasks to our organization partners based on business needs.
  • Cornerstone's available integrations in the Edge Marketplace also is becoming extremely helpful. With so many applications within a business, we're looking to have a "hub" where our employees can have a one-stop shop for learning.
  • When someone gets onboarded as an administrator, it is really daunting to learn the system and the resources available. Personally, I think being able to connect with one person to show me the ropes (sort of a like a buddy system upon hire) is helpful.
  • I remember Cornerstone appointing a CSM to every client before the model changed. I understand having the new system of requesting a CSM allows for CSMs with different expertise and knowledge to step in, but the quarterly check-ins were helpful to understand upcoming releases and a knowledgeable person who truly understands the business' needs and wants.
  • Improved communications on target fix dates for known issues. Being left in the dark without much information is hard to communicate back to the business.
Cornerstone is well suited for when company's need a robust LMS that is scalable and user-friendly. I only use it for Learning, but the features available to us as administrators allows us to tailor the user experience and curate a budding learning culture with simple workflows and processes. The community is large and teeming with clients who are using it on so many different scales, and who are willing to help with sharing best practices and tips. Where I think Cornerstone can be less appropriate is the daunting counts of available features - keep your business needs in mind and don't feel overwhelmed with all it has to offer. Start small and expand as your business evolves.
As a company, we needed an LMS to help with our compliance training program, but also to streamline our ILT process for live training. Not only has our business partners within Compliance been able to reap the benefits of learning assignments, content control and versioning, reporting and completion tracking, business partners across the organization utilizing Events and Sessions have been able to expand their audience outreach across state lines and timezones. They have also been gracious with email configurations, reporting and attendance tracking, and training evaluations.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cornerstone OnDemand (CSOD) is used across our entire organization for Learning and Performance. Additionally, we have partner accounts added into the system and are supporting learning for our partners as well. Cornerstone is effective for us to manage goals, development conversations, custom training learning paths, multiple learning programs, succession and more!
  • Reporting - For the most part, there is a report for everything in the system. A few sections need more enhancements (e.g. Community Reports), but overall if you have the information in the system you can pull a data analysis on it. Reporting 2.0 has also made great strides over the years and the future is bright with this robust reporting tool.
  • Cornerstone Check-Ins - A lot of companies are looking at Continuous Performance and I think the tool Cornerstone is building is going in the right direction. Often I find myself referencing what Cornerstone is doing when there are questions about tools supporting continuous performance.
  • Reporting 2.0 - While this is also on my Pros list, I think it's still new and has some usability issues. One area that's difficult is the setup and permissions. There are A LOT of permissions to navigate through and recently I found that even if you have the reporting permission for one area of the system, if you didn't have the permissions to actually see that area of the system you couldn't get it to show up on a report. There are a lot of dependencies on these permissions and it's not always clear.
  • Global Product Support: As long as I've used Cornerstone, GPS has been very inconsistent. Sometimes you get tickets answered quickly, other times it can take over a month. Often you don't get the root causes to the problems. Support also doesn't seem to be localized, so if I open a ticket it may be answered by someone in a different timezone which also impacts time for responses to be received/reviewed.
  • Overall system enhancements - There are some enhancements that definitely are improvements, but they may not take into consideration how end users are using the system. For example, there was an enhancement to change what a button did in the system so that it could connect with new Cornerstone functionality. Unfortunately, this new functionality was still in Early Adopter mode and folks weren't ready to launch the new functionality. Would love to see more of an opportunity for customers to weigh in on the pros/cons and when people should enable smaller changes to the system.
I've only worked at companies that use Cornerstone where the employee counts are between 6,000 and 17,000. I can't speak to how the system works for smaller organizations, but for large organizations there is a lot of power to be able to handle and customize the learning and performance experience.
In our system we have used Learning heavily to ensure that our employees and partners are well versed in product training to ensure they meet all the requirements prior to retraining and implementing client solutions. The Cornerstone system is very robust with providing options for self-paced learning, in person and virtual learning, certifications, observation checklists, and more. From the back end, there are many options for administrators and program owners to report on completion and customize the system to inform those that people are where they need to be to be successful in their role.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

New hire portal (45)
8.3
Manager tracking tools (79)
6.8
Compliance tracking and reporting (90)
6.7
Corporate goal setting (70)
7.2
Subordinate goal setting (73)
8.5
Individual goal setting (78)
8.3
Line-of sight-visibility (67)
6.7
Performance tracking (83)
8.4
Performance plans (66)
9.0
Plan weighting (58)
7.5
Manager note taking (44)
7.5
Performance improvement plans (57)
8.8
Review status tracking (69)
8.4
Rater nomination workflow (42)
7.1
Review reminders (68)
8.5
Workflow restrictions (63)
6.9
Multiple review frequency (58)
7.9
Reporting (83)
8.7
Create succession plans/pools (36)
7.5
Candidate ranking (35)
8.9
Candidate search (38)
9.0
Candidate development (34)
9.1
Job Requisition Management (32)
9.1
Company Website Posting (29)
9.1
Publish to Social Media (25)
9.3
Job Search Site Posting (25)
6.9
Customized Application Form (27)
9.5
Resume Management (30)
9.2
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (27)
9.2
Candidate Search (28)
9.3
Applicant Tracking (28)
9.2
Collaboration (24)
9.3
Task Creation and Delegation (26)
9.2
Email Templates (40)
9.2
User Permissions (41)
9.2
Notifications and Alerts (36)
9.2
Reporting (44)
9.1
Course authoring (87)
6.8
Course catalog or library (121)
8.7
Player/Portal (110)
8.4
Learning content (95)
8.2
Mobile friendly (92)
6.6
Progress tracking & certifications (108)
7.4
Assignments (117)
7.8
Compliance management (101)
7.4
Learning administration (120)
7.7
Learning reporting & analytics (119)
7.1
Social learning (75)
6.2

What is Cornerstone OnDemand?

Cornerstone OnDemand (NASDAQ: CSOD) is a single, unified cloud-based talent management solution that is completely configurable to meet the talent strategy, compliance, business, and workflow needs of any organization.

Organizations today are being disrupted by digital advances that continue to shift the way employees work, learn, and succeed. To be successful in this constantly evolving world, organizations need a modern unified talent management strategy that supports the acquisition of the right skills, alongside ongoing employee development, engagement, and retention.

Cornerstone offers solutions to help companies strategically manage and continuously develop their talent. The Cornerstone Talent Management Solution includes:

  • Cornerstone Recruiting (including applicant tracking, employee onboarding)
  • Cornerstone Learning (including LMS, learning experience platform (LXP), certifications, Learn App)
  • Cornerstone Performance (including performance reviews, goals, succession planning, compensation, competency management)
  • Cornerstone Careers (including one-on-one’s, development plans, goals, pulse surveys, career management)
  • Cornerstone HR (including people administration, workforce analytics, benchmarking)
  • Cornerstone Content (including 40+ premium partners)

Cornerstone’s people development solutions are used by approximately 6,300 clients of all sizes, spanning more than 75 million users across over 180 countries and nearly 50 languages.

Cornerstone OnDemand Features

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Has featureCompliance tracking and reporting

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureSubordinate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureNon-hierarchical goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePlan weighting
Has featureManager note taking
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureRater nominations
Has featureRater nomination workflow
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureWorkflow restrictions
Has featureReview transfer
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Has featureReporting

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCreate succession plans/pools
Has featureCandidate ranking
Has featureEmployee profiles
Has featureCandidate search
Has featureCandidate add
Has featureCandidate development

Recruiting / ATS Features

Has featureJob Requisition Management
Has featureCompany Website Posting
Has featurePublish to Social Media
Has featureJob Search Site Posting
Has featureCustomized Application Form
Has featureResume Management
Has featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Has featureCandidate Search
Has featureApplicant Tracking
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTask Creation and Delegation
Has featureEmail Templates
Has featureUser Permissions
Has featureNotifications and Alerts
Has featureReporting

Learning Management Features

Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Has featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning
Additional Features
Has featureOrganically developed suite - one system, one data model, one customer support
Has featureAirtight integration across modules - from recruiting to learning to social to performance
Has featureMachine learning and predictive analytics to get actionable information from your talent data

Cornerstone OnDemand Screenshots

Cornerstone OnDemand Videos (4)

Cornerstone OnDemand Downloadables

Cornerstone OnDemand Integrations

Broadbean, HireVue, LinkedIn Talent Hub, Smashfly, acquired by Symphony Talent, 20+ different off-the-shelf e-learning vendors, Cisco Webex, Citrix GotoMeeting

Cornerstone OnDemand Competitors

Cornerstone OnDemand Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Cornerstone OnDemand Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Cornerstone OnDemand Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: 43 languages