TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/M1/My/PIVU6BETBT1N.pngFast and UsefulWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Simple to use with excellent performance,The tool could have a management of report versioning feature,8,Less time for the development and standardization of processes,Jaspersoft Premium Support (No annual case limit),For the moment it is not important that we have a standard platformJaspersoft good reporting toolWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s) We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Good reporting software Server-side reporting Publishing reports,Include PDF files in report,7,Less time to develop reports. Very good publishing option.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases) Jaspersoft Community,Support is important but Tibco support had not found a solution!,We do not integrate into our applications.,JasperReports application support reviewWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Command line support (import / export) thus easier to automate via scripting Provides REST API service thus allowing our front-end application to communicate with it Based on Java so it can be run on Linux servers,Missing health check page that provides overall health ( front-end and back-end) of Japser reports instance Some functionalities such as create user or organization are missing in command line interface so automation script has to rely on REST API to automate new installation Lacks good logging and documentation ( such as enabling history of job execution in log file),7,Reports that used to take a day to generate manually now takes a minute or less Less manual work and less time to develop reports, happy customers,Jaspersoft Premium Support (No annual case limit) Jaspersoft Community,Very important as we were able to integrate it to our existing in-house developed application and also automate some of its manual tasks via platform specific scripting. Because it is based on Java, we could run it on our UNIX servers,* Enterprise edition supports separate report for different customers * Granular or flexible role based user management,,8,Implemented in-houseJaspersoft - It's OK...We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s),Once installed, it is easy to configure and get up and running. It integrates nicely with our software platform. The support from TIBCO is pretty good when you are speaking to them in person.,The installation process is complicated. The update process is complicated. It is difficult to download the appropriate installation files from the TIBCO website.,7,Jaspersoft is the only Reporting Tool we are currently using, so it's difficult to say whether there has been a positive or negative impact.,Jaspersoft Standard Support or Professional Standard Support for AWS (12 annual cases) Jaspersoft Community,Very important - many of our clients have specific IT requirements and we need products which are flexible. For example, the default metadata Database is PostgreSQL, but some clients do not allow PostgreSQL in their production environment and so we need the ability to deploy using an Oracle Database (for example) and Jaspersoft does this nicely.,n/a,8,Implemented in-house,4,Self-taught,Yes - I think this was a sensible approach.,n/a,10,10,Develop Reports,n/a,n/a,9,No,No,Yes,I needed some information on OS support for JasperServer, so submitted a request which was answered within a matter of hours.,5,9,8Jaspersoft is a great tool in my bookWe embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting,Excellent easy process of embedding Jaspersoft into a website. Easy process of working with Jaspersoft elements through Visualize.js Helpful Community if you take into consideration the communities of other BI similar products,Community is quite large but it would be much more helpful if more experts could answer our questions Their API is not that well documented I would prefer some of the Pro features to exist on community edition as well, like for example HTML5 Charts,9,Spending some time to learn the tool is absolutely required since Jaspersoft offers multiple features. When the user gets some experience and starts developing and designing well structured reports in less time than usual, then this tool should provide customer satisfaction as well as significant improvement in visual representation of reports or any other BI features.,This is quite important since our clients have each their own technologies and are not willing of course to change their platforms or architectures for the product that we sell them. The ability to deliver our product in working condition with high performance for any OS or any Database type our client may have is very significant for the product and the profits we get from selling it.,Since our product's buyers are mostly banks and financial companies, multi-tenancy is quite important for them as they probably run multiple organizations. One of the advantages of using Jaspersoft is that it provides us with this functionality so adding that to our list of features was not that big of a deal for our team.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Jaspersoft
236 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 236 vetted TIBCO Jaspersoft reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 100)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 12, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Fast and Useful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • Simple to use with excellent performance
  • The tool could have a management of report versioning feature
The tool is simple with full functionality for the development area.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 05, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft good reporting tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Good reporting software
  • Server-side reporting
  • Publishing reports
  • Include PDF files in report
Jaspersoft report is very good for daily reporting needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "JasperReports application support review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
We use JasperReport to generate reports for our customers without any manual intervention from us. Customers can also schedule their reports on JasperReport and thus also saving their time
  • Command line support (import / export) thus easier to automate via scripting
  • Provides REST API service thus allowing our front-end application to communicate with it
  • Based on Java so it can be run on Linux servers
  • Missing health check page that provides overall health ( front-end and back-end) of Japser reports instance
  • Some functionalities such as create user or organization are missing in command line interface so automation script has to rely on REST API to automate new installation
  • Lacks good logging and documentation ( such as enabling history of job execution in log file)
Well suited for using in an orgazination that wants to integrate their front-end application to a backend reporting service. It lacks an interface for performance related statistics (reports are taking long time etc.).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 11, 2018

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft - It's OK..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
Our software platform contains a Reporting Server component - and we are currently using Jaspersoft for that purpose.
  • Once installed, it is easy to configure and get up and running.
  • It integrates nicely with our software platform.
  • The support from TIBCO is pretty good when you are speaking to them in person.
  • The installation process is complicated.
  • The update process is complicated.
  • It is difficult to download the appropriate installation files from the TIBCO website.
We have now got the installation process internally streamlined and so the installation and configuration is not too much of an issue for us any more - but any time that we have to make any configuration changes (i.e. Hotfix) then there is always a period of troubleshooting to add this into our existing process.
Read this authenticated review
Andreas Evagorou profile photo
October 13, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft is a great tool in my book"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We are working on implementing platforms for the banking sector that contain several modules for our clients to be able to use and we provide support on our product. One of our modules contains embedded Jaspersoft. We also develop several reports and customize Jaspersoft code to be able to provide our customers what they are expecting.
  • Excellent easy process of embedding Jaspersoft into a website.
  • Easy process of working with Jaspersoft elements through Visualize.js
  • Helpful Community if you take into consideration the communities of other BI similar products
  • Community is quite large but it would be much more helpful if more experts could answer our questions
  • Their API is not that well documented
  • I would prefer some of the Pro features to exist on community edition as well, like for example HTML5 Charts
First of all I need to clarify that this is my first reporting tool so i do not have that much experience to compare. What i can think of is that Jaspersoft as I have worked with it is great for developing reports and dashboards which can be easily be embedded to any website or web app. There are various options for single-sign on processes and authentication. Also code customization is quite straightforward when you know what you are doing.
Read Andreas Evagorou's full review
Stefan Karrer profile photo
September 01, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Powerful and flexible tool to analyze data and create convincing dashboards"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
One of the strengths of TIBCO Jaspersoft is its flexibility. So we use it to solve lots of business problems. Most important: Monitoring of Software usage and user adoption, continuously improve offered materials and services and automatize business reports
  • The tool is very flexible and powerful. You can add different types of charts and reports for any data structure. Especially the jasper studio has lots of possibilities and a good designed XML structure
  • Results are easy to use even for inexperienced user without IT Knowledge
  • There are lots of export possibilities. Especially important: Excel, PDF and PowerPoint
  • Jaspersoft reports are very lightweight: No extra database needed, they work directly with any database server
  • It is not possible to add a PowerPoint Master to the PowerPoint export. So it can not used to create fully ready print ready reports.
  • Dashboards are very restricted: No easy to add and use, good looking filter mechanisms, restricted in size to the current screen.
Jaspersoft is perfect to evaluate and visualize existing databases. You can do ad hoc reports as well as standard reports and especially dashboards with drill down functionality between the reports are very helpful.
It is not appropriate for unstructured data that need ETL processes or data mining.
Read Stefan Karrer's full review
Lee Owens profile photo
August 04, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Excellent, easy to use reporting tool - recommended!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We use JasperReports Server to provide insight into our company data. Primarily supporting the Sales team, our telesales users are set up with dashboards that allows them to make quick decisions, without sifting through excel reports to find information.

Before Jaspersoft, our staff had very access to information they needed, and getting the information took much longer than it should. Now, we can have a report up an running within minutes.

In summary, Jaspersoft gives us fast, easy to use reports with little or no work required by the user.
  • Provides a self service reporting environment
  • Reports are seamlessly easy to build and deploy
  • Report and user level security allows you to restrict access in various ways
  • The dashboard designer is incredibly powerful and easy to use. Non technical users are able to build dashboards to suit their own needs
  • The use of multiple data sources proves very helpful when federating data from different databases
  • In my opinion, error messages could be more detailed. If I encounter an error, the error message is very generic, and support is required to resolve the issue (which is often small and trivial)
  • Conditional formatting could be expanded slightly. Currently you can only logically highlight data based on absolute/ static values. Comparing two columns for example would make much more sense in JasperReports Server - not just Jasper Studio
  • Row highlighting is a regular request for us. With the current version, you can highlight an entire column, but not a row. When a report has 20+ columns, highlighting the entire row would make reading information much easier
Using Jaspersoft depends entirely on your BI strategy and how information is delivered to your users.

For our use, JaserReports Server meets our needs entirely. In a fast paced, time critical environment, JasperReports Server is perfect as it allows you to create rich, visually pleasing reports quickly. The use of Ad Hoc Views means you can create a report once, and push it out to many users without rebuilding the report for each user.

Read Lee Owens's full review
Pedro G. Jiménez profile photo
November 08, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Review of a developer who is mainly learning to build jobs ETLs."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
Develop ETL jobs for the file upload requirements of the bank cards in Tsys Mexico.
Design and build ETL jobs for generic layout of catalog files (CRUD), with .
row result file.
Design and build ETL jobs, creating the job called Extractor, with support of control tables for the folio status in DB Oracle.
All these ETL jobs can be scheduled in the Job Conductor or called on demand as a web service, through the Java Web Application, through WebLogic.
  • Large number of controls in the palette to create a Job. Support to Java code.
  • Dynamic job call and flexible output (column) in dynamic column query.
  • Support development and deployment on Windows, Linux and Mac platforms.
  • Support to output or dynamic column input for more controls such as Excel.
  • When the war file is deployed in WebLogic, and there is a dynamic job call, when calling or updating, internally it loses the reference of the subjob folder and it is difficult to update a change to the subjobs.
  • Use the commands externally to manage a Job ETL, in the web application of the central administration panel.
  • Control for PDF document creation, there are some in the marketplace.
Pros:
All Jobs of the type Extraction-Transformation-Load - multiple database and file
formats, FTP / SFTP sending and Web services / REST.
Support for non-relational databases, data cleaning controls and Big Data.
Deployment of Jobs in application server, for integration with Web applications.

Cons:
Sending data in "dynamic" parameters (to control the report) for creation of reports, Tibco Jasper Reports.
Read Pedro G. Jiménez's full review
Enoch Gumo profile photo
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Data Analytics Made Simple by JasperSoft"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
The system is used to analyze large volumes of data from our in-house systems and other third-party data.
  • Training guide - Simple to use.
  • E-Learning platform - Customer friendly. We used it to train 15 Officers online.
  • Good follow up with the customers.
  • The system is a bit difficult to configure making it more dependent on ICT staff rather than the business staff who use it more frequently.
Well suited in analyzing large volumes of data. We stopped using Excel and Oracle in favor of JasperSoft.
Read Enoch Gumo's full review
Suresh Mende profile photo
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jasper server Pros and cros"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
My organization is using Jaspersoft to showcase a large amount of data coming from hbase. The main feature we got to select for the Jaspersoft is Adhoc views. On fly generation of reports and also adding permissions to the folder level and file level helped us a lot in using Jaspersoft.
And also we have customized the UI for Jaspersoft in an easier way by just overriding the override.css file.
  • Drag and drop options for charts. Providing different chart type options is excellent.
  • Export and import of the zip is also a very good feature.
  • User profile attributes for providing security permissions for data
  • Giving permissions to the user level for folders and reports.
  • Need to improve in providing feature for localization for start of day and currency
  • Support to phoenix driver
  • Should provide more flexibility to write custom css
It was very useful for the analyzing of data.
Drag and drop the required dimensions and rows as needed on demand.
Creation of adhoc views is more helpful.
Read Suresh Mende's full review
John Stevenson profile photo
October 05, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft MI"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
We are building a complex data collection, validation and distribution solution for a UK government body and required a MI solution to provide supporting data analysis. I selected Jaspersoft as this seemed to be a mature, cost-effective open source option, and our overall solution was predicated on largely open source products (where possible). Considered Pentaho, but felt that Jaspersoft offered more flexible MI options. We didn't need analytics or multi-dimensional structures - just 2-dimensional, 'standard' (table-like) reports, with supporting scheduling, exporting and all the usual features.
  • Flexible, extensible platform (can drill into the low-level Java if required)
  • Domains are well realised (i.e. more meta-data control than other low-end platforms)
  • Dealing with very large datasets - might include more optimisations and configuration options (especially as we move towards Big Data)
  • Better documentation
  • More local consultancy (UK)
Cheaper than its bigger competitors, and reasonable wide functionality, but the UI is not as polished or assured as some, and a tendency to display Java stack traces - i.e. doesn't always feel like a user-friendly COTS product.
Read John Stevenson's full review
Stewart Rogers profile photo
September 21, 2017

"My TIBCO Jaspersoft Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
Our Customers were frustrated by the significant limitations of the existing reporting capabilities including limited access to data, limited capabilities to visualize that data, and limited abilities to share that data.
  • The performance of producing, in some cases, large reports is a win for our Customers. It offloads that activity from the application server and puts in where it belongs - the reporting server.
  • The ability to embed, using visualize.js, is a significant win for us. We were able to wrap it and offer it as a standard plug-in for our Customers that lets them choose their own reports to embed and decide who, when and where they see those embedded reports.
  • Doing business with TIBCO Jaspersoft is a pleasure. The Support they provide is excellent. They have endless resources available for learning the relevant bits of the product when you need them.
  • Formatting of crosstabs is still the weakest point.
  • Performance of crosstabs has still room for improvement.
  • The ease of designing Domains could be easier with a preview option.
Jaspersoft has tremendous capabilities for data analysis. However, when a requirement for embedding is there, Jaspersoft is the best.
Read Stewart Rogers's full review
Esther Lai profile photo
September 21, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft , complicated reporting made simple"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
1. A common platform for operational and management reporting for various departments.
2. Allows users to have multi-dimensional views of reports.
3. Enhance security and access permissions across departments and according yo users' levels.
4. A light-weight platform yet capable of running complicated reports.
5. Users have the flexibility to personalize reports from a pre-built structure, reducing the reliance on IT personnel.
  • Some reports can be setup to let users to drill down deeper or wider, hence reducing the efforts of creating multiple versions of reports as compared to other similar tools.
  • Reports with the need to integrate charting are not as straightforward. Some settings of the charts are rigid.
  • Security features require IT personnel to be involved.
The technology behind Jaspersoft is near to open-sourced, hence reporting from various applications of various databases is very flexible. There are many connectivity APIs that can be applied.

The learning curve can be steep for amateurs in reporting tools and supporting products like ETL etc. Configuration of the server hosting Jaspersoft can be complicated.
Read Esther Lai's full review
Harish Gentyala profile photo
September 21, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Review on BI King"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Dynamic creation of the reports - We are able to create the different reports just by updating the adhoc view,which was easy for us to update the change and give a quick update on the requirement.
  • Customized reports - Able to deliver the customized reports as per the customer requirement.
  • Multi-tenancy - Able to manage multi-tenancy at a product level.
  • Able to deliver the customer requirement at a minimum time.
  • Adhoc Views and reports build
  • Security
  • Single Sign on
  • ADhoc Views portability with domain change
  • more control over the data security
  • coupling and decoupling the views, reports
Well Suited Scenarios:
  • Dashboards creation - The dashboard creation was very easy and applying filters at one shot to all the reports was easy to develop and demo to the business team.They are very happy with this and were able to make quick changes if any required.
  • Role level permissions - Defining the permission at a row level was very easy to manage.
  • Accepting the externally defined roles - Able to integrate the externally defined roles.
  • Data Security.
  • UI Customization as per customer requirement.
Read Harish Gentyala's full review
Tommy Blalock profile photo
September 13, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft - Solid functionality at at reasonable price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Being Java based, we are able to leverage the full functionality of Jfree charts through Jaspersoft by using our internal chart customizer for published reports (PDF, Excel, and Powerpoint).
  • For jasper Server, the install is quick and we are able to do a full install within minutes.
  • The development platform for jasper is easy to use (Studio) and new employees can quickly come up to speed.
  • Ad Hoc: we deal with very large data sets and we have struggled in the ad hoc area. The domains are great for aggregated data, but we cannot use it to present transaction level data.
  • Mapping: it is not easy to create maps at the territory level. Our customers typically use zip codes to create their geographies and we have not been able to incorporate this into any of the out of the box maps.
Published reports - in this area, I think Jasper is hard to beat.

Jasper Server - We have had very little success with the online platform. Our data is too large to achieve good performance.
Read Tommy Blalock's full review
Vicky Moore profile photo
August 29, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jasper review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • It's relatively simple for us to call Jasper reports from our application
  • Jasper's data is displayed in a clean format - I feel more for people who like to "see" data as opposed to seeing pretty graphs.
  • Jasper has certain limitations that I would call bugs but they seen as "features". An example is when I need to go into a user's account to add or change an attribute, I HAVE to enter the password for that person or else the password is lost. This has meant that we have had to keep a log of our users' passwords and we have not been able to give them the ability to change their own passwords.
  • All saved ad-hocs in Jasper store the label name of a field instead of the id (best practice) which has made it impossible for us as a company providing Jasper to our users, to change the names of fields whenever we want to. This is very frustrating.
It is easy to connect to databases around the world and Jasper's domains and ad hoc creations are simple to use. Jaspersoft Studio has also been created for being able to create any report we could think of. The limitations I noted in the previous questions are the reasons why I wouldn't recommend Jasper. I have also found it cumbersome to deal with our account manager over the years.
Read Vicky Moore's full review
Rajesh Adapa profile photo
September 20, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Server Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • It is good mainly for Adhoc Views.
  • Dashboards are also pretty good.
  • Report generation is straightforward.
  • When user is logged into Jasper using SSO from other application, it is difficult to pass user related data if the data set is large.
  • Any small change in Domain results in creation of Ahoc views again. It will be better if it is simplified.
  • Local support is good but it is not supporting currency.
It is well suited in terms of exporting the reports in different formats such as PDF, xls, etc.
Read Rajesh Adapa's full review
Ian Long profile photo
September 18, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "Jaspersoft Server review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We use it as our dashboard, and have done a lot of custom integration.
  • Good integration points, powerful APIs
  • Visualize.js didn't have all of the functionality we needed, so it should be improved upon.
It works well in multi-tenant solutions and is a powerful BI suite.
Read Ian Long's full review
Francesco Sandrelli profile photo
August 31, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "We integrate BI features to our applications without (too much) pain"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
We developed a web based pool of applications for a single client with hundreds of users heavily using the apps on a daily basis. After few years of usage, we needed to take advantage of the big amount of data produced. We wanted to give the client the power to explore and analyze data and to add statistical monitoring tools to our application.
  • Ease of integration in existing appplcations
  • Features and quality of Ad Hoc Designer tool
  • Good customer care and technical support
  • Visualize.js not fully supporting dashboards and Ad-hoc view
  • Web app performance sometimes is non as good as expected
  • Tuning of the system has been an hard task
It's a good option in case you want to add business intelligence features to an existing application with a relatively low development cost. The overall cost of the product makes it non-suitable for small and medium projects.
Read Francesco Sandrelli's full review
Javed Sheikh profile photo
August 28, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "2 years professional journey with Jaspersoft"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • Variety of reports
  • Vast community of 3rd party vendor supporting the development
  • Jaspersoft professional technical support
  • Jaspersoft customer success team
  • Support to the on going issues highlighted by customers which get delayed in some cases
  • Fixing product bugs/limitations faster and not to wait till next release
  • Quick support during outage or P1 issues
  • Suggest 3rd party vendor as per the requirements and not on previous relationship or project
  • Requesting 3rd party approved vendor to support the users/customer as they are approved by Jaspersoft and damaging the image of Jasper in directly
[It's well suited for] Providing different reports for different verticals/processes within an organization in different ways which help in quick analytics and gives a clear picture of the performance.
Read Javed Sheikh's full review
Bruce Belvin profile photo
August 25, 2017

User Review: "Tibco Jaspersoft"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
SaaS BI application for the QSR industry
  • Market driven addition of function and features.
  • Ongoing interaction with users to gather feedback and advice on roadmap.
  • Product is a good value at multiyear license cost.
  • In app collaboration.
  • Improve dashboard components to have more sizzle.
  • Improve mapping capabilities.
[The] Product is great as an embedded BI platform. Ease of implementation is great and the AWS environment makes it incredibly easy to deploy as a stand alone application.
Read Bruce Belvin's full review
Pascal Druart profile photo
August 23, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Jaspersoft do it for you..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
TIBCO Jaspersoft is used to
  • create reports requested by external users (reporters, specific requests, etc...)
  • create internal reports for statistics
  • Easy customization of ad-hoc views (add new fields, values) and filter use is very efficient to search data in a report/ad-hoc view
  • A lot of exported formats (pdf, excel, word, ...) are available to publish/export the data out & inside the company
  • Report scheduling is very simple and the available options are useful
  • Unable to print a report when you are in a dashboard
  • Interface to build domains must be more robust (some bugs exist).
  • The modifications of reports when changes are done in the "source" ad-hoc view must be improved
Professional Jaspersoft product is well suited because:
  • internal employees can easily customize ad-hoc views to adapt data to their personal use (add new info, filters, etc...)
  • scheduling reports each day is very useful to perform checks on some data
  • some scheduling options are well done (e.g. send mail with report if report is not empty)
JasperSoft is less appropriate when you create reports from ad-hoc views.
Read Pascal Druart's full review
Ravi Kodavarti profile photo
August 04, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft: "review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • Easy to integrate
  • Good intuitive user interface
  • License management is not good. We have been supplied with license keys whenever there is a new contract renewal and it always causes problems
  • Sales and support people disappear after the sale
  • We use the basic functuionality of the software but no knowledge of what can be done
It has been easy to integrate, and get it running. We are using limited features, and the value is limited. Sales can get arrogant (we are the #1 marketshare) and we are going to increase fees because of or position. The long term viability of the relationship is questionable because of the lack of support, price increases, and arrogance of the relationship. We decided to renew the contract at this time vs looking at other options seriously, but we will definitely evaluate other options in two years when we renew. The sales team looks at closing the deal and then disappears. This is not viable in how we run our own (or any) business, so I am surprised that TIBCO thinks that they can get away with it.
Read Ravi Kodavarti's full review
No photo available
August 18, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Jaspersoft: Reporting made easy!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our internally used application(s)
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
  • Other
We use TIBCO Jaspersoft to provide internal reports that can be viewed or printed on demand for almost all information within our company. We also use it for quick analysis and timely reporting. Ultimately, our goal was to allow users more capability to view information when they needed it and reduce our carbon footprint.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft does really well in GUI layout. It has been relatively quick and easy to get used to the layout and produce a report, sub report, add an image, connect databases, and so on. The layout and organization of the software is simple enough that you could figure it out yourself if you needed to.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft releases, licensing, products are available in a timely manner. I am able to login to my account and download the latest updates without a problem. Information is available for me when I need it.
  • TIBCO Jaspersoft application and web interface allows for complete control of the report that is being given to users. Management is easy. Duplication of a report is also easy. Overall, my experience has been pleasant with how quick I can start and finish a report. A simple report shouldn't take more than 5 minutes.
  • I have a hard time getting my font embedded into the Jasper Report for it to successfully be present in a downloaded PDF. There have been at least two ways I've found that have had both successful and unsuccessful results.
  • There are a few times where the errors were not descriptive enough for me to know what was wrong.
I would recommend TIBCO Jaspersoft to a colleague if they needed to allow a user to access data on demand and with different parameters for the same set of information. It is a great query tool that allows many different individuals, with different needs to be able to access the same data set and retrieve the unique information they each need. It is great for creating company tailored documents. It may not be great for documents that would constantly change style or graphics. I'd recommend it for reports/queries that will be a standard in your company for a while.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2017

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review: "Good for embedded or distributed reporting, but Jaspersoft Studio learning curve is steep."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We embed TIBCO Jaspersoft into our commercial application(s) that we sell to customers
  • We use TIBCO Jaspersoft for print-ready, pixel-perfect reporting
Jaspersoft is our reporting platform that we use to provide reporting to our customers in our products.
  • If you need a pixel-perfect report, Jaspersoft Studio makes that available in various formats. I can make a report and be confident that looks exactly as I want it.
  • Jaspersoft makes it easy to publish and schedule reports for distribution to users via email.
  • Jaspersoft Studio originates from an open source project, and it still has that feeling. The learning curve can be very steep. Making graphs is quite painful and not at all intuitive. I need to know about things like Java data types, casting of those data types. Sometimes the errors I see are just Java stack trace, which I don't expect from a licensed enterprise tool. Sometimes I encounter quirky issues that take hours to resolve.
  • The licensing structure does not work well for us. We need a licensing option that acknowledges where we are at in our company development. The starting price is way too high. We need a licensing structure that gives us an entry point for an early-stage company such as us, that is just starting to gain traction with customers. As a consequence, we use the lowest licensing level, that does not give us access to the web-based ad-hoc dashboard designer. I have used that in the past, and it is so much easier to deal with than Studio, but the hike in price is too much for us to swallow.
For pixel-perfect reporting, distributed by email to a large number of users, it works very well if you can get to grips with Jaspersoft Studio. The Jaspersoft ad-hoc dashboard designer is good for making simple dashboards, especially if they are going to be embedded in another application.

Jaspersoft Studio is completely unusable for regular business (non-IT) users.

Jaspersoft is not well-suited for ad-hoc data exploration.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (70)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (70)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (68)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (73)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (79)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (64)
7.2
Publish to Web (61)
7.8
Publish to PDF (81)
8.5
Report Versioning (45)
6.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (49)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (58)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
6.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (78)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (75)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (71)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (59)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (47)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (26)
7.2
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (34)
6.7
REST API (67)
7.7
Javascript API (52)
7.4
iFrames (45)
7.5
Java API (45)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (45)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (48)
7.6

About TIBCO Jaspersoft

Jaspersoft is a Business Intelligence suite that brings users worldwide more timely, actionable data inside their apps and business processes, through an embeddable reporting and analytics. The vendor says Jaspersoft is a cost-effective platform, and its goal is to help users make better decisions faster.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-tenancy
Has featureAudit Logging

TIBCO Jaspersoft Screenshots

TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Product Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft Downloadables

TIBCO Jaspersoft Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, Oracle VM VirtualBox, Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP), Liferay Digital Experience Platform (DXP)

TIBCO Jaspersoft Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Jaspersoft offers flexible pricing for ISVs and SaaS per customer or by CPU core.

TIBCO Jaspersoft Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

TIBCO Jaspersoft Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, plus the ability to add additional languages