TrustRadius
Kapost is a content management platform with planning and workflow tools built in to create and market branded content, a publishing system to push content to dozens of other platforms, and reporting/analytics to measure and track the content’s performancehttps://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/RZ/rR/ODXHNNRT4S0C.JPEGKapost powers our contentPlain & simple: we use Kapost to plan, create, curate, manage and disseminate all of our customer-facing marketing content across our enterprise. It'sour go-to content repository for all of our sales reps and they can access it through SFDC - ensuring they have the most up-to-date customer-facing collateral.,Create workflows for various projects and task categories (whitepaper creation, trade show, etc.) that make sure you don't miss a critical step in any marketing initiative. Profiles our content archives, ensuring we have the right mix of content for all of our key personas, in each stage of the buying cycle. Reliable and easy to access repository of content for all of our sales reps. They rely heavily on it because it's trustworthy, accurate and easy to use.,There are some advanced tools out there that we've evaluated that have some slick sales enablement features, ML-powered tagging & embedded web features that encourage binge-consumption of content on your website, but they overlap with Kapost as a 'repository' so it doesn't make sense to have both. I'm really hoping Kapost invests in adding these kinds of features to their roadmap.,9,Better visibility into your whole content inventory. Easier for sales to find and use relevant content. Easy to manage and monitor progress in the content creation process. As with any workflow /project management tool, the project management adds another layer of work, but it's worth it.,MS SharePointKapost gets you organizedKapost is being used to manage a wide range of marketing content across three collaborating organizations (corporation, agency and publishing company). It has greatly helped increase visibility into marketing efforts, shows where projects stand in the pipeline and provides a central location to store and find all materials.,Visibility -- it's easy to see a project's progression and find materials already completed. Users can access all content in one place and a dashboard shows all tasks assigned to you that still need completed. Materials are easy to search, with a variety of filter categories to show only what you need and want to see. File management -- It's easy to upload and save all materials for a project. Access to recent projects can easily be found via the dashboard. Organization is key! Communication -- working and communicating with others is easy with the ability to email users outside of Kapost from within the system, as well as communicate with reviewers and content managers via a text-message like format.,Organization -- unless a standardized naming convention for files is in place, large dumps of content can easily get 'lost' if not organized in a standardized manner for everyone involved. Email functionality -- when emailing to non-Kapost users, a proper email system with formatting options would be nice. Currently, once it sends the email out, the copy tends to all run together versus the paragraphs I initially start out with. Navigation -- some navigation windows could use either a drop down box or larger box to include more content. Scrolling can be difficult and a bit cumbersome in a tiny box that only shows 2-3 lines of content.,8,Increased visibility of a project's lifecycle. Increased employee efficiency -- having all content in one place minimizes duplication of content already produced, increases access to materials, and keeps a project on deadline.,WorkZone,2,8Great for filtering content and managing workflowsWe're using Kapost in our marketing department. We're a start-up, with about 5 years of content now, but before Kapost we had no way of archiving or organizing this content. In order to try to get as much use out of each asset we create, we've created about 8 tags -- so the content can be accessed again and again based on querying a certain customer segmentation, for instance. We also use Kapost to track our workflow. We have a content driver push the copy through each stage, but this provides a very visual outline of who has seen it (from writers to design to execs, etc.). Now that we've had Kapost for a while, I'm in the process of working with our content strategist to pare down our workflows and tags even more based on how we've been using it. And we've been using it a lot.,Filtering: If you make the most out of your custom details and custom fields, you can gain newfound access to materials that may have long been lost in the ether. It's really easy for us, for instance, to see all of our videos at once. Or everything targeting a certain buying stage. Or you can keyword search to see everything on one topic. Workflows: It's really nice to lay out "who sees what when" in a digital way, because everyone involved on an asset can easily see what stage things are at. You can also set deadlines to tasks, which seems a bit more firm than a casual email, because you can visually see how meeting your deadline fits within the whole timeline. Calendars: The calendar feature is nice for us because we have a blog, so we can see when everything is (supposed) to go live. It's easy to see when I, as a copy editor, should be expecting work, so I can align my day accordingly. Way better than the old-fashioned "mental note" system.,Updating custom fields: Some time in the past few months, we had added new options under a certain custom field and had named them "New -- namehere," to alert our Kapost users to the new tags so they wouldn't just skim over them. We thought we could eventually just delete the "New" part. But when we went in to do that, it treated it as a whole new custom field, forcing us to retag a whole slew of content. It would be nice if you could *edit* custom field names, not just add and delete them. Search functionality: This is probably the biggest problem. It's obviously very useful to be able to keyword search, but the Kapost search algorithm only seems to work if you write your search term in order and verbatim. e.g. "Orlando Zoo animals" will not pick up content called "Orlando animals." Submit button: When you create content, there's a "submit" button and a "publish" button at the top right of the screen. I have no idea what the "submit" button does. We usually just hit it to make it go away. I'm not sure if it provides any sort of functionality. The pages in Kapost autosave every few seconds, so it doesn't seem to be a save feature. If it doesn't actually do anything, they should probably remove it.,7,I think we're able to reuse content a lot more often, which only saves time and personnel resources. By "reuse" I both mean access older content that's still applicable because we can now search for it more effectively, and also to use older content that may have been forgotten as a springboard for other channels. Through Kapost, our workflow is really intuitive, obvious, and clean. There are no questions about when things are due, and communication is really effective. We've really been able to systemize our process from ideation to publication. We always follow the same steps and store our content in the same place. I think this alleviates some of the ambiguity that exists in workplaces where each team member kind of has there own system. Kapost gives us a visual of our shared workflow, our shared timeline, and has internal communication features, so comments on files don't get lost in emails. We all feel in sync.,,Snagit, Adobe Photoshop, SkypeKapost Powers Content MarkeingKapost started as a content management tool among the content marketing team. It was quickly introduced across other areas of marketing, making sure everyone who has a hand in content - from creation to execution - was keeping track of their tasks. This has really helped provide an unparalleled level if transparency previously unattainable, and it helps everyone understand their roles as related to our content marketing strategy.,Setting up and scheduling tasks for individuals across department functions. Everyone is now aware of what they need to do, and when it is due. Kapost enables its users to see what the whole team is working on. So even though I may not be assigned to a particular project, I can discover ideas that may be relevant for me, and we do not have to worry about duplicating efforts. Eventually, Kapost will let us publish content straight from the platform, which will be a huge time-saver.,I'd love to see an App. I work remotely, and I am on the road often, so just being able to quickly see the status of a project would be helpful. Publishing. This will come, but I'd like to see more options to publish to the web. Cleaner UX.,7,Quicker production times. More transparency.,,TrackMavenKaposting awayMost members of the marketing department are using Kapost. Anyone involved in the creation of marketing assets is using Kapost. It addresses version control issues, workflow issues, visibility and storage issues.,Kapost has a great workflow function that keeps everyone on track with notifications and specific settings per content type. Kapost is great for allowing teams to communicate with each other and see the same items everyone is working on. Kapost has great customer service, and items we suggest have been implemented into the system.,The calendar function is very confusing, and no one uses it at our company. There needs to be some sort of smart task feature that, after putting in some settings, it will know what the lead time is for a project based on the content type. There should be reminder notifications beyond the one initial reminder or overdue email that comes in. It should badger the person until they complete their step or change the workflow. This would ensure that things don't fall through the cracks, and the amount of Kapost babysitting would be less.,8,Increased employee efficiency Accurate customer assets Increased production level, increased output of assets,10
Unspecified
Kapost
26 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Kapost Reviews

Kapost
26 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 26 vetted Kapost reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Scott Barker profile photo
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Kapost powers our content"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Plain & simple: we use Kapost to plan, create, curate, manage and disseminate all of our customer-facing marketing content across our enterprise. It'sour go-to content repository for all of our sales reps and they can access it through SFDC - ensuring they have the most up-to-date customer-facing collateral.
  • Create workflows for various projects and task categories (whitepaper creation, trade show, etc.) that make sure you don't miss a critical step in any marketing initiative.
  • Profiles our content archives, ensuring we have the right mix of content for all of our key personas, in each stage of the buying cycle.
  • Reliable and easy to access repository of content for all of our sales reps. They rely heavily on it because it's trustworthy, accurate and easy to use.
  • There are some advanced tools out there that we've evaluated that have some slick sales enablement features, ML-powered tagging & embedded web features that encourage binge-consumption of content on your website, but they overlap with Kapost as a 'repository' so it doesn't make sense to have both. I'm really hoping Kapost invests in adding these kinds of features to their roadmap.
Kapost has potential to be a great asset in small and large orgs. If you're not producing a great deal of content, or coordinating across a large team, there's still tremendous value, but it scales as your org scales because it makes it easier to coordinate and manage large teams and large content archives.
Read Scott Barker's full review
Amanda Joshi profile photo
June 08, 2016

User Review: "Kapost gets you organized"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kapost is being used to manage a wide range of marketing content across three collaborating organizations (corporation, agency and publishing company). It has greatly helped increase visibility into marketing efforts, shows where projects stand in the pipeline and provides a central location to store and find all materials.
  • Visibility -- it's easy to see a project's progression and find materials already completed. Users can access all content in one place and a dashboard shows all tasks assigned to you that still need completed. Materials are easy to search, with a variety of filter categories to show only what you need and want to see.
  • File management -- It's easy to upload and save all materials for a project. Access to recent projects can easily be found via the dashboard. Organization is key!
  • Communication -- working and communicating with others is easy with the ability to email users outside of Kapost from within the system, as well as communicate with reviewers and content managers via a text-message like format.
  • Organization -- unless a standardized naming convention for files is in place, large dumps of content can easily get 'lost' if not organized in a standardized manner for everyone involved.
  • Email functionality -- when emailing to non-Kapost users, a proper email system with formatting options would be nice. Currently, once it sends the email out, the copy tends to all run together versus the paragraphs I initially start out with.
  • Navigation -- some navigation windows could use either a drop down box or larger box to include more content. Scrolling can be difficult and a bit cumbersome in a tiny box that only shows 2-3 lines of content.
Do you have large amounts of content and marketing materials to manage? Are various parties working on multiple projects? If so, then this will greatly help keep things organized in one central place.
Read Amanda Joshi's full review
Susan Kemp profile photo
December 15, 2015

Kapost Review: "Great for filtering content and managing workflows"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Kapost in our marketing department. We're a start-up, with about 5 years of content now, but before Kapost we had no way of archiving or organizing this content. In order to try to get as much use out of each asset we create, we've created about 8 tags -- so the content can be accessed again and again based on querying a certain customer segmentation, for instance. We also use Kapost to track our workflow. We have a content driver push the copy through each stage, but this provides a very visual outline of who has seen it (from writers to design to execs, etc.). Now that we've had Kapost for a while, I'm in the process of working with our content strategist to pare down our workflows and tags even more based on how we've been using it. And we've been using it a lot.
  • Filtering: If you make the most out of your custom details and custom fields, you can gain newfound access to materials that may have long been lost in the ether. It's really easy for us, for instance, to see all of our videos at once. Or everything targeting a certain buying stage. Or you can keyword search to see everything on one topic.
  • Workflows: It's really nice to lay out "who sees what when" in a digital way, because everyone involved on an asset can easily see what stage things are at. You can also set deadlines to tasks, which seems a bit more firm than a casual email, because you can visually see how meeting your deadline fits within the whole timeline.
  • Calendars: The calendar feature is nice for us because we have a blog, so we can see when everything is (supposed) to go live. It's easy to see when I, as a copy editor, should be expecting work, so I can align my day accordingly. Way better than the old-fashioned "mental note" system.
  • Updating custom fields: Some time in the past few months, we had added new options under a certain custom field and had named them "New -- namehere," to alert our Kapost users to the new tags so they wouldn't just skim over them. We thought we could eventually just delete the "New" part. But when we went in to do that, it treated it as a whole new custom field, forcing us to retag a whole slew of content. It would be nice if you could *edit* custom field names, not just add and delete them.
  • Search functionality: This is probably the biggest problem. It's obviously very useful to be able to keyword search, but the Kapost search algorithm only seems to work if you write your search term in order and verbatim. e.g. "Orlando Zoo animals" will not pick up content called "Orlando animals."
  • Submit button: When you create content, there's a "submit" button and a "publish" button at the top right of the screen. I have no idea what the "submit" button does. We usually just hit it to make it go away. I'm not sure if it provides any sort of functionality. The pages in Kapost autosave every few seconds, so it doesn't seem to be a save feature. If it doesn't actually do anything, they should probably remove it.
I think the filters within the custom fields and custom details is its strongest feature for us. So I would say, the more content you have, the more use you'll get out of Kapost, especially if you need to organize your content in a lot of different ways (as we do for our targeted marketing). We still format edit/publish blogs via WordPress (although we put the draft in Kapost), but blogs aren't necessarily our #1 thing. Perhaps, for people who are really blog-centric, another platform may be better. Kapost is really good, I think, for copy that has a lot of hands on it, and can really benefit from well-structured work flows and a really comprehensive metadata system.
Read Susan Kemp's full review
Mike Goldberg profile photo
December 18, 2015

User Review: "Kapost Powers Content Markeing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kapost started as a content management tool among the content marketing team. It was quickly introduced across other areas of marketing, making sure everyone who has a hand in content - from creation to execution - was keeping track of their tasks. This has really helped provide an unparalleled level if transparency previously unattainable, and it helps everyone understand their roles as related to our content marketing strategy.
  • Setting up and scheduling tasks for individuals across department functions. Everyone is now aware of what they need to do, and when it is due.
  • Kapost enables its users to see what the whole team is working on. So even though I may not be assigned to a particular project, I can discover ideas that may be relevant for me, and we do not have to worry about duplicating efforts.
  • Eventually, Kapost will let us publish content straight from the platform, which will be a huge time-saver.
  • I'd love to see an App. I work remotely, and I am on the road often, so just being able to quickly see the status of a project would be helpful.
  • Publishing. This will come, but I'd like to see more options to publish to the web.
  • Cleaner UX.
Well suited for large marketing departments producing a lot of content that touches many departments.
Read Mike Goldberg's full review
Lenore Brown profile photo
December 16, 2014

User Review: "Kaposting away"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most members of the marketing department are using Kapost. Anyone involved in the creation of marketing assets is using Kapost. It addresses version control issues, workflow issues, visibility and storage issues.
  • Kapost has a great workflow function that keeps everyone on track with notifications and specific settings per content type.
  • Kapost is great for allowing teams to communicate with each other and see the same items everyone is working on.
  • Kapost has great customer service, and items we suggest have been implemented into the system.
  • The calendar function is very confusing, and no one uses it at our company.
  • There needs to be some sort of smart task feature that, after putting in some settings, it will know what the lead time is for a project based on the content type.
  • There should be reminder notifications beyond the one initial reminder or overdue email that comes in. It should badger the person until they complete their step or change the workflow. This would ensure that things don't fall through the cracks, and the amount of Kapost babysitting would be less.
Well-suited for small to mid-sized companies. Its challenges are when a company is growing, as it is a per-seat user license type of system.
Read Lenore Brown's full review
Amber Newman profile photo
November 09, 2013

Kapost: "Good tool for accelerating content production"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The calendar is a great way to visualize and plan upcoming content publication.
  • Workflow for content production, review and publication is easy to use an effective.
  • Setup is fairly straightforward.
  • Support has been excellent.
  • The solution handles multiple content types well.
  • Social media distribution needs improvement. Specifically a calendar for planned Tweets and a better way to schedule multiple shares of the same content.
  • System performance is somewhat slow.
  • Should be an easier way to make changes, like adding custom fields or publication destinations, to all content types, rather than one at a time.
It is important to understand and document each of your content types and publication destinations so that you can ensure your license covers the number of content types you need and that the solution integrates with your important publication destinations. Don't go overboard with complex workflow and review processes. A simple workflow will make sure that you don't have any content bottlenecks. Heavy social media publishers should consider how Kapost will work with other tools for social promotion.
Read Amber Newman's full review
No photo available
May 23, 2016

User Review: "Kapost - For email campaigns"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kapost is being used company wide. It has taken over as the primary use for email campaign designing and deployment. It allows us to all work within one system and unify newsletters and email campaigns. Kapost also has easy analysis after deployment so we are able to better track our campaign statistics, open rates, etc.
  • Sets you up with a strategist. You are able to be in constant communication through Kapost with your strategist and send one another working proofs and comments.
  • Unity - it has made all our email campaigns have a similar look and feel. Kapost has shown results on the appropriate amount of images to use and the type of language that works.
  • Stay on track - each person is notified when the role before theirs is complete so they know when it is their turn to act upon something.
  • Strategist - in some ways it feels that those behind Kapost are good at coming up with a plan and implementing it but do not have a design background. We worked with a design team in the past so we can get frustrated with this.
  • Time zone differences. Whomever the strategist is, it would be better if we worked similar time zones versus having to wait several hours to communicate and get immediate fixes.
It is appropriate to help send out your email campaigns and give you a proper timeline of when deployment will be and statistics of how well your campaign has done. In some cases it's easier to have a designer or rather yourself do a full design type of look in a Word document and then send it to Kapost so they see exactly how you picture the email.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 13, 2016

Review: "Kapost: One-Stop Shop for Most Marketing Content Creation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kapost was used by the marketing team to blast email and social media content to a wide variety of customers. Kapost was an excellent software that allowed us to sign-up certain team members to all aspects of creating an email. Having the ability to know exactly where each project was in the line of assembly and holding people accountable for their job was one of the major problems Kapost addressed.
  • A great tool for multiple projects occurring at the same time. The company I worked with had over 20 to 30 projects going on at the same time.
  • With Kapost it is much easier to keep track of your tasks and see when content goes live.
  • Being able to see overall content engagement across channels and quickly measure what is working and what is not is fantastic.
  • There are improvements that could be made to the insights component of Kapost. It would be helpful to have more custom ways to view the data.
  • Sometimes it's slow and there could be more links from section to section. I would like to be able to easily get back to the campaign page from each individual asset.
  • The platform could have stronger social media publishing options and better campaign tracking views, but we used other tools for those purposes.
We were solving lots of challenges with Kapost, including content strategy, sales enablement, and project management. Out of the different types of content, we definitely used Kapost for all of the tasks for blog post since it has a slick Wordpress integration. Lastly, I would say from a scalability perspective, Kapost can be rather pricey for a large team. We were constantly having to analyze our license usage and determine if people really "need" seats, and it would be wonderful to not have to watch that quite so carefully.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2015

User Review: "Kapost - Early User"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used the platform for social media content creation, scheduling and analytics. We no longer use the service.
  • It has a nice calendar feature that is color coded based on content, easy to move items around, and makes scheduling content a breeze.
  • It integrates well with most social media platforms.
  • It is pretty good at helping to create and organize campaigns.
  • When I used the product, it was fairly new and there were always glitches.
  • The content curation feature was clumsy and didn't work the way it was presented.
I think it is well suited as a content scheduling platform for use with multiple contributors across a company. I would be sure to ask about the analytics feature, as that was not functioning properly when I used the service.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2015

"Kapost is a hybrid platform perfect for content strategists"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kapost is integral to our marketing, product marketing, and even sales teams. It allows us to:
-scale the production of content with consistent workflows by content type
-organize and manage that content by utilizing custom fields and metadata tagging
-publish content to a variety of channels from one single platform
It addresses problems around scale, management, organization, and consistent user experience.

  • Creation of custom fields to organize and "tag" your content in a way that works best for your organization
  • Integrations with key platforms: Marketo, Salesforce, Wordpress, social channels
  • Custom reports to let you play with data, perform content gap analyses, inventories, etc.
  • No bulk tagging. We have several custom fields with picklists that I'd really like to bulk tag to.
  • Occasional bugs can be frustrating; Sometimes a feature functionality doesn't make sense even when Support explains Product's "logic" for building it the way they did (can feel like they don't always truly understand the user perspective or even the field of content management).
  • "Collaborative" editing capabilities severely lacking.
-May be less suited for smaller organizations from an affordability perspective.
-Not well suited for organizations without a dedicated content person to own, manage, and maintain the platform (similar to a Salesforce admin or data analyst/content manager).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ideation (6)
7.0
Approval workflows (7)
9.9
Content collaboration (7)
9.0
Content calendar (7)
7.9
Network for content licensing/production (1)
9
Content hub (6)
9.9
Forms / Gated content (3)
7.0
Embedded CTAs (3)
7.9
Content distribution (5)
7.0
Content promotion (4)
8.3
Content automation (4)
8.8
Audience profiling and targeting (4)
8.9
Closed-loop tracking and reporting (5)
8.9
Content performance analytics (5)
8.0
Campaign optimization dashboard (3)
7.2
Competitive analytics (2)
7.9

About Kapost

Kapost is a B2B Marketing Operating System that enables marketers to manage the marketing function amid the complexity of the digital age. Kapost aims to align teams, tools and channels, so users can effectively plan, execute, distribute and analyze content and campaigns across the buyer’s journey.


Categories:  Content Marketing

Kapost Features

Content Creation Features
Has featureIdeation
Has featureApproval workflows
Has featureContent collaboration
Has featureContent calendar
Does not have featureNetwork for content licensing/production
Does not have featurePayment/Resource management
Content Publishing Features
Has featureContent hub
Has featureForms / Gated content
Does not have featureEmbedded CTAs
Has featureContent distribution
Does not have featureContent promotion
Has featureContent automation
Content Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureAudience profiling and targeting
Has featureClosed-loop tracking and reporting
Has featureContent performance analytics
Has featureCampaign optimization dashboard
Does not have featureCompetitive analytics
Has featureContent production analytics
Has featurePage-level engagement analytics

Kapost Integrations

Kapost Competitors

Kapost Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Kapost Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No