TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qr/gm/QAII8XIHMWHS.JPEGAmazing Tool for Communication & CollaborationWe use Jive for our company-wide intranet. It's the primary way we communicate and collaborate across departments and regions. From blog posts to meeting notes and weekly reports, it's a great way to store and share important documents in a secure environment. We also gamify use of the intranet and use Jive to manage charitable giving, with employees having the ability to donate points earned to a charity we vote on as a team.,Collaboration Integration with Outlook File storage Publishing,Notifications can be wonky sometimes. I'm not sure why, but I often have to clear out new notifications multiple times before they disappear. I'd like to see more robust options in the CMS for creating blog posts. It's not always easy for newbies to figure out how to position images, videos, etc. in a blog post. Better training/tutorials for new users. For those comfortable with technology, Jive is quite intuitive. But we've found it's overwhelming for those who aren't as confident using new technology. Perhaps some quick and simple tutorial videos would be a helpful way to familiarize new users with the features available.,9,Better internal communication, resulting in improved employee engagement Cost savings, due to no longer paying Dropbox subscription fees for file sharing Easier sharing across regions, resulting in better customer innovation and collaboration,JIRA Service Desk, Adobe Photoshop, CanvaVery pleased with using Jive at WorkThe Marketing and Outreach department uses Jive as an intranet to be able to access important items at their desks and remotely on their cell phones, while in the field.,It stores information easily so it can be accessed by others The Jive app is user-friendly and helpful as field reps need to use it It's easy to manage the data that is uploaded into Jive.,The formatting of the overview page is somewhat difficult to update and restructure. Sometimes the files won't load into the viewing area and must be downloaded to view.,8,Accuracy, communication, and accessibility to pertinent information have all improved since the implementation of Jive at my work.,Vonage, Google Cloud StorageJive ReviewWe use Jive for collaboration pages and to serve as an intranet of sorts - an internal knowledge base.,Tagging and labeling are flexible and useful for searches. Document editing is flexible and supports most of the options that you would expect. Page configuration and display options also allow for some customization of "look and feel.",Search results don't always produce timely topics. I find that Jive lacks a modern aesthetic but your mileage may vary. Copy / paste of bullet point content from MSWord is not effective, and this can be frustrating when transferring content.,7,Easier to find information about internal initiatives. Useful for storing content in a shared repository and not on local computers. The notifications system of Jive has prevented errors in executing company policy, based on alerts from Jive to flag new content.,MS SharePoint,Salesforce.com, HubSpot, CA Agile Central (formerly Rally)Jive talkin' (sorry)Jive is being used across the entire organization to provide a company-wide internal resource for file hosting, discussion, announcements and so on. In a larger organization like ours with offices all over the world, it is important that all employees have a shared resource of this type for sharing documents and information.,Jive does not have too much of a learning curve - most of it is pretty intuitive for anyone who has used similar tools in the past. In the right hands, information can be organized well. It is quite highly customizable by users, which is always a plus - one size does not always fit all!,I have sometimes found previews of uploaded files to be unreliable - Jive has failed to correctly render some files and gave up completely on some others. Information is only as well-organized as the user. It's a shame there aren't more guidelines or guardrails to help avoid confusion. Tagging, at least in our implementation, is the wild west. Lots of duplicative tags because absolutely anyone can add tags, even if variations of those tags already exist and could be used instead. This is a common problem in tools like these, though.,7,The effects have been mostly positive as we did not previously have a company-wide tool of this type available to all employees. That's not necessarily specific to Jive as we could have used any tool, but Jive is largely up to the job. The only negative impact has been an occasional poor use of the tool, which has not had the desired effect of a more productive workforce. The ability to share information with third parties outside the company on a limited basis is a plus for collaboration with partners.,,Adobe Experience Manager, InVision, SlackMy Jive ReviewAcross the whole organisation with a focus on day-to-day operational issues and business planning: lateral comms: coordination within and outside individual teams in the course of delivering their business prioritiesupward comms: situational awareness for project/program managers and executivesdownward comms: regular blogs from executives regarding priority setting, business agenda, updates...product/it support of various it tools and software used operationally organising events (conferences, bleacher talks, meetings, forums...)preservation and guarding against erosion of corporate knowledge (decision points, know-how, highlights, lowlights, knowledge base...),easy to quickly assemble a community of interest at various privacy levels (private, secret, open...) easy to get an awareness of what activities others are doing (activity streams, notifications...) integrates well with the existing enterprise it infrastructure (office/outlook connects),Jive's customisation of the TinyMCE editor could use further improvement (e.g. wrt editing tables) Telepresence (i.e. online/away status) for users would be nice, paired with the ability to open a chat session The admin console could use a refresh (we find ourselves fishing/searching for 'that setting to do X...') Developer documentation (esp. creating add-ons) could use some consolidation, clarification and a refresh... we build a lot of add-ons PKI authentication support out of the box would be nice Allowing users to choose how their name is displayed, as opposed to how it is recorded in LDAP. I would say 10-20% of our user base has a preferred or commonly used name (e.g. Dominique (Dom) Collette). Because my name is recorded in LDAP, and because our LDAP is considered an official system of record, owners of LDAP are required to strictly adhere to identities used in official documents (birth certificates, etc...) but many people prefer to be called by some nickname, or by what is considered their middle name on a birth certificate... There are no options to enter a displayed preferred name. Information management: smart rules for the lifecycle/sedimentation of information (e.g. goes from fresh/active, to archived, to destroyed) would be nice. it would personally base those rules on a combination of attributes such as age, 'kinetic activity' (likes, shares, bookmarks, comments, @-mentions...), and then come up with thresholds and strategy for notifying the author (e.g. "Your document X is Y years old and showing a low relevance rating. Would you like to update it? archive it? delete it?..."). Project management - task breakdowns, display... we use Atlassian tools a lot (Confluence, Jira) -- a nice integration/add-on with those tools would score huge points with our user base (e.g. Create Jira issue from a discussion/document, create Jive discussion from a Jira issue, a time to display Jira sprint board, product backlog...),8,reduce email traffic reduce amount of files/documents scattered & lost across shared drives increased discovery, awareness and interaction of historically more separated individuals & team functions across the organisation from an IT perspective, we've benefited from improved IT operations (e.g. troubleshooting info shared and easily searched/found with all team members - such that even junior team members can solve technical problems outside of business hours, lessening the burden for standby/call-in for more senior team members),Atlassian Confluence, Drupal, Moodle, OpenText Actuate Information Hub, MS SharePoint and Slack,Microsoft Office 2016, Atlassian Confluence
Unspecified
Jive
77 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 77 vetted Jive reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 19, 2018

Jive Review: "Amazing Tool for Communication & Collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jive for our company-wide intranet. It's the primary way we communicate and collaborate across departments and regions. From blog posts to meeting notes and weekly reports, it's a great way to store and share important documents in a secure environment. We also gamify use of the intranet and use Jive to manage charitable giving, with employees having the ability to donate points earned to a charity we vote on as a team.
  • Collaboration
  • Integration with Outlook
  • File storage
  • Publishing
  • Notifications can be wonky sometimes. I'm not sure why, but I often have to clear out new notifications multiple times before they disappear.
  • I'd like to see more robust options in the CMS for creating blog posts. It's not always easy for newbies to figure out how to position images, videos, etc. in a blog post.
  • Better training/tutorials for new users. For those comfortable with technology, Jive is quite intuitive. But we've found it's overwhelming for those who aren't as confident using new technology. Perhaps some quick and simple tutorial videos would be a helpful way to familiarize new users with the features available.
Jive is an amazing way to share weekly reports/updates. We post weekly Google Analytics Reports, social media engagement stats, and sales updates in a private group for our team. It's a nice way to share updates without clogging up email inboxes. More importantly, the whole team can comment and update the documents. It's also nice to be able to share larger files without worrying about size limits.
Read Erica Marois's full review
July 20, 2018

User Review: "Very pleased with using Jive at Work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Marketing and Outreach department uses Jive as an intranet to be able to access important items at their desks and remotely on their cell phones, while in the field.
  • It stores information easily so it can be accessed by others
  • The Jive app is user-friendly and helpful as field reps need to use it
  • It's easy to manage the data that is uploaded into Jive.
  • The formatting of the overview page is somewhat difficult to update and restructure.
  • Sometimes the files won't load into the viewing area and must be downloaded to view.
Jive is user-friendly, easy to use and manage as an admin. Having the Jive app makes items easily accessible when your team is not all in the office.
Read Jillian Schmoldt's full review
June 04, 2018

"Jive Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jive for collaboration pages and to serve as an intranet of sorts - an internal knowledge base.
  • Tagging and labeling are flexible and useful for searches.
  • Document editing is flexible and supports most of the options that you would expect.
  • Page configuration and display options also allow for some customization of "look and feel."
  • Search results don't always produce timely topics.
  • I find that Jive lacks a modern aesthetic but your mileage may vary.
  • Copy / paste of bullet point content from MSWord is not effective, and this can be frustrating when transferring content.
Jive is a fairly effective tool to use for an internal knowledge base and repository of employee-curated content. Group-level permissions are helpful to segment content across large teams. I would not recommend Jive as a blogging platform.
Read Jason Lanier's full review
June 13, 2018

User Review: "Jive talkin' (sorry)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive is being used across the entire organization to provide a company-wide internal resource for file hosting, discussion, announcements and so on. In a larger organization like ours with offices all over the world, it is important that all employees have a shared resource of this type for sharing documents and information.
  • Jive does not have too much of a learning curve - most of it is pretty intuitive for anyone who has used similar tools in the past.
  • In the right hands, information can be organized well.
  • It is quite highly customizable by users, which is always a plus - one size does not always fit all!
  • I have sometimes found previews of uploaded files to be unreliable - Jive has failed to correctly render some files and gave up completely on some others.
  • Information is only as well-organized as the user. It's a shame there aren't more guidelines or guardrails to help avoid confusion.
  • Tagging, at least in our implementation, is the wild west. Lots of duplicative tags because absolutely anyone can add tags, even if variations of those tags already exist and could be used instead. This is a common problem in tools like these, though.
It's definitely worth considering Jive for the type of application we've developed i.e. a central shared repository for all employees to host and discuss information. I can't say I have ever used a superior tool, but they may exist. I'm just not sure I would want to use it exclusively for file hosting, though. It does integrate with various other tools, so perhaps it would be fine if used in conjunction with another tool for that purpose.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2018

"My Jive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organisation with a focus on day-to-day operational issues and business planning:
  • lateral comms: coordination within and outside individual teams in the course of delivering their business priorities
  • upward comms: situational awareness for project/program managers and executives
  • downward comms: regular blogs from executives regarding priority setting, business agenda, updates...
  • product/it support of various it tools and software used operationally
  • organising events (conferences, bleacher talks, meetings, forums...)
  • preservation and guarding against erosion of corporate knowledge (decision points, know-how, highlights, lowlights, knowledge base...)

  • easy to quickly assemble a community of interest at various privacy levels (private, secret, open...)
  • easy to get an awareness of what activities others are doing (activity streams, notifications...)
  • integrates well with the existing enterprise it infrastructure (office/outlook connects)
  • Jive's customisation of the TinyMCE editor could use further improvement (e.g. wrt editing tables)
  • Telepresence (i.e. online/away status) for users would be nice, paired with the ability to open a chat session
  • The admin console could use a refresh (we find ourselves fishing/searching for 'that setting to do X...')
  • Developer documentation (esp. creating add-ons) could use some consolidation, clarification and a refresh... we build a lot of add-ons
  • PKI authentication support out of the box would be nice
  • Allowing users to choose how their name is displayed, as opposed to how it is recorded in LDAP. I would say 10-20% of our user base has a preferred or commonly used name (e.g. Dominique (Dom) Collette). Because my name is recorded in LDAP, and because our LDAP is considered an official system of record, owners of LDAP are required to strictly adhere to identities used in official documents (birth certificates, etc...) but many people prefer to be called by some nickname, or by what is considered their middle name on a birth certificate... There are no options to enter a displayed preferred name.
  • Information management: smart rules for the lifecycle/sedimentation of information (e.g. goes from fresh/active, to archived, to destroyed) would be nice. it would personally base those rules on a combination of attributes such as age, 'kinetic activity' (likes, shares, bookmarks, comments, @-mentions...), and then come up with thresholds and strategy for notifying the author (e.g. "Your document X is Y years old and showing a low relevance rating. Would you like to update it? archive it? delete it?...").
  • Project management - task breakdowns, display... we use Atlassian tools a lot (Confluence, JIRA) -- a nice integration/add-on with those tools would score huge points with our user base (e.g. Create JIRA issue from a discussion/document, create Jive discussion from a JIRA issue, a time to display JIRA sprint board, product backlog...)
Very likely. Jive is great for teams & organisations that are separated by time and/or distance to share information and coordinate effort, planning and thinking. With time spent educating and coaching, it is a much better alternative to email and shared folders. My only concern is that recently there have been signs or at least rumors to the effect that customers need to abide by some minimum threshold for number of accounts, and demonstrate growth potential, or face the risk that licenses won't be renewed. From a business perspective, this doesn't make sense to me because any customer small or large represents revenue, so I'm hoping it is just that: a rumour. I would likely rate it 9 or 10 were it not for this concern (founded or not) that I have for the longer term.
Read this authenticated review
December 29, 2017

Jive Review: "Western equivalent Bitrix24"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Creation of a working group for the preparation of a commercial proposal.
Doing business with your new employees on behalf of HR.

I've created a space that other Wеb2win employees can come to find out everything they need to know (and more) about the customer marketing programs I run. That has saved me a tremendous amount of time replying to questions and answering requests for meetings.
  • Individual design
  • Presence of Russian language (localization can be independently established)
  • You can configure several information tapes with different themes. One for work, the second for communication
  • A newly-arrived network user immediately receives a prepared block for beginners. After completing several game tasks, the user will receive the basics of using Jive.
  • There is a template for each scenario. There is even a template for planning R&D, and there are more than twenty of them.
  • Integrates with MS Office, Google Drive, Google Docs
  • There are all platforms (even Winphone and blackberry)
  • You can create forum threads
  • For the first time, pages open slowly, this is due to the fact that they load quite heavy widgets. Corrected with patience at the first boot.
  • The administrator console is only partially localized, the essential part remains in English. Fixed by learning English.
  • Widgets are not localized, which are offered by default to new users. This is for programmers.
  • A lot of different materials that you can create: polls, ideas, documents, blogs, messages, etc., total 16 items. They are different, managed differently and have different properties - all this will cause difficulties in the initial stages. Corrected by a serious approach to user training. However, for advanced users - it's interesting
  • If you specify your name in Russian at the first self-registration, in the system it can be displayed as "abracadabra". Fixed either synchronization with Active Directory, or individually by the user.
The content in the news section isn't totally responsive - meaning if I have a small window taking up half my screen, the images for the headline articles may not load properly and when I maximize that window, it's left with ugly half-loaded images. Also, the collaboration feature for Office documents is great in theory but tends to cause more pain than it's worth to just download the document and open it separately in Word or Excel.
Read Anna Stepanenko's full review
February 09, 2018

User Review: "Jive-n Intranet Platform"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive is being used for our intranet platform. It is being used across the whole organization. It replaced our aging intranet with an updated social intranet with more usable features.
  • Jive makes it easy to create new pages for administrators.
  • Jive makes it easy to manage users in one area and simple to navigate administration user interface.
  • Jive is a really good concept, the idea behind jive creates a great main hub in an organizaiton.
  • More features and widgets would be prefered for media related subjects.
  • Sometimes support can take ages to get back to you but the new company that purchased Jive is slowly improving the support infastructure.
  • Having a home page that has more options to control types of news or what pop ups on users would be great.
Jive is a great intranet platform and a great place to store critical documents that the whole organizations would need. Jive does not do well with real-time collaborations, it is clunky in that aspect and the implementation of collaboration is too hard to understand for most normal users.
Read Jeffrey Ing's full review
January 17, 2018

Review: "Using Jive for collaboration in a research organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive is used RAND-wide, but uptake varies throughout the organization. We are not required to use it for anything, so some choose not to. It is used to solicit ideas from a large variety of people at RAND, such as for proposal development, or to communicate more casually about items of interest. Since members of our organization staff projects by finding other staff who have time to spend working on the projects, Jive is often use to advertise for available work.
  • Reduces number of emails
  • Allows for polling and getting quick input
  • A place for communicating information to interested parties without tracking down contact info
  • Interface is clunky
  • Search functionality is limited
  • Uptake is relatively low at my organization
Jive is good for "blasting" a large number of people. Not good for communicating crucial or time-sensitive information. Good for brainstorming with a group. Not good for communicating with specific people.
Read Linnea Warren May's full review
January 25, 2018

Review: "Jive is a great Knowledge Base Solution!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Improved collaboration, and once it had been adopted widely across the company, the internal site we built using it became a must-visit destination each day because it made it easy to quickly see what's going on around our large company.

Used for an internal company site, Jive is a simple, user-friendly tool to allow employees to easily collaborate and communicate in their work and other initiatives. I've also found it's very handy for the sharing of documents, and the ability to limit visibility of those documents where necessary is a definite plus.

There is not much to dislike once you get used to it, which doesn't take long. The only place in which I've found it can be a little buggy is my personal feed of updates I'm following in my inbox, which does not always mark items as read when I want it to.
  • Easy to set up and easy to configure.
  • Castlight encourages users to share knowledge for a while, provides a central knowledge base too.
  • Several different options allow for some customization of "places" and the admin console is quite robust in terms of permissions, email notifications, and news feed structure.
  • Clutter can easily become an issue if there isn't an established governance strategy in place.
  • Search is unreliable - it can be a challenge to find content if you don't already have an idea of what group/space it's located in.
  • Communication about missing/desired features and bug fixes could be better.
Jive is a fantastic tool for publishing content to a company intranet, simply because its publishing capabilities are fairly comprehensive and easy to understand. It supports many types of content, from written to multimedia and offers a variety of layout and navigation customizations. Jive can be used across companies, from engineering to HR to marketing, making communication among departments relatively easy.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2018

Review: "Best features of social media, collaboration, content sorting and searching ALL IN ONE - Jive box of goodness!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive has been adopted by our corporation to be used as a collaboration software. We are able to create internal websites (similar to Google Sites), tag people on content (connected with an internal directory), rate comments and content, share etc. Very flexible platform and with endless capabilities.
  • Enables for the creation of well-designed websites with basic knowledge of web design but tailored to serve the most advanced users as well (HTML etc).
  • Allows Facebook like collaboration (liking, tagging, rating).
  • Allows for powerful inter-company content search with the use of categories and content tags (think drawers with unlimited folders).
  • Allows for push notifications when content is posted to specific sites- great integration with Outlook.
  • Serves as great archiving system with powerful Google-like search capabilities.
  • Push notifications without user's knowledge - something that each company has to fine tune based on their specific requirements. Ex. when updating old calendar events, push notifications could potentially go out to the attendees of that event. Room for improvement in creating a "Minor change, don't send an e-mail" button.
  • The integration with Outlook does not support enhanced content. For ex. User sends an e-mail with links to a distribution list. The distribution list has not only the people interested in the content but it also has the Jive integration e-mail that allows that specific content to be automatically posted to the internal Jive group's site. So when the e-mail is sent, users get it in Outlook but it is also archived in the special group created for them. Purpose? To store all content outside of e-mail and not lose it when users leave firm. To be able to search for it better... etc. Problem: e-mails with links, attachments, photos etc post not too good. Plain emails store nicely.
  • As with all new software a lot of people can complain about it and if their needs are not addressed in time, it becomes a continuous ache. With the first opportunity, those people will gladly say no to the application. More training gurus, more hand-holding might be needed for better and widespread adoption. Lots of folks complain about the amount of notifications received. More flexibility in unsubscribing or updating preferences should be presented in the notifications themselves and support around that needs to be present at all times. (e-mails on "did you know you can limit the amount of notifications you receive this way?").
  • If fine-tuned well, Jive can serve as a powerful collaboration/social media site - internal Facebook with customized websites as easy to build as Google Sites, with content storage and search capabilities similar to Dropbox.
    • You can post Office documents easily and best, you can tag them for better search later. My favorite tool is the creation of links to specific tagged content. So if you have 3 documents in the mass of 1000, but only 3 are tagged with "insurance", you can actually create a "insurance" view that filters just for those 3 docs. That view can be linked on the first page, or any page for easy navigation.
    • you can create Jive documents and that's where the endless opportunities are - tables can be used in splitting the content (if you make borders invisible); you can add photos, links, embed YouTube content. Each of the documents are like pages in a website, later capable to link to them.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Jive - A unique Collab Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive is a great way for our 6 remote office locations and HQ to collab on projects, ask questions, get advice, and just share social stories about themselves or the company. It's a wonderful tool
  • Store company information that is sharable company wide
  • social connections
  • advice
  • sharing
  • Some bugs
  • ease of use
  • html capabilities
Jive is great for people in remote locations to still connect with other employees. it's also great to keep a history of these sorts of discussions for future reference. We use it to ask for solution architecture ideas and potential customer solutions that might/might not work. For example, if the VMWare expert in San Diego sees a question regarding a customer environment that needs software upgrades, they can chime in
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2017

"Another Jive-n Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In comparison to other platforms, Jive-n provides the fastest way to integrate new affiliates into your organization. With the new features of Office 365, Jive is limited in customization and API integrations. It would be great if they could extend themes, layouts and ability inject JavaScript or CSS for better branding. Overall, it's still a great product however for the price, I would use Office 365.
  • One aspect that more clearly differentiates these applications, however, is the nature of their alignment with particular work contexts through integration with other applications.
  • Jive-n targets employee collaboration and social intranets with Jive-n, while Jive-x supports external partner and customer communities.
  • Several other categories of application offer similar core functionality (such as support for profiles, groups and conversations), but also support other more advanced capabilities in specific areas.
  • Jive-n competes with vendors that often get chosen instead of it, due to their strength in adjacent functionality — for example, horizontal applications, such as email and content management, or vertical business applications.
  • Despite its efforts to position its integration capabilities as a neutral hub, Jive-n's lack of native capabilities to support work that requires process or structure increasingly puts it at a disadvantage.
  • Jive-n is still a relatively small organization and needs to manage its evolution carefully.
A mature "customer success" program that includes use-case catalogs, solution roadmaps and prepackaged "accelerator" solutions contributes to high levels of customer satisfaction.
Read Mike Reams's full review
December 08, 2015

Review: "Jive, the Collaboration platform leader"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jive internally at JCS - it forms the backbone of how we do business - all of our team collaborates on the platform and our customers collaborate with our team via Jive. All interactions are captured within Jive and all of our business documentation resides in Jive. Our customers use Jive either as external support sites or internal team collaboration sites.
  • Integration into other business platforms like Salesforce is part of the standard package.
  • The APIs are fully featured and are easy to use.
  • Extremely flexible platform that easily matches your business process.
  • Task management would be a nice addition.
  • UI could use some modernization - it could become a little cluttered.
  • Moderation could be updated to be more robust.
  • Spam protection for external communities could use some help.
Jive Team Collaboration is a flexible platform that can be adapted to fit 95% of customer use cases.
Read Carlo Saggese's full review
March 16, 2015

"Jive review from a multinational chemical company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive is being used across almost all the organization (Rhodia legacy). Only IT is using it on the Solvay side.
There are a few social groups that are doing an excellent job in Jive : very active, lot of value for the users and the organization. Those groups come from different business units. The level of utilization of Jive varies a lot from a one business unit to another.
  • Improve Collaboration : It really depends on people, but when a team is motivated, Jive provides everything they need to work more efficiently.
  • Jive is a good place to share documents, ideas, projects issues, etc.
  • User experience, Jive's ergonomy is a strength. It is pretty intuitive.
  • Jive search engine is powerful
  • Working on a document with other people: It is cumbersome to download the file from Jive, make changes into Excel, re-upload the document. It would be awesome if Jive could have the same technology as Google docs and allow a team to work on a document at the same time.
It always depends on the needs of the users. Make your users tell you about their issues, their needs and you will understand if implementing jive is worth it. Jive is good when people don't see each other every day if they live in different countries, it is good for cross functional teams, it is good for international project, project shared by different teams. Jive can be also useful for simple project, it can help really any kind of project or teams. At the end it depends on the people and leadership. Make sure you have a strong commitment from the top managers before pushing anything.
Read Maxime Guglielmetti's full review
December 16, 2014

Review: "Jive in the enterprise - it just works."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization supports the implementation of Jive at client organizations. It is used for client team, department, office, project and other natural work teams to collaborate on deliverables, support business development activities, manage one off projects, drive innovation, create more interactive internal communications and support people engagement and on boarding of new staff.
  • Deliverable creation and development using the Jive Office Connector
  • Ad hoc, team driven collaboration
  • Quick information and networking information within an organization
  • Streamlining the integration of some modules / features such as event management (this is improving!) and blogging.
Intra organization and team collaboration is a strength. Depending on the type of deployment, the fact that the SaaS model is largely developed makes it relatively easy for organizations to deploy the technology from a IT perspective - there is relatively less need to do deep technical 'add on' build and maintenance work than some other platforms.
Read Chris Becker's full review
February 21, 2014

User Review: "Jive Talking"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the whole organisation for sharing and collaboration across divisions and geographies
  • Allows you to connect with anybody in the organisation
  • Allows you to publish your work and solicit feedback or even direct changes, with some version control
  • Search functionality is very weak
  • The information architecture and taxonomy doesnt allow for easy discoverability of content
  • It's hard to navigate the and find spaces/groups that I already know about
  • The main profile/interface does not allow easy access to key tasks or common tasks.
As a piece of software, it attempts to solve the problems of internal communications within distributed organisations but the specifics on how it does that should be considered before deciding if it's an appropriate fit.
Read Terry Rydzynski's full review
March 20, 2014

User Review: "Simply Jive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My global organisation is using Jive to successfully connect approx 80,000 employees worldwide. Jive has a very simple approach that is easy to understand and easy to use. Valuable business knowledge is now being shared and enhanced through this fantastic framework. Its a social business platform that understand how it needs to deliver a service to operate for business. There isn't 100% usage of the platform but that was never expected. Our usage rate is close enough to 100%, which says a lot about the ease of use of the product. The company has seen greater transparency and access to executives (they Blog) and a greater sense of being connected to "the company". New features in Jive have been well received. We have also integrated our communication platform with Jive so in affect it has become our default Intranet. Its where we go to learn, collaborate, think and grow.

Overall the product has delivered massive business gains for us and has even been tweaked to work as an Extranet in a separate instance. Its really the only thing that has been deployed internally that has become a runaway success within 6 months. So, basic uses are corporate communications, project teaming, topic teaming, idea generation, information and assistance, key links, exec engagement, just to name a few.
  • Discussion, document, blogging and site creation
  • Activity summaries, notifications
  • Total ease of use
  • Excellent up time if used as SaaS
  • Jive for Office plug in is excellent and offers true document/file collaboration functionality.
  • More could still be done on making activity aggregation simpler to use.. more like a timeline in Facebook. The new version is much better at this though.
All companies and ngo's need social business. It just makes sense. Its difficult to think about where it wouldn't work.
Read Chris Whipps's full review
February 17, 2014

"Jive Social Collaboration platform - a review from one of the UK's most experienced consultants"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work on multiple Jive projects - all have been global and large organisations, up to 200,000 employees, where all departments use it. Typical benefits are productivity gains, expertise location, enhanced collaboration, increased employee satisfaction, reduced time to market, innovation and increased competitive edge.
  • Increased collaboration
  • Silo busting
  • Increased Productivity
  • Time saved
  • Competitive edge
  • Listening to customers - e.g. bring back Ryan Rutan's 'grey' plugins or make them core!
  • Analytics
  • Customer support
  • Get less US centric
It works best in large matrix companies. It's not a system of record and integration with such systems, e.g. SharePoint could be easier
Read Russell Pearson's full review
February 10, 2014

User Review: "Jive for Internal Community"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have setup a community on top of Jive platform for collaboration and crowdsourcing purposes. All employees of an organization can share their ideas towards a particular challenge, and the challenge owner can select the best idea from them. Apart from this, the community is also used for engaging with employees and others.
  • Facebook connect can help to and fro communication from Facebook to the Jive community. Helps to engage with a large audience.
  • Office integration helps users to collaborate on documents directly from Office itself. No need to login on community and share views.
  • Project feature helps managers to track project management tasks.
  • OOB Content types helps users to create all types of content in a community
  • Jive allows customization for themes to change look and feel of a community websites. It also allows developers to create custom plug-ins, widgets and Jive apps.
  • Creating custom content types is too complex in Jive.
  • Challenge module is missing in Jive. Although it has an idea module but it needs to be enhanced to include crowdsourcing capabilities.
  • Project is very good Jive feature.
When integrating with other tools Jive is well suited. It provides so many integration points, and we can connect our community with CRM applications, Sharepoint, Office and so on.
Read Ayush Rastogi's full review
February 10, 2014

Jive: "Product Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are giving consulting in Jive Collaboration Tool.
It is being used by our internal group.
It has increased the employee involvement and transparency of group activity.
  • We have been using Discussion plugin for our future goals and problem discussion
  • It is very much stable product to use in any internal or customer facing site.
  • It has got very nice support from technical support team
  • Would like to see asSurvey plugin, and a recommendation plugin
  • Jive could provide more detailed documentation to create content type plugins
It is good so far.
Read Mohammad Tareque's full review
February 04, 2014

User Review: "Jive Turkey"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Jive as our front facing customer collaboration site and not internally. It combined the collaboration between customers with our desire to post customer relevant information.
  • Notification options to users/customers
  • Configuration control
  • Scaleability
  • Version control of documents and document plug-ins
  • Hosted site support
  • UI configuration
Determine if it will be used internally or externally. If externally, I would not recommend, especially if you have SEO and SEM needs. Internally it is a capable product, however I believe there are cheaper products out there that solve the same needs.
Read Benjamin Barniskis's full review
February 04, 2014

User Review: "Jive in tech support context"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jive collaboration platform is used in tech support case handling discussion, i.e. getting support from your peer across the globe. Jive has enabled us to overcome not only geographical and time zone barriers but also organizational silos. Case handling is more effective, knowledge sharing is effortless, and we're building a verified knowledge base as we go along. With minimal initial training, we have engaged a living community of around 6000 expert and novice users, and got moderators/community managers on board. Great product, easy to use and easy to implement. In an area where engagement is the biggest problem, with Jive, we have overcome that problem.
  • Ease of use: low threshold of "getting started"
  • Ease of administration: transparency and human understandable, consistent admin console
  • Ease of creating attractive content.
  • Sometimes it has proven to be an issue to find out exactly what browsers/versions cause problems.
  • Integration in a wide and complex IT environment is not always the easiest thing.
Tech support case handling is an easy example to offer as something for which Jive is well suited, but engaging customers, for example, supporting a customer event with Jive as channel is also easy.
Read Anne Karppinen's full review
February 04, 2014

User Review: "Jive - An Enigmatic Addiction"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have our External Facing Communities hosted on Jive Platform which makes it the most advanced community I have ever came across in my career with the power of Jive.

Team Collaborations are working very diligently and the number of users active on the Community is increasing day by day. Communities is external facing and hence is used by whole organization and also by the customers and partners.

Business problems related to our products are discussed here, action is taken and issues are resolved here giving us a happy and satisfied customers :)
  • Jive Team Collaboration has always been a smart way to collaborate with the power users and have the problem resolved.
  • Quick way to post your problem / resolve someone's problem.
  • As a support person for our communities I have already found answers to my questions by just a quick search on JC, but even if I don't, I can just post a question and place it in a space where i think right people can help.
  • Jive Ideations are editable right now, which makes the real owner of the idea a different person than the person who has edited the idea.
  • We are on 6.0.1 and soon planning for 6.0.3 as we are facing many known bugs in 6.0.1 which can't be fixed or have a workaround.
Integration with other systems like SP , Outlook, Lync
Read Amit Rajesth's full review
February 04, 2014

Jive Review: "Go Social"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization we use Jive Team Collaboration to build expertise and help other companies which involves customization of the community. It is used by the Social department which in turn helps associates to learn, engage and collaborate with the people sitting around the globe in the organization.
Jive Team Collaboration not only helps associates to learn and grow, but is fun to use during the work day (which is important ... I feel !!!). Collaboration allows us to solve problems in minimal time and ensure quality output.
  • Transparent - Collaboration means sharing ideas and Jive Team Collaboration allows the person to throw light on whatever topic they feel and want to share. Community Managers and people with great expertise are there to help 24*7 as a support resource.
  • Well Managed - Jive Community is well managed in terms of different types of categories and problems people can face. This encourages us to feel "YES, its possible" when we are stuck with some problem.
  • Open - Jive Team Collaboration is open to any type of discussion and ideas. People from all over the globe come and collaborate with you and share their views.
  • The support team should cover multiple time zones. There are times when we have to wait for Support Engineer to become available and check the problem.
  • Associate should love the social domain
  • Active participation to engage the community and address issues faced by the customer
  • Knowledgeable enough to understand the workflow of community and admin activites
Read Yashita Goyal's full review
December 18, 2015

Review: "Jive puts the power in the users' hands"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is absolutely essential to the business processes in my company. We use it for all collaboration from internal discussions to working with clients in externally-facing groups. It is simple and intuitive to use, yet is a very rich platform with tons of functionality. Because we drink our own champagne here, it is easy to show our clients how Jive can change how they work daily.
  • Search -- be able to quickly find anything that you have access to
  • Work out loud -- share your knowledge and content instead of hoarding it on your desktop or in an ugly email chain
  • User-centric -- Jive puts the power in the users instead of the admins. There is of course some admin control, but the users shape how the Jive instance is used and can quickly collaborate instead of relying on an IT ticket.
  • Better integration with other tools such as Jira
  • Expand the very useful Jive for Office and Outlook to work with Mac operating systems
  • Give more options for theming/branding in their external-facing Cloud environments
It is by far the leader in Social Collaboration platforms
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (10)
6.2
Gantt Charts (5)
4.8
Scheduling (9)
5.4
Workflow Automation (8)
6.8
Mobile Access (10)
7.9
Search (14)
7.6
Visual planning tools (9)
6.7
Chat (9)
7.3
Notifications (14)
7.0
Discussions (12)
8.0
Surveys (12)
7.3
Internal knowledgebase (13)
7.5
Integrates with GoToMeeting (2)
6.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (4)
5.6
Integrates with Outlook (11)
6.7
Versioning (12)
7.2
Video files (10)
6.9
Audio files (8)
7.2
Document collaboration (12)
7.0
Access control (11)
8.4
Advanced security features (9)
7.2
Integrates with Google Drive (5)
6.5
Device sync (5)
6.8

About Jive

Jive Software, part of the Aurea family of customer experience solutions, provides the gateway to an organization's most important assets – its knowledge and people. Jive's interactive intranet solution accelerates workplace digital transformation by connecting people, information and ideas to help businesses outpace their competitors. The product has more than 30 million users worldwide across every industry, and, according to the vendor, is consistently recognized as a leader by top analyst firms.
Categories:  Collaboration

Jive Screenshots

Jive Competitors

Jive Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No