Microsoft To Do

Microsoft To Do
Formerly Wunderlist

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Microsoft To Do

Overview

Recent Reviews

Best way to manage my day!

10 out of 10
May 25, 2021
Each individual uses it as they need to. I use [it] to manage my daily workload so no important task falls through the cracks. It's …
Continue reading

Great Task management tool

10 out of 10
May 21, 2021
It's an amazing to-do/task manager. I like how you can add dates, sub tasks/comments, etc. it's great for collaboration, too, as you can …
Continue reading

A life saver!

9 out of 10
January 24, 2020
We use Wunderlist to keep track of projects and tasks. Wunderlist has been a fantastic tool for team collaboration as it gives the option …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 18 features

Mobile Access (69)

8.1
81%

Task Management (73)

8.1
81%

Scheduling (55)

7.5
75%

Team Collaboration (68)

6.9
69%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Microsoft To Do, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Microsoft To Do?

Microsoft To Do replaces the former Wunderlist task management tool.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Todoist: To-Do List & Task Manager?

Doist, a company boasting an entirely globally distributed workforce, offers Todoist, a project management platform emphasizing the needs of a distributed workforce. The application emphasizes tracking events over time with advanced closed task and progress reporting, with custom graphics for…

What is Trello?

Trello from Atlassian is a project management tool based on a Kanban framework. Trello is ideal for task-management in a to-do list format. It supports sharing boards and cards across users or teams. The product offers a free version, and paid versions add greater automation, collaboration, and…

Features Scorecard

Project Management

6.8
68%

Professional Services Automation

6.5
65%

Product Details

What is Microsoft To Do?

Microsoft To Do replaces the former Wunderlist task management tool acquired by Microsoft June 2015, an app that provides an emphasis on to-do list task management structure. It enables collaboration by sharing lists for projects with other users. To Do is designed for mobile accessibility. Microsoft To Do is free to use.

Microsoft To Do Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft To Do?

Microsoft To Do replaces the former Wunderlist task management tool.

What is Microsoft To Do's best feature?

Reviewers rate Budget and Expense Management highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Microsoft To Do?

The most common users of Microsoft To Do are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (208)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 73)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Arun Gopalaswami | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft To Do as a way to be on top of all the time-bound tasks. As a long-time Wunderlist user I have always relied on the app to capture, track and close tasks. The service’s shared list functionality helps to collaborate with team members to jointly work and close tasks.
  • Smart list to dynamically list tasks.
  • My Day to choose the tasks to focus.
  • Groups to organize logically related tasks.
  • Super and Sleek mobile app.
  • Password protected app.
  • Nested folders.
  • Option to auto fill the unfinished task on to My day.
Microsoft To Do is finely crafted to do service, especially the mobile apps. It’s practically flawless and can be used for task management and even lightweight projects. One can track one-time and recurring tasks easily, and set up reminders to complete tasks on time. Microsoft To Do can be used as a GTD process as well.
Quratulain Habib, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working with Microsoft Office 365 suite gets supercharged with Microsoft To Do.

Flagged emails? Auto suggested.
Assigned tasks from planner? Already on your to-do list.
Work mentions in emails and highlighted by Microsoft Viva? Added to the day of your reminder.

Thing is that Wunderlist was already very good and Microsoft has managed to keep it that way and integrated it into their app. Given that I work in a cross-functional capacity in my organization makes Microsoft To Do super useful.
  • Suggestions.
  • Assignments.
  • Reminders.
  • Overdue assignments/tasks can be managed better. Would love it if To Do reminded me of the things I'm behind without having to open Outlook.
Microsoft To Do is free and integrates well with the Microsoft eco system. If you use Microsoft launcher on your android phone and Microsoft 365 as your office suite then this is a natural fit which works out of the box without having to put much thinking into a setup. The rest is a bonus.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft To-Do for keeping track of personal tasks. I don't use it within the context of a team or for any major project management features, I'm focused on using it for more individual day-to-day tasks.
  • Creating lists of things that need to get done
  • Creating lists of other items that you want to sort by category
  • Giving you a prioritized list of what you should try to accomplish in your day
  • Easily assigning tasks to others: [I feel] it's confusing that some lists are shared and others are not and you can't move items between them
  • Auto-detect of dates or tags for quick list creation
  • Creating a personal list of to-do items that you need to achieve. These could be one-offs or recurring items.
  • Managing simple projects with multiple stakeholders and follow-up items.
  • Using your task management software in conjunction with additional Microsoft productivity apps.
Andrii Zherebtsov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every day I control my tasks/lists and their implementation. I plan my whole day. I form a list of tasks, I set their priority. We share lists with various colleagues.
  • Very easy to manage tasks.
  • Many clients for different platforms.
  • Integration with Outlook.
  • Integration with Alexa which I like.
  • Notification if someone did not complete the task on time.
  • I would like to be able to authorize through third-party services (like Google, Apple, or Linkedin).
  • Also integration with other services and, for example, with my google calendar.
There's nothing to criticize about Microsoft To-Do. The service is fast, convenient, understandable and perfectly fulfills its function. It is great for day-to-day task planning and monitoring. I even use it for shopping lists. Highly recommended.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Microsoft To Do to help our project management team stay up to date on tasks and keep a good working schedule that was easy to follow. We also wanted it to work with what we current[ly] are using, which was all Microsoft software. It appeared on the surface that it was going to allow our team to do a lot of work in one place. It did help but it felt limited.
  • Giving priority to certain tasks.
  • The scheduler did work well.
  • Mobile app.
  • The software felt limited.
  • No budget features.
  • Support was not great.
If you're not running multiple other softwares already then this might be a software to look into. For us, it just became another software for people to learn and try to work into their daily work load. It didn't suit our personal needs. I feel like if you're 3-5 people in an office or even if you're working from home, then it might be a great option given that it's free.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each individual uses it as they need to. I use [it] to manage my daily workload so no important task falls through the cracks. It's important for me as I can manage tasks by urgency & have a visual overview of where I am at for the day.
  • Manage tasks by urgency
  • Manage tasks by day
  • Very easy to use
  • None that I can think of
You cant assign tasks to people, but it's great to manage your own to-dos and tasks based on day & urgency level.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you work with projects or you are a person who needs to order his day to improve his productivity, you must use an organization tool and MS To-Do is one of them, it is simple to use, you keep everything in order and at a glance, it allows you to manage calendars, notes, assigned tasks and organize between those tasks that are more or less important.

MS To-Do helped me a lot in the organization of my projects for the team, as well as planning a better distribution of the hours, to be more productive, to be able to have time to perform my assigned tasks, and also to be able to dedicate time to my specialization studies

  • Nice and simple UI.
  • Easy to use.
  • Everything that you need you could get it with one-click.
  • Perfect Sync system.
  • It is a simple software, so it does not have many other options like Evernote
  • Set date-time is a little bit hard to set.
  • Share you task with another is difficult.
The best use I had for the software is with the organization of my tasks, it helps me a lot when it comes to dedicating time to work, organizing the most important things, and then taking advantage of the time to continue improving my skills. But when it comes to sharing tasks with other team members, it becomes a bit difficult, there is no easy way to show others how busy you could be and where you are spending your time.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Microsoft To Do since it was Wunderlist. It's helpful for tracking work and personal tasks that need to get done for projects. It helps with managing small tasks and I like that I have a place to digitally jot down what's in my head that needs to get done. Helps with work-life balance!
  • Auto-set due dates
  • Can use the drag-and-drop function to move items up and down on a list
  • Planned list helps me see what I need to do today
  • Recurring tasks can be set at X days and not just weekly
  • I really, really dislike that they removed Microsoft To Do (formerly Wunderlist)'s feature to keep lists alphabetized after I click to alphabetize sort. Makes it very hard to manage the list.
  • Really need the ability to move a task/item from one list to another
  • Would love the ability to print a flow of tasks in a graphic
  • Microsoft To Do (formerly Wunderlist) is great for managing my daily tasks, sharing lists with others, seeing what I need to get done today, and moving those "today to-dos" as I'm reprioritizing my day.
  • Microsoft To Do (formerly Wunderlist) is not so good for moving tasks between projects/lists and not good for arranging tasks/projects in hierarchical order. So, for example, if one project/task needs to be completed before another, you can't make the one dependent on another's completion.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's an amazing to-do/task manager. I like how you can add dates, sub tasks/comments, etc. it's great for collaboration, too, as you can share the same list with other people for management. I use it for projects at work but I also use it on a personal level to help track or note other to-dos.
  • Assignments (you can assign people to tasks and share to-do/task lists)
  • Organization - the app is phenomenal with that
  • Space for description, attachments , etc
  • I wish it could integrate with outlook calendar
I love the tool and think it's great to track major deliverables or to dos that are cut and dry. Like working towards internal reviews, collaboration, general reminders of things, etc. Good for campaign management.
I'd say it's not the tool to use if you need to create a timeline with dependencies, or for development teams as there are better tools that integrate with task lists/deployment pipelines.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wunderlist is a fantastic way to keep track of tasks which need to be completed. As far as I am aware, it is used solely within my department. It is great because we can record a "backlog" of tasks to complete. We then mark with a star the tasks to be completed that day.
  • The app has very low overhead, both in the desktop and on mobile devices.
  • It is easy to categorize tasks by the assigned user.
  • By commenting on tasks items, it is easy to communicate across an entire team.
  • It would be great if Wunderlist synchronized with Outlook email and calendaring.
  • Wunderlist should provide for allowing identifying lists with different colors.
  • Wunderlist should allow marking lists with icons.
Wunderlist is well-suited for short-term, small, well-defined tasks. In those instances it is fantastic! I would not consider it for complex project management.
I have not had to contact Wunderlist for support.
March 04, 2020

Really simple to use!

Robyn Mays | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Wunderlist for myself. It is a fantastic app to use for project management for yourself or small teams. I love how much it can do while still being so simple.
  • Document Mangagement
  • Team Collaboration
  • Project Management
  • It may be too simple for some people. However, that is why I love it.
  • No reporting
  • No Gantt Charts
Wunderlist is great for individuals and small teams and those who like simple software that does what you need them to do without adding any unnecessary features.
Everything ran smoothly, and I got support when needed.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wunderlist is used across the whole organization. It is an easy way to share important tasks on different projects as well as check in on what has already been done/or that which has yet to be done. In this way, it addresses miscommunication across teams ensuring that everyone is on the same page and can see updates in real-time.
  • It creates a wonderful structure for different unrelated tasks to be visible and accessible. This means it's easy to designate information into different areas and flows intuitively when you either have to input more tasks or find a past one.
  • The ability to allocate tasks to other members of a team means that there can be updates in real-time on different lists which is a real godsend when trying to figure out where a project is at.
  • The integration of different lists with due dates around similar times into one place [the Today List] is super helpful in giving you an overview of what needs to be done. This also ensures that a to-do doesn't get lost somewhere.
  • An easier way to input time and dates when entering in information on the fly would be an appreciated additive.
  • A more streamlined desk pop up of today tasks that comes up with the little 'add task pop up'. This would help focus in on daily tasks quicker than going into the application each time.
  • The ability to customize your own background, font size and color would be a lovely add-on
Wunderlist is well suited for professional and casual needs; anywhere someone wishes to outline what needs to be done in an ordered and efficient way. It is less appropriate if you rely heavily on a calendar, etc. as you will have to manually input information from one platform to the other.
Most people to whom I have recommended this have loved it for the same reasons I have: it is so intuitive to use. Often it is hard to adapt a new application into your general tech habits but this fulfills a need you weren't even aware you had and so becomes easy to adopt. Before too long you rely on the information you put in and how much it helps order your tasks in your own mind.
January 24, 2020

A life saver!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wunderlist to keep track of projects and tasks. Wunderlist has been a fantastic tool for team collaboration as it gives the option to have shared lists, assign tasks and set dates.
  • Team Collaboration
  • Task Management
  • For some people (and big businesses) Wunderlist may be too simple. However, for our business, it does everything we need.
Wunderlist is great for individuals or small businesses who would like to improve team collaboration, project management, and document management. It is a very simple tool, so for those who prefer software that is easy to use, this is perfect.
Click up support is great. They are willing to help with anything you need.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wunderlist not only helps me stay organized but allows teams to collaborate on tasks together. We will use their joint list function and assign a task to one another, which improves productivity immensely! We used to email each other suggesting something that needs to get done and would never know if they had added it to a list or were working on it! Wunderlist helps us stay organized and work collaboration as we complete a project -- I love it!
  • To-do list organization (additional tools like shopping list).
  • Sharing your lists with others and keeping joint lists.
  • Reminders and notifications can be annoying when you're logged into Wunderlist on multiple devices.
  • Device updating and syncing is buggy.
Wunderlist is great for keeping your worlds organized, from family shopping lists to house chores, to your work life. If you work in a team, it beats Gmail, Apple, and Outlook 100%! You can collaborate, assign tasks, and sync across your devices, although syncing can be buggy at times. As a designer, I typically wish every app was designed better and feel Wunderlist could have a cleaner interface.
I have not had an issue where I needed to reach out to Wunderlist, but I know their contact and online chat is easy to access and feel confident that they would be helpful. My only worry is Wunderlist is becoming Microsoft to-do in May 2020, and I believe the app will become worse after that.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wunderlist is not a tool that is promoted by my organization at any level; however, a number of users within my department and across my organization use it for personal productivity. It's a simple to-do list tool that doesn't have a ton of features to distract from its core purpose: helping users remember tasks and providing a sense of gratification when said task is checked-off. Its simplicity in both the web and app version are its strength.
  • Beautiful design in both the web and app versions.
  • Simple, straightforward design.
  • The design has been seemingly the same for years. It could use an update and more opportunity for integration with other apps.
  • MANY other tools accomplish the same thing, and some of those other option have more features, such as Trello and Microsoft To-Dos.
Wunderlist is a great tool for someone simply looking to replace a paper to-do list with a web or app-based list. It's no-frills, so those a little intimidated by tech tools can use it without stress. For example, I use Wunderlist when creating a family packing list for vacations to share with my mother-in-law because it's so straight-forward.
This tool is not the best for more experienced users who need more customizable features beyond basic to-do list generation and sharing.
I've never had to reach out for tech support using this tool, but the support guides online seem straightforward and helpful.
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I first started using Wunderlist as a simple way to keep track of my own tasks and to-dos. I loved the interface and the icon design, so it made it fun to open the app and interact with it. I use it mostly personally and recommend it to many other executives I work with. It helps keep me organized and remind me of all the tasks I need to accomplish in a day/week/month.
  • Setting Up Tasks
  • Simple Mobile Interface
  • Many project management and CRM tools now also handle to-dos.
  • It's been acquired by Microsoft. The shutter is near.
I think it's great for managing and syncing to-dos across platforms. It's perfect for personal use, but I've run into trouble when trying to use it for business when other programs are better suited for project task management as part of a bigger workflow. But if I want to make sure I call Susan back, this is my goto.
I've never had to contact support with any issues, but generally, the app is always updated, and everything works like I expect it to
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Wunderlist in my work and life to manage tasks or checklists of items across a broad range of applications. Many will see Wunderlist is another to-do list app and it does serve that function, but within my own business (a sole proprietorship) I use it to manage projects, keep track of important tasks and set reminders for what needs doing by a deadline.
  • Managing projects and tasks.
  • Setting reminders for important dates or deadlines.
  • Limited options regarding appearance (themes, backgrounds).
  • No "preview" view option for tasks in lists.
Wunderlist really excels at task management and deadline reminders. It makes it very easy to quickly input tasks, assign a due date, and have it notify you when its time to get to work on some task. It synchronizes across your desktop and mobile devices for quick and easy access to your lists wherever you may be. It excels as a way to manage personal or professional tasks and lists (think your daily to-dos or grocery list) and to a limited extent as a project management tool.
Wunderlist has been well-supported during its lifetime but as it has aged that support has fallen off somewhat since its acquisition by Microsoft and a shift in focus to Microsoft's To-Do application.
January 14, 2020

Wunderlist Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Wunderlist is mainly used by the QA department to collaborate on daily tasks and set up repositories for knowledge sharing. We use it to create a to-do list for team members every day and share it with the team. It was easy to track the progress of the work assigned as soon as they completed and updated the tasks.
When we had ideas that helped the process and daily work, we used Wunderlist and made it available across team members. The same goes for knowledge sharing information/repositories that can be accessed at any time.
  • Sync and access notes via web and mobile.
  • Easy search option to retrieve any information.
  • Ability to add images and other file types.
  • Ability to flag (not star) for review or revisit.
Wunderlist is useful when you have to share a list of items or track and collaborate between team members.
It is not helpful when you have to share files for collaboration.
Paul Weber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Wunderlist individually at my current organization, but it was deployed team-wide in my previous position. We used it to manage all projects, delegate tasks, determine workload and assignments and communicate on status. It helped us avoid unnecessary emails and maintained a more accurate picture of the status of a task without meetings or verbal confirmation.
  • Sync - we never have an issue with tasks or comments showing up across teams or platforms.
  • Cross platform - works and looks the same on Android, iOS, Mac, and PC.
  • Subtasks - there is little detail in subtasks, and they are very limited therefore, no due dates, comments, etc.
  • Due Dates - particularly more complex recurring dates (every 3rd Tuesday, every May 1st) aren't possible.
Wunderlist is excellent for a single individual looking to manage their workload. Still, it doesn't have the features for a full team or for management to get a simple snapshot of overall status and bandwidth. If it had the ability to next tasks, even that would provide miles better support for managing real complex projects.
We never had a problem that I recall, but also never used support. The biggest issue now is that it's being discontinued, so any Wunderlist users must migrate to Microsoft To-do or some competing platform by May. Not a problem if the new offering was more similar, but To-do is much more complicated, so it may be hard to jump in for less dedicated users.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to stay organized on projects for our company. We are spread out in the state so it helps us communicate with timelines, etc. Our operations are manufacturing for state governments.
  • The ability to communicate quickly to multiple entities.
  • Reminders.
  • Printing is a function that is weak.
  • Subcategories would be nice when writing to-do lists as there are always sub listings and it doesn't accommodate this currently.
I find it useful to organize projects that have timelines and multiple pieces with different persons responsible for the tasks. You can start the project, reassign it to another person, and then they can do their part. This is a wonderful feature of the program.
I personally have never had to use Wunderlist support, but others in our company have told me the support is awesome.
Mark Cohen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Wunderlist to create and share task lists for all different types of projects from individual, personal projects to team oriented projects.
  • To do list
  • Task tracking/management
  • Siri integration would be helpful
  • Adding Wunderlist to Car Play with Siri would be fantastic
Wunderlist is a powerful and useful to do list and task manager that can be share with individuals and teams. It also has a solid notificatioun and alarm capability. It is not a project management tool like Trello, or a messaging tool like Slack. It is a standalone tool that works as well on mobile devices as it does on desktop computers.
I have never needed support from Wunderlist so it is hard to judge. Hard to believe, I know, but the app just works as designed. It is solid.
December 30, 2019

Wunderlist Review

Anna Jacobs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as task software in our project management department. It helps keep track of everyone’s tasks and notes and keeps the team members informed.
  • Task reminders.
  • Email reminders.
  • Desktop notifications.
  • Closing the product is cumbersome.
Wunderlist has real-time notifications that are well suited when a task is completed. The team is notified promptly. It is less appropriate when a team member forgets to put a task in the system. The synchronization is very helpful between this app and other integrations.
I haven't needed to call support!
December 25, 2019

Wunderlist Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, I have used Wunderlist across the entire school I worked at. However, in my current job I use it with a few select team members. Organization via technology is not a high priority with my leadership right now so I use tools like Wunderlist on a case by case basis with my team. For me, I see it solving the issue of the need to communicate about tasks. Being able to share lists means that I can assign tasks to my team and know that they are on track without having to call a meeting. Ultimately, it saves us all time.
  • Lists
  • Sharing
  • Notifications when shared tasks are complete.
  • More task sorting options.
Wunderlist is a great tool for pretty much any situation a list is needed in. It is great for personal use, in the home, or in the office. It is also great for a team to use to track progress on projects, etc. I would see this tool potentially not being as useful for a huge company where hundreds of projects are shared across many departments. However, for the average team and small company, Wunderlist would be more than enough.
There is a ton of information on the internet about how to use and troubleshoot issues, because of that I have never run into anything I cannot resolve. However, since development and support for Wunderlist has been discontinued, there is no real support to speak of from Wunderlist itself.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Wunderlist personally and encourage my direct team/reports to use it as well. Among other things, it is a great resource for keeping organized by client, job, project, etc. It directly addresses the need to not have my team/report feel like I am micro-managing. At any point, I can and review their project lists in real-time rather than taking time out of our days for face-to-face status updates.
  • Organization
  • Outlook mail integration
  • Ability to print or export lists to Excel, etc.
  • Would like to see the platform expanded into an even great project management application.
Wunderlist is well suited for all types of businesses and even for personal use. If you have a need for an organization whether personal or professional, I would recommend Wunderlist as a resource. I have recommended other colleagues to adopt using it as my team does and have heard nothing but positive feedback.
I have not had the need to contact Wunderlist for support to date. The system meets my needs and expectations with minimal to no issues.
Tish Cator | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for day to day things. I used it to quickly jot down tasks and to keep my boss in the loop about projects I’m working on. Sometimes we use it to manage our reputation accounts as well.
  • Reminders about ongoing tasks.
  • Quickly making task groups and inviting other users.
  • I would like a desktop app.
  • I would like for it be integrated with more platforms.
Has definitely picked up the Slack on details I've missed. I literally say hey Wunderlist me if you want it done.
I’ve actually never contacted support; it’s a rather easy application.