TrustRadius
MicroStrategy Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions. MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions: - MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence - MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics - MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analyticshttps://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qq/iH/PZORMI8Q2P14.PNGFrom zero to hero.Build a complete Business Intelligence solution from the ground up. They provide desktop, web and mobile interfaces. Analyze and report on large volumes of data from an extensive number of source databases. Provides a full Software Development Kit (SDK) to personalize, customize and write your own BI applications and web sites.,Support for HTML5 is still at the beginning. The latest features were developed with Adobe Flash, which sometimes is not the best and fastest solution. HTML5 with CSS and SVG would probably be more portable and a smoother experience to the user. I personally would like to see native OAuth 1.0 and 2.0 Support. And the ability to directly attach JSON data feeds like Google provided data. Web Services documentation could be improved and expanded with more examples.,9,10,Professional services companyMicroStrategy Reviewed from the TrenchesMicroStrategy is currently being used throughout the organization to address various ad-hoc requests.,Ad-hoc analysis Dashboarding and visualizations,There's no clean tree/hierarchical display of attributes that allows me to see the entire tree on one screen. This also translates to a report with one column showing the indentation for nested categories. The interaction and user interface with dealing with a prompted report is less than desirable. Many users hate the interface and find it difficult to use. Not all features are available in web when designing dashboards. You often have to bounce back and forth from Desktop to Web in order to get to the option you're looking for.,8,8,No comment since MicroStrategy was already implemented prior to my employment.MicroStrategy - Retail made easyUser Friendly Abillity to manage large volumes of data from multiple sources Narrowcast Reporting & Dashboard options,Creating documents is very technical and requires training Graphing tools are difficult to use Setting up alerts and email distributions could be easier,10,10,Microstrategy allows our teams to quickly analyze large volumes of information to respond quickly to changing sales trends Narrowcasting Reports keeps everyone in the loop on business and eliminates workload to produce the information All measures of productivity have increased as more teams are trained on the system - from store field teams to corporate managers.,35,5,Visual Dashboards with product images,Inventory Productivity Analysis Store Productivity Inventory Tracking Sales analysis,Tracking of inbound shipments to our stores and warehouses Using Alerts to set up red-flag email notifications of specific events (high returns, receipt of specific inventory etc).,Ad Hoc Reporting Automating Reporting Creating calculations on the fly,Graphing Building Documents (using multiple reports to create one report) Dashboards Utilizing images in reports some metrics do not work together in a single report - can be difficult to isolate cause for report errors,8,YesMicrostrategy... The Macro Problem SolverThe Microstrategy web front end is easy to navigate which makes it even easier to train our users on. Microstrategy Visual Insight has added a new dimension to our content which allow for a story to be told about the data. Microstrategy Mobile allows our executive team to analyze key KPI's at the swipe of a finger.,I think that although Visual Insight is a new tool that it probably has the most upside to it. Adding features that are available on the Report Services side would be great for VI.,10,10,8MicroStrategy 10 - the best in BIWe're building a new data warehouse and reporting system. MicroStrategy will be at the forefront of our strategy, providing a robust, multi-language, multi-tenant architecture for our customers and internally. It replaces our Excel, CSV based reporting company-wide.,Without a doubt, it scales, it is robust and the performance is great. The latest enhancements for version 10 (like replacing Flash with HTML 5) address some previous issues and concerns. They've closed the gap they had with Tableau and similar products with the introduction of Desktop, while still providing governed, data discovery. Something Tableau lacks.,It is hard for me to point out room for improvement. Version 10 just came out and I haven't had the chance to fully experiment with it, but it looks very good so far.,10,Birst,10,We just started this project so we are still in development, but it will potentially scale to hundreds of users.,10,10
Windows, Mac
MicroStrategy Analytics
206 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

MicroStrategy Analytics Reviews

MicroStrategy Analytics
206 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 27 of 206 MicroStrategy Analytics ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Davide Moraschi profile photo
March 04, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "From zero to hero."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
In the BI category it's the most feature rich and complete solution. Other software may be cheaper but falls short in one area or another. MicroStrategy allows greater control on the way the SQL is generated and has a complete set of tools to publish and distribute reports and dashboards to the users. Email subscriptions, iPad push, web embedding are among the several techniques available to distribute content. Portlets for the most common content management portals are included at no cost.
Read Davide Moraschi's full review
Randy Kirschner profile photo
March 01, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy Reviewed from the Trenches"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
MicroStrategy is deeply engrained in the daily reporting. They are also constantly updating and making the product better. There would have to be a viable alternative that has features so beneficial it would make the investment to switch worth it.
Read Randy Kirschner's full review
Frank Bluemke profile photo
March 01, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy - Retail made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I cannot imagine using a different reporting/data management solution other than Microstrategy. The system is scalable, fast and efficient and allows for users of multiple skill levels to get quick information from the system. Ad Hoc queries can be built very quickly to answer simple questions, while more complicated reports can be designed, scheduled and automated saving time and providing detailed information to manage our business.
Microstrategy is the basis for most of the business decisions we make - how we buy and manage inventory, reacting to sales trends, improving customer service at the store level - the list is endless!
The system is quick and efficient at returning results which is a key factor in any reporting solution.
Read Frank Bluemke's full review
Shawn Stephens profile photo
March 01, 2016

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Microstrategy... The Macro Problem Solver"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I have been using Microstrategy for 8 years now and I have been exposed to other BI Tools. Hands down Microstrategy is the most robust and versatile tool I have used in my career.
Read Shawn Stephens's full review
Mario Ferrer profile photo
August 17, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy 10 - the best in BI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
MicroStrategy is one of the "legacy" BI vendors, but they have managed to keep up with the new entrants and even innovate. I believe this is the best BI technology, and unless they came up with ridiculous pricing, we should renew.
Read Mario Ferrer's full review
Paul Campbell profile photo
April 08, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Ground level perspective of MicroStrategy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I would always choose to renew MicroStrategy as long as they lead the market in features, functionality and price. The support of MicroStrategy is timely and professional, I frequently get answers to my questions within 24 hours and normally have solutions within 48 hours. Training available for MicroStrategy completely covers everything required to be able to expertly use MicroStrategy and understand data warehousing.
Read Paul Campbell's full review
Jonathon Frampton profile photo
May 11, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: ""Enterprise" BI in Microstrategy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
In addition to previously noted points Microstrategy has become the "single version of truth" for our organizational performance reporting outside of Accounting. In addition to the cost barrier of converting to a different system, the new versions of MS coming soon (at least to us) will help to answer many concerns around more advanced visualizations and additional (non-structured and standard) data sources.
Read Jonathon Frampton's full review
Wm. Dexter Jones profile photo
April 29, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Microstrategy is 'great enough' for business."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
MicroStrategy is the best analytics tool on the market. From database preparation to dashboard development, the suite of products is the most flexible and complete. Some of the product offerings feel disjointed as if they were developed by different consulting firms, but, for the most part, the product offers everything. A common phrase in our shop is that 'MicroStrategy makes the hard things easy and the easy things hard', but the more recent releases seem to be addressing much of this. Support is pretty good and the MicroStrategy community is very involved with the development of the product as a whole.
Read Wm. Dexter Jones's full review
Lara Rasner profile photo
December 04, 2014

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy - Great for some, overkill for most."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

2
MicroStrategy, for the use by our company, was WAY overkill for their needs, both in functionality and price. It can be a great tool, but their licensing scheme is frustratingly painful and expensive for the quality of software they provide. If your company does not want to pay a DBA or DB Developer to write optimized T-SQL or queries, then by all means MicroStrategy may be your answer. For the price, you could pay an employee who knows your data and writes much more optimized T-SQL, and utilize the great features of MSFT Excel to slice and dice your data - this would work for 90% or more of the companies who want a great data warehouse. As far as the current implementation of the data warehouse, so much investment and time went into rolling out MicroStrategy that, unless there was a major data structure change, it does not make sense to recreate all the reports in Excel.
Read Lara Rasner's full review
Justin Sharifipour profile photo
February 25, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Microstrategy is not a walk in the park"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

5
There are other tools out there that are more nimble and less costly. It is a robust product but not for those with small IT organizations or dedicated report developers. It's analytic components are available but seem to be a little less mature than other products on the market. Visualizations have gotten better with some new modules but the base product is a little lacking in this area (look to Tableau instead).
Read Justin Sharifipour's full review
Golan Nahum profile photo
June 10, 2015

"Why we work with MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We think it's the best platform for us.
Read Golan Nahum's full review
Olivier Sanzot profile photo
March 18, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Go Self Service Business Intelligence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
It has the best ROI.
Read Olivier Sanzot's full review
Eli Chan profile photo
February 26, 2014

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Fine for reporting, not for ad hoc analytics"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

1
It didn't meet the team's needs.
Read Eli Chan's full review
Andrew Smith profile photo
July 09, 2014

"A partner's view of MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
No need to look elsewhere.
Read Andrew Smith's full review
Salim G. Ansari profile photo
July 09, 2014

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Business Analytics Can Improve Quality of Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It is now an integral part of my CAMERA system!
Read Salim G. Ansari's full review
Laura Lewis profile photo
July 08, 2014

"Analyzing the Analytics- MicroStrategy Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
An easy to use product which is well liked by end users.
Read Laura Lewis's full review
Toreyan Clarke profile photo
November 16, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics: "MicroStrategy Review (Version 9)"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

3
I think there are better tools available than MicroStrategy such as Tableau based simply on the ease of manipulating data sets and how quickly you can churn through data sets. The amount of time it takes to train people on MicroStrategy is a bit frustrating as well. I think MicroStrategy has great potential, but could be a better product overall.
Read Toreyan Clarke's full review
Toni (Snyder) Neff profile photo
November 10, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Micromanage your Business with Microstrategy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have built a significant data warehouse within this system allowing us to serve our business effectively. Continuing to utilize this tool and build on data will only continue to help strengthen our platform for use. I do not know of any other product that would better serve us in this area than MicroStrategy
Read Toni (Snyder) Neff's full review
Sid Haas profile photo
November 06, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Reporting and Analysis for the Non-Techie"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We're heavily invested (time and money) in Microstrategy. It meets all of our reporting needs -- there are still many things it can do that we haven't utilized. Microstrategy still provides the "wow" factor even after using it for several years.
Read Sid Haas's full review
Matt Silvy profile photo
November 05, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Need a BI tool? MSTR is for you!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
1. It works!
2. Once it is setup, it keeps running... and running...
3. Power to the people!
4. Once end users try it, they are hooked on it.
5. Clients are very happy with the end product- a BI tool which is easy to use, easy to work with, easy to export their data.
Read Matt Silvy's full review
Alex Uher profile photo
November 18, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Solid enterprise level reporting & BI with a cost (difficult to integrate new data sets)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I would see Business Objects as the main competitor to MSTR in the way we used the tool. I wouldn't see a reason to go through a change considering the level of effort the lack of significant differences between the two tools. For a smaller implementation I would strongly consider Tableau, however.
Read Alex Uher's full review
Srini Veerapaneni profile photo
November 09, 2013

MicroStrategy Analytics: "Srini's MSTR review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
At this point, MSTR is fully embedded in our business reporting and analysis so it is an invaluable tool. We can't afford to not renew it.
Read Srini Veerapaneni's full review
No photo available
March 13, 2015

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "May not be suitable for all audience!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

6
There are other BI tools out there that definitely overcome some of the shortcomings of MSTR and we have been testing them to see how they meet our needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2014

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Empower your Sales Teams and boost ROI!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We compared Microstrategy vs many other vendors, and based on the price-value ratio there was no vendor even close. The implementation was the smoothest out of 4 BI tools that I have been a part of onboarding. If you are using this from a financial reporting or sales playbook format, no other product can provide the cross platform linkages needed to tell a complete story of business/advertiser performance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 09, 2014

MicroStrategy Analytics Review: "Disruptive Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We are satisfied.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (17)
6.1
Customizable dashboards (16)
6.7
Report Formatting Templates (17)
6.1
Drill-down analysis (16)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (17)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (11)
5.9
Report sharing and collaboration (16)
8.7
Publish to Web (16)
7.8
Publish to PDF (16)
8.0
Report Versioning (13)
6.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (16)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (1)
7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (14)
7.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (14)
7.2
Predictive Analytics (13)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (13)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (13)
8.9
Single Sign-On (SSO) (2)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (14)
7.6
Dedicated iOS Application (11)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (9)
8.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (14)
7.2
REST API (1)
8
Javascript API (2)
6.6
iFrames (1)
8
Java API (1)
8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (1)
8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
7.5

About MicroStrategy Analytics

The MicroStrategy platform differs somewhat from competing platforms in that it does not include a data warehouse.

The platform integrates with a wide range of third-party data warehouses however. MicroStrategy also built a free discovery/visualization tool called MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop, which is not completely integrated with the rest of the platform. MicroStrategy has strong mobile and cloud capabilities which are differentiators for the platform. MicroStrategy's cloud offerings are unique in that they host the software in their own data centers and allow customers to keep their data on-premise to alleviate security concerns. Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions.

MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions:

  • MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analytics

MicroStrategy Analytics Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Desktop$600per named user
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Web$600per named user
Web$300,000per CPU core
Mobile$600per named user
Mobile$300,000per CPU core

MicroStrategy Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No