TrustRadius
MindManager is a mind mapping tool that aims to boost the user's productivity. It helps with planning of any type of project.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/G0/tH/IK72TUPKZR3A.JPEGI don't understand all of those words and lines, give me a picture!We use MindManager for large scale projects to create a "40,000 foot" view to easily see what's going on. From there we can navigate to a subproject to discuss or get a visual of what needs to happen. They say a picture is worth 1,000 words, this is what we use to create our picture. Bringing a large detailed gantt chart just gets blank stares and little understanding. Bringing a visual presentation from MindManger to a meeting allows everyone to easily see what's going on or verify that everything is accounted for. We also use it on a smaller scale to help with brainstorming during meetings. It's so much easier and faster to use it than trying to write on a board. Adding priority and catagorizing on the fly with a nice looking clean interface is great.,Strategic Planning Brainstorming Process Mapping Knowledge Management Meeting Management Problem Solving Task and Project Management Project Planning,When there's too much going on we'll use MindManager to create a list of things that need to be done, categorize them, prioritize them and assign. When anyone asks what or how we're doing we can SHOW them. It's so much easier for them to see what's going on but when they see the map they can see that we're organized and our approach is well thought out. Editing views is a lot easier than other programs we've used. I've sat for countless hours trying to get the right shapes to fit right or to get the lines to go where I want them to go. I like the themes. Instead of taking a blank, boring view each time and trying to dress it up later I can start with something appropriate and it looks nice from the start without any extra effort. The interface is intuitive. It's easy to navigate and it looks nice. I don't like using programs that look 20 years old.,More shapes and themes. It has a lot, but more is always better.,1 to 10,10,Having a large scale project visualized in MindManager is priceless. Departments and contractors can easily see what's going on from the moment they see it. The export form Excel helps one of our planners save an enormous amount of time.,We are very visual. MindManager helps us create those visualizations quickly and easily. Without MM it would take too much time to create something of value. These visualizations make all the difference in the world for us. It's hard to imagine not having these images or how we operated before. It's like a cell phone, you thought you didn't really need it before but now you can't live without it.Taking the complex and making it simpleMindManager mapping is used primarily by the board to map complex and/or lengthy proposals/reports to create more concise and logical communications for the consumption of other board members, partners and employees. The maps allow a focus on the pertinent aspects to enhance speed and effectiveness of decision making regarding strategy and allocation of resources.,Strategic Planning Brainstorming Education & Training Enterprise Collaboration Knowledge Management Task and Project Management,Easily facilitates organization of thoughts in a visual manner. The visual mapping triggers additional ideas and questions to be pursued to assist with creating a more holistic approach to strategy development or prioritization. MindManager provides multiple avenues for quickly converting maps to different media such as powerpoint or word documents to best present the pertinent information to whatever audience necessary if map presentation itself is not the most effective approach. Ability to link to other media/documents within the maps and apparently unlimited ability to "nest/link" to other maps allows management of fairly complex and intertwined strategic and tactical components in a logical fashion that allows whatever level of simplification is required for targeted audiences. MindManager support personnel make themselves available for tech support and offer visits to your site to assist with making the most of the tool without being a nuisance by repeatedly contacting if you do not need the support. However they drop an email once a quarter or so to let you know they are available if needed. Good approach. Able to save maps as a .PDF to minimize file size for sharing digitally.,Biggest problem has been not being able to allow other board members and/or staff without mindmanager software on their computers to edit existing documents. Typically have to save as pdf and forward to larger team for view and comment. Nowhere near a show stopper but would be great if software was as universal as powerpoint or excel. I do dislike the "MindManager upgrade" message I tend to receive over and over. My existing version of the software is more than adequate - one reminder each year that a new version is available is sufficient.,1 to 10,8,Most recent example: Initiated a committee to set direction on how to most effectively assist the working poor and at-risk populations within our five county region. Mind mapping allowed the team of 10 - 12 people to absorb the ALICE (Asset Limited Income Constrained Employed) data for the region and determine which groups were most at risk and which groups State and Federal funds my be able to most effectively assist. Three to five maps allowed adequate data absorption by the team to set the 1 to 3 year strategy within a relatively short period of time and start implementation. Have used the tool in the past for strategic planning for corporate business teams in areas of profit management, quality performance, business reliability, safety improvement with varying degrees of success. Typically the mapping process has contributed greatly to both defining the strategy and implementing.,One example: Had reliability responsibility for 30 to 50 facilities globally. Used MindManager to capture all critical systems located within the facilities, past performance, present issues, opportunities to improve. The visual approach of the maps allowed this to be done even in areas where there may have been some language difficulties. Also the visual approach greatly facilitated sharing learnings from one facility to another and from country to country. Once facility-specific maps were in place and validated they were easily used to make spending and budgetary decisions and serve as basis for prioritizing resources across the grid.,Excellent software for Creative non-business types.MindManager is not a tool that is being adopted by my whole organization, but my use of it to give visuals that correlate with data is what has prompted my department to adopt this tool for a pilot program. Being one of the largest departments in the state of MN the biggest problem we have is getting new employees up to speed with how all the government organizations/programs interact with one another. Using MindManager has made this much easier.,Strategic Planning Brainstorming Process Mapping Education & Training Knowledge Management Meeting Management Problem Solving,MindManager allows me to plead my case for more resources, show when there is scope creep, illustrate how complex a topic is, or to present high-level documentation that can be expanded to give the most granular steps/details. MindManager can be leveraged to take the detailed notes of an analyst inside the basic visual overview that upper management cares about. MindManager can export all the diagrams you build into HTML maps that will contain all the documents, images, graphics, and structure created in the tool. This eliminates the requirement of a proprietary tool needed by the recipient of the mind map to see your exports. Anyone can see the maps in the same way you built them. MindManager is excellent in purveying complex scenarios in easy to understand diagrams.,Dashboard Wizard - There is a bit of a skill set required and knowledge of conditional formatting. A wizard would help you set this up with examples and guided questions to get the content you want on the map. New sheet from a topic - XMIND has the ability to have a topic open in another tab as a central topic. All the maps in XMIND are within the same file, no linking to external maps. MindManager allows you to import a map as a topic but with it you need to either import the content from the map which will be forced to take on the attributes of the parent map, or just link to the other map. Multi Tab maps in MM would be awesome. It is one of my most used features in XMIND and keeps everything in one place. Re-Ordering of topics in a flowchart for presentation in HTML5/PowerPoint/Word export - One item, in particular, that would put this product over the top is being able to re-order the topics in a process flow so it can be used more effectively in a presentation. Process flows are constantly changing when you get new information. If you edit the map by adding or putting a topic in between two earlier topics the presentation mode will not focus on that topic until the end of the presentation. If you put a topic at the end of the flow the presentation will jump ahead and then go back. It would be nice to omit parts of the flowchart from the presentation as well. Additional export types for the output of a flowchart would also be handy. The export to HTML5 is excellent, and so long as you manually click from topic to topic it is functional and impressive. But it is lacking the fine-tuned polish and sub-features that would really put it over the top and make it useful for distribution to people other than those intimately familiar with the material. More documentation on how to create Macros. Outlook HTML formatting support without a plugin. The reformatting of email in MM can make things more confusing. Record or attach audio to a topic. – Sometimes training or narration need to be a part of a map. Many tools implement this natively nowadays. Play video from within a topic or in an integrated window. – Video is also commonly used now to eliminate the need for documentation. It would be nice to watch and add notes or just include in a map. SnagIt Support – I thought I remembered this in earlier versions. I cannot seem to create a link between MM and SnagIt anymore. Start with a truly blank map (a sandbox) and be able to place any type of topic on the screen and build anything. Xmind Zen is essentially doing this now. Filter using images/icons. Create image/tag/color legend on map. When legend item is clicked focus on the topics that have the Legend item properties. Would be great in HTML5 output. Un-filter a filtered HTML5 export using a toggle on the HTML Map. When sending out a couple example maps to people unfamiliar with the usage they did not know that there was more content available and made assumptions based on only what they saw. An alert notifying the map is filtered would be nice on the output. Flowchart to Visio Export Exporting to Word/PowerPoint - If you could bring the same level of control to these exports that you did to your HTML5 exporter you would have all the bases covered. Unless I define my own word template the output from a map to work has a messy feel. I really like to do business analysis with maps. I bring in map parts when defining evidence types, scope statements, and requirements. I drag the map parts to the map and define all the info my branches ask for when I include evidence. I would love to be able to export my maps to Microsoft Word and have a great output for my Issue Analysis, Requirement Documents, Traceability Matrix, etc. While I have found ways to make this work and quicker for me I have talked to others that would like to see things perfectly laid out on export that do not have the time to do the tricks and tweaks I have become used to over the years with word templates. It would be nice to have strong export support for Word and PowerPoint documents. Something more visual perhaps that lets a user preview how their export will look before they execute it.,51 to 100,9,Mindmanager lowers the amount of time I need to explain myself by a considerable amount. Mindmanager saves time in training and explanation of objectives by allowing a visual top level and deeper dive notes if needed,The majority of my work is analyst based, and I constantly try to show my superiors/coworkers how I can leverage MindManager to take the detailed notes of an analyst inside the basic visual overview that upper management cares about. They can choose to expand any details they care about and ignore the rest. My notes and research are all contained within the topics ready to use. It is also an excellent way to purvey a status. Anyone that understands mind maps knows that the messier and larger the map the greater amount of information and/or chaos there is. I use mind maps to plead my case for more resources, show when there is scope creep, illustrate how complex a topic is, or to present high-level documentation that can be expanded to give the most granular steps/details. I find a ton of uses for these tools when it comes to communicating complex scenarios so people can more easily consume the information.,XmindMindManager. Simply indispensable.MindManager is really good at the project brainstorming and planning stage. Its visual nature is ideal for creating a work breakdown structure and enabling the team to see the entire project at a glance. I use the org chart map layout to design that. Compare that to a dedicated project management tool like Microsoft Project. I’ve seen project managers open it up and start entering rows of project tasks into the program’s Excel-like spreadsheet. As a result, team members see the tasks but not the context. That’s lost in the endless rows of project data. That’s one of the real advantages of MindManager: You can see tasks in the context of the overall project – the forest AND the trees, if you will. Once the tasks are defined, information regarding task duration, resources, and dependencies can be added in MindManager. Finally, the project design can be exported to another tool such as Microsoft Project for finalization of the plan.,Strategic Planning Brainstorming Process Mapping Knowledge Management Problem Solving Task and Project Management Project Planning,Creating a Work Breakdown Structure. It is easy and fast. Then, using the Gantt Pro tool, one can manage the project and assign resources and dates to work packages. MindManager's drag and drop functionality offers the possibility of combining multiple projects into one program and can even help you perform resource leveling across multiple projects. Stakeholder Management. MindManager has many built-in templates but one I like to use if the Stakeholder identification template. It makes identifying, classifying, and managing stakeholders as easy as it gets. Brainstorming. There is nothing as convenient as a mind map tool for simple brainstorming of ideas. Mindmanager excels at this. Turning a map into a written document. I used MindManager to brainstorm, plan and compose an entire white paper, complete with graphics. Then, all I had to do was export the document to MS Word. Formatting was all taken care of.,If it had a more comprehensive project management capability that allowed for a complete replacement of MS Project, that would be great. Better integration with Evernote; my other productivity tool. Updates to the old cloud-based Mindjet Files feature at vision.mindjet.com that I first purchased in 2012 would be greatly appreciated. If I am using a client's computer without MindManager, I want to be able to access and render newer format files seamlessly. This would involved continued support for Flash Player, but I think it is warranted.,1 to 10,10,It has allowed me to deliver results to clients in cases where a lesser tool would have failed. Managing a Lean Six Sigma project and storing all project artifacts within the mind map has been extremely useful in my work. I have saved time by using the mind map of my deliverables as the central feature of project reports to cleint.,I use MindManager to visualize my client base. I take advantage of its many features to identify opportunities with existing clients and track completed work. In addition to its many work-related features, MindManager has been a great tool for vacation planning and other personal projects. One type of project I do is manage complex proposals. MindManager allows me to have all proposal documentation available within the single mind map and execute the proposal project, along with the structure of the proposal itself, with its visual Gantt chart.,Visualization, Collaboration, and Ease of Use - The Triple PlayWe are using MindManager in our department. We have several use cases for MindManager in our group. 1) Process Flow: We use MindManager to collaborate across our North American team to build, collaborate, and publish new processes designed for our channel organization. 2) Presentations: I use MindManager when collecting my thoughts on a presentation. I can visualize the topics, the flow, and put it all together before going to a presentation tool. 3) Meeting Notes: I use MindManager to capture my notes and organize them following the meeting. It is easy to identify To Dos, next steps, and plans. It is easy to share these with the extended team. Overall, it allows us to share information much more effectively than with paper, Word docs, and other docs that do not allow easy collaboration.,Brainstorming Process Mapping Enterprise Collaboration Meeting Management,Collaboration- MindManager allows our North American team to collaborate on process flows and To Dos across multiple time zones and any hour someone wants to access files. Visualization- It is easy to see all relevant information on a single pane of glass. Before MindManager, I was always toggling between applications or flipping through multiple pages of a virtual document to find the information I was looking for. Now, I can see it in one place.,I would like to see feature parity between Windows and Mac. Macs are prevalent in most organizations and the lack of parity causes issues between users.,51 to 100,9,Time Savings- MindManager has allowed us to save time by removing redundancy. We can now share notes in a single map. I estimate that we have saved 25% by sharing information in a single location. Quality Improvement- Prior to MindManager, I would open PowerPoint or pull out sticky notes to start building a presentation. Now, I start with MindManager and start brainstorming on objective of the presentation, expectations of the audience, topics to cover, and visuals to add. I know the flow and effectiveness of my presentations has improved because I have seen the feedback.,Lucidchart and Evernote
Windows, Mac
MindManager
143 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

MindManager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
MindManager
143 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 143 vetted MindManager reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jason Everett profile photo
December 13, 2018

MindManager Review: "I don't understand all of those words and lines, give me a picture!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager for large scale projects to create a "40,000 foot" view to easily see what's going on. From there we can navigate to a subproject to discuss or get a visual of what needs to happen. They say a picture is worth 1,000 words, this is what we use to create our picture. Bringing a large detailed gantt chart just gets blank stares and little understanding. Bringing a visual presentation from MindManger to a meeting allows everyone to easily see what's going on or verify that everything is accounted for.

We also use it on a smaller scale to help with brainstorming during meetings. It's so much easier and faster to use it than trying to write on a board. Adding priority and catagorizing on the fly with a nice looking clean interface is great.
  • When there's too much going on we'll use MindManager to create a list of things that need to be done, categorize them, prioritize them and assign. When anyone asks what or how we're doing we can SHOW them. It's so much easier for them to see what's going on but when they see the map they can see that we're organized and our approach is well thought out.
  • Editing views is a lot easier than other programs we've used. I've sat for countless hours trying to get the right shapes to fit right or to get the lines to go where I want them to go.
  • I like the themes. Instead of taking a blank, boring view each time and trying to dress it up later I can start with something appropriate and it looks nice from the start without any extra effort.
  • The interface is intuitive. It's easy to navigate and it looks nice. I don't like using programs that look 20 years old.
  • More shapes and themes. It has a lot, but more is always better.
It's perfect for brainstorming, organizing and prioritizing when we are feeling overwhelmed. With MM I feel like the meeting is so much more productive for me everyone. When everyone has too much to do a meeting without it is a waste of time because we each state what we need to do and try to pay attention while listening to someone's long list and ramblings. With MM we focus better and prioritize on the fly. It's better for me to see what someone needs to do in a nice chart than to see a list. After the meeting we can print the images and mark them off when we're done.
Read Jason Everett's full review
Marcus James profile photo
December 01, 2018

MindManager Review: "Taking the complex and making it simple"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager mapping is used primarily by the board to map complex and/or lengthy proposals/reports to create more concise and logical communications for the consumption of other board members, partners and employees. The maps allow a focus on the pertinent aspects to enhance speed and effectiveness of decision making regarding strategy and allocation of resources.
  • Easily facilitates organization of thoughts in a visual manner. The visual mapping triggers additional ideas and questions to be pursued to assist with creating a more holistic approach to strategy development or prioritization.
  • MindManager provides multiple avenues for quickly converting maps to different media such as powerpoint or word documents to best present the pertinent information to whatever audience necessary if map presentation itself is not the most effective approach.
  • Ability to link to other media/documents within the maps and apparently unlimited ability to "nest/link" to other maps allows management of fairly complex and intertwined strategic and tactical components in a logical fashion that allows whatever level of simplification is required for targeted audiences.
  • MindManager support personnel make themselves available for tech support and offer visits to your site to assist with making the most of the tool without being a nuisance by repeatedly contacting if you do not need the support. However they drop an email once a quarter or so to let you know they are available if needed. Good approach.
  • Able to save maps as a .PDF to minimize file size for sharing digitally.
  • Biggest problem has been not being able to allow other board members and/or staff without mindmanager software on their computers to edit existing documents. Typically have to save as pdf and forward to larger team for view and comment. Nowhere near a show stopper but would be great if software was as universal as powerpoint or excel.
  • I do dislike the "MindManager upgrade" message I tend to receive over and over. My existing version of the software is more than adequate - one reminder each year that a new version is available is sufficient.
It is very well-suited for introducing topics and concepts e.g. taking a 200 page study and reducing it to a single map with key concepts and key data for initial discussion with a team interested in working on that topic. Good for a small group discussion (less than 15 members).

Not so well suited for discussion with a larger group (too much detail) but the "one-button" translation of maps to powerpoint works well with the larger groups.
Read Marcus James's full review
Erik Freeman profile photo
December 01, 2018

MindManager Review: "Excellent software for Creative non-business types."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is not a tool that is being adopted by my whole organization, but my use of it to give visuals that correlate with data is what has prompted my department to adopt this tool for a pilot program. Being one of the largest departments in the state of MN the biggest problem we have is getting new employees up to speed with how all the government organizations/programs interact with one another. Using MindManager has made this much easier.
  • MindManager allows me to plead my case for more resources, show when there is scope creep, illustrate how complex a topic is, or to present high-level documentation that can be expanded to give the most granular steps/details.
  • MindManager can be leveraged to take the detailed notes of an analyst inside the basic visual overview that upper management cares about.
  • MindManager can export all the diagrams you build into HTML maps that will contain all the documents, images, graphics, and structure created in the tool. This eliminates the requirement of a proprietary tool needed by the recipient of the mind map to see your exports. Anyone can see the maps in the same way you built them.
  • MindManager is excellent in purveying complex scenarios in easy to understand diagrams.
  • Dashboard Wizard - There is a bit of a skill set required and knowledge of conditional formatting. A wizard would help you set this up with examples and guided questions to get the content you want on the map.
  • New sheet from a topic - Xmind has the ability to have a topic open in another tab as a central topic. All the maps in Xmind are within the same file, no linking to external maps. MindManager allows you to import a map as a topic but with it you need to either import the content from the map which will be forced to take on the attributes of the parent map, or just link to the other map. Multi Tab maps in MM would be awesome. It is one of my most used features in Xmind and keeps everything in one place.
  • Re-Ordering of topics in a flowchart for presentation in HTML5/PowerPoint/Word export - One item, in particular, that would put this product over the top is being able to re-order the topics in a process flow so it can be used more effectively in a presentation. Process flows are constantly changing when you get new information. If you edit the map by adding or putting a topic in between two earlier topics the presentation mode will not focus on that topic until the end of the presentation. If you put a topic at the end of the flow the presentation will jump ahead and then go back. It would be nice to omit parts of the flowchart from the presentation as well. Additional export types for the output of a flowchart would also be handy. The export to HTML5 is excellent, and so long as you manually click from topic to topic it is functional and impressive. But it is lacking the fine-tuned polish and sub-features that would really put it over the top and make it useful for distribution to people other than those intimately familiar with the material.
  • More documentation on how to create Macros.
  • Outlook HTML formatting support without a plugin. The reformatting of email in MM can make things more confusing.
  • Record or attach audio to a topic. – Sometimes training or narration need to be a part of a map. Many tools implement this natively nowadays.
  • Play video from within a topic or in an integrated window. – Video is also commonly used now to eliminate the need for documentation. It would be nice to watch and add notes or just include in a map.
  • SnagIt Support – I thought I remembered this in earlier versions. I cannot seem to create a link between MM and SnagIt anymore.
  • Start with a truly blank map (a sandbox) and be able to place any type of topic on the screen and build anything. Xmind Zen is essentially doing this now.
  • Filter using images/icons.
  • Create image/tag/color legend on map. When legend item is clicked focus on the topics that have the Legend item properties. Would be great in HTML5 output.
  • Un-filter a filtered HTML5 export using a toggle on the HTML Map. When sending out a couple example maps to people unfamiliar with the usage they did not know that there was more content available and made assumptions based on only what they saw. An alert notifying the map is filtered would be nice on the output.
  • Flowchart to Visio Export
  • Exporting to Word/PowerPoint - If you could bring the same level of control to these exports that you did to your HTML5 exporter you would have all the bases covered. Unless I define my own word template the output from a map to work has a messy feel. I really like to do business analysis with maps. I bring in map parts when defining evidence types, scope statements, and requirements. I drag the map parts to the map and define all the info my branches ask for when I include evidence. I would love to be able to export my maps to Microsoft Word and have a great output for my Issue Analysis, Requirement Documents, Traceability Matrix, etc. While I have found ways to make this work and quicker for me I have talked to others that would like to see things perfectly laid out on export that do not have the time to do the tricks and tweaks I have become used to over the years with word templates. It would be nice to have strong export support for Word and PowerPoint documents. Something more visual perhaps that lets a user preview how their export will look before they execute it.
MindManager is best suited to make a picture tell a thousand words especially in front of large groups. I don't have trouble finding appropriate uses for this software in every conceiveable scenario. It is a sandbox that with enough imagination can be used to streamline nearly any scenario.
Read Erik Freeman's full review
Jeff Kearns CD, rmc, PEng, PMP profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "MindManager. Simply indispensable."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is really good at the project brainstorming and planning stage. Its visual nature is ideal for creating a work breakdown structure and enabling the team to see the entire project at a glance. I use the org chart map layout to design that.

Compare that to a dedicated project management tool like Microsoft Project. I’ve seen project managers open it up and start entering rows of project tasks into the program’s Excel-like spreadsheet. As a result, team members see the tasks but not the context. That’s lost in the endless rows of project data.

That’s one of the real advantages of MindManager: You can see tasks in the context of the overall project – the forest AND the trees, if you will. Once the tasks are defined, information regarding task duration, resources, and dependencies can be added in MindManager. Finally, the project design can be exported to another tool such as Microsoft Project for finalization of the plan.

  • Creating a Work Breakdown Structure. It is easy and fast. Then, using the Gantt Pro tool, one can manage the project and assign resources and dates to work packages.
  • MindManager's drag and drop functionality offers the possibility of combining multiple projects into one program and can even help you perform resource leveling across multiple projects.
  • Stakeholder Management. MindManager has many built-in templates but one I like to use if the Stakeholder identification template. It makes identifying, classifying, and managing stakeholders as easy as it gets.
  • Brainstorming. There is nothing as convenient as a mind map tool for simple brainstorming of ideas. Mindmanager excels at this.
  • Turning a map into a written document. I used MindManager to brainstorm, plan and compose an entire white paper, complete with graphics. Then, all I had to do was export the document to MS Word. Formatting was all taken care of.
  • If it had a more comprehensive project management capability that allowed for a complete replacement of MS Project, that would be great.
  • Better integration with Evernote; my other productivity tool.
  • Updates to the old cloud-based Mindjet Files feature at vision.mindjet.com that I first purchased in 2012 would be greatly appreciated. If I am using a client's computer without MindManager, I want to be able to access and render newer format files seamlessly. This would involved continued support for Flash Player, but I think it is warranted.
MindManager is really good at the project brainstorming and planning stage. Its visual nature is ideal for creating a work breakdown structure and enabling the team to see the entire project at a glance. I use the org chart map layout to design that.

Compare that to a dedicated project management tool like Microsoft Project. I’ve seen project managers open it up and start entering rows of project tasks into the program’s Excel-like spreadsheet. As a result, team members see the tasks but not the context. That’s lost in the endless rows of project data.

That’s one of the real advantages of MindManager: You can see tasks in the context of the overall project – the forest AND the trees, if you will. Once the tasks are defined, information regarding task duration, resources, and dependencies can be added in MindManager. Finally, the project design can be exported to another tool such as Microsoft Project for finalization of the plan.
Read Jeff Kearns CD, rmc, PEng, PMP's full review
Tom Simmons profile photo
November 27, 2018

MindManager Review: "Visualization, Collaboration, and Ease of Use - The Triple Play"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MindManager in our department. We have several use cases for MindManager in our group. 1) Process Flow: We use MindManager to collaborate across our North American team to build, collaborate, and publish new processes designed for our channel organization. 2) Presentations: I use MindManager when collecting my thoughts on a presentation. I can visualize the topics, the flow, and put it all together before going to a presentation tool. 3) Meeting Notes: I use MindManager to capture my notes and organize them following the meeting. It is easy to identify To Dos, next steps, and plans. It is easy to share these with the extended team. Overall, it allows us to share information much more effectively than with paper, Word docs, and other docs that do not allow easy collaboration.
  • Collaboration- MindManager allows our North American team to collaborate on process flows and To Dos across multiple time zones and any hour someone wants to access files.
  • Visualization- It is easy to see all relevant information on a single pane of glass. Before MindManager, I was always toggling between applications or flipping through multiple pages of a virtual document to find the information I was looking for. Now, I can see it in one place.
  • I would like to see feature parity between Windows and Mac. Macs are prevalent in most organizations and the lack of parity causes issues between users.
MindManager is well suited for collaboration, visualization, and ideation. A key component is the ability to see everything on a single screen. I have not found it to be best suited for project management activities. In our case, part of it is the number of employees that do not have access to the tool.
Read Tom Simmons's full review
Ian Simpson profile photo
November 23, 2018

Review: "MindManager keeps your focus on constructive and creative outcomes, not on how to use the application!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is used by a few users in the Corp/ICT team but I'm the primary user. Once others see the simplicity and effectiveness of the product, it often drives adoption elsewhere. MindManager is used in a number of capacities, often commencing as a brainstorming tool, followed by planning, and as the plan matures it becomes a project monitoring and management tool. It is also used for process flowcharts, org charts and the like.
  • Simplicity - 'Enter', 'insert' and 'drag and drop' go a long way in MindManager. Achieving basic user competence is very easy and once the user is 'hooked' they will seek out more advanced functions.
  • Visualisation - templates, guides and examples. This is not unique to MindManager but it looks impressive from the time of opening to the finished product.
  • Perspective - MindManager has the ability to provide different views of the same information to easily undertake reality check and priority reviews.
  • Project management - The Project Management features are useful, especially the integration of Gantt Charts etc.
  • Gantt Charts could be more customisable and easier to use. It doesn't always display as intended and some manipulation can be required.
  • More advanced features can be a little fiddly (but this may be more related to the user).
  • Cannot Save as PDF currently so printing to PDF is required. Not a major issue but a deficiency.
MindManager can be used effectively for a wide range of purposes. In its simplest form, it can be a virtual 'White Board' capturing key information from a discussion or a brainstorming session. Drag and drop ideas and concepts and never run out of room. Then, without manually transposing the info, it can be refined and represented to the group. This then leads into planning and project management and many other applications.

Process re-engineering is easy and can be done on the fly. It is extremely flexible and versatile and ideal for where MS Project and Visio would be overkill but core functions are needed. As for mind mapping, MindManager is in a class of its own. I've watched it develop over 12-13 years and it's still the first tool I turn to anytime there is something new to understand, do, achieve, plan for etc.
Read Ian Simpson's full review
Miquiel Banks profile photo
November 16, 2018

Review: "MindManager is the Ultimate Visual and Virtual Assistant"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager (MM) is not being used professionally in our organization (team-wise). However, I use it for process mapping, org charts, and other data-driven infographics to help the engineering supervisor, leads, and team operate more efficiently. MM is invaluable for working on the ECN process, mapping out projects, recording meeting minutes, and helping to distill information across an entire team and/or department.

MM solves several business problems, ranging from project management, project requirements, task management, meeting minutes, SharePoint mapping, presentations, documentation, and seeing the big picture and small picture. It provides executives, team leads, supervisors, and employees [a way] to assess a situation accurately, manage that assessment, and provide visual feedback to other employees.
  • MM is particularly suited for Corporate and Business Mapping because it taps into a person's visual understanding and its power to standardize learning and education is unparalleled.
  • MM is an all-in-one Productivity Tool, possibly the first of its kind. In its early days, it was cited as the sixth member of MS Office and that was a well-stated idea. Imagine being able to visually map out data and content, update it visually, exporting it to MS Word/Excel/Powerpoint, interact with MS Outlook, and interact/work with MS Sharepoint? This is the perfect tool if you use Windows, MS Office, MS Sharepoint, or MS Outlook!
  • MM is a personal (Virtual) assistant for me, it allows me to focus on creative thinking, brainstorming, and ideation so I can compete in the Marketplace. I use it to create Worksheets and Cheat Sheets to remember data, crunch numbers, and assess any situation with the most informed decisions.
  • The only problem I see with MM is learning how to create Templates and change the "visual" aspects of how a map looks.
Well Suited - Presentations, Meeting Minutes, Gathering Project Requirements, Project Management, Documentation, Technical Writing, Scheduling, Sharepoint/Site Mgmt, Visual/Task integration with MS Outlook.
Read Miquiel Banks's full review
Benjamin Brogdon profile photo
February 15, 2019

Review: "Manage Your Mind (and the minds of others) with MindManager"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use it for action mapping sessions to determine course learning objectives, business goals, etc. Subject matter experts would, on their own, say that learners need to "just know XYZ," but action mapping enables us to facilitate a discussion that leads these subject matter experts to realize that learners need to "be able to do XYZ" instead. This software enables us to have this conversation.
  • Very easy to drag and drop map elements to quickly reorganize and reorient topics.
  • The interface is insanely intuitive. Even a novice user can be up and running in minutes.
  • The ability to open maps in IE for folks who don't have MindJet installed on their machines is a critical feature.
  • A cloud version that enables collaboration on any device by any user would be welcome.
  • Tighter integration with Google Docs, MS Office, etc. would be a great bonus.
  • I'd love to see a tablet optimized version for on-the-go mind mapping.
Best suited for brainstorming ideas. A wonderful collaboration tool for you to use with a group to organize thoughts. Less appropriate for someone delivering a presentation. Maps have to be manipulated and exported for use in presentation software. The software is not suited to folks who live in the cloud; you need to be tethered to a single computer for the tool to work.
Read Benjamin Brogdon's full review
Mark Martin profile photo
December 03, 2018

Review: "MindManager streamline my day to accomplish my dreams."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in all aspects of management, organizational overview, and ministry processes and planning.
  • Organizational Layout.
  • Processes and procedures.
  • Long and short range planning.
  • None that I can think of.
I find that MindManager works well in the nonprofit sector. I use it for organizational charting, long-range planning, and process diagramming. It works much better in our environment to visualize positions and processes. It is very easy for everyone in my church from the layperson to the leader to see the process.
Read Mark Martin's full review
Dwayne Peckham profile photo
December 03, 2018

MindManager Review: "Great for the Professional and for the student to keep track of everything in life."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is being used by me personally. My company does not use the software.

I use it to lay out diagrams of books that I study for certification exams that are a part of the job I do teaching. It helps give me a good picture of everything I need to know to pass these exams.
  • It lays out information in a hierarchy that makes it easy to understand.
  • Colors and designs make presentations quite pleasant to look at.
  • It has great exporting features to export to HTML so everyone can view a map at their convenience.
  • In the org chart, I have not figured out (if possible) to add a side bar (e.g. the president's secretary reports to the president, but vice presidents don't report to her).
  • Better printing functionality (I know it's difficult with large maps, but more than 2 page height would be good).
  • Sorry, no other complaints. Program is excellent for my uses.
In education, very appropriate to lay out courses. You can lay them out by chapter, topics, or any other breakdown you choose. Within them, you can put details you need to cover in each one, and then break them down as far as you want. It is a great map for the entire course that grows as much as you need it to (no width or height restrictions). You can be as detailed as you want to be.
Read Dwayne Peckham's full review
Koustubh Sharma profile photo
December 03, 2018

MindManager Review: "Great tool for increasing productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager extensively to develop annual plans, concepts, ideas and monitor progress across the year. The recent tools such as Gantt chart and time-tracking are very useful even though one would wish it to add more functionality in visualization and navigation.
  • Our minds work best when you think visually. MindManager helps create a visual network of ideas, processes and concepts.
  • I find the ability to use branching, subordination and networking options in the Mindmaps. These simulate neural networks that make it easy to understand and follow through complicated issues during planning.
  • Keeping a track of annual goals, objectives and activities while assigning resources is one of the most productive aspects of MindManager that helps keep a track of progress during the year.
  • Need better functionality when using Gantt charts.
  • Adding and managing resources is a little cumbersome.
  • Sharing and collaborating on maps is still a bit complicated and I have not been able to achieve it with single-system licenses. In the times of cloud computing, this level of collaboration should be made available to everybody irrespective of a specific type of license.
I find it most suitable for planning, conceptualizing and tracking projects, be it scientific articles, reports, activities or wildlife research. I find it most suitable for situations where we need to develop ideas as visual representation and easy capability of moving around boxes makes it productive and efficient. The only place where we have not found Mindmaps useful in its current form is when trying to build things collaboratively as most of our team members are spread in different parts of the world and the collaborative tools probably need further refinement and functionalities.
Read Koustubh Sharma's full review
David Booth profile photo
December 02, 2018

MindManager Review: "Easy-to-use way to capture, organise and share ideas, with useful additional functionality"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager to capture and organise ideas: it enables me to set these out in a logical structure, and the visual representation is helpful in giving an overview perspective. The ability to export maps in formats that can be shared with others - and 'walked-through' as presentations - is very useful (e.g. summarising workshop outputs).

The functionality of MindManager has developed significantly over the past 2-3 years (the 'training webinar' programme is helpful in introducing these). There are opportunities to continue to develop the application further (e.g. more intuitive, Help function) for a simpler user experience, and this might require more of a step-development than steady improvement - but this is a possible direction for the future rather than a limitation of the current version.
  • Enables clear, logically-structured visual articulation of ideas, with easy re-sorting of the structured visualisation
  • Tags and flags are useful in categorising and filtering information
  • Task management is good, e.g. linking (and synching) tasks with Outlook, Gantt charts, progress reports), so MindManager is useful in organising and implementing non-complex projects
  • More intuitive menus / functions
  • Better Help function (more fully integrated within the application)
  • Capturing and organising ideas / outputs from workshops
  • 'Walk-through' presentation of ideas / arguments
  • Brainstorming sessions (particularly write-up of ideas - might not be as quick/spontaneous to capture ideas during the discussion compared to whiteboard, flipchart or paper
  • Sharing maps with others
  • Managing tasks in a structured way (including link with Outlook)
  • Useful templates (e.g. matrix)
  • Organising and managing simple projects (not well suited to more complex / extensive projects)
Read David Booth's full review
Gaston Grenier profile photo
December 02, 2018

MindManager: "Strategic analysis and work breakdown made easy!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is used by many people across the entire organization. Within my area, it's used for requirements analysis, software feature breakdown, product development, strategy analysis, to-do lists, and some project planning.
  • Integration with Microsoft Office. I can import emails easily and I can export maps in multiple formats to PowerPoint and Word. It works great as an outline building tool for Word documents, as it is a more visual way to work.
  • Presentation mode is great. I can walk through a map easily and communicate to my audience more interactively. Livens up presentations.
  • Map linking to other maps. This helps greatly in work decomposition so that I can maintain a master map that links to other more detailed maps. Good way to organize my work and still provide a good overview of the entire project.
  • Adding icons and tags is very easy, and MM provides a good list of built-in icons to use.
  • Free-style layouts would be nice. I'd like to move sections of my map around freely to create a less symmetrical map (i.e. not-balanced).
  • Integration with Visio beyond just image export. Many of my colleagues create diagrams in Visio and it would be useful to exchange information without having to resort to exporting a static image. Useful when using some of the new types of diagrams available in MM, such as flowcharts and venn diagrams.
Great for strategic thinkers and for planning work, such as when brainstorming and collecting everyone's ideas. It has really good integration with most of Microsoft Office products and MingManager (MM) makes it very easy to share information to other non-MM users with interactve html maps. I use it mostly for breaking down all the various aspects of a new initiative or business problem. It's a great way to share complex information in an organized and logical, drill-down style.
Read Gaston Grenier's full review
Thomas Kleinschmidt, CIM(R) profile photo
November 30, 2018

User Review: "MindManager Adds GPS to Your Maps"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I'm the beta fish for MindManager; beta testing solo for use by our team here, and then fighting for it.

For 30+ years I've been using 'mind mapping' techniques, starting while at UW, then progressing through
various versions of the software. Incredibly happy with what v2018 offers today (have maintenance package for the 2019 upgrade but yet to install). Much an analog man for early brainstorming on sketchbooks or whiteboards, all ends up in the software.

MM allows for simply moving a branch of a map onto its own. As I hold various roles I need to link maps as I get more granular... I find sharing a map a few levels down is simpler for me than fiddling with a large map, but I haven't tried the new HTML exporting, so I could be behind the bus on that.

MM also has an intense, immense and impressive ability for me to CODE AND SORT tasks for whatever I need. Beyond the obvious who/what/when the ability to code and sort tasks by font/color/icons/etc/etc/etc means allows for an
insane amount of control. Implementing dashboards is next, so that specific people look at specific things. GANTT I believe will become my new best friend.

Looking forward to sharing via the html functionality with non-MM users. Brilliant strategy to get power users work out there and give a taste to the uninitiated.

Mindjet partner Olympic Limited sells an add-on that makes the above easier. Kudos to Mindjet for their partners.

Regarding Corel, I'm glad they purchased Mindjet! I fondly recall how 30 years ago utterly intuitive Wordperfect on the NeXT platform was daily, as I struggle with MSO. Good on the folks at Corel to pick up these gems.

TK

  • Super easy to use; everyone gets the basics and the power behind mind mapping.
  • Incredible flexibility to grow/expand on ideas and then to link them.
  • Dashboards and Gantt charts are polished.
  • Multi-monitor support...could be my setup here but I struggle with super large maps and I find using a set of linked smaller maps to be less grief than scrolling around a large map but I would highly prefer seeing the bigger picture. That or some hotkeys to improve using a super large map.
Brainstorming or ad-hoc meetings.
Complex projects and tasking.
Want to use more for knowledge base and training.
Read Thomas Kleinschmidt, CIM(R)'s full review
Mark Rudoff profile photo
November 30, 2018

MindManager Review: "True Believer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So far as I am aware, I am the only person in my unit who uses MindManager. I have shown maps during meetings and presentations. Some colleagues express interest, none enough to follow up with me about whether and how they are using mind maps in their work. Which is, IMHO, too bad.
  • MindManager is my go-to first step for any serious writing I do. It is the best tool I have for keeping track of how my thinking evolves over the life of a piece of work.
  • Excellent tool for organizing and delegating discrete tasks in a meeting.
  • I use argument maps in seminars.
  • Arms are too rigid. Would like to be able to move connections around more easily.
  • More flexibility in hierarchies.
  • I would prefer less predetermined formats.
I find MindManager most useful for:
(1) Planning my own projects
(2) Brainstorming ideas for myself or in a group, and
(3) Creating graphic depictions to parse complicated topics.

Less appropriate: At least in its current design, does not build effective flow charts. ESPECIALLY when
trying to plot long-term projects in a group. Page formatting constraints make it too clumsy. (OF COURSE, it could just be I don't know how to use the package properly).
Read Mark Rudoff's full review
Dan DeSaegher, CFRE profile photo
November 30, 2018

MindManager Review: "Brainstorming and Collaboration becomes easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is my "go to" brainstorming tool. Love organizing my thoughts, strategies, and projects as they expand out from the center goal. The visual definitely promotes my thought creativity. It is a personal tool, as I share it with others, but we have not yet used it as an enterprise tool in our small house non-profit.
  • Structural organization of thought
  • Easy to share complex ideas with others when visualized and aligned to the center goal
  • Captures brainstorming in the best way for continued use in later planning sessions
  • Controlling the object spacing on the page
  • Works well as is for our current use
Excellent for personal or team brainstorming. The simple method of organizing and projects and activities as spider chart of connected thoughts ensures better alignment for both myself and for a team. It gives everyone input, while challenging the root need of alignment with the higher level goals. Powerful in its simplicity and ease of use.
Read Dan DeSaegher, CFRE's full review
Sean Cannon profile photo
November 23, 2018

MindManager Review: "The best software you did not know you needed"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager to brainstorm ideas, manage projects and track activities within the company. It helps to visualise the ideas/projects and mostly keeps the team engaged and focused on the goals.
  • MindManager is great for setting up work dashboards, so you can easily track various projects/processes & keep the team involved.
  • This process really helps to free up mind space to work on more taxing processes.
  • Brainstorming is wonderful with MindManager, the team get involved especially if you have it up on a large screen, Ideas start to flow & before you know it you have a set of solutions/ideas that can then be further examined.
  • Project Management is very well looked after in MindManager from integrating all the brainstorming process through to doing work Breakdown structure and right through the project life cycle.
  • The Gantt chart function is pretty good although the Enterprise version is far better & apart from very large projects you can track projects all in one piece of software (I do miss enterprise & wish there could be single license).
  • Enterprise Gantt features would be a good start.
  • Gantt features being refined such as being able to add name convention to taskbars, some more format options.
  • I have only recently had the new & very much improved MM 2019 & a lot of features I was looking for have been added.
It is so well suited to our process and I would find it hard to think where it would not be useful/productive and such a fun programme to use. About the biggest problem you are likely to face (myself included) is how best utilise the many features. There are so many good combinations/options, but so far as with any creative work you just have to start putting in on-screen and before you know you have achieved an amazing amount of work.
Read Sean Cannon's full review
Paul Thompson profile photo
November 23, 2018

MindManager Review: "MindJet is a Versitile Note Taking/Brainstorming/Visual Outlining Jack of All Trades"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses Mindjet to collect and organize notes during discovery, gap analysis and other systems architecture-related meetings in order to best organize and present summaries of discussions, document features lists and next steps

It's also used to document proposed system specifications, org charts and occasionally process timelines
  • Presents outlines in an easy-to-digest format
  • Can reveal structure and relationships that other tools (IE: Excel, Word, Visio) cannot
  • Takes large problems and logically breaks them down into less-intimidating bite-sized tasks
  • Mindjet for MacOS is relatively slow and buggy compared with its Windows big brother - which is too bad. Our organization (medical school; medical research) is largely Mac-based - educators and business communications professionals are largely Mac users. A feature-identical client for MacOS would be welcome.
  • I would be able to install 20 seats if this product were in the $50 - $80/seat range - where it is priced (even for education) right now I am able to maintain 3-4 seats.
Appropriate: brainstorming; gathering unstructured information to organize into visual outlines; illustrating systems + hierarchy + relationships

Inappropriate: workflows, timelines (use Visio)
Read Paul Thompson's full review
Kevin Crichlow profile photo
November 16, 2018

MindManager Review: "Mind Manager is the catalyst for rapid course design and development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MindManager to plan all my courses. MindManager facilitates non linear thinking (which in reality is how most courses get built.). This means that I can jump in and out of different courses that are at different stages of development. Mind maps are the main type of diagram that I produce. The ability to collect information in different forms against the various parts of the diagram is invaluable to the data collection and prioritization part of course development. I also use MindManager to build concept maps and onion diagrams or venn diagrams when necessary.

The ability to publish my mind map as an html page without writing a single line of code is also another great feature. This gives me maximum flexibility when disseminating information to my team. I also use the direct to word document and power point presentation quite frequently.

Finally the other hidden gem in MindManager is that there is a template for querying your desktop outlook. If you get a lot of email then this is a tool for you, to boost your productivity.

We currently use MindManager in one department but others have taken interest.

I highly recommend MindManager !
  • Planning and Data Collection. - You can attach multiple types of documents, links and pictures to the various parts of your diagrams.
  • Brainstorming - You can follow your mind wherever it needs to go with the flexibility of the diagrams that Mind Manager contains alongside the Brainstorming wizard that it contains.
  • Publishing - MindManager's ability to publish into a variety of commonly used formats is unparalleled.
  • You should be able to connect to Sharepoint from the desktop version. Currently this only exists for those organizations that use the Enterprise version.
  • Mind manager should be able to connect to GIS software directly. It would be great to link geo - enabled content to my Mind Maps and Concept maps. Start with establishing business relationships to ESRI Canada and Boundless.
  • Please add auto bibliography capability.
Information exchange as well as problem decomposition and visualization.
Read Kevin Crichlow's full review
Wade Walker, CBIP profile photo
November 16, 2018

Review: "Feedback on Corel's MindManager Mind Mapping tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MindManager in development and alumni engagement for a number of purposes. In my team, I have used it in my facilitated workshops to identify new initiatives and to influence the direction of my strategic roadmap. In addition, I have used it for understanding professional networks.
  • Network management - document personal connections within a group of people
  • Service management - Identification of services offered and their contribution to the whole
  • Service Planning - Document existing services as an analysis tool to identify gaps and potential for new services
  • None I am aware of. It is a fairly simple tool, in an niche.
[Well suited for] analysis of networks (human, technology and otherwise), brainstorming, ideation and identification of new possibilities for services, products, etc.
Read Wade Walker, CBIP's full review
Immanuel Koks profile photo
December 03, 2018

MindManager Review: "researcher/phd student"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it personally for brain storming, recording notes, and research project management.
  • It offers a clear - quick way to create Mindmaps.
  • The windows version - with the addition of properties and calculations - offers a visually clear way to work with numeric values.
  • Better Mac compatibility.
  • Need to implement a Buzan's style map where data sits on curved colorful lines.
  • Simpler way of dealing with numeric data.
Not recommended if the person uses apple.

I would recommend it to researchers / graduate and post-graduate students. Particularly for conceptual work.
Read Immanuel Koks's full review
Pavel Bolshakov profile photo
December 03, 2018

MindManager: "University Researcher's Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am part of a research group at The University of Texas at Dallas, under the supervision of Prof. Chadwin Young. We purchased MindManager for our group to track our projects, put together brainstorm ideas, and schedule our testing plans. It allows everyone to see the big picture of a project as well as keep track of its tasks.
  • Visually helps understand how each tasks depends on another.
  • Provides a project timelines for all project members to follow.
  • Allows major ideas/tasks/deliverables to be all in one place.
  • Allow for more flexibility with adding topic lines to anywhere on a topic box.
  • Provide more flexibility with color coding topic boxes, lines, etc.
  • Provide the ability to collapse/expand all subtopics at once.
It is well suited for project planning, testing scheduling, and brainstorming.

It is not well suited for meeting notes/minutes.
Read Pavel Bolshakov's full review
Wayne Pavao profile photo
November 30, 2018

"MindManager Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is being used by our Operations team to construct visually compelling project diagrams. These diagrams will assist both technical and non-technical employees understand the goals and requirements of complex systems. Our Human Resources team is preparing to recreate cumbersome corporate organizational charts developed in Microsoft Word to MindManager.
  • Ease of use creating compelling visualizations
  • Easy to deploy for IT
  • Both PC and Mac compatibility
  • Gant charts missing from Mac version
  • Mobile support
  • Cost
MindManager is well suited for our project brainstorming requirements. Ideas are developed and visualized with great efficiency.
Read Wayne Pavao's full review
Aidan Gallagher profile photo
November 30, 2018

MindManager Review: "Go to solution for initial High Level project brainstorming."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I, as project manager use MindManager to capture the initial high level scope of a new project, demonstrate the high level use case and design of proposed solution.
  • Provides a great visual to full team including stakeholders of the high level look and feel of solution.
  • Expansion and contraction of stories are simple to follow.
  • Connecting arrows help see interaction between actors in a project.
  • More Agile development friendly, example quick way to set project management streams for Backlog, in Progress, Done or Blocking.
  • More variation in template options.
  • Good for conceptual views but could improve on implementation options of project planning.
Good for initial project kick off and showing use case and high level design. Not so good for implementation management.
Read Aidan Gallagher's full review
Darla Ladd profile photo
November 30, 2018

Review: "MindManager for Successful Project Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MindManager is a quick way to brainstorm how tasks will be organized. I use it in my current project to provide a visual of how items will move through various systems within the company. I love the fact that it is very intuitive and attendees of a meeting are not preoccupied or confused by the application, but ready to provide input to see where the ideas will take us. I really appreciate the way the notes feature is constructed; it allows me to add quite a bit of information for each item.
  • The tool is intuitive and flexible. When you open multiple saved pages, they appear as multiple tabs instead of as separate documents. This makes it much easier to manage if you are sharing your screen during a meeting.
  • MindManager has worked to build our process flows via brainstorming sessions; it is very easy to then utilize the outcome to track ongoing processes.
  • For project management, it is useful because it allows us to document deliverables in a clear and concise manner.
  • I have not found any needed improvements thus far.
This is a great tool for people who work in complex organizations that require a team to strategically maneuver through various roadblocks in order to accomplish a body of work.
Read Darla Ladd's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (48)
7.0
Resource Management (40)
6.4
Gantt Charts (36)
5.9
Scheduling (34)
6.3
Workflow Automation (28)
6.6
Team Collaboration (43)
8.1
Support for Agile Methodology (5)
9.1
Support for Waterfall Methodology (5)
9.1
Document Management (39)
5.8
Email integration (29)
5.9
Mobile Access (4)
8.0
Timesheet Tracking (3)
7.0
Change request and Case Management (4)
3.9
Budget and Expense Management (24)
5.6
Quotes/estimates (1)
3
Project & financial reporting (1)
4
Integration with accounting software (1)
1

About MindManager

MindManager helps individuals, teams and enterprises do the right work, faster and better, by simplifying the way they capture, process and share information. Transforming unstructured ideas and data into dynamic visual maps, MindManager says it gives people a clearer understanding of and greater control over their time, work and world.

The vendor says that MindManager’s flexible, intuitive design supports freeform thinking, fluid organization and holistic understanding; its cross-platform functionality and third-party integrations enable a more streamlined, seamless work experience. Millions of users across thousands of global organizations brainstorm ideas creatively, plan and execute projects efficiently, communicate knowledge effectively, and drive more positive, profitable business outcomes with MindManager.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

- Creativity & Problem Solving
- Boosting Productivity
- Information & Knowledge Management
- Task & Project Management
- Business Planning
- Process Management
- And much more
Categories:  Project Management

MindManager Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Does not have featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Does not have featureMobile Access
Does not have featureTimesheet Tracking
Does not have featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Does not have featureInvoicing
Does not have featureProject & financial reporting
Does not have featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureInformation Visualization
Has featureInformation Management
Has featureInformation Capturing
Has featureInformation Presentation
Has featureKnowledge Management

MindManager Screenshots

MindManager Video

Uncover possibilities, unite teams and unleash productivity with MindManager 2019. Empower yourself or your team with the most robust, customizable visualization software available, FREE for 30 days at www.mindmanager.com/MyFreeTrial

MindManager Downloadables

MindManager Integrations

Zapier, MS SharePoint, MS Outlook

MindManager Competitors

Xmind, iMindMap, iThoughts

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

MindManager Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MindManager Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Chinese