Owler Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2020

Wildly Inaccurate, limited information, overall not worth a dime or 5 minutes of your time

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Signed up for Owler for market research. I am a commercial insurance broker in Las Vegas, focused on risk management for general contractors and specialty trade construction. My ideal client has roughly 20-200 employees, and $2-15 million in revenue annually.

Owler did not address any problems. Upon searching for 10 mid-sized companies that I am already familiar with as a test, all 10 had "incomplete profiles." As well, those with "estimated employee and revenue totals" were wildly inaccurate.

For example, 2 mid-to large companies that I am in touch with with employee counts of 100-250 are left blank in Owler. I am also in talks with a business owner who has 130 employees, but it is listed on Owler as 34 employees.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Owler is great for research on small, private companies.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler is a resource being used across my organization, primarily by those conducting due diligence processes for potential investments. Owler helps to address the information deficit that can sometimes arise when diligencing small companies. Owler, however, is valuable to use in my organization's researching process for all types of companies, large and small, across a variety of industries.
Read this authenticated review
Parker O'Very | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Fantastic tool to stay up to date on company and industry news!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Owler on our Sales and Marketing teams to keep tabs on our named accounts and industry news. It is a great "dynamic" rss feed that doesn't require a great deal of manual work, and the manual work that it does require is pretty simple and light. Great to help us stay up to date on industry news and arms us with good background info for sales/marketing outreach.
Read Parker O'Very's full review
Fraser Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Owler - Crunchbase on steroids.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler is used by my sales team in order to add a level of personalisation that would take much longer if done manually.

My team has refined their own list of "best accounts" that they feel is a great fit for our company. They then simply add these companies to their Owler accounts and if something changes within the company, for example, a new project launched or new funding, the morning Owler email will alert them to this and allow them to personalise their outreach from there.
Read Fraser Murphy's full review
Eric Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Owler gives you the insight you crave

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler is used to provide sales intelligence into the prospect we are about to contact. This enables us to learn more about their personality and determine their best needs and ways to communicate. Some of the sales department use it, and it gives additional insight before a conversation begins with a prospect.
Read Eric Steele's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

Great sales account blueprinting tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler is used as a blueprinting tool in the sales department to gather information about a company before a meeting. It's really useful for things like following news about a company, seeing if there have been any leadership changes,and finding out about recent funding. Also great for info on a company's primary competitors, revenue, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Insights you need

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Owler to gain insights on competitors and leads. I receive regular updates with information on the companies I am following. It's been an extremely useful tool to stay one step ahead of my prospects and competitors. It takes the work out of researching companies that I need to follow regularly.
Read this authenticated review
Helen Racutin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2018

Platform to know more about your market

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler gives some valuable information about an industry, competitors, clients, partners, buyers etc. It also allows you to make a comparative analysis and track other companies you're interested in. The information is very useful for marketing and sales professionals, so Owler is mostly used by our marketing and sales departments.

Read Helen Racutin's full review
Davis Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

Owler Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work on the business development team, so finding context from Owler helps get in the door with companies by being able to relate.
Read Davis Hepworth's full review
Meredith Walter | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2016

Great for researching known competitors, not so much for competitor discovery.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When looking for tools to help my company research competitors, we tried out Owler. If it was successful, my company was hoping to branch out and use Owler for client competitor research, as well.
Read Meredith Walter's full review
Michael Levy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2015

Free High Precision News Alerting and News/Social Media Viewer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Owler provides daily email alerts of companies I track as part of my consulting business. The system also provides an easy way of tracking broader information around companies including blogs, video posts, press releases, and three sales trigger categories (fundings, exec changes, and M&A). In early 2015, they rolled out special alerts for Funding, Exec Changes, and M&A events. They also just launched a set of 12 competitive comparison reports that are sent on a staggered basis quarterly (they were just announced these reports so they are not part of this review).
Read Michael Levy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2018

Free and insightful crowdsourcing platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Within our organization, Owler is used by teams and individuals. Mostly by the marketing team, but also by individuals in different positions. Because Owler gives interesting and useful information about latest news in the industry, updates about competitors and their products and some other more specific information such as CEOs' ratings, the tool has something interesting to share with any person, no matter what position she or he holds.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Advanced search (11)
6.3
Identification of new leads (9)
6.7
List quality (9)
6.3
List upload/download (7)
7.9
Ideal customer targeting (8)
6.8
Load time/data access (10)
8.0
Contact information (7)
4.4
Company information (11)
6.0
Industry information (10)
7.4
Lead qualification process (7)
6.3
Smart lists and recommendations (6)
7.1
Salesforce integration (4)
9.3
Company/business profiles (11)
6.5
Alerts and reminders (8)
9.0
Data hygiene (9)
6.7
Automatic data refresh (7)
6.6
Tags (6)
8.5
Filters and segmentation (8)
7.9
Sales email templates (4)
8.4
Append emails to records (4)
8.4

About Owler

Owler is a sales intelligence app from the company of the same name San Mateo, providing competitive insights, company information, and other sales relevant information.
Categories:  Sales Intelligence

Owler Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No