TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGTIBCO software reviewI support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.,Visualizing data Simple tool to analyse and show UI Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.,They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.,10,Tableau Desktop,Used to improve business process Helps to understand growth Modern UI makes everyone ready to analyse quickly,,We use to integrate with SharePoint where data resides and more powerful with connectivity and visualize live data.Great Tool! Some improvements are still possibleWe use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.,Easy visualization Importing data is easy Can code and make changes,Better visualization More user modification functionality Better connectivity with different datasets,7,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,Not yet used,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BIGreat Data Visualization SoftwareIt is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.,Visualizing your data--there's no better platform Building custom dashboards to view your data,Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.,10,Helped save downtime costs Helped screen deals to maximize ROI,Self-taught,NoneOverall a very good product with potential improvementsI used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.,Easy chart creation Very good recommended charts Easy storytelling function,UI design Data preprocessing features,9,Tableau Desktop,Online trainingSpotfire New UserSpotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.,Data Visualization Data Analytics Mobile access, Multiple Platforms,Lacking embedded BI and production reporting,7,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft Power BI,Self-taught,No we have not,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft Access
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 491 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (51-75 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 07, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO software review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.


  • Visualizing data
  • Simple tool to analyse and show UI
  • Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.
  • They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Tool! Some improvements are still possible"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.
  • Easy visualization
  • Importing data is easy
  • Can code and make changes
  • Better visualization
  • More user modification functionality
  • Better connectivity with different datasets
Better integration with different data types
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Data Visualization Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.
  • Visualizing your data--there's no better platform
  • Building custom dashboards to view your data
  • Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.
Appropriate any time you are looking at data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Overall a very good product with potential improvements"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.
  • Easy chart creation
  • Very good recommended charts
  • Easy storytelling function
  • UI design
  • Data preprocessing features
Sales and finance visualization
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire New User"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.
  • Data Visualization
  • Data Analytics
  • Mobile access, Multiple Platforms
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
Generally good for visualization and reporting, but not practical for Qlik users.
Read this authenticated review
yixiang Shan profile photo
January 12, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire :The great BI tool for Non-IT Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was introduced as part of the TIBCO corporate license into Fedex IT and BI world around 2 years ago. In EMEA region, we typically use Spotfire to visualize various data, covering many business domains. It helps our business to better apply the data analysis and quickly understand the trend as well as gap, improving our procedure to reduce the operational cost and increase the revenue. It also provides one easy platform for different type of users (non technical) to build KPI reports and sharing those reports easily
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations possibilities and lets the user tweak the visualizations to their specific needs if required.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • It supports various data aggregation from various data sources.
  • Spotfire is still kind of "data pulling" strategy based application, the user defines SQL like data fetching command, and also the refresh rate, the Spotfire tries to periodically re-run those "queries", although it does have some data cache mechanism, for rapidly changing data, this strategy's performance sometimes is bad, especially when the data source is not well designed but with large amount of data (an Oracle Database with big table without too much index while those columns needs be queried). The Spotfire should improve to better connect with the other data stream /data pushing based API/Systems, also allowing the end user to define "basic data query" and the "delta data query" and "what mechanism is used to determine the delta"
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for Historical Data (after fact) analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires to consolidate/visualize the data rapidly changed in the RealTime manner (on the second level)
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Patricio Santirso profile photo
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Reporting, reporting, TIBCO Spotfire!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used to report Information Security related issues. It is useful to combine data from multiple sources and report them following Policies KPIs and metrics. The good thing about Spotfire is that you don't need to share large files via email, you just update the data for the report and the links are always available to consume.
  • It is really easy to filter and determine which criteria data should be shown in the graphics.
  • You can set up different reports in the same dashboard or you can create several dashboards in the same link you share with users.
  • The coding syntax is pretty easy to understand and the help section is really well written to understand the use of different formulas.
  • The scale of colors to be used in graphics could be improved.
  • If you compare with other products such as Power BI, the look'n feel doesn't look as friendly as in Power BI.
  • I really don't know if this is possible, but in our case, it requires local users to be created, maybe it could be synced with Active Directory?
I particularly like TIBCO Spotfire because it is easy to understand how to use it. I learned on my own and didn't take much time. I use it to report KPIs related to Information Security, I add the reference link directly to issues in the different tools, making really easy to consume for leaders who want to understand what issues are contributing to low scores in the report.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Peter Wolf profile photo
December 05, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Business Transforming Product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I am able to quickly gain access to data of all types. It is able to dynamically develop visualizations that are both visually appealing and drive business decision making.
  • I have developed many reports and dashboards that display operations performance to operators, managers, and leaders.
  • The variety of available visualizations is vast, and it can satisfy most needs.
  • There are some visualizations that it is incapable of rendering including circular genome maps.
Spectacular at visualizing large sets of data. Not as useful in statistical analysis although it is improving rapidly. I continue to be amazed at the speed of the application though. Much faster than Power BI or Tableau, although the data cleaning and transformation ability isn't as good in Spotfire. If speed of application delivery is your goal, it's hard to beat Spotfire.
The mapping works as expected. You provide underlying data that corresponds to a latitude and longitude, and the visualization is created. The WMS functionality works very well if you would like to layer on some other type of geo-spatial information. My biggest complaint is in the geocoding. Spotfire won't recognize cities, states, or countries unless it is configured at the enterprise level on the server. At our company, it isn't configured, so I have to manually enter coordinates.

The mapping functionality continues to improve in Spotfire with additional features being added at each new release.
Read Peter Wolf's full review
Sterling Weed profile photo
January 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire to create an analytics platform for our software that we give access to our customers.
  • Great analytics tool
  • Self service BI
  • Custom HTML/JavaScript/Python
  • More visually dynamic
  • Ease of use
Best suited for analytics projects, not as well suited for embedding and deploying.
The mapping tool in Spotfire is a very powerful tool, however it is not as easy to use or as straightforward as other tools that I have used such as Tableau. Although, once you understand how to create the visualization/maps, some powerful analytics can be created from those maps.
Read Sterling Weed's full review
No photo available
December 22, 2017

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Pros and Cons"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Spotfire is being used by the whole Technology business unit. The main problem I have with Spotfire is that I use version 6.5.2 with a flex server and I cannot upgrade to version 7.0 or 7.5 so as not to use my flex Spotfire server. Reporting using a link es one of the best advantages the tool has but version 6.5.2 does not allow you to change the back color of the charts and pivots and using HTML. The look & feel of the pivots and charts is not that good and the creation of calculated columns is hard to develop since it does not use excel logic. E.G. a simple date expression of "Last Month" in excel has to be generated as Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTime now()))

On the other hand is an excellent tool to manipulate and report when you have more than 200.000 rows since excel collapses and Spotfire is still running

  • Spotfire is excellent to manipulate data sources with more than 200.000 rows of data. Excel collapses with more than 200.000
  • All courses of Spotfire are excellent and easy to follow.
  • Spotfire has an excellent functionality at the "details-on-demand" section where you can click in any number of the pivot and you'll see all details in the already mentioned section
  • The charts and graphics are not as good as the one in excell
  • the "expressions" to create calculated columns are not easy as the ones in excel. E.G. a simple excel expression for "last month" in Spotfire is Month([Date]) = Month(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow())) and Year([Date]) = Year(dateadd('mm',-1,DateTimeNow()))
  • If you have a mistake creating expressions for calculated collumns the only help Spotfire gives you is the number of character that has the error.
  • the distinct count option is not available
Spotfire is excellent to manipulate and report based on large-scale data, more than 200.000 rows. It is less appropriate if you need high quality of charts, with different colors and labels, legends, etc. It is difficult to customize charts and pivots (e.g. headers font cannot be changed). All expressions for creating calculated columns are not that easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TIBCO Spotfire to develop dashboards for audit-related projects. We also used the product to perform exploratory data analyses on a variety of internal investigations in connection with malicious insider activities.
  • TIBCO Spotfire does a great job helping its users build advanced visualizations with little to no programming involved.
  • It offers a large variety of visualizations and does a good job of letting its users tweak the visualizations to their specific needs.
  • It also offers powerful data transformation tools that improve the usefulness of a user's data without having to modify the source data.
  • Its very strength can sometimes be a weakness. Although it is easy to develop visualizations with this platform, it is often difficult to customize when needed. This is symptomatic of all such dashboarding applications, though.
  • Not an application builder, insanely hard to create a layout that is appealing or to create user controls - possible with some Python but far too hard to create say a button to change the data plotted on an axis etc.
  • Not designed to create end user applications.
It is an excelent tool. I used it as a complement to Excel. It has very nice and complete chart options and allows the user to run complex pivot tables of long and heavy data tables. I work a lot with pivots and Excel crashes if you use pivots of more than 70 columns and 250 MB.

The web option is also great. You can send the attendees of a meeting a link with the report and they access to a "read-only " version of the report. It is not necesary to attach a file to an email, as the link itself is enough.
The context was as follows: a large French football club, wanted to have a map locating the purchasers of the club ticket / product as well as other geolining information for a targeted advertising campaign.

Tibco Spotfire helped us a lot and especially made it easier for us.

Our client was very satisfied
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Forget about charting in Excel when you have this amazingly intuitive and easy to use analytics tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was used in my department for dashboarding in obtaining data insight from a large monthly variable dataset. There are many groups relying on TIBCO Spotfire for daily investment decision making. It really made a difference in pulling analytics in a very user-friendly and intuitive way from large amounts of data from all types of sources.
  • Intuitive, easy to use and build analytics platform
  • Save dashboard - reuse it with different data
  • Easily exportable to ppt, pdf etc
  • More online training would be great (similar to what Tableau has on LinkedIn or Youtube)
  • Identify SMEs, certify them, have a forum for brainstorming
  • "Did you know" mini-videos of how to do certain things in Spotfire
Very well suited for creating PowerPoint presentations that use the same type of charts for reporting and only the underlying data changes, not necessarily needing to reconnect to the data. Sometimes I do think users are not warned when certain filters are applied, this way running the risk of missing data sets. Otherwise, an amazing tool that made my life so much easier than the "prehistoric" Excel charting era...
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 21, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Different departments, including (HR, OM, etc..). Each department has their own unique KPIs. At the moment we've encountered no problems, although it would be nice to allow the user (developer) more "freedom" when it comes to modify and generate custom analysis.
  • Data Visualization
  • Summarize Data
  • Decision Making
  • Analyzing different KPIs
  • Trends across time
  • Categorical Analysis of our KPIs
  • Customization on Visualizations
  • Give more freedom to developer
  • The user is unable to customize certain parameters (such as fonts, colors, ect)
Business Intelligence: We are working with different departments, including (HR, OM, etc..), each with their own characteristics, that is, different KPIs (key points of interest) to analyze, Spotfire gives us the chance to look at a very good amount of information at a glance! This allows us to offer our client the best solution for data visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are testing Spotfire to become a TIBCO partner and offer their products to our customers.
  • Very easy to use charts and modify its properties.
  • A lot of different types of charts.
  • An interface very visual and intuitive.
  • Using of marked records is a little bit confusing.
  • Legends in chart has too many options and could be confusing to read for the user.
  • Sometimes is a little bit difficult and not intuitive to find an option in the main menu.
It could be useful if you need a tool for visualizations only, but it is a little bit poor if you need a tool for ETL.
Its visualization is very similar to other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good overall product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire to build an integrated solution with our product suite.
  • Good visual Analytics
  • Good integration API.
  • Better documentation.
  • Adding more chart types.
It is very good tool for third party integration. TIBCO has great Mashup API and software development API for extracting data through SOAP based API.

The GIS integration is exemplary as well.
The GIS in Spotfire is way ahead of similar products I have used. The layer support for GIS in Spotfire makes it really unique.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent way to slice and dice your data and answer your questions!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TIBCO Spotfire across our business as a default analytics tool to make decisions across all functions in our business from Finance to engineering. The capabilities Spotfire provides us with has been very helpful and powerful for our users to be able to help ask relevant questions and be able to answer them with a few clicks of a button.
  • Merge data from disparate data sources into a single tool.
  • Visualize data of all kind
  • I would like to see some capabilities around emailing static reports.

Spotfire is very well suited in situations where there is large amounts of data and a wide variety of users need to access it in different depths.

It is less suited for static/daily reports that need to mailed out to users.

Very powerful and simple to use for end users who want to quickly plot data and geographically visualize. Tibco enables non-technical users to easily build data analytics with little involvement from IT, allowing IT to focus on critical business solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Chelsea Philpot profile photo
November 13, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire-ood and bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spofire is used throughout out the company for metrics and KPIS, etc. Spotfire is very helpful, because it can correlate and pull in many data sources to be able to analyze.
  • Providing information on Spotfire training.
  • Examples of ways you can use Spotfire with analytical data.
  • Hard to use for people, because it is not intuitive.
  • Expressions, IF statements, etc. are hard for people to grasp, because they are not like Access, or SQL.
TIBCO is great when pulling data from many different sources, and being able to review and compare together. TIBCO works well with certain data sources, but if you are using Microsoft Access, you have to use an alternative because it does not work well. Also, calculations are somewhat hard to create.
Read Chelsea Philpot's full review
Justin Ricker profile photo
October 30, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Honest and Fair"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used across the whole organization, and it encompasses several departments. The product allows us to utilize our current databases to create visualizations to easily depict data.
  • Allows for easy creation and utilization of data visualizations.
  • Easy to setup folders and permissions to allow several users to access data.
  • The ease of use allows for users to access and utilize data to make strategic decisions throughout the organization.
  • Understanding the full benefits of the program takes time and experience.
  • Some SQL language requires different setting/filters/statements than Teradata.
  • Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for use when using "big data" and multiple views of data are needed.

TIBCO Spotfire is not desired for simple data sets that are being used in a single graph.
This is probably my most enjoyed analytical feature the product offers. This has proved to be very useful for me and my team by using geographical points with data sets.
Read Justin Ricker's full review
Emilie Wheeler profile photo
October 27, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "User-friendly, intuitive and easy... What more could you ask for?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used throughout the organization by various teams to analyze data, create workflow and performance management dashboards for leadership, and create easier solutions for regular reporting by the analysts. It addresses Excel's limitations with handling large data sets, performing calculations on those large data sets (quickly), and creating drill-down, interactive charts.
  • Spotfire can ingest extremely large data sets very quickly. We use Spotfire to analyze data sets of 5 million + rows - a feat Excel 2010 cannot handle.
  • It is very easy to join tables and insert columns (VLOOKUP) in Spotfire.
  • Spotfire is very user-friendly, and management loves to see the big picture, but then having the option to drill-down to the granular level of data as well.
  • We would like to be able to automatically reload data for Spotfire Library files for our Consumers, who do not have access to reload the data, without having to purchase another "module" or license.
Spotfire is great for analyzing large data sets with multiple detailed fields for a single row, so you can look at the same rows of data with different views. It is also easy to bin columns to create roll-up fields in order to facilitate this drill-down feature, and join data tables to do this as well. For small-scale analyses where some manual manipulation is required, Spotfire would not be the desired tool.
Read Emilie Wheeler's full review
Matthew Bass profile photo
October 26, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Dashboard Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by multiple departments across Norfolk Southern. We have been developing dashboard type front ends for users using other tools for over a year now. TIBCO Spotfire has provided us with a tool that will allow us to deploy our dashboards to many users at one time utilizing the web client.
  • Great visualizations
  • Easy to use once data connection/information links are established
  • Scalable to multiple users via web client
  • Difficult to create data connections using custom SQL
  • Limited support of DB2 connections (DB2 on the mainframe)
  • Limited support of network connected documents on a shared drive
If the data is stored in Teradata and the user wants to create a dashboard with visualizations, TIBCO Spotfire is a perfect product. However, if the data is stored in DB2 on the mainframe, connecting to the data is a little more complicated. I would prefer to write custom SQL that points to DB2 on the mainframe, but this doesn't seem to be possible.
Read Matthew Bass's full review
Tim Daciuk profile photo
September 11, 2017

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire Meets Our Needs, Across the Organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by several departments across the organization. Spotfire provides us with the ability to create visualizations and dashboards from the data that we have collected. In addition, it allows us to build and deploy complex predictive models. The business problems that it solves are: 1) what are the characteristics of our device performance and can we see/understand aberrations in that activity, and; 2) what do our financials look like and how are we as an organization performing, what are the issues we face, and, can we project/forecast upcoming performance and issues.
  • Easy to get data into Spotfire, and to combine data from many sources.
  • Easy to create and edit visualizations to meet the needs of the issue and/or end user.
  • Dashboards can be built that deliver insight along with flexibility to allow end users some capabilities to explore the visualizations or customize the inquiry.
  • Can provide or deploy advanced analytical models.
  • There is a need for additional graph types. The visualization set that comes with TIBCO Spotfire is becoming rather limited.
  • Working with R is rather difficult.
  • There is no ability for text display visualization; a word cloud or similar would be useful.
Spotfire is good for data analytics in a simplified format.

Tibco Spotfire has some geographic capabilities. It has basic mapping, the ability to import maps and the ability to use the functionality of Spotfire on those maps. Additionally, with a bit of effort, it is possible to use some of the geographic analytical functions available in R, or using other functionality available on the net.

However, as it is not a GIS, some of the advanced features and more easy of use capabilities are not really there. Spotfire is fine for simple mapping and presentation, but, for more complex spatial analysis, one would probably look for another package.

In summary, Spotfire is probably suitable for about 90% of geographic uses, if not more. For the high end user, it will probably not work, but, for most people and their needs (including me) Spotfire can easily do what one needs.

Read Tim Daciuk's full review
Brock Robertson profile photo
July 10, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Satisfied with Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Tapstone, Spotfire is primarily used to quickly visualize and amalgamate data used by other programs or from Excel documents that is stored in bulky table formats that are not optimally useful in their raw state. Spotfire aids in our ability to quickly summarize data into useful information, and point us in the direction of a useful drill down.
  • Spotfire's marking capibilities on line charts make it very easy to identify associated points on cluttered line graphs.
  • Spotfire's filtering makes it very easy to boil analyses down to specific subsets of data, and then build them back up to whole again.
  • Spotfire has the capability to link to many different data sources, making it relatively easy to keep an analysis up to date by linking to a live data source.
  • As an Excel user, it is an odd transition to shift from thinking in terms of cells to thinking in terms of tables and columns. Some things that would be intuitively easy with Excel (adding 4 random cells from a document by clicking on each of the 4 cells) become much more complicated when you have to think in terms rows and tables only.
  • When linking multiple live data sources together, then adding calculated columns to those data sources, then moving columns from one data table to another in one project, Spotfire can take a long time to open a project. It is also relatively easy to end up with a document that does not calculate the intended results in the most efficient way, and methods to troubleshoot inefficiencies are not always immediately obvious.
  • Scatter plot line formatting could be more customizable. By default, Spotfire wants to use the same line type for each series in a scatter plot, and it is not easy for this user to figure out if there is a way to change line types per series on a chart.
I would definitely recommend Spotfire to a colleague that has a large set of raw data and wants to quickly consolidate that set of data into meaningful graphs or charts - especially if the data as a whole is likely to bring up questions that could be addressed by drilling deeper into more specific categories of data. It also appears to be especially useful for keeping somewhat repetitive and common analyses live and quickly accessible.
The mapping features in Spotfire are a convenient way to add a quick visualization to an existing Spotfire analysis. The ability to add many layers, adjust transparencies / colors, the ability to add tooltips, and to color, size, and shape by just about anything are very useful. However, some of the customization is inferior to a geographic mapping specific software such as ArcGIS. The specific functionality that I wish was more customizable is the labels - such as being able to customize angle of text, whether it is in a text box, where each individual label shows up on a map, etc.
Read Brock Robertson's full review
Brett Domeny, MBA profile photo
November 02, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is Great For Data Visuals!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire for holistic business analysis. While we lack a centralized system database, Spotfire allows us to connect the right data points for comprehension in ways we would not have otherwise.
  • It helps us visualize and connect data into meaningful relationships quickly.
  • Has the abilities to implement quite complex statistical models or down to just simple charts to help review connected or manually loaded data.
  • Easy to use and learn. Great help topics and training tools available from TIBCO.
  • Could help to have better mobile support for on the go analysis of visualizations.
  • Cloud architect support would be helpful to be able to manipulate and create new visuals when away from my desktop.
  • Would be helpful at times to be able to connect more one-on-one with an individual vs. videos and help documentation.
*Helps take many different databases and connect them into a seamless visual display.
*Allows non-users of data (executives etc.) to be able to quickly grab what's important to them without having to spend a lot of time interpreting.
*Creates dynamic visualizations to allow for on-going update of data without having to "re-run" reports
Read Brett Domeny, MBA's full review
Zsolt Vigh P.Eng profile photo
November 01, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Eats Excel for Lunch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexen is using Spotfire across the whole organization. We primarily use it to handle large volumes of data and to build visualizations and dashboards. I have also used it extensively in the past to analyze large data sets, build out custom expressions, and use the statistical engines within the software to better understand data relationships.
  • Building data visualizations is infinitely easier with Spotfire compared to Excel.
  • Manipulating data in charts is another huge strength of Spotfire. Trellising data, removing data on the fly and coloring data trends based on different variables is incredibly easy.
  • The mapping feature allows you to build dynamic dashboards. I barely use IHS Accumap anymore now that I have built out my own visual dashboards using the GIS mapping feature.
  • Custom expressions can be cumbersome to learn and are not entirely intuitive.
  • Some simple coding tasks in Excel are a lot harder to do in Spotfire.
  • Not having the ability to set y axis intervals like you can in Excel for charts can be a bit frustrating at times.
Honestly, I use Spotfire whenever I can. It has made my job a lot easier, especially when I have to handle large datasets. I absolutely love the software. The cons I described previously, if improved would make the user experience even better.
Read Zsolt Vigh P.Eng's full review
Helene Ear profile photo
October 31, 2017

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Tibco Interview"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as a used vehicles rating tool. I integrate and parameter data which are based on Excel files and 14 other colleagues are using it only to see data online, they manipulate a few filters to refine their search.
  • The best part of Spotfire is that we can integrate different kinds of files in order to complete every table
  • Spotfire provides a better view of the inconsistent data and gives us many possibilities to hide or to treat only the correct data
  • Besides displaying classical and representative graphics, we can also configure the project as an online app by adding buttons, by giving the consumers the possibility to switch between different tabs, as with a classical website.
  • It misses the possibility to enter or fill new data manually. We can display new fields but it's not possible to save the information that we fill and that we generate..

Well suited : Integrate files and new data.

Less appropriate : Integrating .XLSX isn't always easy because data types are not recognized.

Read Helene Ear's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions