TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGCPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced AnalyticsWe have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.,Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection. Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo. Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability. Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard,Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially. Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended. To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.,9,Tableau Desktop,100% implementation across the company. From business managers to analysts to developers — it is widely used. Ad-hoc reporting or generalized questions can be answered via Spotfire for end users — allowing marketing to be less inundated with misc. requests. Adaption into PowerPoint/PDF allows for a streamlined view for clients, business managers, and analysts. It is all uniform — but allows room for customization.,Online training,We have not integrated Spotfire with any other TIBCO products.,AnswersSpotfire after a yearSpotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.,Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift. Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well. Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).,When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look. Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows. Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.,7,Tableau Desktop,We have had success with our customers saving time and in some cases resources due to the new ways they were able to view their data. We have had many more groups identify issues with their data due to the ease of exploring their data with the product.,In-person training Self-taught,We are in process of testing integration with BusinessWorks6. So far using the BigData Connector we have been able to move data from sources into Hadoop and visualize with little effort, after setup.,Cloudera Manager, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Infogix Data3SixtyPreferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysisOur company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.,Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with. Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability. Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.,Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default. Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.,10,Spotfire implement quickly elemenated non-value added repetition of data processing for customer reports. Using the mapping plot to present data over an image is an underappreciated engineering application. For predictive analytics I'd recommend digging into other programs, preferably one that can integrate iwth Spotfire such as R or Statistica.,Online training Self-taught,During the first implementation of Spotfire we did not do any integrations. With an upcoming version of Spotfire we are preparing to integrate it with Statistica to cover the predictive analytics weaknesses.TIBCO is great for visualizationI use TIBCO Spotfire for visualization and curation of large datasets. The main advantage to using Spotfire over other programs is the ease of visualization and ability to annotate datasets.,Large dataset visualization Annotation of datasets Relatively simple use of formulas and calculations on datasets,It is still a pain to change the style of figures and legends. You can customize positions and size of text but it's annoying to do so.,10,,Self-taught,No really. A little bit with R and KNIME.TIBCO Spotfire - Simple, but Advanced.TIBCO Spotfire is used widely in our company as a platform for creating reports not only for a single use, but also as large projects with scheduled updates. In our company, a colossal emphasis is made on data analytics and Spotfire is a significant wire in this large system.,Bulding interactive dashboards. Wide range of connection options both JDBC and ODBC. Building custom extensions (C#, IronPython ...),The documentation some times needs more details, because on average I found answers on TIBCO Community pages, but not directly at the documentation. Administration panel could be improved in a way, so that fewer direct interactions with servers are needed (by that I mean connecting to the server and making changes manually).,7,IBM Cognos,Online training Self-taught,We integrate TIBCO Spotfire mostly with PerkinElmer's products who are in agreement with TIBCO. Their extensions help a lot with clinical and chemical analysis in our company.,PyCharm, RStudio, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
538 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 538 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 237)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "CPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.
  • Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection.
  • Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo.
  • Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability.
  • Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard
  • Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially.
  • Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended.
  • To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.
End-user — accessing dashboards remotely without the need to contact an analyst or marketing.
Analysts — can use Spotfire for real-time data — plus any applicable analysis.

Less appropriate - simple end-user who is accustomed to a particular report/dashboard. I can foresee a major learning curve with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire after a year"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.
  • Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift.
  • Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well.
  • Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).
  • When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look.
  • Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows.
  • Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.
When we work with a new team that has the desire to visualize their data, we spend about 2 hours with them and usually record the session. We ask they come with a use case in mind. Spotfire is not an immediately intuitive product so this session really helps users understand their data, the product, and set expectations for how it can be used.

With this being said, you can see there is a time commitment, it's not exactly simple, but it is a powerful tool. Most people also arrive at this conclusion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Preferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.
  • Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with.
  • Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability.
  • Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.
  • Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default.
  • Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.
If you have graphs which are regularly published or reviewed Spotfire will quickly show its value. As an engineer, the ease of plotting data on an image, i.e. a ternary phase diagram, greatly improves communication across the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "TIBCO is great for visualization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TIBCO Spotfire for visualization and curation of large datasets. The main advantage to using Spotfire over other programs is the ease of visualization and ability to annotate datasets.
  • Large dataset visualization
  • Annotation of datasets
  • Relatively simple use of formulas and calculations on datasets
  • It is still a pain to change the style of figures and legends. You can customize positions and size of text but it's annoying to do so.
Analyzing large scientific data sets that need to be visualized.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Simple, but Advanced."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used widely in our company as a platform for creating reports not only for a single use, but also as large projects with scheduled updates. In our company, a colossal emphasis is made on data analytics and Spotfire is a significant wire in this large system.
  • Bulding interactive dashboards.
  • Wide range of connection options both JDBC and ODBC.
  • Building custom extensions (C#, IronPython ...)
  • The documentation some times needs more details, because on average I found answers on TIBCO Community pages, but not directly at the documentation.
  • Administration panel could be improved in a way, so that fewer direct interactions with servers are needed (by that I mean connecting to the server and making changes manually).
Appropriate: build a reporting system for your company based on some project data.

Less appropriate: if your data set is somewhat small, then I wouldn't recommend using something as advanced as Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire "Fires" on all cylinders!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by my entire organization to get insight into our data analytics. We use it primarily to gather and analyze data within our business.
  • The learning curve is very shallow and we are able to get valuable results with minimal amounts of training.
  • Spotfire is very configurable and allows us to customize it to our business needs.
  • Support for this product is done very well and really helps us solve our business challenges.
  • I'd like to see some better documentation and help features. I feel those are lacking!
  • I think the GUI looks a bit dated and I'd love to see a new look and feel to it.
In my company, I think TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for analyzing my data and discovering patterns and emerging trends in our business environment. TIBCO Spotfire would allow us to visualize the data in easy to use visuals and graphs/charts to help us grow our business. TIBCO Spotfire fits well into our enterprise data management suite and would be a very valuable asset!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

"Basic review of TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Tibco Spotfire on my own for some of the biological data analysis. I was first introduced to it at a biotech company I was involved with and since then, have on and off again used Spotfire for data analysis when Excel just won't do wither for graphic representation or analysis.
  • Excellent visualization of data in different formats
  • Strong data analysis tools beyond basic graphing and functions
  • The user interface can be overwhelming at times
  • Training and tutorials on the site can be improved by adding a more beginner section
Tibco Spotfire may be well suited in the case that you have large amounts of data to go through and you want better visualization than the graphics excel or graph-pad can offer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for the Energy Industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the company for visualization and analytics.
  • Easy integration with open source R and Tibco's R.
  • Web and mobile capable.
  • Interactivity between visualizations is well designed.
  • Integration with open source Python.
  • Built-in visualization variety falls behind competitors.
For those looking to blend custom analytics and useful variety of off the shelf visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Grad Student Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Individuals are using Spotfire to make more complicated plots and graphics. It is not used in a business setting.
  • Spotfire is easy to use. It is simple to upload data and make graphs.
  • Spotfire allows you to make complicated graphs without too much trouble. These graphs would be much more difficult to make in Excel or Prism.
  • Spotfire has limited text options.
  • Graphics look slightly less professional than using other software.
Spotfire is good when trying to make sense of multiple variables in a complicated dataset. It is not the first software I would use to make a publication-quality image.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2018

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire is a gamechanger!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to analyze all of our financials and well as to monitor how well our operations are performing on a day to day basis.
  • Visualizations are incredible
  • You can easily manipulate the date to where it makes the most sense.
  • Easily adjustable to adapt to what you need to get out of the data.
  • Need more support in learning the platform
  • It's overwhelming to learn at first.
I think its well suited for every aspect of our business. I use it every single day.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Study for a client who already use TIBCO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by Supply Chain Management Department to increase process visibility from the supplier until the consumer.
  • Integration with R
  • Flexibility to data visualization
  • Flexibility to data treatment
  • Integration with other systems
If the company doesn't have a good data structure, you'll probably face challenges (with any solution, not only TIBCO).
TIBCO is easy to use and it's a powerful tool, even for beginners.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is like a diamond on a land mine"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used broadly in our client's organization. As we support the client in most of their challenges, that means that we use the software within our organization too. We are a very lean company and do not have corporate department silos, so every employee uses it. The software addresses all problems related to visualisations, reporting and big data analytics.
  • Efficient with analysing milions of rows of data
  • Very logical user interface
  • Heavily customizable
  • Supports many programming languages
  • The UI is not very intuitive
  • The charts are just not as aesthetically appealing as in PowerBI
  • There's no easy way of creating dashboards viewable on mobile devices
Spotfire is best suited for companies with a mature data analytics capability. For organisations beginning their data-driven journey, the high barriers of entry may prove too high. However, organisations who are mature (analytics wise) will be able to unleash the immense potential of the software and drive insights limited only by the imagination of responsible analysts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO software review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support for users who use TIBCO Spotfire and SharePoint integration. Where all data resides in SharePoint and is accessed via TIBCO software. It is used across the organization.


  • Visualizing data
  • Simple tool to analyse and show UI
  • Comfortable cloud tool that can be accessed anywhere.
  • They should have better options for developers for free editions for personal use, not just commercial, so the usage and development will be improved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Tool! Some improvements are still possible"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create visualizations, and it is used across the entire department. It solves issues related to direct visualization by importing data.
  • Easy visualization
  • Importing data is easy
  • Can code and make changes
  • Better visualization
  • More user modification functionality
  • Better connectivity with different datasets
Better integration with different data types
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great Data Visualization Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the operations and reservoir departments to track operational efficiency and screen nearby wells.
  • Visualizing your data--there's no better platform
  • Building custom dashboards to view your data
  • Customization of certain visualizations is not possible.
Appropriate any time you are looking at data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Overall a very good product with potential improvements"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Spotfire for educational purposes in a module context. I was satisfied from the overall experience and I liked very much the functionality the underlying software offers.
  • Easy chart creation
  • Very good recommended charts
  • Easy storytelling function
  • UI design
  • Data preprocessing features
Sales and finance visualization
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire New User"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was introduced in a Johnson & Johnson town hall for data visualization. My team had the responsibility of collecting certain data and my task was to build dashboards to visualize said data. We primarily used Tableau, but we also experimented with Spotfire. It is probably being used by some teams enterprise wide.
  • Data Visualization
  • Data Analytics
  • Mobile access, Multiple Platforms
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
Generally good for visualization and reporting, but not practical for Qlik users.
Read this authenticated review
Kyle Jordison profile photo
July 23, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Engineers and Geologists Getting Along"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to analyze relationships between reservoir engineering, geological and operational data.
  • Spotfire allows quick visualization of large and often complex data sets.
  • Spotfire allows the integration of data from differing oil and gas disciplines that serves as a bridge for analysis, discussion and presentation.
  • Spotfire allows us to look for relationships in our data from different angles quite easily. If we can dream it, we can do it with Spotfire.
  • I wish that Spotfire had a better method of producing a probability distribution chart. I have been through the online workflows, but still wind up using Excel for this most of the time.
  • While I have gotten better with the Custom Expressions, it would be nice to have them simplified a bit more.
I think Spotfire is well-suited for any industry or situation. I can't think of any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.
Read Kyle Jordison's full review
Germán Mandrini profile photo
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Precision Ag"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am doing a Ph.D. working with precision agriculture and variable rate technology. Since response patterns are variable and change by field, year, genotype, I use Spotfire to dynamically graph the response and detect those patterns. It's a powerful tool for data exploration.
  • Explore data and detect patterns
  • Provide suggestions for different types of graphs that could be done
  • Many times I want to use the same data but show different years in different tabs and I would like to have the option of applying different filters by a tab.
  • Fitting curves could have more options for differential equations and show the parameters with more decimals (or at least give the possibility to the user)
I used this software when I worked in Pioneer Hi-bred. I like it so much that now I'm using it in my Ph.D. and recommending it to my professors and people on my team. They are starting to use the map options, to map all the trials we are conducting in different parts of the world and filter them according to different options like crop, year, country, state, etc.
Read Germán Mandrini's full review
Christopher Belis profile photo
July 02, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very nice quality for a small price!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by the management (myself) on 2 levels: implementation for marketing/finance departments, internal use for any data mining. The purpose was to ensure to know what is in the data, of both internal and external clients, to then explain them the output of analyses and finally help them with making decisions, creating plans, etc.
  • Getting info from several data sources
  • Unlimited quantity of data
  • Interactive dashboarding
  • Available on Windows only
  • Mobile application not that well developed - let's say this is not really adaptative to the screen size
  • Sometimes it is a bit too long to sync data sources
  • Geo data were quite complicated to implement and configure
Spotfire is a nice tool when you want to complete different data sources together; with interactivity when selecting data. Honestly, this seems more marketing and finance oriented, with some weaknesses and limitations with geodata or when you really want to get very deep in data mining. This remains possible but a lot of configuration is needed, and sometimes the result is not that good. But for basics in BI, this is a nice tool, with a very good price!
Read Christopher Belis's full review
Alex Walton profile photo
June 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: the Wild West of BI Tools"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are converting from one tool to Spotfire. We need to match functionality from the other tool into Spotfire. It helps business users spend less time creating reports and more time making decisions
  • Highly Customize able with HTML, Python, R and others. If you can think of something and know the code, it is open format for you to deliver those results.
  • Good amount of charts to display information to tell stories better about your data.
  • Easy to connect to multiple data sources, regardless of if its in database or flat file.
  • Our user base is missing functionality in Spotfire that causes our users to export Spotfire data into Excel, which causes more headaches. Spotfire could do a much better job providing self service functionality.
  • Development beyond basic charts requires knowledge of programming languages
  • Several times I have completed the creation of a report and later I had to make a small change. This change requires me to go through the entire report creation process again.
Quick and easy access to data, with web portal to share information. being able to take manual reporting out of the equation is really great as well. I have found that while the tool is highly custom, there is less development resources available online, so there is a bit more self solving required with this tool as the community matures.
Read Alex Walton's full review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire will "light" up your data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights.

It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.
  • Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data
  • Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst.
  • Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.
  • Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well.
  • Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files.
  • More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.
Spotfire excels at connecting to multiple data sources and linking them together for insights that were previously unknown. It's a nice tool for data, metrics, analytics, visualizations, etc. It doesn't quite have the flexibility of Excel to make calculations across sheet easily, so some understanding and setup of your data structure must be done in preparation. Once you have the data set up in a format that's fit for Spotfire, you'll be trying to move all your reporting to it!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.
  • Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts.
  • Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.
  • High-dimensionality data source
  • Near real-time analytics
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for simplifying (preprocessed/cleaned) data aggregation, performing descriptive analytics, and visualization of information in dynamic charts or augment information with geographical information in maps. However, sometimes it might have some problems when trying to handle incomplete data set with a couple of fields containing some null or empty values.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used internally by our department, but the results generated are used throughout the organization. We are using TIBCO Spotfire to generate visualizations, that helps our oil & gas engineers in the field to make better decisions.
  • Data Visulization
  • Customizable
  • Creating Data functions, which you can integrate with your visual maps.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting.
  • If you don't have code correct it would jamm onto backend rather than giving errors.
  • Sometimes acts funky when you work with SQL Server.
Best suited for real-time integration monitoring. Helps in immediate decision making. Least suited- When you don't have to make complex visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Visualization Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPOTFIRE to track key business metrics across the organization. As we become more data-driven and become more versatile at putting data into context I expect us to use to use more and more of Spotfire's Data Analytics functionality. I am currently enrolled in a postgraduate course in Data Analytics and aspire to add value to my role using my Data Analytics skills and SPOTFIRE
  • Data Visualisation
  • Data Summaries
  • Data contextualisation
  • Provide the ability to add tags and metadata to time series data in order to establish latent relationships and dependencies
Good for static data sets, would like to learn more about analytics on time series data
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (201)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (172)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (197)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (206)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (153)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (184)
7.9
Publish to Web (154)
8.2
Publish to PDF (180)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (113)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (212)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (188)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (160)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (162)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (135)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (151)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (121)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (85)
7.1
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (101)
7.1
REST API (30)
6.7
Javascript API (31)
6.7
iFrames (21)
6.5
Java API (24)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (31)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (23)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions