TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire has powerful visualizations and data analytics capabilitiesSpotfire is used to perform analytics and process tracking of our pipeline data. Currently, the microscopy department uses Spotfire for all of our data visualization needs. I use it on a yearly subscription basis and find it to be a very useful data visualization product.,It provides a great platform to connect to our databases. It has a good suite of data graph options. It has a relatively intuitive user interface.,Critical functionality such as image display from scatterplot was disabled in cloud version which broke our main use case. More work needs to be done to help provide more examples of how to better use all that Spotfire has to offer. A more clear delineation of Spotfire cloud vs local install feature differences needs to be available so one can choose the most appropriate license for their use case.,10,Tableau Desktop,Great data visualization software.,Self-taught,No,Microsoft Office 365Needs more user-friendliness and better support structure.Spotfire is used mostly for data visualization, for example when it is necessary to find some correlation between multiple data arrays. Spotfire in the organization is used mostly by engineers.,Quick data visualization for big datasets. Smart data arrangement.,Very hard to set up visualization features (fonts, colors, etc- deeply hidden in the menu). Needs to be interactive-- right on the visualization itself. Not always consistent report printing (axes names did not fit, missing axes labels). Needs to have an option to set up each page individually (filters, fonts, etc).,5,,Not yet evaluated.,Self-taughtOne of the Best Data Visualization SoftwaresTIBCO Spotfire is being used by multiple departments within FedEx companies. It is an easy tool to analyze data, and slice and dice it in multiple ways. We perform statistical analysis for both strategic and tactical projects. We analyze in memory live data for tactical analysis, historical data for trend and strategic analysis.,Easy to connect multiple sources and visualize data. Slice and dice as you go.,Lack of easy language to customize reports. You have to use python and java which are not easy to learn for someone new to Spotfire. Hard to change sources, reports. Very easy for initial development but maintenance is cumbersome.,9,Online training Self-taughtSpotfire: quick and easy GIS data visualizationThere were select programs and applications that were required to be used for an economic analysis of a large scale oil and gas development program. Spotfire, while not required, offered a significant advantage in GIS analytics.,GIS analytics Quick multivariate analysis Data presentation for management Visualization,Data manipulation User customization Large Learning curve,7,Power BI For Office 365,Positive: I was able to present significantly more data in a minimalist and streamlined way.,Self-taught,No.,Microsoft 365 BusinessSmoke the competition with Spotfire!Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.,Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard. Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool. Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability. The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company. It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.,The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users. Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy. Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.,10,Definitely positive, but I’m not in charge of that.,Self-taught,It was not integrated.,Microsoft 365 BusinessFast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable priceTIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.,Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports Very good technical support Very good price with top performance,Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products Confusing documentation Not very comprehensive user access rights,10,QlikView, Microsoft SQL Server and Tableau Server,TIBCO Spotfire is allowing to get comprehensive information from databases at a real competitive price, with great customer support.,Self-taught,We have not integrated Spotfire with other products from TIBCO,RapidMiner Studio, DISCO,10,3,Integrating in More Departments to help them to have better information,Pharmacy cost control, Oncology actvity (patients taken care, quality control), Geriatrics activity report,We are still in deployment phase but doctors are beginning to see that they can take profit of the date they create everyday,10,6,5,,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,No, the decision was very good,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Although documentation is vast, it's very difficult to know what add-on or package you need to deploy. We install 2 times products not needed loosing a lot of time. Anyway, support is good and helping It was not easy to know what product and options we needed,7,10,Yes,Needed to use forecast predictions but didn't work on server. After providing logs and screenshots, Support engineer gave me the solution in 1 step,Fast and easy creation of new reports, powerful and fast filters. Easy-to-use time series graphic forecasting,Some add-ons are not included and not easy to integrate Time series Forecasting is only available on a graphic basis, not number Possible to integrate with R, but need to spend a lot of time to use scripts,Yes, but I don't use it,9Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualizationTIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.,TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models. TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations. The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.,The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive. Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier. Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.,9,Tableau Desktop, Qlik Sense, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner and Domo,The ROI from Spotfire has generally been positive. After digesting the healthy up front cost, analysts have come to rely on the software more than most any other software product besides perhaps Excel. The initial time spent on Spotfire looked like it might turn out to be a waste of money. But after putting the time in, Spotfire saves analysts time and thereby money. Perhaps the most positive return on investment from Spotfire is the automated reports, eliminating analyst effort.,Online training Self-taught,We have not specifically purchased any other add-on products to Spotfire. With that said, we are considering looking at Spotfire X. In addition, we are thinking of using Spotfire for more data wrangling, location analytics, real-time graphics, and real-time streaming of data. Of these, I think the two most important items that will save time are making the data wrangling tasks more automated and making the real-time streaming of data actually real-time streaming of data. Accomplishing these two tasks is more difficult than what it sounds.,Tableau Desktop, SAS Enterprise Guide, SAS Enterprise Miner, JMP Pro, Domo, Qlik SenseLearned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school.Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.),Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling. Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update. As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.,Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license. The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL. Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.,10,JMP Pro,My role was a little disconnected from this. I don't know but I'd imagine it created a lot of visibility to where money was being lost in manufacturing.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,Have not used anything but Spotfire.,JMP Pro, AnacondaA Fresh Way to Present DataTIBCO Spotfire is currently only used by myself. I work for a small geophysics start-up and I'm one of 5 employees total. We collect lots of numbers during geophysical surveying and as a result we process lots of data in the office. While half the job is collecting the values and interpreting them, the other half is presentation and explanations of the data we collect and being able to show its relevance to our clients' situations.,Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office. Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect. User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.,The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.,10,Google Drive and Microsoft Office 365,Self-taught,No. Spotfire is the first TIBCO product any of us have used.,Google Drive, Microsoft Office 2016, ArcGISEasy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic dataWe use TIBCO Spotfire primarily as a lab, but it is also used throughout the department for varying purposes. Our use of it in the lab is to create complex, three dimensional statistical graphs that would otherwise require a very specialized and expensive program. Even with the specialized program, TIBCO Spotfire does a much better job at presenting the data and allowing customization.,Customization - can change anything about an image from the color to the layout. Much easier than Microsoft products! User friendly - no tutorial or instruction manual necessary. Great data organization - very easy to display even the most complex data in an understandable way.,Sometimes it is difficult to import data from things like Microsoft Excel. It would be nice to have multiple different export file types so that Spotfire can be more compatible with more programs.,8,GeneralCOST Estimator for Excel, Isentia.Buzznumbers and Cashier Live,Faster data output. More consistent displays. More universal use across the office.,Online training Self-taught,We have only used TIBCO Spotfire.,Microsoft 365 Business, Apple iCloud, MATLABSpotfire for Mid to Large EnterprisesSpotfire is used by most departments in our company to access enterprise and local data sources. It is connected to over 30 enterprise data sources. It began as a tool for engineers, but anyone who wants to access data may work with the application to create dashboards, workflows, and other tools to aid in decision making and visualization.,Users get a better understanding of data when they see it in Spotfire, as opposed to Excel. Spotfire visualizations also have several functions like zoom sliders and hierarchies that are a significant improvement over charting in Excel. Spotfire integrates with coding languages like IronPython, HTML, CSS and R in order to dramatically expand the out of the box functionality. Features like property controls make the application dynamic and interactive in ways that Excel is not. These same features also make the application more efficient.,The application is not efficient when building large projects. There are many small features that could make building large projects faster like the ability to add more than one filter or property control at a time. Also, users shouldn't have to expand and collapse every single table in the Filter panel or in the Add filters dialog (when adding filters in a Text Area). TIBCO has been slow to add in features that users have requested for years, like the ability to edit join operations. It's there now, but we waited years for that feature. The information designer hasn't seen an overhaul (or even any new features) in over 5 years. Increasing the release frequency has resulted in a lower quality product. TIBCO lauded the "completely redesigned" user interface of Spotfire 10, but it's not a complete redesign and looks sloppy.,7,,Users know more about the data than they did when we worked in Excel. Decisions can be made faster when we have Spotfire projects to support decision making. Users are more aligned on the data and the story it's telling because we share projects across users and regions, as opposed to everyone having their own spreadsheet and their own version of the story.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,We also use Automation Services, Web Player, and Spotfire Server. We are able to keep costs as low as possible by providing analysis to users via the Web Player (a cheaper license) when users are only consuming the content (not building it). Automation Services allows us to push analysis to people and better support workflows, specifically with data QAQC efforts. Users receive a report each morning of only the data that needs to be fixed. They don't have to remember the task. Spotfire server enables deployment across an enterprise. I couldn't imagine using Spotfire without it.,Microsoft Power BI, Alteryx Analytics, Microsoft PowerAppsSimplicity and effectiveness are crucial to data organization!We used the TIBCO platform to analyze our Summer Learning Academy testing scores to identify areas of growth and deficit within the program. TIBCO allowed for simplicity in data visualization that were difficult to create through Excel or PowerPoint. The easy-to-understand tables allowed for us to easily identify our progress and help secure funding from grants. Data visualization in education is vital and the simpler it is to understand, the easier it is to explain to those that are unfamiliar with academic testing scores.,The user-friendly platform is easy to navigate. Excellent customer service and support as well as tutorials. Easy-to-understand tables that allow you to easily organize complex data sets into something more understandable.,Professional development opportunities for education professionals and the capabilities of using TIBCO for improvement.,10,,Allowed for us to easily secure grant funding for our academic summer reading program. Allows us to show progress and improvement as well as areas of improvement within our small program. Education administrators within the district are now looking to use TIBCO for other areas to analyze growth.,Online training In-person training Self-taught,N/AOverviewTIBCO is being used as an important tool for data visualization techniques. Data Science team has been exclusively using the TIBCO software for data visualization for quite some now. Also the services offered by TIBCO Spotfire are quite satisfying and reliable.,Dashboard Charts Visualization,Quite satisfying Perfect No improvements required,8,Better results Accurate results Useful,Self-taught,No other products were integrated but was directly usedEntry level userWe would like to use TIBCO Spotfire in our Research Centre at the Hospital for a quick visualization and analysis of the data for projects which do not need the development of ad hoc methods, to be used by users without a computational background. The results were okay, although you always need to take into account the cost related to changing a workflow from what people are used to. In particular, those without a technical background were thrilled to be able to run simple analyses without having to learn how to code.,Ease of use Visualization,Handling of samples. We would have liked something closer to a laboratory information management system, where samples could be tracked before sequencing. Even tracking the position of a vial in a fridge/rack would be useful for us. Documentation,6,Redmine and Asana,Saved time on discussions Empowered inexperienced users,Self-taught,No, we did not try any integration with other TIBCO products.,Slack, WunderlistPowerful Analysis Program Worth Paying ForOnly optimisation engineers in countries around the world have access to Spotfire. We use it so analyse drilling trends, identify errors in data and hazardous events that have occurred. I am the only user in Australia for my company.,Great marking and colouring options to highlight necessary data. Particularly helpful in scatter plots with segment colouring options. The details visualisation allows quick analysis of multiple parameters to identify trends Adding calculation columns are easy and simple to write if more data is required. Refreshing of data from source is also helpful.,I find it difficult to view large scale data on x-y scatter plots where multiple data needs to be viewed on the x-axis. We generally put depth drilled on the y-axis and up to 3 variables on the y-axis but Spotfire does not view this data very well. Ability to auto calculate a trend line by selecting two points of data on x-y scatter plot would be useful for viewing. The print preview button doesnt save the last setting so when printing multiple landscape views I had to change my options every time. Just a bit tedious. Don't really understand trellis options yet but still learning on this.,8,,Limited experience but so far great program and saved many hours of analysis over Excel.,Self-taught,No.Information Systems that students use Spotfire for real-world data analysis.I am a college professor. I teach a Healthcare Information Systems Applications course where students work on several small community projects. We asked for an educational license for about two months so students could do some training and then use Spotfire for some analysis on their projects. None of the students had used Spotfire before that class. They had all used Tableau, SAS, and Excel for reporting and data analytics.,Spotfire allows for many different types of data sources. The ability to choose what filters to apply to a chart is a user-friendly way to share the information with stakeholders. The chart types are varied. Liked the ability to tie charts together to the same legend or filters.,Would like to see more chart types supported. Would like more tutorials or YouTube video tutorials. The Cloud version menu and navigation were a bit hard to understand.,9,,I am not sure about the licensing costs. We used the free Cloud version for a short duration. Helped achieve the goals of the class where my students were doing data analytics in the Healthcare domain.,,No, we used the Cloud-based version for the class projects. I do not have experience with other TIBCO products so I cannot give a comparison or talk about integrations.,Tableau Desktop, Google Analytics, Google Data Studio, Google Tag ManagerPowerful Data Analytics ToolSpotfire was used by my organization mainly to analyze geological and oil production data and gain insight in order to address current challenges and make future decisions. It is used across the whole organization on an as-needed basis.,Spotfire allows me to integrate multiple sources of data into a single database. Spotfire plotting allows me to look at five variables at the same time. Spotfire allows me to instantly switch between different variables and visualize them.,Ternary diagrams are missing, and it currently requires some awkward manipulation of two dimensions using trigonometry to display such a diagram. Displaying photos associated with data points, besides the tooltip, is currently beyond the skills of regular users.,10,In-person training Self-taught,Petrel E&PTrust, Automation, Reliance...TIBCO Spotfire.TIBCO Spotfire is an integral tool for data analytics and data wrangling by my organization. Currently TIBCO Spotfire is being used for my professional research interests and has been an integral framework for reiterative tasks. TIBCO Spotfire has been able to handle all of my data wrangling problems with analytical precision with a flexible and responsive user interface!,Analytics Wrangling Aquisition Automation EMR Support,User feedback Implementation algorithms Task Analysis,9,,Positive Trustworthy Precise,Online training Self-taught,Analysis files with OData connections are authored in Spotfire Cloud Analyst, saved to the Spotfire Cloud Library and are then available for Spotfire Cloud Business Author and Consumer users. This has been an integral way for me to conduct online inquiries for my personal research and business. the information architecture and visualization has benefited me tremendously.,SQL Server Data Access Components, Informatica Master Data Management, McAfee Total Protection for Data, dbForge SQL Complete, Redgate SQL MonitorSmart, secure enterprise class analytics platformIt's being used across the enterprise. It helps different groups build their own reports and we do build reports which are viewed enterprise-wide.,Good user management Good visualizations Easier to lean and share,More custom visualization support Something like Microsoft Power BI where they have a whole community from where custom visualizations can be downloaded and used within a few clicks. This is for users to use different visualizations other than what comes out of the box. Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.,8,Tableau Desktop,User-friendly Result driven Recommendation feature,In-person training Self-taught,We have integrated with web services built in BusinessWorks and with TIBCO BPM as well.,Microsoft Power BI, Tableau Desktop, MATLABSpotfire in Oil and GasSpotfire is used within only my department to analyze oil and gas parameters pertaining to drilling, completions, and production operations as well as geological attributes. All of these values were poured into Spotfire to try and determine their relationship between well performance. Optimization on all levels of upstream operations was the purpose of Spotfire in this case.,Ability to look at multiple types of data at the same graph Ability to post data onto a map to better visually compare them Ease of use when manipulating data on a graph,More built-in functions for basic users to manipulate data within the software (sort of like Excel vlookups, match, and index functions),9,I never calculated them myself and cannot comment on this,Self-taught,There was no integration done in our office,IHS KingdomSimply Powerful for Data VisualizationIt is being used to create dashboards which helps to make business decisions which are data driven across the whole organization. It helps to generate value out of data which otherwise would have been lying around.,Great variety of charts/graphs which one can choose to visualize data Platform to code in Iron Python makes it really powerful. Very well integrated with other platforms.,Takes great deal of time to understand each and every functionality. The application sometime crashes if a database is huge Need a plugin to export live data and update as the data flows,9,Tableau Desktop and RStudio,Positive impact as the license of Spotfire is dirt cheap. So everyone can try to gain some experience in data visualizations. High value business decisions are based on the dashboards created in Spotfire which are worth millions. If input data is not right, then it is very misleading.,Online training,The organization has not integrated with other TIBCO products as per my knowledge.,Tableau Desktop, RStudioData discovery in minutesInitial use started with quality organization but has expanded to sales, services, manufacturing and procurement. The speed of development and flexibility of the data presentation capabilities and data ingestion independent of data source makes the time to solution appreciated.,Easy to add new JDBC data sources and expose data for analysis Easy to create multiple visualizations and link them between dependent data and filters Easy to extend with Python Scripting Date handling and creating hierarchies very good.,Axis scaling is not easy to achieve logical values especially with multiple scales Prompts for data selection inputs to a query is not user friendly and requires work to build into analysis No versioning or autosave exists on creation and library,10,Tableau Server, MicroStrategy Analytics, Domo, IBM SPSS and Incorta,Online training Self-taught,Spotfire in integrated to TDV for non DB data sources,MicroStrategy Analytics, Incorta, DomoSpotfire help handle the chaos.I do not know about other users within the college, but I am using Spotfire for multiple purposes. Within my department, I have used Spotfire to perform exploratory analysis on class enrollment and management. A goal of the analysis was to evaluate conflicts that would be seen by the typical student in enrollments. I am a teaching faculty member as well and am considering developing an experiment on various data analysis techniques with chemical data.,Spotfire can handle large datasets by design. Visualizations are linked, so one view can be used to establish the critical data, but different views can be used to present and clarify the data for different stakeholder groups. Because data can be integrated from different sources, recent information that may not be fully probated can be included in an analysis with established data.,There are times when I want to look at local data quickly, but every time I start up Spotfire it hijacks my web browser to require login to the Cloud. This design is particularly vexing if I have no internet access. I understand that this is the design, but it does not mean I have to like it. Startup can be slow.,7,,Self-taught,Not to my knowledge,MATLABSpotfire with TERR and PythonWe use Spotfire in many ways. Primarily, it is a fast data wrangling tool that lets you dig through and visualize data very quickly. Our team, in particular, uses it to look at oil and gas production data. In addition, we use Python and R in the backend to build more advanced applications.,Automating building decline curves for oil and gas wells. Reading and writing to and from Oracle database with Python or information links within Spotfire. Looking at competitor data across the Permian Basin. Utilizing IHS data to see every well in the Permian Basin.,Spotfire’s TERR and bass R are not totally compatible, especially for CRAN packages. IronPython does not run transactions sequentially which can make development difficult. IronPython API reference material is terrible and of virtually no use. General bugs with Spotfire itself. Example: restarting Spotfire can cause certain things to start working sometimes.,9,Self-taught,No integration.Spotfire - Engineers and Geologists Getting AlongWe use Spotfire to analyze relationships between reservoir engineering, geological and operational data.,Spotfire allows quick visualization of large and often complex data sets. Spotfire allows the integration of data from differing oil and gas disciplines that serves as a bridge for analysis, discussion and presentation. Spotfire allows us to look for relationships in our data from different angles quite easily. If we can dream it, we can do it with Spotfire.,I wish that Spotfire had a better method of producing a probability distribution chart. I have been through the online workflows, but still wind up using Excel for this most of the time. While I have gotten better with the Custom Expressions, it would be nice to have them simplified a bit more.,10,Tableau Desktop,In-person training Self-taught
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 630 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (51-75 of 280)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 01, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire has powerful visualizations and data analytics capabilities"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used to perform analytics and process tracking of our pipeline data. Currently, the microscopy department uses Spotfire for all of our data visualization needs. I use it on a yearly subscription basis and find it to be a very useful data visualization product.
  • It provides a great platform to connect to our databases.
  • It has a good suite of data graph options.
  • It has a relatively intuitive user interface.
  • Critical functionality such as image display from scatterplot was disabled in cloud version which broke our main use case.
  • More work needs to be done to help provide more examples of how to better use all that Spotfire has to offer.
  • A more clear delineation of Spotfire cloud vs local install feature differences needs to be available so one can choose the most appropriate license for their use case.
Creating a data visualization does not take much effort which is a big plus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Needs more user-friendliness and better support structure."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used mostly for data visualization, for example when it is necessary to find some correlation between multiple data arrays. Spotfire in the organization is used mostly by engineers.
  • Quick data visualization for big datasets.
  • Smart data arrangement.
  • Very hard to set up visualization features (fonts, colors, etc- deeply hidden in the menu). Needs to be interactive-- right on the visualization itself.
  • Not always consistent report printing (axes names did not fit, missing axes labels).
  • Needs to have an option to set up each page individually (filters, fonts, etc).
Very well suited for quick data visualization of big datasets.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "One of the Best Data Visualization Softwares"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by multiple departments within FedEx companies. It is an easy tool to analyze data, and slice and dice it in multiple ways. We perform statistical analysis for both strategic and tactical projects. We analyze in memory live data for tactical analysis, historical data for trend and strategic analysis.
  • Easy to connect multiple sources and visualize data. Slice and dice as you go.
  • Lack of easy language to customize reports. You have to use python and java which are not easy to learn for someone new to Spotfire.
  • Hard to change sources, reports. Very easy for initial development but maintenance is cumbersome.
Best scenarios - trend analysis, Pareto charts, outliers and a long list of analytic tools. The separation between development and usage with a web server. It is hard and slow to analyze big data because of hardware and software limitations. In any case, I have found TIBCO Spotfire very useful in my professional career.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: quick and easy GIS data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There were select programs and applications that were required to be used for an economic analysis of a large scale oil and gas development program. Spotfire, while not required, offered a significant advantage in GIS analytics.
  • GIS analytics
  • Quick multivariate analysis
  • Data presentation for management
  • Visualization
  • Data manipulation
  • User customization
  • Large Learning curve
GIS applications, quick multivariate analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Paul E. Everett profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smoke the competition with Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used to perform data analytics that can’t easily be done with other spreadsheet programs. Currently, the department that I work in does not use Spotfire. I used it on a trial basis and found it to be applicable and very effective. I am certain that other departments within Halliburton do use Spotfire.
  • Spotfire works very well as a central point for access to all data that could be used to analyze a subject and multiple types of spreadsheets and/or databases can be accessed with the same dashboard.
  • Multiple plots, graphs, charts, maps, and other analytic tools are simple to apply to easily-filtered data. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of the user interface, as Spotfire is a very, very customizable and powerful tool.
  • Excellent support and educational resources are available to help decrease the learning curve and strengthen one's data analytic ability.
  • The use of Spotfire ultimately helps to better understand the relationships and patterns that are or could be significant in building value for a company.
  • It is not glitchy and has an intuitive user interface.
  • The code required to make customized commands could be improved by placing more focus on its usability for non-coders. This would greatly improve the use of Spotfire’s real power for many non-coder users.
  • Maybe the ability drag and drop a spreadsheet or multiple files to a “Spotfire Analysis Bucket” to initiate a new dashboard would be handy.
  • Easier access to download data from a particular graph to other spreadsheets.
In my experience, it is well suited for data analysis of many petroleum industry challenges where patterns and relationships exist but aren’t always apparent without full analysis.
Read Paul E. Everett's full review
David Baltar Boilève profile photo
December 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Fast and easy eye-catching advanced dashboards at a unbeateable price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used for creating multiple Department Dashboards, such as Pharmacy, Oncology, Geriatrics. All these Dept. are working with 2 or more dedicated software with transactional databases providing partial information about their work. They are not able to get enough information. We use Spotfire to unify information and present summarise information in a graphical and comprehensive way, in order to give a global view to stakeholders.
  • Very fast to create new dashboards, system provides automatically options to make fine reports
  • Very good filters, easy to use for non-analysts, good graphics and a lot of possibilities to create reports
  • Very good technical support
  • Very good price with top performance
  • Sometimes difficult to know what product and package fits your products
  • Confusing documentation
  • Not very comprehensive user access rights
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect when you need to make a fast deploy to provide information with very good reports. It's very cost effective and high - performance.
Not using it
Read David Baltar Boilève's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire requires some effort, but offers the best combination of advanced analytics with data visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used across the entire organization for implementing forecasting, data visualization, and model building. We use TIBCO Spotfire because of its advanced analytics capabilities combined with its broad data visualization offerings. Perhaps the most useful aspect of TIBCO Spotfire is the R Script interface, where we can use R scripts in Spotfire to create useful models and graphs.
  • TIBCO Spotfire performs well for analysts that need more than just real-time data visualizations. These analysts need the ability to create advanced models.
  • TIBCO Spotfire's graphs are a little bit more difficult to create than some other data visualization tools. I think this comes with the advantage of allowing the user a greater ability to customize visualizations.
  • The suggested graphs part of creating graphs is world class. It offers more than just one suggestion and makes it easy for the user to create usable graphics.
  • The software takes a while to start up. It's almost like using a Windows 7 machine with an old hard drive.
  • Sometimes creating the most aesthetically-pleasing graphic takes a long time. This is because of the many adjustments that have to be made to a graph in Spotfire. Some other visualization software makes it easier.
  • Although Spotfire has a number of advanced modeling capabilities, it would be nice to have more rather than having to build R scripts for some of the more advanced models.
TIBCO Spotfire is perfectly suited for the data scientist and the financial analyst who is willing to go beyond simple accounting visuals. The data scientists get the entire range of job responsibilities, from data exploration to final model building to visualization. The financial analyst with a more technical background gets the ability to present financial data in a more unique way.
Read Thomas Young's full review
David Glennon profile photo
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Learned Spotfire for work, quit my job, now I use it for school."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I use Spotfire with a student license to visualize my research data for my graduate program. Previously I worked as an engineer at a large company where Spotfire was used to generate reports (some custom some automated) at various stages of a manufacturing for general operations and issue disposition. I gained a lot of familiarity with the tool generating ad hoc reports for personal use to the point that I was eventually writing automated reports that supported others within my group. Besides my department, Spotfire was used across the whole organization; there was a group of engineers that supported all departments by generating and maintaining reporting in Spotfire mostly for manufacturing (they were also responsible for setting up the backend databases for those reports.)
  • Dynamic visualizations, I like that it's intuitive to flip between different ways of seeing the data until I can get the story the data is telling.
  • Importing data, I like being able to import a csv (or in the past, use custom sql to query a db) then do multiple transformations (pivot, calc cols, etc.) and create the visualizations I need. Especially beneficial that I can add to or replace the initial imported data and as long as I match the format the transformations and visualizations will update.
  • As great as it is to view data in Spotfire, the universal reporting standard is powerpoint. Spotfire does a good job allowing me to export the visualizations I have created to a format everyone can view.
  • Would like to be able to use network graphs without a separate license.
  • The built-in SQL in Spotfire developer is clunky, but there's no good way to debug custom written SQL.
  • Zoom on map reports is too discretized, I find I want to zoom to a point that is between two options so I end up with a visualization that is either too far away and has empty space or too close and is missing data. Geographic plotting in new to me and the crappy zoom overall feels out of place with Spotfire's general fluidity.
Great for creating the visualizations to go with data, especially if you can already picture how you want to represent it. Not so good if you have to do any actual stats on the data, unless you're going to integrate python scripts.
Read David Glennon's full review
Abigail Bowden profile photo
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Fresh Way to Present Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is currently only used by myself. I work for a small geophysics start-up and I'm one of 5 employees total. We collect lots of numbers during geophysical surveying and as a result we process lots of data in the office. While half the job is collecting the values and interpreting them, the other half is presentation and explanations of the data we collect and being able to show its relevance to our clients' situations.
  • Online storage of some documents. We do a lot of data sharing via cloud storage and it helps to have some flexibility when you work out of office or at home. You can upload it in the field and have it ready to go when you're back at the office.
  • Great graphics. Clients really want to see things they understand. Geophysics can be hard to understand so it helps to have so many great options for displaying the raw data we collect.
  • User friendly! I know it sounds like a simple thing but data processing programs aren't always easy to navigate from the get-go. I was able to learn pretty quickly how to manage things and get what I wanted out of it.
  • The interface makes it a little difficult to try and rearrange or make adjustments to the raw data. It's easy to display the data but not as easy if you have to make some minor tweaks to titles or sorting.
Spotfire is best suited for creating accurate, well designed data presentation images like graphs, tables, charts, and is especially useful for collaborative work because you can share it with a coworker and both be working on it. The only other alternative I can think of is Google Sheets, but Spotfire is far more advanced and on a professional level.
It is less appropriate for those who don't deal with a lot of data presentation in their work or where the data presentation in graph form is not the key focus.
Read Abigail Bowden's full review
Shelby Bowden profile photo
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to use program that makes effective data display, from the most complicated to the most basic data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire primarily as a lab, but it is also used throughout the department for varying purposes. Our use of it in the lab is to create complex, three dimensional statistical graphs that would otherwise require a very specialized and expensive program. Even with the specialized program, TIBCO Spotfire does a much better job at presenting the data and allowing customization.
  • Customization - can change anything about an image from the color to the layout. Much easier than Microsoft products!
  • User friendly - no tutorial or instruction manual necessary.
  • Great data organization - very easy to display even the most complex data in an understandable way.
  • Sometimes it is difficult to import data from things like Microsoft Excel.
  • It would be nice to have multiple different export file types so that Spotfire can be more compatible with more programs.
Very well suited for data that has multiple variables or data categories that need simultaneous display. It can be a little overkill for simple graphing; however, even then it offers more control and customization than other Excel or spreadsheet programs. It is also much better at 3D display than Microsoft Excel.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Julie Sebby profile photo
January 07, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for Mid to Large Enterprises"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used by most departments in our company to access enterprise and local data sources. It is connected to over 30 enterprise data sources. It began as a tool for engineers, but anyone who wants to access data may work with the application to create dashboards, workflows, and other tools to aid in decision making and visualization.
  • Users get a better understanding of data when they see it in Spotfire, as opposed to Excel. Spotfire visualizations also have several functions like zoom sliders and hierarchies that are a significant improvement over charting in Excel.
  • Spotfire integrates with coding languages like IronPython, HTML, CSS and R in order to dramatically expand the out of the box functionality.
  • Features like property controls make the application dynamic and interactive in ways that Excel is not. These same features also make the application more efficient.
  • The application is not efficient when building large projects. There are many small features that could make building large projects faster like the ability to add more than one filter or property control at a time. Also, users shouldn't have to expand and collapse every single table in the Filter panel or in the Add filters dialog (when adding filters in a Text Area).
  • TIBCO has been slow to add in features that users have requested for years, like the ability to edit join operations. It's there now, but we waited years for that feature. The information designer hasn't seen an overhaul (or even any new features) in over 5 years.
  • Increasing the release frequency has resulted in a lower quality product. TIBCO lauded the "completely redesigned" user interface of Spotfire 10, but it's not a complete redesign and looks sloppy.
I think Spotfire is a good product, and we'll continue to use it. It is expensive relative to other competitors, and a successful launch will require internal support (support from the company, not just support from TIBCO). Therefore, I don't think it's a good fit for smaller companies. However, it is a good tool for larger enterprises who have many data sources that users need to access to. The combination of Spotfire Server, Automation Services, and Web Player make it a powerful enterprise tool.
Read Julie Sebby's full review
Matthew Thadeio profile photo
December 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simplicity and effectiveness are crucial to data organization!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the TIBCO platform to analyze our Summer Learning Academy testing scores to identify areas of growth and deficit within the program. TIBCO allowed for simplicity in data visualization that were difficult to create through Excel or PowerPoint. The easy-to-understand tables allowed for us to easily identify our progress and help secure funding from grants. Data visualization in education is vital and the simpler it is to understand, the easier it is to explain to those that are unfamiliar with academic testing scores.
  • The user-friendly platform is easy to navigate.
  • Excellent customer service and support as well as tutorials.
  • Easy-to-understand tables that allow you to easily organize complex data sets into something more understandable.
  • Professional development opportunities for education professionals and the capabilities of using TIBCO for improvement.
Sometimes data can be too much and the question has to be asked “why am I analyzing this”. Those in education sometimes prefer the “less is more” approach and TIBCO allows for both less and more. The capabilities of the program are amazing but can be overwhelming for some.
Read Matthew Thadeio's full review
Tarang Gujar profile photo
August 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Overview"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is being used as an important tool for data visualization techniques. Data Science team has been exclusively using the TIBCO software for data visualization for quite some now. Also the services offered by TIBCO Spotfire are quite satisfying and reliable.
  • Dashboard
  • Charts
  • Visualization
  • Quite satisfying
  • Perfect
  • No improvements required
The TIBCO Spotfire software is completely relevant and useful in the various data visualization techniques
Read Tarang Gujar's full review
Marco J. Morelli profile photo
November 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Entry level user"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We would like to use TIBCO Spotfire in our Research Centre at the Hospital for a quick visualization and analysis of the data for projects which do not need the development of ad hoc methods, to be used by users without a computational background. The results were okay, although you always need to take into account the cost related to changing a workflow from what people are used to. In particular, those without a technical background were thrilled to be able to run simple analyses without having to learn how to code.
  • Ease of use
  • Visualization
  • Handling of samples. We would have liked something closer to a laboratory information management system, where samples could be tracked before sequencing. Even tracking the position of a vial in a fridge/rack would be useful for us.
  • Documentation
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for environments where data analysis is standard and can be run through automated pipelines: the final results need to be showed to people who can not write or interpret the analysis details, but want to explore the results independently and put them in the context of published data.
Read Marco J. Morelli's full review
Ellie Lock profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Analysis Program Worth Paying For"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only optimisation engineers in countries around the world have access to Spotfire. We use it so analyse drilling trends, identify errors in data and hazardous events that have occurred. I am the only user in Australia for my company.
  • Great marking and colouring options to highlight necessary data. Particularly helpful in scatter plots with segment colouring options.
  • The details visualisation allows quick analysis of multiple parameters to identify trends
  • Adding calculation columns are easy and simple to write if more data is required. Refreshing of data from source is also helpful.
  • I find it difficult to view large scale data on x-y scatter plots where multiple data needs to be viewed on the x-axis. We generally put depth drilled on the y-axis and up to 3 variables on the y-axis but Spotfire does not view this data very well.
  • Ability to auto calculate a trend line by selecting two points of data on x-y scatter plot would be useful for viewing.
  • The print preview button doesnt save the last setting so when printing multiple landscape views I had to change my options every time. Just a bit tedious.
  • Don't really understand trellis options yet but still learning on this.
Great for parameter analysis and range box and whisker plots for drilling formations.
Not good for holistic view of drilling campaigns and presenting data to the customer. Print preview needs to be clearer images and larger definition for power point and word documents.
Read Ellie Lock's full review
Kimberly Bartholomew profile photo
September 26, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Information Systems that students use Spotfire for real-world data analysis."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a college professor. I teach a Healthcare Information Systems Applications course where students work on several small community projects. We asked for an educational license for about two months so students could do some training and then use Spotfire for some analysis on their projects.
None of the students had used Spotfire before that class. They had all used Tableau, SAS, and Excel for reporting and data analytics.
  • Spotfire allows for many different types of data sources.
  • The ability to choose what filters to apply to a chart is a user-friendly way to share the information with stakeholders.
  • The chart types are varied.
  • Liked the ability to tie charts together to the same legend or filters.
  • Would like to see more chart types supported.
  • Would like more tutorials or YouTube video tutorials.
  • The Cloud version menu and navigation were a bit hard to understand.
Well suited for large datasets from most of the popularly used data sources.

Learning curve takes some time. Good for an educational setting.
Read Kimberly Bartholomew's full review
Pablo Lacerda Silva profile photo
January 12, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Powerful Data Analytics Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used by my organization mainly to analyze geological and oil production data and gain insight in order to address current challenges and make future decisions. It is used across the whole organization on an as-needed basis.
  • Spotfire allows me to integrate multiple sources of data into a single database.
  • Spotfire plotting allows me to look at five variables at the same time.
  • Spotfire allows me to instantly switch between different variables and visualize them.
  • Ternary diagrams are missing, and it currently requires some awkward manipulation of two dimensions using trigonometry to display such a diagram.
  • Displaying photos associated with data points, besides the tooltip, is currently beyond the skills of regular users.
I would recommend and actually have recommended Spotfire to all my colleagues in my profession, who need to regularly analyze geological data and draw insight from correlations.
Read Pablo Lacerda Silva's full review
Mathew Dusharm profile photo
September 11, 2018

Review: "Trust, Automation, Reliance...TIBCO Spotfire."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is an integral tool for data analytics and data wrangling by my organization. Currently TIBCO Spotfire is being used for my professional research interests and has been an integral framework for reiterative tasks. TIBCO Spotfire has been able to handle all of my data wrangling problems with analytical precision with a flexible and responsive user interface!
  • Analytics
  • Wrangling
  • Aquisition
  • Automation
  • EMR Support
  • User feedback
  • Implementation algorithms
  • Task Analysis
When exporting a visualization to an image, an image will now use the visual theme of the analysis, and the image is exported in a higher resolution than before. There are also right-click context menu option to export an image to a .png file, and also to copy the visualization image to the clipboard so it can be pasted into a document or presentation. Great visualization techniques.

Improves clustering algorithm techniques. More agile development.
Read Mathew Dusharm's full review
Kripesh Kutty profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Smart, secure enterprise class analytics platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the enterprise. It helps different groups build their own reports and we do build reports which are viewed enterprise-wide.
  • Good user management
  • Good visualizations
  • Easier to lean and share
  • More custom visualization support
  • Something like Microsoft Power BI where they have a whole community from where custom visualizations can be downloaded and used within a few clicks. This is for users to use different visualizations other than what comes out of the box.
  • Some of the options that are used are too buried to easily locate.
TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for historical data analysis and data visualization, but not well suited for the scenario that requires consolidating the data rapidly changed in a real-time manner.
Read Kripesh Kutty's full review
Quang-Hoa Hong profile photo
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Oil and Gas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used within only my department to analyze oil and gas parameters pertaining to drilling, completions, and production operations as well as geological attributes. All of these values were poured into Spotfire to try and determine their relationship between well performance. Optimization on all levels of upstream operations was the purpose of Spotfire in this case.
  • Ability to look at multiple types of data at the same graph
  • Ability to post data onto a map to better visually compare them
  • Ease of use when manipulating data on a graph
  • More built-in functions for basic users to manipulate data within the software (sort of like Excel vlookups, match, and index functions)
Like all analytical tools Spotfire is dependent on the quality of data going into it. You can easily spot out discrepancies in data and correct them.
One weakness is becoming caught up in correcting data while hampering your progression.
Read Quang-Hoa Hong's full review
Rajat Wadhwani profile photo
December 08, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Simply Powerful for Data Visualization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to create dashboards which helps to make business decisions which are data driven across the whole organization. It helps to generate value out of data which otherwise would have been lying around.
  • Great variety of charts/graphs which one can choose to visualize data
  • Platform to code in Iron Python makes it really powerful.
  • Very well integrated with other platforms.
  • Takes great deal of time to understand each and every functionality.
  • The application sometime crashes if a database is huge
  • Need a plugin to export live data and update as the data flows
Data Analysis is a hot topic nowadays and Python is used extensively to analyse data and create visualizations but everyone is not comfortable [with] geting visualizations. Spotfire is really a very powerful tool to create visualizations.
Read Rajat Wadhwani's full review
Dave Williams profile photo
December 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data discovery in minutes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initial use started with quality organization but has expanded to sales, services, manufacturing and procurement.
The speed of development and flexibility of the data presentation capabilities and data ingestion independent of data source makes the time to solution appreciated.
  • Easy to add new JDBC data sources and expose data for analysis
  • Easy to create multiple visualizations and link them between dependent data and filters
  • Easy to extend with Python Scripting
  • Date handling and creating hierarchies very good.
  • Axis scaling is not easy to achieve logical values especially with multiple scales
  • Prompts for data selection inputs to a query is not user friendly and requires work to build into analysis
  • No versioning or autosave exists on creation and library
  • Easy for general analytics and not overly complex data security requirements.
  • Great when users have a good familiarity with the data.
  • More complex when source and row or column level security needs to be applied
Read Dave Williams's full review
Jeffrey Molloy profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire help handle the chaos."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I do not know about other users within the college, but I am using Spotfire for multiple purposes. Within my department, I have used Spotfire to perform exploratory analysis on class enrollment and management. A goal of the analysis was to evaluate conflicts that would be seen by the typical student in enrollments. I am a teaching faculty member as well and am considering developing an experiment on various data analysis techniques with chemical data.
  • Spotfire can handle large datasets by design.
  • Visualizations are linked, so one view can be used to establish the critical data, but different views can be used to present and clarify the data for different stakeholder groups.
  • Because data can be integrated from different sources, recent information that may not be fully probated can be included in an analysis with established data.
  • There are times when I want to look at local data quickly, but every time I start up Spotfire it hijacks my web browser to require login to the Cloud. This design is particularly vexing if I have no internet access. I understand that this is the design, but it does not mean I have to like it.
  • Startup can be slow.
We deal with a number of situations where Spotfire is useful. There is analysis of student patterns, safety incidents, and I am interested in showing how exploratory data analysis can be performed with multiple methods. Multidimensional data has become far more prominent in current instrumentation.
Read Jeffrey Molloy's full review
Andrew Pruet profile photo
July 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire with TERR and Python"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire in many ways. Primarily, it is a fast data wrangling tool that lets you dig through and visualize data very quickly. Our team, in particular, uses it to look at oil and gas production data. In addition, we use Python and R in the backend to build more advanced applications.
  • Automating building decline curves for oil and gas wells.
  • Reading and writing to and from Oracle database with Python or information links within Spotfire.
  • Looking at competitor data across the Permian Basin. Utilizing IHS data to see every well in the Permian Basin.
  • Spotfire’s TERR and bass R are not totally compatible, especially for CRAN packages.
  • IronPython does not run transactions sequentially which can make development difficult.
  • IronPython API reference material is terrible and of virtually no use.
  • General bugs with Spotfire itself. Example: restarting Spotfire can cause certain things to start working sometimes.
Well suited: drilling through lots of categorical data that is linked to numeric data. Interactive maps. Interactive plots. Using data, analytics, and visualization in sync.

Bad: lots of user inputs, heavy script development (no version control), big data (everything stored in memory and begins to lag with > 2 gigs of data loaded)
Read Andrew Pruet's full review
Kyle Jordison profile photo
July 23, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Engineers and Geologists Getting Along"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to analyze relationships between reservoir engineering, geological and operational data.
  • Spotfire allows quick visualization of large and often complex data sets.
  • Spotfire allows the integration of data from differing oil and gas disciplines that serves as a bridge for analysis, discussion and presentation.
  • Spotfire allows us to look for relationships in our data from different angles quite easily. If we can dream it, we can do it with Spotfire.
  • I wish that Spotfire had a better method of producing a probability distribution chart. I have been through the online workflows, but still wind up using Excel for this most of the time.
  • While I have gotten better with the Custom Expressions, it would be nice to have them simplified a bit more.
I think Spotfire is well-suited for any industry or situation. I can't think of any scenarios where it would be less appropriate.
Read Kyle Jordison's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (242)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (209)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (237)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (248)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (179)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (224)
7.9
Publish to Web (187)
8.3
Publish to PDF (221)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (137)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (254)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (221)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (191)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (196)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (164)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (182)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (141)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (100)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (119)
7.4
REST API (44)
7.3
Javascript API (44)
7.2
iFrames (32)
7.0
Java API (35)
7.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (43)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (37)
7.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian