Whereby Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

John Flett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Give it a go--easy-peasy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Whereby for coaching clients, both nationally and internationally. Having had the standard version when it was then known as Appear.In, and then in the last year or so the paid option, which has the handy record feature. Clients appreciate it that I can send them a recording of the session for them to review at their leisure.
  • Ease of loading the app
  • No codes or silly time wasting with getting connected
  • I was disappointed when they removed the fun icons which were on Appear.In.
  • They have since replaced them but with very boring ones!
Surprisingly Whereby works amazingly well on the mobile phone. It is well suited when you want to make a more personal call than just a phone call. Easy to use and installation is nothing--so easy and more importantly fast. The basic version is free, for goodness sake! Why wouldn't you use it?
Read John Flett's full review
Alvin Landicho | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Simple, one-click access to an always on video meeting room.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whereby (formerly Appear.in) has been used as a quick video call connection to our team members in other office locations. The user experience is quick and simple. Simply double-click a desktop shortcut to the unique room URL. It is used for all team meetings, several times a day. No logging in, no forgotten passwords, or extra steps required. Simple!
  • Simple to connect
  • User friendly
  • Audio quality is not great (compared to our dedicated VOIP lines)
  • Video quality is great in a small room (4 locations--point-to-point) but degrades in larger rooms. We are based in Australia, and I believe the server is in Europe.
Whereby is suited to simple, one-click connection to a shared video room, ideally at a set time (i.e. regular meetings). You can set up a desktop shortcut so it's really easy for a user to join and does not require logging in and setting up, etc. Not suited to private meetings that require a different unique link every time.

Read Alvin Landicho's full review
Michelle Sexton | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

It has been a great experience!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I oversee our Recruiting department and we currently use Whereby every now and then for conducting our virtual interviews with candidates if we're having difficulty with some of the other virtual resources that we use. It helps us with our interviews and being able to interview candidates who do not have a smartphone.
  • It's very easy to join the meeting.
  • You can customize links, which is great!
  • There are sometimes connection issues.
  • It'd be great if there were more add-ons or features you could use.
It works really well when you're wanting to create a private room so that you're able to meet with someone virtually. In our context, we use it pretty frequently for conducting virtual interviews with candidates who do not have a smartphone device. It has worked out really well and it's great because you're able to customize and create your own link.
Read Michelle Sexton's full review
Michael Ball-Marian | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Whereby is a great product, particularly for impromptu calls and small meetings

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Whereby off and on at this company and my previous company (when the product was called Appear.in). In both cases, we have used it as a sort of "gap" filler solution for ad-hoc meetings. In both cases, we had other core teleconference solutions that we used for "bigger" more official purposes. Whereby is a nice solution because it doesn't require an install, and pretty much just works.
  • Great, simple UI.
  • Very high-quality video. Better than Google Hangouts (or whatever they call it these days), and I consider it a comparable product.
  • The paid version may have dial-in. But I have always used the free version. Dial-in is typically required for an "official" multi-purpose teleconference platform.
  • I did have some trouble with larger groups (5+) when it was Appear.in but almost always use it for small 1-on-1 or 3 person meetings.
I think it is a great solution for small, informational meetings when all participants have laptops. I haven't really used it outside of that context, so I can't say how well it might perform as a complete stand-alone teleconference system. When you just want to drop someone a link and jump into a high-quality video, it is perfect.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Great video conferencing and live collaboration tool for small remote teams.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a fully remote team. We use Whereby for daily stand-ups and one-on-one meetings across the organization. As a distributed team, Whereby lets us have ad hoc and scheduled face-to-face meetings and working sessions with employees who are spread across two continents and three countries.
  • Drag-and-drop windows help keep track of who has given their update in stand-ups
  • Ability to collaborate on Google Docs and Spreadsheets within one video conferencing window
  • Arrangement of user windows doesn't always make the best use of the available screen area.
  • More integrations for live collaboration in shared-screen mode.
Whereby is great for small teams of a dozen or fewer employees, especially remote teams. In a larger corporate environment, it's probably less useful. However, even for enterprise users, it might be very helpful for departments where employees are spread out over multiple locations or that utilize a lot of freelancers or remote workers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Whereby is a strong video platform for remote teams to use.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Whereby for all team meetings and for sales meetings. Each team member uses it for a variety of calls. It is an easy-to-use video conferencing platform.
  • Directly click on a link to join a video call
  • Great interface
  • Does not allow people to dial-in to calls
  • Is best supported only through Google Chrome, so many users have issues joining
Whereby is well suited if someone is looking for a video chat platform that is easy to use for remote teams, this would be a good one to consistently use. For sales meetings, it can be frustrating if the person needs to dial in as you will need to use a different platform. This is a terrible app for anyone who needs to join via mobile. It works well if people can join via Google Chrome on a computer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

A great video meeting product at a great price!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to connect different team members located around the world for training and meeting. These meetings are often recorded, which makes the meeting space twice as valuable. It connects our managers and new trainees, as well as existing team members. In addition, we use it for interviews and face to face testing and quizzing pre-onboarding.
  • Easy to use.
  • Accessible anywhere without product downloads.
  • The ability to add more seats. The current cap is 12. I would like up to 30 or more.
  • It should have the ability to record conversation internally. I use a 3rd part software.
This is a great product for anyone who works with a large team, especially if that team is remote. Whereby allows for easy group meetings, without the need for software downloads. Pricing is very reasonable as well. I would like to see a few more features, but it seems to be the best option in the marketplace, in my opinion, and certainly for a startup.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Allows us to have the best of working remotely and working in an office

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has mostly remote workers (working from home) and we use Whereby for almost all of our team meetings. We tried several other video meeting services and we choose Whereby because everyone appears in similarly sized windows no matter how many people are in the meeting. Other services only show you the last three people to talk or show you a big window for the person currently talking (or just making noise). We feel like we are in a conference room sitting around a table with Whereby. Another great feature is the ease of use. We use it with outside clients and job candidates because there is no software to install or set up. It just works on any device that can go to a website.
  • Team meetings.
  • Interviews.
  • Needs Google Calendar integration.
We use it for almost all of our interactions from a quick question to hour-long working sessions. It has replaced phone calls for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Possibly the smoothest video conferencing experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whereby is used by our organization to host small group video conferences. It is particularly helpful for individuals to set up their own named whereby video meetings, to have face-to-face collaborations internally and externally. The fact that whereby does not require any plug-ins or downloads from guests is very convenient, which has made it popular with us.
  • Very easy to set up one's own named conferencing link.
  • All video conferences conducted from the browser - no downloads or logins for guests.
  • Call recording is an add-on feature that needs to be purchased separately, even for Pro plans.
  • Would be great to have some calendaring integration.
Whereby is recommended for its simplicity, ease-of-use, reliability, and affordability. It is quick to set up as a host and frictionless to join as a guest. We have found it works excellently for individuals to set up their own conferencing rooms and use it for small group collaborations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

A great video tool for small teams and individuals to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whereby is one of many tools we use to connect our team. We're a distributed team across various geographies, so we rely on technology to connect us for our daily work needs. Specifically, our Marketing Team uses whereby for individual calls and video conferences with smaller groups. It's really easy to just share your link and have everyone hop on.
  • Browser-based, you don't need to download any software so it's easy to use
  • Video quality, we haven't had any issues.
  • Screen sharing: easily lets you share your desktop with others.
  • Sometimes the video and sound lag a little bit.
  • The mobile app doesn't quite work as well as the desktop version.
  • When you screen share, it doesn't fill the screen so you have to get used to seeing things smaller.
Whereby is a great tool to use individually or among smaller teams. Everyone on our team has their own Whereby link, so when you need to hop on a call you just share your link with the right people and everyone hops on. It's very simple to use and helps save us time. If you have a big team though, you'll want something more complex like Zoom. Tools like that have more capabilities for setting user permissions (e.g. only let certain people talk).
Read this authenticated review
Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

appear.in. has all the features of other more robust programs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use appear.in to conduct videoconferences with few participants. It's a great tool. very intuitive and very simple to use. Sometimes we do more than one complex videoconference simultaneously and appear.in helps a lot as a second option, especially with few participants.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Very easy to create an account.
  • It has the same basic features as other robust programs.
  • Allow more participants online in the videoconference.
It is well suited in videoconferences with few participants. It is less appropriate in videoconferences with more than four participants or webinars. In that case, I would recommend software with more functions. In our company, we use appear.in as a second option. We have a more robust software, but it does not allow simultaneous meetings. In that case, we use appear.in.
Read Leonardo Barbosa Corrêa's full review
Hernán Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

Simple, affordable, easy to use calls and video conferencing.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used appear.in in our company to create chat rooms with participants located in the US and in Latin America.
  • Easy to use: The app is very, very easy to use. Literally just create a chat room (input a name) and access it to chat.
  • Call/video quality: I've experienced better call quality on appear.in than in almost all other chat and video conferencing services out there.
  • Feature-wise, none that I can think of.
Good quality video conferencing with a small group of people.
Read Hernán Silva's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (11)
8.2
High quality video (11)
8.6
Low bandwidth requirements (9)
7.9
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Desktop sharing (10)
8.8
Whiteboards (4)
6.2
Calendar integration (3)
6.6
Meeting initiation (8)
9.1
Integrates with social media (2)
9.0
Record meetings / events (7)
7.3
Slideshows (4)
8.4
Live chat (7)
8.0
Audience polling (1)
7
Q&A (2)
9.0
User authentication (4)
7.0
Participant roles & permissions (6)
6.8
Confidential attendee list (3)
8.0

About Whereby

Whereby is a video conferencing tool that allows users to conduct simple and reliable video meetings. All meetings are browser based - no downloads, and no login for guests.

Whereby serves SMB markets for various industries, including; IT, sales, marketing, education, recruiting, financial services, and more.

The vendor offers the following tiers (and differentiators):

Free: A tool designed to introduce video meetings into your daily workflow.
Pro: For freelance professionals who conduct business over video.
Business: Connect customers or manage a remote workforce.

Whereby Features

Has featureScreen sharing
Has featureCustom URLs
Has featureRecording
Has featureRoom branding
Has featureChat
Has featureCalendar integration (Business plans)

Whereby Screenshots

Whereby Integrations

Trello, Slack, Google Docs

Whereby Competitors

Zoom, GoToMeeting, Skype, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per user
Pro$9.99per user
Business$59.99 and upper user/room

Whereby Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Whereby Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English