Birst

Birst Reviews

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(1-25 of 49)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Achieved: scale & security, scheduled reports, increased adoption, usage & self-service
  • Every user in our organization has a Birst log in and where we have been able to create reports, it has been easy to provide the appropriate access. The ease of access for end users has gone a long way in adoption and self-service.

Did not achieve: speed and agility, decreased deployment time and risk, ad-hoc
  • It takes a *long* time to model data either in Birst or in our EDW in a way that makes it usable in Birst reporting. The admin UI is not intuitive even after several years of daily use.
  • Due to issues of data modeling it has been difficult to provide data in a way that serves ad hoc reporting across the organization. Most of our reports and dashboards are use case specific and simply do not allow for the flexibility for users to go in and play around with the data in an ad hoc fashion, though there have been cases where we are able to provide that.
Robin Filan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
  • Other
The main thing was that we needed a tool that would allow us to easily distribute the reporting, which it does. But the time it takes to build a report in Birst is significant.
January 14, 2019

Birst Review

Martin Hollænder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
We manage to get a SaaS platform running for our contact center customers.
However, we only have a handful of active users out of 130, so the user involvement is lower than we wanted.
Also the administrator part is to heavy and could be lighter, but Birst is working on that part for the system.
January 09, 2019

Birst almost live access

Tim Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
Main usage for Birst was to enable clients to access and analyse data, however feedback from clients is that performance is the number one priority even over flexibility. Birst often struggles in this aspect when querying large datasets, due to the way it tries to pre-cache data from a larger query so it can attempt to anticipate a future query - however this frequently means the initial query is much slower than is necessary.
Sanja Prstojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We achieved most of these outcomes. The only two areas that still need improvements are scalability and data processing performances.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Speed and agility - yes, we can now build out dashboards and reports with a repeatable process.
Decreased deployment time and risk - as above.
Increased adoption, usage and self-service - we are struggling to get this to the level we would like. Some of our data models can be complex and training users to understand the implication of how they go about performing data joins and aggregations is difficult.
March 08, 2018

Birst for all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
We have achieved almost 80% of our goal using BIRST products. Expanding new solutions using BIRST does have some challenges within the organization where some teams like to own certain tools for better control and due to the legacy nature. But with the new features being introduced from BIRST, we are certainly moving towards fulfilling our goal.
February 21, 2018

Birst debunked.

Rohit Acharya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Birst fails to cope up with scaling data, when the data volumes are low the speed and agility are on par of any good analytical platform. The flash interface in designer makes it difficult to load data faster and the data limit makes it tedious to perform item based reporting or analytics.
  • Birst provides good security features, it has well defined user groups which provide for perfect boundaries within the dataset
  • Scheduling is robust
  • Ad hoc analysis for simple reports is good, however when external inputs, statistical math is involved it performs poorly.
  • The goal of self service data usage within the company was achieved considerably. BI Data request reduced and standardized KPIs where formed because of birst
  • Snapshoting feature in Birst helped to analyze pricing of our products more accurately and faster.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We are currently in the process of a large customer deployment. The user group is currently basing the majority of their reporting on Excel pivot tables. The challenges with Birst have come in trusting the data behind the dashboards which has required some compromise. As a result of the ease of deployment of new dashboards and quick ability to make modifications, we have achieved a much higher adoption rate to these reports and dashboards than any previous system.
Stephane F. Tremblay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Mostly, we faced many issues that had a significant impact on our productivity until we learned the workarounds or the Birst preferred way to do things. These workarounds sometimes add complexity to the solution, complexity we wish we could have avoided.
March 16, 2018

Birstarific

David Pearlman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
Provides consolidated pipeline reporting across multiple SFDC instances Easy to create new reports and create / schedule alerts to send across multiple distributions (SFDC can't replicate this functionality) Ability to ad-hoc analysis and build out reporting Allowed us to sunset a business object universe and roll out integrated reporting on Birst
March 16, 2018

Multi-tenant review

Lee Ann Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
Yes, we are satisfied with these outcomes. Reports are rendering quickly and deployments are easily repeatable for many clients with minimal changes to commands.
Ash Bosworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We have been able to achieve all these outcomes with Birst.
March 06, 2018

Birst Review

Jaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We are able to achieve all of the above selected points. My concern with the software started when Birst got acquired by Infor and as part of consolidation they moved the support function to India; It's now a nightmare to get support on issues working in the PST time zone. After Birst's acquisition, we as a customer were not given as much of attention as we use to get around feature or bug fix prioritization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Birst is not fast. It takes a long time to process our complicated data system, and it often takes a days to develop our complex reports, usually for reasons that are not readily apparent. This probably says more about our use of Birst than the product in general, but the facts remain. Despite this, I have managed to deliver a wide variety of reports to meet the needs of my colleagues.
Raj Srinivasan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
This is our first attempt in building a data warehouse, and birst is helping us achieve this. We started with the sales function and will expand to include finance, marketing, and product management. Given that the Birst Platform provides a single pane for glass for ETL/DW/Visualization - it provided us the advantage of working with a single tool to learn and implement.
Patrick O Leary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Speed and agility have been low compared to other products in the same field, such as Tableau and Qlik making adoption and continual investment in development difficult. There is a continual question of "Why can't we use X instead, it seems better and faster and easier"?
February 15, 2018

Birst Forward

Paula Revell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
We are beginning to save time by replicating reports we use daily in Excel on Birst, as due to the amount of data we hold and formulas required, Excel can often be very slow when calculating.
John Laws | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
Apex successfully launched a white label branded BI application, Lenz (Birst), to over 10,000 Customers. This included BI for three separate applications with distinct users many of which do not have a data analytics background. Customer feedback has been overwhelming positive allowing Apex to lead the way in our market verticals with first in market BI.

The UI/UX for Lenz provides for a basic data layout suited to our Customer base. Lenz's ease of use, including embedded online documentation, delivers an outstanding customer experience. Coupled with this the multi-language capabilities added in 2017 have provided management and delivery of a BI tool to our global customer base.

Going forward Apex looks forward to an increased drive by Birst to improve the product line in the areas of white labeling, predictive analytics and deeper report functionality.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Other
We were looking for a platform to be able to quickly develop and provide analytics services to our client. We have been able to do so with Birst
Laura Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Birst has allowed us to create and deploy a BI solution that is dynamic and flexible. To date, it has exceeded our expectations regarding adoption, usage, and self-service. Our customers have provided testimonials regarding a significant reduction in time needed to evaluate performance, assess areas of concern and produce timely reporting.

Birst Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

BI Standard Reporting (3)
74%
7.4
Pixel Perfect reports (69)
70%
7.0
Customizable dashboards (78)
80%
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (60)
71%
7.1
Ad-hoc Reporting (4)
70%
7.0
Drill-down analysis (79)
80%
8.0
Formatting capabilities (78)
70%
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
61%
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (69)
70%
7.0
Report Output and Scheduling (4)
81%
8.1
Publish to Web (53)
80%
8.0
Publish to PDF (68)
80%
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
74%
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (67)
90%
9.0
Data Discovery and Visualization (3)
69%
6.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (73)
80%
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (59)
70%
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
58%
5.8
Access Control and Security (3)
83%
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (71)
90%
9.0
Role-Based Security Model (69)
80%
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (70)
80%
8.0
Mobile Capabilities (4)
51%
5.1
Responsive Design for Web Access (53)
70%
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (35)
30%
3.0
Dedicated Android Application (24)
72%
7.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (43)
30%
3.0

What is Birst?

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features

  • Supported: Administration via Windows App
  • Supported: Administration via MacOS App
  • Supported: Administration via Web Interface
  • Supported: Live Connection to External Data
  • Supported: Snapshot of External Data
  • Supported: In-memory data model
  • Supported: OLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
  • Supported: ROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
  • Supported: Multi-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
  • Supported: Data warehouse / dictionary layer
  • Supported: ETL Capability
  • Supported: ETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources Features

  • Supported: MS Excel Workbooks
  • Supported: Text Files (CSV, etc)
  • Supported: Oracle
  • Supported: MS SQL Server
  • Supported: IBM DB2
  • Supported: Postgres
  • Supported: MySQL
  • Supported: ODBC
  • Supported: Cloudera Hadoop
  • Supported: Hortonworks Hadoop
  • Supported: EMC Greenplum
  • Supported: IBM Netezza
  • Supported: HP Vertica
  • Supported: ParAccel
  • Supported: SAP Hana
  • Supported: Teradata
  • Supported: Salesforce
  • Supported: SAP
  • Supported: Google Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Integration with R or other statistical packages
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Output Raw Supporting Data
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics
  • Supported: Support for Machine Learning models
  • Supported: Integration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control
  • Supported: Table-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
  • Supported: Field-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access
  • Supported: Dedicated iOS Application
  • Supported: Dedicated Android Application
  • Supported: Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Birst Pricing

More Pricing Information

On-premise Editions Pricing
Pricing DetailsTerms
Basic License$30,000Per 20 Users Per Year

Birst Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesAll
Supported LanguagesArabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Birst?

Birst offers multi-tenant cloud BI for deployment in a public or private cloud, or on-premises. It provides an in-memory columnar data store and a BI layer comprising a reporting engine, predictive analytics tools, mobile native apps, dashboards, discovery tools, and an open client interface.

What is Birst's best feature?

Reviewers rate Report Delivery Scheduling and Multi-User Support (named login) highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Birst?

The most common users of Birst are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.