Birst Reviews

183 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Marci Augustine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Achieved: scale & security, scheduled reports, increased adoption, usage & self-service
  • Every user in our organization has a Birst log in and where we have been able to create reports, it has been easy to provide the appropriate access. The ease of access for end users has gone a long way in adoption and self-service.

Did not achieve: speed and agility, decreased deployment time and risk, ad-hoc
  • It takes a *long* time to model data either in Birst or in our EDW in a way that makes it usable in Birst reporting. The admin UI is not intuitive even after several years of daily use.
  • Due to issues of data modeling it has been difficult to provide data in a way that serves ad hoc reporting across the organization. Most of our reports and dashboards are use case specific and simply do not allow for the flexibility for users to go in and play around with the data in an ad hoc fashion, though there have been cases where we are able to provide that.
Read Marci Augustine's full review
Robin Filan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
  • Other
The main thing was that we needed a tool that would allow us to easily distribute the reporting, which it does. But the time it takes to build a report in Birst is significant.
Read Robin Filan's full review
Martin Hollænder | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Birst Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
We manage to get a SaaS platform running for our contact center customers.
However, we only have a handful of active users out of 130, so the user involvement is lower than we wanted.
Also the administrator part is to heavy and could be lighter, but Birst is working on that part for the system.
Read Martin Hollænder's full review
Tim Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Birst almost live access

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
Main usage for Birst was to enable clients to access and analyse data, however feedback from clients is that performance is the number one priority even over flexibility. Birst often struggles in this aspect when querying large datasets, due to the way it tries to pre-cache data from a larger query so it can attempt to anticipate a future query - however this frequently means the initial query is much slower than is necessary.
Read Tim Welch's full review
Sanja Prstojevic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We achieved most of these outcomes. The only two areas that still need improvements are scalability and data processing performances.
Read Sanja Prstojevic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
The main benefit that our clients have with Birst is the ability to do ad-hoc analysis. We already have an existing suite of standard reports in the ERP which are not suited to ad-hoc analysis. Birst allows users to filter the data as required to get the information they are after.
It also allows them to do this much quicker than extracting the data out of the ERP and using spreadsheets to find the data they are after and then develop the reports that they need. It also standardizes the analysis methods used by end-users to produce reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Data Capture

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
I did not manage to do ad hoc analysis, because of the complexity of the data links. I have used other software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Other
Speed and agility: For non complex scenarios we have increased the speed by using BIRST. However, whenever the complexity increases, the time required grows exponentially. Additionally, we have been able to build an ODS layer which enables some reusability. Reusability of the data by third-party tools is really limited, there aren't data federation capabilities within the analytical layer and we have found it difficult to use networked BI (some limitations have been identified).
Other: There are things that do not work as expected such as "Networked BI" (re-usability of data across different subject areas). There are many limitations in terms of what we can monitor on the solution's behavior (usage tracking data is not complete neither accurate). It is really difficult to reverse engineer the solution developed by another person and not having direct SQL access to the underlying database prevents us from having the right level of data-traceability/data-lineage.
The response time when cases are created does not meet our expectations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
Ad hoc reports are run weekly through the use of Birst with ease across the data and systems team. It is easy to update and accepts loading data well with minimal issues encountered. The majority of the time Birst allows for scheduled reports and updates to be run. It holds our large data as well, and allows to be quickly processed into a dashboard. For our largest data sets, it does take more time to upload these.
Read this authenticated review
David Strutt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Speed and agility - yes, we can now build out dashboards and reports with a repeatable process.
Decreased deployment time and risk - as above.
Increased adoption, usage and self-service - we are struggling to get this to the level we would like. Some of our data models can be complex and training users to understand the implication of how they go about performing data joins and aggregations is difficult.
Read David Strutt's full review
Krishnakumar Govindhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2018

Birst for all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
We have achieved almost 80% of our goal using BIRST products. Expanding new solutions using BIRST does have some challenges within the organization where some teams like to own certain tools for better control and due to the legacy nature. But with the new features being introduced from BIRST, we are certainly moving towards fulfilling our goal.
Read Krishnakumar Govindhan's full review
Josh Beam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We are currently in the process of a large customer deployment. The user group is currently basing the majority of their reporting on Excel pivot tables. The challenges with Birst have come in trusting the data behind the dashboards which has required some compromise. As a result of the ease of deployment of new dashboards and quick ability to make modifications, we have achieved a much higher adoption rate to these reports and dashboards than any previous system.
Read Josh Beam's full review
Stephane F. Tremblay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Mostly, we faced many issues that had a significant impact on our productivity until we learned the workarounds or the Birst preferred way to do things. These workarounds sometimes add complexity to the solution, complexity we wish we could have avoided.
Read Stephane F. Tremblay's full review
David Pearlman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Birstarific

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
Provides consolidated pipeline reporting across multiple SFDC instances
Easy to create new reports and create / schedule alerts to send across multiple distributions (SFDC can't replicate this functionality)
Ability to ad-hoc analysis and build out reporting
Allowed us to sunset a business object universe and roll out integrated reporting on Birst
Read David Pearlman's full review
Lee Ann Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Multi-tenant review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
Yes, we are satisfied with these outcomes. Reports are rendering quickly and deployments are easily repeatable for many clients with minimal changes to commands.
Read Lee Ann Benson's full review
Jaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Birst Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Decreased deployment time and risk
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
We are able to achieve all of the above selected points. My concern with the software started when Birst got acquired by Infor and as part of consolidation they moved the support function to India; It's now a nightmare to get support on issues working in the PST time zone. After Birst's acquisition, we as a customer were not given as much of attention as we use to get around feature or bug fix prioritization.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jeremy Schichor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Speed and agility
  • Ability to meet corporate data standards such as scale and security
  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Birst is not fast. It takes a long time to process our complicated data system, and it often takes a days to develop our complex reports, usually for reasons that are not readily apparent. This probably says more about our use of Birst than the product in general, but the facts remain. Despite this, I have managed to deliver a wide variety of reports to meet the needs of my colleagues.
Read Jeremy Schichor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
Yes, we have achieved this outcome. We embed Birst into our dashboard - we have a set of standard reports our customers can use. We can also build custom reports for customers with our professional services team or have the ability to allow them to build their own reports (with training).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports
  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
The outcomes we hoped to achieve were to update our reporting, make reporting more dynamic, and allow for easier self-reporting by our customers. Any misses in the outcomes were not due to the Birst platform, but due to implementation, such as leaving the old reports in place with a user base adverse to change (not forcing them over to the new system) and still needing additional phases of implementation for some of the more ambitious goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

Birst Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Outcomes

  • Increased adoption, usage and self-service
Two objectives we had going in with Birst was to launch a "productized" analytics dashboard product. The second objective was to retire a homegrown solution for operational reporting. We have accomplished both objectives with Birst.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (68)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (77)
7.7
Report Formatting Templates (60)
6.6
Drill-down analysis (78)
7.1
Formatting capabilities (77)
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (68)
7.4
Publish to Web (52)
8.4
Publish to PDF (67)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (66)
7.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (72)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (58)
7.4
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (70)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (68)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (69)
7.7
Responsive Design for Web Access (52)
7.5
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.3

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish