CircleCI

CircleCI

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
CircleCI

Overview

Recent Reviews

CircleCI Review

7 out of 10
February 03, 2020
We use CircleCI as an independent part of our continuous integration testing process, which handles both automated building and testing …
Continue reading

CircleCI is awesome

9 out of 10
December 10, 2018
We're using CircleCI to run continuous integration for both front-end and back-end components for a SaaS application. It's linked to a …
Continue reading

Automation done right

8 out of 10
April 30, 2018
In our company, we develop our financial product atop the Salesforce platform. We have extensive unit test coverage that is required by …
Continue reading

CI done right

7 out of 10
April 10, 2018
In our Marketing firm when we started developing custom applications for our clients, we needed a robust continuous integration and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of CircleCI, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Performance

$30

Cloud
per month

Server

$35

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Product Demos

Deploy features sooner with CircleCI
Deploy features sooner with CircleCI
00:51

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is CircleCI?

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

CircleCI Video

CircleCI Overview

CircleCI Integrations

CircleCI Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

CircleCI in San Francisco offers an eponymous build automation platform.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.8.

The most common users of CircleCI are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Internet industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (45)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 25)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 03, 2020

CircleCI Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI has been an excellent option for us for several years. Still, we're beginning to invest in GitHub Actions and other platforms where CricleCI runs closer to our existing test and deployment pipelines. Because so many different integrations exist, it's easily adaptable to many kinds of applications. At this point, though, it's worth looking at the CircleCI embedded in other parts of the deployment pipeline before concluding that CircleCI is the best direction to go in.
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have many developers that push to production every day. Every branch runs continuous integration on CircleCI and clearly links to GitHub with an indication on whether it failed or passed.
Things work fine when you work against the GitHub links but searching on the CircleCI site is not intuitive.
Configuration with YAML files can also be hard to do and some UI tools for scaffolding them would be nice.
Javier Cardoso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Circle suits if you're looking for a cloud-based continuous integration and continuous delivery system for web and native-based applications. The uptime is very good and the features included in the platform are very useful.
On the other hand, it's a little difficult to combine Circle with your on-premise stuff, such as registry dependencies (npm, Maven Nexus, etc) ... because the only way is to give Circle access to your on-premise network and it could be a little insecure.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is great when you have software engineering processes that you need to take out and drastically scale and test before deployment. It works with regular code structures where there's a procedural lifecycle and where there is a need to methodically test and deploy code in an automated manner so deployments no longer need to be done by hand.
Dillon Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is well suited for a small team that needs to run tests on web app codes like Ruby on Rails, React, Python, etc. It's not as well suited for larger teams as the cost quickly scales up. It's also not well suited for more complicated builds because the configuration process is pretty arcane.
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is perfect for a CI/CD pipeline for an app using a standard build process. It'll take more work for a complex build process, but should still be up to the task unless you need a lot of integrations with other tools. If you have a big team and can spare someone to focus full time on just the CI/CD tools, maybe something like Jenkins is better, but if you're just looking to get your app built, tested, and delivered without a huge amount of effort, CircleCI is probably your preferred tool.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is well suited if you, your developer, or team of developers have already worked with it in the past. They don't need to go through the learning curve of yet another Continuous Integration tool. Circle handles Continuous Integration workflows very well, including pretty complex workflows. With that said, Circle can get expensive if you need to run multiple containers in parallel and might not be as easy to setup as some alternatives, such as Jenkins.
December 10, 2018

CircleCI is awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For basic CI/CD, CircleCI is the way to go. Especially for smaller projects where not a tremendous amount of complexity or build time is required.

Strongly recommend for simple projects. And will likely become a paying customer when the complexity/build time is merited.

Haven't come across scenarios where its not well suited. Perhaps for very large organizations who want full control over their CI/CD environments.
April 30, 2018

Automation done right

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Circle CI is important for any serious software development business that requires adequate test coverage of their code. The software offers very simple configuration mechanism via Circle.YML and is easily customizable to suit any sort of development needs. Automated testing becomes a breeze using Circle CI.

September 28, 2017

A great CI/CD alternative

Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Automated tasks - handling and scheduling are two of the main features that CircleCI provides. Scenarios from testing to continuous integration and continuous delivery are fit just fine. You can generate artifacts like documentation or analytics over code and [see] how a developer performs. Integration with modern tools like docker allow you to test real-world scenarios.
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is an excellent tool for generic CI/CD. It integrates well with GitHub, runs your tests, and gives you the ability to deploy when your tests succeed on a certain branch. It doesn't really offer anything more sophisticated than that, I've seen CI tools that will actually try to bisect test failures for you, CircleCI will definitely not do anything that sophisticated. But it executes well on the relatively simple (at least from a customer perspective) use case of running tests on every commit and executing special hooks when they succeed.
Jason Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is a good fit for any software development organization with a large or complicated set of automated tests, especially one that uses cloud services for most of their development process (such as GitHub). It might be less appropriate if you already have a strong in-house ability to set up and manage automated test environments.
Gregory Ratner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For complicated builds that take a really long time and require specific performance considerations, CircleCI might not be the best choice. Right now there is one size fits all VM that does that build and the only performance upgrade that it offers is an ability to run parts of the build in parallel. This is not always possible, depending on your build system.
Paul Hepworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I wonder if we are growing out of Circle. Can we increase concurrency beyond 15? While circle is helpful when things go wrong we sometimes have problems for several days in a row (recently) and each time there is some different reason that sounds like a one-off. Makes me wonder if there is something more going on.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For relatively advanced users comfortable with YAML configuration and the GitHub workflow, I wholeheartedly recommend CircleCI and think it's perfectly suited. For people who prefer to work completely in a user interface and not edit text files, there are other solutions more suited to that scenario.
January 18, 2017

Testing FTW!

Jake Mercurio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is well suited to any project where you have:
  • A quick provisioning process or can use a pre-configured CircleCi container
  • Have lots of unit tests and only a few integration tests
  • Use standard testing libraries like PhpUnit, Mocha, Jasmine, JUnit, etc.
  • Have a small-medium budget
  • Your test suite takes more than 5 minutes to run
Andrew Shell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main use I have for CircleCI is triggering deployments automatically and running the tests prior to that and making sure that work is required. I could see implementing other checks down the road or even running JavaScript build scripts before deploying. It's also nice to automatically run tests when someone submits a pull request on GitHub, the integration shows right away if the PR is going to break anything.
January 12, 2017

Fast and Easy CI

Austin Riendeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have yet to find a good example of when not to use Circle CI unless you are building mobile applications. It is not best suited for that at this time. I think TravisCI is the best currently for iOS builds. I use it currently for Go and Node applications.
Ken Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CircleCI is best suited for smaller companies that don't have time to manage their build infrastructure and their entire source repository is also on a third party provider such as github or bitbucket. For larger companies who want to have more control over their build servers, it may not be as appropriate.