Twilio Reviews

76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 18, 2019
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, there is not a standardized 2FA application we all use, but me and some of my colleagues are utilizing it. We're really satisfied by the additional security that Authy brings, but the risk of losing everything if one device fails is a serious concern. Until now, Authy has made a good job handling situations where a user changes or adds a new device.
  • Easy to use and quick user interface.
  • Very simple and seamless addition of new 2FA accounts, either manually or using QR codes.
  • Until now, I don't have any complaints.
Authy is very useful for the purpose it was designed (two factor authentication) and it behaves really good when there is a need to change, add or replace devices that have access to a specific account. It is the ideal tool for managing multiple devices and easily changing access authorization among them.
I have never used costumer support or followed any tutorial because the use of the application is very straightforward.
Read João Almeida's full review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the introduction of two-factor authentication, our users want a single place to manage their time-based one-time passwords (TOTP) across the entire business. Authy improves on the de facto standard, Google Authentication in a number of ways. First, it offers backup of users TOTP passwords. This means that if you lose your phone (or another mobile device), you can easily recover your one-time passwords. Second, it offers multiple device support, enabling users to access their TOTPs from multiple devices. Finally, it offers a better user interface than Google Authenticator.
  • Time-based one-time password (TOTP) backup - If you lose your phone or another authentication device, Authy keeps an encrypted cloud backup of your TOTPs.
  • Multi-Device Support - Your TOTPs are no longer tied to a single device - Authy supports multiple devices (including Apple Watch!).
  • Excellent User Interface - Authy makes it easy to make sure you're entering the right TOTP for your application.
  • Authy does not support the "push button" multi-factor authentication from your application's native apps. This means if you want to use Authy, you still need to use TOTP based codes.
  • Not really a shortcoming of Authy, but it does nothing to help with multi-factor authentication using text messages - those are still sent to your platform's messaging app.
  • Authy doesn't always display how much time is left before your current token expires, making it difficult to know how much time you have left to enter the current code.
If you've ever gone to use a multi-factor authenticated app, and not had your authentication device nearby, but had another device on-hand, Authy is for you. Authy makes it easy to turn any of your devices into your second factor for authentication, ensuring that your codes are always at hand. Even if you don't want to use multiple devices, users will appreciate the ability to back up their authentication codes, so that if their authentication device is ever lost, they can easily recover the codes to a new device, without having to re-register the new device with their applications.
I've never had to contact Authy's support. Of course, that's because Authy is so simple and easy to use that there hasn't been any need to. Authy correctly implements the time-based one-time password (TOTP) protocol, and becomes it conforms to the standard, it easily replaces Google Authenticator for your needs.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Twilio SMS as part of our communication strategy to inform our audience of key deadline and extension dates in the application process. It is currently used by our Marketing team but could be expanded for other department use cases.
  • Competitive rates in the market are being offered.
  • It is cheaper compared to the rates we would be paying if we are to use the services offered by regular major carriers.
  • The API isvery convenient and easy to set up in the back end for operational use with different platforms.
  • It does not directly integrate with Oracle
  • Have to use a third party plug-in to connect to Oracle
  • There's an issue when viewing/searching for SMS transaction logs. When you search for the logs using phone number as a search tool, sometimes the results will not show up.
  • If you export the log, you only get 100 or so rows so you can't extract all of your log data.
Twilio SMS is great for sending out notifications to inform our audience of upcoming deadlines and date extensions as they move through the application process. It is also good at sending out reminders that renewing members can review all of the available plans to find one that meets their needs and budget. Twilio should provide SMS and voice calling as a testing feature on the trial account which can really help people to be more convinced about its awesome services.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main telephone platform is currently being handled by Twilio across the entire organization. After previously using another communications platform, we switched to Twilio to take advantage of its automation features--especially the IVR development (in PHP, Python, Ruby and other languages,) and the ability to allow our resources to employ their own SIP softphones, both in desktop and mobile versions. Also, Twilio allows us to record our outgoing calls and attach them to sales leads, opportunities and other related elements.
  • Flexibility: Twilio uses a pseudolanguage known as TwiML, in XML format, with which we can develop anything from simple IVRs to complex skill-routing call engines on a variety of common languages, such as Ruby, Javascript, PHP and Python.
  • Modularity: You can build up with Twilio, from phone numbers up to entire logic handling solutions, and even interconnect with your existing infrastructure.
  • Portability: Twilio is entirely in the Cloud; it's an SaaS communications platform. You don't need to deploy anything onsite to make it work, besides accessories such as softphones (although you can develop your own if you wish), so you have immediate access to Twilio's entire infrastructure from anywhere in the world.
  • The Twilio Studio. It's perhaps the most powerful feature on Twilio, with the ability to build full-fledged IVRs with little to no development on our side, and other advanced functions such as auto-SMS and chat bots. However, it's somewhat expensive at the moment. Though there is a free tier, it comes with several restrictions.
  • The handling of stale SIP sessions. When a user connects via softphone to his/her Twilio SIP account, it sometimes loses connectivity and resets it by opening the softphone again; sometimes this causes a second (current) session to be opened. Twilio gets confused with this, since it sees two sessions (it lacks the logic to take the most recent one), and generates an error.
Twilio is well-rounded for almost any company that doesn't require much in terms of voice automation (smart IVR, call center forwarding, etc). It can hold its own on as many phone numbers as you like, and the voice quality is very clear most of the time (some countries' destinations might experience issues such as light noise, just as with a normal landline). You can even develop a reasonably complex IVR platform with TwiML and PHP, but the maintenance on this case is your own, so you'll need to evaluate this option if you're running heavily automated interactions with your customers.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Authy is officially our preferred and recommended tool for two-factor authentication. It is available on all Windows PC's. While there are many other 2FA tools available, it has been our experience that Authy is best at handling situations where a user changes or adds devices. Numerous times we have seen situations where a user with another 2FA tool lost access to resources because of a device change.
  • Device changes (desktop & mobile)
  • Consistent across platforms
  • Easy to use
  • Updates are rare
  • Not publicized well, aka their marketing department has some work to do
  • Needs a better installer on Windows
Authy is really good for situations where a user changes/replaces devices. Most other 2FA tools are tied to a device so if you change or do an OS re-install, you lose your 2FA codes which results in the user being locked out. Authy allows you to sign in and your codes are not lost by changing/replacing devices.
I give Authy a 10 here simply because it has been so easy that I have not had to reach out to support, either Authy's or a vendor. It just works and is one less thing to worry about for 2FA. I have not lost access to a resource secured by 2FA since switching to Authy.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It's currently being used with one department; routing calls to specific people and then having a wider rollover based on availability.
  • Customizable.
  • Great interface.
  • Integrations.
  • Basic in nature.
  • Isn’t one “knock your socks off” feature.
Contact centers. Not suited well for basic Uc users.
I don’t use Twillio support specifically.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a health care and medical enterprise with a need to train patients and providers, deliver instructional videos, and capture patient sessions for research. Twilio Video makes it easy and we do and we do not have or need a DevOps team to go with it.
  • Reliable.
  • Works across all platforms.
  • Customizable.
  • Web RTC and SDKs still can be a bit of a challenge.
  • The quality of the video is quite good, but could always be a little better.
If you want to personalize and customize your content, it excels. It's not necessary to do a huge amount of technical setup to get up and running with this. However, the learning curve means it requires a bit of time to get the hang of.
The quality, the intricacy of product, great bells and whistles, and saves us time and money.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio voice is integrated into our notification system application to make VoIP calls through a broadcast that our clients can send to staff, contacts, and students.
  • Text to speech.
  • Multiple language speech.
  • Recording of audio.
  • Answering machine detection is the worst part of this product. The messages are cut off and do not wait until most machines start recording.
Twilio Voice is well suited for programming VoIP systems.
Support has always been very helpful in responding and is very knowledgeable. Sometimes they do not configure their end correctly but other than that it has been a positive experience.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using it for some of our call contact centers with no real need for reporting, and we also use it for some Sip Trunking.
  • Easy to set up and use without a ton of infrastructure.
  • It's pay as you go, so if you're low utilization but need the professional setup, then this is great.
  • Reporting is the biggest problem, in my opinion.
  • The second would be some of the management tools.
This is great for a small group that needs to be set up. It can even integrate with some CRMs easily, but if you need advanced routing and not a ton of experience with coding then this may not be for you.
For the most part, you don't need support if you understand how to read error handling, debugging, or sip messages.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2019
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio SMS is being used as a transactional SMS platform mostly, and we are starting to branch into promotional and marketing SMS as well to bring back users and increase retention. But for now, it is mostly used to remind users and restaurants of upcoming reservations so neither misses the time, discount, and more that needs to be applied to the customer's bill. This is mostly done on a time base, either based off of direct action inside the app or an hour before action needs to be taken.
  • Easy implementation. Just a few lines of code.
  • Custom numbers for area codes (we have one in each different city).
  • Cost effective. Very cheap not only for a number (about $1 or so per number per month) but also for sending out automated SMS.
  • Good overview dashboards to see activity, send rates, and deliverability.
  • Number verification (so the text that makes you input a code) something we haven't used but will be adding in in the near future.
  • Setting up response sequences should be more intuitive like an email sequence software or a chatbot service where you can send users through flows based on actions.
  • Less code setup or having a graphical user interface to set it up would be nice then to be able to just export the code of what we need and send it over to developers.
  • Easier multi-media sending for images, videos, or files needed.
Twilio SMS is fantastic for anyone that wants their marketing or product to be more omnichannel. Meaning connecting with your customers on more than just email and social media which have become standard these days. On top of that, SMS marketing has insanely high open rates and due to that solid conversions, so it's a great tool for testing for direct e-commerce or selling things online to see if it produces an ROI.
Read Evan Laird's full review
April 04, 2019
Andrew Doar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We integrated Twilio into Salesforce as our live messaging (text/SMS) platform. Each of our sales representatives sends approximately 2,500 text messages per month. More than half of these messages are automated.

For now, Twilio is only used in our Sales organization to communicate with prospective tenants.

Twilio allows us to increase engagement with our leads.
  • Simple Salesforce integration. Twilio provided much-needed relief from Salesforce's built-in messaging platform (LiveMessage).
  • Intuitive and user-friendly. No training necessary for new users.
  • Responsive support. Twilio has technicians who are well-trained in identifying obstacles in a Salesforce integration.
  • Reading, Marking, and Archiving messages require far too many clicks.
  • Both Twilio and Salesforce are to blame for this: Configuring how messages are routed should be much simpler. Admin users still receive all text messages in their inbox. This requires time-consuming sifting and sorting.
  • Twilio does not have message previewing. I wish I could hover over an unread message and read its contents without having to open and read the message.
Twilio is well-suited for Salesforce integrations, automated messaging, and rapid communication with leads. If you are frustrated with Salesforce's built-in messaging platform (LiveMessage), I would recommend implementing Twilio.

If text messaging is not a critical part of your operations, Twilio is not necessary. If you send fewer than 500 messages per month, you should probably stick with your messaging service through a mobile provider.
Read Andrew Doar's full review
June 05, 2019
Mitch Hubbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Authy as the SysAdmin to add security to my web access for various platforms.
  • Ease of Use
  • Quick User Interface
  • None that I've run into yet
If you value security Authy is a great form of two-factor authentication.
Read Mitch Hubbell's full review
October 25, 2018
Jeff Eaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization hasn't standardized on a 2FA system yet, but after a phone reset nuked my Google Authenticator information, another employee recommended checking out Authy. Since then I've moved about 20-30 2FA accounts to Authy, and use them across three different devices. We're big fans of the additional security that 2FA brings, but the risk of losing everything if one device fails is a real worry. At least so far, Authy has been a great compromise.
  • Easy addition of new 2FA accounts, either manually or using QR codes.
  • Quick recognition of sites the accounts map to, and import of favicons for quick recognition.
  • Automatic syncing of 2FA information between devices.
  • Locating specific accounts once you've added more than a dozen or so can be a pain — a way to categorize or group them would be VERY welcome.
  • Couldn't find a simple way to kill a device from my list of Authy devices — i.e. my phone was grabbed and I want to revoke its ability to generate 2FA keys. It may be possible, but it wasn't easy to find in the relatively streamlined mobile interface.
  • Ongoing prompts for my backup password are understandable but strange, since canceling the prompt still allows me to use Authy.
If you're currently using something like Google Authenticator, and struggling with multi-device scenarios, Authy is a welcome relief. If you have a bigger list of accounts, a tool like 1Password might be more appropriate — although we haven't tried to move any 2FA accounts to it yet, it has much more robust tools for selective sharing of accounts between users, grouping and organizing, etc.
Read Jeff Eaton's full review
October 17, 2018
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization, we use Twilio to send text message alerts to our subscribers. While the primary delivery channel for our content is via email, as a premium upsell feature we offer our same content sent as a text message as well. Many people currently prefer to receive alerts via SMS rather than email, so it's a nice perk for them.
  • Sending the same text message to thousands of users. With Twilio's number pooling, you can use a "number pool" of regular phone numbers to round-robin send the same content to 1000s of users without getting blocked by the carriers.
  • Great Ruby API, very easy to use and write unit tests for
  • Call forwarding to your personal cellphone, to allow users to reach you (after going through an automated phone tree)
  • Price is expensive. Twilio is the market leader and thus they charge more than their competitors. By far our most expensive SaaS service is Twilio.
  • Support reps are not always helpful
  • Documentation can be confusing at times
When you have a big list of users that get occasional text messages, Twilio is perfect. With Twilio's number pooling feature it makes implementing this a snap. However, if you need to frequently send texts to a big list, the cost is going to grow too rapidly for most business models and thus it is untenable.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
March 13, 2018
Olivia Capizzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio SMS is built into our software and allows us to relay text messages through auxiliary numbers in order to protect contact information (in a very similar model to Lyft and Uber).
  • Twilio SMS support is on point! Their messaging rates aren't the cheapest but if there's something that you are scratching you head to find the answer to, Twilio has it on lock!
  • The UI is particularly easy to use and easy-to-understand, easy to modify at any given time.
  • Twilio SMS provides detailed bug reports and offers good guidance on where to look for origination of errors in our system.
  • UI interface collapses randomly bringing you back to the Dashboard page.
  • Wish that "Active Numbers" page could further segment. If you have thousands of numbers used for different things in your application, it's impossible to group them or anything so they are just lumped into one gigantic folder.
  • The sales department is a little intense. Like 8 emails in the past month about scheduling a meeting that's kinda far out.
Customer engagement is a great scenario for Twilio, for an application where someone needs a little handholding, but not a bunch. We have found that when they work with our development team they answer so many questions in minutes that we might have been mulling over and researching for days. Where Twilio wouldn't be appropriate, maybe when sending mass text messages just for the hell of it. Their messaging rates are a little high in the industry.
Read Olivia Capizzi's full review
March 13, 2018
Rich Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio SMS is used for our transactional notifications and lender alerts.
  • Very reliable service
  • Consistent deliverability
  • Well documented
  • Copilot telephone number pooling
  • Expensive compared to competitors
  • Version control can be wayward in docs
  • Unable to download more than 10,000 logs at one go
Twilio is perfect for transactional notifications where high deliverability and reliability trump cost. Inbound messaging is comprehensively covered so works well for scenarios where auto responses are necessary like a chat bot. Only available via the API so not helpful for one-off marketing campaigns, better to use a competitor like FireText if a non-technical team member needs to create a campaign. Copilot feature makes pooling US numbers very simple and user-friendly - easy to get around the 1 message per second and to ensure the same user is only reached from the same number. Copilot also enables international phone number pooling, choosing the nearest available number. Purchasing telephone numbers is very cheap (typically $1 per month per number) and easy - we've only had one time where they have run out of US numbers. International texts can be reasonably priced, especially in the US. Very expensive in the UK compared to some other competitors such as Voodoo SMS. Denmark and Aus oddly expensive. Generous discounts available for Y Combinator alumni with and ongoing discount if you have the volumes. Live reporting is difficult to filter and slow to use. Live texts typically do not appear until at least 2 minutes after sent. Support is fantastic, although good luck getting someone on the phone!
Read Rich Warren's full review
March 09, 2018
Ivan Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Twilio to send text messages to both our clients and their customers when they book reservations. We also use it to verify we have a mobile phone number for the customer, send virtual gift cards, and more.
  • Twilio appears to very easy to configure.
  • Twilio offers great reporting tools so we can scan text messages that are sent without having use a website control panel or build a custom UX.
  • Twilio prices were more affordable than our previous solution and appear to scale well for future needs.
  • As we have started using Twilio for additional notifications, we would like to label them. The tools to do so did not seem as easy as I would expect. They want us to set up a different number for each notification, but that would cause the user to get messages pertaining to the same action from different numbers and doesn't seem smart.
  • We had a few errors with Twilio adding an extra 1 to the US country code that we were not sending them. Made us wonder if some prefixes were flagged.
Use Twilio any time you need to send automated text messages or voice messages. I'm sure there are other notification types that are useful too.
Read Ivan Collins's full review
March 07, 2018
Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Twilio SMS with my customers to initiate chat applications from text messages. I've found that this works particularly well with my recruiting customers. I can create chat applications (live or bot-based) and then, using Twilio SMS, initiate those applications from text messages.

In practice it works like this. A webpage, social media ad, or search engine ad displays the message, "Text 'jobs' to ###-###-####." The prospect sends a one-word text that says, "jobs" to the number provided. That number is one that I purchased through Twilio and connected to my chat application. The initial message starts a text conversation with either a bot or a person and the prospect gets his or her questions answered.

By connecting applicants to a human or a bot instantly, we can usually increase our clients hire rate significantly while reducing the time it takes to schedule interviews.
  • Twilio provides reliable phone numbers that we can track to gain analytics on how they are used.
  • Twilio provides phone numbers that we can connect to chat applications so that they can be initiated via text message.
  • Twilio provides excellent tech support.
  • Twilio's setup process can be a bit tech-heavy, so if you aren't used to using APIs and integrations, you may want to have someone set it up for you.
  • Twilio's usage analytics could be more comprehensive and user friendly.
  • This might seem picky, but Twilio make you use a overly complicated password to login. I use at least a dozen online tools and this is the only platform that does this to me. As a result I can never remember the password and I always have to look it up. It's not a major negative, but it is a hassle when you're super busy.
Twilio works well for initiating chat applications. It works well for providing trackable phone numbers to enhance the SEO and conversions on your website. Twilio numbers offer programmable voice, text, video, chat, and fax capabilities which makes for a lot of very versatile features that you may not have with a landline or mobile number.

You obviously don't want to rely on Twilio for making emergency calls, because, although their up-time is extremely good, they are susceptible to internet outages.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
March 07, 2018
Nicholas Kouvatsos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Twilio to send out SMS and MMS message to our list of subscribers. We've written a custom integration with Infusionsoft to accomplish this. We also use the Twilio Studio for campaigns like "Text SLIDES to ????? to receive the slides from this presentation."
  • We like Twilio because it's so much less expensive than any other provider.
  • The entire system is built on API calls, so Twilio is completely customizable, and not limited by a user interface.
  • I've been playing with the Studio recently, and I think some additional functionality could be built in. I was trying to be foward thinking and thought I may be able to build out separate flows that interact with each other. So instead of creating one massive flow for every foreseeable interaction, I could build out a front end flow to determine which flow to direct them. If they text "SLIDES" it would direct them to the flow that handles slides. If they text "DISCOUNT" it would direct them to the DISCOUNT flow. If they texted something that didn't match, they'd be directed to a default flow. Within each flow, I should be able to reuse common items, like trying to match them up to someone already in my database, without having to rewrite the flow arguments every time.
I'd certainly recommend if they have the ability to write code or have someone who can. But if they don't, there isn't really a user interface to send text messages.
Read Nicholas Kouvatsos's full review
March 06, 2018
Peter Lange | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Twilio in a host of applications that are developed by my company. First, we have it integrated into our CRM platform, enabling our customers to correspond with their leads via SMS messages. We also use it for verifying password change requests. Also, we use it in a variety of insurance industry related portal applications to send alerts to the insureds when a new business policy is written, or when a new document or bill is available.
  • Twilio obviously does a great job at sending SMS Messages. The delivery is quick and never fails. The coding for sending them is relatively simple
  • They provide you with a lot of options in terms of selecting your own phone number to use from their pool of local numbers.
  • Their customer service is prompt and responsive and makes every effort to help you even with technical problems.
  • Their documentation could be greatly improved. It can be hard to figure out what you are looking for if you don't already know where an how to look for it. When new features are added, also their communication of those features is sometimes non-existent.
  • Their API is easy to use, once you understand it. But in getting to that point, it can be hard to understand. For example, I doubt that the average person will understand that there is in fact a messaging queue and that something can be removed from the queue before it sends (if you are quick and lucky) and more importantly, why would the average person want to??
Twilio is great for sending text messages from websites, and from apps and services. I use it to alert me when scheduled jobs don't happen, as well as to alert my customers when certain actions are taken in their website that they want immediate notification for. If you deal with anything that is mission critical, and you just get too much email to ever notice an emailed alert, getting a text message (or even a phone call from their voice service) is just the ticket.
Read Peter Lange's full review
March 14, 2018
Brad Ranks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Twilio to communicate via SMS to partners and employees. It give us a way of managing texts from specific groups to select groups as well as individuals. It helped us automate the process, rather than relying on mobile phone carriers and their networks. For us, this is a perfect solution.
  • Easy to implement
  • Reliable
  • retainable
  • Deliverability can go out, but it seems to be rectified quickly.
  • Outage notifications would be helpful for administrators to be able to disable the service during an outage, so the issue does not compound.
Perfect for automation.
Read Brad Ranks's full review
March 09, 2018
Akram Hasan Sharkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started as a small company, and soon realized we needed voice and SMS integration. We tried all possible hardware installations, but there was too much drama and it was expensive. Then we decided to look for any alternatives, honestly there were many but not many that fulfilled our needs. When we found Twilio we were amazed at how easy it was to implement SMS and voice integration.

Their API was very easy to understand and make it work with our projects. Ever since we are using Twilio with all our projects.
  • Their fast and secure API
  • Easy documentation and amazing customer support
  • Detailed log for all activities
  • SDK for all programming languages
  • Pretty much everything seems okay to us, though I would appreciate it if their pricing went down a little bit.
Twilio is amazing for 2 step authentication. SMS notification, 2 way SMS. As well as voice calls. It was very easy to configure Twilio with our system. It also works great for SMS marketing.
Read Akram Hasan Sharkar's full review
April 11, 2017
Doug Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio SMS is integrated in our SaaS application called the Atrium by LSPWare LLC. It will send SMS text messages to interpreters asking them if they can accept an interpretation job. They can respond via SMS if they are interested in the job. These SMS text messages are fully integrated into the product and will automatically assign interpreters to jobs.
  • Twilio's interface (web site) is very intuitive and modern to use.
  • Twilio's services are growing. We started to use their phone number formatting service (free) to recognize what country the phone number came from and how to format it in their locale.
  • We plan to use additional services in Twilio like using multiple local phone numbers for some of our larger clients that send tens of thousands of text messages.
  • Twilio's logs could be better. There are times I want to report on how many outgoing and incoming SMS messages I have sent via the app. This information is obtainable but could be improved upon by more filters.
If you are a SaaS company and need to integrate with SMS, phone or video, Twilio is for you. There pricing structure is pretty straightforward and allows you to auto-reload your account when your balance is low. This is a nice feature, as I don't have to worry about not sending SMS messages because I forgot to fund the account.
Read Doug Smith's full review
September 07, 2016
Ben Farmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio SMS is powerful in its sheer simplicity to use and implement. SMS is ubiquitous today and a simple concept to understand - but Twilio SMS makes it as easy to use as it is to understand why you need to use it. From billing, segmentation, APIs, debugging, documentation - it's simple to use and works as expected. Every time.
  • It's simple to implement from a programmatic standpoint
  • The APIs are extremely well documented
  • It's very cost effective
  • If you don't have control over the application level, it might be hard to integrate
  • Initially, the usage limits are low
When you need to send SMS messages (or even MMS) and you have control of the applications - Twilio should be the default choice. There are a couple of instances where Twilio SMS might not make sense: 1. If the initial volume of messages was very high and there was willingness to invest in the time and effort in building the carrier connections to directly send the SMS messages. 2. The originating SMS number was highly dynamic - Twilio requires authorization verification to send out an SMS as a number. While Twilio provides excellent APIs to automate this process, it could be an issue needs to be considered.
Read Ben Farmer's full review
January 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Twilio WebRTC is being used by our company to power online calls between our customer support team and users as well as between different types of users themselves. As we already use Twilio's Programmable Chat API to power chat communications on our platform, this feature fits in quite naturally into our use case allowing users to communicate with each other directly from our chat interface. Twilio is the center of all communication on our platform for our users.
  • Twilio's web client gives you everything you need to begin integrating Twilio WebRTC into your platform.
  • It has quite a powerful tech stack where certain features are simply plug and play.
  • The ability to call actual phone numbers and not just app to app phone calls is quite handy.
  • There is some latency when calling international phone numbers.
  • You are charged for both incoming and outgoing calls so your costs can go up quite quickly depending on usage.
  • VoIP laws come into the picture depending on where you are located. You may need to get your IP whitelisted by your provider to allow VoIP calls within your location if this is the case for you. Would be great if Twilio could assist with this aspect.
If you have the budget to support call communication channels as well as a technical team to help you with the implementation of the solution, Twilio WebRTC would be right for you. I would only recommend this solution if you have exhausted all other avenues of communication on your platform (example: chat, asynchronous messenger). The costs of a paid WebRTC solution can go up quite quickly so that needs to be kept in mind, although you will be paying for a quality product from one of the leaders in the industry.
Read this authenticated review

What is Twilio?

Twilio offers a CPaaS and CCaaS solution, with the combination of its programmable Voice, Video, and Messaging APIs, as well as the Twilio Flex cloud contact center. Additional capabilities include Twilio's Elastic SIP Trunking, as well as API for WhatsApp.

Twilio Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Local Calls$0.013Per Minute
Toll-Free Calls$0.013Per Minute
Browser / App Calls$0.040Per Minute

Twilio Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No