TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sN/4L/09VEX1FJZL7D.JPEGA great cost-effective BI Package - Dundas BIWe are using Dundas BI for Data Analysis and Reporting purposes by our Data Analysis department. For now, it allows us to generate reports, graphs, dashboards etc for our members.,Their biggest strength is their customer support. I have not seen any other product company being so supportive and helpful for any issues being faced by the customers. Dundas BI has a very intuitive and easy to learn UI. This enables a quick pickup. They are very quick on updates and keep on adding newer features with frequent version upgrades.,Some of the features relating to the Look and Feel section are not so easy to grasp and in some places, they are kind of redundant. Need some work there. Also, they ought to add a few more types of filters for working on data like a sliding calendar range filter,9,,9,9,Microsoft SQL Server,No,10,Yes,There was this issue regarding the export to pdf for which I had to get back to them many times but every time I received a response and they were always very pleasant to communicate with making the overall experience very nice. They didn't have the solution at hand but they went out of their way to find and provide me with a workaround so that I could generate my reports on time.Overall a great product with good levels of configuration and data connectivityDundas BI is currently being used as a solution for some of our clients in the industry, seeking to visualise the industrial data that they have to allow them to monitor key metrics as well as provide key reports for management. Dundas BI is primarily used/implemented by the front-end/reporting solution team.,Easy to set up and configure visualisations and reports Good documentation and online resources Good integration with many data providers Some ETL functionality outside of SQL to allow users with no access to the main SQL DB or SQL skills to easily perform data manipulation Good email support with good level of technical knowledge to help address the issue. Prompt response times.,GUI layout is not fully intuitive with menu and tabs sometimes being too hidden Only good up for basic-intermediate level of data complexity. Complex data manipulations/visualisations often involve a very difficult/almost hacky workaround using scripts. Scripting documentation isn't always comprehensively available. Check-in check-out feature needs improvement as it often triggers a page refresh, which makes the experience slow and clunky. Version history has a limited view, so comments aren't easily viewable, making rolling back a bit difficult.,8,TIBCO Spotfire,9,8,TIBCO SpotfireDundas, finally an easy to use cross platform reporting tool.We use Dundas BI for two main purposes. The first one is internal, to provide dashboards and reports for our sales and marketing teams. The second use case is to generate data export (summaries, nicely formatted) for our clients. The last use case is to quickly display some ad-hoc analysis to answer internal requests.,Getting ready really quick - installation and set up is the easiest I have seen. Amazing pre-sales support, with very friendly and efficient people. Full web interface - completely cross-platform once Dundas BI is installed.,With great power comes great responsibility - you can do a lot and then some to style your dashboards, but it can become time-consuming to style it right. The support team is North America based. They are efficient, but if you are a few time zones away, even a small discussion can span multiple days.,8,Tableau Server, Pentaho, TIBCO Jaspersoft and Zoho Analytics,9,6,Hadoop, Apache Kafka, PentahoHappy with value, still working out the kinksI assisted with selection of a Business Intelligence tool for a healthcare client. We selected Dundas BI as the first foray into in-house analytics beyond ad hoc SQL queries. It is gradually being rolled out to additional users as both power users and standard users, though currently it is mostly used by developers and the DBA.,Easy to create aestheically pleasing visualizations Easy naviagation for people used to MS look and feel ETL layer allows for advanced development,Response is always speedy from customer service, though frequently is not as thorough as expected Slower performance of wide tables for reports Migration between environments is very manual,7,Pentaho, Microsoft Power BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and Sisense,8,9,Pentaho, SQL Developer, JIRA SoftwareDundas BI Version 5, Meeting all your dashboard needs with a smileWhen I got to this company they had Dundas BI but it was not being fully utilized. I was brought in to solve that issue. The company has lots of useful data that just was not being utilized in a good manner. We, of course, have some executive financial and Human Resource dashboards. Since I have come along I have added a Board of Directors Quarterly reporting dashboard, an HR Turnover, Labor Utilization set of dashboards that have been broadening out to answer even more reporting needs, one that tracks the status of delivery orders, and an overall main project overview. I also created inventory abbreviations lookup table. Our company is getting more exposed to what Dundas can do as I add more dashboards, they are now asking "can Dundas do this for us instead of trying to assemble the data themselves.",Project organization from Development to Production, you get a production and development license but I think the best way to do it is with DEV and Prod project in the Production box. Use the development box for testing updates and really crazy things. With the Dev and Prod projects on the same box, you just publish from Dev to Prod and you are done. Users only have access to the Prod projects so no one can mess up what you are working on. Security - If you have a hierarchy (subsidiaries, divisions, department, teams) and you want each group to see only their data, then Security hierarchies are for you! Dependent filters! What's this you ask? Here is an example of how it can be used, in your company you have departments and who works for what department is in your database. You make a dashboard that has a department filter (only show these departments), a managers filter, and employee filter. Not every manager or employee is in multiple departments usually only one. With dependent filters you can say that the manager and employee filter are dependent on what is selected in the departments filter so when you go to filter them they only show the managers or employees that are part of that department, and you can even it do so employees are not only dependent on department but on manager as well. Then it gets even better as it can be done in reverse as well so when you select a manager then go to the department it only shows the departments he works for (there are better situations where this is more useful). It is scriptable! From calculate columns, null replacements, button actions, load actions, hover over events there a way to do what you want. They are constantly improving and listens to your suggestions.,Setting up security is easy but reviewing it later could be made easier. Dashboard templates - tried to use them but I do not design mine to fit in a box.,10,10,9
Windows, Linux, Mac, Any HTML5 browser on the client side. Server side is running on Windows
Dundas BI
57 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Dundas BI Reviews

Dundas BI
57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 57 vetted Dundas BI reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ravi Bansal profile photo
September 25, 2018

Review: "A great cost-effective BI Package - Dundas BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dundas BI for Data Analysis and Reporting purposes by our Data Analysis department. For now, it allows us to generate reports, graphs, dashboards etc for our members.
  • Their biggest strength is their customer support. I have not seen any other product company being so supportive and helpful for any issues being faced by the customers.
  • Dundas BI has a very intuitive and easy to learn UI. This enables a quick pickup.
  • They are very quick on updates and keep on adding newer features with frequent version upgrades.
  • Some of the features relating to the Look and Feel section are not so easy to grasp and in some places, they are kind of redundant. Need some work there.
  • Also, they ought to add a few more types of filters for working on data like a sliding calendar range filter
For all the scenarios I have so far worked on or I am currently working on, Dundas BI has proved to be more than adequate and apt to handle all of those.
Read Ravi Bansal's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

Dundas BI Review: "Overall a great product with good levels of configuration and data connectivity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas BI is currently being used as a solution for some of our clients in the industry, seeking to visualise the industrial data that they have to allow them to monitor key metrics as well as provide key reports for management. Dundas BI is primarily used/implemented by the front-end/reporting solution team.
  • Easy to set up and configure visualisations and reports
  • Good documentation and online resources
  • Good integration with many data providers
  • Some ETL functionality outside of SQL to allow users with no access to the main SQL DB or SQL skills to easily perform data manipulation
  • Good email support with good level of technical knowledge to help address the issue. Prompt response times.
  • GUI layout is not fully intuitive with menu and tabs sometimes being too hidden
  • Only good up for basic-intermediate level of data complexity. Complex data manipulations/visualisations often involve a very difficult/almost hacky workaround using scripts.
  • Scripting documentation isn't always comprehensively available.
  • Check-in check-out feature needs improvement as it often triggers a page refresh, which makes the experience slow and clunky.
  • Version history has a limited view, so comments aren't easily viewable, making rolling back a bit difficult.
Very well suited for conditioned data that requires minimal post SQL data manipulation. Great for projects with a data complexity that is easy to moderately complex. Data that requires complex visualisation and representation can be done with the Dundas' support, but can be a bit hacky at times.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 11, 2019

Dundas BI Review: "Dundas, finally an easy to use cross platform reporting tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dundas BI for two main purposes. The first one is internal, to provide dashboards and reports for our sales and marketing teams. The second use case is to generate data export (summaries, nicely formatted) for our clients. The last use case is to quickly display some ad-hoc analysis to answer internal requests.
  • Getting ready really quick - installation and set up is the easiest I have seen.
  • Amazing pre-sales support, with very friendly and efficient people.
  • Full web interface - completely cross-platform once Dundas BI is installed.
  • With great power comes great responsibility - you can do a lot and then some to style your dashboards, but it can become time-consuming to style it right.
  • The support team is North America based. They are efficient, but if you are a few time zones away, even a small discussion can span multiple days.
Dundas BI is really quick to get started. The license structure is very easy to follow and actually quite cheap. If you need a way to allow exports and login for users, this is built in. I am not a massive user, but for a small/medium company at least, I have not found a scenario where Dundas BI would not [be a good] fit.
Read this authenticated review
George Robbins profile photo
May 28, 2018

Dundas BI Review: "Happy with value, still working out the kinks"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I assisted with selection of a Business Intelligence tool for a healthcare client. We selected Dundas BI as the first foray into in-house analytics beyond ad hoc SQL queries. It is gradually being rolled out to additional users as both power users and standard users, though currently it is mostly used by developers and the DBA.
  • Easy to create aestheically pleasing visualizations
  • Easy naviagation for people used to MS look and feel
  • ETL layer allows for advanced development
  • Response is always speedy from customer service, though frequently is not as thorough as expected
  • Slower performance of wide tables for reports
  • Migration between environments is very manual
Considering it's price point in the market, Dundas BI offers a lot of functionality. They are constantly adding features and bug fixes which is great, but also means there are always updates to take if you want everything to work as expected. The standard user interface is pretty easy to understand, but it takes a while for developers and power users to become independent of documentation.
Read George Robbins's full review
James Davis profile photo
May 09, 2018

Review: "Dundas BI Version 5, Meeting all your dashboard needs with a smile"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I got to this company they had Dundas BI but it was not being fully utilized. I was brought in to solve that issue. The company has lots of useful data that just was not being utilized in a good manner.
We, of course, have some executive financial and Human Resource dashboards. Since I have come along I have added a Board of Directors Quarterly reporting dashboard, an HR Turnover, Labor Utilization set of dashboards that have been broadening out to answer even more reporting needs, one that tracks the status of delivery orders, and an overall main project overview.
I also created inventory abbreviations lookup table.
Our company is getting more exposed to what Dundas can do as I add more dashboards, they are now asking "can Dundas do this for us instead of trying to assemble the data themselves."
  • Project organization from Development to Production, you get a production and development license but I think the best way to do it is with DEV and Prod project in the Production box. Use the development box for testing updates and really crazy things. With the Dev and Prod projects on the same box, you just publish from Dev to Prod and you are done. Users only have access to the Prod projects so no one can mess up what you are working on.
  • Security - If you have a hierarchy (subsidiaries, divisions, department, teams) and you want each group to see only their data, then Security hierarchies are for you!
  • Dependent filters! What's this you ask? Here is an example of how it can be used, in your company you have departments and who works for what department is in your database. You make a dashboard that has a department filter (only show these departments), a managers filter, and employee filter. Not every manager or employee is in multiple departments usually only one. With dependent filters you can say that the manager and employee filter are dependent on what is selected in the departments filter so when you go to filter them they only show the managers or employees that are part of that department, and you can even it do so employees are not only dependent on department but on manager as well. Then it gets even better as it can be done in reverse as well so when you select a manager then go to the department it only shows the departments he works for (there are better situations where this is more useful).
  • It is scriptable! From calculate columns, null replacements, button actions, load actions, hover over events there a way to do what you want.
  • They are constantly improving and listens to your suggestions.
  • Setting up security is easy but reviewing it later could be made easier.
  • Dashboard templates - tried to use them but I do not design mine to fit in a box.
I have as yet come across something that it is not well suited for. I also did not find it that hard to learn how to use. They have two good way to get help if you get stuck on something a user forum and support staff that will help you get done what you are trying to do.
Read James Davis's full review
Joseph R. Sweeney profile photo
April 12, 2018

Dundas BI Review: "Robust and Fully Loaded"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We employed several BI tools when my previous department in Financial Analysis decided to revamp our data processing capabilities. We needed a system that would integrate well with the other programs that we were using as well as other vendors' systems. The reporting feature was vital as we needed our customers to generate reports on the fly as well as access their own data.
  • Programming flexibility allows you to fully customize the interface as well as generate completely customizable reports
  • Very user-friendly as the GUI is quite modern and self-explanatory
  • API is robust and the amount of pre-programmed graphs and charts are useful for getting up and running quickly
  • No predictive analysis features and so a lot of trending data must be done in a roundabout fashion.
  • Almost too many features. It can be overwhelming if you don't have programming or coding capabilities.
I do think that Dundas BI is well suited for many applications and companies that are looking for a robust BI tool. Dundas BI has much in the way of customizing the user interface as well as the reporting both internally and externally. It needs to be more robust in the way it connects with other products out there, though, and since we were using a lot of external vendor's software we needed to switch to a more versatile BI tool.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Alexandru Giurgiu profile photo
May 10, 2018

Dundas BI Review: "Dundas .. Great but a little quirky"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to create BI reports for our customer. We custom create the templates for all our customers as the software allows for multi-tenancy. This means when anyone logs in it will be tailored to their needs. This also means we can connect to multiple databases and further tailor to our customers' needs.
  • Easy to publish from a working in progress /demo to the live version
  • Easy to pick up and do someting
  • Working with cubes makes manipulating data quite easy
  • Report pagination to be improved... It's just very clunky and hard to figure out
  • It needs to make hierarchies more straightforward. they don't work as expected and a separate cube just to set up the structure of the hierarchy
  • Make multiple connections possible with multitenancy
If you have the need for multi-tenancy and the need to make very flexible reports then this is good. if you are only using it for personal BI reporting, then it is a bit overkill. I also have to mention that although it is easy to pick up, it has quite a steep learning curve to master
Read Alexandru Giurgiu's full review
No photo available
June 21, 2018

Review: "Dundas BI... finding the balance between great and awesome for years."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a vast amount of data that comes into and is created by our internal systems. Until we found Dundas BI, we had no real repeatable way to visualize this data and effectively mine it for good information. We are using it in a few departments initially, but have plans to roll it out our entire organization within the year.
  • Dundas BI is highly flexible out of the box. It has nearly all standard visualization types and some that aren't as standard.
  • The style (look & feel) of the visualizations are customizable in almost every way.
  • The ability to connect to a large amount of data sources is powerful. It allows us to mix data from several systems and visualize it all together.
  • They expose REST, .NET, and JavaScript API's that give a software engineer the ability to connect to many other (proprietary or otherwise) data sources, as well as, changing the behavior of visualizations if so desired.
  • They are currently not as mobile friendly/responsive as I would like as some of the "touch" features don't work as I would expect.
  • With great flexibility comes some complexity. The learning curve is short but a bit steep. Better documentation would be extremely helpful.
  • Security is a bit lacking. Low level security is lacking completely if you plan to use a pre-compiled data cube. However, they have informed us that a new feature set will be released soon to fill this gap.
Currently, we don't use the user defined analytic abilities of Dundas BI, but I can see it is a powerful way to utilize the tool. Our users interact with dashboards that are created and published to an existing customer portal. Their white labeling is adequate and the customer service is very good. Once the documentation becomes more robust it will be a huge plus, but at the moment it is lacking in volume.
Read this authenticated review
Saurav Gupta profile photo
December 07, 2017

Review: "Dundas BI - Advance Data Visualization Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a product based company, we have embedded this product into our cloud-based Customer Experience Management (CEM) solution product. It provides the BI/reporting functionality which we deliver as part of our product set.
  • Dundas BI is a Powerful BI tool with many features to quickly build up reports, Dashboard etc.
  • Many data connectivity options for advanced DBs and big data
  • Great Customer Service- support team was great and was able to help us in solving critical issues.
  • Should provide installation support on Linux
  • Should provide detailed documentation regarding JavaScript API
Best suited for enterprise-level business Dashboards, data analytics. The tool is easy-to-learn and easy to work with. Needs to improve report designer to build report, Scorecards.
Read Saurav Gupta's full review
Shivam Shukla profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Dundas BI in one glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dundas BI to create and develop high performing reports which we deliver to end users. Yes, It is being used by our R & D team.

It is used as a tool to analyze, monitor and solve the quality related issues of teleservice providers.
  • Easy to develop and manage reports.
  • Look and Feel is better than other BI tools in the market.
  • It is easy to integrate the scripting languages like JavaScript, Python, PHP etc., in the reports to perform various dynamic tasks which are otherwise difficult to implement in the BI tool.
  • Re-Visualizing the data in the form of the table|Bar Chart|Stacked Chart|Map etc., is very easy and switching it back is just one click.
  • Auto-save functionality of the reports is an add-ON with the enhanced security features.
  • Present version is the Windows platform dependent, It should have the Unix version also since Unix is a widely used OS across industries.
  • It should have a feature to schedule the export of the 'Project'. As of now, we have to manually export the reports/projects.
  • Integrating too many JS makes it little unresponsive and doesn't show the correct data, We have to clear the cookies/cache to bring it back in functional mode. The robustness should be improved further.
It can be used across small to large businesses. Its performance, round trip time to execute and render the result is better.
Read Shivam Shukla's full review
Shachar Hallas profile photo
December 05, 2017

"Dundas BI Review in Telecom industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Dundas BI (DBI) platform is not for in-house use. It is the product we sell to end users in our customers' companies. We present them their network KPI and the quality of experience of their subscribers.
  • Very flexible with many open APIs like JavaScript, ReST, Python platforms and more
  • Great and vary visualizations
  • Web based HTML 5 support
  • Many data connectivity options for advanced DBs and big data
  • Server to run on Linux is a must in telecom industry
DBI has many great visualizations that can fit to any case you aimed to. I can't say that there are scenarios where it is less appropriate.
Read Shachar Hallas's full review
Marc Ham profile photo
June 02, 2017

Review: "Dundas BI from a consultant's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas BI is used for reports but also supplied as a SaaS solution for our customers who don't have the IT skills or time to implement this themselves. For us Dundas keeps us informed about outstanding helpdesk tickets and supplies us with the main management information. Our SaaS clients mainly use it for management and operational information.
  • Dundas has a large library of visual components for creating great looking dashboards.
  • Dundas is a platform that lets you easily lets you change existing dashboards.
  • Dundas has a lot of default connectors to different resources that let you access remote data very fast.
  • Performance is always a factor for improvement, dashboards can never be fast enough for our clients.
Dundas is perfect for creating visual dashboards to distribute throughout the organisation either by link/website or by standardized PDF reports or Excel reports sent by email. It's also very easy to manage user rights and authentication levels in the reports.

Dundas is less suitable for creating dashboards for people who want to do a lot of ad-hoc querying of large data sets of information.
Read Marc Ham's full review
Joe Gelata profile photo
May 30, 2017

User Review: "Happy Dundas BI customer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dundas BI across our entire organization. It is owned and managed by our central Business Operations team but leveraged by groups such as Development, Product Management, Marketing, Sales, Customer Experience, Finance, and HR. Dundas allows us to aggregate datasets from across all of these teams so we can build real-time and ad-hoc dashboards that visualize our entire customer journey - regardless of where the data originates from. This gives us visibility into insights such as how a prospect's engagement with marketing content may influence later sales conversion or how engagement inside our application may influence a customer's risk of churning.
  • Data transformation and warehousing. These are key to ensure data is available from all sources across our organization in a usable format so we can quickly get to the business insights we need.
  • Flexible visualization. Dundas offers a deeper visualization engine than any other tool we reviewed. This allows us to present any type of data + non-data driven content in real-time dashboards.
  • Flexible Pricing Model. Dundas has many different pricing options so we were able to choose one that made the most sense for us and fit into our budget.
  • Complex interface for building dashboards. The cost of flexible visualization is a lot of steps to build a dashboard. There's a steep learning curve for new users but once the creation process is learned, it becomes very smooth.
Dundas BI is a great platform for those that are invested in a long-term BI solution. It's very powerful and flexible at a reasonable price. It's also a great fit for organizations with multiple data sources. Anyone looking for a small tool for quick analysis will see limited benefit from a platform like Dundas.
Read Joe Gelata's full review
Mark Josephson profile photo
May 26, 2017

User Review: "Dundas BI from a Non-Techie"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas BI is being implemented in our organization as a visualization tool to display data to internal and external customers via our custom web portal. We are using it to slowly replace static reports wherever possible and training more users to create their own tools in Dundas BI. Right now it is being used by a few users in every department and a few customers in each of our markets, but the goal is to roll it out to all customers and eventually have all internal users interacting with it on a daily basis.
  • It is extremely customizable through the use of HTML, JavaScript, and CSS if required.
  • Very easy to start using for non-power users. With a friendly interface.
  • Data Cubes make further data cleanup/crunching/merging easy for non-DBAs.
  • Some default formatting is tedious to remove if it does not fit into your overall aesthetic.
  • Data Cubes are very powerful, but require a little but of knowledge of data structures.
  • Not ideal for real-time data display.
Dundas BI excels at aggregating granular data across different time hierarchies (Hour > Day > Month > Etc.) and custom data element (Person A > Group X > Division Z > Company ACME) hierarchies. The only place we have found that Dundas BI struggles is with data that is frequently updating in real time (i.e. telemetry that updates ever 1-2 seconds). But for displaying historical and even semi-real time (updated every 30 seconds) it is a great tool with low barriers to entry from a financial perspective and a learning curve perspective.
Read Mark Josephson's full review
Luis Silva profile photo
April 28, 2017

Dundas BI Review: "Get insights of your data on the fly with DBI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Dundas BI to monitor and act based on the state of a set of defined KPI's. It's used across various departments: finance, public works, provision services, organization workflow. As an example, some workflow tasks have a due time, so we track the ratio of the overdue tasks and act upon it, adjusting man power if needed or change the task execution time in order to optimize this ratio. We also use ad-hoc analysis to get a better understanding of the quality of the data being produced by our ERP's.
  • Creating data analysis on the fly is very easy! You only need to create a data connector and from there you can start analysing your data just by draging and droping atributes from tables to the canvas!
  • For executives with little time for viewing dashboards, you can create scheduled or data driven notification that can send the dashboard by email!
  • At any time you can revisualize your data with different visualization, e.g., a bar chart can change to a line chart with just two clicks!
  • DBI version 4 has introduced some awesome features: data correction, what-if-analysis, some new types of data visualizations like sankey chart, correlation matrix, support for svg files.
  • I felt the need to create a calculated metric based on metrics from different metric sets
In my experience and regarding the projects that I worked with Dundas BI it suites perfectly well. Connecting to Oracle and SQL Server databases and making data analysis with dashboards, scorecards and reports is very efficient and performant! Even when the size of the data being analysed is quite big, you can benefit from the cache feature that it offers!
Read Luis Silva's full review
David Glickman profile photo
June 15, 2017

Dundas BI Review: "Customisable to the max"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dundas BI to implement market research dashboards for our clients.
  • Flexibility - you can pretty much do anything
  • Great community for discussion and support
  • Multi-tenancy option so you can brand and separate per client
  • No major issues
  • Steep learning curve but there is a lot of built in code generation
Custom dashboards with pretty much any look, feel and functionality that you desire.
Read David Glickman's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2017

Dundas BI Review: "My two cents of Dundas."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. We developed quite a few of dashboards using Dundas BI and these dashboards are consumed by different users within the organization. Dundas BI is used more for data visualization purposes, such as dashboards, scorecards, reports, etc.
  • The way visual components within Dundas look.
  • The fact that we could do a lot of customized things in Dundas using scripting.
  • More scripting examples, and more detailed documentation regarding API.
  • Came across a lot of deployment issues.
  • No easy way of batch processing.

If beautiful outlook of the data is what you are looking for, Dundas provides you with a lot of choices.

If you are looking for a tool that is easy-to-learn, or easy to work with, this is probably not the right tool for you.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2017

Dundas BI Review: "Embedding BI in your software our experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a software company. We embed the Dundas product into our web-based software products for our customers. It provides the BI/reporting functionality we need to deliver as part of our product set. For our customers, it gives them visibility on what their remote workers are doing in the field and how well they are doing it.
  • Support for multi-tenancy deployments. We have customers who have customers and we can segment data and reports just for them.
  • Easy to embed and we can control the security model within our app - no need to be forced to adopt their model.
  • Flexible and well thought out and open architecture.
  • More code examples and up-to-date code libraries.
  • Webinars that do not just occur at times that suit an EST audience.
Ideal for a company that has its own software that wants to embed a structured BI capability, not just a simple reporting function. If you are after a simple corporate BI tool you might want to look at using something else.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2017

"Dundas BI Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Dundas BI has been white labeled and is our primary data visualization tool for our Shiloh NEXT product. We use it to story-tell business issues and opportunities for our clients and for deep data insights.
  • Powerful data visualizations
  • Easily combine data from different sources
  • Easy social-type interactions with notifications and notes
  • Since there are so many options, it can be a bit overwhelming when first starting out.
Very simple for users to transform data into information and then visualize into stories. Re-visualization allows personalized content and the export feature to images, Excel, PowerPoint, Links, enable quick sharing of content.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2017

User Review: "Dundas BI: a real Swiss knife"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a reporting engineer for the sales and distribution department. I have been using dundas from the Dundas Dashboard. Last year we purchased the latest Dundas BI version. Currently, the solution is used in the distribution department. I use it to make dashboards and reports to highlight our sales force but also to keep track of our activities.
  • Dundas BI is truly awesome!
  • From the point of view of data processing, it is of unparalleled ease because it offers a wide range of useful tools in terms of data structure creation from any data source: Excel file, OLAP, non-OLAP). It is enough to establish the connection with the data source and to play with the utility to make the join if necessary.
  • For example if you have an Excel file, just drag and drop then you can show your data as you want and share it with colleagues or partners.
  • Sharing your work with many formats (Picture, CSV, a link)
  • Add the window management (I mean the CSS template or scripting) because sometimes the design of the dashboard is not obvious
  • Allow SMS sharing for outside team
  • Make the implementation part of the dashboard more intuitive, as is the management of data.
Dundas BI is very well adapted for the structuring part of the data and making reports with an existing Excel file and sharing it. Moreover, for the dashboarding part of an implementaton point of view of the dashboard, improvements could be made to facilitate the creation of the template in the dashboard. Sometimes it is not obvious especially if you do not have a graphic designer to cut out the images.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Burke profile photo
August 22, 2016

Dundas BI Review: "An Amazing way to Interact with Raw Data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas Bi is being used by our efficiency department to enhance the way we look at our raw data. Being able to interact with live raw data and see where we need to make improvements is fantastic. It is only being used within our department as of right now but I can suspect that it will continue to spread across the company.
  • The customizations that Dundas bi allows are phenomenal. Being able to display raw data in so many different ways gives them an advantage over everyone else.
  • Constantly improve their system based on the feedback of the users
  • Their support team is amazing! I have always received a well laid out response in under 24 hours and have even had a few online meetings with the support team to help clarify some things. They are great!
  • Some of the terminology and features can be foreign to some users including myself but since I began using the program 4 months ago, they have already been in the process of making things more user friendly.
Dundas has been able to almost perfect the BI system with their diverse functionalities. There is so much you can do with Dundas and I'm sure there is so much more ahead in the future.
Read Jeremy Burke's full review
Andy Carita profile photo
August 16, 2016

Dundas BI Review: "From raw data to interactive dashboard"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas BI is currently being used by almost all of our admin staff (managers, leadership, IT, HR, recruiting, etc). We implemented a dashboard tool to get away from Excel reporting and expose the data to everyone who needs to see it to help with data integrity and improve productivity. By creating interactive dashboards, we have been able to save our users time by providing the data they need in a fast and easy to use interface. We have also increased our time to market for creating dashboards the business needs.
  • Data Connectors: Dundas BI can connect natively to SQL (relational and OLAP/Tabular), SharePoint, Excel, and a slew of others. The system is flexible enough to allow a user to create their own data connector not available out of the box
  • Visualizations and Interactions: The standard visualizations do a great job of helping us tell a story with our data. Bar chart, pie charts, watefalls, pareto charts, etc., are all simple to set up with the ease of drag and drop. Likewise, the wizards for creating interactions on charts is great.
  • More advanced customizations and interactions can be accomplished via script.
  • HTML5: Dundas BI is based on HTML5, so it will work in any browser.
  • SharePoint/webapp integration: With the use of a web part, dashboards can be embedded within a SharePoint page. We can also take a dashboard we create and embed it in a custom web application.
  • The interface, while very nice, can be confusing to a new user. It takes a little getting used to, although I'm not sure I have any suggestions on making it better.
Dundas BI does great when you need to visualize lots of data. The ability to add filters, charts, tables makes displaying data easy. By using layers, you can create as many pages as you need, with the interactions to flip between those layers without writing any code.

I think where we may not need to use Dundas BI is when someone requests a data dump or Excel style report or just a table filled with data without the need for visuals. While Dundas BI can handle this with no issues, sometimes it's easier to send an Excel sheet as a one off data dump and turn it into a dashboard if that data is needed more often.
Read Andy Carita's full review
Mohammad Khalili profile photo
August 09, 2016

Dundas BI Review: "Great BI Tool from Great Company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I am a profoessional services Manager at Infocloud. I am acting as product manager for Dundas BI where I am responsible for all pre-sales activities related to Dundas BI. Due to the flexibility and ease of use of the tool from one side and the great support that we gain from Dundas company, we succeed to sell the product to many industries in Middle east. Currently we are planning to get inside the North America market.
  • Flexibility, I always tell my customers that you don't need to harm your brain in thinking how to do it in Dundas BI, you just need to think what to do. the tool is so flexible with open API and depending on common programming languages like .Net, JS and HTML5. you can do what ever you want.
  • Single Experience, you don't need to have multiple interfaces for multiple devices like desktop or mobile, whatever you see in the desktop you will see the same in the mobile. sometime it is great to connect to Dundas through the mobile and complete the design of your dashboards.
  • Friendly Tool: unlike other tools, Dundas was designed in attractive way that brain can accept it from first view, with little training or by watching the videos on Dundas website, you can start designing your work.
  • Responsive design: latest version of Dundas BI (V3) allows you to design one dashboard that it applicable on all devices.
  • Easy to install, and easier to upgrade to latest versions. one install file from Dundas website is enough to install the tool with minimum requirement.
  • Supporting large subsets of data like million of records, even the in-Memory analysis is there, but I believe that the tool is running slowly once you run dashboard with millions of records.
  • Out of the box support for social media data sources like facebook, Twitter even they are available on other websites.
  • Enahance the support for big data connections.
Dundas BI is suitable in cases where you are looking for the best dashboard designs and look and feel. You can build Dundas BI as an internal website that is the same as the other process assets inside the organization like Sharepoint or the organization's website colors and designs.

Dundas BI is less appropriate if you want to use the tool as pure data analysis tool specially for non IT people.
Read Mohammad Khalili's full review
Ric Ravier profile photo
March 11, 2016

Review: "Dundas BI needs to be on your Data Visualization/Dashboard/BI Evalutaion List"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Dundas BI to help our customers visualize their pertinent data and become more able to dynamically adjust their business in real time to be more profitable and efficient. Everyone has terabytes of data stored up on their servers and in their cloud based data grids, but it is hard to find the data that is actually meaningful when you need it. With Dundas BI we bring that data out into a single dashboard that provides our customers with the data they need to be successful. Why crunch numbers when you can look at pretty colors and gauges and know exactly what is happening?
  • Dundas BI is very easy to install. They have clearly put a lot of work into packaging their software and also ensuring it is smart enough to go out and get the things it needs if they don't already exist. It is really easy to install.
  • Dundas BI, by using HTML5, makes it very easy to visualize the data. Every modern browser now supports HTML5 without requiring Silverlight, Java, or some other clunky technology that has recently been banned by Homeland Security.
  • Dundas BI makes it very easy to create data connections and start to build the dashboards that bring value to your organization. Everything is done in an easy to use and figure out interface. You can also drag and drop data right into the panes as usable data. Very slick.
  • Not too many cons for how we use the application. It really is easy and powerful. Very powerful.
  • Licensing is one thing that could be looked into. It is simple, but a little confusing. For example, if I get a license today, but a new release comes out tomorrow, it seems that the license doesn't work with the new release. Maybe that is by design, but it would be nice to clearly understand.
Dundas BI is a tool that every business should have. Having the ability to quickly and easily visualize data is something that was mostly a dream a few years ago. Today Dundas BI has made it a reality. As long as you know the data you need, you can quickly bring it from boring numbers to pretty colors, charts, and gauges that even top level executives can understand.
Read Ric Ravier's full review
LeAnn Nowicki profile photo
March 10, 2016

Dundas BI Review: "Powerful, flexible, AND easy to use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dundas BI is the dashboard development tool of choice for our organization. It's easy to pull data from multiple sources into a single dashboard. The visualizations are both powerful and beautiful, allowing designers to quickly and easily communicate complex information in a way that is easy for users to understand at a glance.
  • Data access - Dundas BI has built in data connectors for every type of data we have needed, from Excel to SQL Server, to Microsoft Dynamics CRM and Google Analytics. Connecting to data is a breeze.
  • Sharing objects and resources between projects is easy and saves a lot of time.
  • Visualizations are very flexible and customizable.
  • Scripting is easy with the JavaScript API.
  • Dundas BI provides the ability to use dynamic measures and hierarchies, but the period over period calculations (PoP) are not supported with dynamic elements when the dynamic element is a time hierarchy. For example, if the requirement is to allow users to select Fiscal Year vs. Calendar Year, we are not able to then use PoP calculations.
We are basically a Microsoft SQL shop, and Dundas BI has been an excellent fit for our environment. Also, anyone just starting out with mapping will find it easy to use the map visualizations, right out of the box. It is easy to add multiple data series to a single map and produce sophisticated results. This has been a tremendous value add for our users.
Read LeAnn Nowicki's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.6
Customizable dashboards (47)
8.8
Report Formatting Templates (35)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (47)
8.2
Formatting capabilities (46)
7.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (29)
7.6
Report sharing and collaboration (42)
8.5
Publish to Web (39)
8.4
Publish to PDF (41)
7.8
Report Versioning (35)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (34)
7.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (45)
8.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (36)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (29)
7.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (44)
9.2
Role-Based Security Model (42)
9.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (43)
9.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (2)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (41)
8.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (38)
7.4
REST API (1)
7.3
Javascript API (2)
8.2
iFrames (1)
7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (2)
6.7

About Dundas BI

Dundas BI is Business Intelligence (BI) and Data Visualization software that includes customizable dashboards, reporting and visual data analytics. According to the vendor, their solution is the most flexible BI platform, with seamless integration into the user’s business applications, allowing them to deliver real-time visual access and analytics for their data, information and results for better decisions and faster insights.

Dundas BI Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureCustomizable Data Visualizations, Dashboards and Reporting
Has featureVisual Interactive Data Analytics
Has featureBrowser-based, single, unified experience across all data sources and all devices
Has featureEmbeddable BI with seamless integration
Has featureOne Flexible Platform

Dundas BI Screenshots

Dundas BI Integrations

Dundas BI Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Dundas BI Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Dundas BI Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Any HTML5 browser on the client side. Server side is running on Windows
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:U.S.A, Canada, U.K., Australia, Western Europe, Global
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, Italian, any Latin, RTL (Arabic/Hebrew)