TrustRadius
HealthStream is a cloud-based Talent Management Suite specifically designed for the healthcare sector. Focused on training (LMS), the suite also includes performance management, competency, simulation and credentialing. HealthStream also provides research services to healthcare organizations.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4T/DR/FJTTS8G5L2TR.pngHealthStream ReviewHealthStream is used across the entire organization I believe. It is a great way to administer a hospital-wide policy competency. Whenever a new program will be rolled out our first interaction with it is almost always through Healthstream. It allows managers to assign new tasks and make sure we have completed them with a passing grade.,Allows you to be able to keep track of all your assignments from your manager. Often gives you the ability to test out of having to do the training with a pretest Keeps all your completed work for you to review or look back on should you need a refresher.,On more than one occasion healthstream notified me that I had a task to be done, but it was nowhere to be found in my assignments.,9,In my opinion it has been a big time saver for all the department managers. Instead of holding meetings on things that are assigned yearly we can get them done in healthstream.,Epic Healthy Planet, Kronos Workforce Ready, Oracle PeopleSoft HCMNever knew how great it was until I tried another corporate learning programHealthStream is used by the entire hospital system. It allows departments to assign mandatory training to their employees to ensure everyone is on the same page. There are also learning assignments that the entire enterprise gets. They can be set to retake the course every x months to ensure continued learning. It allows employees to complete training on their own time since everyone in the hospital is so busy it makes simple training available online instead of requiring in-person training.,Extremely broad customization. Each task or assignment can be distributed to everyone, a department, a role, etc. Easy interface: it doesn't require a bunch of pop-ups, everything just flows. Minimal requirements: most courses just need a browser, no plug-ins or additional features.,Hard to ensure learning retention since employees can simply click through the modules if they choose. It doesn't remind the employees via email that assignments are due, you have to log in to the site to see that.,10,It has allowed us to easily and consistently ensure compliance standards in the ever-changing healthcare field. We have been able to keep in-person training for specific hands-on needs and provide flexibility to the staff with HealthStream assignments.,My Learning,IBM SPSS, REDCapHealthStream ReviewIt is being used by the entire organization. The organization uses it as an employee portal for payroll and leave. It also contains modules and tests for healthcare workers such as C. diff, environmental safety, falls safety, and child abuse education modules. We can view and print our W-2 forms and paystubs on Healthstream.,Integrated employee management website Easy to use User-friendly,Interface is not intuitive Not compatible with a few browsers Issues logging in - server,5,Time-consuming Not user-friendly Able to do education modules,HireRightBest in Class - HealthStream Fits Clinic-based Business ModelAt University Healthcare Alliance, we use HealthStream to track compliance for clinical, non-clinical and regulatory courses. Our staff of 900+ employees and 175+ physicians complete HealthStream assignments on a regular basis. To complete training manually, over 10+ buildings/locations, and to track completion of educational objectives would be impossible. HealthStream affords us a single data capture for our learning experience and allows us to connect to live classroom opportunities sponsored by our parent organization, Stanford Hospital and Clinics.,Reporting. Having the ability to track compliance (and non-compliance) at our fingertips ensures that we are up-to-date with Federal, State, Local and internal policies, requirements and educational initiatives Customization. Developing in-house materials, specific to our variable training needs is a huge plus - HealthStream's commitment to SCORM-ready content since 2011 has made it simple for us to connect, engage and interact with all of our staff and providers. Integration. Allowing us to interface with our HRM/HRIS systems is invaluable. Keeping up with a dynamic workforce, both in terms of retention and attrition, would not be possible without our current interface structures.,Additional SCORM capability. It would be nice for HealthStream to record and maintain responses from SCORM-based input, including user responses. Having only the ability to review multiple-choice test iterations and average responses is good, but the ability to review individual responses would be amazing - and a great tool to identify specific gaps in educational content/student understanding. Additional test question types. It would be great to see interactive question objects available through the standard HLC test question interface. The ability to create hotspot interactions and/or visual queues would be ideal - and possibly enhance the value of the Test Results report. Easier non-HealthStream data recording. For us, having the ability to customize the student profile would be a great plus. In a changed model, we could add fields for inservices, CE/CEU classes taken outside of HealthStream and have the ability to record other training-related data to a single screen. Performance Reviews. This, to me, is a natural addition to the HealthStream process. Having performance tied to training/development would be another great plus. Obviously, if this was another "module" with greater expense, the benefit would be less.,10,Efficiency is obviously the key to a full-service LMS such as HealthStream. Having multiple contact points for employees, both for regulatory/compliance education, registration and continuing education is most valuable. I don't know that ROI is a good measure for HealthStream - it's a costly system. Rather, I would say that HealthStream is a solid investment that will streamline a health care organization's ability to track educational performance and to provide a simple, easy-to-navigate connection between management and staff.,,10HealthStream is a great product that helps manage end user educationWe use HealthStream to upload educational material for end users. This is done at a Hospital Level, Market Level as well as at a corporate level. HR uses it to track End User Competencies. We use it to track classes for Joint Commission. It address the mandates to track information that needs to be given to our employees yearly and allows us to prove that the information was given and the users are then tested to demonstrate proficiency in the subject that is being talked about. Such as yearly competencies.,Allows us to upload data that the employees can reference back to as needed Allows us to ensure competency but testing the end users proficiency in the subject Allows us to meet the Joint Commission Requirements,Needs Better Communication of updated for Administrators Some items are sunset such as contribute but for items that were built using their old methodology need to still be supported Support for those sunset items needs to be better,10,Positive: Increased Employee Efficiency of Training Materials Positive: Easy way to disburse data for training Positive: Easy way to allow end users to refer back to data given to them Positive: Eco Friendly, Less Paper Waste,Midas,MS SharePoint,8,10
Unspecified
HealthStream
21 Ratings
Score 7.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

HealthStream Reviews

HealthStream
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 21 vetted HealthStream reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
rachel durkan profile photo
April 18, 2018

"HealthStream Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HealthStream is used across the entire organization I believe. It is a great way to administer a hospital-wide policy competency. Whenever a new program will be rolled out our first interaction with it is almost always through Healthstream. It allows managers to assign new tasks and make sure we have completed them with a passing grade.
  • Allows you to be able to keep track of all your assignments from your manager.
  • Often gives you the ability to test out of having to do the training with a pretest
  • Keeps all your completed work for you to review or look back on should you need a refresher.
  • On more than one occasion healthstream notified me that I had a task to be done, but it was nowhere to be found in my assignments.
We often use healthstream as a way to complete our yearly competency of hospital protocol and policies. Its a great time saver for things like HIPAA practice and emergency code situations without having to have a meeting every year covering the same thing. Sometimes I do wish we had a meeting about new applications and programs instead of just healthstream, but I think that's a department issue more than a healthstream one.
Read rachel durkan's full review
Taylor Read profile photo
January 30, 2018

HealthStream: "Never knew how great it was until I tried another corporate learning program"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HealthStream is used by the entire hospital system. It allows departments to assign mandatory training to their employees to ensure everyone is on the same page. There are also learning assignments that the entire enterprise gets. They can be set to retake the course every x months to ensure continued learning. It allows employees to complete training on their own time since everyone in the hospital is so busy it makes simple training available online instead of requiring in-person training.
  • Extremely broad customization. Each task or assignment can be distributed to everyone, a department, a role, etc.
  • Easy interface: it doesn't require a bunch of pop-ups, everything just flows.
  • Minimal requirements: most courses just need a browser, no plug-ins or additional features.
  • Hard to ensure learning retention since employees can simply click through the modules if they choose.
  • It doesn't remind the employees via email that assignments are due, you have to log in to the site to see that.
It is extremely helpful for assigning learning opportunities to staff members. You can easily choose which assignments are necessary for which roles and departments. If items should be revisited annually you can easily configure that setting so the course reassigns each year. This feature is super helpful for compliance measures. It is not practical if hands on learning is required. In healthcare there are many things that can be addressed via HealthStream but you have to understand the limits - we wouldn't teach CPR via an online module.
Read Taylor Read's full review
Vineeta Kanbur profile photo
January 29, 2018

"HealthStream Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization. The organization uses it as an employee portal for payroll and leave. It also contains modules and tests for healthcare workers such as C. diff, environmental safety, falls safety, and child abuse education modules. We can view and print our W-2 forms and paystubs on Healthstream.
  • Integrated employee management website
  • Easy to use
  • User-friendly
  • Interface is not intuitive
  • Not compatible with a few browsers
  • Issues logging in - server
HealthStream is well suited for the healthcare industry such as hospitals and clinics. It is good to have an integrated employee management system in big organizations.
Read Vineeta Kanbur's full review
Sam Sternman profile photo
July 29, 2016

Review: "Best in Class - HealthStream Fits Clinic-based Business Model"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At University Healthcare Alliance, we use HealthStream to track compliance for clinical, non-clinical and regulatory courses. Our staff of 900+ employees and 175+ physicians complete HealthStream assignments on a regular basis. To complete training manually, over 10+ buildings/locations, and to track completion of educational objectives would be impossible. HealthStream affords us a single data capture for our learning experience and allows us to connect to live classroom opportunities sponsored by our parent organization, Stanford Hospital and Clinics.
  • Reporting. Having the ability to track compliance (and non-compliance) at our fingertips ensures that we are up-to-date with Federal, State, Local and internal policies, requirements and educational initiatives
  • Customization. Developing in-house materials, specific to our variable training needs is a huge plus - HealthStream's commitment to SCORM-ready content since 2011 has made it simple for us to connect, engage and interact with all of our staff and providers.
  • Integration. Allowing us to interface with our HRM/HRIS systems is invaluable. Keeping up with a dynamic workforce, both in terms of retention and attrition, would not be possible without our current interface structures.
  • Additional SCORM capability. It would be nice for HealthStream to record and maintain responses from SCORM-based input, including user responses. Having only the ability to review multiple-choice test iterations and average responses is good, but the ability to review individual responses would be amazing - and a great tool to identify specific gaps in educational content/student understanding.
  • Additional test question types. It would be great to see interactive question objects available through the standard HLC test question interface. The ability to create hotspot interactions and/or visual queues would be ideal - and possibly enhance the value of the Test Results report.
  • Easier non-HealthStream data recording. For us, having the ability to customize the student profile would be a great plus. In a changed model, we could add fields for inservices, CE/CEU classes taken outside of HealthStream and have the ability to record other training-related data to a single screen.
  • Performance Reviews. This, to me, is a natural addition to the HealthStream process. Having performance tied to training/development would be another great plus. Obviously, if this was another "module" with greater expense, the benefit would be less.
I would ask the project manager/leader if they intended on developing their own content, or if they were content with HealthStream's various content libraries. The decision to use HealthStream as a development tool, internally, cannot be taken lightly. There is a lot of work and required expertise involved in designing and maintaining original course materials. I would also ask if the project manager/leader had considered the amount of time required to manage a full-service HealthStream environment.
Read Sam Sternman's full review
Derrick Heldt profile photo
July 29, 2016

Review: "HealthStream is a great product that helps manage end user education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HealthStream to upload educational material for end users. This is done at a Hospital Level, Market Level as well as at a corporate level. HR uses it to track End User Competencies. We use it to track classes for Joint Commission. It address the mandates to track information that needs to be given to our employees yearly and allows us to prove that the information was given and the users are then tested to demonstrate proficiency in the subject that is being talked about. Such as yearly competencies.
  • Allows us to upload data that the employees can reference back to as needed
  • Allows us to ensure competency but testing the end users proficiency in the subject
  • Allows us to meet the Joint Commission Requirements
  • Needs Better Communication of updated for Administrators
  • Some items are sunset such as contribute but for items that were built using their old methodology need to still be supported
  • Support for those sunset items needs to be better
Healthstream is a great way to ensure you can educate your staff and then run reports to prove they were shown the information.
Read Derrick Heldt's full review
Dee Eldardiri profile photo
December 04, 2014

Review: "HealthStream - the ideal LMS for for a hospital system"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HealthStream is being used as the learning management system for all employees and healthcare providers (typically physicians). All departments across our system use it to take mandatory and elective online training and class registration. It helps us meet regulatory education needs.
  • Meeting healthcare regulatory education needs - comes with a regulatory library focused on those needs (The Joint Commission and OSHA)
  • Elective Course Options - dozens of course libaries available for purchase to meeting contining education needs of nurses and clinical employees
  • Class Registraion - Does a really nice job of handling thousands of class registrations for massive education roll outs
  • Course Building - with additional resources you can purchase rights to author your own courses.
  • Class Building - very tediouos to build hundreds of classes, users do not get notified when added to a class
  • Reporting - this something they are working on. Reports are very tedious to run with all the parameters.
  • Administrators - not intuitive to be in the system. Although over time it does all make more sense.
It is very well suited for organizations that have limited resources in terms of education staff. HealthStream can be run by one person if needed. I am doing it for about 20,000 users. Ideally it would work best if you could also build your own courses and have the resources to do that.

Key Questions:
What training do you provide for administrators?
What support do you provide for administrators?
What support do you provide for students?
How often is the website down?
What operating systems are you compatible with?
How often do you update your courses?
Read Dee Eldardiri's full review
Bradley Doepker profile photo
February 16, 2015

Review: "HealthStream is a vital resource to quickly learn hospital protocols"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HealthStream is used at COOK Medical for formal training on Hospital protocols for various departments around the hospital. HealthStream is vital to understanding what your legal obligations and bounds are to protect your safety as well as the safety of those around you.
  • Providing detailed scenarios of realistic situations you may be in.
  • Providing up-to-date changes in healthcare safety.
  • Listing your legal obligations and bounds as well as what is appropriate behavior for certain healthcare departments.
  • Hard to get started.
  • Too many steps to verify course completion.
  • User's homepage is unclear and confusing.
How familiar [are they with HealthStream] and how often will they take advantage of the training? Should offer more of an entry level version and an everyday user fresher training focused on recent changes and less on the basics.
Read Bradley Doepker's full review
LATRESA WITHERSPOON profile photo
December 15, 2014

Review: "HealthStream-Customized for Your Organization's Training Needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used across the entire organization as a mechanism to implement training on healthcare-related safety topics. It was primarily used to provide annual training, and it was easy to implement, since it was required by OSHA.
  • It was user friendly. Easy to show others how to use.
  • It was functional. We experienced very few errors with implementing/uploading training modules.
  • It was cost effective. As we surveyed other LMS systems, few could provide the level of capability for the same cost.
  • I recall the timeout on the modules were a problem. If your computer cut off or you accidentally logged out in the middle of a module, you would have to start a module over.
  • I also recall our database administrator having trouble with uploading videos here and there (very rare).
  • Access from home was also a problem (keep in mind this was a few years ago). Many of our employees could not access using their home computer.
Not really. I believe the HealthStream LMS can be customized for any environment. I would ask about system support, to make sure everyone in the organization can log into the environment without issues and access it from their desk as well as their home PC. Also, I would make sure it's customized to be easy for anyone to navigate through regardless of their computer literacy level.
Read LATRESA WITHERSPOON's full review
Tim Poteat profile photo
January 31, 2014

User Review: "HealthStream a Solid Choice for LMS"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used HealthStream in a past position with Genesis Health Systems in the Iowa Quad Cities. We had 5,000 healthcare employees including RNs, LPNs, Techs, Physicians and Administrative Personnel. HealthStream allowed us to track course and training completions by running global reports and we could also segment our reports to capture specific groups. We were able to increase compliance to Joint Commission and CMS regulations in regard to training completions - especially as we used HealthStream to manage our CPR/ACLS/PALS life saving course completion. By using HealthStream we were able to target those employees that did not complete training and were out of compliance and we furloughed them until they completed mandatory training. We reduced non-compliance to less than 5% of employees in our life-saving courses.

We purchased courses from HealthStream - but mostly we created our own courses using Adobe Captivate. We created courses for clinical training, soft skills, diversity and Human Resource training as well as business and financial training.
  • Reporting and tracking of course and training completion
  • Email reminders to employees for upcoming training events
  • Can set up a full course package - pre-test, course, post-test and attachments
  • Sometimes clunky in naming formats
  • Need the option to upload more file formats - especially videos and HTML references
I would ask about how it can handle HTML 5 courses as well as mobile options for accessing courses.
Read Tim Poteat's full review
Jeri Summers profile photo
January 23, 2014

HealthStream Review: "Quality Control Specialist"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Healthstream for corporate members, nurses, staff members and psychiatrist to take classes. If there was an update that everyone needed to know that is how everyone took the class. I monitored the grades and added members to the system so that they can use Healthstream. I also used the program as a way that everyone could keep up with there licenses in specific areas as well. It worked very well since we had so many offices and members all around and we could not be at every site all the time.
  • I love how that it keeps track of all classes and training for years or even when an employee has left.
  • I love how when an employee decides to return to our organization that Healthstream is able to retrieve the information for us without any problems.
  • It has really worked well when JCHAO has come to audit our facilities and then we can get to the information with such ease. Even if we cant find the information ourselves a quick phonecall and Healthstream will get us what we need.
  • The training for me since I am an administrator could have been more indepth.
  • I would have loved one on one training instead of classroom.
  • I have had problems when employees are telling me that they are completing courses and it is not showing completed on there profile. I would like to see that problem fixed.
It was well suited for us because we have so many facilities in different locations and it was cost effective for us to have a program where everyone can go to one website and get training instead of paying a trainer to come and train our employees. It was also cost effective since they had to do the training on the computer we did not have as many employees out of the office when they were getting training. It was also good because it was able to keep track and make sure that our employees stayed in compliance. I get an email weeks ahead of time instead of finding out at the last minute that an employee is not in compliance.
Read Jeri Summers's full review
Jaime Graham profile photo
January 24, 2014

Review: "Multiple locations and employees working a variety of shifts, you need Healthstream."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used healthstream to create, distribute and monitor training modules and certifications. Healthstream offered a nice solution for tracking and distributing training across our multiple locations. Additionally, it provided our employees with the necessary tools to remind them of their training and certifications that were due. We were able to then tie bonuses to completion of the required training with a proper verification in healthstream.
  • easy to load your own modules
  • easy reporting
  • end user freindly
  • Would have liked to have been able to use healthstream for credentialing too, would love to see them add that to their suite of services
Healthstream is an inexpensive solution for any company but particulalry for one that has employees located at more than 1 location and with employees that work shifts other than 8-5.
Read Jaime Graham's full review
No photo available
July 29, 2016

User Review: "HealthStream Makes Training Easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former organization was using HealthStream across departments, primarily to role out required elearning. HealthStream allowed administrators to not only deliver the trainings electronically, but to also monitor and track the statistics of users who had completed the trainings. Some of the trainings also included short quizzes at the end, also deployed through HealthStream, which greatly helped track employee comprehension.
  • Designing elearning tutorials and assessments is very intuitive in HealthStream. This benefits the designer, but also the end user or employee who will ultimately take the test since the layout is also very user friendly.
  • Tracking statistics for employees; it is very easy to pull reports in HealthStream that detail scores for students on assessments, length of time it took to complete training, questions that were often answered incorrectly, etc.
  • Searching different user and employee groups for tracking is very intuitive, which saves quite a deal of time in the long run when needing to access these employee populations.
  • Embedding elearning tutorials into HealthStream can be a bit complicated, and even slow down the site for the end user. In my experience, I found it much easier to just offer a link to the tutorial through the assessment portion.
  • Keeping users synced into the most up-to-date user groups can be a bit tricky. If you create your own student groups, and then these students transfer to a different job role or department, you will manually have to make these changes yourself. A more automated process would be great.
I think that the biggest area where HealthStream is suited is to track required trainings, presentations, tests etc. Because of its intuitive design and relative ease to set up required material, it would be very easy to implement HealthStream on a larger scale. However, if the primary goal of the end user is simply to roll out assessments, something like SurveyMonkey may be a better option.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2015

"HealthStream Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HealthStream across multiple hospitals to assign out and monitor courses for regulatory reasons.
  • It works well to assign out courses for regulatory purposes.
  • We also purchases the competency center, which costs extra, to track on-line demonstration of a course. Staff like this and we don't have paper being shuffled between departments any longer.
  • For the most part staff can use HealthStream easily w/o much instruction.
  • From an administrative point of a view they use an "and" relationship in their database and they need to move to and and/or relationship. So a nurse can work in the ED and hold a second job in the medical/peds. Right now HealthStream doesn't find that nurse and it takes a lot of work to find that 2nd job code on the administrative side. HealthStream should be able to pick that up.
  • It is lacking a 2nd supervisor field to pick up the 2nd job codes that are created which links up to issue number one. Once you find the 2nd job code you can't link it to 2nd supervisor.
  • The HLC/competency center needs alot more programming work. It's a newer program for HealthStream and missing alot needed requests. It needs checklist functionality or some special editable fields and an ability to change rater on the assignments to help the educators.
HealthStream is a good product overall but doesn't have all the bells and whistles that some other products may have but I am guessing you pay more for those other products.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2015

HealthStream Review: "Great Company, Great Product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the HealthStream Learning Center, Authoring Center, HeartCode BLS, HeartCode ACLS and NRP facility wide. With the use of HealthSteam our CPR and ACLS compliance number went from 70% to almost 95%. HealthStream has giving our organization the ability to train staff 24/7. Having a community based hospital with 5 community clinic locations, HealthStream has decreased travel time and cost by staff. The Authoring Center has given us the ability to create courses in a short time that are specific to our facility or even a department. It can address issues and assign course immediately.
  • Training needs can be addressed immediately.
  • Complainance rates have increased
  • Training cost have been decreased
  • The ability to upload videos can be a bit time consuming
  • Baby CPR Mannequins tend to break and are a bit difficult for most staff to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2015

HealthStream Review: "Health Stream great Asset"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[HealthStream is being used as an] enterprise-wide LMS with off the self content and authoring capabilities.
  • LMS functions are excellent
  • Content partners are excellent
  • Self authoring aspects are good
  • Class maintenance
  • Reporting
  • Add video content to authored courses
How does HealthStream interact with your HRIS system to update employee files?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 21, 2014

Review: "Healthstream, feels like you are swimming upstream....."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Healthstream is being used across the whole organization which involves 6 major hospitals. it is used for eLearnings, Epic Testing, yearly required training, and maintenance of the employee transcript.
The major problem that it addresses is not having to do classroom training for a variety of different subjects.
  • All employees are educated when they begin employment on how to sign into Healthstream and that it is the source of training for the organization. So everyone knows where to go to complete their required training for their position to remain compliant. Puts responsibility in the employees' hands.
  • Immediate knowledge of whether you passed/failed.
  • If used correctly provides excellent transcript for an employee, concise and accurate.
  • Very difficult to run any type of report using Healthstream. It would be more beneficial if you could run a report indicating who finished set assignments
  • Very difficult to search for classes. If you do not put in exact titles for particular assignment you will not find it.
  • Cannot print out any listing of upcoming classes on a certain topic or email a list if requested, the product really falls short
  • If an employee is not in Healthstream and you must complete their testing and you must use a "place holder" the product is not very good. If the tester does not go back into the Healthstream record once the individual is registered and enter a learning event then you do not have an accurate transcript.
  • Not really user friendly for all managers, if an older manager is not computer literate. then training can be painful and you will find the product is not used.
Will you have a Healthstream team that will be responsible for putting in the employees so they are entered before required training?
Will you have someone that is able to understand the product well enough that they can produce reports if requested?
Will you have enough personnel on the Healthstream team to make sure that tests are entered correctly with correct answers?
Will you have one or more Healthstream administrator, you should have more than one employee holding the keys to the kingdom so to speak.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 21, 2014

Review: "I woudl choose HealthStream every time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HealthStream was used for continuing education through the entire hospital. It was used for new hires coming on board, as well as existing employees that needed additional training (i.e. annual training).
  • HealthStream is incredibly user friendly. Even if you're not an avid computer user, it's easy to navigate.
  • I don't have any suggestions.
HealthStream is very useful when there's a specific module or educational session that needs to reach many different people. I think this product would be useful in my current organization. As an Anesthesia practice, many of the physicians don't physically come to the office. They're contracted out to area hospitals to provide anesthesia. Having HealthStream would greatly improve our ability to educate our providers on information and meetings they're unable to attend.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

New hire portal (3)
7.0
Manager tracking tools (4)
7.0
Compliance tracking and reporting (5)
8.0
Corporate goal setting (4)
7.3
Subordinate goal setting (4)
7.0
Individual goal setting (4)
6.3
Line-of sight-visibility (3)
7.3
Performance tracking (5)
7.3
Performance plans (2)
7.4
Plan weighting (2)
5.0
Performance improvement plans (4)
6.3
Review status tracking (6)
7.3
Rater nomination workflow (2)
6.0
Review reminders (2)
6.0
Workflow restrictions (2)
5.0
Multiple review frequency (2)
5.0
Reporting (5)
6.7
Create succession plans/pools (2)
7.0
Candidate ranking (1)
5
Candidate search (1)
5
Candidate development (2)
7.0
Job Requisition Management (2)
6.5
Company Website Posting (2)
6.5
Publish to Social Media (1)
5
Job Search Site Posting (2)
7.0
Customized Application Form (2)
7.5
Resume Management (2)
7.5
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
6.5
Candidate Search (2)
5.5
Applicant Tracking (2)
6.5
Collaboration (1)
5
Task Creation and Delegation (2)
6.0
Email Templates (2)
7.0
User Permissions (2)
7.5
Notifications and Alerts (2)
7.0
Reporting (2)
7.0

About HealthStream

HealthStream is a cloud-based Talent Management Suite specifically designed for the healthcare sector. Focused on training (LMS), the suite also includes performance management, competency, simulation and credentialing. HealthStream also provides research services to healthcare organizations.

HealthStream Competitors

HealthStream Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No