TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire in Precision AgI am doing a Ph.D. working with precision agriculture and variable rate technology. Since response patterns are variable and change by field, year, genotype, I use Spotfire to dynamically graph the response and detect those patterns. It's a powerful tool for data exploration.,Explore data and detect patterns Provide suggestions for different types of graphs that could be done,Many times I want to use the same data but show different years in different tabs and I would like to have the option of applying different filters by a tab. Fitting curves could have more options for differential equations and show the parameters with more decimals (or at least give the possibility to the user),10,Self-taught,I'm more an independent user of Spotfire now. I used it in my previous work in Pioneer and I like it that's why I use it at my actual work at the university. But it is not being used by the organization. I am starting to teach people how to use it and hopefully, they will get better at it. Now they ask me to do maps and plots for them.,QGISMakes Big Data a Little Less OverwhelmingI am using it in a Petroleum asset development class in the Petroleum Engineering department at Texas A&M University. So far, I have really appreciated how I can use Spotfire to wrangle and evaluate large amounts of data. My team is just in the beginning phase of applying it, but I have used it in the past at other companies and it has been crucial to my work.,Handles large data sets. Creates great visualizations. Combines multiple data sets and helps me compare them.,Navigating the coding is a bit challenging. Editing data sets in Spotfire would be nice. You can only look at data you input into the program. Exporting visualizations to powerpoint only lets you make a whole slide. Making a well scaled image would be awesome.,10,Helps save a lot of time on analysis. Helps gather data into one place for evaluation. Again, big time saver.,In-person training,I have not used this with other TIBCO products.On the spotBeing used for teaching data analytics module to students,Visualisations such as scatter plots, density plots, and table manipulation and presentation, are very good and useful Regression analysis: training, evaluation and prediction aspects are presented in a very intuitive manner Ability to creation customised user controls using the text area, and also the filters based on the table content are very good aspects,Forecasting: Currently we are not able to download forecasted values, nor are we able to see the values using tooltip. Even Excel is able to do a better job for this particular aspect. Classification Tree: Presently there is no graphical output; possible to use r code, but it's cumbersome Logistic Regression: They need to provide users with the choice to either create one model for a single class (based on user choice,) or create a model based on two models (for both classes) and use of method such as Bayesian posterior probability calculations.,8,,Students find it easy to use and get started,Online training Self-taught,Streambase and Liveview monitor/desktopAble to show students the development of analytics model and its application on streaming data and running queries on that streaming data.,MATLAB, RStudioAnalytics at your fingertipsTIBCO Spotfire is being used across my organization for business plan and KPIs tracking, wells and reservoir surveillance, asset management, etc.,TIBCO Spotfire is user friendly. You don’t need programming experience to be able to work with Spotfire Ability to easily generate different types of visuals for your process/equipment. Very easy to drill down to details using Spotfire On Demand feature is very helpful,Easy to swap columns. Data may come in very unstructured,10,Self-taught,NoGood softwareMostly all of the departments use Spotfire right now. It’s a great tool to see the insights of the data and it’s easy to create dashboards,Easy to create dashboards Easy to code,Linear optimization Save automatically in case Spotfire stops working,9,Tableau Desktop,Easy to make decisions Saving time,Self-taught,NoSpotfire is a good toolThis tool provides intuitive graphs and highly customizable elements. The appearance is similar to dashboards. You can use multiple data sources. I really think it's easy to learn.,Multiple data source Multiple graphs or visuals Importing data is very easy,The colors can be improved Some of the features are hard to find Lack of documentation,9Spotfire for big data visualizationTIBCO Spotfire is being used by a specific department in the company on a daily basis to do BI and analytics, mostly descriptive statistics and dashboards across big data sets. We have it connected with a Cloudera cluster on premise,Easy usage, fast in creating typical dashboarding Good connection with big data bases,We have found problems in native connections with Amazon Athena in order to use data directly stored in S3. We had to migrate some hot data to Redshift where we experienced no problems at all As a user of graphical programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot, and d3.js, I find limitations in creating highly customized dashboards.,7,,Online training In-person training Self-taught,We have not used these complementsTIBCO software is one of the best data analytics tools- Wanna know why??We use TIBCO spotfire to deliver visual analytics of our data and also to compare one data set to other using pictorial description.,Helps analyze and report findings. Capability to export our analysis, so that analysis can also be read by someone who does not have the software installed. Easy to use and interactive visualization. Strong mobile access.,Lack of production reporting. The look is not very customizable. Expensive.,9,,Helps visualize data quickly. Spotfire gives the ability to dive deep into data and generate insights that can inform how they operate. Simplicity and performance.,Online training Self-taught,TIBCO Spotfire Advanced Data Services (ADS) provides robust and seamless connection to third party enterprise applications that provide visibility into your overall business. ADS provides a set of tools that helps discover, integrate and federate disparate data sources across the company and provides instant access to enterprise applications such as SAP, Siebel, Salesforce.com, Oracle E-Business Suite, REST API and Web Services. However, we haven’t really integrated with any of these tools when working with TIBCO spotfire.,PhpStorm, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Microsoft SQL ServerTibco Spotfire offers smooth learning curve and quick wins for more focus on business analytics goals and less on technologyI work with large organizations on their data/digital transformation. Leveraging Spotfire makes the transition easy and frictionless. We need people to focus on their business goals not on the tech. Spotfire delivers the simplicity and logic that enables that. Learning curve fits within a day. Performance suits any business analytics needs. Visualization is powerful and satisfying to the users who are encouraged to do more. It is a great solution to support transformation in the digital age.,Short learning curve with a nice learn-by-doing dynamic. Cool visualisation options that really support decision-making process. Nice data preparation features to feed analytics with better data.,Smoother integration with D3 libraries. Easier integration of R on Mac.,9,,It delivers from a business standpoint. Business users will deliver results. IT overhead sounded a bit heavy at my clients.,In-person training Self-taught,No, not in the companies I worked with.,Alteryx Analytics, MicroStrategy AnalyticsSpotfire - Review and analysisTIBCO Spotfire is being used by specific departments within our organization. Obviously with our organization being so large not all departments can utilize it. It addresses issues of dashboards and graphs. Data can be used in a better way and represented to make management decisions. We require analytics of data across different areas of the website and/or software. TIBCO helps track this beautifully and can be easily integrated with other software to derive this data. It has a very scientific way of generating data and reports. Publishing reports is also a breeze and can be done easily.,TIBCO Spotfire has excellent visualizations, designs, customizations that can be done at your fingertips. It provides great analysis. It can be integrated with other software to derive data and correlate data for better reports. It has a role-based, secure, mobile friendly platform and reports that can be used by anyone in the organization.,TIBCO needs to provide manuals for training teams who are not aware on how to use the software. Support documentation is clearly lacking and needs to be addressed. Templates are missing and can result in difficulty in creating complex reports. Simple one-click reports are a breeze, but anything further needs to be detailed out by the software provider. Cost is expensive. Hence suitable for larger organizations. It has a bad text editor for Javascript. If the Javascript throws out any errors, the entire IDE needs to be restarted.,8,InsightSquared, Looker, Sisense, Grow.com, Microsoft BI and Chartio,Positive for generating reports we needed and viewed them on a daily basis. Negative for some of integration issues with the Java platform. It has a positive affect when publishing these reports in the cloud so that it can be viewed by the entire organization. It has great security and role-based features.,In-person training Self-taught,TIBCO Spotfire was integrated with SQL server, Microsoft access, JAVA API's and other database. We definitely benefited from this as better reports could be generated and more sense could be made out of raw data. Also, we could correlate data and generate some data we would not have otherwise visualized. It has KPI's, trend analysis, forecasting and other features which can be handy.,Grow.com, Sisense, Microsoft BITIBCO Spotfire for supply chainI used TIBCO Spotfire to solve the problem of displaying supply chain flow in a network. It very easy and quick to learn and get introduced with its capabilities, but currently, we are not using it, as we could find much more efficient similar tools to address the same problem. Along with network display, we were also looking for tools with graph database capabilities, which was the reason to park it aside and move forward with other options on the market.,I used Spotfire for network flow visualization. I used Tableau for the same thing, but the directional edges, and the different ways to show connections and directional flow edges without much effort, saved a lot more time for me. As I wanted to do some calculation and forecasting based network visualization using R, it was very much possible with the use of TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R. Demo version works for a reasonable number of days without a key, and it's easy to install, learn, and very quick to start using. Few analytics capabilities are much faster than R Cost is less than the other similar tools on the market,Need to add graph database capabilities as the visualization and graph DB combination will give more strength to it. Community is not so strong and finding solutions and getting technical help is a bit time consuming.,7,,It saved time and cost needed for almost 4 resources of data visualization. Easy and impressive to show before client,Online training,My organization did not integrated TIBCO Spotfire with other TIBCO products.,Tableau Server, Neo4j, QlikViewTIBCO Analytics reviewTIBCO is currently being used by certain departments in our organization. We are using it for analytics in understanding budgeting from various departments. It gives us clear visual analytics/reports during meeting discussions. Data is taken from various databases and systems and organized in the tool. We then create pie charts, bar graphs and spot charts in the tool. Each bar graph can be edited individually and modified. This makes it much more robust than advanced Excel.,Excellent visual design Create different types of graphs, spot charts and regular charts. Modify individual elements of a graph. Import data from different sources to gather data.,TIBCO has limited integration with other software. This can be improved as it needs to become a full-fledged robust tool instead of a design replacement of Excel. One example is integration with automation tools so that it can become more functional. It has the potential to have more features from design to development. Increase APIs for integration so that it can become a part of other software. ( Excel, PPT, QTP, SEE Test) It can also have web-based APIs to make it very unique.,7,Tableau Online and Devart Excel Add-ins,In-person training Self-taught,TIBCO was integrated with the online account opening tools that our organization analyses. We calculated the number of accounts being opened on a day to day basis. This was closely monitored after a software feature release or a marketing campaign. Failures and success both in account creation were calculated through this tool.,Tableau Online, Swiftype, QuickBooks OnlineHaving trouble analyzing large datasets?... Use Spotfire!TIBCO Spotfire was being used to compare geological data from subsurface core datasets. I am currently the only grad student using it within my lab. But I have shown many other grad students the program and the possibilities it has for addressing large datasets.,Spotfire is very visually appealing. There are a lot of different ways to visualize datasets and compare the data. It is easy to upload and update/refresh the spreadsheets when your data changes.,It is not easy to drop a datapoint. Sometime there are outliers to the dataset and being able to easily drop one or a couple data points and see how trends change would be very useful. I was using a Mac and in the online version, you cannot do as many things as you can if you are using the program through a PC. For example, on the online version, you cannot add a trend line to a graph. This is a pretty basic procedure that should be available.,10,Tableau Desktop,It has helped me visualize large datasets for my thesis,Self-taught,I just used Spotfire.,geoSCOUT, Petrel E&PSpotfire will "light" up your dataWe are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights. It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.,Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst. Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.,Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well. Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files. More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.,10,,Self-taught,No other integrations, but something we might consider in the future.,Microsoft Office 2016Great BI tool for data scientistsTIBCO Spotfire is a powerful platform that is used for deriving valuable business insights. It is an enterprise-class analytics platform that has excellent data visualization and discovery features that makes deriving information from data so much easy. It is being used by my department.,Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization Strong mobile access across a variety of platforms One of the best features is the capability to export the analysis to make it run in a web browser without losing the core interactive and filtering functionality making it available to anyone without having to install any software. This characteristic can result in huge savings in custom web application programming efforts.,The look and feel is not very customizable out of the box, which is the cherry on top when it comes to analyzing data. If you are looking for a nice looking sexy reporting tool, this is not it but I doubt you will find one with the brains and sophistication Spotfire has that. Lacking embedded BI and production reporting,7,,In-person training Self-taughtReview of TIBCO Spotfire from a reservoir engineering intern's perspectiveSpotfire is used for analyzing large volumes of reservoir engineering data and to create data visualizations for departmental meetings. It is particularly helpful for allowing us to understand and manage data interactively, and test preliminary hypotheses.,Visually identifying clusters within data sets Using color effectively to convey relationships in the data Creating relatively complex visualizations (like heat maps and 3D scatter plots),Can be somewhat daunting to get going on the more complex analyses (I had to access technical support) Error messages are not very detailed. Can slow down when handling large amounts of data, or updating from a central data server,8,Sisense,Spotfire was useful for doing cost-benefit analyses for deciding which projects to pursue. Due to a limited number of organizational seats, this product could be used only sparingly.,Online training Self-taught,We have only used TIBCO Spotfire independently.,Microsoft 365 Business, SisenseSpotfire for geologic interpretation in an academic settingI have used Spotfire as an intern in the Energy Industry and as a student for my masters research. In the industry setting Spotfire is pretty widely used throughout most of the business units within the company. As a student I was the only one in my research group to use Spotfire initially, but turned several other students onto it. In both settings Spotfire was used for processing and interpretation of geologic data and creating figures to display geologic concepts.,Filtering data Multivariate display capabilities Pretty easy to get started with for new users,Though Spotfire is good at exporting figures/images to PowerPoint you cannot export clear images for Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw for publication quality figures. Spotfire has limited statistical analysis capabilities Some features available on the desktop version are not available in the web version (such as copy and pasting display set ups),10,As a student there isn't really a business objective beyond doing quality research to possibly secure future funding for your research group. In this sense I think that Spotfire had a very positive impact on data interpretation capabilities for my research.,Self-taught,I did not at the university level, and am unaware of integration at the industry level.,Petrel E&P, IHS KingdomTIBCO Spotfire ReviewWe use TIBCO Spotfire as part of our solution for Digital Oil Fields. It is used for our clients as a visualization and data analysis tool. We connect to different data sources, do some analysis and visualize results on web dashboards. It is very convenient because we can create customized dashboards for every asset and case.,Connect to different data sources Visualized data in different forms Can be inserted into web pages,Allow scripting to add customized functionality,8,,Fast data analysis and decision making,Online training Self-taught,No, we didn't integrate TIBCO Spotfire with other TIBCO products.Easy to learn, use.Spotfire is used across the whole organization, such as supply chain, finance, and engineering. We use it to visualize and analyze data to identify the problems and make decisions.,Syntaxs for calculated columns are easy to understand, master and apply. Spotfire can provide interactive, customized reports and dashboards.,Set multiple column width at one time instead of change one by one. Keep the color constant for the same column in the various visualizations.,10,,Management is highly satisfied with Spotfire's performance. It makes data visualization more easy and straight-forward. Facilitates management's decision making.,In-person training Self-taught,I'm not sure about other TIBCO products, we are going to implement Spotfire web-based data sharing, which is very helpful to bring the other outside customers and suppliers to the same page.,Microsoft Power BI,30TIBCO Spotfire ReviewWe use Spotfire within our business intelligence department. The team creates reports, charts and graphs for employees, customers and our website portal.,Our business intelligence department can create on-the-fly ad-hoc reports & graphs for management and customers. It publishes quite well, creating visuals that can be easily read and understood. Handles multiple sources of data well.,When the interface "chokes" so to speak, which is not often, it is not explicit in the reasoning. No error on the screen or in the log. When errors do occur they can be a bit vague. This makes it hard to troubleshoot. Support is good, but does need some improvement.,8,Microsoft BI and Qlik Sense,Spotfire is affordable and can be implemented on a budget. User training is a must, in my opinion, as it would take some time to become a power user. You really need to keep up with the upgrades or not update your system as it can get "quirky" when everything is not up-to-date.,Online training Self-taught,We only use Spotfire Server and Viewer to produce output for documents, emails and website portals.,Microsoft BI, Microsoft AccessGeospatial data specialistWe currently use Spotfire to do data analytics for some of our clients. Only a select few employees currently are using Spotfire. We tend to use Spotfire when we want to create dashboards for our clients that primarily deal with visualizing geographic data. We deemed this product to be the best fit for this niche need, and it is not our primary data analytics or business intelligence application of choice.,GIS or any geographic dashboarding Concise and clean visualizations Basic data discovery,Custom made visualizations and dashboards are not very intuitive Drill-down functions and LOD are good but not quick on par with industry leaders Relatively expensive to implement for smaller teams,7,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI and Alteryx Analytics,Great in developing deliverables with geospatial data. Creates clear visualizations the clients enjoy to look at. Expensive to implement, especially for smaller companies with the initial threshold of investment needed,Self-taught,No, we have not used any other TIBCO products.,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI, Alteryx AnalyticsCPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced AnalyticsWe have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.,Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection. Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo. Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability. Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard,Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially. Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended. To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.,9,Tableau Desktop,100% implementation across the company. From business managers to analysts to developers — it is widely used. Ad-hoc reporting or generalized questions can be answered via Spotfire for end users — allowing marketing to be less inundated with misc. requests. Adaption into PowerPoint/PDF allows for a streamlined view for clients, business managers, and analysts. It is all uniform — but allows room for customization.,Online training,We have not integrated Spotfire with any other TIBCO products.,AnswersSpotfire after a yearSpotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.,Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift. Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well. Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).,When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look. Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows. Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.,7,Tableau Desktop,We have had success with our customers saving time and in some cases resources due to the new ways they were able to view their data. We have had many more groups identify issues with their data due to the ease of exploring their data with the product.,In-person training Self-taught,We are in process of testing integration with BusinessWorks6. So far using the BigData Connector we have been able to move data from sources into Hadoop and visualize with little effort, after setup.,Cloudera Manager, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Infogix Data3SixtyPreferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysisOur company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.,Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with. Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability. Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.,Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default. Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.,10,Spotfire implement quickly elemenated non-value added repetition of data processing for customer reports. Using the mapping plot to present data over an image is an underappreciated engineering application. For predictive analytics I'd recommend digging into other programs, preferably one that can integrate iwth Spotfire such as R or Statistica.,Online training Self-taught,During the first implementation of Spotfire we did not do any integrations. With an upcoming version of Spotfire we are preparing to integrate it with Statistica to cover the predictive analytics weaknesses.TIBCO is great for visualizationI use TIBCO Spotfire for visualization and curation of large datasets. The main advantage to using Spotfire over other programs is the ease of visualization and ability to annotate datasets.,Large dataset visualization Annotation of datasets Relatively simple use of formulas and calculations on datasets,It is still a pain to change the style of figures and legends. You can customize positions and size of text but it's annoying to do so.,10,,Self-taught,No really. A little bit with R and KNIME.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
630 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 630 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-100 of 280)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Germán Mandrini profile photo
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire in Precision Ag"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am doing a Ph.D. working with precision agriculture and variable rate technology. Since response patterns are variable and change by field, year, genotype, I use Spotfire to dynamically graph the response and detect those patterns. It's a powerful tool for data exploration.
  • Explore data and detect patterns
  • Provide suggestions for different types of graphs that could be done
  • Many times I want to use the same data but show different years in different tabs and I would like to have the option of applying different filters by a tab.
  • Fitting curves could have more options for differential equations and show the parameters with more decimals (or at least give the possibility to the user)
I used this software when I worked in Pioneer Hi-bred. I like it so much that now I'm using it in my Ph.D. and recommending it to my professors and people on my team. They are starting to use the map options, to map all the trials we are conducting in different parts of the world and filter them according to different options like crop, year, country, state, etc.
Read Germán Mandrini's full review
John Steinhauser profile photo
October 01, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Makes Big Data a Little Less Overwhelming"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it in a Petroleum asset development class in the Petroleum Engineering department at Texas A&M University. So far, I have really appreciated how I can use Spotfire to wrangle and evaluate large amounts of data. My team is just in the beginning phase of applying it, but I have used it in the past at other companies and it has been crucial to my work.
  • Handles large data sets.
  • Creates great visualizations.
  • Combines multiple data sets and helps me compare them.
  • Navigating the coding is a bit challenging.
  • Editing data sets in Spotfire would be nice. You can only look at data you input into the program.
  • Exporting visualizations to powerpoint only lets you make a whole slide. Making a well scaled image would be awesome.
Awesome for evaluating large sets of data. Not as much when you're looking at just 1 or 2 relationships in your data.
Read John Steinhauser's full review
Arun Kumar profile photo
September 27, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "On the spot"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used for teaching data analytics module to students
  • Visualisations such as scatter plots, density plots, and table manipulation and presentation, are very good and useful
  • Regression analysis: training, evaluation and prediction aspects are presented in a very intuitive manner
  • Ability to creation customised user controls using the text area, and also the filters based on the table content are very good aspects
  • Forecasting: Currently we are not able to download forecasted values, nor are we able to see the values using tooltip. Even Excel is able to do a better job for this particular aspect.
  • Classification Tree: Presently there is no graphical output; possible to use r code, but it's cumbersome
  • Logistic Regression: They need to provide users with the choice to either create one model for a single class (based on user choice,) or create a model based on two models (for both classes) and use of method such as Bayesian posterior probability calculations.
Well Suited: Spotfire analysis models can be used in Streambase for streaming data analysis.
Read Arun Kumar's full review
Obiageli Nnaji profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Analytics at your fingertips"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used across my organization for business plan and KPIs tracking, wells and reservoir surveillance, asset management, etc.
  • TIBCO Spotfire is user friendly. You don’t need programming experience to be able to work with Spotfire
  • Ability to easily generate different types of visuals for your process/equipment.
  • Very easy to drill down to details using Spotfire
  • On Demand feature is very helpful
  • Easy to swap columns. Data may come in very unstructured
Very suitable for visuals, easy to use, intuitive, doesn’t need programming skills, easy to drill down to details, reports can be exported in different formats
Read Obiageli Nnaji's full review
Elena Rouco Chas profile photo
September 06, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Good software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mostly all of the departments use Spotfire right now. It’s a great tool to see the insights of the data and it’s easy to create dashboards
  • Easy to create dashboards
  • Easy to code
  • Linear optimization
  • Save automatically in case Spotfire stops working
It’s suited to create reports with large amounts of data.
Read Elena Rouco Chas's full review
Elisa Andujar profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a good tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool provides intuitive graphs and highly customizable elements. The appearance is similar to dashboards. You can use multiple data sources. I really think it's easy to learn.
  • Multiple data source
  • Multiple graphs or visuals
  • Importing data is very easy
  • The colors can be improved
  • Some of the features are hard to find
  • Lack of documentation
Spotfire is a great tool to create dashboards. It can be a data scientist's tool as well as a tool for building visual analytics.
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
Alvaro Calle Cordon profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for big data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by a specific department in the company on a daily basis to do BI and analytics, mostly descriptive statistics and dashboards across big data sets. We have it connected with a Cloudera cluster on premise
  • Easy usage, fast in creating typical dashboarding
  • Good connection with big data bases
  • We have found problems in native connections with Amazon Athena in order to use data directly stored in S3. We had to migrate some hot data to Redshift where we experienced no problems at all
  • As a user of graphical programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot, and d3.js, I find limitations in creating highly customized dashboards.
If you need to do exploratory data analysis on big data, this tool is a way to go. However, you will lack some freedom if you come from programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot or d3.js. One of the most amazing things is the load-on-demand characteristic of Spotfire
Read Alvaro Calle Cordon's full review
Sudha Govindaraju profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "TIBCO software is one of the best data analytics tools- Wanna know why??"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO spotfire to deliver visual analytics of our data and also to compare one data set to other using pictorial description.
  • Helps analyze and report findings.
  • Capability to export our analysis, so that analysis can also be read by someone who does not have the software installed.
  • Easy to use and interactive visualization.
  • Strong mobile access.
  • Lack of production reporting.
  • The look is not very customizable.
  • Expensive.
Best tool for data visualization. Spotfire has proven to be a very useful tool while presenting our data in a way that it is clearly understood by the listeners.
Read Sudha Govindaraju's full review
Gauthier Vasseur profile photo
August 27, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire offers smooth learning curve and quick wins for more focus on business analytics goals and less on technology"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work with large organizations on their data/digital transformation. Leveraging Spotfire makes the transition easy and frictionless. We need people to focus on their business goals not on the tech. Spotfire delivers the simplicity and logic that enables that. Learning curve fits within a day. Performance suits any business analytics needs. Visualization is powerful and satisfying to the users who are encouraged to do more. It is a great solution to support transformation in the digital age.
  • Short learning curve with a nice learn-by-doing dynamic.
  • Cool visualisation options that really support decision-making process.
  • Nice data preparation features to feed analytics with better data.
  • Smoother integration with D3 libraries.
  • Easier integration of R on Mac.
Read Gauthier Vasseur's full review
No photo available
October 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire - Review and analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by specific departments within our organization. Obviously with our organization being so large not all departments can utilize it. It addresses issues of dashboards and graphs. Data can be used in a better way and represented to make management decisions. We require analytics of data across different areas of the website and/or software. TIBCO helps track this beautifully and can be easily integrated with other software to derive this data. It has a very scientific way of generating data and reports. Publishing reports is also a breeze and can be done easily.
  • TIBCO Spotfire has excellent visualizations, designs, customizations that can be done at your fingertips. It provides great analysis.
  • It can be integrated with other software to derive data and correlate data for better reports.
  • It has a role-based, secure, mobile friendly platform and reports that can be used by anyone in the organization.
  • TIBCO needs to provide manuals for training teams who are not aware on how to use the software. Support documentation is clearly lacking and needs to be addressed.
  • Templates are missing and can result in difficulty in creating complex reports. Simple one-click reports are a breeze, but anything further needs to be detailed out by the software provider.
  • Cost is expensive. Hence suitable for larger organizations.
  • It has a bad text editor for Javascript. If the Javascript throws out any errors, the entire IDE needs to be restarted.
With all software, there are pros and cons. Same is the case with TIBCO Spotfire. It has its own advantages and disadvantages. It comes with its own cost. It is very appropriate for simple crystal clear dashboards and visualizations. It is less suitable when it has to be integrated with Java. There are some issues with it lacking training material and support, it is difficult to figure this out. It is time consuming to solve these problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for supply chain"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used TIBCO Spotfire to solve the problem of displaying supply chain flow in a network. It very easy and quick to learn and get introduced with its capabilities, but currently, we are not using it, as we could find much more efficient similar tools to address the same problem. Along with network display, we were also looking for tools with graph database capabilities, which was the reason to park it aside and move forward with other options on the market.
  • I used Spotfire for network flow visualization. I used Tableau for the same thing, but the directional edges, and the different ways to show connections and directional flow edges without much effort, saved a lot more time for me.
  • As I wanted to do some calculation and forecasting based network visualization using R, it was very much possible with the use of TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R.
  • Demo version works for a reasonable number of days without a key, and it's easy to install, learn, and very quick to start using.
  • Few analytics capabilities are much faster than R
  • Cost is less than the other similar tools on the market
  • Need to add graph database capabilities as the visualization and graph DB combination will give more strength to it.
  • Community is not so strong and finding solutions and getting technical help is a bit time consuming.
1. Best to show analytics results using statics methods like bar charts, waterfall charts, KPI charts etc.
2. Best to use for workflow representation and I found it better than Tableau
3. Needs to improve map display.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO Analytics review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used by certain departments in our organization. We are using it for analytics in understanding budgeting from various departments. It gives us clear visual analytics/reports during meeting discussions. Data is taken from various databases and systems and organized in the tool. We then create pie charts, bar graphs and spot charts in the tool. Each bar graph can be edited individually and modified. This makes it much more robust than advanced Excel.
  • Excellent visual design
  • Create different types of graphs, spot charts and regular charts.
  • Modify individual elements of a graph.
  • Import data from different sources to gather data.
  • TIBCO has limited integration with other software. This can be improved as it needs to become a full-fledged robust tool instead of a design replacement of Excel. One example is integration with automation tools so that it can become more functional.
  • It has the potential to have more features from design to development.
  • Increase APIs for integration so that it can become a part of other software. ( Excel, PPT, QTP, SEE Test)
  • It can also have web-based APIs to make it very unique.
TIBCO is well suited for creating individual reports from data across different parts of an organization. It acts as a stand-alone tool with features for analytics and reports. It is very good for business users who need to create reports themselves from raw data. There are some drawbacks when it comes to getting data from integrated or automated systems. If it can become a part of other software, it would go miles. It has great flexibilities to customize dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Having trouble analyzing large datasets?... Use Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was being used to compare geological data from subsurface core datasets. I am currently the only grad student using it within my lab. But I have shown many other grad students the program and the possibilities it has for addressing large datasets.
  • Spotfire is very visually appealing.
  • There are a lot of different ways to visualize datasets and compare the data.
  • It is easy to upload and update/refresh the spreadsheets when your data changes.
  • It is not easy to drop a datapoint. Sometime there are outliers to the dataset and being able to easily drop one or a couple data points and see how trends change would be very useful.
  • I was using a Mac and in the online version, you cannot do as many things as you can if you are using the program through a PC. For example, on the online version, you cannot add a trend line to a graph. This is a pretty basic procedure that should be available.
It is very well suited for a large dataset. In a few clicks, you can compare many different variables from different spreadsheets (when linked together).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire will "light" up your data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights.

It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.
  • Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data
  • Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst.
  • Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.
  • Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well.
  • Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files.
  • More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.
Spotfire excels at connecting to multiple data sources and linking them together for insights that were previously unknown. It's a nice tool for data, metrics, analytics, visualizations, etc. It doesn't quite have the flexibility of Excel to make calculations across sheet easily, so some understanding and setup of your data structure must be done in preparation. Once you have the data set up in a format that's fit for Spotfire, you'll be trying to move all your reporting to it!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great BI tool for data scientists"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is a powerful platform that is used for deriving valuable business insights. It is an enterprise-class analytics platform that has excellent data visualization and discovery features that makes deriving information from data so much easy. It is being used by my department.
  • Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization
  • Strong mobile access across a variety of platforms
  • One of the best features is the capability to export the analysis to make it run in a web browser without losing the core interactive and filtering functionality making it available to anyone without having to install any software. This characteristic can result in huge savings in custom web application programming efforts.
  • The look and feel is not very customizable out of the box, which is the cherry on top when it comes to analyzing data. If you are looking for a nice looking sexy reporting tool, this is not it but I doubt you will find one with the brains and sophistication Spotfire has that.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
It has helped many organizations to analyze, predict next trends and report findings using interactive dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Spotfire from a reservoir engineering intern's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used for analyzing large volumes of reservoir engineering data and to create data visualizations for departmental meetings. It is particularly helpful for allowing us to understand and manage data interactively, and test preliminary hypotheses.
  • Visually identifying clusters within data sets
  • Using color effectively to convey relationships in the data
  • Creating relatively complex visualizations (like heat maps and 3D scatter plots)
  • Can be somewhat daunting to get going on the more complex analyses (I had to access technical support)
  • Error messages are not very detailed.
  • Can slow down when handling large amounts of data, or updating from a central data server
Suitable for multivariate analyses and simple visualization of complex data
Not suitable for easily pre-owned processing data (MS Excel is much more amenable to that).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for geologic interpretation in an academic setting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Spotfire as an intern in the Energy Industry and as a student for my masters research. In the industry setting Spotfire is pretty widely used throughout most of the business units within the company. As a student I was the only one in my research group to use Spotfire initially, but turned several other students onto it. In both settings Spotfire was used for processing and interpretation of geologic data and creating figures to display geologic concepts.
  • Filtering data
  • Multivariate display capabilities
  • Pretty easy to get started with for new users
  • Though Spotfire is good at exporting figures/images to PowerPoint you cannot export clear images for Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw for publication quality figures.
  • Spotfire has limited statistical analysis capabilities
  • Some features available on the desktop version are not available in the web version (such as copy and pasting display set ups)
Spotfire is great for data interpretation and for creating powerful figures, but it isn't appropriate for multivariate statistical analyses or any more complex statistical modeling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2019

"TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire as part of our solution for Digital Oil Fields. It is used for our clients as a visualization and data analysis tool. We connect to different data sources, do some analysis and visualize results on web dashboards. It is very convenient because we can create customized dashboards for every asset and case.
  • Connect to different data sources
  • Visualized data in different forms
  • Can be inserted into web pages
  • Allow scripting to add customized functionality
Scenarios where TIBCO Spotfire is well suited: data analysis
Scenarios where TIBCO Spotfire is less suited: where national language support is required
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to learn, use."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across the whole organization, such as supply chain, finance, and engineering.
We use it to visualize and analyze data to identify the problems and make decisions.
  • Syntaxs for calculated columns are easy to understand, master and apply.
  • Spotfire can provide interactive, customized reports and dashboards.
  • Set multiple column width at one time instead of change one by one.
  • Keep the color constant for the same column in the various visualizations.
After using Spotfire for 6 months, I found out Spotfire actually is a very user-friendly data visualization tool. It is easy to learn and apply. We upload the raw data into Spotfire for revenue/profit analysis, demand/supply analysis, capacity analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

"TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire within our business intelligence department. The team creates reports, charts and graphs for employees, customers and our website portal.
  • Our business intelligence department can create on-the-fly ad-hoc reports & graphs for management and customers.
  • It publishes quite well, creating visuals that can be easily read and understood.
  • Handles multiple sources of data well.
  • When the interface "chokes" so to speak, which is not often, it is not explicit in the reasoning. No error on the screen or in the log.
  • When errors do occur they can be a bit vague. This makes it hard to troubleshoot.
  • Support is good, but does need some improvement.
Once you have a user who understands it, the application is fantastic for ad-hoc reports, results publishing and creating shared content. It does work really well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Geospatial data specialist"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Spotfire to do data analytics for some of our clients.

Only a select few employees currently are using Spotfire.

We tend to use Spotfire when we want to create dashboards for our clients that primarily deal with visualizing geographic data. We deemed this product to be the best fit for this niche need, and it is not our primary data analytics or business intelligence application of choice.
  • GIS or any geographic dashboarding
  • Concise and clean visualizations
  • Basic data discovery
  • Custom made visualizations and dashboards are not very intuitive
  • Drill-down functions and LOD are good but not quick on par with industry leaders
  • Relatively expensive to implement for smaller teams
We use Spotfire in instances where we believe the data requires heavier use of geographic information to visualize.

In all other instances, we would pick Tableau or Power BI as our visualization tool of choice. Spotfire is not quite as leading edge as Tableau or as widely available as Power BI to be useful for us to take to our clients on a regular basis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "CPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.
  • Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection.
  • Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo.
  • Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability.
  • Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard
  • Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially.
  • Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended.
  • To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.
End-user — accessing dashboards remotely without the need to contact an analyst or marketing.
Analysts — can use Spotfire for real-time data — plus any applicable analysis.

Less appropriate - simple end-user who is accustomed to a particular report/dashboard. I can foresee a major learning curve with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire after a year"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.
  • Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift.
  • Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well.
  • Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).
  • When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look.
  • Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows.
  • Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.
When we work with a new team that has the desire to visualize their data, we spend about 2 hours with them and usually record the session. We ask they come with a use case in mind. Spotfire is not an immediately intuitive product so this session really helps users understand their data, the product, and set expectations for how it can be used.

With this being said, you can see there is a time commitment, it's not exactly simple, but it is a powerful tool. Most people also arrive at this conclusion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Preferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.
  • Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with.
  • Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability.
  • Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.
  • Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default.
  • Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.
If you have graphs which are regularly published or reviewed Spotfire will quickly show its value. As an engineer, the ease of plotting data on an image, i.e. a ternary phase diagram, greatly improves communication across the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "TIBCO is great for visualization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TIBCO Spotfire for visualization and curation of large datasets. The main advantage to using Spotfire over other programs is the ease of visualization and ability to annotate datasets.
  • Large dataset visualization
  • Annotation of datasets
  • Relatively simple use of formulas and calculations on datasets
  • It is still a pain to change the style of figures and legends. You can customize positions and size of text but it's annoying to do so.
Analyzing large scientific data sets that need to be visualized.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (242)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (209)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (237)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (248)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (179)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (224)
7.9
Publish to Web (187)
8.3
Publish to PDF (221)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (137)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (254)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (221)
8.4
Predictive Analytics (191)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (196)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (164)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (182)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (141)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (100)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (119)
7.4
REST API (44)
7.3
Javascript API (44)
7.2
iFrames (32)
7.0
Java API (35)
7.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (43)
7.0
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (37)
7.0

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO Spotfire® is a data visualization platform that aims to speed individual time to insight and spur analytics adoption across the organization. According to the vendor, Spotfire helps users quickly and easily generate insights with three new ways to support their analytical preferences: NLQ powered search, AI-driven recommendations, and direct manipulation. Users can add context with native streaming for integrated analyses of real-time and historical data, best-in-class geoanalytics, and one-click predictive analytics to go beyond basic visualizations and understand the factors driving trends and what will happen next.

TIBCO Cloud Spotfire® provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring.

According to the vendor, Spotfire's differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is deployed in companies in financial services, energy, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, government, travel & logistics, helathcare, life sciences and more.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

TIBCO Spotfire Screenshots

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (4)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Analyst$125/mo, $1250/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Business Author$65/mo, $650/yrPer Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales
TIBCO Cloud Spotfire - Consumer$25/mo, $250/yrPer Seat

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portugese, Chinese, Italian