Azure DevOps Reviews

273 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Azure DevOps Eases the Pain

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

DevOps is more full-featured than its on-prem predecessor or any of the above with the possible exception of the Atlassian suite. I would say those two are roughly comparable. However, the ease of integration is much better with DevOps and other Microsoft products (although it has been a couple of years since I reviewed Atlassian). Again, if you are Microsoft-centric, DevOps is a no-brainer. If you are not, then Atlassian is definitely worth a look.
Read this authenticated review
Amy Liston | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Azure DevOps was our Agile metrics savior!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps covers way more than just an awesome Agile storyboard. The widgets, the reporting, the interaction with Power BI and the features that hook into pull requests and DevOps in general, go way beyond what your competitors offer. I find Azure DevOps easy to navigate and anytime I have had a question or concern, I have received a quick, answer from tech support.
Read Amy Liston's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Azure DevOps for large Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have utilized multiple products in the past such as SVN, Visual Source Safe, Team Foundation Server, GitHub and more. For end to end full life cycle development none of them could come close to Azure DevOps. We are in the process of migrating everything for these old platforms over to Azure DevOps.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

DevOps for the MSFT stack and beyond!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They are really close. Azure DevOps is better because of the deep integration with Microsoft technologies. JIRA is better on the customization side. However, Azure DevOps is really improving on that front. They are releasing new features every other week now. Azure DevOps also has CI/CD build process built into the application.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

DevOps is one of the key solutions to all of your successful development projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

GitHub seemed to be more of an open-source development environment and made it a little challenge to keep our source private and onsite at our own facilities. Gitlab did not have the full Dev Ops pipeline and seemed to have a lot of different bugs when using it. We used the VSTS product and continue to use it when it became Azure DevOps and have not had the types of issues described.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Bringing it all together: People, Products, Process—Azure DevOps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • IBM Rational ClearCase, Visual SourceSafe (Discontinued) and IBM ClearQuest
Azure DevOps offers full lifecycle management from ideas to development to test and release. Everything is in one place and has traceability from inception to release, maintenance and retirement. The other systems only offer small parts of what Azure DevOps has. They offer loose integrations, but your organization will be missing that full lifecycle traceability with these tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Get Quick Pipelines Up and Running with Azure DevOps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • AWS CodePipeline, Gitlab, Jenkins and Bamboo
Azure DevOps required the least amount of up front knowledge to get a pipeline up and running. Because of the built in activities, when I initially started working with this tool I didn't have to know anything other than where my code was stored. The rest was easy enough to figure out as I went. It didn't require me to build up any images to work, all of that was in an easy to use interface that was prebuilt and ready to go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Azure DevOps, the future of ALM with Microsoft

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you are currently using Jenkins or Bitbucket as an ALM tool, then I would highly recommend taking a look at Azure DevOps as the integration to the Microsoft stack is extremely easy and versatile. Microsoft has invested heavily in getting this tool best in class with the support to match.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Azure DevOps, Formerly VSTS, Makes your Life Better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to other tools we have used, Microsoft STS has been a much more complete tool. Communication, collaboration, tracking, management, automation, testing, speed to production—all these areas have been improved since we started using Microsoft STS. We have been looking for ways to be more transparent as a department too and Microsoft VSTS has helped in that journey.
Read this authenticated review
AMANDEEP KUNDRAO | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Best IDE -->Visual Studio

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For the last 4- 5 years I have only used VS. We can't imagine switching to another product. It is secure, reliable, intuitive, and easy to use. If we need to add compatibility of other language with this, then we need to simply add the Plugin and use it .
Read AMANDEEP KUNDRAO's full review
Rahul Kumar Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Microsoft Team System a way for developers to work at the same time on a project without any hassle.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Visual Studio was on the market when there were no other providers for this type of service. So if a company was already working on this technology, it will always provide a better output than if they migrated to a new one. However, when comparing GitHub with Microsoft Team System, it's very close, but GitHub is leading in this, in my view.
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

VSTS is a great tool - but just for development teams

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are moving away from VSTS to Version One since Version One has a better end to end workflow for a product based team (where product and development work very closely together and need to access the same data and communicate in an efficient manner.)
Read this authenticated review
Glenn Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

VSTS the best for Microsoft builds

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

VSTS is great if you final source system is Microsoft based. Everything work well together and once you learned how use VSTS it isn't difficult to build more build systems. If your staff are used to the methods Microsoft uses, their time learning VSTS won't be as difficult as staff that do not know the Microsoft way of doing things. If, however, you are going to build non-Microsoft bases applications, such as Java, Ruby or even Python, Jenkins is probably a better choice.
Read Glenn Jones's full review
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2018

VSTS will save you time/money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The VSTS toolset can be cheaper - but it depends on the toolset that you use.

A typical developer will require a license for JIRA, Confluence, and Bitbucket. The total cost of this is around $150 per year. A VSTS license which covers 90% of the features set will be around $40 per year. That being said, Cconfluence has a better wiki than what VSTS offers, but it doesn't balance out the remaining $110 difference per year.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Visual Studio Team Services The Best IDE for developers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The versatility of Visual Studio Team System then allows choosing it over the other options, having the possibility of having all the necessary tools to carry out a development project is definitely the reason why it is the mandatory option to choose. The other options are open source options so for emerging teams may seem to be the right ones. However, it is convenient to try the free version before making a choice.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Andy Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Visual Studio Team Services - an agile workflow and CD/CI toolchain.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Easier to use than GitHub, but it comes at a cost. Although you can script VSTS, the online version could use a more substantial editor. Those who remember project Monaco and its current implementation in Azure, App Service Editor, will be disappointed if looking for more of an Apache Orion-like online editor.
Read Andy Turner's full review
Swagata Bhattacharyya | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2018

All under one umbrella

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Unlike the other tools I have used, VSTS has everything under one roof. The other tools I have used are specific to a particular requirement like code version control, task management etc. VSTS on the other hand, has all aspects of the project tied together which makes it more useful.
Read Swagata Bhattacharyya's full review
Mauro Bennici | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

VSTS as development team companion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are a Microsoft technology based company and the 80% of our projects are .NET and are developed with Visual Studio. The VSTS is the natural partner of our development day by day work. Our machines are running Windows Server 2012 and 2016 with Sql Server, so with VSTS we can continue to stay and to manage a known stack.
Read Mauro Bennici's full review
Clay Horste | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2017

New guy on the VSTS block.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our TFS was dated and in some ways was quite crude. VSTS is thoroughly modern and I don't have to worry about updating it since MS is always updating VSTS. Also, VSTS has better integration with other products such as JIRA than our older TFS would. I am sure you could integrate TFS with anything, but it was some serious work.
Read Clay Horste's full review
Christopher Belanger | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

A Solid Tracking and Deployment System

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

VSTS is the best integrated tracking and deployment software for a pure Microsoft shop. It has some weaknesses, the builds aren't as easy to configure as TeamCity and the security setup is needlessly convoluted, but it is a solid offering.
Read Christopher Belanger's full review

About Azure DevOps

Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System) is an agile development product that is an extension of the Microsoft Visual Studio architecture. Azure DevOps includes software development, collaboration, and reporting capabilities.

Azure DevOps Competitors

CA Agile Central (formerly Rally)

Azure DevOps Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No