ServiceNow IT Service Management Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
376 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 21, 2020
Saul Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to handle all of our IT requests for different departments, DBAs, Network, Infrastructure, security, applications, human resources new people onboarding, and IS. We also use it as our main tool to handle and schedule our delivery process and to submit change requests. And finally, this is the tool that we use to manage and handle our production incidents and problems
  • Organizing development process.
  • Handling production incidents.
  • Easy way to submit a ticket to request support, you have a friendly user catalogue.
  • There are some processes that have too many steps to be completed.
  • You have limited users with full access (write/edit), you need to pay more.
  • You need time to understand the user interface.
It is great to have a well-defined process while requesting support, it is easy for you to see the progress of your ticket and who is or has worked on your request. You need to have a well-defined catalog; if you do not do that your support requests steps could be too many.
Read Saul Sanchez's full review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow IT Service Management for change, asset, incident, and problem management. It’s used by the IT department though we have started implementing it for others like HR. The main problem it helps with is incident management--reporting a ticket via chat, email or call is easy. It also helps us organize changes and understand impacts. We use the asset inventory for management and have it tied into the purchase order process.
  • Incident management
  • Change processes
  • Purchase order tracking
  • Asset management
It is suited for medium to large companies that can afford to have a full-time ServiceNow developer. There is a lot of customization and coding that can be done to make it a great product but that requires some coding expertise. It is great for companies that do not have any current products and are looking to get ServiceNow IT Service Management implemented.
We tend to get pointed in the right direction. Can be tedious at times.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2020
Srinivas Rao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow has been an integral part of our Service desk, used by tech and non-tech customer service team
This is used by most of the departments that are associated with one of our clients. ServiceNow addresses the central issue of handling customer issues. It is used extensively by about 300 of the total of 500 staff members of my organization.
  • Tracking incident history
  • Report Generation
  • Its keep logging out
  • Overall layout
If I am opening a new process, then I will include ServiceNow. I will recommend highly to the people who would require an application to track data and handle customer complaints and issues.
Unfortunately, I have never required Support :) There have been instances where there was a downtime for a few minutes, maybe, but it was up and running. It did not affect business.
Read Srinivas Rao's full review
February 12, 2020
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow replaced the Cherwell Service Management tool in our organization. We use this tool for Service Request, Incident Report and Change Request management company wide. Different operational teams are using the tool, both internal employees and outside customer service requests and issues escalation. The tool is also used for reporting purposes inside each support team.
  • Faster performance than competitor products.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Does not have a "paste from clipboard" option.
  • Missing some functions in Incident creation option (like adding a table in the description field).
ServiceNow has a lot of useful training material. It is easy to get trained and be able to use the tool efficiently in a short period of time. Fast performance and a lot of different reporting options is a big plus of the tool.
The respond and fix time is very good. Clear resolution of the task requested and also an informative description about any inquiry that was raised.
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
March 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is our incident, change and problem management tool. It also serves many other functions throughout the organization and it utilized by the entire company. The knowledge repositories for documenting procedural information is heavily used as well as a catalog for users to request specific services from IT and or business teams.
  • Easy to use and straightforward with options that fit just about every department.
  • API easily accepts SOAP requests for automatic ticket generation and integration into other applications.
  • Dashboards and a built in visual task board similar to a Kanban board are nice features.
  • Unable to create robust service offerings for end users in the catalog. The current process works fine for our needs but have to tailor certain offerings based on limitations of the product.
  • Certain aspects are clunky and hard to correctly setup. For example, oncall calendars and scheduling require the user to define several components which are not intuitive and don't seem to follow a logical flow.
ServiceNow can facilitate an organization's needs for a robust incident and change management tool. It also has a wide array of other features that can be tailored to the company or down to the individual. ServiceNow also provides capabilites for event management, such as a trigger that would perform a restart of a service on a server for example.
I have not used ServiceNow support directly, however it appears the company sticks to a steady release plan for new versions and updates.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used as the main way to source and distribute our tickets and requests for our service desk. It is used by the entire IT organization. It addresses and gives us a way to organize efficiency for the ticketing system that our organization uses when submitting a need for technical help.
  • Alerts immediately when a ticket has been created.
  • Streamlines the process for whose ticket is sent.
  • The interface can be a little jumbled looking.
  • Excess emails are sometimes sent.
ServiceNow is well suited to any organization with a large service desk that needs to address the issues, requests, and concerns of multiple users. It is well suited for an organization that needs an easy way to distribute tickets.
I would give it this rating because we have had no major issues with the support for ServiceNow after we implemented it at our organization. They seem to respond promptly and efficiently if we ever do need to open a support case with them about an issue we are having.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used in the tracking of IT services-related technical activities. "Tickets" get created to record requests, incidents, changes, etc. within the firm. A helpdesk is available where technical support folks can create tickets on behalf of callers who are in need of supplies or assistance with some technology. Other professionals who are more comfortable navigating the ServiceNow product will create their own tickets .
  • Ease of ticket creation (navigating just a few fields to get the process underway).
  • Ability to provide supporting documentation as attachments to tickets (screenshots, spreadsheets).
  • General slowness when querying on lists of tickets at times.
  • Mentions of service disruptions can be significantly delayed following the actual event (i.e. network connectivity disruption, power loss, etc.).
ServiceNow is certainly appropriate for any organization that operates using a ticketing system to document work managed (i.e. an IT HelpDesk, a cable, phone, or internet service provider). It would not be well suited for an environment where service offerings are not the type that can be compartmentalized and aggregated perfectly (i.e. some professional services such as law offices, financial services, medical facilities).
Having used earlier versions of ServiceNow, when compared to its current look and feel I can say the current version we're using is far more intuitive, simpler to navigate (even for novice users of self-service tools), and quicker. On occasion I can see slowness when performing searches in the Knowledgebase or when querying for tickets, but other than that am pleased with it as a tool to support our practice.
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used in the IT Department as a way to manage Incidents and Change Requests at this time. It allowed us to put all the information into one reliable system. It also allowed us to customize the process with in the organization for these processes. The system is also available outside of the organization and is cloud-based, where our prior system was only on-premise.
  • In the Cloud
  • Reliability
  • Initial setup can be daunting
  • No dark theme
I would recommend ServiceNow for anyone. ServiceNow is so powerful and highly useful that it would be a benefit to any organization with at least over 750 employees. This software is highly customizable and integrates with almost any software that might be used by your organization. It is something to look at if you can afford it.
A lot of their support is automated so that you get what you want to take care of when you need it, but in the event, you need to talk to a person, you can always call and get your issue resolved asap. They are also really good at keeping you up to date on your issue until its resolved.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used for IT Service Management, the central ticketing system to report and solve issues across all company departments. It was also used to drive some of the core company processes like New to hire processing. Where the workflow triggers and creates several tasks and gets them assigned to different departments and individuals to accomplish all tasks needed to supply a new hired individually with all the required accesses to applications that the company uses.
  • Report and assign issues that employees are having with a system or application that they need to use to help them complete their work.
  • Keep track of all IT assets (Employee computers, company telephones assigned to employees).
  • To accomplish some of the tasks like the discovery of servers and retrieval of info from these servers on the network, ServiceNow requires you to pay extra to get the additional services, and these services can get very expensive.
  • ServiceNow has between 1 or 2 version releases per Year, these New releases introduce new features but most of the cases they have issues or create new problems on existing components on initial release, so we decided to skip releases and make the updates on every other release and wait at least for the first set of fix patches to be available
  • Ticketing is the greatest strength of ServiceNow, so having users log issues and then trigger workflows to get tasks created and assigned to multiple support groups to solve the problem is the best use of ServiceNow.
  • Although ServiceNow is powerful, sometimes they (ServiceNow reps) want to sell you the idea that all processes can be solved through the use of ServiceNow. However, that would require too much customization that gets problematic when a new version upgrade is required. As I mentioned, they do between 1 to 2 releases per year, so trying to upgrade when too many customizations were made can become a problem or need too much time to make sure all isn't broken.
Whenever there was an issue that ServiceNow itself had to address, their response was quick and accurate. They were even able to create custom fixes to solve some of these issues, or at least we would get a date or release when the problem will get resolved, so there was no trying to guess when an official fix will be provided to us.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used extensively through out our whole firm. We utilize the tool to manage requests. We have a portal built that allows our clients to escalate their request to our company. We also use it for change management. We have an approval process built in and it provides transparency across the firm to see what changes are happening each night. We leverage the knowledge base feature and maintain knowledge base articles in ServiceNow. We also have groups that manage projects via ServiceNow tickets.
  • ServiceNow is highly customizable. You can build out your desired forms and leverage those forms to build out reports to track progress and trends.
  • ServiceNow has e-mail forwarding built in, so anytime a ticket gets updated, the end-user associated with the ticket can have an e-mail notification sent to them.
  • To get the platform to do exactly what you need, it requires a good amount of dev work. I wish the out of the box version had an easier way to build out customizations.
  • The firm will have to hire ServiceNow experts to serve as administrators.
I would highly recommend this platform for any firm trying to consolidate a lot of tasks into one tool. If you need a SaaS provider that allows you to manage requests, change management, knowledge bases, client portals, and reporting functionality, this is a great tool. My firm has really benefited greatly from utilizing this tool.
ServiceNow support has been good, but we've leveraged consulting firms to help us build out the tool to a state that is suitable for our firm. We've also attended ServiceNow conferences in Las Vegas, and those sessions have been very informative and provided some great ideas as to how we can further leverage the tool in the future.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in my organization uses ServiceNow. High level: some people complain about the performance or features but to be honest, there's no way any other application can service a 40k user company. It does a great job tracking requests and other services. I've been a user for a while and it allowed me to easily track requests and open requests for other users. It has a good user interface and an advanced back end for more technical people.
  • Track requests
  • History and archiving
  • Slowness
  • It costs more to integrate it with MS Teams even if the organization has a license for both
For a large scale organization, it's been working perfectly. We have used it for over 5 years and I'm happy with it. Some users complain about small things but I'm sure no other tool can solve what a 10k+ person organization needs.
Internal teams work directly with ServiceNow Support and do a great job communicating back solutions to problems our team has.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used for knowledge-base management (help articles), incident/ticket management (help desk), and lots of internal processes for managing groups, forms, and other internal processes within the IT department. It is used across all of IT internally and then externally for the help articles and incident help tracking (emails). It has grown from originally handling just incidents to doing everything we can possibly think of - which isn't a great thing.
  • Flexibility
  • Feature set
  • Difficult to use
  • Lacks clarity
ServiceNow is well suited to an organized IT department who has multiple people with the time to understand and help others use it effectively. Having lots of end users, even IT people, create their own articles and manage tickets is difficult due to a non-intuitive interface. This might be due to how our organization setup and implemented ServiceNow originally. Nonetheless, I find it very difficult to navigate and to remember where things are. Building reports is a struggle. However, it's not my primary role to understand ServiceNow and I only use it 1-2 a week. My advice is to reduce the number of people who need to interact with ServiceNow to a bare minimum. If you can have one person who helps others create and manage help articles and incidents (if they are infrequent) it'll ultimately save time.
I have never needed to use ServiceNow support. We support it in house and with all the customization we have done it's best not to rely on external support.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow for managing support incidents and change management.
  • Support ticketing.
  • Change management.
  • A cleaner interface would be nice.
  • Attachment management.
Over the years I have tried multiple ticketing and change management systems and Service Now is by far the simplest to use, but without compromising any of the functionality or configurability of the other products. And being a cloud-based system, the maintenance is almost non-existent which is always a plus.
Every time we have had a need to contact support it has been pleasant and they have resolved our issues with no problem.
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization as the only software to provide customer support for all the company systems. Users submit a ticket requesting support with any of the applications our company uses.
  • User-friendly.
  • The workflow within ServiceNow is efficient.
  • As a user, I haven't identified any areas where i would like to see improvement.
  • I'd like to learn how to use filters better in order to find tickets assigned to me in a faster, easier way, but that is not a system issue.
I have found the functionality of the system to be really good and user-friendly (easy to learn).
I gave this rating becasue the support has always been good.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Gardiner Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used at my business organization across the entire organization for CI (Configuration Item) inventory, service desk ticketing, infrastructure design and build requests and specifications, firewall rule change requests, and is tied to AutoCloud for the automated deployment of Cloud based virtual machines (VMware). In short, everything related to IT in my company uses ServiceNow.
  • When I have a number of requests to make, for example a request to add a dozen or so user accounts to more than one group account in Active Directory , I can put all the needed information into the initial form, add it to my "shopping cart" and all of that information remains on the screen for the next item for which I only need to edit a few items (like the AD group name in this example), and keep adding them to the shopping cart until I have them all. When I "Check Out" each of those items is generated as a separate task under the one request. It simplifies and expedites the creation and tracking of these kinds of requests.
  • I can easily and quickly see what tickets are currently assigned to me in order to prioritize them and remain aware of my workload.
  • Numerous fields for CIs can be used when trying to find the entry for a particular item. For example, IP Address, server name, raw text, classification, and so on.
  • To help with making sense out of related tasks, when a task is assigned to me and I need to open another task for a different team to work in order to complete my task, I can open a sub-task from my ticket so that the relationship between the two can be pulled up later into reports. For example, I may have a task to build a new vm, and need to open tasks for networking, security accounts, software installation and so on. By opening sub-tasks from my assignment, the time spent by all parties concerned is tied together for more meaningful cost accounting.
  • Finding requests that I opened and have since been completed by the assigned group/individual is very difficult to accomplish unless I've written down the request numbers somewhere.
  • Requests that I opened and are subsequently closed, often continue to appear in the list of "My Open Requests" giving the appearance that they were not completed when in fact they were.
  • It may exist, but if it does I haven't found it yet, which makes it less than intuitive, but I would like to see the ability to recall a request in ServiceNow.
  • I believe our firewall rule change request for is a custom form, but it has a serious drawback. If I submit such a request and need to make a correction to it before it is approved, there isn't anyway for me to do so. The request has to first be rejected with the creation of a sub-task in order to edit it before it is resubmitted for approval.
In very large enterprises. ServiceNow can handle a multitude of operations to help with overall IT management. The downside is two-fold: it can get quite clunky at times, and is expensive. While much of it is not intuitive and can be difficult to figure out and use, it has quite a wide range of reporting capabilities. If set up properly with solid process flows, it can be a tremendous tool for IT consumers, technicians and management.
Custom process flows when needed for AutoCloud server builds take quite a lot of time, as in days and sometimes weeks. Other than that, however, I do not have first-hand knowledge of support for ServiceNow
Read Gardiner Jones's full review
December 12, 2019
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used to track IT hardware equipment, along with interdependencies. It is also used to track changes. It is meant to function as a central repository for all changes and all hardware equipment; along with high-level data such as an operating system and software versioning. Instead of having multiple systems of record for an accounting of hardware/software/network addressing; ServiceNow functions as the central information repository.
  • Ability to track all changes to a specific and individual item (such as a Linux server).
  • Retrieve and display interdependent items. Servers run OS' and connect to a network via addresses 1, 2, 3, etc.
  • Very difficult to onboard configuration items one by one.
  • Very difficult to remove items added by mistake. For example, once a contact number is entered for an individual resource, it is impossible to remove it.
Tracing a piece of hardware like a node within a cluster of servers, to its data center and network connection is very easy if configured properly within ServiceNow. Determining what changes have been made to a configuration item, or a dependent item is very easy. This is critical to problem diagnosis, troubleshooting, and root cause analysis.
Support is OK but requires too much additional cost. Since ServiceNow is not easy to configure during the initial setup; its functionality is also limited. If additional support is requested, too many additional costs are also needed. Each implementation of ServiceNow is unique in trying to find detailed data on other implementations is difficult.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow extensively in the organization for Incident Management, Change management, Application Life-cycle management, Knowledgebase, and Content Management. It is the key system to control and support our IT operations globally.
  • Incident Management. Very robust and extensive solution, very easy to extend globally.
  • Application Management: We have our own custom developed SNOW module to manage Business apps that will be replaced with the upcoming migration to Madrid.
  • Change Management: Great way to keep control of any and all changes to production systems.
  • Limited Power-user Dev Tools for Forms: It would be great to offer a no-code alternative to Power Users to create forms and workflows, similar to what Infopath offered. We are using SNOW forms but each initiative requires a dedicated Dev team to develop.
  • JIRA Integration: We'd like to have a more flexible way to interface and promote Incidents in SNOW to Stories in JIRA.
  • Assignment Groups are difficult to manage and require a complex IT process to be done.
SNOW is great for Service Desk activities (Incidents, requests, etc). It is very scalable and robust, allowing proper segregation of duties and controls (ITIL type).

In my opinion the forms and workflow offering is limited as it requires a dedicated and expert dev team. Simple business processes are more challenging to be automated using SNOW as it is harder to identify an ROI.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2019
Jasun Aubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is the ticketing system used by our entire company. Anyone from production, engineering, executives, field sales/support, finance, customer service and anything I may have missed uses ServiceNow to log tickets. The IS department uses ServiceNow to update, track, monitor and close out Tasks, Incidents, and Change Requests. ServiceNow is a pretty vital part of our business. We also use it for process documentation. I am sure that we use it for many other roles that I am not aware of.
  • I like the way the dashboard is setup, very easy to access reporting I need to see to help run my team better.
  • Its very easy to train end user on how to input a ticket. The process is typically very easy.
  • I also enjoy to ability to export reports to an excel file for further analysis.
  • When adding additional filters to a report that has already been created, that seems to create issue with pulling information from the database correctly.
  • We use SN for asset management, it can sometimes take awhile for information to update.
  • Alot of times, KB articles do not save to my favorites correctly and I have to go try to find them again. That can be a bit tedious.
ServiceNow is a great tool for any deskside or MSP team. Overall, it is easy to use, very end user-friendly and just makes my job a lot easier. I manage 7 deskside techs and our queue often gets to over 120-150 tickets. We support roughly 1000-1200 employees. One thing I did notice is the status of the tickets seems to have no effect on the SLA warnings like it should. Putting a ticket into Awaiting caller status doesn't seem to stop the "timer" on our SLAs as it should.
Read Jasun Aubert's full review
July 13, 2019
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used throughout the organization to perform and manage field services, professional services, and internal IT services. We manage our main ITIL processes with ServiceNow: Incident Management, Request Fulfilment, Problem Management, Change Management, Configuration Management, Service Catalog, Customer Self Service and Event Management. We are using event management with some monitoring tools.
  • It's an end to end ITSM solution with a lot of add-on market. Also, AI/ML support, Analytics.
  • ServiceNow CMDB is fully integrated to the ITSM side in helping the support team to relate any request, incident, problem, or change to a particular CI that registered in the CMDB.
  • The back end development side is supporting java and JavaScript. It is very flexible.
  • ServiceNow is serving as Saas and Paas as well.
  • It also supports the integration of autoCAD as well. It's very helpful if you are currently managing weak projects.
  • When using a UI action which has a script inside, it freezes the screen.
  • Upgrading an instance will become quite hectic.
  • The CMDB functionality is wonderful, but we have some high-cost concerns when you try to implement discovery tools for an automatic CMDB population.
  • Since it is web-based, there could be some incompatibility and web page display issues on some browsers.
ServiceNow is well suited as an ITSM tool. It includes all the necessary ITIL processes. It makes it simple to assign tickets, track and report workflows and tickets with analytic power.
The workflow engine is the best side of ServiceNow. For example, problem management is definitely connected to a workflow to take approvals and set state fields based on the approvals. Because of that, you can create some Business Processes. We did it as well.
All of our servers, network elements, and IT things are registered in CMDB, and we relate them with processes and manage them with our integrated monitoring tools.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
February 06, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow was used as the centralized IT ticking solution for the student, staff and faculty helpdesk. It was later expanded to include the project and program management module. This was used by network operations teams, development teams as well as customer facing portal to submit tickets which will follow a back-end workflow to ensure it is properly triaged.

This product allowed us to address having a one-stop shop for ticketing internal and external. We are able to ensure tickets are routed properly without too much administrative overhead in triage.
  • ServiceNow does a great job in creating a one-stop shop for ticketing for any organization large or small. The system has the ability to scale easily to both internal and external customers.
  • ServiceNow has the ability to scale beyond ticketing to include contract and project management modules to further support one single operation for administration.
  • ServiceNow integrates very well with Microsoft Active Directory.
  • ServiceNow has a very robust set of permissions and rules you can apply for a high level of security.
  • ServiceNow knowledgebase is limited for self-learning on how to use their features.
  • ServiceNow sometimes has a very linear approach to some workflows or assignments where there could only be one child/parent relationship.
  • The ServiceNow features for Project Management serves its function is rather cumbersome. The dependencies aspect or predecessors or successors options are rather limited. It is more focused on hours planned vs hours worked then dependencies.
  • ServiceNow customer support is hit or miss. They could serve to have more self-help step by step articles.
  • ServiceNow needs to have a better export or import features for their Project Management module.
ServiceNow is a perfect and great fit for A to B style helpdesk ticketing! I would tend to shy away from this product is your project management shop is on the medium or larger scale. It is ok for smaller projects but not for large complex, multi-team projects. ServiceNow is also great for establishing routine and frequently used workflows that you want to publish to an external or public customer base. There is a lot of potential to relieve a lot of administrative overhead but it requires a lot of back end work to see those results.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
March 11, 2019
Adam Sylvester | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used across the whole organisation. The infrastructure management [team] runs the full CMDB service hierarchy on ServiceNow and it is used to support the full ITIL environment in terms of change, incidents, requests, knowledge and asset management. End users make use of features such as the Service Catalog and are able to track their requests
  • The interface in terms of Incident and Request Management between Supplier, Business and Customer is simple and efficient.
  • Many changes to inventories can be made in real time.
  • The plug in modules are good but a high level of customisation is also possible.
  • When I click on an item on the left hand pane, it would be nice if ServiceNow could show a summary at the top of where I currently am in ServiceNow, similar to Windows Explorer. An example of this is: If I click on "User Administration - Users" All it shows is Groups at the top left of the right hand pane. What I'm asking for is that is shows the full path of where I currently am. This would also apply to SvcNow links that are sent to me.
  • My first point also also applies to ServiceNow links that are sent to me.
  • If I look at software models and then return to a specific request, the moment I approve it the screen jumps to the models before I've had a chance to populate a task.
It's well suited for our process owners in Change, Incident, Request and Problem scenarios. These areas are covered well. However in Event Management, I noticed that in every new release of ServiceNow, there seems to be an update in Event Management, where it's not required. It breaks our current setup, so we raise an Incident with ServiceNow’s support which takes months to resolve. A current example of this is that we've upgraded to the London release from Jakarta and Alert Management Rules were introduced. This prevented us from creating new Alert Rules until we enlisted an expensive training course! There was nothing wrong with the old Alert Rules, as they worked well. So why bring thing new functionality when it's not required?
Read Adam Sylvester's full review
February 15, 2019
Jonathan Ayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used in our organization for internal tickets as well as with our customer facing requests. It is used for ticketing, asset management, and software management.
  • Asset management - ServiceNow provides detailed asset management capabilities.
  • Reports - ServiceNow allows reports that can be endlessly customized to provide any information.
  • Software Management - ServiceNow allows serial number and software deployment information to be centralized.
  • Customer Interface - ServiceNow can be difficult to use at first. It does require some initial training to get the hang of.
  • KB Articles - It really depends on who makes them but even the best KB article can be hard to understand at times.
  • ITIL Interface - The ITIL statistics interface could use some work, can be hard to understand.
ServiceNow is really suited anywhere. Since it is so customizable, you can make it fit any situation or organization. I like to think of it as a "Swiss Army Knife". The software management piece is really useful, it allows you to manage software deployment and serial number management. It also has a self-service feature that allows users to submit requests through templates that gather the pertinent information. I've used other systems like Remedy and KACE but ServiceNow is by far the best I've used.
Read Jonathan Ayers's full review
February 06, 2019
Jonathan Norwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our service desk and the entire IT department, as well as our medical enrollment department, and we are adding groups monthly so that we are all on the same system. We are better able to communicate this way. It has helped to be on the same page as well and be better organized.
  • Organizes tickets very well.
  • Allows multiple users to interact at one time on a ticket.
  • Having the option to have multiple categories is also nice.
  • The ability to reopen a ticket even after it is closed for final. We then have to recreate the ticket.
Great all around, we love the ability to communicate inside of ServiceNow. we are able to work a ticket with multiple people even if from different departments. The ease of function in creating tickets is also nice. On a daily basis, we create tickets and are able to search them if something new comes from the user.
Read Jonathan Norwood's full review
April 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used as the major service management tool at my organization. We are using it as an Incident, Problem & Change Management Tool. Also this is being utilized as an Asset Management tool which is integrated into our deployment cycle for real-time updates on Deployment status. Apart from serving the major role of ticketing tool, ServiceNow helps us in our reporting and analytical work on incident data through machine learning and other features. ServiceNow's API based architecture helps us to integrate it with other platforms easily which is a key factor in our automation journey in Production Support division
  • Web based GUI where we can have drag and drop feature enabled for handling the items
  • Integrates well with third party platforms using REST APIs like monitoring tools to create tickets or Alerting tools to create alarms in case of an event
  • Available as a SAAS solution by ServiceNow hence users needn't worry about the backend infrastructure
  • Search capability can be further improved
  • The bulk ticket update feature can be added if not available as I haven't seen it until now
  • Can introduce power chart features like Power BI and others
ServiceNow is well suited as a ticketing tool for both large enterprises where major ticketing tool needs to have integrations with multiple third-party apps and the medium scale companies as well, where management doesn't want to spend too much cost and manpower in creating and maintaining a ticketing system. ServiceNow also provides lots of features which helps to reduce the cost of different tools required for individual tasks.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ServiceNow in a proof of concept that includes the ITOM and ITSM products. We worked with a ServiceNow partner to set up the instance and connect the mid-server required for ITOM to the instance. The product is very powerful and is able to scan the network for devices and provide data on those devices.
  • It does a great job building a CMDB based on data scanned by ITOM. We have looked at lots of competing products and they all require a ton of manual interaction to build a CMDB. The ServiceNow product is the most automated solution we have found.
  • The ITSM product is best of breed and provides all the bells and whistles including chat and automated actions like password reset and machine reboot.
  • The service mapping feature is very nice as it will map the root URL of your applications and create relationships needed to build the visual topology map.
  • It is hard to find areas for improvement, the tool is very powerful. That said, building the CMDB still involves some manual interaction which was not how it was presented in demos.
  • The CMDB data is almost too deep and detailed. When you build the relationship map it can be so large that it is overwhelming. You can limit this, but the default maps are massive if you are discovering lots of device classes.
  • The product is expensive. Since they are the leader in the industry and the product has tons of features, they definitely charge for it!
The tool is great, very powerful and provides so many valuable features used in large companies. The product is very integrated and provides amazing customization and dash-boarding options. I have looked at several ITSM products, and ServiceNow is by far the best product I have worked with. Everything is thought out and you will not find any feature or function it is missing.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (58)
8.7
Expert directory (43)
7.9
Service restoration (48)
7.7
Self-service tools (55)
8.1
Subscription-based notifications (54)
8.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (52)
8.7
ITSM reports and dashboards (54)
8.6
Configuration mangement (52)
8.1
Asset management dashboard (52)
7.9
Policy and contract enforcement (46)
7.6
Change requests repository (52)
8.7
Change calendar (48)
8.6
Service-level management (49)
8.5

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and configuration management, and (on the higher tier ITSM Professional plan) ITAM and software asset management.

ServiceNow IT Service Management Integrations

ServiceNow IT Service Management Competitors

ServiceNow IT Service Management Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$10,000.00Per Year

ServiceNow IT Service Management Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No