ServiceNow IT Service Management Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
360 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 67)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Srinivas Rao | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

ServiceNow - At your Service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow has been an integral part of our Service desk, used by tech and non-tech customer service team
This is used by most of the departments that are associated with one of our clients. ServiceNow addresses the central issue of handling customer issues. It is used extensively by about 300 of the total of 500 staff members of my organization.
  • Tracking incident history
  • Report Generation
  • Its keep logging out
  • Overall layout
If I am opening a new process, then I will include ServiceNow. I will recommend highly to the people who would require an application to track data and handle customer complaints and issues.
Read Srinivas Rao's full review
Gardiner Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Powerful yet Clunky

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used at my business organization across the entire organization for CI (Configuration Item) inventory, service desk ticketing, infrastructure design and build requests and specifications, firewall rule change requests, and is tied to AutoCloud for the automated deployment of Cloud based virtual machines (VMware). In short, everything related to IT in my company uses ServiceNow.
  • When I have a number of requests to make, for example a request to add a dozen or so user accounts to more than one group account in Active Directory , I can put all the needed information into the initial form, add it to my "shopping cart" and all of that information remains on the screen for the next item for which I only need to edit a few items (like the AD group name in this example), and keep adding them to the shopping cart until I have them all. When I "Check Out" each of those items is generated as a separate task under the one request. It simplifies and expedites the creation and tracking of these kinds of requests.
  • I can easily and quickly see what tickets are currently assigned to me in order to prioritize them and remain aware of my workload.
  • Numerous fields for CIs can be used when trying to find the entry for a particular item. For example, IP Address, server name, raw text, classification, and so on.
  • To help with making sense out of related tasks, when a task is assigned to me and I need to open another task for a different team to work in order to complete my task, I can open a sub-task from my ticket so that the relationship between the two can be pulled up later into reports. For example, I may have a task to build a new vm, and need to open tasks for networking, security accounts, software installation and so on. By opening sub-tasks from my assignment, the time spent by all parties concerned is tied together for more meaningful cost accounting.
  • Finding requests that I opened and have since been completed by the assigned group/individual is very difficult to accomplish unless I've written down the request numbers somewhere.
  • Requests that I opened and are subsequently closed, often continue to appear in the list of "My Open Requests" giving the appearance that they were not completed when in fact they were.
  • It may exist, but if it does I haven't found it yet, which makes it less than intuitive, but I would like to see the ability to recall a request in ServiceNow.
  • I believe our firewall rule change request for is a custom form, but it has a serious drawback. If I submit such a request and need to make a correction to it before it is approved, there isn't anyway for me to do so. The request has to first be rejected with the creation of a sub-task in order to edit it before it is resubmitted for approval.
In very large enterprises. ServiceNow can handle a multitude of operations to help with overall IT management. The downside is two-fold: it can get quite clunky at times, and is expensive. While much of it is not intuitive and can be difficult to figure out and use, it has quite a wide range of reporting capabilities. If set up properly with solid process flows, it can be a tremendous tool for IT consumers, technicians and management.
Read Gardiner Jones's full review
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Fast And Easy To Use Service Request/Change/Incident Management Tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow replaced the Cherwell Service Management tool in our organization. We use this tool for Service Request, Incident Report and Change Request management company wide. Different operational teams are using the tool, both internal employees and outside customer service requests and issues escalation. The tool is also used for reporting purposes inside each support team.
  • Faster performance than competitor products.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Does not have a "paste from clipboard" option.
  • Missing some functions in Incident creation option (like adding a table in the description field).
ServiceNow has a lot of useful training material. It is easy to get trained and be able to use the tool efficiently in a short period of time. Fast performance and a lot of different reporting options is a big plus of the tool.
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Great information repository if configured correctly

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used to track IT hardware equipment, along with interdependencies. It is also used to track changes. It is meant to function as a central repository for all changes and all hardware equipment; along with high-level data such as an operating system and software versioning. Instead of having multiple systems of record for an accounting of hardware/software/network addressing; ServiceNow functions as the central information repository.
  • Ability to track all changes to a specific and individual item (such as a Linux server).
  • Retrieve and display interdependent items. Servers run OS' and connect to a network via addresses 1, 2, 3, etc.
  • Very difficult to onboard configuration items one by one.
  • Very difficult to remove items added by mistake. For example, once a contact number is entered for an individual resource, it is impossible to remove it.
Tracing a piece of hardware like a node within a cluster of servers, to its data center and network connection is very easy if configured properly within ServiceNow. Determining what changes have been made to a configuration item, or a dependent item is very easy. This is critical to problem diagnosis, troubleshooting, and root cause analysis.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

How ServiceNow fits our ITSM needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is our incident, change and problem management tool. It also serves many other functions throughout the organization and it utilized by the entire company. The knowledge repositories for documenting procedural information is heavily used as well as a catalog for users to request specific services from IT and or business teams.
  • Easy to use and straightforward with options that fit just about every department.
  • API easily accepts SOAP requests for automatic ticket generation and integration into other applications.
  • Dashboards and a built in visual task board similar to a Kanban board are nice features.
  • Unable to create robust service offerings for end users in the catalog. The current process works fine for our needs but have to tailor certain offerings based on limitations of the product.
  • Certain aspects are clunky and hard to correctly setup. For example, oncall calendars and scheduling require the user to define several components which are not intuitive and don't seem to follow a logical flow.
ServiceNow can facilitate an organization's needs for a robust incident and change management tool. It also has a wide array of other features that can be tailored to the company or down to the individual. ServiceNow also provides capabilites for event management, such as a trigger that would perform a restart of a service on a server for example.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Good for Ticketing and Efficiency

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used as the main way to source and distribute our tickets and requests for our service desk. It is used by the entire IT organization. It addresses and gives us a way to organize efficiency for the ticketing system that our organization uses when submitting a need for technical help.
  • Alerts immediately when a ticket has been created.
  • Streamlines the process for whose ticket is sent.
  • The interface can be a little jumbled looking.
  • Excess emails are sometimes sent.
ServiceNow is well suited to any organization with a large service desk that needs to address the issues, requests, and concerns of multiple users. It is well suited for an organization that needs an easy way to distribute tickets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

Supporting a call center using ServiceNow

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used in the tracking of IT services-related technical activities. "Tickets" get created to record requests, incidents, changes, etc. within the firm. A helpdesk is available where technical support folks can create tickets on behalf of callers who are in need of supplies or assistance with some technology. Other professionals who are more comfortable navigating the ServiceNow product will create their own tickets .
  • Ease of ticket creation (navigating just a few fields to get the process underway).
  • Ability to provide supporting documentation as attachments to tickets (screenshots, spreadsheets).
  • General slowness when querying on lists of tickets at times.
  • Mentions of service disruptions can be significantly delayed following the actual event (i.e. network connectivity disruption, power loss, etc.).
ServiceNow is certainly appropriate for any organization that operates using a ticketing system to document work managed (i.e. an IT HelpDesk, a cable, phone, or internet service provider). It would not be well suited for an environment where service offerings are not the type that can be compartmentalized and aggregated perfectly (i.e. some professional services such as law offices, financial services, medical facilities).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Great Software for any IT organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used in the IT Department as a way to manage Incidents and Change Requests at this time. It allowed us to put all the information into one reliable system. It also allowed us to customize the process with in the organization for these processes. The system is also available outside of the organization and is cloud-based, where our prior system was only on-premise.
  • In the Cloud
  • Reliability
  • Initial setup can be daunting
  • No dark theme
I would recommend ServiceNow for anyone. ServiceNow is so powerful and highly useful that it would be a benefit to any organization with at least over 750 employees. This software is highly customizable and integrates with almost any software that might be used by your organization. It is something to look at if you can afford it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Currently the best ITSM application on the market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used for IT Service Management, the central ticketing system to report and solve issues across all company departments. It was also used to drive some of the core company processes like New to hire processing. Where the workflow triggers and creates several tasks and gets them assigned to different departments and individuals to accomplish all tasks needed to supply a new hired individually with all the required accesses to applications that the company uses.
  • Report and assign issues that employees are having with a system or application that they need to use to help them complete their work.
  • Keep track of all IT assets (Employee computers, company telephones assigned to employees).
  • To accomplish some of the tasks like the discovery of servers and retrieval of info from these servers on the network, ServiceNow requires you to pay extra to get the additional services, and these services can get very expensive.
  • ServiceNow has between 1 or 2 version releases per Year, these New releases introduce new features but most of the cases they have issues or create new problems on existing components on initial release, so we decided to skip releases and make the updates on every other release and wait at least for the first set of fix patches to be available
  • Ticketing is the greatest strength of ServiceNow, so having users log issues and then trigger workflows to get tasks created and assigned to multiple support groups to solve the problem is the best use of ServiceNow.
  • Although ServiceNow is powerful, sometimes they (ServiceNow reps) want to sell you the idea that all processes can be solved through the use of ServiceNow. However, that would require too much customization that gets problematic when a new version upgrade is required. As I mentioned, they do between 1 to 2 releases per year, so trying to upgrade when too many customizations were made can become a problem or need too much time to make sure all isn't broken.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

ServiceNow - Great Features, but Pricey.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used extensively through out our whole firm. We utilize the tool to manage requests. We have a portal built that allows our clients to escalate their request to our company. We also use it for change management. We have an approval process built in and it provides transparency across the firm to see what changes are happening each night. We leverage the knowledge base feature and maintain knowledge base articles in ServiceNow. We also have groups that manage projects via ServiceNow tickets.
  • ServiceNow is highly customizable. You can build out your desired forms and leverage those forms to build out reports to track progress and trends.
  • ServiceNow has e-mail forwarding built in, so anytime a ticket gets updated, the end-user associated with the ticket can have an e-mail notification sent to them.
  • To get the platform to do exactly what you need, it requires a good amount of dev work. I wish the out of the box version had an easier way to build out customizations.
  • The firm will have to hire ServiceNow experts to serve as administrators.
I would highly recommend this platform for any firm trying to consolidate a lot of tasks into one tool. If you need a SaaS provider that allows you to manage requests, change management, knowledge bases, client portals, and reporting functionality, this is a great tool. My firm has really benefited greatly from utilizing this tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Great for large scale orgs 10k plus

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in my organization uses ServiceNow. High level: some people complain about the performance or features but to be honest, there's no way any other application can service a 40k user company. It does a great job tracking requests and other services. I've been a user for a while and it allowed me to easily track requests and open requests for other users. It has a good user interface and an advanced back end for more technical people.
  • Track requests
  • History and archiving
  • Slowness
  • It costs more to integrate it with MS Teams even if the organization has a license for both
For a large scale organization, it's been working perfectly. We have used it for over 5 years and I'm happy with it. Some users complain about small things but I'm sure no other tool can solve what a 10k+ person organization needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

ServiceNow - the hard to use workhorse

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used for knowledge-base management (help articles), incident/ticket management (help desk), and lots of internal processes for managing groups, forms, and other internal processes within the IT department. It is used across all of IT internally and then externally for the help articles and incident help tracking (emails). It has grown from originally handling just incidents to doing everything we can possibly think of - which isn't a great thing.
  • Flexibility
  • Feature set
  • Difficult to use
  • Lacks clarity
ServiceNow is well suited to an organized IT department who has multiple people with the time to understand and help others use it effectively. Having lots of end users, even IT people, create their own articles and manage tickets is difficult due to a non-intuitive interface. This might be due to how our organization setup and implemented ServiceNow originally. Nonetheless, I find it very difficult to navigate and to remember where things are. Building reports is a struggle. However, it's not my primary role to understand ServiceNow and I only use it 1-2 a week. My advice is to reduce the number of people who need to interact with ServiceNow to a bare minimum. If you can have one person who helps others create and manage help articles and incidents (if they are infrequent) it'll ultimately save time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

A support ticketing system that works and is easy enough for end users to navigate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow for managing support incidents and change management.
  • Support ticketing.
  • Change management.
  • A cleaner interface would be nice.
  • Attachment management.
Over the years I have tried multiple ticketing and change management systems and Service Now is by far the simplest to use, but without compromising any of the functionality or configurability of the other products. And being a cloud-based system, the maintenance is almost non-existent which is always a plus.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

ServiceNow is the best tool for technical support ever!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization as the only software to provide customer support for all the company systems. Users submit a ticket requesting support with any of the applications our company uses.
  • User-friendly.
  • The workflow within ServiceNow is efficient.
  • As a user, I haven't identified any areas where i would like to see improvement.
  • I'd like to learn how to use filters better in order to find tickets assigned to me in a faster, easier way, but that is not a system issue.
I have found the functionality of the system to be really good and user-friendly (easy to learn).
Read this authenticated review
Jasun Aubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

ServiceNow could be exactly what you are looking for

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is the ticketing system used by our entire company. Anyone from production, engineering, executives, field sales/support, finance, customer service and anything I may have missed uses ServiceNow to log tickets. The IS department uses ServiceNow to update, track, monitor and close out Tasks, Incidents, and Change Requests. ServiceNow is a pretty vital part of our business. We also use it for process documentation. I am sure that we use it for many other roles that I am not aware of.
  • I like the way the dashboard is setup, very easy to access reporting I need to see to help run my team better.
  • Its very easy to train end user on how to input a ticket. The process is typically very easy.
  • I also enjoy to ability to export reports to an excel file for further analysis.
  • When adding additional filters to a report that has already been created, that seems to create issue with pulling information from the database correctly.
  • We use SN for asset management, it can sometimes take awhile for information to update.
  • Alot of times, KB articles do not save to my favorites correctly and I have to go try to find them again. That can be a bit tedious.
ServiceNow is a great tool for any deskside or MSP team. Overall, it is easy to use, very end user-friendly and just makes my job a lot easier. I manage 7 deskside techs and our queue often gets to over 120-150 tickets. We support roughly 1000-1200 employees. One thing I did notice is the status of the tickets seems to have no effect on the SLA warnings like it should. Putting a ticket into Awaiting caller status doesn't seem to stop the "timer" on our SLAs as it should.
Read Jasun Aubert's full review
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2019

Integrated Cloud ITSM Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used throughout the organization to perform and manage field services, professional services, and internal IT services. We manage our main ITIL processes with ServiceNow: Incident Management, Request Fulfilment, Problem Management, Change Management, Configuration Management, Service Catalog, Customer Self Service and Event Management. We are using event management with some monitoring tools.
  • It's an end to end ITSM solution with a lot of add-on market. Also, AI/ML support, Analytics.
  • ServiceNow CMDB is fully integrated to the ITSM side in helping the support team to relate any request, incident, problem, or change to a particular CI that registered in the CMDB.
  • The back end development side is supporting java and JavaScript. It is very flexible.
  • ServiceNow is serving as Saas and Paas as well.
  • It also supports the integration of autoCAD as well. It's very helpful if you are currently managing weak projects.
  • When using a UI action which has a script inside, it freezes the screen.
  • Upgrading an instance will become quite hectic.
  • The CMDB functionality is wonderful, but we have some high-cost concerns when you try to implement discovery tools for an automatic CMDB population.
  • Since it is web-based, there could be some incompatibility and web page display issues on some browsers.
ServiceNow is well suited as an ITSM tool. It includes all the necessary ITIL processes. It makes it simple to assign tickets, track and report workflows and tickets with analytic power.
The workflow engine is the best side of ServiceNow. For example, problem management is definitely connected to a workflow to take approvals and set state fields based on the approvals. Because of that, you can create some Business Processes. We did it as well.
All of our servers, network elements, and IT things are registered in CMDB, and we relate them with processes and manage them with our integrated monitoring tools.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

ServiceNow - A Complete Powerful suite for all your needs on Service management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used as the major service management tool at my organization. We are using it as an Incident, Problem & Change Management Tool. Also this is being utilized as an Asset Management tool which is integrated into our deployment cycle for real-time updates on Deployment status. Apart from serving the major role of ticketing tool, ServiceNow helps us in our reporting and analytical work on incident data through machine learning and other features. ServiceNow's API based architecture helps us to integrate it with other platforms easily which is a key factor in our automation journey in Production Support division
  • Web based GUI where we can have drag and drop feature enabled for handling the items
  • Integrates well with third party platforms using REST APIs like monitoring tools to create tickets or Alerting tools to create alarms in case of an event
  • Available as a SAAS solution by ServiceNow hence users needn't worry about the backend infrastructure
  • Search capability can be further improved
  • The bulk ticket update feature can be added if not available as I haven't seen it until now
  • Can introduce power chart features like Power BI and others
ServiceNow is well suited as a ticketing tool for both large enterprises where major ticketing tool needs to have integrations with multiple third-party apps and the medium scale companies as well, where management doesn't want to spend too much cost and manpower in creating and maintaining a ticketing system. ServiceNow also provides lots of features which helps to reduce the cost of different tools required for individual tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Powerful solution to manage IT Operations lifecycle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ServiceNow extensively in the organization for Incident Management, Change management, Application Life-cycle management, Knowledgebase, and Content Management. It is the key system to control and support our IT operations globally.
  • Incident Management. Very robust and extensive solution, very easy to extend globally.
  • Application Management: We have our own custom developed SNOW module to manage Business apps that will be replaced with the upcoming migration to Madrid.
  • Change Management: Great way to keep control of any and all changes to production systems.
  • Limited Power-user Dev Tools for Forms: It would be great to offer a no-code alternative to Power Users to create forms and workflows, similar to what Infopath offered. We are using SNOW forms but each initiative requires a dedicated Dev team to develop.
  • JIRA Integration: We'd like to have a more flexible way to interface and promote Incidents in SNOW to Stories in JIRA.
  • Assignment Groups are difficult to manage and require a complex IT process to be done.
SNOW is great for Service Desk activities (Incidents, requests, etc). It is very scalable and robust, allowing proper segregation of duties and controls (ITIL type).

In my opinion the forms and workflow offering is limited as it requires a dedicated and expert dev team. Simple business processes are more challenging to be automated using SNOW as it is harder to identify an ROI.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Great for customization and integration of multiple software tools

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is our central hub for ITSM, project and product management, and our CMDB. It is primarily used by our MSP branch but internal IT also uses it for ticketing, as well as HR and our app dev team. We use it for ticketing, project management, and integrate with our customers' ServiceNow systems.
  • Uptime is amazing. We have never had a ServiceNow outage that I'm aware of.
  • Incredibly customizable. We regularly adjust ServiceNow to suit our specific needs.
  • Great integration with other software. The RESTful API is outstanding and the ability to create intermediate tables for data transformation makes it very reliable and customizable.
  • Outdated interface. If you missed the 90s and the early 2000s, get ServiceNow now!
  • I wish there was a warning when you're about to customize a core element of the product. That kind of customization can cause problems with upgrades in the future.
  • Developing in a domain-separated ServiceNow environment can be a bit of a nightmare.
If you have very specific custom needs for your ITSM and want to integrate with numerous other platforms, ServiceNow is highly appropriate. There is a very active community of admins and developers to help. Development is reasonably straightforward. If you want to have a modern look to your ServiceNow instance, however, expect to put in some development hours. If you're using the product extensively, expect to have a team of developers and admins on hand to support it.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2019

ServiceNow - Robust and scalable with all the details

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow was used as the centralized IT ticking solution for the student, staff and faculty helpdesk. It was later expanded to include the project and program management module. This was used by network operations teams, development teams as well as customer facing portal to submit tickets which will follow a back-end workflow to ensure it is properly triaged.

This product allowed us to address having a one-stop shop for ticketing internal and external. We are able to ensure tickets are routed properly without too much administrative overhead in triage.
  • ServiceNow does a great job in creating a one-stop shop for ticketing for any organization large or small. The system has the ability to scale easily to both internal and external customers.
  • ServiceNow has the ability to scale beyond ticketing to include contract and project management modules to further support one single operation for administration.
  • ServiceNow integrates very well with Microsoft Active Directory.
  • ServiceNow has a very robust set of permissions and rules you can apply for a high level of security.
  • ServiceNow knowledgebase is limited for self-learning on how to use their features.
  • ServiceNow sometimes has a very linear approach to some workflows or assignments where there could only be one child/parent relationship.
  • The ServiceNow features for Project Management serves its function is rather cumbersome. The dependencies aspect or predecessors or successors options are rather limited. It is more focused on hours planned vs hours worked then dependencies.
  • ServiceNow customer support is hit or miss. They could serve to have more self-help step by step articles.
  • ServiceNow needs to have a better export or import features for their Project Management module.
ServiceNow is a perfect and great fit for A to B style helpdesk ticketing! I would tend to shy away from this product is your project management shop is on the medium or larger scale. It is ok for smaller projects but not for large complex, multi-team projects. ServiceNow is also great for establishing routine and frequently used workflows that you want to publish to an external or public customer base. There is a lot of potential to relieve a lot of administrative overhead but it requires a lot of back end work to see those results.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Anthony Zappala | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

ServiceNow - which problems can't you solve with it?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is currently gaining market share, here at Wayfair. It was on-boarded to the company in early 2018 due to our Monitoring / Critical Response teams need for a robust reporting platform with available integrations to our monitoring tools (Data Dog/Logic Monitor).

Since then, we have seen team after team approach the ServiceNow Engineering group at Wayfair to onboard their ticketing needs.

I say ticketing, and not "Incident, Change, or Request needs", as ServiceNow is providing our team with the conduit to help all Wayfair employees understand how to organize themselves in a more ITIL based approach, where it makes sense. We haven't adopted a full ITIL approach, but the segmentation within ServiceNow allows the Wayfair ServiceNow team to coach its users to understand the importance of labeling, organization and building automation with a platform or layered (not app/tool/single use case based) approach.

Since then, our Monitoring, DC Operations, Infra Ops, and Help Desk organizations have partnered to build solutions in ServiceNow.

Business Problems addressed:
- Change, Incident, Request, Problem, Assets, CMDB: We are using these modules, out of box, to solve everyday operational needs
- Alert >> Monitoring: Infrastructure teams are storing and reporting on alerts, and creating custom INC records based on event mgmt logic (custom)
- General Use: digitizing process, decommissioning other internal apps
  • Request Management - ServiceNow's front end facing catalog is a fantastic cost-wise approach to expose the repetitive request-able functions your organization can offer to your company. Cost/Chargeback functions can be included effortlessly. Baking in Knowledge throughout the catalog like experience (to promote self service) is effortless. If you can organize your team into repeatable processes, then ServiceNow can take everyone out of email and spreadsheets, and into a fully transparent, documented, automated workflow to deliver each and every step of that process.
  • Alerting / Monitoring - ServiceNow provides the tables/functionality you would need to store, organize and report on all monitoring tools in your portfolio. Importing information into ServiceNow is decidedly easy. Enriching data within ServiceNow is straightforward and benefits from all other business / infrastructure related content that you store on the platform. Using Discovery alongside monitoring tools provides the capabilities and flexibility needed to protect and run daily operations needed to support a growing and thriving company that Wayfair is.
  • CMDB / Discovery - Very easy, licensing the technology that comes with Discovery is the single easier decision you can make to provide the level of support, transparency and consistency your infrastructure teams require to stay ahead of issues...and act quickly when they are happening.
  • Backend Support - If you size dictates it, purchase the technical support from ServiceNow. They react quickly and with a solution your team can actually use to solve both short and long-term roadblocks.
  • Pricing - we all want to expose as much as our data as we can, internally. Easy reporting makes happy employees, and happy employee's stay productive. ServiceNow allows you to expose a front-end catalog like experience to all users in your company...but restricts their intuitive and fantastic back-end reporting capabilities to a subset of paid (sometimes expensive) users. The trick is finding our where you can and cannot compromise on functionality and experience. Sometimes you need to buy a license for a team, sometimes you can provide on-demand reporting functionality. Really depends case by case.
  • Widget Flexibility - Allowing non-dev users to build their own widgets. Make the tool more friendly (no-code) to non-development/front-end only users. I would love to support a widget or piece of functionality which allows users to customize their ServiceNow catalog experience or reporting without my team's involvement.
  • Better back-end reporting - reporting on system tables or core data is not always accessible via ServiceNow reporting/logging. I have often found myself at a roadblock to report on simple statistics like page views or number of clicks. We want to understand how our users are engaging in the platform, but there is a lack of reportable tables/metadata to help us build this picture.
Centralizing Data / Reporting - ServiceNowexcels in providing easy ways to import/export data from the platform. Some automated, some manual, all users benefit with properly designed ServiceNow connected tables.

CMDB / Inventory Mgmt - Discovery and the CMDB functionality provide an easy means of keeping track of your configurable HW and SW environments. Best CMDB tool I have seen to date, in the market.

Change / Incident Mgmt - This is really the best out of box experience ServiceNow has. Very straightforward, with unlimited benefits to be provided in this space when enhancements to the CMDB are made. When everything is connected, gleaning context off a ticket becomes easy. Automation based on historical data is also a big feature in this space

Automation Tool - If you have tools which provide orchestration/automation, and you're just looking to replace them with a cheaper option, look elsewhere.
Read Anthony Zappala's full review
Adam Sylvester | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

ServiceNow

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is being used across the whole organisation. The infrastructure management [team] runs the full CMDB service hierarchy on ServiceNow and it is used to support the full ITIL environment in terms of change, incidents, requests, knowledge and asset management. End users make use of features such as the Service Catalog and are able to track their requests
  • The interface in terms of Incident and Request Management between Supplier, Business and Customer is simple and efficient.
  • Many changes to inventories can be made in real time.
  • The plug in modules are good but a high level of customisation is also possible.
  • When I click on an item on the left hand pane, it would be nice if ServiceNow could show a summary at the top of where I currently am in ServiceNow, similar to Windows Explorer. An example of this is: If I click on "User Administration - Users" All it shows is Groups at the top left of the right hand pane. What I'm asking for is that is shows the full path of where I currently am. This would also apply to SvcNow links that are sent to me.
  • My first point also also applies to ServiceNow links that are sent to me.
  • If I look at software models and then return to a specific request, the moment I approve it the screen jumps to the models before I've had a chance to populate a task.
It's well suited for our process owners in Change, Incident, Request and Problem scenarios. These areas are covered well. However in Event Management, I noticed that in every new release of ServiceNow, there seems to be an update in Event Management, where it's not required. It breaks our current setup, so we raise an Incident with ServiceNow’s support which takes months to resolve. A current example of this is that we've upgraded to the London release from Jakarta and Alert Management Rules were introduced. This prevented us from creating new Alert Rules until we enlisted an expensive training course! There was nothing wrong with the old Alert Rules, as they worked well. So why bring thing new functionality when it's not required?
Read Adam Sylvester's full review
Jonathan Ayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

ServiceNow is THE BEST!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ServiceNow is used in our organization for internal tickets as well as with our customer facing requests. It is used for ticketing, asset management, and software management.
  • Asset management - ServiceNow provides detailed asset management capabilities.
  • Reports - ServiceNow allows reports that can be endlessly customized to provide any information.
  • Software Management - ServiceNow allows serial number and software deployment information to be centralized.
  • Customer Interface - ServiceNow can be difficult to use at first. It does require some initial training to get the hang of.
  • KB Articles - It really depends on who makes them but even the best KB article can be hard to understand at times.
  • ITIL Interface - The ITIL statistics interface could use some work, can be hard to understand.
ServiceNow is really suited anywhere. Since it is so customizable, you can make it fit any situation or organization. I like to think of it as a "Swiss Army Knife". The software management piece is really useful, it allows you to manage software deployment and serial number management. It also has a self-service feature that allows users to submit requests through templates that gather the pertinent information. I've used other systems like Remedy and KACE but ServiceNow is by far the best I've used.
Read Jonathan Ayers's full review
Jonathan Norwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2019

Service Now is Amazing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our service desk and the entire IT department, as well as our medical enrollment department, and we are adding groups monthly so that we are all on the same system. We are better able to communicate this way. It has helped to be on the same page as well and be better organized.
  • Organizes tickets very well.
  • Allows multiple users to interact at one time on a ticket.
  • Having the option to have multiple categories is also nice.
  • The ability to reopen a ticket even after it is closed for final. We then have to recreate the ticket.
Great all around, we love the ability to communicate inside of ServiceNow. we are able to work a ticket with multiple people even if from different departments. The ease of function in creating tickets is also nice. On a daily basis, we create tickets and are able to search them if something new comes from the user.
Read Jonathan Norwood's full review
Shalindra Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

One of the best Software for ITSM and ITOM needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant and do works towards ServiceNow Implementation and Integration at end customers. Since I work with various customers in various verticals and domains, I come across a wide variety of use cases that ServiceNow can resolve and the way it can be implemented to achieve it. ServiceNow is known for ITSM solution. But in my opinion, ServiceNow very well works for ITSM, ITOM solutions. Nowadays ServiceNow has also launched their HR and CRM solution but I have not used those much.
  • ITSM functionality is very strong and available out of the box where you might want customization as per your organization need.
  • Another Strong point of ServiceNow is easy customization as per the requirement. Creating new fields or new modules or even new applications are easy and provides lots of flexibility even if being a cloud application.
  • ServiceNow is focusing a lot of platforms and provides the opportunity to build many things as per the need if something is not available out of the box for certain customer specific requirements. Or it's even possible to partner and build the solution and sell the same from ServiceNow marketplace.
  • The platform is not as mature as Force.com and needs a little improvement where a customer may require the least amount of coding.
  • Creation of new application or modules requires some sort of coding skill. It is not pure drag and drop.
If the requirement is for internal IT management or Service Cloud (operations) internal or external, ServiceNow is a perfect solution. ServiceNow is moving towards becoming a complete ERP but it will take some time to reach there.
Read Shalindra Singh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (56)
8.8
Expert directory (43)
7.9
Service restoration (47)
7.9
Self-service tools (53)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (53)
8.2
ITSM collaboration and documentation (50)
8.8
ITSM reports and dashboards (53)
8.6
Configuration mangement (50)
8.2
Asset management dashboard (50)
8.0
Policy and contract enforcement (44)
7.6
Change requests repository (50)
8.8
Change calendar (47)
8.5
Service-level management (48)
8.6

About ServiceNow IT Service Management

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and configuration management, and (on the higher tier ITSM Professional plan) ITAM and software asset management.

ServiceNow IT Service Management Integrations

Yurbi, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas)

ServiceNow IT Service Management Competitors

Agiloft Flexible Service Desk Suite, Axios Assyst, CA Service Desk Manager, Cherwell Service Management, Hornbill Supportworks ITSM, IBM Control Desk, ChangeGear Service Desk, Freshservice, BMC Helix ITSM (Remedy), Solarwinds Service Desk (formerly Samanage), Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat)

ServiceNow IT Service Management Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No