Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1872 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Yurii Aliabiev | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2020

Great but not perfect for conference calls

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are conducting all main communication activities inside Skype. Both personally and in groups across the whole organization. With Skype, we are solving a lot of various communicative issues, especially during COVID-19. We have various groups inside our organization, separated by the specific department, and via Skype, we are managing all our professional activities.
Read Yurii Aliabiev's full review
Sanjog Ghimire | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

One of the best tools for communication and online meetings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I normally use Skype to conduct online staff meetings and sometimes it is used to deal with the clients. It is used across the whole organization. The major problem that it addresses is that we can easily avoid traditional meetings and enhance easy meetings while staying at home.
Read Sanjog Ghimire's full review
justin kamau | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Skype Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is used across the whole organization for video conferencing purposes. It is also used in staff to staff communication across our branches to solve issues. This has in the past eased in communication in our organization. It has also come in as a cost-cutting actor because with the use of Skype there is less traveling.
Read justin kamau's full review
Shajae Barrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Skype to connect to clients worldwide

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As an English as a Second Language teacher, it is crucial to have Skype. My employer used Skype to conduct an interview with me, seeing that I was in Jamaica and my employer in China. Skype is used for interviews and as a medium to conduct classes for my Chinese students who need to learn English as a second language. Classes are sometimes held online. Skype improves the overall productivity of our company. Students are able to see you in real-time, and teachers are able to video conference.
Read Shajae Barrett's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Seamless user interface.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's used for video, audio discussions and file sharing. Because of COVID-19 it has become part of our life and our day-to-day communication has become so seamless. We are using its free version and not facing any challenges. I am sure because of its user friendly UI anybody could use it easily. I am a developer so, my discussions are mostly with other developers over Skype but all other teams like management, testing and all senior level employees use Skype for communication.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

Best Software to Connect your Coworkers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is exceptionally a great tool to connect with your coworkers while working. The best feature I have experienced is the screen sharing capability, which helps a lot with discussing your projects online and you can easily understand what the speaker wants to make you understand. You can make group calls, add members, and send an invite by scheduling your tasks to it. Hand raise and emoticons are also available to express your feelings over the chat. The UI is friendly and easy to manage and use. Privacy shortcuts are also available. It also allows muting the disturbance in a group call.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Runaway from Skype

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype for communication with the client on voice and text chat. With Skype, because the communication is in real-time it saves a lot of effort with back and forth emailing or contacting over the phone (i.e if the client has Skype ID).
Read this authenticated review
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for business meetings to provide quotes, discuss these quotes, and perform closings. We no longer provide very simple remote support, as this feature has been deprecated. We also participate in team status meetings using audio, not video. For phone services, I used to have a foreign phone number for an overseas branch, and it was a pretty useful feature, as the local customer thought we were answering locally. Now, we don't have operations in that location.
We also perform multi-country team meetings, which expedite decisions and make them more consensual.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is included with the university's Office 365 subscription, and all Active Directory users can access and be contacted via Skype. We sometimes use it for within- and between-department communication, especially for quick instant messaging. Skype is, of course, one of the original household names in videoconferencing, etc., but we don't use it much for that on a daily basis.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Skype - Good for Meetings and Collaboration but Still Needs To Improve Connection Quality

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype to talk to staff who work remotely and who don't come into the office. We also use Skype to talk to suppliers who use the video to show us products and goods that we might want to buy. It's easier to see details and we can see how the goods look in real life rather than just seeing them in pictures.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
Kinga Odziemek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

The one and only Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype mainly for communication with our Remote team, Outsourcing teams and some of our clients who do not like other communication platforms. We use it on a daily basis, using both desktop and mobile apps. We have been using it from the very start of Brainy Bees, I have also used it personally.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Skype is a time-saver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Using Skype allows our team to have meetings without leaving your desk. This gives us the ability to have meetings more frequently than you would if you were to all meet in one location. Skype also allows you to join in on meetings by mobile devices. This saves so much unneeded drive time and is so much more convenient for all.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Skype is an excellent tool for online video conferencing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Skype mostly for online video consultations with my clients. Skype is a great tool to have and use because it helps me to contact my clients for free—even my clients who are in another country. I can use it to chat with them, video calls or just use it to call them without the video.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is used to communicate within the office. Whether we require a simple quick instant message, a phone call, or a video call, Skype provides the means to reliably relay information. With Skype being installed on all of the computers and providing each employee with an account, it means that we can create an interoffice communication network when emails are not sufficient enough. Skype saves time by providing an instant connection between employees so that they can address any problem with a quick conversation.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Lindsey Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is simply sensational!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is being used to communicate internally with coworkers as opposed to email or getting up to talk to someone. It is used by all departments across the organization and it makes it easy to communicate when a quick response is needed especially with remote employees.
Read Lindsey Schultz's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a small (but growing pretty quickly) legal services organization that uses a variety of communication platforms, including Skype, to communicate with our partners, pro bono attorneys, board members, and clients around the world. Every department uses Skype for different reasons, but I would say it is most heavily used by the direct services department, which provides legal aid. It is a way for us to communicate across different time zones.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review
Carlo Borja | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Used to be the best, but competition is growing stronger and better.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Skype mostly to communicate with people outside of the organization. It has been the default communication tool we have had for years. Audio and video work great together to be able to hold efficient virtual team meetings. It has also been a way for us to know who is currently online and who is not available.
Read Carlo Borja's full review
Colt Bewley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Excellent Program for businesses of any size!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is being used across the entire organization. One of the biggest areas it addresses is the ability to interview candidates who are not local. Instead of spending hundreds of dollars on flights, rental car. hotel, etc., we are able to interview them via Skype and usually make a decision without the need to fly them out. We also utilize Messenger through our organization, which is also helpful considering we have 3 corporate offices and over 80 facilities statewide.
Read Colt Bewley's full review
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Skype is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype throughout our company as an instant messenger, I rarely use it for phone calls or videos, but other employees do.
Read David Krat's full review
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Skype is a solid performer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype from our desktop computers. It enables us to communicate with clients and prospective clients without using personal cell phones or landline phones.
Read Gil Parrish's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Skype Connect with those around you anywhere!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Skype as a department for meetings among the team, when we worked remotely, traveled etc. It allows those not available in the office to be able to interact and be a part of a in person meeting, while still being able to be home or anywhere! Skype can also be used on your phone which makes it all the easier to connect with those around you.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Mark Cruver, M. Ed. CSA, CEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

My Second Choice

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Skype as a backup video conferencing tool when others fail to operate in a stable environment. We have found it to be less stable than other platforms but serves our needs in communicating with students. We find that many households are familiar with Skype and the brand holds respect that is welcomed.
Read Mark Cruver, M. Ed. CSA, CEP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (84)
8.3
High quality video (82)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (81)
6.7
Mobile support (74)
7.8
Desktop sharing (74)
8.5
Whiteboards (37)
7.5
Calendar integration (49)
7.6
Meeting initiation (65)
7.8
Integrates with social media (43)
7.0
Record meetings / events (43)
8.0
Slideshows (43)
7.7
Live chat (71)
8.5
Audience polling (37)
7.9
Q&A (36)
8.2
User authentication (59)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (54)
7.3
Confidential attendee list (39)
7.0

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No