Skype

Skype

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.6 out of 100
Top Rated
Skype

Overview

Recent Reviews

Skype

10 out of 10
August 16, 2022
We have daily online meetings on Skype in Askaria Education System. Mostly we do audio meetings consisting 10 to 20 participants. This …
Continue reading

Seamless user interface.

7 out of 10
July 12, 2022
It's used for video, audio discussions and file sharing. Because of COVID-19 it has become part of our life and our day-to-day …
Continue reading

Good way to connect people

8 out of 10
November 19, 2021
We are using Skype internal correspondences in our company. It is very easy to use this software, I can share screens or documents with my …
Continue reading

Call on a budget!

8 out of 10
November 09, 2021
We use Skype, to conduct and monitor all our Sales calls and reach out programs, It is used primarily by our sales, product/Ops, and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 17 features
  • High quality audio (131)
    8.4
    84%
  • Desktop sharing (114)
    8.3
    83%
  • High quality video (129)
    8.1
    81%
  • Low bandwidth requirements (126)
    6.8
    68%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Skype, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Skype?

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

20 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Google Meet?

Google Meet, formerly Hangouts Meet, replaces the former Google Hangouts as the company's G Suite integrated web conferencing tool, allowing users to join meetings directly from a Calendar event or email invite from a computer, phone, or conference room. G Suite's Enterprise edition also creates a…

What is Whereby?

Norwegian company appear.in offers their flagship video conferencing platform to small teams, both in a free edition hosting up to 4 guests simultaneously in a session or a paid edition that supports up to 12 simultaneous meeting guests, among other features.

Product Demos

Skype group video calling for mobile phones and tablets brings everyone together
Skype group video calling for mobile phones and tablets brings everyone together
00:47

Features Scorecard

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

7.9
79%

Screen Sharing

7.9
79%

Online Meetings / Events

7.9
79%

Online Events Collaboration

8.1
81%

Online Events Security

7.6
76%

Product Details

What is Skype?

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Video

What is Skype?

Skype Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people.

Reviewers rate Live chat highest, with a score of 8.6.

The most common users of Skype are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (2452)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 136)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 16, 2022

Skype

Naveed Anjum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have daily online meetings on Skype in Askaria Education System. Mostly we do audio meetings consisting 10 to 20 participants. This product has made lives very easy. We can easily interact with each other. Screen sharing and all other features are wonderful. We can have chat through it and it works well on all kinds of mobiles. I highly recommend this software.
Mahbub Russell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is reliable for video, voice, instant message and file sharing. We use it to communicate with people worldwide because of its simplicity and long history as the go-to program for texting and making phone calls. It has the best video and voice quality for group and one-on-one calls. Using the dashboard's user-friendly interface, we can record meetings, presentations, screen shares, and collaborative sessions. Skype's virtual background feature, which appears real while on a video call, is impressive. In addition, its whiteboard feature offers a laser pointer, eraser, pen, highlighter, stamp, and shape, and we can insert pictures onto slides. Skype is budget-friendly and has a large user base, so businesses can easily communicate with customers. Even with limited bandwidth, Skype can communicate without any problems.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for video, audio discussions and file sharing. Because of COVID-19 it has become part of our life and our day-to-day communication has become so seamless. We are using its free version and not facing any challenges. I am sure because of its user friendly UI anybody could use it easily. I am a developer so, my discussions are mostly with other developers over Skype but all other teams like management, testing and all senior level employees use Skype for communication.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used for team members to keep in touch and direct message one another. Groups can be made to include multiple people/departments. It is widely used throughout the whole organization. Video conferencing is also available. At the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, Skype was used to facilitate meetings that had been in person.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In these times where online communication is vital and every IT organization is in dire need of a meeting tool that covers all professional aspects as well as requirements for bringing people close and making communication easy. Skype has become a part and parcel of day to day professional life of users
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Due to covid-19, we had to implement many online strategies in order to communicate. Skype allowed us to schedule meetings with people in our department and across other departments, as well as those who are not in the office or cannot come to meet in person. Now we can continue using Skype to expedite meetings without meeting in person.
Jason Hartigan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype to communicate externally with other peer organizations. Notably we have also used Skype to communicate with job applicants in other countries. As a large organization I am sure that other offices are using Skype on campus. Skype fills a void for a reliable face to face communication platform that makes it feel like you are having a casual conversation with others without the need to be present. In a previous role I used Skype's chat or instant messaging features but no longer use that functionality. It worked well when I used it but it is my understanding they have beefed up this functionality.
November 09, 2021

Call on a budget!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype, to conduct and monitor all our Sales calls and reach out programs, It is used primarily by our sales, product/Ops, and customer service teams to stay in touch with our leads and customers. It helped us in terms of not worrying about user adoption as most people are familiar with the product. Also, the screen-sharing features, ease of use in terms of the simplicity Skype had to offer is unparalleled. We did not have to roll out any kind of training within the organization as the teams were familiar with its UI and UX already. So there were cost savings on that from a training perspective. Also, the Audio quality while making calls through Skype for Business is unbeaten to this day be it through MS Teams or Zoom.
Chetan Chandrapal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is a primary and needful app for me and our organization. Skype is very good for personal or small group chatting and meeting. It is well distributed and well accepted. Skype is probably the easiest of this type of app to install and get working. We use Skype both for internal communication between employees and for communication with our clients. Currently, Skype works perfectly on any device such as PC, tablets, and smartphones.
Nilufa Hossain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A pioneer in video communication software, Skype is a service like no other. It’s a pioneering app that’s made communication accessible to millions of people across the globe. Using it for collaboration with coworkers and family members, meetings, and even hosting webinars is a fantastic idea! Keeping in contact with clients and coworkers throughout the pandemic was easy using Skype. Employees and customers alike took advantage of it. Today, Skype is available on a wide range of devices, such as tablets, smartphones, and desktop PCs. Even though we can share the screen, it may exchange extensive files of up to several GB through Skype conversation.
Michael Chow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Skype for the first time 15 years ago. Videoconferencing from user to user wasn't widely available at that time due to the lack of software applications. My duties in Canada involved dealing with vendors from Australia, the UK, India, the Philippines, Canada, and the US. Seeing each other's faces was what I liked about it. At the time, it was free, and it is still free today as long as both parties are using Skype. We prefer Skype because of its security issues, but they've also been around for a while.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype was being tested as one of the video conference calling tools for our office. Since we're an audio and music company, one of the most crucial elements of these different programs we were auditing to make a decision was the sound quality, which unfortunately Skype fell very short. We were constantly having issues with dropped audio, robotic sounding voices, and difficulty sharing audio. It's unfortunate since we would have had this service already implemented with Microsoft Office.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype has been used by both at the department level and across the whole organization. Since Teams have essentially replaced most of Skype implementations for collaboration, Skype is being used more on an individual basis. It addresses the business problems of having a really easy to use collaboration tool, both from a management standpoint and also a user standpoint.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype was used at my previous employer as a way to handle video conferencing. Particularly as the whole world shifted to digital meetings, we used it to stay connected to donors, sponsors, community partners and other organizations. This was helpful to communicate our mission to these prospects and potential collaborators.
July 26, 2021

Skype review

Maggie Karl | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used primarily for remote meetings and interviews, even before the pandemic. Charts and groups are also used to collaborate remotely with different groups and to build connections between coworkers. Since it can be installed on almost any device it's easy for almost anyone in our org to use.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is the defacto choice for instant messaging communication among staff members. The University where I work is a "Microsoft Campus" so everyone has Skype installed by default, and we use our university email address as skype IDs. It can help address the problem of a quick question that needs a quick answer, or it helps remote colleagues collaborate in certain situations.
Jitendra Pratap | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I and company using this software for the last 5 years and I think this is the best software for collaboration. I often use this software during my office meeting. This is very easy to use and has very good features of screen sharing and so on. I recommend you to try at once and you will fall in love with this software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is being used by our organization mostly by myself to have meetings with employees and certifiers of our product that currently cannot come visit our facility due to the coronavirus pandemic. It addresses the problems that the virus has caused with social distancing by allowing us to stay in contact with our employees and the like.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used across our whole organization as the main tactical communication tool for coordination of maintenance windows and to quickly discuss working questions with various teams. There are plenty of "permanent" chat groups as well as a bunch of "temporary" ones that change their names depending on the situation. It certainly lacks integration with corporate mail system but allows for better cross-platform flexibility comparing to some free alternatives we tried.
Daniel Epstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used in two main ways with my production company. First of all, it's a useful way to video chat for people who don't own Apple products (otherwise we would use Facetime) and who don't want to bother with meeting links (otherwise we would use Zoom). The second use is that we record podcasts and Skype not only allows us to all dial-in together but serves as a recorder that later we can extract the file to post for our audience.